View Full Version : NHC Euro Championships 2016

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

18-06-2016, 08:49 PM
I wouldn't get on the team bus with Ronaldo tonight, anything is likely to happen, his night has been like final destination

18-06-2016, 08:49 PM
Pleased for Ronaldo.

(((Fergus)))
18-06-2016, 08:54 PM
Does Ronaldo still score free kicks?

TAHibby
18-06-2016, 08:55 PM
Fair play to Ronaldo. Dismal free kick ratio but conned everyone into thinking he is their best option.

One of the biggest myths in world football that he's great at them! Think it was the world cup where he hit one into a 1 man wall consisting of the giant... Lahm

ACLeith
18-06-2016, 08:55 PM
Guess there not too many Ronaldo fans on here tonight? Let me join you! Blew it on the big stage yet again, a man without a modest bone in his body

Stat came up that he had more shots on goal than NI together. The diffenence being NI have scored twice!

Met some good fans when in Portugal last year but a team that also has Pepe is impossible to like.

(((Fergus)))
18-06-2016, 09:12 PM
Gary Lineker (https://twitter.com/GaryLineker)Verified account ‏@GaryLineker (https://twitter.com/GaryLineker) 50m50 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/GaryLineker/status/744263630653374464)
Update....Ronaldo: no goals from 36 free kicks in major tournaments. Bale: 2 goals from 3 free kicks in major tournaments.

18-06-2016, 09:37 PM
Does Ronaldo still score free kicks?

No, he has an abysmal record from them. He is like Roberto Carlos.

18-06-2016, 10:08 PM
He is steadily becoming a caricature of himself. The boring thing is that, when he plays well, everyone raves about him and when he has a poor game, everyone still talks about him. It might not do his stock any harm to drift out of the limelight for a while and let his team-mates take on a bit of the pressure. Mind you, he's his own worst enemy as he thinks the game revolves round himself every game.

Finn2015
18-06-2016, 10:45 PM
Gary Lineker (https://twitter.com/GaryLineker)Verified account ‏@GaryLineker (https://twitter.com/GaryLineker) 50m50 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/GaryLineker/status/744263630653374464)
Update....Ronaldo: no goals from 36 free kicks in major tournaments. Bale: 2 goals from 3 free kicks in major tournaments.

And I bet despite that when they both get back to Madrid, ronaldo will be taking them

18-06-2016, 10:47 PM
And I bet despite that when they both get back to Madrid, ronaldo will be taking them

Bale has been taking more for them lately.

Finn2015
18-06-2016, 10:48 PM
Bale has been taking more for them lately.

I'd imagine though if ronaldo wants them he will take them

18-06-2016, 11:27 PM
I always preferred Quaresma, he's mental and will fit in better

:agree: now you're talking. Better skills and no ones role model. Quaresma should really sign for Hibs when he's 36 .

19-06-2016, 02:45 AM
Lots of hate for Ronaldo but I don't think people appreciate what he's going through right now.

It might look like him but on the inside he's just a young, mixed race kid from London who isn't very good.

19-06-2016, 12:50 PM
Ronaldo..............And some people rate him higher than Messi :faf:

19-06-2016, 01:51 PM
Ronaldo..............And some people rate him higher than Messi :faf:

Look at Suarez and Neymar. Ronaldo wouldn't allow it at Madrid. Bale is always made to feel/play an inferior role.

19-06-2016, 01:55 PM
Got Ronaldo in my fantasy team and he's screwing me over big time, along with Ibrahimovic.

19-06-2016, 01:58 PM
Look at Suarez and Neymar. Ronaldo wouldn't allow it at Madrid. Bale is always made to feel/play an inferior role.Neymar and Suarez both play an inferior role to Messi.

19-06-2016, 02:57 PM
The grey trousers he's wearing, definitely make him stand out

He's worn them all his career. When asked why, he replied "they're comfortable, I'm a football player not a model". Fair enough.

19-06-2016, 03:16 PM
Neymar and Suarez both play an inferior role to Messi.

Both have blossomed alongside him to the extent Suarez had a better goal scoring return. Messi is still tops and acknowledged as such by both. Bale still hasn't hit the heights of his last Tottenham season on a consistent basis.

19-06-2016, 03:25 PM
Neymar and Suarez both play an inferior role to Messi.

Messi was moved back out to the right wing to accommodate Suarez.

19-06-2016, 03:55 PM
Pretty poor organising for today, all week when everyone is at work we have a game at 2/5/8 pm, on a Sunday when most of us are off the only games are at 8pm. :rolleyes:

Thankfully we had Andy Murray to keep us entertained.

19-06-2016, 04:08 PM
Pretty poor organising for today, all week when everyone is at work we have a game at 2/5/8 pm, on a Sunday when most of us are off the only games are at 8pm. :rolleyes:

Thankfully we had Andy Murray to keep us entertained.

True, but it's only fair the final group games kick off at the same time, in order to prevent gamesmanship. Are both on telly?

19-06-2016, 04:13 PM
True, but it's only fair the final group games kick off at the same time, in order to prevent gamesmanship. Are both on telly?

Yep, one on itv the other on itv 4

19-06-2016, 04:38 PM
Yep, one on itv the other on itv 4

Tonight its bbc1 and bbc4

19-06-2016, 04:40 PM
I'm in Marseille the day before their quarter final fixture, staying right in the Old Port area with my family so I've got a more-than-usually-nervous eye on which teams are likely to play there :greengrin Its all a bit complicated but second place in France's Group vs 1st place in Spain's group is the most likely game, so Spain vs Switzerland wouldn't be too radge. (It could also be Ukraine vs Croatia which could be a bit spicy). Best scenario would be the hosts France, so I'm hoping Switzerland beat France tonight and push them into second. I said it was complicated...

'Mon The Swiss.

19-06-2016, 04:44 PM
I'm in Marseille the day before their quarter final fixture, staying right in the Old Port area with my family so I've got a more-than-usually-nervous eye on which teams are likely to play there :greengrin Its all a bit complicated but second place in France's Group vs 1st place in Spain's group is the most likely game, so Spain vs Switzerland wouldn't be too radge. (It could also be Ukraine vs Croatia which could be a bit spicy). Best scenario would be the hosts France, so I'm hoping Switzerland beat France tonight and push them into second. I said it was complicated...

'Mon The Swiss.

Last sixteen you mean?

19-06-2016, 04:51 PM
Last sixteen you mean?

Nope, the quarters. Marseille doesn't have a last 16 tie in fact, not sure why.

19-06-2016, 04:56 PM
Got Ronaldo in my fantasy team and he's screwing me over big time, along with Ibrahimovic.

That's cos they both think they are bigger than the tournament. Pogba was in that category as well in the first game. Ibrahimovic's performances have been a disgrace.

19-06-2016, 05:00 PM
Both have blossomed alongside him to the extent Suarez had a better goal scoring return. Messi is still tops and acknowledged as such by both. Bale still hasn't hit the heights of his last Tottenham season on a consistent basis.Bale has been a vital part of 2 champions league wins including scoring the winner in 2014. He is doing just fine and his poor performances at times aren't Ronaldos fault.

19-06-2016, 05:04 PM
Messi was moved back out to the right wing to accommodate Suarez.Yeah, he also demanded to be moved to the middle which led to Ibrahimovics Barcelona career ending. Imagine if Ronaldo had done that? Imagine if Ronaldo didn't talk to his manager for a week if he rested him?

Messi is as big as twat as Ronaldo, if not bigger. Don't remember Ronaldo dodging tax.

19-06-2016, 06:37 PM
Bale has been a vital part of 2 champions league wins including scoring the winner in 2014. He is doing just fine and his poor performances at times aren't Ronaldos fault.

Real Madrid won 4-1 in 2014.

19-06-2016, 06:41 PM
If I had to criticise the coverage of this years tournament at all it would be that they haven't spent enough time talking about England for my liking. That never gets boring.

19-06-2016, 06:43 PM
If I had to criticise the coverage of this years tournament at all it would be that they haven't spent enough time talking about England for my liking. That never gets boring.

It wouldn't be as bad if they could give an assessment honestly. Seem to have no problems slating Johnny Foreigner.

19-06-2016, 06:48 PM

Ive been listening to a lot of five live travelling and at work and almost no time is dedicated to Norn Iron or Wales. It's almost as if they've decided to allocate coverage time based on each nations population; roughly England 92% Wales 6% Norn Iron 2%.

19-06-2016, 06:48 PM
That's cos they both think they are bigger than the tournament. Pogba was in that category as well in the first game. Ibrahimovic's performances have been a disgrace.

Zlatan unlocked the door for Sweden's goal in their first game and got them a point. Tbf I didn't see their 2nd game.

19-06-2016, 06:51 PM
Ive been listening to a lot of five live travelling and at work and almost no time is dedicated to Norn Iron or Wales. It's almost as if they've decided to allocate coverage time based on each nations population; roughly England 92% Wales 6% Norn Iron 2%.

They seem to think local media will cover the non-English games, but forget the millions with Welsh, Irish (and Scottish) links who live in England.

19-06-2016, 06:53 PM
Decent feature on wales there on bbc1 tbf. Interview with Ashley Williams. Still... :grr:

19-06-2016, 07:14 PM
Real Madrid won 4-1 in 2014.

Bale still scored the winner.

19-06-2016, 07:15 PM
Piss off, Jonathan Pearce just stated no wonder Pogba is being linked with premier League teams, like he plays for some ****ty team and he should be grateful

19-06-2016, 07:16 PM
What's everyone betting the night?

I've Romania ht/ft and France -1

19-06-2016, 07:19 PM
Piss off, Jonathan Pearce just stated no wonder Pogba is being linked with premier League teams, like he plays for some ****ty team and he should be grateful
Juventus are far better than any prem team, he would be daft to go to England.

19-06-2016, 07:19 PM
Bale still scored the winner.

I don't think you know what winner means.

19-06-2016, 07:20 PM
Pogba on fire first 20 mins

19-06-2016, 07:22 PM
Pogba on fire first 20 mins

I do like him. Seems to be his own man as well.

19-06-2016, 07:26 PM
Ridiculous yellow for Rami.

19-06-2016, 07:26 PM
swiss player doing a bit of a swiss roll

19-06-2016, 07:28 PM
Nothing to play for here. A cosy wee draw sees both teams qualify. I suppose it's worthwhile winnng the group for the knockout stages but qualifying will be the priority.

19-06-2016, 07:30 PM
I don't think you know what winner means.
I do, Bale scored to make it 2-1. The decisive and winning goal.

19-06-2016, 07:32 PM

You don't.

19-06-2016, 07:32 PM

If atletico had made it 4-2 late on would you still say bales was the winner?

19-06-2016, 07:33 PM
You don't.
Great reply...

A winning goal isnt subjective, if a team wins there is always a winning goal.

19-06-2016, 07:34 PM
If atletico had made it 4-2 late on would you still say bales was the winner?
Obviously not...

19-06-2016, 07:34 PM
Koman hugging one wing, griezmann on the other touchline. What does danny murphy say? 'The French 433 is quite narrow' :dunno:

I think they plan their lines beforehand and don't even bother watching the game.

19-06-2016, 07:35 PM
Great reply...

A winning goal isnt subjective, if a team wins there is always a winning goal.

Not a winner. No shame. Move on.

19-06-2016, 07:36 PM
Obviously not...

Which one would be in that case? Personally i feel a goal is only a "winner" if it's the last goal in a single goal margin victory. I realise not everyone sees it that way though.

19-06-2016, 07:36 PM
Koman hugging one wing, griezmann on the other touchline. What does danny murphy say? 'The French 433 is quite narrow' :dunno:

I think they plan their lines beforehand and don't even bother watching the game.

I used to quite like his punditry, but lately he's become a total know it all erky

19-06-2016, 07:37 PM
Which one would be in that case? Personally i feel a goal is only a "winner" if it's the last goal in a single goal margin victory. I realise not everyone sees it that way though.
The decisive goal is the 3rd one. How can a team win if they dont score a winning goal?

19-06-2016, 07:37 PM
Swiss strips must be made out of paper

19-06-2016, 07:38 PM
Not a winner. No shame. Move on.
How can a team win if they dont score a winning goal?

These Swiss tops are quality. What are they made of? Paper?

What's everyone betting the night?

I've Romania ht/ft and France -1

Romania clean sheet.

Also got a couple of quid on Griezmann FGS @ 9/1

The decisive goal is the 3rd one. How can a team win if they didnt score a winning goal?

So when we beat aberdeen 2 nil last year you would say jason cummings "scored the winner"? I wouldn't.

Romania clean sheet.

Also got a couple of quid on Griezmann FGS @ 9/1

Got Romania 0-0 Albania

19-06-2016, 07:39 PM
How can a team win if they dont score a winning goal?

Three winners then ?

19-06-2016, 07:40 PM
:faf: this is more entertaining than the game, why isn't there a popcorn smiley?

19-06-2016, 07:40 PM
So when we beat aberdeen 2 nil last year you would say jason cummings "scored the winner"? I wouldn't.Yes, Jason scored the winning goal.

19-06-2016, 07:41 PM
Yes, Jason scored the winning goal.

Ok we'll agree to disagree on that point? :greengrin

19-06-2016, 07:41 PM
Three winners then ?No, why would you ask such a daft question when I said Bale scored the winner? I didn't say Bale, Marcelo and Ronaldo scored the winner.

19-06-2016, 07:42 PM
Ok we'll agree to disagree on that point? :greengrinI don't mind, it is an undisputable fact that the decisive goal was scored by Cummings, though. :greengrin

19-06-2016, 07:43 PM
No, why would you ask such a daft question when I said Bale scored the winner? I didn't say Bale, Marcelo and Ronaldo scored the winner.

Find me a report where it says Bale scored the winner.

19-06-2016, 07:44 PM
I used to quite like his punditry, but lately he's become a total know it all erky

Me too, he's got the disease now though.

19-06-2016, 07:46 PM
Find me a report where it says Bale scored the winner.You find me one where it says a team can win without scoring a winning goal.

19-06-2016, 07:46 PM
You find me one where it says a team can win without scoring a winning goal.

I asked first.

19-06-2016, 07:49 PM
I asked first.

:faf::faf:

19-06-2016, 07:52 PM
Fight fight fight

19-06-2016, 07:54 PM
Fight fight fight

It's reminding me of the World Cup thread when I said Hulk hand balled it and people were going mental as it had hit his arm and that's not hand ball, this thread has been missing one of these:cb

19-06-2016, 07:55 PM
I'd like to see Albania get through as one of the lucky thirds. Decent side.

19-06-2016, 07:55 PM
Fight fight fight:greengrin

I didn't start it, I promise.

19-06-2016, 07:56 PM
It's reminding me of the World Cup thread when I said Hulk hand balled it and people were going mental as it had hit his arm and that's not hand ball, this thread has been missing one of these:cb

Defo hand ball.

19-06-2016, 07:57 PM
Defo hand ball.

Correct, I knew you spoke sense :aok:

19-06-2016, 07:57 PM
'Effectively' merely muddied the waters. Effectively. :faint:

19-06-2016, 07:58 PM
"The Welshman also scored what proved to be the winning goal against Atletico at the same stage two years ago"

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/european/champions-league-final-which-players-make-a-combined-madrid-xi-a7050036.html

19-06-2016, 07:58 PM
Defo hand ball.

Bullcrap. That's armball, not handball. Effectively.

19-06-2016, 07:59 PM
"The Welshman also scored what proved to be the winning goal against Atletico at the same stage two years ago"

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/european/champions-league-final-which-players-make-a-combined-madrid-xi-a7050036.htmlAwkward...:cb

19-06-2016, 08:00 PM
Bullcrap. That's armball, not handball. Effectively.

Not been such derision since the old what colour bike is fastest thread:greengrin

Or when I got banned from poetry corner

19-06-2016, 08:01 PM
Nae wonder The Independent shut down.

19-06-2016, 08:02 PM
Awkward...:cb

"Scored the winner" vs "proved to be the winner". Different because they describe different situations :greengrin

19-06-2016, 08:04 PM
"Scored the winner" vs "proved to be the winner". Different because they describe different situations :greengrinI just see ''winner'' :greengrin

19-06-2016, 08:05 PM
Not been such derision since the old what colour bike is fastest thread:greengrin

Or when I got banned from poetry corner

What colour bike goes the fastest :faf: i still say that sometimes im that infantile.

My favourite was when we got those yams to arrange a meet up at the diggers to collect a massive box of kazoos

19-06-2016, 08:06 PM
I just see ''winner'' :greengrin

So did charlie sheen. ****ed if I'd continue a discussion like this with him either :greengrin

19-06-2016, 08:07 PM
What colour bike goes the fastest :faf: i still say that sometimes im that infantile.

My favourite was when we got those yams to arrange a meet up at the diggers to collect a massive box of kazoos

That was all you, I can't take any credit for that, probably the greatest bit of Undercover work in history :faf::top marks

19-06-2016, 08:08 PM
I like Ronaldo. He's a good guy off the field.

19-06-2016, 08:10 PM
the baws burst :greengrin new balls please

19-06-2016, 08:11 PM

That baw will be on ebay tomorrow

19-06-2016, 08:12 PM

That baw will be on ebay tomorrow

The one Gareth Bale scored the winner with is worth more :wink:

19-06-2016, 08:13 PM
1-0 Albania.

Whatever that means for the group.

19-06-2016, 08:13 PM
The one Gareth Bale scored the winner with is worth more :wink:The one McGinn booted into the crowd is priceless though :greengrin

chinaman
19-06-2016, 08:16 PM
I like Ronaldo. He's a good guy off the field.
Fat lad these days fo.
Does loads for charity back home in Brazil.

19-06-2016, 08:17 PM
France v Switzerland is the first game of this tournament I've given up on. It's been absolute dross.

*Probably finish 6-5 now, but **** it I'm off to read a book instead!

19-06-2016, 08:17 PM
Johnathon Pearce is a massive bellend. Smug isnt the word.

Does anyone know the tiebreaker procedure? Is it head to head first?

19-06-2016, 08:18 PM
Anyone watching romania v albania?

19-06-2016, 08:19 PM

Does anyone know the tiebreaker procedure? Is it head to head first?

Think so as they said Italy have already won group before Belgium game.

19-06-2016, 08:20 PM

Does anyone know the tiebreaker procedure? Is it head to head first?Yeah. H2H > GD > goals scored > fair play I think.

(((Fergus)))
19-06-2016, 08:21 PM
Anyone watching romania v albania?

Last win over Romania was in 1948??

19-06-2016, 08:22 PM
Yeah. H2H > GD > goals scored > fair play I think.

19-06-2016, 08:22 PM
FFS talking about england tactics and line up during another game now. Bad enough before, after and at halftime.A new low.

19-06-2016, 08:23 PM
Yeah. H2H > GD > goals scored > fair play I think.

I don't think fair play is considered. If they are tied on goals scored and are playing each other they take penalties. If they are not playing each other it goes to coefficient.

Edit - just checked, fair play is considered before coefficient.

19-06-2016, 08:24 PM
FFS talking about england tactics and line up during another game now. Bad enough before, after and at halftime.A new low.

Sure is and did you know you can get different studs and boots these days?

Finn2015
19-06-2016, 08:28 PM

Just the usual from the Media. They wonder why no one wants England to win

19-06-2016, 08:28 PM
I don't think fair play is considered. If they are tied on goals scored and are playing each other they take penalties. If they are not playing each other it goes to coefficient.

Edit - just checked, fair play is considered before coefficient.

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/19693/10318299/euro-2016-group-stage-permutations-what-can-happen-on-the-final-match-days

You are right about pens if they are playing. Fair play if they aren't and fair play for 3rd place teams.

19-06-2016, 08:30 PM
Sure is and did you know you can get different studs and boots these days?

The fuss they've made about the pitch is unreal, like the French have been incompetent or something. The weather has been crazy in France the last few weeks, as if they havent got enough on their plate...'

19-06-2016, 08:32 PM
That would have been a stoater

That was goal of the tournament right there. So unlucky.

Bilic would've been swinging from The Eiffel Tower if that went in.

Slowly becoming European Nations Bore-Fest for me. Maybe liven it up with bonus points for goals scored. eg. 1 point for every three gols scored. :zzzzz!: Am I rambling out of boredom? :greengrin

19-06-2016, 08:34 PM
Slowly becoming European Nations Bore-Fest for me. Maybe liven it up with bonus points for goals scored. eg. 1 point for every three gols scored. :zzzzz!: Am I rambling out of boredom? :greengrin

It's not a patch on the last World Cup where every team was basically going for it from the off, lots of cagey games

19-06-2016, 08:35 PM
Payets development has been unreal.

19-06-2016, 08:40 PM

Albanians are having a party. Great fans.

I'm enjoying this.

Callum7
19-06-2016, 08:41 PM
Are they using paper in this match? 2 shirts and 1 ball ripped.

19-06-2016, 08:48 PM
So of that had been a penalty they had already scored it, ok then

19-06-2016, 09:17 PM
Yaaaaas!!!! Total scenes, happy house tonight!

crewetollhibee
19-06-2016, 09:20 PM

Good few weeks for you mate !!!

19-06-2016, 09:24 PM

I think having potentially 3 out of 4 go through might be the cause...

Finn2015
19-06-2016, 09:28 PM

You are not mate. Roll on the start of the season

19-06-2016, 10:43 PM

Tremendous result mate.

Don't know why people were watching the other match. That was great.

20-06-2016, 04:54 PM
I don't know about anyone else but I'm feeling a little bit Slovakian and a little bit Welsh today.

Hopefully England will rest players and Hamsik will run riot.

Come on, send the Russian and English hooligans home!

20-06-2016, 04:56 PM
I'd settle for some entertaining football regardless of who wins.

20-06-2016, 05:03 PM
Why are England resting up to 8 players when qualification isn't even assured ? Or is it ?

20-06-2016, 05:06 PM
Why are England resting up to 8 players when qualification isn't even assured ? Or is it ?

Strange one as they could still finish third at worst, meaning they would get a group winner in the knock out stages.

20-06-2016, 05:07 PM
Strange one as they could still finish third at worst, meaning they would get a group winner in the knock out stages.

Zactly, Slovakia no the best team in the world but not the worst, Looked very decent against Wales and were unlucky not to take a point and were brilliant against Russia

20-06-2016, 05:17 PM
Zactly, Slovakia no the best team in the world but not the worst, Looked very decent against Wales and were unlucky not to take a point and were brilliant against Russia

Talksport and the likes have been mulling over which third place team they will be playing so maybe Roy shares their confidence.

20-06-2016, 05:19 PM
Talksport and the likes have been mulling over which third place team they will be playing so maybe Roy shares their confidence.

Right screw the entertainment 'mon Marek, run riot please :aok:

20-06-2016, 05:49 PM
Six changes right enough. Massive onions from Roy.

20-06-2016, 05:52 PM
Six changes right enough. Massive onions from Roy.

That's Slovakia's team talk done.

20-06-2016, 05:55 PM
That's Slovakia's team talk done.

Its no as if Slovakia have zip to play for !

20-06-2016, 06:15 PM
Still a pretty decent looking England team imo.

I fancy Vardy and Sturridge to be more dangerous than Kane was on his own.

20-06-2016, 06:45 PM
Can we get the Wales game live?

20-06-2016, 06:47 PM
Can't see England losing tonight, even with six changes. They should be too strong.

20-06-2016, 06:48 PM

Itv4

20-06-2016, 06:48 PM
Its on ITV 4 mate. (Channel 120 on Sky)

20-06-2016, 06:50 PM
Hamcik to run riot. Slovakia 2 England 1

20-06-2016, 06:51 PM
Itv4

Its on ITV 4 mate. (Channel 120 on Sky)

Brillant, thanks. :thumbsup:

20-06-2016, 06:51 PM
Can you watch both games on the channel by any chance?

20-06-2016, 06:56 PM
Tyldesley fails to mention Slovakia can also progress as group winners in the pre match ****fest. In fact he fails to mention them at all.

20-06-2016, 06:57 PM
C'mon England.

Seeing that wee hun Weiss always brings out the rage in me.

20-06-2016, 06:58 PM
this England team is pretty tall and physical

20-06-2016, 07:00 PM
Sturridge will get injured before the end of the game

20-06-2016, 07:01 PM
Come on ENGLAND intae them.

20-06-2016, 07:09 PM
England playing well.

20-06-2016, 07:10 PM
Yes Wales

20-06-2016, 07:11 PM
1-0 Wales :aok:

Good goal by Wales there

Wales ahead. :thumbsup:

20-06-2016, 07:14 PM
England and Wales are going through as top 2 in the group, likely in that order, if the opening 15 minutes of each game is anything to go by.

Finn2015
20-06-2016, 07:14 PM
All we need is a Slovakia win now😃

20-06-2016, 07:16 PM
All we need is a Slovakia win now😃

I presume England can't go out tonight

20-06-2016, 07:17 PM
Should be 1-0 England. Vardy hits the keeper when through.

20-06-2016, 07:17 PM

Don't think so but they can finish third

20-06-2016, 07:20 PM
2-0 Wales! :greengrin

2-0 wales

Mon the Wales hahaha

Brilliant by Hoddle 'it's 'sort of' an elbow' as a clear sending off offence goes unpunished.

nellio
20-06-2016, 07:21 PM
Yeeeeeeeees! 2-0

20-06-2016, 07:22 PM
Wales are a cracking side and deserve to be going through. Miles ahead of Scotland.

nellio
20-06-2016, 07:22 PM
Where's that boy that thinks Scotland are better than Wales??? No chance !!!

20-06-2016, 07:28 PM
England look the better side again but struggling to score again.

On another note why is the Prince of Wales at the England match?

20-06-2016, 07:29 PM

Because he is English? The duke of Edinburgh has never been to Easter Road, well not in the east anyway I would have spied him

20-06-2016, 07:30 PM
Wales are on fire!

20-06-2016, 07:30 PM

Is he not president of the FA or something?

20-06-2016, 07:31 PM

He's the president of the Football Association or something like that!

20-06-2016, 07:31 PM

He's got a job???????

20-06-2016, 07:32 PM
How does 3rd place work? Last 16 fixtures coming up as 1st group b v 3rd a/c/d - what does that actually mean?

20-06-2016, 07:32 PM
He's got a job???????

Yeah sure he's paid his own way to France on Easyjet

20-06-2016, 07:33 PM
The pace of Bale is frightening. He left the Russian right back for dead there, the boy couldn't get anywhere near him.

20-06-2016, 07:33 PM
Because he is English? The duke of Edinburgh has never been to Easter Road, well not in the east anyway I would have spied him

I thought he had to pretend to be Welsh? I saw him at the rugby World Cup kidding everyone on.

20-06-2016, 07:34 PM
I thought he had to pretend to be Welsh? I saw him at the rugby World Cup kidding everyone on.

To be fair are they not German pretending to be English

I think he's a helicopter rescue man or something.

How does he fit it all in?

To be fair are they not German pretending to be English

What channel is the Wales game on?

20-06-2016, 07:35 PM
what channel is the wales game on?

itv 4

Itv4 (Sky 120)

Sounds like a good cartoon for kids, the Prince who flies helicopters and chairs the FA

Itv4

20-06-2016, 07:37 PM

Dresses up as a Nazi in his spare time...

20-06-2016, 07:38 PM
wales are playing very well but it's got to be said that Russia are absolutely honking.

20-06-2016, 07:39 PM
wales are playing very well but it's got to be said that Russia are absolutely honking.

:agree: They are atrocious.

20-06-2016, 07:41 PM

You presume right They have made lots of changes but are still by far the better team making all the chances but yet still cant score Expect them to make changes and get the win but against better quality teams they cant afford to waste the chances they create

20-06-2016, 07:41 PM
C'mon England!

20-06-2016, 07:42 PM
Why are the England fans singing the John McGinn song ....:()

20-06-2016, 07:46 PM

He's not. Charles is the Prince of Wales.

20-06-2016, 07:46 PM
*****ngland

20-06-2016, 07:47 PM

That's his wee brother I think?

20-06-2016, 07:48 PM
Is Wilshire the English Ross Chisholm? Seems to like to stand and point a lot...

20-06-2016, 07:48 PM
He's not. Charles is the Prince of Wales.

Aye you're right. What's all the pretend I'm Welsh thing about then?

20-06-2016, 07:49 PM
Think that was his 1/2 brother- that posh bloke Hewitt's laddie

nellio
20-06-2016, 07:50 PM
Well happy with Wales first half could have scored more. Defended well when we've needed to and punished them.

I know thereby great but you can only play what's in front of you!!

20-06-2016, 07:50 PM
Is Wilshire the English Ross Chisholm? Seems to like to stand and point a lot...No, he is the English Leeann Dempster. No one on here can spell his name right. :greengrin

20-06-2016, 07:53 PM
A hibs version of this would be good?

https://youtu.be/tvsSwFgkexM

20-06-2016, 07:57 PM
Well happy with Wales first half could have scored more. Defended well when we've needed to and punished them.

I know thereby great but you can only play what's in front of you!!
Brilliant for you Nellio. Must be great at the moment being a Welsh supporter. :aok:

nellio
20-06-2016, 07:59 PM
Brilliant for you Nellio. Must be great at the moment being a Welsh supporter. :aok:

Last few years have been superb. Really hope Scotland can kick on and qualify for the next world cup. I love the passion the Scots have.

20-06-2016, 08:00 PM
No, he is the English Leeann Dempster. No one on here can spell his name right. :greengrin

He has an annoying surname, sounds like some small English county where pointing to others is the local custom...

20-06-2016, 08:04 PM
Last few years have been superb. Really hope Scotland can kick on and qualify for the next world cup. I love the passion the Scots have.
The Welsh fans have the passion as well mate. Some of their antics on You tube is magic. Only wish we could be there but afraid it'll be a long time until we feast at the top table again.

20-06-2016, 08:08 PM
The Welsh fans have the passion as well mate. Some of their antics on You tube is magic. Only wish we could be there but afraid it'll be a long time until we feast at the top table again.

With an easier group we should qualify in 2020.

chinaman
20-06-2016, 08:08 PM

Bluebird Nellio ????

20-06-2016, 08:09 PM
What's going on with the armband?

20-06-2016, 08:23 PM
3-0 Wales, Bale

ACLeith
20-06-2016, 08:24 PM
Ramsay and Allen immense tonight.

20-06-2016, 08:25 PM
Well done the Welsh.

Another country disproving the population myth.

nellio
20-06-2016, 08:26 PM
One man team apparently ;-)

20-06-2016, 08:27 PM
Apologies if already mentioned but our manager was in studio of TV3 Ireland together with Souness.

20-06-2016, 08:27 PM
Just shows how much England are missing creativity in the final third if Wales can put 3 past Russia and England could barely get one.

ACLeith
20-06-2016, 08:28 PM
One man team apparently ;-)

Agreed. Where would they be without Joe Ledley 😮

High-On-Hibs
20-06-2016, 08:29 PM
"England are dominant on and off the field." :confused:

Gordy M
20-06-2016, 08:38 PM
Well done the Welsh.

Another country disproving the population myth.

How is it a myth? Apart from denmark 24 years ago, tell me what small country has won an international competition? In a one off game, like any sport, a result can happen....but to say it is a myth? It just seems like another snidey wee comment against scotland that seems to become popular on this thread:rolleyes:

nellio
Bluebird Nellio ????

I am indeed

A Slovakia goal now would put England in 3rd place in the group. I'd laugh.

nellio
20-06-2016, 08:39 PM
How is it a myth? Apart from denmark 24 years ago, tell me what small country has won an international competition? In a one off game, like any sport, a result can happen....but to say it is a myth? It just seems like another snidey wee comment against scotland that seems to become popular on this thread:rolleyes:

Greece?

nellio
20-06-2016, 08:40 PM
A Slovakia goal now would put England in 3rd place in the group. I'd laugh.

That would be superb!

Greece with 11m.

High-On-Hibs
Commentary team wetting themselves whenever England cross the half way line. Come on Slovakia!

Gordy M
Greece?

Not sure the population of greece but id wager its at least twice as big as scotland...wales...ireland etc.

How many have qualified though?

20-06-2016, 08:41 PM
Oh a Slovakian goal would be glorious

speedy_gonzales
20-06-2016, 08:41 PM
The wife is telling me to calm down but I nearly put my cup of tea through the telly when the commentators on ITV said if the games finish as they are now, "Wales will win the group FROM England",,,I didn't realise the groups were awarded to teams before all games were played!

Gordy M
20-06-2016, 08:43 PM

Yeh but surely they are then playing against similar sized nations in qualifying?? Most big nations with larger populations have qualified? And when it comes to winning it then its the big nations that normally do. My point is it isnt a myth!

20-06-2016, 08:44 PM
Uruguay have won 2 world cups, 2 Olympics and 15 Copa Americas - no bad for a diddy country wi a population of something like 3½ million.

*Nae Euros though......

20-06-2016, 08:45 PM
Yeh but surely they are then playing against similar sized nations in qualifying?? Most big nations with larger populations have qualified? And when it comes to winning it then its the big nations that normally do. My point is it isnt a myth!

Don't know mate I'm confused. We should be doing better that's all I know. Not getting out that group was ridiculous.

20-06-2016, 08:46 PM

I didn't say anything about winning competitions. Plenty small countries qualify regularly though and some do well when they get there.

Slovakia - 5.4M
Croatia - 4.8M
Denmark - 5.7M
Ireland - 4.6M
Slovenia - 2.1M

All regular/semi regular qualifiers for major tournaments since 1998. I don't have to make snide comments about Scotland. I'll say it clear as you like: our performances in qualifying for major tournaments in the last 18 years have for the most part been a disgrace.

20-06-2016, 08:47 PM

Not asking for anywhere near a win - just qualifying would be nice. The last time Scotland qualified for a major tournament I was 7, and I had zero interest in football and wasn't even aware it happened.

20-06-2016, 08:47 PM
Uruguay have won 2 world cups, 2 Olympics and 15 Copa Americas - no bad for a diddy country wi a population of something like 3½ million.

*Nae Euros though......

Similar to wales they are attached to a much bigger and frankly better nation though :devil:

20-06-2016, 08:48 PM
Into David Gray-time now.

20-06-2016, 08:49 PM
This reminds me of a few Hibs performances from last season if I'm honest.

20-06-2016, 08:50 PM

Not asking for anywhere near a win - just qualifying would be nice. The last time Scotland qualified for a major tournament I was 7, and I had zero interest in football and wasn't even aware it happened.

I'm 38 and remember when we always qualified. Didn't go in 96 or 98 but thought I'll just go to the next one...

Still waiting.

Watching England is like watching Hibs, all the possession but unable to break down a 10 man defence and all with the diamond.

Gordy M
I didn't say anything about winning competitions. Plenty small countries qualify regularly though and some do well when they get there.

Slovakia - 5.4M
Croatia - 4.8M
Denmark - 5.7M
Ireland - 4.6M
Slovenia - 2.1M

All regular/semi regular qualifiers for major tournaments since 1998. I don't have to make snide comments about Scotland. I'll say it clear as you like: our performances in qualifying for major tournaments in the last 18 years have for the most part been a disgrace.

So what was it you meant by wales disproving the myth of population. What is the myth?

This reminds me of a few Hibs performances from last season if I'm honest.

Said that to my wife after about 20-30 mins.

Slovakia - 5.4M
Croatia - 4.8M
Denmark - 5.7M
Ireland - 4.6M
Slovenia - 2.1M

Croatia finishing 3rd in 98 and Uruguay finishing 4th in 2010 are probably the most impressive small nation results in the modern era.

20-06-2016, 08:51 PM
Excellent, well done Wales

High-On-Hibs
20-06-2016, 08:52 PM
1 shot on target in 95 minutes. That's some real "domination" and "superiority" right there. :aok:

20-06-2016, 08:52 PM
Said that to my wife after about 20-30 mins.

I doubt she's complaining.

20-06-2016, 08:53 PM
England finishing below Wales :faf:

nellio
20-06-2016, 08:53 PM
Very proud tonight!! Cymru am byth!!!

20-06-2016, 08:54 PM
That result means a draw for NI tomorrow against germany would put them through.

I doubt she's complaining.

😂😂👏🏼

So what was it you meant by wales disproving the myth of population. What is the myth?

That we can't compete/qualify because of population.

Wales, along with all the other countries I've listed, disprove that. They won't go much further but they got there. The latter stages of tournaments are generally for the big boys but smaller countries have regularly outperformed Scotland simply by qualifying. Wales, Northern Ireland and Iceland have jumped ahead of us in the queue now.

Finn2015
England's strength I thought going into this was their forwards. Funny it is the lack of firepower that is letting them down

20-06-2016, 08:56 PM
England look truly dismal, second most likely gives them a harder run in than third as well which is great news!

Well done Wales as well, very impressive!

Gordy M
20-06-2016, 08:59 PM
That we can't compete/qualify because of population.

Wales, along with all the other countries I've listed, disprove that. They won't go much further but they got there. The latter stages of tournaments are generally for the big boys but smaller countries have regularly outperformed Scotland simply by qualifying. Wales, Northern Ireland and Iceland have jumped ahead of us in the queue now.

So it was a dig against scotland?? Listen congratulations to wales and all the rest of them....none of those had a group like ours....we lost three games(2 against germany) and lost out. Could we have done better...yes....but i think it was a tough group and we were a bit unlucky. Anyway good luck to the teams that are there...

20-06-2016, 08:59 PM
It looks like Bale was spot on with his comments last week. Wales even allowed England to beat them, and they still topped the group.:greengrin

20-06-2016, 09:02 PM
So it was a dig against scotland?? Listen congratulations to wales and all the rest of them....none of those had a group like ours....we lost three games(2 against germany) and lost out. Could we have done better...yes....but i think it was a tough group and we were a bit unlucky. Anyway good luck to the teams that are there...
I was quite clear that it was absolutely a dig at Scotland.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk