View Full Version : Match Updates FC Luzern v Hibernian
Up-the-slope
17-08-2023, 04:09 PM
This has the feeling of a Cup Semi about it... Right result and we will be bouncing and looking forward to an epic couple of weeks... wrong one and it will be a case of what might have been... and will take some lifting the mood .Lets hope the players put their pants on the right way round tonight
Up-the-slope
17-08-2023, 04:24 PM
So will the team be the rumoredMarshallMiller Fish Hanlon LewisLevitt Newal.Boyle Campbell.EllieVente about as attacking as we can getI give up with formatting ... 4-2-3-1 formation
Hibs4185
17-08-2023, 04:26 PM
So will the team be the rumored........................................... MarshallMiller .................Fish............................. Hanlon............... Lewis......................Levitt................. ............... Newal......Boyle ........................Campbell .......................Ellie...................... ...................VenteIts about as attacking as we can getVente
That’s some formation that
Hibees1973
17-08-2023, 04:28 PM
Spalding....give me the Old Billy Buroo. This is a biggie!
Murtini
17-08-2023, 04:33 PM
Frick's tried playing down the need for an early goal but I think we do need one. My worry is I'm almost certain you score 1 which means we need 3 for ET. We're not a high scoring side.Anyway good luck guys.
Up-the-slope
17-08-2023, 04:38 PM
I think we will need to score... and pretty confident we will.less sure if we can keep it tight
17-08-2023, 04:38 PM
Buckle yourselves in, it’s going to be some nail biting stuff tonight I think. Gut is saying whoever scores first will be going through, and it won’t be 0-0 at Half Time. We aren’t nearly as bad as our league performances have shown and maybe our unpredictability is a strength against better sides.
Mon the Hibs.
17-08-2023, 04:45 PM
We seem to play better against teams that want to attack rather than sit in.
badabing67
17-08-2023, 05:05 PM
Is Sportsound doing live commentary of our game I can only see Hearts game on the website
Trinity Hibee
17-08-2023, 05:07 PM
Is Sportsound doing live commentary of our game I can only see Hearts game on the website
I would doubt it. Their team will be at tynecastle I imagine
badabing67
17-08-2023, 05:10 PM
I would doubt it. Their team will be at tynecastle I imagineGenuinely thought i heard them say on Sunday there would be live commentary of our game
17-08-2023, 05:12 PM
Absolutely.
17-08-2023, 05:13 PM
Frick's tried playing down the need for an early goal but I think we do need one. My worry is I'm almost certain you score 1 which means we need 3 for ET. We're not a high scoring side.Anyway good luck guys.
What’s the confidence like amongst your support? Is there a belief that you can overturn the deficit?
Trinity Hibee
17-08-2023, 05:14 PM
Genuinely thought i heard them say on Sunday there would be live commentary of our game
Going by BBC app - hearts page says watch on bbc and listen on sportsound. Hibs page doesn’t mention anything
17-08-2023, 05:14 PM
Frick's tried playing down the need for an early goal but I think we do need one. My worry is I'm almost certain you score 1 which means we need 3 for ET. We're not a high scoring side.Anyway good luck guys.Cheers, too close to call this is.......
Murtini
17-08-2023, 05:19 PM
What’s the confidence like amongst your support? Is there a belief that you can overturn the deficit?More confident than me I'll say that much. I'm in general very pessimistic.
17-08-2023, 05:19 PM
I would doubt it. Their team will be at tynecastle I imagine A few of them probably in their Season Ticket seats
17-08-2023, 05:21 PM
Which is problematic in the league games.
More confident than me I'll say that much. I'm in general very pessimistic.
You should become a Hibs fan.😮
Hibees1973
17-08-2023, 05:21 PM
More confident than me I'll say that much. I'm in general very pessimistic.Ah, you will fit in well here.
DinkyTwo
17-08-2023, 05:25 PM
More confident than me I'll say that much. I'm in general very pessimistic.Well, you've come to the right place [emoji12]
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Hibees1973
17-08-2023, 05:25 PM
More confident than me I'll say that much. I'm in general very pessimistic.I'm the most pessimistic on hibs.net You should have the username Die Leuchten1973.
17-08-2023, 05:28 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/66501108
Coverage: Updates on the BBC Sport website & app
17-08-2023, 05:30 PM
Ben was right
Youan and Campbell start obita on the bench
17-08-2023, 05:31 PM
I wouldn't have started Stevenson but decent line up
17-08-2023, 05:32 PM
XI: Marshall, Miller, Hanlon (c), Fish, Levitt, Youan, Vente, Boyle, Newell, Stevenson, Campbell.
Subs: Boruc, Johnson, Jeggo, Henderson, Le Fondre, Obita, Doidge, Harbottle, Delferrière, Rocky, Molotnikov, McAllister.
I wouldn't have started Stevenson but decent line up
I was thinking maybe youan only has 60 or so in him obita comes on fresh we don’t lose a threat on the break
17-08-2023, 05:33 PM
Another mysterious team selection.
Paul1642
17-08-2023, 05:34 PM
What would you have changed?
More attacking than I would have gone with, but can only use what you've got.
Might be the only time I say it, but glad to see Campbell out there, his energy on the press will be huge for us.
Won't help us keep the ball mind...
Only really 3 players on that bench that I’d consider as good options giving the task ahead of us
XI: Marshall, Miller, Hanlon (c), Fish, Levitt, Youan, Vente, Boyle, Newell, Stevenson, Campbell.
Subs: Boruc, Johnson, Jeggo, Henderson, Le Fondre, Obita, Doidge, Harbottle, Delferrière, Rocky, Molotnikov, McAllister.
No Vente at all?
In what way??
17-08-2023, 05:35 PM
No Vente at all?
Yeah, he’s there in the starting 11, maybe he’s not Vente enough that you can see him.
Paul1642
No Vente at all?
In the starting 11
No Vente at all?
Eh, he's there.
No Vente at all?
Starting
17-08-2023, 05:36 PM
Not sure about mysterious, but I would have had jeggo for Campbell
17-08-2023, 05:37 PM
Is that the same line up someone’s alleged that BK told supporters?
Not sure about mysterious, but I would have had jeggo for Campbell
Jeggo was dreadful on Sunday
Is that the same line up someone’s alleged that BK told supporters?
Aye
Hibees1973
17-08-2023, 05:38 PM
[QUOTE=BoomtownHibeys;7430642]Ben was right[/QUOTE Hmm....extraordinary.
Jeggo was dreadful on Sunday
Campbell has been dreadful in just about every appearance so far this season.
No Vente at all?
Should have gone to Specksavers :aok:
Mon the Hibs.
Murtini
17-08-2023, 05:40 PM
Couple of changes for Luzern. Kadak, Villiger, Ottiger replace Okou, Ademi and Spadanuda. Chances are it's a 4-2-3-1 with Dorn and Kadak providing the width.
Up-the-slope
17-08-2023, 05:42 PM
mental that Team really was leaked
17-08-2023, 05:42 PM
Just saw that Stevenson is starting and handed back my ticket for section A2....
Up-the-slope
17-08-2023, 05:44 PM
glad Campbell is in team his energy and playing on front foot will be beneficial ( Just hope he really is fit!)
JamesHFC
17-08-2023, 05:46 PM
mental that Team really was leaked
I don't think it's a problem. Luzern won't be on hibs.net taking team news as gospel.
17-08-2023, 05:46 PM
Aye
If we go out it it’s not just LJ that needs his jotters.
supermcginn
17-08-2023, 05:47 PM
Campbell has been dreadful in just about every appearance so far this season.
Yeah I wouldn't have him in for a game like this, need composure on the ball.
Just saw that Stevenson is starting and handed back my ticket for section A2....
Aye ok.
https://i.ibb.co/nnrNnYj/183522-183522.jpg (https://ibb.co/1dZtdPT)
17-08-2023, 05:50 PM
I don't think it's a problem. Luzern won't be on hibs.net taking team news as gospel.
Team should never be getting leaked. Okay it might occasionally find it's way out but the CEO shouldn't be spreading it around a few hours before a massive game
17-08-2023, 05:51 PM
I would like to think we have got this. They are decent but they need to score twice without conceding, just to force ET and are at home, so the pressure is on them to attack.
The natural game plan for us has to be to exploit that and play to the strengths of having Boyle and Youan running at them on the flanks and on the break. As the game develops we have Jeggo to add another layer of security, Obita with more pace and strength to test their defence and Doidge and Alf to offer different threats up top.
I’m happy with the look of the set-up on paper, hopefully that is the case on grass.
LunasBoots
17-08-2023, 05:51 PM
Some bother between Hibs fans and police on march to ground seemingly
17-08-2023, 05:53 PM
Some bother between Hibs fans and police on march to ground seemingly
Must be those pesky hangers on.
17-08-2023, 05:54 PM
I was thinking maybe youan only has 60 or so in him obita comes on fresh we don’t lose a threat on the break I'd have started Obita and brought Youan on if required. We have set up so we will be wide open on our left as Youan is highly unlikely to do anything off the ball. I think Obita has been better than Youan recently and just as likely to create or score with the advantage he looks like he is bothered if we are likely to concede.
LunasBoots
17-08-2023, 05:55 PM
Must be those pesky hangers on.
It's all been peaceful and good natured up until the walk to the ground, police have been heavy handed.
DinkyTwo
17-08-2023, 05:58 PM
I'd have started Obita and brought Youan on if required. We have set up so we will be wide open on our left as Youan is highly unlikely to do anything off the ball. I think Obita has been better than Youan recently and just as likely to create or score with the advantage he looks like he is bothered if we are likely to concede.Not sure how true this is; there was an occasion in the first leg where he tracked all the way back after losing the ball, doubled up with LS and saw out the danger.
He was ineffective in the half he played, but I was initially concerned at the substitution. Didn't think he was a liability
raeburnhibs
17-08-2023, 05:58 PM
Aye ok.https://i.ibb.co/nnrNnYj/183522-183522.jpg (https://ibb.co/1dZtdPT)I see what you did there....requires golf knowledge and a certain vintage
17-08-2023, 06:01 PM
Aye ok.https://i.ibb.co/nnrNnYj/183522-183522.jpg (https://ibb.co/1dZtdPT)
I see what you did there....requires golf knowledge and a certain vintageGenius
17-08-2023, 06:02 PM
I'm finding it a bit strange that Hibs did not fly out until yesterday to Lucerne. Is that a common thing with teams these days? I did see that LJ felt there was more to lose than gain by having a session on their pitch yesterday.
17-08-2023, 06:03 PM
I'd have started Obita and brought Youan on if required. We have set up so we will be wide open on our left as Youan is highly unlikely to do anything off the ball. I think Obita has been better than Youan recently and just as likely to create or score with the advantage he looks like he is bothered if we are likely to concede.Would have done the same tbh. Can’t accuse Johnson of being too cautious though.
I'm finding it a bit strange that Hibs did not fly out until yesterday to Lucerne. Is that a common thing with teams these days? I did see that LJ felt there was more to lose than gain by having a session on their pitch yesterday.
After stating it as an issue after Andorra I was also surprised
17-08-2023, 06:05 PM
After stating it as an issue after Andorra I was also surprisedWe didn't have a game the Sunday before that and Andorra is significantly more above sea level than Lucerne
I believe that's the main reasons why we stayed at home
Wenger used to do it with Arsenal CL matches.
17-08-2023, 06:06 PM
Any updates from Lucerne with the police being heavy handed?
17-08-2023, 06:07 PM
Any updates from Lucerne with the police being heavy handed?
Mate text to say the water cannons were out
Mr Grieves
17-08-2023, 06:13 PM
Mate text to say the water cannons were out
They were. Basically the Hibs fans took a wrong turn (the quickest way) to the stadium and the police went a bit OTT with water cannons and giant firecrackers. It was over after a minute. The tantrums at the stadium kiosk when folk found out they were given non alcoholic beer lasted longer :greengrin:
Murtini
17-08-2023, 06:18 PM
When Luzern played St. Gallen last season, the away fans also took a shortcut to the ground and entered "Luzern territory" so it all kicked off. I'm guessing police didn't want a repeat so they overreacted a little. I hope it's all good now.
17-08-2023, 06:20 PM
Genius
I need it explained. Is it Lee Trevino?
17-08-2023, 06:20 PM
When Luzern played St. Gallen last season, the away fans also took a shortcut to the ground and entered "Luzern territory" so it all kicked off. I'm guessing police didn't want a repeat so they overreacted a little. I hope it's all good now.
Cheers. I believe it is.
Apparently the turnstile situation is a complete shambles. "Worse than Tynecastle" apparently.
17-08-2023, 06:22 PM
I need it explained. Is it Lee Trevino?
Isao Aoki
17-08-2023, 06:25 PM
For anyone with D1 tickets, they're funneling us to the gates that lead to C6 only. For some reason, I was blindly let theory even though the guy saw and queried the fact my ticket was D1. We had to go back on ourselves and tell the security that our tickets were D1 to be redirected through a side gate to the right section.
johncrobertson@
17-08-2023, 06:25 PM
I hope Campbell keeps his discipline
17-08-2023, 06:28 PM
I need it explained. Is it Lee Trevino?Japanese golfer from the 70/80's called Isao Aoki pronounce Aye Ok. Great player in his day.
HendoDelivered
17-08-2023, 06:30 PM
Is the game on the firestick anyone know?
17-08-2023, 06:32 PM
Is the game on the firestick anyone know?
Supposed to be. Depending on your provider. Listed under EU: LIVE FOOTBALL UEFA 03 on mine. Not started yet…
Weststandwanab
17-08-2023, 06:33 PM
Isao AokiThat 63 at St. Andrew
Mikey_1875
17-08-2023, 06:33 PM
Not got too many complaints with the team. Wingbacks are still a concern but it’s all we have at the moment and we just need a no frills solid defensive performance out of them. There are definitely goals in the front three so hopefully we can grab a couple early doors and enjoy comfortable night…
17-08-2023, 06:36 PM
I’ve got picture on hibs tv
17-08-2023, 06:37 PM
I paid the €9 on Solid Sport. Stream working fine.. so far
17-08-2023, 06:38 PM
Is the game on the firestick anyone know?My IPTV has a section for Switzerland under Live TV and has SRF 2 under that so here's hoping it will be ok.Looks like it is starting coverage now, commentary in German (I think)
17-08-2023, 06:39 PM
Got the stream up on my TV. Seems decent so far. Looks a pretty poor home crowd.
Hibbies in good voice.
17-08-2023, 06:41 PM
Cliff sounds different
That commentary is going to get annoying :greengrin
No commentary yet but a wee bit crowd noise, just got Ted Lasso on commentary haha
If st Johnston can put this mob out let’s do it !
Saint Hibee
The commentary! It’s Soccer Guy!
Seekyit
Ha ha that commentator
Mikey_1875
17-08-2023, 06:42 PM
Hope the Scotch bravehearts can do it!
Saint Hibee
17-08-2023, 06:42 PM
This guy is already my all time favourite commentator.
Up-the-slope
17-08-2023, 06:43 PM
looks like im on text / .Net updates only.... wont be riveting
GreenGray
17-08-2023, 06:44 PM
He’s better than most the sportscene commentators anyway
17-08-2023, 06:46 PM
We're wearing our white 'road' kit tonight.
Love this guy.
Fight and win! Fight and win! I believe that Hibs will win! Come on the Edinburgh Hibernator Harps.
badabing67
17-08-2023, 06:47 PM
Were off Mon Hibs
17-08-2023, 06:47 PM
gie the baw tae boyleor youanor vente
17-08-2023, 06:48 PM
Nervy start from them.
This commentary is already doing my nut in
badabing67
Thank F Boyler got back up
17-08-2023, 06:49 PM
Penalty to rangers that
[emoji23]
This Yank isn't too bad, knows his stuff about the players.
Mikey_1875
17-08-2023, 06:50 PM
Hearts 1 down
badabing67
Rosenburg 1 up
Wee chance for Lucerne there
Slick passing from Luzern.
17-08-2023, 06:51 PM
This Yank isn't too bad, knows his stuff about the players.Yep, seems to be well informed
Nae Andy Walker likes but still
17-08-2023, 06:51 PM
Hearts 1 down
That's really sad for the coefficient so it is.
17-08-2023, 06:53 PM
Very good start from us here.
Saint Hibee
17-08-2023, 06:54 PM
Jerky stream.
17-08-2023, 06:55 PM
Trying to get Confetti out of his cleats. 🤣🤣🤣🤣
badabing67
Lame shot from Campbell
Commentator very knowledgeable about the Hibs
17-08-2023, 06:56 PM
Yaaaassssss
Bring on the Villa!
Yes
yasssssssssssssssssss Ellie
Mikey_1875
Yaaaaaasssss Youan what a goal
Yyyeees!
Ellie sair back youan!
Get in.
Fuuuuckinggg yaaaaasssss
****ing boom! Lovely stuff.
Goooooaaaaaal
badabing67
Yas Youan
Youan :greengrin
****ing yasssssss
Wow Youan!!!
what a ****ing goal man
Yaaaas.
Yaaaas
Off the bar
Ya fckkkon beauty!
17-08-2023, 06:57 PM
That was a hell of a finish
skyehibee
Yaaaaaassssss
HendoDelivered
What a start! Cmon youan!!
Up-the-slope
told you we would score
Off the bar
Is that deflected?
think that took a slight deflection, but anyway..
What a platform we have given ourselves.
badabing67
17-08-2023, 06:58 PM
Shankland scores
Surely can’t throw it away from here
Tremendous. Perfect start.
Good start, wee deflection but it was goal bound, this game will be very open now.
Behave. ☹️☹️
DIXIHIBS
17-08-2023, 06:59 PM
Gonnae no say that...
Hearts equalised
What a start. yeeeeeeeeeessssssss
-Jonesy-
Hearts equalised
Not on aggregate :)
JamesHFC
Lee Johnson, never doubted him.
Up-the-slope
17-08-2023, 07:00 PM
Great for Fans that have made the trip
jamboids scoreline on the other thread
Great start
Gonnae no say that...
How ? 🤣
Up-the-slope
Lee Johnson, never doubted him.LoL
Whooooaaaaaa commentator changed to German
17-08-2023, 07:01 PM
Yass get in there . C'mon ma bonnie boys
you couldn't of asked for a better start.
jamboids scoreline on the other thread
Ah, apologies
Omg get in!
17-08-2023, 07:02 PM
Great initial save Marshall but absolutely awful defending again.
Andymac85
Damn it
1-1
1-1
Good save buy they reacted better
Boyle asleep
Surely can’t throw it away from hereYou would hope not, all about game management now.And there you have it.
badabing67
FFS Hibs
Uh oh
Mikey_1875
So slow to react to second ball after a great save
Trinity Hibee
4 defenders and 1 attacker. Sleeping at the back again
Fish standing watching
17-08-2023, 07:03 PM
sigh
Good save then poor defending, standing ball watching, game on.
Great save marshall, did not deserve to concede there.
HendoDelivered
Arrrrgghhh!!
Chocolate hands from Marshall again.
GreenGray
Fish ball watching, really needs to buck up
Up-the-slope
Booooo... Same as first game... compose and go again
This was never going to be a stress free evening was it🙄🙈
Murtini
We needed that quick response. Game on again.
back to where we started.
Fish ball watching, really needs to buck up
Poor there.
17-08-2023, 07:04 PM
Sorry 🙈
Chocolate hands from Marshall again.Eh?
It was a great initial save
Guy looked offside when he received the ball, is VAR in yet.
What was fish doing there! Absolutely brutal not picking him up he must have been looking right at that guy
norhfc
17-08-2023, 07:05 PM
Hanlon ball watching…Mon Hibs we can do this.
Eh?
It was a great initial save
Think he means he should've turned it round the post for a corner.
Guy looked offside when he received the ball, is VAR in yet.
Next round.
Why wasn’t Fish tight on him, bxxxxxx school boy defending again😡😡
That was a good save from Marshall, the Luzern done well and put in a decent ball.
Any chance we can get the other Fish back and not this guy?
Eh?It was a great initial save Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkNot for me, a decent keeper gets that behind or much further away, the ball was not in the corner it was a relitively easy save.
17-08-2023, 07:06 PM
Ach it's Hibs, no one really expected it to be comfortable did they?
Fighting talk from Vente, love to see it.
Up-the-slope
Guy looked offside when he received the ball, is VAR in yet.Nope don't think its in until either groups or final qualifying rounds
Get this commentator on everything. “Stags”.
Helensburghhibs
17-08-2023, 07:07 PM
Levitt and newell need to get their foot on the ball and stary dictating the pace of the game
Get this commentator on everything. “Stags”.
I’m really enjoying it.
Now got Ted Lasso on commentary
Calm defending there by Stevenson
[emoji23]
Andymac85
Bloody hell, more terrible defending.
17-08-2023, 07:08 PM
good clearance from Lewis against Hanlons arm
Oh no Josh…
That’s a red with VAR.
Players just can't get the ball to Boyle and Youan now, going to be long game.
Mikey_1875
How is that not at least a booking
That's a naughty tackle on Josh
Andymac85
I’m really enjoying it.
He’s brilliant.
Loving the American Soccer Guy commentator. Better than Cliff🤷🏼😂
Helensburghhibs
My commentary just changed to american. I think i prefered it in swiss 😂
17-08-2023, 07:09 PM
Big chance Vente
What's going on? We down to 10 men?
-Jonesy-
They were dirty as sin in the first leg and still at it
Dirty *******, studs to the knee for Campbell.
That not even a yellow. WTF
Rumble de Thump
The Swiss players can't tell Hanlon' a*se from his elbow.
Can tell this American guy has done his homework , full of stats and stories
What's going on? We down to 10 men?No
1-1
11 men each
Started well but need to calm down after their goal. Sitting too deep now.
badabing67
Unlucky Vente
17-08-2023, 07:10 PM
What's going on? We down to 10 men?
Nah took a sore one but he’s up and running again.
Started well but need to calm down after their goal. Sitting too deep now.Need to slow the game down a bit I feel
Can tell this American guy has done his homework , full of stats and stories Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk He's quite good tbf.
No
1-1
11 men each
Cheers. Bag of nerves here. Can't find it on Firestick
The boy that smashed Campbell is a very good player too
Daily Hibs
The usual pair are worrying me here.Vente looks a class act.
Andymac85
Unlucky Vente
Good effort given he was stretching.
17-08-2023, 07:11 PM
I think we'll score again here. We look dangerous when we can get the front 3 involved.
That early goal is huge as they need another 3 to win it, they'll have to really commit at some point. With a bit composure we should be able to get a chance or 3. Just keep it tight for now.
17-08-2023, 07:12 PM
The usual pair are worrying me here.Vente looks a class act.
Miller and fish?
Agreed. Getting torn apart down the right hand side.
Can tell this American guy has done his homework , full of stats and stories
He's brilliant.
Very well informed, has clearly done his homework, with the odd little quirky way about him.
The Swiss players can't tell Hanlon' a*se from his elbow.
Neither can Hanlon at times!
17-08-2023, 07:13 PM
Let off there
Andymac85
We are our own worst enemy sometimes
Levitt, newell and youann struggling to pass 5 yards and keep the thing.
That goal would've been on all Ellie
Keep the ball ffs - a simple pass inside to Levitt
Dorne is a player too btw
ooft that should have been 2-1
Stop giving the ball away so easily
Youan with an awful pass and doesn’t bother trying to get back to win the ball back. Capable of the sublime but needs to put a shift in too.
Youan. Wtf
HendoDelivered
Youan playing like hes in fifa street. Clown
Youhan needs to cut out the pish
badabing67
Marshall gives me the fear
Sleeping with the Fish is going to have a whole new meaning soon.
Wtf was Youan doing, that chance came from him pissing around on the half way line
Should be defending that better. Marshall probably shoud've come out for it too.
17-08-2023, 07:14 PM
Cheers. Bag of nerves here. Can't find it on Firestick
pm’d
Saint Hibee
17-08-2023, 07:14 PM
Sorry, but Fish has been our worst defender so far this season.