View Full Version : Match of the Day World Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

20-06-2014, 04:56 PM
there's something not quite right with linekar wearing an italian football top :bitchy: shame on the fool that thought that one up

20-06-2014, 04:57 PM
...with a bigger population than Uruguay.

It was my English chums who referred to Costa Rica as a tiny and insignificant footballing nation.

I wish I had access to your demographic insights back then!:greengrin

20-06-2014, 04:58 PM
there's something not quite right with linekar wearing an italian football top :bitchy: shame on the fool that thought that one up

:agree: Looks ridiculous. Prize plum.

20-06-2014, 05:00 PM
It was my English chums who referred to Costa Rica as a tiny and insignificant footballing nation.

I wish I had access to your demographic insights back then!:greengrin

It's always the perfect comeback for "but we're only a wee country, we can't compete with the big boys".

IIRC, Uruguay are the smallest country in the WC, population wise. By far the smallest to have ever won it.

20-06-2014, 05:00 PM
You listening to him today? He's been awful, his greatest insight so far has been "The referee has his vanishing spray out. I could do with some of that for my trousers, I spilt wine on them last night".

Other than that his contribution has been "he was offside", "he was never offside", "that was never a foul", "in the prem that's not a foul", "clearly a pen" and "refs from small countries shouldn't be allowed to ref at the biggest competition in the world".

I like him too and cant listen to him where I am, but this does make him sound like a ****!

20-06-2014, 05:01 PM
Was hopeing for an italy win but seeing linekar in the studio has changed my mind. Blatant cheating from the ref with that pen decision

(((Fergus)))
20-06-2014, 05:02 PM
There was a guy with a Scotland shirt and a Jimmy hat, joining in with the Uruguay fans at the game last night. Pitiful. :agree:

Not really. Elaborate banter like that deserves some respect.

Sky news doing a poll shoul'd suarez be more humble ? Pathetic really.

England obviously need to be more humble otherwise they wouldn't keep getting humiliated.

Lineker sat there on match of the day in an Italy top

Now THAT is pitiful.

Robbie Savage is a complete and utter Bellend.

Totally outclassed by the non-celebrity-dancer commentator. Celebrity pundits always talk about themselves: "need some of that spray to get the red wine off my trousers". Commentator: "You don't usually spill a drop".

20-06-2014, 05:02 PM

It's always the perfect comeback for "but we're only a wee country, we can't compete with the big boys".

IIRC, Uruguay are the smallest country in the WC, population wise. By far the smallest to have ever won it.

Lets get a manager from Uruguay!

20-06-2014, 05:06 PM
Lets get a manager from Uruguay!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4paLVu0gNcQ&feature=kp

20-06-2014, 05:06 PM
A controversial penalty for the Italian mafia in the 2nd half on the cards me thinks.

20-06-2014, 05:23 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4paLVu0gNcQ&feature=kp

Time For Heroes
20-06-2014, 05:27 PM
Anyone else getting annoyed by Robbie Savage? Grade A twat!
First half talking about spilling red wine on his cream trousers?!!! Wtf?
Well worth paying a tv license for...

20-06-2014, 05:28 PM
Costa Rica have been the surprise package in this World Cup so far. I didn't think they were going to advance through the group potentially as group winners but they have done really well and fully deserve it.

20-06-2014, 05:37 PM
Totally agree about Costa Rica being the surprise package, but Italy have been awful today. Even the simple things like their first touch has been way off. Look a different side from the one that controlled the game against England. You'd think they'd already qualified out the group stages.

20-06-2014, 05:39 PM
Diaz wins the goal kick and does a forward roll Haha brilliant

20-06-2014, 05:41 PM
Im getting sick of all these muppets in the crowd sitting there with their faces tripping them suddenly turning into the happiest folk in the world 'cos they've just spotted themselves on the big screen. Your team is getting beat fuds!

20-06-2014, 05:42 PM
Disappointed in Italy today, they can do so much better. Costa Rica have been a solid unit though.

20-06-2014, 05:45 PM
Can't wait til we get back to the studio!

20-06-2014, 05:46 PM
Im getting sick of all these muppets in the crowd sitting there with their faces tripping them suddenly turning into the happiest folk in the world 'cos they've just spotted themselves on the big screen. Your team is getting beat fuds!

Many of them seem to be looking at the screens rather than the game. Weird.

20-06-2014, 05:46 PM
Can't wait til we get back to the studio!

You can already hear the tears in their voices.

20-06-2014, 05:49 PM
Bet Gary is looking more of a twat now sat in his Italy top Haha girfuy

Costa Rica thoroughly deserved that win, brilliant display

20-06-2014, 05:53 PM
they thought it might be all over, it is now :faf:

oh how foolish do you look now Mr Linekar/BBC, cringeworthy

20-06-2014, 05:54 PM
http://media.giphy.com/media/P6NGyxkKCrtlK/giphy.gif

20-06-2014, 05:56 PM
Bet Gary is looking more of a twat now sat in his Italy top Haha girfuy

Costa Rica thoroughly deserved that win, brilliant display

No got it on anymore. What a fud. :faf:

20-06-2014, 05:56 PM
Haha the ****er has changed

20-06-2014, 05:57 PM
Cheeri, cheeri, cheerio

20-06-2014, 06:05 PM
Thierry Henry - "I doubt any of you knew any of the players from Costa Rica"

Hansen and Linekar - http://rack.0.mshcdn.com/media/ZgkyMDEzLzA2LzE4LzdjL0JlYWtlci4zOWJhOC5naWYKcAl0aH VtYgkxMjAweDk2MDA-/4a93e3c4/4a4/Beaker.gif

At least we can all get on and enjoy the World Cup now, without regular references to Engoland

can't wait for France now, hopefully this time we get to hear their national anthem

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/21/uremyne7.jpg

How utterly :-(

alibucharest
20-06-2014, 06:06 PM
There was a guy with a Scotland shirt and a Jimmy hat, joining in with the Uruguay fans at the game last night. Pitiful. :agree:

Depends on the context. May be a Scotsman who lives in Uruguay, has a Uruguaian wife/girlfriend or is touring S. America teaching English. HOWEVER if he has flown out especially for the game..............sad.

ED: just came across this

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-27939845

Personally, as an English man, I don't have any problem with this. I support other teams for 90 minutes but it's never as fulfilling as supporting your own team.

20-06-2014, 06:07 PM
At least we can all get on and enjoy the World Cup now, without regular references to Engoland

That's my take. IMO, the BBC are superb at covering these events when there is no British interest.

20-06-2014, 06:14 PM
For the first time ever I actually can't wait to see Chiles on TV, roll on 7.30 :na na:

20-06-2014, 06:16 PM
Sky Sports News :faf:

(((Fergus)))
20-06-2014, 06:23 PM
England v Costa Rica should be interesting...

20-06-2014, 06:28 PM
England v Costa Rica should be interesting...

20-06-2014, 06:38 PM
I love Cannavaro, Mr Roy:not worth:faf::top marks

(((Fergus)))
20-06-2014, 06:48 PM
MON giving Cannavaro and Viera a roasting with his vocabulary

20-06-2014, 06:51 PM
It's all ogre for England.

20-06-2014, 07:04 PM
The Swiss goalies eyebrows are annoying me already

20-06-2014, 07:09 PM
Hope his eye is ok that looks nasty.

20-06-2014, 07:11 PM
How can that be?

Commentator says "France and Switzerland have drawn the last three games, with three goals scored between them".

20-06-2014, 07:16 PM
1-0 Francais, they're on a swiss roll

20-06-2014, 07:17 PM
2 now

Not even the Vulcan could keep that oot, 2-0

make that 2-0 lol 20 seconds

keeper should really be saving that at the near post

Wow

20-06-2014, 07:18 PM
Fantastic header for the first.

20-06-2014, 07:24 PM
Did you see the Swiss fan there, total disbelief!

20-06-2014, 07:32 PM
Penalty missed by Benzema

20-06-2014, 07:33 PM
Decent save by Spock, should have been 3 though

20-06-2014, 07:34 PM
I hate it when a pen is saved or missed and they come out with the "inspiration" pish. That's ok when you're on level terms, but not when you're already 2 down.

20-06-2014, 07:40 PM
Fantastic goal on the break by France

20-06-2014, 07:41 PM
3-0 Valbuena superb counter attack

20-06-2014, 07:41 PM
"Not for the first time, there is a mountain between France and Switzerland"

20-06-2014, 07:43 PM

Is Alan Partridge commentating?

20-06-2014, 07:43 PM

Loved that from Sam Matterface, and he should know about mountain's

20-06-2014, 07:44 PM
How would France do against England?

20-06-2014, 07:47 PM
There is only one thing missing in this World Cup so far, a free kick goal

20-06-2014, 07:47 PM
How would France do against England?

I don't think there would be much in it. The 3-0 scoreline tonight flatters France a bit and Switzerland have had their chances too.

20-06-2014, 08:17 PM
Hows Valbeuna playing?

20-06-2014, 08:19 PM
His usual busy self, although France have taken their foot of the gas a bit (understandably given the temperature).

20-06-2014, 08:25 PM
Benzema 4-0

20-06-2014, 08:25 PM
Hows Valbeuna playing?

Forget about the wee man, your other pal is doing well :na na:

20-06-2014, 08:28 PM
Switzerland's defenders have been playing like Hibs' defenders tonight. Absolute diabolical again.

20-06-2014, 08:30 PM
Five, the French are flying here

20-06-2014, 08:31 PM
And now it's 5. Sissoko set up by Benzema

20-06-2014, 08:32 PM
Great move and finish. 5-0 France.

20-06-2014, 08:39 PM
5-1 30yd Swiss daisy cutter free kick.

Match on !

That's Switzerland dead as a country with Spain.

Woohoo and now a free kick, best World Cup i can remember properly

20-06-2014, 08:40 PM
There is only one thing missing in this World Cup so far, a free kick goal

Your wish has been granted.

20-06-2014, 08:41 PM
Cant believe ive missed this. I see Benzema missed a pen :greengrin

20-06-2014, 08:41 PM
Your wish has been granted.

:top marks I know, hope Jorge starts to complete an enjoyable day

20-06-2014, 08:42 PM

Whoever told you that is a liar, he's scored 5:cb

20-06-2014, 08:42 PM
Woohoo and now a free kick, best World Cup i can remember properly

Just said the same.

I'd like two more free kicks,a couple long range goals and an individual tournament that defies belief (benzema a candidate) first.

out of interest how far back can you remember? My first was 1994.

20-06-2014, 08:43 PM
:top marks I know, hope Jorge starts to complete an enjoyable day

Hopefully as Wilson Palacios is suspended. Hope Jorge does well.

Whoever told you that is a liar, he's scored 5:cb

Hes the French Nish.

To be fair it was a good save.

Is this the day that the Swiss died as a country?

Edit. Not this time

20-06-2014, 08:45 PM
5-2 now

20-06-2014, 08:46 PM
5-2 now
Fantastic goal.

20-06-2014, 08:46 PM
5-2. Granit Xhaka

20-06-2014, 08:47 PM
Cracking 2nd from the Swiss.

To be fair it was a good save.

I'm just mucking about. I was complaining he 'doesn't show up for the big games' and he's proving me wrong again :greengrin

Just said the same.

I'd like two more free kicks,a couple long range goals and an individual tournament that defies belief (benzema a candidate) first.

out of interest how far back can you remember? My first was 1994.

First major World Cup game I can remember was England Argentina 86 and my Dad doing laps of the room at the hand of god but can't remember anything else about it other than the Pepe the mascot we had on the fridge, I was 6, so 1990 onwards I can remember and this is already by far the best

green is good
20-06-2014, 08:49 PM
That's Switzerland dead as a country with Spain.

5-2 now

Does that mean that Switzerland are zombies?

20-06-2014, 08:52 PM
6-2 Benzema screamer

Edit - forget that, the final whistle had gone

20-06-2014, 08:54 PM
6-2 Benzema screamer

If that costs him the Golden Boot...

Is the Hibby who has just won £18k from his £2 stake on here then?

20-06-2014, 08:54 PM
6-2 Benzema screamer

Bollahs cousin was ref:grr:

20-06-2014, 08:55 PM
6-2 Benzema screamer

Referee blew his whistle 2 seconds before the allocated 3 mins. Annoying as it was a superb strike. What a tournament Karim is having. On this form, I don't think Real Madrid will be thinking of letting him go. This WC could give him the major confidence booster he needs.

RoslinInstHibby
20-06-2014, 08:55 PM
This world cup just keeps giving! Another cracking match

20-06-2014, 08:59 PM
I can't remember any ref blowing time in that sort of situation.

20-06-2014, 09:01 PM
I can't remember any ref blowing time in that sort of situation.

It happened in 1974. Think it was a welsh ref. (Someone will correct me if that's not quite right). Literally blew the whistle as the corner was coming over and the ball hit the net.

ACLeith
20-06-2014, 09:03 PM
It happened in 1974. Think it was a welsh ref. (Someone will correct me if that's not quite right). Literally blew the whistle as the corner was coming over and the ball hit the net.

Clive Thomas? Blew when the ball was drilled across at pace and touched in.

20-06-2014, 09:05 PM
Chiles really is a tool. O'Neill owned him there.

20-06-2014, 09:10 PM

One of the most contentious decisions in the WC that subsequently meant Sweden were eliminated (despite scoring a legit goal).

IIRC it was against Brazil

20-06-2014, 09:12 PM
One of the most contentious decisions in the WC that subsequently meant Sweden were eliminated (despite scoring a legit goal).

Definitely vs Brazil.

20-06-2014, 09:16 PM

He took the mickey out of Vieira earlier as well.

he absolutely did Robbie Williams over in 2002 as well. (No idea why Robbie Williams was on a football show)

StevieT
20-06-2014, 09:21 PM
Clive Thomas? Blew when the ball was drilled across at pace and touched in.

It was indeed him

Brazil v Sweden 1978. Ended 1-1

20-06-2014, 09:43 PM
Honduras Ecuador might be a bit gritty. Nice to see Claros playing.

20-06-2014, 09:51 PM

It was Brazil that scored the goal chopped off.

Nevi_SOL
20-06-2014, 09:51 PM
Claros starts for Honduras

20-06-2014, 09:53 PM
Cumon Claros

20-06-2014, 09:55 PM

Thought MON was going to get up and either chin him or get rid of his mic and walk out.

20-06-2014, 09:56 PM
Is Claros the first player to get shot in the head, then play in the world cup finals?

20-06-2014, 10:00 PM
:flag::flag::flag::flag:JORGE CLAROS BLUE n WHITE ARMY
:flag::flag::flag::flag:

http://www.askipedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/honduras-flag.jpg

20-06-2014, 10:02 PM
Is Claros the first player to get shot in the head, then play in the world cup finals?

20-06-2014, 10:04 PM
Ben williams the referee as well. Glad to see he got himself fixed up.

20-06-2014, 10:04 PM
Thought MON was going to get up and either chin him or get rid of his mic and walk out.

I missed that. What was said?

20-06-2014, 10:06 PM
I love Jorge. :boo hoo:

20-06-2014, 10:07 PM
this is going to be a good game.

20-06-2014, 10:08 PM
I love Jorge. :boo hoo:

Absolute hero.

Claros > Thomson.

20-06-2014, 10:09 PM

Brilliant! Martin O'Neill owns Chiles, Vieira & Cannavaro: http://youtu.be/SLV3zpEKZXw

20-06-2014, 10:11 PM

Absolute hero.

Claros > Thomson.

Absolutely no contest. Claros by a mile.

majorhibs
20-06-2014, 10:13 PM
It was Brazil that scored the goal chopped off.

Zico had one disallowed for Brazil in a game that ended 1-1 after ref blew for half time? But thought that was a good bit later than the 70's.

20-06-2014, 10:14 PM
I missed that. What was said?

They were talking about the French wall when Switzerland scored from a free kick and Chiles asked MON if when he was playing and was in the wall with his glasses on did he stand firm or something like that. Can't remember the exact words. Anyway MON came back with (again can't remember the exact words) at least he played football and no he didn't wear glasses then. He also went on to remind Chiles and the other panelists that he won two European Cup medals. He wisnae a happy chappy.

I see that givescotlandfreedom found the footage.

http://youtu.be/SLV3zpEKZXw. :aok:

20-06-2014, 10:14 PM
Brilliant! Martin O'Neill owns Chiles, Vieira & Cannavaro: http://youtu.be/SLV3zpEKZXw

Well done Martin O'Neill.

20-06-2014, 10:19 PM
Good retort. Some people don't realise there were actually competitions before The Premier and Champions Leagues! Sometimes it's like all history pre those competitions has been erased...

20-06-2014, 10:21 PM
Ecuador miss a golden chance there.

20-06-2014, 10:30 PM
I miss Jorge - still love the way he runs...oddly distinctive. To think a good number still don't rate him :rolleyes: He was a real gent when fans met him and loved Edinburgh

20-06-2014, 10:30 PM
Dixon dissing Claros...

20-06-2014, 10:31 PM
been enjoying a few beers after the French game :sauzee: like to see honduras get emptied tonight, shan team on a par with greece. though they just scored lol

1-0!!! Claros' boys score

Hahaha that Martin O'Neill video is brilliant!

1-0!!! Claros' boys score

Yasssssssssssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!! :flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

20-06-2014, 10:32 PM
That might prove to be a costly goal.

20-06-2014, 10:34 PM
1-1 Yessssssss:flag:

20-06-2014, 10:35 PM
A Ivory Coast-Honduras final is still on. Ex-Hibby to lift the world cup trophy :agree:

20-06-2014, 10:36 PM
Thats COSTLY defending there.

:cb

20-06-2014, 10:37 PM
A Ivory Coast-Honduras final is still on. Ex-Hibby to lift the world cup trophy :agree:

Wouldn't bother me which one. Both hero's in my eyes. :thumbsup:

20-06-2014, 10:44 PM
Wouldn't bother me which one. Both hero's in my eyes. :thumbsup:

Sol bamba's a prick. Cost us a shot at a double in 2007.

20-06-2014, 10:53 PM
Its wide open, a good game but I cant see Honduras beating the Swiss next week.

20-06-2014, 10:54 PM
Honduras 11/2 to go on and win this game with Skybet. That seems far too long.

20-06-2014, 10:59 PM
Big boys only. Quite enjoyable but I can see someone walking before the end of the match.

20-06-2014, 11:00 PM
Sol bamba's a prick. Cost us a shot at a double in 2007.

So what does that make Noel Hunt?

(((Fergus)))
20-06-2014, 11:03 PM
Is Alan Partridge commentating?

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/audio-football-commentator-sam-matterface-3624676

20-06-2014, 11:08 PM
So what does that make Noel Hunt?

A Dundee united player at the time?

Jim macintyre however...

20-06-2014, 11:17 PM
A Dundee united player at the time?

Jim macintyre however...

So he was. McIntyre done us twice in semis if I remember. Now he is a Noel Hunt.

20-06-2014, 11:18 PM
Good save by the keeper denies claros an assist.

20-06-2014, 11:19 PM
Before claros rinses a shot three yards wide.

TheFamous1875
20-06-2014, 11:19 PM
Claros has a dig form outside the box, not the best but at least he's willing to have a pop now a days!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

20-06-2014, 11:20 PM
They were talking about the French wall when Switzerland scored from a free kick and Chiles asked MON if when he was playing and was in the wall with his glasses on did he stand firm or something like that. Can't remember the exact words. Anyway MON came back with (again can't remember the exact words) at least he played football and no he didn't wear glasses then. He also went on to remind Chiles and the other panelists that he won two European Cup medals. He wisnae a happy chappy.

I see that givescotlandfreedom found the footage.

http://youtu.be/SLV3zpEKZXw. :aok:

Thanks for explaining! Chiles is a right buffoon.

20-06-2014, 11:20 PM
Claros is everywhere and is playing really well.

20-06-2014, 11:21 PM
WTF has that guy got in his mouth?

20-06-2014, 11:23 PM
2-1 The boy valencia again. Honduras heading out.

20-06-2014, 11:24 PM
2-1 to hurtados boys :thumbsup:

20-06-2014, 11:32 PM
I dont think anyone can be eliminated tonight. Honduras could still qualify if they beat Switzerland and France beat Ecuador.

20-06-2014, 11:38 PM
Jorge is doing well, hope he gets whatever move he is after

20-06-2014, 11:50 PM
I like Claros. Doesn't do anything too fancy and most of his passes reach their target. He could have been the difference last season.

Wish him well for the future.

Lewis77
21-06-2014, 04:05 AM
Being Scottish I will admit I am envious of English football, with it's abundance of talented footballers and mind boggling wealth. The EPL is the richest league in the world. So here is my take on their World cup/International situation.

Not taking experienced players who have won EPL/European titles was a bad move. That experience/quality at this level is needed. I'm talking about Terry, Cole, Carrick and Rio. I know they are knocking on but could have put in a performance .

What Hodgeson appears to have done is kowtowed to media pressure and taken a lot of players who have had a good season last, that's one good season! By doing so he has ignored a wealth of experience and know how.

Not one of the English back four who started those games has won the EPL title, not one!
Not one of the midfield players on the pitch has an EPL title. (Gerrard has been a fantastic player but Henderson? One good season but his Liverpool career before that was low/average at best). The young lad Sterling shows promise but gave no end product.

Playing Rooney out of position in the first game was mad. Although coming back from injury I still believe he was England's best player. He was heavily involved in both goals, scoring one and hitting the crossbar with a header. Not 100% match fit but his experience showed.

Any good team needs a fine blend of experience and promising youth and the England manager on this occasion got that blend wrong.

I think they will beat Costa Rica and that will result in the English media raving about the promise of the Kids and blah..blah.. The same old mentality will continue in the media towards their national team. However, they will ignore the fact that Costa Rica has already progressed so can relax and that it is Costa Rica (although a good team as we know) and not Germany.

It just bewilders me as a Scotsman looking at England with their wealth of footballing talent, in fact the general literal wealth of English football yet they can't put a descent team together.

Look at when they had Paul Scholes and how badly successive England managers played/treated him. The best midfielder of his generation (not my words, Xavi and Zidanes', but also my opinion) and they tried to squeeze him into an England team alongside Gerrad and Lampard instead of building a team around him. That England team should of been built around Scholes!

I hope the English will now realise how good the players they had back in the late 90s and 2000s were, especially in comparison to the group of players they have now.

To me England managers try to appease a pseudo public opinion presented by the media and every time it fails.

I still don't know why the EFA gave the job to Hodgeson over Harry Redknapp? The only conclusion I can draw is that like our FA the English FA is full of gimps who know sweet FA about fitbaw.

In wee Gordon we trust.

PS. Is Harry Redknapp too auld now the the England job?

21-06-2014, 05:56 AM
Being Scottish I will admit I am envious of English football, with it's abundance of talented footballers and mind boggling wealth. The EPL is the richest league in the world. So here is my take on their World cup/International situation.

Not taking experienced players who have won EPL/European titles was a bad move. That experience/quality at this level is needed. I'm talking about Terry, Cole, Carrick and Rio. I know they are knocking on but could have put in a performance .

What Hodgeson appears to have done is kowtowed to media pressure and taken a lot of players who have had a good season last, that's one good season! By doing so he has ignored a wealth of experience and know how.

Not one of the English back four who started those games has won the EPL title, not one!
Not one of the midfield players on the pitch has an EPL title. (Gerrard has been a fantastic player but Henderson? One good season but his Liverpool career before that was low/average at best). The young lad Sterling shows promise but gave no end product.

Playing Rooney out of position in the first game was mad. Although coming back from injury I still believe he was England's best player. He was heavily involved in both goals, scoring one and hitting the crossbar with a header. Not 100% match fit but his experience showed.

Any good team needs a fine blend of experience and promising youth and the England manager on this occasion got that blend wrong.

I think they will beat Costa Rica and that will result in the English media raving about the promise of the Kids and blah..blah.. The same old mentality will continue in the media towards their national team. However, they will ignore the fact that Costa Rica has already progressed so can relax and that it is Costa Rica (although a good team as we know) and not Germany.

It just bewilders me as a Scotsman looking at England with their wealth of footballing talent, in fact the general literal wealth of English football yet they can't put a descent team together.

Look at when they had Paul Scholes and how badly successive England managers played/treated him. The best midfielder of his generation (not my words, Xavi and Zidanes', but also my opinion) and they tried to squeeze him into an England team alongside Gerrad and Lampard instead of building a team around him. That England team should of been built around Scholes!

I hope the English will now realise how good the players they had back in the late 90s and 2000s were, especially in comparison to the group of players they have now.

To me England managers try to appease a pseudo public opinion presented by the media and every time it fails.

I still don't know why the EFA gave the job to Hodgeson over Harry Redknapp? The only conclusion I can draw is that like our FA the English FA is full of gimps who know sweet FA about fitbaw.

In wee Gordon we trust.

I am thinking you are being taken in by the hype and over thinking it. The simple bottom line is they are not good enough at the highest level. Their back 4 are bang average and as for Henderson in Central mid really.

ACLeith
21-06-2014, 06:37 AM
Seems to me the decline of the English team has coincided with the explosion of foreign players in the EPL. How many players eligible for England were first picks last season? The introduction of a few youngsters who superficially look good but don't consistently produce an end product needs solid experience alongside them, but these older players – and the ones you mention who were left at home – all have their best years behind them.

I did detect a strong whiff of realism this time round from my English friends, they agreed with me that qualifying from the group was the best they could hope for, and most doubted that would even happen. Hope they put some money on it!

21-06-2014, 07:35 AM
Stuart Pearce summed it up perfectly when he said they promote the youngsters far too early, not making them to play in all the underage tournaments, they have zero experience when it comes to world and european championships because they've been fast tracked into the senior squad and when they do get picked for the U21 etc they invariably call off and don't play.

21-06-2014, 10:24 AM
Stuart Pearce summed it up perfectly when he said they promote the youngsters far too early, not making them to play in all the underage tournaments, they have zero experience when it comes to world and european championships because they've been fast tracked into the senior squad and when they do get picked for the U21 etc they invariably call off and don't play.

I think they have got a nucleus of players that could develop into a good team in four years' time.

21-06-2014, 10:26 AM

Found it - Clive Thomas, Welsh ref who blew for time in the 1978 (Argentina) finals just as Brazil scored against Sweden. Looked a dodgy decision then and looks even dodgier now - seems to watch and wait until the ball hits the net before blowing his whistle ?

http://youtu.be/S0JFuWqwFg4

21-06-2014, 10:30 AM
Found it - Clive Thomas, Welsh ref who blew for time in the 1978 (Argentina) finals just as Brazil scored against Sweden. Looked a dodgy decision then and looks even dodgier now - seems to watch and wait until the ball hits the net before blowing his whistle ?

Love Colemans commentary, "Clive Thomas in the middle of great protests here". There's nobody near him. Quite extraordinary.

21-06-2014, 10:56 AM

Wasn't that the tournament where the home team had to win a match by five goals to progress and won it 6-0, something like that? And yet people say fitba is corrupt!

That whole tournament should be started again, from scratch. Same teams, same players, different blazers.

21-06-2014, 10:59 AM
Wasn't that the tournament where the home team had to win a match by five goals to progress and won it 6-0, something like that? And yet people say fitba is corrupt!

That whole tournament should be started again, from scratch. Same teams, same players, different blazers.

I think some of the original players might find the pace of the modern game a bit challenging, tbh.

Lewis77
21-06-2014, 11:05 AM

I can think of another dodgy decision when a certain ball never crossed the line in 66'.

21-06-2014, 11:38 AM
About 10 secs late in deleting my post!

What post? :wink:

21-06-2014, 11:54 AM

Personally, I long for the day Sepp Blatter and every single one of his corrupt'n bent mafia are caught !. FIFA Disbanded and the game run by a 'Not-for-profit' organisation so that all profits go back into the game and not s**m's pockets !!

21-06-2014, 12:38 PM

Cheers Deansy.

21-06-2014, 12:43 PM
What post? :wink:

Cheers FH!

Mr Grieves
21-06-2014, 02:50 PM

I watched a documentary about the 1978 world cup on the BBC last week. Apparently the keeper asked how long to go, the ref said the corner would be the last kick. That's why the keeper didn't react, the ref was just a bit slow with his whistle.

21-06-2014, 02:52 PM

Not taking experienced players who have won EPL/European titles was a bad move. That experience/quality at this level is needed. I'm talking about Terry, Cole, Carrick and Rio. I know they are knocking on but could have put in a performance Nah it was time to change the old guard and bring the younger players into the team, the experience will serve them well it's not all about today there will be other tournaments and this will stand them in good stead.

What Hodgeson appears to have done is kowtowed to media pressure and taken a lot of players who have had a good season last, that's one good season! By doing so he has ignored a wealth of experience and know how. ​He took the in form players no pressure to think about, England played some decent stuff, the players he tooke desrved their place in the squad.

The back four were the best available going on form, so what if players they haven't won a title! Are you sure they haven't?

Playing Rooney out of position in the first game was mad. Although coming back from injury I still believe he was England's best player. He was heavily involved in both goals, scoring one and hitting the crossbar with a header. Not 100% match fit but his experience showed
Easy to criticise in hindsight, Rooney didn't play well regardless of his position he has take some of that blame.

Any good team needs a fine blend of experience and promising youth and the England manager on this occasion got that blend wrong.Hindsight is a great thing, the team that started was our strongest 11.

I think they will beat Costa Rica and that will result in the English media raving about the promise of the Kids and blah..blah.. The same old mentality will continue in the media towards their national team. However, they will ignore the fact that Costa Rica has already progressed so can relax and that it is Costa Rica (although a good team as we know) and not Germany
Predictable guff don't worry about it.

It just bewilders me as a Scotsman looking at England with their wealth of footballing talent, in fact the general literal wealth of English football yet they can't put a descent team together. There's a massive difference between a decent team and a World Cup, look at Scotland decent team now but never qualified.

Look at when they had Paul Scholes and how badly successive England managers played/treated him. The best midfielder of his generation (not my words, Xavi and Zidanes', but also my opinion) and they tried to squeeze him into an England team alongside Gerrad and Lampard instead of building a team around him. That England team should of been built around Scholes
Not comparable unless the other 10 were his Man Utd team mates!

We all know that but it's in the past we can only work with the present.

Wrong!

Redknapp do me a favour! Spent and spent at every club he's been at taking them ******g nowhere fast and an ersehole to boot, despise the man!

In wee Gordon we trust.
I agree.

No just not good enough

21-06-2014, 02:57 PM
Good couple of games today, looking forward to seeing Argentina and Germany again

marti1875
21-06-2014, 03:05 PM
Oh my god.....who's awful idea was it to have that Adrian freaking Chiles in SHORTS on TV before the watershed! :greengrin

21-06-2014, 03:27 PM

21-06-2014, 04:00 PM
bit weird that Iran have "Iran love Messi" written on one of their flags in the crowd lol

21-06-2014, 04:03 PM
The thing that surprised me was the lack of hype from Engalnd going into the world cup. Noramlly before they go to the world cup or the euros we are constantly subjected to the English giving it the big un and bigging up how well they are gonna do in the media etc. Surprisingly quieter before this world cup IMO.

21-06-2014, 04:41 PM
The thing that surprised me was the lack of hype from Engalnd going into the world cup. Noramlly before they go to the world cup or the euros we are constantly subjected to the English giving it the big un and bigging up how well they are gonna do in the media etc. Surprisingly quieter before this world cup IMO.
Because they knew they were pish this time. Iran giving Argentina a game!

21-06-2014, 04:46 PM
Argentina really need to pick it up in the second half, they have been disappointing again so far

21-06-2014, 04:48 PM
Argentina really need to pick it up in the second half, they have been disappointing again so far

Iran have done a good job of shutting them down. Can't see it lasting though. Sticking with my 3-0 prediction :greengrin

21-06-2014, 04:50 PM
Iran have done a good job of shutting them down. Can't see it lasting though. Sticking with my 3-0 prediction :greengrin

I'm a little less confident about my 4-0 prediction!

21-06-2014, 04:51 PM

They have done really well but with the players the Argies have they need to up a gear, specially as i have money on it Haha

21-06-2014, 05:00 PM
Not one of the English back four who started those games has won the EPL title, not one! Not one of the midfield players on the pitch has an EPL title. (Gerrard has been a fantastic player but Henderson? One good season but his Liverpool career before that was low/average at best). The young lad Sterling shows promise but gave no end product.

Johnson won the EPL...

Gary Cahill won the Champions League...

Gerrard captained a team to the Champions League final twice, winning once...

You talk mince...

Lewis77
21-06-2014, 05:10 PM
Johnson won the EPL...

Gary Cahill won the Champions League...

You talk mince...

Ok 1 of the back four has an epl medal as a squad player when he was a kid and I state that Gerrard is a fantastic player in recognition of his CL experience, still not won an EPL though, nor has Cahill, that is simple fact.

* Remember I'm Scottish and not an England fan, I find it funny they've gone out. My post was my take on their situation as an outsider, nothing to get my knickers in a twist about.

21-06-2014, 05:16 PM
Iran playing well. Should have had a penalty there too.

21-06-2014, 05:16 PM
Should have been a pen to iran.

21-06-2014, 05:25 PM
Forget the cash Mon Iran!

21-06-2014, 05:26 PM
Di Maria wasting so much possession.
great header, great save. Iran on top.

Fingertip save!

Think we've just seen save of the tournament from the Argentinian goalkeeper there!

Wow! :aok:

Iran should be in front on the back of this second half performance.

21-06-2014, 05:29 PM
Forget the cash Mon Iran!

:agree: We're all supposed to like Iranians now. Even David Cameron says so.

21-06-2014, 05:31 PM
:agree: We're all supposed to like Iranians now. Even David Cameron says so.

Has there ever been a more apt username :aok:

21-06-2014, 05:33 PM
Must say the other teams from the Americas, Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Costa Rica have really put Brazil and Argentina to shame so far

21-06-2014, 05:34 PM
Woud be quite a coupon buster here if Iran hang on lol the bookies must be laughing !

21-06-2014, 05:42 PM
Woud be quite a coupon buster here if Iran hang on lol the bookies must be laughing !

There's £17.5 million traded on the match win market on Betfair...of which £16.5 million is on Argentina :greengrin

21-06-2014, 05:47 PM
There's £17.5 million traded on the match win market on Betfair...of which £16.5 million is on Argentina :greengrin

Yep they have just earned some cash from me

21-06-2014, 05:49 PM
What a strike

good goal very sparkyesque

What a goal, shame shame shame for Iran though

21-06-2014, 05:50 PM
Boom!

21-06-2014, 05:50 PM
Messi !!!!

21-06-2014, 05:51 PM
Wow. the boys different class

therealgavmac
Feel sorry for Iran....

But what an absolute peach Messi....

Quite shan oan Iran.

21-06-2014, 05:52 PM
This dude enjoyed Messi's goal....
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/22/eryreva5.jpg

21-06-2014, 05:56 PM
Messi magic:top marks

21-06-2014, 05:59 PM
**** Iran. Gone against the spirit of the samba for 90 minutes.

Joking aside, they played well but it's not pretty to watch therefor mon the argies!

I heard Riordan taught Messi how to do that.

Lewis77
21-06-2014, 06:01 PM
Messi man, what a player!

21-06-2014, 06:30 PM
Messi, Meh.

Riordan scored goals like that all the time for Hibs.

21-06-2014, 06:40 PM
Mon ze Germans :aok:

Lewis77
21-06-2014, 06:52 PM
Looking forward to this game, I would not be suprised to see a red card or two. I want goals!

21-06-2014, 06:54 PM
The Boateng brothers' clash will be interesting to see. Jordan Ayew dropped, Essien still on the bench.
'mon the Black Stars:aok:

21-06-2014, 06:56 PM
Come on Ghana

Lewis77
21-06-2014, 06:57 PM
Muller winking to the camera during the anthem made me laugh, sly cad that he is.

Lewis77
21-06-2014, 06:59 PM
Come on Ghana

You finished greetin yet pal?

21-06-2014, 07:02 PM
C'mon the East Englanders!

21-06-2014, 07:12 PM
You finished greetin yet pal?

Never started pal.

21-06-2014, 07:13 PM
Pitch looks like sand painted green! Very strange

21-06-2014, 07:16 PM
Both teams passing is a joy to watch at times :aok: Atsu looks a player.

21-06-2014, 07:20 PM
Prince Boateng getting the boos from the germans. Slagged off the team in der bild, apparently.

21-06-2014, 07:33 PM
I'm enjoying this, Ghana are doing well, that winger is electric

21-06-2014, 07:35 PM
Hard to believe Ghana lost to the USA. They look very decent.

21-06-2014, 07:44 PM
This scouse analyst is better than we're used to.

21-06-2014, 07:45 PM

I've liked Murphys punditry so far:agree:

21-06-2014, 07:59 PM

Born in Chester too posh for a scouser :greengrin

21-06-2014, 08:09 PM
Good knee goal by Gotze

1-0 Gotze

Götze scores. 1-0 Deutschland

21-06-2014, 08:10 PM
Clever goal. Headed it on his knee. :wink:

21-06-2014, 08:12 PM
1-1

1-1

wow just when you think the world cup can't get any better

21-06-2014, 08:13 PM
What a response by Ghana. Andre Ayew 1-1

21-06-2014, 08:14 PM
Ayeeeewwww :greengrin

Andre is invisible most of the game, then pops up with a header like that :aok:

21-06-2014, 08:15 PM
What a response by Ghana. Andre Ayew 1-1

Gesundheit

21-06-2014, 08:16 PM
This could go either way. Like the Italians the other night, the Germans don't seem to be up for this.

21-06-2014, 08:20 PM
Cracking game.

Gyan !!!!

Ooft what a turn around

21-06-2014, 08:21 PM
Ya beauty!

21-06-2014, 08:22 PM
The Ghanaians are fantastic to watch.

RoslinInstHibby
21-06-2014, 08:22 PM
Boom! Cracking 2nd half so far

21-06-2014, 08:25 PM
The fans are brilliant getting behind Ghana like this!

21-06-2014, 08:29 PM
It ain't over! :greengrin

**** yes, Klose gets me £100 with that goal

What a game this is! Klose now joint record holder.

21-06-2014, 08:32 PM
Draw here would be perfect ahead of our game with Portugal tomorrow :thumbsup:

21-06-2014, 08:33 PM
Draw here would be perfect ahead of our game with Portugal tomorrow :thumbsup:
Would the Americans not prefer a German win?

21-06-2014, 08:35 PM
**** yes, Klose gets me £100 with that goal

Good work mate :agree:

Hope Ghana can hang on, germans look rampant.

21-06-2014, 08:35 PM
Either would suit - anything other than a Ghana win, which seems harsh as they've been a joy to watch tonight :agree:

21-06-2014, 08:37 PM
Good work mate :agree:

Hope Ghana can hang on, germans look rampant.

Bet my stupid mate Klose would get at least a goal in the whole tournament and equal Ronaldos record, silly twat bet me £100 and told me no chance

funny that he hasn't responded to my teehee text yet

21-06-2014, 08:39 PM
Have to say its been a great world cup so far

21-06-2014, 08:39 PM
Either would suit - anything other than a Ghana win, which seems harsh as they've been a joy to watch tonight :agree:

Tonight puts your win against Ghana in context, a great result for the USA.

21-06-2014, 08:41 PM
What on earth is with Muntari's shorts?!? :confused::greengrin

21-06-2014, 08:43 PM
Thats possibly the best goal saving tackle ive ever seen to deny Klose his second. Fantastic.

21-06-2014, 08:46 PM
What on earth is with Muntari's shorts?!? :confused::greengrin

Yo yo yo , he's a gansta