View Full Version : Scottish Cup 4th round - Hibs v Hearts
LunasBoots
15-01-2023, 11:32 AM
That is obviously their prerogative but hopefully those who choose not to go, and I only mean those who can comfortably afford to do so, let the rest of us enjoy the build up to the biggest match of the season so far.
Aye the manager is on his last legs, aye a good number of the players are nowhere near the standard we as supporters would like but nonetheless we are still supporters and this is still a Cup Derby.
Having said all that I really hope a lot of you who don't fancy it find yourselves on the ticketing page before next Sunday.
Hopefully people decide last minute they are going, such a big match in the Scottish cup against our local rivals.
Most other teams would sell out a Derby so I really don't get the excuses.
h1bs4life
15-01-2023, 02:24 PM
I’d prefer a full house, noisy and intimidating for every game, especially a derby, but I’m never gonnae be the sort of person who gets all noised up by a lack of ticket sales. If people don’t want to go, then that’s up to them.
It didnae make a difference through in Hampden when we didn’t sell many tickets against Rangers and Boyler got a hat trick. I had a great time, despite the rows of empty seats round me.
If we can put them out on Sunday I’ll have a great ****ing time, and if we lose I’ll be pissed off. The number of empty seats won’t factor for me.
Correct it’s an individual choice if you go to a football match or not . Boyle hat trick at Hampden was a brilliant night , fantastic atmosphere amongst the Hibs fans as was the game against the EBT Huns when the young guns knocked them out on penalties.
It would be good if it is a full house but it will make no difference to me what people decide to do ,hopefully be celebrating in the pub after the match .
15-01-2023, 02:25 PM
I don’t disagree.
I just don’t understand why folk get themselves so wound up about people who choose not to go to games. Ultimately there’s a hardcore who will go no matter what, I used to be one of those but my match day changed when my Grandad passed and it’s never felt the same since.
Simply because I think a full stadium will help us.
15-01-2023, 02:27 PM
That is obviously their prerogative but hopefully those who choose not to go, and I only mean those who can comfortably afford to do so, let the rest of us enjoy the build up to the biggest match of the season so far.
Aye the manager is on his last legs, aye a good number of the players are nowhere near the standard we as supporters would like but nonetheless we are still supporters and this is still a Cup Derby.
Having said all that I really hope a lot of you who don't fancy it find yourselves on the ticketing page before next Sunday.
:top marks:flag::flag:
15-01-2023, 02:32 PM
That mob are average, not Real Madrid. We set up properly, and dictate the game, we can win. No strange team selections, no square pegs in round holes, just go and beat that shower Hibs.......
15-01-2023, 03:48 PM
That mob are average, not Real Madrid. We set up properly, and dictate the game, we can win. No strange team selections, no square pegs in round holes, just go and beat that shower Hibs.......
100%
I’m pretty sure as the week wears on a few who have been swithering will bite the bullet and sort their tickets.
A Scottish Cup tie against your city rivals, with home advantage. One of the biggest games of the season, and while we have been struggling of late, I wouldn’t like to be taking the risk of missing out on seeing us enjoy a long overdue derby win.
15-01-2023, 04:04 PM
So if i miss the Hearts game, I'm no longer a Hibs fan?
Cool.
That's me told. I'll let all my friends and family know.
When we play Aberdeen the following week, cam i still use my ST and go to the game with my dad, or should I buy a ticket for the Aberdeen end? Am I allowed to go?
Well mate, I guess you are right, it's not my place to say who can and can't call themselves a Hibs supporter.
Is it ok if I have an opinion on what constitutes a good fan and what constitutes a fair weather fan? ... for the avoidance of doubt binning your club in a cup derby because you think its going to lose it is the gold standard dictionary definition of a fair weather fan and this club has far too many of them.
15-01-2023, 04:18 PM
Happy to be labelled a fair weather fan these days :aok:
Been through the die hard, gotta go very week, home and away stuff, but it's just not for me anymore. I rarely, almost never, go to away games and I sometimes miss cup games at ER.
Never thought it to be an issue before as I thought buying a ST each year was sufficient.
15-01-2023, 04:40 PM
Absolutely watched two games they had recently against St Mirren absolutely nothing soecial about them. Counteract their threats and they can definitely be got at
15-01-2023, 04:41 PM
100%
I’m pretty sure as the week wears on a few who have been swithering will bite the bullet and sort their tickets.
A Scottish Cup tie against your city rivals, with home advantage. One of the biggest games of the season, and while we have been struggling of late, I wouldn’t like to be taking the risk of missing out on seeing us enjoy a long overdue derby win.
Definitely the biggest game of the season imo
15-01-2023, 07:30 PM
Absolutely watched two games they had recently against St Mirren absolutely nothing soecial about them. Counteract their threats and they can definitely be got at
All Hearts have to do is stick a man on Nisbet. We have virtually no threat from anyone else in that team. Don't be surprised if they put one or two 'strong' tackles in on him to try and put him out the game early doors.
15-01-2023, 07:35 PM
Hibs are favourites believe it or not.
15-01-2023, 07:49 PM
You're old and smart enough to know that what Hearts do against any other team has zero bearing on what team turns up against Hibs. Everything they do is simply prep for the Hibs game.
Helensburghhibs
15-01-2023, 07:54 PM
If we give their wide players acres of space like we did at Tynie and like we have against everyone else the last 10 weeks the outcome will be similar. They have players who can switch it quickly enough to punish us
15-01-2023, 08:05 PM
All Hearts have to do is stick a man on Nisbet. We have virtually no threat from anyone else in that team. Don't be surprised if they put one or two 'strong' tackles in on him to try and put him out the game early doors.
Damn, stick a man on Nisbet. Dundee United and Motherwell should've tried this simple trick.
How do any players ever score goals when they can be stopped so easily?
15-01-2023, 08:06 PM
Damn, stick a man on Nisbet. Dundee United and Motherwell should've tried this simple trick.
How do any players ever score goals when they can be stopped so easily?
Worked for Hearts at Tynecastle. He never got a sniff the whole game.
15-01-2023, 08:19 PM
How many men did Nisbet avoid in scoring the equaliser yesterday? Get the ball to him, and he's scoring.
15-01-2023, 08:25 PM
Just took a look and Paddy Power have Hibs at 6/5 Hearts at 9/5 with the draw at 23/10.
I know nothing about gambling, but sounds like we are the bookies favourites!
LunasBoots
15-01-2023, 08:29 PM
How many men did Nisbet avoid in scoring the equaliser yesterday? Get the ball to him, and he's scoring.
Not if Hearts man mark him like they did at Tynie
15-01-2023, 08:30 PM
Just took a look and Paddy Power have Hibs at 6/5 Hearts at 9/5 with the draw at 23/10.
That makes no sense at all. Unless there’s hitherto inside information about the City Group investing in us.
15-01-2023, 08:32 PM
Find that hard to believe
ErinGoBraghHFC
15-01-2023, 08:37 PM
Paddy’s been on a bender this weekend clearly, there’ll be a lot of people lumping on hertz at those odds
15-01-2023, 08:39 PM
Precisely, he was virtually anonymous in that game.
15-01-2023, 08:43 PM
Precisely, he was virtually anonymous in that game.
Better to focus on the 7 goals in 6 games though.
15-01-2023, 08:55 PM
We were a total shambles over there. Even though yesterday was frustrating, we've looked a lot better last two matches and not just because we were playing poorer sides.
No way are hearts going to win this just by turning up.
15-01-2023, 09:01 PM
Hearts could have lost 10-0 to Fort William and it would tell us nothing. They play like their lives depend on it against us, regardless of form, regardless of players, regardless of manager.
Once we all accept this we might eventually be able to take the derby as seriously as they do.
15-01-2023, 09:43 PM
Hearts could have lost 10-0 to Fort William and it would tell us nothing. They play like their lives depend on it against us, regardless of form, regardless of players, regardless of manager.
Once we all accept this we might eventually be able to take the derby as seriously as they do.
The big worry is of the players being "up for it". Im not suggesting we want to see them charging about daft, but you want to see a bit of steel, composure and determination all over the park.
The way we started yesterday was simply lacklustre and half hearted, and start in a similar fashion next week and we are inviting big trouble. When you look back at the previous derby at Tynecastle it looked like the players had given up the ghost after conceding early, and gave the impression they would have been happy to just see the game ended there and then. It wasn't until they sort of realised that Hearts weren't actually anything special and we started to make some better inroads that the spirits seemed to get lifted but the improved performance just too little too late after the damage had been done.
I don't know what guys like Ryan Porteous are like behind the scenes, but when we are desperately looking for leadership and drive, I`d have thought he would have been one that could command a dressing room and instil a strong mentality. Maybe he's not that type of personality?
Who else is there that can fill that role? Guys like Stevenson and Hanlon maybe command respect but their nature is probably not one as strong leaders. McGeady looks like he moans at everyone so again, not one to command that role.
Just have to hope we are on it from as soon as the whistle goes and we start in a positive manner and get that first goal. As the week wears on I think I`ll become more confident of a result.
He's here!
15-01-2023, 09:58 PM
What a fantastic suggestion!! Me and my son and others I know already have our FF stand tickets thanks. If folk dont want to go that is up to them but talk of closing stands and even worse giving tickets to them is the stupidest things I've seen on here. I'd rather have a crowd like we had at the hun semi last season anyway. Every single person that night 100% behind the team from the start
If Hermit Crab is right re the lack of ticket sales and that we could comfortably accommodate the Hibs support in the East and Main maybe that would create a better atmosphere with everyone closer together? Sure it would stick in the craw to see Hearts fans at both ends but I guess it would also ensure a bigger share of gate receipts.
Obviously not going to happen.
15-01-2023, 10:05 PM
If Hermit Crab is right re the lack of ticket sales and that we could comfortably accommodate the Hibs support in the East and Main maybe that would create a better atmosphere with everyone closer together? Sure it would stick in the craw to see Hearts fans at both ends but I guess it would also ensure a bigger share of gate receipts.
Having Hearts fans in the Famous Five is a ridiculous thought.
There can’t be more than a few hundred seats left in the East. A bit more in the West but we’re not taking several thousand. With sales this week the Hibs support will be comfortably more than the capacity of East and West combined. Even if it that wasn’t the case, I can’t believe anyone would be seriously suggesting giving them tickets at both ends.
Gordy M
15-01-2023, 10:13 PM
we have lost 3 of our last 10 home matches, hearts have won 3 out of their last 10 away, I’d imagine that’s what the bookies will be basing odds on.
15-01-2023, 11:29 PM
Having Hearts fans in the Famous Five is a ridiculous thought.
There can’t be more than a few hundred seats left in the East. A bit more in the West but we’re not taking several thousand. With sales this week the Hibs support will be comfortably more than the capacity of East and West combined. Even if it that wasn’t the case, I can’t believe anyone would be seriously suggesting giving them tickets at both ends.
Correct.
It’s almost like someone who isn’t bothered about Hibs is saying obviously daft things to get a reaction out of people that are.
16-01-2023, 02:05 AM
Because you are not the judge jury and executioner of what it means to be a Hibs fan that’s why.
Maybe, just maybe, people don’t want to go?
I have an opinion of what it should mean to call yourself a 'supporter' of a football club and if folk don't agree with that opinion then that's simply their 'opinion' as far as I'm concerned it doesn't make mine any less valid.
The joke here is that this isn't even a so called 'uber fan' debate. I'm not calling for folk to follow the club home and away every week, moaning because they don't turn up to pre season friendlies, buy this seasons top, or having a go because they didn't join HSL.... What I'm asking 'HIBS SUPPORTERS' to do .... if they can afford it financially .... is turn up and support their team in what is almost certainly the biggest game it will play this season, unless we beat the odds and make it to the semi finals or even final of this cup.
If getting off your couch and turning up to support the Hibs team in a huge game, almost certainly a season defining game, against the club who have been our biggest and most bitter rivals for nearly 150 years isn't exactly what it means to be a Hibs fan than I for one have spent the last 60 odd years totally misunderstanding what the hell supporting a football club is all about. I was stupid enough to think it was all about dedication, loyalty and supporting it from the stands win or lose.
Ask any club supporting fitba fan what the biggest insult the owner or a board member can pay them is and to a man and woman they will almost certainly all give the same answer ....... '''call me a 'customer' I f'ing dare you''' ...... There's a reason fans all over the world feel justified in that outlook and it shouldn't have to be explained to any supporter.
But put simply it's because what makes us different from 'customers' is the very fact that we will still turn up to support our club no matter how poorly it is doing, no matter that it hasn't won anything for 10, 20, 30 years, no matter how un optimistic we are of it's chances in a particular game. We don't withdraw our custom as if our club was a supermarket whose products had dropped in standard or a garage that had screwed up fixing our car, or a restaurant where the new owners had tuned the menu to ****.
If that absolutely fundamental part of following a club no longer has any meaning to the extent that you withdraw your support for it in a game like this one simply because it's having a poor season and you think it's going to lose it, then a customer is exactly what you are and in truth Hibernian football club has no more meaning in your life than your local TESCO extra or some TV series you stopped watching because season three was pish compared to the first two.
Just my opinion of course.
OldEast
16-01-2023, 03:55 AM
I have an opinion of what it should mean to call yourself a 'supporter' of a football club and if folk don't agree with that opinion then that's simply their 'opinion' as far as I'm concerned it doesn't make mine any less valid.
The joke here is that this isn't even a so called 'uber fan' debate. I'm not calling for folk to follow the club home and away every week, moaning because they don't turn up to pre season friendlies, buy this seasons top, or having a go because they didn't join HSL.... What I'm asking 'HIBS SUPPORTERS' to do .... if they can afford it financially .... is turn up and support their team in what is almost certainly the biggest game it will play this season, unless we beat the odds and make it to the semi finals or even final of this cup.
If getting off your couch and turning up to support the Hibs team in a huge game, almost certainly a season defining game, against the club who have been our biggest and most bitter rivals for nearly 150 years isn't exactly what it means to be a Hibs fan than I for one have spent the last 60 odd years totally misunderstanding what the hell supporting a football club is all about. I was stupid enough to think it was all about dedication, loyalty and supporting it from the stands win or lose.
Ask any club supporting fitba fan what the biggest insult the owner or a board member can pay them is and to a man and woman they will almost certainly all give the same answer ....... '''call me a 'customer' I f'ing dare you''' ...... There's a reason fans all over the world feel justified in that outlook and it shouldn't have to be explained to any supporter.
But put simply it's because what makes us different from 'customers' is the very fact that we will still turn up to support our club no matter how poorly it is doing, no matter that it hasn't won anything for 10, 20, 30 years, no matter how un optimistic we are of it's chances in a particular game. We don't withdraw our custom as if our club was a supermarket whose products had dropped in standard or a garage that had screwed up fixing our car, or a restaurant where the new owners had tuned the menu to ****.
If that absolutely fundamental part of following a club no longer has any meaning to the extent that you withdraw your support for it in a game like this one simply because it's having a poor season and you think it's going to lose it, then a customer is exactly what you are and in truth Hibernian football club has no more meaning in your life than your local TESCO extra or some TV series you stopped watching because season three was pish compared to the first two.
You definitely came across as a bit harsh earlier but that is a good post. Well said.
16-01-2023, 06:12 AM
Their recent form tells us they aren't that great and can be got at which we showed ourselves in the last game and should have scored a couple of goals. A Derby is about usually mainly who wants it more and even in recent games we could easily have won semi final last year and also 0 0 in February when Campbell should score late on. Let's not paint them as some impregnable force which they clearly are not. Match them physically and we have more than enough quality to win.
16-01-2023, 06:13 AM
No Hibs fan would even consider this.
16-01-2023, 06:14 AM
Great post again. :flag:
16-01-2023, 06:15 AM
You're old and smart enough to know that what Hearts do against any other team has zero bearing on what team turns up against Hibs. Everything they do is simply prep for the Hibs game.
Well we need to match and better that.
16-01-2023, 06:23 AM
:applause:
16-01-2023, 06:25 AM
I wouldn't go again this season if the club done that.
16-01-2023, 06:41 AM
Awful post. You and me definitely have more agreement politically :greengrin
16-01-2023, 06:49 AM
That is one of the ****test ideas I’ve ever read.
16-01-2023, 09:38 AM
3645 for sale
16-01-2023, 09:53 AM
That would be a low point in the history of our club.
Chorley Hibee
16-01-2023, 10:04 AM
Logistically it would never happen, could you imagine the riot outside the club shop? 🤣
If we ever started giving them more tickets, which I'd never endorse, then it would be in the main stand, or potentially the East, which I believe can be divided.
16-01-2023, 10:04 AM
But some people on here would be delighted for that to happen, I would rather have none of those *******s in our stadium never mind give them 2 stands
16-01-2023, 10:12 AM
3645 for sale
Which is nowhere near as bad as some are making out. That’s a crowd of 16600 even if we don’t sell another ticket . It will be closer to 18000 minimum at kick off on Sunday
16-01-2023, 10:43 AM
Which is nowhere near as bad as some are making out. That’s a crowd of 16600 even if we don’t sell another ticket . It will be closer to 18000 minimum at kick off on Sunday
Exactly. You have to remember where most seats are available are in the FFL, the family stand. It’s a lot of money if 2 adults and 2 children have to attend another game. Also so many kids play football on Sundays now
16-01-2023, 12:18 PM
We need to see a huge improvement from the last derby, as the home team. We all know what our derby record is like, and I'm not even saying the manager's future depends upon beating that lot just now. But it should depend upon a half-decent performance. If it's once again abject, he can go at full time. I just want to see a sensible game plan, with players in their correct positions and a battling performance. Just give us something to show they care as much as we do. Winning this tie would do wonders for morale around the club.
16-01-2023, 12:22 PM
And it shouldn't happen either.
I'd rather sit in an empty stadium than see Hearts fans in the Famous Five stand at a derby.
16-01-2023, 12:22 PM
But some people on here would be delighted for that to happen, I would rather have none of those *******s in our stadium never mind give them 2 stands
It will never happen, nor should it. Mental idea.
HarpOnHibee
16-01-2023, 12:29 PM
Logistically it would never happen, could you imagine the riot outside the club shop? 🤣
If we ever started giving them more tickets, which I'd never endorse, then it would be in the main stand, or potentially the East, which I believe can be divided.
No kidding it would be divided :greengrin
16-01-2023, 12:33 PM
No kidding it would be divided :greengrin
It would need the Berlin Wall.
16-01-2023, 12:36 PM
I'd rather sit in an empty stadium than see Hearts fans in the Famous Five stand at a derby.
For the record I never suggested giving Hearts the F5, I only said that our sales were that bad we could easily close the stand and accommodate those in the F5 in the East and West easily and still have a few thousand left for sale.
16-01-2023, 12:46 PM
No it's not and any Hibs owner daft enough to ever even think about it wouldn't be Hibs owner for long. I mean, even if they were insane enough to consider it can you imagine Hibs and Hearts fans coming and going to the stadium forced to mingle with each other outside the ground, it would be carnage. This is not a rivalry where you are likely to see half and half scarves for sale outside the ground any time soon ... or ever :greengrin
HarpOnHibee
16-01-2023, 01:38 PM
This is not a rivalry where you are likely to see half and half scarves for sale outside the ground any time soon ... or ever :greengrin
Don't give these American's any ideas :worried:
16-01-2023, 03:12 PM
For the record I never suggested giving Hearts the F5, I only said that our sales were that bad we could easily close the stand and accommodate those in the F5 in the East and West easily and still have a few thousand left for sale.
Except you're wrong.
davhibby
16-01-2023, 03:26 PM
Which clearly isn’t the case. Someone posted earlier saying there’s just over 3.5k left to sell. Is that not less than the capacity of the FF?
16-01-2023, 04:32 PM
Which clearly isn’t the case. Someone posted earlier saying there’s just over 3.5k left to sell. Is that not less than the capacity of the FF?
Pretty sure it is
16-01-2023, 04:46 PM
3800 is the approximate capacity of the FF stand
16-01-2023, 04:48 PM
For the record I never suggested giving Hearts the F5, I only said that our sales were that bad we could easily close the stand and accommodate those in the F5 in the East and West easily and still have a few thousand left for sale.Not sure thats quite accurate
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230116/d6e88498d8c0b9d4d78cda65ed587af4.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230116/90209185a1d60069bf7ee6c58d696ccf.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230116/af83b7f9a5ea8d456731c8fd109cfec2.jpg
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
16-01-2023, 05:19 PM
There's still five days left for people to buy tickets and there's often a last minute rush.
We might not sell out the home end but we're going to have at least 14k.
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-01-2023, 05:27 PM
Just bought tickets for myself and the wife there, her first time at ER. Hope she doesn’t enjoy it TOO much and wants to come to every game, that’d be a nightmare
16-01-2023, 05:30 PM
East will sell out. West will either sell out or have a few left in end sections. It’s just how many we shift in the Famous Five.
Could be worse, we could be St Johnstone. They’ve sold 300 home tickets as their fans are boycotting at the weekend. So pretty much their average home attendance.
Bridge hibs
16-01-2023, 05:32 PM
Just bought tickets for myself and the wife there, her first time at ER. Hope she doesn’t enjoy it TOO much and wants to come to every game, that’d be a nightmare
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI feel your pain mate, happened to me a few years ago, she is like one of those ******* you cant flush, although she does pay for the pies 🤣
16-01-2023, 05:35 PM
Pretty poor show from our support.. regardless of how ***** we are , and the current state of affairs.. You dont just bail out on your team when it matters most.
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-01-2023, 05:38 PM
I feel your pain mate, happened to me a few years ago, she is like one of those ******* you cant flush, although she does pay for the pies [emoji1787]
Her family are aw Man Utd fans from NI, she’s been to OT a few times with her old man. Reckon I’ll be fine [emoji1787]
16-01-2023, 05:40 PM
Pretty poor show from our support.. regardless of how ***** we are , and the current state of affairs.. You dont just bail out on your team when it matters most.
Can’t afford it tbh
16-01-2023, 05:44 PM
I reckon we'll have a crowd of about 17.5-18k. Remember their "sold out" game was only 18,900
16-01-2023, 05:46 PM
Can’t afford it tbh
Same.
I attended all THOSE 22 games in a row against that lot - so I clearly don't just go when I think we'll win!
JammyDoidger
16-01-2023, 05:50 PM
Is it a one way street? They've bailed out on us when it matters most? What was that at Tynecastle 2 weeks ago? Why should we back them again? Bunch of absolute cowards. I'll personally hang off till we get guys competent enough to actually fight for our badge.
16-01-2023, 05:56 PM
Is it a one way street? They've bailed out on us when it matters most? What was that at Tynecastle 2 weeks ago? Why should we back them again? Bunch of absolute cowards. I'll personally hang off till we get guys competent enough to actually fight for our badge.
This is where I’m at, I’ve seen enough Derby disappointments to say it’s time the team earned the support they get. I can’t afford it anyway and would have to drive so I’d be sober for a derby which is a **** experience.
16-01-2023, 06:04 PM
The worrying thing is that the vast majority of folk not buying tickets are season ticket holders. These are people who’ve consistently put money up front to support the club even when they couldn’t get to games. If Ron Gordon can’t hear the alarm bells ringing now then I don’t know when he will. A Scottish cup home derby and we can’t even sell tickets to the die hards.
It’s a shocking indictment of how far we’ve regressed under this useless regime.
LunasBoots
16-01-2023, 06:04 PM
Would never be allowed for safety reasons anyway
16-01-2023, 06:06 PM
The worrying thing is that the vast majority of folk not buying tickets are season ticket holders. These are people who’ve consistently put money up front to support the club even when they couldn’t get to games. If Ron Gordon can’t hear the alarm bells ringing now then I don’t know when he will. A Scottish cup home derby and we can’t even sell tickets to the die hards.
It’s a shocking indictment of how far we’ve regressed under this useless regime.We are literally changing the football dept structure
I think he's acknowledged the bells
LunasBoots
16-01-2023, 06:07 PM
Thought mine wanting to come to the pub for the pre match atmosphere was bad enough 😂
Still Smiling
16-01-2023, 06:19 PM
This is where I’m at, I’ve seen enough Derby disappointments to say it’s time the team earned the support they get. I can’t afford it anyway and would have to drive so I’d be sober for a derby which is a **** experience.
Pathetic! Support the team through thick and thin. I’m just as frustrated as you but there is plenty of effort.
16-01-2023, 06:22 PM
Pathetic! Support the team through thick and thin. I’m just as frustrated as you but there is plenty of effort.
I also can’t afford it. I’d probably make a last minute decision to go if I could.
16-01-2023, 06:24 PM
It’s not the fans fault and wasting time on here having a go at anyone not going. Fully understandable due to the way the team is has turned into an absolute average group of players.
The support this season has been excellent considering how bad we have been.
Hopefully the club realise fans are becoming increasingly fed up with how we are operating. Even a decent signing would have added an increased gate but they haven’t even managed that..yet..
HarpOnHibee
16-01-2023, 06:38 PM
Today's corporate football boards only understand one language and that's the language of money. People can have a go at fans not attending all they like, but it's ultimately those fans that force changes to be made. The board are quite happy for the fans to turn up to ER for a moan each week, as long as they are still turning up and handing over the goods.
16-01-2023, 06:46 PM
It’s not the fans fault and wasting time on here having a go at anyone not going. Fully understandable due to the way the team is has turned into an absolute average group of players.
The support this season has been excellent considering how bad we have been.
Hopefully the club realise fans are becoming increasingly fed up with how we are operating. Even a decent signing would have added an increased gate but they haven’t even managed that..yet..
Daydreamer
16-01-2023, 06:53 PM
Tell non season ticket holders they are guaranteed a ticket for the final if they buy a ticket on Sunday they get a ticket for the final and see what happens
16-01-2023, 07:00 PM
Tell non season ticket holders they are guaranteed a ticket for the final if they buy a ticket on Sunday they get a ticket for the final and see what happens
Whats that? The relegation playoff final? More chance of being in that than the SC final.
16-01-2023, 07:13 PM
We are literally changing the football dept structure
I think he's acknowledged the bells
I appreciate that but we could have come to that decision earlier, maybe during the World Cup break, made the announcement then and had a DOF in ready for the transfer window. We are heading into a derby cup tie with a team of square pegs in round holes, no recruitment half way through the transfer window and possibly not much more to come due to the stalemate in the restructuring. We have thousands of empty seats for a cup tie against Hearts which may carry on to be thousands of non renewal of season tickets. It’s still all talk and still the same players on the park. It’s not great timing to be restructuring even though it’s a welcomed change. Planning could be better.
16-01-2023, 07:24 PM
Whats that? The relegation playoff final? More chance of being in that than the SC final.
:faf: But so so true unfortunately
16-01-2023, 07:54 PM
Laughed more than I should have at that.
LunasBoots
16-01-2023, 07:55 PM
With the current team as weak as it is and zero recruitment, hard to disagree
The Wireless
16-01-2023, 08:09 PM
What final might that be? The women’s ?
Silky
16-01-2023, 08:14 PM
That happens all the time. It's been going on for years. Even happens on a game by game basis. Three guys sitting beside me bailed on Saturday when United scored their second. They'd seen enough. Happens a lot.
16-01-2023, 08:15 PM
16-01-2023, 08:17 PM
That happens all the time. It's been going on for years. Even happens on a game by game basis. Three guys sitting beside me bailed on Saturday when United scored their second. They'd seen enough. Happens a lot.
There was plenty who left when Hearts scored their second at the derby. Not uncommon in the slightest. We've all seen that movie before.
16-01-2023, 08:18 PM
It's called supporting your team
16-01-2023, 08:37 PM
There was plenty who left when Hearts scored their second at the derby. Not uncommon in the slightest. We've all seen that movie before.I remember folk next to me leaving after Hearts second on NYD 1998 which finished 2 v 2 , a lot had left before Joe McBride junior got 2 late goals at Tynecastle for a 2 v 2 draw . A bit more recently , how many Hibbies left at 0 v 3 v Falkirk at Hampden in 2013 ?
16-01-2023, 08:47 PM
I remember folk next to me leaving after Hearts second on NYD 1998 which finished 2 v 2 , a lot had left before Joe McBride junior got 2 late goals at Tynecastle for a 2 v 2 draw . A bit more recently , how many Hibbies left at 0 v 3 v Falkirk at Hampden in 2013 ?
Don't think that game was New Years day
16-01-2023, 08:55 PM
Don't think that game was New Years dayYes . Probably 2nd or 3rd January . I remember Andy Walker scored and we missed a great chance to win in final minute .
Colinton Hibby
16-01-2023, 09:10 PM
The andy walker goal was in the last derby to be played on nyd.
as for staying away on Sunday, surely we have a better chance of winning if the three stands after packed? 12th man and all that.
DIXIHIBS
16-01-2023, 09:41 PM
Why should we back THEM? You mean YOUR team (allegedly). I get some people are rightly fed up with hibs right now and dont fancy sunday...but why should we should back them is not a question a supporter asks. We should back them to try and help knock they hertz tramps out the cup...thats why.
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-01-2023, 11:18 PM
Thought mine wanting to come to the pub for the pre match atmosphere was bad enough [emoji23]
You thought right, I made a mistake even mentioning it was a big game this week[emoji1787] should’ve just bought my own ticket and told her on Saturday that I’m away early doors
jakeshibs
17-01-2023, 05:42 AM
Why should we back THEM? You mean YOUR team (allegedly). I get some people are rightly fed up with hibs right now and dont fancy sunday...but why should we should back them is not a question a supporter asks. We should back them to try and help knock they hertz tramps out the cup...thats why.
Well said. we need to back the team to get the best out of the players, too many supporters transferring blame to board, to the manager, the players its becoming toxic. we are part of the team, supporters support, get behind them, be the extra man, we are playing against them and we need all the help we can get.
If you can afford it, get tae Easter Road, be the difference.
17-01-2023, 05:51 AM
Yes . Probably 2nd or 3rd January . I remember Andy Walker scored and we missed a great chance to win in final minute .
No nowhere near New year nearer the end of the season. Maybe picked up wrong I was thinking about Joe McBride two late goals second one a free kick off the post.
17-01-2023, 05:53 AM
Yep no other reason matters. More than capable of winning this game.
17-01-2023, 08:57 AM
The andy walker goal was in the last derby to be played on nyd.
as for staying away on Sunday, surely we have a better chance of winning if the three stands after packed? 12th man and all that.
We played at Tynecastle on New Year’s Day maybe 10, 11 years ago when Kevin Kyle scored late on for them. I only remember as it was hands down the most hungover I’ve ever been at a football match
17-01-2023, 09:07 AM
We played at Tynecastle on New Year’s Day maybe 10, 11 years ago when Kevin Kyle scored late on for them. I only remember as it was hands down the most hungover I’ve ever been at a football match
Yup, was Nish's one big shot at scoring a derby goal late on in that game and missed by inches.
17-01-2023, 09:14 AM
Absolutely right and I was in the same boat, spewing all morning my dad had to force me to go, the game was a shocker as well.
17-01-2023, 09:43 AM
GreenGray
17-01-2023, 09:46 AM
I could be wrong but I haven’t seen much promotion from the club for this one? Wonder why
17-01-2023, 09:48 AM
I could be wrong but I haven’t seen much promotion from the club for this one? Wonder why
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkBusy getting rid of all our players while simultaneously sitting with there fingers up there butt
17-01-2023, 09:53 AM
Typical Hibs, nothing new on the transfer front incase other teams are alerted, the sheep are world champions at this
17-01-2023, 09:57 AM
It's funny but as soon as the draw was made I couldn't wait for this one.
I think as a supporter you engage either fight or flight when things aren't going too well and I fully understand why quite a few folk don't want to attend on Sunday.
To me though I sit and often suffer through the Ross Countys and the St Johnstones because I know games like this will come along and make it all worthwhile.
The fact we lost so poorly at Tynecastle only adds to my optimism in a strange sort of way as it will almost certainly give them the idea that this one will be pretty straightforward even if only subconsciously.
Aye its true we are still relying on this manager picking the right team and then the players putting in the requisite shift not to mention a bit of luck as they are clearly a bit better than us right now.
I want our big game players like Marshall, McGeady, Porto and Nisbet to step up to the plate on Sunday and drag the performance levels of the rest of the team up with them.
It might be a case of doing it despite the manager rather than because of him but if that's what it takes so be it.
Hopefully the stands will be pretty full and we enjoy one of those rollicking good occasions that sometimes creep up on you in football when you least expect it.
Just play the guys in their correct positions please Lee and let them do their thing.
You never know it might just turn our season around.
GreenGray
17-01-2023, 09:57 AM
Busy getting rid of all our players while simultaneously sitting with there fingers up there butt
Strange, the trainspotting promo for the first derby of the season seemed successful
SickBoy32
17-01-2023, 10:20 AM
I think as a supporter you engage either fight or flight when things aren't going too well and I fully understand why quite a few folk don't want to attend on Sunday.
To me though I sit and often suffer through the Ross Countys and the St Johnstones because I know games like this will come along and make it all worthwhile.
The fact we lost so poorly at Tynecastle only adds to my optimism in a strange sort of way as it will almost certainly give them the idea that this one will be pretty straightforward even if only subconsciously.
Aye its true we are still relying on this manager picking the right team and then the players putting in the requisite shift not to mention a bit of luck as they are clearly a bit better than us right now.
I want our big game players like Marshall, McGeady, Porto and Nisbet to step up to the plate on Sunday and drag the performance levels of the rest of the team up with them.
It might be a case of doing it despite the manager rather than because of him but if that's what it takes so be it.
Hopefully the stands will be pretty full and we enjoy one of those rollicking good occasions that sometimes creep up on you in football when you least expect it.
Just play the guys in their correct positions please Lee and let them do their thing.
Excellent post - agree entirely
17-01-2023, 10:26 AM
That’s a few shifted since yesterday. Would expect demand to increase the closer the game gets so attendance might not be anywhere near as bad as feared.
LunasBoots
17-01-2023, 01:32 PM
Two sections sold out in the east....getting there....slowly.
17-01-2023, 01:36 PM
Most people who are wavering will go I reckon.
These are the games we live for as supporters.
17-01-2023, 02:11 PM
17-01-2023, 02:12 PM
Me too, I don’t fear them. The day I do, I move onto something else
Gordy M
17-01-2023, 02:18 PM
Exactly they are no world beaters....they have won 3 out their last 10 away from home. We have lost 3 out the last 10 at home. Nothing to fear.
OstKurve Hibs
17-01-2023, 02:34 PM
Just got 2 in the east, just single seats here and there by the looks of it
17-01-2023, 03:07 PM
Absolutely right and I was in the same boat, spewing all morning my dad had to force me to go, the game was a shocker as well.
Aye, got absolutely drenched before it too I’m sure
Ron D Hibbie
17-01-2023, 04:42 PM
Ref for sunday is Don Robertson. Could be worse.
17-01-2023, 04:57 PM
Imagine beating them in the cup and not being there!
17-01-2023, 04:59 PM
Great post, for those who can afford it though
17-01-2023, 05:00 PM
Sounds better than the opposite to be fair 😂
17-01-2023, 05:11 PM
No nowhere near New year nearer the end of the season. Maybe picked up wrong I was thinking about Joe McBride two late goals second one a free kick off the post.
Definitely NYD 1998. Kept manager in a job for longer than he should have been
17-01-2023, 05:12 PM
3-1 Hibs, Nizzy hat-trick
17-01-2023, 05:15 PM
yup. Sunshine on leith belting out under the floodlights.
17-01-2023, 05:17 PM
Sounds better than the opposite to be fair 😂
Think most of us can handle the opposite - we've had enough practice.
It's the games where you don't expect to win that give the greatest feeling if you do. Had we won the cup against Stranraer in the final we'd all be delighted but against the Huns made it extra special.
If you can get along. Back the team from the off and see what happens. Or go to the cinema and wish you'd chosen not to.
17-01-2023, 06:17 PM
Think most of us can handle the opposite - we've had enough practice.
It's the games where you don't expect to win that give the greatest feeling if you do. Had we won the cup against Stranraer in the final we'd all be delighted but against the Huns made it extra special.
If you can get along. Back the team from the off and see what happens. Or go to the cinema and wish you'd chosen not to.
I know, I know. Was purely messing about - I’ll be there, and almost looking forward to it 👍
17-01-2023, 06:30 PM
I haven’t been to many games this season But me and my son will be buying tickets for this one as it’s the Scottish Cup and it’s a Home Derby
Nizzy being on form is a plus
Could of done without Newel suspension as his ball into Nizzy fir the equaliser v United is what we need v them
17-01-2023, 07:35 PM
Ticket sales definitely look to have picked up this week.
Hopefully there will be a few folk having a change of heart as the week goes on.
17-01-2023, 07:41 PM
Ticket sales definitely look to have picked up this week.
Hopefully there will be a few folk having a change of heart as the week goes on.
It will be a win least expected that loads will miss and regret unless they get tickets. :wink:
17-01-2023, 07:53 PM
When we beat Hearts 6-2 I'm sure the attendance was under 13,000. Don't recall many grumping about that after the event. I would reckon those that opted not to go regret it or that they claim they were there.
There will be more than that on Sunday and if we win then I don't care if there are gaps in the three Hibs sides of the ground.
I genuinely feel for Hibs fans that can't afford to go or have other commitments but those that have written us off and simply cant be ***** well...................
Colinton Hibby
17-01-2023, 07:57 PM
ah so he did. The big dick.
nickwhibs
17-01-2023, 07:57 PM
When we beat Hearts 6-2 I'm sure the attendance was under 13,000. Don't recall many grumping about that after the event. I would reckon those that opted not to go regret it or that they claim they were there.
There will be more than that on Sunday and if we win then I don't care if there are gaps in the three Hibs sides of the ground.
I genuinely feel for Hibs fans that can't afford to go or have other commitments but those that have written us off and simply cant be ***** well...................
Pretty sure the 6-2 was sold out in the Hibs stands. It was the hearts end that was half empty as the were “boycotting”. I get your point though. Attendance won’t matter a jot of we beat that lot.
17-01-2023, 07:59 PM
They should have made the FF lower the section for Block 7 and anyone else who wanted to join in.
Mcbizz1998
17-01-2023, 08:06 PM
True, but Easter Road held about 3 thousand less than it does now and the jambos were on a boycott or some pish.
Still, take your point.
17-01-2023, 08:14 PM
Pretty sure the 6-2 was sold out in the Hibs stands. It was the hearts end that was half empty as the were “boycotting”. I get your point though. Attendance won’t matter a jot of we beat that lot.
Hibs tickets weren't sold out and I'm sure the capacity at the time was around 18000. The away end holds around 3800 and you are correct in saying it wasn't sold out due to a boycott, ie they were crap at the time and feared (correctly) they were going to get a hammering.
Most important part though is we are agreed that as long as we win it wont matter that there are empty seats.
17-01-2023, 08:30 PM
They should have made the FF lower the section for Block 7 and anyone else who wanted to join in.
Said this to a mate earlier. Unfortunately those in charge just don’t think out the box like that
nickwhibs
17-01-2023, 08:37 PM
Yep, would have been the perfect game to try it. Fingers crossed it’s going to happen for next season
17-01-2023, 08:44 PM
Hibs tickets weren't sold out and I'm sure the capacity at the time was around 18000. The away end holds around 3800 and you are correct in saying it wasn't sold out due to a boycott, ie they were crap at the time and feared (correctly) they were going to get a hammering.
Most important part though is we are agreed that as long as we win it wont matter that there are empty seats.
Capacity was 16500 before the new west stand.
17-01-2023, 08:47 PM
Definitely NYD 1998. Kept manager in a job for longer than he should have been
It was the Joe MBride game I was talking about not the Duffy one which was new year day
17-01-2023, 08:47 PM
Capacity was 16500 before the new west stand.
I would have lost a bet on that
17-01-2023, 08:56 PM
It was the Joe MBride game I was talking about not the Duffy one which was new year day
The Joe McBride game was at Tynecastle in the mid 1980s when we were in danger of being relegated, sure it was around April.
The 01/01/98 game was when Andy Walker and Pat McGinlay scored.
That's three times that I've seen Hibs come back from 2-0 down to draw 2-2 at Tynecastle, all the Hibs goals at the same end.
17-01-2023, 09:05 PM
Sorry Jim, yeah think McBride game was in April
ah so he did. The big dick.
pretty much the description that I think of whenever his name is mentioned :greengrin
LunasBoots
17-01-2023, 09:20 PM
Yup, Hibs probably didn't think it would struggle to sell. Block 7 doing any kind of march to ER?
Up-the-slope
17-01-2023, 09:22 PM
:agree: Oct 2000 (can you believe it was 22 + years ago) I was flying to KL via Heathrow and could not make it... trying to get game in Heathrow on a bar TV was a nightmare (landed there midway through game) could not believe score as got up dates via text... 4 days later in Borneo (where we flew from KL) we were met by a colleague who brought the newspaper reports of game..... great to read them... but you might be surprised to know he was a Hearts Supporter, very well connected to Tynecastle...
these are the memories that make all the letdowns worth it... Looking forward to Sunday with hope that it just might be one of those days :greengrin
17-01-2023, 09:26 PM
Pretty sure Hibs tickets were sold out in that game
17-01-2023, 09:33 PM
Pretty sure Hibs tickets were sold out in that game
They may well have been sold out but there were definitely a fair few empty seats. I guess that's no difference from todays declaration of attendance.
He's here!
17-01-2023, 09:34 PM
Take a look at the highlights. The Hibs stands were all but sold out but the yams didn't even fill one tier of theirs:
https://youtu.be/UFDeEKemCrM
HibbyDave
17-01-2023, 09:36 PM
Is the match on Tv anywhere?
17-01-2023, 09:42 PM
Take a look at the highlights. The Hibs stands were all but sold out but the yams didn't even fill one tier of theirs:
https://youtu.be/UFDeEKemCrM
This is turning out to be an interesting debate.
It was posted earlier that the capacity at that time was 16,500. the away stand holds 3800 so the number of tickets available for Hibs fans would be 12,700.
So if every Hibs ticket was sold and in attendance that would mean there were only 200 Hearts fans in the away end. It was a poor Hearts support but definitely way more than 200.
17-01-2023, 09:54 PM
Is the match on Tv anywhere?
Its on Viaplay 1 HD which is channel 412 on Sky.
CB Hibs 68
17-01-2023, 10:04 PM
Jeezus.Quite Simple really.Hibs end was a near enough sell out and the Jambos diidnae turn up because they knew what was in store.One things for sure there was less than 200 of them when they scored there second goal
17-01-2023, 10:05 PM
**** all the chat about previous attendance idiosyncrasies, if you can afford it (big ask in the economic circumstances) and / or you can actually make it buy a ***in ticket. It’s a huge match for the club.
17-01-2023, 10:09 PM
Jeezus.Quite Simple really.Hibs end was a near enough sell out and the Jambos diidnae turn up because they knew what was in store.One things for sure there was less than 200 of them when they scored there second goal
Absolutely, :thumbsup:
And to get back to my original post on this thread there will be more Hibs fans at the game on Sunday than there was at the 6-2 game despite all the doom and gloom surrounding the club just now.
In fact in terms of actual bums on seats it will probably be the most Hibs fans that have been in the ground this season.
17-01-2023, 10:30 PM
This is turning out to be an interesting debate.
It was posted earlier that the capacity at that time was 16,500. the away stand holds 3800 so the number of tickets available for Hibs fans would be 12,700.
So if every Hibs ticket was sold and in attendance that would mean there were only 200 Hearts fans in the away end. It was a poor Hearts support but definitely way more than 200.
The season before (99/00) there was 16,976 at the first derby of the season at ER, which was our biggest crowd that season.
I wonder if the capacity was reduced for 00/01 for some reason because our biggest crowds were both just under 15k v Rangers and Celtic at ER, at a time when we were flying at the top of the league.
In fact now I think about it we actually removed the slope from the pitch before the start of 00/01 season which meant we had to lose some seats from the front of the East Stand: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sport/football/scottish_premier/730435.stm
We also lost a fair few seats in the old West lower, particularly infront of the executive boxes with a large group of seating being totally removed.
So capacity was defo a bit lower than the previous season though not sure what exactly. I certainly remember the home end seeming packed for all three of those games mentioned in 00/01, so wonder if capacity was closer to 15k. This would then make more sense for the 13k derby crowd with a half empty away end.
Although losing nearly 2k seats for the pitch levelling seems quite a lot....
18-01-2023, 05:46 AM
And to get back to my original post on this thread there will be more Hibs fans at the game on Sunday than there was at the 6-2 game despite all the doom and gloom surrounding the club just now.
In fact in terms of actual bums on seats it will probably be the most Hibs fans that have been in the ground this season.
Very good point. :greengrin
HibbyDave
18-01-2023, 06:49 AM
Its on Viaplay 1 HD which is channel 412 on Sky.
Cheers!
greenlad
18-01-2023, 06:56 AM
The season before (99/00) there was 16,976 at the first derby of the season at ER, which was our biggest crowd that season.
I wonder if the capacity was reduced for 00/01 for some reason because our biggest crowds were both just under 15k v Rangers and Celtic at ER, at a time when we were flying at the top of the league.
In fact now I think about it we actually removed the slope from the pitch before the start of 00/01 season which meant we had to lose some seats from the front of the East Stand: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sport/football/scottish_premier/730435.stm
We also lost a fair few seats in the old West lower, particularly infront of the executive boxes with a large group of seating being totally removed.
So capacity was defo a bit lower than the previous season though not sure what exactly. I certainly remember the home end seeming packed for all three of those games mentioned in 00/01, so wonder if capacity was closer to 15k. This would then make more sense for the 13k derby crowd with a half empty away end.
There were a hell of a lot of seats lost from the East Terracing in 2000. From my seat in the FF Upper I took "before" and "after" photos and the difference was stark.The pillars were previously 6-7 rows back and that became the front row I think.
Ironically enough while it was quite hard to spot the slope in the old Easter Road, as the stands and the terraces rose alongside it, after the pitch had been levelled it was far more apparent as you could see the rise in stand/terracing from North to South.
18-01-2023, 07:06 AM
I think in 2000 there was also less cock measuring about attendances. Probably because there was no social media encouraging it. They’ve always had a slightly bigger support base than us, and that wanes and waxes by the odd thousand or two depending what’s happening on the pitch at the time. Who really cares?! We’re still the classy outfit by any measure that matters.
18-01-2023, 07:15 AM
Really starting to look forward to this now.
I must be mad.
18-01-2023, 08:10 AM
I must be mad.
Not at all. It’s a Derby, I can’t wait. :flag:
18-01-2023, 08:48 AM
I must be mad.
The ones that are mad are those opting to stay away and gambling on missing out on what would be a hugely enjoyable win if we did so.
We’ve had such slim pickings in recent times I wouldn’t like to risk not being there when we do get to enjoy a big game win.
18-01-2023, 09:33 AM
Did the current West not open in 2001, so reduced capacity while the old was bulldozed and new one fully open..?
Speaking of front row seats in FF and South, have we lost a further row since the new advertising boards went in? Looks as if the front row now starts one row up the stairs with a new fence installed right along that row, whereas before I thought it was "ground level" that row started on?
18-01-2023, 09:39 AM
18-01-2023, 09:50 AM
That all sounds about right. I think we lost 6 rows from the terracing when the pitch moved (which was at the same time as it was levelled but not really because of the levelling, it was so we could build a bigger new main stand). If the terrace was 200 seats wide that would be 1200. I think it was actually slightly less? So maybe 1000.
The 6-2 game was played on the daft Sunday at 6pm slot, so there was bound to be ST holders sprinkled around the ground that couldn't make it for whatever reason. I think we were still reporting actual attendances in those days.
The terracing was definitely sold out because I was in the old north (wing of main) stand. Hi-bees! Stamp, stamp, stamp. :greengrin
MKHIBEE
18-01-2023, 10:07 AM
I must be mad.
That’s where I am, roll on sunday.
JamesHFC
18-01-2023, 10:24 AM
I must be mad.
Best fixture in the calendar. Bring it on.
18-01-2023, 11:08 AM
2 more bought, couldn't resist!
18-01-2023, 11:09 AM
👏 Good stuff, we'll need as many of us attending and behind the boys as possible.
18-01-2023, 11:29 AM
So if we sell another 1500 we'll match the Tynecastle attendance. We won't be far away I reckon.
18-01-2023, 11:31 AM
You’re lucky if the famous five is 1/4 sold as it currently stands. How do the players get inspired running out to that, it’s garbage whatever way anyone tries and spins the excuses
I really feel for all those who can’t afford to go or have family/ work commitments but those who can afford to go and have the spare time but choosing no to in case we get beat are embarrassing and there just be thousands in that boat. ‘We’ll support you evermore’??? No going cause we might get beat. Well we also might just win so buy a *** ticket and support ‘YOUR’ team!!
jakeshibs
18-01-2023, 11:37 AM
Excellent, mon the cabbage
18-01-2023, 11:41 AM
Decent amount shifted since yesterday. If we keep going at similar rate between now and Sunday there should be a fairly good attendance, although not quite a sell out.
HarpOnHibee
18-01-2023, 11:45 AM
You’re lucky if the famous five is 1/4 sold as it currently stands. How do the players get inspired running out to that, it’s garbage whatever way anyone tries and spins the excuses
I really feel for all those who can’t afford to go or have family/ work commitments but those who can afford to go and have the spare time but choosing no to in case we get beat are embarrassing and there just be thousands in that boat. ‘We’ll support you evermore’??? No going cause we might get beat. Well we also might just win so buy a *** ticket and support ‘YOUR’ team!!
The issue isn't getting beat, it's the manner in which we get beat that so many people have just had enough with. I would say a good 70-80% of the goals we concede against Hearts are handed to them. They don't even have to play well, they just need to turn up and it's handed to them. That's simply not acceptable.
18-01-2023, 12:15 PM
As horrible as it is to say, Hearts are a good team and should beat us. It would be a surprise to most if they didn't. A win for us could really push us on for the rest of the season. Can't say i'm looking forward to it at all. LJ seems to be a bit of a cup specialist in big games so lets see what happens.
18-01-2023, 12:18 PM
Agree totally… Supporting your club should never be conditional
Gordy M
18-01-2023, 12:20 PM
As horrible as it is to say, Hearts are a good team and should beat us. It would be a surprise to most if they didn't. A win for us could really push us on for the rest of the season. Can't say i'm looking forward to it at all. LJ seems to be a bit of a cup specialist in big games so lets see what happens.
They have won 3 out of 10 away from home.
SON OF PADDY
18-01-2023, 12:25 PM
Agree totally… Supporting your club should never be conditional
This 💯% Mon the Cabbage !
Torto7
18-01-2023, 12:28 PM
Dont go bringing facts into things. The mighty Jambo tugfest is in full flow. You'd think Real Madrid are visiting Easter Road.
LunasBoots
18-01-2023, 12:29 PM
They are very much beatable, seen Neilsons teams at ER enough to know they often look very beatable.
SickBoy32
18-01-2023, 12:33 PM
Get a grip man, should beat us FFS?!
Might want to tell that to the bookies, who have us priced as favs
Domestically, only the OF 'should' beat us - this jambo mob got out of jail against St Mirren the other night
No-one is happy with how the club is being run, but this tie is still very much winnable for us
Superfurry72
18-01-2023, 12:47 PM
The issue isn't getting beat, it's the manner in which we get beat that so many people have just had enough with. I would say a good 70-80% of the goals we concede against Hearts are handed to them. They don't even have to play well, they just need to turn up and it's handed to them. That's simply not acceptable.
The goals we conceded at Tynecastle still make me really angry, particularly the first and the third. Like you said, just handing them goals with defending so chronic I’m still traumatised by it. But I will be there on Sunday. Not particularly confident, but there’s no way I’d miss it.
DIXIHIBS
18-01-2023, 12:53 PM
You say it would be a surprise but the bookies have hibs as favourites, not sure why considering our record against them. Maybe they know something we dont.
18-01-2023, 12:54 PM
Don Robertson is the ref and Greg Aitken is in the VAR hotseat.
18-01-2023, 12:59 PM
As much as Hearts are mediocre and beatable, we're pish and unlikely to beat them. Although a scrappy game and an in-form Nisbet, you never know. :pray:
18-01-2023, 01:06 PM
I'm not confident about us beating any team.
But....
Nisbet is on fire.
Here's hoping 😂
18-01-2023, 01:16 PM
That all sounds about right. I think we lost 6 rows from the terracing when the pitch moved (which was at the same time as it was levelled but not really because of the levelling, it was so we could build a bigger new main stand). If the terrace was 200 seats wide that would be 1200. I think it was actually slightly less? So maybe 1000.
The 6-2 game was played on the daft Sunday at 6pm slot, so there was bound to be ST holders sprinkled around the ground that couldn't make it for whatever reason. I think we were still reporting actual attendances in those days.
The terracing was definitely sold out because I was in the old north (wing of main) stand. Hi-bees! Stamp, stamp, stamp. :greengrin
So was I, didn't have a season ticket that season and was all I could get after leaving it bit late to buy, certain our end was a sell out that night.
He's here!
18-01-2023, 01:33 PM
Indeed. There's a sense of inevitability at derbies that we'll concede a soft early goal which sets the tone for much of the game. Couple that with the form we've been in for the last 14 months and I'm not surprised a lot of season ticket holders are giving this a miss.
18-01-2023, 01:41 PM
As much as Hearts are mediocre and beatable, we're pish and unlikely to beat them. Although a scrappy game and an in-form Nisbet, you never know. :pray:
We have won 26% of all derbies since time began. Hearts have won 44%. That tells us that neither team's fans should go into a derby expecting to win because more often than not your team doesn't do so.
I'm hopeful if we get the first goal on Sunday we can bump that 26% up a bit. GIE THE BAW TAE NISBET!!
18-01-2023, 01:50 PM
Starting to look forward to this now.
Worst that can happen is that we get beat. But the thought of winning against them far outweighs the ****ty pessimistic view of losing. If you’re worried about losing games you’re supporting the wrong team and, in all honesty, following the wrong sport because every team has their ups and downs.
No matter how poor we are it’s Hearts we’re playing, not some top team. We’ve got a goalscorer bang in form and that always gives you a chance.
Zambernardi1875
18-01-2023, 01:56 PM
Indeed. There's a sense of inevitability at derbies that we'll concede a soft early goal which sets the tone for much of the game. Couple that with the form we've been in for the last 14 months and I'm not surprised a lot of season ticket holders are giving this a miss.
How many season ticket holders are not going?
18-01-2023, 02:26 PM
How many season ticket holders are not going?
Going by some of the posts on here it will be thousands and thousands. The reality is that it will be a maximum of about 1000. I know 2 season ticket holders not going who are on holiday. There will be a lot like that.
18-01-2023, 03:33 PM
18-01-2023, 03:46 PM
Best fixture in the calendar. Bring it on.
Absolutely :flag:
18-01-2023, 03:54 PM
Come on folks....
18-01-2023, 03:55 PM
Another issue is that there are hundreds of single tickets available
18-01-2023, 04:26 PM
Another issue is that there are hundreds of single tickets available
There are shed loads of grouped seats available.
18-01-2023, 04:33 PM
Are you going?
18-01-2023, 04:37 PM
Starting to look forward to this now.
Worst that can happen is that we get beat. But the thought of winning against them far outweighs the ****ty pessimistic view of losing. If you’re worried about losing games you’re supporting the wrong team and, in all honesty, following the wrong sport because every team has their ups and downs.
No matter how poor we are it’s Hearts we’re playing, not some top team. We’ve got a goalscorer bang in form and that always gives you a chance.
Exactly- our home record is ok and theirs is nothing special.
The way it's been built up we've almost nothing to lose which isn't a bad position to be in. Perception seems to be that Hearts are more or less certain to win when in reality it's maybe 60/40 in their favour.
It's absolutely atrocious the way our own fans have written off our chances - social media is again a tough read this week when we should be rallying round.
18-01-2023, 04:39 PM
There are shed loads of grouped seats available.
In the end sections and behind the goals. Still does not change the fact that there are hundreds of single seats to sell. 216 in the West and 103 in the East
18-01-2023, 04:50 PM
Exactly- our home record is ok and theirs is nothing special.
The way it's been built up we've almost nothing to lose which isn't a bad position to be in. Perception seems to be that Hearts are more or less certain to win when in reality it's maybe 60/40 in their favour.
It's absolutely atrocious the way our own fans have written off our chances - social media is again a tough read this week when we should be rallying round.
I’m not particularly confident we’ll win but there is no way anyone should be writing this game of. A win wouldn’t be some major shock. We need to go in to this game and get after them. I think the crowd has a big part to play in making sure that happens as well.
loanheadhibby
18-01-2023, 04:54 PM
I’m not particularly confident we’ll win but there is no way anyone should be writing this game of. A win wouldn’t be some major shock. We need to go in to this game and get after them. I think the crowd has a big part to play in making sure that happens as well.
I wonder if the club has written the game off.
The complete lack of any new bodies in is amazing.
I do appreciate we don't want players in for the sake of it but even still.
Up-the-slope
18-01-2023, 04:58 PM
In the end sections and behind the goals. Still does not change the fact that there are hundreds of single seats to sell. 216 in the West and 103 in the East
Perfect for Norman nae mates :agree:
18-01-2023, 04:59 PM
I wonder if the club has written the game off.
The complete lack of any new bodies in is amazing.
I do appreciate we don't want players in for the sake of it but even still.
Of course they haven’t written it off.
We need new players but it was clear long before the window opened that we weren’t fixing much this month in that regard.
For this weekend I think we need to forget all the crap, get right behind what we do have and hope they can get us a result.
Whether we win or lose our problems will remain but I wouldn’t mind The good day that comes with a win.
Potty78
18-01-2023, 05:00 PM
Got mine today,I've been unsure about it all week but it's a cup game against our biggest rivals👍🏻
jakeshibs
18-01-2023, 06:37 PM
all this negativity prior to a derby is embarrassing, we have nothing to fear that mob and every Hibs fans that can afford it should attend, songs like our fans are the greatest, they cheer us each game are becoming history, lets all cheer them on mon the Hibs, be the difference
18-01-2023, 06:44 PM
We’ve only conceded 2 first half goal against them at Easter Road since we got relegated in 2014.
Up-the-slope
18-01-2023, 06:44 PM
Early sending Off for Tarts with an energy sapping 70/80 minutes 10 v 11 :greengrin my Carlsberg evening
18-01-2023, 07:29 PM
I have no idea what the handball rule is now. Almost identical incidents with different results. It seems if you are Hearts or The Rangers you get them but don't get them given against you. If you are Hibs you get none but every handball in your box goes against you. VAR has absolutely confirmed how corrupt Scottish Football is. If there was any doubt previously it has gone now.
Hearts 3-0 and nothing in the game apart from goals and dodgy officials.
18-01-2023, 07:30 PM
Possible pen for Hearts. Seen them not given against the Rangers but will be given for Hearts
Since VAR was introduced Rangers and Hearts have had incredible.... absolutely incredible, 'luck' with handball incidents- both have had more than one obvious handballs against them not awarded and absolutely every time it goes near the opposition hand they get awarded a pen.
Hopefully Sunday see's this change!
18-01-2023, 07:34 PM
Think I’ll watch from behind the couch 🫣
18-01-2023, 07:37 PM
Think I’ll watch from behind the couch 🫣
Might just stay in the concourse.
18-01-2023, 07:50 PM
We're still bookies favourites...on Skybet at least.
Fear the worst (the absolute worst) and hoping for the best
18-01-2023, 08:01 PM
Fear the worst (the absolute worst) and hoping for the best
Should be printed round the collar of the home shirts
CL0762
18-01-2023, 08:06 PM
The day I’m feared of them is the day I pack it in for good.
Seen worse Hibs teams beat them and that whistling helmet* has never won at ER.
*if you’ve never noticed, Neilson whistles when he says the letter S
18-01-2023, 08:06 PM
The day I’m feared of them is the day I pack it in for good.
Seen worse Hibs teams beat them and that whistling helmet* has never won at ER.
Well said
18-01-2023, 08:07 PM
Panic! Panic! We're done for! Waaaarrrggghhhh!!!!!
18-01-2023, 08:12 PM
I think we'll get beat.
I know before a derby there's an expectation that we all do the big bravado act and declare we are going to do this, that or the other to them. I'm 36, in my lifetime that has rarely happened. Even when we are good the derby is usually a bit of a struggle. Either that or we talk about non specific 'feelings'. They don't come to pass all that often either.
I'll be at the game, I'll be supporting the team on the day but ultimately respective league positions and recent games against each other suggest we are pretty unlikely to come through this one.
LunasBoots
18-01-2023, 08:14 PM
I think we'll get beat.
I know before a derby there's an expectation that we all do the big bravado act and declare we are going to do this, that or the other to them. I'm 36, in my lifetime that has rarely happened. Even when we are good the derby is usually a bit of a struggle. Either that or we talk about non specific 'feelings'. They don't come to pass all that often either.
I'll be at the game, I'll be supporting the team on the day but ultimately respective league positions and recent games against each other suggest we are pretty unlikely to come through this one.
Agree, that's where I'm at, will be at the game also, seen this story enough times.
18-01-2023, 08:15 PM
I remember the Casper game. FTJ.
18-01-2023, 08:15 PM
Are you going?
… lol
I don’t think HH goes or watches hibs games. He’s not that interested (these days).
Only interested enough to want as little hibs fans to attend on Sunday as possible, for us to give the famous five stand to hearts, and to let us all know we’ll lose an early goal and get hammered.
Definitely not a troll though.
18-01-2023, 08:18 PM
I think we'll get beat.
Every time I feel confident going into a derby it goes wrong so maybe we are better fearing the worst.
The Riordan penalty game at Tynecastle I felt we were going to get hammered but it never worked out like that.
I don't suppose the Brora Rangers fans fancied their chances a couple of years ago either.
18-01-2023, 08:22 PM
Every time I feel confident going into a derby it goes wrong so maybe we are better fearing the worst.
The Riordan penalty game at Tynecastle I felt we were going to get hammered but it never worked out like that.
I don't suppose the Brora Rangers fans fancied their chances a couple of years ago either.
I'm not saying we can't win, I was one of the hardy few who bothered to attend Tynecastle on the night you mention and expected nothing then either.
Ultimately what I think doesn't matter. It makes literally no difference. Faux bravado won't make us play any better, me declaring I think they'll beat us in that predictable way they so often do won't make us play any worse.
They are a better team than us. If we were neutrals we'd be picking them to win and if we were Hearts fans (God forbid) then we'd be super confident. As a Hibs fan I'm pessimistic about this one and I'm honest enough to say that.
18-01-2023, 08:28 PM
I'm not saying we can't win, I was one of the hardy few who bothered to attend Tynecastle on the night you mention and expected nothing then either.
Ultimately what I think doesn't matter. It makes literally no difference. Faux bravado won't make us play any better, me declaring I think they'll beat us in that predictable way they so often do won't make us play any worse.
They are a better team than us. If we were neutrals we'd be picking them to win and if we were Hearts fans (God forbid) then we'd be super confident. As a Hibs fan I'm pessimistic about this one and I'm honest enough to say that.
I think that’s a fair and realistic stance, but also looking forward to Sunday more than any game in a long time.
The peculiar peril of being a football supporter.
18-01-2023, 08:30 PM
I don’t think many people are particularly confident of winning.
But there’s a difference between that and completely writing off our chances which quite a lot of folk are. They are a better team than us at present but there isn’t some huge gulf that would make it a huge upset if we were to win.
Forgetting the manager I just don’t know if we’ve got the players with the guts to stand up to the challenge. If they can show that then we have a chance.
18-01-2023, 08:34 PM
They’re a better team at home than they are away from home so tonight’s result doesn’t change too much for me.
Only thing I would say is that if we try and match them player for player and play an open game they’re better than us so will probably win. We need to turn the game into a scrap i think.
LunasBoots
18-01-2023, 08:38 PM
Keep the game tight, don't concede, if it was to be extra time and pens so be it.
18-01-2023, 08:43 PM
I think we'll get beat.
That's where I am, and if the worst comes to the worst we'll all be able to deal with it like other supposedly unbearable defeats in the past.
Realistic but positive though - no point moping about in the build up, got to try and enjoy the day and give the best backing we can.
If they were drawn against any other Premiership side away it would be classed as at least a tricky tie - no reason why this shouldn't be the same. Just got to make it as difficult as possible for them, and hope for a bit of luck which might be néeded.
18-01-2023, 09:06 PM
I think we'll get beat.
Yup. Probably a lot of us feeling similar.
Can't even say I'm that bothered. Would be great to win but I'll not be upset in the slightest if we lose as it's totally expected.
18-01-2023, 09:19 PM
If our guys have any cojones at all it should be a cracker.
18-01-2023, 09:22 PM
If our guys have any cojones at all it should be a cracker.
We absolutely need to play with balls. The lads need to believe they can win.
Really hope we show them 0 respect.
HFC93
18-01-2023, 09:36 PM
I bizarrely fancy our chances even after tonight. Probably need sectioned.
Sent from my SNE-LX1 using Tapatalk
18-01-2023, 09:43 PM
Going on the last... Lifetime of supporting Hibs, in my experience it usually goes like this:
Hibs and Hearts in form: Likely Hearts win
Hibs and Hearts out of form: Likely Hearts win
Hibs in form, Hearts out of form: Even chance of Hibs or Hearts win
Hibs out of form, Hearts in form: Almost guaranteed Hearts win
The Casper game is the exception that proves the rule. There won't be another in a while. Sorry.
18-01-2023, 09:52 PM
Going on the last... Lifetime of supporting Hibs, in my experience it usually goes like this:
Hibs and Hearts in form: Likely Hearts win
Hibs and Hearts out of form: Likely Hearts win
Hibs in form, Hearts out of form: Even chance of Hibs or Hearts win
Hibs out of form, Hearts in form: Almost guaranteed Hearts win
The Casper game is the exception that proves the rule. There won't be another in a while. Sorry.
depressingly accurate.
the 1-3 home doing we got from Stendels relegation fodder was the last time I’ll take anything for granted in a derby. Maybe being underdogs will suit us on Sunday. Just never know.
If we can work out how to get one of their players sent off then we'll be in with a great chance, we've been brilliant this season against teams when they've only had ten men
He's here!
18-01-2023, 09:55 PM
… lol
I don’t think HH goes or watches hibs games. He’s not that interested (these days).
Only interested enough to want as little hibs fans to attend on Sunday as possible, for us to give the famous five stand to hearts, and to let us all know we’ll lose an early goal and get hammered.
Definitely not a troll though.
I don't 'want' any of those things to happen. Just the way I see things when it comes to Hibs right now.
And no, I won't be going. Stopped going to derbies a while back as I can't stand them. I won't even be in Scotland this weekend in fact. I'm assuming we'll lose which helps diffuse any tension but I'll watch the highlights with pleasure if we somehow defy the odds.
18-01-2023, 09:58 PM
If we can work out how to get one of their players sent off then we'll be in with a great chance, we've been brilliant this season against teams when they've only had ten men
If we avoid a Shankland penalty, VAR ‘misfortune’, and somehow manage to have one of their players sent off - then it simply has to be our day 😁
18-01-2023, 10:00 PM
I don't 'want' any of those things to happen. Just the way I see things when it comes to Hibs right now.
And no, I won't be going. Stopped going to derbies a while back as I can't stand them. I won't even be in Scotland this weekend in fact. I'm assuming we'll lose which helps diffuse any tension but I'll watch the highlights with pleasure if we somehow defy the odds.
‘Somehow defy the odds’
Who do you think we’re playing? And the odds may surprise you actually.
Scotty Leither
18-01-2023, 10:17 PM
It’s a cup tie, the players could simply start by trying to win their personal battles with their opposite number and see where we go from there.
If we’re undone by an act of individual brilliance, then fine you can live with that…but FFS don’t over complicate it and think they’re unbeatable because they’re not.
Like I say it’s a cup tie, a one-off game, so get right ****ing into them from the start and we’ll see what transpires.
18-01-2023, 10:25 PM
It’s a cup tie, the players could simply start by trying to win their personal battles with their opposite number and see where we go from there.
If we’re undone by an act of individual brilliance, then fine you can live with that…but FFS don’t over complicate it and think they’re unbeatable because they’re not.
Like I say it’s a cup tie, a one-off game, so get right ****ing into them from the start and we’ll see what transpires.
We’ll also likely have 3 players starting this match that didn’t at Tynecastle in Porteous, McGeady and Magennis
18-01-2023, 10:28 PM
We’ll also likely have 3 players starting this match that didn’t at Tynecastle in Porteous, McGeady and Magennis
Who just happen to be three of our best players IMO.
Although Magennis yet to get going properly, could be doing with a performance on Saturday.
1875Sean
18-01-2023, 11:19 PM
Keep on hearing about poor ticket sales, anyone know what’s been shifted so far?
darwenhibby
18-01-2023, 11:26 PM
Exactly what they do
They win their battles first then grind out the win
They never beat us by playing attractive football
We match them for a battle
Nullify the beat Hibs at all costs
And then we can focus on our own game with Magennis McGeady & Nisbet
‘Somehow defy the odds’
Who do you think we’re playing? And the odds may surprise you actually.
We are playing a team who, IMO, are currently far better than we are. But regardless of how bad our form has been before any derby I always think we are in with a chance on the day.
I will also not lose any sleep if we end up losing, as long as it is not a hammering.
18-01-2023, 11:32 PM
We are playing a team who, IMO, are currently far better than we are. But regardless of how bad our form has been before any derby I always think we are in with a chance on the day.
I will also not lose any sleep if we end up losing, as long as it is not a hammering.
Aye they are better than us currently. I just think talking about ‘somehow defying the odds’ is a tad dramatic.
19-01-2023, 02:47 AM
Some bookies have us as favourites - paddy power for example have us at 7/5 and they lot at 8/5
19-01-2023, 04:12 AM
Aberdeen are a championship side away from home. Last night isn't really anything to worry about. We play well, we've every chance
buktapurple79
19-01-2023, 05:28 AM
We’ll do them. Nisbet is on fire and Aberdeen were shocking. They were very lucky to beat St Mirren, and the Yams think they’re some World Cup touched team wae there Aussies, the wee thug will get sent off and that Rowles should have had a penalty against him at the weekend. Cannae wait to ping them out the cup again. If in doubt think Brora!