View Full Version : Euro 2012 (merged)
Pages :
[
4]
11-06-2012, 08:45 PM
He actually played his best football at Kiev first time round he was unstoppable, used to love the guy, only Batigol beats him as my fav striker
I know what youre saying. Aside from Batistuta it was always Jean Pierre Papin for me. Hasnt Shevchenko had both knees reconstructed or something mad like that?
11-06-2012, 09:26 PM
True. However, according to Saint Alan Shearer, England will have nothing to fear from either of these teams. So its irrelevant.
Ukraine 2-1 Sweden, full time.
Ukraine top of the group!
Not only does it not matter who's top of the group tonight, it also doesn't matter who else qualifies from any of the other groups because, as hb indicates, now that Englandland have got a point off a team who're better than them, they're destined to win the whole tournament, oh yes. :agree:
11-06-2012, 09:40 PM
Not only does it not matter who's top of the group tonight, it also doesn't matter who else qualifies from any of the other groups because, as hb indicates, now that Englandland have got a point off a team who're better than them, they're destined to win the whole tournament, oh yes. :agree:
Take a reality check and stop getting carried away by England getting a draw tonight, they won't win the tournament and no-one has said they will and yes that includes the media!
11-06-2012, 09:41 PM
England are so bad that it won't be too long before the English F.A. check whether any of our players plying their trade in the Scottish Leagues have an Grandma born south of the border. A nation with a population of about 50 million and they can't assemble eleven decent footballers to win a competition that even the Greeks have won. Says it all.
They'll all be back in England in good time to watch Wimbledon and claim Andy Murray as one of their own if he can win that big cup.
11-06-2012, 09:46 PM
England are so bad that it won't be too long before the English F.A. check whether any of our players plying their trade in the Scottish Leagues have an Grandma born south of the border. A nation with a population of about 50 million and they can't assemble eleven decent footballers to win a competition that even the Greeks have won. Says it all.
They'll all be back in England in good time to watch Wimbledon and claim Andy Murray as one of their own if he can win that big cup.
:yawn: :zzzzz!:
Take a reality check and stop getting carried away by England getting a draw tonight, they won't win the tournament and no-one has said they will and yes that includes the media!
http://www.theweek.co.uk/football/euro-2012/47307/how-england-can-win-euro-2012-be-new-greece
Well said. There has been a refreshing dose of reality from the much maligned English media this time around. Unfortunately it won't stop the chip on their shoulder brigade searching for reasons to be outraged. England could do a lot better than some think though. England are underdogs and the players know it. That can produce a whole different mindset. Expect some more dull yet effective football from them.
11-06-2012, 09:49 PM
http://www.theweek.co.uk/football/euro-2012/47307/how-england-can-win-euro-2012-be-new-greece
Not quite! :greengrin
11-06-2012, 09:50 PM
That's hardly the triumphalist garbage we have seen before. I actually agree with a lot of it. Which should the kiss of death to their hopes. :greengrin
11-06-2012, 09:52 PM
Not quite! :greengrin
I'm not finished yet. I'm still looking. :greengrin
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/euro2012/4365250/Harry-Redknapp-on-why-England-can-win-the-Euros.html
11-06-2012, 09:55 PM
If they qualify from the group you might have better luck than opinions from folk who don't want to burn their bridges with the FA :greengrin
11-06-2012, 10:01 PM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/euro2012/4365250/Harry-Redknapp-on-why-England-can-win-the-Euros.html
Seen that in the paper today and to an extent 'Arry is right they do have a decent line up at the back, however i draw the line in including Glen Johnson in that.
11-06-2012, 10:02 PM
You know when we accuse the Jambo's of being obsessed with the failure of Hibs rather than the success of their own team :whistle:
12-06-2012, 06:29 AM
You know when we accuse the Jambo's of being obsessed with the failure of Hibs rather than the success of their own team :whistle:
What, like someone supporting the "big team" spending their time on the "wee team's" messageboard? :greengrin
12-06-2012, 06:31 AM
Well said. There has been a refreshing dose of reality from the much maligned English media this time around. Unfortunately it won't stop the chip on their shoulder brigade searching for reasons to be outraged. England could do a lot better than some think though. England are underdogs and the players know it. That can produce a whole different mindset. Expect some more dull yet effective football from them.
Its not whether they think they are worldbeaters or honking that annoys me. Its their inability to see the tournament and the rest of the teams through anything other than an English lens. The ignorance about the other teams, their leagues, their style of play (aside from cliches that are no longer relevant or accurate; like Germany dull but organised, Italy negative, Dutch wayward geniuses but always infighting etc etc) I dont know if a Scottish-centric BBC would be any better or worse, but thats not really the point. We deserve better.
12-06-2012, 06:36 AM
You can sense the desire, though, just bubbling under the surface, latent. Should Englandland win their next match, or - heaven forfend - their next two matches, the English meeja will be worse than ever. They will have the zeal of the convert on top of their natural arrogance - "Oh how wrong we were to doubt; Roy has engendered a fantastic spirit in the side and we can now go all the blablabla".
12-06-2012, 07:05 AM
I only caught the last half an hour or so of the game last night but the commentators did my tits in constantly blaming the ref even though he never got one decision wrong in the time I watched, even when replays proved he was right they never backed down.
Wasn't impressed by England at all but they're always going to have a chance in a one off game against anyone with some of the players they've got, will be interesting to see how they do against Sweden and Ukraine when they'll have to take the game to them, despite what the pundits were saying I think England could be caused a few problems.
12-06-2012, 08:35 AM
Right lads summer football is nearly upon us so I've setup a Euro 2012 fantasy league, good banter and great prizes get involved! Details below.
Admin feel free to move
League ID 127674
Password 3127507
http://www.dreamteamfc.com/fantasyfootball/euro2012/Account/MiniLeagueView.aspx?PIN=127674 1st group table
12-06-2012, 08:36 AM
http://www.dreamteamfc.com/fantasyfootball/euro2012/Account/MiniLeagueView.aspx?PIN=127674 1st group table
http://en.euro2012fantasy.uefa.com/my-leagues/10743/standings/
12-06-2012, 09:11 AM
You can sense the desire, though, just bubbling under the surface, latent. Should Englandland win their next match, or - heaven forfend - their next two matches, the English meeja will be worse than ever. They will have the zeal of the convert on top of their natural arrogance - "Oh how wrong we were to doubt; Roy has engendered a fantastic spirit in the side and we can now go all the blablabla".
Of course the press would never admit to that.
Watching the Ukraine Sweden match last night and the English guys just cant help themselves at half time they had written off both teams as not a threat to England. While not the best game in the world both teams showed enough to suggest that they could cause England (and other teams) problems. Given England's recent tournament record who exactly are they to be writing anyone off.
12-06-2012, 12:02 PM
Its not all about England, anyway. The second round of games start today, things should look a bit clearer. Poland Russia should be a stormer tonight, massive rivalry, Russia looked superb last week, Poland need to get at least a point. Loser of Greeks and Czechs will probably be on the plane home.
12-06-2012, 12:31 PM
UEFA to investigate claims of racist chanting during both the Russia vs Czech Republic and Spain vs Italy games according to the BBC.
calmac12000
12-06-2012, 01:01 PM
It seems the received wisdom of the English media is that England played really well against France and should indeed have won. My analysis of the match is that the first half was pretty even and in the second half there was only one team trying to win and that was certainly not England. It would be ungenerous to say that a draw was not a good result for England and it is fair to say that France, despite territorial and possession advantage never looked likely to score a barrow load of goals. Nonetheless, it was depressingly familiar(about as familiar as the Scottish media's coverage of a certain Glasgow club) to have to listen to the prattle of Messrs Hansen and co attempting to re-write reality.
12-06-2012, 01:04 PM
It seems the received wisdom of the English media is that England played really well against France and should indeed have won. My analysis of the match is that the first half was pretty even and in the second half there was only one team trying to win and that was certainly not England. It would be ungenerous to say that a draw was not a good result for England and it is fair to say that France, despite territorial and possession advantage never looked likely to score a barrow load of goals. Nonetheless, it was depressingly familiar(about as familiar as the Scottish media's coverage of a certain Glasgow club) to have to listen to the prattle of Messrs Hansen and co attempting to re-write reality.
The second half was as exciting as watching the recent Barcelona v Chelsea Champions League games and was so enthralling I fell asleep. If they play the same way against Sweeden and the Ukraine, they may not loose, but they will not progress from the group stages.
12-06-2012, 01:12 PM
You watched the right game and your eyes didn't let you down, however your ears did as you listened and just heard what you wanted to hear!
fit o' the walk
12-06-2012, 01:36 PM
I thought the game was dire,England were very average with no real flair,really disappointed in France though.
12-06-2012, 01:45 PM
Must admit the perception I got from listening to talksport today was that they thought it was a great result for England though a bit of a dull performance.I never heard any opinions that they should have won.
Personally I thought they played pretty well, especially in central midfield, but it was a game that suited their style.It will be interesting to see how they play when they have to be more creative and forward thinking.Under Hodgson they seem to be more realistic about their strenghts and weaknesses.They arent gifted with tremendous technical players and their doggedness and organisation are some of their main strenghts.To be honest this isnt too unsimilar from us although they are at a higher level.Our best performances come when we are underdogs,we tend to come unstuck when we are expected to dominate a game,which to be fair isnt very often now adays:rolleyes:.
12-06-2012, 01:50 PM
Of course the press would never admit to that.
Watching the Ukraine Sweden match last night and the English guys just cant help themselves at half time they had written off both teams as not a threat to England. While not the best game in the world both teams showed enough to suggest that they could cause England (and other teams) problems. Given England's recent tournament record who exactly are they to be writing anyone off.
Blog from a Swede journo here saying the same. They could be fired up judging by the reaction back in Sweden.
http://m.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2012/jun/12/euro-2012-zlatan-ibrahimovic-sweden?cat=football&type=article
Spudster
12-06-2012, 01:52 PM
Space bar broken?
12-06-2012, 02:48 PM
Boring !!!!!!!!!
However to be fair to the "pundits" on the BBC one , can't remeber who , did say last evening ( when showing " highlights" of the game ) that England ".....proved again they will be hard to watch and hard to beat !! "
That could be a quite accurate summing up :wink:
12-06-2012, 02:51 PM
Boring !!!!!!!!!
However to be fair to the "pundits" on the BBC one , can't remeber who , did say last evening ( when showing " highlights" of the game ) that England ".....proved again they will be hard to watch and hard to beat !! "
That could be a quite accurate summing up :wink:
Was the BBC news reporter on the main news not "High"lights package
12-06-2012, 03:03 PM
I'm keeping it brief and straight to the point.
England. 1 shot on target. Alright they scored a goal but what were they doing for the other 89 minutes or so plus the added on time. Now if some folk are considering England to be candidates to lift the trophy after one average display then they need their heads examined.
England have as much chance of lifting that trophy as Jonathon King and Gary Glitter have of being invited to host BBC's Children in Need in November.
Posh Swanny
12-06-2012, 03:43 PM
Now if some folk are considering England to be candidates to lift the trophy after one average display then they need their heads examined.
Did you find any examples yet?! I know you were looking hard earlier! :wink:
12-06-2012, 03:46 PM
Did you find any examples yet?! I know you were looking hard earlier! :wink:
Can you rephrase that. :greengrin
Posh Swanny
12-06-2012, 03:50 PM
Can you rephrase that. :greengrin
Ha! Ha!
Did you find anything yet? You were getting all excited looking for examples earlier! :wink:
12-06-2012, 03:55 PM
Ha! Ha!
Did you find anything yet? You were getting all excited looking for examples earlier! :wink:
Gives a chance. I keep typing in "Gazza expects England to win Euros" but it's not happening...not yet. You'll be the first to know when. :aok:
12-06-2012, 03:59 PM
England were poor regarding quality, but effective in terms of organization. It was a pishing with the cock you've got syndrome - had they attempted to play an expansive game against France they would have been soundly thrashed. But they are only affected by the same malaise as the rest of the 'home' countries - this region of the world simply does not produce quality footballers anymore - but their larger population means they have better odds in pulling out more accomplished journeymen; the 'stalwart' centre-half, the 'busy' midfielder and the 'pacy' front man. It's wrong to expect too much of them, but organisation and effort can take you far, look at what Greece achieved. I'd hope that football prevails though, after Chelsea's triumph, I couldn't take the game going into this dark hole, and would love to see Messi and co restored as the role models.
12-06-2012, 03:59 PM
Fingers crossed both of these teams go out and try to actually WIN today.
12-06-2012, 04:01 PM
Fingers crossed both of these teams go out and try to actually WIN today.
Should do. They both need the win, really.
1-0 Czech
12-06-2012, 04:02 PM
Great start!
Greece 0-1 Czech Republic
12-06-2012, 04:02 PM
1-0. Samaras will have to shine now.
12-06-2012, 04:04 PM
Nice goal. That #19 was one of the few czechs to impress against Russia.
12-06-2012, 04:05 PM
2-0
Was the BBC news reporter on the main news not "High"lights package
Thank you for correcting me I note you are a lot younger than I with a much better memory :greengrin
2-0 Great start.
Oh dear 2-0. 5 minutes played. Goodbye Greece.
12-06-2012, 04:08 PM
Czech's look like they could really do damage to Greece here.
Bad day to have a Greek defender in the ol' fantasy team :greengrin
12-06-2012, 04:08 PM
That Greek central defender should never have been suspended for this game. Their defence is clearly all over the place.
12-06-2012, 04:14 PM
Is Craig Burley always sarcastic and miserable when co-commentating on telly? He's a right miserable git.
12-06-2012, 04:16 PM
Is Craig Burley always sarcastic and miserable when co-commentating on telly? He's a right miserable git.
You've not lived until you've listened to Craig Burley commentating on an SPL game.
His love for the league and the quality of players just oozes out of him :rolleyes:
Watching Hibs last year on ESPN was bad enough - watching Hibs with him commentating was enough to drive the sanest man to murder.
12-06-2012, 04:16 PM
He's a cheeky *******.
12-06-2012, 04:20 PM
Yes. I thought he was just miserable about Scottish football, but it appears he's negative about all things football.
How the STV came to the conclusion that he should be a co-commentator during the Euro's is baffling.
12-06-2012, 04:23 PM
I'm listening to five live. Danny Mills clearly thinks Samaras is ****.
12-06-2012, 04:23 PM
You've not lived until you've listened to Craig Burley commentating on an SPL game.
His love for the league and the quality of players just oozes out of him :rolleyes:
Watching Hibs last year on ESPN was bad enough - watching Hibs with him commentating was enough to drive the sanest man to murder.
Can't remember what game it was and we were playing the normal rubbish and all he could do was comment on the low attendance at Easter Road. Granted there wasn't much to get excited about on the pitch but I to continually hear him mention the attendance was more annoying than the Hibs performance. Paid for doing sod all.
12-06-2012, 04:26 PM
Yes. I thought he was just miserable about Scottish football, but it appears he's negative about all things football.
How the STV came to the conclusion that he should be a co-commentator during the Euro's is baffling.
Probably because it's ITV. :wink: Anyway his CV must have contained more porkies than a scam email from Nigeria.
12-06-2012, 04:48 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-18409776
12-06-2012, 04:57 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-18409776
It looks inevitable that there will be fights and the police will have some job on their hands to minimise the chaos and havoc. Couldn't help noticing that there were quite a number of fans wearing what looked like the same type of grey hoodies. Not saying that everyone who wears a hoodie is out to start trouble of course.
vanNISHtelroy
12-06-2012, 04:59 PM
Always knew that Fotakis would make it from not playing a single game with Killie to the Euros.....:wink:
12-06-2012, 05:04 PM
Oh dear right in the potatoes. :greengrin
12-06-2012, 05:09 PM
Greece score
12-06-2012, 05:10 PM
You better Cech yourself before you wreck yourself.
Matty_Jack04
12-06-2012, 05:11 PM
Cech is terrified of taking another whack on the head IMO horrible mistake
12-06-2012, 05:13 PM
I think this tournament will be won by a team who grinds the opposition down, and not a flair team. This could be the worst Euros yet going by the opening week.
Wasnt the game so enthralling that when a camera zoomed into the crowd they found an auld frenchie fast asleep!!!!
Bt
12-06-2012, 05:14 PM
Cech would be vilified by now if he didnt play in england.
Reports of major bother in Warsaw.
12-06-2012, 05:25 PM
Wasnt the game so enthralling that when a camera zoomed into the crowd they found an auld frenchie fast asleep!!!!
Bt
:agree: Was it Platini?
12-06-2012, 05:53 PM
As much as i hate england they have a better chance of winning a cup than scotland ever will.
Just wish potter wud gtf then we might get a chance at getting to the nxt euros
12-06-2012, 06:12 PM
All kicking off over there. Poles and the Russians are going at it big time :take that.
12-06-2012, 06:22 PM
All kicking off over there. Poles and the Russians are going at it big time :take that.
****ing insane to allow a 'march' through Warsaw by Russian fans to celebrate Russian National Day. Based on the military history between the countries as well as the notorious skinhead and hooligan firms, what did they expect?
12-06-2012, 06:30 PM
****ing insane to allow a 'march' through Warsaw by Russian fans to celebrate Russian National Day. Based on the military history between the countries as well as the notorious skinhead and hooligan firms, what did they expect?
Yep seems a bit daft but in a car crash kinda way i like it, want to see a mental game of radge challenges and other general mental behaviour
12-06-2012, 06:33 PM
Yep seems a bit daft but in a car crash kinda way i like it, want to see a mental game of radge challenges and other general mental behaviour
You'd enjoy Warsaw in about two and a half hours then :greengrin
12-06-2012, 06:42 PM
Давай Россия!
12-06-2012, 06:43 PM
Can see this game being abit tasty :greengrin
12-06-2012, 07:05 PM
Ive always loved watching Arshavin play, but its the Poles for me. Good start, both teams looking positive.
12-06-2012, 07:11 PM
Lewandowski getting kicked all over the place. Plenty of meaty challenges and good passing. Pisses all over France v England.
12-06-2012, 07:21 PM
1-0 Russia
12-06-2012, 07:23 PM
Poles have looked good though. Not over yet.
Oi! Advocaat! Wheres my taxes?
12-06-2012, 07:32 PM
Half time 0-1. Great game. Russia tremendous again.
12-06-2012, 07:38 PM
Think Poland could still get something from this game.
12-06-2012, 07:42 PM
God bless Dzagoev - fantasy team captain.
More of the same in the second half please Russia! :thumbsup:
12-06-2012, 07:58 PM
Yaaaaaassssss!!!!
What a peach of a goal. Come on Poland...
12-06-2012, 07:58 PM
Yas!
12-06-2012, 07:59 PM
Stunning strike, but kindly do **** off :grr:
12-06-2012, 07:59 PM
What a game !
12-06-2012, 08:00 PM
WHAT A GOAL. This game is sensational. 1-1.
12-06-2012, 08:05 PM
Perquis is some defender.
12-06-2012, 08:07 PM
Russia look like scoring everytime they come forward. Come on Poland.
12-06-2012, 08:13 PM
I didn't realise Dick Advocaat was in Batman......
http://img.tapatalk.com/519a5e4f-a325-a44e.jpg
http://img.tapatalk.com/519a5e4f-a2cb-4fc4.jpg
12-06-2012, 08:16 PM
Only going to be one winner here mon the poles
12-06-2012, 08:18 PM
Dzagoev you hopeless ******* :grr:
12-06-2012, 08:22 PM
Workrate, skill, quality, atmosphere, defending, attacking, sensible refereeing, its got everything.
One of the best games ive ever seen.
12-06-2012, 08:24 PM
It's certainly been the best game I've watched in the past few years. No game in the last World Cup even compares.
Matt92
12-06-2012, 08:25 PM
Very entertaining game both teams not sitting back its end-to-end smooth counter attacking with 2 very good goals for different reasons.
Has been a very good start to the championship, unlike the cagey affair in South Africa.
12-06-2012, 08:26 PM
Workrate, skill, quality, atmosphere, defending, attacking, sensible refereeing, its got everything.
One of the best games ive ever seen.
A late goal would top it off
12-06-2012, 08:28 PM
In the main, this has been a great tournament for the neutrals. Stadiums amazing, vocal support and some cracking games.
Wonder how we'd get on against 62nd ranked Poland. I reckon we would struggle.
12-06-2012, 08:35 PM
Aye Poland v Russia easily the best game so far. Holland v Germany is the one i am looking forward to seeing , should be meaty.
12-06-2012, 08:36 PM
Best game of the tournament by far
13-06-2012, 03:52 PM
Read on the bbc sports website that russia have been docked 6 points due to crowd violence. The points are deducted from their Euro 2016 qualifiers... Hope Scotland are drawn in their group :greengrin
Link: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18431163
GORDONSMITH7
13-06-2012, 03:57 PM
Read on the bbc sports website that russia have been docked 6 points due to crowd violence. The points are deducted from their Euro 2016 qualifiers... Hope Scotland are drawn in their group :greengrin
Laudable! Take it England backdated will loose 600.
BIG G
13-06-2012, 04:12 PM
It will be England who get drawn in their group together with Luxembourg, Malta, Andorra and San Marino.
Scotland will get Germany, Holland, Spain, Italy and France.
13-06-2012, 04:20 PM
I presume Poland will face similar sanctions, considering over 140 of their fans were arrested for fighting in the streets of Warsaw last night?
13-06-2012, 04:23 PM
Goal. Pork and Cheese 1-0
13-06-2012, 04:24 PM
I hate that cheating git.
But a good header.
13-06-2012, 04:35 PM
Danes 0-2 Portugal: Postiga
2-0 Postiga.
2-0, Postiga
13-06-2012, 04:39 PM
It pains me to say that the ref is having a good game. Mind you he hasn't had any difficult decisions to make......yet.
13-06-2012, 04:40 PM
Denmark 1-2 Portugal - Bendtner
Good game thus far!
13-06-2012, 04:40 PM
Craig Thomson ref.
One team 2-0 up
2-1 after 40 minutes.
This all looks familiar.
C'mon the penalty. :wink:
neilmartinrocks
13-06-2012, 04:44 PM
I presume Poland will face similar sanctions, considering over 140 of their fans were arrested for fighting in the streets of Warsaw last night?
but not at the game though i assume?
13-06-2012, 04:51 PM
Another great game so far...On target to be Best tournament ever?
13-06-2012, 04:54 PM
Jamie Carragher in the studio- someone get the subtitles up.
13-06-2012, 05:03 PM
Jamie Carragher in the studio- someone get the subtitles up.
Can't take him serious with that accent. I'm half expecting Harry Enfield and Rod Hull to make an appearance.
Apologies to any scousers who are viewing this on their newly acquired laptop after cracking the password code. :greengrin
13-06-2012, 05:24 PM
Just came out of training. How has Craig Thomson's performance been so far?
13-06-2012, 05:29 PM
Just came out of training. How has Craig Thomson's performance been so far?
Disappointed to say that he's had a quiet game. Only difficult decision he had was whether to have tea or a cold drink at half time.
13-06-2012, 05:35 PM
Ronaldo misses a sitter.
13-06-2012, 05:37 PM
Ronaldo misses a sitter.
And gets punished for it.
Bendtner equalises, 2-2 with ten to go.
13-06-2012, 05:38 PM
2-2 Game on.
13-06-2012, 05:42 PM
See David Stephens, stack and Ian Murray have been having digs at Craig Thomson being a cheat on facebook or Twitter.
Sure theres nothing that can be done about stack andmurray but wonder if Stephens might get a bit grief for it.
13-06-2012, 05:42 PM
http://www.inthestands.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/cristiano-ronaldo-crying.jpg
13-06-2012, 05:44 PM
http://www.thenewstribe.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/Cristiano-Ronaldo-001.jpg
Is Mark ****in Lawrenson really the best the BBC can come up with?
13-06-2012, 06:51 PM
Great comeback from the Portuguese. This group is still wide open.
Shteeve McLaren was in FiveLive.earlier in his capacity as an expert on football in Holland and Germany. His input? 'Holland are all flair and Germany are all efficiency'. :rolleyes:
Leaving aside the crashingly boring cliches that we've all heard before, theyre not even accurate anymore. Surely any pundit doing his homework knows Germany play an expansive game these days and the Dutch have DeJong and VanBommel in the midfield to intimidate, and theyre not really a flair team and havent been for.years. Where do they wheel out all these ***kos from?
Is Mark ****in Lawrenson really the best the BBC can come up with?
Change it to 5 live.
13-06-2012, 07:02 PM
VP misses a good chance. Having a poor tourney so far.
13-06-2012, 07:03 PM
Change it to 5 live.
Didn't realise you could do that.
Cheers, I absolutely despise lawrenson, he ruins every game he commentates on for me.
Complete ********
13-06-2012, 07:03 PM
How the hell are the dutch not 2 or 3 ahead in this game already?
13-06-2012, 07:08 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup:
13-06-2012, 07:18 PM
Swapped my dream team captain from Gomez to Ronaldo today.
That was a masterstroke! :agree:
HibeeBigFly
13-06-2012, 07:18 PM
Can someone tell me who the last hibs player was to play in the euro's whilst under contract to hibs? I am struggling to think of any at the moment.
13-06-2012, 07:22 PM
Holland look knackered.
2-0 Germans, Gomez again :greengrin
13-06-2012, 07:22 PM
2-0 Gomez :thumbsup:
13-06-2012, 07:23 PM
VP misses a good chance. Having a poor tourney so far.
McPake dented his confidence IMO. :agree:
13-06-2012, 07:23 PM
How the hell are the dutch not 2 or 3 ahead in this game already?
Germany have taken their chances. It's all there is to it. Really disappointed with Holland. Huntelaar should be on.
13-06-2012, 07:25 PM
Germany have taken their chances. It's all there is to it. Really disappointed with Holland. Huntelaar should be on.
:agree: yip clinical finishing compared to poor finishing, its a fine line i suppose?
Didn't realise you could do that.
Cheers, I absolutely despise lawrenson, he ruins every game he commentates on for me.
Complete ********
Yes I worked it out other day when he was on. First class idiot that lawrenson.
13-06-2012, 07:37 PM
The Germans are clinical.
It will take a good team to stop them.
13-06-2012, 07:38 PM
I loved Gomezs drag back for the first goal.
Doesnt Ozil look like Claude Rains off of Casablanca? :greengrin
13-06-2012, 07:40 PM
Yes I worked it out other day when he was on. First class idiot that lawrenson.
Listening to Chris waddle you hear what a pundit should be saying, he's excellent, gives proper insight into what players should be doing and has clearly done his homework.
Compare that to lawrenson who seems to think he's at jongleurs, why he thinks he's a comedian ill never know.
Normally unbelievablly condescending and patronising as well but I'm sure he couldn't have been like that tonight watching this game.
Complete tit of the highest order.
13-06-2012, 07:48 PM
The Germans are clinical.
It will take a good team to stop them.
All set up for a Germany Russia final, who have both looked sensational. Which means it won't be :greengrin
13-06-2012, 07:56 PM
Holland really poor. That boy Willems is another Gathuessi.
13-06-2012, 08:00 PM
Holland really poor. That boy Willems is another Gathuessi.
Is that the left back? He's absolutely honking, only 18 I think the commentators were saying but on this showing he's nowhere near ready for this level.
13-06-2012, 08:02 PM
Is that the left back? He's absolutely honking, only 18 I think the commentators were saying but on this showing he's nowhere near ready for this level.
I dont think hes beaten the first man with a cross all night.
13-06-2012, 08:12 PM
Lahm is surely the best full back in the world.
He's made Robben look amateur at times.
13-06-2012, 08:15 PM
Some hit by RVP with his weaker foot. Game on now.....
13-06-2012, 08:22 PM
Van der Vaart has come on at HT and done nothing but give the ball away. Holland a bit lucky still to be in this IMO. Genius from RVP.
13-06-2012, 08:24 PM
Lahm is surely the best full back in the world.
He's made Robben look amateur at times.
One of my all time favourite players :agree:
13-06-2012, 08:28 PM
At the next Euros in 2016 he will be same age as Wotherspoon is now. So he has time to catch up.
13-06-2012, 08:32 PM
At the next Euros in 2016 he will be same age as Wotherspoon is now. So he has time to catch up.
He'll need it. Wotherspoon ripped the pish out of him in Holland earlier this season :smug:
13-06-2012, 08:35 PM
He's been really poor, surely the Dutch have a better player they could use at LB.
13-06-2012, 08:36 PM
He'll need it. Wotherspoon ripped the pish out of him in Holland earlier this season :smug:
On this showing the night I can believe it.
Wotherspoon drunk would have ripped the pish out of him tonight.....honking!
13-06-2012, 08:40 PM
On this showing the night I can believe it.
Wotherspoon drunk would have ripped the pish out of him tonight.....honking!
He was crap. Constantly ripped, constantly caught out of position and at 50 minutes as Holland were trying to build an attack, stood on the half way line motionless with his hands on his hips.
Forget his age, this guy was crap.
13-06-2012, 08:41 PM
I dont buy the massive bbc love-in about the quality of the game, it was decent, but not a patch on Russia Poland last night. Holland were mostly poor and quite a few players from both teams didnt turn up.
13-06-2012, 09:01 PM
Thought Van Persie was actually the best Dutch player today, even though he missed a couple of chances. The commentator was going on about Snyder but I thought, particularly in the 1st half, that Snyder was poor. He's one of the best passers of the ball but didn't think much of his contribution today, although that's just my opinion. The whole Dutch defence, not just the LB, looked average at best, even the goalie looked dodgy. Midfield? De Jong's just crap anyway, and Van Bommel's past it, so the forwards were often having to come back to the half way line to receive the ball. Germany certainly didn't have to be at their best to beat this lot, they'll get much sterner tests later in the competition IMO, but Gomez took both his goals really well and Ozil, to me anyway, is potentially 1 of the best players in the world, particularly with a German strip on. The only niggling doubt I have about the Germans is whether they have learned from the World Cup. Until they got knocked out by Spain they looked a really impressive team, in nearly every department, but against a team that hold on to the ball for a long time, they really looked at sea, they couldn't play their counter-attacking game, and seemed to run out of ideas. Just a niggling doubt though, they are a good team, and it wouldn't surprise me if they won the tournament.
13-06-2012, 09:19 PM
Thought Van Persie was actually the best Dutch player today, even though he missed a couple of chances. The commentator was going on about Snyder but I thought, particularly in the 1st half, that Snyder was poor. He's one of the best passers of the ball but didn't think much of his contribution today, although that's just my opinion. The whole Dutch defence, not just the LB, looked average at best, even the goalie looked dodgy. Midfield? De Jong's just crap anyway, and Van Bommel's past it, so the forwards were often having to come back to the half way line to receive the ball. Germany certainly didn't have to be at their best to beat this lot, they'll get much sterner tests later in the competition IMO, but Gomez took both his goals really well and Ozil, to me anyway, is potentially 1 of the best players in the world, particularly with a German strip on. The only niggling doubt I have about the Germans is whether they have learned from the World Cup. Until they got knocked out by Spain they looked a really impressive team, in nearly every department, but against a team that hold on to the ball for a long time, they really looked at sea, they couldn't play their counter-attacking game, and seemed to run out of ideas. Just a niggling doubt though, they are a good team, and it wouldn't surprise
me if they won the tournament.
Agree with everything youve said :agree: although I thought Mathisen (sp?) had a good game and was my Dutch MOTM. RVP was poor apart from the stupendous goal.
14-06-2012, 04:06 PM
Come on Italy!
14-06-2012, 04:39 PM
About time a decent free kick was taken, well done Pirlo
14-06-2012, 04:40 PM
Classic Pirlo goal.
1 - 0
14-06-2012, 04:57 PM
Guy oozes class.
14-06-2012, 05:15 PM
It's all getting a bit physical now.
Croatia looking more likely to score though.
14-06-2012, 05:19 PM
How bad is the BBC commentary team in this game. Slavering more pish than madVlad on vodka
14-06-2012, 05:21 PM
Howard Webb, you cheeky sod :devil:
14-06-2012, 05:26 PM
Balotelli replaced by Di Natale. Good, he's looked really off the pace in both this and the Spain games.
14-06-2012, 05:27 PM
Goal Croatia, its been coming since the start of the second half.
1 - 1
14-06-2012, 06:18 PM
Italy paying for their negativity. Boneheaded tactics (although I like the 3 cb's thing) and dull team selection. Will probably go through by beating the Irish next week but it could be out of their hands...
14-06-2012, 06:36 PM
Hoping for a Spanish demolition of Ireland tonight :thumbsup:
14-06-2012, 06:43 PM
Mon the Irish :aok:
14-06-2012, 06:45 PM
Hoping for an Irish win (haha) purely because I drew them in the work sweep stake.
14-06-2012, 06:47 PM
Nasty tackle from Sellick target Andrews. Good player but he likes putting it about.
14-06-2012, 06:49 PM
Bloody hell, Torres scores.
Great strike from Torres. Slide rule pass from Iniesta.
Great goal by Torres.
14-06-2012, 06:50 PM
4 minutes in and the Irish better get those bags packed:thumbsup:
14-06-2012, 06:52 PM
Ireland getting pulled apart like soft bread.
14-06-2012, 06:53 PM
13/2 Torres to score 2 or more is looking ok.
14-06-2012, 07:03 PM
Its like the Primary 7 team against the wee kids at school. An oirish mum will appear shortly wielding an umbrella saying 'Oi ye bollox, give the wee kids a go'.
14-06-2012, 07:19 PM
I wonder who the Pope wants to win Group C? Catholicism is well represented :aok:
14-06-2012, 07:29 PM
It's so frustrating watching Spain at times.
Put the foot down and obliterate them FFS!
14-06-2012, 07:49 PM
2-0 Silva
14-06-2012, 07:50 PM
Very very cool finish.
14-06-2012, 07:52 PM
This is liable to get a tad painful for the Irish I feel......
14-06-2012, 07:54 PM
Thank god we're not subjected to all this Spanish type passing at Easter Road. Don't they know that you give the ball to the keeper and he boots it up the pitch to the lone striker.
14-06-2012, 07:55 PM
This is liable to get a tad painful for the Irish I feel......
Lets hope so, i never tire of seeing that prick Mcgready getting beat.
14-06-2012, 07:59 PM
Spain will want another goal. At the moment theyre behind Croatia on goal difference and could get eliminated by Italy and Croatia if they draw against Croatia in their last game.
14-06-2012, 08:01 PM
Spain will want another goal. At the moment theyre behind Croatia on goal difference and could get eliminated by Italy and Croatia if they draw against Croatia in their last game.
No reason why they can't bag another 2 or even 3 goals in the last 30 minutes. The Irish have to push forward if they want to get anything out this game.
14-06-2012, 08:11 PM
3-0. Torres!
14-06-2012, 08:11 PM
13/2 Torres to score 2 or more is looking ok.
Lovely
14-06-2012, 08:16 PM
Glad to see Torres scoring again, hopefully this is a start to him regaining some form.
Edit: not that I'm a fan of Chelsea.
14-06-2012, 08:23 PM
Spank. 4-0 - Fabergas
Whos-the-poster
14-06-2012, 08:25 PM
this is both painful and a joy to watch
14-06-2012, 08:37 PM
What a joy Spain are too watch! Ireland are woeful though, a tournament too many for some of the elder statesmen in the squad methinks.
14-06-2012, 08:38 PM
What a joy Spain are too watch! Ireland are woeful though, a tournament too many for some of the elder statesmen in the squad methinks.
Would love to see what the possession stats were. Utter dominance.
Wonder if the Irish fans will find themselves in bother for their "add-ons" to the Fields of Athenry, which were pretty audible and not the first time it's been heard this tournament.
http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/local/republic-fans-in-sectarian-storm-1-3936727
14-06-2012, 08:46 PM
Wonder if the Irish fans will find themselves in bother for their "add-ons" to the Fields of Athenry, which were pretty audible and not the first time it's been heard this tournament.
http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/local/republic-fans-in-sectarian-storm-1-3936727
This should be fun!
14-06-2012, 08:47 PM
859 passes for Spain a new tournament record.
14-06-2012, 08:50 PM
Must admit, I'm fairly gutted the one team I actually supported this tournament out first.
Spose that's the Hibs way of doing things :agree: Who do I back now ?!
Littlest Hobo
14-06-2012, 08:50 PM
To be fair, I think Spain would destroy most teams.
My only wish is that we take a leaf out of their book, try and emulate the way they play instead of running around like headless chickens.
Unfortunately we wont ;(
14-06-2012, 08:52 PM
Would love to see what the possession stats were. Utter dominance.
what's the add ons?
Littlest Hobo
14-06-2012, 08:54 PM
Loving Roy Keane's passion. He looks more upset than some of the Irish players.
Love him or hate him, we could do with a character like him in our team.
14-06-2012, 08:55 PM
To be fair, I think Spain would destroy most teams.
I know, thats why I picked them in the poll.
Littlest Hobo
14-06-2012, 08:57 PM
Must admit, I'm fairly gutted the one team I actually supported this tournament out first.
Spose that's the Hibs way of doing things :agree: Who do I back now ?!
I'm having a mare too, I backed Holland to win the tournament and Ireland where getting my full backing as long as they stayed in. What to do now? Sweden ; )
14-06-2012, 09:10 PM
I'm having a mare too, I backed Holland to win the tournament and Ireland where getting my full backing as long as they stayed in. What to do now? Sweden ; )
I said before it all kicked off that Croatia or the Czechs could be dark horses so I'll go with either of them. Where's my Croat Football Chant book...
15-06-2012, 08:48 AM
16 years ago today since the England v Scotland Euro 96 match.
What a messy day!
15-06-2012, 10:28 AM
More of the same please Sverige. Got a cracking record against the Sassenachs in competitive games (diddy friendlies notwithstanding)
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18453789
Looking at the history, I predict a close game, with whomever defends crosses/corners the best to be the victor by 1 goal.
15-06-2012, 11:07 AM
0 0 methinks. Although I believe Carroll is getting a start as Roy believes Swedens central defence is dodgy in the air at set pieces. 6 of the last 7 goals they've conceded have been headed goals.
15-06-2012, 11:10 AM
France/England double.
15-06-2012, 11:18 AM
Theres no doubt in my mind Sverge will win. Ibrahimovic double.
15-06-2012, 11:51 AM
Sweden to win (as always) but england have that yam streak of luck and if they go through to the quarters then we will never hear the end of it
15-06-2012, 11:54 AM
Sweden to win (as always) but england have that yam streak of luck and if they go through to the quarters then we will never hear the end of it
they will likely face Spain in the QTRs.......so it could be nice seeing that one !
15-06-2012, 03:58 PM
The weather in the Ukraine for the Ukraine vs France game looks horrendous!
Huge crack of lightning knocked the feed out for a bit and a huge streak of lightning lit the sky up just before the Ukrainian national anthem!
15-06-2012, 04:04 PM
Match suspended after 10 minutes. Horrendous weather!!!
15-06-2012, 04:06 PM
Unbelievable weather! Can't think of a game being suspended before?
15-06-2012, 04:08 PM
wow Dangerous stuff
nice tae see the wummin with the wet T-shirts tho :greengrin
Twiglet
15-06-2012, 04:08 PM
Match suspended after 10 minutes. Horrendous weather!!!
That rain is mad! Good on the ref for pulling them in. I wouldn't be happy being out on the pitch with that bolt lightening right overhead.
15-06-2012, 04:09 PM
Bunch ay jessies
15-06-2012, 04:09 PM
****ing Hell
15-06-2012, 04:10 PM
I doubt this will continue.
Crazy!
15-06-2012, 04:10 PM
A bit of rain FFS, get the big jessies back on the park:agree:.
15-06-2012, 04:14 PM
Confirmed: Replayed tomorrow if Abandoned
15-06-2012, 04:17 PM
re-run of france v engerlund :rolleyes: **** it, watch judge judy instead
15-06-2012, 04:24 PM
http://cadfael.tv/image/src/1339776727194.gif
15-06-2012, 04:26 PM
http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m5o2nl6w4M1r6ibubo2_500.jpg
15-06-2012, 04:30 PM
re-run of france v engerlund :rolleyes: **** it, watch judge judy instead
I have gone for Come Dine With Me, it's only one channel over so easy to flick backwards and forwards and there appears to be some sort of dirty looking glamour model on it which is nice.
15-06-2012, 04:31 PM
http://h11.abload.de/img/untitled-9kf8dq.gif
Hibbie_Cameron
15-06-2012, 04:48 PM
Is there a worse presenter on TV than Adrian Chiles?
When are they going to realise that the result or non-result of the Ukraine v France should have no effect on the England game? England should want to win the game regardless of the outcome
15-06-2012, 04:48 PM
Restart at 6pm our time
15-06-2012, 05:28 PM
Cameras focusing too much on the fans. It's becoming an obsession.
15-06-2012, 06:10 PM
2-0 France.
Menez and Cabaye at the start of the second half.
15-06-2012, 06:18 PM
This is looking pretty straight forward for France.
15-06-2012, 06:58 PM
Come on Sweden:aok:
15-06-2012, 07:23 PM
1-0 England, Carroll. :boo hoo:
rosco1875
15-06-2012, 07:26 PM
Oh No 1-0 England What Will Happen Next. :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused: :confused::confused:
VickMackie
15-06-2012, 07:27 PM
Great header.
15-06-2012, 07:29 PM
Ibrahimovic is a waste of talent like. Was he always so lazy, or was there a time, in his younger years, when he put in a bit of effort? It really looks like he sees football as a chore.
15-06-2012, 07:30 PM
i believe carroll is getting a start as roy believes swedens central defence is dodgy in the air at set pieces. 6 of the last 7 goals they've conceded have been headed goals.
ffs!
15-06-2012, 07:32 PM
John Terry did really well says the commentators (Lawrenson :grr:).....well he was kicking the boy on the ground, but at least he wasn't racially abusing someone so I suppose he did not too badly there.:confused:
15-06-2012, 07:32 PM
Is there a worse presenter on TV than Adrian Chiles?
Eh? no!
15-06-2012, 07:42 PM
Eh? no!
Mark ******* Lawrenson.
15-06-2012, 07:49 PM
Mark ******* Lawrenson.
I hate him. I hate him so very very much.
15-06-2012, 07:51 PM
I hate him. I hate him so very very much.
You're a mere amateur. I REALLY hate him.
15-06-2012, 07:53 PM
You're a mere amateur. I REALLY hate him.
He looks like a burst space hopper.
Hanson is also a Grade 1 tool.
15-06-2012, 07:53 PM
The Swedes have been written off with Links and co in the studio. That will do for me.
15-06-2012, 07:54 PM
Ibrahimovic is a waste of talent like. Was he always so lazy, or was there a time, in his younger years, when he put in a bit of effort? It really looks like he sees football as a chore.
He'll score tonight.
15-06-2012, 07:58 PM
He'll score tonight.
I hope so, it just looks like if he wanted it a bit more he'd be unstoppable.
15-06-2012, 08:06 PM
http://cadfael.tv/image/src/1339776727194.gif
15-06-2012, 08:06 PM
1-1, Mellberg!
Get in! :thumbsup:
15-06-2012, 08:07 PM
Get in!!
15-06-2012, 08:07 PM
oh dear...
15-06-2012, 08:08 PM
Links and co get it up ye.
15-06-2012, 08:08 PM
Get in!!!!!! Yaaaaaas!
Mellberg, they've been slating him tae. Too old. Too slow.
Get it up ye Lawrenson, ya prick. What was he like a minute ago, watching the replay of Carroll's foul for the freekick, 'Lawro' started chuckling away like a 12 year old schoolboy when the replay showed Carroll tripping the boy up.
15-06-2012, 08:09 PM
Mon the Swedes :thumbsup: