View Full Version : Griffiths loan???
Pages :
[
11]
26-09-2014, 09:17 AM
Having read this (http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/griffiths-will-stay-at-celtic-deila-tells-hibs-1-3553600) article in The Scotsman, I'm now convinced this Loan has been killed stone dead.
I'd encourage all you Straw Clutchers to read it.
Ive never been fully convinced we would sign him, but theres nothing in that article that suggests anything in the situation is changed. Im not sure what point Deila is trying to make from those quotes, and it almost contradicts what both managers have said over the last few days. Also, he keeps talking Griffiths up in the press, then refuses to play him. Its a very strange message to send to any player.
26-09-2014, 09:22 AM
I fail to see the confusion here. He has said LG isn't going anywhere.
He has talked him up as he is celtic player and if he does need him (injuries to his preffered strikers), he needs lg on side....
And that's it...!?!?
Would love to see Griffiths back at easter road. But all the evidence suggests it won't happen. No matter how much we all want it to happen.
Still think delia is an erse for not playing him mind you.
TheHarpy76
26-09-2014, 09:27 AM
Sounds like Riordan all over again imo.
Strachan was forever banging on about how he was the best finisher at the club etc and yet he never played him.
Exact same thing with Griffiths.
Makes you wonder what's happening off the pitch.
26-09-2014, 09:27 AM
Having read this (http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/griffiths-will-stay-at-celtic-deila-tells-hibs-1-3553600) article in The Scotsman, I'm now convinced this Loan has been killed stone dead.
Given your negative comments on here and on the PM board I take it you don't want Hibs to sign Sparky.
26-09-2014, 09:43 AM
Sounds like Riordan all over again imo.
Strachan was forever banging on about how he was the best finisher at the club etc and yet he never played him.
Exact same thing with Griffiths.
Makes you wonder what's happening off the pitch.
Peter Lawwell
TheHarpy76
26-09-2014, 09:44 AM
Peter Lawwell
Could be :D
26-09-2014, 10:03 AM
Given your negative comments on here and on the PM board I take it you don't want Hibs to sign Sparky.
Any mutterings scoops?
26-09-2014, 10:09 AM
Any mutterings scoops?
Nah, haven't a clue mate.
At least we know Hibs are trying to get him though.
26-09-2014, 10:11 AM
Like everyone, I've been clinging onto the idea, but the time it has taken has dragged on, if there is no news by the end of today, I really do think that the deal is dead in the water.
I can't go through another week on " it's happening on Monday, no maybe Wednesday, oh wait it'll definitely be friday"
I'm gutted but lets move on
26-09-2014, 10:23 AM
But having said that, this was published just this morning and raises yet more questions!!
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/leigh-griffiths-future-in-doubt-after-celtic-snub-1-3552999
Lee Marvin
26-09-2014, 10:27 AM
But having said that, this was published just this morning and raises yet more questions!!
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/leigh-griffiths-future-in-doubt-after-celtic-snub-1-3552999
This was yesterday
26-09-2014, 10:31 AM
So...anything not happening apart from this?
I'm not working today for example
26-09-2014, 10:33 AM
Daily record also reporting the deal is dead after the clubs couldn't agree terms. I think it's over.
26-09-2014, 10:40 AM
You take it wrong..... I'm simply trying to dampen the fervour a little.
Also, everything I predict turns out the opposite, so it's a bit like 'reverse psychology' :wink:
--------------------------------------
“We enquired about him before the deadline. Apart from that, there is nothing to report. The recent stories have not come from us. It is people making assumptions because Leigh is not in the Celtic team. He is not my player and it’s not my decision."
Alan Stubbs (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hibs-bid-sign-celtic-striker-4326630)
That seems to be at odds with what's been reported on here.
hibs4thecup1988
26-09-2014, 11:05 AM
Also, everything I predict turns out the opposite, so it's a bit like 'reverse psychology' :wink:
“We enquired about him before the deadline. Apart from that, there is nothing to report. The recent stories have not come from us. It is people making assumptions because Leigh is not in the Celtic team. He is not my player and it’s not my decision."
Alan Stubbs (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hibs-bid-sign-celtic-striker-4326630)
What do you want him to say about a player THAT IS NOT HIS?!
He cannot come out and say he wants him and that he should come to us.
We will soon see. If Stubbs does his pre match press conference without anything happening I would say its dead
26-09-2014, 11:12 AM
What do you want him to say about a player THAT IS NOT HIS?!
He cannot come out and say he wants him and that he should come to us.
We will soon see. If Stubbs does his pre match press conference without anything happening I would say its dead
That's a bit of an over-reaction, isn't it?
Am I not allowed to highlight what people have said in the press or question what people say on here in light of it?
The only definite quotes I have read from anyone at either Celtc or Hibs would suggest there is going to be NO Loan deal for Griffiths.
26-09-2014, 11:13 AM
Its all become a bit embarrassing now really.
:agree: It was always a he told me this, he said that sort of rumour, nothing has been said by any party apart from on this board and a couple of journo's looking for a story, time to move on and hopefully Farid gets fit quickly.
hibs4thecup1988
26-09-2014, 11:21 AM
Am I not allowed to highlight what people have said in the press or question what people say on here in light of it?
The only definite quotes I have read from anyone at either Celtc or Hibs would suggest there is going to be NO Loan deal for Griffiths.
Who is over-reacting? I am just telling you what I feel. What do you want him to say?
26-09-2014, 11:30 AM
Who is over-reacting? I am just telling you what I feel. What do you want him to say?
The Upercase Letters suggested a bit of shouteyness. It always makes me think somebody is a bit angry.
26-09-2014, 11:32 AM
Your not allowed to say anything negative on here about Hibs no matter how realistic your being. Just stick to the quality not quantity line.
26-09-2014, 11:34 AM
Your not allowed to say anything negative on here about Hibs no matter how realistic your being. Just stick to the quality not quantity line.
What forum are you reading?
It's been a sea of negativity, often with good reason, on here for months now.
26-09-2014, 11:38 AM
YOU are allowed to say something positive about ANYTHING once in a while :greengrin
hibs4thecup1988
26-09-2014, 11:51 AM
The Upercase Letters suggested a bit of shouteyness. It always makes me think somebody is a bit angry.
Just emphasising what Stubbs has said previously regards other players we have been going for... :greengrin
26-09-2014, 11:53 AM
Just emphasising what Stubbs has said previously regards other players we have been going for... :greengrin
26-09-2014, 11:53 AM
YOU are allowed to say something positive about ANYTHING once in a while :greengrin
When positive things start to happen then I'll say so.
erin-go-bragh87
26-09-2014, 11:58 AM
The boys and girls on brokeback will be creaming themselves at this thread. Can it not be closed until he actually signs?
26-09-2014, 12:00 PM
When positive things start to happen then I'll say so.
Uber taxi? :greengrin
26-09-2014, 12:04 PM
This is becoming embarrassing now particularly for all the ITK posters and their done deal posts. Lets move on and close this thread. ..for now he aint coming back!! Get over it and move on guys!!
26-09-2014, 12:07 PM
You must have chose to ignore Stubbs saying we had enquired about
Griffiths again and Delia saying that if he doesn't go on loan he will be a Celtic player!
26-09-2014, 12:10 PM
The boys and girls on brokeback will be creaming themselves at this thread. Can it not be closed until he actually signs?
Like I give a flying one about ANYTHING they mutants think/say.
26-09-2014, 12:24 PM
What forum are you reading?
It's been a sea of negativity, often with good reason, on here for months now.
Whoever John RObertson is from this site who has been retweeted by Banderson, he's a master of negativity. Some hibs fans seem to love slagging off their own team.
26-09-2014, 12:33 PM
This was yesterday
Which yesterday are you talking about?
26-09-2014, 12:41 PM
Its actually quite embarrassing having an 85 page thread on this!
26-09-2014, 12:48 PM
I suppose it's a sign of the times, mate. We're desperately wanting some news to cheer us up.
26-09-2014, 12:51 PM
This is nothing compared to the last couple of seasons, have you been following Hibs long???
26-09-2014, 12:56 PM
85?
I'm on page 128! :confused:
26-09-2014, 12:57 PM
85?
85 here too.
DarrenSQH
26-09-2014, 12:59 PM
85?
Im on 85.
Does he sign by page 128?
26-09-2014, 01:04 PM
85?
depends how many posts you have per page.
26-09-2014, 01:05 PM
You find it embarrassing that Hibs are trying to sign Leigh Griffiths on loan?
26-09-2014, 01:07 PM
To be fair, 75% of the thread is this:
:hyper:
26-09-2014, 01:08 PM
we've been continuously linked to resigning our best player of the past few years.
people will get excited and people will post.
grow up ffs
26-09-2014, 01:17 PM
Im on 85.
Does he sign by page 128?
Aye, I'm actually reading this on January 21st 2015.
He's apparently been seen getting into a car with Rod Petrie, just outside ER.
Rumours that he's been recruited by the Forever Hibernian pressure group and has told Petrie that he'll only sign if he leaves the club are unsubstantiated.
26-09-2014, 01:19 PM
Aye, I'm actually reading this on January 21st 2015.
He's apparently been seen getting into a car with Rod Petrie, just outside ER.
Rumours that he's been recruited by the Forever Hibernian pressure group and has told Petrie that he'll only sign if he leaves the club are unsubstantiated.
Who won the Ryder Cup?
26-09-2014, 01:22 PM
Who won the Ryder Cup?
I'll tell you by page 140. :wink:
26-09-2014, 01:23 PM
we've been continuously linked to resigning our best player of the past few years.
people will get excited and people will post.
grow up ffs
He should grow up? Have you read this thread?
Persevere80
26-09-2014, 01:26 PM
There is a difference in the amount of pages with taptalk or the forum on the pc
26-09-2014, 01:43 PM
There is a difference in the amount of pages with taptalk or the forum on the pc
That's because Tapatalk adds important information like:
o
o
o
o
o
Sent from my H2345637F SamG 37 Flipphone using Tapatalk 23
26-09-2014, 02:14 PM
And that ladies and gentleman, is why you DON'T get your hopes up until it's done.
Persevere80
26-09-2014, 02:15 PM
That's because Tapatalk adds important information like:
o
o
o
o
o
Sent from my H2345637F SamG 37 Flipphone using Tapatalk 23
Haha. Yeah, I've noticed that.
While we are waiting on the possible announcement I was wondering if we have ever signed a player for a 3rd time?
26-09-2014, 02:17 PM
And that ladies and gentleman, is why you DON'T get your hopes up until it's done.
This could be first principle of supporting Hibs for all us. Every hope can be dashed.
26-09-2014, 02:20 PM
Who won the Ryder Cup?
Who cares? How many points did we win the league by?
26-09-2014, 02:25 PM
Awww Dont tell me what happened with Sparky. I'm waiting for it to come out on DVD! 😊
26-09-2014, 02:28 PM
I'm on page 218 on my iPhone. He signed ages ago. Hit double figures before being recalled by Celtic. Not to worry though, big rumours that he could be signing for another 12 months once the summer window opens, next month
26-09-2014, 02:29 PM
Who cares? How many points did we win the league by?
Very true, a bet on how many points Hibs won the league by would pay out at gigantic odds compared to a Ryder Cup bet. I'm not much of a gambler so a novice in the use of information from the future.
26-09-2014, 02:39 PM
Is the deal off then?
ryanthehibby
26-09-2014, 02:43 PM
The deal was never on..
Is the deal off then?
I have no knowledge but I'd say it is a no goer.
Wonder what all the excuses will be this time.
Haha. Yeah, I've noticed that.
While we are waiting on the possible announcement I was wondering if we have ever signed a player for a 3rd time?
Bobby Smith
26-09-2014, 02:50 PM
It's all a wee bit embarrassing!
26-09-2014, 02:53 PM
For about the tenth (and most likely final) time since this thread started, I'm using my favourite emoticon
:tumble:
26-09-2014, 02:54 PM
The deal was never on..
Source?
26-09-2014, 02:56 PM
I refuse to believe it's not happening until it's confirmed :hyper:
26-09-2014, 02:56 PM
I hear Rudi Skacel is in talks with Hearts.
:duck:
Don't bother asking my source.................
I refuse to believe it's not happening until it's confirmed :hyper:
How can you confirm something tht's never happened ??
26-09-2014, 03:02 PM
i hear rudi skacel is in talks with hearts.
:duck:
Don't bother asking my source.................
ltyf :d
26-09-2014, 03:06 PM
How can you confirm something tht's never happened ??
It's 1984. Petrie is watching you!
wills
26-09-2014, 03:47 PM
Collins just on SSN Leigh not going anywhere.
26-09-2014, 03:49 PM
But is he 'In The Know'
26-09-2014, 03:54 PM
I heard Leigh is leading a delegation of players round to Peter Lawell's house tonight. Collins will be gone before Monday.
26-09-2014, 04:01 PM
Perhaps he thinks revenge is a dish best served up cold.
26-09-2014, 04:06 PM
Perhaps he thinks revenge is a dish best served up cold.
:agree:JC ain't going to do anything helpful to us whilst Petrie is involved. He has at least one eye on Delia's job so when he is canned Collins knows LG might be a good man to have around.
Persevere80
26-09-2014, 04:11 PM
Bobby Smith
Thanks mim
patch1875
26-09-2014, 04:13 PM
But who's Collins source?
hibeeleicester
26-09-2014, 04:16 PM
Close this thread :agree:
Billy McKirdy
26-09-2014, 04:17 PM
Has he signed yet?
Bleeds green
26-09-2014, 04:29 PM
Collins said 'as far as I'm aware' I wouldn't imagine an assistant manager would say anything else even if something was going on or not
26-09-2014, 04:34 PM
Collins said 'as far as I'm aware' I wouldn't imagine an assistant manager would say anything else even if something was going on or not
His ambition wouldn't have let him go to celtc if he wasn't able to speak with some authority on something like this. He will know what's going on.
26-09-2014, 04:52 PM
Yet again ITK posters claiming its a done deal when nothing is happening.
ITK's ken SFA!! Get folks hopes up, an extraordinarily long thread on a half decent player appears with everyone fawning over them, said player doesn't come and we just embarrass ourselves to all and sundry. Apart from being desperate (because we are) we're letting everyone know we are and its cringeworthy stuff. Hibs are bigger than this!
To be honest, I reckon if you're that ITK, you dont come on here telling everyone!
Bleeds green
26-09-2014, 05:04 PM
Are you for real??? Not one itk poster I have seen has said it's a done deal, they have said hibs have tried and if Celtic give the go ahead it would happen this week, I think it's quite clear from all the reports including a Stubbs interview hibs have tried and it looks like Celtic want to keep him for now, you need to get a grip your embarrassing yourself
hibeeleicester
26-09-2014, 05:05 PM
ITK's ken SFA!! Get folks hopes up, an extraordinarily long thread on a half decent player appears with everyone fawning over them, said player doesn't come and we just embarrass ourselves to all and sundry. Apart from being desperate (because we are) we're letting everyone know we are and its cringeworthy stuff. Hibs are bigger than this!
To be honest, I reckon if you're that ITK, you dont come on here telling everyone!
:agree: correct!
If you're ITK it certainly hasn't come from the club:agree:
26-09-2014, 05:06 PM
Yep, everyone that's posted good info has guessed it. Damn you pesky kids!!
Now away and and take a ***** in your hands and clap yourself into oblivion.
Only reason this didn't happen is because of one man!
26-09-2014, 05:07 PM
:agree: correct!
If you're ITK it certainly hasn't come from the club:agree:
Yeah even Stubbs was lying when he said Hibs went for him.
26-09-2014, 05:16 PM
I'm assuming its dead TC. Poor show if Petrie has blocked this...
Once again someone posts some info..... Then manager comes out saying we are trying to get him...... YET
folk are lining up to have a go at the person posting the info.
Have a word with yourselves would you!!!!
WE are trying but it's the Smellic end that's stalling!!!!
Get a bloody grip FFS.
RIP Bestie
26-09-2014, 05:28 PM
I'm assuming its dead TC. Poor show if Petrie has blocked this...
Here we go. Some bad news and it's all Petries fault. Yawn
HappyHibby93
26-09-2014, 05:42 PM
I know, ridiculous and rather boring. Blame it all Petrie. Yawn indeed
erin-go-bragh87
26-09-2014, 05:47 PM
To be fair you've gone from saying it's a done deal to it's not happening due to one man? You don't seem to know any more than anyone else.
26-09-2014, 05:47 PM
I know, ridiculous and rather boring. Blame it all Petrie. Yawn indeed
It's not boring, I'm quite overawed.
26-09-2014, 05:55 PM
To be fair you've gone from saying it's a done deal to it's not happening due to one man? You don't seem to know any more than anyone else.
Read all my posts. Back when the window was open I posted everything is done Hibs end. Which then it was.
I got a text saying that's it done deal. At that time it was. Celtic pulled the plug last min, I said it, press confirmed it day after.
This time, again I said he would be coming as I was told Hibs were back in (which they were) and it it was in Celtics hands.
Sadly Petrie has got involved and it's went dead as these things do.
So for those who were saying its lies it's clearly not! I don't know why folk bother anymore I really don't!
26-09-2014, 05:56 PM
I knew you wouldn't be far away!!
I'm sorry you don't believe it but hey ho. Tell Rod I said hi next time your shaking his hand behind the goals.
We have to remember that under normal circumstances, the club loaning the player out do so because they want a youth/fringe player to gain some first team experience, and they are the party looking to get the deal done. In this case, it appears Hibs have made an enquiry, however, Celtic are under no obligation to agree to this deal, and are quite within their rights to refuse. The fact that Griffiths isn't getting any game time is irrelevant.
26-09-2014, 06:02 PM
Read all my posts. Back when the window was open I posted everything is done Hibs end. Which then it was.
I got a text saying that's it done deal. At that time it was. Celtic pulled the plug last min, I said it, press confirmed it day after.
This time, again I said he would be coming as I was told Hibs were back in (which they were) and it it was in Celtics hands.
So for those who were saying its lies it's clearly not! I don't know why folk bother anymore I really don't!
I appreciate your posts greatly. Just saddens me that as we all suspected Petrie is still involved...
erin-go-bragh87
26-09-2014, 06:02 PM
Honestly I'm not calling you a liar TC I'm just playing devils advocate as your reply that I quoted was a bit strong! I've had warnings for less ;-)
26-09-2014, 06:04 PM
Honestly I'm not calling you a liar TC I'm just playing devils advocate as your reply that I quoted was a bit strong! I've had warnings for less ;-)
Sorry bud, that wasn't a go at you there! Folk ask what happens when deals fall through and it can be anything.
Yet when it is Petrie's fault same folk burry their head in the sand and don't even tolerate the notion he could do such a thing.
26-09-2014, 06:16 PM
Sorry bud, that wasn't a go at you there! Folk ask what happens when deals fall through and it can be anything.
Yet when it is Petrie's fault same folk burry their head in the sand and don't even tolerate the notion he could do such a thing.
It's al semantics now T C. But are you saying that there was a deal to be done and Petrie s intervention scuppered it ,as opposed to Celtic deciding they weren't prepared to let him go .ie were Celtic holding out for greater % of wages than Petrie was prepared to pay .
Wee Scottie Dug
26-09-2014, 06:36 PM
Once again someone posts some info..... Then manager comes out saying we are trying to get him...... YET
folk are lining up to have a go at the person posting the info.
Have a word with yourselves would you!!!!
WE are trying but it's the Smellic end that's stalling!!!!
Get a bloody grip FFS.
Calm doon Aldo you'll do yourself an injury mate :greengrin
Afraid these arguments will always occur when people post things like it will happen this week / on Monday / at 1pm etc. ...... When it doesn't pan out people will always question the sources behind such bold statements, whether these sources are at it or the people claiming to have sources are at it is always debatable. One thing is for sure Celtic have made it pretty clear that they are not interested in loaning him out at this time so it's over ..... For the time being anyway:rolleyes:
26-09-2014, 06:44 PM
Be nice if he signs but some folk care far too much.
We were ***** when he played for us before so he won't magically make us into a good team, although his goals would clearly be welcome.
Sometimes get the impression some folk support Griffiths more than they do hibs.
26-09-2014, 06:45 PM
Did the celtic manager not say earlier today that leigh was going knowhere,if petrie has blocked it then im very disappointed to say the least
Leigh back at hibs would add a couple of thousand on the gate and the feel good factor would be huge,play well and the crowds will stay in good numbers,surely petrie knows this
26-09-2014, 06:48 PM
Total crap. No idea why anyone pays any attention to you anymore.
Some of you 'ITK' guys are now just creating issues for the club where they aren't there.
There's enough to worry about trying to win games just now without the usual drivel aimed at the club.
Folk like you are the reason I've given up posting here but it's time some of this stuff just stopped. No idea what you get out of it.
26-09-2014, 06:51 PM
Total crap. No idea why anyone pays any attention to you anymore.
Some of you 'ITK' guys are now just creating issues for the club where they aren't there.
There's enough to worry about trying to win games just now without the usual drivel aimed at the club.
Folk like you are the reason I've given up posting here but it's time some of this stuff just stopped. No idea what you get out of it.
Wow!!!!
26-09-2014, 06:51 PM
Right folks, this has run its course. If anything definite happens we can start it again but it's just descended to mud slinging now.
Closed!