View Full Version : Anthony Stokes
Pages :
[
8]
Greenworld
16-01-2016, 06:44 AM
Speaking to to a friend tonight he said Stokes on 8k at Celtic, Dundee Utd agreed to pay half for his services, Stokes didn't want to go there. Hibs offered to pay 1.5k per week but had to increase it to 4K to seal the deal. Might be the reason it's taken so long.
My feeling is that if we've had to stretch the budget for Stokes the well might now be dry
I think its irrelevant LD has coughed up what we can afford I doubt your friend knows any details
I hope we are not paying £4K per week. This will blow the wage cap and cause unrest in the dressing room
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
16-01-2016, 06:46 AM
Is Rod still in a coma lol?
Only if you're a Hearts fan sitting in your Union flag undies, crying, reading Hibs net Aldo (him, not you mate) !
Ha! Made me laugh out loud. No need to clarify TH. I knew what you meant!
16-01-2016, 06:47 AM
If Lucky was being sarcastic then so was I obviously. If he wasn't, I was being deadly serious.
Honest.
I believe you
You're not suggesting Lucky is a Jambo are you?...Shock, horror haha
Not at all.
I don't even think Stokes is the 'rabbit' - I think there will be one more
Aw! I'll need to find something else now.....
Stokes tore us a new one in the Cup final and there is a lot more to his game now.
He will bring even more quality and composure in the final 3rd and will create chances as well as scoring.
Our opposition are spewing because deep down our club is backing the manager yet Lying King is scraping the bottom of the biscuit tin.
If what's being alluded that Stokes isn't the 'Wabbit' then how the hell are we going to trump his signing!
Well done Hibs!
O and for all you guests looking it. GIRFUY!!
16-01-2016, 07:09 AM
He will be in the squad for Sunday KT won't
147lothian
16-01-2016, 07:11 AM
Stokes returns to Hibs a much better player than when he left. His build up play and all round game has come on leaps and bounds and I'm delighted (again!) that we've managed to sign him.
He was outstanding against us in the Scottish Cup final, scores against Hearts and will hopefully be the catalyst to put us top of the league(and improve our goal difference)
I agree with this post, I would just like to add that Stokes was a very good player when he left, but they way he got down the wing and picked out pin point crosses in the Scottish Cup final IMO showed how his all round game had improved
16-01-2016, 07:20 AM
I agree with this post, I would just like to add that Stokes was a very good player when he left, but they way he got down the wing and picked out pin point crosses in the Scottish Cup final IMO showed how his all round game had improved
Yep, I think a lot on here think of him as an out and out goalscorer, but his improved movement and passing since 2010 should help the rest of the team.
On a side note, hilarious greeting from The Real Romanov gadge on twitter - the seething is almost visible :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
h185forever
16-01-2016, 07:21 AM
I like most others have high hopes for Stokes ....but please let's keep a couple of things in mind.
1. We aren't that bad a team without him, the other guys have and will continue to do a great job for the club.
2. Let's not heap to much expectation on his shoulders before he arrives.
He will help but if we fail it won't all be down to him ......we are first and foremost....a team
C'mon the cabbage
16-01-2016, 07:21 AM
Well done Hibs,this shows a great desire and ambition.
djs69
16-01-2016, 07:25 AM
Got to say, HSL will have played a big part in this financially, the fans need to take a bow too :-)
16-01-2016, 07:26 AM
Just broke habit of a lifetime and dipped into Sickbag for a wee look...jeezo their seethe is hilarious everything from We are funding a terrorist to we r gonna go bust when we don't get promoted and oh that's right Stokes is not very good...Dry your eyes Jumbos 😂😂😂
They are bitter and deep down know Harry Potter first buy players with skill, movement and entertainers. Has to be 6 foot 4 cloggers.
PPZPOL
16-01-2016, 07:30 AM
Since seeing him play against us for Celtic (especially in the SC final), its clear his movement/runs have improved and he has great ability when he gets on ball as well. It's been a thing that I feel we've lacked against teams we can't break down (the movement off the ball to pull defenders out of position). I think we also have the midfielders now who can pick out said runs.
Very exciting signing, well done Hibs. We are going for this and this sends that message out loud and clear!
16-01-2016, 07:32 AM
They are bitter and deep down know Harry Potter first buy players with skill, movement and entertainers. Has to be 6 foot 4 cloggers.
One of them actually suggested we could only afford Stokes coz we were lucky enough to draw them at the pink tip....actually hilarious 😂😂😂😂
I like most others have high hopes for Stokes ....but please let's keep a couple of things in mind. 1. We aren't that bad a team without him, the other guys have and will continue to do a great job for the club. 2. Let's not heap to much expectation on his shoulders before he arrives. He will help but if we fail it won't all be down to him ......we are first and foremost....a team C'mon the cabbage
I'll give you point one however barring a bit of fitness I'm expecting big things from Stokes in this division and I'm sure he will heap pressure on himself and have a point to prove.
He will know exactly what's expected of and I'm sure he won't disappoint!
16-01-2016, 07:39 AM
Just broke habit of a lifetime and dipped into Sickbag for a wee look...jeezo their seethe is hilarious everything from We are funding a terrorist to we r gonna go bust when we don't get promoted and oh that's right Stokes is not very good...Dry your eyes Jumbos
Sent from my SM-G920F using TapatalkHunMedia is the same, they are convinced he is rubbish.
One of them actually suggested we could only afford Stokes coz we were lucky enough to draw them at the pink tip....actually hilarious dde02dde02dde02dde02 Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
They have delusions of grandeur IMHO. Running scared.
They have to remember one thing.... We pay our way and if they think we can only afford him because we are going there proves it.
Let the seethe continue. They are running scared.
Now to go on another unbeaten run and with 2 games to go we are 7 points clear of Falkirk at the top!
They will spew even more when Stubbs pulls the wabbit out the hat!!
16-01-2016, 07:57 AM
Hopefuly this signing will encourage the stay at home supporters will now return.It shows the board are backing our manager. Well done the Cat.:hibees
16-01-2016, 07:57 AM
I hope we are not paying £4K per week. This will blow the wage cap and cause unrest in the dressing room
16-01-2016, 08:20 AM
So wait, others on here including myself have told you to relax and it's happening but you dismiss our contacts (who are also at the club) but soon as you hear it's all done and dusted?
Jeezo I've heard it all now! Anyway cheers for the update, I'm off to have a beer and sit back and study my coupon for tomorrow. Peace out ✌🏼️
90% of journos get their info from forums and twitter convs. The STV guys especially have no sources at Hibs.
16-01-2016, 08:24 AM
Yes because it was done tonight and not Tuesday.
Andy. Verbal agreement was Tuesday. Hibs did not get agreement from celtic till yesterday. Legally Hibs obviously cannot say that stokes agreed on Tuesday .
Greenworld
16-01-2016, 08:28 AM
Andy. Verbal agreement was Tuesday. Hibs did not get agreement from celtic till yesterday. Legally Hibs obviously cannot say that stokes agreed on Tuesday .
we dont do tapping [emoji102] [emoji102]
16-01-2016, 08:32 AM
Amazing news! Just finding out now having experienced internet blackout. Might try this more often.
Welcome back Stokesy!!
Get in to they Huns and Jambos and Falkirk and St Johnstone, and everyone else for that matter!
Deeeelighted.. :agree:
Greenworld
16-01-2016, 08:32 AM
All that Remains is this Damn Rabbit .....and the noises are that it is Happening....what has happened to our club and who is the Rabbit?
16-01-2016, 08:33 AM
Crazy how many threads have us involved. What a bunch of cock thrashers.
They are obsessed with the dead. They killed us no? Necrophiliacs..
16-01-2016, 08:33 AM
Come on guys, somebody give us mere mortals a clue as to "the rabbit"
tinnyhibby
16-01-2016, 08:39 AM
Sorry if already dealt with - is he on way back to ER?
16-01-2016, 08:41 AM
Sorry if already dealt with - is he on way back to ER?
Who??
16-01-2016, 08:41 AM
Come on guys, somebody give us mere mortals a clue as to "the rabbit"
yeah - i'll take a PM if any are going
Stokes will do as far as big signings go. What on earth are people expecting? :confused:
16-01-2016, 08:44 AM
If it was as easy as that it would have been done as soon as Celtic's agreement was received. I know directly what happened yesterday evening so will leave it at that.
Greenworld
16-01-2016, 08:46 AM
Stokes will do as far as big signings go. What on earth are people expecting? :confused:
More We want More
16-01-2016, 08:59 AM
[QUOTE=HoboHarry;4548261]If it's done and dusted why haven't Hibs announced it?[/
The Cat s already out the bag so no rush ,maybe they are waiting now to make a double announcement
Greenworld
16-01-2016, 09:02 AM
[QUOTE=HoboHarry;4548261]If it's done and dusted why haven't Hibs announced it?[/
The Cat s already out the bag so no rush ,maybe they are waiting now to make a double announcement
Or a Triple announcement ...Rabbit ...KT...AS...
Indeed there could be. Triple the seethe from over the road and along the M8.
16-01-2016, 09:12 AM
What time does the registration need to be done by if Stokes is to be eligible for tomorrow's game?
16-01-2016, 09:13 AM
What time does the registration need to be done by if Stokes is to be eligible for tomorrow's game?
12.30 I think
16-01-2016, 09:14 AM
It will be done by then and has probably already done or in process of being done
16-01-2016, 09:17 AM
yeah - i'll take a PM if any are going
So will I, he he, but then wouldn't everyone!!
While I'm pleased with this signing, I remember the cup final vividly & sadly, I would urge some caution here. I remember AS making his first debut at Falkirk, he was ok but obviously lacked match fitness. I also remember another major signing, Joe Harper, making his debut at Falkirk & that was not a success! I would expect AS to start on the bench tomorrow & hopefully to come on in happy circumstances rather than in dire need. We do need to manage expectations though, he will take some time to get up to speed.
007 Mickey Weir
16-01-2016, 09:19 AM
If it was as easy as that it would have been done as soon as Celtic's agreement was received. I know directly what happened yesterday evening so will leave it at that.
Yes but he agreed yesterday!! Do any of us know exactly when? No. Celtic agreed lunchtime. Player signed later that day. I was told by late afternoon.
16-01-2016, 09:21 AM
I like most others have high hopes for Stokes ....but please let's keep a couple of things in mind.
1. We aren't that bad a team without him, the other guys have and will continue to do a great job for the club.
2. Let's not heap to much expectation on his shoulders before he arrives.
He will help but if we fail it won't all be down to him ......we are first and foremost....a team
C'mon the cabbage
16-01-2016, 09:22 AM
While I'm pleased with this signing, I remember the cup final vividly & sadly, I would urge some caution here. I remember AS making his first debut at Falkirk, he was ok but obviously lacked match fitness. I also remember another major signing, Joe Harper, making his debut at Falkirk & that was not a success! I would expect AS to start on the bench tomorrow & hopefully to come on in happy circumstances rather than in dire need. We do need to manage expectations though, he will take some time to get up to speed.
Correct, in fact Stokes was pretty ropey for the first few games as I recall.
16-01-2016, 09:30 AM
It will be done by then and has probably already done or in process of being done
Yep would assume signed form then emailed through or uploaded to system.
16-01-2016, 09:31 AM
No doubt he will and a start from the bench makes sense.
16-01-2016, 09:32 AM
Hibs - creatively managing expectations since Alan O'brien arrived on his moped.... ;)
16-01-2016, 09:36 AM
Surely he needs to win his place and the boys that have been doing it for the majority of the season deserve a crack at getting the goals - be interesting to see who drops out (do also wonder where the boy from India fits) if we keep everyone it will be a nightmare for teams to figure out who to defend against... Impressive array wonder if well keep then all....
16-01-2016, 09:42 AM
So if Stokes is the rabbit is Stubbs taking the baton from Latapy and (ahem) Konte as a magician?
16-01-2016, 09:43 AM
A brilliant piece of business. We need to keep hold of Cummings now though. If he's allowed to leave at this stage it'll definitely be 1 step forward, 2 steps back
16-01-2016, 10:12 AM
Got to say, HSL will have played a big part in this financially, the fans need to take a bow too :-)
Very much so.
http://www.hiberniansupporters.co.uk/phone/donate.html
16-01-2016, 10:18 AM
AS has successfully signed AS.....we're going to have some serious acronym issues here.
Petrie!!! ****, ehm....I mean Leanne!!!
16-01-2016, 10:43 AM
Have Hibs announced the signing?
16-01-2016, 10:43 AM
starting to cut it a bit fine here hibs
They need to sign him and register him by 12.30. Doesn't mean he has to be announced by then, for all we know it was sorted earlier this morning.
16-01-2016, 10:54 AM
They need to sign him and register him by 12.30. Doesn't mean he has to be announced by then, for all we know it was sorted earlier this morning.
True
16-01-2016, 10:56 AM
Indeed there could be. Triple the seethe from over the road and along the M8.
very funny, family yam just been in touch to tell me that they weren't after Stokes because of the damage he'd do to their "reputation"
I mean it's not as if Stokes has stolen any poppy money from the Lady Haig Poppy fund or been involved in any of the other thefts from their many creditors.
The strangest thing is I don't hear from him very often so to get this type of thing out of the blue tells me all I need to know.
I replied saying what kind of reputational damage do they think all this and the proactive employment of convicted sex offenders might have already done. No reply.
16-01-2016, 10:58 AM
Just broke habit of a lifetime and dipped into Sickbag for a wee look...jeezo their seethe is hilarious everything from We are funding a terrorist to we r gonna go bust when we don't get promoted and oh that's right Stokes is not very good...Dry your eyes Jumbos [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
1) Whilst we are NOT actually funding a terrorist, they did actually fund a convicted peadophile. Not only once, but twice in a matter of years.
2) Whilst we won't go bust, they actually did go bust-as recent as a couple of years ago. As a result, they went into Administration owing millions to local businesses and charities, however they don't like to talk about that.
3) Whilst we have brought through Riordan, O Connor, Fletcher, Cummings and nurtured Griffiths and Stokes in recent years, they have given us Gary Glen, Callum Elliot, Graeme Weir and Dale Carrick. They had Cummings, however they gave him away. Their opinions on strikers is about as valid as a vegetarian advising you which steak house to eat at.
Complete and utter deluded cockwombles the lot of them.
16-01-2016, 11:01 AM
Surely he needs to win his place and the boys that have been doing it for the majority of the season deserve a crack at getting the goals - be interesting to see who drops out (do also wonder where the boy from India fits) if we keep everyone it will be a nightmare for teams to figure out who to defend against... Impressive array wonder if well keep then all....
I'd be dropping Keatings, he has been well off the boil for a while now.
16-01-2016, 11:03 AM
1) Whilst we are NOT actually funding a terrorist, they did actually fund a convicted peadophile. Not only once, but twice in a matter of years.
2) Whilst we won't go bust, they actually did go bust-as recent as a couple of years ago. As a result, they went into Administration owing millions to local businesses and charities, however they don't like to talk about that.
3) Whilst we have brought through Riordan, O Connor, Fletcher, Cummings and nurtured Griffiths and Stokes in recent years, they have given us Gary Glen, Callum Elliot, Graeme Weir and Dale Carrick. They had Cummings, however they gave him away. Their opinions on strikers is about as valid as a vegetarian advising you which steak house to eat at.
Post of the day. Well said.
Tobias Funke
16-01-2016, 11:04 AM
To paraphase Blackadder, if a hungry cannibal were to crack open an average Kickbackers skull, there wouldn't be enough inside to cover a small water biscuit.
16-01-2016, 11:09 AM
What a post 👏🏼👏🏼
16-01-2016, 11:10 AM
16-01-2016, 11:12 AM
Spot on and hilarious 👍👍
16-01-2016, 11:17 AM
Have Hibs announced the signing?
No official announcement as yet that I'm aware of but Stokes is at East Mains and Tam McCourt is preparing his kit for tomorrow.
FACT.
END OF.:greengrin:greengrin
16-01-2016, 11:20 AM
No official announcement as yet that I'm aware of but Stokes is at East Mains and Tam McCourt is preparing his kit for tomorrow.
FACT.
:thumbsup::not worth
16-01-2016, 11:23 AM
FACT.
END OF.:greengrin:greengrinthat's a good enough FACT for me Scoops, although it may still be on the backburner for some:greengrin: If Tam says, then that's it, plus he will defo be in one of the first photies:wink:
16-01-2016, 11:23 AM
FACT.
What shirt number?
16-01-2016, 11:24 AM
FACT.
Is Tam McCourt playing. :greengrin
16-01-2016, 11:28 AM
What shirt number?
First thing I asked as well.
Info from a player who had phoned his old boy.
16-01-2016, 11:32 AM
Anthony Stokes 20 - just a hunch like :wink:
16-01-2016, 11:36 AM
FACT.
😁👍🏼👍🏼
16-01-2016, 11:36 AM
Is Tam McCourt playing. :greengrinlets discuss this by PM. you have one:wink:
16-01-2016, 11:37 AM
I'll take a pm too
16-01-2016, 11:40 AM
Deadline missed? Sorry I'm in a very pessimistic mood today 😉
very funny, family yam just been in touch to tell me that they weren't after Stokes because of the damage he'd do to their "reputation" I mean it's not as if Stokes has stolen any poppy money from the Lady Haig Poppy fund or been involved in any of the other thefts from their many creditors. The strangest thing is I don't hear from him very often so to get this type of thing out of the blue tells me all I need to know. I replied saying what kind of reputational damage do they think all this and the proactive employment of convicted sex offenders might have already done. No reply.
BH
They've got very very short memories and looks like the head is back in the sand!!
1) Whilst we are NOT actually funding a terrorist, they did actually fund a convicted peadophile. Not only once, but twice in a matter of years. 2) Whilst we won't go bust, they actually did go bust-as recent as a couple of years ago. As a result, they went into Administration owing millions to local businesses and charities, however they don't like to talk about that. 3) Whilst we have brought through Riordan, O Connor, Fletcher, Cummings and nurtured Griffiths and Stokes in recent years, they have given us Gary Glen, Callum Elliot, Graeme Weir and Dale Carrick. They had Cummings, however they gave him away. Their opinions on strikers is about as valid as a vegetarian advising you which steak house to eat at. Complete and utter deluded cockwombles the lot of them.
Top marks.
Also word of the day
COCKWOMBLE
brilliant just brilliant.
16-01-2016, 11:43 AM
Top marks.
Also word of the day
COCKWOMBLE
brilliant just brilliant.
No official announcement as yet that I'm aware of but Stokes is at East Mains and Tam McCourt is preparing his kit for tomorrow. FACT. END OF.:greengrin:greengrin
That'll do for me.... Well the FACT X that actually someone has posted FACT and in capital letters.
Cheers scoops! ;-)
What shirt number? :greengrin
0-7
Or
16-01-2016, 11:52 AM
Its nearly wan o cloak ...why is thur no been an ofishal anooncemint
Manxhibs
As soon as this is a official I will finally sign up to HSL :).
0-7
Or
Only works for Neil Or, btw
16-01-2016, 11:53 AM
Oooooh that's blackmail
16-01-2016, 11:53 AM
Get the forms looked out buddy.
16-01-2016, 11:54 AM
Only works for Neil Or, btw
Witty, very witty.
16-01-2016, 11:55 AM
Anyone else believe this will be announced with KT and possibly Jason's contract extension?..... A man can dream right?
Witty, very witty.
Indeed
16-01-2016, 12:04 PM
lets discuss this by PM. you have one:wink:
Haven't received it but you have a PM. :aok:
16-01-2016, 12:06 PM
You'll need to click here. Only takes a minute.
Last Minute
16-01-2016, 12:08 PM
Stokes not playing tomorrow. Papers not in on time
16-01-2016, 12:09 PM
Says who?
WillowbraeHibby
16-01-2016, 12:10 PM
I'm still waiting tae see if he has signed yet..!!!!
hibbydad
16-01-2016, 12:13 PM
Seriously wondering if this deal is going to get over the line. I hope so
16-01-2016, 12:18 PM
I'd be dropping Keatings, he has been well off the boil for a while now.
Good player though. Great to have a mix of tactical options upfront. Its all good.
K-Zazu
16-01-2016, 12:20 PM
Why hasn't it been announced
16-01-2016, 12:21 PM
Egg on face potential here.
16-01-2016, 12:23 PM
It's done just not announced yet...why the panic. ..again ??
K-Zazu
16-01-2016, 12:24 PM
It's done just not announced yet...why the panic. ..again ??
I'm just impatient haha I want it done now
As chuffed as Iam about stokes an aw that
part of me is a bit sad that there's aw this excitement for what is only a loan deal
Hungry for the days when we are SIGNING this quality of player on a regular basis
16-01-2016, 12:27 PM
part of me is a bit sad that there's aw this excitement for what is only a loan deal
Hungry for the days when we are SIGNING this quality of player on a regular basis
Like Allan? Or McGinn?
16-01-2016, 12:30 PM
100% done deal. Will not play tomorrow.
Like Allan? Or McGinn?
FFS can a no even make a wee comment withoot being shot doon
Last Minute
16-01-2016, 12:31 PM
Says who?
Not saying who, but take it from me the deal is done but not in time for tomorrow, 1 or 2 things to tie up. All good things come to those who wait ?
Surely you can understand what i'm saying
16-01-2016, 12:33 PM
Where did I shoot you down? Bit precious.
16-01-2016, 12:33 PM
Not saying who, but take it from me the deal is done but not in time for tomorrow, 1 or 2 things to tie up. All good things come to those who wait ?
What's still to tie up if it's already a done deal?
Feels like typical Hibs taking ages to get something announced
16-01-2016, 12:36 PM
A post in keeping with your user name!
16-01-2016, 12:37 PM
Celtic have some boy doing a medical, will probably want to announce 1 in, 1 out later on once that deal is complete
Last Minute
16-01-2016, 12:38 PM
There may be a wee surprise, which they are working very hard on
hibbypostie
16-01-2016, 12:39 PM
we will announce it at 14:30pm just before the rangers kick off
16-01-2016, 12:40 PM
Naw, can you explain?
Delighted Stokes has signed, he should make us more potent up front and I fully expect to score a good number of goals. He's clearly not match fit, but at this level his quality will shine through regardless.
Great bit of business by Hibs. The modern transfer market demands flexibility and opportunism in order to maximise benefit from it. For me this is a great statement of intent and adds significantly to the playing pool in a key area. It might even distract me from the bowling alley.
16-01-2016, 12:40 PM
Griffiths? 😁
hibsmad
16-01-2016, 12:41 PM
I can understand where you were coming from. It would be nice if we were able to sign players with Stokes record on a permanent basis. Unfortunately it's just not possible in the current climate (Scottish football on its erse and us in the Championship).
I also wasn't surprised you were shot down so quickly. It's the .net way!
I think we are heading in the right direction. Promotion and more and more people signing up for HSL could see us bidding six figure sums for players on a regular-ish basis in the future.
16-01-2016, 12:41 PM
A nice wee extension for someone.
16-01-2016, 12:42 PM
Permanent instead of a loan??
16-01-2016, 12:42 PM
JC?
Last Minute
16-01-2016, 12:44 PM
We will just need to wait and see, not long now I'm told [emoji6]
16-01-2016, 12:45 PM
We will just need to wait and see, not long now I'm told [emoji6]
Your name is apt
16-01-2016, 12:47 PM
Aw FFS, it's no' Bob the Builder!!!
Last Minute
16-01-2016, 12:49 PM
Don't want to say anymore in case it falls through, God I've done that before. Very good news if all goes to plan. As Leeann said, let's enjoy the ride
16-01-2016, 12:49 PM
No need for that.
A gentleman never tells.
16-01-2016, 12:51 PM
Don't want to say anymore in case it falls through, God I've done that before. Very good news if all goes to plan. As Leeann said, let's enjoy the ride
Sauzee to buy Hibs?
16-01-2016, 12:53 PM
didn't realise stokesy is still only a 27 year old laddie, feels like he's been in the game for yonks
hibsmad
16-01-2016, 12:54 PM
Sauzee to buy Hibs?
One of the billionaire American lottery winners is a Hibs fan. She proposed to Frank who said yes (because she's a Hibby and now loaded).
The rabbit is Messi.
16-01-2016, 12:55 PM
Bad choice of words, btw.
16-01-2016, 12:56 PM
Really want this one done and dusted. It's draggings on like the Lucy Beale murder case in Eastenders!
16-01-2016, 12:58 PM
It's a loan deal that can help get us back to a position where we CAN be signing quality players. Priority No1 is getting us the eff out of this league, and this particular loan will help us achieve that goal THIS season
Keep the faith :aok:
16-01-2016, 01:07 PM
Really want this one done and dusted. It's draggings on like the Lucy Beale murder case in Eastenders!
I liked that BMD - coffee over screen moment.
16-01-2016, 01:08 PM
Cmon tae ****. I've nearly used up all my phone data with this saga!
Sign ya radge! :-D
16-01-2016, 01:08 PM
One of the billionaire American lottery winners is a Hibs fan. She proposed to Frank who said yes (because she's a Hibby and now loaded).
The rabbit is Messi.
Source?
16-01-2016, 01:13 PM
didn't realise stokesy is still only a 27 year old laddie, feels like he's been in the game for yonks
I said the same to my mate, he's been around for what feels forever. 27 is a good age to get a footballer like Stokes. He's learned a lot since he left so I'm sure we'll see a big difference in him.
16-01-2016, 01:16 PM
Merson and that on SSN just talking about a boy at West Ham and said that 27/28 is when a player comes into their prime and becomes a proper player.
So is Stokes finished or in his prime?
Aw FFS, it's no' Bob the Builder!!!
LOL Really made me laugh.:top marks
Lomondhibs
I said the same to my mate, he's been around for what feels forever. 27 is a good age to get a footballer like Stokes. He's learned a lot since he left so I'm sure we'll see a big difference in him.
Aye yer right he will be ready to retire at the speed this is going :greengrin
16-01-2016, 01:18 PM
Aye yer right he will be ready to retire at the speed this is going :greengrin
😂😂
Liked that.
Greenworld
16-01-2016, 01:19 PM
Cmon tae ****. I've nearly used up all my phone data with this saga!
Sign ya radge! :-D
LoL thinm thats sums it up thank god I have unlimited Data
16-01-2016, 01:19 PM
So, by all accounts, Stokes has signed on 'till end of season. Some are suggesting not in time to be considered for tomorrows game v Falkirk. Anyone know if he can/can't play ? Don't understand the Clubs reluctance to announce the deal IF there is one.
Greenworld
16-01-2016, 01:24 PM
LF has re-grown his beard its taken that long
16-01-2016, 01:26 PM
So, by all accounts, Stokes has signed on 'till end of season. Some are suggesting not in time to be considered for tomorrows game v Falkirk. Anyone know if he can/can't play ? Don't understand the Clubs reluctance to announce the deal IF there is one.
I can only think that there is something else going on and they just want to make one big announcement?
16-01-2016, 01:37 PM
Stokes is following Boyle on twitter :hyper
16-01-2016, 01:39 PM
Susan or Danny?
16-01-2016, 01:39 PM
And Rowan Vine 😡
16-01-2016, 01:41 PM
And Boyle is following Stokes.
Paul STV
Anthony Stokes won't be in Hibs squad at Falkirk tomorrow. Passed a medical at training ground today but deal not quite over the line yet.
16-01-2016, 01:46 PM
Paul STV
Anthony Stokes won't be in Hibs squad at Falkirk tomorrow. Passed a medical at training ground today but deal not quite over the line yet.
Same guy who said this last night-
Anthony Stokes has agreed a loan move from #Celtic to #Hibs. He will sign for his former club tomorrow morning.
Same guy who said this last night-
Anthony Stokes has agreed a loan move from #Celtic to #Hibs. He will sign for his former club tomorrow morning.
I don't think anyone really knows! Hopefully just a matter of time though. At least he's passed his medical and won't be '2 weeks away' 😂
16-01-2016, 01:50 PM
In a way I'm glad that the Club can still maintain a degree of confidentiality when required. I'd imagine that contract negotiations could prove to be a very sensitive area so it is essential that every eventually is covered before an announcement can be made. So it may be frustrating for us fans but sometimes its preferable that even the much vaunted ITK posters don't know everything!
cloudy
16-01-2016, 02:30 PM
Paul STV
Think he's getting wrong info, I think stokes is signed and KT has had a medical and it's loose ends on the KT deal that's delaying the announcement of the double signing
16-01-2016, 02:35 PM
Maybe they're not announcing until HSL gets above 1500 members? These players don't come cheap you know.
In a way I'm glad that the Club can still maintain a degree of confidentiality when required. I'd imagine that contract negotiations could prove to be a very sensitive area so it is essential that every eventually is covered before an announcement can be made. So it may be frustrating for us fans but sometimes its preferable that even the much vaunted ITK posters don't know everything!
It never ceases to amaze how much Hibs fans like sticking the boot in to our own, whether that's our own players during/after matches or our own fans on these forums. (not directed at yourself personally GB, more a general observation).
As far as this thread/topic is concerned, there are bound to be fans who have personal contact with players or someone else who is officially employed with the club and who also therefore bound to get a wee bit more info on certain things than most of us (used to be in that position myself a good few years ago). However, when they post on here on what they have heard or been told and the info the post doesn't happen as quickly as everybody would like, or simply doesn't happen at all, they are slated on here. Maybe it would be best for all if we didn't have threads asking for info on a current situation so that nobody could post they think they know something and those desperate for news before an official announcement, won't get their underpants twisted and start slagging fellow fans.
Stokes will either sign or won't sign and we will all be either happy or no so happy with the eventual outcome.
livi hibs 1875
16-01-2016, 02:38 PM
very good keep it up
Maybe they're not announcing until HSL gets above 1500 members? These players don't come cheap you know.
16-01-2016, 02:44 PM
It never ceases to amaze how much Hibs fans like sticking the boot in to our own, whether that's our own players during/after matches or our own fans on these forums. (not directed at yourself personally GB, more a general observation).
As far as this thread/topic is concerned, there are bound to be fans who have personal contact with players or someone else who is officially employed with the club and who also therefore bound to get a wee bit more info on certain things than most of us (used to be in that position myself a good few years ago). However, when they post on here on what they have heard or been told and the info the post doesn't happen as quickly as everybody would like, or simply doesn't happen at all, they are slated on here. Maybe it would be best for all if we didn't have threads asking for info on a current situation so that nobody could post they think they know something and those desperate for news before an official announcement, won't get their underpants twisted and start slagging fellow fans.
Stokes will either sign or won't sign and we will all be either happy or no so happy with the eventual outcome.
Or use the PM board
16-01-2016, 02:46 PM
That famous Monty Python line keeps coming back to me, "He's not the Messiah, he's a very naughty bhoy" :wink:
Sincerely hope that he does turn out to be the Messiah and behaves himself this time :pray:
16-01-2016, 02:48 PM
Henderson permanent instead of loan?
16-01-2016, 02:53 PM
Henderson permanent instead of loan?
Surely has to be JC contract extension he is referring to no??
16-01-2016, 03:05 PM
Surely has to be JC contract extension he is referring to no??
Yip, that's my take on it HC.
16-01-2016, 03:09 PM
Yip, that's my take on it HC.
Just means Hibs can demand a decent fee for him in the summer.
16-01-2016, 03:10 PM
Just means Hibs can demand a decent fee for him in the summer.
Or keep him for another season
16-01-2016, 03:14 PM
Believe he will be in the squad tomorrow
16-01-2016, 03:22 PM
At last something from someone I believe to be ITK. Don't let me down SMAXXA :)
16-01-2016, 03:25 PM
Scoopyboy has been quiet in all of this.
16-01-2016, 03:27 PM
You at it or are you being serious? :wink:
16-01-2016, 03:27 PM
He commented earlier insinuating that he would be there tomorrow
16-01-2016, 03:38 PM
You at it or are you being serious? :wink:
Lol he signed today and done some fitness work I don't lie mate just post what Information I get 👍
16-01-2016, 03:40 PM
Lol he signed today and done some fitness work I don't lie mate just post what Information I get
Any idea when it will be announced :hyper
16-01-2016, 03:41 PM
Any idea when it will be announced :hyper
No sure mate
16-01-2016, 03:42 PM
Guy on sportscene saying he isnt available tomorrow
16-01-2016, 03:43 PM
No sure mate
I'm getting excited here :hyper
16-01-2016, 03:43 PM
Excuse my stupidity, by "he" I take it you mean Stokes. ?
16-01-2016, 03:52 PM
Didn't have anything to contribute until this morning.
Stokes at East Mains and Tam McCourt was sorting his kit out, whether this was for tomorrow or pictures at announcement I'm not sure.
I believe KT is coming due to one of his mates posting he is.
Where did I shoot you down? Bit precious.
allan and McGinn, both good players no doubt about it
My point was, we're aw frothing at the mouth over this LOAN deal, (and Iam too )
congratulating ourselves we can attract this player (After much huffing in puffing in the background BTW!!)
When I'm thinking to myself, "I want more" i want Hibs to be competing wi the ugly sisters...
...I want Hibs to be in the top 3 EVERY year, (Top League of course)
...In Europe Mare than no
...20,000+ attendances every week
...Competing for the bigger named players consistently
AND i think all the above is POSSIBLE
...SOOO thats why as much as i have been excited by the return of stokesie and all the razzmatazz on here it was tinged with a wee bit o sadness that it is only a loan deal when i think of the potential of this football club...Do you know what i mean, am a dreamer man, always have been and Hibs are always in them!!
And as for precious..ah Dinnae think so. a ken exactly where your coming fi.
Lomondhibs
16-01-2016, 04:13 PM
allan and McGinn, both good players no doubt about it
My point was, we're aw frothing at the mouth over this LOAN deal, (and Iam too )
congratulating ourselves we can attract this player (After much huffing in puffing in the background BTW!!)
When I'm thinking to myself, "I want more" i want Hibs to be competing wi the ugly sisters...
...I want Hibs to be in the top 3 EVERY year, (Top League of course)
...In Europe Mare than no
...20,000+ attendances every week
...Competing for the bigger named players consistently
AND i think all the above is POSSIBLE
...SOOO thats why as much as i have been excited by the return of stokesie and all the razzmatazz on here it was tinged with a wee bit o sadness that it is only a loan deal when i think of the potential of this football club...Do you know what i mean, am a dreamer man, always have been and Hibs are always in them!!
And as for precious..ah Dinnae think so. a ken exactly where your coming fi.
Your bars open early 😄
16-01-2016, 04:17 PM
Just had a look and Stokes is 6th in the all time SPL goal scorers - at aged 27, this is a phenomenal bit of business for us.
16-01-2016, 04:20 PM
Just had a look and Stokes is 6th in the all time SPL goal scorers - at aged 27, this is a phenomenal bit of business for us.
That's some stat not to be sniffed at. :agree:
16-01-2016, 04:21 PM
:agree:. Give him the service and he will score the goals.
Your bars open early
Always Open :wink:
16-01-2016, 04:28 PM
How is sorting a deal out taking this long? Surely there can't possibly be that much left to do.
Silky
16-01-2016, 04:29 PM
Always Open :wink:
Sounds like a bird I used to know!
West hamBERNIAN
16-01-2016, 04:32 PM
You must miss her mate 😉
16-01-2016, 04:41 PM
You must have dated my ex ;-).
16-01-2016, 04:47 PM
You must miss her mate 😉
I do
16-01-2016, 04:51 PM
I do
Me too :agree:
H18S NX
16-01-2016, 05:15 PM
And me..:greengrin
16-01-2016, 05:19 PM
You must have dated my ex ;-).
😂😂😂
BarneyHibby
16-01-2016, 05:24 PM
Paul Barnes @STVPaul (https://twitter.com/STVPaul) 2m2 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/STVPaul/status/688425840535834624)
Paul Barnes Retweeted Raman Bhardwaj
Anthony Stokes is a Hibernian player until the end of the season
https://twitter.com/STVPaul/status/688425840535834624
16-01-2016, 05:28 PM
Must be something behind Hibs delaying the announcement of this deal
BarneyHibby
16-01-2016, 05:30 PM
Celtic's Anthony Stokes completes medical ahead of Hibernian loan (Sky Sports)
http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11787/10133281/celtics-anthony-stokes-completes-medical-ahead-of-hibernian-loan
16-01-2016, 05:30 PM
I blame the snow for the delay.
Lomondhibs
16-01-2016, 05:35 PM
I blame the snow for the delay.
Snow gonna be long now :wink:
16-01-2016, 05:37 PM
Celtic's Anthony Stokes completes medical ahead of Hibernian loan (Sky Sports)
http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11787/10133281/celtics-anthony-stokes-completes-medical-ahead-of-hibernian-loan
The out-of-favour Celtic striker was at the Hibernian training ground but the paperwork has not yet been completed so, as it stands, he remains a Hoops player.
However, the deal for Stokes to return to his former club is expected to be completed early next week.
Blimey. How much paperwork needs to be completed for a six month loan?
hhibs
16-01-2016, 05:39 PM
That famous Monty Python line keeps coming back to me, "He's not the Messiah, he's a very naughty bhoy" :wink:
Sincerely hope that he does turn out to be the Messiah and behaves himself this time :pray:
Just the best contribution to this thread.............................well played Sir!:hibees:hibees
16-01-2016, 05:43 PM
I suspect Hibs want full media attention so will probably confirm it tomorrow and unveil him at the ground on Monday.
16-01-2016, 05:47 PM
I suspect Hibs want full media attention so will probably confirm it tomorrow and unveil him at the ground on Monday.
That's a good shout actually
16-01-2016, 05:50 PM
I remember a particularly low point on our slide into the Championship, we were utterly mauled 5-0 at Easter Road by Celtic and in particular Hooper and Stokes. I can't remember which specific pish manager it was under, to be honest it's all blended into one big horrible homogenous mess in my footballing memory.
I remember thinking how recently we'd had players of the quality of Stokes, how far we'd slid in such a short time and wondering how long it would take until we had players of his quality playing for us again.
I don't care that he's clearly a bit of a fud, I don't care that he's only on loan. He's a brilliant football player and we'd be very lucky to have him.
We've still got a lot to play for this season - still in 2 cups and in with a real shout in the league and players of his quality can only help us. It's not the league we want to be in but we are where we are. Get it right over the next few months and it could go down as one of the most memorable seasons in my time watching Hibs, and possibly the most memorable.
I hope we get this over the line asap and I can't wait to see him playing for us again.
16-01-2016, 05:53 PM
Would have been good to have him as an option for tomorrow
....that's if he really has signed and yous are not just at the wind-up.
Silky
16-01-2016, 05:56 PM
And me..:greengrin
And me.
16-01-2016, 05:58 PM
i'm sure the preferred scenario would have been to get him playing/scoring tomorrow to achieve the best media coverage,it sounds like it's not over the line just yet
16-01-2016, 05:58 PM
His debut first time round was at Falkirk, I wonder if we'll see a repeat tomorrow.
16-01-2016, 06:00 PM
And me.
Me anaw.
...and my brother
...and the Dalkeith Rugby Team
adz1988
16-01-2016, 06:01 PM
16-01-2016, 06:05 PM
Weird how Stokes snubbed ICT after telling Yogi to sign him up a few years ago :greengrin http://youtu.be/gL6EdV2sanQ around 1:12 :thumbsup:
16-01-2016, 06:05 PM
His debut first time round was at Falkirk, I wonder if we'll see a repeat tomorrow.
You probably won't get a polite, patient answer to you question, Sean. If you look back a few posts you'll see why. :greengrin
16-01-2016, 06:07 PM
You probably won't get a polite, patient answer to you question, Sean. If you look back a few posts you'll see why. :greengrin
Been out all day, what've I missed?!:greengrin
16-01-2016, 06:14 PM
i'm sure the preferred scenario would have been to get him playing/scoring tomorrow to achieve the best media coverage,it sounds like it's not over the line just yet
Something else might not be over the line but I think it's safe to say Stokes is now a Hibs player again.
H18S NX
16-01-2016, 06:15 PM
Me anaw.
...and my brother
...and the Dalkeith Rugby Team...and she telt me i was the only one:confused:
16-01-2016, 06:16 PM
Been out all day, what've I missed?!:greengrin
The last dozen or so posts. :~)
16-01-2016, 06:17 PM
Something else might not be over the line but I think it's safe to say Stokes is now a Hibs player again.
He's a Hibs player in the same way LG was a Hibs player - wearing our shirt, but only on loan.
16-01-2016, 06:25 PM
Why tho? Surely having him in the side tomorrow would be much more beneficial?!
16-01-2016, 06:27 PM
Any white smoke rising from Easter Road Stadium yet?
16-01-2016, 06:30 PM
He's a Hibs player in the same way LG was a Hibs player - wearing our shirt, but only on loan.
Hopefully as successful
16-01-2016, 06:31 PM
Yes I accept that although not sure why it matters.
16-01-2016, 06:31 PM
Maybe Hibs are going for the full Real Madrid... Stokes doing keepy uppys in the centre circle while El Presidente strokes his moustache approvingly and the club shop does an extended run on replica shirts?
16-01-2016, 06:34 PM
Must he a reason, obviously we'd have all wanted him playing.
Maybe he's signed and Hibs will leave it to keep Falkirk guessing
16-01-2016, 08:56 PM
Maybe he's signed and Hibs will leave it to keep Falkirk guessing
Confusing peter Houston, that like shooting fish in a barrel
16-01-2016, 09:05 PM
Confusing peter Houston, that like shooting fish in a barrel
He he!
16-01-2016, 09:18 PM
...and she telt me i was the only one:confused:
She said the same to the whole of Edinburgh apparently.:confused:
Greenworld
16-01-2016, 09:22 PM
ah well good try will just need to go with the excellent team we already have
16-01-2016, 09:29 PM
She said the same to the whole of Edinburgh apparently.:confused:
Remember seeing your ex getting off the bus in Dalkeith
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1zyjl3IoVwA
16-01-2016, 09:45 PM
😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
ArmadaleHibs
16-01-2016, 10:06 PM
I've laughed for about five minutes solid watching that. Brilliant
16-01-2016, 10:45 PM
Don't know if it's been said but stokes won't be playing tomorrow. When he left training he said good luck for tomorrow lads. Would assume this means he isn't involved.
16-01-2016, 10:56 PM
Don't know if it's been said but stokes won't be playing tomorrow. When he left training he said good luck for tomorrow lads. Would assume this means he isn't involved.
Just need to settle for a brace for Malonga and a single from JC then.
I've laughed for about five minutes solid watching that. Brilliant
"Pint o Guinness"
aw man that was funny
no seen that one before,
16-01-2016, 11:20 PM
Cheeky *******. :greengrin
16-01-2016, 11:24 PM
Cheeky *******. :greengrin
17-01-2016, 06:25 AM
ah well good try will just need to go with the excellent team we already have
sent from my gt-i9300 using tapatalk
wtf?
Greenworld
17-01-2016, 08:10 AM
wtf?
You lost me same team no Stokes is still an excellent team ...no
H18S NX
17-01-2016, 08:58 AM
:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:
17-01-2016, 09:15 AM
Thanks for the update Martin 😉
hibbypostie
17-01-2016, 10:31 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/stokes-agrees-to-hibs-move-as-thomson-holds-talks-about-return-1-4003298
17-01-2016, 10:40 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/stokes-agrees-to-hibs-move-as-thomson-holds-talks-about-return-1-4003298
Great news
I hope we don't ask him to travel with the squad. We all remember what happened in Inverness 😉
17-01-2016, 12:25 PM
Has Stokes signed? I see some media outlets are reporting he has but some are still saying discussions are on-going (BBC).
17-01-2016, 01:02 PM
You lost me same team no Stokes is still an excellent team ...no
Yes but no but. Still a good team but I read your comment as being , oh well he isn't coming. Naw, aye? 😂
17-01-2016, 01:07 PM
Has Stokes signed? I see some media outlets are reporting he has but some are still saying discussions are on-going (BBC).
Charles Paterson @charlesp_sky · 4m4 minutes ago
...Anthony Stokes expected to watch Falkirk v Hibernian from stands; loan move to be confirmed on Monday once Celtic finish paperwork (2/2)
BarneyHibby
17-01-2016, 01:45 PM
BBC Sportsound @BBCSportsound (https://twitter.com/BBCSportsound) 17m (https://twitter.com/BBCSportsound/status/688729025309704192)
Alan Stubbs on Anthony Stokes "We are hopeful it'll be concluded tmw morning, just waiting on a couple of bits of paperwork getting signed"
17-01-2016, 01:51 PM
Maybe waiting to see if we win today :)
BBC Sportsound @BBCSportsound (https://twitter.com/BBCSportsound) 17m (https://twitter.com/BBCSportsound/status/688729025309704192)
Alan Stubbs on Anthony Stokes "We are hopeful it'll be concluded tmw morning, just waiting on a couple of bits of paperwork getting signed"
So when all said and done he has not signed!!!
17-01-2016, 02:49 PM
He's at the game today. Not in a Hibs jacket like KT though.
17-01-2016, 03:02 PM
He's at the game today. Not in a Hibs jacket like KT though.
Sitting with his wife or girlfriend.
Was he only allowed to take one of them?
17-01-2016, 03:05 PM
Maybe waiting to see if we win today :)
He'll be on the phone to Yogi tonight after that 1st half performance.
17-01-2016, 03:22 PM
Sorry but when stokes agreed to come to hibs, we should have pushed and pushed the deal to get him available for today's game. This is one of the two teams we are fighting against for promotion...not for the diddy teams.
17-01-2016, 03:24 PM
Sorry but when stokes agreed to come to hibs, we should have pushed and pushed the deal to get him available for today's game. This is one of the two teams we are fighting against for promotion...not for the diddy teams.
I'd imagine they tried.