View Full Version : Match of the Day World Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18

01-07-2014, 09:47 PM
Belgium are so frustrating to watch. They do everything right until the very last moment then take the wrong option.

01-07-2014, 09:48 PM
I know they cream over him on tv but Kompany strolls through games, he is top class

01-07-2014, 09:48 PM
Tim Howard has played very well.

Americans make good goalies. Sylvester Stallone was the best mind you.

01-07-2014, 09:51 PM
Bet he was delighted to see that offside flag. Absolute sitter. Miles onside as well.

01-07-2014, 09:52 PM
The cheap digs are really tiresome :rolleyes:

01-07-2014, 09:52 PM

Pele broke Stallones finger filming that haha

01-07-2014, 09:55 PM
Pele broke Stallones finger filming that haha

John Wark got cast purely because he was the Scottish player who looked most like a jakey :hilarious

01-07-2014, 09:57 PM
John Wark got cast purely because he was the Scottish player who looked most like a jakey :hilarious

I watched it on film 4 at the start of the world cup, still love when the German breaks ranks and stands and applauds Pele's overheid kick haha

Stax
01-07-2014, 09:58 PM
Better player than Michael Caine IMO..

01-07-2014, 09:59 PM
Yassss

Bollox.

Good goal though.

Bout time! :thumbsup:

01-07-2014, 10:00 PM
That is pretty shan on the States

01-07-2014, 10:01 PM
That is pretty shan on the States

My heart aches for them.

01-07-2014, 10:02 PM

"Let's play ball"

"Make it a clean break guv"

Unforgettable

01-07-2014, 10:02 PM
Belgium should be such a better team than they've shown so far, at least on paper...

01-07-2014, 10:03 PM
My heart aches for them.

Sure its not your neck?

01-07-2014, 10:04 PM
Sure its not your neck?

Its just a flesh wound :agree:
DeBruyne played well, deserved his goal.

01-07-2014, 10:05 PM
Is Ron Atkinson back in commentating but calling himself Danny Murphy?

Stax
01-07-2014, 10:08 PM
"Let's play ball"

Unforgettable
Victoire! Victoire!

01-07-2014, 10:09 PM
That must have hurt!

01-07-2014, 10:12 PM
2-0 :d

2-0 Belgium.

Game over.

"Let's play ball"

Unforgettable

Coach, how about i get the ball, do this, this, this then goal!!

2-0 Lukaku.

Think the Americans have just ran out of steam. Can see thr Belgians getting another 1 or 2 now tbh.

Victoire! Victoire!

I read that a remake is in the pipeline. Seriously.
Vin Diesel would be good as Sly. Konte the obvious candidate for Pele.

01-07-2014, 10:13 PM
I read that a remake us in the pipeline. Seriously.
Vin Diesel would be good as Sly. Konte the obvious candidate for Pele.

Vinnie Jones was wanting to remake it with him as Michael Caine

id prefer the Rock to Vin Diesel

01-07-2014, 10:17 PM
2-1, perhaps not game over!

What a goal!!

Beauty!! 2-1

Game on!!!

Yes!

What an awesome goal y'all. Game on.

01-07-2014, 10:18 PM
Vinnie Jones was wanting to remake it with him as Michael Caine

id prefer the Rock to Vin Diesel

Andre the Giant :hilarious

01-07-2014, 10:19 PM
Whoaa thiught that was 2-2

01-07-2014, 10:22 PM
Yedlin could maybe replace maybury in our team he looks ok:cool2:

01-07-2014, 10:23 PM
Why wasn't Green on from the start?!

01-07-2014, 10:24 PM
According to the BBC live text Tim Howard has made more saves in this game than any other keeper in a single WC game since records of such things began in 1966.

What a save that is by Courtois by the way.

01-07-2014, 10:26 PM
According to the BBC live text Tim Howard has made more saves in this game than any other keeper in a single WC game since records of such things began in 1966.

What a save that is by Courtois by the way.

If he could have just toe poked it with his left foot it would've gone in.

edge of seat stuff.

01-07-2014, 10:26 PM
This is still a Belgium win.

01-07-2014, 10:27 PM
Anyone else enjoying this game?

01-07-2014, 10:28 PM
Anyone else enjoying this game?

Nah not really to be honest

01-07-2014, 10:30 PM
Like the fact the US are still trying to play a bit and not just lumping aimless balls into the box.

01-07-2014, 10:31 PM
Best game of the world cup

01-07-2014, 10:31 PM
Last chance saloon here.

01-07-2014, 10:32 PM
Tell you what, this World Cup is wide open, bar Costa Rica you could probably make a case for anyone left in it to win the whole thing

What a game, superb! Great advert for the game.

I think the Americans deserved it for me, largely because they've played out their skins while the Belgians still seem to be underachieving...

01-07-2014, 10:33 PM
That extra 30 minutes was brilliant.

Looking forward to seeing some of those American players in 4 years times, some great youngsters.

GoldenMeerkat
Great heart and spirit shown from the USA.

Time For Heroes
Best game of the World Cup, only disappointment for me wad that it ended!

Tell you what, this World Cup is wide open, bar Costa Rica you could probably make a case for anyone left in it to win the whole thing

You could make a case for Colombia being the favourite due to them being the only consistent convincing winner...

01-07-2014, 10:35 PM
You could make a case for Colombia being the favourite due to them being the only consistent convincing winner...

They have easily played the best and most consistent football so far, they are who I'd like to win it :cb

Stax
01-07-2014, 10:36 PM
What a game, what a World Cup, roll on the quarter finals..

01-07-2014, 10:38 PM
I'd show our new squad whoever they may be that game and tell them we want the spirit and determination of that USA team in every game next season and if they don't want to give it they can go else where

01-07-2014, 10:40 PM
That was awesome.

Late rally by USA was a joy to watch.

Brilliant display by Howard, and the back 4 (especially Yedlin at RB).

01-07-2014, 10:40 PM
They have easily played the best and most consistent football so far, they are who I'd like to win it :cb

For all the incredible goalkeeping during the tournament, a lot of the teams left seem very suspect at the back, Brazil, Germany and Argentina in particular. Colombia would cause any of them problems.

If they can get past Brazil I reckon they will win it!

01-07-2014, 10:43 PM
@DarrenMole: President Obama has declared Belgium does harbour weapons of Mass Destruction & invasion is imminent

01-07-2014, 10:43 PM
I'd show our new squad whoever they may be that game and tell them we want the spirit and determination of that USA team in every game next season and if they don't want to give it they can go else where

Aye. Except Scotland should be the team setting an example in this country, not the USA.

01-07-2014, 10:45 PM
not a bad game to watch :agree: unfortunate for uncle sams boys but good to see a team that topped scotland's group in the qualifiers getting to the QF's

The Pointer
01-07-2014, 11:21 PM
That was definitely the best game of a great tournament so far and such a shame for the Yanks as I thought they played superbly well.

Despite the money spent, the poverty and corruption it looks like it's a fun World Cup. Perhaps unfortunately, the next one is in Russia so it's unlikely to be as much fun - and goodness knows where the world will be if they continue to play silly b*ggers in Ukraine.

Anyway, still a few games to enjoy! :wink: :aok:

01-07-2014, 11:44 PM
Totally. But you'd hope that the usa would develop some quality young players, especially with that massive latino/ hispanic population who follow the game.

I love watching Dempsey mind you. Such an intelligent striker.

Having coached over there the Hispanic/Latino players tend to be the best, hands down. However, without sounding racist etc, they do not tend to turn out for the USA.

Case in point was a Honduran player (IIRC) who appeared in this finals who was smuggled there as a young player.

Closer to home the Blanc fiasco where a lot of African players turn out for France youth - having gone through their system - before changing to play for another country when it comes down to it.

Islam Feruz looks to be the same for Scotland.

The USA has a great set up at youth level but their major problem is the league set up with college drafts. It works in other sports but they cannot hope to create a top side with the current professional system in place.

02-07-2014, 07:33 AM
I am so glad I fell asleep 5 mins before the end of 90 mins..😣

02-07-2014, 07:37 AM
I never thought I would say this but I'm glad we have a couple of days without football and I can do some normal things for a little while and be refreshed for the weekend :greengrin

(((Fergus)))
02-07-2014, 07:58 AM
I never thought I would say this but I'm glad we have a couple of days without football and I can do some normal things for a little while and be refreshed for the weekend :greengrin

Only 8 more games to go though... :paranoid:

Brazil should keep the world cup - the competition, not just the trophy.

02-07-2014, 08:13 AM
Only 8 more games to go though... :paranoid:

Brazil should keep the world cup - the competition, not just the trophy.

I know, it's been great but the regular season starts soon so it's not all bad.

AndyM_1875
02-07-2014, 08:19 AM
Aye. Except Scotland should be the team setting an example in this country, not the USA.

The FIFA Rankings might disagree and that was pre-tournament.

http://www.fifa.com/worldranking/rankingtable/

The US will be top 10 after WC2014 is history. We'll be somewhere in the 20's having improved.

Lewis77
02-07-2014, 09:23 AM
Well had to go tae ma bed last night because it was getting a wee bit late for a 5am wake up, but just watched the USA game and I have to say I'm a fan!

The Americans play with a spirit and sportsmanship we should admire. If you are American you can be very proud of your team this morning. I wouldn't be surprised if they've done more for US-International relations than any other action in my lifetime?

I also have to mention the US fans. Well done folks, you appear to get it at last. Welcome to the world of repeated nonsense conversation about formation, lack of quality, lack of spirit and who the next f***ing manager will be!

Seriously, I saw no diving by the US, when they got clattered they felt the pain, then got up with no fuss. I never saw one of the players miming for a red (although I did see Jurgen running up the touch line frantically doing that, but he's German and although a great player, was a diving cheating basta, so no surprise). They had bite in their game and never stopped.

I just wonder if the 'Continental disease' as my father comedically called it, will creep into US fitba over time as it has here but especially in the English game (my opinion). Perhaps the American public won't stand for it? Nevertheless, it's just nice to see football being played in a spirit of decency and it took America to show the rest of the world how it's done!

I believe.....

PS. If you have a wee boy, which team/players do you want him watching ergo emulating, Uruguay/Saurez or that team of American men on show yesterday? Once again, well done the US!

busby7062
02-07-2014, 09:54 AM
But it's the B B C!
There should be balance in what they show. I'm no nationalist but they create such a dislike with their sports coverage

why don,t they just call it sky sports England then they can dedicate their new channel to the plebs

02-07-2014, 11:08 AM
Well had to go tae ma bed last night because it was getting a wee bit late for a 5am wake up, but just watched the USA game and I have to say I'm a fan!

The Americans play with a spirit and sportsmanship we should admire. If you are American you can be very proud of your team this morning. I wouldn't be surprised if they've done more for US-International relations than any other action in my lifetime?

I also have to mention the US fans. Well done folks, you appear to get it at last. Welcome to the world of repeated nonsense conversation about formation, lack of quality, lack of spirit and who the next f***ing manager will be!

Seriously, I saw no diving by the US, when they got clattered they felt the pain, then got up with no fuss. I never saw one of the players miming for a red (although I did see Jurgen running up the touch line frantically doing that, but he's German and although a great player, was a diving cheating basta, so no surprise). They had bite in their game and never stopped.

I just wonder if the 'Continental disease' as my father comedically called it, will creep into US fitba over time as it has here but especially in the English game (my opinion). Perhaps the American public won't stand for it? Nevertheless, it's just nice to see football being played in a spirit of decency and it took America to show the rest of the world how it's done!

I believe.....

PS. If you have a wee boy, which team/players do you want him watching ergo emulating, Uruguay/Saurez or that team of American men on show yesterday? Once again, well done the US!

Quite an interesting piece yesterday on Talksport (yes, I know) about how yanks in sports like football (American) and hockey (ice) pretend NOT to be injured even when they are, so they think it's ridiculous when soccerball peeps start rolling around the deck in agony when they've been breathed on. If I caught the terminology right, they call what the scrotes Suarez and Robben do "flopping".

02-07-2014, 11:15 AM
Yes Lapsed, it is called 'flopping' and Americans cannot stand it. They have a mentality to fight through pain to win - most hockey players are broken by the end of the season, a football player once tapped up his ankle after severely damaging his achilles to play in a Super Bowl, risking perminent disability. It's just their way!

02-07-2014, 11:30 AM
Yes Lapsed, it is called 'flopping' and Americans cannot stand it. They have a mentality to fight through pain to win - most hockey players are broken by the end of the season, a football player once tapped up his ankle after severely damaging his achilles to play in a Super Bowl, risking perminent disability. It's just their way!

It has been creeping into the NBA though but they definately don't like it.

02-07-2014, 11:31 AM
It has been creeping into the NBA though but they definately don't like it.

My twitter feed goes into meltdown when it happens!

02-07-2014, 12:09 PM
http://cdn2.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/incoming/article30395761.ece/2c339/ALTERNATES/h342/451517514.jpg
http://www.totalprosports.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/Screen-Shot-2014-06-27-at-12.15.02-AM.png

02-07-2014, 12:12 PM
The FIFA Rankings might disagree and that was pre-tournament.

http://www.fifa.com/worldranking/rankingtable/

The US will be top 10 after WC2014 is history. We'll be somewhere in the 20's having improved.

I think you missed my point entirely.

Scotland would be a horrible example at the moment. But thats the problem, it shouldn't be.

Lewis77
02-07-2014, 02:13 PM

But it used to be like that here circa 30 year ago and definitely so going back further. The game for one was a lot tougher, players got a lot more physical abuse and far less folks were sent off. People didn't dive, although my father who is now 73 tells me there were always some players that went down a wee bit too easy. Nevertheless, as more of a continental influence took hold the diving and play acting crept in. This was first seen when Clubs started playing more games against European opposition in the sixties and seventies.

Playacting was and is disliked but has come into the game anyway, I just hope it doesn't happen in the States.

majorhibs
02-07-2014, 08:52 PM

I believe.....

Last nights game aside did you not watch USA #13 Jones, seriously this guy was down every time someone glanced in his direction, all the time, even rolled about one game after he & the REF run into each other, the ref looked down at him & shook his head, agree the rest seemed to stand up more than most, but that jones- looked like a rugby player played like a feart ballet dancer - did you not watch him in the early games? For me he brought the rest of their squad down with his diving. IMO he was that bad.

02-07-2014, 09:23 PM
It was a thoroughly enjoyable tournament for the USA, the underdog in the Group of Death, rising above Ghana and Portugal and only narrowly missing out against Germany. Holding out against Belgium was a sensational task, as by and large they have better individual players. The game might have ended 2-1 and in elimination, but the tale is only beginning to be told.

Jurgen Klinsmann is tearing apart the culture of football in America, he wants dedicated time spent to teaching it as a sport and getting players to practice it more. Previously it was included with softball and other sports as part of coaching and training, meaning that from an early age the time spent playing was minimal. Klinsmann is in charge until 2018 and his mandate is to overhaul the culture of football in the USA.

The players that played at the World Cup this year are mainstays of the side in recent years, but the younger players are coming to fruition now, or at least coming to the fore. Some players didn't make the squad, Terrence Boyd of Red Bull Leipzig has a great future, but his talent needs nurtured further. Then there are the players that made the squad like Julian Green, 19 years old and Klinsmann and everyone involved with US Soccer pulled hard to get Green on board to play for the States. A young forward that can play on the wing and has so much potential that Pep Guardiola fast-tracked him into the top squad at Bayern Munich and he made his debut in a Champions League game. DeAndre Yedlin of the Seattle Sounders has a massive future ahead of him too, such an energetic full-back and able to cover so much ground. Players that currently play in the MLS are now going to be looked at, Diego Fagundez for the New England Revolution might choose to play for the USA and he is a great talent too.

Players in their early to mid 20s are going to be a huge part of the squad, Matt Besler, Aron Johannsson, Jozy Altidore and Michael Bradley to name but a few. The most important one is Fabian Johnson, what a player, he gets up and down that wing, he is relentless and seemingly omnipresent. Equally skilled going forward and defending, he is a top prospect and I hope he continues to develop.

The performance also highlighted the fact that so many Americans are now getting involved with the sport, even as a spectator. It might never crack the big four of sports in America, but it doesn't need to. In a country with 300m plus, even being the fifth biggest sport is still workable and eventually a great team will come out of the States because of the population size, the increasing popularity of the sport and the dedication that Americans have to the cause.

For players like Jermaine Jones, Kyle Beckerman, DeMarcus Beasley, Clint Dempsey, Nick Rimando and also, very sadly, Tim Howard, the end of their international careers is nigh, and the future is looking increasingly bright, but these players will need to be replaced which will be a hard task - especially Howard.

I'll end on a nice meme of Tim Howard, to commemorate his amazing performance and his brilliant service to the USA over the years.

04-07-2014, 11:45 AM
Really looking forward to todays games, should be a couple of crackers

04-07-2014, 12:13 PM

Fancy Colombia to beat Brazil and France to beat Germany :agree:

04-07-2014, 12:18 PM

I'll be on a train during France Germany, not pleased at all. Should be in a hotel bar of some description for the later game. I cant remember the last time I looked forward to a game as much as Brazil Colombia tonight.

04-07-2014, 12:20 PM

Me too. Pogba and Valbeuna to steal the show for France and Cuadrado to destroy overrated ladyboy Dani Alves.

04-07-2014, 12:27 PM

Stuck a few quid on Colombia to win the tournament yesterday... 12-1!

They have been the only consistently impressive side, if they can carry that into tonight's game, they can win. Brazil have seemed nervy and their defence has looked weak against opponents that have lacked the attacking ability of the Colombians.

Could see France getting past Germany tonight too, a mix of how often Algeria could hit them on the break suggests Benzema and co will find that even easier, plus some of them have the flu. Though I wouldn't be surprised if Germany go through, they invariably do. They just seem less impressive with each game this time round weirdly!

04-07-2014, 12:38 PM
France to sneak it against Germany by the odd goal in 3 and Brazil to win by a couple.

04-07-2014, 12:38 PM
Stuck a few quid on Colombia to win the tournament yesterday... 12-1!

They have been the only consistently impressive side, if they can carry that into tonight's game, they can win. Brazil have seemed nervy and their defence has looked weak against opponents that have lacked the attacking ability of the Colombians.

Could see France getting past Germany tonight too, a mix of how often Algeria could hit them on the break suggests Benzema and co will find that even easier, plus some of them have the flu. Though I wouldn't be surprised if Germany go through, they invariably do. They just seem less impressive with each game this time round weirdly!

I managed to get 18/1 at the end of the group stages. Theyvebeen the best national team ive seen since Spain were at their peak, albeit only through four games. I just love the way they play.

On the other hand, Brazil are better than theyve been given credit for andthey could easily click into top gear if Oscar is on form. They'll miss Sammy Davis Jr.in the middle tonight mind you.

04-07-2014, 12:48 PM
Colombia are the best side consistency wise and have nothing to fear from any team imo.

04-07-2014, 01:06 PM
I fear ze germans will have too much in the way of experience for France today, this French team is being built for the Euros in 2 years so they have done well getting this far in this tournament, hope im wrong about my prediction as id like retribution for Battiston in 82 :wink:

04-07-2014, 01:08 PM
I fear ze germans will have too much in the way of experience for France today, this French team is being built for the Euros in 2 years so they have done well getting this far in this tournament, hope im wrong about my prediction as id like retribution for Battiston in 82 :wink:

You could be right Nola but the French have been steadily building up a head of steam. I hope they win today but the Germans are a hard team to beat. Looking forward to a good game I hope.

04-07-2014, 01:26 PM
Think the extra time could be a killer for Ze Germans.

04-07-2014, 02:19 PM
I have done 6 doubles 4 trebles and an accumulator on 4 draws for the quarter finals, you never know. :greengrin

04-07-2014, 02:55 PM
£5 on Fra-Ger (draw), Bra-Col (draw), Argentina and Holland to win

£5 on all games to finish in a draw

04-07-2014, 02:59 PM
£5 on Fra-Ger (draw), Bra-Col (draw), Argentina and Holland to win

£5 on all games to finish in a draw

Yes please. :greengrin

04-07-2014, 03:03 PM

I fancy Columbia to win ,Germany poss edge out france but close call

Lewis77
04-07-2014, 03:14 PM
France v's Germany is going to get wild. Germany by a goal or on pens for me.

04-07-2014, 03:15 PM
Germans have made big changes! Hummels for BFG, Khedira in, Lahm at RB and a start for Klose.

04-07-2014, 03:59 PM
Two quality national anthems, let's have a great game to match

04-07-2014, 04:00 PM
Allez Les Bleus :sauzee:

04-07-2014, 04:00 PM
Allez, Allez!

04-07-2014, 04:01 PM
odds for Neuer Red Card :greengrin

04-07-2014, 04:02 PM
pitch looks terrible for a WC 1/4 final

(((Fergus)))
04-07-2014, 04:04 PM
The commentating dream team on BBC... heading for five live

04-07-2014, 04:09 PM
The commentating dream time on BBC... heading for five live

Its what the red button is for :aok:

04-07-2014, 04:15 PM
Booooooo :greengrin

04-07-2014, 04:15 PM
1-0 the Germans, should open the game up even more

04-07-2014, 04:16 PM
http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_07_2014/post-12982-0-73544400-1404417783.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/MIpS93d.jpg

04-07-2014, 04:19 PM
Boooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ach, Scotland will rip them apart in September

04-07-2014, 04:23 PM
That ref has the most fabulous combover.

04-07-2014, 04:27 PM
Dive

K-Zazu
04-07-2014, 04:30 PM
How boring are these commentators?

04-07-2014, 04:32 PM
C'mon the Erics!

04-07-2014, 04:33 PM

Aye. Lawrenson just complaining about the linesman not anticipating moves, he's only moving when he actually sees something happening. Bloody useless lino, cannae even read what world class footballers are going to do before the do it.

(((Fergus)))
04-07-2014, 04:36 PM

Five live has Connor MacNamara/Mike Ingham with Pat Nevin

04-07-2014, 04:36 PM
Well done Hummels. Scored a goal and saved a goal now.

Lewis77
04-07-2014, 04:37 PM
Have these two taken a few diazepam before the game? Jesus! I'm falling asleep here.

It's like listening to the most boring late night jazz radio station of all time.

04-07-2014, 04:38 PM
Germans have made big changes! Hummels for BFG, Khedira in, Lahm at RB and a start for Klose.

Lahm has played midfield most of the season for Bayern. But it makes sense to play him at RB.
Im stuck on a train, updates appreciated

04-07-2014, 04:40 PM
Lahm has played midfield most of the season for Bayern. But it makes sense to play him at RB.

Germany are on top in terms of goals and possession but France look the more dangerous at times, Valbuena is playing well so far

Lewis77
04-07-2014, 04:41 PM
Soft! Soft I'm telling you!

04-07-2014, 04:41 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/05/a9a3e6ur.jpg

04-07-2014, 04:44 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/05/a9a3e6ur.jpg

Is that Miss Hibs?

04-07-2014, 04:44 PM
Germany are on top in terms of goals and possession but France look the more dangerous at times, Valbuena is playing well so far

Pogba has been good too. Griezman not really involved yet.

04-07-2014, 04:45 PM
Why do they keep complaining about the linesman? He flagged for the offside...the boy was offside. What's he doing so wrong?

04-07-2014, 04:46 PM
Great commentary there Pearce, Hummels turned his back on Bemzema there, aye is that how the ball hit Hummels square in the stomach then

04-07-2014, 04:46 PM
Think the French are potentially a great team but are probably at the same stage of development as the Germans were in 2006. Germans just edging this due to routine. C'mon the Erics!

04-07-2014, 04:47 PM
Pogba is class. Like a wee spikier Viera.

i like Muller as a player but id never tire of slapping him :greengrin

Good move but poor shot from Benzema.

04-07-2014, 04:48 PM
Pogba is class. Like a wee spikier Viera.

Aye. He, Matuidi and Cabeye look the better midfield trio than Shweinsteiger, Khedira and Kroos so far.

04-07-2014, 04:51 PM
Is that Toulouse Lautrec playing number 8 for the French?

04-07-2014, 04:54 PM
Is that Toulouse Lautrec playing number 8 for the French?

Bang on the Monet.

04-07-2014, 04:55 PM
I only caught the last 5 minutes or so of the 1st half as i've been away out. Looking forward to the Brazil v Columbia game though, reckon that'll be a really good game !

Saturday Boy
04-07-2014, 04:59 PM
Bang on the Monet.

Very good, but I have to go 'cos Matisse oot

04-07-2014, 05:00 PM
Bang on the Monet.

04-07-2014, 05:00 PM

Very good, too.

Do you do impressions?

Saturday Boy
04-07-2014, 05:01 PM
Very good, too.

Do you do impressions?

Only of posts

04-07-2014, 05:02 PM
Very good, too.

Do you do impressions?

Aye, they're quite an eiffel!

04-07-2014, 05:03 PM

De Gaulle for the Germans was a corker though!

Lewis77
04-07-2014, 05:06 PM
Who'll be the next to score people?

04-07-2014, 05:09 PM
Who'll be the next to score people?

Brazil!

Lewis77
04-07-2014, 05:11 PM
Brazil!

Clever, like it.

04-07-2014, 05:11 PM
The leaden skies of Penrith is not a good place for an internet connection. Just thought id put that out there.

How's Valbuena Lautrec doing?

04-07-2014, 05:12 PM
France have started the second half the better team, Ozil has been Nelson again

Saturday Boy
04-07-2014, 05:14 PM
The leaden skies of Penrith is not a good place for an internet connection. Just thought id put that out there.

How's Valbuena Lautrec doing?

looks like he's out on his knees. I can say that because he's taller than me!

04-07-2014, 05:15 PM
France have started the second half the better team, Ozil has been Nelson again

Ozil has really been garbage this tournament.

04-07-2014, 05:18 PM
Life makes Lawrenson very angry.

04-07-2014, 05:21 PM
Ozil has really been garbage this tournament.

Its kinda like watching a staring contest at the minute, not much really hastening, France need Remy with some pace on to liven it up

failing that Rene from Allo Allo could do a job

04-07-2014, 05:24 PM
Ozil has really been garbage this season.

;-)

04-07-2014, 05:25 PM
French upping the pace but can they keep it up for another 30 mins.

04-07-2014, 05:25 PM
Why do they keep complaining about the linesman? He flagged for the offside...the boy was offside. What's he doing so wrong?

Because that's modern football; dive, whinge, moan.

Whatever happened to the good old days, when Men were Men...

... and Sheep were Nervous!

04-07-2014, 05:30 PM
Its kinda like watching a staring contest at the minute, not much really hastening, France need Remy with some pace on to liven it up

failing that Rene from Allo Allo could do a job

If ive said it once ive said it a thousand times, you cant rely on Benzema in the big games :greengrin *goal now coming*

04-07-2014, 05:30 PM
If ive said it once ive said it a thousand times, you cant rely on Benzema in the big games :greengrin *goal now coming*

Zay eet onlee wance.

04-07-2014, 05:32 PM

He's had nae service today.

France look a bit lost now. No much happening for them. The Germans are closing down the angles well, not giving the French anywhere to play. Remy probably would be a good move.

04-07-2014, 05:33 PM

France look a bit lost now. No much happening for them. The Germans are closing down the angles well, not giving the French anywhere to play. Remy probably would be a good move.

Remy on, need to try and get him running behind the defence, hope to catch Neuer out when he's sweeping.

04-07-2014, 05:35 PM
Zay eet onlee wance.

Zee one wit dee big 'ooter.

04-07-2014, 05:38 PM

Back to de Gaulle again.

The French James Collins.
I bet JC could score against teams like Getafe too :greengrin

(((Fergus)))
Khadeira at it there

04-07-2014, 05:40 PM

Oh Rrrrrrrenééééééééééé

04-07-2014, 05:41 PM
The French James Collins.
I bet JC could score against teams like Getafe too :greengrin

Aye I hear when they're training he's always arguing with Giroud over who gets to be James Collins.

04-07-2014, 05:41 PM
Germany should have scored there

04-07-2014, 05:42 PM
At least 3 yards offside said Pearce. Replay shows - onside.

04-07-2014, 05:43 PM
Ozil off. Should have been off 30 mins ago. Ganting.

04-07-2014, 05:44 PM
Aye I hear when they're training he's always arguing with Giroud over who gets to be James Collins.

:agree: and Giroud says 'but dont you know he scored twice as many as Adam Rooney when ee was at Swindon, Karim?'He just needs a run in ze team'.

Is it still 1-0? :hilarious

Lewis77
04-07-2014, 05:44 PM
So far an utter let down of a game which the Germans have controlled. Where's the french aggression?

04-07-2014, 05:45 PM
:agree: and Giroud says 'but dont you know he scored twice as many as Adam Rooney when ee was at Swindon, Karim?'He just needs a run in ze team'.

Is it still 1-0? :hilarious

Aye. It'll finish that way too. Cannae see where a French goal will come from.

04-07-2014, 05:45 PM
Still 1-0 and five mins to go, Philip has strolled this game

04-07-2014, 05:47 PM
France really missing Ribery today. Griezman hasn't done anything.

Dan Sarf
04-07-2014, 05:48 PM
Germans lob the ball forwards. A chap in a yellow top races out from between the French posts to clear it.

Mark Lawrenson (authoritively): "Goalie."

Is there nothing he doesn't know?

04-07-2014, 05:51 PM
poor game this.
hope the other three are better.

04-07-2014, 05:53 PM
France went out with a whimper today, thought they would have done more

Lewis77
04-07-2014, 05:54 PM
It's like watching Greece! No real fight from the french. Pogba has gone missing. For all the praise he has received it's easy to forget he's still a kid and not quite the full player yet.

Some French Fans At The Game

The Yanks and the English have already gone home, no way the French will beat the Germans on their own.

:D

04-07-2014, 05:57 PM
I thought the Germans deserved it in the end. Hope to see more of valbuena he's a cracking wee player.

04-07-2014, 05:57 PM
The sad French Fans heading home.

p.s. I now need to wait to see whos badge I use next for my Avatar. I have a 100% record of mucking it up for whichever team I back ;-)

04-07-2014, 05:59 PM
I thought the Germans deserved it in the end. Hope to see more of valbuena he's a cracking wee player.

Wonder if Marseille would accept Nelson, £23.48 and a stunning New Hibs kit for him

04-07-2014, 06:00 PM
The sad French Fans heading home.

Ha ha! Remember we had a French onion seller in Wallyford when I was a bairn!

04-07-2014, 06:00 PM
I think it's no surprise that the Germans are doing so well in Brazil, they practically have home advantage............

04-07-2014, 06:01 PM

So I DIDN'T imagine that?

04-07-2014, 06:03 PM
Wonder if Marseille would accept Nelson, £23.48 and a stunning New Hibs kit for him
Get Frank Sauzee to help convince them :greengrin

Lewis77
04-07-2014, 06:03 PM
Mon Columbia, let's see what happens when Brazil goes out. Maybe here is the answer to that scenario http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hamKl-su8PE

04-07-2014, 06:04 PM
I think it's no surprise that the Germans are doing so well in Brazil, they practically have home advantage............

Nah sounds like you are Mengeleing your countries together

04-07-2014, 06:05 PM
So I DIDN'T imagine that?

Nope, he used to tour all the villages in East Lothian on his bike shouting onions, onions in a heavy Gaelic accent.

04-07-2014, 06:06 PM

He was still coming to our street on his bike in the mid 80s. 'The Onion Johnny' he got called.

****ing asda and their cheap *****y onions :grr:

BVB Hibs
04-07-2014, 06:06 PM
Yes! Halbfinale! Probably shaded it in the end. Superb defense. Hummels just reaffirming why I love him so.

04-07-2014, 06:09 PM
Maybe France were shown up a bit today. Valbuena and Pogba are good players but lack the experience at the highest level, although I would say the same about Griezman and he was probably their best player. They had probably the easiest group to qualify from, so it was quite difficult to tell just how good they were. I think they're a work in progress, come the Euros I think they'll be a better side all round. Hummels was Germany's best player by some way, he's a lot better than Mertesacker IMO.

04-07-2014, 06:09 PM

Not according to my Brazilian friend, Pedro Schmidt.

04-07-2014, 06:12 PM
Not according to my Brazilian friend, Pedro Schmidt.

I've got a Brazilian mate called Hinkelmann who's parents emigrated to Brazil in the mid 40's due to fear of political persecution :wink:

04-07-2014, 06:13 PM
;-)I assume you're kidding? Please tell me you're kidding

04-07-2014, 06:13 PM
Life makes Lawrenson very angry.

He's bloody hard work to listen to, isn't he? Snide, bitter, cynical and petty doesn't begin to cover it. He makes the doom n gloomers on here look like happy clappers :greengrin

04-07-2014, 06:14 PM

Eich mann, give it a rest eh?

04-07-2014, 06:20 PM
He was still coming to our street on his bike in the mid 80s. 'The Onion Johnny' he got called.

04-07-2014, 06:22 PM
He's bloody hard work to listen to, isn't he? Snide, bitter, cynical and petty doesn't begin to cover it. He makes the doom n gloomers on here look like happy clappers :greengrin

Sums him up. Truly awful.

04-07-2014, 06:28 PM
Eich mann, give it a rest eh?

People keep Hessling me with these puns!

04-07-2014, 06:34 PM
People keep Hessling me with these puns!

Göring the polis then!

04-07-2014, 06:42 PM
Göring the polis then!

ahnenerbe back in a minute then

04-07-2014, 06:45 PM

He has and he is good there. However I think that with Germany not playing FBs and with BS, Kehdira, kroos etc, they are pretty solid while they look poor wide and lack organisation. Looked better today.

04-07-2014, 07:20 PM

They were all called onion or 'ingin' johnnys and were usually Breton, with the Roscoff/Léon area in particular being reputed for it's onions.

(((Fergus)))
04-07-2014, 07:28 PM
Danny Murphy's favourite word: "athleticism"

Lewis77
04-07-2014, 07:31 PM
Ok I'm calling it,Columbia 2-1 win. James (hames) rodriguez to score the winner. It feels like his time so why not. The odds weren't worth a bet on that.

Also Why is Adrian Chiles on STV again? In fact the whole ITV pundit team is full of numptys.

04-07-2014, 07:34 PM
I am hoping for a decent amount of goals and a lot of shots of the Colombians burds in the crowd.

04-07-2014, 07:35 PM
Oh im looking forward to this. It will be interesting to see how Maicon does.

Lewis77
04-07-2014, 07:39 PM
I am hoping for a decent amount of goals and a lot of shots of the Colombians burds in the crowd.

That brazilian burd on the STV lead in is a cracker. But that Mexican burd with the flowers around her head is my favorite so far.

PS Blair Drummond Safari Park can GTF.

04-07-2014, 07:41 PM
C'mon Colombia

04-07-2014, 07:44 PM
According to Ian Wright Hummels 'outstrengthed' the French defence.

04-07-2014, 07:46 PM
Lee Dixon slagging Yepes.

04-07-2014, 07:50 PM
I assume you're kidding? Please tell me you're kidding
http://static.planetminecraft.com/files/resource_media/screenshot/1242/image_3876818_lrg.jpg:greengrin

(((Fergus)))
04-07-2014, 07:54 PM

I fear the Colombian ladies will be needing someone to comfort them tonight.

04-07-2014, 07:57 PM
Brazilians looking fired up for the anthem.

04-07-2014, 07:59 PM
Brazilians looking fired up for the anthem.

Yea that was awesome.

04-07-2014, 08:00 PM
Mon Yepes and the boys

04-07-2014, 08:08 PM
**** off

04-07-2014, 08:09 PM
Absolutely abysmal defending there.

04-07-2014, 08:09 PM
Yaassss!:flag:

04-07-2014, 08:25 PM
This has been a great game - end to end.

Colombia just lacking with their final ball so far.

Quadrado needs to get his act together here

Columbia look a bit out their depth.

04-07-2014, 08:27 PM
The Colombia defence is all over the place.

Brazil don't look too hot at the back either, can't see this staying 1-0.

04-07-2014, 08:31 PM
Brazil better in the first thirty minutes today than the rest of he tournament.

04-07-2014, 08:37 PM
Is there a bookie that will take bets on how many times David Luiz looks at himself on the big screen?

04-07-2014, 08:45 PM
Is there a bookie that will take bets on how many times David Luiz looks at himself on the big screen?

It depends on how much you want to lay out as your stake :wink:

04-07-2014, 08:46 PM
Cuadrado bullied. Fernandinho outstanding. Great game.

04-07-2014, 08:49 PM
Thrilling 45 minutes. More of the same please :aok:

04-07-2014, 08:52 PM
Cuadrado bullied. Fernandinho outstanding. Great game.

funny i find him a niggling, snidy wee bawbag, him and Luiz are a couple of reasons i can't really take to this Brazil team

04-07-2014, 08:54 PM
Itv need to clean their windows, manky.

04-07-2014, 08:58 PM
Brazilian uses his thigh to score a goal = great control

anyone else does it = sclaff

04-07-2014, 08:59 PM
funny i find him a niggling, snidy wee bawbag, him and Luiz are a couple of reasons i can't really take to this Brazil team

Hes kept the colombian midfield out of the game. A total Destroyer tonight. Cuadrado needs to grow a pair and run at Marcelo. They can still win this.

04-07-2014, 08:59 PM
Brazilian uses his thigh to score a goal = great control

anyone else does it = sclaff

Stop whinging like a girly ! :greengrin

04-07-2014, 09:00 PM
Columbia defending poor

Cuadrado very poor

Brazil will win this IMO

04-07-2014, 09:01 PM
Hes kept the colombian midfield out of the game. A total Destroyer tonight. Cuadrado needs to grow a pair and run at Marcelo. They can still win this.

He's done enough to warrant 2 yellows already, also what's the point in the spray paint if half the Brazilian team are at the ball before its taken

im not bitter haha

04-07-2014, 09:03 PM
Stop whinging like a girly ! :greengrin

Naw the world is against me, its my baw and im going hame

04-07-2014, 09:08 PM
He's done enough to warrant 2 yellows already, also what's the point in the spray paint if half the Brazilian team are at the ball before its taken

im not bitter haha

They are a physical team that intimidates players. Always have been since 1982 when they last had a flair side. Samba football is a myth. I dont really like them either!

04-07-2014, 09:15 PM
The amount of fouls is ridiculous

04-07-2014, 09:17 PM
Maicon is better than Dani Alves on this evidence.

04-07-2014, 09:19 PM
My anyone but Brazil campaign has officially started

04-07-2014, 09:28 PM
Boom

Strikkkkkkkkkeeeeee!!!

What a goal by that horrible barsteward Luiz.

I like him

04-07-2014, 09:29 PM
What a strike, had to be that prick

04-07-2014, 09:29 PM
Hopefully Germany hump them in the semi's

04-07-2014, 09:30 PM
It was clearly a foul, how can they complain about the free kick??

04-07-2014, 09:30 PM

They wont

04-07-2014, 09:32 PM

Really hope so.

I've no real idea why I dislike Brazil so much, I've just never liked them.

The fact Pele always seems lile a tedious old bore probably has something to do with it.

04-07-2014, 09:32 PM
It was clearly a foul, how can they complain about the free kick??

Id complain as well, the ref never gave Colombia one from one yard away when Thiago Silva went through the Colombian dude, leaves you open for being questioned

04-07-2014, 09:33 PM
Id complain as well, the ref never gave Colombia one from one yard away when Thiago Silva went through the Colombian dude, leaves you open for being questioned

Columbia have had plenty free kicks as well. It was a foul.....so wether the ref got one wrong or not earlier isn't relevant.

04-07-2014, 09:34 PM
Brazil fans cheering hoofball, they should watch some Scottish football.

04-07-2014, 09:36 PM
Am I the only one that thinks the keeper could have maybe done better with that?

04-07-2014, 09:36 PM
Columbia have had plenty free kicks as well. It was a foul.....so wether the ref got one wrong or not earlier isn't relevant.

Not a chance, if you feel hard done by and your best player gets booted off the ball all the time then of course you are going to complain

04-07-2014, 09:37 PM
Yaaaas come on