View Full Version : Euro 2012 (merged)

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8

10-06-2012, 07:28 PM
Jellywitch.

10-06-2012, 07:29 PM
To me this game has been all the team in blue.

2-1 now Croatia.

Jelavic !

:faf: :faf: :faf:

YEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS:thumbsup::thumbsup::thum bsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

10-06-2012, 07:30 PM
Is that a flare?

10-06-2012, 07:31 PM
Is that a flare?

Naw its a firecracker.

VickMackie
10-06-2012, 07:32 PM
Can we stop the game now please. No more goals = 150 quid for Vick!

Unfortunately the defences are far too shaky for that.

Offside Trap
10-06-2012, 07:32 PM
Jelavic = buy of the season for Everton. Last season and next.

Class act.

10-06-2012, 07:34 PM
Croatias passing at times excellent. Could definitely trouble Spain and Italy.

10-06-2012, 07:35 PM
Steven Ward having a mare.

Croatia clearly the better team here.

HT- ROI 1-2 Croatia.

VickMackie
10-06-2012, 07:36 PM

Class act.

I agree.

I did wonder if he'd have the pace for the prem but he'd adapted brilliantly.

10-06-2012, 07:39 PM
I agree.

I did wonder if he'd have the pace for the prem but he'd adapted brilliantly.

I had told my everton supporting mate before he signed that he would be a great acquisition. I remember watching him at ER and his movement is outstanding. He has a great header in him too

10-06-2012, 07:39 PM

Class act.

Buy of the season for the Huns too since they didn't pay up!!

Ireland are being plucky and punting it forward but all the class is coming from Croatia

10-06-2012, 07:41 PM

Class act.

Great piece of business by Everton. Could earn himself a really big move if he has a good season.

As an aside does anyone know if Trappatoni is still the most successful European manager ever or has Fergie toppled him now?

10-06-2012, 07:41 PM

Ireland are being plucky and punting it forward but all the class is coming from Croatia

Potter will have to use his tactical genius if we're going to get past this lot.

10-06-2012, 07:42 PM
Great piece of business by Everton. Could earn himself a really big move if he has a good season.

As an aside does anyone know if Trappatoni is still the most successful European manager ever or has Fergie toppled him now?

Man utd already being quoted as interested

10-06-2012, 07:42 PM
1st half over...2 - 1 to croatia

my assessment

'McGeady' was 'Keane' but 'Doyle' was 'Duff' and it was a 'Given' that the irish defence couldn't 'Ward' off the Croatians...

10-06-2012, 07:43 PM
Potter will have to use his tactical genius if we're going to get past this lot.

I feel a 10 formation along the 18 yard line coming on

VickMackie
10-06-2012, 07:44 PM

And genetically modifies all the players.

10-06-2012, 07:46 PM

Bit harsh Sparky :greengrin Irish had a good period in the middle of the half. Look very dangerous from set pieces. Agree Croatia are better team so far.

10-06-2012, 07:49 PM
Bit harsh Sparky :greengrin Irish had a good period in the middle of the half. Look very dangerous from set pieces. Agree Croatia are better team so far.

Don't get me wrong i like it, more like the fitba we are used to watching

10-06-2012, 07:50 PM
1st half over...2 - 1 to croatia

my assessment

'McGeady' was 'Keane' but 'Doyle' was 'Duff' and it was a 'Given' that the irish defence couldn't 'Ward' off the Croatians...

Cox.

10-06-2012, 07:52 PM
Hahahaha what a goal

Offside Trap
10-06-2012, 07:53 PM
I feel a 10 formation along the 18 yard line coming on

Whoa there - Potter will be pushing us up as far as the 18 yard line? Steady now....

10-06-2012, 07:54 PM
Croatia look quality. They will pump us in the World Cup qualifers.

10-06-2012, 07:54 PM
Croatia rampant.

10-06-2012, 07:55 PM
Croatia look quality. They will pump us in the World Cup qualifers.

We should just not turn up and take the 3-0 default score

10-06-2012, 07:56 PM
We should just not turn up and take the 3-0 default score

Thats probably Levein's next move after the 4-6-0.

10-06-2012, 07:57 PM
John OShea and Paddy McGuiness separated at birth?

10-06-2012, 07:59 PM
Naw its a firecracker.

Did wonder what the 'bang' was :greengrin

10-06-2012, 08:00 PM
Robbie Keane must have divided emotions. Croatia were his 'boyhood heroes', apparently.

10-06-2012, 08:06 PM
Hahahaha what a goal

Tremendous diving header from Given.

10-06-2012, 08:07 PM
Should have been a penalty.

Capt Mainwaring
10-06-2012, 08:08 PM
Stonewall pen for RoI there surely

10-06-2012, 08:08 PM
Robbie Keane must have divided emotions. Croatia were his 'boyhood heroes', apparently.

He's a pretty confused chap is Robbie.

As well as being into Croatia he was also a massive Celtic, Liverpool and Inter fan. He wouldn't just be saying what people want to hear would he?

Surely not though, we all know that all circa 7 billion people on the planet have secretly dreamed of pulling on the green and grey hoops at some point.

10-06-2012, 08:09 PM

First really poor reffing of finals...5 officials and a stonewaller (free kicks given for much less so far)

Offside Trap
10-06-2012, 08:11 PM

Ball probs should have been put out before though. Justice done?

10-06-2012, 08:12 PM
Damien Duff in 'dive' shock.

10-06-2012, 08:13 PM
First really poor reffing of finals...5 officials and a stonewaller (free kicks given for much less so far)

Thought the two yellows leading to the Greece sending off was a bit harsh too.

10-06-2012, 08:13 PM

Its up for the Ref to decide if the player is seriously injured that the games needs to be stopped (which he wasnt). Its not the other teams obligation to put it out.

10-06-2012, 08:14 PM

Nope thats the refs job...no requirement for that..if head knock ref is obliged to stop it...if you keep doing it the danger is the cheats just stay down to waste time / break flow (in this case he looked to have a face knock and so one of other 4 officials should have 'buzzed' ref to stop play)

10-06-2012, 08:14 PM
Some wag has put Robbie Keane's current club as 'Hibernian FC' on wikipedia.

10-06-2012, 08:15 PM

:agree: I stand corrected

10-06-2012, 08:15 PM

Nah, no room for sympathy when you're in ROI's position. If the referee thought it was that bad then he could have stopped play himself - see it done all the time.

blaikie
10-06-2012, 08:16 PM

Just seen that there ... Strange!

10-06-2012, 08:16 PM

A bit? It was scandalous!

10-06-2012, 08:21 PM
A bit? It was scandalous!

It was two bad decisions.

The first was never a foul never mind a booking. The second, there was a little push as the Polish player slipped when turning, but he looked 50/50 to go down all by himself anyway.

10-06-2012, 08:32 PM
Nasty elbow on the Croat keeper there.

10-06-2012, 08:39 PM
Easy money, back whoever are playing against the paddys, they are a poor side.

10-06-2012, 08:40 PM
That was a good game

10-06-2012, 08:43 PM
Well done Croatia.

"You'll Never Beat the Irish" indeed :thumbsup:

Joe's ice cream
10-06-2012, 08:47 PM
Well done Croatia.

"You'll Never Beat the Irish" indeed :thumbsup:

Never have a problem seeing the Irish get beat tbh, seemed to make it easier than they normally do thou

10-06-2012, 08:56 PM
I do this every time it's on. £50 on over 0.5 goals and then £50 bet in play. Went for Spain today.

I've never been brave enough to go for a 'no lose bet' as they can claim it back from you using their t&c's.

It'll happen eventually if people keep taking the piss.

10-06-2012, 09:14 PM
Darren Fraser storms into an early lead on the Euro fantasy competition with a whopping 55 points!

Hoping for a Benzema quadruple tomorrow to try and catch up from third :greengrin

10-06-2012, 09:18 PM

****! Who let the cat out the bag!?

11-06-2012, 12:17 AM
I've changed my mind. If their gonna keep playing that stupid formation then Spain have NO chance.

11-06-2012, 02:29 PM
Come on Le France spank the English.

That's all.

11-06-2012, 02:38 PM
Having seen Englands line up I think their midfield could be overrun. Backed Benzema ew, not too fussed what happens after that!

11-06-2012, 02:43 PM
I'm only surprised it's taken someone so long to say it!

Viva la France :sauzee:

11-06-2012, 02:45 PM
Having seen Englands line up I think their midfield could be overrun. Backed Benzema ew, not too fussed what happens after that!

I can honestly see them getting the wooden spoon and back home next week.

For any English folk viewing this thread, I would like to point out that I'm not anti English as some of my best mates are from England and I even wanted Chelsea to win the CL. It's just the English national team that I have a problem with.

11-06-2012, 02:50 PM
Not all that fussy who wins to be honest.

I don't mind watching international football but I cant get as emotionally involved as when its Hibs.

Hence I'm pretty indifferent about the Scottish national team and can't summon the same feelings of rivalry/hatred towards England that some can.

Being totally honest I'd probably say I'd quite like to see England get a result today but won't be too upset if they don't.

11-06-2012, 02:51 PM
I'm hoping the English do well this evening, but I think the French may be too strong, skilful and - simply the better team. England's best chance of picking up any points are surely against Ukraine/Sweden?

If England take nothing from this afternoon's game, they may well be home before the postcards though!

11-06-2012, 02:57 PM
Come on the French, stick it right up them. And for any of my English friends looking in. :na na:

11-06-2012, 02:57 PM
France: Lloris, Debuchy, Rami, Mexes, Evra, Nasri, Cabaye, Diarra, Malouda, Ribery, Benzema. Subs: Mandanda, Giroud, Matuidi, Reveillere, Menez, M'Vila, Martin, Ben Arfa, Valbuena, Clichy, Koscielny, Carrasso.

England: Hart, Johnson, Terry, Lescott, Cole, Milner, Gerrard, Parker, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Young, Welbeck. Subs: Green, Walcott, Henderson, Carroll, Baines, Jones, Jagielka, Downing, Defoe, Butland.

11-06-2012, 03:01 PM
I don't mind most of the players and I like Hodgson. In fact, I used to will Alan Shearer on when he was playing for England as I loved Newcastle.

However, the media stir up my hatred for them. I mean, we had Spain vs Italy yesterday, one of the biggest games of the tournament, yet they parochial creeps spent the first 45 minutes talking about England!! Again, during half-times of other games we are subjected to footage of the England team training when I'd rather have some analysis on the game I'm watching.

They can all get bent and I hope they get horsed out of the tournament pronto so I can enjoy the rest of it without the saturated fawning from the England Expects Brigade.

hibeemikey21
11-06-2012, 03:10 PM
Titan bet - £5 no deposit freebie. It's gone on the English to cover my losses if France do not win/draw

Offside Trap
11-06-2012, 03:20 PM
If France put in half as much effort as they have skill then they should beat Engurland easily. Blanc seems to have them playing as a team rather than individuals so gotta be optimistic.

I like Hodgson - he seems like a decent bloke and coach - but he has got a bag of average spanners of a team to work with and they should get le pumped! Allez les bleus!!

11-06-2012, 03:21 PM
Allez les bleus!

Tonight marks the beginning of a summer of anyone but England and Team GB for myself, cannae wait:greengrin:thumbsup:

11-06-2012, 03:24 PM
Cheers for that, was it [email protected] that you need to email to claim the bet?

11-06-2012, 03:24 PM
Allez les bleus!

Tonight marks the beginning of a summer of anyone but England and Team GB for myself, cannae wait:greengrin:thumbsup:

11-06-2012, 03:26 PM
France by at least two goals...Chevalled. Ill say 4-1.

11-06-2012, 03:29 PM
I'm split. Have an English wife therefore my wee laddie supports Scotland and England so would like to see a smile on his face. Done business recently with some stereotypical po-faced French guys (wanted to slap one so badly for the supercilious attitude and obnoxious "garlic behaviour").

So wouldn't mind an English win. Would take a bit pleasure at an English defeat also from a footballing rivalry angle and to see Garry Linaker purse his lips in that "we got beat" way.

All in all though, hope England win.

11-06-2012, 03:29 PM
I like a bet with the football, but i'm staying away from this one. I'd guess at a low scoring even no scoring draw, but wouldn't put money on it.

11-06-2012, 03:34 PM
I like a bet with the football, but i'm staying away from this one. I'd guess at a low scoring even no scoring draw, but wouldn't put money on it.

England will park the bus and France won't be unhappy with a draw. 1-1 or 1-0 either way. Only way there will be much of a game is if France score early.

11-06-2012, 03:34 PM
Allez les Bleus! France should be too strong for england today, french possesion v english counter-attaking, should be a good game :sauzee:

hibeemikey21
11-06-2012, 03:37 PM
Cheers for that, was it [email protected] that you need to email to claim the bet?

No probs. I just used their online messenger service. Takes 2 mins for them to verify your details. It's like an msn messenger window.

11-06-2012, 03:38 PM

If you open and close the chat a few times a member of the support staff should pop up in the conversation!

11-06-2012, 03:53 PM
Very strange so few have travelled, especially when smaller nations have taken much more, i wonder why? :confused:

hibee
11-06-2012, 03:55 PM
I think a lot of it is to do with them having to play 2 games in Donetsk which is pretty far away for a Euro tournament and also the Foreign Office advice too.

11-06-2012, 03:55 PM
Very strange so little have travelled, especially when smaller nations have taken much more, i wonder why? :confused:

There is very little confidence in the team.

The cost of travelling and accommodation can't have helped. Plus the adverse publicity created by the Sky and BBC documentaries will have put many off travelling.

HibeeBigFly
11-06-2012, 03:56 PM
England on paper have one of the worst teams in this comp. Over hyped rubbish, feel sorry for Roy who has to try to do the impossible and get an average team who has won hee haw for donkeys years out of the group stages. France will win this comfortable and if they lose it will be a much bigger upset than the Danes beating the Dutch.

11-06-2012, 03:57 PM
Nae contest on the anthems :greengrin

11-06-2012, 03:58 PM
Yet the vomit inducing commentator tells us that the English flag is absolutely everywhere in the stadium. Allez France.

11-06-2012, 03:58 PM
Very strange so few have travelled, especially when smaller nations have taken much more, i wonder why? :confused:

Part time supporters.:greengrin

11-06-2012, 04:01 PM
In a train carriage there was an Englishman, a Scotsman, a Frenchman, a spectacular looking blonde and a frightfully awful looking fat lady.

After several minutes of the trip the train happens to pass through a dark tunnel and the unmistakable sound of a slap is heard. When they leave the tunnel, the English man has a big red slap mark on his cheek.

The blonde thought - "That English son of a bitch wanted to touch me and by a mistake, he must have put his hand on the fat lady, who in turn must have slapped his face."

The large lady thought - "That dirty old Englishman put his hands on the blonde and she smacked him."

The Frenchman thought - "That Englishman put his hand on that blonde and by a mistake she slapped him.
The Scotsman thought - "I hope there's another tunnel soon, so I can smack that English twat again.

Renfrew_Hibby
11-06-2012, 04:03 PM
Yet the vomit inducing commentator tells us that the English flag is absolutely everywhere in the stadium. Allez France.

The commentator is a right Jeremey Hunt. Stadium must have 1000's of empty seats, shocking!
C'mon Le Blues

At The Edge
11-06-2012, 04:12 PM
I pulled the short straw in getting England in the works Euro sweep, so if they somehow win the Euros i'm quids in.......still cannie bring myself to cheer for them.

11-06-2012, 04:14 PM

The equivalent of the Tartan Army having 400.

11-06-2012, 04:14 PM
Sitter

11-06-2012, 04:18 PM
The commentator is a right Jeremey Hunt. Stadium must have 1000's of empty seats, shocking!
C'mon Le Blues

And Carracher saying they've got one of the best Goalkeepers if not "THE" best in Hart. 10 minutes in and he flaps at a cross.:greengrin

11-06-2012, 04:25 PM
Its like a African Nations Cup game. Almost walking pace.

11-06-2012, 04:26 PM
much more than that in the ground..but maybe only 80% full stadium :rolleyes:

11-06-2012, 04:27 PM
Really poor game so far.

11-06-2012, 04:28 PM
France looking pretty poor so far to be honest, lots of sloppy passes......

11-06-2012, 04:29 PM
**** Off

11-06-2012, 04:29 PM
Twatmonkeys.

11-06-2012, 04:30 PM
I don't mind most of the players and I like Hodgson. In fact, I used to will Alan Shearer on when he was playing for England as I loved Newcastle.

However, the media stir up my hatred for them. I mean, we had Spain vs Italy yesterday, one of the biggest games of the tournament, yet they parochial creeps spent the first 45 minutes talking about England!! Again, during half-times of other games we are subjected to footage of the England team training when I'd rather have some analysis on the game I'm watching.

This is bang on what I was thinking as well!

I did chill a bit when I convinced myself that we weren't playing and that of it was only Scotland in the comp it would be the same.
What really winds me up is when us, Wales etc are all playing and "they" do it... That's when they can just go and get ****ed!

Baws, it's just got worse :rolleyes:

players on both sides sweating like pigs when you see close ups

goal england

Ah **** off France :grr:

11-06-2012, 04:32 PM
Listening on talk sport, the commentary is cringeworthy especially at the goal

11-06-2012, 04:35 PM
players on both sides sweating like pigs when you see close ups

goal england

....... and within 30 seconds the idiot commentator asks "Is it too early to get overconfident again?" If they would only keep their traps shut.

11-06-2012, 04:38 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup:

11-06-2012, 04:39 PM
Nasri against the best goalkeeper in the world. 1-1 :thumbsup:

:sauzee::sauzee::sauzee:

11-06-2012, 04:39 PM
worf scores for engerlund, bammy sami scores a topper:flag:1-1 now

11-06-2012, 04:41 PM
England play international football like Stoke play in the Prem. They're so poor to watch, they shouldnt be because they have really decent players but they are so *****. Defend deep with loads behind the ball and then hooooooooooooof up the park. So rare for them to play through the midfield, and when they do try they get nowhere.

11-06-2012, 04:42 PM
I love Sami. Marseille through and through.

Offside Trap
11-06-2012, 04:44 PM
Man City 1 - 1 Man City so far...

iHIBS
11-06-2012, 04:47 PM
A few yams in the pub living up to their diet hun status, all watching the game in england tops :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused: :confused: !!!!!!!!!!!!

11-06-2012, 04:47 PM
Cracking goal by Nasri.

Has to be to beat Joe Hart from there. His save just before was absolutely world class.

11-06-2012, 04:48 PM
Man City 1 - 1 Man City so far...

Both products of Shrewsbury town and Olympique Marseille youth set up. Thats who should get the credit, not the Manchester Sheikhs :greengrin

11-06-2012, 04:49 PM
didnt expect to see that new Irn-Bru advert on the tellybox. I expect there will be plenty uptight pain in the erchies who complain....fannys.:greengrin

11-06-2012, 04:50 PM
A few yams in the pub living up to their diet hun status, all watching the game in conterfeit england tops :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused: :confused: !!!!!!!!!!!!

Sorted.

And Carracher saying they've got one of the best Goalkeepers if not "THE" best in Hart. 10 minutes in and he flaps at a cross.:greengrin

He's probably right.

Folk can.think what they like about England and Man City but Hart is absolutely top drawer.

Only 4000? German tv spoke of 8000 - so who can't count then?

11-06-2012, 04:53 PM
Nasri! 1-1. Thought Hart looked a bit slow there getting down to that

11-06-2012, 04:54 PM
Are there subtitles available when Carragher speaks?

11-06-2012, 04:54 PM
Don't think any games in Donetsk will be well attended given the poor transport links and chronic lack of accommodation. Surprised how few England fans have travelled though given how many went to South Africa, or maybe that's a contributing factor in more ways than one?

11-06-2012, 04:55 PM

Nothing to do with glory hunting, of course. Worse than the Yams.

11-06-2012, 04:56 PM
Are there subtitles available when Carragher speaks?

Kam Darn, Kam darn.

11-06-2012, 04:56 PM
A few yams in the pub living up to their diet hun status, all watching the game in england tops :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused: :confused: !!!!!!!!!!!!

Aww brilliant!!!!!

In pub meself and was trying to work it out.... Was thinking " I'm sure they jambo peeps are Scottish".......

As per the irn bru advert

FANNY'S

:-)

11-06-2012, 04:57 PM
i'm glad the french boy is in the studio, at least someone talks some English i can decipher :cb

11-06-2012, 04:58 PM
didnt expect to see that new Irn-Bru advert on the tellybox. I expect there will be plenty uptight pain in the erchies who complain....fannys.:greengrin

Irn Bru probably paid a premium to get in on during the England games.

Fannies.

11-06-2012, 05:01 PM
Irn Bru probably paid a premium to get in on during the England games.

Fannies.

They come from a longline eh fannies.

11-06-2012, 05:07 PM
Seemingly hotels were charging an absolute fortune and travel from elsewhere is a waste of time, heard some lads yesterday saying they had an 18hr train journey ahead of them, temp also over 30deg

11-06-2012, 05:08 PM
Is Danny Welbeck on the pitch?

11-06-2012, 05:09 PM
Gerard up to his usual diving for penalties i see. :rolleyes:

11-06-2012, 05:10 PM
this is the first i've seen of the french right back. looks a good player.

11-06-2012, 05:12 PM
Gerard up to his usual diving for penalties i see. :rolleyes:

No, no, youre wrong. Andy Townsend assures us it should have been a free kick :rolleyes:

11-06-2012, 05:14 PM
No, no, youre wrong. Andy Townsend assures us it should have been a free kick :rolleyes:

Just seen a replay, and while there's slight contact, Gerard dives like a brown trout looking to cheat the ref as usual. Townsend can **** off.

11-06-2012, 05:20 PM
andy townsend is a c0ck , gets right on my tits nowadays, :agree:

11-06-2012, 05:20 PM
Boring game, two poor teams that would get destroyed off some of the teams that have played so far

11-06-2012, 05:22 PM
Poorest game in the tournament by a distance. Nasris goal and.some of Cabayes play is the best thing about it.

Lungo--Drom
11-06-2012, 05:22 PM
En effet. Viva la française!

Que la vis à l'arrière droit français l'anglais vers le Palais de Buckingham.

:sauzee: :sauzee: :sauzee:

I'm only surprised it's taken someone so long to say it!

Viva la France :sauzee:

11-06-2012, 05:23 PM
Benzema and Ribery always disappoint me when playing for France, prove me wrong chaps

11-06-2012, 05:24 PM
Could fair listen to Andy Townsend all day so I could - his voice just protrudes class and impartiality :rolleyes:

Benzema isn't half a lazy b*****d :agree:

11-06-2012, 05:25 PM
this is the first i've seen of the french right back. looks a good player.

Correct. Evra, by contrast, isnae.

11-06-2012, 05:25 PM
No excuses. If the Greeks and the Spanish can afford to follow their team then so can the English :greengrin.

11-06-2012, 05:27 PM
Rubbish game, rubbish atmosphere.

11-06-2012, 05:27 PM
Benzema and Ribery always disappoint me when playing for France, prove me wrong chaps

:agree: Ribery is ALWAYS P when he plays for France.

11-06-2012, 05:29 PM
This game reminds me of a Aberdeen 0-0 at ER last season. Makes you wonder why.you bother watching football at all :greengrin

11-06-2012, 05:30 PM
This reminds me of the last 10 minutes of the 1990 World Cup match between Holland and Ireland.

11-06-2012, 05:31 PM
This game reminds me of a Aberdeen 0-0 at ER last season. Makes you wonder why.you bother watching football at all :greengrin

This reminds me of the last 10 minutes of the 1990 World Cup match between Holland and Ireland.

11-06-2012, 05:31 PM
Commentators and players getting agitated.

Excellent :thumbsup:

11-06-2012, 05:33 PM
Poor wee lambs are getting bullied by the big bad French

Had to mute it. Commentators bias is too annoying

What a farce. Feel sorry for the fans who have spent loads of time and money to watch this trash. Their should be an investigation by UEFA. :wink:

Oh and the ref is playing a blinder.

11-06-2012, 05:35 PM
so am I getting this right....when Ribery goes down injured the play should go on but when Milner goes down the ref must act now! ok then commentators. erseholes.

11-06-2012, 05:36 PM
Ribery gets hit in the face.

"oh that happens get on with it"

And they wonder why no one likes them, bunch of stuck up tools

11-06-2012, 05:38 PM
These two teams would struggle to find their way out the stadium never mind the group stages.

11-06-2012, 05:38 PM
Bugger, wish I'd seen this before work. Will do it later before the Ukraine game. Cheers lads.

11-06-2012, 05:41 PM
Surprised they've taken Cabeye off - one of their better players thus far!

Someone should really put a fatwa on that **** Townsend. A traffic warden of a man.

they replaced Emmerdale wae this p@sh :grr:

11-06-2012, 05:42 PM
Welbeck=the manc Konte.

11-06-2012, 05:42 PM
Hahaha - Townsend just said "[Ben Arfa] is much improved since last season".

Yeah, he was ****ing dreadful the year he had a broken leg and missed the season :rolleyes:

11-06-2012, 05:48 PM
Hibs v England would be a riveting game

11-06-2012, 05:49 PM
Time for a poll - laziest player in International Football: Karim Benzema or Zlatan Ibrahimovic?

11-06-2012, 05:49 PM
Are they not playing in Poland which is easier to get to and cheaper

11-06-2012, 05:51 PM
Wonder what the odds are of Sweden and Ukraine going through in this group, England and France look shocking.

11-06-2012, 05:51 PM
Ive got Ibrahimovic as highest scorer. Cmon the Sweden!

11-06-2012, 05:52 PM
Shocking. My little subbuteo men moved faster than what I've just witnessed.

11-06-2012, 05:52 PM
How France only came out of this game with one point is anyone's guess, England were woeful!, but with this kind of luck I have no doubt some commentators will have the tournament won

11-06-2012, 05:53 PM
Missed opportunity for France there.

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Offside Trap
Time for a poll - laziest player in International Football: Karim Benzema or Zlatan Ibrahimovic?

Based on that game - Danny Welbeck.

11-06-2012, 05:54 PM
Benzema needs a boot up the arse, never helped his team at all.

11-06-2012, 05:57 PM
Cheers for this. :top marks

11-06-2012, 05:58 PM
another ***** game

11-06-2012, 05:58 PM
Good result for England, they were better than I expected, Gerrard had a great game I thought - France were very disappointing, poor game generally...

HibeeBigFly
11-06-2012, 05:59 PM
Wonder what the odds are of Sweden and Ukraine going through in this group, England and France look shocking.

I know what you mean might look out odds for that. England are limited I think France could be ok. It was the anti football employed by England making them hard to beat. England will be found out soon enough but I think the French will qualify from the groups.

11-06-2012, 06:00 PM
Turned over to watch the Ukraine vs Sweden game and had to turn it off again just as quickly, as they're showing "highlights".

Once was quite bad enough.

11-06-2012, 06:01 PM
Sweden were 5/1 to finish top IIRC. Which i took.

11-06-2012, 06:03 PM
As desperate as ITV are to blame the ref, Hodgson and Gerrard are having nine of it.

11-06-2012, 06:03 PM
Firmly believe that benzema broke down too many French moves, never seemed to want to get in the box or do much work - knock it back to nasri and ribery every time.

HibeeBigFly
11-06-2012, 06:06 PM
Sweden were 5/1 to finish top IIRC. Which i took.

I just took Ukraine at 4/1 to finish top. It was a coin toss between them and Sweden. Now wishing I had gone with Sweden.

HibeeBigFly
11-06-2012, 06:09 PM
As desperate as ITV are to blame the ref, Hodgson and Gerrard are having nine of it.

Have to say I think hodgson is class. Redknapp would never be able to complete tactically with blanc, hamren or blokhin.

11-06-2012, 06:11 PM
Match Stats
France England
21(7) Shots (on Goal) 5(1)
9 Fouls 7
11 Corner Kicks 4
0 Offsides 5
65% Time of Possession 35%
0 Yellow Cards 2
0 Red Cards 0
0 Saves 6

11-06-2012, 06:14 PM
with there £25 free bet in the past theve had rollover requirements. doubt theyd do it with a fiver one but probably worth checking anyway

11-06-2012, 06:14 PM
Match Stats
France England
9 Fouls 7
11 Corner Kicks 4
0 Offsides 5
0 Yellow Cards 2
0 Red Cards 0
0 Saves 6

As i said, missed opportunity, not too sure why France and Benzema in particular are getting such a slagging.

11-06-2012, 06:16 PM
Match Stats
France England
9 Fouls 7
11 Corner Kicks 4
0 Offsides 5
0 Yellow Cards 2
0 Red Cards 0
0 Saves 6

11-06-2012, 06:18 PM
Cannae believe the number of chancers voting in the poll post 1700 on Friday!

11-06-2012, 06:23 PM
Match Stats
France England
9 Fouls 7
11 Corner Kicks 4
0 Offsides 5
0 Yellow Cards 2
0 Red Cards 0
0 Saves 6

Sadly, stats don't count for anything.

11-06-2012, 06:24 PM
As i said, missed opportunity, not too sure why France and Benzema in particular are getting such a slagging.

Certainly a missed opportunity by France considering the amount of possession they had. Thought France were too slow in attack and appeared to want to walk the ball into the net. That suited the English defence as they were knackered after 45 minutes. Carragher and co are happy with the result but if they play like that against the Swedes and Ukraine I reckon they will be punished.

All in all a very disappointing game.

Hopefully Sweden and Ukraine can make up for that 90 minutes of dross I have had to endure.

11-06-2012, 06:26 PM
That was like watching a Scotland World cup qualifier for the most part, with England packing the last 3rd and hoping to score on the break.

How is it that a team picked from the often quoted "best league in the world" has to play like that against a team they should at least be on a par with?

As far as I can see they have a solid back 4 but a midfield bereft of real international quality apart from Gerrard at his best and with the exception of Rooney, average front players. The fact that Jordan Henderson came on as a sub pretty well says it all. Not that he is a bad player, but that surely from 20 EPL clubs there isnt an English midfielder in front of him ( miles in front in fact ) in the pecking order.

I suppose thats the sacrifice you make when you have a league packed with imported players.

Having already seen Spain, Russia, Italy and Germany I would say England have as much chance of winning the Euros as Hibs have of playing in the ( so called ) Champions league next season.

Thats not anti English by the way .... its just the truth.

11-06-2012, 06:27 PM
Good result for England, I'd be surprised if any of them wouldn't have settled for 1-1 prior to the game.

In contrast to others I though Welbeck had a decent enough game, he's a prospect and showed up better than was probably expected, as well as popping up to deflect a potential French goal.

While there are some glaring deficiencies in the England side, I wouldn't underestimate their chances of progression. And while I'm not a big fan of Rooney, he's easily more than capable of making the difference for them in individual games when he comes back.

Nice to see Oxlade-Chamberlain get a chance and he showed some nice touches. Must be a fantastic experience for an 18 yr-old.

11-06-2012, 06:28 PM
Good result for England, they should qualify now for the quarter finals and they should get stronger from the 3rd group game onwards, when Rooney will be available.

I'm so glad that the Ukraine-Sweden game is on the BBC now as I really could not stand listening to Jamie Carragher any more.

I actually thought Patrick Vieira spoke better English than he did and it was actually like a foreign language that Carragher was speaking at times.

There's no way that he should be a pundit on national television.

11-06-2012, 06:28 PM
Sadly, stats don't count for anything.

Just confirms that England are rank. :agree:

11-06-2012, 06:30 PM
another ***** game

Another?

First bad game there's been imo.

11-06-2012, 06:32 PM
Good result for England, they should qualify now for the quarter finals and they should get stronger from the 3rd group game onwards, when Rooney will be available.

I'm so glad that the Ukraine-Sweden game is on the BBC now as I really could not stand listening to Jamie Carragher any more.

I actually thought Patrick Vieira spoke better English than he did and it was actually like a foreign language that Carragher was speaking at times.

There's no way that he should be a pundit on national television.

Him and Gerrard (when he retires) are being lined up for dual presenters/pundits on Sky. :greengrin Listening to Carragher was really hard work and I could see Viera checking that he was still wearing his Rolex every couple of minutes.

11-06-2012, 06:34 PM
Cannae believe the number of chancers voting in the poll post 1700 on Friday!

I cannae believe that they all got it wrong.

11-06-2012, 06:35 PM
Free fiver stuck on a draw in the Ukraine-Sweden game.

11-06-2012, 06:37 PM
Fannies.

11-06-2012, 06:40 PM
Him and Gerrard (when he retires) are being lined up for dual presenters/pundits on Sky. :greengrin Listening to Carragher was really hard work and I could see Viera checking that he was still wearing his Rolex every couple of minutes.

Gerrard can be hard to understand at times but he is bearable.

Carragher, on the other hand, is incomprehensible.

Like I said earlier, it's arguable that he was even speaking English at times tonight.

11-06-2012, 06:41 PM
I would but don't fancy providing them with my address, email address and mobile number only to be bombarded with unwanted offers later.

11-06-2012, 06:46 PM
has to be said the swedish away strip is the biz!

11-06-2012, 07:02 PM
Well we're not on our way home yet and we never lost as predicted by many.

Oh yeah and I could understand Carra perfectly :na na:

11-06-2012, 07:06 PM

11-06-2012, 07:08 PM
Well we're not on our way home yet and we never lost as predicted by many.

Oh yeah and I could understand Carra perfectly :na na:

I could take Benny (from Crossroads) more serious than I could Carragher.

11-06-2012, 07:10 PM
Oh dear even Torres would have buried that chance.

11-06-2012, 07:10 PM
I could take Benny (from Crossroads) more serious than I could Carragher.

Maybe you communicate on a similar wavelength to Benny :greengrin

11-06-2012, 07:13 PM
Maybe you communicate on a similar wavelength to Benny :greengrin

Benny is at the Euros. I saw Slaven Bilic wearing his hat last night. :wink:

11-06-2012, 07:15 PM

11-06-2012, 07:18 PM
Benny is at the Euros. I saw Slaven Bilic wearing his hat last night. :wink:

This Benny thing got me thinking.................are you Miss Diane? :greengrin

11-06-2012, 07:19 PM
This Benny thing got me thinking.................are you Miss Diane? :greengrin

I can be whoever you want me to be.

11-06-2012, 07:21 PM
I can be whoever you want me to be.

11-06-2012, 07:22 PM
It's a shame that Scotland didn't qualify for this tourney as we wouldn't have looked out of place going by the two games watched today.

Roll on 2014. :saltireflag

11-06-2012, 07:27 PM
It's a shame that Scotland didn't qualify for this tourney as we wouldn't have looked out of place going by the two games watched today.

Roll on 2014. :saltireflag

A pint of your finest self-delusion please, barman :greengrin

11-06-2012, 07:38 PM

Make it a dark purple instead of navy, with the diagonal in green (maybe with white trim) and not quite so big.

Shorts in purple, socks the same or maybe white, just for even more of a South American style

Away kit sorted :aok: :greengrin

11-06-2012, 07:38 PM
He's probably right.

Folk can.think what they like about England and Man City but Hart is absolutely top drawer.

The laddie is decent but is never the best goalie in the comp. Far from it imo.

11-06-2012, 07:41 PM
FFS - 20 minutes of analysis before the game got underway, an extensive highlights programme at 10:30pm and now a further showing of this pish at HT here.

11-06-2012, 07:42 PM
FFS - 20 minutes of analysis before the game got underway, an extensive highlights programme at 10:30pm and now a further showing of this pish at HT here.

Major overkill with the coverage today. :agree:

11-06-2012, 07:45 PM

Chris Waddell on now. Please mention that penalty Gabby.

11-06-2012, 07:47 PM
The laddie is decent but is never the best goalie in the comp. Far from it imo.

Only an idiot could rate Hart over Buffon.

micka_weer
11-06-2012, 07:49 PM
Fairly disgusted wi the BBC (though not surprised) half time analysis? "this game's pish, let's talk about us!" erses!!

11-06-2012, 07:54 PM
To be fair, a lot of people (like me) won't have seen the game earlier. So the chance to see the highlights will be welcome.

11-06-2012, 07:55 PM
1-0 Sweden, Ibrahimovic.

11-06-2012, 07:55 PM
1-0 Sweden

11-06-2012, 07:56 PM
Sweden 1-0

That's a Turnip for the books.

11-06-2012, 07:58 PM
Sweden 1-0

That's a Turnip for the books.

You were just waiting for them to score, weren't you? :)

11-06-2012, 07:58 PM
1-0 Sweden, Ibrahimovic.

Totally chuffed that Sweden kept on playing after one of the Ukraine players goes down and stays down. It really annoys me that a player goes down and play has to stop. That is one "unwritten" rule that I would love to get rid off.

11-06-2012, 07:59 PM
To be fair, a lot of people (like me) won't have seen the game earlier. So the chance to see the highlights will be welcome.

Best if you Sky+ it and watch it at x12 speed. It will then appear to be in normal speed.

Anyway 1-1 Game on.

1-1, Shevchenko.

1-1

1-1 Schevchenko

11-06-2012, 08:00 PM
Nice goal. :aok:

11-06-2012, 08:00 PM
Brilliant. That will be one of the moments of the tournament.

11-06-2012, 08:05 PM
2-1 Shevvy

2-1 Ukraine, Shevchenko again!!

Sheva again

11-06-2012, 08:06 PM
Written off by Hansen at HT, GIRFU

11-06-2012, 08:06 PM

True. However, according to Saint Alan Shearer, England will have nothing to fear from either of these teams. So its irrelevant.

11-06-2012, 08:07 PM

And another!

True. However, according to Saint Alan Shearer, England will have nothing to fear from either of these teams. So its irrelevant.

What a tosser he is

Ukraine and Spain in the sweepstake at work.

Shevchenko- Hero! :thumbsup:

Bighoose
11-06-2012, 08:10 PM
Did the Ukranian No18 - Nazarenko play for Dnipro against us?

11-06-2012, 08:11 PM

11-06-2012, 08:12 PM

Yes, only in the 2nd leg in Ukraine though.

He didn't play at Easter Road.

11-06-2012, 08:13 PM

Think so. Scored the first goal after 1 minute.

FalkirkHibee will be along shortly to confirm or say I am talking tosh. :agree:

edit: I'm too slow.

Posh Swanny
11-06-2012, 08:24 PM
The fact that Jordan Henderson came on as a sub pretty well says it all. Not that he is a bad player, but that surely from 20 EPL clubs there isnt an English midfielder in front of him ( miles in front in fact ) in the pecking order.

There are least three on the treatment table and then there's Carrick who didn't want to be on the standby list.

11-06-2012, 08:27 PM
Love that Shevvy has shut the so called pundits up he is still a class act

11-06-2012, 08:30 PM
I just took Ukraine at 4/1 to finish top. It was a coin toss between them and Sweden. Now wishing I had gone with Sweden.

I think you might have been proved right :greengrin

11-06-2012, 08:32 PM
Love that Shevvy has shut the so called pundits up he is still a class act

It doesnt matter if he wins games and scores goals at the very highest level. Hansen says hes past it and thats good enough for me :aok:

11-06-2012, 08:34 PM
Only a few minutes to go and if Ukraine hang on and grab 3 points this will be the best result for Scotland. :wink:

11-06-2012, 08:34 PM
Elmander's got to score that!

11-06-2012, 08:35 PM
who looks less composed taking a shot....samaras or elmander?

11-06-2012, 08:37 PM
Only a few minutes to go and if Ukraine hang on and grab 3 points this will be the best result for Scotland. :wink:

Its in the bag. Craig Levein will be dancing in the streets of Hades this evening.

11-06-2012, 08:38 PM
It doesnt matter if he wins games and scores goals at the very highest level. Hansen says hes past it and thats good enough for me :aok:

He actually played his best football at Kiev first time round he was unstoppable, used to love the guy, only Batigol beats him as my fav striker

11-06-2012, 08:38 PM
The Swede has just done a Suso. Cheat.

11-06-2012, 08:39 PM
Ukraine 2-1 Sweden, full time.

Ukraine top of the group!