View Full Version : Anthony Stokes

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11

14-01-2016, 03:21 PM
SSN just announced that Celtic have agreed to loan Stokes to Dundee Utd, so long as Stokes agrees!

Ah ****

14-01-2016, 03:22 PM
Ah ****

Do we have a similar agreement I wonder? :confused:

14-01-2016, 03:25 PM
SSN just announced that Celtic have agreed to loan Stokes to Dundee Utd, so long as Stokes agrees!

Not happening.

Lomondhibs
14-01-2016, 03:26 PM
Record Sport understands that Hibs are still locked in talks with Celtic striker Anthony Stokes over a loan switch to Easter Road until the end of the season.
Despite Dundee United having agreed a deal to take the hitman to Tannadice a return to his old Edinburgh stomping ground would appear to be the Irishman’s preferred choice.
The Capital club remain very hopeful of landing the 27 year-old Republic of Ireland internationalist.

Stuarty27
14-01-2016, 03:29 PM
This is nuts

14-01-2016, 03:38 PM

Tangerine ********!

14-01-2016, 03:42 PM
His exact quote regarding speculation of him joining Dundee United, was, 'no chance am I joining those Orange bas*****' ......

;)

dmc1875
14-01-2016, 03:44 PM
It's a no brainer for Stokes if it's a choice between us or Dundee Utd. Join a team marooned at the bottom of the premiership, confidence shot, contrary to what Mixu says a team that doesn't create that much (Mackay doesn't score many) or join a team buoyant, chasing a title, decent calibre of player, two of his mates play here and give him glowing references, a young hungry manager plus you can stick it up The Rangers and a bonus cup game against Hearts.

heres hoping Celtic let it happen.

14-01-2016, 03:50 PM
I'm now convinced that Stokes is not in a position to make a decision currently ...as he has been abducted by aliens.
Given the amount of speculation on this thread I'd go one further and suggest that this opinion is just like most of the speculation in the previous 29 pages and the said aliens hail from Uranus.
I could of course be wrong and he could be gaily skipping down Easter road at this moment looking for the nearest Greggs to buy a lovely steak bake before nipping into the nearest bookie to put a monkey on his next move.

All of the above made up without the assistance of alcohol or drugs ...and thru sheer boredomyour opinion is gathering support. Mixu spotted hanging about , near the Tay bridge waving a torch. he's in negotiations with the said Aliens but they cant find a decent landing area because of the work going on along the riverside of Dundee.

14-01-2016, 03:53 PM
Seems Stokes has his heart set on coming back but Celtic are still keen to give him a chance next season so would prefer he goes to a better league than ours.

I can obviously see where they're coming from but ~6 months in the Championship isn't going to do him any harm at all, plenty player have done well in this league and then immediately made an impact in the Premiership the next season so hopefully the septic can be convinced :aok:

hibbypostie
14-01-2016, 03:53 PM
your opinion is gathering support. Mixu spotted hanging about , near the Tay bridge waving a torch. he's in negotiations with the said Aliens but they cant find a decent landing area because of the work going on along the riverside of Dundee.

if they did land it would be hard to spot them in Dundee

SausageSurprise
14-01-2016, 03:55 PM
His exact quote regarding speculation of him joining Dundee United, was, 'no chance am I joining those Orange bas*****' ......

;)

Uncalled for

14-01-2016, 03:56 PM
It's a no brainer for Stokes if it's a choice between us or Dundee Utd. Join a team marooned at the bottom of the premiership.
. :agree:He'd need to be on the drink regularly,for that to happen. Clubs and players don't do that otherwise. it's not as if he's George Best calibre, looking for miricles:wink:

14-01-2016, 04:03 PM
Would be funny if we got Stokes and kept Anier just to radge up Dundee United..

Iceman1875
14-01-2016, 04:05 PM
With Feruz and Anier leaving and Dagnall coming in, it does leave a gap. Wether it's Stokes or something else, they will surely add to our squad in comparison to the players we had up front during the first half of the season.

I hope the stokes deal can be pushed through if not 'in Stubbs we Trust!'

At Easter Road we play...

14-01-2016, 04:05 PM

Anier has already gone! But that would have peed them right off 😁

AinsterHibs
14-01-2016, 04:06 PM
celticfcbot Retweeted you
15m: @stoksey10 Come back to Hibs for a spell Stokesy! @officialhibs
celticfcbot

Meaningless or suggestive?

Here's hoping.

Anier has already gone! But that would have peed them right off 😁

Whoops. I do some work for 2 hours and miss it!!!

high bee

UTD could end up with Anier, Stokes and McKay up front, would surely see them picking up some points.

14-01-2016, 04:10 PM
celticfcbot

Here's hoping.

Its a bot retweeting ....

14-01-2016, 04:11 PM
I've not read all this thread, so it may have been covered already, but some people could be bending his ear that dropping down a league could harm his Euro hopes?

Wellbankhibby
14-01-2016, 04:12 PM
I might believe this if I knew where Tanadice was. Can you point me in the right direction?

Fwiw only passing on info that's all over the papers in Dundee. I hope it's wrong and he comes back to us.:flag:

14-01-2016, 04:14 PM
celticfcbot

Here's hoping.

What does that mean? Who is saying what exactly?

SausageSurprise
14-01-2016, 04:14 PM
celticfcbot

Here's hoping.

#HandItIn

nellio
14-01-2016, 04:15 PM
What other English championship clubs besides Cardiff are looking at him. Cardiff have just gotten Kenwyne Jones off the wage bill. He was on approx 40k a week so they do have some money available. Saying that mind I know they are looking to trim the wag bill and are about to sign Tony Watt permanently.

14-01-2016, 04:17 PM
What other English championship clubs besides Cardiff are looking at him. Cardiff have just gotten Kenwyne Jones off the wage bill. He was on approx 40k a week so they do have some money available. Saying that mind I know they are looking to trim the wag bill and are about to sign Tony Watt permanently.

Sheff Wednesday apparently

SausageSurprise
14-01-2016, 04:20 PM
Dan Carmichael looks set for a loan move. We only usually see this amount of activity on deadline day

14-01-2016, 04:21 PM
Does the club have to pay them?

14-01-2016, 04:22 PM

Someone mentioned Ipswich Town earlier in the thread

Guy at work was apparently talking to a journo who told him stokes deal wont happen, so many different stories going about

Find it hard to believe Hibs couldn't match DUFC's offer, so Celtic must have issues with Stokes dropping down a league. If so, they need to just come out and say so, so we can all move on.

whats a bot?

14-01-2016, 04:23 PM
Dan Carmichael looks set for a loan move. We only usually see this amount of activity on deadline day

Says who?

SausageSurprise
14-01-2016, 04:28 PM
Says Facebook

Ala the PM board

14-01-2016, 04:30 PM
whats a bot?

I've no idea what it's abot either.

14-01-2016, 04:30 PM
Find it hard to believe Hibs couldn't match DUFC's offer, so Celtic must have issues with Stokes dropping down a league. If so, they need to just come out and say so, so we can all move on.I think (my opinion) it would be more The Rangers related. firstly, they would want the huns up. added to that, he is their player and would not want him back in a situation with outside abuse and pressures. he did almost get hounded out of Broxburn, when he bought a house on the main street there a few years back. he is no innocent, but they may be considering that too.

Lomondhibs
14-01-2016, 04:33 PM
I've no idea what it's abot either.

Is that's wot it's a bot

14-01-2016, 04:33 PM
I think (my opinion) it would be more The Rangers related. firstly, they would want the huns up. added to that, he is their player and would not want him back in a situation with outside abuse and pressures. he did almost get hounded out of Broxburn, when he bought a house on the main street there a few years back. he is no innocent, but they may be considering that too.
Why do people keep saying that Celtic won't want to loan is Stokes as they want the Huns to go up? If that was the case then why did they loan us McGeouch last year and Henderson this year?

14-01-2016, 04:38 PM
Why do people keep saying that Celtic won't want to loan is Stokes as they want the Huns to go up? If that was the case then why did they loan us McGeouch last year and Henderson this year?

Exactly. Folk just assume this but it's nothing to do with any deals between Hibs and Celtic.

14-01-2016, 04:40 PM
Is that's wot it's a bot

FFS, everyone's starting to speak like the folk on "Making a Murderer".

14-01-2016, 04:42 PM
The Hibernian Retro thing would be an extremely strange story to fabricate tbh.

Well they must have picked it up from somewhere, they've never had an original thought in their puff!

14-01-2016, 04:44 PM
I get the impression from the latest sports news on Radio Scotland that the proposed move to Dundee United has already hit the buffers.

14-01-2016, 04:46 PM
I get the impression from the latest sports news on Radio Scotland that the proposed move to Dundee United has already hit the buffers.

The two clubs agreed a deal but I don't think Stokes was ever keen on going there or to Inverness.

14-01-2016, 04:49 PM

Exactly, but can someone please explain to me why THE rangers wouldn't go up if we signed Stokes on loan ? Even if we did, and we win the league, I am sure THE rangers would end up second and be capable of beating whoever ends up 11th in SPl. Seems a daft reason why Stokes wouldn't be allowed to come to us.

14-01-2016, 04:51 PM
The two clubs agreed a deal but I don't think Stokes was ever keen on going there or to Inverness.

Good source says he wants to live closer to George Street or maybury casino.

Don't shoot the messenger.

147lothian
14-01-2016, 04:54 PM

Good point, it seems to me like they are only looking after themselves, like every other club, and they have got a better offer from D'Utd than they did from us which is why they have agreed to the loan move. No need to read too much into it.

14-01-2016, 04:54 PM
Good source says he wants to live closer to George Street or maybury casino.

Don't shoot the messenger.

***** joke mate.

14-01-2016, 04:55 PM
Exactly, but can someone please explain to me why THE rangers wouldn't go up if we signed Stokes on loan ? Even if we did, and we win the league, I am sure THE rangers would end up second and be capable of beating whoever ends up 11th in SPl. Seems a daft reason why Stokes wouldn't be allowed to come to us.

Like last season?

14-01-2016, 04:57 PM
Like last season?

They are by far, a better team this season. No denying that.

Lomondhibs
14-01-2016, 04:57 PM
Celtic must be the stumbling block in this saga,Stubbs would have pulled out if it was down to stokes being awkward he either wants to come or he doesn't

14-01-2016, 04:58 PM
whats a bot?

It's an automated program which searches the web for references to specific subjects....like tweets that refer to celtc in this instance, but can be used for all sorts of data collection like email addresses or any other personal information people are stupid enough to upload to unsecured sites

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internet_bot

14-01-2016, 04:58 PM
***** joke mate.

Cheers Hermit.

Deek01
14-01-2016, 05:10 PM
The amount of times I'm refreshing my phone on this thread is ridiculous 😂

Nemo
14-01-2016, 05:15 PM
I reckon hibs are having a clear out in order to get cover his wages

This really needs to happen and stubbsy knows it.

The squad as it is just now would come up short for the run in, that reality has been dawning on stubbsy for a while now.

not convinced with the last few signings... feels like fillers to me. We need a bit substance...Anthony would bring that, give the whole place a lift.

14-01-2016, 05:16 PM
It's an automated program which searches the web for references to specific subjects....like tweets that refer to celtc in this instance, but can be used for all sorts of data collection like email addresses or any other personal information people are stupid enough to upload to unsecured sites

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internet_bot

Probably the most informative and ITK post on this thread.

14-01-2016, 05:16 PM
The amount of times I'm refreshing my phone on this thread is ridiculous 😂

I know. I have done this all day since 8am then realised I had to do some work so have it a break for 2 hours and we announced Anier and Feruz had gone back and confirmation of Derby date and time!!!

14-01-2016, 05:17 PM
Why do folk think Celtic want to block this??

We clearly have a decent working relationship with them and it's very much a possibility or wouldn't have gone on so long.

From their point of view they would rather he went down south as he'd be playing at a higher level and more chance of selling him on. Fair dos.

That doesn't mean they are blocking him coming to us. They are trying to do what is best for them, just as we are.

We've done no too bad dealing with Celtic in recent years regarding transfers.

SausageSurprise
14-01-2016, 05:18 PM
Stokes is the one pushing for the move down south it's being reported

14-01-2016, 05:20 PM

Well if thats true theres no point in trying for a player who doesn't want to come here.

SausageSurprise
14-01-2016, 05:21 PM
Well if thats true theres no point in trying for a player who doesn't want to come here.
Just been on STV

14-01-2016, 05:22 PM
Just been on STV

Move on to another target then. End the speculation then.

14-01-2016, 05:24 PM
Why do folk think Celtic want to block this??

We clearly have a decent working relationship with them and it's very much a possibility or wouldn't have gone on so long.

From their point of view they would rather he went down south as he'd be playing at a higher level and more chance of selling him on. Fair dos.

That doesn't mean they are blocking him coming to us. They are trying to do what is best for them, just as we are.

We've done no too bad dealing with Celtic in recent years regarding transfers.

We did tell them to bolt over Fletch, while selling the wee mammies boy to their pals and squeezing a ridiculous amount of money out of them for his pal.

14-01-2016, 05:27 PM
Move on to another target then. End the speculation then.

Have Hibs mentioned any targets, including Stokes?

14-01-2016, 05:33 PM

I think hibs making official contact with Celtic makes him a target?

No, other than the contact from Hibs.

147lothian
We did tell them to bolt over Fletch, while selling the wee mammies boy to their pals and squeezing a ridiculous amount of money out of them for his pal.

We did what was best for us in these moves, just like they are doing what's best for them with the Stokes loan move, ever club is going to look after their own interests only

14-01-2016, 05:35 PM
I think hibs making official contact with Celtic makes him a target?

The approach has been confirmed by Hibs?

GlasgowHibee
14-01-2016, 05:38 PM
He'll sign tomorrow. :thumbsup::agree::gwa::hibees

14-01-2016, 05:39 PM
The approach has been confirmed by Hibs?

No idea, however we've been quick to announce when the media are talking pish in th past... I don't think it's any secret we've made official contact for him.

14-01-2016, 05:43 PM

Seems unlikely. Hibs would not have approached Celtic, had they not been given some encouragement from Stokes.

14-01-2016, 05:43 PM
Il take a pm regarding this and the "rabbit out a hat" rumour

14-01-2016, 05:46 PM
Would nae believe a word STV say

14-01-2016, 05:48 PM
According to bbc - who I believe less than STV - saying talks ongoing with Hibs and no mention of down south

14-01-2016, 05:49 PM
Put it on the pm board as well but thought I'd post it here as well. Got a message saying this, just now...

So stokes has knocked back both SPFL teams that leaves a straight fight between Leeds and hibs I have been told tonight.

14-01-2016, 05:51 PM
Put it on the pm board as well but thought I'd post it here as well. Got a message saying this, just now...

So stokes has knocked back both SPFL teams that leaves a straight fight between Leeds and hibs I have been told tonight.

We are an SPFL team...so it sounds like we're not getting him.

147lothian
14-01-2016, 05:52 PM
Please Stokes, come back to us!

14-01-2016, 05:52 PM

I think he was meaning top flight mate.

14-01-2016, 05:53 PM
I think he was meaning top flight mate.

Who's "he"?

14-01-2016, 05:54 PM

He meant Premiership teams (Dundee Utd and Inverness).

14-01-2016, 05:55 PM
He'll sign tomorrow. :thumbsup::agree::gwa::hibees

ITK ? Or just hoping ?

Niffy
14-01-2016, 05:56 PM
that leaves a straight fight between Leeds and hibs I have been told tonight.

Ahhh the good old days...

We did what was best for us in these moves, just like they are doing what's best for them with the Stokes loan move, ever club is going to look after their own interests onlyit has been strongly insinuated, or widely reported, which ever you want,.....that he wont be going to Tayside despite CFC agreeing terms with D.Utd. he wont be up rhere, waiting on him deciding with us but his preference is doon south, and that is" widely reported" so its all up in their for at least this evening:greengrin

Billy McKirdy

I think alluding to the Premiership teams, ICT & Arabs, I think he will come.

Lee Marvin
14-01-2016, 05:57 PM

This thread is hilarious.

I've got it from a proper good source that 'nobody has a clue what is going on as everyone's source is saying something different.'

StevieBoyKdy
14-01-2016, 05:58 PM
I don't believe all this Hibs and Celtic locked in talks crap. How long does it take to ask a couple of questions. For example

hibs: can we take stokes on loan
tims: yes only if he plays games
hibs: of course we will we only have 1 other forward :)
celtic: will you contribute towards his wages?
hibs: wait a minute Peter, I'll need to phone an ambulance rods just collapsed.

14-01-2016, 06:00 PM
If he signs for another team and all the talk about us being in the frame is horse feathers, then we end up upset about something that was never going to happen.

14-01-2016, 06:02 PM
This thread is hilarious.

I've got it from a proper good source that 'nobody has a clue what is going on as everyone's source is saying something different.'source?:greengrin

14-01-2016, 06:02 PM

Stokes is 20/1 to join Leeds so I might get on that

14-01-2016, 06:06 PM
Ahhh the good old days...

:greengrin:take that

14-01-2016, 06:10 PM

As long as he doesnae :greengrin

SausageSurprise
14-01-2016, 06:13 PM
This is when we are supposed to start the "he's ***** anyway" patter

14-01-2016, 06:13 PM
I don't believe all this Hibs and Celtic locked in talks crap. How long does it take to ask a couple of questions. For example

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

14-01-2016, 06:18 PM
Cannot bring myself, but does anyone know if the Leeds and Dundee United forums are pissing themselves silly with updates for us ?
Edit: No idea where that big bold U came fi!

14-01-2016, 06:21 PM
Cannot bring myself, but does anyone know if the Leeds and Dundee United forums are pissing themselves silly with updates for us ?

I think the big bold U added a bit of gravitas to the post. I'd keep it. :agree:

Haven't looked at either side's forums, though. I'd imagine Dundee United would have been happy at seeing their side improved by Celtc for once, though... :greengrin

Shanksaidno
14-01-2016, 06:22 PM

Too much messing about . . . Sign or don't sign, could have been playing this weekend (or is he two weeks away from being fit too ??)

Lomondhibs
14-01-2016, 06:26 PM
Too much messing about . . . Sign or don't sign, could have been playing this weekend (or is he two weeks away from being fit too ??)

Bear in mind he has trials in Dublin next wk

14-01-2016, 06:30 PM
Bear in mind he has trials in Dublin next wk

For which team?

14-01-2016, 06:32 PM
For which team?

Irish X Factor

14-01-2016, 06:32 PM
I think the big bold U added a bit of gravitas to the post. I'd keep it. :agree:

Haven't looked at either side's forums, though. I'd imagine Dundee United would have been happy at seeing their side improved by Celtc for once, though... :greengrin

You're maybe right. First time since that Hanlon debate circa Cooden.! :greengrin I'd have gone for Oi! for gravitas though X

Lomondhibs
14-01-2016, 06:33 PM
Irish X Factor

Judge judy:wink:

14-01-2016, 06:33 PM
Irish X Factor

14-01-2016, 06:35 PM
Irish X Factor

Didn't he tweet something about Kilmainham Jail in the year '16?

Those pesky Gers fans thought it was pathetic & sectarian when it was just prophetic second sight

14-01-2016, 06:39 PM
I was going to moan about the ineptitude of 'sources' but am instead finding myself well entertained by a wide variety of comedy and wit.

14-01-2016, 06:40 PM

Keep your £20 in yer wallet 😉

14-01-2016, 06:42 PM
Keep your £20 in yer wallet 😉

Why? Is he going to Utd? :greengrin

14-01-2016, 07:33 PM
So in summary we've heard (in no particular order):

1. He's no going to Inverness;
2. He's mibby no going to Dundee United;
3. Hibs are his preference;
4. It's already done deal and he's coming to Hibs (several);
5. He only wants to play in England;
6. He wants to stay in Scotland to be close the Weeg;
7. Celtic will let him pick the Club he goes tae;
8. Celtic don't want him tae come tae Hibs cos it may hamper Sevcos chances of promotion;
9. He signed for Hibs yesterday;
10. He signed for Hibs today;
11. He's signing for Hibs tomorrow;

And apart from all that, I still think The Cats posts are the ones to follow:wink:

Keep the Faith.

14-01-2016, 07:33 PM
Stokes appears to be in demand and his forthcoming court date doesn't seem to have caused much concern with potential suitors. How serious is his charge sheet?

14-01-2016, 07:34 PM
Seems unlikely. Hibs would not have approached Celtic, had they not been given some encouragement from Stokes.

What, in the same way as ICT & Dundee Utd you mean?

14-01-2016, 07:35 PM
First of all I would like to thank the Admin team for agreeing to allow me back on to post its been a while and I certainly missed this place although I am sure I wasnt :greengrin

My take on Stokes and Celtic agreeing with DUFC, I think that was a case of he is a decent striker who would be playing against Celtics rivals and be in a position to score against Aberdeen etc.

For me I would have him back in a heartbeat.

14-01-2016, 07:40 PM
First of all I would like to thank the Admin team for agreeing to allow me back on to post its been a while and I certainly missed this place although I am sure I wasnt :greengrin

My take on Stokes and Celtic agreeing with DUFC, I think that was a case of he is a decent striker who would be playing against Celtics rivals and be in a position to score against Aberdeen etc.

Oh jeez not you again

Only joking

14-01-2016, 07:48 PM
Oh jeez not you again

Only joking

You better believe it :wink:

Stubbs doing great with the team.

14-01-2016, 07:49 PM

Welcome back. :aok:

seanshow
14-01-2016, 07:51 PM

Some length of a ban your returning from! what was the crime? :greengrin

SausageSurprise
14-01-2016, 07:54 PM
Some length of a ban your returning from! what was the crime? :greengrin

Having an opinion 😎

14-01-2016, 08:05 PM
If Carlsberg did Thursday forums ............. Welcome back! :aok:

14-01-2016, 08:16 PM
Having an opinion steady now......

14-01-2016, 08:19 PM
Going to be some team with Griffiths,Osman and Stokes............................................ .....

14-01-2016, 08:22 PM
I think Stokes will be announced tomorrow and go straight into the squad for the Falkirk game. Think JC will sign an extension but that'll be announced later on in the window just prior to the Saintees game.

14-01-2016, 08:25 PM
I think Stokes will be announced tomorrow and go straight into the squad for the Falkirk game. Think JC will sign an extension but that'll be announced later on in the window just prior to the Saintees game.

Speculation mate or good info?!

Greenworld
14-01-2016, 08:26 PM
It will be a double announcement tomorrow so that fans are hyperventilating before the game then we will get beat and new forum will begin 100 pages of why we shouldnt of signed him l

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

14-01-2016, 08:33 PM
Speculation mate or good info?!

Educated guess lol - I think AS is a given to be honest (hope I'm not wrong).

14-01-2016, 08:39 PM
Surely clubs will be waiting for the outcome of the court case???

14-01-2016, 08:41 PM

😂😂😂😂

14-01-2016, 08:42 PM
Surely clubs will be waiting for the outcome of the court case???

I would have thought this, but do others know better?

OsloHibs
14-01-2016, 08:44 PM
When can we start the "he is s**** and past it" patter?? :rolleyes: Is now too soon...?

14-01-2016, 08:48 PM
First of all I would like to thank the Admin team for agreeing to allow me back on to post its been a while and I certainly missed this place although I am sure I wasnt :greengrin My take on Stokes and Celtic agreeing with DUFC, I think that was a case of he is a decent striker who would be playing against Celtics rivals and be in a position to score against Aberdeen etc. For me I would have him back in a heartbeat.

How day... Welcome back to the madhouse that is .net C.

14-01-2016, 08:56 PM
When can we start the "he is s**** and past it" patter?? :rolleyes: Is now too soon...?

IF he signs Im not expecting too much too soon. However, a winner against Falkirk, a brace vs St Johnstone and a hat trick vs Hearts would represent steady progress.

14-01-2016, 09:02 PM

We signed AS about 2 year ago m8 keep up

14-01-2016, 09:04 PM
So in summary we've heard (in no particular order):

1. He's no going to Inverness;
2. He's mibby no going to Dundee United;
3. Hibs are his preference;
4. It's already done deal and he's coming to Hibs (several);
5. He only wants to play in England;
6. He wants to stay in Scotland to be close the Weeg;
7. Celtic will let him pick the Club he goes tae;
8. Celtic don't want him tae come tae Hibs cos it may hamper Sevcos chances of promotion;
9. He signed for Hibs yesterday;
10. He signed for Hibs today;
11. He's signing for Hibs tomorrow;

And apart from all that, I still think The Cats posts are the ones to follow:wink:

Keep the Faith.

Superb, well done! An entertaining summary of an entertaining thread!

Hibeewilly
14-01-2016, 09:14 PM
In an earlier post I quoted the odds for Stokes to sign - they were 4/5 United 5/4 Hibs. There has been money for Hibs tonight and we are now 4/5 favourites to sign him United are 2/1 and Leeds are 14/1. Interesting.......an announcement tomorrow perhaps??:flag:

14-01-2016, 09:35 PM

Hope you're not wrong either!!

14-01-2016, 10:05 PM
No info but I think he'll be announced for someone tomorrow for sure.

14-01-2016, 10:07 PM
So it appears that Stokes prefers Hibs (to United) but Celtc management appear to prefer elsewhere, is it perhaps the case that it's a principled stance against player power?.

14-01-2016, 10:09 PM

Welcome back.

14-01-2016, 10:11 PM
No info but I think he'll be announced for someone tomorrow for sure.

:blah::blah::blah:

Would you employ someone who is up in court in a weeks time and is looking at serving a custodial?

That was a rhetorical question and an ecumenical matter.

lochhibs
14-01-2016, 10:24 PM
back page of tomorrows daily record saying he's heading to us.

147lothian
14-01-2016, 10:27 PM
In an earlier post I quoted the odds for Stokes to sign - they were 4/5 United 5/4 Hibs. There has been money for Hibs tonight and we are now 4/5 favourites to sign him United are 2/1 and Leeds are 14/1. Interesting.......an announcement tomorrow perhaps??:flag:

Excellent piece of info m8, keep up the good work

14-01-2016, 10:42 PM

Warm welcome back mate :greengrin

E10 Rifle
14-01-2016, 10:44 PM
With regards to Stokes I've heard he's two weeks away - it's a Hibs striker thing apparently

14-01-2016, 10:45 PM
He is not going to the Arabs :wink:

14-01-2016, 10:52 PM
Welcome back Carlsberg.

14-01-2016, 11:00 PM

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160115/fcc0ddd2e5ec6ca741b873c14ab0448d.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160115/31e2a6654e0f37daa487c414feed108e.jpg

14-01-2016, 11:03 PM

14-01-2016, 11:04 PM
back page of tomorrows daily record saying he's heading to us.

That's him heading for United (take your pick which one!), then. :wink:

14-01-2016, 11:04 PM
Wonder what they're talking about now?

14-01-2016, 11:05 PM
Shouldn't the the rangers headline translate to sorry boys but we can't even afford this guy. Whoever he is

14-01-2016, 11:10 PM
Warburton won't be held to ransom for O'Halloran? That's fine, stop putting in bids for him then. It's not like they're trying to sell him to you you muppet.

14-01-2016, 11:12 PM
Warburton won't be held to ransom for O'Halloran? That's fine, stop putting in bids for him then. It's not like they're trying to sell him to you you muppet.

It really is quite pathetic. The Allan saga all over again.

14-01-2016, 11:13 PM
He is not going to the Arabs :wink:

I think Sportsound mentioned that about 6 hours ago?

SausageSurprise
14-01-2016, 11:14 PM
It really is quite pathetic. The Allan saga all over again.

It is indeed, BUT if it unsettles the saints for the next fortnight then. Good work Warbs!

14-01-2016, 11:14 PM
THEY offered 150k only if they won the league.

14-01-2016, 11:19 PM
It is indeed, BUT if it unsettles the saints for the next fortnight then. Good work Warbs!

Of course. I wasn't thinking that way! ☺

14-01-2016, 11:21 PM

14-01-2016, 11:34 PM
We should put bids in for o'halloran to up the price. Like Naismith from Killie to Rangers.

15-01-2016, 12:20 AM

600k Before they get round the table . Be funny as if celik sign him :greengrin

15-01-2016, 12:20 AM
Warburton won't be held to ransom for O'Halloran? That's fine, stop putting in bids for him then. It's not like they're trying to sell him to you you muppet.on the plus side: O'Halloran gets very upset at losing Ibrox move, and has a pish performance in a semi-final:wink:

15-01-2016, 12:25 AM
The Record understands that Stokes is still deep in talks at ER. must be costing a fortune in Electricity. I suggest a candlelight vigil, until he signs.

plhibs
15-01-2016, 12:34 AM

Aye but only 20 pounds a week. Just like they tried with us.

Capt Mainwaring
15-01-2016, 12:37 AM
Cmon Stoksey - you know it makes sense!

15-01-2016, 04:54 AM
Wonder what they're talking about now?

Got a text saying they're Just tying up a few loose ends now, should be announced soon, unless something goes wrong and the deal falls through at the last minute.

15-01-2016, 06:37 AM
Got a text saying they're Just tying up a few loose ends now, should be announced soon, unless something goes wrong and the deal falls through at the last minute.

Makes sense. It's probably a done deal if he signs.

15-01-2016, 06:43 AM
600k Before they get round the table . Be funny as if celik sign him :greengrin

Be funny if Celtic sign him? He's a Celtic player so how would that work?
edit: reading back just realised this was off topic about another player :)

15-01-2016, 06:49 AM
Be funny if Celtic sign him? He's a Celtic player so how would that work?
edit: reading back just realised this was off topic about another player :)
Think he's talking about the St Johnstone player.

15-01-2016, 07:06 AM
It will be a double announcement tomorrow so that fans are hyperventilating before the game then we will get beat and new forum will begin 100 pages of why we shouldnt of signed him l

There'll also be another group of grammar pedant threads discussing why people use the word 'of' where they should have used 'have'.

Sent from my Works Laptop when nobody was looking using Firefox

15-01-2016, 07:07 AM
There'll also be another group of grammar pedant threads discussing why people use the word 'of' where they should have used 'have'.

Count me in.

I'll be there/ their/ they're.

15-01-2016, 07:09 AM

Daily Record story!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FFS, I was hoping Stokes would sign for us too. :boo hoo: Wonder where he is going?

Greenworld
15-01-2016, 07:12 AM

Im fairly sure grammatically speaking I will have used my Off word correctly in reply. In this instance Sir I will refrain.

15-01-2016, 07:16 AM
Look forward to seeing him again wearing the green of Hibs!!

15-01-2016, 07:19 AM
Easter Road open early today.

15-01-2016, 07:24 AM
Im fairly sure grammatically speaking I will have used my Off word correctly in reply. In this instance Sir I will refrain.

That's 'off', with two F's

Hibeewilly
15-01-2016, 07:25 AM
Look forward to seeing him again wearing the green of Hibs!!
Any press conferebce likely TC?

15-01-2016, 07:27 AM

Is it busy?

15-01-2016, 07:29 AM
Any press conferebce likely TC?

No idea mate.

15-01-2016, 07:37 AM

Probably sorting out the semi-final tickets that were ordered on Wednesday :greengrin

15-01-2016, 07:50 AM

I had to laugh at Reporting Scotland last night describing their bid as a 'six figure swoop'.

Rangers are skint and O'Halloran is worth more than the 100K they likely bid.

15-01-2016, 07:56 AM
I had to laugh at Reporting Scotland last night describing their bid as a 'six figure swoop'.

These news reports get right up my f****** nose, always trying to bum the bigots up! Six figure indeed!

15-01-2016, 08:03 AM
I had to laugh at Reporting Scotland last night describing their bid as a 'six figure swoop'. Rangers are skint and O'Halloran is worth more than the 100K they likely bid.

They are a laughing stock and make out its the other teams fault because the don't role over and take the first paltry bid they offer.

15-01-2016, 08:03 AM
These news reports get right up my f****** nose, always trying to bum the bigots up! Six figure indeed!

Yeah, £1999.99 is a six figure sum I bet!

15-01-2016, 08:10 AM

I actually think the lad is a really good player, and feel that St Johnstone are selling themselves short if the rumoured £500k valuation is true.

15-01-2016, 08:11 AM
I guess the bottom line is what does Stokes want out of a loan move when it is over? If he still thinks he can do it at Celtic then a move to us certainly a division down but no real disruption to him off the park and the chance of a medal (what is game count to get medal for league?) or 2, big derby match also.

For me I think Stokes wants to keep his hand in hope RD gets the bullet and he gets another chance at Celtic.

15-01-2016, 08:15 AM
I guess the bottom line is what does Stokes want out of a loan move when it is over? If he still thinks he can do it at Celtic then a move to us certainly a division down but no real disruption to him off the park and the chance of a medal (what is game count to get medal for league?) or 2, big derby match also.

For me I think Stokes wants to keep his hand in hope RD gets the bullet and he gets another chance at Celtic.

SPFL rules

C39 The Company shall present to the Champion Club of the League 25 League Championship Medals for Players, other staff and Officials. Additional League Championship Medals may be purchased from the Company with the prior consent of the Board. Only those Players who participated in 25% or more of the League Matches for the Champion Club in the relevant Season will be eligible to receive such medals.

15-01-2016, 08:16 AM

and so he should... bar LG, he's easily the most likely to score goals in that Celtic team... Ciftci and Cole are nowhere near him, yet he doesn't get a look in.

Hibeewilly
15-01-2016, 08:17 AM

He is out of contract at the end of the season and Celtic will not offer him another one. I think the delay in Stokes signing is due to Hibs negotiating some kind of option on him for next season should he be successful here as that would be down to the player not Celtic

15-01-2016, 08:18 AM
He is out of contract at the end of the season and Celtic will not offer him another one. I think the delay in Stokes signing is due to Hibs negotiating some kind of option on him for next season should he be successful here as that would be down to the player not Celtic

he has a contract until end of next with tic.

Hibeewilly
15-01-2016, 08:23 AM
I didn't realise that mate- cheers

15-01-2016, 08:25 AM
If stokes really is turning down other moves and is determined to join us then I am thinking it's now fair to say that we welcome him. Which is a bit of a change from me.

15-01-2016, 08:33 AM
I didn't realise that mate- cheers

15-01-2016, 08:38 AM
Count me in.

I'll be there/ their/ they're. this ! my pet hate .............should of, might of, cant of, etc

15-01-2016, 08:40 AM

Hopefully working to get Stokes registered before midday

15-01-2016, 08:41 AM
this ! my pet hate .............should of, might of, cant of, etc

Yeah, where did that come from? So annoying

hibbypostie
15-01-2016, 08:42 AM
Hopefully working to get Stokes registered before midday

is midday the cut off point for this weekends games?

15-01-2016, 08:46 AM
If stokes really is turning down other moves and is determined to join us then I am thinking it's now fair to say that we welcome him. Which is a bit of a change from me.STV reporter said Stokes prefers a move South, last night iirc. not done yet

15-01-2016, 08:48 AM
Who do we get in, if Stokes doesn't come?

15-01-2016, 08:51 AM

In or out of contract I believe he thinks RD will be punted or hopes he is and maybe in new managers plans.

15-01-2016, 08:53 AM
STV reporter said Stokes prefers a move South

Might that be because STV, like BBC Scotland, is full of the the Hun sympathisers? :dunno:

15-01-2016, 08:54 AM
Might that be because STV, like BBC Scotland, is full of the the Hun sympathisers? :dunno:

Definitely this!

15-01-2016, 08:56 AM
STV reporter said Stokes prefers a move South, last night iirc. not done yet

STV reporter in talking complete and utter single fish shocker!

15-01-2016, 09:03 AM
Count me in.

I'll be there/ their/ they're.

this ! my pet hate .............should of, might of, cant of, etc

I thunk Stokes will be of too play down south soon as he has always wanted to play down their :wink: :greengrin

Coults1875
15-01-2016, 09:30 AM
Has he signed yet? :hyper

15-01-2016, 09:31 AM
Has he signed yet? :hyper

If he doesn't sign for Hibs today I reckon he will be at Tannadice

Sitting in the stand watching his team mates tonight :wink:

15-01-2016, 09:32 AM
STV reporter in talking complete and utter single fish shocker!not arguing with that Sean

15-01-2016, 09:44 AM
Stokes near Hibs deal according to daily Hun

15-01-2016, 09:52 AM
It's not really worth reporting what the crappy Scottish media are best-guessing. They don't know any more than our indigenous ITKers. :greengrin

Coults1875
15-01-2016, 09:53 AM
If he doesn't sign for Hibs today I reckon he will be at Tannadice

Sitting in the stand watching his team mates tonight :wink:

Well played sir, well played! :na na:

15-01-2016, 09:57 AM

Not according to the Daily Ranger this morning he hasn't:

'Whilst Hoops boss Ronny Deila has sanctioned the loan move the Norwegian admitted earlier this week that the player whose current Celtic contract expires in the summer still has a future with the Scottish champions'

15-01-2016, 10:03 AM
Not according to the Daily Ranger this morning he hasn't:

'Whilst Hoops boss Ronny Deila has sanctioned the loan move the Norwegian admitted earlier this week that the player whose current Celtic contract expires in the summer still has a future with the Scottish champions'

It says on his Wiki that he signed a new 3 year deal in Oct 2013.

15-01-2016, 10:03 AM
Stokes now 1/4 at bet victor to sign for Hibs

15-01-2016, 10:07 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24733765

New 3 yr signed in October 2013 would suggest then it is either from that point or from start of the next season so it looks like at the very least it would run out in October 2016 but for me more likely it would have started at season start so summer 2017 it would run out.

15-01-2016, 10:09 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24733765

New 3 yr signed in October 2013 would suggest then it is either from that point or from start of the next season so it looks like at the very least it would run out in October 2016 but for me more likely it would have started at season start so summer 2017 it would run out.

15-01-2016, 10:13 AM

I think RD will be away by then so for me Stokes will still fancy getting in at Celtic if RD is punted so staying close to home and maybe even winning something so on balance I think we have to be the team of choice.

Cmon Stokesy lets do the Rangers,

15-01-2016, 10:15 AM
Daily Record saying that Stokes is expected to sign for Hibs later today

15-01-2016, 10:19 AM
I think the pull of Stubbs, and a couple of his mates being here already plus pumping Sevco will have made up his mind about where he wants to be smashing the ball into the back of the net for the next 5 months.

15-01-2016, 10:22 AM
I think the pull of Stubbs, and a couple of his mates being here already plus pumping Sevco will have made up his mind about where he wants to be smashing the ball into the back of the net for the next 5 months.

add a few other bits and bobs and :agree:

15-01-2016, 10:24 AM

Stokes was pretty much the reason we got into the top 6 last time we did it, hopefully he can replicate that this year except in the top 1. :greengrin

Coults1875
15-01-2016, 10:32 AM

15-01-2016, 10:35 AM
I've gone from being indifferent about this to genuinely excited.

Going to Tynecastle with Stokes, Cummings and Malonga up top is a nice thought.

TamHibs
15-01-2016, 10:36 AM
If it ever comes off

15-01-2016, 10:36 AM

Supported by a good midfield as well, unlike the days of Mixu where we played with Nish, Riordan and Fletcher and hoofed the ball to them, entirely bypassing our **** midfield. :agree:

15-01-2016, 10:38 AM
If it ever comes off

If it doesn't sign today then I doubt if it will ever happen. Just my humble opinion of course.

TamHibs
15-01-2016, 10:40 AM
If it doesn't sign today then I doubt if it will ever happen. Just my humble opinion of course.

I'm starting to have my doubts we'll pull this off.

Hope to be proven wrong!

15-01-2016, 10:42 AM

Hope to be proven wrong!

Almost there....

E10 Rifle
15-01-2016, 10:42 AM

Don't overlook Dagnall - there's goals in that lad I tell thee.

15-01-2016, 10:43 AM

Hope to be proven wrong!

Some people are so impatient! :greengrin

TamHibs
15-01-2016, 10:44 AM
Some people are so impatient! :greengrin

:agree::agree:

Can't hold my water me :greengrin

15-01-2016, 10:45 AM
:agree::agree:

Can't hold my water me :greengrin

Would've been nice for him to be in for Sunday to make a cameo from the bench, but thats looking unlikely now.

Just heard there were talks at Easter all day yesterday and that's Stokes is at Easter Road this morning..... Anyone heard similar or can clarify?

With a game against DUtd. tonight, Celtic's mind might be far from transfer/loan business and, who knows, Stokes might be waiting to have a good look at what he might want to commit himself to. I don't think we'll hear anything till the weekend or Monday. Plenty time for a few pages of BS. Fill yer boots.:greengrin

Green Man
15-01-2016, 10:49 AM
As an aside, is it not a bit weird that bookies take bets on who a player will sign for? An unscrupulous insider could place a bet when a deal is done but hasn't been announced, making themselves some easy cash.

15-01-2016, 10:51 AM
With a game against DUtd. tonight, Celtic's mind might be far from transfer/loan business and, who knows, Stokes might be waiting to have a good look at what he might want to commit himself to. I don't think we'll hear anything till the weekend or Monday. Plenty time for a few pages of BS. Fill yer boots.:greengrin

The East Mains spy in the bushes is reporting that Mr Stokes is down there just now as he's answered the call for volunteers to shovel snaw.

Honest.

15-01-2016, 10:52 AM
Welcome to the Hibees, never in doubt! To the ones I PM'd... Told you he'd sign by Fri 😁👍🏼

TamHibs
15-01-2016, 10:53 AM
Welcome to the Hibees, never in doubt! To the ones I PM'd... Told you he'd sign by Fri 

Except no official announcement made yet :confused:

Deek01
15-01-2016, 10:53 AM
Welcome to the Hibees, never in doubt! To the ones I PM'd... Told you he'd sign by Fri 😁👍🏼

So are you saying I can expect a nice payout from bet victor shortly 😏?

15-01-2016, 10:56 AM
Welcome to the Hibees, never in doubt! To the ones I PM'd... Told you he'd sign by Fri 

Wrong again TC ------------ this is Friday.

Erm not official yet TC

So are you saying I can expect a nice payout from bet victor shortly 😏?

I'd think so, what price you get?

15-01-2016, 10:58 AM
He's been at Easter Road and HTC all morning. We can assume it done I think.

Deek01
15-01-2016, 10:59 AM
I'd think so, what price you get?

Got him at 5/4 yesterday after he went out from 1/3. Couldn't not back that after Anier and Feruz returned to their parent clubs.

15-01-2016, 11:00 AM
He's been at Easter Road and HTC all morning. We can assume it done I think.

Source :hyper

15-01-2016, 11:01 AM
Got him at 5/4 yesterday after he went out from 1/3. Couldn't not back that after Anier and Feruz returned to their parent clubs.

I wish I'd done the same, done well getting on that.

Nemo
15-01-2016, 11:03 AM
Almost there....

You're such a tease underscore!

15-01-2016, 11:03 AM

TC - You just having a laugh mate or being serious ?:confused:

15-01-2016, 11:09 AM

Throughout all the flip flopping and P1sh spouted by the meedya this week, I was always hopeful AS would sign based on your posts cat. Things can go pear shaped in any transfer but you're never far off the mark:top marks

Glesgahibby
15-01-2016, 11:16 AM
Nice one TC:thumbsup:
been watching for a wee post like this from you:wink:

15-01-2016, 11:17 AM

You certainly did mate! Got told from a different source that he has been at ER this morning so I presume he is signing!

hibbypostie
so is the rabbit out the hat then?

Tobias Funke
I am finding it highly amusing that whilst looking at this thread I am seeing adverts for hair transplant procedures :tee hee:

If we get this over the line it will be a fantastic bit of business.

15-01-2016, 11:18 AM

Na that's Osman mate :greengrin

15-01-2016, 11:19 AM

No, it's all an elaborate ruse:greengrin

15-01-2016, 11:20 AM
Nice when Hibs Transfer News. C&P a post from here. Keep up the good work. :greengrin