View Full Version : Anthony Stokes
Pages :
[
11]
19-01-2016, 03:01 PM
Have I read it right. Even though its just a loan, Stokes has taken a big pay cut to come and play for us???
19-01-2016, 03:03 PM
Have I read it right. Even though its just a loan, Stokes has taken a big pay cut to come and play for us???
19-01-2016, 03:16 PM
I'm just waiting for Stubbs to pull two sweaty, humping rabbits and loads of their half-eaten babies out the hat.
19-01-2016, 03:17 PM
And HSL are covering the rest [emoji6]
19-01-2016, 03:18 PM
Ozy do the club pay for anything nowadays?
I guess the accounts will show break even/profit next year.
i don't think we are done. Its wabbit season!
ltyf
I'm just waiting for Stubbs to pull two sweaty, humping rabbits and loads of their half-eaten babies out the hat.
19-01-2016, 03:20 PM
Get a grip if he wasn't trouble he'd still be at Celtic.
Think we got him back at the right time. 27 is a decent age to get the youthful fuddishness out of your system.
19-01-2016, 03:21 PM
That sounds a bit more like the transfer window when Pat Fenlon got all the loan players in.
Nutmegged
19-01-2016, 03:39 PM
Yeap, 50% which equates to £6k p/w
19-01-2016, 03:52 PM
I'm assuming that he would have paid the higher rate of tax, between 40% and 50%, so he's possibly about £3K out of pocket per week. Still a big hit of course.
He could be the difference between us playing in the top league or making away trips to Alloa, Livingston and Morton next season.
Look forward to seeing him back in action for the original greens. :aok:
19-01-2016, 03:55 PM
Stokes will outscore Wighorn.
19-01-2016, 03:55 PM
Stokes is/was on 8k at Celtic.
19-01-2016, 04:05 PM
:agree: He plans to top it up with loans from the youth players.
19-01-2016, 04:28 PM
Stokes will outscore Wighorn.
Especially if waghorn us sold for £480k on deadline day 31 Jan as was hinted at in the Rangers published accounts
19-01-2016, 04:33 PM
Cole released from Roma
19-01-2016, 04:43 PM
This isn't true. The hold up wasn't wages.
19-01-2016, 04:51 PM
Cole released from Roma
Don't you even dare, Underscore...
19-01-2016, 04:53 PM
Cole signed for LA
portycabbage
19-01-2016, 05:02 PM
Good news. He'll need a bit of time to find his feet again, but could make a huge contribution :flag:
Jeez, can someone at the club not just tell him they're at the far end of his legs?! We've a game on Saturday, FFS get it sorted Petrie!:grr:
19-01-2016, 05:03 PM
Cole signed for LA
Lacks Ambition :rolleyes:
19-01-2016, 05:09 PM
This isn't true. The hold up wasn't wages.
My info was bonus payments was the hold up.
19-01-2016, 05:13 PM
Cole released from Roma
You are a bad man 😡👍
19-01-2016, 06:25 PM
Cole signed for LA
Good news for me.
19-01-2016, 06:29 PM
Nigel de Jong and Jelle Van Damme close to joining the Galaxy too.
19-01-2016, 06:36 PM
Lacks Ambition :rolleyes:
Agree. Must be gutted he wasn't big enough for the "famous" as he ticked other boxes there.[emoji6]
19-01-2016, 07:06 PM
Any interviews from tony about the signing?
19-01-2016, 07:09 PM
Any interviews from tony about the signing?
Was thinking that myself normally there is a hibs tv video by now
19-01-2016, 08:41 PM
I just love these stories about stokes wages. He has a binding contract with Celtic and as they wanted him to go out on loan that can't be changed unless he for some reason agrees to a change of contract. What it probably was to do with is bonuses when Celtic win the league and Celtic assuming he would have that halved as he will not be there for half of the season. Also maybe they were hoping someone else would come in for him and scupper the deal. He should be able to quickly get up to speed as he knows the set up and he is far and away the best striker in the championship. He just needs to knuckle down and do the business on the pitch. Welcome back Anthony and stay away from the bars stack and the likes went to.Ggtth.
19-01-2016, 09:23 PM
He's gone up in my estimation - the guy he assaulted in Dublin was an Elvis impersonator.
The lowest form of entertainment outside of The X-Factor.
Anyone who belts an Elvis impersonator cannot be all bad .... :devil:
Tobias Funke
19-01-2016, 09:44 PM
He's gone up in my estimation - the guy he assaulted in Dublin was an Elvis impersonator.
Haha! Was thinking exactly the same. :greengrin
19-01-2016, 09:49 PM
Deserves him right for singing Jailhouse Rock.
19-01-2016, 10:01 PM
Don't know if you really believe that Ozzy but fans who have bought half seasons and full season tickets will also have helped. They deserve recognition as well.
19-01-2016, 10:04 PM
Don't know if you really believe that Ozzy but fans who have bought half seasons and full season tickets will also have helped. They deserve recognition as well.
I did put a little wink smiley at the end.
Of course I know that all the money coming into the club is of value, I'm just trying to give HSL a push just now.
19-01-2016, 10:17 PM
I did put a little wink smiley at the end.
Of course I know that all the money coming into the club is of value, I'm just trying to give HSL a push just now.
So I noticed. :greengrin
Just wanted to acknowledge the effort made by others as well. The more bums on seats the better as it helps back the team at games
We are all in this together and the sooner we get out this division the better. Signing players of Stokes calibre will surely help.
portycabbage
19-01-2016, 10:32 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ViMF510wqWA
Nutmegged
20-01-2016, 12:37 AM
Stokes is/was on 8k at Celtic.
No he isn't, he signed a new deal in 2013 but his previous deal was more than the £8k p/w
20-01-2016, 12:44 AM
No he isn't, he signed a new deal in 2013 but his previous deal was more than the £8k p/w
Serms to be an amazing number of people know the details of his contract with Celtic. He must be very indiscreet.
A yam 'mate' reckons stokes was a 'panic signing' for us because we got them in the cup. Hahaha my sides are hurting!!! Great piece of business by hibs. Could be the difference in where we are playing next season.
20-01-2016, 06:58 AM
A yam 'mate'.
There's your issue
20-01-2016, 07:02 AM
A yam 'mate' reckons stokes was a 'panic signing' for us because we got them in the cup. Hahaha my sides are hurting!!! Great piece of business by hibs. Could be the difference in where we are playing next season.
😂😂 yup, we went for one of the best strikers in Scottish football as a panic signing for them! Cretins. Cannot wait to turn them over on their own patch!
20-01-2016, 07:04 AM
Didn't take them long to
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/6873231/Celtic-ace-Anthony-Stokes-in-affair-shock.html
20-01-2016, 07:18 AM
Didn't take them long to
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/6873231/Celtic-ace-Anthony-Stokes-in-affair-shock.html
How predictable
20-01-2016, 07:22 AM
Didn't take them long to
Unbelievable.
20-01-2016, 07:45 AM
Didn't take them long to
Can't imagine a story in the Sun about him being a bit of a ****ger will stop him 'banging them in'.
Unbelievable.
If he cheated he's not hiding it as she is the blonde chick he was at the game with on sunday.
20-01-2016, 08:09 AM
He's split from fiancé and had his new girlfriend round his flat. Is that newsworthy ?
20-01-2016, 08:17 AM
To be fair I would hide it either :devil:
20-01-2016, 08:21 AM
Hahaha, oh The Sun, predictable losers to the core. This won't stop Stokes banging the goals in, won't even come close. Move along..
20-01-2016, 08:30 AM
Hahaha, oh The Sun, predictable losers to the core. This won't stop Stokes banging the goals in, won't even come close. Move along..
No, but they will get clicks on their website, which they monetise (advertisers pay per click). People shouldn't paste links from the Sun or Record, and they shouldn't click on them.
20-01-2016, 08:33 AM
Big deal he is no saint I am interested in him for the 90mins he plays and that's it.
20-01-2016, 09:54 AM
He's split from fiancé and had his new girlfriend round his flat. Is that newsworthy ?
Probably is.
I thought he wanted to sign for us so he'd be near his kids? They're in Dublin!
20-01-2016, 09:59 AM
Probably is.
I thought he wanted to sign for us so he'd be near his kids? They're in Dublin!
Glasgow flat sounds like it was the family home, so makes sense that he'd want to be based there if he's having them over.
20-01-2016, 10:07 AM
This thread is in danger of lapsing into an in depth scrutiny of the players private life and fidelity. I have my own personal views on this sort of thing but I'll keep them to myself. Suffice to say that the timing of this rag's exposee tends to make me a bit more sympathetic towards Stokes.
20-01-2016, 10:22 AM
This thread is in danger of lapsing into an in depth scrutiny of the players private life and fidelity. I have my own personal views on this sort of thing but I'll keep them to myself. Suffice to say that the timing of this rag's exposee tends to make me a bit more sympathetic towards Stokes.
Yup - I have my thoughts about the signing but if he delivers goals and helps us to results in the next 4-5 months I'll be more than happy, Jim. I don't think we've signed him up to be a moral example to the youth of Scotland - we've signed him as a footballer, specifically a footballer who scores goals. he did it for us last time and if he does it again, as I say, I'll be content.
FWIW, Leeann Dempster and Alan Stubbs together are fairly reasonable people to be in charge of a football squad; they reckon AS is a good appointment. I trust their judgement and that's really all that matters.
20-01-2016, 10:40 AM
The new one shes stunning like :aok: defo hibs wag class.
20-01-2016, 11:07 AM
Trial postponed for 10 months. Mon the Stokesy
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160120/d74f39c04b321fb0034407e425c87b6c.jpg
ElginHibbie
Sky Sports Scotland @ScotlandSky (https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky) 41 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/689781045550542848)
Anthony Stokes' trial over an alleged assault on an Elvis impersonator has been postponed for 10 months in Dublin this morning
20-01-2016, 11:10 AM
Sky Sports Scotland @ScotlandSky (https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky) 41 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/689781045550542848)
Anthony Stokes' trial over an alleged assault on an Elvis impersonator has been postponed for 10 months in Dublin this morning
The alleged victim was all shook up.
20-01-2016, 11:12 AM
:thumbsup::thumbsup:
20-01-2016, 11:13 AM
C'mon, don't be cruel.
20-01-2016, 11:17 AM
That'll be a relief to his latest flame.
20-01-2016, 11:30 AM
I hope he's able to put this to the back of his mind now however getting closure on the ordeal may have been preferable for him.
20-01-2016, 11:38 AM
I hope he's able to put this to the back of his mind now however getting closure on the ordeal may have been preferable for him.
You were always on my miiiiiiiiind :whistle:
nellio
20-01-2016, 11:48 AM
Suspicious minds you lot..............
20-01-2016, 11:59 AM
Now he can stick to Edinburgh Rock instead of Jailhouse Rock !!
Bukta#8
20-01-2016, 12:19 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup:
A little less conversation on this matter please!
20-01-2016, 12:26 PM
You jokers must all have a wooden heart.
20-01-2016, 12:27 PM
Probably crying in the chapel😂
Didn't Garry O'Connor assault an Elvis impersonator as well? What's going on at Easter Road? Stay away Elvis Impersonators! You'd be safer In The Ghetto...
20-01-2016, 12:34 PM
Didn't Garry O'Connor assault an Elvis impersonator as well? What's going on at Easter Road? Stay away Elvis Impersonators! You'd be safer In The Ghetto...
Let's hope there are no plans for a players trip to Vegas. It would be mayhem.
20-01-2016, 12:42 PM
How many songs has he got?
Just trying to work out how long this unfunny string will go on.
The Hibee Harp
20-01-2016, 12:44 PM
Being serious for a moment, the Daily Record listing his address in their article is a bad move.
20-01-2016, 12:49 PM
Being serious for a moment, the Daily Record listing his address in their article is a bad move.
We all know the address of Elvis is Graceland. :wink:
HiBremian
20-01-2016, 12:52 PM
The new one shes stunning like :aok: defo hibs wag class.
Is Marie the name of His Latest Flame? :music::singing::whistle:
:taxi
20-01-2016, 12:58 PM
I agree, sometimes a little less conversation is the right way to go.
20-01-2016, 12:59 PM
Don't Be Cruel
HibeesLittleHel
20-01-2016, 01:00 PM
Well it was one for the money.....:thumbsup:
20-01-2016, 01:03 PM
Sounds like you are All Shook Up but Thats Alright😊
20-01-2016, 01:03 PM
I agree, sometimes a little less conversation is the right way to go.
You're out - that's been used.
20-01-2016, 01:07 PM
You're out - that's been used.
That's all right.
20-01-2016, 01:07 PM
Come on guys. Does every thread need to degenerate into puns?
20-01-2016, 01:10 PM
Why? Are you lonesome tonight?
20-01-2016, 01:12 PM
711 recorded songs, so it won't end any day now.
20-01-2016, 01:13 PM
C'mon everybody. Does every thread need to degenerate into puns?
ftfy
20-01-2016, 01:14 PM
711 recorded songs, so it won't end any day now.
You never know, It's Funny How Time Slips Away
20-01-2016, 01:15 PM
Yeah, c'mon everybody.
Aw! Don't be cruel.
20-01-2016, 01:17 PM
Why? Are you lonesome tonight?
Acting like someone's gone and stepped on his blue suede shoes.
Threads being dragged in the ghettto
20-01-2016, 01:21 PM
I know they're not to everyone's taste but I have a Burning Love of pun threads.
20-01-2016, 01:42 PM
http://youtu.be/TQdAsAKd6wo
20-01-2016, 01:49 PM
"Never scored against rangers in his career"
Aye he did mate, twice. In 13 seconds of a match and goal of the season 2009.
TamHibs
20-01-2016, 01:52 PM
However he has never scored against THE Rangers, so technically the fud is right :greengrin:greengrin
20-01-2016, 01:52 PM
Maybe they mean the Rangers?
20-01-2016, 02:30 PM
What a ****ing roaster. How sad is it that he made a video about Hibs signing a player?!
20-01-2016, 02:36 PM
The alleged victim was all shook up.:faf::faf::faf:best of the year so far
20-01-2016, 02:38 PM
Didn't take them long to
This adds to the evidence that Stokes can score.
20-01-2016, 02:46 PM
What a ****ing roaster. How sad is it that he made a video about Hibs signing a player?!this adds credence to the phrase youtube! what an absolute fud.
20-01-2016, 03:20 PM
Apparently AS stood on the guy's blue suede shoes ...
20-01-2016, 03:27 PM
Fools rush in right enough :greengrin
20-01-2016, 03:31 PM
this adds credence to the phrase youtube! what an absolute fud.
Conveniently forgets the 2-1 win at Easter Road and that they blew a 13 point lead. The seethe is strong with that one :agree:
BH Hibs
20-01-2016, 03:38 PM
What a roaster you porn must have been down that day
20-01-2016, 04:16 PM
What a roaster you porn must have been down that day
It was if memory serves.
hhibs
20-01-2016, 04:22 PM
Did they indeed ,that is a new low, even for the ******.
I do hope he can take some sort of legal action against them.
20-01-2016, 04:24 PM
No words😂😂😂
20-01-2016, 04:47 PM
F*****G WOW :faf:
kevo1875
20-01-2016, 05:00 PM
Never scored against the Huns lol ??....if that fud was twice as smart as he is now he would be absolutely stupid..
Northern Hibby
20-01-2016, 07:05 PM
It's not unusual :-)
20-01-2016, 08:09 PM
SSN, Stokes case put back until November! Sorry if it's been discussed already!
20-01-2016, 08:12 PM
It's not unusual :-)
I am really undecied infact am caught in a trap
20-01-2016, 08:13 PM
SSN, Stokes case put back until November! Sorry if it's been discussed already!
That's All Right
20-01-2016, 08:15 PM
That's All Right
I'm assuming this is one of his songs as well given its been done 3 times?
Any chance if the puns are to continue you all use his famous songs and not use google?
20-01-2016, 08:24 PM
F*****G WOW :faf:
Exactly. A classic example of why weak posh boys should never drink.
20-01-2016, 08:29 PM
I'm assuming this is one of his songs as well given its been done 3 times?
Any chance if the puns are to continue you all use his famous songs and not use google?
Don't be cruel
Green Man
20-01-2016, 08:31 PM
I see the court have given Stokes ten months grace - landed on our feet there.
20-01-2016, 08:45 PM
I see the court have given Stokes ten months grace - landed on our feet there.
Certainly not complaining, but why would a bog standard assault trial be put back another ten months?
20-01-2016, 08:48 PM
Certainly not complaining, but why would a bog standard assault trial be put back another ten months?
Hell of a long song title that one.
20-01-2016, 08:50 PM
The wonder of You tube.
20-01-2016, 08:52 PM
According to the 6 o'clock news, a witness didn't show up...:confused:
20-01-2016, 08:54 PM
Probably locked up in the basement of mr stokes senior's pub :devil:
20-01-2016, 08:59 PM
The old concrete overshoes?
greenflyer
20-01-2016, 09:10 PM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/republic-of-ireland/football-stars-elvis-impersonator-assault-trial-put-back-10-months-34381530.html
Twiglet
20-01-2016, 09:14 PM
Or doesn't like the rangers and wanted to make sure Stokes played for the rest of the season.
HiBremian
20-01-2016, 09:51 PM
No choice, really.
It's now or november.
20-01-2016, 11:16 PM
Seemingly she had a sore back. Seriously. :greengrin
Being lazy.... Two questions...
1. Are we 100% now he is eligible for league cup semi (and assuming Scottish cup)?
2. Any chat on here or from Stubbs around Stokes featuring on Saturday? Would add to the gate...
Cheers.
21-01-2016, 12:15 PM
We've still not had a proper interview from Stokesy since he signed have we? Wonder when that'll happen?
21-01-2016, 12:21 PM
We've still not had a proper interview from Stokesy since he signed have we? Wonder when that'll happen?
After his hat-trick on Saturday :thumbsup:
21-01-2016, 01:06 PM
Being lazy.... Two questions...
1. Are we 100% now he is eligible for league cup semi (and assuming Scottish cup)?
2. Any chat on here or from Stubbs around Stokes featuring on Saturday? Would add to the gate...
Cheers.
1. I'm 99% certain that he can play in both. The rules seem different for each, but it seems that in the league cup, unused sub appearances don't count.
2. I hope he starts. Ok he might be short of match time, but look to give him an hour and it will help him for the semi final.
21-01-2016, 05:42 PM
He was on STV news, interview coming up on sportsound soon
It is weird that Hibs media and Tv seem to be asleep just now. I would have expected Hibs would be all over Stokes signing to bump up sales for Saturday and cup semi even if he might be on bench and my start.
Maybe that will be tomorrow and I know he was back in Dublin yeaterday.
mghibs
21-01-2016, 07:14 PM
Just reading his interview with stv which to me showed great early signs. The fact that he says he definitely wants to go back and play for Celtic, as well as make it into the euro squad says to me he means business and will work his socks off... Absolutely buzzing to see him on Saturday!
calmacuk
21-01-2016, 07:41 PM
STV have a decent video interview with him on their website:
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/hibernian/1339946-title-race-the-draw-for-anthony-stokes-over-move-to-premiership-duo/
23-01-2016, 12:26 PM
Slightly amusing :greengrin
https://raillydecord.wordpress.com/2016/01/23/celtic-and-hibs-in-shock-fifa-probe/
Celtic and Hibs in Shock FIFA Probe
23-01-2016, 03:51 PM
Lovely stuff "Rangers today"
23-01-2016, 04:07 PM
The fact that this person has taken so much time and effort to compile this video shows that they are actually concerned about us signing stokes. If it was some dud we had signed then I highly doubt they would go to such an effort.