View Full Version : NHC Euro Championships 2016

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13

27-06-2016, 03:30 PM
Really looking forward to Spain v Italy.

Maybe a game for the purists with Italy sitting deep you never know.

27-06-2016, 04:13 PM
De Gea is answering his critics in the best possible way here.

2 fantastic saves.

Saturday Boy
27-06-2016, 04:18 PM
Italy have started well. I think many people were expecting them to just sit in.

They appear to be coping with the conditions better, perhaps it's all to do with the "Rain in Spain" :wink:

27-06-2016, 04:34 PM
1-0 Italy

27-06-2016, 04:38 PM
Ramos is the worst center back on the field.

27-06-2016, 04:38 PM
1-0 Italy

Keeper could have done more?

27-06-2016, 04:40 PM
Keeper could have done more?
Personally think the commentators are being a bit harsh. It's travelled at real pace and there wasn't much more he could do other than getting something behind it.

If it was me I'd be questioning why 3 Italians are queing up to finish it and only 1 defender has reacted.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

27-06-2016, 04:46 PM
The way it's going, I can't see Italy losing this game.

27-06-2016, 04:47 PM
Could have been 2. Another good save. Spain, Iniesta excepted, look woeful.

renato
27-06-2016, 04:53 PM
We should be 2 or 3 up. Just hope it doesn't cost us.

Great performance so far.

Time For Heroes
27-06-2016, 04:58 PM
Italy have been brilliant so far, so organised. I bet Chelsea fans are getting excited

HibeesLA
27-06-2016, 04:59 PM
Personally think the commentators are being a bit harsh. It's travelled at real pace and there wasn't much more he could do other than getting something behind it.

If it was me I'd be questioning why 3 Italians are queing up to finish it and only 1 defender has reacted.

You can see in the slow motion replays that he tries to get his hands on the ball to push it away from the middle of the box, but as you say, there was so much pace on it, and I'm sure it swerved a bit that it just comes off his arms wrong and back into play. Good work though by the Italians to be following up first as well. Harsh to blame him for the goal.

Time For Heroes
27-06-2016, 05:00 PM
You can see in the slow motion replays that he tries to get his hands on the ball to push it away from the middle of the box, but as you say, there was so much pace on it, and I'm sure it swerved a bit that it just comes off his arms wrong and back into play. Good work though by the Italians to be following up first as well. Harsh to blame him for the goal.

Id blame Pique first, not even looking...

27-06-2016, 05:03 PM
only saw the goal at HT wtf was pique doing at the freekick

27-06-2016, 05:08 PM
poor header right in front of goals, cummings would have buried that

27-06-2016, 05:14 PM
Big Dave De Gea must be the best keeper in the game right now.

27-06-2016, 05:17 PM
WTF is the ref thinking there?

That's as clear a foul as I've ever seen.

27-06-2016, 05:21 PM
Italy should have sewn this game up by now.

Finn2015
27-06-2016, 05:30 PM
Spain starting get on top but Italy know how to defend a 1-0 lead. If they get through I fancy Italy go all the way

27-06-2016, 05:32 PM
Spain starting get on top but Italy know how to defend a 1-0 lead. If they get through I fancy Italy go all the way

I backed it at 12s.

1 goal is quite often enough for Italy.

Time For Heroes
27-06-2016, 05:33 PM
Conti 😂😂😂😂😂😂

27-06-2016, 05:37 PM
Iniesta unlucky there, good strike, either side it's a goal.

27-06-2016, 05:39 PM
Spain are past it, so slow and tikka tikka just doesn't work now when teams set up against it properly.

27-06-2016, 05:40 PM
I backed it at 12s.

18's :) never did them ew though........

LM1875
27-06-2016, 05:41 PM
Looks good for chelsea next season like...

Finn2015
27-06-2016, 05:43 PM
I backed it at 12s.

Might not have the superstars like they used to but they know how to churn out wins mate

LM1875
27-06-2016, 05:48 PM
Buffon👏🏻

27-06-2016, 05:49 PM
That's it.

2-0

That will be that.

2-0 Italy, they deserve that.

27-06-2016, 05:50 PM
Classic Italy. Have to say I always enjoy when they do well.

(((Fergus)))
27-06-2016, 05:50 PM
Big Dave De Gea must be the best keeper in the game right now.

Has always seemed a fragile (lack of) presence in goal. Would have Neuer and Buffon before him

Ooh I love this Italy side.

27-06-2016, 05:51 PM
Buffon👏🏻

Very few ever accept that a player currently playing can be the best ever but Buffon is right up there in goalkeeping terms.

In terms of stature and having an almost revolutionary effect on the way the position is played only Peter Schmeichel and him stand out in my lifetime.

27-06-2016, 05:52 PM
End of an era for Spain... Italy deserved winners.

27-06-2016, 05:57 PM
Italy v germany on saturday could be a decent watch.

(((Fergus)))
27-06-2016, 06:00 PM
Italy v germany on saturday could be a decent watch.

And Italy is Germany's bogey team. Having said that, Yogi Loew likes bogeys.

27-06-2016, 06:07 PM
And Italy is Germany's bogey team. Having said that, Yogi Loew likes bogeys.

I fancy Germany to blow away the bogeys on Saturday.

27-06-2016, 06:08 PM
I've got Italy at 18/1 to win the euros outright and 33/1 for a France v Italy final. Here's hoping...

27-06-2016, 06:20 PM
End of an era for Spain... Italy deserved winners.

It might be over now but that 2008-2012 Spain team has to go down as one of the best international sides ever.

Dan Sarf
27-06-2016, 06:48 PM
"If it's a poor record in history, there's no better way than changing it today."

Glenn Hoddle sums up all our thoughts.

27-06-2016, 06:52 PM
I backed it at 12s.

I got them at 12s as well.

Stuck a wee £10 on Italy to win today, so all good. :greengrin

27-06-2016, 06:54 PM
I think England might find this a wee bit tricky tonight...

27-06-2016, 06:55 PM
I've got Italy at 18/1 to win the euros outright and 33/1 for a France v Italy final. Here's hoping...

Thought France and Italy were in the same side of the draw so would meet in the semi final.

High-On-Hibs
27-06-2016, 06:58 PM
England fans burning up European Union flags in France. Really really poor show. They're just shouting out for a riot.

27-06-2016, 07:00 PM
Can'y decide between not minding England doing well and the utter hilarity of the reaction if they lose.

27-06-2016, 07:00 PM
Can'y decide between not minding England doing well and the utter hilarity of the reaction if they lose.

This every time! :greengrin

27-06-2016, 07:01 PM
Just a thought about the English national anthem.What will they do when they have a king? Will they just swap queen for king? Or get a new tune?

27-06-2016, 07:04 PM
Just a thought about the English national anthem.What will they do. When we have a king? Will they just swap queen for king? Or get a new tune?

Just swap. It's been done before. The song has been about in both variations since the 1600s.

Penalty England.

Penalty to england.

27-06-2016, 07:05 PM
1-0 Rooney. Good penalty.

27-06-2016, 07:05 PM
Rooney scores penalty

27-06-2016, 07:06 PM
Tyldesley doing my head in already

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Lol

Lol 1-1

Awful defending

I think certain loons down South need brought back to earth. Say no to cod wars.

27-06-2016, 07:07 PM
Slice my wrists :greengrin

:faf: :faf: :faf:

Couldn't even hold on for 2 minutes :faf:

High-On-Hibs
Quickest response ever?

Game on.

First time I've cheered a hammer thrower like that haha

Fuuuccyaaaaaaasssss

Boom! Tee hee

I think England might find this a wee bit tricky tonight...
Nope, wishful thinking on your part.

Is Hart brave enough there?

27-06-2016, 07:08 PM
England 1 v Cardiff City 1

27-06-2016, 07:08 PM
34 seconds after kick off :faf: :faf:

27-06-2016, 07:10 PM
England lost a goal because Iceland are stuck in 80s mode apparently!

27-06-2016, 07:10 PM
Nope, wishful thinking on your part.

What was I thinking :greengrin

27-06-2016, 07:12 PM
Just swap. It's been done before. The song has been about in both variations since the 1600s.

Penalty England.
Ah never knew that cheers.

27-06-2016, 07:12 PM
Hoodle is seething.

27-06-2016, 07:15 PM
Hoodle is seething.

Hodgson should get Eileen Drewery on the case. Worked for Hoddle......

27-06-2016, 07:19 PM
Hahahaha

England 1 v Farmhouse Foods 2 :thumbsup:

Hart is gash, Forster is a much better keeper than him haha

:faf: :faf: :faf:

Joe Hart :faf: :faf:

How is Hart number 1?

Hahahahahahahahaha ha

Joe Hart, what a walking disaster

Quality keeping

Hehehehehehehe

27-06-2016, 07:20 PM
Amazing!!

Hart has his head and shoulders in his hands.

High-On-Hibs
Another Joe Hart special. :greengrin

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/eLdT3dOrCNE/hqdefault.jpg

Great football move, from a team stuck in the 80's

27-06-2016, 07:21 PM
Pressure oan Engurland!

Defence is pish

just turned over in time to see Mr Head and Shoulders offering a helping hand...again :)

Indeed, and has been for sometime.

When Butland is fit Hart wouldn't even be 2nd choice imo. The longer it takes an England manager to figure it out the better though.

Off the bar
Ah ha ha ha ha

Got to laugh. He must still have some shampoo on his hands.

27-06-2016, 07:22 PM
Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaa

Indeed, and has been for sometime. When Butland is fit Hart wouldn't even be 2nd choice imo. The longer it takes an England manager to figure it out the better though.

Agreed! I rate Butland and Forster way ahead of Hart!

But, but, they only have a population of 300,000, Engerland has over 50m!

England out of Europe twice in a few days?

(((Fergus)))
27-06-2016, 07:23 PM

He is a screaming, shouting fake

27-06-2016, 07:23 PM
Looks like France will 'probably be facing Iceland' next.

27-06-2016, 07:24 PM
Englands defence is a joke yet they still delude themselves they can win the Tournament
They may well go on to win this one but they have been given a sober reminder of their defensive frailties

27-06-2016, 07:25 PM
Great football move, from a team stuck in the 80's

Beating the country stuck in 66.

High-On-Hibs
27-06-2016, 07:26 PM
Beating the country stuck in 66.

England defence and Joe Hart been coached by Corporal Jones? They really don't like it up 'em.

'If England lose it'll be a massive embarrassment'England 0-0 Iceland

http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/64/cpsprodpb/vivo/live/images/2015/8/4/ca7b7551-cf73-4684-ad94-895272b0e601.jpg

Danny Mills
Ex-England defender on BBC Radio 5 live

I'll be very, very surprised if England don't win this game 2-0, 3-1. Iceland have done very well but they have a limited pool of players to pick from. If England don't win this game then it will be a massive embarrassment.

engerlund will have to win 4-2 now for my prediction last night of a 2-goal win for them

Funniest phrase I heard after Hart's first blunder, and now worked even better:
Joe Hart has hands like cat flaps

27-06-2016, 07:27 PM
Does Robbie Neilson have Icelandic cousins?

27-06-2016, 07:28 PM
How crap is Sterling? (and I don't mean the money

(((Fergus)))
'If England lose it'll be a massive embarrassment'

England 0-0 Iceland

http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/64/cpsprodpb/vivo/live/images/2015/8/4/ca7b7551-cf73-4684-ad94-895272b0e601.jpg

Danny Mills
Ex-England defender on BBC Radio 5 live

I'll be very, very surprised if England don't win this game 2-0, 3-1. Iceland have done very well but they have a limited pool of players to pick from. If England don't win this game then it will be a massive embarrassment.

engerlund will have to win 4-2 now for my prediction last night of a 2-goal win for them

Kudos to Mills and Shearer, failures in their own day, for their continuous trolling of the England camp, must have been great for morale.

Off the bar
England trying hard to beat Celtics record of going out of Europe twice in a month!

Shamelessly stolen from twitter

27-06-2016, 07:29 PM
After watching a tactical masterclass from the Italians then watching England its like night and day.

27-06-2016, 07:31 PM
You have to say, England really are serious about leaving Europe.

27-06-2016, 07:31 PM
How crap is Sterling? (and I don't mean the money

His reputation has plummeted about as quickly as the currency.

27-06-2016, 07:32 PM
dirty cheat

Alright lads? What a very fine day's football it has been.

I was hoping for the traditional exit on penalties but this? This could have me laughing for years :hilarious

#prayforscousehibee

High-On-Hibs
That was blatant simulation surely?

High-On-Hibs
27-06-2016, 07:33 PM
I'm confused. Are English fans the people, or are The Rangers fans the people? :confused:

Hoddle- "he was anticipating the foul that doesn't come". Does that mean he dived in plain English?

TBF this is actually a cracking game of pretty tasty football.

27-06-2016, 07:34 PM
I was hoping for the traditional exit on penalties but this? This could have me laughing for years :hilarious

#prayforscousehibee

I'm sure there was a poll not that long ago that showed a majority of Merseyside wanted to be governed from Scotland. Scouse might just fancy it now.....

27-06-2016, 07:34 PM
Deli Alhi blatant dive!! Hows that no a booking ?!!

27-06-2016, 07:35 PM
TBF this is actually a cracking game of pretty tasty football.

It has been.

Pretty frantic stuff but entertaining.

Finn2015
27-06-2016, 07:36 PM
I don't dare to dream yet but at least Iceland have something to scrap and fight for. Cmon Iceland!

27-06-2016, 07:37 PM
Iceland shooting from distance, they fancy another one.

27-06-2016, 07:38 PM
It has been.

Pretty frantic stuff but entertaining.

When England go for it they're not too bad. Still a bit fragile and clunky but not the worst. You've got to hand to those Icelandic fans though. They make some noise.

But the main talking point is that absolutely rank minging England strip. Truly pi5h.

27-06-2016, 07:38 PM
Iceland shooting from distance, they fancy another one.

And why not the way Hart dealt with their last goal :aok:

27-06-2016, 07:40 PM
When England go for it they're not too bad. Still a bit fragile and clunky but not the worst. You've got to hand to those Icelandic fans though. They make some noise.

But the main talking point is that absolutely rank minging England strip. Truly pi5h.

Hmmm their strip would rank quite a bit below the current scoreline in my prioritising of talking points just now :greengrin

27-06-2016, 07:40 PM
gie the baw tae sson

27-06-2016, 07:44 PM
I thought brexit was a political vote?????

27-06-2016, 07:46 PM
I thought brexit was a political vote?????

Just goes to show no-one knows the full ramifications yet :greengrin

27-06-2016, 07:47 PM
Hmmm their strip would rank quite a bit below the current scoreline in my prioritising of talking points just now :greengrin

Not sure about that, it is outstandingly naff.

(((Fergus)))
Iceland FoodsVerified account ‏@IcelandFoods (https://twitter.com/IcelandFoods) 26m26 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/IcelandFoods/status/747509961392001024)
*Pulls shutters down* #ENGICE (https://twitter.com/hashtag/ENGICE?src=hash)

I dunno. I've only watched one iceland game but they are properly hard to break down and well organised, certainly don't see Raheem Sterling breaking them down anyway. Hrediesson would definitely get into England's team.

Edit 3-0 Germany, Draaaaxler.

Still no sign of Sterling breaking them down :greengrin

renato
27-06-2016, 07:48 PM
Very few ever accept that a player currently playing can be the best ever but Buffon is right up there in goalkeeping terms.

In terms of stature and having an almost revolutionary effect on the way the position is played only Peter Schmeichel and him stand out in my lifetime.

His nickname's "Superman" and it's well earned - he doesn't often churn out save after save (mostly because his defences are so well organised) but when there's a critical, high pressure, game changing moment for a forward, he so often delivers with a stop out of nowhere. The guy's a living legend and who'd bet against him fulfilling his wish and doing a Zoff by playing in the next WC...

BTW that was tactical master class again by Conte, out foxed Del Bosque and the celebrations when that 2nd went in were glorious. I feel a bit more at ease now that we've overcome Spain, another really difficult game against the Germans to come but we've got a brilliant record against them and they really won't fancy playing us after today.

I got 16's on Italy outright a few months ago and 18's ew so fingers crossed...

27-06-2016, 07:48 PM
Who do you fancy for it?

Not Engerland.

27-06-2016, 07:52 PM
If England do get out of this mess does Hodgson stick with Hart? 2 clear errors now and a more than able deputy waiting in the wings.

27-06-2016, 07:55 PM
Ian Wright looks like he's ready to punch someone :faf:

27-06-2016, 07:55 PM
His nickname's "Superman" and it's well earned - he doesn't often churn out save after save (mostly because his defences are so well organised) but when there's a critical, high pressure, game changing moment for a forward, he so often delivers with a stop out of nowhere. The guy's a living legend and who'd bet against him fulfilling his wish and doing a Zoff by playing in the next WC...

BTW that was tactical master class again by Conte, out foxed Del Bosque and the celebrations when that 2nd went in were glorious. I feel a bit more at ease now that we've overcome Spain, another really difficult game against the Germans to come but we've got a brilliant record against them and they really won't fancy playing us after today.

Yep I lumped on at 17s and then 13s too to win outright. If this is us having our worst team in 50 years I'll take that team in every tournament please. So well drilled but so fluid in counter attack too. I could watch that style of football without ever getting bored. Such glorious revenge for the 4-0 four years ago too. Having taken Spain out I'd love to see Germany put to the sword on the way to the final. 1982, gloriously, all over again?

27-06-2016, 07:57 PM
If England do get out of this mess does Hodgson stick with Hart? 2 clear errors now and a more than able deputy waiting in the wings.

All England managers are always too safety first to make a call like that. I don't know if it is the type of manager they tend to appoint or the pressure in the job from the red tops but they are always far, far too cautious.

27-06-2016, 07:57 PM
Something distinctly Hunnish about the England commentators. Their sense of entitlement, disrespect for the opposition and "we arra peepul" attitude just makes you want them to get beat. Loving' it.

Off the bar
27-06-2016, 07:58 PM
That 2nd goal looks worse and worse for Joe Hart every time I see it.

I think I'll watch it again.

27-06-2016, 07:58 PM
Something distinctly Hunnish about the England commentators. Their sense of entitlement, disrespect for the opposition and "we arra peepul" attitude just makes you want them to get beat. Loving' it.

What game are you listening to?

seanshow
27-06-2016, 07:59 PM
Good margarine hands goalie you got yourselves engerland pmsl

Dan Sarf

"Does he drop Hart for the quarter final?"

em, have you noticed he score?

High-On-Hibs

It's always been that way and its beyond distinctive.

27-06-2016, 08:01 PM

I think that very much depends on the commentator, they're certainly not all like that.

27-06-2016, 08:01 PM
Nicola Sturgeon is currently scrambling around seeking to get us reinstated.

27-06-2016, 08:02 PM
Sterling runs like he's being chased by his own arse 😂😂

27-06-2016, 08:04 PM
Nicola Sturgeon is currently scrambling around seeking to get us reinstated.

Sadly we weren't in it in the first place. It does feel as though the performances of Wales, N Ireland, England and Ireland have left us and Strachan looking a bit crap and raises the temperature even more for the World Cup qualifiers.

(((Fergus)))

German TV pundits used to be just as bad, possibly worse (understandably). Maybe they still are. The English arrogance seems more like a tentative bravado as they have no objective reason to believe in themselves.

High-On-Hibs
I think that very much depends on the commentator, they're certainly not all like that.

I was referring more to the crowd than the commentary to be honest. Some of the commentators are ok, but they're far and few between.

Ian Wright thinks so but that second goal was a shocker and if they do win the manager has to consider that or its a vote of no confidence in the other keeper

27-06-2016, 08:06 PM
Sadly we weren't in it in the first place. It does feel as though the performances of Wales, N Ireland, England and Ireland have left us and Strachan looking a bit crap and raises the temperature even more for the World Cup qualifiers.

Christ.

I hadn't even thought about that.

27-06-2016, 08:07 PM
Wayne Rooney has been a great player, but once again England are frightened to leave a player out by playing him in a position he's not good enough to play, rather than someone who is.

He slows the game down and cant go past a player and drive with the ball, England NEVER learn. :greengrin

27-06-2016, 08:09 PM
This commentator is annoying. Can just tell if England score he'll be all "it was just a matter of time" and "normal service resumed" etc. Cmon Iceland hold on.

SJM
27-06-2016, 08:09 PM
Come on England!!

27-06-2016, 08:10 PM
If the do manage to pull this back, they will only go out in the next round to Asda.

27-06-2016, 08:11 PM
This commentator is annoying. Can just tell if England score he'll be all "it was just a matter of time" and "normal service resumed" etc. Cmon Iceland hold on.

Hear, hear to that!
Or maybe get another😀

27-06-2016, 08:12 PM
Hoping that Iceland can deliver, get a third goal then they really can shut up shop.

Dan Sarf
27-06-2016, 08:12 PM
England now playing tap tap tap hoof. Remind you of anyone?

27-06-2016, 08:13 PM
Any chance of Hibs getting Icelands throw in coach? Totally undefendable.

What the duck are these assistants behind the goals there for.
They never make a decision and contribute nothing to the game :rolleyes:

(((Fergus)))
Great save? Straight at him ffs

Wonder what the Icelandic commentator is like today?

27-06-2016, 08:15 PM
Great save? Straight at him ffs
Tbf to him it was a very good save to from that range.

27-06-2016, 08:16 PM

Agreed - they're getting beat but the commentator is still smug enough to say - "Iceland's fairy-tale adventure continues" ??

27-06-2016, 08:17 PM

With the exception of the 3 or 4 penalties they've awarded this tournament?

Best thing Sterling has done all game. Sturridge a close 2nd for worst player this even.

£50 million for Sterling Farf!!

They ate pinning all their hopes on Vardy
A lot of pressure on him Lets see how he copes with that

27-06-2016, 08:18 PM

Wage thieves.

27-06-2016, 08:18 PM
They ate pinning all their hopes on Vardy A lot of pressure on him Lets see how he copes with that Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

He should have started Ronnie but the £50 million pound man took his place.

27-06-2016, 08:21 PM
mon iceland, do them

27-06-2016, 08:21 PM
Wonder what the Icelandic commentator is like today?
Winston Churchhill - Maggie Thatcher - John Major - Tony Blair - David Cameron - Roy Hodgson - YOUR BOYS TOOK ONE HELL OF A BEATING :greengrin

Ergye
27-06-2016, 08:22 PM
Someone asked before whether these Euros have been a success thus far.

I think the answer to that is an unequivocal YES !!

27-06-2016, 08:23 PM
Free kick there Harry

What was that from Kane? That was hillariously bad. Almost Kujabiesque.

Even if England pulls this off the seethe will be off the scale.

He should have started Ronnie but the £50 million pound man took his place.

Whats Harry Kane all about Aldo

I was referring more to the crowd than the commentary to be honest. Some of the commentators are ok, but they're far and few between.

That's even more unfair. The vast majority of England fans take a pretty bleak fatalistic view of their chances generally.

He won't have Zoff's legendary status until Hibs have put 5 past him at ER.

27-06-2016, 08:24 PM
Panic about to set in soon.

27-06-2016, 08:25 PM
Whats Harry Kane all about Aldo Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Indeed Ronnie, TBF their front players are as bad as each other this evening. Which for me is very pleasing!

Some wee signs some of Iceland s players may be tiring

Winston Churchhill - Maggie Thatcher - John Major - Tony Blair - David Cameron - Roy Hodgson - YOUR BOYS TOOK ONE HELL OF A BEATING :greengrin

Tony Blair is Scottish by birth is he not? You could sub in the SNP's Angus Robertson though, he was born in Wimbledon. :wink:

27-06-2016, 08:27 PM
Panic about to set in soon.

How bad is Rooney though? :D

Iceland must keep their cool.

renato
Yep I lumped on at 17s and then 13s too to win outright. If this is us having our worst team in 50 years I'll take that team in every tournament please. So well drilled but so fluid in counter attack too. I could watch that style of football without ever getting bored. Such glorious revenge for the 4-0 four years ago too. Having taken Spain out I'd love to see Germany put to the sword on the way to the final. 1982, gloriously, all over again?

Aye, it's great to watch and there's nothing more enjoyable than seeing two heavy weights slugging it out, especially when one team just out thinks and out plays the other. Xavi recently said that Conte's Italy reminds him of a Barca / Atletico hybrid and you can see what he means, after today and the Belgium game. Exciting times next season if you're a Chelsea fan, one would think.

And can you imagine how good we'd actually be if we had a Pirlo, Del Piero or a Baggio in their prime. The team spirit is extraordinary, which makes up for having not one world class player in the midfield or attack (for the first time in my lifetime (ever?)).

27-06-2016, 08:28 PM
Wayne Rooney. :faf:

Come on Iceland. Don't want to tempt fate but England look like they could play all night and not score.

He should be hooked.

Dan Sarf

tearing his hair out

27-06-2016, 08:29 PM
Iceland sitting a bit too deep at the moment!

Must admit getting nervous now

Beginning to hear the horror in the commentators voice.

27-06-2016, 08:30 PM
Beginning to hear the horror in the commentators voice.

Lucky break is bound to happen before the end of the 90 mins!

They usually do get something!!

27-06-2016, 08:30 PM
Iceland definitely tiring.

27-06-2016, 08:31 PM
c'mon iceland, stay cool

Some wee signs some of Iceland s players may be tiring

We could be playing for another hour and I still don't think England would score again.

Lucky break is bound to happen before the end of the 90 mins!

They usually do get something!!

Tbh seeing them equalise and then lose on penalties again would be better than them ****ing it up in 90.

renato
27-06-2016, 08:32 PM
He won't have Zoff's legendary status until Hibs have put 5 past him at ER.

Indeed :greengrin

One of the best keepers ever and my dad said he was simply blown away that night, we were completely rampant and would've beaten most teams in the world that night.

just kicking the ball up the field and bringing pressure back on themselves :(

Engurland players under performing yet nothing about how the Icelandic players are doing!

(((Fergus)))
27-06-2016, 08:33 PM
Come on Iceland. Don't want to tempt fate but England look like they could play all night and not score.

A wee equaliser and then out on penalties could be fun

I thought Iceland were maybe tired but I think part of it may be nerves. A lot of silly mistakes when in good positions that look like players getting a wee bit tense and over excited.

Dan Sarf
How many times has the commentator said WILSHIRE! Followed by nothing happening

Tbh seeing them equalise and then lose on penalties again would be better than them ****ing it up in 90.

It probably would but I'd rather see the job done in the 90 and then let the FALLOUT begin!!

27-06-2016, 08:34 PM
We could be playing for another hour and I still don't think England would score again.

Iceland upped a gear in last five minutes or so Interesting last 13 minutes or so coming up

27-06-2016, 08:35 PM
https://www.facebook.com/FPTJs/photos/a.153103394887432.1073741828.139287246269047/505458902985211/?type=3&theater

The Iceland fans seem quite cool.

(((Fergus)))
If it stays like this, Clive, the rest of Europe WILL be remembering this for a VERY long time.

27-06-2016, 08:36 PM
Still think Iceland need to step up a bit but maybe sitting as not to get caught in behind with Vardy's pace!

Nervy 12 minutes.

Stupid foul!

I could see Iceland nicking another for 3-1 as England get more desperate.

It probably would but I'd rather see the job done in the 90 and then let the FALLOUT begin!!

Oh yes!

"I'm sure the rest of Europe will not remember this game for a very long time..."

Wrong. This will be remembered as the time you got knocked out the Euros by ICELAND.

27-06-2016, 08:37 PM
pet hate number 6...strikers giving away stupid fouls to take the pressure right of the defending team...sigh

gogsy23
27-06-2016, 08:38 PM
You put your left leg in.....

27-06-2016, 08:38 PM

:agree: They hit austria on the break late on in their last game. I could see it happening again here. I think I'd hurt myself with laughter if so :greengrin

27-06-2016, 08:39 PM
England will still fancy themselves till about four minutes to go.

Commentator just mutters players underachieving

This commentator sounds like he's about to top himself live on air.

Pressure oan last 8 min Iceland hold on please!!

27-06-2016, 08:40 PM
The growing desperation in both commentators voices is joyous.

Good save Hart, that could have been that.

Aaaaarrrggghhh

That was nearly it!

boy could have finished it :(

NOOOO! got Island by a goal!

Why are they playing Rooney in this deep playmaker type role like he's Pirlo? he's no where near good enough for that.

I think the opposite. this reminds me of when they spawned it against Cameroon in the quarters in Italia 90.

27-06-2016, 08:41 PM
Every time a tourney starts I tell myself to grow up and stop wanting our southern friends to get pumped.

Within a few minutes of their first game I want them pumped.:greengrin

27-06-2016, 08:41 PM
Why are they playing Rooney in this deep playmaker type role like he's Pirlo? he's no where near good enough for that.

Defo not got hair for that anyway!

27-06-2016, 08:42 PM
TBF this is not the first or only team Iceland have done this to.

It's only Iceland remember...

The same Iceland that took 6 points off Holland in the qualifiers, beat Austria and took points from Hungary and Portugal in group stage.

Can't stand this patronising guff from Clive tyldesly.

I think the opposite. this reminds me of when they spawned it against Cameroon in the quarters in Italia 90.

Yes, me.too!

HiBremian
27-06-2016, 08:43 PM
Just turned on the telly after a busy day. Are we witnessing England finding their new place in Europe?

This commentator sounds like he's about to top himself live on air.

Yep...... total desperation in his voice

Every time a tourney starts I tell myself to grow up and stop wanting our southern friends to get pumped. Within a few minutes of their first game I want them pumped.:greengrin

Minutes??? not even seconds and it's the commentators that make me wish them defeated with their arrogance!

He thinks he's the next Joe Keanan.

TBF this is not the first or only team Iceland have done this to.

Totally. Holland home and away, austria and a draw against portugual to name a few. They're a well drilled effective side.

The post match interview's and analysis will be interesting if it stays the same.

http://magazine.nicktv.it/files/2016/05/Patrick-Stella-Hater.gif

Will they get a 'get out of jail' card??

27-06-2016, 08:44 PM
Hodgson deserves the sack just for leaving Kane on the dead balls this long. WTF was that?

Quality set piece yet again from Arry!! Tee hee

Kane's free kicks are magnificent :greengrin

It's only Iceland remember...

The same Iceland that took 6 points off Holland in the qualifiers, beat Austria and took points from Hungary and Portugal in group stage.

Can't stand this patronising guff from Clive tyldesly.

Tyldesly is the very worst.

oooooooooooohh lots of booing from the engelundy fans eh.....greatest fans in the world...when they're winning

Ergye
This is the best thing that has ever happened. Ever.

Iceland are also my only sweep team left too.

Cheesing. :greengrin

27-06-2016, 08:45 PM
Hodgson deserves the sack just for leaving Kane on the dead balls this long. WTF was that?

Apparently the best dead ball player in team!!

What time does the fighting and scrapping start :rolleyes:

Kane should have been off 20 minutes ago and the same with Ali, both been poor.

27-06-2016, 08:46 PM
Very disrespectful towards Iceland yet again from commentator!

stain on the reputation of england players...omfg

Commentators given up.