View Full Version : Match Updates Match Thread: Hearts 2 - 1 Hibs (Doidge)
31-10-2020, 06:20 PM
Hearts have an indian sign over us in these games. It's the smug BBC ****ers I could do without.
Gordon man of the match if it end up like this.
MOTM regardless.
Not a pen
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
100% not a penalty
Looks like we’ve found another way to lose to them. Nisbet has had a stinker. Was definitely a pen to Hearts so we can have no complaints. Architects of our own downfall.
Porteous, Marciano and Boyle have been garbage.
31-10-2020, 06:21 PM
Bringing on Mallan far too late.
hibIBZ
Blame everybody! For me Gordon has won them this game. 3 top class saves
Standard derby performance when expected to win from us.
Lee Marvin
Hibs record against hearts is an actual disgrace. Pointless even turning up in these big games against them.
I'm 36, Hearts have literally owned us over my lifetime and I'm sick of it.
Lendo
Ross out.
Absolute clown
We should just forfeit derbies from now on. What's the point?
It would save us going through these embarrassments every couple of years.
HendoDelivered
JammyDoidgers prediction going well...
supermcginn
Not a pen
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
A blind man could see any challenge without winning the ball would be a penalty.
give us a derby win jack, go on, i dare yi
Get Murphy off.
I'm convinced now. We can do without the Edinburgh derby. I'm done with them.
Peanut Shaz
Don't care what anyone says it is definitely a mental thing when we play Hearts. They are inside our heads every time in the games that matter. We really need to learn to hate them as much as they hate us. Yeah, poor play and decisions play a part but they have the upper hand every time mentally.
thebausburst
31-10-2020, 06:22 PM
Too many underperformed today, Boyle and Nisbet being the worst offenders, that’s ultimately what’s cost us today.
delbert
Utterly disgraceful.
Strip needs a redesign, with a yellow stripe right up the back where the backbone should be, a team who dont have the bottle to go out and beat a half fit lower division side in a cup semi final, sickening !
Stood in my kitchen laughing!
Bringing on Mallan far too late.
F****** joke
3 inches lower and it was perfect.
But it wasn't 3" lower.
5 ft higher Boyce misses but he didn't.
Shat it yet again......
100% not a penalty
I don't think any of the penalty shouts in this match were valid. Players are all at it these days.
Not that arsed now tbh. Referee is a joke. Been vastly superior the whole match.
No we haven’t. If we were vastly superior we would be winning. All we have done is foul and pass the ball to opponents. No composure from this team and yet another manager that doesn’t seem to be able to fire up a team for the derby.
Porteous, Marciano and Boyle have been garbage.
Yepp, don’t know what Porteous has been on but he’s been really erratic. Maybe if Boyle has taken some he’d have created a few more chances.
Get Murphy off.
Geeez
Get Gullan on. Go long.
F****** joke
Should have been on at the start of extra time
JXM73
Jambo prick
Dry yer eyes....
I like Marciano, probably the best keeper I’ve seen at Hibs. But I never fancied him to save that for a second. Likewise I never fancied us to score into Gordon.
Mr Grieves
31-10-2020, 06:23 PM
It's ****ing criminal we're losing this
Porteous has been awful and played like a fiddle by hearts, he’s barely passed to a hibs player and made some stupid stupid tackles. Boyle has also been total murder.
Ross should sit out big games. ****ing gash record against the other 4 big sides.
It’s just so typical Hibs WTF is it that allows them to beat us
Gordon has won the ****bos this match
It's ****ing criminal we're losing this
Well if don't take chances then let in two poor goals. Poor.
31-10-2020, 06:24 PM
Don't care what anyone says it is definitely a mental thing when we play Hearts. They are inside our heads every time in the games that matter. We really need to learn to hate them as much as they hate us. Yeah, poor play and decisions play a part but they have the upper hand every time mentally.
Different players for each team, different managers for each team. It’s impossible to put a finger on it.
This is typical hibs though, just fuvking typical
hope they get stuffed in the final
Sad to say I'm not surprised we've lost. Sadly they just know how to beat us
supermcginn
I like Marciano, probably the best keeper I’ve seen at Hibs. But I never fancied him to save that for a second. Likewise I never fancied us to score into Gordon.
Are you in primary school?
Dry yer eyes....
Take your trolling nonsense elsewhere. Totally unnecessary tonight.
Woeful and got what was coming as we don’t take or chances.
O well.
One or 2 need a wee look at themselves. Very poor show
hibIBZ
I'm not sure I'm watching the same game. I think we have dominated really. We are going to lose because we missed a pen and they didn't. Marciano has barely made a save other than routine, Gordon has had 3/4 really good stops
Unacceptable to be taken to extra time given the chances we had in the first 90. Our "experienced" players, Hanlon et al have bottled it again.
Are you in primary school?
What?
Marcianos record at pens is atrocious. I said the same during the Scotland game.
AL-Qaholik
Dry yer eyes....
How has this Jambo **** not been launched yet?
Gordon has won the ****bos this match
I didn’t think either of his saved were that spectacular. The one from Doidge was bog standard, if that goes n there is a question mark over the keeper.
skyhibs
Wonder what Ross p1sh will be after the game...... we are murder
We've been toothless for the past 3-4 games and it's came back to haunt us again, too many players disappearing into their shells in big games, Boyle, Newell, etc. Small squad now showing with few options to change things. Why has Hallberg and Mallan not been brought on?
31-10-2020, 06:25 PM
And there it is, Gordon MOTM
even our own throw-in can't make it to a hibs player, utterly comical
And that in a nutshell is why Hibs have a disgraceful derby record. Nothing to do with "hating them more". We just don't have a team of natural winners. We did for a few years after the Cup win, but they've all gone. Hearts just have more belief - pure and simple.
Ross out.
Past problems aside you really are an attention seeking ****** sometimes.
Grim.
31-10-2020, 06:26 PM
Bottled it when it mattered. Again. And again.
Folk think we’re sorted in midfield as well.
Throw-ins are a problem aren't they?
Unacceptable to be taken to extra time given the chances we had in the first 90. Our "experienced" players, Hanlon et al have bottled it again.
Care to explain yet more nonsesne? Hanlon? Really?
Mr Grieves
Well if don't take chances then let in two poor goals. Poor.
Aye, completely self inflicted. Too many missed chances
What?
Marcianos record at pens is atrocious. I said the same during the Scotland game.
To be fair he never had a chance with that pen.
Hearts will be thinking that they should have bought Gordon last season
Enjoy your holiday. You don’t like watching Hibs
Toldo123
Why should we be surprised
Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk
I said in March if Jack Ross lost the derby and the semi-final he could go. He's probably lucky this game hasn't been played until now and we've had a good start to the season.
Nowhere near good enough tonight. Again in a big game. Jury well and truly still out for me.
Unacceptable to be taken to extra time given the chance we had in the first 90. Our "experienced" players, Hanlon et al have bottled it again.
Few more players are worse than him HC. Boyle was miles ahead of everyone for me in that department.
Opportunity lost yet again and bottle crashed
shamo9
Disappointing but not surprising.
Aye it's all Rocky's fault, imagine having the audacity to not save a penalty
Not really down to the keepers there though. Their player showed composure, ours bottled it, leant back and blew it.
31-10-2020, 06:27 PM
Care to explain yet more nonsesne? Hanlon? Really?
He's captain, he goes down with the ship. Does nothing to rile the boys up.
Sorry, but what are you meant to do against a referee like that?
1 min off the click and we have not touched ball.
About the most Hibs way to lose a Derby. Get handed a penalty that wasn't, miss it then they bury one at the other end.
At least we didn't have to watch them celebrating then sit on a bus for a couple of hours from Glasgow. Small mercies.
The more things change the more they stay the same. Support Hibs in a Derby and you'll be let down most of the time.
What?
We’ve already ascertained during this thread that it’s better than Gordon’s.
Awful since Hearts goal. Hang the heads the players.
31-10-2020, 06:28 PM
Annoyed at myself for getting so worked up about the game all week. They won it before a ball was kicked.
vahibbie
This might be the straw that breaks the camels back. I'm fekkin siick of Hibs teams that shoul have beat Hearts but didn't turn up. How the fk can we, the supporters be so up for it but our team continually disappointe. Totally scunnered and p!ssed off.
No goalie should ever have a ****ing chance with a free shot at goal from 12 yards out.
Looks like the bookies were right after all.
supermcginn
31-10-2020, 06:29 PM
Enjoy your holiday. You don’t like watching Hibs
It's you whos more a problem. Just lost a massive game yet again against a championship side.
Shot ourselves in the foot then put the gun to our head for good measure. They do t have to beat us when we do it ourselves so easily.
Awful since Hearts goal. Hang the heads the players.
The Captain....
These players have very little belief in themselves...this is a shocking result for the club. They were warned to be at it and have managed to under perform yet again. Absolutely unforgiveable not to beat this lot..sickened with them. Absolute bottle jobs.
Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
Just **** off Hibs, bottled yet another huge Edinburgh derby.
Sick of it.
Rumble de Thump
A few wee Jambos crawled out of the woodwork on this thread.
I’d agree. It doesn’t change the fact that I would never fancy him at a pen. And I really like the guy.
We missed a penalty, they scored one. Simple as. There was never going to be anything between the teams.
Absolutely embarrassed to be beat by that mob.
Hibs should have done better, but it was basically impossible with Collum & Hearts' anti-football. I'm more disgusted at them than Hibs.
An utter disgrace. Thankfully Hearts are that poor that I’ve no doubt Celtic or Aberdeen will stroll the final.
It's you whos more a problem. Just lost a massive game yet again against a championship side.
Correct. Once again we haven’t turned up.
The Captain....
31-10-2020, 06:30 PM
****ing disgraceful..gtf you bottling *******s
Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
What? Doidge was offside for our goal, and our penalty was soft. He is a ***** ref, not biased. We were the reason we never won.
Embarrassing. Bottlers. Poor all over.
A few wee Jambos crawled out of the woodwork on this thread.
Yeah, and later they can crawl back to the championship
Stonewall
Cheers folks-see you in about a week I think.
It's never our day against them. They always want the big ones more. Tedious 4th place finish with no fans to play for now. GJ lads.
i think this is only the 5th time in over 45 years of watching derbies that i can honestly say they fully deserved that win :agree:
Zambernardi1875
31-10-2020, 06:31 PM
More streetwise yet again.
Can we just not forfeit these games now as what really is the point in playing them? F****** sick of this pish as it’s the same old story again in Edinburgh derbies. Bunch of bottlers
We missed a penalty, they scored one. Simple as. There was never going to be anything between the teams.
Ross out though
31-10-2020, 06:32 PM
Gutted. Happens far too often, better team loses again, can partly blame ourselves but poorly refereed and they managed again to cheat just the right side of getting red cards
Absolutely disgraceful.
Cowards. Bottlers. Whatever you want to call them.
And as for Ross. It’s all right against Hamilton and St Mirren Jack, eh?
Should have had a penalty to win the game in the last minute, lots of niggling fouls going against us, not the end of the world although it probably feels like it since it was them
Puzzling how no matter the squad, no matter the manager, they are always more up for it in these games. Whatever else you can say about Hearts, and there’s a lot, they’ve found a way to make their players and staff see how important a game this is.
jakedance
Those two penalties say a lot about the Edinburgh derby. We’re our own worst enemy in these games. Sick of it.
Pathetic. Embarrassing. Players, managers can all gtf.
2006, 2012, 2020. Conceded 11 and scored 2. Shat it yet again.
My old man
just **** off hibs, bottled yet another huge edinburgh derby.
Sick of it.
this 100%
31-10-2020, 06:33 PM
Poor all round from us - we are a long way from being a decent team - too many players simply not good enough ... no wonder they are laughing at us again
31-10-2020, 06:33 PM
Very disappointed but not in the least surprised. Let down again and will be again in the future I suppose, that is what being a Hibs fan is.
31-10-2020, 06:34 PM
Disgraceful result and entirely predictable.
This side is going to have enough to reach about 5th or 6th by consistently beating the wee teams but they’re going to need to find much more to match the top 3 and have a decent derby record.
Fine margins, but Rocky watches their header go in when Gordon makes a world class save, and they take a cool penalty under pressure whilst we, er, don’t.
Looks like the bookies were right after all.
Back the outsider🤔
My old man
I’m done
Thanks for that day in May
But I’m done
Came down to the missed penalty really. Those giving it the ‘Hibsed it’ crap should be punted from here. Having said that, Boyle and Nisbet were well below their best today.
31-10-2020, 06:35 PM
hope they get stuffed in the final
They will they can only beat us
It’s just so typical Hibs WTF is it that allows them to beat us
I don't know why I'm disappointed with the result, having been a supporter since the Tornadoes days I should be use to it.
31-10-2020, 06:36 PM
Ross out though
Was out thought by Stendel and an absolutely brutal Hearts team last season. Tonight should have been a comfortable Hibs win. But again we're left lamenting luck, refs etc.
I'm really, really sick of it. Jack Ross will have to do a hell of a lot to get me back onside.
Surely noone is surprised by this?
Peanut Shaz
Puzzling how no matter the squad, no matter the manager, they are always more up for it in these games. Whatever else you can say about Hearts, and there’s a lot, they’ve found a way to make their players and staff see how important a game this is.
Said the same in an earlier post. They win the mind games every time.
hibeerealist
Ross I hope you read the .net you should ****** do one after that tonight. The supporters all knew the tricks they would use tonight yet you did not have them prepared for this.
Every time let them dictate how the game is played thank **** no fans in the ground this season as I will not be back
Players reading this go and do one you have let us down big time, we might not have been in the ground but we were there you shower of useless fannies
Where is the actual Martin Boyle? He’s been rotten for weeks now.
A few utterly terrible performers in our team that the rest can’t carry.
Knew it was coming. Didn't know how but knew we'd make a **** of it. Always the same. I've said nothing all week as no matter how ***** people say they are, and how good people think we are (we haven't won comfortably for weeks), we still have too many players that are mentally weak and far too inconsistent.
31-10-2020, 06:37 PM
**** the hertz, perhaps we will now realise that we are so short of quality it shows, and such a small squad, gives me the worry about where we go now.
:flag::flag:
eezyrider
They will they can only beat us
Annoying, but true.
EZ
Rumble de Thump
The only way Hearts were going to win today was if the referee let them cheat. They dived a lot, they fouled a lot and the referee let them away with almost everything.
Zambernardi1875
Same same but different.
Magpie
31-10-2020, 06:38 PM
We should have been awarded the penalty in the 90th minute but regardless we had our chance and we blew it. We didn’t turn up and show what we can really do today.
Biggest game of the season and we bottled it. A good league cup and Scottish cup run followed by a 3rd/4th place finish can only make up for this season.
We’ve already ascertained during this thread that it’s better than Gordon’s.
And yet both penalties went exactly as I expected them to.
Davy Mac
Fine lines and all that, you just can't separate both teams but hey, we are on the way back and our time will come.
Keep positive.
Not surprised, but bitterly disappointed, of course it came down to the penalties, but we were dire in all honesty. Key players e.g. Boyle anonymous. As for the subs, how is Mackie the best we can offer at that stage? Laughable.
Ross out.
Away and **** yourself. Erse.
It always looked a risky move to leave ourselves with only Nesbit and Doidge as experienced strikers. And tonight is a great example of why it was so stupid.
We didn't bring a single forward on as we had nothing on the bench. There is no plan B if one of the strikers isn't on form. But we have 3 left backs in the squad and about 6 central midfielders.
31-10-2020, 06:39 PM
We should have been awarded the penalty in the 90th minute but regardless we had our chance and we blew it. We didn’t turn up and show what we can really do today.
Biggest game of the season and we bottled it. A good league cup and Scottish cup run followed by a 3rd/4th place finish can only make up for this season.
Surely noone is surprised by this?
Not at all surprised. I can't even get angry.
They always seem to produce when it matters, even when they are in a lower division. It's disheartening, but I've come to expect it.
villahibs
Boyle and Doig are like playing with 9 men. Boyle’s second touch is a tackle and Doig brings absolutely nothing to the team. Mackie’s not great but looked 10 times the player...
Hermit Crab with his using trolling pish I see
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Where is the actual Martin Boyle? He’s been rotten for weeks now.
A few utterly terrible performers in our team that the rest can’t carry.
I get slaughtered for this but I still maintain he's a championship player at best. Posted missing again today. Not good enough.
BlackSheep
31-10-2020, 06:40 PM
Out come the always negative fans... probs beat to stay clear of this place for a few days...!
Imagine blaming the ref for that.
Are you aware we missed a pen to go 2-1 up?
Are you aware we missed a series of chances?
Are you aware we defended brutally?
Are you aware he started Magennis in the left of midfield.
Horrific. ****ing horrific.
Refs fault though.
Santa Cruz
I’m done
But I’m done
Steady
hibIBZ
31-10-2020, 06:41 PM
Not surprised, but bitterly disappointed, of course it came down to the penalties, but we were dire in all honesty. Key players e.g. Boyle anonymous. As for the subs, how is Mackie the best we can offer at that stage? Laughable.
Because Mackie is a left back and our first choice was bit available a d our other one needed to go off. Mackie was fine when he came on
Neilson quite reasonable in his summary of the game. Neither of them pens.
Craig Gordon was the difference today.
I get slaughtered for this but I still maintain he's a championship player at best. Posted missing again today. Not good enough.
He needs dropped to give him a kick up the arse!
Zambernardi1875
Boyle and Doig are like playing with 9 men. Boyle’s second touch is a tackle and Doig brings absolutely nothing to the team. Mackie’s not great but looked 10 times the player...
Absolutely this
H18S NX
We wurnae very good though,wur we? You don't your chances we don't win,too many players not up for it today, i seem to say the same thing every derby,ach well.
I don't know why I'm disappointed with the result, having been a supporter since the Tornadoes days I should be use to it.
Same but way before the Tornadoes, it's the hope that kills ya.
Fuzzywuzzy
We've still got this season's Scottish cup to look forward to🤣🤣
Hearts deserved their win. We were not brilliant but we weren't brutal. Some wrong decisions in our passing play didn't help
Out come the always negative fans... probs beat to stay clear of this place for a few days...!
Aye imagine a bit of negativity after losing a Scottish Cup semi final against one of the worst Hearts teams in years. 🙄
31-10-2020, 06:42 PM
His record in the Premiership proves beyond doubt he’s not.
His recent form has been rotten though.
More streetwise yet again.
Yep. We had the players to destroy them but yet again, they somehow come out on top. Particularly Boyle - why was he so tentative? Just run at them FFS and you'd rip the **** out of them.
Hibs have a massive psychological problem in these games and it's been going on for decades.
Doig is also hopeless.
supermcginn
31-10-2020, 06:43 PM
Was out thought by Stendel and an absolutely brutal Hearts team last season. Tonight should have been a comfortable Hibs win. But again we're left lamenting luck, refs etc.
I'm really, really sick of it. Jack Ross will have to do a hell of a lot to get me back onside.
He's lost against two of the worst hearts sides in the last 40 years with a side that isn't too bad at all. Awful
Time to get drunk and fast.
Doig is also hopeless.
I had big hopes for him and he's still young enough to come good but he wouldn't be near the first team for me right now.
supermcginn
Poor man's Ivan.
allmodcons
31-10-2020, 06:44 PM
I was on these boards moaning after the Ross County match through frustration to convert our chances.
Same again today, decision making in forward areas is at times terrible, We are wasteful when we get in to some great areas and positions.
supermcginn
31-10-2020, 06:44 PM
I had big hopes for him and he's still young enough to come good but he wouldn't be near the first team for me right now.
He's probably the last guy to blame ffs. What did he do wrong?
JXM73
31-10-2020, 06:45 PM
Came down to the missed penalty really. Those giving it the ‘Hibsed it’ crap should be punted from here. Having said that, Boyle and Nisbet were well below their best today.
Refund me my membership and I'll leave gladly, we bottLed it plain and simple...again and again..it's a trend we hibsed it.. dry yer eyes..
roo62
Neilson quite reasonable in his summary of the game. Neither of them pens.
Craig Gordon was the difference today.
...and he probably would have been had it gone to penalties as well. Top keeper.
Poor man's Ivan.
To be fair, there’ll never be another Ivan. Nobody with pace at our level will come close to matching how effective he was.
hibeerealist
Boyle is a headless chicken his selection by the Aussies has made him Think he is a player. Martin you have pace but little else you need to work hard and listen to people who know the game, you have some way to go.
Little football brain and pace = lottery
Sadly we relied on you for much more than you gave us
cjward2
PAINFUL, PAINFUL, PAINFUL. Worse than having a tooth removed. I hate this game that I love so much after a match like that.
Why is life so cruel???
Still, "We will support you ever more!!!":flag::flag:
Davy Mac
Yep. We had the players to destroy them but yet again, they somehow come out on top. Particularly Boyle - why was he so tentative? Just run at them FFS and you'd rip the **** out of them.
Hibs have a massive psychological problem in these games and it's been going on for decades.
What do they say, if you keep doing the same things you'll get the same result.
I just think Hibs don't treat a derby like the shxte do, so we need to change it. Jack Ross appears to see the derby game as a normal game - that's our current problem.
31-10-2020, 06:46 PM
Fine lines and all that, you just can't separate both teams but hey, we are on the way back and our time will come.
Keep positive.
You're a better man than me. Should be no fine lines against a championship team that's played two games.
...and he probably would have been had it gone to penalties as well. Top keeper.
Absolutely. The only thing that softened the blow for me when they scored their pen is that I didn’t fancy us in the slightest to win on penalties anyway.
Keep positive.
Man gie me a few pints of what you are drinking, I really, really need it as Hibs at times such as this can really **** with my mental health, perhaps time to give up on them for a few years, ****ing scunnered.
hibIBZ
Porteous and nisbet made the biggest mistakes in the game, but let's slaughter Boyle again and even have a go at Doig.
supermcginn
To be fair, there’ll never be another Ivan. Nobody with pace at our level will come close to matching how effective he was.
Because Mackie is a left back and our first choice was bit available a d our other one needed to go off. Mackie was fine when he came on
Fair enough, I don't rate him at all, but I'm just raging in the aftermath of another disgusting display, and disappointed that we had nobody on the bench that could improve things, we gave up once they scored their penalty.
We seemed to have overcome that in recent years but today was like the old days all over again. Gordon and Naismith the difference. Experience.
roo62
31-10-2020, 06:47 PM
Absolutely. The only thing that softened the blow for me when they scored their pen is that I didn’t fancy us in the slightest to win on penalties anyway.
Agreed
31-10-2020, 06:48 PM
Porteous and nisbet made the biggest mistakes in the game, but let's slaughter Boyle again and even have a go at Doig.
Na, Mcginn was ****ing gash as well. Missing for first goal, gives away second.
31-10-2020, 06:49 PM
One word. **** erred
31-10-2020, 06:50 PM
Refund me my membership and I'll leave gladly, we bottLed it plain and simple...again and again..it's a trend we hibsed it.. dry yer eyes..
Imagine being a Hibs fan and trying so hard to keep “Hibsed it” going. And you think others should dry their eyes! Get a grip.
Doig was fine. Boyle has been suspect for far too long, going back to Lennon's time imo. I thought Marciano took far too many risks and was too padestrian. Slowed everything down. We should have won but yet again against them didn't.
hibIBZ
If you watch the reply, Mcginn goes central to pick up Naismith, I think it was. Porto looks a wighton as he comes in to the box then gets caught underneath the cross ball watching with no idea where the man was
Got down the line and beat his man more times than Boyle.
Davy Mac
31-10-2020, 06:51 PM
You're a better man than me. Should be no fine lines against a championship team that's played two games.
Nah, they're pish, this will be as good as its going to get for these dicks, we are on a different path, and in truth, we were the better team, they relied on their keeper and Nisbet should have scored that penalty.
Fxck them, keep positive.
Typicaly predictable inept derby performance, it never changes game after game after game!
We are so soft and stand off them allowing too much space and time. Our mental attitude is poor, has been for decades in derbies, history doesn't lie we like to bottle it v hear7s no matter how poor they are or how good we may think we are!
Tonight was no different from too many previous derbies I've sadly witnessed over the years!
31-10-2020, 06:52 PM
Neilson's tactical substitutions were the nail in the coffin for our under par performance by most of our players. He got it right at the right time and Jack Ross didn't.
Let's move on.:flag:
Why does anybody even get angry any more. The fact is that when we play Hearts in any game of significance they find a way to win. If they are favourites they win, if we are favourites they win.
I don't blame Jack Ross, we had plenty of opportunities to score and we could only take any of them and at least twice we got the breaks as they missed a couple of good chances. That was as typical a derby as you will see, we were probably the better team, but we lost and that's not exactly a new thing is it?
We might as well accept it .... This is being a Hibs fan and if you can't accept it then why bother because clearly it isn't going to change. We do the same ***** all the time with the 'this is our city' stuff and all that and when it comes to proving that on the pitch we can't do it and all we end up doing is giving the Hearts fans a good laugh.
I take no pleasure in saying any of that .... but we get real, change things properly to turn decades of this crap around, or this is how its gonna be for years.
Boyle has been poor for some time now but it's been overlooked as we've ultimately been picking up points. Has lost some of his pace and isn't able to use what he does have to get past someone. Murphy showed that you can be half as quick but still drop the shoulder to beat a man.
As for Mackie I don't think he dine anything wrong? Doig offers us nothing and like Boyle is living of a good game or two at the start of the season. I'm happy to give him a chance but I don't see what others do and think that the club should be looking for a better left back if they think Stevenson is done.
Anyway our problems lie in depth. MacGennis hasn't shown much of anything and again maybe we have to wait until he starts showing his worth but he's been poor since coming in.
Drey Wright has been poor also. Basically if Boyle is playing poor then he still starts based on the others players coming in offering the same square root of heehaw.
For some reason we've only really got 2 recognised strikers and again when they don't look like scoring then who do you bring on?
I'm just disappointed in so many players in the squad. Either not good enough or not giving enough.
Boyle wasn’t brilliant but he still put 2 first half crosses in that on another day might have made the difference and won us the match.
We didn’t do enough to dominate possession in midfield, looked better when Murphy on but didn’t really deserve any more than we got.
If you lose goals from next to nothing and don’t take chances you don’t deserve anything.
Rather than pick out individuals (I don’t think anyone was particularly awful) it was just an inept team performance.
They weren’t great or even good. They just got the job done, which they have an infuriating habit of doing in derbies.
I find it difficult to remember when Hibs had a good result when playing on the same day as the egg chasers, just a thought but we never seen to do well no matter what the score is with the egg chasers.
I think the frustration is that Boyle has the ability to destroy teams but looked scared. You can't be scared in derbies.
31-10-2020, 06:53 PM
And yet both penalties went exactly as I expected them to.
Nothing to do with the keepers. Hearts player hit the target, hibs player didn’t.
1875Sean
I know there was a few people below par but for me Magennis shouldn’t have started, still looks off it due to lack of game time and I think Mallan deserved to start after the way he played against Killie
Criswell
Shocking penalty from Nisbet. cost us the game
31-10-2020, 06:54 PM
Nah, they're pish, this will be as good as its going to get for these dicks, we are on a different path, and in truth, we were the better team, they relied on their keeper and Nisbet should have scored that penalty.
Nope, they are on the up and we'll see Aberdeen pull ahead of us and Motherwell begin to catch us in the league. No way those team has enough guts or intelligence to win a trophy this season, especially with Sevco back on form.
Davy Mac
31-10-2020, 06:54 PM
Man gie me a few pints of what you are drinking, I really, really need it as Hibs at times such as this can really **** with my mental health, perhaps time to give up on them for a few years, ****ing scunnered.
I lost my mental health years ago with Hibs, but I've just learned not to expect to much until the tide changed and it is, this was their cup final today, Gordon was signed for this game, they are jobbies and let them go financially pop again trying to keep up with Hibs who are building for the future. I refuse to let Hibs ruin my weekend.
31-10-2020, 06:55 PM
It was Nisbet fault for 1st goal, he lost the ball in midfield & Porteous was all at sea.
Hibeesforever
31-10-2020, 06:56 PM
Scotland squad player goes AWOL with marking at the back post...problem right there!
31-10-2020, 06:57 PM
Nothing to do with the keepers. Hearts player hit the target, hibs player didn’t.
Not necessarily true. A lot easier to stick a pen on target against Andy McNeil than it is Manuel Neuer.
Marciano for how good he is, especially at shot stopping which is where you’d fancy a good penalty stopper to excel, is extremely poor at them. Not necessarily a criticism from today, just a general point.
It was Nisbet fault for 1st goal, he lost the ball in midfield & Porteous was all at sea.
With that logic, it will never be a defenders fault for a goal unless it’s then that gives the ball away. Our defenders weren’t close enough to their at the goal.
We were very poor. Nothing from our forward players. We will blame conditions but our wingers were awful. We aren’t great. Concentrate on getting points in the league.
HibbyDave
31-10-2020, 06:58 PM
I’m gonna stay off here for a few days.
Nah, Hearts changed tactics, made a couple of good subs and changed the game. We hoped for the best and got punished. Ross has not shown himself capable of changing things when it's not going our way. He's extremely conservative and has no plan B. We only have 2 senior strikers in the squad.
Had Nisbet been a wee bit more careful with his penalty then it would have been game over. The game outcome would have changed had Nisbet been 2 inches more left and lower.
Cost us the game!
1875godsgift
31-10-2020, 06:59 PM
Time to get drunk and fast.
I'd recommend eating if you're going to drink heavily.
Not necessarily true. A lot easier to stick a pen on target against Andy McNeil than it is Manuel Neuer.
Marciano for how good he is, especially at shot stopping which is where you’d fancy a good penalty stopper to excel, is extremely poor at them.
Clutching at straws there mate. What’s the first thing you need to do to score a penalty........ hit the target.
I’ve amended my post to point out that it wasn’t necessarily a criticism of him today, just in general. I never expect him to stop them.
31-10-2020, 07:00 PM
Real worry about that game was tactics from the managers. Neilson chucked haring and naismiith on and we struggled and there didn’t seem to be any active changes from the manager to change the game and get a better foothold.
31-10-2020, 07:01 PM
He's captain, he goes down with the ship. Does nothing to rile the boys up.
Nonsense.
hibIBZ
31-10-2020, 07:02 PM
Had Nisbet been a wee bit more careful with his penalty then it would have been game over. The game outcome would have changed had Nisbet been 2 inches more left and lower.
Cost us the game!
Pretty much this. Nisbet puts it away, we win and we talk about how that's the best they have got and we still won. Hearts played well and I don't think we played as bad as some on here will have you believe. They have a decent squad, I think ours should be stronger, but there was nothing between the teams other than some good saves and a missed penalty
Boyle wasn’t brilliant but he still put 2 first half crosses in that on another day might have made the difference and won us the match.
We didn’t do enough to dominate possession in midfield, looked better when Murphy on but didn’t really deserve any more than we got.
If you lose goals from next to nothing and don’t take chances you don’t deserve anything.
Rather than pick out individuals (I don’t think anyone was particularly awful) it was just an inept team performance.
They weren’t great or even good. They just got the job done, which they have an infuriating habit of doing in derbies.
It is impossible to dominate when gogic is playing. The guy is hopeless on the ball. If he plays you give up dominating the game in midfield and you have to play direct, which is what we do.
It wasn't an inept performance, we created the most chances in the match. But it was incredibly wasteful once again, not in just chances missed but the amount of times we got ourselves in a great attacking position only to make the wrong final ball, i can think of 2 off the top of my head where a relatively simple pass would put a player in 1 on 1. And if you don't take your chances when on top you can get punished. We even had a penalty that was never a penalty gifted to us and we wasted that too.
supermcginn
31-10-2020, 07:04 PM
Glad someone will say it. He really isn't that good.
31-10-2020, 07:06 PM
Mental game of rugby kicking off now. I think everyone should watch it. All to play for in the six nations.
31-10-2020, 07:07 PM
Real worry about that game was tactics from the managers. Neilson chucked haring and naismiith on and we struggled and there didn’t seem to be any active changes from the manager to change the game and get a better foothold.
Neilson had Naismith and Haring to chuck in though.
Our first XI is a lot stronger than theirs but the way the game went, other than Murphy we had f all really to change the game with.
Ok, I get Mallan might have cracked one in from 30 yards but you surrender too much in midfield in a derby if you have Mallan on.
Magpie
31-10-2020, 07:08 PM
Lose and he will find it hard to win back some fans.
It was inevitable.
31-10-2020, 07:10 PM
I’m done
But I’m done
C’mon mate, you’ve been here before, and we’ll be here again.
It’s called being a football fan.
I’m having a bonfire in the garden with some beers. Pretty insufferable to the rest of the family.
BlackSheep
31-10-2020, 07:11 PM
Aye imagine a bit of negativity after losing a Scottish Cup semi final against one of the worst Hearts teams in years. 🙄
Worst Hearts teams... 😂😂😂
hibee62
31-10-2020, 07:12 PM
Boyle has been poor since the killie game and tonight messed up many breakaways, however he also laid on two great chances that should have resulted in goals.
We controlled the game until they brought on haring and Naismith. They had a lot of possession but didn’t look threatening whereas we missed 3 good chances and would have had at least 1 more were it not for a questionable offside call.
When Naismith and haring came on hearts controlled it, and with Boyle off form our breakaways were a lot more toothless than before... although a few others still had their moments.
We might have won if we’d got the penalty in the last minute mind!
villahibs
He's probably the last guy to blame ffs. What did he do wrong?
He was awful mate and actually one of the first players who should be criticised. Gave the ball away continuously. Bullied every time a Hearts player was near him. The one it the corner flag in the second half when he had a 30 yard head start on Smith and got swatted aside like he wasn’t even there.... in all fairness I’m probably not the best person to discuss Doig. He’s not impressed me from the start . Just had a normal performance today but it’s taken a Derby defeat to open eyes a littl..
That’s one of the worst Hearts teams I’ve seen.
Doig is also hopeless.
He's not been the same since Frimpong tore him a new one at Parkhead, he had to pay to get back in several times that day as well.
31-10-2020, 07:13 PM
Ross I hope you read the .net you should ****** do one after that tonight. The supporters all knew the tricks they would use tonight yet you did not have them prepared for this.
Every time let them dictate how the game is played thank **** no fans in the ground this season as I will not be back
Players reading this go and do one you have let us down big time, we might not have been in the ground but we were there you shower of useless fannies
Didn’t have them prepared? We should have blown them away with the chances we had. Boyle as poor as I’ve seen him and he was one of the main culprits tonight as far as our failure was concerned.
You'd have to go back to 1981 for a worse hearts team.
supermcginn
You remind me of chemical Ali the day before iraq was swamped by our troops.
Indeed, it's a very poor side, but yet again we manage to lose to them. It's ridiculous.
31-10-2020, 07:14 PM
Struggled with the conditions - Boyle in particular. Hearts have an infuriating habit of making a big pitch look small when looking at the teams you’d expect Hibs to stretch them.
Another frustrating derby to watch and while the personnel changes over the years, Hearts more often than not seem more up for the battle. It was ours to win after being awarded the penalty but we fluffed our lines.
could have been worse, we could now be trudging back from hampden after yet another embarrassing defeat at the national stadium, skint, cold and soaking wet.
Robbo6-2
Paul Hanlon (captain) stated on Hibs offical semi build up programme that he would tell Josh Doig to treat it as just another game of football.
This sums up the difference between the two clubs. Hertz fans and players would all sell their granny for a derby win.
We are weak mentally, always have been and always will be with players in our squad like that. Sad but true.
The 120mins summed up being a Hibs fan. Its all good and well being the better football side but if you don't have the balls to take the game by the scruff of the neck and say we arent getting beat today. We had Porteous all over the place, Marciano flapping about the place, Hanlon making bad decisions and Boyle not getting at the full back. Our leaders let us down today massively and sadly it wont change until there is a fundamental change in the clubs mentality from top to bottom.
Magpie
31-10-2020, 07:15 PM
I agree. They were there for the taking. We didn’t act on it. Poor performance all round.
supermcginn
31-10-2020, 07:15 PM
I’m gonna stay off here for a few days.
Thanks for letting us know Dave. Hopefully the players don't bury their heads in the sand similarly.
BlackSheep
31-10-2020, 07:17 PM
Wow.... some of the comments... it wasn’t our day, we had good spells and bad, so did they... we didn’t take some chances, neither did they... a derby game where most of the time form etc goes out the window... we lost to an extra time penalty that shouldn’t have been given, we missed an extra time penalty that shouldn’t have been given! It was a fairly even match... whether both teams were pish or not. I’m disappointed as much as the rest, but let’s not dwell on it!
Back to 3rd in the Premiership, merited position too.... back to the League Cup... and back to this years Scottish....!
We have a European place to play for, chin up.
31-10-2020, 07:17 PM
Paul Hanlon (captain) stated on Hibs offical semi build up programme that he would tell Josh Doig to treat it as just another game of football.
This sums up the difference between the two clubs. Hertz fans and players would all sell their granny for a derby win.
We are weak mentally, always have been and always will be with players in our squad like that. Sad but true.
The 120mins summed up being a Hibs fan. Its all good and well being the better football side but if you don't have the balls to take the game by the scruff of the neck and say we arent getting beat today. We had Porteous all over the place, Marciano flapping about the place, Hanlon making bad decisions and Boyle not getting at the full back. Our leaders let us down today massively and sadly it wont change until there is a fundamental change in the clubs mentality from top to bottom.
And you Sir have hit the nail on the proverbial head :aok: real 'winners' don't come out with that nonsense :agree: not a dig at Paul at all, but mentality wise it's never just a game of football........ever.
BlackSheep
31-10-2020, 07:18 PM
Every time we play them the whole ‘worst hearts team’ comes out it’s B.S.
We’ve lost to worse and beaten better!
Magpie
31-10-2020, 07:19 PM
Even an out of form Celtic would or will put at least 3 goals past them.
31-10-2020, 07:20 PM
A half fit Andy Halliday, Craig Wighton, Aidy White and they've beaten us. In a semi. At Hampden. I don't know whether to laugh or cry.
BlackSheep
31-10-2020, 07:21 PM
Even an out of form Celtic would or will put at least 3 goals past them.
An out of form Celtic put 3 past us....
31-10-2020, 07:22 PM
Wow.... some of the comments... it wasn’t our day, we had good spells and bad, so did they... we didn’t take some chances, neither did they... a derby game where most of the time form etc goes out the window... we lost to an extra time penalty that shouldn’t have been given, we missed an extra time penalty that shouldn’t have been given! It was a fairly even match... whether both teams were pish or not. I’m disappointed as much as the rest, but let’s not dwell on it!
Back to 3rd in the Premiership, merited position too.... back to the League Cup... and back to this years Scottish....!
We have a European place to play for, chin up.
I know, it was tight, they weren’t great etc... we again and again we lose these games! Why is that? We’re all sick to death of the hard luck stories
7heaven
31-10-2020, 07:24 PM
Hibs should have had a free kick in midfield leading up to their 1st. Goal.
Not Nisbets fault at all.
Collums fault.
31-10-2020, 07:26 PM
I find it difficult to remember when Hibs had a good result when playing on the same day as the egg chasers, just a thought but we never seen to do well no matter what the score is with the egg chasers.
Oh, I like that. I've no idea if you're right, but the first time I was at ER same day as the rugby, Scotland beat Wales at Murrayfield while we huffed and puffed to a tedious 0-0 draw against Dundee. First division, early 81.
Perhaps we need to orchestrate postponements if we're same day as Scorug?
31-10-2020, 07:28 PM
A half fit Andy Halliday, Craig Wighton, Aidy White and they've beaten us. In a semi. At Hampden. I don't know whether to laugh or cry.
They wanted it more. team of huddies tucked us away again.
31-10-2020, 07:28 PM
Hard to argue with that. Half fit, not up to speed and I don’t doubt anybody would debate that they have a much poorer starting 11. It all points to them wanting it more than us.
31-10-2020, 07:34 PM
Never agree with that 'wanted it more' argument HC, it's lazy - the players without question go into games wanting to win and wanting a result.
The game result was fine margins - as I said in another thread, what annoys me is a manager and players saying it's just another game of football and the cliche of play the game not the occasion...........football is a short career, not many get to finals, so play the occasion :agree: but in the lead up, make them realise the occasion (and that it's rare).
31-10-2020, 07:34 PM
Missed chances in the first half cost us dear. The game changed in their favour with the substitutions of Haring and Naismith. They kept the midfield tight, and took their chances. Seen it all before, and no doubt will do so again.
31-10-2020, 07:38 PM
Never agree with that 'wanted it more' argument HC, it's lazy - the players without question go into games wanting to win and wanting a result.
The game result was fine margins - as I said in another thread, what annoys me is a manager and players saying it's just another game of football and the cliche of play the game not the occasion...........football is a short career, not many get to finals, so play the occasion :agree: but in the lead up, make them realise the occasion (and that it's rare).
yes, but seven times out of 10 they still win. If it’s not down to quality, and it’s not down to desire, then what on earth is it? Hibs fans are sick of excuses. We just want to win
31-10-2020, 07:38 PM
Struggled with the conditions - Boyle in particular. Hearts have an infuriating habit of making a big pitch look small when looking at the teams you’d expect Hibs to stretch them.
Another frustrating derby to watch and while the personnel changes over the years, Hearts more often than not seem more up for the battle. It was ours to win after being awarded the penalty but we fluffed our lines.
Yip, we never used the width. Always cut in. Infuriating.
Considering the players we have and the threat in the air.
Still raging at the penalty miss.
Magpie
31-10-2020, 07:39 PM
Andy Halliday probably played about 3 or 4 full games in the last year. Wighton was punted out on loan to Arbroath last season, did he even score for them? White nearly retired after being out for several years with injury. Haring been injured for about a year. Naismith a walking sick note.
Not good enough at all.
31-10-2020, 07:41 PM
We were unlucky but I’m gutted. Hearts didn’t deserve to win but they did, we’ll survive 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
31-10-2020, 07:42 PM
Someone just told me we have never beaten them at Hampden, surely that can’t be right?
31-10-2020, 07:46 PM
What did Ross say afterwards?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
31-10-2020, 07:47 PM
I know there was a few people below par but for me Magennis shouldn’t have started, still looks off it due to lack of game time and I think Mallan deserved to start after the way he played against Killie
Agree but Riss didn’t Fir me conditions screamed for a player like Mallan to shoot from distance
Davy Mac
31-10-2020, 07:48 PM
You remind me of chemical Ali the day before iraq was swamped by our troops.
Clearly you've not been a Hibby for very long, that's offensive as fxck to be fair.
31-10-2020, 07:53 PM
Someone just told me we have never beaten them at Hampden, surely that can’t be right?
unfortunately it is