View Full Version : Next coach?
14-12-2021, 12:23 PM
Betting suspended when Maloney was 6/4.
norhfc
14-12-2021, 12:24 PM
No sure about this, going from international football with Belgium to the SPFL :dunno:
Would prefer Kjetil Knutsen.
14-12-2021, 12:25 PM
I'd rather Caldwell wasn't involved at the club. Maloney may be interesting and similar to Stubbs etc. No real way of knowing how any of the candidates would do. Would we know Maloney wants to play attacking football given he hasn't made those decisions before. I think what we need more than anything is a manager who can get the players playing to their abilities. If they do we will start picking up plenty points. They look fragile as a group so a shouty Lennon/Butcher type may make things worse and the Ross approach of being supportive and saying they were playing well didn't change things either. I watched the Netfix documentary about Nottingham Forest last night and listening to the players it was very obvious that the thing that made them successful was buy in and simplicity. They all had roles and they all knew what was expected of them. Within that they were free to just play and work it out as a group. It seems to me that may be what is needed with us. Not a no tactics approach like Lennon but a very simple plan. Mark man for man with no zone marking at set pieces would be the first instruction I would make.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59650125
Looks like it’s approaching the end game.
Good start for the potential new assistant. Been told to “gtf” and that he’s a “rat” before even getting the job. Good luck Gary 🥴
14-12-2021, 12:26 PM
Good start for the potential new assistant. Been told to “gtf” and that he’s a “rat” before even getting the job. Good luck Gary 🥴
We'll support you every more and all that.
14-12-2021, 12:27 PM
Been emptied at every club he's been a Manager at, shows you he hasn't got it
14-12-2021, 12:28 PM
Worked well with Ross and Potter so why not these two 😂 😉
They just got sacked. Is a like for like series of appointments what we need
been emptied at every club he's been a Manager at, shows you he hasn't got it
Another to add to the list: “he hasn’t got it”
Only thing is, we aren’t taking him on as manager
Are we all supposed to tow the party line on here like? Its a forum for opinions. Like them or not.
Probably the fact that he’s coached at a really good level, on the back of a very good playing career.
Some of our more successful managers haven’t come with any managerial experience (Mowbray, Collins, Stubbs off the top of my head).
Intrigued rather than convinced by it though.
Mowbray and Stubbs both had extensive club experience involving management of reserves while Collins had about 6 months before his lack of man-management skills destroyed morale in a team that had a great chance of winning a cup double.
14-12-2021, 12:29 PM
Another to add to the list: “he hasn’t got it”
Only thing is, we aren’t taking him on as manager
He's got a cheek to even consider coming back to ER after the way he left us. Then that goal celebration at ER as well. Bolt.
14-12-2021, 12:29 PM
Been emptied at every club he's been a Manager at, shows you he hasn't got it
Yep and coupled with him always giving the impression he thought he was too good for Hibs and then the way he left, and his radge celebration when scoring against us at ER I’m very sorry I’m no doing cartwheels at his prospective appointment
14-12-2021, 12:30 PM
Coaching Kevin De Bruyne to coaching Drey Wright - lots in common.
14-12-2021, 12:30 PM
Mowbray and Stubbs both had extensive club experience involving management of reserves while Collins had about 6 months before his lack of man-management skills destroyed morale in a team that had a great chance of winning a cup double.
Maloney is the assistant at Belgium and before that was the manager of Celtics under 19s.
He may not be a loud shouter but he clearly but get respect and players listening to him. Can you imagine the Belgian internationals listening to a guy with no authority or nothing about him?
14-12-2021, 12:31 PM
Coaching Kevin De Bruyne to coaching Drey Wright - lots in common.
Only one of them has scored against the Huns
Yep and coupled with him always giving the impression he thought he was too good for Hibs and his radge celebration when scoring against us at ER I’m very sorry I’m no doing cartwheels at his prospective appointment
Lots of Hibs fans today with long memories & thin skin.
Let's win the cup troops, and we can talk after
Both Mowbray and Stubbs also had a good pre season to get the team shaped . It will be much harder potentially for a novice manager to come in part way through a season …he will be learning on the job with us ..week in, week out
14-12-2021, 12:32 PM
Are we all supposed to tow the party line on here like? Its a forum for opinions. Like them or not.
What “party line”. My post is about proving what he will be up against before he’s even got the job
Maybe if he’s there on Sunday you will be willing Celtc to score like you were at the last game against them at Hampden
14-12-2021, 12:32 PM
Happy with Maloney, not bothered with Caldwell's past actions. It's done.
14-12-2021, 12:34 PM
Happy with Maloney, not bothered with Caldwell's past actions. It's done.
Yep.
This is a risky appointment that could turn out to be very good - I'm happy with that if true.
timewilltell
14-12-2021, 12:35 PM
Seriously underwhelmed.
Not convinced he has the strong no nonsense character that we need.
Feel a bit deflated.
14-12-2021, 12:36 PM
Maloney is the assistant at Belgium and before that was the manager of Celtics under 19s.
He may not be a loud shouter but he clearly but get respect and players listening to him. Can you imagine the Belgian internationals listening to a guy with no authority or nothing about him?
I couldn’t care less if he’s a loud shouter or not. He has very limited club experience other than a short stint at Celtic’s under 19s, that’s what concerns me.
Steven79
14-12-2021, 12:37 PM
Seriously underwhelmed.
Feel a bit deflated.
That's the general feeling of a few of the people I've spoken to in the last half hour.
But it's not like they have never got things wrong before...
14-12-2021, 12:39 PM
None of them had any first team management experience but we got two trophies, a third and a fourth between them.
Maloney’s coaching experience surely stacks up against them, bit of youth team coaching then assisting at a very high level.
I don’t think there any call for the comment about folk having leanings towards Celtic or whatever.
14-12-2021, 12:39 PM
Ask yourselves this, do Maloney and Caldwell have what it takes going by their experience and past records to take us to a top 3 finish, cup finals and Europe? Think hard people.
Steven79
14-12-2021, 12:40 PM
Ask yourselves this, do Maloney and Caldwell have what it takes going by their experience and past records to take us to a top 3 finish, cup finals and Europe? Think hard people.
Bring back Jack Ross!
tonyrougier123
If it’s maloney and Caldwell that’s disgraceful.
Seriously underwhelmed.
Feel a bit deflated.
I think we need players - that’s a serious issue.
Shouter or non shouter we need someone who can recruit and bring players to the club and play attacking football.
Imagine Hibs start playing 4-3-3 every week.
Crunchie
14-12-2021, 12:41 PM
We you saying that when he scored against us at ER and gave the East Terracing loyal a GIRUY goal celebration?? Not for me.
I was raging at him at the time, but we had the last laugh with Deano's winner :greengrin.
In his defence he had taken a power of abuse throughout that game and in his last days at ER.
That said I still wouldn't want him near us either.
14-12-2021, 12:41 PM
Do you know they don't?
14-12-2021, 12:42 PM
Solutions not problems.
Who would you go for within our budget ?
Not saying I’m Maloney is an incredible choice but give the guy a chance at least.
14-12-2021, 12:43 PM
Genuinely would have preferred KT...
Stonewall
14-12-2021, 12:44 PM
He's got a cheek to even consider coming back to ER after the way he left us. Then that goal celebration at ER as well. Bolt.
Only thing he did “wrong” was to leave on a Bosman and let it be known beforehand.
The last thing we need is people being written off before they’re in the door. Can we not all just get behind the new management team. This sort of thing is poisonous.
14-12-2021, 12:44 PM
I was raging at him at the time, but we had the last laugh with Deano's winner :greengrin.
In his defence he had taken a power of abuse throughout that game and in his last days at ER.
That said I still wouldn't want him near us either.
Alex Neil relegated Hibs and celebrated - quite a few fans wanted him as manager. Similar to McInnes when Aberdeen beat Hibs.
ClermistonGreen
14-12-2021, 12:46 PM
Duncan Ferguson ! :aok:
Crunchie
Alex Neil relegated Hibs abs celebrated - quite a few fans wanted him as manager. Similar to McInnes when Aberdeen beat Hibs.
They're not ex players who signed pre nuptials with the imposters from the west though are they.
We you saying that when he scored against us at ER and gave the East Terracing loyal a GIRUY goal celebration?? Not for me.
Yep, I was a kid at that game remember it well
But that must have been 15 plus years ago.
To be fair we were giving him Alot of stick.
Like the sound of this. Far more exciting than Lennon or McInnes.
The usual negativity from the usual suspects but who cares about that.
As for Caldwell I like when players give it back even at our expense.
14-12-2021, 12:47 PM
My concern is fans just won’t take to them.
I don’t think Maloney will be as charismatic as some want, will be level headed in interview and not jump about at the side of the pitch.
Think he’ll be very reserved and calm in everything he does.
Some will perceive that negatively.
IncredibleHibee
14-12-2021, 12:47 PM
Looks like I might be in the minority here but I really don't want Maloney. Completely untested. A complete gamble imo. We shall see
14-12-2021, 12:48 PM
I don’t think Maloney will be as charismatic as some want, will be level headed in interview and not jump about at the side of the pitch.
Think he’ll be very reserved and calm in everything he does.
Some will perceive that negatively.
If we are winning games and playing good football he can be as dull as dishwasher in interviews for all I care tbh.
14-12-2021, 12:49 PM
I don't believe for one second that Gary Cadwell is about to turn up at Hibs.
Doubt Maloney will either. It will be someone with more experience and some sort of track record.
Why would Caldwell think he is even remotely qualified to apply for it? The Hibs job is way bigger than tubes like this thinking they're the man.
If this happened it would make Heckinghbottom's appointment seem like the deal of the century.
We've got way more ambition and imagination than this hopefully.
Guardiola to Barcelona, Luis Enrique to Barcelona, Zidane to Real Madrid, Arteta to Arsenal, Gerrard to Rangers, Brendan Rodgers to Swansea, Neil Lennon to Celtic, Frank Lampard to Derby, Simeone to Atletico Madrid (I think?) sure the list goes on……
Bigger clubs than Hibs have appointed managers with no managerial experience.
What they’ve done in the past isn’t always an indication of how they’ll do in the future.
The Tubs
Yep, I was a kid at that game remember it well
But that must have been 15 plus years ago.
To be fair we were giving him Alot of stick.
Was he not at it with a rangers cheerleader behind his wife’s back?
Steven79
Looks like I might be in the minority here but I really don't want Maloney. Completely untested. A complete gamble imo. We shall see
I'm with you 100%.
They would be asking the pair about Celtic every game...
Genuinely would have preferred KT...
I wouldn't even hire KT to mop the toilet floors in the East Stand.
People said the same about Mowbray.
14-12-2021, 12:50 PM
This actually looking likely? Was more keen on Knutsen idea because he's actually managed and been successful. Young assistant manager and coach being made manager and assistant over Jack Ross does seem a huge risk.
14-12-2021, 12:51 PM
I'd heard that actually, wow that's a blast from the past 😂
Maloney and Caldwell if successful would be along the M8 first chance they got but the key part of this is they have to be successful in the first place. The fact they’d played for Celtic and Caldwell signed for them on Bosman is irrelevant. Maloney is highly respected by top football managers. The big question is can he actually manage? Looks like we are going to find out.
James Stephen
When sacking a manager who had solid achievements (but admittedly wasn't universally popular with fans), i think most Hibs fans would have expected a clear upgrade. This, if confirmed, is not an upgrade.
That's not to say it wont work, and maybe they will be very successful. But giving a 38 year old coach his first managerial gig, mid season, is a massive gamble.
Sometimes these gambles work, sometimes they end in relegation, as both Hibs and Hearts have found to their cost in the very recent past.
The Tubs
What a memory I have for absolute nonsense.
https://www.thefreelibrary.com/SHAMELESS%3B+EXCLUSIVE+Rat+Caldwell+paraded+wife+o n+the+pitch..+while...-a0163618646
14-12-2021, 12:52 PM
Doubt Maloney will either. It will be someone with more experience and some sort of track record.
Why would Caldwell think he is even remotely qualified to apply for it? The Hibs job is way bigger than tubes like this thinking they're the man.
If this happened it would make Heckinghbottom's appointment seem like the deal of the century.
Prepare to be disappointed.
is there any substance to the Maloney chat or are folk just guessing
RossScott1991
My feeling is I’d rather see us appoint something with coaching experience learning off a good manager abroad. Than some of the names being thrown about that you know what to expect. It’s a complete gamble. It could be a disaster
But the unknown is what’s exciting. And he obviously got an attacking mindset across in his interview judging by kensell comments.
Will get behind him let’s see what he can do
14-12-2021, 12:53 PM
is there any substance to the Maloney chat or are folk just guessing
Seen it floating about on twitter, then the sun has picked it up.
Willis1875
14-12-2021, 12:53 PM
Does Hibs footballing network extend beyond Celtic and St Mirren
Gordy M
14-12-2021, 12:54 PM
If we were appointing the Belgium assistant manager with a really good playing career.....but wasnt Scottish, most would be excited and pleased at the prospect.
Steven79
Maloney and Caldwell if successful would be along the M8 first chance they got but the key part of this is they have to be successful in the first place. The fact they’d played for Celtic and Caldwell signed for them on Bosman is irrelevant. Maloney is highly respected by top football managers. The big question is can he actually manage? Looks like we are going to find out.
When sacking a manager who had solid achievements (but admittedly wasn't universally popular with fans), i think most Hibs fans would have expected a clear upgrade. This, if confirmed, is not an upgrade.
That's not to say it wont work, and maybe they will be very successful. But giving a 38 year old coach his first managerial gig, mid season, is a massive gamble.
Sometimes these gambles work, sometimes they end in relegation, as both Hibs and Hearts have found to their cost in the very recent past.
These two posts sum it up for me.
Either they do well and join their big team in the west as soon as possible or they fail and fans turn on them quickly.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59650125
James Stephen
14-12-2021, 12:55 PM
At least to Belgium and Manchester, apparently.
Prepare to be disappointed.
I'm not there yet, I'm thinking this would be such a monumentally stupid appointment that there's just no way it can be true!!
Aye it extends to the third best national team on the planet.
14-12-2021, 12:56 PM
I'm not there yet, I'm thinking this would be such a monumentally stupid appointment that there's just no way it can be true!!
I think the opposite. We shall see.
BlackSheep
14-12-2021, 12:57 PM
Give them a chance before you shoot them down..... players and managers time and time again have fantastic pedigrees and have been poor in certain circumstances... and the same can be said about those with little to no history becoming successful.
I know you're trying to be realistic, but its quite frankly unrealistic to accurately judge anything before its happened.
Lets get behind whomever the club appoints!
If its Maloney or if its Jim Goodwin (hope F*****g not) they'll still get my full backing. Fresh slate. Time to back the club when they need us most. It's hibernian fc, not Maloney or jack Ross fc.
tonyrougier123
Only thing he did “wrong” was to leave on a Bosman and let it be known beforehand.
The last thing we need is people being written off before they’re in the door. Can we not all just get behind the new management team. This sort of thing is poisonous.
Like people got behind the last manager? Recipe for disaster.punting Ross a huge mistake if this is truly his replacement.anyone who thinks this can work for hibs must be deluded.im no even underwhelmed just really annoyed.hopefully it’s not true.
14-12-2021, 12:58 PM
Wonder if there's any up and coming belgian u-21s that fancy cutting their teeth in the wilds of the north?
14-12-2021, 12:59 PM
Like people got behind the last manager? Recipe for disaster.punting Ross a huge mistake if this is truly his replacement.anyone who thinks this can work for hibs must be deluded.im no even underwhelmed just really annoyed.hopefully it’s not true.
I will come back to this post if and when he's successful :wink:
14-12-2021, 12:59 PM
ask jack ross to come back :greengrin
please
14-12-2021, 01:00 PM
Duncan Ferguson ! :aok:
You heard something??
Was he not at it with a rangers cheerleader behind his wife’s back?was that the game were we sang what’s it like to sh*g a Hun.
tonyrougier123
If its Maloney or if its Jim Goodwin (hope F*****g not) they'll still get my full backing. Fresh slate. Time to back the club when they need us most. It's hibernian fc, not Maloney or jack Ross fc.
Ross needed this commitment from the support.it’s no fresh slate from me,I worry what the logical process is when we have took a huge punt,if reports are true.let’s hope we haven’t appointed maloney.
Who were you hoping for?
14-12-2021, 01:01 PM
What I memory I have for absolute nonsense.
https://www.thefreelibrary.com/SHAMELESS%3B+EXCLUSIVE+Rat+Caldwell+paraded+wife+o n+the+pitch..+while...-a0163618646
"What's it like to **** a hun?" if I mind right? :singing:
Crunchie
I'm with you 100%.
They would be asking the pair about Celtic every game...
They'd be serving their apprenticeship for their boyhood heroes, it would be a disaster of an appointment imo and one where we could only lose. If they're a terrific success which we'd all hope they would be they'd be across the m8 or down south at the first offer.
Mainstandman
My feeling is I’d rather see us appoint something with coaching experience learning off a good manager abroad. Than some of the names being thrown about that you know what to expect. It’s a complete gamble. It could be a disaster
But the unknown is what’s exciting. And he obviously got an attacking mindset across in his interview judging by kensell comments.
Will get behind him let’s see what he can do
is that not what he has, coach/assistant with Belgium under experienced manger
Ross needed this commitment from the support.it’s no fresh slate from me,I worry what the logical process is when we have took a huge punt,if reports are true.let’s hope we haven’t appointed maloney.
We've appointed worse. Support the team.
Gordy M
14-12-2021, 01:02 PM
Lets not go for the usual suspects, lets go for someone from European football, lets go for an up and coming manager......appoint the assistant for Belgium, 3rd best internatiomal team in the word.....nah, dont want him....ffs
14-12-2021, 01:03 PM
My only concern is if Maloney/Caldwell are capable of sorting our defensive issues out . Thats what needed sorted short term. Combining a stronger defence with a more expansive kind of football will need to follow after January.
tonyrougier123
I will come back to this post if and when he's successful :wink:
I hope obviously I do eat this,but at this stage I’m really annoyed by the thought of maloney and Caldwell.surely it makes no sense to supporters?
CL0762
Mowbray, Stubbs, Ross had no experience of any of that yet managed to do it with us - why can’t Maloney? Caldwell also a league winner as a manager.
14-12-2021, 01:04 PM
Can understand the mixed reception to Maloney, it's definitely a gamble going for a rookie head coach during our current run - ultimately I'm just glad we're not looking at the same old faces, as it were.
It's weird, if I saw a coach with Maloney's high level experience linked to us and I hadn't heard of them before, I'd probably be more excited than I am for Maloney, which is stupid. I'm stupid.
Maloney is a respected coach by all accounts and seems to be liked/respected well enough by the Belgians. Question is has he got the cojones to be the main man?
I’m not entirely convinced.
But if we were appointing someone from the same type of role, at the same type of level as Maloney, who we’d never heard of and who had a bit more of an exotic sounding name, we’d be talking about it being ambitious, different etc.
CL0762
14-12-2021, 01:07 PM
Also, crying about the way Caldwell celebrated after he’d been abused consistently is just manbaby stuff.
Ian Murray gave us the finger at Ibrox yet I don’t recall him being welcomed back in a hostile way - and he was snide about the whole thing going to Rangers.
At least Caldwell was up front about it.
14-12-2021, 01:09 PM
Good news Maloney’s name fits into the green and white army song.
davhibby
14-12-2021, 01:10 PM
I’m quite excited. Much better than any of the realistic names spoken about before. Very well regarded coach at the top level of international football, I think he’ll do well.
14-12-2021, 01:10 PM
I'd be happy with Maloney, but a lot of people are mentioning the Norwegian guy and his odds have been slashed. We are normally very hush hush about our manager appointments.
14-12-2021, 01:11 PM
Who were you hoping for?
Stephen Bradley
The Tubs
14-12-2021, 01:13 PM
was that the game were we sang what’s it like to sh*g a Hun.
I think so. We can give him a blast of it at their first game.
tonyrougier123
14-12-2021, 01:14 PM
Who were you hoping for?
Mcinness Would be my choice.but panic buttons pushed far too early.poor season yes!but ross should’ve been given 2more windows.and we need to start supporting a gaffer through thick and thin til we get the right man for the job too much hiring and firing very quickly.I’ve tried not give my opinion recently and just read the board,but today I was triggered in to coming on.I like the idea of knutsen also btw,bodo/glimt had some good results and seem to play an attacking brand.
14-12-2021, 01:14 PM
Good guy, ****. [emoji2]
Yep
14-12-2021, 01:15 PM
Don't get the comparisons with Maloney and Cathro. Maloney night not be a shouty type but it doesn't mean he's soft.
He also played at the highest level in this country, internationally and in the Champions League whereas I doubt Cathro would have got a game for Edina Hibs.
Yep it is a lazy comparison
timewilltell
14-12-2021, 01:16 PM
lets not go for the usual suspects, lets go for someone from european football, lets go for an up and coming manager......appoint the assistant for belgium, 3rd best internatiomal team in the word.....nah, dont want him....ffs
this!
14-12-2021, 01:17 PM
Agree pretty pathetic really.
If it’s maloney and Caldwell that’s disgraceful.
Why?
14-12-2021, 01:19 PM
Pretty much spot on.
14-12-2021, 01:22 PM
Barnsley also that worked well.
14-12-2021, 01:24 PM
Lets not go for the usual suspects, lets go for someone from European football, lets go for an up and coming manager......appoint the assistant for Belgium, 3rd best internatiomal team in the word.....nah, dont want him....ffs
Renfrew_Hibby
14-12-2021, 01:24 PM
Maybe get some exciting young talent over from Belgium with Maloneys contacts? The next De Bruyne, Hazard, Lukaku and Tielemans please.
14-12-2021, 01:26 PM
Can understand the mixed reception to Maloney, it's definitely a gamble going for a rookie head coach during our current run - ultimately I'm just glad we're not looking at the same old faces, as it were.
It's weird, if I saw a coach with Maloney's high level experience linked to us and I hadn't heard of them before, I'd probably be more excited than I am for Maloney, which is stupid. I'm stupid.
If Maloney and Caldwell were unknown and from Belgium this would be lauded as a brilliant exciting appointment
DIXIHIBS
14-12-2021, 01:26 PM
Really hope any prospective managers dont come on here for a wee look. Some folk are slaughtering maloney/caldwell and there's not even been an announcement ffs. Discuss it, fine, but give the new guys a chance, whoever they are.
Green_one
14-12-2021, 01:28 PM
Caldwell was a joke figure for years. Self absorbed.
Not impressed by either. I watched Maloney closely on TV as I thought he would get a job in Scotland eventually and I thought he looked a bit vanilla and weak. No real experience of running the show
14-12-2021, 01:28 PM
If we were appointing the Belgium assistant manager with a really good playing career.....but wasnt Scottish, most would be excited and pleased at the prospect.
No, I'd be the same as it is with Maloney. I have never heard him speak so can't judge him there but his is completely untested and with very little managerial experience even at youth level. I'd be asking why he was appointed and the only reason I can think of is he interviewed well. Talking a good game doesn't really mean much. Not really fussed who comes in though. No-one knows how they will do and I still think we are 3 or 4 players away from a decent side so if they are secured most people would do a decent job. If Maloney has got the job on the promise of entertaining football it could get interesting very quickly, either way. Massive gamble playing open attacking football when so close to the relegation zone but then it might be what is required.
I'm not keen on Caldwell and rather he wasn't at ER but whoever it is they will have my support if they are working hard for the club. If Maloney wants to be involved in the World Cup I would rule him out though. Lennon did similar and it meant a slow start and we need a manager to be fully committed from the start.
Unbelievable isn't it? You have to wonder where some of our fans think Hibs sit in European football, get real folks we are a mid table team in a small country league.
tonyrougier123
14-12-2021, 01:29 PM
Why?
Maloney doesn’t strike me as a leader to be perfectly honest,and we lack leadership in the squad already.I’ve never really liked what Caldwell has to say either.yes Belgium are very good but I don’t believe them to be good because maloney has coached them.and btw with the squad they have maybe actually underachieving the Belgium national side with what is a golden generation for them.I’ve listened to maloney on sportscene I’m not convinced he has the charisma of a manager very boring.
davhibby
14-12-2021, 01:29 PM
I'd be happy with Maloney, but a lot of people are mentioning the Norwegian guy and his odds have been slashed. We are normally very hush hush about our manager appointments.
That’s just people bringing up a name and folk going with it. He was a serious candidate for the Norwich job last month and wouldn’t even pick up the phone if we got in touch. Well out of our range.
Boss_Nass
14-12-2021, 01:34 PM
I’m hoping for Lennon till end of season. Jack Ross has put us on track for relegation, Maloney will follow his path. Sorry for doom and gloom. Hope we win the big jug on Sunday. Will be well nice.
14-12-2021, 01:36 PM
It's disappointing but not surprising that some people's profile for a manager is someone who shouts alot on the sidelines or goes mental at players.
I think we'd all have some doubts about Maloney as a leader but it's all about results. If he comes in with a philosophy and training that the players enjoy and we get results, that's all that matters. My impression is that him and Caldwell would want to play the right way, dominate possession. Surely people would be happy with that.... a return to similar style that Mowbray and Stubbs produced?
Personally I want that modern brand of football and I'd be happy that Hibs take a risk to achieve it.
IncredibleHibee
14-12-2021, 01:37 PM
I've had steak pies older than Shaun Maloney
14-12-2021, 01:38 PM
It's disappointing but not surprising that some people's profile for a manager is someone who shouts alot on the sidelines or goes mental at players.
I think we'd all have some doubts about Maloney as a leader but it's all about results. If he comes in with a philosophy and training that the players enjoy and we get results, that's all that matters. My impression is that him and Caldwell would want to play the right way, dominate possession. Surely people would be happy with that.... a return to similar style that Mowbray and Stubbs produced?
Personally I want that modern brand of football and I'd be happy that Hibs take a risk to achieve it.
I’ve not seen anyone mentioning “not shouting a lot” as a reason against Maloney.
14-12-2021, 01:38 PM
Does it not seem a bit weird Hibs release a statement basically saying the media are miles off and then more or less straight away they’re saying it’s Maloney, surprisingly just after his odds are slashed?
Maybe they’ve put 2 + 2 together and got 5.
14-12-2021, 01:41 PM
Kind of where I am they will want to play a decent attacking style. Hope it works for them.
14-12-2021, 01:42 PM
I’m hoping for Lennon till end of season. Jack Ross has put us on track for relegation, Maloney will follow his path. Sorry for doom and gloom. Hope we win the big jug on Sunday. Will be well nice.
Neil Lennon had us in freefall in his last season with us. Nearly anybody but him, please.
14-12-2021, 01:42 PM
Does it not seem a bit weird Hibs release a statement basically saying the media are miles off and then more or less straight away they’re saying it’s Maloney, surprisingly just after his odds are slashed?
Hibs haven't said it is Maloney pure speculation at present. Assume if it is they will be in the stand tonight.
14-12-2021, 01:43 PM
Fair assessment I think.
14-12-2021, 01:44 PM
Ah yes, 6 points from relegation, 4 points from top 6 with a game in hand. On course :faf:
14-12-2021, 01:47 PM
Ah yes, 6 points from relegation, 4 points from top 6 with a game in hand. On course :faf:
A win tonight sees us 2 points off 4th.:agree:
14-12-2021, 01:47 PM
I've had steak pies older than Shaun Maloney
He'll be 39 next month. McLeish was that age when he took the job.
14-12-2021, 01:48 PM
Hibs haven't said it is Maloney pure speculation at present. Assume if it is they will be in the stand tonight.
Sorry that’s how I worded it.
I meant does it not seem strange that Hibs release a statement saying the media are wrong but it’s close to a conclusion, next thing the bookies slash odds and then all of a sudden the media run with the Maloney story.
Seems like a bit of the media guessing based purely on Kensell statement.
14-12-2021, 01:49 PM
Scottish football is a small pond. If its out there then there is most certainly something in the story. Maloney it is I reckon.
14-12-2021, 01:49 PM
Sorry that’s how I worded it.
I meant does it not seem strange that Hibs release a statement saying the media are wrong but it’s close to a conclusion, next thing the bookies slash odds and then all of a sudden the media run with the Maloney story.
Seems like a bit of the media guessing based purely on Kensell statement.
Likely just the story has got out
14-12-2021, 01:50 PM
Same folk not wanting Maloney would be going mental if it was Hearts going for him.
CLASS OF 72 -73
Caldwell was a joke figure for years. Self absorbed.
Not impressed by either. I watched Maloney closely on TV as I thought he would get a job in Scotland eventually and I thought he looked a bit vanilla and weak. No real experience of running the show
Always looks like a kid on the naughty step :worried:
I’ve not seen anyone mentioning “not shouting a lot” as a reason against Maloney.
But there are comments that we need a "strong no nonsense type". And most of the people who'd favour Lennon have similar views.
14-12-2021, 01:53 PM
But there are comments that we need a "strong no nonsense type". And most of the people who'd favour Lennon have similar views.
Lennon is a pure nonsense type tbh.
I'm quite glad we're avoiding the cavemen who shout a lot. It's 2021, not 1981
14-12-2021, 01:57 PM
Does that mean I have to stop listening to my Human League records?
14-12-2021, 01:58 PM
He'll be 39 next month. McLeish was that age when he took the job.
McLeish had managed over 150 club team games and was a proven competent manager at our level.
14-12-2021, 01:58 PM
I think a “nice” manager is fine when the squad is one you can trust and full of characters. A “nice” manager with this squad is a huge gamble
14-12-2021, 01:59 PM
Don't Dare.:tsk tsk:
14-12-2021, 01:59 PM
Can't help but feel the Lennon fanboys aren't going to give anybody a chance unless it's him.
14-12-2021, 02:01 PM
McLeish had managed over 150 club team games and was a proven competent manager at our level.
I'm well aware of that. The poster I quoted only mentioned Maloney's age.
14-12-2021, 02:01 PM
We don’t want wee Shauny ohhh
Someone eject this H***ts ******, please.
14-12-2021, 02:04 PM
Sure, if you only follow the sound of the crowd.
14-12-2021, 02:05 PM
I think a “nice” manager is fine when the squad is one you can trust and full of characters. A “nice” manager with this squad is a huge gamble
This squad of quality players who finished 3rd? He'll manage I think.
14-12-2021, 02:13 PM
Can't help but feel the Lennon fanboys aren't going to give anybody a chance unless it's him.
Many of the posters I’ve seen question this appointment, like myself, don’t want Lennon back.
LeithMike
14-12-2021, 02:16 PM
Many of the posters I’ve seen question this appointment, like myself, don’t want Lennon back.I didn't want Lennon back but would take him now I've heard this.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Hibiza
14-12-2021, 02:18 PM
If he doesn't get the job it'll be " Don't you want me " .
14-12-2021, 02:20 PM
This squad of quality players who finished 3rd? He'll manage I think.
Quality players? Your ST must face away from the pitch
14-12-2021, 02:21 PM
It’s depressing to think that every single time we need to look at a new manager we’re going to hear about that Celtic dinosaur Neil ****ing Lennon and how brilliant he is.
He left, we were well rid of him then and we’re doing well to steer clear of him now, tomorrow and the day after that.
****s sakes.
14-12-2021, 02:26 PM
Quality players? Your ST must face away from the pitch
No, it faces our good squad. Daft if you don't think Doidge, Boyle, Nisbet, magennis, Hanlon, Porteous, Allan etc are quality.
14-12-2021, 02:26 PM
These two posts sum it up for me.
Either they do well and join their big team in the west as soon as possible or they fail and fans turn on them quickly.
Most teams in Scotland are a stepping stone to bigger jobs.
Maloney will be coming here to get experience for his next job of course. The part which is important though is he’s taking a risk leaving a good job at Belgium to come work with us so he needs to make it work.
This transfer window will be really interesting to see if they try sort out our obvious issues - we will be able to tell very quickly if they actually understand our weaknesses.
Still interested to know if Maloney applied for the job or Hibs reached out to him.
14-12-2021, 02:32 PM
No, it faces our good squad. Daft if you don't think Doidge, Boyle, Nisbet, magennis, Hanlon, Porteous, Allan etc are quality.
I’d give you Porteous and Boyle
Dr_Regal
14-12-2021, 02:33 PM
Went to school with Shaun Maloney. Was always a quiet lad, away with Celtic every weekend, and only could play a few games for the school team, use to work on his freekicks with his Dad down at Alan Park every day in the summer. There were better players in the school than him and I was quite shocked he made it as far as he did. He is a very determined person, quiet but deliberate.
Obviously working under Martinez at Belgium is a remarkable experience, apart from that Celtic Under 19s is it?
I think this is a Heckingbottom Mark 2 situation. Too nice and will try to bring in a style of football that doesn't suit.
I would have had Neil or McInnes in by now. This team needs a strong leader, we are way too soft again, and after watching Hibs for the last 30 years, I am sick to death of us being too soft.
Obviously, Maloney will get my full backing, and a frosty tenants if I ever see him in the local again.
14-12-2021, 02:34 PM
I’d give you Porteous and Boyle
Oh boy.
14-12-2021, 02:36 PM
Went to school with Shaun Maloney. Was always a quiet lad, away with Celtic every weekend, and only could play a few games for the school team, use to work on his freekicks with his Dad down at Alan Park every day in the summer. There were better players in the school than him and I was quite shocked he made it as far as he did. He is a very determined person, quiet but deliberate.
Obviously working under Martinez at Belgium is a remarkable experience, apart from that Celtic Under 19s is it?
I think this is a Heckingbottom Mark 2 situation. Too nice and will try to bring in a style of football that doesn't suit.
I would have had Neil or McInnes in by now. This team needs a strong leader, we are way too soft again, and after watching Hibs for the last 30 years, I am sick to death of us being too soft.
Obviously, Maloney will get my full backing, and a frosty tenants if I ever see him in the local again.
Lennon took a team of winners at Hibs and made us soft as ****.
GreenGray
14-12-2021, 02:36 PM
Sorry but Maloney would be a hell of a lot more ambitious or imaginative than some of the other names mentioned.
et_hibby
14-12-2021, 02:37 PM
Don't Dare.:tsk tsk:
If he doesn't get the job it'll be " Don't you want me " .
Although, no official announcement at least means we'll keep feeling fascination ..
Magpie
14-12-2021, 02:38 PM
No he didn’t.
14-12-2021, 02:39 PM
That midfield three of McGinn, McGeouch and Fyvie was the best midfield three in Scotland. Nobody will change my mind on that. The balance, the talent and the skill were fantastic.
We lost two of those under him and ended up with the likes of Vykintas Slivka.
14-12-2021, 02:41 PM
That midfield three of McGinn, McGeouch and Fyvie was the best midfield three in Scotland. Nobody will change my mind on that. The balance, the talent and the skill were fantastic.
We lost two of those under him and ended up with the likes of Vykintas Slivka.
Yep. Slivka Hyndman Mallan. What a rock hard team we were :faf:
IncredibleHibee
14-12-2021, 02:43 PM
Sorry but Maloney would be a hell of a lot more ambitious or imaginative than some of the other names mentioned.
What exactly is your assertion based on? It cant be from looking at how Maloney sets up his teams as he has never managed a team.
14-12-2021, 02:43 PM
Such a brilliant super duper team and manager that we don't have any of his players left here and he blew it big time at his most favouritest club.
Least he can get a gig as the "ex hard man player" pundit on TV (long as Roy Keane has other plans, that is).
WestCoastHibby
14-12-2021, 02:44 PM
Shouty managers in the modern workplace and believe it or not East Mains and Easter Rd are a workplace; are generally a thing of the past and quite rightly so.
The “whataboutery “ about Caldwell is pathetic also.
If Maloney gets the job I’ll wish him all the best. It’s a bit left field but who in their right mind expected Tony Mobrey that time “ tonight Mathew I’m going to be a football manager “
It worked!!!
GreenGray
14-12-2021, 02:49 PM
What exactly is your assertion based on? It cant be from looking at how Maloney sets up his teams as he has never managed a team.
Because getting a young, highly rated coach is a lot more ambitious than getting for example a former manager in Lennon or someone like McInnes who plays boring football?
Gordy M
14-12-2021, 02:51 PM
If it is to be Maloney then RG and BK have to be admired for taking that choice. It would be very easy for them to go Lennon, McInnes, Neil etc, safe pair of hands in many folks views. Maloney mustve shown them something different for them to have taken that 'gamble'. If it is him, im looking forward to it. Could be interesting times ahead.
Sergio sledge
14-12-2021, 02:52 PM
No he didn't.
We became "soft" when SJM left, being winners or being soft had nothing to do with Lennon IMHO and everything to do with SJM's personality, drive and sheer will to win pulling every other member of the team along with him.
That 1st season in the Premiership under Lennon was brilliant, but it was evident as soon as SJM left that the heart was gone from that team.
We need a SJM type of player in the squad and I hope that is something the recruitment team are looking at and not just technical ability, because that sort of drive and determination can't be coached, it is either inside someone or it isn't.
I'd argue that is more important that the personality of the manager to be honest.
I'm on the fence about Maloney, if he wasn't ex-celtic, I'd think we'd all be getting excited about us employing the assistant manager from the side that has been ranked number 1 in the world since October 2018. But, it is a risk, and like others I heard him on Sportsound much and it sounded like he'd swallowed a coaching manual.
IncredibleHibee
14-12-2021, 02:54 PM
Because getting a young, highly rated coach is a lot more ambitious than getting for example a former manager in Lennon or someone like McInnes who plays boring football?
You could well be right but the point is you have no evidence to basis your assertion on for the time being. I hope, if it is Maloney that comes in, that he plays free-flowing acting football and we have a lot of success but right now, we dont know how he is going to set up the team as he has never managed before
GreenGray
14-12-2021, 02:57 PM
You could well be right but the point is you have no evidence to basis your assertion on for the time being. I hope, if it is Maloney that comes in, that he plays free-flowing acting football and we have a lot of success but right now, we dont know how he is going to set up the team as he has never managed before
I think it’s safe to assume if you listen to Maloney, look who he has worked with and hear what others have to say about him it’s clear what kind of football he will bring. It’s still more ambitious than Lennon or McInnes regardless.
14-12-2021, 03:00 PM
I have no confidence whatsoever in the running of the club at the moment.
Sack a manager with an excellent track record at the first sticky patch. This is after sacking the head of recruitment which apparently wasn't good enough. But, JR doesn't even get one window with the new recruitment structure.
When we sacked JR I would have assumed we'd have someone lined up who had a similar or greater reputation. But, apparently we're getting someone in with no managerial experience.
I can't see things improving for a while unfortunately.
munchar
14-12-2021, 03:09 PM
Who's next then?
Keane interim?
Alex Neil?
Derek McInnes?
Callum Davidson?
We will all have our favourites, but the obvious candidate available immediately is Derek McInnes surely? Done a fantastic job with Aberdeen. Very consistent over a number of years. A safe pair of hands I’d imagine?
Other option is gamble on someone untested in this league with fresh ideas & contacts to a better quality of player?
mixu83
14-12-2021, 03:10 PM
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/49944760.amp Decent article if anyone fancies a bit of background on Maloney's credentials before writing him off.
14-12-2021, 03:13 PM
There you go. I said the other day that it wouldn’t be long before you were on the new managers case, he isn’t even in the door and you’re at it. Unbelievable :faf:
14-12-2021, 03:15 PM
There was someone on here that absolutely loved Slivka and maintained he should be playing every game and had real quality (which he could without being hard obviously). Not sure if they’re still around as I was expecting them to be straight in defending his case 😂
I actually thought it was yourself MW til I’ve seen you indicate otherwise the last couple of days.
14-12-2021, 03:16 PM
Belgium’s former assistant managers under Martinez:
Graeme Jones - Luton Town - 29.3% win percentage
Thierry Henry - Monaco - 20% win percentage
Thierry Henry - Montreal - 31% win percentage
14-12-2021, 03:19 PM
Same folk not wanting Maloney would be going mental if it was Hearts going for him.
Yeah? Who?
HendoDelivered
14-12-2021, 03:23 PM
Means nothing 😂
Thank goodness we’re not appointing Henry or Jones then.
HendoDelivered
SM has the potential to be brilliant but he needs time.
14-12-2021, 03:27 PM
There was someone on here that absolutely loved Slivka and maintained he should be playing every game and had real quality (which he could without being hard obviously). Not sure if they’re still around as I was expecting them to be straight in defending his case 😂
I actually thought it was yourself MW til I’ve seen you indicate otherwise the last couple of days.
It was indeed MWH
#2 Double Tap
14-12-2021, 03:47 PM
There you go. I said the other day that it wouldn’t be long before you were on the new managers case, he isn’t even in the door and you’re at it. Unbelievable :faf:
Nae wonder he is at it, Gary Caldwell should not be wanted anywhere near our club.
My faith in Ron is taking a hit if this turns out true.
14-12-2021, 03:47 PM
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/49944760.amp Decent article if anyone fancies a bit of background on Maloney's credentials before writing him off. Positional play sounds like Cathro to me. That article does more to worry me than enthuse me in our current predicament. I remember the panic from some fans when Efe had his moments. I can just imagine us using Macey as the extra outfield player to get a man advantage and passing it about like Brendan Rogers team. Even The Rangers etc struggle when pressed up here and if that is the style we are after I would be amazed if it works out as you need very good players to do it. refereeing up here allows teams to barge and bump far more than other leagues too.
GreenGray
14-12-2021, 03:55 PM
Positional play sounds like Cathro to me. That article does more to worry me than enthuse me in our current predicament. I remember the panic from some fans when Efe had his moments. I can just imagine us using Macey as the extra outfield player to get a man advantage and passing it about like Brendan Rogers team. Even The Rangers etc struggle when pressed up here and if that is the style we are after I would be amazed if it works out as you need very good players to do it. refereeing up here allows teams to barge and bump far more than other leagues too.
Maloney is miles ahead of Cathro in terms of experience in the game, both playing and coaching. How you can read that article and not be anything but positive seems strange to me.
14-12-2021, 03:57 PM
Positional play sounds like Cathro to me. That article does more to worry me than enthuse me in our current predicament. I remember the panic from some fans when Efe had his moments. I can just imagine us using Macey as the extra outfield player to get a man advantage and passing it about like Brendan Rogers team. Even The Rangers etc struggle when pressed up here and if that is the style we are after I would be amazed if it works out as you need very good players to do it. refereeing up here allows teams to barge and bump far more than other leagues too.
What were these efe moments? He was by far our most consistent and least mistake prone defender his entire time here.
14-12-2021, 03:58 PM
I rated him highly, but he wasn't better than what came before him and certainly not a hard player. The best midfielder Lennon signed though, easily.
Hibiza
14-12-2021, 04:01 PM
Sack a manager with an excellent track record at the first sticky patch. This is after sacking the head of recruitment which apparently wasn't good enough. But, JR doesn't even get one window with the new recruitment structure.
When we sacked JR I would have assumed we'd have someone lined up who had a similar or greater reputation. But, apparently we're getting someone in with no managerial experience.
Excellent track record , don't think so , blew 2 semis and a final within 5 months and 1 win in 9 recently.
14-12-2021, 04:02 PM
I may sound a bit old fashioned but I will support whatever or whoever we bring in as manager. I may not personally agree with the appointment but I do support the club.
How long before a poll arrives with - How long will he last!
Now we need 3 points from tonight's game.
Magpie
14-12-2021, 04:03 PM
I rated him highly, but he wasn't better than what came before him and certainly not a hard player. The best midfielder Lennon signed though, easily.
Better than Allan?
14-12-2021, 04:04 PM
Better than Allan?
Well, he was a stubbs signing really. But no, not better than Allan when Lennon re-signed him.
Crunchie
14-12-2021, 04:11 PM
Excellent track record , don't think so , blew 2 semis and a final within 5 months and 1 win in 9 recently.
You'll be lucky to see as many semi finals and finals under another manager.
14-12-2021, 04:11 PM
What were these efe moments? He was by far our most consistent and least mistake prone defender his entire time here. I really like him and trusted him with the ball. I'd be surprised if you didn't know what I was referring to and the point I was making
14-12-2021, 04:14 PM
I really like him and trusted him with the ball. I'd be surprised if you didn't know what I was referring to and the point I was making
I just never understood it at all. I'd struggle to remember a single mistake he made here. Absolutely class player.
IncredibleHibee
14-12-2021, 04:16 PM
This is where my head is too. I hope I am wrong
Crunchie
14-12-2021, 04:17 PM
This is where my head is too. I hope I am wrong
And me.
14-12-2021, 04:20 PM
Nae wonder he is at it, Gary Caldwell should not be wanted anywhere near our club.
My faith in Ron is taking a hit if this turns out true.
I get the Caldwell stuff but he got it absolutely tight for a fair length of time including stuff about his wife. We can’t really take the huff when we get it back imo. He wouldn’t be on my list for a job, but if he’s coming back he’ll be in the background supporting the new man.
14-12-2021, 04:22 PM
Maloney is miles ahead of Cathro in terms of experience in the game, both playing and coaching. How you can read that article and not be anything but positive seems strange to me.
He has similar experience in managing as Cathro and that is the job he is being touted to do. What do you mean by strange, I disagree with you. My feeling would be he would be trying to fit a square peg in a round hole. I think Scotland is a very hard place to play the style of football espoused in the article and particularly if you have the 5th largest playing budget and are sat where we are in the league in the form we are in. Speaking personally I'm not that keen on that style of football anyway. I know I'm an old fashioned dinosaur but I would rather watch old style Scottish football which was all about aggression, speed of attack and getting the ball into the danger areas than a Pep team.
14-12-2021, 04:23 PM
I just never understood it at all. I'd struggle to remember a single mistake he made here. Absolutely class player. He made a few, Aberdeen away he was atrocious but for the most part he was a very good player. My point is about the crowd when Efe was doing his thing not about Efe's ability.
14-12-2021, 04:25 PM
i remember a much maligned former hibs manager, won us a cup but loads have commented over the decades how bad a manager he was(not i), then he become a well respected coach at one of European footballs most successful clubs....Liverpool
i always enjoy listening to him, maybe Maloney might be the same, good coach not so good head coach(whatever the title is)
P.S. bring back jack ross :greengrin
14-12-2021, 04:30 PM
And me.
Me 3.
14-12-2021, 04:51 PM
Wonder what his preferred formation will be ?
4-3-3?
Maybe Ron and Ben want more entertainment and goals.
We will need more strikers and better defenders if we want to improve.
14-12-2021, 05:21 PM
Wonder what his preferred formation will be ?
4-3-3?
Maybe Ron and Ben want more entertainment and goals.
We will need more strikers and better defenders if we want to improve.
Think Belgium play a 343 quite a lot. Two very energetic wing backs and pace and creative attackers behind the main striker
14-12-2021, 06:00 PM
Someone in with no managerial experience like Mowbray? Or John Collins? Or Alan Stubbs?
I’m quite excited to see what Shaun can do (if appointed) but like any manager, experience, age, pedigree doesn’t guarantee success or failure. Let’s just see how he gets on and give him the backing he’ll need when leading the team out.
14-12-2021, 06:26 PM
BBC sportsound guys seem none the wiser on who's getting the job
You know what I would fined really funny would be if Maloney wasn't appointed but some real unknown, you can imagine the screams of rage from here we were told it was Maloney, it's not fair or funny Ron.
14-12-2021, 06:36 PM
You know what I would fined really funny would be if Maloney wasn't appointed but some real unknown, you can imagine the screams of rage from here we were told it was Maloney, it's not fair or funny Ron.Scenes when lenny airplanes in
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
14-12-2021, 06:40 PM
BBC sportsound guys seem none the wiser on who's getting the job
Could have finished the sentence at non the wiser 😁
14-12-2021, 06:47 PM
Scott brown in the stand suited up
Maloney with Brown, Caldwell and Tosh Mckinley
[emoji102]
14-12-2021, 06:49 PM
[emoji102]
Aiden McGeady in as Greetin Faced prick coach.
14-12-2021, 06:50 PM
[emoji102]
McKinley is his agent.
wallpaperman
14-12-2021, 07:17 PM
When I saw Neil Lennon’s name mentioned the other day I thought it was just someone bored on Twitter had made up a rumour that he as in the running, so amazed (not in a good way) that it appears to be genuine.
I was thrilled when he was appointed and overall he did a good job, but he quit on Hibs near the end. He literally gave up, everything was someone else’s fault and he took no responsibility at all, stopped appearing for interviews, lost interest completely.
He’s a great jovial character when things are going well, a good talker, a few bad results and nowhere to be seen.
I don’t want him back anywhere near our club.
14-12-2021, 07:20 PM
When I saw Neil Lennon’s name mentioned the other day I thought it was just someone bored on Twitter had made up a rumour that he as in the running, so amazed (not in a good way) that it appears to be genuine.
I was thrilled when he was appointed and overall he did a good job, but he quit on Hibs near the end. He literally gave up, everything was someone else’s fault and he took no responsibility at all, stopped appearing for interviews, lost interest completely.
He’s a great jovial character when things are going well, a good talker, a few bad results and nowhere to be seen.
I don’t want him back anywhere near our club.
The way he acted and reacted to the players at half time and full time in the defeat at Tynecastle when we were top 4 was an utter disgrace. That for me was when his days were numbered. I would not have been surprised if certain players lamped him that night.
14-12-2021, 07:34 PM
I don’t want him back anywhere near our club.What makes you think it's genuine?
14-12-2021, 07:48 PM
Scott Brown along doing scouting/analysis for Aberdeen seeing as we play them next week?
wallpaperman
14-12-2021, 07:55 PM
What makes you think it's genuine?
Was picking up my daughter at the in laws after work and they still get the print edition of the Evening News (one of the few) and there was a big article about the possibility and being a front runner.
That gives it some sort of credence, regardless of what people think of the EN.
Rumble de Thump
14-12-2021, 08:06 PM
Was picking up my daughter at the in laws after work and they still get the print edition of the Evening News (one of the few) and there was a big article about the possibility and being a front runner.
And quotes from reliable sources? Any quotes from anyone?
14-12-2021, 08:41 PM
That gives it some sort of credence, regardless of what people think of the EN.Print? Already 24 hours out of date
14-12-2021, 08:58 PM
He won't be Hibs manager.
wallpaperman
14-12-2021, 09:50 PM
He won't be Hibs manager.
Relieved. :agree:
15-12-2021, 01:20 PM
Is Maloney the only show in town or are we hoping/expecting someone else?
15-12-2021, 01:28 PM
Definitely hoping for someone else but the only chat appears to be Maloney.
15-12-2021, 01:31 PM
Thought he might try being Kennedy with him instead of Caldwell.
I get him not hiring an older coach though. If he’s set in his ways he won’t want an older coach with completely different views telling him he should have done x,y and z because he knows better and been around the block.
He’ll need a pal that he trusts and has confidence in to succeed but at the same time not scared to speak up or challenge him in the right way.
They also have Kean to lean on and pick his brain about what his opinions are etc
Definitely hoping for someone else but the only chat appears to be Maloney.
🐝 🧢
15-12-2021, 02:34 PM
Hibs caretaker manager David Gray will remain in charge of for Sunday's Premier Sports Cup final against Celtic.