View Full Version : Possible Euro Opponents

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

25-05-2023, 11:56 AM
Saturday’s Edinburgh derby between Hearts and Hibs at Tynecastle Park will decide who finishes fourth and fifth in the cinch Premiership. Both clubs covet fourth after Aberdeen secured third spot and guaranteed European group-stage football, provided Celtic win the Scottish Cup next month against Inverness Caledonian Thistle.

Hearts are currently fourth and two points ahead of fifth-placed Hibs and will remain there if they avoid a derby defeat. Celtic beating Inverness at Hampden would see Aberdeen given the Scottish Cup’s European slot – a Europa League play-off place with parachute into the Conference League groups should they lose that tie.

The club in fourth spot would then enter the Europa Conference League third qualifying round – ties on August 10 and 17 – as an unseeded side. Scotland’s UEFA co-efficient of 7.280 would not permit a seeding, meaning the following seeded opponents are among those who could lie in wait (** denotes assumed progress from the second qualifying round):

Club Brugge** (Bel), Gent** (Bel), Partizan Belgrade (Srb), PAOK Salonika** (Gre), Maccabi Tel-Aviv** (Isr), Viktoria Plzen** (Cze), Bodo/Glimt** (Nor), Lech Poznan** (Pol), Hapoel Beer-Sheva** (Isr), Djurgardens** (Swe), APOEL Nicosia** (Cyp), Besiktas** (Tur), Rijeka** (Cro), FCSB** (Rom), Legia Warsaw** (Pol), Rosenborg** (Nor), Spartak Trnava** (Svk), Omonia Nicosia** (Cyp).

Still to be decided and included are the fourth and fifth-placed clubs from Netherlands, fifth and sixth from Portugal, second or third in Turkey plus the Danish Cup winners.

Victory at that stage brings progress to the Conference League play-off round. That involves another two-legged tie on August 24 and 31 for the right to a place in the tournament’s group phase. Defeat at either stage would mean outright elimination from European competition.

The club finishing fifth in Scotland would – again, provided Celtic win the Scottish Cup – enter the Conference League one stage earlier at the second qualifying round. They may be given a seeding depending on the co-efficients of those progressing from the first qualifying round. That will be decided nearer the time. The second qualifying round ties will take place on July 27 and August 3.

If seeded at that stage, Scotland’s representatives could be drawn against some of the following unseeded sides (* denotes assumed progress from the first qualifying round):

Gzira United* (Mlt), Levadia Tallinn* (Est), Connah's Quay* (Wal), HB Torshavn* (Far), Europa FC* (Gib), NK Domzale* (Slo), FC Santa Coloma* (And), Progrès Niederkorn* (Lux), Beitar Jerusalem (Isr), Hammarby (Swe), Kalmar (Swe), Zalgiris Kaunas (Lit), Pogon Szczecin (Pol), Zalaegerszeg (Hun), Kecskeméti (Hun), Sepsi OSK (Rom), Borac Banja Luka (Bos), Sabah FK (Azb), Ordabasy Shymkent (Kaz), FK Aktobe (Kaz), NK Celje (Slo), FK Auda (Lat).

If unseeded, they could meet any of the double-starred teams listed as possible third-qualifying round opponents above, or one of the following (* denotes assumed progress from the first qualifying round):

Dudelange* (Lux), Riga FC* (Lat), Maribor* (Slo), KuPS Kuopio (Fin), Shkendija Tetovo* (Mac), Neftchi Baku (Azb), Linfield* (Nir), FC Vaduz* (Lie), DAC Dunajska Streda* (Svk), Dundalk* (Irl), Osijek (Cro), Alashkert* (Arm).

In the event of Inverness beating Celtic in the season’s showpiece, they would take the Scottish Cup’s Europa League play-off berth. Aberdeen would then enter the Conference League third qualifying round, and the club finishing fourth would enter the second qualifying round. Fifth place would not qualify for Europe in that instance.

25-05-2023, 12:09 PM
Seems simple enough, thanks for clearing that up🙃

Paulie Walnuts
25-05-2023, 12:15 PM
Not a particularly exciting list of opponents for finishing fifth. A few more exciting teams in the list for the 4th place team but not that exciting either.

BlackSheep
25-05-2023, 12:15 PM
A very well put together explanation Hermit, thank you.

patlowe
25-05-2023, 12:16 PM
Looking at that we can safely say, despite the Conference League being the lesser tournament, it's still bloody tough to qualify for the group stages whether you finish 4th or 5th (assuming 3rd gets the cup-winning slot). Said on another thread but I just hope we get a shot at that automatic qualification slot before Scotland loses it - sure someone more intelligent can tell us when that is likely to happen.

25-05-2023, 12:20 PM
So while not doing the coefficient any good our ideal results would be to beat Hearts on Saturday and hope Celtc get beat off ICT, Aberdeen don't get the automatic group stage berth, hearts get no place and we get the 2 qualifying round for the ECL

25-05-2023, 12:25 PM
A very well put together explanation Hermit, thank you.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-and-hibs-learn-their-possible-european-opponents-and-dates-for-the-europa-conference-league-qualifiers-4157645

HC is Barry Anderson, suddenly all makes sense.

Paulie Walnuts
25-05-2023, 12:25 PM
Looking at that we can safely say, despite the Conference League being the lesser tournament, it's still bloody tough to qualify for the group stages whether you finish 4th or 5th (assuming 3rd gets the cup-winning slot). Said on another thread but I just hope we get a shot at that automatic qualification slot before Scotland loses it - sure someone more intelligent can tell us when that is likely to happen.

Sure I seen someone say it’ll last until at least the 24/25 tournament. After that it’ll be dependant on performances between now and then.

25-05-2023, 12:33 PM
Connahs Quay would be handy for me!

25-05-2023, 12:38 PM
We may be better off finishing 5th, being unseeded and hopefully beating the seeded team. We would then take their seeding in the next round giving us a better chance of getting to the playoff game . I am sure that’s how it works

Paulie Walnuts
25-05-2023, 12:39 PM
We may be better off finishing 5th, being unseeded and hopefully beating the seeded team. We would then take their seeding in the next round giving us a better chance of getting to the playoff game . I am sure that’s how it works

I think you’re correct. I’m sure I read though that we’re more likely to be seeded for that round than not though so it’s unlikely we’d get the chance to do that.

25-05-2023, 12:41 PM
Gzira United* (Mlt), Levadia Tallinn* (Est), Connah's Quay* (Wal), HB Torshavn* (Far), Europa FC* (Gib), NK Domzale* (Slo), FC Santa Coloma* (And), Progrès Niederkorn* (Lux), Beitar Jerusalem (Isr), Hammarby (Swe), Kalmar (Swe), Zalgiris Kaunas (Lit), Pogon Szczecin (Pol), Zalaegerszeg (Hun), Kecskeméti (Hun), Sepsi OSK (Rom), Borac Banja Luka (Bos), Sabah FK (Azb), Ordabasy Shymkent (Kaz), FK Aktobe (Kaz), NK Celje (Slo), FK Auda (Lat).

Is that the club or successor to the one mad Vlad used to own?

Paulie Walnuts
25-05-2023, 12:47 PM
Is that the club or successor to the one mad Vlad used to own?

Different club. Founded in 2004 as part of an overall sports club with a basketball team etc.

FBK Kaunas that Vlad owned died in 2012.

25-05-2023, 01:36 PM
[QUOTE=Ringothedog;7358165]We may be better off finishing 5th, being unseeded and hopefully beating the seeded team. We would then take their seeding in the next round giving us a better chance of getting to the playoff game . I am sure that’s how it works[/QUOTE

Thats what I was thinking, finish 5th and hope Celtic din the cup would be the better route for us in Europe but you also want to finish 4th and maybe get a crack at one of those bigger sides.

25-05-2023, 01:39 PM

I think we are a guaranteed seed if finishing 5th.

25-05-2023, 01:42 PM
[QUOTE=Ringothedog;7358165]We may be better off finishing 5th, being unseeded and hopefully beating the seeded team. We would then take their seeding in the next round giving us a better chance of getting to the playoff game . I am sure that’s how it works[/QUOTE

Thats what I was thinking, finish 5th and hope Celtic din the cup would be the better route for us in Europe but you also want to finish 4th and maybe get a crack at one of those bigger sides.

If we progress I would prefer if we meet easier sides until all new players have settled in.

25-05-2023, 01:44 PM
Sure I seen someone say it’ll last until at least the 24/25 tournament. After that it’ll be dependant on performances between now and then.

due the year delay (i.e. the access list for the 25/26 competition is based on the the ccoefficient ranking at the end of the 23/24 season), we're not at risk of losing our guaranteed group stage spot until the 26/27 tournament. H

However if Celtic and Rangers can have some good seasons again there's no reason we can't keep it for longer, a couple more seasons like this one though and it will be gone for 26/27.

24/25 tournaments are based on league coefficient rankings at the end of this season, however I don't think UEFA have set in stone yet how the new champions league format will effect the Europa and Conference leagues. Based on their current plans, we'd actually gain another Europa league entry place. See here: https://kassiesa.net/uefa/AccessList2024.html

bert kassies site is really good for all stuff to do with co-efficient rankings, access lists etc.
https://kassiesa.net/uefa/

Bushwoof
25-05-2023, 01:45 PM

I seem to remember the same thing happening to another club that year. Who was it again.....?

Anyway, I'd actually prefer us to get the 'last' spot - an easier warm-up tie, and hopefully more cash for the club. But I'd also like us to beat the Hearts. Can Caley do it again?

25-05-2023, 01:47 PM

25-05-2023, 01:50 PM
I think we are a guaranteed seed if finishing 5th.

That's correct if we finish 5th we will be seeded and play a proper diddy team then face a difficult next round.

Same as we had to play Santa Coloma a few years back.

25-05-2023, 01:54 PM
Surely finishing fourth is better? Just means you miss out on having to play (and potentially get embarrassed by) a diddy team? Either way the opponent in the third qualifying round will be a tough one.

25-05-2023, 01:58 PM

Only problem with that is there's no guarantee the seeded team in the 2nd qualifying round will be seeded for the 3rd.

Also we'd then be unseeded for the play-off (as we'd use our own coefficient in that draw), meaning we'd probably go out.

It's been confirmed now that any Scottish team in the 3rd round will definitely be unseeded - so our best chance to make the groups is to get a team in that round that's weak enough for us to beat with a bit of luck, but has a good enough coefficient to be seeded in the play-off. We'd then avoid the teams entering from the big 4 leagues in the play-off draw, but would likely have to beat someone like PAOK, Bodo, Lech Poznan or Macabai Tel-Aviv in the round before. Whether we get there from coming 4th or 5th won't make a difference.

ElginHibbie
25-05-2023, 02:01 PM
[QUOTE=Hermit Crab;7358213]If we progress I would prefer if we meet easier sides until all new players have settled in.

Yeah, we are gonna need a good bit of luck either way so an extra a round for match sharpness and settling in might not be the worst thing

25-05-2023, 02:51 PM
hope we don't get Linfield, just played the Scottish equivalent last sunday

GRA
25-05-2023, 03:12 PM
Anyone know when the draws are made for the 2nd & 3rd qualifying rounds of the conference league?

25-05-2023, 03:22 PM
Anyone know when the draws are made for the 2nd & 3rd qualifying rounds of the conference league?

june 20/21st 1st & 2nd Q round

July 24th 3rd round

Garymcl
25-05-2023, 03:28 PM
I don’t care who we get (money put away a while ago ) a few of us did the same just in case wife been told no matter who we get I’m off along with 5 other hibbys get this weekend out the way wait for the draw computer ready flights booked European trips with the Hibs are a brilliant experience highly recommended if you can afford it canny wait for the draw

25-05-2023, 03:35 PM
Surely finishing fourth is better? Just means you miss out on having to play (and potentially get embarrassed by) a diddy team? Either way the opponent in the third qualifying round will be a tough one.

I think I'd rather play the two extra competitive games rather than going in to play a seeded team on the back of friendlies.

25-05-2023, 03:38 PM
Do we know the dates the games will be played?

25-05-2023, 03:48 PM
I think I'd rather play the two extra competitive games rather than going in to play a seeded team on the back of friendlies.

To be honest, I think that's what will happen at best.

Hearts have won two thirds of their home games, 12/18 with 42 goals whilst we've only won 5 away, scoring 20.

Of course we've got a chance, it's a derby and nerves etc might play a part, but the smart money has to be on them.

Hibees1973
25-05-2023, 03:48 PM
So the prognosis is that if we are 5th and Celtic win the cup we have 3 rounds to negotiate to get through to the group stages.

The first qualifying round should be achievable, however, as an unseeded side we will come across mighty difficult opposition in the 2nd and 3rd qualifying rounds.

Will just make the most of the 1st round and hope it's not against a UK based team.

25-05-2023, 04:02 PM
So the prognosis is that if we are 5th and Celtic win the cup we have 3 rounds to negotiate to get through to the group stages.

The first qualifying round should be achievable, however, as an unseeded side we will come across mighty difficult opposition in the 2nd and 3rd qualifying rounds.

Will just make the most of the 1st round and hope it's not against a UK based team.

we will enter at the 2nd qualifying round

if we finish 5th of course

3rd Q if 4th

then the play-off

then the group stage :)

Hibees1973
25-05-2023, 04:03 PM
we will enter at the 2nd qualifying round

Yes, didn't word my post very well. Think we still have to get through 3 rounds to get to the group stages.

Qualifying rounds 2 & 3 and finally a play-off round.

25-05-2023, 04:07 PM
Yes, didn't word my post very well. Think we still have to get through 3 rounds to get to the group stages.

Qualifying rounds 2 & 3 and finally a play-off round.

:thumbsup: even just looking at the possibles in the 3rd round is a tad concerning

i think their should be a 4th European tournament :)

25-05-2023, 04:22 PM
Probably a strange question but...

....is there any chance of 4th/5th place teams meeting an Austrian side in the early stages?

Not been for a few years now and would love to go back again to watch Hibs (especially if it was against Rapid)

p.s. Thanks HC for posting the info :aok:

25-05-2023, 04:30 PM
i see included in the 2nd qualifying round there are 17 losers from the CL 1st Qualifying round

not only would i like a 4th European tournament i'd also like a 5th & 6th as well

Hibs4185
25-05-2023, 04:32 PM
Different club. Founded in 2004 as part of an overall sports club with a basketball team etc.

Shame his other club didn’t die too

25-05-2023, 05:52 PM
In all this European hysteria possibilities, if we do qualify in 5th place, presumably it would mean we’d be precluded from playing in the Viaplay League Cup group stages? Asking for a friend!

25-05-2023, 06:00 PM
In all this European hysteria possibilities, if we do qualify in 5th place, presumably it would mean we’d be precluded from playing in the Viaplay League Cup group stages? Asking for a friend!

Yes

25-05-2023, 06:22 PM
No holiday abroad booked this year. Never seen Hibs away in Europe. This is the year!!

25-05-2023, 06:25 PM
Any news on a summer training came with a couple of games yet? Hoping to build my summer around Hibs one way or another.

Garymcl
25-05-2023, 06:54 PM
Same here Lancs Harp no holiday abroad this year (just got a dog 6 months ago ) don’t want to leave him with family for two weeks as still training him but agreed with wife away with the Hibs 2/3 days is fine canny wait no matter where it is I’m going just love my European trips with fellow hibees so many memories from past trips going back to the late 70s

25-05-2023, 07:00 PM
Any news on a summer training came with a couple of games yet? Hoping to build my summer around Hibs one way or another.

Thought the rumour we were playing a couple of games near Marbella, early July

25-05-2023, 07:02 PM
hope we don't get Linfield, just played the Scottish equivalent last sunday

I would not be going to Northern Ireland for that yin :bitchy::bitchy:

25-05-2023, 07:15 PM
Saturday’s Edinburgh derby between Hearts and Hibs at Tynecastle Park will decide who finishes fourth and fifth in the cinch Premiership. Both clubs covet fourth after Aberdeen secured third spot and guaranteed European group-stage football, provided Celtic win the Scottish Cup next month against Inverness Caledonian Thistle.

Hearts are currently fourth and two points ahead of fifth-placed Hibs and will remain there if they avoid a derby defeat. Celtic beating Inverness at Hampden would see Aberdeen given the Scottish Cup’s European slot – a Europa League play-off place with parachute into the Conference League groups should they lose that tie.

The club in fourth spot would then enter the Europa Conference League third qualifying round – ties on August 10 and 17 – as an unseeded side. Scotland’s UEFA co-efficient of 7.280 would not permit a seeding, meaning the following seeded opponents are among those who could lie in wait (** denotes assumed progress from the second qualifying round):

Club Brugge** (Bel), Gent** (Bel), Partizan Belgrade (Srb), PAOK Salonika** (Gre), Maccabi Tel-Aviv** (Isr), Viktoria Plzen** (Cze), Bodo/Glimt** (Nor), Lech Poznan** (Pol), Hapoel Beer-Sheva** (Isr), Djurgardens** (Swe), APOEL Nicosia** (Cyp), Besiktas** (Tur), Rijeka** (Cro), FCSB** (Rom), Legia Warsaw** (Pol), Rosenborg** (Nor), Spartak Trnava** (Svk), Omonia Nicosia** (Cyp).

Still to be decided and included are the fourth and fifth-placed clubs from Netherlands, fifth and sixth from Portugal, second or third in Turkey plus the Danish Cup winners.

Victory at that stage brings progress to the Conference League play-off round. That involves another two-legged tie on August 24 and 31 for the right to a place in the tournament’s group phase. Defeat at either stage would mean outright elimination from European competition.

The club finishing fifth in Scotland would – again, provided Celtic win the Scottish Cup – enter the Conference League one stage earlier at the second qualifying round. They may be given a seeding depending on the co-efficients of those progressing from the first qualifying round. That will be decided nearer the time. The second qualifying round ties will take place on July 27 and August 3.

If seeded at that stage, Scotland’s representatives could be drawn against some of the following unseeded sides (* denotes assumed progress from the first qualifying round):

If unseeded, they could meet any of the double-starred teams listed as possible third-qualifying round opponents above, or one of the following (* denotes assumed progress from the first qualifying round):

Dudelange* (Lux), Riga FC* (Lat), Maribor* (Slo), KuPS Kuopio (Fin), Shkendija Tetovo* (Mac), Neftchi Baku (Azb), Linfield* (Nir), FC Vaduz* (Lie), DAC Dunajska Streda* (Svk), Dundalk* (Irl), Osijek (Cro), Alashkert* (Arm).

In the event of Inverness beating Celtic in the season’s showpiece, they would take the Scottish Cup’s Europa League play-off berth. Aberdeen would then enter the Conference League third qualifying round, and the club finishing fourth would enter the second qualifying round. Fifth place would not qualify for Europe in that instance.

So we only get one shot at saving all the astronauts if we can sling-shot around the moon, scavenge the fuel packs from their dead ship, extend the oxygen on ours by borrowing from the space station and then we also need to somehow have a successful rendezvous with that Chinese deep space probe which they may or may not let us use. Is that right?

147lothian
25-05-2023, 07:34 PM
Thanks Hermit, I know we have to wait until after the final whistle on Saturday, but the connotations of finishing 4th or 5th is what is on our minds, so your perspective is appreciated, personally I would rather have two competitive games rather than one against a seeded team. But whatever happens, happens, bring it on.

ErinGoBraghHFC
25-05-2023, 07:37 PM

Disagree, big time. Sounds tasty (and I’m not just talking about the copious volume of Guinness I’d put away).

26-05-2023, 11:55 AM
Thanks Hermit, I know we have to wait until after the final whistle on Saturday, but the connotations of finishing 4th or 5th is what is on our minds, so your perspective is appreciated, personally I would rather have two competitive games rather than one against a seeded team. But whatever happens, happens, bring it on.

Finish in 5th and you'll get a spam team in the 2nd qualifier and finish 4th and you very well draw a big name for a glamour tie in 3 rd qualifying round. Theres still a play off after that as well.

26-05-2023, 01:01 PM

Done NI twice for pre season tours in July. Never had any issues.

davhibby
26-05-2023, 02:01 PM
Finish in 5th and you'll get a spam team in the 2nd qualifier and finish 4th and you very well draw a big name for a glamour tie in 3 rd qualifying round. Theres still a play off after that as well.

There’s plenty of winnable ties possible in the 3rd round. Do that and then hope for a bit of luck in the playoff draw where the seeded team loses the 3rd round and you could have a decent chance of making the groups. It’s not easy but it’s definitely possible with a good draw.

Making the groups is equivalent to making the playoff of the old Europa League which we weren’t too far away from managing under Lennon.

26-05-2023, 03:59 PM
Done NI twice for pre season tours in July. Never had any issues.

But was that for Linfield?

26-05-2023, 06:39 PM
But was that for Linfield?

No it was Newtonards, Cliftonville, ballyclare and a few others I can’t remember

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-05-2023, 06:58 PM
No it was Newtonards, Cliftonville, ballyclare and a few others I can’t remember

Fairly sure we played Glentoran years ago, not quite Linfield but still a relatively “staunch” team

26-05-2023, 07:33 PM
Fairly sure we played Glentoran years ago, not quite Linfield but still a relatively “staunch” team

Glentoran was a good trip.

26-05-2023, 07:37 PM

One of our NI posters will know much more about this, but Glens, though supported by the unionist/loyalist community, doesn't have the same level of nutcase as Linfield, I don't think. Is that broadly correct?

Newry Hibs
26-05-2023, 08:23 PM
One of our NI posters will know much more about this, but Glens, though supported by the unionist/loyalist community, doesn't have the same level of nutcase as Linfield, I don't think. Is that broadly correct?

Pretty much same sort of followers, just a different part of belfast. Though probably many more linfield fans because of glory hunting.

They dont really like each other much to say the least. One quote from a glentoran fan was 'if linfield play celtic in the champions league final, I'm supporting celtic'.

A lot of the time, there's more hassle with provincial teams than the like of linfield, though they do have a superiority complex

26-05-2023, 10:01 PM
Glentoran v Linfield is a big rivalry nothing to do with sectarianism. Think Cliftonville these days are the only "pro Republic" team in the NI top flight. Had a cracking weekend in Belfast a few years ago. Id be there for a tie with Linfield.

Newry Hibs
27-05-2023, 06:40 AM
Newry City would be considered by those outside Newry as being 'pro republic'.

Though youd be hard pushed to get a tricolour at a match (unless some wee fanny brings one against linfield etc).

Significant number of fans / backers are from the other side.

28-05-2023, 02:12 PM
Is it an open draw or do the seeded team get the second leg at home?

Cardinal G
28-05-2023, 04:44 PM
No holiday abroad booked this year. Never seen Hibs away in Europe. This is the year!!

Aye me too, it's on my bucket list so going to do
it this season if we make it, watch us get a Welsh team.

LewysGot2
28-05-2023, 05:52 PM
Once we know for certain (fingers crossed for the richest, biggest club in the country not mucking up) what week we're away from home I'll be putting in for the time off work.

Connahs Quay here we come 😉

28-05-2023, 06:04 PM
Once we know for certain (fingers crossed for the richest, biggest club in the country not mucking up) what week we're away from home I'll be putting in for the time off work.

Connahs Quay here we come 😉

If it’s tight in the 1st round, we won’t know until the week before who we’re playing in the 2nd round

LewysGot2
28-05-2023, 06:40 PM
If it’s tight in the 1st round, we won’t know until the week before who we’re playing in the 2nd round

It's more what week is the away leg. I'm sure we've known that before? I booked flights for Denmark before they'd put out the Icelandic crew the year we got Brondby - we knew what Thursday it would be even if the actual opponents weren't confirmed? Put money on the Iceland mob to get my outlay back if it went Pete Tong 😉

Green Man
28-05-2023, 06:47 PM
Villa have secured qualification for the ECL playoff, it’s all lined up for SJM’s return to Easter Road.

badabing67
28-05-2023, 07:19 PM
Villa have secured qualification for the ECL playoff, it’s all lined up for SJM’s return to Easter Road.

Can he not go to Tyne instead

28-05-2023, 07:22 PM

I think we can only draw them in the playoff or a group stage which we are very unlikely to reach without major investment in the summer.

28-05-2023, 09:12 PM
saw this on a fb group, we really need to improve on that 7,280 :)

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/347237473_589981606560298_2331269863802961984_n.jp g?stp=cp6_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=GGWyjHDSewYAX9k9meu&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfCJRgZFA28RBVS2u8hDm6dvk_TvySjXUl1d-TDanLHZpg&oe=6477D205

28-05-2023, 09:37 PM

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/347237473_589981606560298_2331269863802961984_n.jp g?stp=cp6_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=GGWyjHDSewYAX9k9meu&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfCJRgZFA28RBVS2u8hDm6dvk_TvySjXUl1d-TDanLHZpg&oe=6477D205

Aren’t the early rounds all regional?

28-05-2023, 09:55 PM
Aren’t the early rounds all regional?

no idea though a few have said so, i'm just saying we need to improve on that 7,280, looking at this https://kassiesa.net/uefa/seedecl2023.html both us(assuming we progress) along with the eventual winners(heartz) would both be unseeded in the 3rd Q round

29-05-2023, 06:59 AM

Do seeded teams get second leg at home or could be either home or away?

Gorebridge Hibb
29-05-2023, 06:08 PM

Bangor

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-05-2023, 07:05 PM

Would take San Marino, Gibraltar or Malta no bother. Wales would be handy but fancy a bit of sun

29-05-2023, 07:07 PM
Do seeded teams get second leg at home or could be either home or away?

it's always,well normally, the advantage having the 2nd leg at home so seeded will be home in the 2nd leg i presume

Paulie Walnuts
29-05-2023, 07:21 PM
Would take San Marino, Gibraltar or Malta no bother. Wales would be handy but fancy a bit of sun

San Marino would be class.

29-05-2023, 07:56 PM

Are they discounting any chance of an ICT miracle?

the_ginger_hibee
29-05-2023, 08:05 PM

See bottom line of the screenshot. Those not in bold are projected to qualify, including us

29-05-2023, 08:11 PM

we've had sun the last three days, stop being greedy

29-05-2023, 08:13 PM

i'm calling it right here and now.... no cup upset this year :cb

30-05-2023, 10:48 AM
Anywhere but Iceland, Faroes, Scandinavia, Azerbaijan or Kazakhstan.

Malta, Cyprus, Gibraltar, Andorra, San Marino etc would be ideal.

30-05-2023, 10:50 AM

Agree, it would take an almighty off day for Celtic to lose that final. It would also typify Hibs luck in the last few seasons, lots of luck but all of it bad.

30-05-2023, 10:52 AM
Agree, it would take an almighty off day for Celtic to lose that final. It would also typify Hibs luck in the last few seasons, lots of luck but all of it bad.

It might not be such a bad thing if Aberdeen fail to get the group stage money.

30-05-2023, 10:55 AM
It might not be such a bad thing if Aberdeen fail to get the group stage money.

I'd rather we kept the coefficient up personally. We want as many Euro spots as possible as finishing 5th might not be good enough to get a place next season.

30-05-2023, 02:03 PM

It would be by far the biggest Scottish Cup final shock in history, I dont have any fears - I'm planning for a European campaign, albeit probably a short one.

30-05-2023, 03:12 PM
It would be by far the biggest Scottish Cup final shock in history, I dont have any fears - I'm planning for a European campaign, albeit probably a short one.

Snap. Two rounds is my prediction.

Smash a minnow then come unstuck against a decent well drilled mid table team from the second tier of countries from Europe (Croatia, Belgium, Turkey, Poland and the likes).

02-06-2023, 06:00 AM
Snap. Two rounds is my prediction.

Smash a minnow then come unstuck against a decent well drilled mid table team from the second tier of countries from Europe (Croatia, Belgium, Turkey, Poland and the likes).

Looks the most likely outcome. In saying would want a full ER and we really go for it with a fit Boyler back playing at minimum.

02-06-2023, 06:02 AM

Think a prediction would be 5 0 if for example early doors Celtic get someone sent off and ICT score think Celtic would still win 2 or 3 1.

03-06-2023, 05:55 PM
:hyper

GRA
03-06-2023, 05:57 PM
Rural Kazakhstan here we come 😜

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-06-2023, 05:58 PM
Rural Kazakhstan here we come [emoji12]

San Marino would be class

03-06-2023, 05:58 PM
One of the Baltic States would be perfect. Great places, easy to get to and should win!

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-06-2023, 06:00 PM
One of the Baltic States would be perfect. Great places, easy to get to and should win!

One of my pals went to Riga with the rover owners club this year and said it was brilliant and dead cheap tbf, wouldn’t complain

03-06-2023, 06:09 PM
I was in North Wales last week, travelled back through Connahs Quay on way up the road. Seen a block 7 sticker on a lampost when stopping at Tebay services, it's a sign 😂

03-06-2023, 06:38 PM
Hibs managers who qualified for Europe this century:
Alex McLeish
Tony Mowbray
John Hughes
Pat Fenlon
Alan Stubbs
Neil Lennon
Jack Ross
Lee Johnson

03-06-2023, 06:39 PM

I’m over in Tallinn , Estonia now until August, I go tor the FC Flora games (tonight they lost the Estonian cup final to Narva). Teams are not great here but would be a nice trip for a lot of Hibs fans

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

03-06-2023, 06:41 PM
One of my pals went to Riga with the rover owners club this year and said it was brilliant and dead cheap tbf, wouldn’t complain

Riga is awesome - but I thought it was pretty expensive! Maybe is just the centre though.

03-06-2023, 06:42 PM
When's the draw and when's our 1st game

badabing67
03-06-2023, 08:32 PM
When's the draw and when's our 1st game

The draw takes place on June 21 and the first leg of the opening tie takes place on July 27.

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-06-2023, 08:35 PM
Riga is awesome - but I thought it was pretty expensive! Maybe is just the centre though.

To be fair there’s a story behind why he probably found it cheap but I don’t wish to incriminate anyone [emoji23]

Paulie Walnuts
03-06-2023, 08:41 PM
San Marino would be class

San Marino is what I want.

03-06-2023, 08:41 PM

Not so easy to get to these days. I’m off to Tallinn for a gig in a couple of months and flights are a nightmare.

03-06-2023, 08:43 PM

The Baltics are far removed from the cheap destinations they were 20 years ago. As soon as they got rid of the EEKs, LITs & LATs for the Euro their economies changed.

LewysGot2
03-06-2023, 08:55 PM
Not so easy to get to these days. I’m off to Tallinn due a gif in a couple of months and flights are a nightmare.

No direct flight from Edinburgh any more :agree:

03-06-2023, 08:57 PM

It is cheap, not as cheap as Daugavpils though. 🍺🤤🍺

I watched the first half of the 2006 World Cup Final in a brothel in Riga, best half time entertainment I've ever witnessed.😊

Paulie Walnuts
03-06-2023, 09:04 PM
It is cheap, not as cheap as Daugavpils though. 🍺🤤🍺

I watched the first half of the 2006 World Cup Final in a brothel in Riga

Why’d you not watch the second half? :greengrin

03-06-2023, 09:06 PM
Why’d you not watch the second half? :greengrin

Paid for the half time entertainment with the coins in everybodies pockets then went to the boozer 🍺😊🍺

Ladies were not overjoyed.

Garymcl
04-06-2023, 07:53 AM
Bring it on wherever whoever just canny wait will be going six of us in our group June 21st is the big date lap top at he ready fingers bashing the keyboard for flights /accommodation etc done it many times over the years to follow the Hibees still gets me excited even at 64 years old also could have my 8 year old grandaughter in tow for her first trip in Europe canny wait 🇳🇬🍺✈️

Cardinal G
04-06-2023, 10:53 AM
Bring it on wherever whoever just canny wait will be going six of us in our group June 21st is the big date lap top at he ready fingers bashing the keyboard for flights /accommodation etc done it many times over the years to follow the Hibees still gets me excited even at 64 years old also could have my 8 year old grandaughter in tow for her first trip in Europe canny wait 🇳🇬🍺✈️

It's been on my bucket list for years to see Hibs away in Europe but family, work and costs got in the way. Not this time though, I asked my 24 year old daughter if she fancied it and she said no, so offered to pay for flights and accommodation, suddenly she's raring to go, mind got her to agree to buying her own food and drink, can't wait for it.

04-06-2023, 11:24 AM
Bring it on wherever whoever just canny wait will be going six of us in our group June 21st is the big date lap top at he ready fingers bashing the keyboard for flights /accommodation etc done it many times over the years to follow the Hibees still gets me excited even at 64 years old also could have my 8 year old grandaughter in tow for her first trip in Europe canny wait ������✈️

We might find we get drawn against 2 teams still to play in the 1st qualifier so booking up on draw day could be tricky. We are more than likely getting a spam team though. It would be extraordinary bad luck to get one of the big hitters in the 2nd qualifying round. We really want to avoid the following teams... Luzern, Viborg, AGF Aarhus, Dinamo Minsk, NK Domzale, Hammarby, Kalmar FF, Levski Sofia, Pogon Szczecin, Bohemians of the Czech republic and CSKA Sofia

Any other team I'm confident we'd beat over 2 legs.

04-06-2023, 12:46 PM
We might find we get drawn against 2 teams still to play in the 1st qualifier so booking up on draw day could be tricky. We are more than likely getting a spam team though. It would be extraordinary bad luck to get one of the big hitters in the 2nd qualifying round. We really want to avoid the following teams... Luzern, Viborg, AGF Aarhus, Dinamo Minsk, NK Domzale, Hammarby, Kalmar FF, Levski Sofia, Pogon Szczecin, Bohemians of the Czech republic and CSKA Sofia

What would be your preferred option, HC?

Green Reaper
04-06-2023, 03:04 PM
I take it we will be home 2nd leg? From what I can see the team drawn first is at home 1st leg and take it that would be from unseeded pot.

04-06-2023, 03:09 PM

I went a bohemians game when in Prague last year, they were absolutely dreadful that day. The standard of both teams was very low.

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-06-2023, 03:13 PM
I went a bohemians game when in Prague last year, they were absolutely dreadful that day. The standard of both teams was very low.

Yeah Bohemians aren’t great, cool as **** though

04-06-2023, 05:02 PM
What would be your preferred option, HC?

Most definitely Europa fc of Gibraltar or Gzira of Malta. A weeks package deal in Malta sounds great.

04-06-2023, 05:03 PM
I take it we will be home 2nd leg? From what I can see the team drawn first is at home 1st leg and take it that would be from unseeded pot.

Seeded teams get the 2nd leg at home generally.

Green Reaper
04-06-2023, 05:12 PM

Thanks HC 👍

04-06-2023, 06:26 PM
I think we can be confident of defeating anyone in those qualifiers. Hard to see any opposition having our ruthlessness in front of goal, or our midfield creativity.

We'll also be super fit after a long break on the beach, like Scottish teams traditionally are.

04-06-2023, 07:13 PM

Yeah Bohemians aren’t great, cool as **** though

Bohemka aren't that hot, had a very good season just there by their standards but I think it's the first time they've made Europe since the 80s.

Pound-for-pound I would fancy Hibs against them but the other Czech team we could face later, Viktoria Plzen, would likely skelp us.

04-06-2023, 07:42 PM
Most definitely Europa fc of Gibraltar or Gzira of Malta. A weeks package deal in Malta sounds great.

Actually, the Malta one does sound like a decent trip.

04-06-2023, 09:31 PM
Nothing good has ever come of playing a club near me! Far away from me please🤣

04-06-2023, 10:22 PM
Actually, the Malta one does sound like a decent trip.

Certainly preferable to Belfast :greengrin

04-06-2023, 10:48 PM

We didn’t the last time we were in Europe.

Played Santa whatever at Easter Road in the first leg and took a three goal lead over there

PHeffernan
04-06-2023, 11:42 PM

Half those teams you highlighted are guff e.g. NK Domzale play in front of average attendances of 750.
Out of that lot Hammarby, Aarhus, Luzern and Pogon Szczecin should be a concern because they have the money to pay decent players.
All the rest play in front of average crowds of less than half what Hibs play in front of. They could beat us as St Mirren, Kilmarnock and Livingston do but they shouldn't over two legs.

147lothian
06-06-2023, 02:08 PM
I personally want to make a wee holiday of whoever we are against, so I'll be sitting by the keyboard on June 21st ready to book flights and accommodation before the travel agents get wind of it and bump up the prices.

06-06-2023, 02:22 PM
I personally want to make a wee holiday of whoever we are against, so I'll be sitting by the keyboard on June 21st ready to book flights and accommodation before the travel agents get wind of it and bump up the prices.

Remember there will be a 2 game leg before we play, and also UEFA have history, if there’s 2 games in close proximity on the same night, one will be moved
Might be ok if you go for a week😀

147lothian
06-06-2023, 03:05 PM
Remember there will be a 2 game leg before we play, and also UEFA have history, if there’s 2 games in close proximity on the same night, one will be moved
Might be ok if you go for a week😀

:aok: Good point.

07-06-2023, 06:32 PM
Is it just one round at a time when the draw is made? I was hoping we would know our possible opponents after we cruise the 1st game

08-06-2023, 07:28 AM
Is it just one round at a time when the draw is made? I was hoping we would know our possible opponents after we cruise the 1st game

The draw is made halfway through the preceding round, in between the first and second legs.

Is how we could potentially "steal" a better ranked teams coefficient for the play-off and get seeded

Green Man
12-06-2023, 07:38 PM
All of the teams in the ECL are confirmed now, up to date list is here: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2023%E2%80%9324_UEFA_Europa_Conference_League

We’re seeded for our first tie, the teams in there all should be beatable. The following round we’d be unseeded with some potentially tough opponents.

12-06-2023, 07:47 PM
So the jumbos are unseeded too! Arguably we got the better deal two games instead of one(ish) hopefully

Trinity Hibee
13-06-2023, 05:40 AM
Not to sound defeatist but there’s no way we are getting through the following round. Some very big clubs there. Some huge clubs at the play offs too incredibly

13-06-2023, 06:21 AM
So the jumbos are unseeded too! Arguably we got the better deal two games instead of one(ish) hopefully

Yup. We are likely to get a winnable tie, a chance for fans to go on at least one more trip than them and some competitive action (And hopefully sharpen up for next round). Finishing 4th over 5th was hardly the advantage they thought it was.

13-06-2023, 06:24 AM
Yup. We are likely to get a winnable tie, a chance for fans to go on at least one more trip than them and some competitive action (And hopefully sharpen up for next round). Finishing 4th over 5th was hardly the advantage they thought it was.

Think it was worth about half a million in league cash.

Dublin07
13-06-2023, 07:10 AM
Think it was worth about half a million in league cash.
It was £143500 the difference between 4th and 5th

13-06-2023, 09:08 AM
Not to sound defeatist but there’s no way we are getting through the following round. Some very big clubs there. Some huge clubs at the play offs too incredibly

Call me an eternal optimist but i really think we should be striving for the group stages. I think we have a realistic chance. Win the first tie and get the momentum going.

13-06-2023, 09:17 AM
Is it he case that if we win our first tie and then go on to beat seeded team in the 3rd qualifier then we will be seeded for the playoff round?

13-06-2023, 09:22 AM

How not? That Lincoln Red Imps of Gibraltar made the Europa league group stages a few years ago. They beat RFS 4-2 in a playoff to get there. All you need is a little bit of luck with the draw.

13-06-2023, 09:24 AM
Its worth remembering that just because a team is seeded it doesn't mean they are better than us. Theres plenty seeded teams in that competition who are much worse than Hibs or Hearts.

Green Man
13-06-2023, 09:30 AM
Is it he case that if we win our first tie and then go on to beat seeded team in the 3rd qualifier then we will be seeded for the playoff round?

That’s right, the draw for the playoff takes place before the 3rd qualifying round is played, so the playoff seeding is based on the higher ranked team in the 3rd qualifying round.

13-06-2023, 11:58 AM
How not? That Lincoln Red Imps of Gibraltar made the Europa league group stages a few years ago. They beat RFS 4-2 in a playoff to get there. All you need is a little bit of luck with the draw.

That's only because they were in the Champions qualifying route, where the champions of all the proper diddy leagues play against each other. We'll be in the Main qualifying route, which means our possible opponents will be 10 times stronger.

If we are to have any chance whatsoever of making the group stage we need 2 or 3 recruits ready to start signed asap.

13-06-2023, 12:26 PM

It depends on the coefficient of the 3rd qualifying round team we face.

Their coefficient would need to be high enough to be seeded in the play off round, which is around half of them.

Trinity Hibee
13-06-2023, 12:29 PM

Think back to when we played Molde. Not a huge team in European terms but they battered us. We had a decent side then too. Even rijeka aren’t a well known team but they beat us comfortably

I’m afraid club Brugge etc are much better than us with a lot more European experience. Just being honest/realistic

13-06-2023, 12:29 PM

Their coefficient would need to be high enough to be seeded in the play off round, which is around half of them.

I.e. if we faced Cluj, gent, Partizan, Basel, clubbe brugge in the 3rd round we'd then be seeded for the play off draw.

If we faced a weaker team on the 3rd round, like lech Poznan, rapid wien, Rijeka, rosenborg etc. Then we'd still be unseeded for the play off round.

davhibby
13-06-2023, 12:31 PM
That's only because they were in the Champions qualifying route, where the champions of all the proper diddy leagues play against each other. We'll be in the Main qualifying route, which means our possible opponents will be 10 times stronger.

If we are to have any chance whatsoever of making the group stage we need 2 or 3 recruits ready to start signed asap.

A better example would be Vaduz who managed to make the group stages last season and have just finished the season 3rd bottom in the Swiss 2nd tier. You could draw Juve or Frankfurt and we would obviously have no chance but a bit of luck and we can do it. As you say though we need to be prepared and get our signings in early

13-06-2023, 12:45 PM

Do you always pick up the higher coefficient of a team you beat, or is it only when multiple rounds have been drawn in advance so they need the seeding before knowing the results?

13-06-2023, 01:41 PM

That all assume would be much more.

13-06-2023, 01:42 PM
Do you always pick up the higher coefficient of a team you beat, or is it only when multiple rounds have been drawn in advance so they need the seeding before knowing the results?

The latter, but this happens for every conference league qualifying round I'm pretty sure

13-06-2023, 01:43 PM

3rd got £3.5m
4th got £2.5
5th £2m, as far as I’m aware

13-06-2023, 01:45 PM
Think back to when we played Molde. Not a huge team in European terms but they battered us. We had a decent side then too. Even rijeka aren’t a well known team but they beat us comfortably

I’m afraid club Brugge etc are much better than us with a lot more European experience. Just being honest/realistic

Dont think Rijeka did beat us comfortably better team first leg and should have been ahead second leg equalised and were on top then Daz gets sent off and concede immediately. Wouldn't mind them again tbh

13-06-2023, 01:46 PM
3rd got £3.5m
4th got £2.5
5th £2m, as far as I’m aware

That's what I thought I read however not easy to find and no idea how reliable that info is.

13-06-2023, 02:23 PM
Dont think Rijeka did beat us comfortably better team first leg and should have been ahead second leg equalised and were on top then Daz gets sent off and concede immediately. Wouldn't mind them again tbh

:agree: If we weren't in the ludicrous position of having to play an ageing Daz in that game i'd have fancied our chances to go through. We were woefully underprepared for those games due to poor planning. A golden opportunity missed by Ron and the recruitment team. Not just for Europe but the season ahead which became a cluster****. Sadly a mistake he never got to rectify.

13-06-2023, 05:00 PM

Rijeka only beat us comfrotably once we went down to ten men, we had just fought our way back into the game.

Paulie Walnuts
13-06-2023, 05:04 PM

We lost 5-2 on aggregate. That’s pretty comfortable imo.

Theres references in the match report saying Rijeka ‘could have been out of sight by half time’ and ‘cruising to victory’. I don’t think that was all that unfair a description of it from what I remember.

EGL2000
13-06-2023, 05:21 PM
:agree: If we weren't in the ludicrous position of having to play an ageing Daz in that game i'd have fancied our chances to go through. We were woefully underprepared for those games due to poor planning. A golden opportunity missed by Ron and the recruitment team. Not just for Europe but the season ahead which became a cluster****. Sadly a mistake he never got to rectify.

We almost always go in unprepared for European games. Hopefully past seasons make us move a little faster in the Market, but highly doubt it.

13-06-2023, 07:49 PM
We almost always go in unprepared for European games. Hopefully past seasons make us move a little faster in the Market, but highly doubt it.

1st leg is 6 weeks on Thursday

13-06-2023, 08:28 PM
We lost 5-2 on aggregate. That’s pretty comfortable imo.

Theres references in the match report saying Rijeka ‘could have been out of sight by half time’ and ‘cruising to victory’. I don’t think that was all that unfair a description of it from what I remember.

Prefer to go on what my eyes told me. We were more than competitive in that match and should have been ahead from first game,

13-06-2023, 08:29 PM
Rijeka only beat us comfrotably once we went down to ten men, we had just fought our way back into the game.

Yep. :agree:

13-06-2023, 08:32 PM

Trying to remember who was injured was it Paul Hanlon think he got a head knock maybe first leg. Not sure we were woefully underprepared to be honest. Doidge got his Achilles just before this tie and the midfield looked good with Magennis and JDH playing well. No doubt wheels fell off in the few months after.

14-06-2023, 12:32 PM
we could maybe see a return tie with Rijeka

and their new player Marijan Cabraja :greengrin

14-06-2023, 12:38 PM
we could maybe see a return tie with Rijeka

and their new player Marijan Cabraja :greengrin

While I liked Cabraja, the jitters always set in when he was facing his own goal, under no pressure, and would find a way to give away a penalty or a corner, out of nothing.

Lets hope we get a bit of that if we do happend to draw Rijeka

14-06-2023, 12:46 PM
Trying to remember who was injured was it Paul Hanlon think he got a head knock maybe first leg. Not sure we were woefully underprepared to be honest. Doidge got his Achilles just before this tie and the midfield looked good with Magennis and JDH playing well. No doubt wheels fell off in the few months after.

We signed 1 first team player that summer. Was a big error.

17-06-2023, 02:01 PM
Looks like our draw is on Wednesday. Do they do the “pots” the day before

https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaconferenceleague/news/027a-1641db958909-46702780984f-1000--2023-24-uefa-europa-conference-league-matches-final-key-/

the_ginger_hibee
17-06-2023, 03:05 PM
Looks like our draw is on Wednesday. Do they do the “pots” the day before

https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaconferenceleague/news/027a-1641db958909-46702780984f-1000--2023-24-uefa-europa-conference-league-matches-final-key-/

They do. We'll know day before or morning of the draw our pot. Believe the 1st Qual. draw is day before ours.

andyf5
19-06-2023, 01:02 PM
It Looks like our draw is on Wednesday. Do they do the “pots” the day before

Does anyone know if we can follow this live? Standing by my computer to book transport before Ryanair or whoever bumps up prices if it's a flight required. Europa website doesn't say. Maybe on their Twitter feed?

19-06-2023, 01:45 PM
Does anyone know if we can follow this live? Standing by my computer to book transport before Ryanair or whoever bumps up prices if it's a flight required. Europa website doesn't say. Maybe on their Twitter feed?

Pretty sure there will be a live stream on uefa website

19-06-2023, 01:50 PM

It will probably be streamed on YouTube.

Gorebridge Hibb
20-06-2023, 09:14 AM
We won’t know where we will be playing until late on 20th July. Although we will know it’ll be one of two teams. Hopefully one team leathers the other in the first leg on 13th July but that would then mean we might be playing a good side

20-06-2023, 09:58 AM
We won’t know where we will be playing until late on 20th July. Although we will know it’ll be one of two teams. Hopefully one team leathers the other in the first leg on 13th July but that would then mean we might be playing a good side

Yes. That’s annoying. Nature if the beast I guess.

Green Man
20-06-2023, 10:38 AM
The draw for the first qualifying round is today, and the groupings have been announced. They look like they’re split into roughly north/west and south/east - Welsh and Irish teams are mostly in groups with Baltic and Scandinavian teams.

20-06-2023, 11:09 AM
The draw for the first qualifying round is today, and the groupings have been announced. They look like they’re split into roughly north/west and south/east - Welsh and Irish teams are mostly in groups with Baltic and Scandinavian teams.

We really don't want a Scandinavian team.

20-06-2023, 11:51 AM
What times kick off for the draw does anyone know

Keyser Sauzee
20-06-2023, 11:56 AM
What times kick off for the draw does anyone know

Think it’s 12

Garymcl
20-06-2023, 11:57 AM
According to Hibs Twitter 12

20-06-2023, 12:42 PM
not got time to watch it myself but draw starts 15:00 CET

https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaconferenceleague/draws/

Gorebridge Hibb
20-06-2023, 12:45 PM
not got time to watch it myself but draw starts 15:00 CET

It’s been on the uefa website live for a while

20-06-2023, 12:47 PM
It’s been on the uefa website live for a while

says it doesn't start until 2pm our time :confused:

20-06-2023, 12:47 PM
some big names there in future rounds for any stage we are unseeded. It doesn't feel much different to a europa league line-up

20-06-2023, 12:49 PM
some big names there in future rounds for any stage we are unseeded. It doesn't feel much different to a europa league line-up

that's why i keep calling for a 4th tournament :greengrin

maybe even a 5th

Gorebridge Hibb
20-06-2023, 12:56 PM
says it doesn't start until 2pm our time :confused:

UCL just finished. Conference about to start

20-06-2023, 01:00 PM
UCL just finished. Conference about to start

Our round is drawn tomorrow.

Green Man
20-06-2023, 01:11 PM
A few folk have asked if we’ll be home or away first - that gets drawn as well, we’ll find out at the same time as we find out our opponents.

20-06-2023, 01:14 PM
Winner of HB Tórshavn or Derry City would be great.

20-06-2023, 03:34 PM

Trip to Derry would be fantastic, the Faroes I think would be awkward and costly

20-06-2023, 03:53 PM

That's because it is basically the old Europa league, currently only 10 teams directly qualify for the Europa league qualifying rounds, the rest are all made up of champions league drop outs.

When the conference was created the Europa reduced in size and the number of qualification places was drastically reduced to only include a few spaces from the top 15 nations, with the rest all being made up of champions league teams who are knocked out in the qualifying round.

20-06-2023, 03:54 PM
Trip to Derry would be fantastic, the Faroes I think would be awkward and costly

I know they ain't Read Madrid, but 'm not sure we want to be coming off the beach in Ibiza and playing a Republic of Ireland club whose season is well underway.

20-06-2023, 03:56 PM
I know they ain't Read Madrid, but 'm not sure we want to be coming off the beach in Ibiza and playing a Republic of Ireland club whose season is well underway.

Yep. We might only win 4-0. Want an easier one than that preferably.

20-06-2023, 05:06 PM
The 2023/24 Europa Conference League second qualifying round draw takes place on Wednesday 21 June at the House of European Football in Nyon, Switzerland at 13:00 CET.

Seedings, any groupings and the procedure will be available here from 09:00 CET on the day of the draw.

20-06-2023, 05:41 PM

Have we ever beaten a full time team 4-0 in Europe? Without going back to the 60/70s?

Not that I can remember and I was born in the mid 80s.

ErinGoBraghHFC
20-06-2023, 05:42 PM

Derry City would be perfect for me tbh

20-06-2023, 05:52 PM
Lithuania or Macedonia according to the draw. Hegelmann or Shkupi. Macedonian team will have all the Music Man Punsters filling their boots.

20-06-2023, 06:15 PM
Have we ever beaten a full time team 4-0 in Europe? Without going back to the 60/70s?

Yes, Dinaburg

21-06-2023, 05:58 AM

Motherwell thought that last season

21-06-2023, 05:59 AM
The 2023/24 Europa Conference League second qualifying round draw takes place on Wednesday 21 June at the House of European Football in Nyon, Switzerland at 13:00 CET.

Seedings, any groupings and the procedure will be available here from 09:00 CET on the day of the draw.

Central Eastern time is that an hour ahead of us?

21-06-2023, 06:03 AM
Motherwell thought that last season

Motherwell are mince. We'd turn up and win against an Irish side imo.

Green Man
21-06-2023, 06:04 AM
Central Eastern time is that an hour ahead of us?

Aye. The draw is at 12 noon our time.

21-06-2023, 07:25 AM
The groupings should be up by now, 25 mins late.

21-06-2023, 07:30 AM
The groupings should be up by now, 25 mins late.

Hurry up UEFA or I might have to do some work this morning rather than fannying about on Skyscanner!

21-06-2023, 07:39 AM
1 Club Brugge (BEL)
2 FC Twente (NED)
3 Rosenborg BK (NOR)
4 Dundalk FC (IRL) - FCB Magpies (GIB)
5 Hibernian FC (SCO)

6 AGF Aarhus (DEN)
7 KA Akureyri (ISL) - Connah's Quay Nomads FC (WAL)
8 Hammarby Fotboll (SWE)
9 Víkingur (FRO) - Inter Club d'Escaldes (AND)
10 FC Haka Valkeakoski (FIN) - Crusaders FC (NIR)

Aarhus & Hammarby the two to avoid.

21-06-2023, 07:40 AM
Hammarby would probably beat us. Rest should be ok.

21-06-2023, 07:43 AM
Motherwell are mince. We'd turn up and win against an Irish side imo.

Ok the same Motherwell above us in the league to qualify for Europe. We should win however a team mid-season aren't to be underestimated

EGL2000
21-06-2023, 07:46 AM
Definitely want to avoid Hammarby.

HFC93
21-06-2023, 07:59 AM
Víkingur (FRO) or Inter Club d'Escaldes (AND) looks like the easiest draw.

GRA
21-06-2023, 08:03 AM
7 or 10 please. Potential trips to Wales or NI would do me.

21-06-2023, 08:04 AM

Think we beat Malmo 6-0….don’t think it was a friendly…but could have been

Hibees1973
21-06-2023, 08:11 AM
Víkingur (FRO) or Inter Club d'Escaldes (AND) looks like the easiest draw.

I reckon every other possibility will represent a serious challenge so early in the season.

21-06-2023, 08:19 AM
Hammarby would probably beat us. Rest should be ok.

Aarhus would probably beat us as well. I don't fancy our chances if we get them or Hammarby.

21-06-2023, 08:20 AM
Lithuania or Macedonia according to the draw. Hegelmann or Shkupi. Macedonian team will have all the Music Man Punsters filling their boots.

Is this who we are playing? :dunno:

21-06-2023, 08:21 AM
Don't think we want Scandinavian teams during their season. 7 9 or 10 for me.

mvteng
21-06-2023, 08:24 AM
How does it generally work for tickets?

We're season ticket holders but havent done a european trip before.

Is there a chance of booking a flight & then not getting a ticket?

21-06-2023, 08:25 AM

Totally depends on the capacity of the stadium

21-06-2023, 08:26 AM

Depends, if its a welsh or Irish team then there wont be many tickets and Hibs first members get taken care of first.

21-06-2023, 08:31 AM
1 Club Brugge (BEL)
2 FC Twente (NED)
3 Rosenborg BK (NOR)
4 Dundalk FC (IRL) - FCB Magpies (GIB)
5 Hibernian FC (SCO)

6 AGF Aarhus (DEN)
7 KA Akureyri (ISL) - Connah's Quay Nomads FC (WAL)
8 Hammarby Fotboll (SWE)
9 Víkingur (FRO) - Inter Club d'Escaldes (AND)
10 FC Haka Valkeakoski (FIN) - Crusaders FC (NIR)

Aarhus & Hammarby the two to avoid.

This mob are playing Riga according to their fixture list.

Green Man
21-06-2023, 08:37 AM
This mob are playing Riga according to their fixture list.

There are two teams in the ECL called Vikingur. The Faroese team are playing Inter Escaldes, the Icelandic Vikingur Reykjavik are playing Riga. Confusing eh :greengrin

21-06-2023, 08:42 AM
Don't think we need to be scared of Hammarby or Aarhus, depsite both being halfway through their season.

Look at both of their performances in European competitions in previous years and its not any different to ours.

Aarhus have qualified less frequently than us and were recently put out by Larne.

21-06-2023, 08:42 AM
There are two teams in the ECL called Vikingur. The Faroese team are playing Inter Escaldes, the Icelandic Vikingur Reykjavik are playing Riga. Confusing eh :greengrin

Oh ffs. Absolutely terrible trips by the way. Out of that lot I'd take a Welsh or Irish side and hope for a better trip in the next round.

21-06-2023, 08:52 AM
Oh, that’s much tougher than I was anticipating.
Aarhus must be good to finish third in Denmark, while the other Scandi sides are struggling a bit at the moment but will be midway through their seasons… Was hoping for Andorra, Gibraltar level to get us going.

21-06-2023, 08:59 AM
A reminder for those looking to travel

BROWSE FLIGHTS IN INCOGNITO MODE

airlines use cookies and increase the price of high demand flights. You can combat this by using incognito mode and keeping the prices down.

21-06-2023, 09:03 AM
A reminder for those looking to travel

BROWSE FLIGHTS IN INCOGNITO MODE

airlines use cookies and increase the price of high demand flights. You can combat this by using incognito mode and keeping the prices down.

Theres no point in checking flights until at least after the first leg on the 13th of July.

21-06-2023, 09:05 AM
Theres no point in checking flights until at least after the first leg on the 13th of July.

It's just general advice however if we get the Swedish or Danish team there's definitely a point in checking.

There will definitely be a point in booking today if it's one of them

In regards to tickets, some of the grounds are tiny. Connahs Quay only hold 1000 for example, thats where Hibs membership first comes into play.

21-06-2023, 09:08 AM
Are we guaranteed to be away first?

21-06-2023, 09:18 AM
Are we guaranteed to be away first?

Hibs must have an inkling that that's the case as we could be in Andorra on Thursday and back home then Blackpool Saturday. Surely they wouldn't have an away friendly two days after an away euro tie?

21-06-2023, 09:20 AM
Hammarby would put us out IMO, being half way through their season is a massive plus for them.

Not sure about the Danish team but they must be half decent to have finished 3rd. Probably about the same level as Aberdeen/ Hearts so would likely be a 5050.

21-06-2023, 09:21 AM
Hibs must have an inkling that that's the case as we could be in Andorra on Thursday and back home then Blackpool Saturday. Surely they wouldn't have an away friendly two days after an away euro tie?

There can be no inkling. It’s based on the draw

21-06-2023, 09:22 AM

It wont be the first team going to Blackpool, will be the development squad you'd think because if we win the Euro tie we have another game the following Thursday, too risky for injuries to send the first team down.

21-06-2023, 09:23 AM
It wont be the first team going to Blackpool, will be the development squad you'd think because if we win the Euro tie we have another game the following Thursday, too risky for injuries to send the first team down.

Hibs have already said it will be first team players who weren’t involved or didn’t get many minutes in the European game

21-06-2023, 09:24 AM
There can be no inkling. It’s based on the draw

Yes, but there have been rumours that the seeded team will play at home in the 2nd leg. If that's the case Hibs will have been told by UEFA.

However, it was the opposite for Santa Coloma a few years ago.

21-06-2023, 09:31 AM
Yes, but there have been rumours that the seeded team will play at home in the 2nd leg. If that's the case Hibs will have been told by UEFA.

However, it was the opposite for Santa Coloma a few years ago.

Hibs tweeted the procedure earlier:

“One ball is taken from each of those bowls and placed in the third empty central bowl, where they are shuffled. The number shown from first ball drawn from this bowl indicates the home teams of the first pairing of all nine groups, and they will play against the teams indicated by the number of the ball drawn second from this bowl”

So it will come down to the luck of the draw who will be at home first

21-06-2023, 09:37 AM
Hibs tweeted the procedure earlier:

“One ball is taken from each of those bowls and placed in the third empty central bowl, where they are shuffled. The number shown from first ball drawn from this bowl indicates the home teams of the first pairing of all nine groups, and they will play against the teams indicated by the number of the ball drawn second from this bowl”

So it will come down to the luck of the draw who will be at home first

Hadn't seen this thanks. Hope we're away first just for logistical reasons for me getting to Blackpool!

Hibees1973
21-06-2023, 09:44 AM
Looking at the UEFA website I reckon we have been fortunate. In the other 8 groups there are a higher amount of unseeded sides we would be unlikely to beat.

Kind of knew this already, but it is mighty difficult to reach the group stage of the Conference League.

Bound to come across a biggie at some point.

21-06-2023, 09:47 AM
Looking at the UEFA website I reckon we have been fortunate. In the other 8 groups there are a higher amount of unseeded sides we would be unlikely to beat.

Kind of knew this already, but it is mighty difficult to reach the group stage of the Conference League.

Bound to come across a biggie at some point.

If we draw Aarhus or Hammarby we could be toiling right off the bat.

Hibees1973
21-06-2023, 09:57 AM

Fair enough.

But if we were in pots 2,3,4,7,8 & 9 I wouldn't be contemplating qualifying for another round.

21-06-2023, 10:00 AM
Fair enough.

But if we were in pots 2,3,4,7,8 & 9 I wouldn't be contemplating qualifying for another round.

Sure you're not looking at the seeded teams too?

Hibees1973
21-06-2023, 10:05 AM
Sure you're not looking at the seeded teams too?

No, honestly looking at the unseeded teams.

Maybe just me underestimating the mighty Hibs.

21-06-2023, 10:23 AM
Oh ffs. Absolutely terrible trips by the way. Out of that lot I'd take a Welsh or Irish side and hope for a better trip in the next round.

That is what I am hoping for. I'd like to combine the game with a few days away and I'd prefer to take my car. I've always wanted to do a tour of the Northern Irish coast so this could be a great excuse to do so

Hibees1973
21-06-2023, 10:33 AM
When you look at our group all of the unseeded sides will clearly want either us or Dundalk/Magpies.

Kind of puts it in perspective.

21-06-2023, 10:34 AM

Yeh we could, but when you look at every big European result in the history of this club you wouldn't have considered Hibs favourites in any way, Barcelona, Liverpool, Napoli, Sporting Lisbon ( Sporting clube de Portugal for the pedants :greengrin ) have all lost at Easter Road in spite of that.

Maybe its time a modern day Hibs team defied the odds .... I refuse to believe its beyond us. Our problem these days isn't so much any perceived gulf in class, rather that we have a good chance of meeting a club already into their season, from that point of view we would be better meeting Aarhus than Hammarby who by the time we met them would be well into their season.

Perhaps it's time UEFA recognised the unfair advantage this gives the summer league clubs and decreed that the summer league clubs must play the home leg first if they draw a club whose league season hasn't even started.

21-06-2023, 10:37 AM
In regards to tickets, some of the grounds are tiny. Connahs Quay only hold 1000 for example, thats where Hibs membership first comes into play.

Would they be able to play the tie at Wrexham or Chester to cash in?

21-06-2023, 10:41 AM
No, honestly looking at the unseeded teams.

Maybe just me underestimating the mighty Hibs.

We are rather mighty :greengrin

21-06-2023, 10:42 AM
Would they be able to play the tie at Wrexham or Chester to cash in?

I don't know, would those clubs not have to applied for a license for games to be played there? I'm not sure how it works but I'm pretty certain venues cant just be changed just to 'cash in'.

21-06-2023, 10:46 AM
Sweden or Denmark teams we would give them a game but ultimately would probably lose I think. The rest I'd expect to beat but granted I've never watched any of them play.

Don't think theres any hope of reaching the group stages looking at some of the teams involved really but would be good to get through this round at least.

Hibees1973
21-06-2023, 10:47 AM
We are rather mighty :greengrin

Ha. Liked that made me chuckle.

I do like a bit of misguided bravado prior to a European draw.

NC1875
21-06-2023, 10:52 AM
Sorry if already posted. Not got time to look through everything.

What time is the draw ?

21-06-2023, 10:53 AM
Ha. Liked that made me chuckle.

I do like a bit of misguided bravado prior to a European draw.

Would it be European draw day without the hopes and dreams of the mere mortal supporter?

21-06-2023, 10:55 AM
Anybody ken if we can watch the draw live and where .. had a look at the UEFA YouTube channel, but cant see any mention of it.

21-06-2023, 10:58 AM
Anybody ken if we can watch the draw live and where .. had a look at the UEFA YouTube channel, but cant see any mention of it.

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1671472426847285248?s=20

Dublin07
21-06-2023, 11:00 AM
It’s live on uefa.com not started yet

Hibees1973
21-06-2023, 11:02 AM

It's on the UEFA.com Website.

Go into Europa Conference League and click on the DRAWS tab.

Showing for me 'Draw coming up shortly'

andyf5
21-06-2023, 11:02 AM
It’s live on uefa.com not started yet

on now https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaconferenceleague/draws/2024/2001789/

21-06-2023, 11:03 AM
Started now.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ti5KNY-FR3Y&ab_channel=UEFA