View Full Version : Match Updates FC Luzern v Hibernian
17-08-2023, 07:14 PM
He's brilliant.
Very well informed, has clearly done his homework, with the odd little quirky way about him.
Sounds like he puts some of the pundits we get here to shame
Sleeping with the Fish is going to have a whole new meaning soon.
I actually think that was on Miller there. Either way between the two of them not clever.
Rumble de Thump
All our defenders seem to think that marking players and tracking runs is optional.
17-08-2023, 07:15 PM
This is infuriating.
Never make it easy for ourselves
Sounds like he puts some of the pundits we get here to shameHe does but he used the word cleats so I've muted it
[emoji23]
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
pm’d
Amazing mate cheers
Sounds like he puts some of the pundits we get here to shame
I agree. I think this commentator is really good. Loads of research
Fuzzywuzzy
Fair few passes youans been light on
Sleeping with the Fish is going to have a whole new meaning soon.
Boyle is at fault defensively for their goal IMO
Ffs Newell, right into his back for a stupid foul
17-08-2023, 07:16 PM
This is infuriating.
Never make it easy for ourselvesBreathe mate
We are.no worse off and it's 29 mins in
They are a decent side tho for sure
delbert
All our defenders seem to think that marking players and tracking runs is optional.
The centre of the Hibs defence is horrific, not sure what they work on in training but defending would be good !
Amazing that this game is taking place so close to the worlds steepest cogwheel railway.
17-08-2023, 07:17 PM
I love this commentator. He’s excellent, Knowledgeable, doesn’t speak in endless cliches. My MOTM so far.
Boyle is at fault defensively for their goal IMO
Him/ Miller gave the boy acres.
Fish and newell didn't track runners.
Lewis was slow to react.
Marshall the only one with credit from that bit.
Andymac85
Amazing that this game is taking place so close to the worlds steepest cogwheel railway.
Ha, this guy is great.
Ffs Newell, right into his vack for a stupid foulWas a good foul to give away, it let stevenson get back into shape.
😂😂😂
Breathe mate
We are.no worse off and it's 29 mins in
They are a decent side tho for sure
Exactly. 2 goal lead with an hour of the tie go go. Let's get to HT not conceding any more.
17-08-2023, 07:18 PM
Newell is giving away a lot of cheap free kicks here
Youan needs to do more
wow that's a freakin foul you homer referee
Surely to Christ referee???
Andymac85
How is that not a foul!
Mikey_1875
Ref has bottled it there!!
How is that not a free kick and a red? They should have nine men by now.
That was a red card with VAR
skyehibee
Ref clueless
guthrie01
17-08-2023, 07:19 PM
pm’dCan I also get a pm
Holy **** that looked like a foul on Boyle there.
Lovely play from him leading up to it.
How was that not a foul, shocker from the ref
Insane from the ref
Ref clueless
Same as last week very lienent
badabing67
Was Boyler fouled there
Off the bar
This. Clearest example of a red you’ll see. Professional foul.
Thought he went down a bit easy
Was a good foul to give away, it let stevenson get back into shape.
True, not subtle though is it.
This ref is bent, definitely a foul on Boyle.
Would like to see that one again
That’s an awful decision from the ref. ****ing screaming red card that.
That's a foul. Has to be.
That's 100% a foul on Boyle. They've got away with one there.
Ref is at it big time, cheat
Fuzzywuzzy
Def red card
Not a foul for me. Boy was stronger that Boyle. Seen them given mind.
HendoDelivered
Embarrassing decision
17-08-2023, 07:20 PM
Refs a clown
Great effort from Boyle but think his own momentum took him down there.Shows he still has some pace to him though!
That’s a shocker
That’s a Red with VAR
Another terrible decision
This ref has just lost the plot btw
How's that a foul against Hanlon??
What's he meant to do with his arm?
Fuzzywuzzy
Refs not very good is he
Helensburghhibs
Joke of a decision. Boyle done brilliant, refs had a mare
Andymac85
Hang on, that’s a foul but Boyle’s wasn’t?
Not a foul for me. Boy was stronger that Boyle. Seen them given mind.
No danger, he’s no chance of getting the ball unless he takes Boyle down.
That’s a stick on red there.
Now he gives a free kick to them!
Can’t
Great effort from Boyle but think his own momentum took him down there.Shows he still has some pace to him though!
The boy was grabbing him, 100% a foul
Just seen it again. Thought Boyle ****ed it a little with his touches and should've been away giving the defender no chance but at the same time he does grab his arm and pull him back.
Rumble de Thump
Luzern player grabbed Boyle's arm to pull him back. Should have been a sending off.
This referee is shaping up for something howlingly horrible.
Murtini
My honest opinion is he went down a little easy BUT it still should've been a red. Beloko's very good at that sorta defending.
That's probably 4, maybe 5 red cards they'd have had with VAR over two legs.
GreenGray
This ref is awful, had a clear view of the foul on Boyle
The Captain....
This ref is very worrying...
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
Up-the-slope
we will get other chances as they have to press and expose themselves.... we just need to avoid gifting them a goal
ref has a swiss bank account
17-08-2023, 07:21 PM
Definite red card if var is in the building, disgrace
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
1875Sean
Seen them given but wouldn’t say it was a stonewaller, Boyle look to be be going down
How’s he given that as a handball, hand it hit was in at his chest
Good save from Marshall
Shocking refereeing
norhfc
Ref giving us nothing from the start.
badabing67
Well saved Marshall
Mikey_1875
Off the line! Not sure I can take another 60+ of this.
Cleared off the line!
skyehibee
We are just making trouble for ourselves
17-08-2023, 07:22 PM
They have a man right on top of Marshall at every corner. No chance he is going to be able to come and relieve any pressure.
They should be down to ten. That was a clear red card. Even the home fans are amazed.
If Dylan Levitt could turn up, that'd be grand.
Seen them given but wouldn’t say it was a stonewaller, Boyle look to be be going downBoyle cut across him guy grabbed his arm
It's about as clear as you get
Standard decision, free kick and red card
Andymac85
Marshall gives me the fear at corners.
Levitt is a man down
The Captain....
ref has a swiss bank accountLooking very much like it
OtleyHibs
Infuriating, looks like he's taken his eye off the ball a few times
Far to much giving the ball away, we need to try slow the game down with Newell and Levitt.
HendoDelivered
Didnt even realise he was actually on
17-08-2023, 07:23 PM
Levitt is a man down
He's even worse than that.
Goal or not, I’d sub Youan for Obita at HT.
Levitt is a man down
Been very disappointing so far.
Andymac85
Utterly aimless by Lewis ruining a decent chance to break.
Daily Hibs
17-08-2023, 07:24 PM
Boyle was looking to go down there.
Helensburghhibs
Our goal has masked what has been a terrible performance so far.
water chucked on at josh campbell
Surely the goalie can't do that??
[emoji23][emoji23]
Campbell would've made that if he hadn't been scudded earlier.
Campbell hobbling.
Campbell looks knackered
Give over were 2 goals ahead. Done fine so far
Musselbound
17-08-2023, 07:25 PM
This ref is awful, had a clear view of the foul on Boyle
I take it there's no var?
Giving the ball away too cheaply.
Not til next round.
Keep the ****ing ball Hibs!!!!
That’s a penalty
Very similar to the one given against Marshall at Pittodrie.
Levitt again man. Ffs.
Levitt having a total mare🙈
Andymac85
I’m not sure it’s been terrible. We’ve looked dangerous on the break.
Campbell doesn’t like he’s got much left.
Not in this round
Levitt looks really off the pace.
Saint Hibee
Get Levitt off
I take it there's no var?Nope
Otherwise they'd be down to 10 and we could've easily had a penalty
Helensburghhibs
Give over were 2 goals ahead. Done fine so far
You really think we have done fine? Happy with the score but the quality of passing has been brutal. At some point we need to keep the ball
17-08-2023, 07:26 PM
Very similar to the one given against Marshall at Pittodrie.Similar but way more contact on Campbell there
Dunno what the goalie was doing
Very harsh. It not been that bad. Not great but I’ll not be taking to the streets.
Up-the-slope
Campbell looks knackeredCrocked by previous tackle ?
We are ball watching a lot here just now. Poor decision making too in key areas.
Still doing well though.
Saint Hibee
Mussellfish?
Should be 11 Vs 10 here
Very similar to the one given against Marshall at Pittodrie.
Aye but with way more contact.
Would love to see this commentators notes for this game [emoji23][emoji23]
17-08-2023, 07:27 PM
this commentator has done his homework
You really think we have done fine? Happy with the score but the quality of passing has been brutal. At some point we need to keep the ball
We're away at a tough side. You sometimes have to just dig in and get the result.
Mikey_1875
Need to be stronger Miller
This ref is absolutely hopeless btw
Amazing that this game is taking place so close to the worlds steepest cogwheel railway.Fact of the round.
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
Clear foul on Miller
This ref is a shambles
King conrad
We need to start passing the ball better, Giving it away far too cheap
this ref is taking the piss
Another clear foul not given. What's going on here?
We're 2nd to everything in midfield and our 2nd touch is a tackle, apart from the goal we've not looked great.
Mikey_1875
17-08-2023, 07:28 PM
Is this ref having a laugh
Up-the-slope
going by most recent games the manager likes a HT sub... who are we thinking? JDH for Levitt or a crocked Campbell?
Aw **** off ref you cheating ****
This ref is very suspicious.
Dobosz83
Hibs are up against 12 tonight I’m afraid…
Andymac85
This ref is something else.
OtleyHibs
So much space left down the flank there
That's never a yellow card, refs a muppet
Fuzzywuzzy
Mussellfish?
My brain actually stopped at that. I couldn't take it in
of course 1st card goes to a hibs player, freak all in it
Ref is a total homer cheating ****
How's that a yellow for vente
Need to be stronger Miller
Quite clearly fouled. Not sure how the Lino doesn’t see that.
Gets the free kick and jumps straight back up. This team are horrible basturds
We are living on the edge here.
Ps Greek refs are just as baffling as Scottish ones.
This referee is just useless.
This ref is at it
Trinity Hibee
17-08-2023, 07:29 PM
This ref is up there with Alan Freeland v Falkirk!
-Jonesy-
Ref going home with some stolen Nazi gold tonight
badabing67
If we make it to half time level that's decent
this ref is taking the pissHe certainly is he's ****ing useless
Forever_Green93
How was that yellow for Vente? WTF man.
nickwhibs
This ref is at it
Yep. He’s been a joke so far
Definitely capable of hitting them on the break. Just need to keep the ball and take some pressure off.
17-08-2023, 07:30 PM
I'd take 1-1 HT please
good clearance LS
Great header Stevenson
And marshall claims the corner. Well done
babahibs
Something dodgy going on with the ref here, seriously.
I totally disagree tbh.
There have been a fair few mistakes from our players but we've carried a decent threat going forward, can consider ourselves highly unlucky that Boyle either didn't get a goal or the player who fouled him sent off and we've soaked up a bit of pressure at the other end, dealing really quite well with it defensively.
Campbell looks injured and Levitt is having a bit of a disaster. Marshall is having a good evening though, his best for a long time.
Apart from distribution, Marshall has had a good game
Best half in a hibs strip from Marsh so far.
17-08-2023, 07:31 PM
When are we putting an offer in for US Soccer Guy to join Hibs TV?
17-08-2023, 07:32 PM
Regardless of the result tonight an official letter of complain about the ref should be sent to the beeks about this cheating clown
more stuff getting chucked on the pitch from the swiss
Good foul by Boyle.
Another clear foul not given. What's going on here?Same last week at ER, Ref let a lot go unpunished
The Captain....
17-08-2023, 07:33 PM
Been quite entertaining in a "watch thru your fingers" kind of way. Neither team got any sort of control of the game.
I'd sub the ref with the commentator.
Sent from my moto g(30) using Tapatalk
skyehibee
Get Campbell off
marshall has had a very good game so far.
there’s a few that i’ve barely noticed are playing
Jesus Josh
Put it in the corner ffs
Up-the-slope
Sounds like its a miracle that only 2 goals scored.... and ANOther ref might have booked 3 or 4 and produced a red
I think Campbell has run his race tonight. Not looked right since that tackle earlier.
Quite a lot of stuff being thrown at our players
Ht 1-1
17-08-2023, 07:34 PM
Campbell looks gubbed, think he’ll be off at half time.
Get Campbell off
He is gubbed, can't see him making it out in the 2nd half
HT. It's as it was.
Everyone would have taken that pre match.
Good foul by Boyle.
If we are being fair that’s a yellow in SPL too
Rumble de Thump
Ref blows his flute to bring an end to the first half.
HT. just 45 mins to go guys. We can do it!
The Captain....
Joe Newell is a one man midfield again..the other two are either giving it away cheaply or non existent.
Murtini
At HT, I'm a little disappointed Luzern aren't ahead on the night.
The refereeing though has been suspect at best. Arguably we should be down to 9, certainly 10. Next goal is HUGE.
Well played Hibs 45 minutes to go!
Swiss fans *****
Swiss players *****
Ref ****
Ht 1-1That's a great result btw
All been a bit hairy after a great start
End of day 1/2 the game gone and nothings changed score wise
When are we putting an offer in for US Soccer Guy to join Hibs TV?Go soccer!
Don't know what's happened to Campbell but he's been poor the last few games he's played.
17-08-2023, 07:35 PM
If we had a decent ref, this tie would be done and dusted for Hibs.
Would have taken that at 19:45.
If VAR was in play, we'd be laughing though.
Need better in midfield.
Campbell looks burst and Levitt has been woeful.
Trinity Hibee
Very well played Hibs. Think we’ll get through the tie. Can see us scoring again 2nd half. Game is wide open
I love this commentator.
Andymac85
If you had offered me at the start a 2 goal lead maintained at half time I’d have taken it.
If we are being fair that’s a yellow in SPL too
100%. It was cynical but they had a break so it was the right thing to do (in an unsporting anti football way).
Sounds like its a miracle that only 2 goals scored.... and ANOther ref might have booked 3 or 4 and produced a red
Not really. They’ve had one very good chance the boy should have made contact with but other than that a couple of east saves from Marshall you’d expect him to make.
Levitt and Campbell have been awful, we need players in there that will compete.
Ref blows his flute to bring an end to the first half. I sash what you did there.
Their lucky there is no var. Should have had 2 reds easy.
Mikey_1875
17-08-2023, 07:36 PM
Frantic stuff but we have to be happy with 1-1 going into half time. We have been on the wrong end of some terrible calls from the ref.
Depending on Campbells fitness I am not sure I would make any changes at HT. Mainly because I don’t think Jeggo would add much to this game.
Good half.
Acceptable scoreline.
A ref who makes you wonder if the Scottish refs are all that bad.
And dare I say - a couple of big calls that went against us there that VAR would have sorted. It might be imperfect but is it not better than being without it?
sauzeelegod
Referee is absolutely horrendous.
Also very annoying that we don’t just keep the ball for a spell.
Pure hot potato stuff ffs.
Not really. They’ve had one very good chance the boy should have made contact with but other than that a couple of east saves from Marshall you’d expect him to make.
One off the line as well.
I love this commentator.Agree. Sign him.
Joe Newell is a one man midfield again..the other two are either giving it away cheaply or non existent.
Don't think I heard Tevitt's name all half, been anonymous.
zitelli62
Absolute shocking from the ref stonewall penalty and a red card if I didn't know better I would think the ref was corrupt.
Will take 1-1 at half time, to much giving the ball away from a lot of players.
Marshall has done well.
No composure in there , Newell included.
This referee is just useless.He's not useless. He's a blatant cheat... might as well have a luzern shirt on. Considering he's got the whistle, that's a HUGE advantage for them
17-08-2023, 07:37 PM
We're trying to play the killer pass as soon as we get into thier half. I'd be looking to get ALF involved to calm things down a bit, maybe with Youan through the middle if Vente is getting sucked in.
The refereeing though has been suspect at best. Arguably we should be down to 9, certainly 10. Next goal is HUGE.
One too many Murtuni’s for you sir
Their lucky there is no var. Should have had 2 reds easy.
I'd say 3!
The boy who went to headbutt vente
The boy who did studs up on Campbell
The defender who took out Boyle.
Don't know what's happened to Campbell but he's been poor the last few games he's played.I think he’s bulked up a bit too much.
I'd bring Doidge on after about 65 minutes. He'll hold it up and bring others into it.
I keep saying it but as they get desperate we'll get at least one big chance on the break. Take it and it's game over.
FFS that was hard going. Ref wrong on Boyle challenge red card all day. Levit, Campbell and Stevenson need to calm down and pass the ball a lot better. Great goal from Youan but he keeps switching off. Another battle in the next 45 minutes. But Villa will destroy both these teams easily
i presume Dylan Levitt is still getting fit i'm thinking we have another goal in us, deflected or not
Bridge hibs
Don't think I heard Tevitt's name all half, been anonymous.
Thats because its Levitt 😃
17-08-2023, 07:38 PM
Ref blows his flute to bring an end to the first half.
Flugelhorn surely?!
JDH is good at closing down out of possession, should be bringing him on for Levitt. Campbell has run his race but no other midfielders to bring on in his place, not ideal
King conrad
Agree with this
Gordy M
Don't think I heard Tevitt's name all half, been anonymous.He had a great tackle when he chased the guy down and stopped a really good attack from them. Surprised nobody has commented on it......
Ref is terrible, we need to keep hold of it, if Campbell is fit enough after that knock to the leg I’d get jeggo on for levitt games passed him by.
Will fish is needing a rocket up his erse as well sleeping for the goal must have been looking straight passed the goal scorer watching the ball instead of picking up his man
One off the line as well.
True but it wasn’t really scrambled. Well in control of the situation.
17-08-2023, 07:39 PM
I think he’s bulked up a bit too much.
Either that or he wasn't 100% fit for this game.
HibeeSince85
We've played alright, you'd think if we keep it tight for the first 15 mins they'll chase the game and Boyle and Youan can hit them on the break.
We'd have all taken level at HT tonight.
One last half coming up.
Johnny Clash
Well done Hibs - up against it with a ref scared to upset the home fans. Defo a sending off with Boyle being pulled to the ground - and it looks like Boyle was making sure the ref knew in detail, before leaving the pitch at HT!!
seanshow
17-08-2023, 07:40 PM
When you win the the ball back composure is key, and dare I say it Mr Hibs is our worst offender at the moment of hot potato football, keep possession for more than 2 seconds ffs stop just punting it clear.
Campbell and Levitt off please. But only really Jeggo who could come on from that best so Dylan will stay on.Youan has probably done enough to stay on but their number 2 has the freedom of that flank. Obits should be on soon though
At HT, I'm a little disappointed Luzern aren't ahead on the night. The refereeing though has been suspect at best. Arguably we should be down to 9, certainly 10. Next goal is HUGE.Are you for real?... How have you managed to stay on the forum?
Levitt and Campbell have been awful, we need players in there that will compete.
I think they’ve competed alright. It’s when they have had the ball it’s been so disappointing. Youan aswell
Our passing and general possession is embarrassing
Commentator reminds me of Derek Rae or is it the serial killer from Corrie ?
Disappointed they're not ahead? You're at it and I'm surprised you've not been booted already, your team's on BBC tonight.
17-08-2023, 07:41 PM
Stevenson kicking it in any direction he can. He looks panicked.
Campbell towing a caravan.
Youan just playing his own game without a care in the world, which sometimes is what we actually need to take the sting out of the game a wee bit.
i think boyle needs to show the yellow card to this referee
I am just listening to an English guy, Football Fan Den, on Youtube who is watching it and giving us a 'diet' commentary. He has been banging on about the ref's shocking officiating and at least twice ranted about the objects being thrown at Hibs players.
66% v 34% possession, 14 shot's v 4.
Need to try and hold on to the ball a bit more and frustrate them.
Job half done tonight. Confident we will progress.
badabing67
Wonder if LJ will make changes at 1/2 time
Happy enough so far.
Think we will grind it out and score late on.
Lee Marvin
I think he’s bulked up a bit too much.
Campbell has been playing with a shoulder injury for a few weeks and is still doing so tonight
babahibs
We're doing ok here, getting the job done so far.We're a threat on the break.Ref's a cheat, it's obvious.
I would like to think we have got this. They are decent but they need to score twice without conceding, just to force ET and are at home, so the pressure is on them to attack.
The natural game plan for us has to be to exploit that and play to the strengths of having Boyle and Youan running at them on the flanks and on the break. As the game develops we have Jeggo to add another layer of security, Obita with more pace and strength to test their defence and Doidge and Alf to offer different threats up top.
I’m happy with the look of the set-up on paper, hopefully that is the case on grass.
Forty-five minutes gone and this hasn’t really changed, except the time factor will likely cause Luzern to leave more room at the back.
Obita can expect to come on for Youan sooner rather than later I would hazard.
17-08-2023, 07:42 PM
Disappointed they're not ahead? You're at it and I'm surprised you've not been booted already, your team's on BBC tonight.
He’s a Luzern fan mate. 😂😂
Thats because its Levitt 😃
Bloody autocorrect and not checking lol
Davy Mac
Levitt bottled out a tackle on Sunday and did it again tonight, not impressed.
Newell, Youan, Marshal, Millar and Vente have been good but the commentator is tremendous.
We can get throug this tie, we really can and 1M is at stake.
Go Hibs! lol
Trinity Hibee
He’s a Luzern fan mate. 😂😂
JDH is good at closing down out of possession, should be bringing him on for Levitt. Campbell has run his race but no other midfielders to bring on in his place, not ideal
He's out injured.
17-08-2023, 07:43 PM
Aw naw
Stewboy
17-08-2023, 07:43 PM
Campbell looks like he’s taken a knock too far
We’re competing though, hopefully keep it tight(er) out wide and get one on the break