View Full Version : Could Coronavirus see the football season ended early?
Cataplana
06-03-2020, 03:33 PM
How did they come up with the dates?
06-03-2020, 03:34 PM
I'm guessing that's a fake
06-03-2020, 03:36 PM
How did they come up with the dates?
They didn't. It's not real.
SingaporeHibs
06-03-2020, 03:37 PM
I agree.
My wife lectures at a university which has a student population made up of about 74% Chinese students. I think she's highly likely to become infected and if she does, I will too.
I have a relative who has poor health, but it's being managed.
I volunteer with Age UK as a befriender and I visit a chap in his late 80s who is house bound.
My neighbours have just had their first child and I play golf with the dad.
Given that you become contagious before you notice any symptoms, I'm worried that I pass the virus on to any of them, even if my immune system can deal with it.
Since Chinese NY in Singapore everyone has had to declare if they had been in China. If a student or work colleague (basically anyone) had been, then they had to take 14 days leave of absence which at that point was the understood incubation period. This also was extended to having guests who had been to China. Unfortunately the western world was way too slow to react because it was Asia’s problem, that place away over there and nothing to see hear. Should of happened earlier but Mrs Radge’s Uni should have been or at least should be now doing the same. (Should now include Italy, Korea, Iran and anywhere else required)
The UK is way to relaxed. I’m Scottish, I get it, we’ll be ok. Carry on. What’s the risk. But that really is not the answer here. The UK Govt ‘battle plan’ is a joke. Carry on as normal but wash your hands. That isn’t likely to work. Draconian measures are required. The countries like Singapore who have been proactive have managed the spread. The measures are draconian by UK standards but it’s worked to now. Temp checks at every building entrance,. Youth league Football and all school competitions and trips cancelled. All the gigs that were lined up are pretty much all cancelled. The UK Govt battle plan’ started with phase one ‘contain’ with the advice carry on but wash your hands. A couple of days that lasted and the new phase is called ‘delay’ which means carry on and wash your hands. Phase 3 is coming which will likely be carry on and wash your hands. Basically no real measures of preventing the spread.
It’s not a case of panicking but it should be about minimising the spread to try stopping this. If the UK just carries on the spread will as well. Just my own opinion.
-Jonesy-
06-03-2020, 03:57 PM
UK Virus ALERT
The English are feeling the pinch in relation to recent virus threat and have therefore raised their threat level from “Miffed” to “Peeved.” Soon, though, level may be raised yet again to “Irritated” or even “A Bit Cross.”
The English have not been “A Bit Cross” since the blitz in 1940 when tea supplies nearly ran out.
The virus has been re-categorized from “Tiresome” to “A Bloody Nuisance.” The last time the British issued a “Bloody Nuisance” warning level was in 1588, when threatened by the Spanish Armada.
The Scots have raised their threat level from “Pissed Off” to “Let's Get the *******.” They don't have any other levels. This is the reason they have been used on the front line of the British army for the last 300 years.
The French government announced yesterday that it has raised its alert level from “Run” to “Hide.” The only two higher levels in France are “Collaborate” and “Surrender.” The rise was precipitated by a recent fire that destroyed France's white flag factory, effectively paralyzing the country's military capability.
Italy has increased the alert level from “Shout Loudly and Excitedly” to “Elaborate Military Posturing.” Two more levels remain: “Ineffective Combat Operations” and “Change Sides.”
The Germans have increased their alert state from “Disdainful Arrogance” to “Dress in Uniform and Sing Marching Songs.” They also have two higher levels: “Invade a Neighbour” and “Lose.”
Belgians, on the other hand, are all on holiday as usual; the only threat they are worried about is NATO pulling out of Brussels.
The Spanish are all excited to see their new submarines ready to deploy. These beautifully designed subs have glass bottoms so the new Spanish navy can get a really good look at the old Spanish navy.
Australia, meanwhile, has raised its alert level from “No worries” to “She'll be alright, Mate.” Two more escalation levels remain: “Crikey! I think we'll need to cancel the barbie this weekend!” and “The barbie is cancelled.” So far, no situation has ever warranted use of the final escalation level.
Did you write that or was it Roy Chubby Brown
Cataplana
06-03-2020, 04:08 PM
Did you write that or was it Roy Chubby Brown
Neither, it was actually John Cleese. Making fun of racial stereotypes is ok as long as it's ironic.
You obviously missed the bit that made fun of England and Scotland.
Edit: I've deleted it. It's good to know that as we face Armageddon , according to some, that there are still people with a real sense of perspective on what's important
I am particularly distressed that some Australians looking in may have taken umbrage at the suggestion they wouldn't cancel a barbecue for anything.
I would be really thankful if you could delete the post that quotes from it. If anyone wants to read the skit, it is here.
https://www.eetimes.com/england-raises-security-level-from-miffed-to-peeved/
SingaporeHibs
06-03-2020, 04:21 PM
Neither, it was actually John Cleese. Making fun of racial stereotypes is ok as long as it's ironic.
Your timing was also impeccable.....keep calm and carry on but do wash your hands old boy. The UK Govt playing up to the classic ‘British’ stereotype to perfection. Btw, Trump was at it as well: John Oliver tonight’s COVID 19 show last week was funny. There is a bit where some experts were presenting saying we’ll see more cases in the US blah blah. Trump was standing behind them and then takes the stage and says “we have x number of cases now so soon we”ll have zero”. Couldn’t make that up.
06-03-2020, 04:22 PM
It's likely been in the UK for weeks too and so far 1 person has died and that's unfortunate person was in her 80s and had been in and out of hospital with an underlying health condition.
False.
Cataplana
06-03-2020, 04:24 PM
Your timing was also impeccable.....keep calm and carry on but do wash your hands old boy. The UK Govt playing up to the classic ‘British’ stereotype to perfection. Btw, Trump was at it as well: John Oliver tonight’s COVID 19 show last week was funny. There is a bit where some experts were presenting saying we’ll see more cases in the US blah blah. Trump was standing behind them and then takes the stage and says “we have x number of cases now so soon we”ll have zero”. Couldn’t make that up.
We have had advanced warning of the virus. The hope is that we can take carriers out of circulation before they spread it.
Hand washing should not be mocked. We don't wear masks in out hospitals but do enforce hand washing. Our infection control rates are impressive.
06-03-2020, 04:42 PM
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10163029415680384&id=612455383
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10163030051360384&id=612455383
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=3027819020562759&id=100000040734340
06-03-2020, 04:48 PM
If the club want to encourage fans to wash hands then they need to make sure the soap dispensers are working and there are paper towels. That needs checked and filled before the game and also at half time. The gents in the west upper south end hasn't had soap in the dispensers for the last two games so fans cannot properly wash their hands. Half of them don't seen to bother anyway but for those of us who do the facilities which are basic should at least work. Alcohol gel dispensers at the turnstiles and food areas would be fairly cheap and should also be provided.
06-03-2020, 05:00 PM
'You'd just have a cold'
The false comparison point with TB, which I already explained, whataboutery.
That's just in the couple of posts on this page that I've looked at. Moreover you're undermining people who are rightfully concerned and want to maximise the opportunity to contain this through PSA and the spread of information. Saying something as delusional as you'll just get a cold doesn't help.
This isn't about being riddled with fear or panicking, it's reacting proportionally to a budding threat.
I’ve got a scratchy, sore throat right now. Can feel it coming on. No really I do. What should I do? Is it a cold? Is it Coronavirus? Should I self isolate. Should I just crack on?
06-03-2020, 05:03 PM
If I have the flu and mix with vulnerable people, they'll probably be vaccinated therefore I probably won't kill them.
If I catch this coronavirus and visit the same people, I could infect them thus risking their lives.
That's the difference.
So are you claiming that nobody dies from Flu?
If so, you need to check the figures.
-Jonesy-
06-03-2020, 05:04 PM
I’ve got a scratchy, sore throat right now. Can feel it coming on. No really I do. What should I do? Is it a cold? Is it Coronavirus? Should I self isolate. Should I just crack on?
As far as I understand the first symptom is a fever, followed by a persistent dry cough followed by headaches and a shortness of breath.
06-03-2020, 05:08 PM
You probably have a cold.
If you are worried, have visited a high risk area or have reason to believe you have the virus phone 111 and they will advise.
06-03-2020, 05:15 PM
What Jonesy and PB have said. Dunno why you're seeking medical advise on here though. Unless you're actually just trying to take the piss, but it wouldn't be that, would it?!
06-03-2020, 05:18 PM
Oh ffs but don't panic, I have the same symptoms, sore scratchy throat and bringing up some green crap, been like that since the start of the week, prey for me as I will you. :greengrin
06-03-2020, 05:25 PM
What Jonesy and PB have said. Dunno why you're seeking medical advise on here though. Unless you're actually just trying to take the piss, but it wouldn't be that, would it?!
Tbf, I've been posting on the NHS forum all day about tomorrow's line up.
06-03-2020, 05:36 PM
Disgusting, I have regularly refused to accept food and other groceries after this has happened and demanded my money back. Had an argument with a shop worker once and she called her boss, the boss was so embarrassed after a crowd of shoppers were watching he apologised and gave me my money back and wrapped the food himself and gave me my groceries for free.
I actually had one fish monger with blood dripping down his arm try to serve me a salmon sandwich, went tae town on this clown.
Dont accept this from any shop its disgusting and its your health.
Folkmthat cough without covering their mouths first or come to work with a cold are other pet hates. ****ers.
You can't expect everyone to be off with a cold. You'd never have a full shift in.
06-03-2020, 05:44 PM
You can't expect everyone to be off with a cold. You'd never have a full shift in.
I'm quite lucky. My work frown on people coming in with the cold. Not good if it spreads.
I tend to either work from home if a bit sniffly, or take time off if full blown.
06-03-2020, 05:49 PM
So imagine you been to China and go through the 2 week isolation period, come out and catch it from somebody say 2 or 3 weeks later.
Loads of people in the way human nature works will likely think they don't need to isolate themselves or some just won't due to lifestyle choice in not staying home.
I think it's pissing in the wind now.
06-03-2020, 05:50 PM
maybe force the club to supply hot water to encourage more fans to wash their hands :) unfortunately some tw@ts would leave the hot taps running....especially in the south stand, heartz fans would be excempt with them being mingers anyway thus not needing any taps 😁
06-03-2020, 05:54 PM
maybe force the club to supply hot water to encourage more fans to wash their hands :) unfortunately some tw@ts would leave the hot taps running....especially in the south stand, heartz fans would be excempt with them being mingers anyway thus not needing any taps 😁
There were folk pissing in the sink on Tuesday night in East Stand at HT.
Chill out man. It's a Friday , the world's no gonna end , if you catch this thing you'll likely just get a cold.
You'll likely make yourself more ill with worry than anything else.
Enjoy your weekend.
What absolutely idiotic stuff you come out with, you need to take a vow of silence for a substantial period of time.
06-03-2020, 06:46 PM
My worry about all this is that, for example, those on here seemingly comparing it to other illnesses and saying its not the worst thing out there, might go on about their business doing what they've done up to now to stop spreading germs to people....
And as we know theres loads don't bother washing hands just now, if people continue selfishly in the same vein things will get worse.
Caveat, Im guessing none of those on here are actual grot bags that would be disgusting like that, I'm really meaning the wider public :-)
PS, other day a lad came out the trap (place was stinking) and walked straight out to the bar!!!!!!
Edit, so in terms of this thread if us fitba fans dinnae wash their hands at games/in pubs then the spread amongst supporters might get higher, the league gets cancelled and Hearts get saved.... If for no other reason than to stop that... Wash yer ****ing hands! :greengrin
The advice given to prevent the spread of Coronavirus will also help prevent the spread of colds and seasonal flu.
I’m all for that.
06-03-2020, 06:50 PM
Edit: I've deleted it. It's good to know that as we face Armageddon , according to some, that there are still people with a real sense of perspective on what's important
I am particularly distressed that some Australians looking in may have taken umbrage at the suggestion they wouldn't cancel a barbecue for anything.
I would be really thankful if you could delete the post that quotes from it. If anyone wants to read the skit, it is here.
https://www.eetimes.com/england-raises-security-level-from-miffed-to-peeved/
Sorry to see you delete that. It was fun and light hearted. Didn’t really undermine any debate about the value of standard good hygiene.
Oh ffs but don't panic, I have the same symptoms, sore scratchy throat and bringing up some green crap, been like that since the start of the week, prey for me as I will you. :greengrin
I had that 2 weeks ago, 2 days of lemsip and 4 days of coughing up green phlegm, it's a cold ffs, people need to calm down.
06-03-2020, 06:52 PM
So imagine you been to China and go through the 2 week isolation period, come out and catch it from somebody say 2 or 3 weeks later.
Loads of people in the way human nature works will likely think they don't need to isolate themselves or some just won't due to lifestyle choice in not staying home.
I think it's pissing in the wind now.
Yip. It's going to be very difficult to contain the spread of this one - probably impossible infact.
Lots of folk will get it, alot won't even notice , most will have very mild cold like symptoms, some will be laid low for week or two , a smaller percentage will need hospital treatment and an even smaller percentage of mainly elderly citizens will unfortunately pass away.
You'd think going by the media that we are in apocalyptic times. We are not.
06-03-2020, 06:55 PM
The advice given to prevent the spread of Coronavirus will also help prevent the spread of colds and seasonal flu.
I’m all for that.
Absolutely. I just don’t get why some people on here are up in arms and throwing a hissie fit about a simple thing like being asked to use soap and water. There are some popular match day songs about fans of some other teams being strangers to soap. I’m beginning to suspect it may be an issue closer to home.
06-03-2020, 07:08 PM
Anyone for a useless fact?
In the 17th century, when the Black Death plague was rife in Europe, ships arriving in Venice were required to stay off shore for forty days and nights before being allowed to land. The Italian word for forty is “quaranta”, hence the origins of the word “quarantine”.
06-03-2020, 07:11 PM
Absolutely. I just don’t get why some people on here are up in arms and throwing a hissie fit about a simple thing like being asked to use soap and water. There are some popular match day songs about fans of some other teams being strangers to soap. I’m beginning to suspect it may be an issue closer to home.You said in a lot fewer words what I was trying to get across :-)
06-03-2020, 07:13 PM
You said in a lot fewer words what I was trying to get across :-)
Got to be a first for me 🤣
06-03-2020, 07:16 PM
Yip. It's going to be very difficult to contain the spread of this one - probably impossible infact.
Lots of folk will get it, alot won't even notice , most will have very mild cold like symptoms, some will be laid low for week or two , a smaller percentage will need hospital treatment and an even smaller percentage of mainly elderly citizens will unfortunately pass away.
You'd think going by the media that we are in apocalyptic times. We are not.
If you have family who’s immune system is ****ed then it’s worrying as **** times regardless how healthy you personally are. Obviously you aren’t in that boat but maybe have some consideration for others who are deeply worried instead of having a laugh about it. A cold to you is someone else getting phenomena.
et_hibby
06-03-2020, 07:23 PM
Anyone for a useless fact?
In the 17th century, when the Black Death plague was rife in Europe, ships arriving in Venice were required to stay off shore for forty days and nights before being allowed to land. The Italian word for forty is “quaranta”, hence the origins of the word “quarantine”.
Grazie!
06-03-2020, 07:25 PM
If you have family who’s immune system is ****ed then it’s worrying as **** times regardless how healthy you personally are. Obviously you aren’t in that boat but maybe have some consideration for others who are deeply worried instead of having a laugh about it. A cold to you is someone else getting phenomena.
Stop being so dramatic and making things up, at no point have I had a laugh about it. I've already said any death from this is or any other disease is sad and unfortunate.
What I am pointing out is that for the vast majority of people who get this they will have nothing more than mild symptoms. That is exactly what the Chief Medical Officer of the United Kingdom said yesterday. Let me say that again the majority will have mild symptoms (which I am taking to be similar to a cold) as per the Chief Medical Officer.
I appreciate that some people seem very scared by this , that's understandable but I also think people need to calm down and listen to people such as the Chief Medical Officer otherwise the social implications could very quickly spiral out of control.
06-03-2020, 07:34 PM
******* shameful behaviour 😔
06-03-2020, 07:42 PM
******* shameful behaviour 😔
I spoke to a lad who was doing this at ht
He was tanked up, and didn’t even wash his hands
Wish I’d got his seat number
06-03-2020, 07:45 PM
I've seen it at tynecastle and it's bad enough there, but at ER? That's ridiculous.
06-03-2020, 08:12 PM
Stop being so dramatic and making things up, at no point have I had a laugh about it. I've already said any death from this is or any other disease is sad and unfortunate.
What I am pointing out is that for the vast majority of people who get this they will have nothing more than mild symptoms. That is exactly what the Chief Medical Officer of the United Kingdom said yesterday. Let me say that again the majority will have mild symptoms (which I am taking to be similar to a cold) as per the Chief Medical Officer.
I appreciate that some people seem very scared by this , that's understandable but I also think people need to calm down and listen to people such as the Chief Medical Officer otherwise the social implications could very quickly spiral out of control.
No you’re making fun of the hysteria around it.
I know the severity of the situation through my line of work. People are calm in general but also rightly worried. We will see how the situation is in two weeks and review the convo’.
06-03-2020, 08:16 PM
I know the severity of the situation through my line of work. People are calm in general but also rightly worried. We will see how the situation is in two weeks and review the convo’.
No - what I am doing is reassuring people that this thing isn't a death sentence. The vast majority of people who get this , even elderly people , will survive and alot of them won't even have a particularly severe illness. The majority , even the elderly will have mild symptoms.
Scaremongering isn't going to help anyone.
06-03-2020, 08:17 PM
Maybe same guy last sink next to wall, I said you are effing joking pal. No real response from them.
06-03-2020, 08:17 PM
a walking bacteria farm, wonder if they use the sink in their houses as toilets
06-03-2020, 08:18 PM
No - what I am doing is reassuring people that this thing isn't a death sentence. The vast majority of people who get this , even elderly people , will survive and alot of them won't even have a particularly severe illness. The majority , even the elderly will have mild symptoms.
I don’t think there’s much scaremongering, especially on this thread.
I apologise for picking you up incorrectly.
06-03-2020, 08:19 PM
a walking bacteria farm, wonder if they use the sink in their houses as toilets
Never ever use the toilet in a football ground. **** knows what you’ll catch.
James Stephen
06-03-2020, 08:25 PM
This thread really is gold.
Proves fitba fans on the internet will argue about anything including the chatacteristics and epidemiology of a brand new, just discovered virus from China!
HibeeHibernian4
06-03-2020, 08:39 PM
This thread really is gold.
Proves fitba fans on the internet will argue about anything including the chatacteristics and epidemiology of a brand new, just discovered virus from China!
The real debate will come when the coronavirus affects how many loyalty points each fan is able to accumulate. :greengrin
06-03-2020, 08:41 PM
It’s great Hibs have hot water in toilets and anti bacterial gel in the toilets..
Just reading Sky News reporting Premier league in Englandmay consider banning over 70s at their matches.
06-03-2020, 08:47 PM
Just reading Sky News reporting Premier league in Englandmay consider banning over 70s at their matches.
That’s priceless. Should have done it years ago 🤣
06-03-2020, 08:49 PM
You keep saying that the 'majority' or the 'vast majority' will be fine. Experts have said that 80% of people who catch the virus will be fine. Do you understand that the remaining 20% is still a very large number of people? If say 10% of the population catch the virus, that 20% who won't be fine is over one million people in the UK.
Hibhibhooray
06-03-2020, 08:58 PM
yep, if the figures keep increasing as they do, I think you will see sporting events being played behind closed doors pretty soon
06-03-2020, 09:03 PM
You keep saying that the 'majority' or the 'vast majority' will be fine. Experts have said that 80% of people who catch the virus will be fine. Do you understand that the remaining 20% is still a very large number of people? If say 10% of the population catch the virus, that 20% who won't be fine is over one million people in the UK.
I suppose the other way to look at it is even in the elderly around 95% of people who get the virus survive. I appreciate 5% is high but it's not a death sentence and the overwhelming majority of people who are unlucky enough to catch it will live.
06-03-2020, 09:11 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/51777621
First of many?
DarrenSQH
06-03-2020, 09:38 PM
Wonder what would happen in football if a team caught it and couldn't play like the womens rugby team.
06-03-2020, 09:38 PM
I suppose the other way to look at it is even in the elderly around 95% of people who get the virus survive. I appreciate 5% is high but it's not a death sentence and the overwhelming majority of people who are unlucky enough to catch it will live.
4636 known cases in Italy right now, of whom, 197 have died. That’s in less than two weeks since their first case was reported. When do you think people should start to take this seriously?
Fuzzywuzzy
06-03-2020, 09:42 PM
4636 known cases in Italy right now, of whom, 197 have died. That’s in less than two weeks since their first case was reported. When do you think people should start to take this seriously?
You're being told people are dying. You're not being told the age or the underlying medical conditions they have/had. Two people down south that have died have been about 80 with previous health conditions. COPD and other chronic conditions will be those that are risk
Rocky
06-03-2020, 09:46 PM
You're being told people are dying. You're not being told the age or the underlying medical conditions they have/had. Two people down south that have died have been about 80 with previous health conditions. COPD and other chronic conditions will be those that are risk
This is getting really tiresome. I understand that there are people with underlying conditions who are more at risk but if the rest of us are downplaying it and not taking sensible precautions then we're putting those people at higher risk by potentially transmitting the virus even if we don't personally get very sick. Is it really that much to ask to stop bickering about it and follow some sensible hygiene precautions?
06-03-2020, 09:47 PM
The average age of fatalities is 81
The vast majority have underlying health issues
72% of those dying are male
Does that mean they don’t matter?
Are you Thomas Malthus?
Fuzzywuzzy
06-03-2020, 09:53 PM
The average age of fatalities is 81
The vast majority have underlying health issues
72% of those dying are male
Does that mean they don’t matter?
Are you Thomas Malthus?
Hmmm, is that really what I was saying?
06-03-2020, 09:54 PM
Hmmm, is that really what I was saying?
Came across that way. The figures you said we did not hear are there for you. Does it help your diagnosis?
Fuzzywuzzy
06-03-2020, 10:00 PM
Came across that way. The figures you said we did not hear are there for you. Does it help your diagnosis?
Fair play
06-03-2020, 10:01 PM
Fair play
👍🏻
06-03-2020, 10:06 PM
This is getting really tiresome. I understand that there are people with underlying conditions who are more at risk but if the rest of us are downplaying it and not taking sensible precautions then we're putting those people at higher risk by potentially transmitting the virus even if we don't personally get very sick. Is it really that much to ask to stop bickering about it and follow some sensible hygiene precautions?
Has anyone on this thread suggested they aren't taking sensible/recommended hygiene precautions?
It's the second time I've seen someone mention it but can't find anyone actually saying they were refusing to or actively choosing not to do so.
06-03-2020, 10:17 PM
Has anyone on this thread suggested they aren't taking sensible/recommended hygiene precautions?
It's the second time I've seen someone mention it but can't find anyone actually saying they were refusing to or actively choosing not to do so.
To be fair, the thread has itemised numerous examples that include:
Sneezing and coughing without covering the nose and mouth
Peeing in sinks
Gobbing on the pitch
Not washing hands after toilet visits
Licking fingers before touching food bags
A total disregard for older people and those with underlying health issues.
And a general disdain from some people of the, frankly, normal personal hygiene practices people should be carrying out regardless of a new threat to health.
06-03-2020, 10:23 PM
Dean Koontz knew.
06-03-2020, 10:33 PM
Time to grab a beer and watch the acid house I would encourage everyone to do the same.
06-03-2020, 10:42 PM
To be fair, the thread has itemised numerous examples that include:
Sneezing and coughing without covering the nose and mouth
Peeing in sinks
Gobbing on the pitch
Not washing hands after toilet visits
Licking fingers before touching food bags
A total disregard for older people and those with underlying health issues.
And a general disdain from some people of the, frankly, normal personal hygiene practices people should be carrying out regardless of a new threat to health.
I accept some of those things but I still can't see anyone on this thread actively saying they aren't taking recommended precautions which is what has been claimed. Having a 'hissy fit about using soap' was the phrase of choice earlier iirc.
I also don't think there is disregard for at risk groups. It is just a fact that when there is an outbreak of any illness there will be certain groups at higher risk than others. In flu season it's older people and those who have existing conditions. With meningitis it is often students and those who live in close proximity to each other. With hand, foot and mouth it tends to be young children in nurseries or early school years. I could go on but you get the idea. Is pointing out the risk to the general population is low, as the CMO and NHS continue to do, showing disregard? I have asthma, I have a 2 year old daughter, my Grandad is 87 with a heart condition and my sister works as a nurse so may well encounter infected individuals. All of us are probably in groups with varying levels of higher risk. I don't feel myself or my family are being disregarded if someone states that 81%/the vast majorty/most people will experience only a mild illness. At the moment that seems to be a generally agreed and accepted fact.
Of course if everyone takes a bit of personal responsibility it creates a safer environment for everyone. I doubt anyone is disputing that but ultimately the key point is that it is personal. I can realistically only look after myself and make sure I do the right things. There are undoubtedly a few posts on here that are somewhat flippant, without suggesting people are actively ignoring advice, but equally there are a handful that are nearing hysteria. This is a situation that is going to play out over several months so short term panic is no more helpful than casual disdain.
06-03-2020, 11:13 PM
I don't see any hysteria. I just see people concerned that they or their loved ones are likely to contract an illness for which there is no remedy.
I do see people with no medical qualifications at all saying that there's nowt to worry about at all.
If you've actually had full blown flu, you'd be worried about getting it again never mind this new virus.
Rocky
07-03-2020, 12:01 AM
I'd suggest the numerous "I'm alright Jack" posts are hinting at that, if not explicitly saying it. I see you've mentioned hysteria in a later post, can you point to those examples?
07-03-2020, 12:38 AM
Very unlikely it'll effect our football season tbh. More likely it'll cause no hassle to our normal daily life.
07-03-2020, 12:44 AM
Very unlikely it'll effect our football season tbh. More likely it'll cause no hassle to our normal daily life.
Completely wrong. In the next week or so games will be cancelled.
07-03-2020, 12:49 AM
Will have to agree to disagree. Dont see that happening at all.
DarrenSQH
07-03-2020, 06:38 AM
Government meeting on monday to talk about playing games behind closed doors
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/51777154
HibeeHibernian4
07-03-2020, 07:05 AM
Games will be cancelled when the Queen dies. Doesn’t mean it’s the correct thing to do.
07-03-2020, 07:26 AM
Government meeting on monday to talk about playing games behind closed doors
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/51777154
Steve Bruce thinks it's inevitable the Premier League are heading towards closed doors games:
https://talksport.com/football/678913/newcastle-steve-bruce-premier-league-behind-closed-doors-coronavirus/
As we've seen with the cancellation of the Scotland women's rugby game though, this doesn't allow for the fact that players aren't immune from the virus.
A complete shutdown remains the most likely option at this stage.
07-03-2020, 07:35 AM
If 80% of the population get it, do you not think some of those will be footballers? If clubs can't field a team then it'll have a massive effect.
07-03-2020, 07:41 AM
Steve Bruce thinks it's inevitable the Premier League are heading towards closed doors games:
https://talksport.com/football/678913/newcastle-steve-bruce-premier-league-behind-closed-doors-coronavirus/
As we've seen with the cancellation of the Scotland women's rugby game though, this doesn't allow for the fact that players aren't immune from the virus.
No it doesn't. Unless you have a source for that claim.
The women's rugby team were in Milan a fortnight ago, that is how some of the people involved have symptoms.
07-03-2020, 07:50 AM
If 80% of the population get it, do you not think some of those will be footballers? If clubs can't field a team then it'll have a massive effect.
Will 80% really be infected? That's worse case scenario. Scaremongering? Probably.
07-03-2020, 07:54 AM
The women's rugby team were in Milan a fortnight ago, that is how some of the people involved have symptoms.
Dearie me. One member of the Scottish ladies rugby team, so far, is confirmed to have the virus.
3 of the confirmed cases in Scotland are of people with no history of travel to areas like Italy/China/Iran etc. and no identifiable contact with an infected person
I think you need to rethink your argument. Not saying your wrong but that particular argument doesn’t stand up.
07-03-2020, 08:02 AM
Will 80% really be infected? That's worse case scenario. Scaremongering? Probably.
Your right 80% does seem high. Let's take 30% off, still leaveaves 50% of population. Some footballers are gonna get it, no doubt (already happening in Denmark for example).
07-03-2020, 08:05 AM
Your right 80% does seem high. Let's take 30% off, still leaveaves 50% of population. Some footballers are gonna get it, no doubt (already happening in Denmark for example).
Should be an automatic yellow for anyone celebrating a goal with anything more dangerous than a Wuhan shake. :agree:
Cataplana
07-03-2020, 08:17 AM
So, trains will still run; offices will remain open; schools will remain open; hotels will continue to run as normal; no flights will be cancelled.
Yet stopping football matches will contain the spread? Interesting, very interesting.
07-03-2020, 08:35 AM
Still seems incredibly high. Current figures show that in China where it all started there is just over 80,000 cases and its starting to slow down. That's only 0.005% of their population.
07-03-2020, 08:43 AM
Covid-19 (Coronavirus) Advice for small businesses that attend events. (I attend fairs that attract thousands of people both from the UK and abroad)
Useful Links:
World Health Organization mythbusters: https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novelcoronavirus-
2019/advice-for-public/myth-busters (https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novelcoronavirus- 2019/advice-for-public/myth-busters)
Public Health England advice: https://www.gov.uk/guidance/coronavirus-covid-19-
information-for-the-public (https://www.gov.uk/guidance/coronavirus-covid-19- information-for-the-public)
https://publichealthmatters.blog.gov.uk/2020/01/23/wuhan-novel-coronavirus-what-youneed-
to-know/ (https://publichealthmatters.blog.gov.uk/2020/01/23/wuhan-novel-coronavirus-what-youneed- to-know/)
NHS Advice: https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covid-19/
Overview:
Ensure that you keep up to date with official advice from Public Health England, the NHS or
the World Health Organization. Do not get your information or advice from the media! It’s
not always reliable and is great at spreading panic and they love a bit of clickbait!
Most importantly please don’t panic. At the moment, Covid-19 is just an outbreak of a virus
in the UK. This may change in the coming weeks, but it is not yet anywhere near an
epidemic, and has not yet been declared a global pandemic. The Government advice is that
worst case is that 20% of employees will be ill and absent from work during peak periods of
the outbreak.
Flu pandemics tend to go in around 15-week cycles, with a peak of a few weeks within that
when the most people will be sick before it drops off again. Anything that you decide to do
now in terms of prevention or action, you will need to keep up for quite a long time so don’t
start things you can’t continue (for example not leaving the house as a prevention tactic – it
will be a sad 4 months!).
Unless someone has an underlying health condition, the virus is not considered to cause
serious problems and most people will get sick and then recover without the need for
hospital treatment. There is no treatment for the virus, but the symptoms can be treated
with normal paracetamol or similar.
It is currently understood that the main way the virus is spread is through air droplets to
people nearby – within a distance of 2 meters. Secondary spread can be by touching a
surface, object or the hand of an infected person that has been contaminated with
respiratory secretions and then touching their own mouth, nose, or eyes (such as someone
with the virus who had sneezed in their hand touching a door knob or shaking hands with
you, then you touching own face).
Hand Washing:
The Public Health England advice is that washing your hands regularly with normal soap and
water (hot or cold) for 20 seconds will be sufficient to kill off germs on your hands and help
decrease the spread of the virus. Alcohol gel is sufficient if you can’t wash your hands.
Cleaning:
Continue to use regular household cleaning products. You don’t need to have any specialist
cleaning solution to clean effectively and kill off the virus.
The virus cannot survive on hard surfaces for longer than a few hours and soft surfaces for
much longer.
Interesting facts:
• Face Masks are pretty pointless for prevention unless they are specific medical
grade ones, and then only effective in conjunction with goggles and gloves and then
only if they are removed in a certain way.
• It has been proved from Chinese cases that it affects men worse than women. This is
because women and men’s immune systems are very different and women tend to
be more hygienic then men (statistically!)
• You can’t get it twice. Only 1 woman in China seems to have got the virus twice but
it is uncertain if she was still recovering from it and the symptoms got worse.
Planning:
If this virus spreads like it’s expected to, it is likely you could get sick at some point. So some
planning is probably wise. It is likely that an epidemic would impact small businesses more
than larger ones. Here’s some questions to think about that are personal to you.
• What immediate actions will you take if you or a member of your or family or
business have symptoms of Covid-19? (n.b. testing takes around 48 hours)
• What immediate action will you take if you, or a member of your family or business
have tested positive for Covid-19?
• Do you have any caring responsibilities e.g. children or elderly relatives who might
need you to take time out of work due to sickness? What effect will this have on
your business?
• What effect will it have on your business if you have to self isolate for 14 days or are
sick for 7-14 days? What can you do to mitigate these effects?
For example:
- Get your parcels picked up
- Lengthen processing times
- Keep your customers informed about what’s happening
- Cancel shows or public appearances.
- Wash your hands before packing orders
- Can anyone else in your life help out?
• What is absolutely critical that you continue to do for your business to keep going of
and what could wait for a few weeks?
(i.e. fulfilling orders is critical, but uploading new stock or some admin may not be
and could wait till you’re better).
Shows:
At the moment it doesn’t look like the Government will start cancelling mass gatherings,
though that could change. It will most likely be down to show organisers to decide to cancel.
Add Covid-19 to your risk assessment. Some ideas for mitigations or control measures are:
• Provide hand gel at your stand especially if you know people will be touching your
goods.
• Try to avoid touching your face without washing your hands first
• Keep your own hands clean – especially before eating or touching goods.
• If you’re sick or think you could be, don’t attend a show as a vendor or customer.
• Cough or sneeze in a disposable tissue or into your elbow.
Show organisers should ensure there is enough hand washing provision and hand gel, as
well as hand washing advice for show attendees.
Insurance:
It is very unlikely that an insurance you have including travel insurance will cover any show
cancellations unless you have specific flu pandemic insurance or there’s FCO advice not to
travel. Build potential cancellations into your financial planning.
Supply Chain:
• Do any of your supplies or equipment come from a severely affected area and might
be delayed in reaching you?
• What would happen if it gets bad in England and your supplies are interrupted? Can
you still cope?
• What level of delay would be a significant problem for you?
Finance:
• Plan your cashflow over the next 6 months. What would happen if your cashflow
drops by 25%, 50% or 100%?
• When would your money run out and cause you significant problems?
• What could you change, cut back on or expand to help you get through this time?
07-03-2020, 08:48 AM
So, trains will still run; offices will remain open; schools will remain open; hotels will continue to run as normal; no flights will be cancelled.
Yet stopping football matches will contain the spread? Interesting, very interesting.
Some flights are being cancelled, some schools are closing, and most offices I know of are taking precautions at this stage - ensuring everyone checks they can access the required systems from home should they need to work from home at short notice or taking laptops home each night in case they're told not to come in the next day.
07-03-2020, 08:58 AM
I think football games should be played behind closed doors, then let everyone congregate in a pub to watch the games, that should help.:greengrin
07-03-2020, 09:04 AM
I think football games should be played behind closed doors, then let everyone congregate in a pub to watch the games, that should help.:greengrin
Are you buying?
07-03-2020, 09:06 AM
Are you buying?
Always, it's only money. :wink:
07-03-2020, 09:11 AM
Always, it's only money. :wink:
OK, everybody down to Blackpool!
Cataplana
07-03-2020, 09:40 AM
Some flights are being cancelled, some schools are closing, and most offices I know of are taking precautions at this stage - ensuring everyone checks they can access the required systems from home should they need to work from home at short notice or taking laptops home each night in case they're told not to come in the next day.
Thanks, genuine question, if someone is off sick are employers not in dodgy territory if they let them work from home?
07-03-2020, 09:42 AM
...genuine question, if someone is off sick are employers not in dodgy territory if they let them work from home?
If they're normally working on the tills at Asda, that's a definite yes.
Thanks, genuine question, if someone is off sick are employers not in dodgy territory if they let them work from home?
Self isolation isnt sick though.
-Jonesy-
07-03-2020, 09:43 AM
Still seems incredibly high. Current figures show that in China where it all started there is just over 80,000 cases and its starting to slow down. That's only 0.005% of their population.
China has a much lower population density overall though I would guess whereas the UK probably has a very high density as it’s a fairly small island.
Cataplana
07-03-2020, 09:46 AM
Self isolation isnt sick though.
I'm wondering, because if I had to self isolate, I would want to at least claim Statutory Sick Pay.
07-03-2020, 09:49 AM
I'm wondering, because if I had to self isolate, I would want to at least claim Statutory Sick Pay.
I don't know the ins and outs.
As said, it's more if self isolating or just as a general precaution if they don't want their workforce working in the same office together. The expectation would be they work from home and get paid as normal.
If they were genuinely ill there wouldn't be any expectation on them to work, I'd expect.
07-03-2020, 09:50 AM
Now that’s an argument!!!
Think we will closures and restrictions on all of the others before closing sports grounds. However, if it is club staff, including playing squad, then cancellations are inevitable.
07-03-2020, 09:51 AM
China has a much lower population density overall though I would guess whereas the UK probably has a very high density as it’s a fairly small island.
You're right, it's nearly twice as many (145 per km˛ v 274 per km˛)
That's mainly down to England.
Cataplana
07-03-2020, 09:54 AM
I don't know the ins and outs.
As said, it's more if self isolating or just as a general precaution if they don't want their workforce working in the same office together. The expectation would be they work from home and get paid as normal.
If they were genuinely ill there wouldn't be any expectation on them to work, I'd expect.
I just worry about precedents being set. Firstly it wouldn't be for the office to decide who should self isolate, that advice would come from the NHS.
Secondly, if employees are given the choice of working during a period when sick pay is being paid, this could become a norm.
Cataplana
07-03-2020, 09:58 AM
Glasgow Warriors ground closed because someone with the virus has been in it. Might as well close the airports and hospitals.
If.your working from home why would you need sick pay? Your working.
Cataplana
07-03-2020, 10:08 AM
If.your working from home why would you need sick pay? Your working.
I wouldn't be working. You can't do my job from the house.
07-03-2020, 10:10 AM
I just worry about precedents being set. Firstly it wouldn't be for the office to decide who should self isolate, that advice would come from the NHS.
Secondly, if employees are given the choice of working during a period when sick pay is being paid, this could become a norm.
I don't really see an issue with an office saying that they think the risks have increased and so staff should take advantage of the systems in place for them to work from home. That's precautionary measures, rather than self isolating.
I understand why people who can't work when they're not at work would need sick pay, but I wouldn't need sick pay to self isolate if it came to it. I could just work as normal. If I had symptoms that's a different story.
eezyrider
07-03-2020, 10:19 AM
People work from home all the time. As long as the relevant risk assessments have been done there isn't an issue.
EZ
07-03-2020, 10:24 AM
I don't really see an issue with an office saying that they think the risks have increased and so staff should take advantage of the systems in place for them to work from home. That's precautionary measures, rather than self isolating.
I understand why people who can't work when they're not at work would need sick pay, but I wouldn't need sick pay to self isolate if it came to it. I could just work as normal. If I had symptoms that's a different story.
I think the point he’s making is that if someone is sick and at home their employers might still expect them to work from home. It could set a precedent that even if you’re sick you still have to work.
eezyrider
07-03-2020, 10:24 AM
According to a lawyer on the radio the other day if your employer has told you to go home and self isolate you "should" get paid. If you self isolate off your own back on you're on your own though.
In reality if there is a risk you have the virus your employer will probably want you to contact your doctor/ NHS for them to say you have to self isolate so they can pay you Statutory Sick Pay instead.
EZ
07-03-2020, 10:28 AM
Scrap the season and give the titles to Celtic and Liverpool. They're so far ahead anyway.
There will always be an asterisk in the record books but that won't bother their worldwide supporters. They've got more important things to worry about in China these days.
07-03-2020, 10:30 AM
I think the point he’s making is that if someone is sick and at home their employers might still expect them to work from home. It could set a precedent that even if you’re sick you still have to work.
Okay, I don't see how anything has changed then. :dunno:
I would expect employers not to expect you to work when ill. Regardless of coronavirus.
If you're taking precautions or self-isolating then you're not ill and can work.
I wouldn't be working. You can't do my job from the house.
Thats a different point you asked if you could be asked to work from home if you are sick.
If your not ill and have been told to self isolate id imagine your employer will have to pay you. Its not unlike the beast from the east. Im sure plenty couldve made an effort and didnt but i know many more who went way beyond expectations, most of the workforce whose emplyers/patients/workmates rely on them wont take the mick and stay off for no reason
hibeesjoe
07-03-2020, 10:40 AM
Public toilets are disgusting. You can wash your hands as much as you want but then you have to open at least 2 doors to get out the bathroom, and there's always dirty sods that just walk out without washing. Not sure why they don't make swing doors with kickplates in them. Maybe that goes against building regs though, not sure.
Sent from my MI 8 using Tapatalk
07-03-2020, 10:51 AM
Okay, I don't see how anything has changed then. :dunno:
I would expect employers not to expect you to work when ill. Regardless of coronavirus.
If you're taking precautions or self-isolating then you're not ill and can work.
I would certainly hope that people won’t be pressured into working if they’re ill. If the worse case scenario happens you’re going to have an unprecedented number of people working from home whether they’re ill or not.
07-03-2020, 11:20 AM
Public toilets are disgusting. You can wash your hands as much as you want but then you have to open at least 2 doors to get out the bathroom, and there's always dirty sods that just walk out without washing. Not sure why they don't make swing doors with kickplates in them. Maybe that goes against building regs though, not sure.
Sent from my MI 8 using Tapatalk
Need two handles. One for people who have washed their hands and one for the manky gits 👍 😀
07-03-2020, 11:22 AM
Valencia CL game is to be played behind closed doors.
dalkeith stu
07-03-2020, 11:45 AM
Valencia CL game is to be played behind closed doors.
Because they are playing Atalanta. I may sound selfish but i hope the game at Anfield on wednesday still goes ahead as normal!!
07-03-2020, 01:09 PM
07-03-2020, 01:15 PM
Fake news.
07-03-2020, 01:16 PM
(Anti)bacterial soap for a virus, why? :dunno:
07-03-2020, 01:23 PM
https://fullfact.org/online/coronavirus-claims-symptoms-viral/
07-03-2020, 01:42 PM
It's only my opinion, but I have access to the same sources as you. The UK's chief medical officer, for example, has said that the chances of avoiding a global pandemic are now "slim to zero" and that the UK is on the brink of moving from the containment phase to "sustained transmission". Bearing in mind that the options under review at that stage would be the cancellation of major public events, it seems logical to assume that Scottish football matches would fall within that category.
I hope you're right and that it doesn't come to that, but personally I think that this is the way we're headed.
Edit: 43 new UK cases just confirmed today, including five more in Scotland.
07-03-2020, 01:45 PM
https://fullfact.org/online/coronavirus-claims-symptoms-viral/
Don't think even the fullfact peeps have got everything right there:
We don’t know how long the virus that causes Covid-19 can survive on surfaces yet, but washing your hands well with soap is good advice to prevent you picking up germs from surfaces.
Shirley washing your hands is to prevent transmitting the virus from your hands to other places (such as your gob, or the metal handrail on a bus), not to prevent the virus transmitting to your hands?
07-03-2020, 02:26 PM
We don’t know how long the virus that causes Covid-19 can survive on surfaces yet, but washing your hands well with soap is good advice to prevent you picking up germs from surfaces.
Shirley washing your hands is to prevent transmitting the virus from your hands to other places (such as your gob, or the metal handrail on a bus), not to prevent the virus transmitting to your hands?
I read it as it prevents you picking up the virus on your hands and then transferring it to your mouth when you are eating etc.
The fact we are debating it does suggest it's poorly worded though.
HibbyDave
07-03-2020, 02:32 PM
News breaking that a hotel in
China holding people in quarantine has collapsed and around 70 people are trapped in debris.
07-03-2020, 02:34 PM
News breaking that a hotel in
China holding people in quarantine has collapsed and around 70 people are trapped in debris.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-china-51784167
07-03-2020, 02:43 PM
I read it as it prevents you picking up the virus on your hands and then transferring it to your mouth when you are eating etc.
The fact we are debating it does suggest it's poorly worded though.
But washing your hands doesn't prevent you picking up the virus on your hands, does it? The whole "washing your hands is the best thing you can do" is to prevent your hands passing it on to other areas of your self or to other people, not to avoid it taking up residence on your hands.
The government advice to be washing your hands and singing Happy Birthday all the time is shirley aimed at slowing the spread of the disease, not a magic way of preventing the virus landing on your hands. :dunno:
According to previous government advice, head lice are attracted to clean hair just as much as dirty hair - are viruseses different? :confused:
07-03-2020, 02:48 PM
But washing your hands doesn't prevent you picking up the virus on your hands, does it? The whole "washing your hands is the best thing you can do" is to prevent your hands passing it on to other areas of your self or to other people, not to avoid it taking up residence on your hands.
The government advice to be washing your hands and singing Happy Birthday all the time is shirley aimed at slowing the spread of the disease, not a magic way of preventing the virus landing on your hands. :dunno:
According to previous government advice, head lice are attracted to clean hair just as much as dirty hair - are viruseses different? :confused:
I didn't mean it prevents you picking up the virus on your hands. I meant if you do pick it up on your hands then washing them prevents you passing it into your eyes, mouth etc assuming you wash them before touching said areas.
My wording is as bad a full fact check though.
07-03-2020, 02:50 PM
Need two handles. One for people who have washed their hands and one for the manky gits 👍 😀
Bad enough before this virus, it beggars belief the amount of dirty bassas who don’t wash their hands
07-03-2020, 02:51 PM
I didn't mean it prevents you picking up the virus on your hands. I meant if you do pick it up on your hands then washing them prevents you passing it into your eyes, mouth etc assuming you wash them before touching said areas.
07-03-2020, 03:02 PM
Bad enough before this virus, it beggars belief the amount of dirty bassas who don’t wash their hands
I was at the gym at Craiglockhart this morning. Guy in one of the traps walks out, opens the main door and walks away. Didn't look like he even thought twice about washing his hands. This afternoon I was at a wedding fair at the Corn Exchange (given a choice between going back there or taking my chances with coronavirus I'm not sure what I'd choose). There was ample soap, big notices to remind people to wash their hands, instructions on how to do it and hand sanitiser at all the external and internal doors. Same thing, guy walks into the toilet, takes a piss then walks back out without a backwards glance.
These people are utter tramps.
07-03-2020, 03:32 PM
If it’s on your hands you haven’t got it. If you then wash your hands , before touching your eyes, nose or mouth you’ve killed it.
07-03-2020, 03:35 PM
I hope so.
07-03-2020, 04:06 PM
If it’s on your hands you haven’t got it. If you then wash your hands , before touching your eyes, nose or mouth you’ve killed it.
Indeed. Which makes it puzzling that there's been so much emphasis on washing your hands and relatively little on not touching your face. If you're out and about, washing your hands with warm or cold soapy water can only be done at a relatively small number of locations/times of the day. Not touching your face can be attempted at all times and in all places.
Cataplana
07-03-2020, 05:06 PM
Johnny, did your mother never tell you to wash your hands after going to the toilet?
No, but she told me not to pee on my hands.
07-03-2020, 05:26 PM
If the authorities had any consideration for us Hibs Fans, they would finish the season now!!!!!!
Award the title to Celtc, give The Rangers and Motherwell the Euro places... and relegate Hearts.
It's the decent thing to do.
07-03-2020, 06:18 PM
Is this what is meant by "Hibs class"? FFS :rolleyes:
07-03-2020, 06:24 PM
I was at the gym at Craiglockhart this morning. Guy in one of the traps walks out, opens the main door and walks away. Didn't look like he even thought twice about washing his hands. This afternoon I was at a wedding fair at the Corn Exchange (given a choice between going back there or taking my chances with coronavirus I'm not sure what I'd choose). There was ample soap, big notices to remind people to wash their hands, instructions on how to do it and hand sanitiser at all the external and internal doors. Same thing, guy walks into the toilet, takes a piss then walks back out without a backwards glance.
These people are utter tramps.
I’m getting to the point where I’m going to say something and end up scrapping with a manky ******* in a bog.
It’s so inconsiderate it is unreal.
On the flip side I was up at Craigie’s with my wee girl today and at one point I went for a slash. I was very impressed that every person who came and went whilst I was there spent a decent amount of time washing and drying their hands. The message appears to be getting through better with some people than others.
07-03-2020, 06:26 PM
Is this what is meant by "Hibs class"? FFS :rolleyes:
I occasionally pish in the sink which to be fair upsets the wife mind you she was doing the dishes at the time
07-03-2020, 06:28 PM
I occasionally pish in the sink which to be fair upsets the wife mind you she was doing the dishes at the time
I hope you washed your hands properly afterwards. :aok:
07-03-2020, 06:28 PM
😁😁
07-03-2020, 06:56 PM
I've seen people p1ssing in sinks at football matches loads of times. I once objected to some of the young team doing this at Tannadice a few years back and was threatened in return.
Go into the toilets at any game at ER and you'll see that people have been p1ssing all over the floor and toilet seats, plus toilets that are unflushed.
Some people behave like animals at football matches. It doesn't give you much hope for preventing illnesses like this.
07-03-2020, 07:31 PM
Strasbourg v PSG was cancelled because of the virus
Frankhfc
07-03-2020, 08:00 PM
If the authorities had any consideration for us Hibs Fans, they would finish the season now!!!!!!
Award the title to Celtc, give The Rangers and Motherwell the Euro places... and relegate Hearts.
It's the decent thing to do.
It would be absolutely hilarious.
:lolyam:
North Italy in lockdown for next 4 weeks. We'll be the same in a fortnight I reckon.
07-03-2020, 09:02 PM
What does she say when you dry it off on the curtains?
07-03-2020, 09:07 PM
What does she say when you dry it off on the curtains?
Zuffle.
07-03-2020, 09:11 PM
Zuffle.
God I’m getting old. I had no idea there was a word for that. That’s priceless 🤣
08-03-2020, 01:30 AM
23060Is it not roasting in China?
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
08-03-2020, 04:36 AM
Is it not roasting in China?
China is a huge land mass...and has many different weather regions...wuhan is south from us...average temp at this time of year is around 16 degrees Celsius....
08-03-2020, 09:03 AM
Nicola Sturgeon on BBC One now "the vast majority of people who get this virus will have mild symptoms akin to a cold".
HibeeHibernian4
08-03-2020, 09:17 AM
I’ve kept quiet on this thread but you seem absolutely hellbent on this happening, when there isn’t much proof that it will be what happens. Have you got money on the season ending early or something? You’re obsessed with it.
08-03-2020, 09:20 AM
Nicola Sturgeon on BBC One now "the vast majority of people who get this virus will have mild symptoms akin to a cold".
Never saw it, would be good to know what else was said.
It's weird in away, from almost day one we all know that the vast majority only get a cold, some won't ever even know they've had it. The fact remains that the higher the total numbers that get it then, just like flu, the more people from that tiny minority will die from it, last I looked about 2-3%. If by taking precautions and washing hands etc we reduce the spread then we'll in turn reduce the numbers in that 2-3% total.
win-win?
08-03-2020, 09:35 AM
North of Italy has been shut down and 16 million people been told not allowed to leave the area. Wonder how that will effect Serie A and those teams playing in Europe.
08-03-2020, 09:37 AM
It's weird in away, from almost day one we all know that the vast majority only get a cold, some won't ever even know they've had it. The fact remains that the higher the total numbers that get it then, just like flu, the more people from that tiny minority will die from it, last I looked about 2-3%. If by taking precautions and washing hands etc we reduce the spread then we'll in turn reduce the numbers in that 2-3% total.
win-win?
There seems to be a different mortality rate in different countries and I think the boffins are trying to get their heads around that one.
I think the argument about containing initially then delaying the spread is that we don't want our health services to be overrun - if we have adequate health service provision, there is a better chance to help the most seriously ill (like in Germany, 500 odd cases and no deaths yet). In Italy the services are overrun and people are dying more. They also have a more elderly population though, so that might have no impact.
It's impossible to contain this now, but very simple measures can delay the spread. And if the message is spread that it is unlikely to be all that bad for the majority of people who get it, then people might stop acting like twats and doing stuff like hoarding bog roll.
08-03-2020, 09:42 AM
North of Italy has been shut down and 16 million people been told not allowed to leave the area. Wonder how that will effect Serie A and those teams playing in Europe.
Think Atalanta and Roma are playing this week, both away from home
I’d be surprised if they’d be allowed to travel
08-03-2020, 09:48 AM
Think Atalanta and Roma are playing this week, both away from home
I’d be surprised if they’d be allowed to travel
Rome isn't in north of Italy so should be ok. Ban is to last until April so with effect Milan clubs also.
08-03-2020, 10:55 AM
There seems to be a different mortality rate in different countries and I think the boffins are trying to get their heads around that one.
I think the argument about containing initially then delaying the spread is that we don't want our health services to be overrun - if we have adequate health service provision, there is a better chance to help the most seriously ill (like in Germany, 500 odd cases and no deaths yet). In Italy the services are overrun and people are dying more. They also have a more elderly population though, so that might have no impact.
It's impossible to contain this now, but very simple measures can delay the spread. And if the message is spread that it is unlikely to be all that bad for the majority of people who get it, then people might stop acting like twats and doing stuff like hoarding bog roll.Agree with all of that
Cataplana
08-03-2020, 11:27 AM
It's impossible to contain this now, but very simple measures can delay the spread. And if the message is spread that it is unlikely to be all that bad for the majority of people who get it, then people might stop acting like twats and doing stuff like hoarding bog roll.
Different countries may be over reporting, or under reporting, as the case may be.
For example, in Scotland we have the NHS which is a central point for reporting symptoms, and recording diagnoses. This leads to a much more efficient method of collecting data than in countries where health care is more fractured.
There may be poorer countries in the world, where there is no flu vaccination programme in place, and deaths are being attributed to influenza rather than Covid.
08-03-2020, 11:27 AM
Rome isn't in north of Italy so should be ok. Ban is to last until April so with effect Milan clubs also.
Italian minister off sport has called for Serie A/B to be stopped. All today's games have been postponed including the Parma game where both teams were in the tunnel about to take to the pitch.
Cataplana
08-03-2020, 11:31 AM
Italian minister off sport has called for Serie A/B to be stopped. All today's games have been postponed including the Parma game where both teams were in the tunnel about to take to the pitch.
Sounds like they are still getting to grips with a co ordinated, nationwide approach.
08-03-2020, 11:31 AM
Scrap that. Games now likely to go ahead. Wish they'd make up their minds.
08-03-2020, 11:58 AM
Scrap that. Games now likely to go ahead. Wish they'd make up their minds.
They have been reading Hibs.net where there are many different opinions as to whether to cancel the whole season or not.
08-03-2020, 12:02 PM
I'm stocked up and all prepared...
08-03-2020, 05:03 PM
133 more deaths in a single day in Italy.
08-03-2020, 06:24 PM
133 more deaths in a single day in Italy.
Let's not play our games there, then.
Good for Nichola, an expert on this as well. Perhaps she would care to tell me where in Fife the 2 cases are located, so that my daughter, who lives with a condition that would almost certainly result in hospitalisation can avoid the area. Claiming patient confidentiality is nonsense.
08-03-2020, 06:39 PM
I very much doubt the semi final will go ahead and if it does, it’ll likely be behind closed doors. Scotland v Israel will be a litmus test at the end of the month.
08-03-2020, 06:39 PM
Good for Nichola, an expert on this as well. Perhaps she would care to tell me where in Fife the 2 cases are located, so that my daughter, who lives with a condition that would almost certainly result in hospitalisation can avoid the area. Claiming patient confidentiality is nonsense.
I can sense your worry here and rightly so. Might be worth your daughter staying at home for a while.
08-03-2020, 06:53 PM
I very much doubt the semi final will go ahead and if it does, it’ll likely be behind closed doors. Scotland v Israel will be a litmus test at the end of the month.
I don’t think they will be allowed to travel.
08-03-2020, 06:58 PM
She's obviously in very close contact with Scotland's Chief Medical Officer who will be advising her on this. Otherwise it would be concerning if the First Minister was ignoring what she was being told by the most senior medical professional in the country.
I can sense your worry here and rightly so. Might be worth your daughter staying at home for a while.
Actually considering that, because she really can't afford to become infected, she has Churg Strauss syndrome & any infection could prove life threatening.
She's obviously in very close contact with Scotland's Chief Medical Officer who will be advising her on this. Otherwise it would be concerning if the First Minister was ignoring what she was being told by the most senior medical professional in the country.
Your missing my point, Fife covers a large area, why can we not know where in the area the 2 cases are located.
Chorley Hibee
08-03-2020, 07:06 PM
Actually considering that, because she really can't afford to become infected, she has Churg Strauss syndrome & any infection could prove life threatening.
Keeping my fingers crossed for you and your family Lago.
I'm in a similar situation with my daughter. She was born 16 weeks early, and is only just out of hospital after 4 months in neonatal.
As she has Chronic Lung Disease (and requires 24 hour oxygen support) both my wife and I are very concerned about the consequences of any infection.
We are trying to remain philosophical, but it is a worrying time.
08-03-2020, 07:08 PM
Your missing my point, Fife covers a large area, why can we not know where in the area the 2 cases are located.
Yeah I don't see why they couldn't do that. However we would possibly only know where that person lived , they could live in Dunfermline for instance but work in Edinburgh or another part of Fife.
I am assuming the cases in Fife will now be being treated in hospital or possibly more likely self isolating.
08-03-2020, 07:10 PM
Are the areas where the cases are located likely yet to be hot spots?
The people in Scotland who are affected will have most likely got it overseas then come back through an airport and could have passed in on to any number of people within that time.
As concerning as it must be for you and your daughter, I don’t know if it would realistically help anyone to have that direct info in the public domain right now, as steering your daughter away from one area might just steer her directly into another?
08-03-2020, 07:14 PM
People will catch it and not care about others.
People will catch it and do all can to stop spread.
People will catch it and not know until to late.
People will catch it and not want to admit it as some may tjink bit of stigma with it.
Most people will deal with it in best manner but enough won't. I honestly do not see how it won't spread just like flu etc.
Are the areas where the cases are located likely yet to be hot spots?
The people in Scotland who are affected will have most likely got it overseas then come back through an airport and could have passed in on to any number of people within that time.
As concerning as it must be for you and your daughter, I don’t know if it would realistically help anyone to have that direct info in the public domain right now, as steering your daughter away from one area might just steer her directly into another?
All good points, but we don't even know if they are being treated at home or hospital, the main hospital in Fife is the Victoria here in Kirkcaldy, she goes there for clinics, so you can see the sort of quandary we're in.
Keeping my fingers crossed for you and your family Lago.
I'm in a similar situation with my daughter. She was born 16 weeks early, and is only just out of hospital after 4 months in neonatal.
As she has Chronic Lung Disease (and requires 24 hour oxygen support) both my wife and I are very concerned about the consequences of any infection.
We are trying to remain philosophical, but it is a worrying time.
It is a worry especially with a young child like your daughter, my daughter is an adult but has to be so very careful, her condition is not curable it can only be managed through medication.
08-03-2020, 07:21 PM
People will catch it and not care about others.
People will catch it and do all can to stop spread.
People will catch it and not know until to late.
People will catch it and not want to admit it as some may tjink bit of stigma with it.
Most people will deal with it in best manner but enough won't. I honestly do not see how it won't spread just like flu etc.
And, like it or not, some people will catch it and do all they can to infect others.
08-03-2020, 07:22 PM
All good points, but we don't even know if they are being treated at home or hospital, the main hospital in Fife is the Victoria here in Kirkcaldy, she goes there for clinics, so you can see the sort of quandary we're in.
Yeah for instances like this would be good to have that information.
You could possibly contact your local MSP explaining the situation and they would hopefully be able to get you the information.
08-03-2020, 07:22 PM
Let's not play our games there, then.
Of course, I forgot, they're Italian.
Why should we care if hundreds of them are dying?
08-03-2020, 07:23 PM
And, like it or not, some people will catch it and do all they can to infect others.
Possibly yeah
08-03-2020, 07:25 PM
Watching the Juve Inter game is just horrible without any fans. Just call an end to the football season cause it has to be better than this.
win-win?
The advice from the NHS and government is to wash your hands in HOT water with soap for at least 20 seconds. Given that HOT water is an alien concept in the toilets at Easter Road, it would only be right for our games to be played under a closed doors situation until this is all sorted.
09-03-2020, 07:41 AM
Watching the Juve Inter game is just horrible without any fans. Just call an end to the football season cause it has to be better than this.
Tv companies all over the planet wouldn’t have that happen.
Cataplana
09-03-2020, 07:50 AM
Yeah for instances like this would be good to have that information.
You could possibly contact your local MSP explaining the situation and they would hopefully be able to get you the information.
NHS Fife, surely?
09-03-2020, 07:50 AM
Wait to see what happens at Hampden in a few weeks then make a decision :D
According to bild.de Dortmund v Schalke this Saturday is to be played behind closed doors too.
09-03-2020, 07:59 AM
NHS Fife, surely?
How do you go to them? If you go to your GP you’ll likely be told politely yo F off and that it’s not their responsibility.
At least by going to the MSP you’ll have someone who will likely be able to put you in touch with the right person at - NHS Fife.
Cataplana
09-03-2020, 08:07 AM
How do you go to them? If you go to your GP you’ll likely be told politely yo F off and that it’s not their responsibility.
At least by going to the MSP you’ll have someone who will likely be able to put you in touch with the right person at - NHS Fife.
Try their website, and it will have contact information.
https://www.nhsfife.org/nhs/index.cfm
It could cut out the middle man.
What gives you such great faith in MSPs having all the information at their fingertips?
Anyway, patient confidentiality would probably prevent them giving out specific locations for infected patients.
09-03-2020, 08:35 AM
First "test" has been in Lochgelly.
Results aren't back yet. I work in Dunfermline and have a few customers in the area which is where the info came from this morning.
Edit: Two in Dunfermline on Friday apparently!
09-03-2020, 08:43 AM
..except for fans of Lazio and similar teams who are on the verge of greatness?
I'd rather play the season out in empty stadiums for the TV audience. It's better than doing nothing.
09-03-2020, 08:47 AM
ATP Indiana Wells has been postponed, just a matter of time until our stadiums are closed as well. I would think semi and fianl of Scottish Cup will also be in doubt, with folk flying in from everywhere. Im almost certain the schools will be closed soon.
09-03-2020, 08:51 AM
ATP Indiana Wells has been postponed, just a matter of time until our stadiums are closed as well. I would think semi and fianl of Scottish Cup will also be in doubt, with folk flying in from everywhere. Im almost certain the schools will be closed soon.
A lot of international speakers in Uni’s from all over have started cancelling a lot over the last week. I would suspect with the volume of people travelling that Uni’s and colleges will be first to close.
09-03-2020, 09:01 AM
On the beeb just now that the UK may hit peak in 3 weeks?
Could also be heading for another recession, according to some.
I was thinking, If this virus was more aggressive we would have had a total shutdown of everything from transpprt tp schools, its also (without trying to be insensitive) a good test of what countries should be doing incase of a more aggressive virus.
Cataplana
09-03-2020, 09:28 AM
On the beeb just now that the UK may hit peak in 3 weeks?
Could also be heading for another recession, according to some.
I was thinking, If this virus was more aggressive we would have had a total shutdown of everything from transpprt tp schools, its also (without trying to be insensitive) a good test of what countries should be doing incase of a more aggressive virus.
If it was more aggressive, there would have been more deaths. What is happening is that people are interpreting precautions as meaning there is actually an aggressive virus out there that will cause many deaths.
The evidence suggests otherwise, but some people discuss the worst case scenario like it's the only scenario.
The recession thing has been a hardy point of discussion amongst the chattering classes. It disappears as soon as the market adjusts, only to reappear on the next price drop.
euro Hibby
09-03-2020, 10:27 AM
Here in Italy the goverment put 16 million people on theoretical lockdown but goods can move from red zone to red zone and people if you have a work commitment.
The key issue is that this virus is not deadly but it is easy to transmit and it is dangereous for 20 % of the population , mostly old 65 + and people with medical conditions.
The worry is that hospitals will not cope with intensive care needs. We have 4000 beds only in Italy for intensive care so that is not going to be enough if this keeps going as it is.
This is why all social gatherings, sporting events, are being shut down to try to reverse the situation. Today I could not get into mth esupermarket as they were only letting in a
small number of people at a time ! I would stop the league now in Scotland and hand out thje prizes on current standings .....but we would lose th eother hald of Edinburgh !:greengrin
09-03-2020, 10:31 AM
Dortmund v PSG now behind closed doors.
Cataplana
09-03-2020, 10:35 AM
Here in Italy the goverment put 16 million people on theoretical lockdown but goods can move from red zone to red zone and people if you have a work commitment.
The key issue is that this virus is not deadly but it is easy to transmit and it is dangereous for 20 % of the population , mostly old 65 + and people with medical conditions.
The worry is that hospitals will not cope with intensive care needs. We have 4000 beds only in Italy for intensive care so that is not going to be enough if this keeps going as it is.
This is why all social gatherings, sporting events, are being shut down to try to reverse the situation. Today I could not get into mth esupermarket as they were only letting in a
small number of people at a time ! I would stop the league now in Scotland and hand out thje prizes on current standings .....but we would lose th eother hald of Edinburgh !:greengrin
Any chance we could have a pools panel to decide who wins the Scottish Cup?
09-03-2020, 10:49 AM
Sorry if already said but rest of Six Nations rugby cancelled
09-03-2020, 10:49 AM
I wonder if the semi final will be played behind closed doors.
09-03-2020, 10:50 AM
I wonder if the semi final will be played behind closed doors.
Good chance
09-03-2020, 10:50 AM
Where are you seeing that? BBC news is running a story about how the culture secretary is saying that sport will continue. I am heading to Wales this weekend for the gane
09-03-2020, 10:53 AM
I don’t think that’s right
09-03-2020, 10:55 AM
Where are you seeing that? BBC news is running a story about how the culture secretary is saying that sport will continue. I am heading to Wales this weekend for the gane
On the Sun website. All remaining fixtures postponed until October
09-03-2020, 11:03 AM
Their headline is misleading (SHOCK) as the article states Wales v Scotland will go ahead.
09-03-2020, 11:06 AM
Just shows how easily fake news can spread these days. How are the Sun allowed to put up "all remaining games" when it's just not true?
09-03-2020, 11:06 AM
Their headline is misleading (SHOCK) as the article states Wales v Scotland will go ahead.
Good, there are 47 of us heading down on Thursday morning from my local club.
Cataplana
09-03-2020, 11:26 AM
This is the source, nothing at all on the official site.
https://www.rugbyrama.fr/rugby/6-nations/2020/tournoi-des-6-nations-2020-le-comite-des-6-nations-reporte-france-irlande_sto7698485/story.shtml (https://www.rugbyrama.fr/rugby/6-nations/2020/tournoi-des-6-nations-2020-le-comite-des-6-nations-reporte-france-irlande_sto7698485/story.shtml)
https://www.sixnationsrugby.com/en/home.php
09-03-2020, 11:29 AM
BBC Scotland news reported that all ties to be postponed until October.
09-03-2020, 11:30 AM
Game against France on and they have 1200 cases and involves international travel.
Son works with the EPL and they were told by WHO not to cause panic by cancelling domestic games when the number of infections are low in UK. That may change if we see a spiraling number of new cases.
09-03-2020, 11:30 AM
France v Ireland has been cancelled but the Wales v Scotland is going ahead at the moment according to everything I can find on news sites and also on SRU and WRU websites. I have spoken to someone who has contacts in WRU and they are apparently in discussions with a behind closed doors game is not being ruled out at the moment. That will be completely pointless as all that will happen is that the 80,000 who were going to the game will just congregate in pubs and rugby clubs. Also I would imagine that folk like our club who have already paid for hotels and buses etc will travel anyway unless travel is banned.
09-03-2020, 11:31 AM
www.express.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/1252762/Six-Nations-suspend-final-round-October-coronavirus
Cataplana
09-03-2020, 11:32 AM
If the media can't even report postponements of rugby fixtures correctly, what chance do they have in explaining epidemic models to a scared public?
09-03-2020, 11:43 AM
Still nothing on SRU or WRU webpages about a cancellation. I would have thought they would have been first to know before the Sun and Express?? 🤞the game is on
09-03-2020, 11:48 AM
Still nothing on SRU or WRU webpages about a cancellation. I would have thought they would have been first to know before the Sun and Express?? 🤞the game is on
The meeting is taking place just now regarding Wales and Scotland. France minister leaked the French Ireland game was off.
09-03-2020, 11:54 AM
The meeting is taking place just now regarding Wales and Scotland. France minister leaked the French Ireland game was off.
As I said earlier apparently a behind closed doors game hasn't been rules out. Pointless if that happens. Do we then tell everyone that they shouldn't go to a pub, club etc to watch it. Is everyone meant to stay at home. My weekend has cost me Ł400, along with another 46 guys, and we won't get any of that money back if it's cancelled. Chances are we will still head down on the bus we have paid for, drinking the beer we have paid for and stay in the hotel we have paid for.
09-03-2020, 11:55 AM
As I said earlier apparently a behind closed doors game hasn't been rules out. Pointless if that happens. Do we then tell everyone that they shouldn't go to a pub, club etc to watch it. Is everyone meant to stay at home. My weekend has cost me Ł400, along with another 46 guys, and we won't get any of that money back if it's cancelled. Chances are we will still head down on the bus we have paid for, drinking the beer we have paid for and stay in the hotel we have paid for.
I hope it’s on for the supporters sake. I dont think they are suggesting behind closed doors but postponing all games until the end of October.
09-03-2020, 12:06 PM
I hope it’s on for the supporters sake. I dont think they are suggesting behind closed doors but postponing all games until the end of October.
Game is ON as of 5 minutes ago.
https://www-walesonline-co-uk.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/www.walesonline.co.uk/sport/rugby/rugby-news/wales-v-scotland-despite-rest-17889734.amp?amp_js_v=a3&_gsa=1&usqp=mq331AQFKAGwASA%3D#aoh=15837590577443&referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&_tf=From%20%251%24s&share=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.walesonline.co.uk%2Fspo rt%2Frugby%2Frugby-news%2Fwales-v-scotland-despite-rest-17889734
09-03-2020, 12:13 PM
I work in a fairly large office building in Glasgow and just received an E-Mail saying we're not allowed to arrange any face-to-face meetings with colleagues from other locations, including those from the building in the next street.
You know, those people that will be on the train with me to and from work, or the ones that I'll be sitting next to in the local cafe at lunchtime.
Mental!
I work in a fairly large office building in Glasgow and just received an E-Mail saying we're not allowed to arrange any face-to-face meetings with colleagues from other locations, including those from the building in the next street.
You know, those people that will be on the train with me to and from work, or the ones that I'll be sitting next to in the local cafe at lunchtime.
Mental!
People will be told to work from home at some point this week I reckon.
09-03-2020, 12:20 PM
Can I go home now?
09-03-2020, 12:20 PM
Do you guys think trains will go ahead this weekend? Really dont want to miss out on the st johnstone game.
09-03-2020, 12:22 PM
Hope no, it's harder work there :)
09-03-2020, 12:23 PM
Game is ON as of 5 minutes ago.
https://www-walesonline-co-uk.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/www.walesonline.co.uk/sport/rugby/rugby-news/wales-v-scotland-despite-rest-17889734.amp?amp_js_v=a3&_gsa=1&usqp=mq331AQFKAGwASA%3D#aoh=15837590577443&referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&_tf=From%20%251%24s&share=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.walesonline.co.uk%2Fspo rt%2Frugby%2Frugby-news%2Fwales-v-scotland-despite-rest-17889734
Good news!
09-03-2020, 12:23 PM
Typical Sun reporting the game is off before it's been confirmed. Appolgies for posting it. Should have known.
09-03-2020, 12:26 PM
Can't help but think the semi finals are in with a real chance of being played behind closed doors. The numbers infected area starting to rise a fair bit faster and will be much worse by the time the games come round.
09-03-2020, 12:26 PM
Typical Sun reporting the game is off before it's been confirmed. Appolgies for posting it. Should have known.
Not your fault, mate.
Steven79
09-03-2020, 12:28 PM
Can't help but think the semi finals are in with a real chance of being played behind closed doors. The numbers infected area starting to rise a fair bit faster and will be much worse by the time the games come round.
I think they will delay them rather than throw away the cash from the semi finals and final.
Cataplana
09-03-2020, 12:30 PM
Are the numbers going up at a faster rate than predicted?
Box 17
You're probably more likely to be infected travelling on a crowded bus or train than you are by attending a sporting event. If they want to do the containment seriously then they will need to stop people going on public transport.
Schools to remain open and sporting events to go ahead with a total of 23 cases in the whole of Scotland.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-51802554
09-03-2020, 12:31 PM
Mental!
In our current litigious society, I think a lot of this is about employers washing their hands of any responsibility for people passing it on to each other rather than actually trying to prevent spread.
When you start to dig deep with infection control you often find that it is riddled with hypocrisy.
Cataplana
09-03-2020, 12:40 PM
In our current litigious society, I think a lot of this is about employers washing their hands of any responsibility for people passing it on to each other rather than actually trying to prevent spread.
When you start to dig deep with infection control you often find that it is riddled with hypocrisy.
Biggest joke of all is the fact that people wash their hands in hospitals, but then go onto the ward with the same dirty shoes and clothes, and proceed to sit - sometimes - lie on the patient they are visitings bed.
I suspect restrict that there will be a lot of whingeing once the government announces restrictions on movement, and that very few people will comply.
09-03-2020, 12:40 PM
Scotland game to go ahead. Chance of topping the group until October with a win 😎
09-03-2020, 12:41 PM
I think they will delay them rather than throw away the cash from the semi finals and final.
Possibly i suppose it depends on the circumstances at the time.
09-03-2020, 12:43 PM
Biggest joke of all is the fact that people wash their hands in hospitals, but then go onto the ward with the same dirty shoes and clothes, and proceed to sit - sometimes - lie on the patient they are visiting's bed.
I think you are confusing hospital with a brothel if you sit or lie on the person in bed. 😉
09-03-2020, 12:44 PM
Not disagreeing but would add that society these days loves an over-reaction. Much like the boy Ferguson getting Whittaker sent off.
First "test" has been in Lochgelly.
Results aren't back yet. I work in Dunfermline and have a few customers in the area which is where the info came from this morning.
Edit: Two in Dunfermline on Friday apparently!
Thanks for that, more info than NHS Fife giving out. 👍
09-03-2020, 12:48 PM
The person who runs one of the Hibs fans pages on social media (Hiberniandaily) says they have Coronavirus.
09-03-2020, 12:52 PM
Thanks for that, more info than NHS Fife giving out. [emoji106]Don't take it as gospel. It was just what was said at the trade counter this morning.
09-03-2020, 12:53 PM
The person who runs one of the Hibs fans pages on social media (Hiberniandaily) says they have Coronavirus.
His parents returned from Italy and didn't know they had come into contact with covid-19
AugustaHibs
09-03-2020, 12:57 PM
What’s the link?
09-03-2020, 01:06 PM
What’s the link?
I wouldn’t risk it mate.[emoji6]
09-03-2020, 01:17 PM
Downing Street said the prime minister "will be guided by the best scientific advice" but there was no need to cancel sporting events at this stage.
Cataplana
09-03-2020, 01:27 PM
Downing Street said the prime minister "will be guided by the best scientific advice" but there was no need to cancel sporting events at this stage.
Expect the season to be cancelled by 6 pm today.
09-03-2020, 01:29 PM
Was he at Easter Rd for the derby and up in Aberdeen on Saturday.
09-03-2020, 01:56 PM
I wouldn’t risk it mate.[emoji6]
Buy a year’s supply of bog roll, stick a couple of condoms on and go for it is what I say.
09-03-2020, 02:16 PM
Israel want the playoff to be postponed, their manager is in isolation.
09-03-2020, 02:18 PM
Some health scientist or similar on the news just now stating that Italy waited far too long for containment measures and Britain has to act soon before the numbers rise. Suggesting games behind closed doors etc for sporting events.
09-03-2020, 02:20 PM
Thank **** for that, I’m leaving for Cheltenham on Wednesday.
09-03-2020, 02:23 PM
F'me ........ He wasn't in Tamsons before the Hearts game was he, coz I've felt like ***** for the last two days :confused:
TimeForHeroes16
09-03-2020, 02:55 PM
hope this lad all the best. Must be the first Hibee to catch the virus 23062