[
8]
28-06-2012, 08:35 PM
2-1
2 minutes remaining.....
28-06-2012, 08:38 PM
Awards the freekick and then blows for full time after the ball is kicked?
28-06-2012, 08:39 PM
Germany were like a rabbit caught in the headlights. Still a young team though.
28-06-2012, 08:40 PM
I am one of 303 voters who were wrong.
Well done to those who predicted Italy and Spain :agree::thumbsup:
28-06-2012, 08:58 PM
Pirlo was magnificent tonight. He won't get as much space against the Germans though.
A masterclass in penalty taking.:aok:
Pirlo gets space against anyone.
:not worth
I bow to your greater knowledge, and Pirlo the magnificent.:aok:
The Germans never turn up for anything.
28-06-2012, 09:00 PM
:not worth
I bow to your greater knowledge, and Pirlo the magnificent.:aok:
The Germans never turn up for anything.
You must bear in mind that Warsaw hasn't been a lucky venue for them in the past, you know.
28-06-2012, 09:02 PM
England at least took them to penalties..................Germany pah!
28-06-2012, 09:11 PM
England at least took them to penalties..................Germany pah!
You're not suggesting the English FA are complicit in a match-fixing scandal, are you? :confused::wink:
28-06-2012, 09:12 PM
You must bear in mind that Warsaw hasn't been a lucky venue for them in the past, you know.
Aye, counter attack usually finishes them there...
28-06-2012, 10:06 PM
Well done Italy i think their players got a boost knowing there is now a more corrupt league in the world than theirs
28-06-2012, 10:09 PM
I'm on holiday in Malta the noo at the middle of St Julians is going nuts with all the Italianos. This is mental. What a great night. Can't wait for Sunday.
Teo10
29-06-2012, 07:29 AM
Pirlo once again bossing the game! the way he just drops the shoulder leaving players for dead is unreal!
Balotelli finally showing us what he can do, Cassano was outstanding, Montolivo didn's stop running the time he was on the pitch and Di Rossi again the rock in that midfield!
So much fight in the Italians last night to chase down every loose ball and everytime a german player had it, not easy to keep Gomez quiet either.
Nice to see Neuer applaud Balotelli after his second. PING!
30-06-2012, 07:56 AM
Good article here on what should be a classic.
http://m.guardian.co.uk/ms/p/gnm/op/sazEseHWna2VJMmxaY4JSmg/view.m?id=15&gid=football/blog/2012/jun/29/euro-2012-spain-italy-history&cat=football
After all the sky-fuelled hype around the English league and the champions league, its good to be watching a GENUINELY massive game. Hibs aside, National fitba is still the ultimate to me.
01-07-2012, 06:14 PM
I have a sneaking suspicion Spain will win tonight quite easily. If they get an early goal, i can see them picking Italy off, and winning by 2 or 3.
01-07-2012, 06:55 PM
Just lik the semi,.Italy start slowly. Chiellini and Bonucci the matchfixer keep giving away possession.
01-07-2012, 07:00 PM
1-0 :(
01-07-2012, 07:00 PM
Excellent goal, it's been coming.
VickMackie
01-07-2012, 07:04 PM
If Italy are losing by 2 at half time I'll not watch the rest.
Spain bore the **** out of me.
01-07-2012, 07:08 PM
Chielini off injured. Could be a blessing
01-07-2012, 07:16 PM
They have been fantastic so far IMO.
01-07-2012, 07:20 PM
Italy are doing well but I think Spain are going to prove to be too good for them in the end.
VickMackie
01-07-2012, 07:23 PM
They have been fantastic so far IMO.
They're amazing and play like no other team I've seen with the exception of the obvious club team.
However, for all the technical ability and world class talent they usually rip the soul out of a game and turn it into a no contest.
Hope Italy win for that reason alone.
Littlest Hobo
01-07-2012, 07:25 PM
You can't be serious, can you??
01-07-2012, 07:25 PM
All this pressing the midfield is killing the sport. Tantamount to cheating IMO. Spain are so good at it.
01-07-2012, 07:27 PM
2-0 :(
VickMackie
01-07-2012, 07:29 PM
You can't be serious, can you??
Yep. That's the tournament finished now.
There's no element of surprise in their games. The sparkle of their team has gone for me.
01-07-2012, 07:32 PM
Yep. That's the tournament finished now.
There's no element of surprise in their games. The sparkle of their team has gone for me.
The pass and run then finish for the 2nd goal was absolutely superb.
01-07-2012, 07:35 PM
For a team that is supposedly boring they have been very good to watch! Spain have taken their style that won them the Euro's and World cup and evolved it into another phase of fluid footballing style. If Hibs want to be this boring next season I may struggle to stay in my seat! :greengrin
VickMackie
01-07-2012, 07:37 PM
The pass and run then finish for the 2nd goal was absolutely superb.
I know, but now it's just 'normal'. It's practically a foregone conclusion before the game starts.
I don't know how to describe it but there's no 'energy' in their games because of their style. There's no risk in their game because they strangle it.
I know people disagree but that's just my opinion. I'd rather watch a last day of the season relegation decider than Spain.
I may be over emphasising my point but I just get bored.
01-07-2012, 07:45 PM
I find it hard to believe that people find the way Spain play boring, the technical ability on show and passing and moving is way above anything I have ever seen.
Spain have not always played this way but play to the strengths of the superb players they now have, mainly Xavi & Iniesta.
Iniesta in particular has been immense tonight and throughout the tournament, a very special player. :agree:
01-07-2012, 07:45 PM
I don't think it's boring at all - for me it's footballing perfection and I absolutely love it :thumbsup:
01-07-2012, 07:59 PM
Italy using up all of their substitutes before the 60 minute mark.....
01-07-2012, 08:05 PM
.......and now a man down.
01-07-2012, 08:09 PM
I don't think it's boring at all - for me it's footballing perfection and I absolutely love it :thumbsup:
Footballing 'PERFECTION'??? :grr:
Were you not at the 6-2? :dunno:
01-07-2012, 08:11 PM
Footballing 'PERFECTION'??? :grr:
Were you not at the 6-2? :dunno:
Russell Latapy's goal was footballing perfection!
01-07-2012, 08:21 PM
Spain are just a different class. I thought they took a while to really click into gear in this tournament but they are certainly looking the real deal now!
01-07-2012, 08:21 PM
No national team in Europe gets near this Spanish team. Maybe the Brazlians or the Argies on their day in the World Cup maybe.
01-07-2012, 08:22 PM
Wonder if Craig Thomson is watching? See that you dirty yam cheating ****, when a player clips his own heels it's no a foul!
01-07-2012, 08:26 PM
3-0 :rolleyes:
01-07-2012, 08:29 PM
Game set and match!
Well done Spain, a truly fantastic team!
01-07-2012, 08:31 PM
4-0
4-0, Mata.
Spain can win all the cups they want, but untill they admit that paella is a poor mans risotto then it's all a bit meaningless really.
4-0 !!!
01-07-2012, 08:34 PM
Not taking anything away from Spain but looks like fitness been a problem for Italy tonight.
01-07-2012, 08:35 PM
Not taking anything away from Spain but looks like fitness been a problem for Italy tonight.
They look unfit because Spain have run them ragged all night.
01-07-2012, 08:36 PM
Italy found them boring too, they were bored to death tonight
01-07-2012, 08:37 PM
They look unfit because Spain have run them ragged all night.
True.
Their pressing game whenever they lost the ball tonight has been excellent.
01-07-2012, 08:38 PM
Balotelli storming off in the huff.
But I bet he wont be up town tonight partying and getting high like certain members of our team did after our final humiliation . . . .
01-07-2012, 09:19 PM
Thought that was the performance of the tournament actually, before that I would have said the way Italy dismantled a really good German side, but Spain are in a different league from everybody just now, they're breathtaking to watch when they play like this. Xavi's passing for 2 of the goals was brilliant, Iniesta was brilliant the entire game. In a way I think the fact that they didn't play with a recognized striker might have helped them with regards Pirlo, although Fabregas caused Italy problems virtually every time he had the ball. Brilliant performance by a brilliant team.
01-07-2012, 09:21 PM
Michael Jackson must be turning in his grave tonight...!! :bitchy:
01-07-2012, 09:24 PM
Can we put this whole "Spain are boring" pish to bed now please??
Brilliant, absolutely brilliant performance.
goosano
01-07-2012, 09:30 PM
I'm now convinced that Vicente Del Bosque is Droopy's love child
01-07-2012, 09:33 PM
Busquets has now won the Euro's x1,World Cup x1, La Liga x3,UCL x2, Coppa DR x2,UEFA SC x2,Club World Cup x2. At the age of 23.
01-07-2012, 10:46 PM
No national team in Europe gets near this Spanish team. Maybe the Brazlians or the Argies on their day in the World Cup maybe.
If their recent history shows us anything it's that they struggle against South American teams :agree:.
01-07-2012, 10:47 PM
I'm now convinced that Vicente Del Bosque is Droopy's love child
Nah, he's Rene from 'Allo 'Allo' :wink:
01-07-2012, 10:50 PM
Torres wins the Golden boot not a bad season for him after all :greengrin
01-07-2012, 10:52 PM
The boring teams are those who cant play against the best national team in the world. I thought i'd heard it all, but strangling the game. :faf: If you cant keep the ball, how do you expect to play other than press them?
Then their skill pace and power takes over and they rip you apart, not by strangling the game, but by playing the ball as it should be played, along the ground and by quality of passing. I never thought i'd see the day where folk prefer the Wimbledon way to the Hibs way? :wink:
Hibby_Paul
01-07-2012, 11:28 PM
Whoo Hoo won the Fantasy Footy leauge....wish we had all stuck a tennner in now! pah :greengrin
Inspired choice to make Jordi Alba captain for the final, he was awesome.
Well done Spain, glad they were back to playing great stuff in the final.
I know, but now it's just 'normal'. It's practically a foregone conclusion before the game starts.
I don't know how to describe it but there's no 'energy' in their games because of their style. There's no risk in their game because they strangle it.
I know people disagree but that's just my opinion. I'd rather watch a last day of the season relegation decider than Spain.
I may be over emphasising my point but I just get bored.
That's just as important and great to watch as all the stuff when they have the ball. The system is close to footballing perfection.
I love seeing the energy and pressure put on the opposition. It makes them work hard and they have to think and move quickly or they're going to lose the ball. They do this for 90 mins and keep their shape which must be so hard to play against.
When they do have the ball its just wonderful to watch. Its almost as if they are playing passes they don't need to when there's no danger but it keeps the ball moving and the opponent on their toes. When they do move forward the same accuracy is there and the movement and awareness is out of this world. Even when teams press as hard as they do they have answers and can play through them. I could watch that all night.
This has to be the best national team I have ever seen but I think there is light at the end of the tunnel for everyone else. I think Spain have played, or tried to play this way for a while now. It's only bearing fruit now because of these talented individuals who have all appeared at the same time. In ten years time they will still be playing the same way but will they have the calibre of player to dominate like they have done for the past five years?
I also think they are beatable and have shown chinks in their armour. Italy played a perfect game against them first time, hitting them on the break time and time again while not letting Spain through. Portugal arguably should have beaten them in ninety minutes. Even tonight after a fantastic Spanish first half display I think Italy came out and gave as good as they got just after half time. Italy's midfielders, especially Pirlo found space they hadn't previously and manufactured some great chances. If they had stuck one of them away then who knows what might have happened. The guy going off killed the game and it was a shame in a way to see the Italian heads go down.
Has there ever been a better team than this? Brazil '70 keep getting mentioned but I reckon Brazil '82 would give them a game.
VickMackie
02-07-2012, 04:51 AM
That's just as important and great to watch as all the stuff when they have the ball. The system is close to footballing perfection.
I love seeing the energy and pressure put on the opposition. It makes them work hard and they have to think and move quickly or they're going to lose the ball. They do this for 90 mins and keep their shape which must be so hard to play against.
When they do have the ball its just wonderful to watch. Its almost as if they are playing passes they don't need to when there's no danger but it keeps the ball moving and the opponent on their toes. When they do move forward the same accuracy is there and the movement and awareness is out of this world. Even when teams press as hard as they do they have answers and can play through them. I could watch that all night.
This has to be the best national team I have ever seen but I think there is light at the end of the tunnel for everyone else. I think Spain have played, or tried to play this way for a while now. It's only bearing fruit now because of these talented individuals who have all appeared at the same time. In ten years time they will still be playing the same way but will they have the calibre of player to dominate like they have done for the past five years?
I also think they are beatable and have shown chinks in their armour. Italy played a perfect game against them first time, hitting them on the break time and time again while not letting Spain through. Portugal arguably should have beaten them in ninety minutes. Even tonight after a fantastic Spanish first half display I think Italy came out and gave as good as they got just after half time. Italy's midfielders, especially Pirlo found space they hadn't previously and manufactured some great chances. If they had stuck one of them away then who knows what might have happened. The guy going off killed the game and it was a shame in a way to see the Italian heads go down.
Has there ever been a better team than this? Brazil '70 keep getting mentioned but I reckon Brazil '82 would give them a game.
Excellent post.
And for some on this thread, pure technical ability and excitement and enjoyment are not mutually exclusive. For me anyway.
Once you've seen it over and over for 6 years it gets dull.
They rarely make a mistake which takes the excitement out it. They physically and mentally wear the opposition out.
Anyone ever played a football computer game and you figure out the easiest way to score then all you need to do is repeat every game by doing the same thing? It gets boring!
02-07-2012, 06:09 AM
So if I get this right they are dull and boring because they have mastered the game?
Give me that type of boring every week at the Leith San Siro!
I hope some of this thread doesn't get read by any up and coming Scottish superstar. "Right son, you're really taking the piss now with your perfected movement off the ball, your pressing of the opposition, the pin point passes, start hoofing it up the park, make mistakes, and let the opposition in on the game":greengrin
I was supporting Italy but they had a terrible start, like a rabbit stuck in headlights. They seemed to wake up after the Spanish goal and had more of the game, but Spain were lethal with the 2nd goal. Italy received the sucker punch with the injury that reduced them to 10 men.
I think Vialli was spot on, the tournament shows how Italy have improved (since last world cup) but Spain are in a league of their own.
02-07-2012, 10:15 AM
A big well done to the other folk who selected Spain in the poll prior to the start of the tournament.
Easy!
Teo10
02-07-2012, 10:18 AM
£3 on Iniesta at 14/1 to be player of the tournement... thanks for the £45 return Uncle Bill!:thumbsup:
02-07-2012, 10:18 AM
A big well done to the other folk who selected Spain in the poll prior to the start of the tournament.
Easy!
Not forgetting those who selected them in the poll prior to the start of the second half of the final.
Even easier!
02-07-2012, 10:53 AM
Definitely think we will start seeing the next World Cup hyped up as Spain v Messi :agree:
That's all that's left for Spain now, to go to South America and do what European teams generally don't; beat the South Americans. While Messi needs a World Cup to complete his CV for being considered the best player ever :greengrin
02-07-2012, 11:15 AM
Not forgetting those who selected them in the poll prior to the start of the second half of the final.
Even easier!
Very true!
02-07-2012, 12:15 PM
Easy!
Thank you. :thumbsup: