View Full Version : What would be the most acceptable way to conclude this season?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7

The Baldmans Comb
08-04-2020, 06:22 PM
Derek McInnes on Clyde just now, urging not to close the league down
They have visions of catching Motherwell, so I presume that’s another who won’t vote for it

He won't even be at the board meeting that decides how Aberdeen vote.

I think its looking very likely this is the end game but its being drip fed gradually so as to make it more palatable.

Sevco will huff and puff but that's just a sop to the fanbase as they know the games up the pole and its actually hard to see many losers in the top division as Hamilton and St Mirren must be ecstatic as will Motherwell and obviously Celtc.

OK maybe one team is a big time loser from all this. HaHa .��

Rocky
08-04-2020, 06:24 PM
You can’t force a player to have their contract extended

You can prevent them from signing a new one though, so it's unlikely many will challenge an extension.

08-04-2020, 06:25 PM
Playing them behind closed doors to complete the season
He says he wasn’t saying how Aberdeen would vote.

Interesting point is he said the new Sky deal starting in August, was so important to the Premiership
Reporter also mentioned he thought Celtic may vote to complete the season too, so their 9th title isn’t tarnished
McInnes also said no rush, let’s wait until UEFA meeting on 23rd April

23rd April is when they are waiting till. [emoji849]

08-04-2020, 06:29 PM
They have visions of catching Motherwell, so I presume that’s another who won’t vote for it

Derek McInnes isn’t the sharpest tool in the box 😂 Lets have the players out for 3 months, then have a pre season to get them fit to play, then find out that half of them aren’t there because their contracts or loan deals have ran out. Play football whilst Wimbledon, The British Open etc etc. have all been cancelled just so Aberdeen can possibly catch Motherwell and Hearts turn the tide of being the worst Premier team for 15 months and finally beat another bottom 6 team under Stendel. It’s why he’s a fitbaw player and not a rocket scientist. 🤡

08-04-2020, 06:31 PM
Derek McInnes isn’t the sharpest tool in the box 😂 Lets have the players out for 3 months, then have a pre season to get them fit to play, then find out that half of them aren’t there because their contracts or loan deals have ran out. Play football whilst Wimbledon, The British Open etc etc. have all been cancelled just so Aberdeen can possibly catch Motherwell and Hearts turn the tide of being the worst Premier team for 15 months and finally beat another bottom 6 team under Stendel. It’s why he’s a fitbaw player and not a rocket scientist. 🤡

Only passing on what was said😄
Not much else scottish football chat on the radio just now

08-04-2020, 06:31 PM

They aren’t closing the league down at the moment. They are voting on what will happen if the league is closed down. Aberdeen will vote for it.

08-04-2020, 06:32 PM
They aren’t closing the league down at the moment. They are voting on what will happen if the league is closed down. Aberdeen will vote for it.

What I meant was he wants the season completed, behind closed doors if necessary
Derek isn’t daft, at one time he was getting paid by 5 different clubs

08-04-2020, 06:32 PM
Only passing on what was said😄
Not much else scottish football chat on the radio just now

I’m not blaming you mate 😂

I was having a go at McInnes 👍

08-04-2020, 06:33 PM
I’m not blaming you mate 😂

It’s all my fault😎

08-04-2020, 06:58 PM
I would be very surprised if the spfl board had went to all the trouble of publishing these detailed proposals without making sure they had the votes in the bag beforehand. There will have been lots of phone chats over the last few weeks.

08-04-2020, 07:17 PM
You can prevent them from signing a new one though, so it's unlikely many will challenge an extension.

And you would want these guys playing for you?

How are you able to prevent them moving elsewhere once out of contract?

08-04-2020, 07:18 PM
It's a sensible proposal, other than the nonsense about rushing through a restructure without proper thought or planning.

I hope Hibs vote for this, even although it means we'll finish a place lower in the table than we currently sit and will miss out on Europe as the place for winning the Cup goes to fourth place in the league.

08-04-2020, 07:59 PM
What I meant was he wants the season completed, behind closed doors if necessary
Derek isn’t daft, at one time he was getting paid by 5 different clubs

Ah okay. I think most clubs want this but this is to vote if that doesn’t happen.

08-04-2020, 08:01 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p089130d

Worth a listen

LALthehibeeGAL
08-04-2020, 08:03 PM
FWIW my tuppence worth -

I think probably for this season the fairest way should really be calling it as is and reconstruction/expanding with two up and no-one down across all 4 leagues bringing in 2 new teams to league 2 - there is still a lot to play for some of the teams like Falkirk etc. - this means that there would be more games next season making up for the shortage this season - a 14 team premiership with a 7/7 split is still going to give something to play for at the end of next season. I don't think this is a rushed decision I think it has been in the pipeline for a few seasons to be honest.

The only team this wouldn't suit is sevco but let's be honest they wouldn't be satisfied with anything except possibly null and void which is never gonnae happen given the league is only 8 games short of completion. I know it's not popular in that we would technically lose a bit of money for 7th instead of 6th and also that that mob will escape relegation, but in all honesty in my opinion I do believe they would probably have managed to somehow jam their way into staying up by scraping the odd draw etc. Sevco mathematically could still win the league IF they beat the Smellic twice and their game in hand closing the gap but they would still be relying on them slipping up another two times - not likely to happen IMHO so they would need to take it on the chin but they are trying to give some sort of hope to their deluded fans that there is still a chance of silverware! but know deep down they are finishing another season with hee haw.

The biggest thing I take from their ever reliable comedy statement is they actually seem to be saying it is more important to finish the league than save lives!!!

I personally couldnae give a toss so long as we see the Covid-19 numbers of cases coming down and quickly please as it is quite scary seeing it rise and rise.

lal ::wink:

ehf
08-04-2020, 08:40 PM
https://rangers.co.uk/news/headlines/club-statement-93

Statement from Sevco as expected. Need to show they are against giving Celtic the league but happy to distribute the money as they need it. They won’t be challenging legally.

What a crock of incomprehensible, solipsistic gibberish. Wonder who wrote it. Clearly someone who knows some fancy words but has no idea how to use them. At least when Traynor was doing the statements, you could strip away the "beggars belief"s etc and just about divine what he was on about.

08-04-2020, 09:06 PM
FWIW my tuppence worth -

I think probably for this season the fairest way should really be calling it as is and reconstruction/expanding with two up and no-one down across all 4 leagues bringing in 2 new teams to league 2 - there is still a lot to play for some of the teams like Falkirk etc. - this means that there would be more games next season making up for the shortage this season - a 14 team premiership with a 7/7 split is still going to give something to play for at the end of next season. I don't think this is a rushed decision I think it has been in the pipeline for a few seasons to be honest.

The only team this wouldn't suit is sevco but let's be honest they wouldn't be satisfied with anything except possibly null and void which is never gonnae happen given the league is only 8 games short of completion. I know it's not popular in that we would technically lose a bit of money for 7th instead of 6th and also that that mob will escape relegation, but in all honesty in my opinion I do believe they would probably have managed to somehow jam their way into staying up by scraping the odd draw etc. Sevco mathematically could still win the league IF they beat the Smellic twice and their game in hand closing the gap but they would still be relying on them slipping up another two times - not likely to happen IMHO so they would need to take it on the chin but they are trying to give some sort of hope to their deluded fans that there is still a chance of silverware! but know deep down they are finishing another season with hee haw.

The biggest thing I take from their ever reliable comedy statement is they actually seem to be saying it is more important to finish the league than save lives!!!

I personally couldnae give a toss so long as we see the Covid-19 numbers of cases coming down and quickly please as it is quite scary seeing it rise and rise.

lal ::wink:

Means all 42 teams earning less money next season. Can’t see much appetite for that.

08-04-2020, 09:16 PM
Means all 42 teams earning less money next season. Can’t see much appetite for that.

And try telling Hamilton St Johnstone and St Mirren theres three teams getting relegated next season.

08-04-2020, 10:00 PM
Partick, Falkirk, Stranraer, Hearts, Rangers all voting against so far. Hibs looking likely to do so as well. No chance it’s getting approved.

Rocky
08-04-2020, 10:04 PM
And you would want these guys playing for you?

How are you able to prevent them moving elsewhere once out of contract?

Leagues set transfer windows (and therefore registration deadlines) under UEFA parameters. Therefore if the season resumes in, say, June, and the registration deadline is set as whenever the January transfer window ended, there's nothing for clubs to gain from signing new players who can't play anyway. So players will stay where they are now and accept the offer of an extended contract.

08-04-2020, 10:05 PM
Partick, Falkirk, Stranraer, Hearts, Rangers all voting against so far. Hibs looking likely to do so as well. No chance it’s getting approved.

75% of teams need to approve. If it means teams getting paid money why would anyone except from Hearts and obviously Rangers be against the idea?

franck sauzee
08-04-2020, 10:08 PM

Can't see us voting against it

08-04-2020, 10:13 PM

Two more teams in the prem need to vote against it, as do the championship and the majority will vote for it in the other two leagues. Of course it’s getting voted through.

08-04-2020, 10:14 PM
Can't see us voting against it

Dempster has pretty much confirmed that we will vote against it

Lee Marvin
08-04-2020, 10:19 PM

That's just not true. She says a lot without a risky saying a lot. What she did say was that she wouldn't vote for null and void. So, there is your answer

08-04-2020, 10:21 PM
32 teams need to vote for it to get approved.

08-04-2020, 11:32 PM
If the games for top spot mean something and are called as they are then the games at the bottom have to mean something too. It would be double standards to award Celtic the title, promote Dundee Utd and conveniently forget people have also been paying to watch relegation battles. If there is league reconstruction just to save Hearts and Hibs vote for it I will never go to another game. They have cheated and ducked and dived for years, it will be a disgrace if all our leagues are reconstructed to save their overspending shambles.

08-04-2020, 11:39 PM
If the games for top spot mean something and are called as they are then the games at the bottom have to mean something too. It would be double standards to award Celtic the title, promote Dundee Utd and conveniently forget people have also been paying to watch relegation battles. If there is league reconstruction just to save Hearts and Hibs vote for it I will never go to another game. They have cheated and ducked and dived for years, it will be a disgrace if all our leagues are reconstructed to save their overspending shambles.

Agree wholeheartedly.

Frankhfc
08-04-2020, 11:51 PM

I agree.

A rushed into frankenstein reconstruction solely for the benefit of hearts would be a catastrophe for Scottish football. Reconstruction needs to be planned, well thought out and for a long period of time to bed in, for it to work.

Hearts luck has finally ran out. They fully deserve to be relegated. Send them down m'lud.

08-04-2020, 11:53 PM
I refuse to believe LD would be so stupid as to do anything to help Hearts in this situation. It would be suicide for her.
Watching Hearts beat us to Euro qualification next season as they outspend us would be terminal for her and Ron Gordon as Hibs custodians.
The fans would always know that we just take whatever **** sandwich gets given to us and would no longer want a part of it.
Who wants to follow a team that lies down and let’s their rivals constantly work the system at our expense and we give them a free pass to keep doing it? Wouldn’t be the type of club I would be interested in.
Doubt we would be so stupid though.

08-04-2020, 11:56 PM
I refuse to believe LD would be so stupid as to do anything to help Hearts in this situation. It would be suicide for her.
Watching Hearts beat us to Euro qualification next season as they outspend us would be terminal for her and Ron Gordon as Hibs custodians.
The fans would always know that we just take whatever **** sandwich gets given to us and would no longer want a part of it.
Who wants to follow a team that lies down and let’s their rivals constantly work the system at our expense and we give them a free pass to keep doing it? Wouldn’t be the type of club I would be interested in.
Doubt we would be so stupid though.

👏👏👏

09-04-2020, 06:25 AM
I would be very surprised if the spfl board had went to all the trouble of publishing these detailed proposals without making sure they had the votes in the bag beforehand. There will have been lots of phone chats over the last few weeks.

Here’s a little guide for you. Think of the logical decision or strategy to be made and the Scottish football authorities will do the opposite.

09-04-2020, 06:46 AM

She really hasnt.

To summarise her article -

Lets see what happens next in the lockdown and make a decision on this and next season.
Other agencies will make some of the decision for us - i.e. when, not if the UK and Scottish govts tell us that we are effectively in lockdown for another X weeks, the SPFL / SFA and Hibs will make a decision then as timescales will be clearer.
Add in the UEFA deadline (23rd April?) so there actually is no need to make an instant decision - sh is right about that.
She is fairly clear that she doesnt see voiding the season as an option and has told Budge that.
She talked about looking at other options / being creative - not sure whats wrong with that...............but while some automatically jump to "that means reconstruction", I cant see it - that route is almost impossible due to the current TV deal which is predicated on XYZ number of matches (and importantly Huns / Tic matches).

Dempster has a job, part of that job is making public statements and those (unlike Budgies) are usually sensible and measured - she can hardly come out and say "aye, **** the hearts I will vote them doon" even though some of us feel exactly that:thumbsup:.

n.b. As far as I am concerned, If she and Hibs do save Hearts, then her and Ron can GTF - but I dont think this is happening, actually the opposite - she is just saying all the right things at this point and its my belief that Hearts relegation is all over bar the shouting.

09-04-2020, 06:47 AM
Every team who has ever finished bottom has gone down.
Its part of why we pay to watch football.
This cant be stopped for any reason.
When we lost to Hamilton and went down we had to go.
We didnt plead poverty “oh but it will cost us millions”
It will happen again to us too eventually and down we’ll go.
In the meantime the jambos will just keep overspending.
If we dont play out the season then they have to go down.

franck sauzee
09-04-2020, 06:51 AM
She really hasnt.

To summarise her article -

Lets see what happens next in the lockdown and make a decision on this and next season.
Other agencies will make some of the decision for us - i.e. when, not if the UK and Scottish govts tell us that we are effectively in lockdown for another X weeks, the SPFL / SFA and Hibs will make a decision then as timescales will be clearer.
Add in the UEFA deadline (23rd April?) so there actually is no need to make an instant decision - sh is right about that.
She is fairly clear that she doesnt see voiding the season as an option and has told Budge that.
She talked about looking at other options / being creative - not sure whats wrong with that...............but while some automatically jump to "that means reconstruction", I cant see it - that route is almost impossible due to the current TV deal which is predicated on XYZ number of matches (and importantly Huns / Tic matches).

Dempster has a job, part of that job is making public statements and those (unlike Budgies) are usually sensible and measured - she can hardly come out and say "aye, **** the hearts I will vote them doon" even though some of us feel exactly that:thumbsup:.

n.b. As far as I am concerned, If she and Hibs do save Hearts, then her and Ron can GTF - but I dont think this is happening, actually the opposite - she is just saying all the right things at this point and its my belief that Hearts relegation is all over bar the shouting.

Well said Green Day. Exactly how I read into it as well. We're not voting for this on Friday anyway. Just the lower leagues unless I'm mistaken?

09-04-2020, 07:05 AM
How would you like to see it decided?

There is no fair way for thistles fate to be decided and what about kelty hearts and Brora rangers. Not a word in the media about them potentially missing out on entering div 2. The whole nonsense going on just now is because Celtic will win 9 in a row and it's Hertz who will be relegated. If sevco weren't second in the spl and it was Hamilton bottom of the spl it would have been passed without a thought. Self interest is the only stumbling block. These are extraordinary times and decisions have to be made.

09-04-2020, 07:12 AM
There is no fair way for thistles fate to be decided and what about kelty hearts and Brora rangers. Not a word in the media about them potentially missing out on entering div 2. The whole nonsense going on just now is because Celtic will win 9 in a row and it's Hertz who will be relegated. If sevco weren't second in the spl and it was Hamilton bottom of the spl it would have been passed without a thought. Self interest is the only stumbling block. These are extraordinary times and decisions have to be made.

I don’t get how Kelty are getting talked about as league winners - Bonnyrigg have a game(s) in hand and still to play Kelty at home. They can still win the league.

09-04-2020, 07:13 AM
Is he advocating playing the games later? Clubs will go bust if they wait until September or October.

Exactly. Plus it will mean less games next season and smaller TV money. Too many folk opening their mouths without engaging first gear. Too many with heads in the sand. It's brutal for millions of folk,football is no exception.

09-04-2020, 07:14 AM
I don’t get how Kelty are getting talked about as league winners - Bonnyrigg have a game(s) in hand and still to play Kelty at home. They can still win the league.

Sorry I was only making the point that two teams were denied a chance to enter the leagues that may be their last chance for years. Wasn't aware it was that tight.

09-04-2020, 07:21 AM
23rd April is when they are waiting till. [emoji849]

If,as seems likely,uefa bows to reality,then we will see closure on this. It seems the TV companies are driving the agenda trying to get games played behind closed doors so they have a product to show. Maybe they hope to influence govt thinking which is absolutely scandalous when the last thing the govt needs is outside pressure when it comes to an exit strategy from the virus. Does anybody really think games played behind closed doors constitutes proper games. If you watched the horse racing with no fans it just looks totally soulless.

09-04-2020, 07:25 AM

If it's not passed,what then. Endless squabbling and the lower leagues don't get their money. It will be passed. We may not like it but a solution needs finding. For once I applaud them for actually bringing the proposal forward.

09-04-2020, 07:26 AM
Sorry I was only making the point that two teams were denied a chance to enter the leagues that may be their last chance for years. Wasn't aware it was that tight.

All the media have dismissed Bonnyrigg in this argument - they’re 6 points behind with a game in hand and still to play Kelty at home.

Kelty’s manager is Barry Ferguson.

09-04-2020, 07:28 AM
Leagues set transfer windows (and therefore registration deadlines) under UEFA parameters. Therefore if the season resumes in, say, June, and the registration deadline is set as whenever the January transfer window ended, there's nothing for clubs to gain from signing new players who can't play anyway. So players will stay where they are now and accept the offer of an extended contract.

It's on the BBC sport website that where applicable playing contracts will automatically be extended to the end of this season,whenever that is and any new signings can't play for their new clubs until the start of next season,whenever that is. Can't understand why folk can't see that this was always going to happen. Players contract are usually up to the end of the season so as this season may be extended so would their contracts.

09-04-2020, 07:39 AM
It's on the BBC sport website that where applicable playing contracts will automatically be extended to the end of this season,whenever that is and any new signings can't play for their new clubs until the start of next season,whenever that is. Can't understand why folk can't see that this was always going to happen. Players contract are usually up to the end of the season so as this season may be extended so would their contracts.
I'm obviously not an employment lawyer but that cannot be correct. Contracts will 100% have a fixed date and won't say "till the end of the season". And there is absolutely no way that contracts can automatically be extended, that is just nonsense. Bosman stopped all of that kind of thing happening to players contracts years ago

09-04-2020, 08:26 AM
I'm obviously not an employment lawyer but that cannot be correct. Contracts will 100% have a fixed date and won't say "till the end of the season". And there is absolutely no way that contracts can automatically be extended, that is just nonsense. Bosman stopped all of that kind of thing happening to players contracts years ago

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52188913

09-04-2020, 08:28 AM
I’m not sure our vote or the premiership vote will even matter. Can see it failing in the lower leagues. Raith chairman reckons it’ll be close but doesn’t think it’ll pass.

09-04-2020, 08:36 AM
I see that there is no comment from players, agents or employment lawyers??

supermcginn
09-04-2020, 08:46 AM

I would say there's no chance it isnt getting voted through. Need way more teams than that in each league to vote against it.

09-04-2020, 09:43 AM

Thank you. I thought it was only me who saw this.

09-04-2020, 09:52 AM

That is complete nonsense from start to finish, nobody can extend a contract without players and clubs agreeing, and agents too, who we all know are only interested in their players interest. :wink:

09-04-2020, 10:05 AM
Every team who has ever finished bottom has gone down.
Its part of why we pay to watch football.
This cant be stopped for any reason.
When we lost to Hamilton and went down we had to go.
We didnt plead poverty “oh but it will cost us millions”
It will happen again to us too eventually and down we’ll go.
In the meantime the jambos will just keep overspending.
If we dont play out the season then they have to go down.

That's not true though.

2003 - Motherwell weren't relegated.
2000 - Aberdeen weren't relegated.
1990 - St Mirren weren't relegated.

We didn't have any case as the season had ran it's course as it was meant to with all games played.

LALthehibeeGAL
09-04-2020, 10:36 AM

- is it a lot less though in the grander scheme of things ? I have no idea what the proportions are

And try telling Hamilton St Johnstone and St Mirren theres three teams getting relegated next season.

- I think the proposals were like it is just now with still a split with a top 7 and bottom 7 - bottom team goes down and second bottom in pay offs with league 1 etc as is - re-construction has been on the cards to this extent for a few years now and this was the general idea proposed. So still play-offs to keep the league interesting.

You have 7 in the top tier so an incentive to finish in top 7 and generate more revenue for an extra team.

- I know that is how a lot of people see it but reconstruction would be the better I know it is unpopular but it does make sense - the younger generation will not remember when Hibs were in trouble in 1989/1990 season when the dreaded takeover bid was almost voted through it really was very close to us being no more!! - we were sitting second bottom of a 10 team league with no play-offs and a 2 down and 2 up situation - not only did we fight back Mercer's take over bid but we also were extremely lucky not to be relegated due to league reconstruction - we then went on the following year to win the Skol Cup !!! But sometimes we have to look at what is best for everyone and in particular the financial side of things.

For fans to say they will not renew because of this vote alone is poor really - yes if you can't afford it now and let's face it we are all finding things tough, and yes if personal circumstances mean you can't renew but to use this as the sole excuse !!

It is more important to me what Hibs do on and off the pitch than what that mob - I really don't care so long as we are in a better and healthier and lets face it classier position than them.

Take care and stay safe

Lal :wink:

09-04-2020, 11:24 AM
Distribute money now to each team for the worst case position they can finish in. Deferring any remainder until decision made.

IMO it shouldnt be down to member clubs what happens. UEFA/FIFA need to step in and take ownership of the decision. This virus is a pandemic which is squeezing us in all walks of life financially and expecting clubs that are desperate for some form of income is ridiculous.

A professor I follow on twitter has given his opinion on an exit plan whereby lockdown will cease by May 4th, lift wide scale social distance by mid may. restrictions on mass gatherings etc could be allowed from early June. In this scenario, could we be back playing 2 games a week until early July?

09-04-2020, 11:41 AM
Distribute money now to each team for the worst case position they can finish in. Deferring any remainder until decision made.

IMO it shouldnt be down to member clubs what happens. UEFA/FIFA need to step in and take ownership of the decision. This virus is a pandemic which is squeezing us in all walks of life financially and expecting clubs that are desperate for some form of income is ridiculous.

A professor I follow on twitter has given his opinion on an exit plan whereby lockdown will cease by May 4th, lift wide scale social distance by mid may. restrictions on mass gatherings etc could be allowed from early June. In this scenario, could we be back playing 2 games a week until early July?In theory, everyone outwith the OF & Motherwell (maybe Aberdeen) can still finish bottom (or very close to it).

09-04-2020, 11:48 AM
In theory, everyone outwith the OF & Motherwell (maybe Aberdeen) can still finish bottom (or very close to it).

I tried to work that out myself at one point.

With everyone playing each other in the bottom 6 I couldn't decide the best way to work out how many points they could each achieve.

09-04-2020, 11:59 AM
That's not true though.

We didn't have any case as the season had ran it's course as it was meant to with all games played.

These had notice before the season started that there would be no relegation due to reconstruction.
Right now there is no need for reconstruction. Its not wanted so why raise it.

09-04-2020, 12:16 PM
In theory, everyone outwith the OF & Motherwell (maybe Aberdeen) can still finish bottom (or very close to it).

In which case give 4-12th the same amount (12th place earnings) and keep it all on a lovely wee spreadsheet then distribute the remainder upon conclusion/decision

I personally want the seaaon finished so there is no ambiguity

09-04-2020, 12:23 PM
In which case give 4-12th the same amount (12th place earnings) and keep it all on a lovely wee spreadsheet then distribute the remainder upon conclusion/decision

I personally want the seaaon finished so there is no ambiguity

Already done.

09-04-2020, 12:25 PM
These had notice before the season started that there would be no relegation due to reconstruction.
Not so. Aberdeen were saved due to Falkirk not having a 10000 seated stadium.
St Mirren were saved due to reconstruction being agreed during a season. Both from memory and with no research carried out!!🤔
Anyway relegate the poppy thieves

09-04-2020, 12:37 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52227551
Good summary from the beeb.

09-04-2020, 12:47 PM

A professor I follow on twitter has given his opinion on an exit plan whereby lockdown will cease by May 4th, lift wide scale social distance by mid may. restrictions on mass gatherings etc could be allowed from early June. In this scenario, could we be back playing 2 games a week until early July?

Is he a mad professor?

09-04-2020, 12:59 PM
Is he a mad professor?

Professor Karol Sikora - read through his tweets and you can judge for yourself...

09-04-2020, 01:04 PM

That's not true either. :greengrin

The latest two didn't go down due to Falkirk's stadium size. Or in the case if Aberdeen anyway, the bottom team was to compete in a playoff which never happened.

I don't know about 1990, but the poster above seems to think that it was decided during the season that there would be no relegation.

The reason it's being raised is that it's one of the solutions to a difficult problem. As for no one wanting reconstruction, I think the idea gets floated almost every year in one way or another.

09-04-2020, 01:12 PM
Professor Karol Sikora - read through his tweets and you can judge for yourself...

He seems genuine enough, I don't believe his timescale though.

Time will tell.

chippy
09-04-2020, 01:33 PM

the Nutty Professor?

09-04-2020, 02:21 PM

What happens if a player / players then get COVID?

Coaches / managers etc ?

English leagues are trying to find a way but it's just wishful thinking - it's a risk and like the games played just before lockdown it can have severe consequences. Football should only return when safe to do so and not sure things will be back to normal till late in the year.

James Stephen
09-04-2020, 02:33 PM
What happens if a player / players then get COVID?

Coaches / managers etc ?

English leagues are trying to find a way but it's just wishful thinking - it's a risk and like the games played just before lockdown it can have severe consequences. Football should only return when safe to do so and not sure things will be back to normal till late in the year.

Heard on the radio last night that Singapore lifted restrictions and are now seeing cases rise again.

09-04-2020, 03:08 PM
https://news.stv.tv/sport/belgian-authorities-set-to-press-ahead-with-ending-league?top&amp&__twitter_impression=true

Belgium calling their league after uefa agree.

09-04-2020, 03:26 PM
That's not true though.

2013 - Hearts lie and cheat to avoid relegation, criminal!

Fixed :thumbsup:

09-04-2020, 04:26 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200409/6ad5059d85ef673405819dfe2df80622.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200409/38f4b910ee7629e8b4eaad0c7d045d4e.jpg
Perfect statement from Livi.

09-04-2020, 04:30 PM
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1248271553386680320?s=20

Definite white flag on any legal battle. I think she knows they are going down.

09-04-2020, 04:30 PM

Yep it’s absolutely spot on.

09-04-2020, 04:47 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52236228

All footy suspended till 10th June at least.

09-04-2020, 04:52 PM

Now that’s what you call a statement.

Well played Livi 👍🏽

09-04-2020, 04:55 PM
With football now suspended till mid June at the earliest, it’s very hard to see how the clubs vote anything but Yes tomorrow.

09-04-2020, 04:57 PM
With football now suspended till mid June at the earliest, it’s very hard to see how the clubs vote anything but Yes tomorrow.

The only other option is reconstruction (which cant happen due to the TV deal) or make it null and void (which wont happen as everyone wants the payout).

Hearts are down.

09-04-2020, 05:01 PM
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1248271553386680320?s=20

Definite white flag on any legal battle. I think she knows they are going down.

Aye she's gone from taking legal action and protesting, to not going to fight it if they are relegated.

Get them doon now, stop prolonging my joy. :thumbsup:

09-04-2020, 05:30 PM

And i think they are saying 6 weeks of group /condition training prior to a ball being kicked

09-04-2020, 05:42 PM
SFA Statement.

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/coronavirus-joint-response-group-update-9-april/?rid=14258

09-04-2020, 05:43 PM
And i think they are saying 6 weeks of group /condition training prior to a ball being kicked

Well in that case it looks like the season won’t get started again regardless so there’s no alternative but for Hibs to vote this through tomorrow.

09-04-2020, 05:49 PM
SFA Statement.

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/coronavirus-joint-response-group-update-9-april/?rid=14258

Uncle Rod just played the blinding pass of the season in the dying minutes prior to tomorrow's final whistle. I think he might just be a bit 'exuberant' at being the SFA President that was responsible for consigning the pink neighbours to the lower reaches and very probably the the ugly blue sister to financial collapse.

09-04-2020, 05:51 PM
Uncle Rod just played the blinding pass of the season in the dying minutes prior to tomorrow's final whistle. I think he might just be a bit 'exuberant' at being the SFA President that was responsible for consigning the pink neighbours to the lower reaches and very probably the the ugly blue sister to financial collapse.

Poetry 😁😁😁

09-04-2020, 05:59 PM
Get the bloody pools panel together this weekend and have every league sewn up by Monday morning. :greengrin

Ps. No Jambos or sympathisers allowed. :na na:

09-04-2020, 06:28 PM
That has to be one of the best written statement that I've read from a Scottish Football Club. States the facts without any spin at all; clearly a difficult decision.

09-04-2020, 06:47 PM

How do you suspend something beyond the date it officially ends? Pedantic I know, but it seems to me this is just another way of confirming the season's over.

09-04-2020, 06:51 PM
How do you suspend something beyond the date it officially ends? Pedantic I know, but it seems to me this is just another way of confirming the season's over.

Is that no what usually happens when you suspend something?

09-04-2020, 06:54 PM

The SFA runs all football in the country, including some that runs over the summer.

This is about those leagues and cups as much as it is the SPFL.

09-04-2020, 07:03 PM
Send 'em down!

09-04-2020, 07:20 PM
Is that no what usually happens when you suspend something?

What I'm trying to say (not very well!) is that it seems odd that the season can simply be extended like that without any sort of vote or amendment of the rules. Unique circumstances yes, but does extending (or 'suspending') into the summer not potentially raise a whole range of logistical difficulties and does the SFA have the authority to do this on a whim?

09-04-2020, 07:37 PM
What I'm trying to say (not very well!) is that it seems odd that the season can simply be extended like that without any sort of vote or amendment of the rules. Unique circumstances yes, but does extending (or 'suspending') into the summer not potentially raise a whole range of logistical difficulties and does the SFA have the authority to do this on a whim?

According to Budge (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52220309) they do.

"If the Government can change the laws of the land within 24 hours to cope with this crisis, then surely it cannot be impossible for Scottish football's governing bodies to modify rules to get things done.

Of course, that also means they have the authority to call the current standings as final, pay out much needed money to all 42 clubs and focus on how to ensure next season takes place, regardless of whether it starts in August, September or even October.

09-04-2020, 07:57 PM
So far the only confirmed ‘No’ voters are Hearts, Rangers, Falkirk, Partick and Stranraer?
Dundee and ICT are the potential worries from the championship.

09-04-2020, 08:14 PM
Queen of the south vote in favour.

09-04-2020, 08:18 PM
So far the only confirmed ‘No’ voters are Hearts, Rangers, Falkirk, Partick and Stranraer?

SFA and other clubs just need to buy them off. That's what normally works when there is an impasse. A few extra £££ to soften the blow will sort the stragglers out.

Hearts and The Rangers can whistle.

09-04-2020, 08:34 PM
Dundee vote against

09-04-2020, 08:38 PM
Dundee vote against

So Dundee and Partick against. One more from championship and it fails.

09-04-2020, 08:44 PM
That has to be one of the best written statement that I've read from a Scottish Football Club. States the facts without any spin at all; clearly a difficult decision.

It makes a change to read a statement from a Scottish football club that isn't dripping with tears, snotters, hypocrisy and self-intitlement.

It makes a change to read a statement that hasn't been released by either Hearts or Rangers.

Very dignified, well put together and example to any sensible club.

09-04-2020, 08:46 PM

That would make 7 clubs then, no? :confused:

If 75% need to vote for something to get it approved then that means 11 clubs would need to vote against for it to fail.

Or have I misunderstood something?

09-04-2020, 08:46 PM

Ayr apparently voting in favour but not confirmed. Inverness are the only dubious one.

09-04-2020, 08:51 PM
Ayr apparently voting in favour but not confirmed. Inverness are the only dubious one.

With Robertson as their manager? It's done.

09-04-2020, 08:53 PM
With Robertson as their manager? It's done.

Inverness are in serious financial trouble. If they vote to end the season now they will be due extra money from the challenge cup final too so I can see them wanting it to end so they get that money and don’t have to worry about keeping on players longer than their current contracts.

09-04-2020, 09:19 PM
Inverness are in serious financial trouble. If they vote to end the season now they will be due extra money from the challenge cup final too so I can see them wanting it to end so they get that money and don’t have to worry about keeping on players longer than their current contracts.

So 'Robbo' could send Hertz down?

😅

09-04-2020, 09:21 PM

With the news that it’s late July minimum before any games can be played, I don’t see any solution that allows ICT,Dundee or Ayr to play any play off games. I’m not sure what any of them gain from voting against? And of course it stops them from getting funding now.

09-04-2020, 09:26 PM
I think if they vote against it now, it'll be revisited in a few weeks time and the same option will be voted on again.

There's very few alternatives that are actually workable.

09-04-2020, 09:29 PM
So 'Robbo' could send Hertz down?

😅

The irony eh? He would probably prefer ICT go to the wall and he gets a job as a waiter in the School View Lounge at the PBS.

09-04-2020, 10:46 PM

With Ayr now saying they will vote yes that means that the eight yes votes are there in the championship. It's going to be passed. The next step is uefa on 23 April which by then there will be another 3 week extension to lockdown. There isn't enough time to finish the season and start next season remotely close to the begining of August or are we expecting players to come right back into finishing this season then into next season so nearly eleven months straight playing with the small matters of the euros next summer. It's over.

09-04-2020, 10:51 PM
I think if they vote against it now, it'll be revisited in a few weeks time and the same option will be voted on again.

There's very few alternatives that are actually workable.

Tom English said exactly that on sportsound. Having listened to the weekend podcasts it's clear from the Raith chairman and Dave Cormack that money will drive this. By April 23 I'm sure it will be much clearer that the season won't finish so clubs like Dundee will only delay the inevitable if they vote no.

09-04-2020, 11:21 PM
There is really only one option now after the Jun 10 announcement. Voiding of the season isn't on the table,there isn't anywhere near enough votes for reconstruction especially in the spl,so the season has to be called. I can see Dundee voting yes after today's announcement and Inverness cash problems are well documented so no way can they survive four months without money. It's now about clubs survival and self interest. Forget about anything else. Tom English and Willie miller both stated that on Saturday. English started off fully against the season being called as is but as events have unfolded he's bowed to the inevitable. If Inverness vote no it's only delaying the inevitable because as the weeks go by you can bet Dundee and Inverness will come under enormous pressure to vote yes to basically release funds so clubs can stay functioning. Simple as that.

Heckys Wheel
09-04-2020, 11:22 PM
Tom English said exactly that on sportsound. Having listened to the weekend podcasts it's clear from the Raith chairman and Dave Cormack that money will drive this. By April 23 I'm sure it will be much clearer that the season won't finish so clubs like Dundee will only delay the inevitable if they vote no.

Tom English said it would be similar to the Brexit deal where the SPFL will make little tweaks to the deal to make it more favourable to those who voted no.

If that’s the case, I wouldn’t be surprised to see Hibs vote no this time to see if they can get a better deal. Probably by closing that £130k gap between 6th and 7th.

09-04-2020, 11:46 PM
Tom English said it would be similar to the Brexit deal where the SPFL will make little tweaks to the deal to make it more favourable to those who voted no.

If that’s the case, I wouldn’t be surprised to see Hibs vote no this time to see if they can get a better deal. Probably by closing that £130k gap between 6th and 7th.

Problem with that idea is the spfl just shares money out. To give more to one team they need to take from another. There is no pot of cash that the spfl has. ICT and Dundee, or Hibs for that matter, can’t be bought off because no ther club would want to lose their money.
This has to be called because it’s good for the game.
It would be madness to do anything to jeopardise the new Sky deal. Scottish football can’t afford to lose that. Sky will have their own money problem and may be desperate for a way to renegotiate or even pull out. We can’t afford to give them an excuse to do that.
It would be unforgivable if the Hibs board was to choose to put that cash at risk.

10-04-2020, 12:30 AM
If this gets worse (which it will) no one will care about football, we have to adjust and hopefully try to save our families and loved ones. Let Ann Budge take her legal action and be proud of it, it's Hearts style.

10-04-2020, 12:31 AM
Aye she's gone from taking legal action and protesting, to not going to fight it if they are relegated.

It's like the auld wifie down the club who passes on getting a full house at bingo. Rants at the table about how she is going to get the committee to sack the caller and ends up blethering pish about it the whole night but just goes home with nowt.

Nobodies fault but hers but look forward to all the finger pointing when they go down.

10-04-2020, 12:38 AM
Dundee voting no and also making new proposal that titles are awarded but there is no promotion or relegation, basically trying their best to stop United going up. Desperate stuff and pretty poor from them to be honest! In tomorrow’s Sun.

10-04-2020, 05:25 AM
Daily Record got the proposal having no chance in League One based on what the clubs have been saying. That’ll scupper the whole thing for another month or so until it’s put to a vote again.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/how-every-spfl-club-set-21843827

10-04-2020, 06:13 AM
Daily Record got the proposal having no chance in League One based on what the clubs have been saying. That’ll scupper the whole thing for another month or so until it’s put to a vote again.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/how-every-spfl-club-set-21843827

Looks like the have spoke to managers mostly. I would not put much faith in that being how it goes. Still think it will be close but financial reality will be a factor and a lot of managers don’t pay much attention to that.
I think last nights statement by the SFA will be crucial. It would have helped make it clear to a lot of clubs that a vote for no would mean no money until the end of September and it puts next seasons money at risk if the TV deal falls through.

10-04-2020, 06:17 AM

That makes sense, and is similar to what I said on the PM board yesterday -

Some people losing their minds because they worry that Dempster is "going to save Hearts".

But

(a) Its not that simple - as you note, other clubs have self interests as well, and

(b) Dempster is not daft.

She has mentioned not making a kneejerk reaction and that sounds about right. She can quite easily go along with the line of "lets explore reconstruction" but she knows as well as everyone else that (for a myriad of reasons, but primarily the new TV deal and the Rangers/Celtic games within that) this wont work.

In a couple of weeks when reconstruction is off the table and clubs have even less money in the bank, the options narrow even more - its a straightforward choice - call the league as is and take the money from SPFL, or make it null and void (which LD has already said is a non-starter).

I think Hearts will go down, not because we dont like them, but for entirely practical and financial reasons.

10-04-2020, 06:25 AM
Looks like the have spoke to managers mostly. I would not put much faith in that being how it goes. Still think it will be close but financial reality will be a factor and a lot of managers don’t pay much attention to that.
I think last nights statement by the SFA will be crucial. It would have helped make it clear to a lot of clubs that a vote for no would mean no money until the end of September and it puts next seasons money at risk if the TV deal falls through.

I thought the same about the SFA statement. Could swing a few votes here and there.

10-04-2020, 06:32 AM
I thought the same about the SFA statement. Could swing a few votes here and there.

Yep - the SFA acted well in trying to give some solid information (dates).

foxy
10-04-2020, 06:38 AM

For this proposal to pass they require 75% of the total votes of League 1 & 2 clubs, so 15 out of the 20, not as the DR has it 8 in each league. Therefore if 9 of the clubs in League 2 were to vote in favour then only 6 clubs would be required from League 1 so there is still a slight possibility that it could pass today.

10-04-2020, 06:44 AM
For this proposal to pass they require 75% of the total votes of League 1 & 2 clubs, so 15 out of the 20, not as the DR has it 8 in each league. Therefore if 9 of the clubs in League 2 were to vote in favour then only 6 clubs would be required from League 1 so there is still a slight possibility that it could pass today.

It’s thought the championship will be the real sticking point. I personally can’t see why any club not getting relegated would vote against it?

Heckys Wheel
10-04-2020, 06:56 AM

Plus that straw poll was taken before the SFA’s statement last night.

Teams like Dumbarton and East Fife have said no with the prospect of finishing the league season . That’s not going to happen now.

Heckys Wheel
10-04-2020, 06:57 AM
It’s thought the championship will be the real sticking point. I personally can’t see why any club not getting relegated would vote against it?

Looks like it comes down to Inverness in the Championship.

You would think if they’re not broke enough now to vote it in, they will be in another few weeks.

10-04-2020, 07:02 AM
Looks like it comes down to Inverness in the Championship.

You would think if they’re not broke enough now to vote it in, they will be in another few weeks.

https://www.inverness-courier.co.uk/news/caley-thistle-want-a-battalion-of-knights-to-help-save-clubs-finances-after-revealing-projected-872k-loss-to-shareholders-183972/

Can they afford to vote no?

10-04-2020, 07:05 AM

Teams in the playoff places wanting a crack at promotion/a 16/18 team top league reconstruction. :dunno:

10-04-2020, 07:23 AM
Teams in the playoff places wanting a crack at promotion/a 16/18 team top league reconstruction. :dunno:

Reconstruction is still up for grabs with a yes vote though.

10-04-2020, 07:28 AM

It needs 11 out of 12 of the spl to vote for reconstruction. It's not going to happen. I think we will have the same vote with slight tweeks to appease a few folk. It will be back within two to three weeks to be voted on as the financial picture gets bleaker. Only gripe in all this is sky and bt calling the shots. Mind you they aren't getting any money just now either so they will be in trouble if we can't sort this out. All of this grandstanding will be made pointless if there is no football this summer by govt decree. Bald men fighting over a comb comes to mind.😂

10-04-2020, 07:35 AM

Obviously Falkirk and Stranraer would vote no. Can't see many others doing so. Doubt edin city would say no so it's 9 from league two. So who are the four from league one. It won't be league one. The record and the sun want this to run as it gives them their story for the next few weeks. It's will be the championship that will scupper the deal if anyone does.

10-04-2020, 07:54 AM

I think I've got a little lost in all the info over the last couple of days and I've no idea who is voting and what they're voting on...

The news just said this vote was only for the Championship/L1/L2... Assume that's not right if Livi are publishing statements.

10-04-2020, 08:01 AM

I think I've got a little lost in all the info over the last couple of days and I've no idea who is voting and what they're voting on...

The news just said this vote was only for the Championship/L1/L2... Assume that's not right if Livi are publishing statements.

It’s for all divisions. The premiership one is just delayed by two weeks to allow uefa to ratify.

10-04-2020, 08:12 AM
It’s for all divisions. The premiership one is just delayed by two weeks to allow uefa to ratify.

Everyone votes today, but we won't know the outcome of the premiership one until later?

Or the others vote today, and the premiership vote (on the same thing) further down the line?

10-04-2020, 08:25 AM
Yep - the SFA acted well in trying to give some solid information (dates).

The timing of the SFA statement is no coincidence and aimed at influencing the vote accordingly.

10-04-2020, 09:07 AM
Keith Jackshun reckons Aberdeen are voting no.

10-04-2020, 09:27 AM
Aberdeen are a disgrace too then.

Clarence
10-04-2020, 09:33 AM
It's like the auld wifie down the club who passes on getting a full house at bingo. Rants at the table about how she is going to get the committee to sack the caller and ends up blethering pish about it the whole night but just goes home with nowt.

Nobodies fault but hers but look forward to all the finger pointing when they go down.

Good observation

10-04-2020, 09:44 AM

League 1 and 2 split the percentages.

chippy
10-04-2020, 09:47 AM
Only two escapes left for Hearts now.
Playing the games in June (no chance) and reconstruction (very unlikely given the voting structure).
They are about to be relegated. Marvellous.[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Hi Ozy

is it the same voting structure for league reconstruction : 75% of Prem, Champs separately and 75% of leagues 1 and 2 combined ?

10-04-2020, 09:49 AM
Hi Ozy

is it the same voting structure for league reconstruction : 75% of Prem, Champs separately and 75% of leagues 1 and 2 combined ?

90 per cent for Prem for reconstruction

10-04-2020, 09:50 AM
Hi Ozy

No. It will be back to the normal structure.

10-04-2020, 10:00 AM
For league reconstruction you need 75% of the 42 clubs and 11 of the 12 Premier clubs.

10-04-2020, 10:09 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/amp/football/52242968?__twitter_impression=true

Sevco amendment rejected.

10-04-2020, 10:10 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200410/8a4c3f0290f911636a42b195be734aac.jpg
And their reply.

10-04-2020, 10:14 AM
https://news.stv.tv/sport/rangers-question-spfl-after-prize-money-proposal-rejected?top&amp&__twitter_impression=true

10-04-2020, 10:14 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200410/8a4c3f0290f911636a42b195be734aac.jpg
And their reply.

Why would the Huns be receiving reports from other teams? Sounds like standard BS from them. They need to learn to shut up.

10-04-2020, 10:20 AM
Why would the Huns be receiving reports from other teams? Sounds like standard BS from them. They need to learn to shut up.

I just hope we are not standing shoulder to shoulder with them come 5pm tonight.

10-04-2020, 10:27 AM

Sevco must have bunged them a few quid.

10-04-2020, 10:30 AM
I just hope we are not standing shoulder to shoulder with them come 5pm tonight.

I'll honestly be furious if we are. Be interesting to see what happens of if there's even an announcement this evening.

10-04-2020, 10:40 AM
I'll honestly be furious if we are. Be interesting to see what happens of if there's even an announcement this evening.

I’m sure most clubs will put official word out about their votes. Statement league is going to take a hammering.

10-04-2020, 10:42 AM
Sevco's 'victim' stance is laughable and has been ever since the club formerly known as Rangers was liquidated.

Brunswickbill
10-04-2020, 10:59 AM
I’m guessing that the decision will be delayed with clubs knowing that a decision to finish the league as it stands will become unavoidable. Rangers are posturing to give them and their fans the opportunity to claim that 9 in a row didn’t happen. Hearts think that it’s a lifeline but they’ll be going down.

10-04-2020, 11:04 AM
I’m guessing that the decision will be delayed with clubs knowing that a decision to finish the league as it stands will become unavoidable. Rangers are posturing to give them and their fans the opportunity to claim that 9 in a row didn’t happen. Hearts think that it’s a lifeline but they’ll be going down.

I believe this will happen too.

10-04-2020, 11:39 AM
Who are the clubs that are being "bullied and coerced" as Rangers claim to vote for the deal ? Surely they cannot come out with a statement like that without naming names if there are any ?

10-04-2020, 12:43 PM
https://twitter.com/alanftemple/status/1248590972260417537?s=21

10-04-2020, 12:46 PM
https://twitter.com/alanftemple/status/1248590972260417537?s=21

Well f****** played Hibs 👍🏽

10-04-2020, 01:06 PM
Hibs apparently voting yes and 3k ST sales announced today.

Good Friday? I'd say it was f****n' barry!

10-04-2020, 01:25 PM
Hibs vote in favour of terminating the season :thumbsup:

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-vote-favour-spfl-resolution-terminate-1920-season-2535720

10-04-2020, 01:26 PM

Is the vote just to confirm the end of the season now with places as they are?

Reconstruction is still a possibility to be discussed? (I don’t think it’ll happen)

10-04-2020, 01:29 PM
Is the vote just to confirm the end of the season now with places as they are?

Reconstruction is still a possibility to be discussed? (I don’t think it’ll happen)

Effectively, yes. It doesn't take a final decision on the end of season for the prem as I think they need to consult with UEFA but it does say that if it becomes impossible for the games to be played then the season will end with places as they are. Null and void will be off the table.

10-04-2020, 01:39 PM

Descendre Hertz 👍

10-04-2020, 01:51 PM
To answer the OP's question- Most acceptable way to end the season?

A big f'n party! While the hearts are in their beds?!

10-04-2020, 01:52 PM
Who are the clubs that are being "bullied and coerced" as Rangers claim to vote for the deal ? Surely they cannot come out with a statement like that without naming names if there are any ?

Sevco acting like the idiots they are.

When Budge calls all and sundry to try and gain support it is deemed a rational move, but if other clubs discuss voting Yes then this is bullying.

Fannies - both the Huns and the mini Huns.

10-04-2020, 01:53 PM

So, who else is a disgrace?

10-04-2020, 01:54 PM
The season will end as it is now no matter if the vote is lost today. I just didn’t want Hibs to be the team that is denying the reality of the situation.

10-04-2020, 01:54 PM
The Rangers- they do not like it up 'em!

10-04-2020, 01:55 PM
Aberdeen haven’t officially said no.

10-04-2020, 01:56 PM
Keith Jackshun reckons Aberdeen are voting no.It would be nice to see the sheep get something over the huns, just once would be a start.....

10-04-2020, 01:58 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/amp/football/52242968?__twitter_impression=true

Sevco amendment rejected.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkExcellent, so it's okay to keep calling them Sevco[emoji16]

10-04-2020, 02:19 PM
Excellent, so it's okay to keep calling them Sevco[emoji16]

Doubt I’ll ever stop.[emoji3]

10-04-2020, 02:44 PM
Doubt I’ll ever stop.[emoji3]

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI don't ask a lot of life.......

Simple minds are easily pleased etc....

10-04-2020, 03:04 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5476288/airdrie-falkirk-mark-roberts-rangers-celtic-spfl/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebarweb

MARK ROBERTS has blasted the SPFL's call to end the lower league seasons - as he raged: 'F*** Rangers and Celtic.'

Hampden bosses have called on clubs in the Championship, League One and League Two to end their current campaigns.

It comes as football continues to deal with the unprecedented problems brought on by the coronavirus crisis.

Under the controversial proposals, final positions in each of three divisions would be determined by points-per-game averages.

That would see Dundee United, Raith Rovers and Cove Rangers win promotion, while Partick Thistle and Stranraer would suffer relegation.

No vote will be held on ending the Premiership at this stage however, and that has left ex-Airdrie and Falkirk star Roberts furious.

There is currently only five points separating his two former clubs and Raith in League One.

And he is outraged at the idea of Premiership clubs being treated differently, as he emphatically insisted: "F*** Rangers and Celtic."

Speaking to Lanarkshire Live, Roberts said: "It’s pathetic. League One is far too close to give Raith a title.

“Is that fair on Partick Thistle getting relegated from the Championship as well, which is potentially a club killer? It’s not.

“If you’re not going to play it I think you should restart the league with a clean slate. I don’t think it’s fair.

“The Premiership is being treated differently, how is the Premiership different?

"Because there is more money in the Premiership? ****** the Premiership.

“I don’t get it, but it grates on me. If they can get the Premiership games played, why can’t they get the rest of the games played?

“Is it just cause they have Rangers and Celtic in it? F*** Rangers and Celtic.

"It still means just as much to an Airdrie fan or a Falkirk fan as it does to Rangers, Celtic, Hearts, and Hibs.

“If they aren’t going to play the season out they can’t just say that’s you up.

"If I’m a player with Airdrie or Falkirk there is no way I’m accepting that.

“That’s what you’ve been working for from June last year until now.

“You’ve worked your b***s off to get to that position where you can go and win a league, it’s not fair.

“If I was a player, coach or chairman at one of those clubs I’d be bealing."

Roberts, who also made more than 100 appearances for Partick Thistle, hates the idea of his old club being relegated from the Championship, only to see Hearts stay in the top flight.

10-04-2020, 03:09 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5476288/airdrie-falkirk-mark-roberts-rangers-celtic-spfl/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebarweb

Is the guy a moron? They're not going to get the Premiership games played. That's the whole point in the vote.

Of course it's **** if you're a team that's missing out. But there really isn't any other option. Why ruin two seasons by postponing fixtures to a randomly picked made up date in the future, which leads to effecting next season as well.

Call this as it is. Gives us the best chance of normal service resumed for next season.

10-04-2020, 03:13 PM
Is the guy a moron?

You could have saved yourself some time there.

10-04-2020, 03:13 PM
Is the guy a moron? They're not going to get the Premiership games played. That's the whole point in the vote.

Of course it's **** if you're a team that's missing out. But there really isn't any other option. Why ruin two seasons by postponing fixtures to a randomly picked made up date in the future, which leads to effecting next season as well.

Call this as it is. Gives us the best chance of normal service resumed for next season.

Yes, he's an idiot. Prem has to be held back because of UEFA's threat to exclude clubs from Europe. As soon as UEFA end that nonsense on 23 April, the Prem will follow the other leagues.

10-04-2020, 03:14 PM

Sounds a really nice guy

10-04-2020, 03:21 PM
Keith Jackshun reckons Aberdeen are voting no.

Voting yes then

Coach Jon
10-04-2020, 03:32 PM
Does the Points-per-Game average calculation change any of the league positions as they currently stand?

10-04-2020, 03:33 PM
Does the Points-per-Game average calculation change any of the league positions as they currently stand?

Yeah, ours

10-04-2020, 03:33 PM

Hibs

Coach Jon
10-04-2020, 03:39 PM
I see that we would be affected, just thought this was applying to the other three divisions

10-04-2020, 03:48 PM
I see that we would be affected, just thought this was applying to the other three divisionsThat's how they're justifying Partick's relegation. Even though they have a game in hand their points average per game still puts them in bottom place.

10-04-2020, 04:21 PM
Leagues one and two apparently pass the vote. Hinges on championship and Premiership now.

Source. Some evening telegraph reporter.

10-04-2020, 04:22 PM
Leagues one and two apparently pass the vote. Hinges on championship and Premiership now.

Inverness to fk it for everyone?

10-04-2020, 04:24 PM

Whos the reporter?

10-04-2020, 04:25 PM
Whos the reporter?

Calum Woodger.

10-04-2020, 04:27 PM

I presume only one more team needs to say no and that’s the whole thing f*****?

What clubs are still to vote?

10-04-2020, 04:31 PM

Sounds very much like it.

10-04-2020, 04:32 PM

On their hands and knees for Hearts.

10-04-2020, 04:33 PM
Failed in the championship. **** sake. The season is well and truly over. Need to accept it now.

10-04-2020, 04:33 PM
Good luck to inverness without their prize money. Tits.

sean04
10-04-2020, 04:34 PM
Partick, Dundee and Inverness stop it. Will they make it to august without money?

10-04-2020, 04:35 PM
It's the hope that kills you. Hearts are still going down.

10-04-2020, 04:35 PM
Failed in the championship. **** sake. The season is well and truly over. Need to accept it now.

They will want league reconstruction. Something the huns won’t want any part of despite being extremely concerned about relegation. Going to go round in circles this until it’s passed.

10-04-2020, 04:36 PM
Inverness are riddled with Jambos.

10-04-2020, 04:37 PM
Can see us voting on more outcomes a few weeks down the line.Justice to the jambos. Send them down or finish the season. Take your pick.

Coach Jon
10-04-2020, 04:39 PM
Partick, Dundee and Inverness stop it. Will they make it to august without money?

So where does that leave us now?
Are you saying we will continue the season in August?

10-04-2020, 04:39 PM
Can see us voting on more outcomes a few weeks down the line.Justice to the jambos. Send them down or finish the season. Take your pick.

It’s impossible to finish the season.

We are just going round in circles

10-04-2020, 04:40 PM
So where does that leave us now?
Are you saying we will continue the season in August?

Back to the drawing board. Probably another vote in a few weeks time when it becomes clear football won’t be getting played even in July.

NC1875
10-04-2020, 04:42 PM
That’s an absolute shambles. What do these teams see as a reasonable alternative ?

10-04-2020, 04:44 PM
That’s an absolute shambles. What do these teams see as a reasonable alternative ?They want compensation. Where that's going to come from I've no idea.

10-04-2020, 04:44 PM
Back to the drawing board. Probably another vote in a few weeks time when it becomes clear football won’t be getting played even in July.

Yeah I think we'll see another vote in a few weeks. Until then we'll see loads of speculation with the press desperate to fill their sports pages with something and dying for clicks. The main talking point over the next 2 or 3 weeks on the sports pages will be possible league reconstruction but it's a non-starter IMO.

10-04-2020, 04:45 PM
That’s an absolute shambles. What do these teams see as a reasonable alternative ?

Quite a few owners are now going to be sweating and realising they will have to dig deep into their pockets :aok:

Today was inevitable.......glad of our stance though :agree: quite a few clubs in Scotland will now go bust :cb

10-04-2020, 04:45 PM

Maybe they feel the season should be played to an end
Uefa saying games should not be played until it’s absolutely safe, so we’ve no idea when next season could possibly start, it could be later than we think

Know we’ve got the new sky deal, but surely that will kick in when the leagues actually start
Everyone has an opinion

10-04-2020, 04:47 PM

They want reconstruction . All the clubs that voted no in the championship will benefit from it. Self interest for all teams always win the day. Now they have to persuade enough clubs to vote for it. I suspect they will with enough spin from the Hearts and Rangers media mouthpieces.

Greenworld
10-04-2020, 04:47 PM
Just have to hope dundee have seen sense and voted for they have nothing to gain from voting as gains neither for that case has Inverness.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

10-04-2020, 04:48 PM
I don’t give a **** about Hearts.
For Hibs it’s a non issue unless we could’ve gotten a European place.
If Hearts go down it’s nice to know they’re a bit ****ed.
But other than that the season is better with derbies in it.

10-04-2020, 04:48 PM
It's the hope that kills you. Hearts are still going down.

they deserve to as well, horrible club

10-04-2020, 04:49 PM
They want reconstruction . All the clubs that voted no in the championship will benefit from it. Self interest for all teams always win the day. Now they have to persuade enough clubs to vote for it. I suspect they will with enough spin from the Hearts and Rangers media mouthpieces.

Given the numbers required for reconstruction it’ll surely never happen. 11/12 Premiership clubs need to back it.

10-04-2020, 04:50 PM
Not over yet

10-04-2020, 04:53 PM
https://spfl.co.uk/news/statement-from-the-spfl-board

10-04-2020, 04:55 PM

Apparently the club that haven’t voted yet in the top league are Ross County. Hearts voted no as per their statement. So what have Rangers done....

10-04-2020, 04:56 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200410/271a0979e8785fe84551d608812737e5.jpg

Greenworld
How can one club not vote

Apparently the club that haven’t voted yet in the top league are Ross County. Hearts voted no as per their statement. So what have Rangers done....

I think it’s Rangers that have refused to vote. Ross County I think would have said yes but it’s not been published.

10-04-2020, 04:57 PM
Inverness could be sending a few clubs to the wall tonight.

10-04-2020, 04:58 PM
Two votes against in the Championship will be Partick and Inverness?

Dundee

10-04-2020, 04:59 PM
Two votes against in the Championship will be Partick and Inverness?

Partick and Dundee.

Clubs apparently have 28 days to respond. They were asked to respond more urgently due to the circumstances but don’t have to comply.

Greenworld
Inverness could be sending a few clubs to the wall tonight.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkThis is not fair how can you release results with one teams vote making or breaking it

Probably unconstitutional, but, given that they were asked to vote by 5pm, I would regard the votes still to come as abstentions.

Dundee

Yup, deleted my post after I realised. So it's Inverness who are dithering.

Greenworld
10-04-2020, 05:01 PM
Partick and Dundee.

Clubs apparently have 28 days to respond. They were asked to respond more urgently due to the circumstances but don’t have to comply.That's all very well but my God so Inverness or dundee were guessing could just say up you [emoji848]

Greenworld
10-04-2020, 05:02 PM
Probably unconstitutional, but, given that they were asked to vote by 5pm, I would regard the votes still to come as abstentions.Would that make it fail though

10-04-2020, 05:03 PM
I suspect said club will be delaying to consider some back room desls which will never see the light of day.

Yup, deleted my post after I realised. So it's Inverness who are dithering.

They won't dither, they've a chance of promotion with reconstruction - which isn't going to happen. Owner better get his bank manager on standby :aok: or the receivers :agree:

I'm going to be very upset if Robbo has the sway with the Inverness board that ultimately leads to Hearts going into administration
That would be dynamite

10-04-2020, 05:04 PM
How can one club not vote

The Rangers won’t vote as doing so might prejudice a future legal challenge. Guess what’s coming.......

10-04-2020, 05:05 PM
Today was always a case of "you win you lose" for Ann Budge & for Rangers

A No vote at the spfl doesnt bring in any money (a yes vote would)

And what they cant survive without is.... money.

Greenworld
10-04-2020, 05:07 PM
The Rangers won’t vote as doing so might prejudice a future legal challenge. Guess what’s coming.......Fair enough but the championship team know no they make or break it.
You could say clever from Spfl throughs all the pressure on that team ..

10-04-2020, 05:11 PM
Clubs will die if this doesnt pass and we have months of no outcome or prize money.

10-04-2020, 05:14 PM
Hearts are the club who didnt vote 😂😂

10-04-2020, 05:16 PM
Did they forget to busy tarting themselves phoning other clubs

10-04-2020, 05:18 PM
Budge must be on the phone to ICT right now pleading with them to say no.

Hearts will be rejoicing with some clubs fannying around and extending the process. A few clubs will almost certainly go to the wall and league restructure will probably happen as an emergency measure.

Fax machine must still go directly to Romanov and he's wondering why the **** he's just received a letter

10-04-2020, 05:19 PM
She probably fell asleep watching countdown and missed the deadline.

10-04-2020, 05:20 PM
Is it not Dundee who haven't voted?

bringbackbenny
10-04-2020, 05:20 PM

That would be so funny, Deja vu with forgetting to order the seats 😅.

Or maybe they spoiled the paper 😀

10-04-2020, 05:21 PM
They’re losing their minds on Kickback with all their theories 🤣

One just heard from a good source that Hearts and Rangers abstained and Aberdeen voted no.... on a 10-1 outcome. So 13 clubs in the SPL now ...🤪

10-04-2020, 05:22 PM
Is it not Dundee who haven't voted?

It’s Inverness

10-04-2020, 05:23 PM
It’s Inverness

How do you know?

10-04-2020, 05:25 PM
It’s Inverness

Are you sure?

That has been widely rumoured, but are they not one of the clubs in most dire need of the income?

10-04-2020, 05:26 PM
How do you know?

Just going by what everyone on this thread are saying. Waiting for Inverness to say either eyes or no.

Thought Dundee would have voted no following their stupid alternative that they put forward

10-04-2020, 05:27 PM
What a shambles.

One club now knows it holds all the power. Just waiting for the bribe money?

10-04-2020, 05:28 PM
They’re losing their minds on Kickback with all their theories 🤣

One just heard from a good source that Hearts and Rangers abstained and Aberdeen voted no.... on a 10-1 outcome. So 13 clubs in the SPL now ...🤪

Saw that. Even simple addition is beyond them it seems...

10-04-2020, 05:32 PM
What a shambles.

One club now knows it holds all the power. Just waiting for the bribe money?

Yes from the outside looking in, it seems like corruption to me

steviehibsleith
10-04-2020, 05:32 PM
If as being mentioned teams have abstained from a vote then does this meant the vot is not counted either way.
The sticking point Championship is 7-2 with I believe ICT not voted yet ..... At this time then the vote is 78 percent yes because only 9 voted do we have to wait 28 days

Do one Inverness

10-04-2020, 05:36 PM
If as being mentioned teams have abstained from a vote then does this meant the vot is not counted either way.
The sticking point Championship is 7-2 with I believe ICT not voted yet ..... At this time then the vote is 78 percent yes because only 9 voted do we have to wait 28 days

Do one Inverness

It’s going to get voted through eventually regardless. The majority of the Scottish football league has spoken.

Heckys Wheel
10-04-2020, 05:37 PM
It’s Inverness

Forgotten to vote?

Chief Exec is Scott Gardener. He not the guy that forgot to order the seats for Tynecastle?

10-04-2020, 05:38 PM

Do one Inverness

The requirement is 75% of the clubs need to vote in favour, so 8 out of 10 in the championship. It's not 75% of the clubs that actually bothered to vote, unfortunately.

bringbackbenny
10-04-2020, 05:42 PM
Forgotten to vote?

Chief Exec is Scott Gardener. He not the guy that forgot to order the seats for Tynecastle?

Yup. Looks like a deviant yam as well

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1451141/hearts-cut-ties-coo-scot-gardiner/

10-04-2020, 05:48 PM
So those who haven’t voted (Inverness mainly) now how hold all the power and get the decider. Seems fair. Sure Budgie won’t be offering their directors or wee Robbo any bungs.

10-04-2020, 05:48 PM
So those who haven’t voted (Inverness mainly) now how hold all the power and get the decider. Seems fair. Sure Budgie won’t be offering their directors or wee Robbo any bungs.

Doubt it. They ain't got a pot to piss in.

10-04-2020, 05:56 PM
Twitter suggesting it was Ross County who didn’t vote

Am I missing something, did the clubs not have until 5pm to vote?