View Full Version : Scottish Cup 4th round - Hibs v Hearts
26-12-2022, 10:06 AM
Just a reminder everyone, that you only have until 3pm on Wednesday to purchase your season ticket seat
In my opinion that is far too small a window at this time of year
Green Man
26-12-2022, 10:21 AM
I have credit in my account from the ticket exchange but don’t seem to have an option to use it for cup tickets - anyone know how to do it, or do I need to get in touch with the ticket office?
26-12-2022, 10:23 AM
I have credit in my account from the ticket exchange but don’t seem to have an option to use it for cup tickets - anyone know how to do it, or do I need to get in touch with the ticket office?
Maybe it doesn’t apply for Cup games, just money off next years season ticket
26-12-2022, 10:28 AM
Maybe it doesn’t apply for Cup games, just money off next years season ticket
That's exactly what it's for - it can only be used as a way to get money off next year's season ticket.
Green Man
26-12-2022, 11:14 AM
That's exactly what it's for - it can only be used as a way to get money off next year's season ticket.
Ah fair enough. Would have been a handy saving.
26-12-2022, 11:48 AM
If this “streaky” Lee thing holds true, it would be a great time to start picking up with another decent performance against Celtic.
27-12-2022, 10:43 AM
Just a reminder everyone, that you only have until 3pm on Wednesday to purchase your season ticket seat
Nearly forgot all about this until the email from Hibs came through this morning.
Just got my ticket now :aok:
27-12-2022, 10:47 AM
Just got tickets
27-12-2022, 11:15 AM
Nearly forgot all about this until the email from Hibs came through this morning.
Just got my ticket now :aok:
I take it when you purchase your seat it just goes on to your season ticket ?
27-12-2022, 11:33 AM
It does Andy
27-12-2022, 11:37 AM
It does Andy
Cheers Billy :aok:
27-12-2022, 11:37 AM
You are not wrong, and I imagine that sales by tomorrow 3pm will reflect this.
27-12-2022, 11:43 AM
You are not wrong, and I imagine that sales by tomorrow 3pm will reflect this.
Unless we get a result at Tynecastle this won't come close to selling out.
27-12-2022, 12:14 PM
Posted this on the other thread on the cup match the other day - really concerned that this won't be resolved by 3pm tomorrow.
Any other wheelchair users encountering issues with purchasing tickets for this online?
I'm getting the error message "You're attempting to purchase Companion Tickets without an Accessibility Ticket." which I'm not so no idea what's happening.
The seats are only reserved until 3pm on Wednesday and the ticket office is closed until 10am on Wednesday so I'm quite concerned that this won't be rectified in time for my seat being released.
Garymcl
27-12-2022, 01:17 PM
And yet another positive note from Hermit Crab you must be a hoot on a night oot :thumbsup:
27-12-2022, 03:07 PM
2 tickets sitting in my basket in my E-ticketing account , So purchased them , Confirmation email , Nowt about being added to my season ticket tho so here's hoping they have been added
27-12-2022, 04:08 PM
Just got tickets
I'm having a blonde moment as I can't find the link to purchase, any pointers are much appreciated as always...:aok:
27-12-2022, 04:13 PM
I'm having a blonde moment as I can't find the link to purchase, any pointers are much appreciated as always...:aok:
When you sign into your account (presume you’re a season ticket holder),you will get a red notification at the top of the page to click on
Cammy
27-12-2022, 04:15 PM
You need to log in and the your profile icon , top right, will have a little red dot. Click on it and you will see reserved seats.
27-12-2022, 04:22 PM
When you sign into your account (presume you’re a season ticket holder),you will get a red notification at the top of the page to click on
You need to log in and the your profile icon , top right, will have a little red dot. Click on it and you will see reserved seats.
Yeah, sorted...:thumbsup:
Am I right that this will be added to ST card?...
27-12-2022, 04:40 PM
Yeah, sorted...:thumbsup:
Am I right that this will be added to ST card?...
27-12-2022, 05:47 PM
Had my usual problem getting my ST seat for the Cup game. It's maybe an age thing but I find our ticketing system baffling. I now am unsure whether my attempt to purchase my ticket has been successful or not. Will try checking it tomorrow morning.
27-12-2022, 05:55 PM
Left it late to secure my seat and because the wi fi is not the best and 4/3G intermittent here in rural Co Galway at the in-laws, it was third time lucky in getting the transaction over the line in time.
Wouldn’t like to be trying for Tynecastle over here!
Had my usual problem getting my ST seat for the Cup game. It's maybe an age thing but I find our ticketing system baffling. I now am unsure whether my attempt to purchase my ticket has been successful or not. Will try checking it tomorrow morning.
Log in to online tickets and it'll show if your transaction went through in account history
twiceinathens
27-12-2022, 07:00 PM
The design of the online ticket purchase process is not fit for purpose. Was in doubt whether I had actually been successful. Originally it appeared I had been timed out but an email told me I had been successful. I am pretty efficient in my use of computer systems so I pity anyone unused to their implementation. Did anyone ever test this system before it was activated? Was someone actually paid to design it? It is anything but user friendly which surely is the key purpose of its operation.
27-12-2022, 07:05 PM
I didn’t get a confirmation email and it’s not showing in my order history. Going to have to contact the ticket office tomorrow 🤦🏻*♀️
27-12-2022, 07:10 PM
Unless we get a result at Tynecastle this won't come close to selling out.
What do you define as ‘close’?
Tried 10 times yesterday on phone without success. Will sort on PC in the morning
27-12-2022, 07:15 PM
I didn’t get a confirmation email and it’s not showing in my order history. Going to have to contact the ticket office tomorrow 🤦🏻*♀️
Check your banking app to see if any money has been taken.
27-12-2022, 07:15 PM
Anyone else noticed their ticket history has disappeared?
27-12-2022, 07:16 PM
What do you define as ‘close’?
Close to a sell out is only a few hundred tickets left at kick off in my opinion.
27-12-2022, 07:29 PM
Check your banking app to see if any money has been taken.
The money is pending so I’m hopeful it’s gone through ok :aok:
27-12-2022, 07:33 PM
Tickets bought,seamless transaction
JGS56
27-12-2022, 07:34 PM
The money is pending so I’m hopeful it’s gone through ok :aok:
If you bought in the last couple of days (Bank Holidays) it will only show as pending until Thursday at least.
27-12-2022, 07:35 PM
Close to a sell out is only a few hundred tickets left at kick off in my opinion.
A few hundred off a sell out would be a good effort IMHO and bigger than any crowd at Tynie this season. I’d take that now.
Pete70
27-12-2022, 07:55 PM
2 tickets sitting in my basket in my E-ticketing account , So purchased them , Confirmation email , Nowt about being added to my season ticket tho so here's hoping they have been added
Your purchase confirmation email will tell you it’s been added to your ST card.
Mine did.
27-12-2022, 08:01 PM
Your purchase confirmation email will tell you it’s been added to your ST card.
Mine did.
Nah mate it's no
Purchased aye , But no confirmation it's been added to my season ticket , Poor show IMO , Clarification is needed
27-12-2022, 08:13 PM
Log in to online tickets and it'll show if your transaction went through in account history
Thanks for your help.
Went through the whole procedure again with the same result. Totally frustrated and p*ssed off. Have now given up for the night.
27-12-2022, 08:40 PM
Nah mate it's no
Purchased aye , But no confirmation it's been added to my season ticket , Poor show IMO , Clarification is needed
Exact same for me. Didn't give me any option to add to season ticket or print at home etc and nowhere on the email does it say it'll be added to season ticket.
27-12-2022, 08:57 PM
It confirms it 3/4 of the way down the email
Total face value £28.00
Add Access to Season Card £0.00
No Donation £0.00
Total Amount Paid £28.00
27-12-2022, 10:53 PM
Posted this on the other thread on the cup match the other day - really concerned that this won't be resolved by 3pm tomorrow.
Any other wheelchair users encountering issues with purchasing tickets for this online?
I'm getting the error message "You're attempting to purchase Companion Tickets without an Accessibility Ticket." which I'm not so no idea what's happening.
The seats are only reserved until 3pm on Wednesday and the ticket office is closed until 10am on Wednesday so I'm quite concerned that this won't be rectified in time for my seat being released.
A huge thanks to Mel in the ticket office who replied to my email earlier tonight (before they even reopen) and my tickets are being sorted out at their end.
An excellent service.
Cat Stanton
27-12-2022, 11:18 PM
A huge thanks to Mel in the ticket office who replied to my email earlier tonight (before they even reopen) and my tickets are being sorted out at their end.
An excellent service.
Mel is always very helpful.
Bought mine tonight using the laptop - worked fine other than it's not clear from the confirmation email that the ticket is added to your season ticket card. But given what I have read on here, I assume that is what has happened.
28-12-2022, 08:28 AM
The biggest issue I have with Hibs ticket site is it doesn’t seem to like certain debit or credit cards.
Was trying to buy a Hibs kids membership as a present and it just wouldn’t accept the card which seems fine on every other website.
As for the Derby - think it will depend how we do at Tynecastle how many tickets we sell - win or even not lose that and that will help sales.
Monktonhall 7
28-12-2022, 08:35 AM
Mel is always very helpful.
Bought mine tonight using the laptop - worked fine other than it's not clear from the confirmation email that the ticket is added to your season ticket card. But given what I have read on here, I assume that is what has happened.
Got mine earlier. I thought the process was ok, and was able to buy for those in my network that wanted them. Only issue was the confusion about if it’s a physical, digital ticket or added to your ST. I know it said in the confirmation e mail that it cost £0.00 to add to ST card, but this could have been made clearer.
This thread makes me feel a bit more confident, but if KP is looking in, would be good to flag up to the club.
Steve88
28-12-2022, 08:47 AM
Hi,
I'm struggling to now find the option to assign tickets to other people in my network for the cup tickets?
My uncle has a bit of a phobia with technology!!
We're both ST holders, appreciate any helps folks
28-12-2022, 09:01 AM
Hi,
I'm struggling to now find the option to assign tickets to other people in my network for the cup tickets?
My uncle has a bit of a phobia with technology!!
We're both ST holders, appreciate any helps folks
You need to check which of them you’ve been allowed to buy tickets for
Click on the ones in your network and see what they are set up for
If you can’t do this I’d contact TO
Steve88
28-12-2022, 09:02 AM
You need to check which of them you’ve been allowed to buy tickets for
Click on the ones in your network and see what they are set up for
If you can’t do this I’d contact TO
Hi Billy, I'm set up to buy tickets for both of them. Looks like I may have to contact the TO, Sighhh....
Thanks
28-12-2022, 09:04 AM
An excellent service.
Another email from Mel before their official 10am opening time advising my tickets are now sorted.
Can't fault that at all.
28-12-2022, 09:13 AM
Hi Billy, I'm set up to buy tickets for both of them. Looks like I may have to contact the TO, Sighhh....
Thanks
Just check to see if it says assign or mange tickets for them
If you can “manage” them should appear when you log on
28-12-2022, 02:31 PM
After another unsuccessful attempt to get mý ticket online this morning, I went down to the ticket office around midday. There were 30 or so in the queue when I arrived - heard some of them saying they had similar problems to myself when trying to buy online.
Ticket office staff came up trumps as always.
Mcbizz1998
28-12-2022, 02:39 PM
I’m a season ticket holder but have no option to buy tickets for the cup derby even when I log in. This similar to what others are experiencing?
28-12-2022, 02:41 PM
I’m a season ticket holder but have no option to buy tickets for the cup derby even when I log in. This similar to what others are experiencing?
You have missed the window. You can go in again at 6 tonight and grab your seat from the map.
Hope that makes sense.
Mcbizz1998
28-12-2022, 02:44 PM
You have missed the window. You can go in again at 6 tonight and grab your seat from the map.
Hope that makes sense.
Ah ok, just looking at the hibs tweet again and realised I missed it.
Will get one in general sale in a few hours. Cheers, mate.
28-12-2022, 05:09 PM
Ah ok, just looking at the hibs tweet again and realised I missed it.
Will get one in general sale in a few hours. Cheers, mate.
Can’t seem to find the tickets online yet? Was it supposed to be 6pm?
mvteng
28-12-2022, 05:10 PM
should have been 6. Nothing for me either
Same for me. Thought general sale started today at 6pm?
Hibeewilly
28-12-2022, 05:11 PM
Same here Ozy.......cant believe they put them on sale at 6pm on a match night baffling!!
LunasBoots
28-12-2022, 05:11 PM
Same, been refreshing the last 10 mins
28-12-2022, 05:12 PM
Same here Ozy.......cant believe they put them on sale at 6pm on a match night baffling!!
It’s a bugger as I’m going to have to leave the house soon to get down to Easter road.
Hibeewilly
28-12-2022, 05:13 PM
It’s a bugger as I’m going to have to leave the house soon to get down to Easter road.
I should be in the Hibs Club but sitting at home waiting for this for mates who are not STH's
28-12-2022, 05:14 PM
https://www.eticketing.co.uk/hibernianfc/EDP/Event/Index/3377?position=2
28-12-2022, 05:18 PM
Got in now and tickets are purchased.[emoji106]
mvteng
28-12-2022, 05:18 PM
Open for sale now. Strangely our season ticket seats werent available
LunasBoots
28-12-2022, 05:19 PM
Yaas panic over, imagine this will sell out
All good. Logged in at quarter past and got three tickets no bother 😀
28-12-2022, 06:01 PM
Open for sale now. Strangely our season ticket seats werent available
Just looked online and seems they haven’t released the ST seats yet or am I wrong ?
mvteng
28-12-2022, 06:17 PM
Just looked online and seems they haven’t released the ST seats yet or am I wrong ?
Ours weren’t released
28-12-2022, 06:25 PM
I'm pretty sure that is the case. Maybe given the problems online they have delayed releasing them. I had a look at our section to try and buy a ticket for a family member and it's sold out which is highly unlikely at this stage.
Zambernardi1875
28-12-2022, 06:28 PM
Doesn’t seem like many left available, or are un bought season ticket seats not showing up yet
Up-the-slope
28-12-2022, 06:39 PM
logged in 1 minute seat in basket.... seems odd to release at time most folks going to tonight's match (im on holiday so was loafing when onsale email popped up) seems unfair on those going tonight :confused:
LunasBoots
29-12-2022, 12:34 AM
Doesn’t seem like many left available, or are un bought season ticket seats not showing up yet
Plenty showing now
29-12-2022, 01:12 AM
Yaas panic over, imagine this will sell out
Can't see it being close to a sell.out unfortunately.
29-12-2022, 07:27 AM
Going by the dot count it looks like the majority of season ticket holders have not bought a ticket yet which is concerning..
LunasBoots
29-12-2022, 12:15 PM
Yeah, I was going on the original dot count at 10 past 6 yesterday, logged back in at 10 to have a peek and there was literally thousands of dots.
29-12-2022, 12:25 PM
Please don't make me go! Please don't make me go! *
* - I reserve the right to be buzzing for it if any intervening results give cause for it.
29-12-2022, 12:28 PM
Yeah, I was going on the original dot count at 10 past 6 yesterday, logged back in at 10 to have a peek and there was literally thousands of dots.
6441 for sale.
29-12-2022, 12:57 PM
Personally think it will be
29-12-2022, 01:09 PM
Personally think it will be
Amazing what a couple of new signings and a win or two could do for sales.
29-12-2022, 01:50 PM
6441 for sale.
Only positive results in our next 2 games will see sales vastly improve. Could be our lowest ever home crowd for a derby if we take a couple of scuddings from Hearts and Motherwell.
29-12-2022, 02:56 PM
Only positive results in our next 2 games will see sales vastly improve. Could be our lowest ever home crowd for a derby if we take a couple of scuddings from Hearts and Motherwell.
That game where Griffiths scored in the 1-1 draw the season after the 5-1 cup final will surely never be 'beaten'? Literally half empty that day.
29-12-2022, 03:35 PM
That game where Griffiths scored in the 1-1 draw the season after the 5-1 cup final will surely never be 'beaten'? Literally half empty that day.
There was a derby when the FF and south stands were being built with only a little over 7k in attendance. Fantastic sub appearance by a very young Kevin Harper. Here it is:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCCVK4TxLsw
seanshow
10-01-2023, 02:30 PM
Remember gents and ladies this game is only on subscription TV (viaplay), not on council telly.
Big cup game at home and £28! Get your tickets 👍
Mcbizz1998
10-01-2023, 03:10 PM
Sales look appalling so far tbh. Disappointing.
Hopefully a win at the weekend and some signings will improve things.
10-01-2023, 03:20 PM
Sales look appalling so far tbh. Disappointing.
Hopefully a win at the weekend and some signings will improve things.
I canny say I’m surprised, people obviously fearing a pumping
Unfortunately just the way of it
If we had a decent side and were confident of progressing there’d most likely be a scramble for tickets
10-01-2023, 03:24 PM
What are the ticket prices? Sorry if i've missed it on thread.
10-01-2023, 03:49 PM
If we had a decent side and were confident of progressing there’d most likely be a scramble for tickets
We do have a decent side.
10-01-2023, 03:53 PM
Really hope we can get another positive result this week to boost sales in the lead up to the game. Doesn’t look like many are shifting at the moment. Must be about 5000 or something left when looking at the map.
10-01-2023, 04:03 PM
We sporadically have a decent first eleven, when they are given a chance to play together, which is literally only ever one injury or substitution away from being very far from decent.
Having lost 9 of our last 12 including a woeful showing in the last derby I'd say it's not very surprising ticket sales are slow because the odds are that the wrong Hibs team will usually turn up.
10-01-2023, 04:14 PM
I’m still unconvinced. We having a good attack in our starting 11 but we’re still losing easy goals and being overrun in the midfield.
Out with the starting 11 on Saturday I don’t think we’re overly decent at all.
A decent squad is up there challenging for 3rd in this league imo. We’re somewhat off that level
10-01-2023, 04:33 PM
I’m still unconvinced. We having a good attack in our starting 11 but we’re still losing easy goals and being overrun in the midfield.
Out with the starting 11 on Saturday I don’t think we’re overly decent at all.
A decent squad is up there challenging for 3rd in this league imo. We’re somewhat off that level
Yip a massive 6 points from that challenge
10-01-2023, 04:47 PM
Yip a massive 6 points from that challenge
With them having a game in hand.
Do you reckon we’re good enough to challenge for 3rd?
Saint Hibee
10-01-2023, 04:55 PM
I bought three last night, but I have to admit I was slightly drunk at the time.
10-01-2023, 04:58 PM
In this league who knows, get 2, 3 even 4 wins on the bounce and you can shoot up the league
10-01-2023, 06:54 PM
If we’re here now, with 3 of our best players just returning to fitness and into a transfer window. Why not?
Not certainties by a long way, but you’d have to be a pretty persistent negative poster to say this squad hasn’t a chance of even competing, with the way things currently stand for us and the teams above us.
10-01-2023, 06:58 PM
If we’re here now, with 3 of our best players just returning to fitness and into a transfer window. Why not?
Not certainties by a long way, but you’d have to be a pretty persistent negative poster to say this squad hasn’t a chance of even competing, with the way things currently stand for us and the teams above us.
I don’t think the current squad has a chance of competing for 3rd and I don’t think it would just be “persistently negative” posters that would agree with that.
Hearts were in Europe from august time up until the start of last month and are still comfy in 3rd. That was our time to take advantage of it and we failed to.
Not to mention that hearts have already added two players this window, with another definitely joining and paterson looking more likely to join than not.
Out with our starting 11 on Sunday, our squad is nowhere near strong enough.
Competing for 4th is possible but we still need more quality in the door and soon.
10-01-2023, 07:24 PM
Who cares how good, bad or indifferent we are. It’s a derby, in the Scottish Cup. Let’s get the tickets sold. This isn’t a moan about support (I’ve said on loads of threads that I think the support has been brilliant this season) but will be disappointing if we don’t shift at least a big chunk of those available.
LunasBoots
10-01-2023, 07:32 PM
Who cares how good, bad or indifferent we are. It’s a derby, in the Scottish Cup. Let’s get the tickets sold. This isn’t a moan about support (I’ve said on loads of threads that I think the support has been brilliant this season) but will be disappointing if we don’t shift at least a big chunk of those available.
Need to win against D'utd to get at least a wee bit more confidence amongst fans to at least get a couple more thousand sold, an awful amount left, I bought mine on the day they wrnt on sale thinking they'd be like gold dust 🫣
10-01-2023, 07:35 PM
Well said .. Got to get behind the team and the club in what is a massive game for us. Im as frustrated as anyone just now , but got to rally behind our club against these muppets. Be a great day if we pull off a win , and set us up with a bit of hope and belief that we can win the cup against the odds..
Ray Donovan
10-01-2023, 07:42 PM
Bought 2 yesterday. I was surprised that I could pretty much pick where I wanted in the East. Another positive result at the weekend and hopefully they will start to shift.
Up-the-slope
10-01-2023, 09:02 PM
looking forward to it - best Derbies are the once when you win as underdog.... doubly pleasing :greengrin (rather than the many when favs only to male chicken it up :boo hoo:)
We don't have any of those. All of our persistent negative posters are ugly. 😀
RossScott1991
10-01-2023, 09:12 PM
We have decent attackers when fit, but the midfield and fullback positions leave us from being a good side.
I think if we sort out the middle of the park ie upgrades on newell and Campbell so they can come in as squad players then we will start to be on the rise.
Finding good midfielders is hard however
10-01-2023, 09:17 PM
We don't have any of those. All of our persistent negative posters are ugly. 😀
Oi
Hibs fans not going to a Derby simply because we might get pumped 🤔 poor.
I attended all 22 games in a row during the horrible run against that lot - so I've seen my fair share of misery.
As for this game.....?
Me and my daughter's seats (half way line, back of the East) have been released for others to "enjoy".
I simply can't afford what would be a 100 quid day out in the middle of January.
What’s the point of supporting Hibs if you don’t want to go to a Scottish cup tie against them at Easter Road?
10-01-2023, 09:19 PM
Hibs fans not going to a Derby simply because we might get pumped 🤔 poor.
I attended all 22 games in a row during the horrible run against that lot - so I've seen my fair share of misery.
As for this game.....?
Me and my daughter's seats (half way line, back of the East) have been released for others to "enjoy".
I simply can't afford what would be a 100 quid day out in the middle of January.
I agree completely but unfortunately just the way of it. Derby a couple weeks ago probably hasn’t helped
10-01-2023, 09:31 PM
What’s the point of supporting Hibs if you don’t want to go to a Scottish cup tie against them at Easter Road?
Won’t get any disagreement from me on that. I understand that when we’re crap less folk want to go. But I just really hope we can get these tickets sold. Scottish Cup games at ER, when we’ve knocked them out, are some of my favourite Hibs supporting memories. Can’t beat a full house singing Sunshine on Leith at full time.
10-01-2023, 09:33 PM
For anyone not planning on attending, we had this recently against rangers in the league cup semi final.
Was a fantastic result and being there in person was one of my best Hibs experiences. If you missed out on that because you thought we'd get beat you might well miss a derby win in person too.
10-01-2023, 09:53 PM
This ............... absolutely, totally, utterly, exactly .......... this.
CB Hibs 68
10-01-2023, 11:20 PM
This ............... absolutely, totally, utterly, exactly .......... this.
A win on Saturday a couple of quality players in over the next few days and the appointment of a DOF will help shift the tickets.There is plenty of time yet to boost the sales.
cameronw-hfc
10-01-2023, 11:32 PM
Need to remember the current crisis we are in financially and Christmas just being passed. Better results would mean better crowds but also think there's a lot to be said about people that go weekly just not being able to afford it right now as I've got a few pals that all go home and away usually that are having to step back the next few months as they can't afford it.
11-01-2023, 06:33 AM
Need to remember the current crisis we are in financially and Christmas just being passed. Better results would mean better crowds but also think there's a lot to be said about people that go weekly just not being able to afford it right now as I've got a few pals that all go home and away usually that are having to step back the next few months as they can't afford it.
I know several people having to make financial choices now they never had to make in the past. Tough times.
11-01-2023, 06:46 AM
100%. There are so many mitigating factors at the moment for people to deal with.
But our form is irrelevant here, if you can go and decide not to …
11-01-2023, 08:27 AM
We've seen this movie many times. If folk thought we'd win, they'd find the money for a ticket.
Chorley Hibee
11-01-2023, 09:07 AM
A win on Saturday, and a lot of people being paid again around the date of the Hearts game, might see an uptick in the sale of tickets.
Can't see it selling out though.
11-01-2023, 11:09 AM
Just looked at the tickets sold thus far🙈 Difficult times for many just now, particularly following Xmas, but it looks like we’ll be nowhere near a sell out at this rate.
davhibby
11-01-2023, 11:25 AM
I don’t think anyone will be having a go at people who understandably can’t afford it in the current climate but there will be plenty who can afford it and are scared of us losing.
Hopefully a win on Saturday will encourage a few more to go.
11-01-2023, 11:40 AM
I don’t think anyone will be having a go at people who understandably can’t afford it in the current climate but there will be plenty who can afford it and are scared of us losing.
Hopefully a win on Saturday will encourage a few more to go.
I don’t think anybody really has a pop at folk full stop for not going. It’s entirely up to people whether they go or not. It’s just disappointing that it looks like there will be massive gaps around the home end. Full houses against them in the Scottish Cup have been the best atmospheres in recent times and the crowd has played a big part in us winning those ties. And it can again IMO.
11-01-2023, 11:49 AM
We've seen this movie many times. If folk thought we'd win, they'd find the money for a ticket.
Seems fair enough to me. I often exercise some judgement about which cup matches I attend on that basis.
A few decent signings and a victory on Saturday might help sway the one's not attending.
11-01-2023, 12:19 PM
"I have got work on that night"
"Don't think anyone can look after the kids"
"After Xmas we can't justify shelling out more money"
"Looks like it will be pish weather on Sunday, not for me"
"I won't be able to get to the game, got something else on"
"Night out Saturday, will be battered Sunday morning"
11-01-2023, 12:24 PM
pretty much. The cup tie (replay) against cathro’s team for example. They were in the prem, we were in the championship but as cup holders. We had a decent record against hearts at the time and cathro was a joke. Once we’d secured the replay at Easter Road we all knew we were going to win and the place was rammed. I was more confident before that game than I’ve ever been in a derby.
performances, results, and the general buzz around the team will be what ultimately determines attendances.
I’m not making light of the financial difficulties people are facing though.
11-01-2023, 12:25 PM
I was on eticketing at the weekend panicking as I’d still not bought my ticket, I’d been holding off as I’ve not been paid since before Xmas. Looked at tickets sold and decided I could wait until payday tomorrow, I cannot believe how many are left.
Need a result on Saturday to get as many shifted as possible.
Trinity Hibee
11-01-2023, 12:40 PM
pretty much. The cup tie (replay) against cathro’s team for example. They were in the prem, we were in the championship but as cup holders. We had a decent record against hearts at the time and cathro was a joke. Once we’d secured the replay at Easter Road we all knew we were going to win and the place was rammed. I was more confident before that game than I’ve ever been in a derby.
performances, results, and the general buzz around the team will be what ultimately determines attendances.
Those were superb times. Turning up knowing we’d win the derby
11-01-2023, 12:52 PM
It’s interesting, but does anyone really think that if the game was at Tynecastle that they would be unable to sell their tickets even if they were playing crap? The cost of living and being so soon after Christmas are justifiable reasons for non attendance but let’s not kid ourselves, if our fans believed we had a chance they would turn up. We have a very good hardcore home support of about 10k but over that number we are a bit of a fair weather support
11-01-2023, 12:59 PM
With near on 50 years actively following this club under my belt I reckon it's reasonable to break down our support like this:
We probably have a pool of about 40,000 people who would be willing to buy a ticket to watch Hibs play.
Of that 40,000 we have about 20,000 who will look to go regularly if the club is doing well, maybe not to every game but whenever they can make it along.
Of that 20,000 we have about 10,000 who consider themselves die hard Hibs fans who will actively follow the club come what may.
So that's where we are at the moment with this game. even though it's a derby in the Scottish cup this is a club with a large number of fair weather fans who require more than just some half assed idea of 'loyalty' to back the team. Most clubs suffer from that to a greater or lesser degree, I would put us in the 'greater' category.
11-01-2023, 01:04 PM
So how many have we roughly sold?
Chorley Hibee
11-01-2023, 01:08 PM
I'd guess that there is easily 5/6k unsold.
11-01-2023, 01:10 PM
Anything up to 10k would be my guess. Probably about 1600 in the West, 1400 in the East and 3k in the Famous five left for sale
11-01-2023, 01:12 PM
100%. There are so many mitigating factors at the moment for people to deal with.
But our form is irrelevant here, if you can go and decide not to …
??
Is there an issue if some folk can go but decide not to? What’s the problem with that?
patlowe
11-01-2023, 01:17 PM
It’s interesting, but does anyone really think that if the game was at Tynecastle that they would be unable to sell their tickets even if they were playing crap? The cost of living and being so soon after Christmas are justifiable reasons for non attendance but let’s not kid ourselves, if our fans believed we had a chance they would turn up. We have a very good hardcore home support of about 10k but over that number we are a bit of a fair weather support
They have a bigger core support than us.
11-01-2023, 01:25 PM
Yes, I think we realise that. But it s certainly not by a huge amount. Their hardcore is probably around 13k compared to our 10k. Why do their fans out with their hardcore turn up in numbers, particularly at home even if they are crap and ours don’t turn up?
11-01-2023, 01:26 PM
In 2018 Scottish cup at Tynecastle Hearts were not great and we had gone 9 unbeaten against them. I easily got 2 tickets in the home end. 2014 derby after the split I easily got 2 in the home end as well and there were loads of spare seats around me.
The KO time ruins this one a bit. If it had been Saturday evening then I think it sells out no problem.
This was the first time in years I've contemplated not getting tickets for a derby. Bought two yesterday though because you have to be there if we win.
Mcbizz1998
11-01-2023, 01:29 PM
Barely.
11-01-2023, 01:37 PM
I would certainly be contacting Fans that have bought tickets for the Famous five upper and asking them to move to any other part of the ground. Just shut the top tier.
11-01-2023, 01:37 PM
I have a season ticket (+ 3 kids) as does my dad.
He definitely won't be there (He's in Australia) and at least two of the boys won't be there as they're not interested enough for me to justify spending the money for them to go.
Whether me and the eldest go is a decision to be made post pay day (15th). Swithering towards no tbh. At the moment would rather watch it in the warmth of the house than spend the best part of £45 and use up the majority of my day.
11-01-2023, 01:48 PM
Anything up to 10k would be my guess. Probably about 1600 in the West, 1400 in the East and 3k in the Famous five left for sale
So we’ve sold around 9000 or so
11-01-2023, 02:10 PM
So we’ve sold around 9000 or so
That about covers it
11-01-2023, 03:05 PM
I mentioned the 2009 game earlier in the thread, and that was 14,837.
SHOULD beat that, with a decent week of promotion and a good result on Saturday in the bank. Just shows attendance for these things has never been an absolute given - 16/17,000 would still be historically alright, though just shows we've lost the buzz of a few years back. Ages to go, that said.
loanheadhibby
11-01-2023, 04:25 PM
It's easy to say you knew we would win after the event.
Hope you had a substantial bet on us at the bookies.
Our recent derby record is disgraceful and hence the reluctance of our fans to purchase a ticket.
11-01-2023, 05:16 PM
??
Is there an issue if some folk can go but decide not to? What’s the problem with that?
Just don’t see the point in supporting Hibs and if there are no mitigating circumstances you don’t want to goto what is basically as big a game as it can get domestically. Just because folk think we will lose.
11-01-2023, 05:59 PM
Our recent derby record is disgraceful and hence the reluctance of our fans to purchase a ticket.
i don’t bet, but I can remember being extremely confident of victory.
your last sentence is basically what I said, in my usual waffling manner.
Paulie Walnuts
11-01-2023, 07:38 PM
I knew we were going to win it, had absolutely no doubt about it. Same with the money spinning replay. They were simply never beating us.
davhibby
11-01-2023, 09:38 PM
In 2018 Scottish cup at Tynecastle Hearts were not great and we had gone 9 unbeaten against them. I easily got 2 tickets in the home end. 2014 derby after the split I easily got 2 in the home end as well and there were loads of spare seats around me.
The KO time ruins this one a bit. If it had been Saturday evening then I think it sells out no problem.
This was the first time in years I've contemplated not getting tickets for a derby. Bought two yesterday though because you have to be there if we win.
I actually think the KO is decent for a derby. Certainly beats 12/half 12 on Saturday or Sunday
SON OF PADDY
11-01-2023, 09:48 PM
We got our tickets,on the first day of sale!
If you can afford to go, get along and support the team.
11-01-2023, 10:13 PM
I knew we were going to win it, had absolutely no doubt about it. Same with the money spinning replay. They were simply never beating us.
The 3-1 derby is easily the most confident I’ve been walking to ER for a derby match.
We were better than them in every single area.
GreenGray
11-01-2023, 10:49 PM
Just don’t see the point in supporting Hibs and if there are no mitigating circumstances you don’t want to goto what is basically as big a game as it can get domestically. Just because folk think we will lose.
I’d agree, these are the sort of games you live for as a supporter surely.
I’m not confident in our chances but there’s no way I’d miss it
12-01-2023, 05:54 AM
I actually think the KO is decent for a derby. Certainly beats 12/half 12 on Saturday or Sunday
Agree kick off time is absolutely fine.
hibsforeurope
12-01-2023, 10:08 AM
This could be seen as a perfect opportunity to show the ownership of the discontent some fans have with the direction they are taking the club.
The size of the crowd is unlikely to have any impact on the result on the day but empty seats will show the board of rising frustrations.
12-01-2023, 10:11 AM
This could be seen as a perfect opportunity to show the ownership of the discontent some fans have with the direction they are taking the club.
The size of the crowd is unlikely to have any impact on the result on the day but empty seats will show the board of rising frustrations.
Nonsense. An empty stadium will help our rivals more than us.
GreenGray
12-01-2023, 10:11 AM
I don’t think this is the game to do that tbh with you.
hibsforeurope
12-01-2023, 10:22 AM
I don’t think this is the game to do that tbh with you.
If that was your intention, a cup game, that is expected to be a sell out, is the perfect game to show this. The board would expect this to sell out with minimal push from the club.
Mcbizz1998
12-01-2023, 10:25 AM
For what’s it’s worth, I think we will win and I’m usually pessimistic when it comes to hibs and especially a derby.
I think we will pick the correct team (hopefully with Porteous still here) and we will go out and get a result. I would be going regardless though, I can’t understand how someone with the means to go would decide not to, what’s the point of being a Hibs fan otherwise?
12-01-2023, 10:27 AM
If that was your intention, a cup game, that is expected to be a sell out, is the perfect game to show this. The board would expect this to sell out with minimal push from the club.
Seem to recall the Hertz fans pretending they were protesting over ticket prices when they only half filled their end a couple of times back in the day.
GreenGray
12-01-2023, 10:27 AM
Team needs backed in games like this, I understand issues with the board but I don’t think it should be taken out on the team in one of our biggest games
ben johnson
12-01-2023, 10:48 AM
Seem to recall the Hertz fans pretending they were protesting over ticket prices when they only half filled their end a couple of times back in the day.
The 6.2 especially. They knew what was going to happen and stayed away.
12-01-2023, 10:54 AM
1995 - we'd won 3/4 derbies the season before:
https://youtu.be/Qvr5OkYcCqM?t=6
and of course the 6-2 game,
https://youtu.be/CGh2lBPeDz4?t=39
They disappear just as fast as us when they don't think they'll win.
12-01-2023, 11:49 AM
1995 - we'd won 3/4 derbies the season before:
https://youtu.be/Qvr5OkYcCqM?t=6
and of course the 6-2 game,
https://youtu.be/CGh2lBPeDz4?t=39
They disappear just as fast as us when they don't think they'll win.
And the De La Cruz derby iirc
12-01-2023, 12:12 PM
Yes great idea to help our biggest rivals. Dear oh dear
12-01-2023, 12:58 PM
Never read such rubbish in my life. It's a cup tie against our city rivals, support the team ffs.
12-01-2023, 01:38 PM
And the De La Cruz derby iirc
You're not wrong!
https://youtu.be/QAasinIGxHI?t=9
12-01-2023, 02:04 PM
The size of the crowd is unlikely to have any impact on the result on the day
Amazing how many people seem to believe that.
12-01-2023, 02:21 PM
Agree kick off time is absolutely fine.
It could be worse, but its clearly not as desirable as an evening kick off. The attendance at this will prove that (obviously form wont help either).
ivan03
12-01-2023, 02:23 PM
I just looked online at the availability! Wow. Can’t actually believe how little seats have been sold. This could be an utterly embarrassingly low crowd. Praying we win this weekend and thousands buy tickets.
12-01-2023, 02:27 PM
Amazing how many people seem to believe that.
Outside the Championship games, I'm struggling to think of any home game against them where we've been short of selling out - and there's been a few - and got a decent result. It's just a pretty crap feeling all round.
I could also point to a couple of games at neutral venues where we've been outnumbered, but let's just end that there.
As for kick off time, it's as run on the mill as it could be. Folk would complain with 12, folk would complain with night time. Doesn't rise as an excuse for being thousands short.
SickBoy32
12-01-2023, 02:29 PM
Ticket sales certainly aren't great - not sure why anyone is turning on fellow fans however
Agree with other posters above that the level of sales should set alarm bells ringing in the boardroom, this is absolutely a consequence of the decline they have overseen (caused) on the pitch, previous SC ties vs them at ER show this clear as day
Gordy M
12-01-2023, 02:30 PM
Think it will be more to do with money being tight after the festivities, folk prob won’t have been paid since before Xmas. Hopefully this will improve the closer it gets to the end of Jan before the game.
SON OF PADDY
12-01-2023, 02:32 PM
Never read such rubbish in my life. It's a cup tie against our city rivals, support the team ffs.
Yip he's a 💯% Slaver!
12-01-2023, 02:35 PM
I think it is mostly down to people being skint. I have no vices now apart from Hibs and usually I don't have an issue buying tickets in January but this year the pot is much smaller and if I had any more bills due this month I would have had to consider missing this game, thankfully I don't and I purchased my tickets the day they went on sale. What my waffle is trying to say is that those with less spare cash will just not be able to shell out for a game near the end of January (most people are paid earlier in December too) whether is it against them or not.
12-01-2023, 02:44 PM
Most people expect Hearts to win and win fairly comfortably. Also a cost of living crisis and a long month after Christmas. Isn't a good mix. Fully appreciate folk are sick to the back teeth of paying good money to watch us lose to them.
12-01-2023, 03:01 PM
4415 currently for sale in home sections.
12-01-2023, 03:36 PM
Outside the Championship games, I'm struggling to think of any home game against them where we've been short of selling out - and there's been a few - and got a decent result. It's just a pretty crap feeling all round.
I could also point to a couple of games at neutral venues where we've been outnumbered, but let's just end that there.
As for kick off time, it's as run on the mill as it could be. Folk would complain with 12, folk would complain with night time. Doesn't rise as an excuse for being thousands short.
Yeah - I think when Spoony scored to beat them in the Scottish Cup it wasn't completely full but not too far off. The other times when there's been a very poor Hibs support at ER we've generally lost.
I'd imagine a player walking out for a derby seeing thousands of empty seats would be quite taken aback.
A full ER is a massive boost for the players.
davhibby
12-01-2023, 04:04 PM
Yeah - I think when Spoony scored to beat them in the Scottish Cup it wasn't completely full but not too far off. The other times when there's been a very poor Hibs support at ER we've generally lost.
I'd imagine a player walking out for a derby seeing thousands of empty seats would be quite taken aback.
A full ER is a massive boost for the players.
The crowd for the Spoony derby was about 16k. That’s much higher than most derbies at ER around that time. In fact the only one I can think off the top of my head that was better than that until the money spinning replay was the Butcher NY game.
Most league games against hearts in that period we were lucky if we had 10k Hibs fans, for example the 2-0 win in the Championship had a crowd of 13.5k.
If there’s 4400 tickets left to sell online at the moment then we’re still looking at 16k plus with hopefully a boost on that if we win on Saturday. Historically that’s not a bad crowd for us but not so much compared to the last 6 years.
12-01-2023, 04:12 PM
Most people expect Hearts to win and win fairly comfortably. Also a cost of living crisis and a long month after Christmas. Isn't a good mix. Fully appreciate folk are sick to the back teeth of paying good money to watch us lose to them.
I dont expect Hearts to win fairly comfortably. Watched their game v St Mirren and they were pretty pish all things considered
The dalmeny
12-01-2023, 04:14 PM
Hopefully there’ll be a pick up as it get nearer payday for some folks
12-01-2023, 04:15 PM
I dont expect Hearts to win fairly comfortably. Watched their game v St Mirren and they were pretty pish all things considered
I don’t expect them to win comfortably either. They did last week but we need to react to that. Hopefully we still have Porteous. Having him, Magennis and McGeady on the park from the start this time would be huge for us compared to last week.
12-01-2023, 04:20 PM
I don’t expect them to win comfortably either. They did last week but we need to react to that. Hopefully we still have Porteous. Having him, Magennis and McGeady on the park from the start this time would be huge for us compared to last week.
Hearts have a home game on the Wednesday before the cup game v Aberdeen
Always a feisty affair😀
12-01-2023, 04:23 PM
Most people expect them to win comfortably? Is that right? I've not spoken to one Hibs supporter who expects them to win comfortably, in fact I've not spoken to anyone who expects them to win comfortably. What a terrible defeatist attitude for anyone to have. Get behind the team.
SickBoy32
12-01-2023, 04:24 PM
Spot on with those players making a big difference to the XI - nothing to fear from the jambos if we approach the game correctly, ie aggressive and on the front foot
Fergos
12-01-2023, 04:34 PM
Totally agree.
If the Porto deal is done pre cup game we should have the savvy to say it’s concluded after the cup game…or you would hope so.
12-01-2023, 05:06 PM
I think it is mostly down to people being skint. I have no vices now apart from Hibs and usually I don't have an issue buying tickets in January but this year the pot is much smaller and if I had any more bills due this month I would have had to consider missing this game, thankfully I don't and I purchased my tickets the day they went on sale. What my waffle is trying to say is that those with less spare cash will just not be able to shell out for a game near the end of January (most people are paid earlier in December too) whether is it against them or not.
These issues particularly effect fans of struggling teams strangely enough. Can you imagine an OF game not selling out, even in the years when it was essentially a turkey shoot?
12-01-2023, 05:13 PM
These issues particularly effect fans of struggling teams strangely enough. Can you imagine an OF game not selling out, even in the years when it was essentially a turkey shoot?
If you go back pre-Souness the cornerless Ibrox, capacity 40K-ish, was regularly half empty and the OF games had Celtc fans down the sides as well as in the Broomloan end. Check the celebrations on this Charlie Nick penalty for example:
https://youtu.be/Rx3PRkBfSuE?t=93
LunasBoots
12-01-2023, 05:19 PM
Yup, they gave a fair few injuries now, I'm fairly confident of putting them out the cup, in recent derby's at ER they've hardly looked impressive either.
12-01-2023, 05:23 PM
You need to deal with the fact they turn into rabid lunatics at the new sight of anything Hibs, but they hardly win away from home. Our weakest side of a few weeks ago would still make a fist of it, now we're well in the game. Every chance.
12-01-2023, 05:41 PM
No, they don't. We've got every chance here if we turn up. They're nothing special. Bog standard SPL side. So are we.
12-01-2023, 07:29 PM
Will VAR be used in this game?
12-01-2023, 08:16 PM
Will VAR be used in this game?
If it’s the same as in England then yes. As far as I’m aware any team who has the capabilities to use var in a league game also uses it in cup matches
12-01-2023, 08:28 PM
If it’s the same as in England then yes. As far as I’m aware any team who has the capabilities to use var in a league game also uses it in cup matches
All televised games where the home team is a Premiership side will have VAR. All non-televised games where the home team is a Premiership side will need to be agreed between the two clubs.
All other ties will not have VAR in operation.
12-01-2023, 10:04 PM
If you go back pre-Souness the cornerless Ibrox, capacity 40K-ish, was regularly half empty and the OF games had Celtc fans down the sides as well as in the Broomloan end. Check the celebrations on this Charlie Nick penalty for example:
https://youtu.be/Rx3PRkBfSuE?t=93
Yes, it's a long time ago, but I remember well going to Ibrox and crowds being under 20k & Celtic's crowds were no better for the run of mill games. But both would turn out for the big games.
13-01-2023, 03:30 AM
We’ll beat them in the cup game, there, I’ve said it.
13-01-2023, 06:09 AM
We’re better with a lower galvanised crowd anyway
JamesHFC
13-01-2023, 08:05 AM
This is the biggest game in the calendar for us. I don't understand why any Hibs fan wouldn't want to go if they are able to make it.
13-01-2023, 09:50 AM
This is the biggest game in the calendar for us. I don't understand why any Hibs fan wouldn't want to go if they are able to make it.
A lack of faith in the club and its leadership is a pretty good reason. It goes beyond I think we'll get beat, I have seen hibs get beat loads of times one more wouldn't hurt,so for me at least that's not the reason.
GreenGray
13-01-2023, 09:52 AM
A lack of faith in the club and its leadership is a pretty good reason. It goes beyond I think we'll get beat, I have seen hibs get beat loads of times one more wouldn't hurt,so for me at least that's not the reason.
I just don’t buy that whatsoever. If we were on a decent run it would be sold out, a fickle fan base.
13-01-2023, 09:54 AM
I just don’t buy that whatsoever. If we were on a decent run it would be sold out, a fickle fan base.
That's probably part of it, just like every fan base in the world.
13-01-2023, 09:58 AM
Cup tie at home again at your rivals - that’s what footballs about…should be some game
I'm Spartacus
13-01-2023, 10:22 AM
We’ll beat them in the cup game, there, I’ve said it.
I agree.
3/4 full home end of non-moon howlers who support the club through thick and thin, every scared wee soul staying away, they'll arrive thinking it'll be a walk in the park, then BOOM.
Thank you and enjoy removing that from your hoop.
13-01-2023, 11:00 AM
That is slightly cynical of you, most people I know who are missing this game are not doing so because Hibs are struggling, if that was the case our crowds in general would be way lower than they are because we have more bad seasons than good. There will be fans that don't want to go because we've been cr@p this season but I think the main factor is lack of spare cash. Football is often the first thing to drop off a families priorities when things get tight, my mate is missing this one because to go and take his kids will cost too much, he had the money when the tickets went on sale but he also knows what he need to last a month so couldn't buy them. He sees no way of being able to renew his STs next season too as things stand which I would imagine is much more worrying for Hibs than this one cup game.
13-01-2023, 12:31 PM
That is slightly cynical of you, most people I know who are missing this game are not doing so because Hibs are struggling, if that was the case our crowds in general would be way lower than they are because we have more bad seasons than good. There will be fans that don't want to go because we've been cr@p this season but I think the main factor is lack of spare cash. Football is often the first thing to drop off a families priorities when things get tight, my mate is missing this one because to go and take his kids will cost too much, he had the money when the tickets went on sale but he also knows what he need to last a month so couldn't buy them. He sees no way of being able to renew his STs next season too as things stand which I would imagine is much more worrying for Hibs than this one cup game.
In some individual cases all of this is true, there are indeed folk struggling through the cost of living crisis.
But lets not kid ourselves on, I've lost count of the number of times this issue has raised it's head over the last few decades, we just have to face the fact that when this club is doing badly on the pitch it's 'fans' desert it in droves and the state of the economy has little or nothing to do with it. What makes it worse is that they don't even have enough commitment to the club to put their petted lips to one side and back the team in huge one off games like this one, or for that matter two semi finals against the two clubs we hate the most last season.
What magnifies the situation massively is that we ( and everybody else ) knows that we have a fan base more than capable of filling not only Easter Road but the away end at Hampden ..... the fact that we sometimes actually do that makes the thousands who go missing as soon as the chips are down all the more noticeable.
Still, I'm sure everybody understands the situation, I fully expect the packed Hearts end a week on Sunday to unravel a huge banner with
'' We notice the thousands of empty seats in your stands, we appreciate that the cost of living crisis is having a terrible effect on the ability of your fans to support the team "
Having had that 'justified' moan I will say this though: See the 10 thousand or so fans who do turn out come what may to support this club, they are absolutely some of the best supporters on the bloody planet .... Win or lose they invariably provide the team with a vocal backing way out of proportion to their numbers and anybody like me who has regularly been a part of that number will know what I mean, some of the best days I've had following Hibs have been as part of supports like that. I would rather it wasn't so and we had a far higher number of at least semi dedicated fans, at least to the extent they are willing to support it in a **** ing derby match FFS.
13-01-2023, 12:34 PM
Of course money is a factor, the truth is though it only becomes a factor for a significant amount of people when things aren't going well on the pitch.
13-01-2023, 12:40 PM
ER was a sell out the day Hamilton beat us to send us down. It doesn't get much lower than that.
It'll be close to a sell out against Hearts.
13-01-2023, 12:42 PM
In some individual cases all of this is true, there are indeed folk struggling through the cost of living crisis.
But lets not kid ourselves on, I've lost count of the number of times this issue has raised it's head over the last few decades, we just have to face the fact that when this club is doing badly on the pitch it's 'fans' desert it in droves and the state of the economy has little or nothing to do with it. What makes it worse is that they don't even have enough commitment to the club to put their petted lips to one side and back the team in huge one off games like this one, or for that matter two semi finals against the two clubs we hate the most last season.
What magnifies the situation massively is that we ( and everybody else ) knows that we have a fan base more than capable of filling not only Easter Road but the away end at Hampden ..... the fact that we sometimes actually do that makes the thousands who go missing as soon as the chips are down all the more noticeable.
Still, I'm sure everybody understands the situation, I fully expect the packed Hearts end a week on Sunday to unravel a huge banner with
'' We notice the thousands of empty seats in your stands, we appreciate that the cost of living crisis is having a terrible effect on the ability of your fans to support the team "
Totally correct on all counts.
It's very common for people to get upset when you say it but we really are more fickle than any other club I can think of. Yes, crowds go up and down elsewhere depending on form etc but I can't think of another club where's there's such a big difference in potential gates. We've seen fairly recently home crowds of around 18,000 and also some of (I'm guessing) of closer to 7,000 or so and that's with 11,000 season ticket holders.
It is the fact that we have the potential fan base that gets picked up on when fans of other clubs are mocking the empty seats.
13-01-2023, 12:44 PM
ER was a sell out the day Hamilton beat us to send us down. It doesn't get much lower than that.
It'll be close to a sell out against Hearts.
We were 2 nil up and expecting a pleasant afternoon though. Hope you are right but reckon there will be at least 2-3k empty seats this time.
13-01-2023, 12:46 PM
It's very common for people to get upset when you say it but we really are more fickle than any other club I can think of. Yes, crowds go up and down elsewhere depending on form etc but I can't think of another club where's there's such a big difference in potential gates. We've seen fairly recently home crowds of around 18,000 and also some of (I'm guessing) of closer to 7,000 or so and that's with 11,000 season ticket holders.
It is the fact that we have the potential fan base that gets picked up on when fans of other clubs are mocking the empty seats.
We almost doubled our average attendance in just over a season after the cup win, which is a pretty mad stat.
13-01-2023, 12:57 PM
Indeed mate. Just to keep things on an even keel you posted this before I had edited my post to include a tribute to the 10,000 or so dedicated fans of this club who turn out come what may when the team needs their support, as I said they are some of the best around when it comes to vocal backing of their team.
13-01-2023, 01:16 PM
Having had that 'justified' moan I will say this though: See the 10 thousand or so fans who do turn out come what may to support this club, they are absolutely some of the best supporters on the bloody planet .... Win or lose they invariably provide the team with a vocal backing way out of proportion to their numbers and anybody like me who has regularly been a part of that number will know what I mean, some of the best days I've had following Hibs have been as part of supports like that. I would rather it wasn't so and we had a far higher number of at least semi dedicated fans, at least to the extent they are willing to support it in a **** ing derby match FFS.
Exceptional post
GreenGray
13-01-2023, 01:46 PM
My point is if Hibs were on a good run more people would find the money. I totally understand that times are tight for a lot of people but there’s always an excuse with some, whether it’s money, kick off time or covid.
13-01-2023, 01:47 PM
We won't sell out but I bet we aren't too far off the attendance at Tiny a few weeks back
Trinity Hibee
13-01-2023, 01:50 PM
Does it really matter anyway? If folk don’t go that’s up to them. Everyone becoming obsessed with attendances nowadays. It’s an additional game people will have to pay for and some will choose not to.
As others have said beating rangers at hampden will a smaller group of fans has worked out well. Let’s just get on with it and make sure we win because if we don’t you can bet attendances will drop for the rest of the season.
13-01-2023, 02:56 PM
Far better to have a fan base that grows when we're doing well than one just just hovers around the same number though.
You're also assuming the 10,000 are the same people.
If you, Nookie and me go the games each week, but you miss one, you're not part of the 10,000 that day.
Next week, I miss the game, but you're both there. Now I'm not one of the 10,000.
Following week, disaster strikes, and there's just no way for Nookie to make it. Now he's not one of the 10,000.
The next week, all back to normal and we're all there.
We're still all Hibs fans. It doesn't make any of us fickle!
13-01-2023, 11:23 PM
You’ll no do much gatecrashing with that attitude 😁
I’ll be at the derby and looking forward to it and hoping (kind of expecting) it’ll be close to a sell-out come kick-off. I’m not interested in what people’s reasons or ‘excuses’ are for not attending as it’s none of my business and an entirely personal decision. It’s not for me or anyone else to tell any other fans how they should be spending their cash.
I do think though that the vast majority of real regular supporters amongst us will end-up going regardless of what noises they are making now, if affordable. There are also those of us on here that don’t get to that many games anyway that are perhaps now choosing to let us know about their non attendance.
There’s a slightly better feeling about the club just now and a win tomorrow will only bolster that.
I also don’t give a f*** what that lot want to write on banners, whether it’s in our stadium or hinging out an aeroplane.
14-01-2023, 06:40 AM
Well thats not really accurate is it? If you look at this season our worst attendance discounting the stupid summer cup qualifiers is a bawhair off 14,000 for Ross County, then 15k or 16k for the killies and the motherwells and then its 19k and 20k for the OF and the derby. The only outlier was 20,000 for St Johnstone and we know why that £was. The standard response to that is 'theres no way there was 15,000 in the stadium that day, theyre not counted no shows in the attendance, etc etc...' But when you're making statements about that comparative attendances of teams you can only compare like with like. Do you think other SPFL teams count their official home attendances differently? If so wheres the evidence? If we're talking about our maroon chums i can only say that their 'sell out' fixtures in europe looked to have a fair amount of no shows in the home end, so i think it goes both ways. On a cold night some folks will opt to stay in with the kids, or stay for another pint in the boozer instead. They are rocking slightly higher attendances than us, but they are better than us on the pitch. And thats what happens.
My point is if Hibs were on a good run more people would find the money. I totally understand that times are tight for a lot of people but there’s always an excuse with some, whether it’s money, kick off time or covid.
Hibs usually manage a good cup run each year. We’ve had a decent share of semis and finals. It’s the one thing the team have delivered on even if we continue to underperform in the league (and in cup finals, I suppose, but at least we get to a few).
What I’d like to understand (and Lord knows it taxes most of us who have been watching Hibs for a while) is why we can’t translate that cup success to league success.
My fear is that we translate league form to the cup instead.
That said, the Orcs are looking a strong side these days and are strengthening already for the second half of the season. If we win against them it will be a very good win.
14-01-2023, 07:27 AM
You think this only happens with Hibs?
Tynecastle, Ibrox, Celtic Park have each had times in the last few decades when their stands have had massive gaps.
Not unsurprisingly those times coincided with periods of poor on field performances and / or disaffection with the regime. Its really not just Hibs fans who are fickle.
As for fans of other clubs mocking our empty seats.......you surely dont have such a thin skin that you are bothered by what 12 year old wallopers on twitter say??
zitelli62
14-01-2023, 09:19 AM
Who cares if it's a sell out or not the people who want to be there will be there to hopefully cheer us on to victory its the 11 players on the park that count not the size of the crowd this whole thread is sounding very heartish about size ie we must be bigger than you wee team crap who cares let the team do the talking and let the fans who are there do the celebrating hopefully.
14-01-2023, 09:27 AM
Win today and I don’t think we’ll be far away.
14-01-2023, 09:30 AM
Win today and I don’t think we’ll be far away.
I agree
Helensburghhibs
14-01-2023, 10:03 AM
Do people actually care if hearts fans have a laugh about empty seats ? I'll be there, if we win you can bet I'll enjoy it. In fact, I enjoy it more when it's a small hard-core crowd I think ...... only a couple of exeptions I can remember
DIXIHIBS
14-01-2023, 10:55 AM
You think this only happens with Hibs?
Tynecastle, Ibrox, Celtic Park have each had times in the last few decades when their stands have had massive gaps.
Not unsurprisingly those times coincided with periods of poor on field performances and / or disaffection with the regime. Its really not just Hibs fans who are fickle.
As for fans of other clubs mocking our empty seats.......you surely dont have such a thin skin that you are bothered by what 12 year old wallopers on twitter say??
Correct. Was looking at a few old games on youtube last night and the derby where de la cruz scored early on, the away end was deserted. They ultra loyal jambos wernt so loyal around that time when we were doing them over. All clubs are the same. We must have had 35 000 at livi league cup final coz a lot of fans thought we would win yet couldnt sell away end v them at hampden. It aint just hibs though.
ThisIsTheYear
14-01-2023, 08:00 PM
If it wasn’t for Nesbet I wouldn’t be going… but playing how he is, gives a glimmer of hope
LunasBoots
14-01-2023, 08:05 PM
I get the feeling Newell is going to be a pretty big miss...shame we haven't recruited anything in midfield.
14-01-2023, 08:08 PM
Well today certainly won't boost ticket sales. I'll be there but with only blind hope of a win. The thousands of empty seats will show Ron Gordon where we are heading for next season.
14-01-2023, 08:21 PM
I get the feeling Newell is going to be a pretty big miss...shame we haven't recruited anything in midfield.Are most signings in January window not usually in second half of month especially in last few days ? Are there any midfielders who would make a difference you know of we could sign before cup tie ?
14-01-2023, 08:24 PM
The one positive you we can take from today is that they kept going.
Quality lacking (big time) but at least they didn’t chuck it.
We need to shift these tickets and give everything we have as a support and a team next week.
penihibs
14-01-2023, 08:29 PM
The one positive you we can take from today is that they kept going.
Quality lacking (big time) but at least they didn’t chuck it.
We need to shift these tickets and give everything we have as a support and a team next week.
Just bought 4 tickets for us, it's a derby!! Who knows we might win, their not much better.
God bless the Hibs 💚
LunasBoots
14-01-2023, 08:35 PM
Are most signings in January window not usually in second half of month especially in last few days ? Are there any midfielders who would make a difference you know of we could sign before cup tie ?
Difficult window to get quality business done, but you'd hope the recruitment team and Johnson may have identified something.
14-01-2023, 08:41 PM
Just bought 4 tickets for us, it's a derby!! Who knows we might win, their not much better.
God bless the Hibs 💚
Exactly. Hopefully more see it that way as the week goes on!
loanheadhibby
14-01-2023, 08:41 PM
Difficult window to get quality business done, but you'd hope the recruitment team and Johnson may have identified something.
Does not seem to have been too difficult a window for the maroon balloons?
Easy excuse for the club that this is a tough window. Absolute Baloney
14-01-2023, 08:50 PM
Hearts have a midweek game v Aberdeen. Might impact them in the later stages. Maybe.
Regardless, I can't see past a fairly comfortable away win.
14-01-2023, 08:57 PM
Are most signings in January window not usually in second half of month especially in last few days ? Are there any midfielders who would make a difference you know of we could sign before cup tie ?
This is just nonsense. It’s an easy line to throw to fans.
There are hundreds of players in world football who play in midfield who would improve us within our budget.
Ok history shows there aren’t major moves in this window but others have shown you can strengthen.
Scotty Leither
14-01-2023, 09:02 PM
That was a good crowd today given the circumstances of poor form of the team and freezing weather, and I know season tickets are counted regardless of whether they're there or not, but most stands looked fairly well populated from my perch in the East.
Hospitality was busy post-match too...That's what's so ****ing frustrating following the Hibs - so much potential here to be where we should be all the time - Top 4 and regular European football, but our successive owners can't seem to realise that.
14-01-2023, 10:00 PM
That was a good crowd today given the circumstances of poor form of the team and freezing weather, and I know season tickets are counted regardless of whether they're there or not, but most stands looked fairly well populated from my perch in the East.
Hospitality was busy post-match too...That's what's so ****ing frustrating following the Hibs - so much potential here to be where we should be all the time - Top 4 and regular European football, but our successive owners can't seem to realise that.
Yes, very good crowd today, partly down to Hibs Kids, but certainly not entirely - pleasantly surprised by how busy it was. And totally agree regarding unrealised potential.
14-01-2023, 10:35 PM
This is just nonsense. It’s an easy line to throw to fans.
There are hundreds of players in world football who play in midfield who would improve us within our budget.
Ok history shows there aren’t major moves in this window but others have shown you can strengthen.Good . Let`s hope that at least 1 of the hundreds of midfielders within our budget ( whatever that is ) you mention there`s at least one who`s desperate to play for Hibs and can be signed to instantly improve us despite work permit and other restrictions . We`re 7th now ( maybe 6th on Wednesday night if St Mirren lose by at least 4 goals at Parkhead ) so we`re looking at signings that will move us into the top 5 at least by the end of the season .
14-01-2023, 10:36 PM
Does it really matter anyway? If folk don’t go that’s up to them. Everyone becoming obsessed with attendances nowadays. It’s an additional game people will have to pay for and some will choose not to.
As others have said beating rangers at hampden will a smaller group of fans has worked out well. Let’s just get on with it and make sure we win because if we don’t you can bet attendances will drop for the rest of the season.
Of course it bloody matters, it's a derby match in the cup FFS and if you claim to be any sort of follower of this club you should be at it if you can. If it stops mattering to you then how in the name of hell can you seriously claim to be a Hibs supporter?
14-01-2023, 10:36 PM
Looking forward to it.
These are the games that make all the other stuff worthwhile.
14-01-2023, 10:42 PM
We're winning this, plain and simple. I've said the same before the last however many derbies we've lost. Bad news for the jambos is that eventually I will be right, and I've decided to be right this time.
Mon the Hibees. Dae it
15-01-2023, 12:29 AM
We could easily close the F5 stand for this and comfortably relocate those in there in the East or West stands and still have thousands for sale. Thats how bad our ticket sales are for this.
CL0762
15-01-2023, 12:57 AM
Of course it bloody matters, it's a derby match in the cup FFS and if you claim to be any sort of follower of this club you should be at it if you can. If it stops mattering to you then how in the name of hell can you seriously claim to be a Hibs supporter?
Because you are not the judge jury and executioner of what it means to be a Hibs fan that’s why.
Maybe, just maybe, people don’t want to go?
15-01-2023, 07:19 AM
Because you are not the judge jury and executioner of what it means to be a Hibs fan that’s why.
Maybe, just maybe, people don’t want to go?
That is obviously their prerogative but hopefully those who choose not to go, and I only mean those who can comfortably afford to do so, let the rest of us enjoy the build up to the biggest match of the season so far.
Aye the manager is on his last legs, aye a good number of the players are nowhere near the standard we as supporters would like but nonetheless we are still supporters and this is still a Cup Derby.
Having said all that I really hope a lot of you who don't fancy it find yourselves on the ticketing page before next Sunday.
15-01-2023, 08:19 AM
That is obviously their prerogative but hopefully those who choose not to go, and I only mean those who can comfortably afford to do so, let the rest of us enjoy the build up to the biggest match of the season so far.
Aye the manager is on his last legs, aye a good number of the players are nowhere near the standard we as supporters would like but nonetheless we are still supporters and this is still a Cup Derby.
Having said all that I really hope a lot of you who don't fancy it find yourselves on the ticketing page before next Sunday.
This 100%. Well said.
He's here!
15-01-2023, 08:20 AM
We could easily close the F5 stand for this and comfortably relocate those in there in the East or West stands and still have thousands for sale. Thats how bad our ticket sales are for this.
I'm sure Hearts fans would snap up the FF tickets if we did that.
15-01-2023, 08:26 AM
So if i miss the Hearts game, I'm no longer a Hibs fan?
Cool.
That's me told. I'll let all my friends and family know.
When we play Aberdeen the following week, cam i still use my ST and go to the game with my dad, or should I buy a ticket for the Aberdeen end? Am I allowed to go?
15-01-2023, 08:26 AM
I'm sure Hearts fans would snap up the FF tickets if we did that.
What a fantastic suggestion!! Me and my son and others I know already have our FF stand tickets thanks. If folk dont want to go that is up to them but talk of closing stands and even worse giving tickets to them is the stupidest things I've seen on here. I'd rather have a crowd like we had at the hun semi last season anyway. Every single person that night 100% behind the team from the start
15-01-2023, 08:29 AM
Looking forward to it.
These are the games that make all the other stuff worthwhile.
I’m not.
I spent £28 on a ticket.
We’re doomed.
I will go but don’t expect me to make any noise or enjoy myself.
15-01-2023, 08:35 AM
I’m not.
I spent £28 on a ticket.
We’re doomed.
I will go but don’t expect me to make any noise or enjoy myself.
Not even "booooooooooo!" when Hertz third goes in?
15-01-2023, 09:01 AM
It's a cup tie anything can happen. Do we have replays?
15-01-2023, 09:03 AM
Not even "booooooooooo!" when Hertz third goes in?
I might boooo at Newell. It depends on how lustrous his hair is though.
15-01-2023, 09:04 AM
It's a cup tie anything can happen. Do we have replays?
No replays.
Bridge hibs
15-01-2023, 09:06 AM
I might boooo at Newell. It depends on how lustrous his hair is though.
Dont boo Melkerson mind, Alice bands dont count 😵
CL0762
15-01-2023, 11:17 AM
I don’t disagree.
I just don’t understand why folk get themselves so wound up about people who choose not to go to games. Ultimately there’s a hardcore who will go no matter what, I used to be one of those but my match day changed when my Grandad passed and it’s never felt the same since.
15-01-2023, 11:29 AM
I’d prefer a full house, noisy and intimidating for every game, especially a derby, but I’m never gonnae be the sort of person who gets all noised up by a lack of ticket sales. If people don’t want to go, then that’s up to them.
It didnae make a difference through in Hampden when we didn’t sell many tickets against Rangers and Boyler got a hat trick. I had a great time, despite the rows of empty seats round me.
If we can put them out on Sunday I’ll have a great ****ing time, and if we lose I’ll be pissed off. The number of empty seats won’t factor for me.