View Full Version : Anthony Stokes
Pages :
[
9]
17-01-2016, 03:24 PM
Sorry but when stokes agreed to come to hibs, we should have pushed and pushed the deal to get him available for today's game. This is one of the two teams we are fighting against for promotion...not for the diddy teams.
Would have to agree with that.
17-01-2016, 03:30 PM
Sorry but when stokes agreed to come to hibs, we should have pushed and pushed the deal to get him available for today's game. This is one of the two teams we are fighting against for promotion...not for the diddy teams.
Give it a rest with the "diddy team" pish. Leave that to the arrogant old firm fans.
17-01-2016, 03:44 PM
Like games against Dumbarton?
17-01-2016, 04:32 PM
I'd imagine they tried.
Like to think they did!
Greenworld
17-01-2016, 06:41 PM
So whats your point
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
17-01-2016, 06:50 PM
Was he only allowed to take one of them?
17-01-2016, 08:27 PM
"Celtc deliberately delayed the paperwork as they're desperate for the the Huns to go up."
Brunswickbill
18-01-2016, 12:06 AM
Malonga nolonga?
18-01-2016, 12:09 AM
Malonga nolonga?
That would be disappointing.
18-01-2016, 05:19 AM
Are we there yet?
18-01-2016, 05:24 AM
Heading to ER now for the unveiling, hope its still happening.
18-01-2016, 06:37 AM
Have they announced a press conference?
18-01-2016, 06:47 AM
Who else still has it in their heads that he isn't 'for sure a Hibs player yet' and will only feel at 100% ease once they see that scarf above the head picture?!
I'm chopping at the bit to see that picture today (hopefully!!) it will be brilliant to finally have all the drama put to bed and know we at last officially and confirmed have one of the best strikers in Scotland on our books!
18-01-2016, 06:49 AM
Delayed due to the van which is delivering the veil being held up in heavy traffic.
18-01-2016, 07:58 AM
Who else still has it in their heads that he isn't 'for sure a Hibs player yet' and will only feel at 100% ease once they see that scarf above the head picture?!
I'm chopping at the bit to see that picture today (hopefully!!) it will be brilliant to finally have all the drama put to bed and know we at last officially and confirmed have one of the best strikers in Scotland on our books!
Can't imagine Stokes nipping along to watch hibs v Falkirk on a freezing Sunday afternoon if he wasn't a hibs player already....
18-01-2016, 08:01 AM
As the previous poster has already mentioned, he wouldn't have been sitting in the stand yesterday if he wasn't going to play for us. Have a feeling it will be confirmed by Hibs later today.
18-01-2016, 08:14 AM
I can remember a certain Mo Johnstone doing the above with a Celtic scarf ,then signing for Rangers the next day :greengrin
So yes your not the only one CH . I must have checked this thread a hundred times to see if the signing has been confirmed [Officially]
18-01-2016, 08:16 AM
I can remember a certain Mo Johnstone doing the above with a Celtic scarf ,then signing for Rangers the next day :greengrin
So yes your not the only one CH . I must have checked this thread a hundred times to see if the signing has been confirmed [Officially]
Has Hibs been the only team he has wanted to play for.
18-01-2016, 08:26 AM
Has Hibs been the only team he has wanted to play for.
Well, he was in talks with ICT and Dundee United as well, and those talks had reportedly progressed quite far, and he's been at Celtic for the past few years, and this is no more than a loan deal till May, so I seriously doubt it.
18-01-2016, 08:35 AM
Can't imagine Stokes nipping along to watch hibs v Falkirk on a freezing Sunday afternoon if he wasn't a hibs player already....
Considering he moans at having to watch Celtic from the stands :greengrin
18-01-2016, 08:36 AM
There was a delay with sign off at the Celtic end, after Hibs had gone out to press. A shame it wasn't done for yesterday but it will be.
18-01-2016, 08:38 AM
The shine taken off this signing with the poor result yesterday and being 5 points behind
18-01-2016, 08:40 AM
The shine taken off this signing with the poor result yesterday and being 5 points behind
Zzzzz
18-01-2016, 08:43 AM
Has it? Not for me...tough game, good point but we do need to start playing better, like at Paisley and the Aberdeen game
18-01-2016, 08:45 AM
Sevco lost at the same ground earlier in the season. What's to say they wont do so again? Plenty still left in this title race.
18-01-2016, 08:47 AM
Since when was a point away from home against a team above us a poor result.
18-01-2016, 08:47 AM
Considering he moans at having to watch Celtic from the stands :greengrin
😂😂😂👍
18-01-2016, 08:54 AM
Not for me. Stokes is a great signing whatever had happened yesterday. The Rangers have to play Falkirk twice and us once more so plenty of twists and turns left yet. Having Stokes in the team will put us in a better place to make the best of any slip ups by the other two teams in the title race.
18-01-2016, 08:55 AM
It was a poor result imo.
Man for man, we have a far superior team to Falkirk but they play with more purpose than we do. Yesterday's performance was simply not good enough.
18-01-2016, 08:59 AM
Round about the time that Falkirk went above us in the league
Man for man, we have a far superior team to Falkirk but they play with more purpose than we do. Yesterday's performance was simply not good enough.
I'd like to see us having more pace and purpose in our build up play, it's all so pedestrian at times, we only seem to play like that when we lose a goal and are chasing the game. The introduction of Henderson made a difference as he injected that directness we lacked and I'd also like to see McGeouch play higher up the pitch where his direct play will make a difference.
18-01-2016, 09:05 AM
Not for me. Stokes is a great signing whatever had happened yesterday. The Rangers have to play Falkirk twice and us once more so plenty of twists and turns left yet. Having Stokes in the team will put us in a better place to make the best of any slip ups by the other two teams in the title race.
100% this.
18-01-2016, 09:10 AM
I'd like to see us having more pace and purpose in our build up play, it's all so pedestrian at times, we only seem to play like that when we lose a goal and are chasing the game. The introduction of Henderson made a difference as he injected that directness we lacked and I'd also like to see McGeouch play higher up the pitch where his direct play will make a difference.
Having a fairly large first team squad has its advantages but at the same time I sometimes wonder if anyone really knows what our "best" team really is. Obviously tactics and team selections need to be changed dependent on the opposition and how a particular game is flowing but at the same time having a settled team week in week out is more likely to produce consistency of performance.
This got me thinking, just how big is our squad...not as big as you think.
There are 25 1st team players in our squad, 3 of them on loan and 3 are injured, so in fact we only really have 19 players to choose from, we'll add Stokes and Thomson but unsure yet of Thomson's participation, player or coach.
I'd like to see us add a left sided midfielder to give McGinn a wee break, maybe even someone with pace GMS would've been the player but we already have two players from Celtic.
18-01-2016, 09:32 AM
Still no white smoke?
18-01-2016, 09:39 AM
The only purpose Falkirk had yesterday was to "not lose". They had absolutely no intention of trying to win that game yesterday. They deserved nothing from the game for that attitude alone. I'm dissapointed tho, because for an hour we were pretty poor. Henderson certainly changed the game and I do think over the piece, we deserved the 3 points. We were certainly the only team trying to get them.
18-01-2016, 10:41 AM
Sevco lost at the same ground earlier in the season. What's to say they wont do so again? Plenty still left in this title race.
The points gap at any point in time is interesting but it doesn't tell the whole story until you match up the fixtures played.
At the moment 5 points can be explained by us playing at Ibrox twice and Falkirk twice.
If Rangers get the same results at us and Falkirk as they did first time round then we would be above them.
18-01-2016, 11:12 AM
They must be on at least their 3rd roll of Andrex by now.
Paperwork indeed!
18-01-2016, 11:14 AM
2pm.
18-01-2016, 11:17 AM
2pm.
If that official, ronaldo7?
18-01-2016, 11:18 AM
The points gap at any point in time is interesting but it doesn't tell the whole story until you match up the fixtures played.
At the moment 5 points can be explained by us playing at Ibrox twice and Falkirk twice.
If Rangers get the same results at us and Falkirk as they did first time round then we would be above them.
And where would Falkirk be? Just wondering.
18-01-2016, 11:20 AM
Yesterdays first half wasn't good enough, but feels to sweeping a comment that..First half was pretty even. We had more possession, they created a few half chances. Nothing in it. They started the second half well. Scored one, pressed well. We made some changes and the game turned for us. Our intensity went up, we were getting in behind them and got a well deserved equaliser. It looked only like one team was going to win..one scrambled off the line and a great save for the their keeper kept us from winning the game. Falkirk are a good side. They are unbeaten in 12 games now. We are better. As Andy74 says in another post, let's see the results towards the end of the season. We've lost one or two in what 20? With not that many draws either. There will be a few twists and turns yet.
Hibeewilly
18-01-2016, 11:21 AM
2pm.
Have they called a press conference?
Big L
18-01-2016, 11:21 AM
Has it? Not for me...tough game, good point but we do need to start playing better, like at Paisley and the Aberdeen game
The problem is not taking more of the chances we create, 21 shots at goal yesterday and it's the same every week, we should be getting 4 or 5 a game!
18-01-2016, 11:28 AM
The problem is not taking more of the chances we create, 21 shots at goal yesterday and it's the same every week, we should be getting 4 or 5 a game!
What we need is another proven goalscorer... :wink:
Greenworld
18-01-2016, 11:31 AM
Any minute I hear
Hibeewilly
18-01-2016, 11:37 AM
Agreed. Thats why Stokes and Thomson are coming in. Proven goalscorer experienced midfielder and they have both won silverware - off the top of my head I don't think any of out team have won anything
18-01-2016, 11:39 AM
Agreed. Thats why Stokes and Thomson are coming in. Proven goalscorer experienced midfielder and they have both won silverware - off the top of my head I don't think any of out team have won anything
Fyvie won the FA Cup with Wigan...........can't think of any other medal winners.
Salt N Sauzee
18-01-2016, 11:40 AM
Boyle & Keatings have both won the Championship.
hibbypostie
18-01-2016, 11:41 AM
Fyvie won the FA Cup with Wigan...........can't think of any other medal winners.
ahem I remember Lewis winning something with a certain team :wink:
18-01-2016, 11:42 AM
Lewis, Keatings, Henderson and McGinn all have winners medals too mate
18-01-2016, 11:44 AM
John McGinn has a League Cup winners medal.
H18S NX
18-01-2016, 11:47 AM
Ronaldo,can you clear your pms,i am trying to send you a message
Bracksy
18-01-2016, 11:47 AM
A certain Lewis Stevenson has a cup final MOTM and winners medal.....
18-01-2016, 11:49 AM
A certain Lewis Stevenson has a cup final MOTM and winners medal.....
He has but he was never MOTM by a million miles.:greengrin
Oh yes he was :greengrin
Bracksy
18-01-2016, 11:54 AM
True haha!
Just saying he has it...although so many played so well that game
AndyM_1875
18-01-2016, 11:54 AM
John McGinn has a League Cup winners medal.
Bet he got it beating some absolute dross in the Final...:greengrin
18-01-2016, 12:19 PM
Bet he got it beating some absolute dross in the Final...:greengrin
It would be quality if John turned up to the PBS with his winners medal dangling round his neck :greengrin
Lee Marvin
18-01-2016, 12:21 PM
2pm.
If ronaldo says it, we know it's true...
;)
K-Zazu
18-01-2016, 12:22 PM
This is taking the piss now
18-01-2016, 12:30 PM
off the top of my head I don't think any of out team have won anything
:tee hee: I bet you wish you hadn't made that statement
18-01-2016, 12:45 PM
Just need to dot the is and cross the ts on that last, absolute last final bit of paperwork that's only a formality..
18-01-2016, 12:47 PM
Just need to dot the is and cross the ts on that last, absolute last final bit of paperwork that's only a formality..
FFS, tttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt tttttttttttttt iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii ii Done!
Welcome to ER, Stokesy :greengrin
18-01-2016, 12:47 PM
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_k9oWvqowL4M/Sa32f6WWUXI/AAAAAAAAAG0/CvwxZtZvzWM/s200/pile+of+paperwork.gif
Almost there :greengrin
18-01-2016, 12:48 PM
i'm hearing still two weeks away
edit: sorry, thought this was a farid thread :(
#sigh
E10 Rifle
18-01-2016, 12:57 PM
Dagnall won the Leyton Orient Player of the Season in 14/15...it's an impressive piece of silverware. Does that count? :cb
18-01-2016, 12:57 PM
Right, its 2pm, whats happening?! :confused::greengrin
18-01-2016, 12:59 PM
So right now he is still Anlhony Slokes?
Greenworld
18-01-2016, 01:00 PM
2pm come and gone [emoji102] no wonder im a raging alcoholic
18-01-2016, 01:01 PM
It's only a minute past 2 guys :hilarious
18-01-2016, 01:02 PM
https://inspirationtopublication.files.wordpress.com/2011/06/waiting.jpg
18-01-2016, 01:02 PM
It's only a minute past 2 guys :hilarious
Its just not good enough! PETTRRRIIIEEE!!!! :devil:
18-01-2016, 01:04 PM
:top marks :agree: len/len
18-01-2016, 01:04 PM
This is taking the piss now
Maybe he has changed his mind:greengrin
18-01-2016, 01:05 PM
It's 5 past now. ...surely there should be something
18-01-2016, 01:07 PM
It's 5 past now. ...surely there should be something
You would think so, and don't call my Shirley...
Salt N Sauzee
18-01-2016, 01:10 PM
No half taking there time to announce it are they? :rolleyes:
18-01-2016, 01:10 PM
Just a few more bits of paperwork
18-01-2016, 01:11 PM
**** this. I'm away watch Band of Brothers and hopefully it's announced when my episode has finished. :greengrin
Greenworld
18-01-2016, 01:12 PM
Maybe we wont agree to a clause on maintaining his transplant ..[emoji65]
Mcpakeisgod
18-01-2016, 01:12 PM
christ our support are high maintenance
18-01-2016, 01:13 PM
Seriously struggling to remember a Hibs transfer saga ever like this one?!
Salt N Sauzee
18-01-2016, 01:14 PM
**** this. I'm away watch Band of Brothers and hopefully it's announced when my episode has finished. :greengrin
You'll have the box set finished before they announce it :greengrin
18-01-2016, 01:16 PM
Seriously struggling to remember a Hibs transfer saga ever like this one?!
Riordan re-signing took many hours from my life on here :greengrin
18-01-2016, 01:19 PM
And there's probably still people in counselling after the Leigh Griffiths (non) emergency loan....
18-01-2016, 01:23 PM
Rod just arrived in his Porsche.
Never even asked me if i wanted a tea/coffee, Leeann would have sorted me out.
Heard he's still at home with the mystery blonde, watching Netflix, will sign after he's finished the last series of House of Cards.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CY_2p0mWEAAcHle.png
You'll have the box set finished before they announce it :greengrin
Very true :greengrin
18-01-2016, 01:24 PM
:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:dizzy:
18-01-2016, 01:25 PM
Oh same here....however I feel Stokes signing has taken a week off my life!!
Hibeewilly
18-01-2016, 01:27 PM
:tee hee: I bet you wish you hadn't made that statement
Correct LC. I'll think twice next time:wink:
18-01-2016, 01:40 PM
This really is ridiculous, I am bored of this whole situation now, just announce it for God sake!
18-01-2016, 01:40 PM
Can some of you ITK guys tell the rest of us not ITK guys what the fecks happening.
18-01-2016, 01:42 PM
Just dotting the I(s) and crossing the t(s)...................
Of the Magna Carta.
18-01-2016, 01:44 PM
They've got to announce Joe Baker's back first........
No gonna happen today is it:-(
Maybe he wont do any business on blue Monday?
18-01-2016, 01:49 PM
Don't worry, it's definitely happening on Tuesday unless it doesn't.
18-01-2016, 02:00 PM
how can it take so long to fix up a loan between two Scottish clubs? :confused:
WillowbraeHibby
18-01-2016, 02:00 PM
Ah... But what Tuesday??? :)
18-01-2016, 02:01 PM
Stokes has elected to walk to East Mains along the M8 to ensure that he's in optimum shape for the medical. He should get here by Friday.
18-01-2016, 02:03 PM
You'd need to ask Celtic as it's them that are dragging their heels here.
Lee Marvin
18-01-2016, 02:05 PM
You'd need to ask Celtic as it's them that are dragging their heels here.
That's my worry!They clearly didn't want stokes to chose hibs for whatever reason.
18-01-2016, 02:07 PM
Heard he's still at home with the mystery blonde, watching Netflix, will sign after he's finished the last series of House of Cards.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CY_2p0mWEAAcHle.png
I heard he was watching making a murderer
marky73
18-01-2016, 02:10 PM
confirmed that he has just signed
18-01-2016, 02:11 PM
Where??
Greenworld
18-01-2016, 02:12 PM
Page 1 but its a big document so 2 days yet
hibees59
18-01-2016, 02:13 PM
LTYF :agree:
Interesting first post 😊
18-01-2016, 02:14 PM
confirmed that he has just signedwho confirmed? you, him, HFC?
18-01-2016, 02:15 PM
He has to read through every post on this thread first then he will sign.
marky73
18-01-2016, 02:16 PM
Sky sports
18-01-2016, 02:21 PM
Sky sports:
HIBS COMPLETE STOKES DEAL
Hibernian have completed the signing of striker Anthony Stokes on loan from Celtic until the end of the season.
The 27-year-old was in the stands for the Edinburgh side's draw with Falkirk on Sunday while the club finalised paperwork for the deal.
18-01-2016, 02:28 PM
At last...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i1fOZjiDaw4
Time For Heroes
18-01-2016, 02:28 PM
Well back
Salt N Sauzee
18-01-2016, 02:31 PM
Still no confirmation from either club :dunno:
18-01-2016, 02:32 PM
Not good enough till I see it on our official site
18-01-2016, 02:33 PM
I wonder if Hibs and Celtic will stop using carrier pigeons after this deal?
18-01-2016, 02:33 PM
@wallace92hfc Don't think there will be a press conference today. Nothing been arranged certainly. More likely an online announcement.
Received this reply from Kenny Millar on Twitter.....
18-01-2016, 02:34 PM
Dempster has just tasked Stubbs with personally delivering the good news to our webmaster (in braille) so he can upload the story, after it has been countersigned by Stokes, Petrie, Delia and David Cameron. Underwater. Riding a shark. Should be done by Sunday.
Salt N Sauzee
18-01-2016, 02:35 PM
Dempster has just tasked Stubbs with personally delivering the good news to our webmaster (in braille) so he can upload the story, after it has been countersigned by Stokes, Petrie, Delia and David Cameron. Underwater. Riding a shark. Should be done by Sunday.
Easter Sunday
18-01-2016, 02:37 PM
Sky sports news just said that Stokes 'expects to complete' his loan move to Hibernian. Not there yet then:confused:
18-01-2016, 02:38 PM
You missed out the one person who did hold this up...
18-01-2016, 02:43 PM
Never in doubt 😳
18-01-2016, 02:47 PM
Not on Hibs Twitter yet....😑
18-01-2016, 02:49 PM
Who?
18-01-2016, 02:50 PM
all this waiting has actually put me off the idea now, give him back
McSwanky
18-01-2016, 02:55 PM
Who?
Lawwell most likely...
18-01-2016, 02:57 PM
Maybe waiting till after his court appearance.
18-01-2016, 02:58 PM
https://i.imgflip.com/xjzgj.jpg
Maybe waiting till after his court appearance.
When is that?
dmc1875
18-01-2016, 03:05 PM
Wonder if the interest from down South is playing on his mind
18-01-2016, 03:10 PM
I still think he's mulling it over, and how we played for that first 45 minutes certainly wouldn't of helped things. I really hope people haven't jumped the gun here because no matter what anyone says, the whole way the situation has unfolded has been odd to say the least.
18-01-2016, 03:10 PM
https://i.imgflip.com/xjzgj.jpg
Well meme'd
18-01-2016, 03:16 PM
I still think he's mulling it over, and how we played for that first 45 minutes certainly wouldn't of helped things. I really hope people haven't jumped the gun here because no matter what anyone says, the whole way the situation has unfolded has been odd to say the least.
Do you really think he would base his decision on 45mins of football?
WillowbraeHibby
18-01-2016, 03:16 PM
It certainly has...
18-01-2016, 03:17 PM
You really think the first 45 against Falkirk would of/have made any difference?
He's maybe read this thread and we've creeped him out with obsessive behaviour.
18-01-2016, 03:25 PM
I just shouted through his letterbox asking if this was the case. He answered he was phoning the police so I think the transfer is being delayed because his house has been robbed.
18-01-2016, 03:26 PM
I'm camped out on his front lawn as we speak..........
18-01-2016, 03:27 PM
I just shouted through his letterbox asking if this was the case. He answered he was phoning the police so I think the transfer is being delayed because his house has been robbed.
That's not what he said to me this morning when I camped outside his house. Maybe he needs a police escort to East Mains to sign the contract and they haven't come yet?
18-01-2016, 03:34 PM
Latest Hibs news is an ad for half seasons. Maybe he's after a bigger bonus?
18-01-2016, 03:35 PM
I'm camped out on his front lawn as we speak..........
I thought he stayed on Main Street in Broxburn? Better watch out for the traffic there.
18-01-2016, 03:38 PM
I wonder if Hibs and Celtic will stop using carrier pigeons after this deal?
Rod & Peter still using old school methods. :wink:
18-01-2016, 03:40 PM
Lawlell. :confused:
18-01-2016, 03:41 PM
You really think the first 45 against Falkirk would of/have made any difference?
Obviously not entirely, but I do feel it could have a small part of an effect. More than likely he'll sign, it'll be announced, and all will be well. I guess I'm just nervously looking out for all the remote 'what ifs' because don't anyone kid themselves on, ok he's not Ronaldo, but this is a major major signing and a complete game charger in relation to how our results will pan out for the second half of the season.
When is that?
This Thursday J.
Just announce it
https://imgflip.com/s/meme/Computer-Guy-Facepalm.jpg
murraymckirdy
Will Stokes be cup tied for the any of the cup games? Guessing he will have made an appearance in the League Cup at some point this season? With the tynie game being early rounds im thinking he wont have played a part in the previous round of the Scottish cup?
Cant be bothered trawling through this thread so if my question has already been answered earlier then I apologise.
18-01-2016, 03:42 PM
Rod & Peter still using old school methods. :wink:
Well bu88ar me, is that a fact?
18-01-2016, 03:45 PM
It's been an entertaining thread well fitting for the pantomime season and I've a feeling that it could drag on for a while yet.
Will Stokes be cup tied for the any of the cup games? Guessing he will have made an appearance in the League Cup at some point this season? With the tynie game being early rounds im thinking he wont have played a part in the previous round of the Scottish cup?
Cant be bothered trawling through this thread so if my question has already been answered earlier then I apologise.
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160118/fbb7a0073e67e905bb0649af81ab5225.jpg
Latest Hibs news is an ad for half seasons. Maybe he's after a bigger bonus?
Or maybe he wants celtcs bonuses rather than Hibs ones.
18-01-2016, 03:47 PM
I thought he stayed on Main Street in Broxburn? Better watch out for the traffic there.
Moved to Glasgow, watch your tent doesn't get blagged.
18-01-2016, 03:51 PM
Is Stokes still due in court in Dublin on Wednesday? According to this link he is.
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/anthony-stokes-assault-hearing-postponed-due-to-lack-of-judge-1.2209294
18-01-2016, 03:53 PM
That's great news - if he signs...
18-01-2016, 03:54 PM
Good news.
A forward line of Boyle, Malonga, Cummings, Stokes and Keatings.
All for goals and glory.
18-01-2016, 03:56 PM
the paperwork has been floating around for days, added to the fact that Petrie has insisted on using Mc Kendry's coaches to deliver. at this stage, the forms are in the bus, and on the back of a large breakdown lorry toiling to get up the top of the M8 at Harthill. not long now.
18-01-2016, 03:57 PM
That's great news - if he signs... Here is the excerpt from the latest rules for the League Cup I could find
No Club shall play, or list as a named substitute, any Player who, in the same Season, has already Played for another Club in the Competition.
18-01-2016, 03:57 PM
That's great news - if he signs...
It is great news . The bugger is if we face Celtic tho.👎
18-01-2016, 03:58 PM
Ffs. Has he still no signed.
18-01-2016, 03:58 PM
If this doesn't get announced today I'm going to wait till tomorrow
18-01-2016, 03:59 PM
Here is the excerpt from the latest rules for the League Cup I could find
No Club shall play, or list as a named substitute, any Player who, in the same Season, has already Played for another Club in the Competition.
If that's all it says then it seems fine. Surely no one would interpret "Played for" as including unused substitutes.
HIBEETILLIDIE
18-01-2016, 04:00 PM
Here is the excerpt from the latest rules for the League Cup I could find
But he has not played, as he was an unused substitute, so maybe he could play?
Of course all immaterial if does not end up signing!!
18-01-2016, 04:06 PM
That's odd - not an expert but don't the official cup rules state the complete opposite - i.e. that being a sub does matter?
18-01-2016, 04:07 PM
Has he actually signed yet?
18-01-2016, 04:08 PM
Very surprised we haven't announced this yet- joking aside has this hit a snag perhaps??
18-01-2016, 04:08 PM
That's odd - not an expert but don't the official cup rules state the complete opposite - i.e. that being a sub does matter?
I was always under the impression that you have to actually get on the park to be cup tied - I just took everyone (who had checked) on here's word for it that the rules were now different.
Being an unused sub shouldn't cup tie you.
Green Man
18-01-2016, 04:09 PM
Here's the rule:
7.2. No Club shall play, or list as a named substitute, any Player who, in the same Season, has already played in a League Cup Match by entering the field of play whether in the starting eleven or by being used as a substitute by another Club in the competition.
That suggests to me that an unused sub is not cup tied.
18-01-2016, 04:14 PM
http://spfl.co.uk/docs/067_324__therulesofthespfl_1375800603.pdf
I think (don't quote me) that the issues in the past where a club has been penalised for an unused substitution, is where a player has played for Team A (Celtic) in a previous round and then is named on Team B's bench in a latter round, this would be against the rules.
Whereas Stokes hasn't made an appearance for Celtic so will be fine to play.
Hibs need to make sure that all parties are 100% on this rule though and should get it in writing from the SFA
18-01-2016, 04:14 PM
Here's the rule:
7.2. No Club shall play, or list as a named substitute, any Player who, in the same Season, has already played in a League Cup Match by entering the field of play whether in the starting eleven or by being used as a substitute by another Club in the competition.
That is absolutely clear. He can play :aok:
18-01-2016, 04:16 PM
Has he actually signed yet?
Naw. The saga continues.
Edit:- At least it's not been officially announced yet.
18-01-2016, 04:17 PM
Here's the rule:
Good. Let's get him ****ing signed now. :grr:
18-01-2016, 04:17 PM
Becoming worried this has fallen through. A bit good news after that dismal peformence yesterday wouldbt have went amiss.
18-01-2016, 04:21 PM
Egg on face imminent.
18-01-2016, 04:26 PM
Good news.
A forward line of Boyle, Malonga, Cummings, Stokes and Keatings.
All for goals and glory.
Dagnall instead of Boyle
18-01-2016, 04:27 PM
Very surprised we haven't announced this yet- joking aside has this hit a snag perhaps??
hitting a snag is commonly known as "snagging" , in house building/construction terms. hitting the buffers on the otherhand, means
18-01-2016, 04:29 PM
Wonder if Hibs are waiting until the court case is settled on Wednesday before announcing it just in case he is not available for a while.
Be embarrassing announcing it then him not available.
18-01-2016, 04:29 PM
It's all strangely quiet on the media front, not even a whisper in any of the news bulletins.
18-01-2016, 04:30 PM
Never in doubt 😳
18-01-2016, 04:32 PM
Never in doubt
White smoke on the horizon?
18-01-2016, 04:35 PM
Maybe done a Mo Jo :cb
Greenworld
18-01-2016, 04:40 PM
Well someone must know whats happening ?
Maybe done a Mo Jo :cb
SSN saying he has signed
18-01-2016, 04:46 PM
I think (don't quote me) that the issues in the past where a club has been penalised for an unused substitution, is where a player has played for Team A (Celtic) in a previous round and then is named on Team B's bench in a latter round, this would be against the rules.
Agree with your reading, but that's a strange rule.
Why would it make sense to chuck team B out the competition for not actually playing someone who previously played for team A? Given that not actually playing for team A allows you play for team B.
Not grasping the logic of that, so suspect the rule was probably introduced initially to get some team that the the Huns didn't want in the competition kicked out.
18-01-2016, 04:51 PM
SSN saying he has signed
They actually said 'Potentially one out'
Strange interview with the guy Celtic have signed.
18-01-2016, 04:51 PM
Well that's a bummer.
I was told 2pm today, and fully expected him to be paraded by now. Sorry for getting some of your hopes up:furious:
18-01-2016, 04:52 PM
Wonder if Hibs are waiting until the court case is settled on Wednesday before announcing it just in case he is not available for a while.
Be embarrassing announcing it then him not available.
I would be very surprised if in the event of him being found guilty, that he'd be imprisoned. the charge is assault, not serious assault although I am not condoning it. mitigating circumstances/ who knows, but his lawyer would no doubt point out that his client has a long term relationship,is the father of a child, full time employed etc etc. Some on hear are quick to refer to this case, but forget that a Hibernian player was also involved in assault of "an Elvis impersonator". what is it with all these Elvises? Garry O'Connor had a dig at one too:wink:
wick hibby
18-01-2016, 05:02 PM
Sky is saying he has signed :greengrin:flag:
18-01-2016, 05:05 PM
Sky is saying he has signed :greengrin
Wish Hibs would.
18-01-2016, 05:05 PM
I would be very surprised if in the event of him being found guilty, that he'd be imprisoned. the charge is assault, not serious assault although I am not condoning it. mitigating circumstances/ who knows, but his lawyer would no doubt point out that his client has a long term relationship,is the father of a child, full time employed etc etc. Some on hear are quick to refer to this case, but forget that a Hibernian player was also involved in assault of "an Elvis impersonator". what is it with all these Elvises? Garry O'Connor had a dig at one too:wink:
Would be surprised myself but just wondering out loud.
BTW is it Elvises or Elvii?
18-01-2016, 05:08 PM
It's been an entertaining thread well fitting for the pantomime season and I've a feeling that it could drag on for a while yet.
No-one else has bitten, so I will...
"Oh no it won't!"
.....I'll just :duck:...get ma coat
18-01-2016, 05:28 PM
cam75
18-01-2016, 05:29 PM
Stubbs coming up on 810mw
18-01-2016, 05:30 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160118/eaee322e17e0cfd1c139e0db4d90e09e.jpg
HibeeMG
18-01-2016, 05:34 PM
..... and breathe!
18-01-2016, 05:35 PM
That'll do nicely
Welcome back son!
P.S. When I first glanced at that I saw 'Rabbits' in stead of 'Crabbies' on the shirt :greengrin
18-01-2016, 05:36 PM
Bring on the Jambos Andy. :aok:
Tobias Funke
18-01-2016, 05:38 PM
Welcome back Anthony! A couple against the Gorgie cheats would be nice :wink:
18-01-2016, 05:39 PM
Bring on the Jambos Andy. :aok:
Indeed Rab:agree:
Thank f***, starting to get a wee bit windy there :greengrin welcome back, now score a barrow load and help us beat the Huns to the title. GGTTH
CorrieHibs
18-01-2016, 05:40 PM
Delighted!!! 💚🍀
Can not wait till Saturday.
BarneyHibby
18-01-2016, 05:41 PM
Welcome Back Stoksey! :flag:
hibbypostie
18-01-2016, 05:42 PM
so is there still a rabbit to come lol
Juice-Terry
Still nothing official. :confused:
If my Facebook feed is anything to go by The Rangers won the league at the weekend so I'm afraid this news is a bit too late.
18-01-2016, 05:44 PM
If my Facebook feed is anything to go by The Rangers won the league at the weekend so I'm afraid this news is a bit too late.
I thought that was back in October :confused: :greengrin
18-01-2016, 05:45 PM
Indeed Rab:agree:
Three seats on the bus needed for the final. Cheers.
18-01-2016, 05:51 PM
That's not stokes in the photo its a lookalike....we've been had
18-01-2016, 05:53 PM
Stubbs live on sportsound around 7pm tonight
18-01-2016, 05:54 PM
That's not stokes in the photo its a lookalike....we've been had
Photoshop job I think.
18-01-2016, 05:56 PM
Photoshop job I think.
A masterstoke.
18-01-2016, 05:57 PM
Three seats on the bus needed for the final. Cheers.
18-01-2016, 05:58 PM
Maybe best he doesn't focus too much on the 'long term relationship' part since he was at the game yesterday with his new misses [emoji12]
18-01-2016, 05:58 PM
Welcome back Stokesy!!
Fake photo, back to waiting.
18-01-2016, 06:03 PM
Just had a jambo in the taxi and he said Celtic have played a blinder or Hibs have, depending of outcome of court case.
Said Celtic wanted deal done before Wednesday's court case as it meant they would only pay so much for his wages if he gets jail time and it will be published as a Hibs player that gets jailed not a Celtic player. Also said if he doesn't do time ( as he heard but community service) then Hibs have got themselves a bargain, except that he'll need to go back and forward to get the community time done.
Not sure if correct or bull but only passing on what I was informed.
18-01-2016, 06:04 PM
If this doesn't get announced today I'm going to wait till tomorrow
Think I'll join you on that
18-01-2016, 06:05 PM
Just had a jambo in the taxi and he said Celtic have played a blinder or Hibs have, depending of outcome of court case.
Said Celtic wanted deal done before Wednesday's court case as it meant they would only pay so much for his wages if he gets jail time and it will be published as a Hibs player that gets jailed not a Celtic player. Also said if he doesn't do time ( as he heard but community service) then Hibs have got themselves a bargain, except that he'll need to go back and forward to get the community time done.
I would plump for bull.
Only one of those twats could come out with that!
Bits in bold should provide the answer to your concern. Complete and utter bull. You can normally tell if a Yam is talking bull as their lips will be moving.
Sent from my SM-A500F using Tapatalk
HiBremian
18-01-2016, 06:08 PM
Photoshop job I think.
What makes you say that?
18-01-2016, 06:12 PM
What makes you say that?
Something not quite right about the top of his head? :dunno:
18-01-2016, 06:13 PM
Stubbs on Radio Scotland now.
18-01-2016, 06:14 PM
In the photo or in reality? Just wonderin' like.
HiBremian
18-01-2016, 06:14 PM
Now you mention it.......:greengrin
HiBremian
18-01-2016, 06:16 PM
Stubbsy says on radio "in the next half hour, very very very close" :cb
18-01-2016, 06:16 PM
Stubbs saying we'll find out in next 30 minutes what's happening with Stokes.
"Very close" to announcing something.
18-01-2016, 06:17 PM
Stubbs on Radio Scotland now.
Just said that we'll make an announcement in the next half an hour
hibbypostie
18-01-2016, 06:17 PM
we will know within 30m stubbs
18-01-2016, 06:18 PM
Stubbsy says on radio "in the next half hour, very very very close" :cb
That's a disgrace. Shirley our manager should be able to keep up with what's happening in his own club? SSN announced ages ago that it was done.
18-01-2016, 06:18 PM
Stubbs cant wait to work with Stokes. :thumbsup:
He goes to the same place as Cummings!
18-01-2016, 06:19 PM
Obviously he doesn't know anything about the law then. Even IF Stokes does get Community Service [which I doubt he will, after all it is only an assault [minor] charge he is on], his c/s would be transferred to his local area.
AinsterHibs
18-01-2016, 06:19 PM
Cloak and dagger stuff this, perhaps there's more to this than we expect ?:confused:
Do you think it's more than a loan?
AinsterHibs
18-01-2016, 06:22 PM
Never thought of that, out of our range methinks tho.
18-01-2016, 06:24 PM
Wondered about that myself but just can't see it.
18-01-2016, 06:25 PM
Obviously he doesn't know anything about the law then. Even IF Stokes does get Community Service [which I doubt he will, after all it is only an assault [minor] charge he is on], his c/s would be transferred to his local area.
I'll take your word for it as I've not got a clue about these things ( good boy me lol ). Genuine question though. Is he on trail in Dublin and if so will they allow him to do community service in Edinburgh?
The bit I was more amazed at was a jambo actually admitting it could be a good bit of business for Hibs.
18-01-2016, 06:27 PM
Is it possible the delay and all the negotiations is he is not just coming on loan but on a perm
18-01-2016, 06:27 PM
I'll take your word for it as I've not got a clue about these things ( good boy me lol ). Genuine question though. Is he on trail in Dublin and if so will they allow him to do community service in Edinburgh?
The bit I was more amazed at was a jambo actually admitting it could be a good bit of business for Hibs.
He was just being condescending about the wee club:greengrin
AinsterHibs
18-01-2016, 06:29 PM
Is it possible the delay and all the negotiations is he is not just coming on loan but on a perm
I would be amazed, and totally chuffed - but, but..but...........:greengrin
18-01-2016, 06:31 PM
He was just being condescending about the wee club:greengrin
Three beezers from you in a 5 minute spell.
18-01-2016, 06:33 PM
Where's my Kleenex box.
18-01-2016, 06:34 PM
Yes and no -- let me explain - his c/s would be transferred to the town/city/district he resides in - in this case I believe he resides in Glasgow, so that would be the area he would carry it out in -unless his lawyer made a petition for it to be transferred to his place of employment. [hopefully Edinburgh] Hope that helps.