View Full Version : Next coach?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7

13-12-2021, 01:28 PM
Its also apparent a lot of supporters do like Lennon. Maybe there should be a poll

Done.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?355354-Neil-Lennon-return

badabing67
13-12-2021, 01:30 PM
Done.

:thumbsup: I'm delighted

13-12-2021, 01:31 PM

Steve88
13-12-2021, 01:33 PM
Done.

PolmontHibby
13-12-2021, 01:34 PM

I sit fairly close to the away dug out at ER and had the pleasure of Lennon doing that in front of me when he was manager of Celtic.....while he also strutted around in his tracksuit like a demented chicken.

13-12-2021, 01:36 PM
I will be even more gobsmacked if we hire Kevin Thompson who is also mentioned in article.

Who writes such rubbish,

To be honest I think KT has what it takes to be a terrific manager. It's only his reaction to us winning the semi that has put me off.

Magpie
13-12-2021, 01:39 PM
It's really hard to call, lost of supporters wanted Jack Ross to stay. I'd imagine the majority would be happy with Lennon Back, given the circumstances.

Lennon’s tenure was probably up there as my favourite times being a Hibs fan. I would certainly back him if he was to come back. I just think the appointment would potentially split the fan base and perhaps the dressing room if rumours of players not liking him were actually true?

It would be an odd appointment re-hiring a manager we previously suspended and let go. However, a new chairman and CEO, we’ll see.

hibsforeurope
13-12-2021, 01:52 PM
Lennon’s tenure was probably up there as my favourite times being a Hibs fan. I would certainly back him if he was to come back. I just think the appointment would potentially split the fan base and perhaps the dressing room if rumours of players not liking him were actually true?

It would be an odd appointment re-hiring a manager we previously suspended and let go. However, a new chairman and CEO, we’ll see.

This whole episode is a mess. probably needs something until the end of the season and then re-assess then.

13-12-2021, 02:08 PM
To be honest I think KT has what it takes to be a terrific manager. It's only his reaction to us winning the semi that has put me off.

I don't want to give Thomson the opportunity to walk over the M8 on broken glass a second time when the Rangers job comes up.

13-12-2021, 02:11 PM
In the end, Jack's downfall was that he could only win big games.

13-12-2021, 02:14 PM
I don't want to give Thomson the opportunity to walk over the M8 on broken glass a second time when the Rangers job comes up.

I would put a clause in his contract from day one about that. As I say, I think he will be a top manager but his sour face when we got into a national cup final sickened me.

13-12-2021, 02:20 PM

That would actually be the best possible outcome if he joined us, as he’d never get offered the job there without being a resounding success for us.

Sickening as that may seem.

13-12-2021, 02:30 PM
According to the Daily Record Robbie Fowler is interested in the job.

BS44
13-12-2021, 02:41 PM
You get rid of a manager when you don't have any faith in him getting results. You don't decide you want to fire him, but hold off because there's a cup final. He's sacked because of the ***** results, leaving him in the job for the final would be ludicrous.

You change manager when there is an opportunity to benefit the club, not on your gut feel.

13-12-2021, 02:42 PM

That's nice for him.

13-12-2021, 02:45 PM

More chance of Pauline Fowler getting it.

13-12-2021, 02:46 PM

I'm interested in Margot Robbie.

13-12-2021, 02:46 PM
More chance of Pauline Fowler getting it.
Will her assistant be Arfurrr :dunno:

13-12-2021, 02:50 PM
I sit fairly close to the away dug out at ER and had the pleasure of Lennon doing that in front of me when he was manager of Celtic.....while he also strutted around in his tracksuit like a demented chicken.

Serious laugh out loud moment!

13-12-2021, 02:52 PM
If it comes down to those 2 then its got to be Lennon surely

My view would be the opposite.

13-12-2021, 03:04 PM
You change manager when there is an opportunity to benefit the club, not on your gut feel.

Who said anything about gut feel?

If it benefits the club to remove a manager who is going through a run of 1 win in 9 league games, then that's what you should do.

When we appointed Jack Ross, I wasn't keen on it. I was happy to admit I was wrong when he had a very good first season. We started this season well too, but that changed. We've been horrendous for ages now, results, quality of football, entertainment, all pish.

BS44
13-12-2021, 03:06 PM
Who said anything about gut feel?

If it benefits the club to remove a manager who is going through a run of 1 win in 9 league games, then that's what you should do.

When we appointed Jack Ross, I wasn't keen on it. I was happy to admit I was wrong when he had a very good first season. We started this season well too, but that changed. We've been horrendous for ages now, results, quality of football, entertainment, all pish.

So where is the benefit?

13-12-2021, 03:18 PM
So where is the benefit?

The benefit is we no longer have a manager in place who's getting nothing out the squad.

A caretaker, David Gray, will take over and get an opportunity to get something out of them until a new permanent manager is found.

If I've got a broken toilet, and every time I flush there's ***** leaking all over the place, I dinnae just keep flushing the toilet til I've got a replacement part.

13-12-2021, 03:21 PM
The benefit is we no longer have a manager in place who's getting nothing out the squad.

A caretaker, David Gray, will take over and get an opportunity to get something out of them until a new permanent manager is found.

If I've got a broken toilet, and every time I flush there's ***** leaking all over the place, I dinnae just keep flushing the toilet til I've got a replacement part.

Brilliant analogy :greengrin

13-12-2021, 03:23 PM
What were the signs we were improving? The semi final seems like an anomaly, and the subsequent games were all pretty terrible, we did ok against Motherwell but still ended up not winning, which sort of sums it up, then the game against livi was relegation material from the players.

We lost something like 6 games on the bounce. We then beat rangers and st Johnston and drew with Motherwell. We put in a decent performance against rangers and most agreed we deserved a draw. The 2 losses were shocking but overall there was improvement.

13-12-2021, 03:24 PM
Would assume if Hibs want someone in for the final you would at least want him a few days to meet the players.

13-12-2021, 03:30 PM
Lennon brings the 🔥🔥🔥

I don’t care what anyone says, never a dull moment with him at the healm

Totally agree!!

Pretty sure his record the season he left was a lot better than what we’re experiencing just now too.

13-12-2021, 03:33 PM
I don’t remember Ronnie Deila being too popular at Celtic?

Wasn’t he their version of Paul Heckingbottom?

Came in and criticised the players fitness etc from what I recall. Don’t think he’d be a good fit for us.

13-12-2021, 03:34 PM
Totally agree!!

Pretty sure his record the season he left was a lot better than what we’re experiencing just now too.

8th when he left, currently 7th.

Just like his great premiership year was 4th vs 3rd last year.

He was a bit mental and we played some great stuff for a few months but it was pretty dire at times - the championship season was dull. So many draws - he was good at telling everyone he’s a winner or picking a fight with another manager to distract from a disappointing result though.

I’d much prefer a manager who thinks before he acts and is calm under pressure but appreciate a lot of folk like a mental case waving their arms about and shouting drivel.

13-12-2021, 03:34 PM

What a pathetic analogy, can you explain how it’s relevant to jack ross? Is Ross physically unable to work?

13-12-2021, 03:35 PM
What a pathetic analogy, can you explain how it’s relevant to jack ross? Is Ross physically unable to work?

And how quickly would the flush be replaced? How many days would you be in B&Q looking for the next one?

Cat Stanton
13-12-2021, 03:35 PM
Lennon brings the 🔥🔥🔥

I don’t care what anyone says, never a dull moment with him at the healm

I disagree. I remember - as one small example - standing in the away end at Motherwell watching 90 minutes of dull moments (not to mention clueless moments) with Lennon at the helm. Awful.

13-12-2021, 03:39 PM

It's relevant to Jack Ross in that with him as the flush we were getting ***** on the pitch.

13-12-2021, 03:40 PM
And how quickly would the flush be replaced? How many days would you be in B&Q looking for the next one?

Me, personally? I'd go buy a cheap flush, then find it didn't fit, them complain that I wanted a refund even though I've broken the one I bought.

I'm useless though.

13-12-2021, 03:42 PM
Me, personally? I'd go buy a cheap flush, then find it didn't fit, them complain that I wanted a refund even though I've broken the one I bought.

I'm useless though.

:hilarious just get a rubbish one in the interim and hope it works for a few weeks?

13-12-2021, 03:44 PM
:hilarious just get a rubbish one in the interim and hope it works for a few weeks?

Get one that "might" work, cannae really be worse than the one you've had, cos the one you've had has been terrible.

13-12-2021, 03:44 PM
8th when he left, currently 7th.

Just like his great premiership year was 4th vs 3rd last year.

He was a bit mental and we played some great stuff for a few months but it was pretty dire at times - the championship season was dull. So many draws - he was good at telling everyone he’s a winner or picking a fight with another manager to distract from a disappointing result though.

I’d much prefer a manager who thinks before he acts and is calm under pressure but appreciate a lot of folk like a mental case waving their arms about and shouting drivel.

Ouch. :na na:

13-12-2021, 03:45 PM
Get one that "might" work, cannae really be worse than the one you've had, cos the one you've had has been terrible.

In this case you’d be taking your working flush that you’re not happy with cos it doesn’t flush attractively enough and leaving it for a while before you need to flush your Saturday night Indian dinner. Big risk?

13-12-2021, 03:57 PM
We lost something like 6 games on the bounce. We then beat rangers and st Johnston and drew with Motherwell. We put in a decent performance against rangers and most agreed we deserved a draw. The 2 losses were shocking but overall there was improvement.

We definitely picked up after the international break. To say otherwise is simply denying the facts.

I suppose it all turns on your view of the Livi game - another non-performance which Hibs seem to turn in from time to time under any manager, or evidence that we were slipping back towards the poor performances in October?

13-12-2021, 04:03 PM
We definitely picked up after the international break. To say otherwise is simply denying the facts.

I suppose it all turns on your view of the Livi game - another non-performance which Hibs seem to turn in from time to time under any manager, or evidence that we were slipping back towards the poor performances in October?

I always felt, with JR, those Livingston type performances were just around the corner. They happened a number of times last season but he always managed to start picking up points again fairly quickly and stop it becoming a big issue. When you start chucking them in when your results are bad, it’s no a good combination.

13-12-2021, 04:03 PM
It's relevant to Jack Ross in that with him as the flush we were getting ***** on the pitch.
Still doesn’t work as an analogy though.

13-12-2021, 04:04 PM
I always felt, with JR, those Livingston type performances were just around the corner. They happened a number of times last season but he always managed to start picking up points again fairly quickly and stop it becoming a big issue. When you start chucking them in when your results are bad, it’s no a good combination.

Ross, until this recent run, had an absolutely exceptional record against the lesser sides in the league.

13-12-2021, 04:06 PM

:agree: My response was in reference to the timing of his dismissal, he should’ve been kept on until the winter break if they were determined to sack him. Maybe they were worried he might win the cup.

13-12-2021, 04:06 PM
Still doesn’t work as an analogy though.

You don't have to like it, but it works. What part of it do you think doesn't work?

13-12-2021, 04:09 PM

Definitely did the sem final Rangers was the best game of his tenure at Hibs. Wasnt helped with the number of games back to back and out of the games were better team v Ross county lost an appalling goal and lost the plot. St Johnstone we were good. Rangers competed well deserved a point. Motherwell started poor lucky not to be punished then got better. Livi started ok typically lost an appalling goal then think panicky subs at half time made us much weaker and again poor discipline very poor. I think in a balanced analysis he was harshly treated not to have got more time given the general performance over recent weeks. Could understand it if someone immediately coming in for that not to be the case seems a little odd to me.

13-12-2021, 04:12 PM
Ross, until this recent run, had an absolutely exceptional record against the lesser sides in the league.

Generally, yes.. But we had an ability to throw in that proper shocker of a performance. I remember doing the same at Livingston pre covid a few days after we beat Hearts. Then against Hearts themselves a couple of months later. Last season we did it against Ross County, Livingston, Motherwell, Aberdeen, St Johnstone multiple times off the top of my head. This season we’ve seen it against Dundee Utd, Aberdeen and Livingston. I know we’re not going to win all the time but too many of those games where we just chucked in an absolute disaster of a performance.

13-12-2021, 04:14 PM

Came in and criticised the players fitness etc from what I recall. Don’t think he’d be a good fit for us.Who do you think we should be looking at?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Magpie
13-12-2021, 04:15 PM

If he had a better record against our main competitors (Celtic, Rangers, Hearts, Aberdeen) he would still be here I think.

5 wins from 26 games against those teams combined. 1 win from 15 against the Old Firm and we lost more times than we won against Aberdeen and Hearts.

13-12-2021, 04:15 PM
Is there any betting on any of the sites? Can’t find anything.

Magpie
13-12-2021, 04:43 PM

William Hill had it, not sure if it’s still there.

13-12-2021, 05:00 PM
Can see us enquiring about Enzo Maresca.

FifeHibs
13-12-2021, 05:03 PM

His record at Parma is shocking

13-12-2021, 05:39 PM

I'd be surprised if we do tbh.

13-12-2021, 05:44 PM

McBookie had odds up the other day, not checked recently though

13-12-2021, 05:52 PM
Thanks lads, can’t find it with those two either. Maybe have to check on a desktop version.

13-12-2021, 05:54 PM
If it’s McInnes then the wee orange Bassa will get my backing just like anyone else for that matter.

13-12-2021, 05:54 PM

How about Tony Macaroni?

13-12-2021, 05:56 PM
How about Tony Macaroni?

Mozzarella Sticks with a chilli dip.

13-12-2021, 06:01 PM
Who do you think we should be looking at?

Lennon :wink:

I don't know, I like the idea of someone I've never heard of though.

Preferably someone who has won trophies as a manager and that would garner respect from the players from day 1.

Someone that makes all of us sit up and go "ya beauty, didn't expect that, well played Hibs".

The bookies list posted on here doesn't provide any of what I'm looking for so I don't have high expectations.

More inspiring than Heckingbottom and I'll be happy.

How about yourself?

13-12-2021, 06:05 PM
Mozzarella Sticks with a chilli dip.

Think Sticks would do very well.

MKHIBEE
13-12-2021, 06:21 PM

Preferably someone who has won trophies as a manager and that would garner respect from the players from day 1.

Someone that makes all of us sit up and go "ya beauty, didn't expect that, well played Hibs".

The bookies list posted on here doesn't provide any of what I'm looking for so I don't have high expectations.

How about yourself?

Thats about where I am on the new manager / coach appointment. Somebody from left field who knows the game, don’t care whether he has won trophies, and is respected for his knowledge and coaching qualities. I remember the impact Tony Mowbray had initially, something along those lines,

13-12-2021, 06:31 PM

How about yourself?Probably Mcinnes but it seems a safe(ish) bet

We are likley to end up with someone who's done something poorly in one of there previous jobs - nature of the beast

If be pretty happy with Delia and very surprised with Kjetil Knutsen

Rumble de Thump
13-12-2021, 06:33 PM
A couple of names I've heard are Neil Barnes and Adam Wren.

13-12-2021, 06:38 PM
A couple of names I've heard are Neil Barnes and Adam Wren.Google suggests one is a political journalist and the other a musician

Paloschi
13-12-2021, 06:43 PM
A couple of names I've heard are Neil Barnes and Adam Wren.

I’ve heard Iain Starling and Tony Blackbird

13-12-2021, 06:44 PM
Dearie me that is a grim list
No creme de la creme in there 😞

13-12-2021, 06:44 PM
Google suggests one is a political journalist and the other a musician

🤣🤣 they are members of the band Leftfield

13-12-2021, 06:46 PM
Think Sticks would do very well.
Dips an able assistant.

13-12-2021, 06:49 PM
Probably Mcinnes but it seems a safe(ish) bet

We are likley to end up with someone who's done something poorly in one of there previous jobs - nature of the beast

If be pretty happy with Delia and very surprised with Kjetil Knutsen

Kjetil Knutsen would be a coup. Can't see it happening but his record with Bodo is brilliant.

13-12-2021, 06:54 PM
https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/19723700.ron-gordon-launches-defence-hibs-boss-jack-ross-insisting-exceptional-job/

13-12-2021, 06:54 PM
In the end, Jack's downfall was that he could only win big games.
Apart from the ones at Hampden

13-12-2021, 07:05 PM

Came in and criticised the players fitness etc from what I recall. Don’t think he’d be a good fit for us.

Their version of Heckingbottom? Not really no.

He achieved the objective to win the league. He developed some of their players pretty well. I don't think the media pressure/profile of being Celtic boss suited him but he'd be a great fit for Hibs IMO. Can't see we've any chance of getting him though.

Steven79
13-12-2021, 07:05 PM
Apart from the ones at Hampden

Wasn't the Rangers game at Hampden?

13-12-2021, 07:06 PM
Dwindling attendances is something that seems to be getting missed by a lot of people in the media.

I don’t doubt that Ross would have stopped the slide we are on at some point but would he have done so to the extent people would start going again in big numbers? I don’t think so and clearly neither did Ron.
The problem for me was the football under Ross had become so predictable, sideways, backwards, sideways long ball to Boyle and repeat. Looking at his Sunderland time it's uncanny how close it followed that Hibs, down to losing cup finals and drawing too many winnable games.

13-12-2021, 07:09 PM
The problem for me was the football under Ross had become so predictable, sideways, backwards, sideways long ball to Boyle and repeat. Looking at his Sunderland time it's uncanny how close it followed that Hibs, down to losing cup finals and drawing too many winnable games.

Couldn’t agree more 👍

13-12-2021, 07:11 PM
Stephen Bradley anyone? - back to back titles with Shamrock Rovers ending Dundalk’s dominance, plus won them the FAI cup in 2019 which they hadn’t done since 1987. In 2020, they won a truncated league season of 18 games undefeated with 15 wins and 3 draws.

Over the last 2 league seasons they have averaged:
2.33 points per game
1.91 goals scored
0.65 goals conceded

Been touted recently for jobs down South so may be a bit of a coup to get him now.

13-12-2021, 07:12 PM

And the Dundee United one

13-12-2021, 07:13 PM
As was St. Johnstone x 2, Hearts etc

13-12-2021, 07:21 PM
Stephen Bradley anyone? - back to back titles with Shamrock Rovers ending Dundalk’s dominance, plus won them the FAI cup in 2019 which they hadn’t done since 1987. In 2020, they won a truncated league season of 18 games undefeated with 15 wins and 3 draws.

Over the last 2 league seasons they have averaged:
2.33 points per game
1.91 goals scored
0.65 goals conceded

Been touted recently for jobs down South so may be a bit of a coup to get him now.

I wouldn’t be against him coming in but I suspect the Pat Fenlon experiment would count against him.

13-12-2021, 07:32 PM
I wouldn’t be against him coming in but I suspect the Pat Fenlon experiment would count against him.

The Pat Fenlon experiment should have been Michael O’Neill who coincidently was doing a similarly impressive job at Rovers as Bradley is doing. In further coincidence, it was a sacked Pat Fenlon who Bradley replaced as manager at Shamrock Rovers.

13-12-2021, 07:33 PM
Roy Keane

13-12-2021, 07:34 PM
Roy Keane

I watched his interview with Gary Neville on YouTube (the overlap).

I’d love him.

13-12-2021, 07:37 PM
Shaun Maloney must be in with a shout

BS44
13-12-2021, 07:38 PM
You don't have to like it, but it works. What part of it do you think doesn't work?

Nah it is quite poor.

13-12-2021, 07:42 PM
The Pat Fenlon experiment should have been Michael O’Neill who coincidently was doing a similarly impressive job at Rovers as Bradley is doing. In further coincidence, it was a sacked Pat Fenlon who Bradley replaced as manager at Shamrock Rovers.

Good points.

13-12-2021, 08:10 PM
https://twitter.com/siamesebhoy/status/1470492563152977927?s=21

Celtic fans on twitter seem to think this is Neil Lennons agent Martin Reilly. They also seem to think it’s a good indication that Lennon is coming to us.

Having a look at the twitter account, it’s either Lennon, his agent or an absolute weirdo that’s far more interested in Neil Lennon than they should be.

13-12-2021, 08:14 PM
https://twitter.com/siamesebhoy/status/1470492563152977927?s=21

Celtic fans on twitter seem to think this is Neil Lennons agent Martin Reilly. They also seem to think it’s a good indication that Lennon is coming to us.

Having a look at the twitter account, it’s either Lennon, his agent or an absolute weirdo that’s far more interested in Neil Lennon than they should be.
No really sure what the point of it is tbh.

13-12-2021, 08:33 PM
Ronnie Delia?

13-12-2021, 08:43 PM
Ronnie Delia?Six pack isn't hibs class.

13-12-2021, 08:49 PM
Ronnie Delia?

Saw Tam McManus was talking him up earlier. Surely no chance.

13-12-2021, 08:52 PM

Can't see it why would he when he would have a choice of clubs.

Gordy M
13-12-2021, 08:54 PM
Can't see it why would he when he would have a choice of clubs.

Mybe RG is going to push the boat out and pay big(hibs wise) wages? All.about money for a lot of these guys.

BegbieHSC
13-12-2021, 09:05 PM
Deila would be an outstanding appointment, and given what he’s just achieved, a real statement of intent. I would consider it highly unlikely that we’d manage to get him, but stranger things have happened…

13-12-2021, 09:05 PM
Rumours amongst Everton fans that Duncan Ferguson has left the club. I know a few folk were suggesting him for us.

Hibeesforever
13-12-2021, 09:10 PM
Rumours amongst Everton fans that Duncan Ferguson has left the club. I know a few folk were suggesting him for us.

That would be some statement of intent getting Duncan Ferguson...the buzz would be brought back!

13-12-2021, 09:11 PM
Someone’s tried to tell me that Malky Mackay is getting the job.

I’m not suggesting that’s correct but I’ve not seen his name even mentioned on here. Have I missed anything?

13-12-2021, 09:11 PM
Have there not been quite a few people left Everton recently? He is just as radge as Lennon but is a hun version. Not sure it would be successful but would be an interesting appointment.

1875Sean
13-12-2021, 09:12 PM
Mybe RG is going to push the boat out and pay big(hibs wise) wages? All.about money for a lot of these guys.

I would imagine some teams in the mls would blow us out of the water when it comes to wages

BegbieHSC
13-12-2021, 09:13 PM

I’m not suggesting that’s correct but I’ve not seen his name even mentioned on here. Have I missed anything?

I think they are ripping the pish.

13-12-2021, 09:13 PM

I’m not suggesting that’s correct but I’ve not seen his name even mentioned on here. Have I missed anything?I seen it mentioned earlier but just closed my eyes and kept scrolling

Surley no

ABZHFC
13-12-2021, 09:14 PM
Duncan Ferguson rumours abound, he’s just left Everton surprisingly tonight

13-12-2021, 09:16 PM

Love Duncan Ferguson! Would be a great character, thats for sure!

13-12-2021, 09:19 PM
I think they are ripping the pish.

They’re not. Doesn’t mean they’re right though.

7/2 it was earlier.

13-12-2021, 09:20 PM

Has he defo left Everton? Still just rumours from what I can see.

I'm still not sure we will see Ferguson coaching in Scotland which is a shame as he's meant to be a very good coach.

13-12-2021, 09:25 PM
Ferguson was absolutely wild when he was caretaker manager of Everton.

Would definitely be on Lennon levels of madness.

Remember he brought on the young player Moise Kean on 70 mins then subbed him just before full time !! This was a £27 million pound player !

He then subbed another sub the week after !

13-12-2021, 09:30 PM

Remember he brought on the young player Moise Kean on 70 mins then subbed him just before full time !! This was a £27 million pound player !

Aye and he about chased the boy down the touchline when he had a moan about it. Would be an intriguing one, can’t see it though.

13-12-2021, 09:31 PM

Thats the type of man we need, no bull**** type of guy.

13-12-2021, 09:34 PM
Love Big Dunc 💙 would be happy with that. Done Alot of youth work with Everton too. Stubbsy as his assistant 👀

13-12-2021, 09:35 PM
Thats the type of man we need, no bull**** type of guy.

Disagree.

I think you can get away with that kind of thing when you’re a care taker manager. When you’ve got the permanent job you need to be able to take a longer term approach.

Remember Terry Butcher subbed Caldwell after bringing him on and people just thought he was a fanny.

13-12-2021, 09:39 PM
Ferguson, there's an interesting one. Based on very little, I'm for it.

13-12-2021, 09:43 PM

Worked in reverse with St Johnstone I suppose, they regularly beat us last season but this season we've got the better of them. Never mind that in one of the games they had a man sent off and in the other we got a controversial penalty. But we still beat them. I suppose. Depends what you mean by lesser I guess.

13-12-2021, 09:44 PM
Have there not been quite a few people left Everton recently? He is just as radge as Lennon but is a hun version. Not sure it would be successful but would be an interesting appointment.

He seems to have built a good reputation as a top coach since he packed in playing. I also think he came across pretty well in interviews when he was in temp charge at Everton. Not at all like the radge who used to play up here.

13-12-2021, 09:44 PM

I'm sure he won every game while caretaker?

Sorry, Greencastle was right, he won the first match against Chelsea 3-1, after losing four of the last five games and then the draw at Old Trafford & against Arsenal and the penalties defeat against Leicester. Evertonians loved him and he really lifted the spirits, after the dismal season Everton fans enthusiasm during that spell made it seem, from memory, that they had won the games.

13-12-2021, 09:45 PM
Surprised we haven't been linked with Scot Gemmill yet.

13-12-2021, 09:49 PM
I'm sure he won every game while caretaker?

Managed 3 league games winning 1 and drawing 2, he managed 1 game in the league cup and winning that game.

No idea of the opposition in any of the games though?

13-12-2021, 09:53 PM
Ferguson has managed 4 games - beat Chelsea and drew with Arsenal and Man U - lost on pens to Leicester in the league cup.

McInnes has managed 618 games.

Not sure how many Ferguson has been in the beach as assistant.

Similar ages - not sure if they played in same Rangers team?

Alex Neil 10 years younger btw.

PPZPOL
13-12-2021, 09:53 PM
Managed 3 league games winning 1 and drawing 2, he managed 1 game in the league cup and winning that game.

No idea of the opposition in any of the games though?

Pretty sure one was ManU at OT, they drew and he was on the pitch giving it large. Certainly showed some passion, it was bordering on a fan going radge after a game mind but still funny. Think he was interviewed on pitch as well.

Cat Stanton
13-12-2021, 10:14 PM
If it’s McInnes then the wee orange Bassa will get my backing just like anyone else for that matter.

I do hope you are referring to his fake tan colour and that this isn't Celtc-esque crap patter..?

13-12-2021, 10:25 PM
In two minds over Ferguson.

One half thinks he’d be brilliant and the other a complete disaster.

davhibby
13-12-2021, 10:48 PM

My thoughts as well. He’s the only name mentioned so far that I’d be genuinely excited about. If people are wanting an exciting manager that would get fans back in the stadium he’d be ideal. Sadly I don’t see him thinking we’d be a good option but nobody else mentioned so far comes close in stature or managerial record

14-12-2021, 04:26 AM

No chance. Awful manager and person. Would see a massive backlash.

14-12-2021, 06:25 AM
No news down here of Ferguson leaving. Impossible to have kept that quiet in a city like this. There’s a “strategic review” taking place at Everton right enough but more likely to see Rafa get his jotters in would have thought!

14-12-2021, 07:48 AM
I dont see Duncan Ferguson working in Scotland, he has real hatred for the authorities up there.

14-12-2021, 07:55 AM
I saw Daniel Stendel on the Ormiston bus yesterday and he asked the driver to drop him at East Mains.

14-12-2021, 07:56 AM
I saw Daniel Stendel on the Ormiston bus yesterday and he asked the driver to drop him at East Mains.He was going to the Wetherspoons in Musselburgh.

14-12-2021, 07:58 AM
Ronnie Delia?

Wages will be issue there.

Weegreenman
14-12-2021, 08:03 AM
I know this’ll get laughed at but how about the man who dared tried to change the lifestyle of our spoilt footballers for the greater good…….step forward everyone’s favourite pundit ……

Johnny Collins? 😆😂😂😂

14-12-2021, 08:08 AM
In two minds over Ferguson.

One half thinks he’d be brilliant and the other a complete disaster.

I think that management style has had its day and I wouldn't want him anywhere near our team. I'll admit that's based on my limited knowledge of him and the bits I've seen and heard. Maybe he's a thinker but shouting, screaming, playing the hardman and generally bullying players doesn't work (at least not for long) in 2021.

14-12-2021, 08:10 AM
Ronnie Delia?

Just seen he's won the MLS league or Cup or whatever. Based on that I'd think we have 0 chance.

14-12-2021, 08:13 AM
I know this’ll get laughed at but how about the man who dared tried to change the lifestyle of our spoilt footballers for the greater good…….step forward everyone’s favourite pundit ……

Johnny Collins? [emoji38][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]Yep, you a spot on - I am laughing at this

14-12-2021, 08:16 AM
I think we have almost no chance of getting him but would the bodo/glint manager leave when they are still in the Europa?

14-12-2021, 09:04 AM
Update from Hibs, thorough, robust, attacking football, coming to a conclusion

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/an-update-from-our-ceo-1

14-12-2021, 09:08 AM

The rumours in the media being false are likely to be about Lennon IMO.

14-12-2021, 09:10 AM
The rumours in the media being false are likely to be about Lennon IMO.

Or Robbie Fowler :greengrin

14-12-2021, 09:11 AM
No Lennon or McInnes according to the EEN.

https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1470697580728397824?s=21

14-12-2021, 09:16 AM

Johnny Collins? 😆😂😂😂

I always thought Collins was the right man at the wrong time. I’d have loved to know how his outlook and professionalism would have worked at Hibs post Petrie and the set up and modernisation we have today.

I think his time as a manager has been and gone. Whether he’d be interested or not I don’t know but think there’s an ideal role for him somewhere at the club. Probably somewhere at East Mains or with the youth setup. Not replacing Mathie and responsible for our transfers though 😀

Steve88
14-12-2021, 09:16 AM

Important Ben got this statement right, pass marks from me.

He indirectly pushes back on the negative lazy journalism we've seen directed at Hibs over the past few days.

"As a club you must continuously plan for the future and have a clear plan in-place for every eventuality due to the fast-moving and ever-changing nature of the sport. This has allowed us to stay in control of this rigorous process... We are coming to a conclusion,."

Also, appeals to the fan's regarding the type of manager we're looking to hire: " We want to acquire a manager who has an attacking mentality and is progressive and hungry for the opportunity to build something special here at a big club in Hibs"

14-12-2021, 09:24 AM
Little footnote to the KT thing.
Not my favourite person, but look how he has Kelty playing...

https://twitter.com/KeltyHeartsFC/status/1470468884272664579?t=CBNHunG83pz3ooITVVWzBg&s=19

leith lynx
14-12-2021, 09:27 AM

Kjetl Knutsen? Norwegian coach linked with Norwich and Celtic previously

14-12-2021, 09:28 AM
I said it on the other thread but if we are close to appointing someone who's at another club im surprised it hasn't been leaked by now

If no Lennon or Mcinnes, could still be Alex Neil

GibbytheHibby2
14-12-2021, 09:31 AM
I always thought Collins was the right man at the wrong time. I’d have loved to know how his outlook and professionalism would have worked at Hibs post Petrie and the set up and modernisation we have today.

I think his time as a manager has been and gone. Whether he’d be interested or not I don’t know but think there’s an ideal role for him somewhere at the club. Probably somewhere at East Mains or with the youth setup. Not replacing Mathie and responsible for our transfers though 😀

JC had the wrong assistant. A more experienced manager could have guided him better. He was too set is his ways. An example being sending the sub GK to warm up because Makalamby kicked from hand despot it being clear (especially the opposition who had sussed the tactic) there was no one to throw to.

A lack of flexibility contributed to him losing the dressing room.

14-12-2021, 09:32 AM
Kjetl Knutsen? Norwegian coach linked with Norwich and Celtic previously

He's winning leagues in Norway and has them playing Celtic in the next round in Europe, his team scudded Roma 6-1, as much as I'd like it I think it's more than highly unlikely.

14-12-2021, 09:46 AM

I think his time as a manager has been and gone. Whether he’d be interested or not I don’t know but think there’s an ideal role for him somewhere at the club. Probably somewhere at East Mains or with the youth setup. Not replacing Mathie and responsible for our transfers though ��

I always thought Collins was more suited to a role like Academy Director - he would get to work with developing players at the very start of their apprenticeship and imbue them with his professional values re training and lifestyle more readily than seasoned pros. He would also be able to set a template on skills development throughout the age groups that would develop players who could control and pass the ball properly.

14-12-2021, 09:46 AM

Running the youth set up and our development programmes was always the right role for Collins in my eyes. Get players on the right track early doors.

14-12-2021, 10:08 AM
Interesting to see if Duncan Ferguson is in the stand watching the Hibs v Dundee game…..

Leitherhibs
14-12-2021, 10:16 AM
The Norwegian Knudsen coaching at Bodo/Glimt is out of contract at the end of December, think there's a real possibility it's him that's coming to ER..

14-12-2021, 10:17 AM
The Norwegian Knudsen coaching at Bodo/Glimt is out of contract at the end of December, think there's a real possibility it's him that's coming to ER..

I’d be shocked. He’ll have his pick of a few bigger clubs than us surely.

Leitherhibs
14-12-2021, 10:18 AM

Folk said the same about Chris Mueller.

14-12-2021, 10:18 AM
I like what Kensall says about an attacking and progressive coach. So it looks like Ross didn't go purely on results, the dwindling fans in the stands were also a factor, I've no doubt they'd be reading the fans forums to gauge their feelings.

14-12-2021, 10:20 AM

Both Kjetil Knutsen and Morten Kalvenes have extended their agreements until summer 2022

14-12-2021, 10:23 AM
I always thought Collins was more suited to a role like Academy Director - he would get to work with developing players at the very start of their apprenticeship and imbue them with his professional values re training and lifestyle more readily than seasoned pros. He would also be able to set a template on skills development throughout the age groups that would develop players who could control and pass the ball properly.

I don’t know why Scotland don’t utilise Collins. Well I do, there’s no genuine appetite for change. His sportsound interview a while ago was a great listen with him talking about his experiences at Monaco and it being an eye opener in terms of culture and professionalism. He was also in the crowd at the book festival at Henry McLeish’s talk about his Scottish football review. He made lots of good points, particularly about coaches continuing to be assessed once they are qualified and continuing to ensure that they are teaching the right things in the correct ways.

14-12-2021, 10:24 AM
Shaun Maloney backed into 6/1 with McBookie

14-12-2021, 10:28 AM
Anyone think Kevin T has a shot at this?

14-12-2021, 10:29 AM
I like what Kensall says about an attacking and progressive coach. So it looks like Ross didn't go purely on results, the dwindling fans in the stands were also a factor, I've no doubt they'd be reading the fans forums to gauge their feelings.

I agree, I immediately thought the reference to attacking was a coded message that McInnes was a non runner. I would have been as happy with McInnes as with Neil. I suspect something's coming from left field!

14-12-2021, 10:29 AM

Absolutely none.

Skol
14-12-2021, 10:30 AM
JC had the wrong assistant. A more experienced manager could have guided him better. He was too set is his ways. An example being sending the sub GK to warm up because Makalamby kicked from hand despot it being clear (especially the opposition who had sussed the tactic) there was no one to throw to.

A lack of flexibility contributed to him losing the dressing room.

I thought Tommy Craig was assistant and he wasnt short in experience ?

I am relieved to find NL and DM are not being considered for the role and also intrigued to find out who is.

14-12-2021, 10:33 AM

Again, if he does well with us, and the Rangers job comes along, we all know what **** is going to go down.

Nearing a conclusion certainly sounds like something will happen in the next few days

Its a big appointment, I hope they get it right

Again, if he does well with us, and the Rangers job comes along, we all know what **** is going to go down.Anyone does well with us it's always a possibility

Doing well with us is the first thing I want

sauzeelegod
14-12-2021, 10:36 AM
Kjetil Knutsen sounds like he would be brilliant.
Had never heard of him but been reading up on him today.

Likes to play a 433 possession high pressing system.

That’s the kind of football I want to watch.

14-12-2021, 10:37 AM

3/1 now but guess it doesn't take much for the odds to move from 6s to 3s

14-12-2021, 10:38 AM

Both Kjetil Knutsen and Morten Kalvenes have extended their agreements until summer 2022

I was just going to say, with everything that they've achieved letting their contracts run out would be incredibly bad business from Bodø.

Skol
14-12-2021, 10:38 AM
Again, if he does well with us, and the Rangers job comes along, we all know what **** is going to go down.

Anyone who does well at Hibs will be sought after by others. I well remember McLeish on the pitch telling us he was going nowhere !!

14-12-2021, 10:39 AM
... https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211214/0cef90a8d956c7aed509bc86ca2174be.jpg

14-12-2021, 10:45 AM
No Lennon or McInnes according to the EEN.

https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1470697580728397824?s=21

That reads to me like someone will be announced between Dundee game and final maybe wrong. Good statement think it was necessary allied to who won't be getting it via EEN.

14-12-2021, 10:48 AM

No way imo.

14-12-2021, 10:50 AM
Is Maloney actually highly regarded?

Hes never been a manager at all

Cat Stanton

Oh my God - I hope not!!!!!!!

He gives me the fear, every time I hear him speak I think of Cathro. Strikes me as someone who’d be a great coach but a crap manager. If he gets it I’ll be right behind him as on paper it’s a good choice, but I have my doubts.

14-12-2021, 10:52 AM
Nearing a conclusion certainly sounds like something will happen in the next few days

Its a big appointment, I hope they get it right

That caught my attention too. It is less than a week ago Ross was sacked and to be reaching a conclusion seems very quick almost like there was someone in mind. It is a fairly typical statement though with a couple of crowd pleasers but it doesn't really say too much. I'd love some detail about the strategies and structures etc and if they are in place now, likely to be here soon or for the future and how distant is that. LD gave enough detail that I could see what was trying to be achieved and how. Early days but this statement says lots of positive things but I am still unaware of what is needed and will be put in place to make it all come together. Saying all that at least we know that they realise that entertainment is part of the supporters' wish list, hopefully we get a manager that not only wants to play like that but can, with a few additions, get our squad playing that way. If I was interviewing candidates I would want to know about their philosophy but also how they saw the current squad fit into that. Most of them are on longer contracts than a managers typical tenure so it is important a new man can take us forward with these players or talk about changes required and how they might take place.

Skol
14-12-2021, 10:54 AM
That reads to me like someone will be announced between Dundee game and final maybe wrong. Good statement think it was necessary allied to who won't be getting it via EEN.

I am a bit concerned about this given the next game is a cup final as its a big ask for a new man to identify his best team and approach in such a short time. If we are to appoint someone, they need to be in the stand tonight and start tomorrow.

Leitherhibs
14-12-2021, 10:56 AM
Knutsen now priced at 8/1 - Same as Alex Neil - Some doubters on here about us making it happen, but what a statement of intent that would be by the board.

Is Maloney actually highly regarded?

Hes never been a manager at all

Highly regarded as a coach. As you say never been the main man, would be a risk and could end up like Catheo.

Decent statement from the club.

They have a plan and are ambitious, hopefully that puts some minds at ease that thought they were knee jerking to fans feelings.

I think we're all going to be pleasantly surprised and get that 'ya beauty' moment when the new man is announced!

14-12-2021, 10:58 AM

They have a plan and are ambitious, hopefully that puts some minds at ease that thought they were knee jerking to fans feelings.

I think we're all going to be pleasantly surprised and get that 'ya beauty' moment when the new man is announced!

to be fair the club arnt going to say anything else bar 'we have a strategy'

I hope your right......and you might well be

I have a nagging feeling though that the doors swing open and in walks Yogi

Steven79
14-12-2021, 10:59 AM

I have a nagging feeling though that the doors swing open and in walks Yogi[emoji23][emoji23]

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

14-12-2021, 11:00 AM

Or a Mowbray style, "eh?" moment.

14-12-2021, 11:01 AM

I have a nagging feeling though that the doors swing open and in walks Yogi

Well let's hope he doesn't let them hit his arse on the way out! :bye:

14-12-2021, 11:02 AM
He gives me the fear, every time I hear him speak I think of Cathro. Strikes me as someone who’d be a great coach but a crap manager. If he gets it I’ll be right behind him as on paper it’s a good choice, but I have my doubts.

I actually agree. Comes across as far too quiet and nice. Now, I don't think you need to be an aggressive bell to be a good manager. Either way if it is Maloney I'd obviously back him 100%

14-12-2021, 11:08 AM
Knutsen now priced at 8/1 - Same as Alex Neil - Some doubters on here about us making it happen, but what a statement of intent that would be by the board.

That will just be dafties hammering down the price after reading this site. :greengrin

14-12-2021, 11:10 AM
I actually agree. Comes across as far too quiet and nice. Now, I don't think you need to be an aggressive bell to be a good manager. Either way if it is Maloney I'd obviously back him 100%

And a one way ticket back to darkheid if he's a success 🤔

14-12-2021, 11:10 AM
Record saying Alex Neil not being considered either.

PPZPOL
14-12-2021, 11:11 AM
I am a bit concerned about this given the next game is a cup final as its a big ask for a new man to identify his best team and approach in such a short time. If we are to appoint someone, they need to be in the stand tonight and start tomorrow.

Or he’d be announced but Gray still takes team for final. New gaffer in stand so players have a point to prove to him before he “officially” starts. Imagine your first interview sitting beside the League Cup having been in the door 2 mins. Dreaming now😂

14-12-2021, 11:12 AM

Good. After what he said on the radio after the livvy game the players wouldn't want him anyway.

PPZPOL
14-12-2021, 11:12 AM

Was it not only the Record saying he was originally😂. Just talking to themselves….basically meaning they have no idea.

14-12-2021, 11:23 AM

No

Mainstandman
14-12-2021, 11:23 AM
If i was taking over in time for final, I'd want to see Hibs tonight and Celtic tomorrow

leith lynx
14-12-2021, 11:28 AM

I guess if Knutsen was on Dave Cormack radar, Ron Gordon will be well aware of this guy, just got a feeling it's him,also would be more difficult to appoint Knutsen IF Jack Ross was a cup winner...

14-12-2021, 11:34 AM

Would assume the current interim arrangement would be in place for the final however entirely depends on how up to speed the new person is. Might be a good time for them to be involved in some way e.g working with interim staff.

ABZHFC
14-12-2021, 11:36 AM
I want Benni McCarthy. Knows the city, been at the club before as a coach, doing very well in South Africa right now

14-12-2021, 11:37 AM
Reports that Bob Bradley has been interviewed.

14-12-2021, 11:39 AM

Excuse my ignorance but who is Bob Bradley?

14-12-2021, 11:40 AM

That him that was emptied from Swansea after 11 games or something? Horrendous.

one day maybe...
14-12-2021, 11:40 AM

Head coach of Toronto FC (google is your friend :greengrin)

14-12-2021, 11:42 AM

Ex Manager of USA and didn't do to well at his last club in the UK

Dublin07
14-12-2021, 11:50 AM
That him that was emptied from Swansea after 11 games or something? Horrendous.

He is the most successful coach in mls history for win percentage. He has not officially been named Toronto head coach yet. Left LA in November. His son is the captain of Toronto so obvious link to them. A poor spell at one club where he didn’t fit doesn’t make him a bad coach. Also coached the USA national team.

14-12-2021, 11:50 AM
https://www.mcbookie.com/event/640233/next-permanent-hibernian-manager

HFC93
14-12-2021, 11:51 AM
Highly regarded as a coach. As you say never been the main man, would be a risk and could end up like Catheo.

Big difference is Maloney was also very good player while Cathro was just wee guy with a laptop. I don’t see the comparison. You could easily compare Maloney to Mowbray or Stubbs instead. Depends on your spin I suppose.

14-12-2021, 11:52 AM
Big difference is Maloney was also very good player while Cathro was just wee guy with a laptop. I don’t see the comparison. You could easily compare Maloney to Mowbray or Stubbs instead. Depends on your spin I suppose.

Fair point, hadn’t taken into account his playing career.

I was just going to say, with everything that they've achieved letting their contracts run out would be incredibly bad business from Bodø.

they've also got a big game coming up with celtic, maybe the glasgow press are trying to upset the apple cart at Bodo like they do with hibs before any game with the old firm :cb

Where is that being reported?

14-12-2021, 11:54 AM
https://www.mcbookie.com/event/640233/next-permanent-hibernian-manager

Couldn't read that. What did it say?

14-12-2021, 11:55 AM
Knutsen is the one.

Then sign Patrick Berg in January as he’s out of contract in the summer.

14-12-2021, 11:56 AM
they've also got a big game coming up with celtic, maybe the glasgow press are trying to upset the apple cart at Bodo like they do with hibs before any game with the old firm :cb

Middle of Feb before that game is played , started early then 😁

14-12-2021, 11:58 AM
Couldn't read that. What did it say?

Its just odds for the next manager.
Maloney in to 2/1.

14-12-2021, 11:59 AM
Sun saying Maloney

https://t.co/YnIc9P6ZoH?amp=1

14-12-2021, 12:00 PM
Maloney with Caldwell as assistant according to the sun. Announced tomorrow potentially

14-12-2021, 12:00 PM

He only joined Toronto a couple of weeks ago.

14-12-2021, 12:02 PM
Maloney with Caldwell as assistant according to the sun. Announced tomorrow potentially

Would be very excited with that.

Its just odds for the next manager.
Maloney in to 2/1.

:aok: cheers. Page didn't come up for me maybe cancelled on the back of the Sun report

Juice-Terry
Caldwell.... :rolleyes:

14-12-2021, 12:03 PM
Where is that being reported?https://mobile.twitter.com/wearescottishfb/status/1470718670599081990

14-12-2021, 12:03 PM

Gary Caldwell?!

14-12-2021, 12:04 PM
Caldwell is at Man City?!

:aok: cheers. Page didn't come up for me maybe cancelled on the back of the Sun report

Working for me.
Odds still being offered.

Doing youth work or something to do with loans, I think.

14-12-2021, 12:05 PM

But, but, but Caldwell pisheed all over us in his last 3 months with us!

14-12-2021, 12:05 PM
Sun saying Maloney

Really like the sound of that.

14-12-2021, 12:06 PM
Don’t want Caldwell. **** him.

14-12-2021, 12:06 PM
Sun saying Maloney

Would probably be why no leaks from clubs.

It says he would leave Belgium. Surely he would do both - he’s got the World Cup this time next year and is working with some of the best players in the world.

Maloney is well thought of and always came across well when he was on tv in recent interviews. It will either be a good appointment or a Cathro disaster.

14-12-2021, 12:07 PM

Went in late September doing the loans. Not coaching.

14-12-2021, 12:07 PM
Don’t want Caldwell. **** him.

Really

14-12-2021, 12:08 PM
Really

Really.

Suuuuuurely Caldwell will get us a good loan from Man City then.

Wonder how Maloney’s player knowledge will be, not sure he’ll know many unknown Belgian players such as the level they require.

Maloney is very highly thought of though and every you hear speak about him is full of praise.

Sounds a promising duo.

It says he would leave Belgium. Surely he would do both - he’s got the World Cup this time next year and is working with some of the best players in the world.

Maloney is well thought of and always came across all when he was on tv in recent interviews.

Think he comes across as a fanny in interview to be honest.

Might be brilliant though so I’ll stay open minded, just wouldn’t be close to being my first choice.

14-12-2021, 12:09 PM

Maloney is well thought of and always came across all when he was on tv in recent interviews.
No danger he’d do both. First bad run of results he’d be accused of spending too much time on his other job. Managing hibs is a full time job.

14-12-2021, 12:09 PM
You wonder if Hibs approached him or he approached Hibs ?

ShadesLongThrow
14-12-2021, 12:10 PM
Gary Caldwell???
Tuesday mornings at East Mains will be dedicated to practicing raising your arm when the ball goes over your head.

14-12-2021, 12:10 PM
Maloney, can he still play we could do with someone on the left wing.

14-12-2021, 12:11 PM

Might be brilliant though so I’ll stay open minded, just wouldn’t be close to being my first choice.

Share the same thoughts. Always found him quite a hard listen when on sportscene

PolmontHibby
14-12-2021, 12:12 PM
I find Maloney interesting because he has operated under Martinez, not a bad mentor to have.
Though must admit I don't remember ever hearing him speak so no idea how he comes across.

Caldwell I have heard a lot, and came across to me like Colin Calderwood on a bad day...not exactly motivational though maybe that isn't as important in an assistant role.

14-12-2021, 12:12 PM
Are Henry and Maloney both assistant managers at Belgium?

14-12-2021, 12:13 PM
No danger he’d do both. First bad run of results he’d be accused of spending too much time on his other job. Managing hibs is a full time job.

Did Lennon not head across to a France Euros as a pundit while still Hibs manager ? Maybe linked to the Jason Cummings meeting Shearer and Ferdinand - Lennon convincing him to stay at Hibs a bit longer.

14-12-2021, 12:14 PM
Apart from pleasing those in our support with Celtic sympathies I’m not sure what Maloney has done to warrant becoming our next manager.

But, but, but Caldwell pisheed all over us in his last 3 months with us!

He's a rat. Shafted us.

Think he did an open goal interview thought he seemed intelligent and decent guy. Big job for him hope he gets support from players and fans alike. Hope he brings in his own staff also. Think he will get us playing really decent stuff.

14-12-2021, 12:16 PM
He's a rat. Shafted us.

Ffs give him a chance. Personally had more respect for him in being up front about moving than other Hibs supporting players who did the same but more underhand way. He did what anybody would have done in his position.

14-12-2021, 12:17 PM
Really.

14-12-2021, 12:18 PM
I don't want that prick Caldwell anywhere near my club!

14-12-2021, 12:19 PM
Ffs give him a chance. Personally had more respect for him in being up front about moving than other Hibs supporting players who did the same but more underhand way. He did what anybody would have done in his position.

We you saying that when he scored against us at ER and gave the East Terracing loyal a GIRUY goal celebration?? Not for me.

14-12-2021, 12:19 PM
Apart from pleasing those in our support with Celtic sympathies I’m not sure what Maloney has done to warrant becoming our next manager.
Caldwell can also GTF

14-12-2021, 12:20 PM
We you saying that when he scored against us at ER and gave the East Terracing loyal a GIRUY goal celebration?? Not for me.

Not really the point but no I wasn't.

Just watching an interview with Maloney on PLZ (2020) there and interestingly he said he couldn't see himself leaving Belgium before his contract ends (after the World Cup).

"I absolutely don't see myself breaking that contract whatsoever"

He's a rat. Shafted us.

That was a long time ago, you cannae keep hold of grudges that long, you’ll make yourself ill man!

I’m not really arsed about Caldwell, what I do like is that he seems to have a very contrasting personality to Maloney. Can see him being the shouter and baller, Maloney the calmer more methodical of the two.

Worked well with Ross and Potter so why not these two 😂 😉

14-12-2021, 12:21 PM
Think he did an open goal interview thought he seemed intelligent and decent guy. Big job for him hope he gets support from players and fans alike. Hope he brings in his own staff also. Think he will get us playing really decent stuff.

Cheers, I’ll go and listen to that the now.

HendoDelivered
Unsure what to make of this tbh

That was a long time ago, you cannae keep hold of grudges that long, you’ll make yourself ill man!

I’m not really arsed about Caldwell, what I do like is that he seems to have a very contrasting personality to Maloney. Can see him being the shouter and baller, Maloney the calmer more methodical of the two.

Worked well with Ross and Potter so why not these two 😂 😉

Yep good cop bad cop.

14-12-2021, 12:22 PM
Yep good cop bad cop.

Good guy, ****. [emoji2]

14-12-2021, 12:22 PM

Probably the fact that he’s coached at a really good level, on the back of a very good playing career.

Some of our more successful managers haven’t come with any managerial experience (Mowbray, Collins, Stubbs off the top of my head).

Intrigued rather than convinced by it though.

14-12-2021, 12:23 PM
Don't get the comparisons with Maloney and Cathro. Maloney night not be a shouty type but it doesn't mean he's soft.

He also played at the highest level in this country, internationally and in the Champions League whereas I doubt Cathro would have got a game for Edina Hibs.