View Full Version : Could Coronavirus see the football season ended early?
Don't take it as gospel. It was just what was said at the trade counter this morning.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
👌👍
09-03-2020, 03:21 PM
Israel want the playoff to be postponed, their manager is in isolation.
Is that confirmed? I've got tickets but no way should go ahead if their manager can't travel.
TimeForHeroes16
09-03-2020, 03:22 PM
F'me ........ He wasn't in Tamsons before the Hearts game was he, coz I've felt like ***** for the last two days :confused:
I was in Tamsons too but I’m feeling fine😂😂😂
09-03-2020, 03:26 PM
Downing Street said the prime minister "will be guided by the best scientific advice" but there was no need to cancel sporting events at this stage.
Boris - just the man you want in times of crisis ………………………...…...…………...
09-03-2020, 03:32 PM
Boris - just the man you want in times of crisis ………………………...…...…………...
From The Twitter:
That government coronavirus plan in full:
Contain: tell people to wash hands.
Delay: tell people we're still in contain phase
Research: wonder why people are getting ill
Mitigate: shift the blame onto anyone else
Cataplana
09-03-2020, 04:25 PM
From The Twitter:
That government coronavirus plan in full:
Contain: tell people to wash hands.
Delay: tell people we're still in contain phase
Research: wonder why people are getting ill
Mitigate: shift the blame onto anyone else
Looks like Cummings star is on the wane. A month ago it would just have been, "we're going to get the job done, woff, woff, wollah."
09-03-2020, 04:34 PM
Looks like Cummings star is on the wane. A month ago it would just have been, "we're going to get the job done, woff, woff, wollah."
Just heard the end of Johnson's press conference and his summing up was pretty much that so long as everyone kept washing their hands and continued to believe this great country of ours would triumph, it would. Woff woff wollah. An utter slaver.
McSwanky
09-03-2020, 04:44 PM
Just heard the end of Johnson's press conference and his summing up was pretty much that so long as everyone kept washing their hands and continued to believe this great country of ours would triumph, it would. Woff woff wollah. An utter slaver.I listened to a bit of that, and I actually felt he talked quite well. And I'm no Boris fan, let me tell you. I'm reassured by the fact that it looks very much like the government are seeking advice and creating policy based on information from proper medical and science subject matter experts.
Sent from my HRY-LX1 using Tapatalk
09-03-2020, 04:52 PM
I actually felt he talked quite well.
For a person with absolutely no concept of what a spoken English sentence should sound like, perhaps.
wallpaperman
09-03-2020, 04:57 PM
For a person with absolutely no concept of what a spoken English sentence should sound like, perhaps.
What would you prefer, he starts flapping and wibbling and sends the country into even more of a panic than some already are (the bulk big roll buyers, for example)?
09-03-2020, 05:06 PM
Just heard the end of Johnson's press conference and his summing up was pretty much that so long as everyone kept washing their hands and continued to believe this great country of ours would triumph, it would. Woff woff wollah. An utter slaver.
Boris's version of Churchill's "fight them on the beaches" speech.
Cataplana
09-03-2020, 05:06 PM
I have nothing to offer but blood, sweat and tears. But if you wash your hands regularly, woff, woff.
Meanwhile, Hancock thinks he is going to recruit 1,000,000 volunteers to "help out" in hospitals.
09-03-2020, 05:10 PM
I think Boris is a twat but by and large I think the government are managing this as best as they probably can.
09-03-2020, 05:21 PM
What would you prefer, he starts flapping and wibbling and sends the country into even more of a panic than some already are (the bulk big roll buyers, for example)?
Would prefer him to **** off out of the picture and let people who understand what they're talking about talk. It's like Frankie Howerd introducing the medics with his oooh, aaah, tyooo wibbling. An unfunnier Frankie Howerd, that is, who thinks he's Thatcher or Churchill. Embarrassing.
Cataplana
09-03-2020, 05:24 PM
Would prefer him to **** off out of the picture and let people who understand what they're talking about talk. It's like Frankie Howerd introducing the medics with his oooh, aaah, tyooo wibbling. An unfunnier Frankie Howerd, that is, who thinks he's Thatcher or Churchill. Embarrassing.
Titter ye not.
09-03-2020, 05:36 PM
All sport in Italy has been suspended until at least the 3rd of April
09-03-2020, 05:43 PM
All sport in Italy has been suspended until at least the 3rd of April
There’s Italian football on right now?
wallpaperman
09-03-2020, 05:44 PM
That’s not really the point in hand though, is it?
09-03-2020, 05:47 PM
There’s Italian football on right now?
Guess after today then, BBC reporting that!
09-03-2020, 05:52 PM
I’m no fan of Boris but he is the Prime Minister. His job isn’t to know everything but to listen to those who do know know and direct people accordingly. The medics should be behind the scenes working and Boris should be in front of the cameras talking. His style isn’t to my liking but it is to large swathes of the country, as far as I can see he’s doing ok here.
09-03-2020, 06:03 PM
That’s not really the point in hand though, is it?
He seems to imagine he's leading the country through a crisis, but he's not. His government is simply allowing Italy's experience, currently 100 deaths a day, to be replicated here. This mantra about handwashing being the very best possible thing that everyone can do, and it's too early to take measures that might well be effective because if the government takes them too early people might get bored of them later, is pitiful. He may be taking some advice from scientists and medics, but I'd put money on him taking far more from people telling him how the economic hit from effective measures will eventually make him look bad. He's a complete fraud.
Sheep_Nae_Mair
09-03-2020, 06:32 PM
He seems to imagine he's leading the country through a crisis, but he's not. His government is simply allowing Italy's experience, currently 100 deaths a day, to be replicated here. This mantra about handwashing being the very best possible thing that everyone can do, and it's too early to take measures that might well be effective because if the government takes them too early people might get bored of them later, is pitiful. He may be taking some advice from scientists and medics, but I'd put money on him taking far more from people telling him how the economic hit from effective measures will eventually make him look bad. He's a complete fraud.
09-03-2020, 06:58 PM
I’m no fan of Boris but he is the Prime Minister. His job isn’t to know everything but to listen to those who do know know and direct people accordingly. The medics should be behind the scenes working and Boris should be in front of the cameras talking. His style isn’t to my liking but it is to large swathes of the country, as far as I can see he’s doing ok here.
Would the culture of how Italians greet each other play a factor in it possibly spreading a bit quicker?
09-03-2020, 07:35 PM
Hibs have moved tomorrow's Development game against Aberdeen from Tranent to East Mains and playing it behind closed doors because of the virus. Seems a bit excessive at this stage of the outbreak.
09-03-2020, 07:53 PM
Serie A suspended.
Chorley Hibee
09-03-2020, 07:56 PM
Hibs have moved tomorrow's Development game against Aberdeen from Tranent to East Mains and playing it behind closed doors because of the virus. Seems a bit excessive at this stage of the outbreak.
Especially whilst first team games remain unaffected.
Frankhfc
09-03-2020, 08:01 PM
Probably just being cautious if its behind closed doors because of the virus. Its looking more likely every day that we might not see the season out. I hope that isn't the case but it doesn't sound promising. Just have to wait and see and hope the virus doesn't spread as much as its feared to I suppose.
euro Hibby
09-03-2020, 08:14 PM
actually Italy is on full lockdown from midnight.... My guess is that france , Germany and anyone else has not admitted yet that this is a huge issue. I mean why should Italy have more cases than its neighbours ?
09-03-2020, 08:18 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200309/401ba62e134d68375757f4091919134a.jpg
scooby
09-03-2020, 08:33 PM
actually Italy is on full lockdown from midnight.... My guess is that france , Germany and anyone else has not admitted yet that this is a huge issue. I mean why should Italy have more cases than its neighbours ?
Italy has a large ageing population, and the virus has unfortunately affected large numbers of this group.
09-03-2020, 08:34 PM
Italy has one of the oldest average ages in the world, that may explain the higher death rate. Although Germany is similar and it doesn't seem to be as impacted. It also has a health care system that scores in the lower half of the European rankings albeit that depends on what model you use.
euro Hibby
09-03-2020, 08:35 PM
The horrible truth is that we have 3000 intensive care artifiscial breathing machines for the nation 67 million people.
Hospitals like Milan are completely full. Doctors who we know work there are saying the situation is apocolyptic... such that any available machines
are not being given to the over 60 's.
While younger folk are stronger many of them still need a machine ! The works is stay away from hospitals....
Not good here !!
Boris is a fraud !!
Guess after today then, BBC reporting that!
From tomorrow, Tuesday.
09-03-2020, 08:54 PM
the horrible truth is that we have 3000 intensive care artifiscial breathing machines for the nation 67 million people.
Hospitals like milan are completely full. Doctors who we know work there are saying the situation is apocolyptic... Such that any available machines
While younger folk are stronger many of them still need a machine ! The works is stay away from hospitals....
Not good here !!
Boris is a fraud !!
ffs
09-03-2020, 08:57 PM
The horrible truth is that we have 3000 intensive care artifiscial breathing machines for the nation 67 million people.
Hospitals like Milan are completely full. Doctors who we know work there are saying the situation is apocolyptic... such that any available machines
Not good here !!
Boris is a fraud !!
Is that in Italy?
What's the script with beds in the UK/Scotland.
euro Hibby
09-03-2020, 09:07 PM
yes Italy..
09-03-2020, 09:12 PM
Poor old Lazio. They're never going to win it are they.
09-03-2020, 09:17 PM
Italy has one of the oldest average ages in the world, that may explain the higher death rate. Although Germany is similar and it doesn't seem to be as impacted. It also has a health care system that scores in the lower half of the European rankings albeit that depends on what model you use.
It's heartbreaking. Our village in the South has just had two confirmed cases and the medical care available in the South is not tooled up for this. I think Italy is paying a high price for the cross over between older population, geography and social customs.
It's still a huge cluster compared to everywhere else though - there must be something specific at work there.
The Baldmans Comb
09-03-2020, 09:22 PM
The English haven't quite come to terms with the scale of this crisis yet but in time they will and then they will move quickly and with vigour.
They arent a country that produces good individual leaders but they organise exceptionally well and build solutions.
Its going to cost them their euro 2020 finals though as that and the rest of the tail end football season is going to be decimated
euro Hibby
09-03-2020, 09:25 PM
As I said, it could be that other goverments are hiding the real numbers....when are goverments fully transparent ! ? Anyway, this is a very real issue and it can effect everyone !
Chorley Hibee
09-03-2020, 09:37 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200309/401ba62e134d68375757f4091919134a.jpg
Yet it doesn't include Italian teams in the Champions League/Europa League.
Utter nonsense, does the virus only affect certain competitions?
BegbieHSC
09-03-2020, 10:40 PM
State of Bavaria has banned gatherings of over 1000 people for the next month.
Bayern will therefore play their home games during that period (Chelsea, Frankfurt, potentially CL quarterfinal first leg) behind closed doors. I can see the bundesliga being suspended.
I think we’re on our way guys.
09-03-2020, 11:01 PM
Bayern will therefore play their home games during that period (Chelsea, Frankfurt, potentially CL quarterfinal first leg) behind closed doors. I can see the bundesliga being suspended.
What would that mean for the team who's top and the teams that are bottom?
09-03-2020, 11:25 PM
It's heartbreaking. Our village in the South has just had two confirmed cases and the medical care available in the South is not tooled up for this. I think Italy is paying a high price for the cross over between older population, geography and social customs.
It's still a huge cluster compared to everywhere else though - there must be something specific at work there.
Can I ask which is your village please?
10-03-2020, 12:02 AM
This is one of the reasons why I think the Euro's could still go ahead, UEFA's financial lost will be too great. This day and age money > people.
-Jonesy-
10-03-2020, 12:02 AM
I have been fairly relaxed, though realistic, about the threat of Coronavirus however this testimony of a medic working in Bergamo (https://www.reddit.com/r/medicine/comments/ff8hns/testimony_of_a_surgeon_working_in_bergamo_in_the/") reads like horror science fiction and people seriously need to wake up and stop acting as if this is some kind of common cold and no real big deal.
10-03-2020, 12:07 AM
Probably just being cautious if its behind closed doors because of the virus. Its looking more likely every day that we might not see the season out. I hope that isn't the case but it doesn't sound promising. Just have to wait and see and hope the virus doesn't spread as much as its feared to I suppose.
This is probably to protect the first team players for as long as possible. These development and other youth games tend to be a bit more intimate affairs with folk coming and going and talking to coaches and players, and if it's at HTC you don't want people walking around touching things that the players are interacting with. Albeit they could get infected anywhere but I guess the training centre is somewhere the club can control and if playing a development game behind closed doors minimises the risk then it's sensible.
10-03-2020, 01:31 AM
I’m no fan of Boris but he is the Prime Minister. His job isn’t to know everything but to listen to those who do know know and direct people accordingly. The medics should be behind the scenes working and Boris should be in front of the cameras talking. His style isn’t to my liking but it is to large swathes of the country, as far as I can see he’s doing ok here.yup. he's doing great. looks like he's taking a leaf out of Mr Trump's book. gaun yersel Bozo.
10-03-2020, 01:33 AM
Would the culture of how Italians greet each other play a factor in it possibly spreading a bit quicker?mama mia:rolleyes:
10-03-2020, 05:18 AM
Would the culture of how Italians greet each other play a factor in it possibly spreading a bit quicker?
I would think so.
Here in France most most people are cutting out handshaking and cheek kissing as a greeting (directives have been issued in workplaces, clubs/associations, etc.).
BegbieHSC
10-03-2020, 05:25 AM
What would that mean for the team who's top and the teams that are bottom?
No idea.
I reckon it’s pretty inevitable that this current football season is gonna be suspended.
If teams like Bayern are having to forfeit home support/advantage in knockout champions league games, UEFA will issue a blanket suspension I’m sure.
Unbelievable times.
10-03-2020, 06:34 AM
If Italian teams can't travel then I imagine they will be eliminated. That's assuming the continental competitions aren't suspended
E: just realised the quarter finals are after the Italian quarantine is supposed to end. Suppose we will see how the situation develops but in a best case scenario they can possibly continue playing in the competition, with some games behind closed doors
10-03-2020, 07:36 AM
I would think so.
Here in France most most people are cutting out handshaking and cheek kissing as a greeting (directives have been issued in workplaces, clubs/associations, etc.).
Interesting so that has came up at a high level. Makes sense of course.
Greenworld
10-03-2020, 07:40 AM
Looks like reading various comments that if the season had to end prematurely the the positions of teams us the stand would be the final league positions .
Celtic win the league Hearts relegated .
Who want it to end now [emoji23][emoji23]
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
There’s literally a thread at the top of the forum about this exact topic.....
10-03-2020, 08:49 AM
Can I ask which is your village please?
Our village is Atina, near Monte Cassino. A relative in Greenock spoke to a medic relative there at the weekend. I don't know whether the cases are in the old town or down by Melfa.
Greenio
10-03-2020, 09:17 AM
Here in Victoria Australia (the state with Melbourne) we are being told that total shut down is a guarantee (I'd guess by tomorrow) - so schools, events (inc F1 GP), large portions of work etc, are all to be closed. First time I've actually thought, ****, this is pretty intense.
We are a lot closer to 'the source' but that doesn't matter anymore now that it's out (hence China reopening today) so I'd expect the same in most other countries to go the same way.
Anyone know what the SPL, SFA have in place in terms of emergency plans? Like all big business this kind of situation will have an approved strategy I'd imagine.
10-03-2020, 09:22 AM
Anyone know what the SPL, SFA have in place in terms of emergency plans? Like all big business this kind of situation will have an approved strategy I'd imagine.
SPL strategy: "Jabba, is it ok if we award the league title to Celtc as they're so far ahead?"
Jabba: "No."
SPL: "League is void this year"
SFA strategy: "In line with the SPL we've decided to void the Cup competition this year"
Greenio
10-03-2020, 09:27 AM
SPL strategy: "Jabba, is it ok if we award the league title to Celtc as they're so far ahead?"
Jabba: "No."
SPL: "League is void this year"
SFA strategy: "In line with the SPL we've decided to void the Cup competition this year"
ha!
I'd be in favour of an afternoon of five asides wi masks - winner takes aw!
10-03-2020, 10:04 AM
It’s all well and good for English Premier League clubs to suck up a few games behind closed doors, TV money is the bulk of their income.
Up here, match day revenue is, several games behind closed doors could conceivably push any club that was on the edge over it, never mind if the rest of the season was cancelled.
10-03-2020, 10:07 AM
ha!
I'd be in favour of an afternoon of five asides wi masks - winner takes aw!
Get a modern lager to sponsor an up to date "Corona Sixes?"
10-03-2020, 10:08 AM
It’s all well and good for English Premier League clubs to suck up a few games behind closed doors, TV money is the bulk of their income.
Up here, match day revenue is, several games behind closed doors could conceivably push any club that was on the edge over it, never mind if the rest of the season was cancelled.
Given that people actually dying is another possible outcome, I think a football club losing a bit of cash is very far down the list of priorities.
10-03-2020, 10:08 AM
It’ll certainly be interesting to see how some sides handle it.
Greenio
10-03-2020, 10:11 AM
The financial impact on clubs would be dire. Would they be insured against gate losses? No idea.
In terms of rules, Rule C14 in the SPFL book states that the league will "disregarding any abandoned or postponed matches'
Take from that what you will, but Stendal out in the press today saying that can't happen would leave me to believe that current places would stand.
The Baldmans Comb
10-03-2020, 10:15 AM
The English governments attitude to mass football and rugby gatherings seems remarkably relaxed so far.
Their attitude seems to be that the CoronaVirus is going to move through the population and there isn't really much you can do about it so why go down the maximum disruption and inconvenience approach.
It would seem a difficult line hold to as governments usually feel they need to be seen to do something just for the sake of it.
10-03-2020, 10:16 AM
The financial impact on clubs would be dire. Would they be insured against gate losses? No idea.
In terms of rules, Rule C14 in the SPFL book states that the league will "disregarding any abandoned or postponed matches'
Take from that what you will, but Stendal out in the press today saying that can't happen would leave me to believe that current places would stand.
Let’s just call it off now :greengrin
10-03-2020, 10:17 AM
Given that people actually dying is another possible outcome, I think a football club losing a bit of cash is very far down the list of priorities.
I didn’t say it shouldn’t happen. But it will have consequences, football clubs, businesses etc will likely go bust during any prolonged shut downs.
Steven79
10-03-2020, 10:17 AM
That would be priceless!
Can we cancel the season before Hearts play St Mirren just incase...
10-03-2020, 10:18 AM
Pinched from FB. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200310/52879ddc26820a6c412923aea5230f1b.jpg
10-03-2020, 10:18 AM
The English governments attitude to mass football and rugby gatherings seems remarkably relaxed so far.
Their attitude seems to be that the CoronaVirus is going to move through the population and there isn't really much you can do about it so why go down the maximum disruption and inconvenience approach.
It would seem a difficult line hold to as governments usually feel they need to be seen to do something just for the sake of it.
Given the ‘beliefs’ of Cummings and his cadre of advisors, it wouldn’t be a huge shock to find out they’re quite keen on the idea of the virus reducing the population of old and sick people.
10-03-2020, 10:19 AM
I concur. The top of the league is irrelevant really but I strongly believe that the team at the bottom should definitely be relegated as of now. Not sure who that is but it should definitely happen
10-03-2020, 10:20 AM
I concur. The top of the league is irrelevant really but I strongly believe that the team at the bottom should definitely be relegated as of now. Not sure who that is but it should definitely happen
Without even looking to check who it is, I have to agree.
Steven79
10-03-2020, 10:21 AM
Without even looking to check who it is, I have to agree.
Some diddy team I imagine who won't be missed...
10-03-2020, 10:26 AM
If there's the possibility of clubs needing to play behind closed doors, there should be an allowance made for pay per view online live match feed.
10-03-2020, 10:32 AM
One nickname for Munich is 'Italy's Most Northerly City'.
The number of Italians, and those of Italian descent, living there is incredibly high.
So they must have a lot of interaction with northern Italy.
The Baldmans Comb
10-03-2020, 10:33 AM
Given the ‘beliefs’ of Cummings and his cadre of advisors, it wouldn’t be a huge shock to find out they’re quite keen on the idea of the virus reducing the population of old and sick people.
I don't know who "Cummings" is sorry and wouldn't believe for a moment that is their motivation.
They would have done the stats and concluded that the same number of people going to die and its just the time period you spread that over that is the factor.
It seems remarkable that flights are just going in and out of Italy from England just as normal though you would imagine that will change within hours.
10-03-2020, 10:49 AM
The nottingham forest owner - who was at their most recent game has confirmed that he has Coronavirus.
London Hibs FC
10-03-2020, 10:51 AM
All La Liga games now to be played behind closed doors.
10-03-2020, 11:05 AM
If there's the possibility of clubs needing to play behind closed doors, there should be an allowance made for pay per view online live match feed.
I’d doubt hibs tv could handle the traffic.
10-03-2020, 11:06 AM
I don't know who "Cummings" is sorry and wouldn't believe for a moment that is their motivation.
They would have done the stats and concluded that the same number of people going to die and its just the time period you spread that over that is the factor.
It seems remarkable that flights are just going in and out of Italy from England just as normal though you would imagine that will change within hours.The stats have been done a few times, there's even a good graph on one of the threads on here.
Option a, let it hit us 'naturally' and the volume increase will result in the NHS being over run at one point with not all those that need it getting full access to critical care systems, the positive is that it runs to its end game sooner than option b, so that those that are left can get on with their lives quicker
Option b, take precautions, isolate the population etc etc... Ultimately, pretty much the same people will catch the virus, the big difference is that as the problem is spread out over a longer period then there's a greater chance that those that fall ill will have access to the critical care systems that will save their lives (more lives saved overall), the negative in this instance is of course it'll take longer till its all over and those that are left can get on with their lives.
10-03-2020, 11:37 AM
The stats have been done a few times, there's even a good graph on one of the threads on here.
Option a, let it hit us 'naturally' and the volume increase will result in the NHS being over run at one point with not all those that need it getting full access to critical care systems, the positive is that it runs to its end game sooner than option b, so that those that are left can get on with their lives quicker
Option b, take precautions, isolate the population etc etc... Ultimately, pretty much the same people will catch the virus, the big difference is that as the problem is spread out over a longer period then there's a greater chance that those that fall ill will have access to the critical care systems that will save their lives (more lives saved overall), the negative in this instance is of course it'll take longer till its all over and those that are left can get on with their lives.
The other positive for Option A is, of course, that this will make the NHS look bad. This will allow further pushing towards a privatised health system, which is, of course, exactly what the prime minister would like.
10-03-2020, 12:23 PM
On one hand possibly, but the elderly overwhelmingly vote Tory so maybe not
10-03-2020, 12:49 PM
EPL could be streamed for free and the 3pm blackout stopped, if games are to be played behind closed doors.
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-8093375/Premier-League-games-streamed-free-charge-played-closed-doors.html
Cataplana
10-03-2020, 01:03 PM
On one hand possibly, but the elderly overwhelmingly vote Tory so maybe not
How many voters are likely to die as a result of Covid? Even on the worst case estimates , it's not going to make much difference at an election.
Some extreme views & conspiracy theories on display here, sad really.
10-03-2020, 01:33 PM
How many voters are likely to die as a result of Covid? Even on the worst case estimates , it's not going to make much difference at an election.
Actually you're probably right. Absolute worst case scenario could see hundreds of thousands dead though, the vast majority being elderly people who are A) very likely to vote and B) very likely to vote Tory
Those kind of numbers could have an impact on elections but I think it's unlikely and I think the Tories have too strong a grip at this point anyway
stu in nottingham
10-03-2020, 01:52 PM
The nottingham forest owner - who was at their most recent game has confirmed that he has Coronavirus.
Quite shocking news.
https://www.nottinghampost.com/sport/football/football-news/nottingham-forest-release-statement-after-3934989
10-03-2020, 02:01 PM
Some extreme views & conspiracy theories on display here, sad really.
Some real nonsense being spouted and it's all very predictable I'm afraid.
Cataplana
10-03-2020, 02:05 PM
Actually you're probably right. Absolute worst case scenario could see hundreds of thousands dead though, the vast majority being elderly people who are A) very likely to vote and B) very likely to vote Tory
Those kind of numbers could have an impact on elections but I think it's unlikely and I think the Tories have too strong a grip at this point anyway
I was really hoping you would see the impact is likely to be so small that speculating on winning and losing votes is as pointless as it is naff.
10-03-2020, 02:35 PM
Quite shocking news.
https://www.nottinghampost.com/sport/football/football-news/nottingham-forest-release-statement-after-3934989
The fact he met the players and coaching staff surely means that they all need to go into quarantine / isolation? I can't see how they can play any games for two weeks tbh.
KingPat4
10-03-2020, 02:54 PM
As long as Hearts are relegated, I don't care.
10-03-2020, 03:34 PM
I see Ryan McGivern is self-isolating. His current club probably won’t notice any difference!
stu in nottingham
10-03-2020, 03:41 PM
The fact he met the players and coaching staff surely means that they all need to go into quarantine / isolation? I can't see how they can play any games for two weeks tbh.
Indeed. I'm strugglig to get my head around the full possible consequences of this one.
10-03-2020, 03:43 PM
I see Ryan McGivern is self-isolating. His current club probably won’t notice any difference!
No reports of Yves Makalambay having caught anything yet...
10-03-2020, 04:33 PM
German Hockey League has now fully cancelled the rest of their season and won't declare a winner. Quite an interesting decision and probably sets a precedent for future cases of tournaments being cancelled.
Frankhfc
10-03-2020, 05:20 PM
German Hockey League has now fully cancelled the rest of their season and won't declare a winner. Quite an interesting decision and probably sets a precedent for future cases of tournaments being cancelled.
I don't think the German Hockey League will set precedent. If I remember correctly Golf has the discretion whether or not to award tournament winners in the event that 72 holes are uncompleted. Just my opinion but it'll very likely be discretionary and not set in stone. It'll be controversial whichever way the cookie crumbles I'd imagine.
Hope the Hearts get relegated :cb
10-03-2020, 05:26 PM
No reports of Yves Makalambay having caught anything yet...
👍
10-03-2020, 05:38 PM
I don't think the German Hockey League will set precedent. If I remember correctly Golf has the discretion whether or not to award tournament winners in the event that 72 holes are uncompleted. Just my opinion but it'll very likely be discretionary and not set in stone. It'll be controversial whichever way the cookie crumbles I'd imagine.
Hope the Hearts get relegated :cb
Sorry I didn't mean that them doing it would guarantee anyone following suit. But I could imagine a few current officials are looking at it with interest to see how it's reacted to.
Personally I think closed door play offs for certain things (Titles, europe, relegation, promotion) would be an option looked at if it ever gets to that point.
Green Badger
10-03-2020, 06:16 PM
Italian FA suggesting three options.
Current league positions stand
Play-offs to decide champions/Europe and relegation teams
Call this season void
10-03-2020, 06:22 PM
👍
Rocky nearly caught it but decided to punch it away
10-03-2020, 06:27 PM
Huns game closed door next week
10-03-2020, 06:27 PM
Gives them an advantage, shouldn’t be allowed
Potty78
10-03-2020, 06:28 PM
Anyone else think the semi may be played behind closed doors?
10-03-2020, 06:28 PM
Italian FA suggesting three options.
Current league positions stand
Play-offs to decide champions/Europe and relegation teams
Call this season void
Also seen a suggestion about moving euro 2020 to next summer to also allow teams to complete their seasons.
To be honest, final places as is should be obvious choice. The season is 3 quarters done. Would be different if this had happened last October or something.
10-03-2020, 06:29 PM
Good. No embarrassing singing from their moronic fans
10-03-2020, 06:30 PM
Yes, especially considering the date it’s to be played. Another month of this and the spread will be reaching its peak.
10-03-2020, 06:30 PM
Good. No embarrassing singing from their moronic fans
That’s a bonus
10-03-2020, 06:32 PM
I can't see how it won't to be honest. I'm pretty much looking at things as a matter of when, not if. Give it a week to 10 days and I fully expect games to be behind closed doors for around 4 weeks, potentially even stopped altogether.
10-03-2020, 06:32 PM
Be surprised if it wasn't
10-03-2020, 06:36 PM
Yes. I think it’s why there’s been a delay announcing when tickets go on sale.
10-03-2020, 06:40 PM
Be surprised if it wasn't
Have to agree. At the rate all of these games are being decided similar it seems only natural we would end up following suit.
10-03-2020, 06:40 PM
We are being softened up for maximum control measures over the Easter holidays. So I think this is a real possibility.
10-03-2020, 06:43 PM
Lens played Orléans behind closed doors in the French league last night.
The stadium announcer came to work anyway.
https://youtu.be/EhvTMu0nYOE
Me.
10-03-2020, 07:23 PM
A very real possibility
10-03-2020, 07:26 PM
Are Government/UEFA compensating clubs for playing behind closed doors
It’s a harsh question, but it’s something clubs in this country may have to face, but hopefully not
10-03-2020, 07:29 PM
It’s a harsh question, but it’s something clubs in this country may have to face, but hopefully not
I pondered that with Rangers for next week (as a guy I work beside was wanting to go)...surely their fans will have paid out already for flights, hotels, tickets etc - do they simply lose out?
However, if it means Rangers missing out on a few extra £million from an empty stadium next week, then awwww, diddums :greengrin
10-03-2020, 07:32 PM
I pondered that with Rangers for next week (as a guy I work beside was wanting to go)...surely their fans will have paid out already for flights, hotels, tickets etc - do they simply lose out?
However, if it means Rangers missing out on a few extra £million from an empty stadium next week, then awwww, diddums :greengrin
They'll probably get refunded for their match tickets, but if their flights and hotels are non-refundable, they won't be compensated.
10-03-2020, 07:50 PM
Any risk assessment will need to take into consideration that 50% of the crowd are anticipated to be slavering puddle drinkers.
I think there’s every chance.
Box 17
10-03-2020, 07:59 PM
Its a national emergency. With people losing their jobs and businesses going under football clubs will be way down the list for taxpayer cash.
Brummie_Hibs
10-03-2020, 08:15 PM
Norway v Serbia playoff now closed door.
So if its a Norway v Scotland final, then that'll be closed door too.
DavidDavidGray
10-03-2020, 09:35 PM
Former Hibs player Ryan McGivern, now at Linfield, has been tested positive for the coronavirus
11-03-2020, 04:28 AM
Man City vs Arsenal postponed because the Arsenal players are in isolation.
11-03-2020, 06:27 AM
You just know that if they cancel all the football it will be after they win tonight and sneak off the bottom of the table.
jakedance
11-03-2020, 06:36 AM
Assuming games in Scotland are played behind closed doors. It might make sense to conclude the league season or finish it now with current league positions standing, but cancel the Scottish Cup. Football without fans is meaningless. I don’t see the point of Hibs in a cup final if we can’t be there or, if we won it, that there wouldn’t even be a victory parade.
jakedance
11-03-2020, 06:43 AM
Assuming games in Scotland are played behind closed doors. It might make sense to conclude the league season or finish it now with current league positions standing, but cancel the Scottish Cup. Football without fans is meaningless. I don’t see the point of Hibs in a cup final if we can’t be there or, if we won it, that there wouldn’t even be a victory parade.
11-03-2020, 07:01 AM
Man City vs Arsenal postponed because the Arsenal players are in isolation.
Game was supposed to be on SKY sports tonight, which I don't get as its a champions league night. Anyway, that's another argument.
I'm guessing if it is because the Arsenal players being in isolation their gonna be there for a while so will effect some of their other games. Is so, they'd be as well just cancelling the season now.
11-03-2020, 07:07 AM
Just imagine if 2016 was behind closed doors...
11-03-2020, 07:07 AM
I think the season will be played till the split then final positions set. Closed door games if required.
Semis/Final will also be played but again behind closed doors if required.
Playoffs could be cancelled. So just one up one down.
I can't imagine any more than the above being possible at this rate.
11-03-2020, 07:26 AM
I think the final itself will also be behind closed doors, if it goes ahead atall, corona virus will not go away over night its been with us for over 2 months now and hasnt taken a grip in Scotland or england yet. It will get worse. The season may even come to a premature end, who knows, you cant play with peoples lives.
In my humble opinion all games should be behind closed doors or cancelled and all large gatherings banned.
Just relegate hertz now.
11-03-2020, 07:37 AM
I think they'll end up cutting the season short and calling it void. No scope to postpone it and extend it into the summer and if they cancel the season early and teams get relegated/promoted with x ammount of games left there'd be an uproar.
The likes of Dundee United and Liverpool would be raging but it's the fairest for the majority.
MagicSwirlingShip
11-03-2020, 07:41 AM
I think they'll end up cutting the season short and calling it void. No scope to postpone it and extend it into the summer and if they cancel the season early and teams get relegated/promoted with x ammount of games left there'd be an uproar.
The likes of Dundee United and Liverpool would be raging but it's the fairest for the majority.
More chance of the Euros being called off and the league games postponed to summertime IMO
11-03-2020, 07:41 AM
If Dundee Utd and Liverpool can't be caught they could quite rightly claim they've won it.
Don't see how Dundee Utd could be denied promotion if that was the case.
11-03-2020, 07:44 AM
They will just cancel all games and everything get moved is IMO option. Stopping season awarding stuff or voiding just won't work. Add a month on at end and just need to accept 2 games per week.
Caversham Green
11-03-2020, 07:46 AM
Apart from one-offs as punishment I think playing games behind closed doors is pointless. The best course of action IMO would be to delay the remainder of the season to see how the whole thing pans out. If it's as bad as some fear then football will become irrelevant, if it all blows over as we all hope it does the remainder of the season could be played in the summer or cancelled depending on circumstances. If necessary next season could start later or the fixtures adjusted to fit the time available. I would reluctantly just void the Scottish Cup.
We're really just in a wait and see scenario at the moment, so we should make the decisions when we know the worst.
11-03-2020, 07:46 AM
They will just cancel all games and everything get moved is IMO option. Stopping season awarding stuff or voiding just won't work. Add a month on at end and just need to accept 2 games per week.
:agree: Three games a week in August, if the medical situation has properly settled by then.
11-03-2020, 07:47 AM
Norway v Serbia playoff now closed door.
So if its a Norway v Scotland final, then that'll be closed door too.
Is that because it's Norway's desicion? So if Serbia win it wouldn't at this point be behind closed doors.
I've got tickets for Scotland game but can't see it happening. Isreal have loads of restrictions on travel for at start.
11-03-2020, 07:52 AM
If Dundee Utd and Liverpool can't be caught they could quite rightly claim they've won it.
What about celtic, especially if the rangers win this weekend. Think the rangers could argue that with another old firm game and a game in hand they could catch them (however unlikey it seems to the rest of us).
11-03-2020, 07:58 AM
On a side note, this coronavirus is the ideal time for companies and governments to see how working at home enmasse can work (or not), the demand for internet etc will be enormous and will systems cope.
IMO this wont be the last time a virus or disease will befall us.
11-03-2020, 08:02 AM
Getafe have apparently refused to fly to Milan for the game against inter. Have said that if they lose the tie, they lose it and still aren't going. If it happens then can't see tournament finish.
11-03-2020, 08:27 AM
Game was supposed to be on SKY sports tonight, which I don't get as its a champions league night. Anyway, that's another argument.
I'm guessing if it is because the Arsenal players being in isolation their gonna be there for a while so will effect some of their other games. Is so, they'd be as well just cancelling the season now.
The rules about league games not being played on champions league nights were changed a few years ago.
Chorley Hibee
11-03-2020, 08:29 AM
https://twitter.com/MaddockMirror/status/1237427620456861707?s=20
An interesting comment on the 3000 fans from Madrid that are unable to travel to games in Spain, but our government is allowing access to the UK.
11-03-2020, 08:39 AM
That'll help them avoid a fine for their racist/sectarian singing.
11-03-2020, 08:44 AM
On a side note, this coronavirus is the ideal time for companies and governments to see how working at home enmasse can work (or not), the demand for internet etc will be enormous and will systems cope.
I'd imagine most systems will cope ok. If we can all stream Netflix, iPlayer, Xbox and Playstation live, spotify and youtube etc remote access which uses alot less bandwidth should be fine. If it becomes as bad as people say will then surely companies aren't going to be expected to provide the same level of service as before.
Bigger concern i'd imagine is local businesses. If the season ends today i wonder how big an impact that would have on Leith businesses. Or if the large finance offices closed on and around Lothian Road how businesses last and what have you.
Interesting yet scary times.
11-03-2020, 08:51 AM
:agree: Three games a week in August, if the medical situation has properly settled by then.
If one team are unable to play call it there so every club coming out the other side have roughly the same amount of games backed up. If this even means 3 games in a week so be it. Have the season run on also. Games here and there starts to get messy.
11-03-2020, 08:56 AM
Now is a good time to try summer fitba, nobody will be leaving for holiday.😀
11-03-2020, 08:57 AM
If one team are unable to play call it there so every club coming out the other side have roughly the same amount of games backed up. If this even means 3 games in a week so be it. Have the season run on also. Games here and there starts to get messy.
Then what do we do about transfer windows etc?
Suppose the season is pushed back and runs in to July - can teams make transfers during the season? The window would be open...
Regardless of what happens, there's going to be a group of unhappy people somewhere.
Best thing that can happen is that St Mirren win midweek and Celtic win at the weekend and then win the league before the split.
Everyone plays their last games before the split and the season finishes there with all standings being final.
The cup semi's are awarded to the two teams highest in the league between the ties and the cup final is handed to the oldest team out of the two clubs in it.
11-03-2020, 08:57 AM
Now is a good time to try summer fitba, nobody will be leaving for holiday.😀
Postpone current season till after the Summer, and start again in March. It makes sense.
11-03-2020, 08:59 AM
I dont think footballers working from home works...as for referees however would we notice?
11-03-2020, 09:02 AM
Lots of players contracts run out at the end of May. And they still haven’t cancelled the euros so I can’t see them extending the season.
11-03-2020, 09:14 AM
The rules about league games not being played on champions league nights were changed a few years ago.
I thought that as well, but apparently not. Its just the same it always was. FA/Teams in England accept the fine doled out for doing it. Scottish FA/clubs wont.
Was a ridiculous farce then and even bigger one now. If Hibs had a game tonight, then someone in America would not be able to watch it on Hibs TV. I still cant work out how UEFA are able to dictate this.
11-03-2020, 09:28 AM
I thought that as well, but apparently not. Its just the same it always was. FA/Teams in England accept the fine doled out for doing it. Scottish FA/clubs wont.
Was a ridiculous farce then and even bigger one now. If Hibs had a game tonight, then someone in America would not be able to watch it on Hibs TV. I still cant work out how UEFA are able to dictate this.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/39458057
11-03-2020, 09:31 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/39458057
I misread your post, I thought we were talking about the TV blackout for any game played on those nights i.e Scottish cup replays. I dint even know there was a no league game at all policy in place previously.
The Baldmans Comb
11-03-2020, 09:36 AM
Sporting events and especially mass spectator sports are being moved behind closed doors or complete suspension of leagues is now looking like the norm all over Eastern and Western Europe.
Still very little movement by the English government or English football authorities and they have a huge weekend coming up attended by hundreds of thousands of people if not millions.
Its beginning to look like they are going to go for the hands off approach and just let the virus sweep through the population with the very minimum disruption to lives.
That's not a criticism because as discussed elsewhere there is a school of thought that no matter what you do death rates remain much the same as for example children under 12 look immune(as in 100% recovery) based on the virus conclusive numbers now available so why the clamour to close schools.
Brave as FCK though which is another reason I always admire English people not enough to want them to run my life but admirable still the same.
11-03-2020, 09:43 AM
I misread your post, I thought we were talking about the TV blackout for any game played on those nights i.e Scottish cup replays. I dint even know there was a no league game at all policy in place previously.
I am.
https://news.stv.tv/sport/1384509-spfl-tv-blackout-on-champions-league-nights-ended-by-epfl?top
11-03-2020, 10:04 AM
Who do Dundee United replace though? They can’t come up unless someone goes down and all the teams near the bottom of the premiership could argue they have a chance of staying up atm.
Maybe a play-off between the bottom 4 teams?
11-03-2020, 10:14 AM
Who do Dundee United replace though? They can’t come up unless someone goes down and all the teams near the bottom of the premiership could argue they have a chance of staying up atm.
Maybe a play-off between the bottom 4 teams?
You also have European places up for grabs in both the league and cup.
Delaying the season won’t really work as teams need to be in a pot for European competitions.
11-03-2020, 10:22 AM
You also have European places up for grabs in both the league and cup.
Delaying the season won’t really work as teams need to be in a pot for European competitions.
The league has a rule if a team is unable to fulfil a fixture no? Is it not a 3-Nil to the other team?Is there a rule that says you have to admit fans?
Keep the league on track. If a team cannot meet its fixture lose the game, if both teams cannot declare a draw and play behind closed doors if need be right up to the split. Every team will have the same no of games after three full fixture rounds. Bottom down and no play off.
11-03-2020, 10:24 AM
Would anyone want to restart their season having played no friendlies or league cup ties to get up to match fitness???
Or will we delay the delay so friendlies can be played????
11-03-2020, 10:38 AM
The league has a rule if a team is unable to fulfil a fixture no? Is it not a 3-Nil to the other team?Is there a rule that says you have to admit fans?
Keep the league on track. If a team cannot meet its fixture lose the game, if both teams cannot declare a draw and play behind closed doors if need be right up to the split. Every team will have the same no of games after three full fixture rounds. Bottom down and no play off.
That’s assuming the players can play. Arsenal have already been impacted by this and it’s only a matter of time before more teams are impacted. Hearts might be alright giving the size of their squad :cb
11-03-2020, 11:04 AM
Nows the time to think about restructuring the leagues.... Increase the top one by a few etc (we've been over all that on here before!).
One downside is that our puddle drinking neighbours will be saved :-(
11-03-2020, 11:07 AM
If I was St. Mirren or Hamilton I would be claiming the players are self isolating. Force the league to call everything off.[emoji23]
It wont be cancelled.
Played behind closed doors or postponed for several weeks.
There will be legal obligations to finish all fixtures.
11-03-2020, 11:14 AM
The government should temporarily suspend the "can't televise games at 3pm" rule if played behind closed doors, seeing as the whole point of the ruling was to get people to football at that time.
11-03-2020, 11:17 AM
It wont be cancelled.
Legal obligation or not Getafe have told UEFA to shove it and aren't willing to travel to Milan to play inter. If one club comes down badly effected and it becomes well known then other clubs will refuse to travel and play them.
11-03-2020, 11:20 AM
The government should temporarily suspend the "can't televise games at 3pm" rule if played behind closed doors, seeing as the whole point of the ruling was to get people to football at that time.
Its already been said I am sure that they would, with the broadcaster(s) likely to show the games free (I assume that to mean even if you do not have SKy Sports/Bt SPorts normally, you would still get it)
I wouldn't be surprised, should we get into the same lock down as Italy, if Sky/BT/Virgin etc give all people with a box full access all channels whilst quarantines are in place.
11-03-2020, 11:24 AM
Did the government come up with the rule? If so, which one - London or Edinburgh?
I thought that it was the football authorities who came up with the rule, not government. But could always be wrong :greengrin.
11-03-2020, 11:26 AM
Its already been said I am sure that they would, with the broadcaster(s) likely to show the games free (I assume that to mean even if you do not have SKy Sports/Bt SPorts normally, you would still get it)
I wouldn't be surprised, should we get into the same lock down as Italy, if Sky/BT/Virgin etc give all people with a box full access all channels whilst quarantines are in place.
See all these extra games that sky and bt are gonna be showing, how they getting on the telly?
11-03-2020, 11:28 AM
See all these extra games that sky and bt are gonna be showing, how they getting on the telly?
Not sure what you mean :confused: the same way anything gets on Telly I assume, with a camera and a feed to satellites etc.
11-03-2020, 11:32 AM
It wont be cancelled.
Any contracts worth their salt will have force majeure clauses - otherwise an insurance job to cover potential exposure.
force majeure
noun
1. LAW
unforeseeable circumstances that prevent someone from fulfilling a contract.
HibeeHibernian4
11-03-2020, 11:32 AM
Then what do we do about transfer windows etc?
Suppose the season is pushed back and runs in to July - can teams make transfers during the season? The window would be open...
Regardless of what happens, there's going to be a group of unhappy people somewhere.
Best thing that can happen is that St Mirren win midweek and Celtic win at the weekend and then win the league before the split.
Everyone plays their last games before the split and the season finishes there with all standings being final.
The cup semi's are awarded to the two teams highest in the league between the ties and the cup final is handed to the oldest team out of the two clubs in it.
If you ever fancy running for a job at the SFA then you have my vote. :greengrin
11-03-2020, 11:33 AM
Not sure what you mean :confused: the same way anything gets on Telly I assume, with a camera and a feed to satellites etc.
With production crews in biological warfare suits
11-03-2020, 11:34 AM
That's good, at least.
I'm now very concerned our semi final (and potential final, should we win) won't have any spectators. That'll be a real shame.
ABZHFC
11-03-2020, 11:34 AM
AS Roma's plane has not been allowed to land in Seville for their Europa League match against Sevilla tomorrow night. Wow
mcohibs
11-03-2020, 11:35 AM
How are Sky and BT going to accommodate the hundreds of games that everyone is wanting televised?
People are talking about scrapping Sky and BT not showing games at 3pm but its irrelevant because they cannot possibly accommodate all the fixtures.
If fixtures are televised then they will be shown on stuff like Hibs TV etc. where the 3pm rule doesn't even apply.
11-03-2020, 11:37 AM
How are Sky and BT going to accommodate the hundreds of games that everyone is wanting televised?
People are talking about scrapping Sky and BT not showing games at 3pm but its irrelevant because they cannot possibly accommodate all the fixtures.
If fixtures are televised then they will be shown on stuff like Hibs TV etc. where the 3pm rule doesn't even apply.
Indeed what channel would they be on?
11-03-2020, 11:39 AM
AS Roma's plane has not been allowed to land in Seville for their Europa League match against Sevilla tomorrow night. Wow
Well that will be that then. Game over.
11-03-2020, 11:44 AM
No idea, I dont work for either company or have much knowledge on how these things work. Just passing on things I have read.
I imagine not EVERY game would be shown, but a selection, red button etc usually have multiple games on when champs league is on etc.
As you said, club tv's could show, however whether they have the capacity to do so would be another matter. Hibs tv currently are not allowed to show games in the UK at 3, so the tv rule does apply.
jakedance
11-03-2020, 11:44 AM
There needs to be some coordination in Europe. We’ve got a situation where Atletico Madrid fans can’t watch football in Spain but 3000 of them can travel to Liverpool. Bayern Munich are playing Chelsea behind closed doors but LB Leipzig played Spurs in front of a full stadium. Italy is in lockdown but Getafe are expected to travel there to play AC Milan. Wolves expected to go to Olympiacos when their owner has the virus. There is a travel ban between Italy and Spain but Napoli are scheduled to play in Barcelona next week. Farcical.
It’s time to suspend the season and reschedule the Euros to 2021, so the national league competitions can hope to conclude the season later. An argument could be made for cancelling the European and domestic cups. Nothing about this is ideal but the football world is sending out mixed messages and needs to get it’s **** together.
11-03-2020, 11:46 AM
They’d all be on sky sports on the red button. The same with bt sports. I’m not sure if there’s a maximum number of games that can be shown this way, but even if there is they can show them online.
11-03-2020, 11:48 AM
They’d all be on sky sports on the red button. The same with bt sports. I’m not sure if there’s a maximum number of games that can be shown this way, but even if there is they can show them online.
They’d just do staggered kick offs like they did on amazon prime at Christmas.
2 x 1230
2 x 1500
2 x 1730
Caversham Green
11-03-2020, 11:50 AM
It wont be cancelled.
If all parties agree to or accept the course of action decided on (and they would if the circumstances are dire enough) the legal obligations become ineffective since nobody would raise any sort of legal action.
11-03-2020, 11:51 AM
They’d just do staggered kick offs like they did on amazon prime at Christmas.
2 x 1230
2 x 1500
2 x 1730
:agree: Different days for different leagues as well.
11-03-2020, 11:52 AM
No idea, I dont work for either company or have much knowledge on how these things work. Just passing on things I have read.
I imagine not EVERY game would be shown, but a selection, red button etc usually have multiple games on when champs league is on etc.
As you said, club tv's could show, however whether they have the capacity to do so would be another matter. Hibs tv currently are not allowed to show games in the UK at 3, so the tv rule does apply.
Is it not possible to do what I think happens in La Liga? All games are shown on television over the weekend starting on Friday night, then lunchtime, mid afternoon and evening on Saturday with the remaining games on Sunday.
mcohibs
11-03-2020, 11:56 AM
Stand corrected in that case, I thought they were.
The logistics alone of broadcasting a live football match are too complex for the big TV companies to possibly show any more than a few games a day, which they already do. When you factor in the costs of camera operators, production teams etc. its just not feasible to cover more than a few games up and down the country.
Hibs (and anyone else in Scotland bar those pair) will be nowhere near the pecking order for live broadcasting by either Sky, BT, ITV4, CBeebies or whoever on earth is going to be picking up these broadcasts that everyone's wanting. The vast majority of UK clubs, if it comes to it, will play games behind closed doors with no TV viewing available.
11-03-2020, 11:59 AM
Stand corrected in that case, I thought they were.
The logistics alone of broadcasting a live football match are too complex for the big TV companies to possibly show any more than a few games a day, which they already do. When you factor in the costs of camera operators, production teams etc. its just not feasible to cover more than a few games up and down the country.
Hibs (and anyone else in Scotland bar those pair) will be nowhere near the pecking order for live broadcasting by either Sky, BT, ITV4, CBeebies or whoever on earth is going to be picking up these broadcasts that everyone's wanting. The vast majority of UK clubs, if it comes to it, will play games behind closed doors with no TV viewing available.
I’d imagine the broadcasters would just use club feeds for most of the games, the already do this during midweek championship games when they show all games that are on that night. Clubs without their own live feed won’t be on tv.
11-03-2020, 12:00 PM
Maybe there is a gap in the market for Hibs.net to fill, live broadcasting our games to private members 😉
ABZHFC
11-03-2020, 12:11 PM
St Mirren have released a statement asking fans with cold/flu symptoms not to attend their game against Hearts tonight. Have also said that stewards will turn away anyone who looks like they have symptoms.
Honestly, how will that be operated :rolleyes:
11-03-2020, 12:13 PM
St Mirren have released a statement asking fans with cold/flu symptoms not to attend their game against Hearts tonight. Have also said that stewards will turn away anyone who looks like they have symptoms.
Steven Naismith was looking a bit peely Wally.
11-03-2020, 12:27 PM
I imagine club tv channels will be the route for the big stuff whereas someone like Prime/Sky/BT will hoover up what they maybe can from the premiership/championship. At the moment the club channels blocked from showing it in UK and ROI at 3pm but I could see it being opened up. Perhaps a 1 off ticket for folk who would have been away fans and non season ticket holders.
Honestly, how will that be operated :rolleyes:Next it’ll be lemsip in the bovril kettles.
mcohibs
11-03-2020, 12:28 PM
I’d imagine the broadcasters would just use club feeds for most of the games, the already do this during midweek championship games when they show all games that are on that night. Clubs without their own live feed won’t be on tv.
Possibly down south but I think the more likely scenario for Scottish clubs is that they'lll just broadcast the game online via their own website and feeds. Sky or BT won't be the slightest bit interested in showing Hibs v St Johnstone etc. More hassle than it's worth for them.
11-03-2020, 12:29 PM
"Hans, what will we do about this evil plague that is upon us?".
"Do not worry Jens, we have encountered these Peepul before. Just don't let the ********s in!"
11-03-2020, 01:07 PM
Possibly down south but I think the more likely scenario for Scottish clubs is that they'lll just broadcast the game online via their own website and feeds. Sky or BT won't be the slightest bit interested in showing Hibs v St Johnstone etc. More hassle than it's worth for them.
Especially if they can just show the celtic and or the rangers home games (away games already on the telly).
11-03-2020, 01:26 PM
Wonder what's in our own terms and conditions for season tickets should the season end prematurely? Are we entitled to a part refund? Would we want one or perhaps a % off renewal price.
11-03-2020, 01:29 PM
Wonder what's in our own terms and conditions for season tickets should the season end prematurely? Are we entitled to a part refund? Would we want one or perhaps a % off renewal price.
I think most folk , myself included, would realise the potential financial consequences of either of those options to the club and not ask for either.
11-03-2020, 01:38 PM
I think most folk , myself included, would realise the potential financial consequences of either of those options to the club and not ask for either.
Agree, managed to find some old t&C's and it doesn't refer to a set number of games anyway (just home league games). The club are covered I reckon. They may however want to consider some kind of goodwill gesture though to keep fans inside.
mvteng
11-03-2020, 01:40 PM
Surely the club (or any other company who stage events - sports / music/ festival / whatever) would have appropriate insurance to ensure any financial consequences are minimal.
In that case a pro-rata refund or reduction of next years season ticket would be entirely correct & appropriate
11-03-2020, 01:59 PM
Calling an end to the season is not acceptable and is simply not right. What if this had happend after 10 matches? we would postpone the fixtures for a number of weeks I would bet. The same if it comes to it should be done here. Things like transfer windows are dates these can be moved. If a players contract ends on last day of season then extend it to new last day of season. Stop the closed doors stuff if it cannot be watched cancel it.
Titles cannot be voided are just given out even for something this serious.
11-03-2020, 02:06 PM
Calling an end to the season is not acceptable and is simply not right. What if this had happend after 10 matches? we would postpone the fixtures for a number of weeks I would bet. The same if it comes to it should be done here. Things like transfer windows are dates these can be moved. If a players contract ends on last day of season then extend it to new last day of season. Stop the closed doors stuff if it cannot be watched cancel it.
I'd be prepared to give Celtic the title on the basis that they'd probably have got it anyway, if it meant Hearts got relegated :greengrin
Imagine the rage? :faf:
11-03-2020, 02:25 PM
I imagine club tv channels will be the route for the big stuff whereas someone like Prime/Sky/BT will hoover up what they maybe can from the premiership/championship. At the moment the club channels blocked from showing it in UK and ROI at 3pm but I could see it being opened up. Perhaps a 1 off ticket for folk who would have been away fans and non season ticket holders.
IPTV show all epl and all Efl games up to league 1 so they’re all filmed. Club tv channels would be the legal way ahead though (I said similar last week)
11-03-2020, 02:30 PM
Only a matter of time before some of our players are diagnosed and the rest have to self quarantine. The fixture list will be obliterated and God knows how long for. I can't see any other outcome than cancelling/voiding the season tbh.
11-03-2020, 02:42 PM
It’s not been 10 matches though, we have played over 75% of our league season which is a significant amount.
There will be arguments on both sides whether they void the season or bring it to a premature end and the league positions stand for promotion, relegation and Euro spots.
11-03-2020, 02:49 PM
Only a matter of time before some of our players are diagnosed and the rest have to self quarantine. The fixture list will be obliterated and God knows how long for. I can't see any other outcome than cancelling/voiding the season tbh.
St Mirren win tonight, cancel the season next week, hearts go down. Perfect.
Frankhfc
11-03-2020, 02:55 PM
It’s not been 10 matches though, we have played over 75% of our league season which is a significant amount.
There will be arguments on both sides whether they void the season or bring it to a premature end and the league positions stand for promotion, relegation and Euro spots.
Prize money would be another controversial issue. If they voided the leagues what would happen to the money. Its a significant amount for finishing higher up the table. They could split the money equally but again that could easily cause friction and arguing. Voiding it wouldn't be as simple as some think and could cause even more problems. As you say there are arguments on both sides if its deemed unlikely to fulfil the season.
11-03-2020, 03:12 PM
Irrelevant that its 10 or 30 facts are with games remaining various things and positions could change therefore it will not end. Not a chance leage will void or finish over this. Looks a bit easier as there is a sizeable gap at top however there isn't in the other spots. We will finish season if it is stopped with a glut of fixtues that puts everyone in same boat. What if 4 or 5pts seperated top 3 or 4 teams?
There is 10000x more issues to be had voiding or ending early than having to maybe play 2/3 games a week for a short period. No way will clubs accept voiding or being relegated when games left to play or not getting promoted. I think it is actually a ridiculous idea.
11-03-2020, 03:14 PM
St Mirren win tonight, cancel the season next week, hearts go down. Perfect.
Haha that'll do me
11-03-2020, 03:36 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51840257
11-03-2020, 03:44 PM
WHO declare a pandemic
11-03-2020, 03:49 PM
Hmm...should mean the cokeheads will be refused admission...unless they can stem the sniffy runny noses 😁
Steven79
11-03-2020, 03:54 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51840257Rangers could well go bust again if they have to refund around £1 million for every game that is cancelled.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
11-03-2020, 04:01 PM
Rangers could well go bust again if they have to refund around £1 million for every game that is cancelled.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
They are lucky they are getting gate money, for tomorrow nights game. Leverkusen are getting nothing
The Baldmans Comb
11-03-2020, 04:02 PM
WHO declare a pandemic
I still stand in complete admiration of the English government and their football authorities.
There is barely a major football league left standing in Europe that won't be played behind closed doors or the league is on hold indefinitely. Europa League and Champions league is now also being afffected
Yet they still havent made any public announcements regarding gatherings of large spectator events so the pressure on the football authorities is non existent.
A massive fixture list is set for the weekend and the official attitude is just to let it ride. This isn't incompetence as they are perfectly capable informed people. Its choice.
For absence of doubt this is not a criticism its just an observation that England are doing this very differently to everyone else on a political and sporting level.
I wonder if the declaration of a Pandemic will alter their thinking.
11-03-2020, 04:13 PM
FFS.
Football is way, way down the list of priorities when it comes to combating a pandemic.
11-03-2020, 04:16 PM
I still stand in complete admiration of the English government and their football authorities.
There is barely a major football league left standing in Europe that won't be played behind closed doors or the league is on hold indefinitely. Europa League and Champions league is now also being afffected
Yet they still havent made any public announcements regarding gatherings of large spectator events.
A massive fixture list is set for the weekend and the official attitude is just to let it ride. This isn't incompetence as they are perfectly capable informed people. Its choice.
For absence of doubt this is not a criticism its just an observation that England are doing this very differently to everyone else on a political and sporting level.
I wonder if the declaration of a Pandemic will alter their thinking.
They’re either smart or morons. We won’t know which until the dust settles.
11-03-2020, 04:22 PM
It’s why we shouldn’t be part of the UK. We have a buffoon deciding what happens in a country miles away he couldn’t give a shiney ***** about.
11-03-2020, 04:24 PM
FFS.
Football is way, way down the list of priorities when it comes to combating a pandemic.
I really dont understand why you feel you need to explain to me about priorities, I never said it was a priority, however last I checked this was a football forum and this is IMO what football will do irrespective of the wider more serious issue. We are discussing what football will or may do about it. Discussing that is not saying there are not far bigger priorities is it?
11-03-2020, 04:27 PM
It’s why we shouldn’t be part of the UK. We have a buffoon deciding what happens in a country miles away he couldn’t give a shiney ***** about.
Sturgeon is a buffoon also. I live in her constituency and its a disgrace here, she cant get her doorstep right.
Chorley Hibee
11-03-2020, 04:33 PM
With Johnson and Co in charge I'm going to plump for the latter.
11-03-2020, 04:36 PM
Wonder if Hibs have any plans for sanitizers etc, at the ground on Saturday
11-03-2020, 04:39 PM
I really dont understand why you feel you need to explain to me about priorities, I never said it was a priority, however last I checked this was a football forum and this is IMO what football will do irrespective of the wider more serious issue. We are discussing what football will or may do about it. Discussing that is not saying there are not far bigger priorities is it?
Your previous post said, "Calling an end to the season is not acceptable" and the post ended "even for something this serious".
Now, I didn't really understand what you were trying to say in between because you must have posted without checking as it didn't make sense, but that suggests you have football as a higher priority than "even something this serious".
If I've misunderstood your post, I apologise, but please explain what you do mean.
The Baldmans Comb
11-03-2020, 04:39 PM
Also clever and ruthless.
I think what the English have decided is to take the CoronaVirus on the chin and let it feed its way through the population with the minimum of economic and social disruption.
A lot of empirical studies discussed elsewhere support this approach.
European countries are more trying to "flatten the curve" but England is going out on a limb as far as this part of the hemisphere and is not.
They can't maintain this though and must cancel or move their games behind closed doors very soon.
11-03-2020, 04:40 PM
With no hot water you'd think so. Strange how our £4m 10 year old stand can't get hot water but Aberdeen's port-a-kabin toilets at the back of the stand can!
11-03-2020, 04:42 PM
I think what the English have decided is to take the CoronaVirus on the chin and let it feed it way through the population with the minimum of economic and social disruption.
European countries are more trying to "flatten the curve" but England is going out on a limb as far as this part of the hemisphere and is not.
I don't believe they'll do that.
It would be utterly irresponsible and would almost amount to murder by negligence.
11-03-2020, 04:43 PM
Irrelevant that its 10 or 30 facts are with games remaining various things and positions could change therefore it will not end. Not a chance leage will void or finish over this. Looks a bit easier as there is a sizeable gap at top however there isn't in the other spots. We will finish season if it is stopped with a glut of fixtues that puts everyone in same boat. What if 4 or 5pts seperated top 3 or 4 teams?
There is 10000x more issues to be had voiding or ending early than having to maybe play 2/3 games a week for a short period. No way will clubs accept voiding or being relegated when games left to play or not getting promoted. I think it is actually a ridiculous idea.
that’s based on an assumption that there is a defined end to the pandemic. How long do they wait before it causes even more issues with fixtures, euro spots etc?
Chorley Hibee
11-03-2020, 04:46 PM
I think what the English have decided is to take the CoronaVirus on the chin and let it feed its way through the population with the minimum of economic and social disruption.
What's all this England and English stuff about?
It's the UK.
11-03-2020, 04:49 PM
Your previous post said, "Calling an end to the season is not acceptable" and the post ended "even for something this serious".
Now, I didn't really understand what you were trying to say in between because you must have posted without checking as it didn't make sense, but that suggests you have football as a higher priority than "even something this serious".
If I've misunderstood your post, I apologise, but please explain what you do mean.
I mean what I said, the illness even as it stands now is more serious than a football season, Even something this serious IMO will not curtail the season it will be stopped and resumed so yes you did get it wrong. I am not saying football has a higher priority I am telling you what I think will happen. Regardless of how serious it is a decision would still need to be made would it not? I do not think calling an end to season is acceptable until such times if games are cancelled for a lot longer than 3 or 4 weeks again my opinion.
I didnt post without checking? ok then.
The Baldmans Comb
11-03-2020, 04:49 PM
It's the UK.
England is the UK. The other component parts are irrelevant and just a play on words.
Open another thread elsewhere if you want to discuss this.
The Baldmans Comb
11-03-2020, 04:51 PM
I don't believe they'll do that.
It would be utterly irresponsible and would almost amount to murder by negligence.
That's not the case at all.
The studies seem to show that in certain circumstances the death rate from a major pandemic will be very similar whether you try to flatten the curve over a longer time period or whether you choose not to.
English CoronaVirus numbers seem much lower per head of population than France, Germany or Italy possibly as no land border.
They will have looked at these numbers and projected these forward responsibly and concluded their hospitals can cope with the expected numbers though you do wonder if the pandemic declaration will alter thinking as they can't maintain that attitude and you would expect imminently fall into line with other countries.
11-03-2020, 04:52 PM
England is the UK. The other component parts are irrelevant and just a play on words.
Open another thread elsewhere if you want to discuss this.
Lol
11-03-2020, 04:52 PM
It's the UK.
Correct. Westminster and the devolved Governments are working together on this. As they should.
11-03-2020, 04:53 PM
that’s based on an assumption that there is a defined end to the pandemic. How long do they wait before it causes even more issues with fixtures, euro spots etc?
Of course that is what my assumption is based on,what do you suggest I base it on? Your scenario? There is no correct scenario so I am calling it on what is going on just now.
11-03-2020, 04:57 PM
Correct. Westminster and the devolved Governments are working together on this. As they should.
I would even suggest if the UK is taking this on differently that for next 3 months we pay a slightly higher tax rate maybe 1/2/3 % to help resources. Just a thought
11-03-2020, 05:00 PM
We are about 1 to 2 weeks behind Spain, France, Germany. We can expect to go closed doors in about a 2 weeks time. The domestic season will finish like that. Not sure if SC will be seen out or held over till next season given loss if revenue from three closed door games at Hampden. Think the Euros and European competitions will be at least postponed.
BegbieHSC
11-03-2020, 05:07 PM
I’m very sad to speculate that Saturday will likely be the last time we see Hibernian in the flesh this season :(.
davhibby
11-03-2020, 05:15 PM
Uefa won’t want to lose out on the money from the CL final and the Euros so I think the way it’s headed is the euros to get moved to next year and leagues given an extension until say the end of June to finish the season
11-03-2020, 05:17 PM
With no hot water you'd think so. Strange how our £4m 10 year old stand can't get hot water but Aberdeen's port-a-kabin toilets at the back of the stand can!
You do not need hot water if washing your hands with soap.
From the Centre For Desease Control
Follow these five steps every time.
Wet your hands with clean, running water (warm or cold), turn off the tap, and apply soap.
Lather your hands by rubbing them together with the soap. Lather the backs of your hands, between your fingers, and under your nails.
Scrub your hands for at least 20 seconds. Need a timer? Hum the “Happy Birthday” song from beginning to end twice.
Rinse your hands well under clean, running water.
Dry your hands using a clean towel or air dry them.
11-03-2020, 05:19 PM
I mean what I said, the illness even as it stands now is more serious than a football season, Even something this serious IMO will not curtail the season it will be stopped and resumed so yes you did get it wrong. I am not saying football has a higher priority I am telling you what I think will happen. Regardless of how serious it is a decision would still need to be made would it not? I do not think calling an end to season is acceptable until such times if games are cancelled for a lot longer than 3 or 4 weeks again my opinion.
I didnt post without checking? ok then.
When I said that maybe you hadn't checked, I was trying to find a gentle/polite way of pointing out that your post was badly worded and didn't make sense, without being rude and offending you.
It seems I'd have been better being blunt.
Anyway, you didn't say anything about periods of over 3-4 weeks. The inference was the exact opposite particularly when you asked what if the season was only 10 weeks old.
You went on to say "Titles cannot be voided are just given out even for something this serious."
I'm not 100% sure what that sentence means, because it doesn't make sense, but there's nothing about a timescale there just a matter of fact statement.
When I read that, I felt compelled to point out that football was a very low priority.
If the season is finished early, I'll be disappointed, but I'll accept it without any fuss.
We have different opinions.
11-03-2020, 05:20 PM
I’m very sad to speculate that Saturday will likely be the last time we see Hibernian in the flesh this season :(.
Judging by some of the overreactions on here over the last week, it might be the last time some people will see them in the flesh - ever...
11-03-2020, 05:24 PM
When I said that maybe you hadn't checked I was trying to find a gentle/polite way of pointing out that your post was badly worded and didn't make sense without being rude and offending you.
It seems I'd have been better being blunt.
Anyway, you didn't say anything about periods of over 3-4 weeks. The inference was the exact opposite particularly when you asked what if the season was only 10 weeks old.
You went on to say "Titles cannot be voided are just given out even for something this serious."
I'm not 100% sure what that sentence means, because it doesn't make sense, but there's nothing about a timescale there just a matter of fact statement.
When I read that, I felt compelled to point out that football was a very low priority.
If the season is finished early, I'll be disappointed, but I'll accept it without any fuss.
We have different opinions.
I elaborated in my response I am sorry I never dotted every I or crossed every T in my first post. It is not my problem you find my post badly worded or you struggle to understand it. Yes we have different opinions.
11-03-2020, 05:26 PM
Judging by some of the overreactions on here over the last week, it might be the last time some people will see them in the flesh - ever...
What over reactions?
By the way, there's little doubt that, unfortunately beyof Covid 19, it will be the last time some people see Hibs ever.
11-03-2020, 05:26 PM
Hot water, soap and paper towels would be a good start. The east has been up nearly 10 years and were still waiting on hot taps
11-03-2020, 05:27 PM
I elaborated in my response I am sorry I never dotted every I or crossed every T in my first post. It is not my problem you find my post badly worded or you struggle to understand it. Yes we have different opinions.
You elaborated after I had posted.
It is your problem if people can't understand what you write.
11-03-2020, 05:31 PM
You do not need hot water if washing your hands with soap.
From the Centre For Desease Control
Follow these five steps every time.
Wet your hands with clean, running water (warm or cold), turn off the tap, and apply soap.
Lather your hands by rubbing them together with the soap. Lather the backs of your hands, between your fingers, and under your nails.
Scrub your hands for at least 20 seconds. Need a timer? Hum the “Happy Birthday” song from beginning to end twice.
Rinse your hands well under clean, running water.
Dry your hands using a clean towel or air dry them.
The Scottish health minister said today, soap and hot water is better than using a sanitizer
11-03-2020, 05:34 PM
The Scottish health minister said today, soap and hot water is better than using a sanitizer
Comparing apples and pears. Sanitisers are sub-optimal.
11-03-2020, 05:42 PM
You elaborated after I had posted.
It is your problem if people can't understand what you write.
No its yours, I cant understand what a Japanese person is saying is that their problem?
Of course I elaborated after you posted I believe that is how conversations work.
11-03-2020, 05:47 PM
I don’t know if they elaborated, but...
In general terms, soap and water washes bugs and dirt off your hands. Sanitizers kill the bugs that remain on your hands. If it’s “one or the other” then soap and water wins. Washing hands thoroughly then applying sanitizer periodically is a pretty good way to go, knowing that every so often hands will need to be washed again.
Has anybody made the decision not to go to the game or any other events? I wonder how itll impact the crowds this weekend . It may be a good yardstick to judge peoples thoughts on things
11-03-2020, 05:51 PM
No its yours, I cant understand what a Japanese person is saying is that their problem?
Of course I elaborated after you posted I believe that is how conversations work.
I thought English was your first language, sorry.
You elaborated after complaining about my post and after I explained why I said what I did, you complained again.
Forget it. This is not how conversations work.
11-03-2020, 05:52 PM
Sturgeon is a buffoon also. I live in her constituency and its a disgrace here, she cant get her doorstep right.
At least she gives a fk about Scotland and there’s many Scottish msps that are highly intelligent who don’t want to go down to Westminster that are capable of deciding what our country, not BJs should do.