View Full Version : NHC Euro Championships 2016

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

11-06-2016, 06:58 PM
Just excellent from Wales. Now come on England.

11-06-2016, 06:59 PM
He will be winning if he is.

Putin vs Cameron. I'd pay good money...

1987kev
11-06-2016, 06:59 PM
Thought Putin would be there, maybe he's outside fighting

Just knock out Danny dyer

11-06-2016, 07:00 PM
1966 mentioned already....

Why not? I know I'll never tire of mentioning 2016 in the appropriate context...

Chauvinistic twats.

Let's hope the Tartan Army never stoop this low when playing England. :greengrin
I'd bin the anthems, no need for them.

I have England in the sweep at work. Quite fancy winning £50 but really don't want them to win the tournament.

The Stade Velodrome is one sexy stadium!

Voted 'Most beautiful stadium in Europe'. I was there last year and it is.

Why not? I know I'll never tire of mentioning 2016 in the appropriate context...

Exactly.

Putin vs Cameron. I'd pay good money...

Putin v Boris Johnson is the big one.

HiBremian
11-06-2016, 07:02 PM
Let's hope the Tartan Army never stoop this low when playing England. :greengrin
I'd bin the anthems, no need for them.

Seem to remember they joined in with the French singing the Marseillaise then humped them with that McFadden goal. Class.

11-06-2016, 07:04 PM
Voted 'Most beautiful stadium in Europe'. I was there last year and it is.

Just a thought from a centre-left perspective. If we were supporting a Euro 2016 nation on the basis of politics, what would be our natural pick?

11-06-2016, 07:07 PM
He will be winning if he is.

He has announced the results of a referundum and the England fans were 100% in favour of being attacked.

High-On-Hibs
Just want to wish our eastern comrades the best of luck.

Did Carl Macar design the England strip?

1987kev
11-06-2016, 07:08 PM
Why Kane taking corners??

11-06-2016, 07:10 PM
Just a thought from a centre-left perspective. If we were supporting a Euro 2016 nation on the basis of politics, what would be our natural pick?

Id be Sweden, they have a left wing government again. I'd always thought of you as a Blairite so I'd say you were Merkels Germany.

davidw
11-06-2016, 07:11 PM
Just heard "Rule Britannia" - this is just like the cup final. C'mon the Hibs, er, I mean, Russians.

Hibee_Craig7062
11-06-2016, 07:12 PM
Matter of time before England score here

11-06-2016, 07:13 PM
Russia seem pretty poor, can see England getting a few tonight

Id be Sweden, they have a left wing government again. I'd always thought of you as a Blairite so I'd say you were Merkels Germany.

Yup, Blairite and therefore more radical on the Owenite - as opposed to Marxist - left than the rest. :wink:

I'll go for Italy, as a fan of Gramsci.

davidw
Is that Glen Hoddle co-commentating? I presume ITV have happily forgotten about his views on disabled people then? Prick.

A nation with a Labour government - Wales :wink:

11-06-2016, 07:14 PM
England looking impressive so far. No axe to grind with me, they're good to watch.

11-06-2016, 07:15 PM
ABR. :agree:

11-06-2016, 07:18 PM
Safe to say we aren't seeing any potential winners right now.

I'd fancy Albania over any of these two.

High-On-Hibs
11-06-2016, 07:19 PM
A nation with a Labour government - Wales :wink:

He said centre left. Not a combination of far left and far right bams. :wink:

They've soaked up 20 mins of furious England pressure and it's still 0-0.

When did the velodrome get a roof??

11-06-2016, 07:23 PM
Big reconstruction over the last couple of years, think they've added another 10-15,000 on to the capacity as well. Believe there was a bit of a kick off as Marseille had to throw in some cash when all the others had everything paid for. Seems a bit odd all the same given it had a huge revamp in 1998.

davidw
11-06-2016, 07:24 PM
The better team creating chances and missing chances - this is like watching Hibs for a lot of last season. Let's hope they have a similar set of defensive lapses.

11-06-2016, 07:25 PM

It was finished last season.

11-06-2016, 07:29 PM
England by far the better side.

I quite like the look of the Russian striker, Dzubya. Quite isolated, but he's very strong. Get runners closer round him and he could cause them problems.

HiBremian
11-06-2016, 07:31 PM
England looking impressive so far. No axe to grind with me, they're good to watch.

Quite like the (multicultural) team. But the fans...............

11-06-2016, 07:34 PM
So far this Engerlund performance is going well with my roast beef, Yorkshire pudding and roast spuds.

11-06-2016, 07:34 PM
England by far the better side.

I quite like the look of the Russian striker, Dzubya. Quite isolated, but he's very strong. Get runners closer round him and he could cause them problems.

Russian right back seems decent too, should get him as Gray's understudy

Finn2015
11-06-2016, 07:41 PM
Just heard "Rule Britannia" - this is just like the cup final. C'mon the Hibs, er, I mean, Russians.

The rangers fans will be anxious watching their heroes tonight

11-06-2016, 07:42 PM
England are so overdue to deliver on their potential.

11-06-2016, 07:42 PM
The Russians are awful. Hoofball

11-06-2016, 07:44 PM
The Russians are awful. Hoofball

Aye, its all very maroon from them. Wonder if Romanov's there cheering them on?

11-06-2016, 07:45 PM
I'm putting this on mute, Hoddle and Co are doing my box in

11-06-2016, 07:45 PM
England playing very well. But it's 0-0 at HT.

High-On-Hibs
11-06-2016, 07:46 PM
The sheer arrogance of the commentary. Come on Russia, sucker punch them in the 95th minute!

davidw
11-06-2016, 07:47 PM

Hope the Russians walk into the dressing room to see Putin awaiting them....

11-06-2016, 07:47 PM
It's no Leith San Ciro but it's a tasty looking stadium.

11-06-2016, 07:49 PM
Anyone got a clue why Kane is taking corners, truly baffling.

They're completely Tom Kite, against arguably the poorest team in the competition (due to injuries).

The hype around England makes me puke. I'd even fancy Scotland to beat this Russian team.

And that is, unfortunately, the classic England under perform model. Don't really understand why Vardy isn't on.

For the first time in life, I want England to win tonight.

I so dislike Russia, Russian football fans and Russian holiday makers.

God save the queen and rule Britannia is making it a challenge, but I hope Russia get humped.

twiceinathens
11-06-2016, 07:50 PM
Been watching without sound throughout. England look decent helped by the fact that Russia are dire.

High-On-Hibs
11-06-2016, 07:51 PM
For the first time in life, I want England to win tonight.

I so dislike Russia, Russian football fans and Russian holiday makers.

God save the queen and rule Britannia is making it a challenge, but I hope Russia get humped.

What do you have against Russia? It's probably not quite as bad as the BBC makes out.

They're completely Tom Kite, against arguably the poorest team in the competition (due to injuries).

The hype around England makes me puke. I'd even fancy Scotland to beat this Russian team.

I don't think that's fair. They look well in control and pretty much all over the Soviets, sorry I mean Russians.

Shearer also took the corners for England. He's maybe the best crosser from a dead-ball to hit a defender?

11-06-2016, 07:53 PM
And that is, unfortunately, the classic England under perform model. Don't really understand why Vardy isn't on.

Fitness will be a factor. Dunno if England can keep up the pressure

11-06-2016, 07:54 PM
What do you have against Russia? It's probably not quite as bad as the BBC makes out.

It's worse. Neo facist, homophobic, arrogant and dangerous to world peace.

11-06-2016, 07:54 PM
think that England are looking decent against a poor team, if they play those players and in that formation against one of the other big guns then they could get an almighty fright

11-06-2016, 07:55 PM

Because Hodgson believes he is the best in his team at delivering from a dead ball.

If that is true then no wonder it is 0-0.

alexhibs
11-06-2016, 07:55 PM
I'm putting this on mute, Hoddle and Co are doing my box in

Doing my head in too imagine if they score !!!

11-06-2016, 07:56 PM
It's now very obvious that the Russian state sponsored doping program is a thing of the past.

If you get down there right now and tell them your name is Vladimir you'll probably get a game.

11-06-2016, 07:57 PM
Because Hodgson believes he is the best in his team at delivering from a dead ball.

If that is true then no wonder it is 0-0.

Derek Riordan took corners for Hibs.

High-On-Hibs

If a country that size was really such a danger to world peace, we wouldn't still be here talking about it. There is so much nonsense in the media these days and it's scary how many people are taken in by it.

davidw

You are 100% right. And the Russian fans there will be the privileged and rich in a horribly divided country.

But they're playing England so I still want them to win. It's football: logic doesn't come into it...

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy

Wow. Thats quite a perspective. Even with full team, england would be strong favs.

Russia are gash annd corrupt.

11-06-2016, 07:58 PM

And Deek was much better at heiders than Kane!!

11-06-2016, 07:59 PM
If a country that size was really such a danger to world peace, we wouldn't still be here talking about it. There is so much nonsense in the media these days and it's scary how many people are taken in by it.

OK.

Arrogant, neo facist and homophobic will have to do then.

Politics,punditry and press apart, I've enjoyed England's first half performance. Age is mellowing me!

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy

Come on. I get the contrary, liberal view on media bias. But Russia is effectively a kleptocratic dictatorship.

Renfrew_Hibby
11-06-2016, 08:00 PM

Are you for real?

Imperialist Russia is the biggest threat to global security!
Having said that... C'mon the ruskies!

You are 100% right. And the Russian fans there will be the privileged and rich in a horribly divided country.

But they're playing England so I still want them to win. It's football: logic doesn't come into it...

It should though.

You're not that shallow.

The maroon must be confusing you. It's Russia, not hearts.

11-06-2016, 08:01 PM

Go tell that to the Ukrainians and the Poles.

High-On-Hibs
11-06-2016, 08:02 PM
Come on. I get the contrary, liberal view on media bias. But Russia is effectively a kleptocratic dictatorship.

On what basis? Have you ever been there? You are making assumptions about a country that you hear about from a western perspective.

I'm not saying Russia is some paradise with no flaws, but if you actually went there you'd probably find that it isn't all that different to here or most countries.

11-06-2016, 08:02 PM

True, do you think he could do a job for England?

11-06-2016, 08:03 PM
True, do you think he could do a job for England?

Nah he's finnish

High-On-Hibs
11-06-2016, 08:04 PM
Go tell that to the Ukrainians and the Poles.

I don't think Ukraine or Poland have much love for the East or the West to be fair. They find both sides to be unhelpfully meddlesome. But you only hear about it from the western perspective.

ardecos
11-06-2016, 08:05 PM
Slovakia have a lot of quality and one of the best #10s in the world. Wales have a work ethic and team spirit that England can't match.

If the English don't beat Russia it's going to be tough for them.

England well on top but after watching Hibs over the past.season, it's predictable what happens next.

davidw
11-06-2016, 08:06 PM
It should though.

You're not that shallow.

I know. And you're right. But it ultimately comes down to the old chestnut of the English commentators and pundits broadcasting beyond English shores and wanting them to shut up - which is what the ABE thing has been about for decades.

11-06-2016, 08:08 PM
Sterling. £50 million yet he couldn't trap a bag of cement.

11-06-2016, 08:11 PM
I don't think Ukraine or Poland have much love for the East or the West to be fair. They find both sides to be unhelpfully meddlesome. But you only hear about it from the western perspective.

Oh sure, that's why Poland are in NATO and Ukraine would like to be...

11-06-2016, 08:12 PM
Sterling. £50 million yet he couldn't trap a bag of cement.

Or complete the killer pass...

11-06-2016, 08:15 PM

That'll be Poland who is in the EU, or a different Poland?

My father was Polish. He lived in the UK since 1939. I can assure you, his love for Russia, and that of his family, was less than zero.

You're obviously happy with Russia's homophobic laws and it's tolerance of neo Nazism so there's nothing I can say which will cause you to think differently.

Let's stop.

davidw
11-06-2016, 08:16 PM
I know. And you're right. But it ultimately comes down to the old chestnut of the English commentators and pundits broadcasting beyond English shores and wanting them to shut up - which is what the ABE thing has been about for decades.

Plus.. (rant continues after brief pause).. one of them is Hoddle who publicly stated that disabled people were paying the price of sins in a past life. Which is something not even Putin would come out with.

11-06-2016, 08:18 PM
Plus.. (rant continues after brief pause).. one of them is Hoddle who publicly stated that disabled people were paying the price of sins in a past life. Which is something not even Putin would come out with.

I'm on ITV, that's not the one Hoddle is doing is it?

davidw
11-06-2016, 08:20 PM

... but (Christ, am I now arguing with myself?) that's not to defend Putin, Russia, or all the horrors associated with it.

Ok, phone away, beer away, log off and back to sanity...

11-06-2016, 08:21 PM

So you're letting one knobhead influence your usually rational thinking?

That's irrational!

11-06-2016, 08:21 PM
... but (Christ, am I now arguing with myself?) that's not to defend Putin, Russia, or all the horrors associated with it.

Don't stop, you're enlivening a goal-less game.

davidw
11-06-2016, 08:22 PM
I'm on ITV, that's not the one Hoddle is doing is it?

Yeah, co-commentator.

11-06-2016, 08:22 PM

Hee hee! :thumbsup:

11-06-2016, 08:23 PM
Yeah, co-commentator.

He must be the anonymous one that keeps stating the bleeding obvious.

11-06-2016, 08:24 PM
I don't see what all the fuss is with Stirling? I do not rate him.

11-06-2016, 08:24 PM
I think England may get suckered here. Get the freakin' subs on!

11-06-2016, 08:25 PM
What a save haha

11-06-2016, 08:25 PM

His final delivery seems non-existent. What a save!

11-06-2016, 08:26 PM

I'd like to congratulate Liverpool on the money they got out of City for him

11-06-2016, 08:26 PM
Close from Rooney

Off the bar
11-06-2016, 08:27 PM

Rich mans James Forrest

11-06-2016, 08:28 PM
Peach!

Get in! well deserved and a cracker of a free kick.

Get in!

High-On-Hibs
Great freekick that never was!

Great free kick, don't think it was one in the first place though, Alli knew exactly what he was up to

11-06-2016, 08:29 PM
Spurs 1 Hearts 0

11-06-2016, 08:29 PM
And about time! Great strike and thoroughly deserved.

11-06-2016, 08:30 PM
"Justice for the England eleven". Oh dear, he will most likely regret that crass comment in the mornng.

11-06-2016, 08:31 PM
Clive Tyldesley is a knob

11-06-2016, 08:31 PM
Spurs 1 Hearts 0

But why are the Spurs fans singing that they've got McGinn?

11-06-2016, 08:32 PM
"Justice for the England eleven". Oh dear, he will most likely regret that crass comment in the mornng.

Why?

davidw
Quote: "Justice for the England XI". This is why it's hard to like them, Hibbyradge, no matter who they're playing.

But I also take your points, especially given your heritage.

And I am, honestly, now logging off...

MKHIBEE

I turned off after that, pathetic statement

Clive Tyldesley is a knob

He might even be in the Oxford English Dictionary as the definition of the word.

11-06-2016, 08:33 PM
But why are the Spurs fans singing that they've got McGinn?

We got £3m for him. :agree:

11-06-2016, 08:33 PM

Crass?
He is right, England deserve to be in front.

11-06-2016, 08:34 PM
England deserve to win but I doubt we'll see a worse team in the tournament. Russia are pish.

ionahibby
11-06-2016, 08:34 PM
Tyldesley doing my head with his commentating. It's only going to get worse the further England get on!

11-06-2016, 08:35 PM
Deserved lead . Commentators will already be working out their semi final opponents.

11-06-2016, 08:35 PM
Tyldesley doing my head with his commentating. It's only going to get worse the further England get on!

Makes it all the more enjoyable when they get papped out in the semis.

11-06-2016, 08:36 PM
Quote: "Justice for the England XI". This is why it's hard to like them, Hibbyradge, no matter who they're playing.

But I also take your points, especially given your heritage.

And I am, honestly, now logging off...

I do understand. Tonight is the first time in 56 years that I've wanted England to win..

I'll want them to beat Slovakia too, but I'm not sure how I'll feel against Wales.

Wales, who dived their way to beat Scotland, not once, but twice.

davidw
11-06-2016, 08:37 PM
Crass?

Have you heard of 'justice for the Guilford four', justice for the Birmingham six', 'justice for the Hillsborough 96'? That's why it's crass.

11-06-2016, 08:38 PM
Why?

Crass?

England do deserve to be in front, no question. But the quote has a parallel with Hillsborough and justice for the 96 and is something I find a little insensitive and distasteful.

High-On-Hibs
11-06-2016, 08:39 PM
He also loves to see England players throw themselves to the ground. :rolleyes:

11-06-2016, 08:40 PM
I do understand. Tonight is the first time in 56 years that I've wanted England to win..

I'll want them to beat Slovakia too, but I'm not sure how I'll feel against Wales.

Wales, who dived their way to beat Scotland, not once, but twice.

I agree Mr Radge. On all 3 counts. Jeez this is worrying, where's my whisky?

11-06-2016, 08:41 PM
Have you heard of 'justice for the Guilford four', justice for the Birmingham six', 'justice for the Hillsborough 96'? That's why it's crass.

Seriously? He was talking purely about the game being played. Nothing else. I guess I'm not as easily offended as some.

11-06-2016, 08:42 PM

That's one of the most ridiculous derivative takings of offence I've seen on .net.

Tyldesley is just a crap football commentator and you imply he's some kind of wider social observer misusing a term that you can't really be misused in the first place.

11-06-2016, 08:43 PM

Keep it in perspective!

If someone beats me on the river by pulling a highly unlikely straight, I'll think it's justice if later I go all in with an AK in the hole and draw QJ 10 :greengrin

A man with such a fine first name as you, should know better. :wink:

11-06-2016, 08:44 PM
England deserve to win but I doubt we'll see a worse team in the tournament. Russia are pish.

Agree, plus it serves them right for wearing the 1976 Motherwell away strip.

11-06-2016, 08:45 PM
I agree Mr Radge. On all 3 counts. Jeez this is worrying, where's my whisky?

Cool.

Now we're besties, can I borrow your golf swing?

11-06-2016, 08:45 PM
Keep it in perspective!

If someone beats me on the river by pulling a highly unlikely straight, I'll think it's justice if later I go all in with an AK in the hole and draw QJ 10 :greengrin

A man with such a fine first name as you, should know better. :wink:

You might think that was justice but it would also have been a very daft bet!

ionahibby
11-06-2016, 08:46 PM
Flare going off but love the fact tyldsley is making sure we all know it's going off in the "Russian end" England fans are angels right enough.

You're right, that IS unforgiveable.

:faf::faf:

ionahibby
Mon the Russia!!!

get in ya dancer yi

Hibee_Craig7062
Oh dear lol can't wait to see wright's puss at the end of this

11-06-2016, 08:47 PM
Well done the Russian Gray hahaha

Now that IS an injustice. Like bloody Hearts right enough.

Ha, ha, Ruasia have been rank. 😄

Oh Dear. Cue self-destruct button in England. :thumbsup:

High-On-Hibs
Why?

That's why. :cb

Whoopsie. Que guffawing in the Hobo hoose.....

Forever_Green93
Ha

Ha ha

Hahahahahaha

Totally undeserved, but that's football.

Englandsed it

11-06-2016, 08:48 PM
Heartsed it.

11-06-2016, 08:48 PM
Hahahahahaha****ingha!!!!!!

11-06-2016, 08:49 PM
Russia - easily the WORST team anyone will meet in the tournament. :thumbsup:

Those Hibees gloating about England might like to reflect on the absolute Falkirkness of that Russian undeserved late goal.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :thumbsup:

Justice, eh?!?!

High-On-Hibs
Russia - easily the WORST team anyone will meet in the tournament. :thumbsup:

Next to England.

Hibee_Craig7062
11-06-2016, 08:50 PM
Could be lively up toon in marseille tonight!!!

credit where credit is due, engerlund battled well to force a draw

A draw is perfect for Wales.

Great result for Wales

:hilarious:hilarious

How the hell did that happen.

11-06-2016, 08:51 PM
Heartsed it.

Dens'd it. :agree:

davidw
That's one of the most ridiculous derivative takings of offence I've seen on .net.

Tyldesley is just a crap football commentator and you imply he's some kind of wider social observer misusing a term that you can't really be misused in the first place.

Not sure. It's a specific terminology he's chosen, one used in a particular context (he didn't say "justice for England", he chose an expression used normally in the context of famous, and recent, miscarriages of justice). It's worth thinking about that, and then looking up the definition of "crass".

Anyway, it's taken me so long to (half-cut-edly) write this, that in the meantime Russia have equalised and the game is over.

So.. time for bed, no offence to any fellow Hibs.netters, and goodnight.

(And goodnight to you too, David Gray. Love you...)

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
Those Hibees gloating about England might like to reflect on the absolute Falkirkness of that Russian undeserved late goal.

Thats exactly what i thought of when it went in. Total mugging.

11-06-2016, 08:52 PM
I've not laughed that much for ages! :hilarious

Ya beauty Russia, get in there. :greengrin

That's my team, by inheritance, after Italy.

Which only proves there's always someone less fortunate than yourself :thumbsup:

High-On-Hibs
11-06-2016, 08:53 PM

Great result for Wales

https://metrouk2.files.wordpress.com/2016/05/gareth-bale.gif?w=620&h=348&crop=1

11-06-2016, 08:53 PM
Thats exactly what i thought of when it went in. Total mugging.

Should we blame the plucky no-hopers for not giving up or the far superior team for not doing enough?

11-06-2016, 08:54 PM
I've not laughed that much for ages! :hilarious

Usually at least once every 4 years :greengrin

11-06-2016, 08:54 PM
That was definitely Justice for the Russian 11.

11-06-2016, 08:55 PM
http://i19.tinypic.com/6jppmjs.gif

11-06-2016, 08:57 PM
That was definitely Justice for the Russian 11.

I get you want to laugh at England being a Nat but you surely don't honestly think Russia were worth the draw?

MKHIBEE
Dens'd it. :agree:

Your not Kidd ing

That's my team, by inheritance, after Italy.

I lived in Cardiff for a while and never took to the place. But I have massive respect for that team and they could go far in this tournament. Total desire fraternity and commitment and one genius on the team.

Justice for the England 11

Ridiculous comment by the commentator

ardecos
11-06-2016, 08:58 PM

If you've watched Hibs over the past season and and England had worn green strips with white sleeves then that's exactly what you would expect. Hopefully this won't happen under Neil Lennon.

11-06-2016, 09:00 PM
You'll get great odds on the yaki das beating Engerland because it will never happen.

I lived in Cardiff for a while and never took to the place. But I have massive respect for that team and they could go far in this tournament. Total desire fraternity and commitment and one genius on the team.

The game against England is now even more massive. Win that and its game on.

TBF Ian Wright doing a decent job of analysing it sensibly and with balance.

High-On-Hibs
I get you want to laugh at England being a Nat but you surely don't honestly think Russia were worth the draw?

They conceded one goal and scored one goal. In football, that is worthy of a draw. BritNats will have the tissues out tonight. Delightful.

Totally undeserved, but that's football.

It's also hilarious, more so when you are waiting on England for the coupon then cash out on 90 mins 😎😎😂😂

11-06-2016, 09:02 PM
Hopefully this won't happen under Neil Lennon.

I'd love to say it wasn't a problem at Bolton...

11-06-2016, 09:02 PM
justice for the old tsar's eleven

11-06-2016, 09:03 PM
They conceded one goal and scored one goal. In football, that is worthy of a draw. BritNats will have the tissues out tonight. Delightful.

I'm sure that's exactly what you were thinking when it happened to us this season. There's no Britnat team in the tournament. Just everyone except Scotland...

11-06-2016, 09:04 PM
It's also hilarious, more so when you are waiting on England for the coupon then cash out on 90 mins 

Cute move. Should've done that too.

BigH
11-06-2016, 09:06 PM
Yes surprised no apology from ITV for the "Justice for the England 11". Possibly the most offensive comment to come out of

This is a football forum. Please keep the political stuff for the holy ground.

Cute move. Should've done that too.

I never usually cash out, but it was offering only £4 less than what I was originally getting so thought I'll cash out just in case. Delighted isn't the word!

They should have been out of sight.

wpj
11-06-2016, 09:07 PM
It's also hilarious, more so when you are waiting on England for the coupon then cash out on 90 mins 😎😎😂😂

Out of interest what was the change in odds? Was on HT/FT both teams.

You mean like your SNP avatar? I'll write what I like pal, we don't live in a dictatorship yet.

High-On-Hibs
I'm sure that's exactly what you were thinking when it happened to us this season. There's no Britnat team in the tournament. Just everyone except Scotland...

You're the one making it a political thing with your nat comment. You're clearly quite disappointed with your main national teams result tonight. So i'll leave you to it.

Finn2015
Have to admit, I smiled

11-06-2016, 09:09 PM
I never usually cash out, but it was offering only £4 less than what I was originally getting so thought I'll cash out just in case. Delighted isn't the word!

They should have been out of sight.

I forgot to remember to do that so to speak. Very good call by you though.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
Should we blame the plucky no-hopers for not giving up or the far superior team for not doing enough?

Both! Im not blaming russia, just saying they didnt deserve it.

Also not losing any sleep over it. I dont hate england anymore. But i don't love them either.

Out of interest what was the change in odds? Was on HT/FT both teams.

17/20 I got them on my Acc.

Is this thread gonna run and run for the whole tournament or is the any chance of individual match threads?

BigH
11-06-2016, 09:10 PM
Any chance of an apology for the "Justice for the England 11" from ITV?
And we used to think the 1966 references were bad. Think that's probably the worst thing I've ever heard from any commentator. What was Tyldesley thinking???

11-06-2016, 09:10 PM
You're the one making it a political thing with your nat comment. You're clearly quite disappointed with your main national teams result tonight. So i'll leave you to it.

My main national team is Scotland, then Italy, then Wales. There's no English blood in me. But I can look at a game with unbiased eyes since I don't have giant chip on my shoulder about England.

OsloHibs
11-06-2016, 09:11 PM
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha 😂

HNA8

You mean like your SNP avatar? I'll write what I like pal, we don't live in a dictatorship yet.

Can we keep the thread on topic please? :aok:

He's looking for a fight:greengrin

A goal in David gray-time is worthy of applause IMO.

11-06-2016, 09:12 PM
Glenn Hoddle really does have a very annoying face.

Has peter crouch had his front teeth replaced with one of those foamy gum/teeth sweets you used to get in a 10p mixture?

Looks like it

wpj
17/20 I got them on my Acc.

Nice one, need to get creative this tournie to make a profit

wpj
11-06-2016, 09:14 PM
Any chance of an apology for the "Justice for the England 11" from ITV?
And we used to think the 1966 references were bad. Think that's probably the worst thing I've ever heard from any commentator. What was Tyldesley thinking???

66 was mentioned as the teams came out of the tunnel! New record?

11-06-2016, 09:15 PM
He's looking for a fight:greengrin

Ha ha. Nah, that'll only happen if Italy get serious abuse on here.

11-06-2016, 09:15 PM
justice for the old tsar's eleven

:agree::greengrin:saltireflag:devil:

davidw
11-06-2016, 09:17 PM
Glenn Hoddle really does have a very annoying face.

It's because of sins in a previous life.

Hibee_Craig7062
11-06-2016, 09:18 PM
Trouble inside the stadium now!!!

11-06-2016, 09:19 PM
It's because of sins in a previous life.

You're a very naughty boy. :hmmm:

11-06-2016, 09:19 PM
I long for the day we get a fair and un biased commentary on either station on the tele or radio.

Tonight's commentary is up there with the worst bull**** I've heard spouted from the mic men :rolleyes:

Finn2015
11-06-2016, 09:20 PM
I long for the day we get a fair and un biased commentary on either station on the tele or radio.

Tonight's commentary is up there with the worst bull**** I've heard spouted from the mic men :rolleyes:

It's Clive tyldesley he always has been the same

High-On-Hibs
11-06-2016, 09:20 PM
English fans crossing over to the Russian fans for a scrap. BBC trying desperately to make England fans out to be the victims.

11-06-2016, 09:21 PM

He has, he really is pish. I always felt that John Motson was about the best and most honesty of them.

11-06-2016, 09:21 PM
English fans crossing over to the Russian fans for a scrap. BBC trying desperately to make England fans out to be the victims.

Have they been showing it all live?

High-On-Hibs
11-06-2016, 09:22 PM
Have they been showing it all live? Nope. Just giving us their narrative of events.

11-06-2016, 09:25 PM
Give over, it's clear from where it's happening in the ground that it's the Russians moving over towards the England fans.

(((Fergus)))
11-06-2016, 09:27 PM
He has, he really is pish. I always felt that John Motson was about the best and most honesty of them.

The best ones for me are always lower down the bill. Connor MacNamara, etc. Folk like Tyldesley and Mowbray seem to think the commentator's job is more than it is.

11-06-2016, 09:27 PM
Nope. Just giving us their narrative of events.

How do you know what's really happening then? There seem to have been squads of English, French and Russian nutters out in force before the game today. None of this should be a surprise to the authorities.

davidw
11-06-2016, 09:28 PM
Has peter crouch had his front teeth replaced with one of those foamy gum/teeth sweets you used to get in a 10p mixture?

Looks like it

He looks like the old Kenny Everett Bee Gees sketch:

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XYaymcp2YlE

High-On-Hibs
11-06-2016, 09:29 PM
How do you know what's really happening then? There seem to have been squads of English, French and Russian nutters out in force before the game today. None of this should be a surprise to the authorities. I just know that when I hear them babbling about it on the TV, it's most usually the opposite that is true. If they were actually telling the truth, then why not just show us all of the footage?

11-06-2016, 09:30 PM
He looks like the old Kenny Everett Bee Gees sketch:

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XYaymcp2YlE

It's more than a wee bit scary.

11-06-2016, 09:31 PM
I just know that when I hear them babbling about it on the TV, it's most usually the opposite that is true. If they were actually telling the truth, then why not just show us all of the footage?

They rarely show the footage of violence. Like with streakers they tend to cut away. This won't be a one way street in Marsielle today, there are some serious Russian casual equivalents too.

High-On-Hibs
11-06-2016, 09:34 PM
They rarely show the footage of violence. Like with streakers they tend to cut away. This won't be a one way street in Marsielle today, there are some serious Russian casual equivalents too. Why cut away though? They love to remind us how well behaved England fans are and how vile and racist those awful people from the East are. If they have footage that actually supports this, then why not just show it? Unless of course, they're talking complete bawz.

11-06-2016, 09:57 PM
Why cut away though? They love to remind us how well behaved England fans are and how vile and racist those awful people from the East are. If they have footage that actually supports this, then why not just show it? Unless of course, they're talking complete bawz.

Is it not french tv that shows it, itv and bbc wont have any control over it

11-06-2016, 10:14 PM
Watching the games tonight with both Slovakia & England in Scotland's world cup group, worrying already about qualifying.

11-06-2016, 10:18 PM
He is an absolute s***.

David Coleman was the best. RIP.

12-06-2016, 06:52 AM
England's performance against Russia reminded me so much of our league campaign: lots and lots of possession, missed chances and then a sucker punch from the opposition near the end.

12-06-2016, 06:56 AM
England's performance against Russia reminded me so much of our league campaign: lots and lots of possession, missed chances and then a sucker punch from the opposition near the end.

An important goal in 90+2 minutes reminded me of something else. :-)

12-06-2016, 07:21 AM
Watching the games tonight with both Slovakia & England in Scotland's world cup group, worrying already about qualifying.

Personally thought Slovakia were poor.

12-06-2016, 08:09 AM
I watched the gane with my girlfriend and 2 of her friends last night, all English. With the commentary off and their enthusiasm I found myself quite wanting England to win. I really don't enjoy international football all that much so don't feel anywhere near the same rivalry with England as I do with the likes of Hearts and Rangers at club level.

Based on the 2 games yesterday I'd expect England and Wales to qualify from the group. I thought Rooney was outstanding in the midfield for England and was suprised to see him subbed. Kane and Sterling were poor. Sterling has bags of pace but not a lot of end products, if he's worth £49M football really has gone mad. If England click in the final 3rd in the coming games they will win both imo.

12-06-2016, 08:33 AM
Justice for the England 11

Ridiculous comment by the commentator

Thought it was just me at the time, never cringed so much at a comment from a football commentator (Andy Walker on 21.05.16 being the exception :wink:)...utterly ridiculous comment to make.

12-06-2016, 08:51 AM
Shearer also took the corners for England. He's maybe the best crosser from a dead-ball to hit a defender?

You sure? You wouldn't think so given that last night he tweeted -

I have to say that if a manager asked me to take corners, my answer would be 'ask someone else to take them!' #harrykane #ENG

https://mobile.twitter.com/alanshearer/status/741710350169563136?lang=en-gb

12-06-2016, 09:02 AM
I watched the gane with my girlfriend and 2 of her friends last night, all English. With the commentary off and their enthusiasm I found myself quite wanting England to win. I really don't enjoy international football all that much so don't feel anywhere near the same rivalry with England as I do with the likes of Hearts and Rangers at club level.

Based on the 2 games yesterday I'd expect England and Wales to qualify from the group. I thought Rooney was outstanding in the midfield for England and was suprised to see him subbed. Kane and Sterling were poor. Sterling has bags of pace but not a lot of end products, if he's worth £49M football really has gone mad. If England click in the final 3rd in the coming games they will win both imo.

I'd agree. They've probably been the 'nicest' team to watch so far but with very little end product.

12-06-2016, 09:24 AM
I watched the gane with my girlfriend and 2 of her friends last night, all English. With the commentary off and their enthusiasm I found myself quite wanting England to win. I really don't enjoy international football all that much so don't feel anywhere near the same rivalry with England as I do with the likes of Hearts and Rangers at club level. Based on the 2 games yesterday I'd expect England and Wales to qualify from the group. I thought Rooney was outstanding in the midfield for England and was suprised to see him subbed. Kane and Sterling were poor. Sterling has bags of pace but not a lot of end products, if he's worth £49M football really has gone mad. If England click in the final 3rd in the coming games they will win both imo.

Agee with a lot of that...esp. the Sterling observation. He really is so wasteful in possession and never looks like he is actually going to do anything meaningful. He clearly has pace and ability but without an end product or the desire to make something happen when he has the ball I really don't understand what he brings to their side.

12-06-2016, 09:27 AM
Raheem Sterling=the English Alan O'Brien.

LM1875
12-06-2016, 09:28 AM
That Russia team was incrediblely poor IMO. No pace in it whatsoever

12-06-2016, 09:34 AM
England missed Vardy. If they had brought him on for the last 20 minutes they would have won that game.

Finn2015
12-06-2016, 10:35 AM

Man city will look back and rue spending so much on him...... Although £49 million probably pocket change to them I guess.

12-06-2016, 10:47 AM
I thought England were superb for much of the game. As someone said elsewhere though, it really could have been a Hibs game of last season. All the pressure, got themselves into a winning position but you knew one goal wasn't enough and the equaliser felt almost inevitable.

I still think they might do well. They've got less players than ever who are reputation over substance and don't need to work out how to shoehorn them all into the same team. I was surprised that they toiled in the final third is that is the area that on paper they look strongest. Their defence looked comfortable until they got a bit unlucky with a mismatch for height in their own box.

I can't believe they didn't have Vardy on at any point after the season he's just had. And I'm not at all convinced by Raheem Sterling.

I don't think they're far off being a very decent side though.

12-06-2016, 10:53 AM
Raheem Sterling... 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

£49m 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

TAHibby
12-06-2016, 10:55 AM
90+2

12-06-2016, 10:59 AM
Frankie Boyle Nails the England Performance on twitter..

Frankie Boyle ‏@frankieboyle (https://twitter.com/frankieboyle) 15h15 hours ago (https://twitter.com/frankieboyle/status/741720761266769920)
Surprisingly poor finishing from a nation where most people can hit a French copper with a plastic chair from about 30 yards

Finn2015
12-06-2016, 11:00 AM
Looking forward to Poland vs Northern Ireland later. Feel Poland will just about have enough but the north will be competitive

12-06-2016, 11:08 AM
Looking forward to Poland vs Northern Ireland later. Feel Poland will just about have enough but the north will be competitive

Hope Northern Ireland get pumped.

Purely because that scrote Lafferty plays for them.

Finn2015
12-06-2016, 11:23 AM

Purely because that scrote Lafferty plays for them.

Got to admit I'm no fan either but think they will be competitive

12-06-2016, 11:26 AM

Get the feeling , even at this early stage, he is turning into a " one trick pony" - PACE and nothing much else.
'Pooll must be laughing all the way to the bank - Forty Nine Million , aye right :greengrin

12-06-2016, 01:01 PM
Turkey v Croatia just kicked off.

'Mon the Turks.

SJM
12-06-2016, 01:08 PM
Croatia look decent.

12-06-2016, 01:13 PM
Decent start by both teams here

SJM
12-06-2016, 01:19 PM
Games going at 100mph which doesn't look like suiting Croatia at the moment.

12-06-2016, 01:20 PM
Is it just me or is the Parc de Princes a bit like Hampden with those daft gaps behind the goals?

Marco G
12-06-2016, 01:21 PM

Purely because that scrote Lafferty plays for them.Well I have time for their manager.

12-06-2016, 01:23 PM
Early days but I don't think we've seen a tournament winning team yet.

nellio
12-06-2016, 01:25 PM
Hope both NI and ROI do well. Also praying we can do England on Thursday, was a proud Welshman yesterday!!

may 21/05/2016
12-06-2016, 01:25 PM
If UK votes to leave the European community in the up incoming referendum does that mean that the home nations are not allowed to enter the all European football completions

12-06-2016, 01:27 PM
Early days but I don't think we've seen a tournament winning team yet.

By a long chalk too :greengrin

12-06-2016, 01:37 PM
Here we go again, "just about kept it in", "just about saved it".

Does no-one tell these guys what "just about" actually means??