Pages :
[
10]
18-01-2016, 06:35 PM
oh ya dancer.
Is it possible the delay and all the negotiations is he is not just coming on loan but on a perm
I see what you did there if no one else has :greengrin
Yes and no -- let me explain - his c/s would be transferred to the town/city/district he resides in - in this case I believe he resides in Glasgow, so that would be the area he would carry it out in -unless his lawyer made a petition for it to be transferred to his place of employment. [hopefully Edinburgh] Hope that helps.
Does Stokes not stay in Broxburn?
18-01-2016, 06:36 PM
Yes and no -- let me explain - his c/s would be transferred to the town/city/district he resides in - in this case I believe he resides in Glasgow, so that would be the area he would carry it out in -unless his lawyer made a petition for it to be transferred to his place of employment. [hopefully Edinburgh] Hope that helps.
Yes it does thanks,
oh ya dancer.
Permanent ?
Is it possible the delay and all the negotiations is he is not just coming on loan but on a perm
Well that would explain all the f@nnying around. Hope you're right:hyper
Juice-Terry
18-01-2016, 06:37 PM
Does this work across countries as well?
oh ya dancer.
Stop it you. Whats happening US? You heard anything?
Im sure i smell yam on this thread
18-01-2016, 06:38 PM
Not anymore.
18-01-2016, 06:38 PM
I honestly can't see him joining us permanently.
Loan until the end of the season would be fine.
18-01-2016, 06:39 PM
I honestly can't see him joining us permanently.
Loan until the end of the season would be fine.
Well Stubbs on Radio just implied it was only until the end of the season ...
malcolm
18-01-2016, 06:40 PM
Different country with a different legal system and legislation... might suggest that would not happen .. :dunno:
Nutmegged
Doubt Celtic would allow him to come permanently at the moment, we still have the potential to face them in either or both Cups, one being a Cup Final, so I think they'd like to make sure they weren't strengthening potential opposition.
You've cued that up for a punster, mate :greengrin
Not any more.
18-01-2016, 06:42 PM
You've cued that up for a punster, mate :greengrin
No don't bother
18-01-2016, 06:42 PM
Probably been mentioned else where but when did he last appear for Celtics first team and has he played for the development team Assume he has been training with the first team but he isn't going to be match fit ,although at the tempo we played in the first half at Falkirk that won't be a problem
18-01-2016, 06:43 PM
Stop it you. Whats happening US? You heard anything?
No idea. Just had a really nice dinner tho. :greengrin
18-01-2016, 06:45 PM
So has he signed yet or no
18-01-2016, 06:47 PM
No idea. Just had a really nice dinner tho. :greengrin
So did I. Home made steak pie. It was brilliant.
18-01-2016, 06:47 PM
Well that's now 30 minutes since Stubbs said we would hear more in 30 minutes. :I'm waiti
He used to stay 5 minutes from where I used to live in Broxburn. The old dental surgery house which had been renovated.
K-Zazu
18-01-2016, 06:49 PM
Feels like a big wind up the whole thing
magpie1892
18-01-2016, 06:50 PM
Doubt Celtic would allow him to come permanently at the moment, we still have the potential to face them in either or both Cups, one being a Cup Final, so I think they'd like to make sure they weren't strengthening potential opposition.
Any loan deal worth its salt would have that the loan player cannot face his parent club. See 'Lomana Lua Lua' to see how loan deals should NOT be constructed.
Even Celtc won't have missed this one.
Without going back a few pages I'm confused to see why it's not announced as I saw the pic on Hibernian Retro with Stokes holding his shirt. Number 28.
18-01-2016, 06:53 PM
Aw a tweet with a pic of Mr Stokes holding up the no 28 shirt.
18-01-2016, 06:55 PM
Just a quick question - Should we not win the league and have 2 or even 4 play-off games to play, does the length of loan cover these games ?
18-01-2016, 06:57 PM
Without going back a few pages I'm confused to see why it's not announced as I saw the pic on Hibernian Retro with Stokes holding his shirt. Number 28.
Seems photo is a fake - suggestions it has been "Photo shopped"
18-01-2016, 06:58 PM
Doesn't look fake to me.
Just a quick question - Should we not win the league and have 2 or even 4 play-off games to play, does the length of loan cover these games ?
Or a Cup Final :wink:
It does in Football Manager so I'm saying definite yes.
magpie1892
18-01-2016, 07:00 PM
Nutmegged
18-01-2016, 07:01 PM
Or a Cup Final :wink:
It does in Football Manager so I'm saying definite yes.
AgentScotland reported a while ago that its signed sealed N delivered and also that it covers any potential Play-Off games
18-01-2016, 07:02 PM
Doesn't look fake to me.
If it's the same one I've just seen on Facebook then the size of AS's head is out of kilter with his body!
18-01-2016, 07:04 PM
Doesn't look fake to me.
Must admit i thought it looked ok - however few posters on this thread suggesting otherwise. I was just answering a question. I have no knowledge if it is real or fake.
18-01-2016, 07:07 PM
If it's the same one I've just seen on Facebook then the size of AS's head is out of kilter with his body!
Well spotted ...... said the same to myself when I saw it, but couldn't be bothered giving an opinion with the ensuing hassle of being accused of being a wet blanket.
18-01-2016, 07:08 PM
WTF, has he still not signed???
18-01-2016, 07:10 PM
Different country with a different legal system and legislation... might suggest that would not happen .. :dunno:
Mate of mine [I know, everyone says that] appeared at court in Livingston, got 240hrs community service, informed court he was going to Spain to live with his parents who run a pub--c/s transferred there [Spain - not the pub] Should be able to do same in reverse.
18-01-2016, 07:11 PM
oh ya dancer.
Come on Mr score give us more than that. Is this so withing other than stokes or thommo
18-01-2016, 07:16 PM
Come on Mr score give us more than that. Is this so withing other than stokes or thommo
Maybe he's just 'in the mood'.....for dancin'
Might it be the 'Wabbit'???
TheGreenMan
18-01-2016, 07:19 PM
Stubbs said we'd know in half an hour....1 hour ago!
18-01-2016, 07:20 PM
I was convinced it was real, but I've now zoomed in on the head and you can see a line at the neck where it's been photoshopped.
18-01-2016, 07:21 PM
:whistle: :yawn2: :zzzzz!: :tumble: :tumble: :tumble: :tumble::
He's obviously not very good at his time management. Something he'll need to work in to make it in management!
18-01-2016, 07:22 PM
Maybe he's wearing a Fergie watch. :greengrin
18-01-2016, 07:23 PM
Why is it that whenever we deal with Celtic these deals seem to drag out for weeks on end
18-01-2016, 07:26 PM
Why is it that whenever we deal with Celtic these deals seem to drag out for weeks on end
Maybe they're still looking for the "i" to dot in Celtc?
18-01-2016, 07:29 PM
We've still got two weeks to announce it.
That's plenty of time. :wink:
TheGreenMan
18-01-2016, 07:29 PM
18-01-2016, 07:30 PM
:greengrin Or maybe this thing with Stokes heid being chopped off and grafted onto another body per the photo is causing a delay whilst they match up the original body parts again?
Mind you I think I heard the same thing being alleged about a picture of JC and it turned out his real heid was that big.
18-01-2016, 07:32 PM
i'm convinced sevco fc will produce a rabbit as well
http://www.drawingcoach.com/image-files/cartoon_rabbit_st5.jpg like this one
18-01-2016, 07:36 PM
i'm convinced sevco fc will produce a rabbit as well
http://www.drawingcoach.com/image-files/cartoon_rabbit_st5.jpg like this one
Brer the Ger?
Prof. Shaggy
18-01-2016, 07:42 PM
I was convinced it was real, but I've now zoomed in on the head and you can see a line at the neck where it's been photoshopped.
So, who else is holding up a top with the name "Stokes" on the back??:confused:
norhfc
18-01-2016, 07:44 PM
:greengrin Or maybe this thing with Stokes heid being chopped off and grafted onto another body per the photo is causing a delay whilst they match up the original body parts again?
Mind you I think I heard the same thing being alleged about a picture of JC and it turned out his real heid was that big.
Well I hope we get the right body bit cos he doesn't score many wi that heid o his.
Wonder if it's better news than we think? Longer deal??
18-01-2016, 07:45 PM
The writing is fake as well :dunno:
18-01-2016, 07:46 PM
this 30 mins is the new 2 weeks away.
18-01-2016, 07:47 PM
That was a Hibs Ladies player that first uploaded it on to Twitter, makes no sense that it is fake. I reckon it is real.
Prof. Shaggy
The writing is fake as well :dunno:
Ok. I trust you.
Not a chance that the picture is fake.
There's more chance of Rita Ora turning up on your doorstep tonight than Hibs announcing it. :wink:
She's already away mate. Waaaaayyyy toooo late with that one!! :-O
18-01-2016, 07:48 PM
Well I hope we get the right body bit cos he doesn't score many wi that heid o his.
:agree: Good point, sure this must be the cause of the delay.
18-01-2016, 07:52 PM
I'm suspicious of it cos our ITK guys told us he was going to be number 20.
Looks like they're right about him signing on Tuesday as well. Wrong Tuesday but still...
K-Zazu
18-01-2016, 07:53 PM
At least we have 12 days left of the transfer window cos it looks like we might need it
Kaiserclem
18-01-2016, 07:54 PM
Hbs have been different class PR wise since the PR guru Demoster joined us. However, this is a joke lol not very well handled at all this time with Stokes and the releasing of the pic on social media by Hibs staff will have her fuming. Just put us out our misery and announce the loan deal and let's get back to getting points in the board.
18-01-2016, 07:55 PM
:greengrin:greengrin:top marks
18-01-2016, 07:56 PM
Why?
Tobias Funke
18-01-2016, 07:56 PM
Does not look fake in the slightest.
Nutmegged
18-01-2016, 07:57 PM
Why?
I think it was first uploaded by a player for Hibs women's team, I'd assumed she took it herself.
18-01-2016, 07:59 PM
That's also photoshopped...
18-01-2016, 07:59 PM
Doesn't look fake to me.
Was Stokes kneecapped when he was a young lad, :greengrin and why in the barn.
18-01-2016, 08:00 PM
Does not look fake in the slightest.
It is.
I am getting to the point of not being bothered one way or the other if he comes, just wantvan honest answer lnstead of all this dicking around.
18-01-2016, 08:04 PM
I think it was first uploaded by a player for Hibs women's team, I'd assumed she took it herself.
Which Hibs lady?
18-01-2016, 08:29 PM
The longer this drags on, I see it going one of 3 ways -
1, no deal, deal falls through - least likely outcome
2, announcement after the court case - no deal if jail time, deal completed after positive judgement - strong outcome
3, negotiating a permanant deal - possible scenario but more likely to be a loan deal with all the chatter
18-01-2016, 08:31 PM
Why?
The lighting, the glare, the compression artifacts to name a few. There would be way more work involved in that particular image than just putting Stokes' head on a random body. What I will say is that if it is fake then the person responsible is wasted making fake pictures to troll Hibs fans.
18-01-2016, 08:35 PM
Just had a jambo in the taxi and he said Celtic have played a blinder or Hibs have, depending of outcome of court case.
Said Celtic wanted deal done before Wednesday's court case as it meant they would only pay so much for his wages if he gets jail time and it will be published as a Hibs player that gets jailed not a Celtic player. Also said if he doesn't do time ( as he heard but community service) then Hibs have got themselves a bargain, except that he'll need to go back and forward to get the community time done.
Not sure if correct or bull but only passing on what I was informed.
GGTTHthat's rubbish. he can do his community work , in Edin, at the Irish consulate polishing the brass plate .
H18S NX
18-01-2016, 08:40 PM
Rapidly losing interest now,picking up the laptop every 15 mins for the last week.
18-01-2016, 08:42 PM
Rapidly losing interest now,picking up the laptop every 15 mins for the last week.
Very, very frustrating
18-01-2016, 08:45 PM
This is just getting bizarre. Hibs not confirming yet Stubbs has openly been talking about it. What's the hold up?
Starting to **** me off.
War and Peace has nothing on this saga! Am off tae ma bed!
HiBremian
18-01-2016, 08:46 PM
Taken the ipad to bed every night. Probably need marriage therapy when it's all over :-(
Lee Marvin
18-01-2016, 08:47 PM
The longer this drags on, I see it going one of 3 ways -
1, no deal, deal falls through - least likely outcome
2, announcement after the court case - no deal if jail time, deal completed after positive judgement - strong outcome
3, negotiating a permanant deal - possible scenario but more likely to be a loan deal with all the chatter
No chance of 3 imo. Stokes has 18 months left, will therefore b command a fee, but more importantly will be on about 5/6 times more than our highest earner. Zero chance of a perm deal.
This whole thing is beginning to bore me now too!
18-01-2016, 08:48 PM
I think there's going to be a bit of an anti-climax for some when we "only" sign Stokes.
18-01-2016, 08:48 PM
Aw well:
A flurry of bets have seen Kevin Nolan into 1/10 from 33/1 to be new @leytonorientfc boss > bit.ly/1OsTsTl
Stuarty27
18-01-2016, 08:49 PM
No chance of 3 imo. Stokes has 18 months left, will therefore b command a fee, but more importantly will be on about 5/6 times more than our highest earner. Zero chance of a perm deal.
I read his contract is up in summer
18-01-2016, 08:50 PM
I think there's going to be a bit of an anti-climax for some when we "only" sign Stokes.
Not helped in the slightest by how long it has been dragged out
18-01-2016, 08:51 PM
I
Once the Court case is out the way they can get back down to Negotiating the fine detail of the contract Dylan's took ages to agree before he signed , so as Stubbs would say I am comfortable with this The main thing is he gets signed and he starts concentrating on playing football and scoring goals for Hibs .
18-01-2016, 08:53 PM
I'm not particularly bothered about when it gets done (as long as it's done in time for him to play on Saturday) but it does seem strange that Stubbs was fairly certain that something would be announced tonight when he was interviewed on Radio Scotland earlier tonight and yet we're apparently still no further forward and unlikely to hear anything tonight.
18-01-2016, 08:58 PM
I'm not particularly bothered about when it gets done (as long as it's done in time for him to play on Saturday) but it does seem strange that Stubbs was fairly certain that something would be announced tonight when he was interviewed on Radio Scotland earlier tonight and yet we're apparently still no further forward and unlikely to hear anything tonight.
18-01-2016, 09:01 PM
The whole thing is bordering on farce. You would think we were negotiating to buy Ronaldo on a four year deal, not Stokes on a bloody four month loan.
Lee Marvin
18-01-2016, 09:02 PM
I read his contract is up in summer
Definitely 2017 unfortunately.
Regardless we couldn't afford his wages.
18-01-2016, 09:04 PM
The lighting, the glare, the compression artifacts to name a few. There would be way more work involved in that particular image than just putting Stokes' head on a random body. What I will say is that if it is fake then the person responsible is wasted making fake pictures to troll Hibs fans.
I agree. If it is a fake, then the guy/gal is wasted doing stuff like this.
One thing though, the right side of Stokes' head & neck (as you view it) is very straight. That's the only thing that looks a bit dodgy but hey, maybe that's how it really is.
HibeeHutch
18-01-2016, 09:04 PM
My 'informed' guess would be that they want to maximise media exposure/publicity so will not announce on a Monday (due to deluge of weekend related football news) and will wait until tomorrow (Tuesday).
The whole thing is bordering on farce. You would think we were negotiating to buy Ronaldo on a four year deal, not Stokes on a bloody four month loan.
Agree, only hope Hibs dont end up looking silly after all the talk over the last 4 or 5 days.
18-01-2016, 09:06 PM
My 'informed' guess would be that they want to maximise media exposure/publicity so will not announce on a Monday (due to deluge of weekend related football news) and will wait until tomorrow (Tuesday).
so why say "we will find out in 1/2 hour what is happening...."
its all a bit odd really
18-01-2016, 09:09 PM
Whenever they announce it's already an anti-climax. If they don't, it's a disappointment.
But in the long run it doesn't matter when they announce.
18-01-2016, 09:12 PM
Maybe negotiating with Celtic about him playing against them.👍
Edson Arantes
18-01-2016, 09:13 PM
This is becoming tedious, to say the least. :confused:
18-01-2016, 09:14 PM
Whenever they announce it's already an anti-climax. If they don't, it's a disappointment.
:agree: The spontaneous, feel good benefit of Stokes' signing is long gone. If and when he signs, most folk will probably take the viewpoint that, after all that, he better be worth it.
Edson Arantes
18-01-2016, 09:17 PM
You know what Bob?
You are absolutely correct. This is now an anti-climax.
It has dragged on too long and will be, definitely a disappointment, but hey ho we will carry on with or without him.
GGTTH :flag:
18-01-2016, 09:18 PM
You know what Bob?
You are absolutely correct. This is now an anti-climax.
It has dragged on too long and will be, definitely a disappointment, but hey ho we will carry on with or without him.
GGTTH :flag:
The exciting part of it should be the bit where he plays and scores goals, no?
Just to throw a spanner in the works of those with the fake photo theory, If they have copied his face onto another players body in the barn at east mains then they've copied in the boots too.. :hmmm:
15917 http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160118/eaee322e17e0cfd1c139e0db4d90e09e.jpg
Edson Arantes
:agree: The spontaneous, feel good benefit of Stokes' signing is long gone. If and when he signs, most folk will probably take the viewpoint that, after all that, he better be worth it.
This is also where I am at.
18-01-2016, 09:22 PM
I can't believe how impatient some folk are. It takes as long as it takes. It's only really been a week that we've known we were trying to get this done.
It will not be an anti climax when he scores a brace on Saturday [emoji106]
Nutmegged
18-01-2016, 09:23 PM
Maybe negotiating with Celtic about him playing against them.👍
No chance, there is absolutely zero benefit for Celtic to do that, they hold all the aces
18-01-2016, 09:23 PM
Really concerned how it's taking so long to announce a bloody loan deal till the end of the season, not a 6 year contract for Lionel Messi. Stubbs seemed very confident that it was going to be officially announced later this evening but I really wonder why it's taking so long for official confirmation from Hibs that he's now our player for the rest of the season.
18-01-2016, 09:24 PM
I can't believe how impatient some folk are. It takes as long as it takes. It's only really been a week that we've known we were trying to get this done.
True, but why did Stubbs say "half an hour"?
mentalhibee
18-01-2016, 09:26 PM
Just to throw a spanner in the works of those with the fake photo theory, If they have copied his face onto another players body in the barn at east mains then they've copied in the boots too.. :hmmm:
15917 http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160118/eaee322e17e0cfd1c139e0db4d90e09e.jpg
Definitely real, who's going to go to the effort of Photoshopping him at the training centre.
Nutmegged
18-01-2016, 09:26 PM
He probably meant it but there must obviously have been a slight delay, relax man, he's desperate to stay as close to homemas possible, as long as he's registered in time for Saturday's game all is good.
18-01-2016, 09:27 PM
He says a bit too much at times.
No need for him to put such pressure on himself.
Whilst I don't want to go back to the days when we said very little indeed I still think there is a time to keep quiet, particularly if negotiations are ongoing.
18-01-2016, 09:28 PM
I think when he said we he didn't mean you and me!
Edson Arantes
18-01-2016, 09:29 PM
The exciting part of it should be the bit where he plays and scores goals, no?
Aye, fair point.
But, and it is now looking like a big "If he signs at all".
We will (hopefully) find out tomorrow.
Reallly hope he does by the way. :flag:
18-01-2016, 09:31 PM
It's a wee bit tiring to read and sense the 'it must be Hibs' fault' posts/insinuations. No-one knows if it's Hibs/Celtc/Stokes or the SFA (or whatever they're called now) that are causing the delay. One thing that is for sure is that Hibs must be pretty damn confident he's on his way or they would have said nothing at all.
18-01-2016, 09:31 PM
Really concerned how it's taking so long to announce a bloody loan deal till the end of the season, not a 6 year contract for Lionel Messi. Stubbs seemed very confident that it was going to be officially announced later this evening but I really wonder why it's taking so long for official confirmation from Hibs that he's now our player for the rest of the season.
We are signing Messi? Brilliant news. Hope he us here for the weekend.
18-01-2016, 09:34 PM
Aye, fair point.
But, and it is now looking like a big "If he signs at all".
We will (hopefully) find out tomorrow.
Reallly hope he does by the way. :flag:
We will.
Billy McKirdy
18-01-2016, 09:35 PM
His Wikipedia page has been updated, he's now a Hibs player, squad number 28.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anthony_Stokes
seanshow
18-01-2016, 09:35 PM
re the photo, manip is one of my hobbies, and apart from a couple of spots in it, i agree with snooky,My Wife Camille.
stokes photo looks all good to me.
18-01-2016, 09:39 PM
Posted on Twitter earlier
Does Colin Millar work for Hibs
18-01-2016, 09:40 PM
He does.
18-01-2016, 09:42 PM
Pointless as it's all over Facebook
18-01-2016, 09:48 PM
The photo is clearly real. Not sure what removing it now would do as its everyehere.
18-01-2016, 09:48 PM
Who says he'll have clearance to play by Saturday? :greengrin
18-01-2016, 09:50 PM
The photo is clearly real. Not sure what removing it now would do as its everyehere.
Any idea what the hold up is?
18-01-2016, 09:51 PM
That is Stokes...same hair cut as this - http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/entertainment/celebrity/loan-celtic-star-anthony-stokes-7197787#k6khsyL0e0hPMjHf.97
I have a feeling someone got hold of a pic they weren't supposed to...now Hibs are trying to put the rabbit back into the hat :greengrin
Somebody is in trouble :tsk tsk: Hopefully this doesn't jeopardise the move!!!
18-01-2016, 09:58 PM
Hope this does not jeopardise the deal....
18-01-2016, 10:01 PM
Hope this does not jeopardise the deal....
People jumping gun posting photos.....Hibs would rather be the first to post pictures of said player, and quite rightly so...........
18-01-2016, 10:01 PM
It's when folk with guns and masks go into a bank and demand money, but that's not important just now.
18-01-2016, 10:02 PM
It's when folk with guns and masks go into a bank and demand money, but that's not important just now.
Quality.
18-01-2016, 10:02 PM
AAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!
Matty Drebin! Post of the year!! :faf: :faf:
18-01-2016, 10:03 PM
:hilarious Cheers mate - I was getting mixed up with hold up tights.
Although I suppose they could wear them when robbing the bank?
18-01-2016, 10:05 PM
Is Messi the rabbit? :hyper:hyper:hyper
If this deal doesn't happen I blame our performance yesterday against Falkirk in the first half :furious:
18-01-2016, 10:06 PM
Surely the court case is the thing holding the announcement up. Fine at court or a not guilty = announcement the following day, scarf above the head or photo in the barn.
18-01-2016, 10:06 PM
God knows what's happening. Stubbs said half an hour, but we're still trying tie up the deal. My only issue is if it falls apart now Hibs are going to look stupid and LD will be in the firing line over the failure to deliver the player who has been at EMs all day. Hopefully they are just waiting for clearance and will announce tomorrow.
18-01-2016, 10:07 PM
God knows what's happening. Stubbs said half an hour, but we're still trying tie up the deal. My only issue is if it falls apart now Hibs are going to look stupid and LD will be in the firing line over the failure to deliver the player who has been at EMs all day. Hopefully they are just waiting for clearance and will announce tomorrow.
It's a strange one - Tam McCourt was apparently getting his kit ready for the Falkirk game on Saturday morning but here we are on Monday night and no deal.
Must be more than a minor bit paperwork?
18-01-2016, 10:09 PM
The Scottish FA offices where the clearance is confirmed shuts everyday at 5pm apart from transfer deadline day.
18-01-2016, 10:13 PM
If Stokes is a Celtic player, why is he impersonating a Hibs player?
18-01-2016, 10:14 PM
We all have dreams, man. Let the boy dream!
18-01-2016, 10:18 PM
We all have dreams, man. Let the boy dream!
........ on form tonight, Matty. :greengrin
18-01-2016, 10:20 PM
Not claiming to know any info' but maybe the hold up is Cummings contract extension and Thomson agreeing a deal? Maybe they want to announce all three ... Who knows. I could be way off though.
That might be the question some at Celtic are asking.
No idea!
18-01-2016, 10:28 PM
Not claiming to know any info' but maybe the hold up is Cummings contract extension and Thomson agreeing a deal? Maybe they want to announce all three ... Who knows. I could be way off though.
Why not go for maximum effect? Why not hold out till 11.59 pm on 31st January before announcing this? :greengrin
Lomondhibs
18-01-2016, 10:41 PM
Colin Millar is the support liason officer
at hibs that photo being out must be causing a problem for hibs
18-01-2016, 10:41 PM
Colin Millar is the support liason officer
at hibs that photo being out must be causing a problem for hibs
He is now the communications manager.
Lomondhibs
18-01-2016, 10:42 PM
He is now the communications manager.
That was fast:greengrin
18-01-2016, 10:45 PM
the problem with that photo is, nae sign of Tam Mc Court , even in the background:confused:
18-01-2016, 10:47 PM
the problem with that photo is, nae sign of Tam Mc Court , even in the background:confused:
He's still getting Stokes' strip ready for the Falkirk game
18-01-2016, 10:51 PM
Wee Tam used to live next door to me and I babysit him a few times even although I was only about thirteen or fourteen at the time. :greengrin
18-01-2016, 11:02 PM
Wee Tam used to live next door to me and I babysit him a few times even although I was only about thirteen or fourteen at the time. :greengrinhope you were not taking pictures:greengrin
18-01-2016, 11:03 PM
He's still getting Stokes' strip ready for the Falkirk game
GlasgowHibee
18-01-2016, 11:07 PM
My bet would be that the boy Colin Millar took the photo himself, and has now realised he's in deep **** and ruined the unveiling for everyone, hence that awkward, please take it down plea. :cb
18-01-2016, 11:26 PM
My bet would be that the boy Colin Millar took the photo himself, and has now realised he's in deep **** and ruined the unveiling for everyone, hence that awkward, please take it down plea. :cb you could be correct. does not look like a professional photographer took it, the lighting, setting etc all looks wrong imho.
18-01-2016, 11:32 PM
I am 100% sure that Anthony has signed. It's all done.
The hold up though is baffling. However, I truly do (honestly) expect this to be announced and wrapped up tomorrow.
18-01-2016, 11:34 PM
I am 100% sure that Anthony has signed. It's all done.
The hold up though is baffling. However, I truly do (honestly) expect this to be announced and wrapped up tomorrow.
If not then i would give up all hope.
18-01-2016, 11:36 PM
If not then i would give up all hope.
Same as me.
Feels like an anti-climax now but I know I'll still be buzzing when it's officially announced with the scarf raised above his head :flag: :aok:
18-01-2016, 11:37 PM
Same as me.
Feels like an anti-climax now but I know I'll still be buzzing when it's officially announced with the scarf raised above his head :flag: :aok:
I'm the same so hopefully it's announced tomorrow and we can chill.
19-01-2016, 12:52 AM
I'm the same so hopefully it's announced tomorrow and we can chill.
You not seen this?
19-01-2016, 01:08 AM
Can someone give me the quick run down version of why he's going to court and what the likelihood is of him serving any kind of time?
19-01-2016, 01:11 AM
You not seen this?
A picture that is poor quality obviously with a mobile phone and has been asked by an official Hibs representative to be taken down as he's 'still a Celtic player'. Sorry but I'm in the same boat, until it's the offical picture with an actual statement from Hibs, then, I'll be at ease.
19-01-2016, 05:22 AM
A picture that is poor quality obviously with a mobile phone and has been asked by an official Hibs representative to be taken down as he's 'still a Celtic player'. Sorry but I'm in the same boat, until it's the offical picture with an actual statement from Hibs, then, I'll be at ease.
That's where I am as well.
19-01-2016, 06:54 AM
My bet would be that the boy Colin Millar took the photo himself, and has now realised he's in deep **** and ruined the unveiling for everyone, hence that awkward, please take it down plea. :cb
Why Colin? As someone responsible for comms he'll just be doing his job in requesting this. You'll likely be aware that his brother is a journalist so whilst that doesn't discount a rush of blood to the head I'd be surprised I think he knows how the game works.
19-01-2016, 06:58 AM
HIBS were last night still sweating over their loan deal for Anthony Stokes.
An agreement was reached with Celtic on Friday, while the player himself completed a medical on Saturday.
But SunSport understands delays in completing the paperwork at Celtic’s end ensured the 27-year-old was forced to sit out Hibs’ 1-1 draw at Falkirk — which leaves them five points off Rangers in the Championship’s top spot.
And as the hours ticked on last night the Easter Road outfit were forced to hold off on the planned announcement of his return, alongside ex-skipper Kevin Thomson, who will arrive in a player-coach capacity.
The Hoops’ preference was for Stokes to move to either Dundee United or Inverness Caley Thistle, who both also reached agreements with the Premiership champions.
Ideally, Celtic wanted him to move south to a club prepared to pick up a bigger percentage of his wage packet but Stokes’ preference was to seal a deal with Alan Stubbs.
The likelihood is that a deal will still be finalised but there are frustrations in Leith over the lenghth of the negotiations.
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/6870510/Hibs-Stokes-deal-stalls-at-Celtic-end.html?CMP=spklr-_-Editorial-_-TWITTER-_-scotsunsport-_-20160119-_-SunScotSport-_-335630298-_-Imageandlink
19-01-2016, 06:58 AM
So the media had to reuse the Hibs related space for Houston's apology?
Good media management I'd say otherwise it'd be a footnote.
19-01-2016, 07:03 AM
Confirmed at long last!!!!
19-01-2016, 07:03 AM
Well done Hibs.
Nutmegged
19-01-2016, 07:04 AM
Thats it official now ya wee chickens ;)
Welcome back Stokesy, go get em boy.
Roxyhibee
19-01-2016, 07:04 AM
Official now. No anti climax for me - delighted with this.!
Great piece of business Hibs.
19-01-2016, 07:08 AM
So the photo was real then.
19-01-2016, 07:09 AM
Mr Lawell being a nice man again!
19-01-2016, 07:10 AM
..and here's the Club's tweet
Hibernian FC @HibsOfficial 8m8 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial/status/689356670296788992)
Hibernian can confirm that Anthony Stokes has signed on loan until the end of the season. http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/6088 (https://t.co/wLv5ut45xL) pic.twitter.com/PSSAvKtHCZ
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CZEWPMgWcAA9x5H.jpg:large
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/666193805280956416/ZbXqVXFf_bigger.jpgHibernian FC@HibsOfficial (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial) 3m3 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial/status/689357870626922496)
Welcome back @stoksey10 (https://twitter.com/stoksey10)! #GGTTH (https://twitter.com/hashtag/GGTTH?src=hash)
19-01-2016, 07:12 AM
Thank ****. Great work Hibs.
itslegaltender
19-01-2016, 07:14 AM
And relax.
Greenworld
19-01-2016, 07:16 AM
But what am I going to do now ...
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
19-01-2016, 07:19 AM
not even a picture in a barn to accompany the official tweet?
not Hibs class
19-01-2016, 07:20 AM
If, as has been suggested, the announcement has been delayed till after his court case, all the glaring publicity of the past week and the ensuing stalling is an embarrassment and makes some folk look very silly. Knowing that the trial was forthcoming, the clubs should have either agreed to wait till it was over fore conducting business, or more sensibly, in my opinion, should just have been upfront and struck a deal, announced it and then, if he gets a custodial sentence, cancel the deal. Instead we have all this ' is he, did he, will he, won't he ' nonsense. Whoever is to blame, the whole thing has been handled badly and unprofessionally.
Ps. The announcement appeared while I was typing this but I still stand by it.
19-01-2016, 07:22 AM
If, as has been suggested, the announcement has been delayed till after his court case, all the glaring publicity of the past week and the ensuing stalling is an embarrassment and makes some folk look very silly. Knowing that the trial was forthcoming, the clubs should have either agreed to wait till it was over fore conducting business, or more sensibly, in my opinion, should just have been upfront and struck a deal, announced it and then, if he gets a custodial sentence, cancel the deal. Instead we have all this ' is he, did he, will he, won't he ' nonsense. Whoever is to blame, the whole thing has been handled badly and unprofessionally.
eh? Nowt to do with his court case.
19-01-2016, 07:25 AM
Read the start of the post!
19-01-2016, 07:25 AM
Nothing at all to do with court case.
19-01-2016, 07:28 AM
And that'll do me! Absolutely delighted!! Anyone got that picture that was floating around about a month ago with Stubbs in the magic hat? Needing it for a swift Facebook update!
19-01-2016, 07:28 AM
By all accounts it was Sellick that stalled the deal not Hibernian :rolleyes:
Just be greatful we have signed a proven talent.
19-01-2016, 07:29 AM
so what was it then?
also - you still dancing? :greengrin
19-01-2016, 07:32 AM
By all accounts it was Sellick that stalled the deal not Hibernian :rolleyes:
Just be greatful we have signed a proven talent.
I'm as pleased as the next guy. I still say the whole thing has been handled badly, with Celtic seeming to be the main culprits.
Nonsense.
19-01-2016, 07:33 AM
Read the start of the post!
Ive read it three times.... if the announcement was delayed due to his court case. It has nothing to do with that. As others have said Celtic were holding things up. Anyway all done now. Well not ALL done....
19-01-2016, 07:40 AM
Isn't it simply the fun of the transfer window?? Something leaks out before all is done and dusted...some hold up at one end...and we get 4 days to get excited and frustrated at the same time....chill...it's done ....
Nutmegged
19-01-2016, 07:41 AM
The hold up was down to wages, Stokes has taken a 50% cut on his £12k p/w wage to come here with the club picking up £1500 p/w of that, Celtic are paying the rest of the £4500 although Stokes believed Celtic were going to pay him 50% on top of the wage at Hibs.
Celtic held firm on Stokesy though.
I don't think we should be slating them here, everyone has done their part, the club for backing Alan Stubbs, the player for taking a big drop in wages (and Division) and Celtic themselves for being willing to pick up the rest of the tab, hopefully it'll be a complete success
19-01-2016, 07:44 AM
At last, welcome Stokesy:flag:
19-01-2016, 07:47 AM
I'm as pleased as the next guy. I still say the whole thing has been handled badly, with Celtic seeming to be the main culprits.
:aok: Not often the club get a player the caliber of Stokes in so let's enjoy it while we can.
Green Man
19-01-2016, 08:00 AM
So it wasn't a photoshop then.
19-01-2016, 08:03 AM
Can't believe some folk thought it was.
19-01-2016, 08:04 AM
Was quite obviously not a photoshop.
19-01-2016, 08:06 AM
Can't believe some folk thought it was.
It's not Stokes' fault that his head is too big for his body.:greengrin
Glad it has been confirmed and glad I read this to the end before posting. I will say, some of the bed wetting has been the worst I can remember on here. Also people being called to task for passing on info. To anyone who has any experience of Photo shop there is no way that picture was faked. Some ridiculous comments from people you just expect it from. Sometimes wish t'internet was never invented.
Titch
Ive read it three times.... if the announcement was delayed due to his court case. It has nothing to do with that. As others have said Celtic were holding things up. Anyway all done now. Well not ALL done....
:devil::devil::devil: care to elaborate :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
Brilliant news. Fantastic signing. Could be real game changer. Well done Hibs
Now all those that are hedging bets to come back or not, get you back side in gear and come alongClub have shown real commitment to invest in quality - long and short term. We must get out of this league.
19-01-2016, 08:10 AM
:devil::devil::devil: care to elaborate :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
The official statement says SFA registration still needs to be completed. Hibs have obviously had their hand forced by that picture being leaked last night. I'm guessing they won't be happy at all!
Coults1875
19-01-2016, 08:16 AM
The official statement says SFA registration still needs to be completed. Hibs have obviously had their hand forced by that picture being leaked last night. I'm guessing they won't be happy at all!
Is that why they are using an old picture of him in the announcements?
19-01-2016, 08:18 AM
Glad it has been confirmed and glad I read this to the end before posting. I will say, some of the bed wetting has been the worst I can remember on here. Also people being called to task for passing on info. To anyone who has any experience of Photo shop there is no way that picture was faked. Some ridiculous comments from people you just expect it from. Sometimes wish t'internet was never invented.
Probably those doing the most bed wetting about him not coming are the same ones who said they did not want him because he's 'trouble' at the beginning of the thread. :greengrin
19-01-2016, 08:21 AM
Well done HSL for helping to make this possible.
http://hiberniansupporters.co.uk/tablet/donate.html
:greengrin:flag::flag::flag:
19-01-2016, 08:23 AM
It's a strange one - Tam McCourt was apparently getting his kit ready for the Falkirk game on Saturday morning but here we are on Monday night and no deal.
Must be more than a minor bit paperwork?
Tam was getting a game? We really are scraping the barrel.
19-01-2016, 08:27 AM
19-01-2016, 08:31 AM
At last. My divorce was done quicker.
Nutmegged
19-01-2016, 08:32 AM
SFA Office doesn't open until 9am and Hibs announced it at 8am...that is a formality.
19-01-2016, 08:36 AM
SFA Office doesn't open until 9am and Hibs announced it at 8am...that is a formality.
Unless Stokesy's pulled out of the deal between 8 and 9.
erin-go-bragh87
19-01-2016, 08:47 AM
The hold up was down to wages, Stokes has taken a 50% cut on his £12k p/w wage to come here with the club picking up £1500 p/w of that, Celtic are paying the rest of the £4500 although Stokes believed Celtic were going to pay him 50% on top of the wage at Hibs.
Celtic held firm on Stokesy though.
I don't think we should be slating them here, everyone has done their part, the club for backing Alan Stubbs, the player for taking a big drop in wages (and Division) and Celtic themselves for being willing to pick up the rest of the tab, hopefully it'll be a complete success
Surely he had a contract that says how much Celtic pay him? I dont think they can just cut his wages in half because he's going on loan??
19-01-2016, 08:49 AM
I'm still not convinced of the authenticity of that photo but with a head like that I'm expecting Anthony to be regularly dispatching bullett headers into the net from the half way line.
Welcome Anthony, from someone who doubted the wisdom of your signing.
19-01-2016, 08:58 AM
Underscore - how's the dancer in u coming along .... Was it Stokes you were referring to or something / somebody else or were you simply having a bit of sport with us !!
19-01-2016, 09:09 AM
Underscore - how's the dancer in u coming along .... Was it Stokes you were referring to or something / somebody else or were you simply having a bit of sport with us !!
I don't think we are done. Its Wabbit Season!
19-01-2016, 09:14 AM
Better get signing up then folks[emoji3]
http://www.hiberniansupporters.co.uk/phone/donate.html
19-01-2016, 09:15 AM
Better get signing up then folks[emoji3]
http://www.hiberniansupporters.co.uk/phone/donate.html
:greengrin:not worth:not worth
hibbypostie
19-01-2016, 09:19 AM
I'm still not convinced of the authenticity of that photo but with a head like that I'm expecting Anthony to be regularly dispatching bullett headers into the net from the half way line.
Welcome Anthony, from someone who doubted the wisdom of your signing.
http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-championship/1339574-hibernian-unveil-anthony-stokes-after-striker-loan-deal-is-finalised/
It was real scroll down to the video
hibbypostie
19-01-2016, 09:25 AM
something tells me somebody ruined Hibs plans for the announcement though
19-01-2016, 09:35 AM
http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-championship/1339574-hibernian-unveil-anthony-stokes-after-striker-loan-deal-is-finalised/
It was real scroll down to the video
The upturned collar on his training top and the effect of the indoor lighting obviously distorted the Facebook image, so on this occasion maybe its just feasible that I was wrong.
19-01-2016, 09:35 AM
How come we're not seeing a photo of him with the scarf stretched out and held above his head.......sort it petrie!!!!
19-01-2016, 09:39 AM
Is this the physical or the character defect to which you are referring, Jim? :devil:
19-01-2016, 10:07 AM
Is this the physical or the character defect to which you are referring, Jim? :devil:
Good point, Doddie. On another point, when will he tell us Hibs are a massive club?
yerauldda
19-01-2016, 10:15 AM
Stokes eligible to play in both cup competitions.. Excellent news.
Edson Arantes
19-01-2016, 10:21 AM
Just found out!
Fantastic news.
:gwa:
Niffy
19-01-2016, 10:38 AM
19-01-2016, 10:46 AM
Stokes eligible to play in both cup competitions.. Excellent news.
I mentioned this on a different board. I'm not sure if this is correct or not. I had a quick look at the SPFL rules and it does say in the 'cup' rules that if you have played in the competition for another club you are inelligible. My interpretation of the SPFL rules is that if you have been named in the starting 11 or the notified substitutes this constitutes as having played and as he has been a named sub in a previous round this would appear to rule him out of the St Johnstone game. When I looked further at the 'loan' rules it appears that, if he is eligible for the league cup, there is nothing Celtic can do to stop him playing against them in any of the cup competitions. It looks like the rules only allow them to stop loan players playing against them in league games.
Perhaps someone with a better knowledge of these rules can confirm whether this is correct or not.
19-01-2016, 10:50 AM
I mentioned this on a different board. I'm not sure if this is correct or not. I had a quick look at the SPFL rules and it does say in the 'cup' rules that if you have played in the competition for another club you are inelligible. My interpretation of the SPFL rules is that if you have been named in the starting 11 or the notified substitutes this constitutes as having played and as he has been a named sub in a previous round this would appear to rule him out of the St Johnstone game. When I looked further at the 'loan' rules it appears that, if he is eligible for the league cup, there is nothing Celtic can do to stop him playing against them in any of the cup competitions. It looks like the rules only allow them to stop loan players playing against them in league games.
Perhaps someone with a better knowledge of these rules can confirm whether this is correct or not.
Kenny Millar the Hibs supporting Sun Journo checked with the SPFl and they said he was fine for both cup competitions.
There's part of the rules that say along the lines of "if they have entered the filed of play, by either starting a match or coming off the subs bench, then they would be unable to play/be on the subs bench for another team in that competition". Stokes never entered the field of play.
Siralbertkidd
19-01-2016, 10:55 AM
Has he scored any goals yet? I expect at least ten a week.
doddsy
19-01-2016, 11:00 AM
:thumbsup::top marks
Welcome back Stokesy.
Bring on the Jambos
Green Man
19-01-2016, 11:03 AM
Kenny Millar the Hibs supporting Sun Journo checked with the SPFl and they said he was fine for both cup competitions.
There's part of the rules that say along the lines of "if they have entered the filed of play, by either starting a match or coming off the subs bench, then they would be unable to play/be on the subs bench for another team in that competition". Stokes never entered the field of play.
That's right, he would have to actually have played in a game to be cup tied. I posted the rule somewhere on this thread yesterday.
19-01-2016, 11:06 AM
Top man underscore .... You're never far off the mark bud.
Anticipation rising again
19-01-2016, 11:14 AM
That's right, he would have to actually have played in a game to be cup tied. I posted the rule somewhere on this thread yesterday.
Thanks for the above. It is quite complicated in the way the SPFL writes these bleeding rules.
If you look in the 'Definitions and Interpretations' section of the rules it states the following:
APPEAR: Means entering the field of play for a club in a league or play off match.
PLAY: Means taking part as a player in an official match either in the starting eleven or being named as a substitute.
Will just need to wait and see.
19-01-2016, 11:17 AM
I hope it's a left back.
19-01-2016, 11:22 AM
Surely he had a contract that says how much Celtic pay him? I dont think they can just cut his wages in half because he's going on loan??
Contracts aside - very much doubt Stokes has halved his earnings for the next 6 months.. regardless of how much he likes Stubbs!
19-01-2016, 11:28 AM
Glad it's all sorted and I hope it's a huge success. He has the potential to score a barrowload in this division.
19-01-2016, 11:39 AM
Hopefully he can play against St Johnstone, could be the difference in making the final.
This is where the pic came from
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/hibernian/1339574-hibernian-unveil-anthony-stokes-after-striker-loan-deal-is-finalised/
19-01-2016, 11:40 AM
Do you think Stokes will have had a chat with Martin O'Neil about the loan move, last chance for him to shine before Euro squad decided. Would him banging in goals in the championship be enough to encourage O'Neil to consider him for the squad?
19-01-2016, 11:42 AM
Hopefully he can play against St Johnstone, could be the difference in making the final.
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/hibernian/1339574-hibernian-unveil-anthony-stokes-after-striker-loan-deal-is-finalised/
looks photoshopped. :greengrin
Good news. He'll need a bit of time to find his feet again, but could make a huge contribution :flag:
Video of Stokes undergoing medical assessment on Hibernian Retro. It is undoubtedly genuine. I wonder how that gets out and into the public domain. It's a mystery!
19-01-2016, 11:48 AM
Good point, Doddie. On another point, when will he tell us Hibs are a massive club?
He is still coming to terms with our training centre Jim.
Greenworld
19-01-2016, 11:49 AM
Oh dear lord theres more....new Thread required ....who is the Rabbit....or you could just tell us...
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
19-01-2016, 11:51 AM
Tried to watch the video but finished up with some guy in a suit trying to sell me a hoose.
19-01-2016, 12:01 PM
Probably those doing the most bed wetting about him not coming are the same ones who said they did not want him because he's 'trouble' at the beginning of the thread. :greengrin
Get a grip if he wasn't trouble he'd still be at Celtic.
19-01-2016, 12:11 PM
Get a grip if he wasn't trouble he'd still be at Celtic.
Didn't say he was or wasn't. I've been consistent in that I want him here because he is a quality player. Was just commenting on how some people changed their view to match the club's once it was clear the club wanted him.
19-01-2016, 12:41 PM
Do you think Stokes will have had a chat with Martin O'Neil about the loan move, last chance for him to shine before Euro squad decided. Would him banging in goals in the championship be enough to encourage O'Neil to consider him for the squad?I personally think No, he wont make the squad. I moaned a bit, ( I know, I know) about THE Rangers players (Wallace) getting into our national squad recently and stand by that. If I was an Irishman, I'd not want players from a lower league in my squad. :cb
19-01-2016, 01:43 PM
I think he said that last time out. More to the point, I hope he realises that this could just be he last chance to resurrect a career that should have had him playing in the EPL by now, not out on loan in the Scottish second tier.
I have no doubt of his ability, and if he's fit and plays for us as we all know he can, No one will be more delighted than I. If this deal and the one with KT come anywhere near best case outcome in the next 4 months, I think we'll all be very happy bunnies.
19-01-2016, 01:53 PM
I think he said that last time out. More to the point, I hope he realises that this could just be he last chance to resurrect a career that should have had him playing in the EPL by now, not out on loan in the Scottish second tier.
I have no doubt of his ability, and if he's fit and plays for us as we all know he can, No one will be more delighted than I. If this deal and the one with KT come anywhere near best case outcome in the next 4 months, I think we'll all be very happy bunnies.all we are waiting for now, is a happy full grown bunny, getting pulled out o' hat:wink:
Nutmegged
19-01-2016, 01:56 PM
They cant just cut his wage, both parties can negotiate it though, Celtic could have got his full wage paid for him if he went to Cardiff, he himself wanted to stay close to home though so a compromise was reached.
19-01-2016, 02:15 PM
Looking forward to seeing a Stokes and Cummings strike force on Saturday :top marks
19-01-2016, 02:32 PM
He is still coming to terms with our training centre Jim.
Or. "Hibs are still a massive club and I'm glad the Training Centre is still here just like it was last time"...?