View Full Version : Match Updates FC Luzern v Hibernian
Greenio
17-08-2023, 08:48 PM
Can anyone confirm the dates for the two legs with Villa?
Saint Hibee
Youan was immense.
Torto7
Well done Hibs!!!!
Magnificent to a man & massive well done to the supporters who travelled enjoy the hospitality tonight. Safe hame.
What a great tie. Hibs were superb 👌
Congrats on going through guys. Good luck for the rest of the competition.Sorry for thinking you were a Hearts fan earlier, didn't see your earlier posts, good luck with the rest of your season.
17-08-2023, 08:49 PM
that commentator was excellent, hes darren kilfara and hes from dunbar...sign him up great result guys
Dunbar ? Honest ?
😁
24th(Might now be 23rd) and 31st
Brilliant . They weren't a bad side so 5-3 is a pretty decent result
So, is the first leg next Thursday, away?
PS surely both games on the telly.
Home first
First one is next Thursday
17-08-2023, 08:50 PM
Congrats on going through guys. Good luck for the rest of the competition.
Cheers mate, good game and thanks for your contribution to the board.
Good luck for the season 👍
More likely that we will be Wednesday
The Captain....
What an entertaining and informative commentry from Mr USA. Well done sir.
[emoji106]His encyclopedia of Hibs facts was most impressive, particularly his knowledge of Fish's haircut! Ha ha
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
17-08-2023, 08:51 PM
Will be changed to the Wednesday
That language of theirs is...different.
ionahibby
👍
The American commentator was refreshing compared to the dull crap we get from bbc Scotland. Sign him up. Outstanding result and as much as I can’t stand that lot from gorgie does the Scottish coefficient no harm.
17-08-2023, 08:52 PM
That language of theirs is...different.Don't I know that :)
17-08-2023, 08:52 PM
Best Euro result since Videoton??
Can't remember a more important Euro game for us. Playing Villa is huge.
17-08-2023, 08:53 PM
You can stick your cogwheel railway up yer ****
You can stick your cogwheel railway...
Stick your cogwheel railway...
Stick your cogwheel railway up yer ****!!!!!!!
17-08-2023, 08:54 PM
Well played Marshall and Rocky. No job too big, no pup too small.
Superb 😆
17-08-2023, 08:56 PM
Well played Marshall and Rocky. No job too big, no pup too small.
We're on a roll!
Broxburn Greens
17-08-2023, 08:56 PM
The American commentator was refreshing compared to the dull crap we get from bbc Scotland. Sign him up. Outstanding result and as much as I can’t stand that lot from gorgie does the Scottish coefficient no harm.
Aye, thought he was well versed, had clearly done his homework and none of the usual bias you get from the usual suspects
17-08-2023, 08:57 PM
Youan was immense.
He’s a great player, let’s enjoy him playing in a Hibs shirt for as long as it lasts.
Daily Hibs
Well done Hibs!!!
Let’s no leak the boys details online tho..
It's on his media pages
17-08-2023, 08:58 PM
It's on his media pages
Yeah, just seems a bit iffy
Hibees1973
17-08-2023, 08:58 PM
Amazing. What a week it's going to be leading up to the Villa game.
17-08-2023, 08:59 PM
Hearts through and probably got an easier tie in next round.Really? Paok are worse than Rosenborg?
Wouldn't have thought so
Hope not anyway [emoji23]
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
17-08-2023, 09:00 PM
We're on a roll!
A Swiss roll?
17-08-2023, 09:00 PM
We're on a roll!
We were there on the double
17-08-2023, 09:01 PM
Bring on these Peaky Blinders loving *****.
17-08-2023, 09:01 PM
Sorry for thinking you were a Hearts fan earlier, didn't see your earlier posts, good luck with the rest of your season.+1... Sometimes, you just get egg on yer face :greengrin
17-08-2023, 09:02 PM
Outstanding result. Well done Hibs. Well done LJ. Rewarded us with a great tie now to look forward to.I think we could have been a lot more comfortable with a bit more composure on the ball at times.
Broxburn Greens
17-08-2023, 09:03 PM
Really? Paok are worse than Rosenborg?
Wouldn't have thought so
Hope not anyway [emoji23]
Paok are far better than Rosenborg.
Fully expect them to empty Hearts.
Although as I caught the end of the swoon fest on BBC Scotland I can exclusively reveal that Hearts have already won the Conference League in August.
Youan was immense.
At times frustrating but he has that wee bit magic a bit like Boyle that gets you off your seat, we need and want players like that at Hibs.
17-08-2023, 09:04 PM
👍
The guy was excellent. Top class commentary and certainly knew his stuff.
17-08-2023, 09:05 PM
Fantastic. Well done Hibs. Have a few Brummie mates down here, all Villa so it's a club I like because of them. What a tie!
Aalborg Hibs
17-08-2023, 09:08 PM
"Roger Federer, H R Giger, William Tell, le Corbusier, Ursula Andress, Fabian Cancellara, Martina Hingis, vi har slått dem alle sammen, vi har slått dem alle sammen! Alain Berset, can you hear me? Alain Berset... your boys took a hell of a beating! Your boys took a hell of a beating!"
Forever_Green93
17-08-2023, 09:08 PM
Brilliant result! Well done Hibs! Bring on Villa! GGTTH
17-08-2023, 09:09 PM
Imagine the score if we flew out a day earlier
Johnsonnnnnnn!!!
Keep the jet engines though for sure
ionahibby
17-08-2023, 09:10 PM
Still think it’s poor show that bbc didn’t have any commentary at all from Switzerland.
He's here!
17-08-2023, 09:10 PM
Probably been said earlier in the thread but tonight's kit looks way better than the awful purple one.
Delighted to go through a great night, and another awaits let the ticket scramble commence 😂 be good to see ER full to bursting under the lights
17-08-2023, 09:12 PM
should get a few £££ for Boyle and Miller hopefully being at the next WC for the aussies, assuming both still here of course
Salisbury Hibby
17-08-2023, 09:13 PM
Delighted to go through a great night, and another awaits let the ticket scramble commence [emoji23] be good to see ER full to bursting under the lightsSeason Ticket holders priority?
Sent from my SM-A536B using Tapatalk
"Roger Federer, H R Giger, William Tell, le Corbusier, Ursula Andress, Fabian Cancellara, Martina Hingis, vi har slått dem alle sammen, vi har slått dem alle sammen! Alain Berset, can you hear me? Alain Berset... your boys took a hell of a beating! Your boys took a hell of a beating!"
😂😂😂
Had that ready since last week?
sauzeelegod
17-08-2023, 09:17 PM
Great result. Was a very hard watch but we done enough.
Bring on the Villa 🇳🇬💚
Season Ticket holders priority?
I’d expect so, non-ST holder here though
Salisbury Hibby
17-08-2023, 09:20 PM
I’d expect so, non-ST holder here thoughIt's not easy. I'd say folk who travelled first, then folk who bought previous rounds at home then ST Holdets.
17-08-2023, 09:21 PM
I’d expect so, non-ST holder here though
Still be around 7000 or so tickets available for non season ticket holders for the home game
17-08-2023, 09:23 PM
It's not easy. I'd say folk who travelled first, then folk who bought previous rounds at home then ST Holdets.Sent from my SM-A536B using TapatalkIt'll rightly be Hibs First (who are season ticket holders anyway), Season ticket holders then general sale. Can't see it getting to a general sale stage.
17-08-2023, 09:24 PM
It's not easy. I'd say folk who travelled first, then folk who bought previous rounds at home then ST Holdets.
Whit
17-08-2023, 09:27 PM
It was a great result and courageous (but not highly competent) defending against a good footballing but punchless team. As most people on here predicted, the pace and movement of our front three were troubling to a very lax defense.
The result is all that counts though.
JamesHFC
17-08-2023, 09:28 PM
It's not easy. I'd say folk who travelled first, then folk who bought previous rounds at home then ST Holdets.
Crunchie
17-08-2023, 09:29 PM
I wish people would stop pretending Hanlon isn't a problemA great result tonight totally unexpected on my part, I saw Hanlon and Stevenson in defence again and knew we'd concede soft goals. LJ better get wise quick to the problem or it'll cost him big time.
DIXIHIBS
17-08-2023, 09:29 PM
Hibs First then ST holders. Not folk who travelled if they're not ST holders. I saw 3 people i know in a video from Luzern who rarely, if at all, go to games but obviously fancied a trip, fair enough. But I'd be well p!sed off ifthey got any priority for Villa.
Salisbury Hibby
17-08-2023, 09:30 PM
WhitRead it again.
Salisbury Hibby
17-08-2023, 09:32 PM
It'll rightly be Hibs First (who are season ticket holders anyway), Season ticket holders then general sale. Can't see it getting to a general sale stage.Yes, I maybe conflated away game attendees with Hibs First members.
Really? Paok are worse than Rosenborg?Wouldn't have thought so Hope not anyway [emoji23]Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkI'm referring in relation to Hibs getting Villa, Hearts get Paok, an easier tie?
17-08-2023, 09:35 PM
Read it again.
No I read it fine, I just couldn’t believe what I was reading.
17-08-2023, 09:35 PM
At times frustrating but he has that wee bit magic a bit like Boyle that gets you off your seat, we need and want players like that at Hibs.
Totally agree. A much improved player from early last season.
17-08-2023, 09:37 PM
"Roger Federer, H R Giger, William Tell, le Corbusier, Ursula Andress, Fabian Cancellara, Martina Hingis, vi har slått dem alle sammen, vi har slått dem alle sammen! Alain Berset, can you hear me? Alain Berset... your boys took a hell of a beating! Your boys took a hell of a beating!"Excellent. Glad they weren't Belgian though, difficult to make a list of famous Belgians.
17-08-2023, 09:38 PM
Excellent. Glad they weren't Belgian though, difficult to make a list of famous Belgians.
I'll start.
Ned Flanders.
17-08-2023, 09:38 PM
He’s a great player, let’s enjoy him playing in a Hibs shirt for as long as it lasts.
He was immense when he was immense. Otherwise not up to much defensively but one can accept it when he makes that difference up top
alhibby
17-08-2023, 09:39 PM
Anyone have an idea how much Hibs made from EUFA for the win tonight?
17-08-2023, 09:40 PM
Excellent. Glad they weren't Belgian though, difficult to make a list of famous Belgians.'Duvel is the only one that comes to mind atm :greengrin
Trinity Hibee
17-08-2023, 09:40 PM
Getting to play off gets us £750,000 for the entire euro run. That’s just prize money so doesn’t include ticket sales
17-08-2023, 09:43 PM
We will get at least 750,000 euros if we get knocked out next round.
Add on gate receipts, TV money and hospitality we could probably make best part of 2 million.
17-08-2023, 09:44 PM
Excellent. Glad they weren't Belgian though, difficult to make a list of famous Belgians.
Hercule Poirot.
Hercule Poirot.Magritte, Adolfe Sax ..
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
17-08-2023, 09:49 PM
Magritte, Adolfe Sax ..
Tintin.
17-08-2023, 10:00 PM
Tintin.
De Bruyne courtois hazard x 2.
17-08-2023, 10:01 PM
Fantastic result.
17-08-2023, 10:06 PM
'Duvel is the only one that comes to mind atm :greengrin
Leffe and de konick both far better beers.
Tintin.Cheers
17-08-2023, 10:14 PM
Dunno where to out this but this thread will do. Lucerne have some absolute ******s of fans. We were walking out, blethering away to lucerne fans, fist bumps all round and a decent laugh. Next thing a wee group come at us swinging punches. At this point there is maybe only 6/8 Hibbies one of which was a lassie, as the rest are still in the ground, we were in the extra tickets area. Punched, kicked pepper sprayed. Absolute ******s, and liberty takers. To be fair, when it was stopped we had load of Lycerne fans apologising to us but **** me, nit a good end to the night!!
Manneken Pis
Criswell
17-08-2023, 10:20 PM
The inventor of the Cuckoo Clock. Don't know his name.
17-08-2023, 10:24 PM
Leffe and de konick both far better beers.They weren't around in my beer drinking days... which was a looong time ago
LewysGot2
17-08-2023, 10:25 PM
Hibs First then ST holders. Not folk who travelled if they're not ST holders. I saw 3 people i know in a video from Luzern who rarely, if at all, go to games but obviously fancied a trip, fair enough. But I'd be well p!sed off ifthey got any priority for Villa.Spot on. And why tonight’s game ahead of going to Andorra, for example? Hibs First, all other STHs…that’ll be it although players and families will get some, too.
17-08-2023, 10:27 PM
Dunno where to out this but this thread will do. Lucerne have some absolute ******s of fans. We were walking out, blethering away to lucerne fans, fist bumps all round and a decent laugh. Next thing a wee group come at us swinging punches. At this point there is maybe only 6/8 Hibbies one of which was a lassie, as the rest are still in the ground, we were in the extra tickets area. Punched, kicked pepper sprayed. Absolute ******s, and liberty takers. To be fair, when it was stopped we had load of Lycerne fans apologising to us but **** me, nit a good end to the night!!Sorry for your experience... Clowns everywhere. Don't fancy the hertz fans trip to Greece in the slightest
JammyDoidger
17-08-2023, 10:29 PM
Dunno where to out this but this thread will do. Lucerne have some absolute ******s of fans. We were walking out, blethering away to lucerne fans, fist bumps all round and a decent laugh. Next thing a wee group come at us swinging punches. At this point there is maybe only 6/8 Hibbies one of which was a lassie, as the rest are still in the ground, we were in the extra tickets area. Punched, kicked pepper sprayed. Absolute ******s, and liberty takers. To be fair, when it was stopped we had load of Lycerne fans apologising to us but **** me, nit a good end to the night!!
They were a shambles on and off the park, absolute gang of a football club. Glad we bent them over. Mon the Hibs.
Cardinal G
17-08-2023, 10:29 PM
Dunno where to out this but this thread will do. Lucerne have some absolute ******s of fans. We were walking out, blethering away to lucerne fans, fist bumps all round and a decent laugh. Next thing a wee group come at us swinging punches. At this point there is maybe only 6/8 Hibbies one of which was a lassie, as the rest are still in the ground, we were in the extra tickets area. Punched, kicked pepper sprayed. Absolute ******s, and liberty takers. To be fair, when it was stopped we had load of Lycerne fans apologising to us but **** me, nit a good end to the night!!I was with Wee County, it was my lassie, shes got a belter of a black eye fighting back, absolute twats, they were like rats coming at us, o went in to defended and was blind sided then ****ing pepper sprayed, looked up to see everyone fighting back it was ****ing mad, couple of there fans came to our aid and ushered us away from wee county and the rest, felt bad leaving them but lads led us to safety. Just pleased to hear the rest of them are OK.
Salisbury Hibby
17-08-2023, 10:31 PM
17-08-2023, 10:34 PM
I was with Wee County, it was my lassie, shes got a belter of a black eye fighting back, absolute twats, they were like rats coming at us, o went in to defended and was blind sided then ****ing pepper sprayed, looked up to see everyone fighting back it was ****ing mad, couple of there fans came to our aid and ushered us away from wee county and the rest, felt bad leaving them but lads led us to safety. Just pleased to hear the rest of them are OK.
Yip, cheers G!! If ever there is a fight I am 100% on Alice's side!! Bit **** but tbh I think Hibs came out on top again!!! Safe trip hone and see you and Alice in Birmingham!!
CB Hibs 68
17-08-2023, 10:39 PM
Bring on these Peaky Blinders loving *****.
Nah the Peaky Blinders were Blues.
Donegal Hibby
17-08-2023, 10:50 PM
Didn't really expect that tbh . Excellent result . Well done Hibs and Lee Johnson 👏
Salisbury Hibby
17-08-2023, 11:08 PM
Excellent. Glad they weren't Belgian though, difficult to make a list of famous Belgians.Eddie Merckz
Audrey Hepburn
Guy Lian
Salisbury Hibby
17-08-2023, 11:13 PM
Getting to play off gets us £750,000 for the entire euro run. That’s just prize money so doesn’t include ticket salesJust a shame we got hit with fines...
Salisbury Hibby
17-08-2023, 11:17 PM
Silky
17-08-2023, 11:19 PM
Manneken Pis
Did he no sign for Hearts?
17-08-2023, 11:30 PM
I'm pleased to have won, but not sure what to make of the overall performance.
We clearly wanted the players to move the ball as quickly as possible and force them on to the back foot whenever they lost possession, but we ended up giving away a lot of silly possession, particularly Levitt, Campbell, both fullbacks and even Youan in the first half.
If we got beaten tonight, I think we would have been seeing the players slated - unfairly given we were obviously executing a high risk gameplan. Those are the fine margins in football, and something to keep in mind when we are catastrophising after a defeat.
This has aged well.
https://twitter.com/swissfootdata/status/1690970634627477506?t=Jz1iYngJ6Me0iDz3sw4GYQ&s=19https://i.ibb.co/T8vWDvW/Screenshot-20230818-003229-X.jpg (https://ibb.co/wW0cZ0c)
SJNB Hibby
17-08-2023, 11:43 PM
This has aged well.https://twitter.com/swissfootdata/status/1690970634627477506?t=Jz1iYngJ6Me0iDz3sw4GYQ&s=19https://i.ibb.co/T8vWDvW/Screenshot-20230818-003229-X.jpg (https://ibb.co/wW0cZ0c)"Ouch"
18-08-2023, 12:35 AM
First of all, if that commentator really is from Dunbar he should be on Sportscene, bloody miles better and more informed than practically any of their current lot, who cares what accent he has.Hibs are just the most confusing club in the universe to follow, utter pish one minute and then putting in a battling performance away in Europe to a decent side and scoring twice to boot. Youan encapsulates the whole thing, he can drive you nuts for 90 minutes but comes up with two moments of class to make you forget it all. The real negative in both legs was the two headed goals we lost, criminal defending at both.In the end a super effort over the two legs and one of our better European performances of recent years .... It gives me the fear that we now have to face an EPL side, but the money will be good whatever happens. If we were to put them out apart from being a miracle it would probably be right up there with the greatest results in the club's history ... at no time since WWII has the gulf between Scottish and English top flight clubs been so vast.
18-08-2023, 05:20 AM
Fair play to the defence for holding as strong as they could, feel for them in games like these when it's constant pressure on them.
Newell done well in the second half when Levitt went off injured.
A great result tonight totally unexpected on my part, I saw Hanlon and Stevenson in defence again and knew we'd concede soft goals. LJ better get wise quick to the problem or it'll cost him big time.
Hanlon was poor for the 2nd goal for sure but he’s been better than Fish in the games played so far this season, and was solid in the home leg.
Fish is getting away with murder after a few poor performances, didn’t get back quick enough V St.Mirren, rag dolled V Motherwell and ball watching last night all resulting in goals against, Hanlon making 1 mistake doesn’t make him the problem
18-08-2023, 05:53 AM
Hanlon was poor for the 2nd goal for sure but he’s been better than Fish in the games played so far this season, and was solid in the home leg. Fish is getting away with murder after a few poor performances, didn’t get back quick enough V St.Mirren, rag dolled V Motherwell and ball watching last night all resulting in goals against, Hanlon making 1 mistake doesn’t make him the problemHanlon last night showed in the challenge for the 2nd goal why he gets so much stick, now that is what ragdolled says when you look it up in the dictionary. The goals you describe above really need to be eradicated, just by defending properly and being switched on ALL THE ****IN TIME , its not as if the opposition are really working hard and actually creating these chances.Great win Hibs, but we will never do anything unless the manager sorts out that defence.
PiemanP
18-08-2023, 06:11 AM
It’s a tremendous result, but we certainly rode our luck and have Ellie to thank for two moments of brilliance.
I still have serious concerns about our midfield. If Levitt is out for a while I think we simply must bring in a new face - someone who is comfortable on the ball and has some drive. Newell is quality but Campbell / Jeggo / JDH I do not rate.
There’s an irony that Kyle Magennis has started the season fit and well for Killie. I don’t think it was the wrong decision to let him go but it stings that the minute he leaves he appears fine and helping a rival.
18-08-2023, 06:12 AM
This has aged well.
https://twitter.com/swissfootdata/status/1690970634627477506?t=Jz1iYngJ6Me0iDz3sw4GYQ&s=19https://i.ibb.co/T8vWDvW/Screenshot-20230818-003229-X.jpg (https://ibb.co/wW0cZ0c)
:faf: :faf:
18-08-2023, 06:14 AM
Snowy
Cysat
18-08-2023, 07:04 AM
Dunno where to out this but this thread will do. Lucerne have some absolute ******s of fans. We were walking out, blethering away to lucerne fans, fist bumps all round and a decent laugh. Next thing a wee group come at us swinging punches. At this point there is maybe only 6/8 Hibbies one of which was a lassie, as the rest are still in the ground, we were in the extra tickets area. Punched, kicked pepper sprayed. Absolute ******s, and liberty takers. To be fair, when it was stopped we had load of Lycerne fans apologising to us but **** me, nit a good end to the night!!Sorry to hear that story, I will try to get to the roots of it so we might find out, who it was and can sanction it.Where and when was it exactly (entrance area of D or in front of the main entrance with the pub and tent)?to be honest: I experienced nothing like this during the 2 days, only met nice people, even was drinking at Shamrock after the game and had good conversations. After the game I was marching back with our ultras and didn't see anything happen like this. Of course, there were some mockeries and stuff, but all in all a very friendly atmosphere. For the whole ultras I know, there was not a plan to cause trouble, many were also going to have a pint with Hibs fans.The most aggressive part came from the police with another totally unnecessary use of the water canon and rubber guns. They managed to take the eyesight of 5 people within the last 2 years with their absolutely stupid use of rubber guns.So you say there was pepper spray used by fans or security? Just want to say one more thing regarding the police: If anyone was injured by a rubber bullet. Please report it to the Hibs and/or FC Luzern!
Hope everyone travelling home isn't too rough and had a great time!
18-08-2023, 07:32 AM
Snowy
Hercule Poirot.
18-08-2023, 07:44 AM
Reading this thread from Luzern. On a huge high from last night. An absolutely brilliant result for everyone connected with Hibs.
And if shows why Hibs.net gets on a lot of people's nerves. We are not world beaters. Our players all have faults. Luzern were probably the better team.
But we beat them 5-3. A fantastic whole team effort. Just brilliant.
Can we not all just enjoy it without turning it into a critique of performance or Hanlon or Stevenson or our midfield or if it wasn't for Youan or the jury's still out on Johnson or we need to beat Raith etc etc etc.
Does my head in.
18-08-2023, 07:47 AM
Reading this thread from Luzern. On a huge high from last night. An absolutely brilliant result for everyone connected with Hibs.
And if shows why Hibs.net gets on a lot of people's nerves. We are not world beaters. Our players all have faults. Luzern were probably the better team.
Can we not all just enjoy it without turning it into a critique of performance or Hanlon or Stevenson or our midfield or if it wasn't for Youan or the jury's still out on Johnson or we need to beat Raith etc etc etc.
Does my head in.
Posts like this get on my nerves. It's a forum, people post in real time watching a game and go a bit OTT - so what?
Enjoy the win and your time over there rather than sniping.
Hanlon last night showed in the challenge for the 2nd goal why he gets so much stick, now that is what ragdolled says when you look it up in the dictionary. The goals you describe above really need to be eradicated, just by defending properly and being switched on ALL THE ****IN TIME , its not as if the opposition are really working hard and actually creating these chances.Great win Hibs, but we will never do anything unless the manager sorts out that defence.
Absolutely, no arguing from me that we need to defend much better not just against villa for the rest of the season it’s been brutal up to now, my main gripe is the singling out like it’s one man to blame, sunday was stevenson last night was Hanlon, player will make mistakes those two aren’t the only ones and players in front of these players need to work harder to help as well it’s not the job of 4 players to defend, showed first leg v luzern what happens with a bit hard work and commitment to do both roles that needs to happen every week no matter who we are playing against if we are to get anywhere close to finishing 3rd
18-08-2023, 09:29 AM
The goal was inexcusable, but I generally thought Hanlon was very very good last night. The majority of his defending in most games is actually quite dominant - decision making rather than physically - and he does have the air of someone using their experience well and looking like a good centre half.
The whole problem is that there are those odd moments like last night, no getting away from that, and they happen in more games than should be the case. I don't think it can be argued the majority of his game at present IS good though, can it? He's not past it, finished, a liability or any other of those throwaway lines people chuck at him?
18-08-2023, 09:32 AM
The inventor of the Cuckoo Clock. Don't know his name.
Cuckoo Clocks come from the Schwarzwald which is in Germany. Common mistake.
He's here!
18-08-2023, 09:35 AM
Does my head in.
I'd agree with you. Highs like this result are few and far between so they're worth enjoying to the full. Reality will return all too soon.
18-08-2023, 09:38 AM
The goal was inexcusable, but I generally thought Hanlon was very very good last night. The majority of his defending in most games is actually quite dominant - decision making rather than physically - and he does have the air of someone using their experience well and looking like a good centre half.The whole problem is that there are those odd moments like last night, no getting away from that, and they happen in more games than should be the case. I don't think it can be argued the majority of his game at present IS good though, can it? He's not past it, finished, a liability or any other of those throwaway lines people chuck at him?Would Hanlon and Stevenson get away with gifting goals at any other SPL team ?
18-08-2023, 09:46 AM
Would Hanlon and Stevenson get away with gifting goals at any other SPL team ?I genuinely don't know, or can't answer that. Just think that he still carries himself well enough to be seen as someone that is a realistic first choice at this point in time. It's not like we need to be consigning him to youth team duties with Daz just yet.
Stevenson's a different case, as it's pretty much universal that we need to be moving away from him as a left back.
I don't think other SPFL teams would be ditching their left backs in favour of Stevenson, put it that way, but Hanlon would be comfortably good enough for most defences in the league. Do realise plenty think differently, though.
Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk
18-08-2023, 09:51 AM
Would Hanlon and Stevenson get away with gifting goals at any other SPL team ?
If we give the opposition 70% of possession, and they pummel us with it, it's inevitable that mistakes will happen.
Hanlon was excellent for the vast majority of the game. Would any other SPL centre half have performed to such a high standard?
18-08-2023, 11:26 AM
If we give the opposition 70% of possession, and they pummel us with it, it's inevitable that mistakes will happen.
Hanlon was excellent for the vast majority of the game. Would any other SPL centre half have performed to such a high standard?
Him and Fish had excellent games, save for Fish twice jumping and missing a corner and then Hanlon wasn't great at their 2nd. But considering we seemed to have a "fire away lads" policy when it came to blocking crosses, they did admirably
18-08-2023, 11:36 AM
This has aged well.
To make it even better our U17s team beat the Swiss too, so 3-0 tae the Scots and nae tears in his jar. The responses to his tweet are pure Scottish twitter and glorious with it!
Posts like this get on my nerves. It's a forum, people post in real time watching a game and go a bit OTT - so what?
Enjoy the win and your time over there rather than sniping.
And if a poster makes comments about posts he thinks are OTT - so what?
Enjoy the win rather than having a go at someone.
(cue someone to come along and tell me to enjoy the win rather than criticising 😀)
18-08-2023, 12:29 PM
And if a poster makes comments about posts he thinks are OTT - so what?
Enjoy the win rather than having a go at someone.
(cue someone to come along and tell me to enjoy the win rather than criticising 😀)
I was only 'having a go' at someone having a go.
This could go on a while ..
18-08-2023, 09:31 PM
frick off Frick, your boys took a helluva beating :greengrin: https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/mario-frick-angry-disappointed-hibs-27546913?fbclid=IwAR2UIC1E9e_d0KVX_5bKdJcWrpDBVBMm zwXG3rsUXAsfi3TuOeRe1hfNB_4 Loser :loser:
Gonna need a bigger jar to collect those Swiss tears.
We're we that combative? We just didn't let them bully us, they got away with quite a lot over the 2 legs.
18-08-2023, 10:18 PM
Allo Allo Herr Frick.
18-08-2023, 10:22 PM
Love it. Same thing for Scotland National Team beating Spain and Norway recently and the mega Rodri and Odegaard tears (Georgia too). We really seem to rile Europeans up. Maybe it’s because our teams are finally starting to perform and they aren’t liking it one bit.
18-08-2023, 10:52 PM
Love it. Same thing for Scotland National Team beating Spain and Norway recently and the mega Rodri and Odegaard tears (Georgia too). We really seem to rile Europeans up. Maybe it’s because our teams are finally starting to perform and they aren’t liking it one bit.
As my late dad would say about the tippy tappy football why make 35 passes to move forward when one will do,nothing wrong with the long ball game as long you find a team mate. People who come up with these type of comments are really only highlighting their inadequacies.
19-08-2023, 04:01 AM
Gonna need a bigger jar to collect those Swiss tears.
We're we that combative? We just didn't them bully us, they got away with quite a lot over the 2 legs.
Some ****ing brass neck on him to call us combatative, some of their fouls at ER were minging. A different ref and they'd have been down to 10 at least.
19-08-2023, 07:25 AM
Some ****ing brass neck on him to call us combatative, some of their fouls at ER were minging. A different ref and they'd have been down to 10 at least.
Agree should have had reds in both games with the Boyle one utterly bizarre refereeing in the second match.
19-08-2023, 07:50 AM
Would Hanlon and Stevenson get away with gifting goals at any other SPL team ?
All our other players seem to get away with it every week. 😂
19-08-2023, 08:17 AM
Desperate stuff. His team are a bunch of cloggers and we stuck 5 past them.