View Full Version : Fenlon has to go (post Malmo)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7

28-07-2013, 09:27 PM
Anyone old win, afternoon won't get any credit, I'm stumped.

I dont know what you mean!!!!:whistle: Bloody I-pad!!!!!

28-07-2013, 09:31 PM
I'm struggling to try to support him. I'm aware of the large turnaround in managers in recent seasons but we have no heart.
I do not have a clue who the better option is but I'm swaying towards trying to find one.
I'm genuinely afraid for the coming season.

28-07-2013, 09:42 PM
Would be interesting to see how a match against Malmo, say in November would work out, a lot closer for sure.

Malmo were beaten 2-0 by Gefle who are 11th in the Swedish top league and have been on a run of 14 league games without a win. That would make the 11th team in Sweden way above us in ability which just isn't the case, in many ways we were pretty unlucky on Thursday to meet a side at the top of their game whilst we are way short of being at our best, are still re-building and had a makeshift back 4 playing.

There will probably be some posters on here telling us that Gefle would walk the SPL.....

OrdHibby
28-07-2013, 09:47 PM
but surely he has been to the same coarses and has all the knowledge in the game any other manager that will be available? who is the mastermind to replace him? alex miller? be as well, more experienced than anybody else thats in our reach.
I don't know mate. I've always advocated having a completely new set up whether it be German/Spain/Dutch coaches. Scottish football is a backwater and thats probably the same for all the UK & Irish league. Yes Alex Ferguson has been a fantastic manager but you won't get away with his management stye now. The English leagues are bugger all without the foreign imports. One of the best managers over the past 8/9 yrs there has been Roberto Martinez. He plays the game as it should be played. He's at a big club now, a big club with no money however, but i'm sure he'll excel at Everton.
He started Swansea on the road to the premiership so why have Hibs not followed suit. Our games stale and need a new beginning, lets lead the way.
BTW Lex would be a huge improvement.

28-07-2013, 09:47 PM
but surely he has been to the same coarses and has all the knowledge in the game any other manager that will be available? who is the mastermind to replace him? alex miller? be as well, more experienced than anybody else thats in our reach.

You can have as many football badges and courses you want but as the saying goes you can't polish a turd

28-07-2013, 09:51 PM
I don't think he's the man for the job, but I'm surprised that folk genuinely thought he would get sacked after Thursday's match. It was an absolute disgrace, but I don't believe that in itself deserves him of the sack. IMO his position would have to have been in doubt before that game. The fact he has been allowed to sign Craig, KT, OTJ, Vine and McGivern plus shell out £200,000 for Collins suggests he has the support of the board.

28-07-2013, 09:56 PM
Naw I'm not having tat. The Hearts final maybe but not the other two games we are banging on about. We just weren't /aren't good/ready enough. To say there was no effort at Hampden in may or Thursday night is just wrong.

So you agree with his tactic in that final of playing an experience ball winning central midfielder who's not the quickest guy in the world out on the left wing where he was totally wasted. Then again in both European games by playing a totally left footed player as a right back, where he was hung out to dry by a clever quick Malmo player and also by puting a very young inexperienced winger infront of him to offer no support. The man has not got a clue about tactics whatsoever, when 90% of the people on here can see our glaring mistakes, yet the man with all the so called badges and football experience sits there in the dugout looking like a lost wee boy, it's time to get shot.

28-07-2013, 10:00 PM
I'm struggling to try to support him. I'm aware of the large turnaround in managers in recent seasons but we have no heart.
I do not have a clue who the better option is but I'm swaying towards trying to find one.
I'm genuinely afraid for the coming season.

Im with you Jimmy...Id bin Fenlon. And id bin him now.

His tactical nouse is clueless and we have moved nowhere in 2 years..I dont buy this 'Steadying the ship' nonsense..Lomas McCall etc have come in and done a job straightaway, Fenlon just doesn't cut it. His selections are hard to understand tae..Ive been to about 5 games where we played great in 2 years..Tannadice last season 2-2 when GMS tripped OUTSIDE the box and was awarded a penalty, That's the best IMO we played under Fenlon.

Playing LS at RB Whilst Mullen a natural RB is on the bench, Aye Barry:confused:

Taxi for Fenlon, Its not personal Pat, You just haven't got a clue.

majorhibs
28-07-2013, 10:19 PM
We shouldnt be taking the last three competative games and using that as a yardstick when considering his position. (by the way after the 2-0 in Sweden there wasnt much of a clamour for his head) Its stupid to suggest there hasnt been progress and even more stupid to say we have gone backwards under him. Taking us forward may be a different matter but he deserves the chance to see his contract out at least.

thats the spirit. :rolleyes:

i get the sentiment, you want pat out, end of. problem is though the grass ain't always greener on the other side. imagine another colin, he wouldn't even commit himself to hibs when he was **** because he had a chance to be no 2 in the championship. we are slowly improving IMO and i think he deserves to at least see out his contract. before pad it was a rapid decline from bad to worse and some truly horrific players.

Football. is. a. results. driven. business. And I. hate. cliches. But to say a fitba team should not use competitive games as a yardstick- well what is good for you? Sorry but that is the main thing, be all & end all, and excuses coupled with what is being said about my club I.E. worst results in history, wether I agree or not's irrelevant, what I know is when I am around non Hibs supporting people in other parts of the world I am feeling embarressed & hurt about my clubs recent history, too pissed off to go into explanations with Football fans from different countries, & wishing big style I hadn't ever heard of a tatoo artist in Leith Walk who did good Hibs tatoos cos its too hot here to cover up various limbs & if, only if... Hibs could get back to being merely a REASONABLE Scvottish side, nane of this would be even happening. But its been a good while since Ive gone through a season thinking Hibs are close to being even medium level respectable.
As for the Hammer, well your staunch defence is easy to see, unlike our TEAMS, but why so much crap on why CHANGING would be bad for HIBS, how can NOT changing be good when we are as mince as this? As is pointed out plenty, the SPL is not a high standard & money is tight, for ALL teams, so why is our team one of the worst & getting embarressed year after year, sorry but IMO yes it does come down to managers ultimately, & when looking around at the competition, we seem to have the short straw yet again.

28-07-2013, 10:27 PM
So you agree with his tactic in that final of playing an experience ball winning central midfielder who's not the quickest guy in the world out on the left wing where he was totally wasted. Then again in both European games by playing a totally left footed player as a right back, where he was hung out to dry by a clever quick Malmo player and also by puting a very young inexperienced winger infront of him to offer no support. The man has not got a clue about tactics whatsoever, when 90% of the people on here can see our glaring mistakes, yet the man with all the so called badges and football experience sits there in the dugout looking like a lost wee boy, it's time to get shot.

Have to agree John, it's time for RP to follow suit, along with severance deals with long term injurees. I hope this latest debacle galvanises the support to act & instigate a change from top down.its possibly 3-5 yr overdue IMO

Hibby 2005
28-07-2013, 10:32 PM
His signings seem to be good, but then doesn't that make his inability to get them playing well even worse?

You've just summed Pat Fenlon up. His signings look good but he doesn't know what to do with them.

hibby67
28-07-2013, 10:47 PM
i wonder what those who voted to keep fenlon will say in 2 weeks time when we have just been horsed by a bunch of kids at tynecastle. If we don't get rid of him that's what's going to happen.

and i wonder what people who voted to get rid of him say when he has won the first 2 games and horsed a bunch of kids at tynecastle.....

Hindsight is a great thing we dont know what reaction we will get from the team

Archie70
28-07-2013, 10:48 PM
You've just summed Pat Fenlon up. His signings look good but he doesn't know what to do with them.

On paper we don't look bad, on the pitch we are clueless, slow motion and still a soft touch.

He lost me when he sat down after the third goal. Sure the tie was over but he should have had it in his locker to keep us out the record book. He never.

I just can't see another team around that capitulates like we do. That's not changed in his tenure, if anything it's got worse.

It can't go on and sadly I don't think he can turn it around.

28-07-2013, 11:16 PM
I was questioning him over the weekend but thought back to last season when Dundee United gubbed us in the opening game of the season. He learned from that and I'm confident he'll learn from this, get in a CB and maybe another in midfield and once we have McGivern and Clancy fit we'll be in a better position.

If he doesn't learn from this and we're bottom six at Christmas then look to get in a replacement but truth be told we were up against a much better team missing our top three goalscorers from last season and being forced to play defenders out of position due to injury and if we had a poor performance it was more than likely going to be a hammering.

I have less confidence than I did before the game but still think he's just about likely the man for the job.

29-07-2013, 12:50 AM
We are not stagnating. FFS get a ****ing grip!!!!
:confused: What else would you call it? Stagnating is exactly what we've been doing the last few years I would say. Drops in attendances and poor league finishes tell us that

OsloHibs
29-07-2013, 01:27 AM
I wonder what those who voted to keep Fenlon will say in 2 weeks time when we have just been horsed by a bunch of kids at Tynecastle. If we don't get rid of him that's what's going to happen.

So, now we have a Hibs fan wishing us to get beat in our next derby- just to prove you were right with their opinion's ?? :rolleyes:
The manager has apologised in public, The players have apologised in public, and the report on the Hibs website never played up on anything other than we were a disgrace. They know it, and we know it too.

We won't ever forget, but We must Move on.

29-07-2013, 01:43 AM
Can anyone name the last manager we appointed who was proven as a manager consistently, at a club of our size?

29-07-2013, 01:47 AM
After Man Utd got stuffed 6-1 Sir Alex said"We will react, no question about that. It's a perfect result for us to react to because there is a lot of embarrassment in the dressing room and that will
make an impact. It's time for players to stand tall.
"This has been my worse day ever. I can't believe the score line. Even as a player I don't think I ever lost by that. That's a challenge for me too."

This is what we need to hear at ER. It's a new week and a new season... Come on Hibs
ps. I know some smart a** is gonna point out they lost the league that season!!

Humo
29-07-2013, 02:07 AM
well lets look at his team

williams - success
mullen- has talent
forster- looks good
mcpake- we all demanded he was signed
mcgivern- success
harris-success
thomson- brilliant at times
otj- was impressive last year
taiwo- i like him
right mid-??
vine- looks quite good i think
collins? who knows

cant say he's done bad at all signings wise. get them playing and we'll do well and i think he can do it. i could well be wrong but i dont like the idea of hibs paying however much to sack pat and replace him with someone who might sign the likes of brian kerr, mcbride or de graff:agree:

You say that but he didnt sign Harris.

And here are his others

Doyle ok (but i didnt like him)
Cairney good at the start but has faded away
Kujabi Failure
Clancy Injured all the time
Roberson So far not good but has potential
Claros Started a failure but second season was good
Kuqi Failure
Doherty Failure
Soares Failure
Griffiths was originally Calderwood's but he re acquired for the next season
Francomb failure

All in all its pretty 50/50 with his signings

Purehibee_MYB
29-07-2013, 02:37 AM
You say that but he didnt sign Harris.

And here are his others

Doyle ok (but i didnt like him)
Cairney good at the start but has faded away
Kujabi Failure
Clancy Injured all the time
Roberson So far not good but has potential
Claros Started a failure but second season was good
Kuqi Failure
Doherty Failure
Soares Failure
Griffiths was originally Calderwood's but he re acquired for the next season
Francomb failure

All in all its pretty 50/50 with his signings

I like how you look for the negatives with all of those players :thumbsup:My favourite is the understatement of 'Claros started a failure but second season was good.'

29-07-2013, 02:48 AM
Jimmy Nichol as caretaker with immediate effect is not a bad shout

I watched Raith a lot when he was in charge, as I was still playing and in Fife and we'd often make it for the second half when they let you in FOC, and they were great on the eye. They played from the back and were superb on the counter with Brewster and Crawford up front. Wee Peter Heatherston provided the flair in behind them.

The only problem with interim is lost time in the window, I'd prefer someone (NOT Petrie) was working on a replacement already..

Humo
29-07-2013, 03:01 AM
I like how you look for the negatives with all of those players :thumbsup:My favourite is the understatement of 'Claros started a failure but second season was good.'

Its true though.

He was a disgrace in the that cup final but the following season he was sensational and he looked like a different player entirely

Purehibee_MYB
29-07-2013, 03:02 AM
Its true though.

He was a disgrace in the that cup final but the following season he was sensational and he looked like a different player entirely

That's what I mean. He was more than good last season he was amazing and it can't be a coincidence that Fenlon was manager to oversee that vast turnaround. I'm not a massive pro-Fenlon but overall i am happy with his signings, certainly compared to most recent managers

Humo
29-07-2013, 03:04 AM
That's what I mean. He was more than good last season he was amazing and it can't be a coincidence that Fenlon was manager to oversee that vast turnaround. I'm not a massive pro-Fenlon but overall i am happy with his signings, certainly compared to most recent managers

Hence I described him as sensational.

Personally I don't think it was down to Fenlon I think he just needed time to settle and actually learn the language. Eventually he felt comfortable and safe in a country where he didn't get shot in the head.

29-07-2013, 03:32 AM
After Man Utd got stuffed 6-1 Sir Alex said"We will react, no question about that. It's a perfect result for us to react to because there is a lot of embarrassment in the dressing room and that will
"This has been my worse day ever. I can't believe the score line. Even as a player I don't think I ever lost by that. That's a challenge for me too."

This is what we need to hear at ER. It's a new week and a new season... Come on Hibs

HibeePaj
29-07-2013, 05:02 AM
'Every two seasons we will change manager if they don't provide us back to back top 5 finishes'

This seems to be the theory behind most folk's arguments on here.

I'm not buying this, "He's already had 3 transfer windows, 2 seasons p*** because quite frankly,,, it is p***.

'Lomas walked into St Johnstone and got them a 3rd place finish', very good, I applaude the man. So does that mean he'd have walked into ER and got us the same?... Does it buggery.

The guy needs more time.
Judge him at the end of the season as the board will do when Pat's contract is up.

OrdHibby
29-07-2013, 06:57 AM

Alex Ferguson is an all time great who made his teams succeed with his management skill. Please enlighten me the skill Pat Fenlon has apart form wooing the fans with his small talk.

Simkin911
29-07-2013, 07:06 AM
Poll results showing a gradual shift as late arrivals seem to be slightly more tolerant - perhaps longer to reflect? It was 21% - 79% when I voted a few days ago. Looks like he's staying for a while yet anyway.

Gustavo Fring
29-07-2013, 07:07 AM
The guy needs more time.
Judge him at the end of the season as the board will do when Pat's contract is up.

the guy has had enough time , by the end of the season hibs will be bottom of the league having watched the jambos eat up the 15 point start we have on them ending in the ultimate embarrasment way beyond the final last year and malmo

he has to go now , the guy is clueless . a rabbit in the headlights . every manager in this league will out smart his lame tactics . no griffiths to bale us out . i am worried beyond belief that this season could turn into the biggest disaster at hibs in my 32 year lifetime

OrdHibby
29-07-2013, 07:07 AM
Its true though.

Have you watched a re-run. Everyone blamed him because he was hooked before half time. He was the only midfielder in the team trying to make passes and looking for return ball which he never received. His team mates went into hiding and thats probably the reason he got the flack because he was the only one to show. I said at the time the manager should have walked after that decision and i'm sticking by it. He proved to me then he hadn't a clue. You could see Jorge was a player when he signed but we had a team not interested in playing for the jersey. It must have been excruciatingly hard for the boy, wondering what the **** he had signed for. Not one of that midfield other than Jorge wanted the ball that day.

familyman
29-07-2013, 07:15 AM
OK I'll start it but surely if Pat has any respect or cares for this club he will offer his resignation.

The worst result ever by a Scottish club in Europe, and that cup final, I don't like to call for a mangers head but surely there is no argument after that.

The players & the fans must have lost all confidence in him.

Sorry Pat you're a nice guy but not up to the Hibs job. :agree:

hello, having been a season ticket holder in the 70's and still am,it is a real humiliation now to see such an unpredictable team sometimes.Trying to be loyal of course as I love this team ,it is hard to see ANY incremental improvements really.The defence has for several years now chopped and changed with what seems zone marking, leaving loads of space for attackers to find time to shoot and move around,also no one seems still after all these seasons recently to take command.it is difficult to balance youth and experience and keep solvent,but we have often got that balance out of sync.Looking at the manager it is a shame as he seems a good guy and feels the pain as we all do,but it IS A RESULTS business,and unless he gets the funds to take that extra step up in quality we will continue to fail to meet fans expectations..and economically we will suffer due to poor crowd numbers yet again...I want to see him get a bit more time BUT only if we can get in a positive forward thinking midfield player..(goes forward!!)and a powerhouse centre half who has that experience..that takes money and good scouting around..but other so called smaller teams manage it.
I believe the manager needs to continue to work for consistency and at the very least arrange for damage limitation while the team struggles with lack of serious skill.I do not doubt for a minute a lot of the players give 100% I would expect nothing less but we have a pretty mixed bag of players who for now do not dovetail and sometimes look like they have never met before...it pains me to say that.

Humo
29-07-2013, 07:42 AM
Have you watched a re-run. Everyone blamed him because he was hooked before half time. He was the only midfielder in the team trying to make passes and looking for return ball which he never received. His team mates went into hiding and thats probably the reason he got the flack because he was the only one to show. I said at the time the manager should have walked after that decision and i'm sticking by it. He proved to me then he hadn't a clue. You could see Jorge was a player when he signed but we had a team not interested in playing for the jersey. It must have been excruciatingly hard for the boy, wondering what the **** he had signed for. Not one of that midfield other than Jorge wanted the ball that day.

Why the **** would I do that?

29-07-2013, 07:44 AM
Just read Stuart Bathgate's take on Fenlon in the Scotsman. He makes some decent points but overall the piece is a hatchet job on Hibs, incorporating all the yam accusations about our own financial situation.

29-07-2013, 07:49 AM
Hence I described him as sensational.

Personally I don't think it was down to Fenlon I think he just needed time to settle and actually learn the language. Eventually he felt comfortable and safe in a country where he didn't get shot in the head.

Obviously it was nothing to do with fenlon, he can't do anything right.
I suppose griffiths coming good last season was nothing to do with fenlon either.

29-07-2013, 07:51 AM
Just read Stuart Bathgate's take on Fenlon in the Scotsman. He makes some decent points but overall the piece is a hatchet job on Hibs, incorporating all the yam accusations about our own financial situation.

Blowhard opinion piece with no new info written by a hurting yam who happens to be a poor journalist writing for a joke of a paper.

OrdHibby
29-07-2013, 07:53 AM
Obviously it was nothing to do with fenlon, he can't do anything right.
I suppose griffiths coming good last season was nothing to do with fenlon either.

You can have as many sensational individuals as you like but at the end of the day it's a team game and we don't play as a team under Fenlon. We're like a bunch of guys who's numbers are drawn out a hat for a bounce game where no-one knows each others game.
BIG DIFFERENCE

OrdHibby
29-07-2013, 07:55 AM
Blowhard opinion piece with no new info written by a hurting yam who happens to be a poor journalist writing for a joke of a paper.

There doesn't appear to be many journalist about anymore. Lazy or maybe its cost cutting but whatever it is its ****

29-07-2013, 09:15 AM
and i wonder what people who voted to get rid of him say when he has won the first 2 games and horsed a bunch of kids at tynecastle.....

Hindsight is a great thing we dont know what reaction we will get from the team

Obviously none of us know what will happen in the future, but watching this lot will not be exciting in my opinion, and those watching on the telly will reaching for the remote, they will think the picture has frozen with the lack of movement from this team assembled by Fenlon.

29-07-2013, 11:17 AM

I think the fact that his wife and kid came over last season was more a contributing factor to his good play, rather than Fenlon's ability to coach or manage him.

29-07-2013, 11:26 AM
Obviously none of us know what will happen in the future, but watching this lot will not be exciting in my opinion, and those watching on the telly will reaching for the remote, they will think the picture has frozen with the lack of movement from this team assembled by Fenlon.

We do not know about future so best indicator about future performance is past performance. Not excited at all about that.

Purehibee_MYB
29-07-2013, 01:30 PM
I think the fact that his wife and kid came over last season was more a contributing factor to his good play, rather than Fenlon's ability to coach or manage him.

Can't be 100% sure of that though. I agree that had to be important to him but Fenlon might have helped him at least a bit...

30-07-2013, 03:21 AM
Worth a read. Sorry if already posted http://www.scottishfootballblog.co.uk/2013/07/hibs-pat-fenlons-failings-go-deeper.html?m=1 :hmmm:

30-07-2013, 06:04 AM
Worth a read. Sorry if already posted http://www.scottishfootballblog.co.uk/2013/07/hibs-pat-fenlons-failings-go-deeper.html?m=1 :hmmm:

The fact that Calderwood apparently has a better SPL win rate is particularly damning.

30-07-2013, 06:17 AM
The fact that Calderwood apparently has a better SPL win rate is particularly damning.

But you are forgetting the shambles he inherited. Last man back was keeper and the defence was made up of various cast members from The Wizard of Oz and Priscilla Queen of the Desert. Our midfield consisted of a pantomime horse and Tam McCourt with my Mum up front as the lone striker. Or something like that.

Weir7
30-07-2013, 06:39 AM
Headlines in paper after St Johnstone ripped us apart at ER in Feb 2013. Vine scored two and the Paul Scholes of the SPL got the other goal.

Keeps happening Pat. Talk is cheap.

30-07-2013, 06:41 AM

No chance that is accurate. Calderwood won 12 out of 49 in all competitions. He only played two SC ties (the Ayr games) and three LC ties (Berwick, Motherwell and Celtic). Strip those out (counting the Motherwell game as a draw) and you get 11 in 44, ie 25%, not 37% as stated in the article.

jakeshibs
30-07-2013, 06:53 AM
Alex Ferguson is an all time great who made his teams succeed with his management skill. Please enlighten me the skill Pat Fenlon has apart form wooing the fans with his small talk.

sir Alex was not a success straight away infact was about to get the sack then won the FA Cup and the rest is history:wink:

30-07-2013, 07:00 AM
I wonder if we would be less unhappy with Fenlon if he'd lost the semi finals to Aberdeen and Falkirk? He wouldn't have the plus points of 2 Scottish Cup final appearances, but we wouldn't have been humped by them or by Malmo, or just turned up to make up the numbers v Celtc.

30-07-2013, 07:12 AM
Headlines in paper after St Johnstone ripped us apart at ER in Feb 2013. Vine scored two and the Paul Scholes of the SPL got the other goal.

Keeps happening Pat. Talk is cheap.

Actions speak louder than words and talk is cheap...
Indeed.

Admins Please merge.

I think even the lobotomised get it.

Lets see what Sunday brings.

30-07-2013, 07:12 AM
Hibs are not going to sack PF. Time to close this thread and move on. For all his faults he is the Hibs manager. The atmosphere surrounding the club can't be helped with us moaning about the manager and the chairman before the league season has started.

30-07-2013, 07:14 AM
No chance that is accurate. Calderwood won 12 out of 49 in all competitions. He only played two SC ties (the Ayr games) and three LC ties (Berwick, Motherwell and Celtic). Strip those out (counting the Motherwell game as a draw) and you get 11 in 44, ie 25%, not 37% as stated in the article.

Correct. Plenty to beat PF with but false stats shouldn't be one of them. League games only.

P
W
D
L
F
A
Pt
Pts per game
GD
Win %

Calderwood

Fenlon

30-07-2013, 07:39 AM
sir Alex was not a success straight away infact was about to get the sack then won the FA Cup and the rest is history:wink:

Sir Alex didn't win trophies at first at United, but then, Man U hadn't exactly been inundated with silverware or serious contenders over the the previous 17 years before Fergie arrived. Man have always maintained that if they had failed to win that FA cup, he wouldn't have been fired as they could see the outstanding work he was doing to establish a base for long term success.

30-07-2013, 07:53 AM
Correct. Plenty to beat PF with but false stats shouldn't be one of them. League games only.

P
W
D
L
F
A
Pt
Pts per game
GD
Win %

Calderwood

Fenlon

Cheers. I did think it sounded strange. Woeful league record from both though.

30-07-2013, 07:58 AM

P
W
D
L
F
A
Pt
Pts per game
GD
Win %

Calderwood

Fenlon

that table doesn't exactly paint fenlon with glory though!!

not good enough.

30-07-2013, 08:03 AM
But you are forgetting the shambles he inherited. Last man back was keeper and the defence was made up of various cast members from The Wizard of Oz and Priscilla Queen of the Desert. Our midfield consisted of a pantomime horse and Tam McCourt with my Mum up front as the lone striker. Or something like that.

Those guys would have made Fenlon's job easier. Instead he had to make do with the likes of Stack, Hanlon, Wotherspoon, Stevenson, Sproule, Osbourne, Griffiths and O'Connor. Nightmare for him.

30-07-2013, 08:18 AM

Hahaha brilliant

30-07-2013, 08:20 AM

P
W
D
L
F
A
Pt
Pts per game
GD
Win %

Calderwood

Fenlon

We keep talking about progress. That is simply not progress enough

30-07-2013, 09:13 AM
Sir Alex didn't win trophies at first at United, but then, Man U hadn't exactly been inundated with silverware or serious contenders over the the previous 17 years before Fergie arrived. Man have always maintained that if they had failed to win that FA cup, he wouldn't have been fired as they could see the outstanding work he was doing to establish a base for long term success.
Hmmm hindsight is wonderful though. We have actually lost two SFA cup finals but could Pat be doing outstanding work for longer term success?

30-07-2013, 11:54 AM
Are short managers ever really successful?

30-07-2013, 11:56 AM
Hmmm hindsight is wonderful though. We have actually lost two SFA cup finals but could Pat be doing outstanding work for longer term success?

No. Pat like all managers now have to be a success in their own time. There is no long term as this whole team will likely be different in 2 years. PF has to deliver with the players he has now and IMO he isnt.

A manager cannot build with years ahead planning as players are not at clubs long enough. They have to make most if here and now and he hasn't and IMO won't.

30-07-2013, 11:55 PM
No. Pat like all managers now have to be a success in their own time. There is no long term as this whole team will likely be different in 2 years. PF has to deliver with the players he has now and IMO he isnt.

A manager cannot build with years ahead planning as players are not at clubs long enough. They have to make most if here and now and he hasn't and IMO won't.

Quite honestly I think this attitude is all that is wrong with Scottish football; like Hibs the Scottish game has been in the doldrums for far too long and there's no short term fix to improve the standard of play.

It might be the case for Scottish football that things will have to get worse for it to get better and although 7-0 might have been a humiliation I really don't want the usual process of sack manager - appoint new manager - wait a year - sack manager to happen again.

It's taken Terry Butcher an age to turn ICT around, if we see no progress from Fenlon this season then don't renew his contract but otherwise we really need to show patience and a wee bit of faith.

31-07-2013, 06:11 AM
Quite honestly I think this attitude is all that is wrong with Scottish football; like Hibs the Scottish game has been in the doldrums for far too long and there's no short term fix to improve the standard of play.

It might be the case for Scottish football that things will have to get worse for it to get better and although 7-0 might have been a humiliation I really don't want the usual process of sack manager - appoint new manager - wait a year - sack manager to happen again.

It's taken Terry Butcher an age to turn ICT around, if we see no progress from Fenlon this season then don't renew his contract but otherwise we really need to show patience and a wee bit of faith.

There is no measure in which anyone could say that it's taken Burcher 'an age' to turn ICT around. He almost kept them up when he took over, got them promoted first full season and then finished above us in all three subsequent seasons.

31-07-2013, 06:12 AM

I am not naive enough to think if be is successful eventually he will be away to a bigger gig but maybe just maybe instead of a succesdion of managers trying a quick fix the foundations would be there within the club to build on. I also accept that very much depends on bringing in the right man to do the building. I firmly believe succession planning is the way to go with the same ethos throughout the club. A ready made replacement in the wings. It worked very successfully with Liverpool in the 70s and 80s.

EuanH78
31-07-2013, 06:15 AM

The board seem to think so.

sixtwo
04-08-2013, 01:57 PM
4-5-1 against a very beatable, tired looking team! Why?
We could see Motherwell were there for the beating after 10 mins. Has Fenlon lost the plot? Handling and Caldwell on the bench yet he is refusing to change it!!! (Written at 83 mins in)

04-08-2013, 02:01 PM
Cause thats probably the only way we could line up with the players we had today

04-08-2013, 02:02 PM
Biggest managerial mistake was appointing fenlon. No faith in him whatsoever. Get rid and we will improve.

04-08-2013, 02:03 PM
Cause thats probably the only way we could line up with the players we had today

We could quite easily have gone 4-4-2

**** the clueless **** off now. Please save us from anymore of this turgid awful *****.

sixtwo
Biggest managerial mistake was appointing fenlon. No faith in him whatsoever. Get rid and we will improve.

100% correct. I have stoodby him. I'm all for giving someone a chance but he is out of his depth and we are going backwards.
We have a reasonable squad but he is the weak link.

04-08-2013, 02:04 PM

In a nutshell.

brian6-2
Negative formation.
Negative football (bar first 20 mins)
Negative attide.

Playing for a draw at home to a fatigued Motherwell team.

That just doesnt make sense, Never seen such a gutless hibs team in my life. they just dont look bothered.

JCHibby
Fenlon is clueless, time to go.

No idea why Stanton was brought on, nowhere near ready for the first.

mcfly
04-08-2013, 02:05 PM
Go now please.......

Sort it mr Petrie... The football is dire and so are the results

04-08-2013, 02:05 PM
He won't be sacked, Petrie has backed him so far with summer signings.

Maybe if this continues he'll be thrown to the wolves before the AGM.

04-08-2013, 02:07 PM
Get shot now for god sake, we all know its going to happen, why prolong it?

04-08-2013, 02:09 PM
He's going nowhere.

All it needs is the ****b os to win today ... And our lot will crap of next week !!!

Correct bin him

Pray4Marc
04-08-2013, 02:10 PM
4-5-1 against a very beatable, tired looking team! Why?
We could see Motherwell were there for the beating after 10 mins. Has Fenlon lost the plot? Handling and Caldwell on the bench yet he is refusing to change it!!! (Written at 83 mins in)

Tudor-Jones was a total passesenger. Contributed nothing. So negative 451 at home. Have to play 2 up front.

Agreed

sixtwo
He needs to do the decent thing and fall on his sword. He is a pathetic manager.

Greenblood70
Fenlon out

He has to be shown the exit, surely Petrie can do that before following the little useless **** out of the door?

GGTTH07
Totally agree, some of his 'tactics' bewilder me. ****ing clueless!

04-08-2013, 02:11 PM
How slow is the build up play

04-08-2013, 02:12 PM
Wrong.....he should have gone close season.

He's going nowhere.

And we're going there with with him.

Ive always said PF should be backed with time as chopping and changing never helps, but ive finally run out of patience with him. Our performance today was simply not good enough and neither has the performance of PF for too long. I cant see any signs that things will improve so why delay the inevitable, he has to go.

Reaper
He wont go but he shud. Id argue we have progressed since Calderdud but the signs arent good that we've progressed sufficiently to be optimistic. Outside the OF we are one of if not the only club able to go and pay tje kind of money we did for a striker but instead of challenging Mwell etc we'll be battling with Partick, StMirren n Hearts again I think. Sad to say but I do think we need a change.

04-08-2013, 02:13 PM
Liam craig on the right did he ever play there at st johnstone

Finishing below Hearts this season would be a travesty.

With that joker in charge it's a possibility.

The clueless **** should just **** off now.

Get him tae ****, why would Petrie keep him? Let some other bugger spend what money we have left, don't give this clown another penny to spend. :rolleyes:

He honestly has to be the worst out of Calderwood, Yogi and the big man. Why we still persevere with this **** is beyond me! I said before he was appointed he was the wrong man, questioned it after 6 games, but the people following the King in his new clothes thought better!

Fenlon **** off now you twat

04-08-2013, 02:14 PM
Yep got to agree, get rid now. That was awful. Slow, clueless and with no hope of scoring. Bad times!

Get him tae ****, why would Petrie keep him? Let some other bugger spend what money we have left, don't give this clown another penny to spend. :rolleyes:

I'm with you Bro

His substitution of Robbo for Taiwo said it all - I'm afraid he's a manager that settles for a point rather than goes for a win.

He'll be gone this week in my opinion.

Hopeless, how many games do we go before we realise he needs to go?

Unacceptable, we have more than adequate squad but we created nothing.

In my 60 years of supporting Hibs I have never called for a manager's head. Today that changes. He set that team up for a 0 0 draw & had no idea how to change things. Players with space in front of them turned back towards goal. My heart went out to Collins & Nelson. Michael O'Neill must have thought, you chose him before me!! He has to go.

04-08-2013, 02:15 PM
Tactics were very negative, Collins (who I thought looked decent) was very isolated.

We also have far too many central midfielders. I accept we are dealing with injuries, but we didnt really have anyone else to bring off the bench apart from Stanton and Taiwo, noone who has that spark or creativity like the Motherwell subs.

He has to go.

shezer
Get rid

Starting to lose patience with Pat I'm afraid.

He was badly exposed as a manager yet again today. The game was up for grabs and I thought we were looking the better team in the second half.

The manager earns his living by making the correct call at the correct time. Wether that be tactical, a change of formation or a change of personnel.

McCall seen that it wasn't McFadden's day and had the balls to sub him and go with two up top.

Fenlon was forced into a change, then decided to bring on Taiwo ( a more defensive player then Robertson). Also, he was basically forced into this change.

Sorry, but Fenlon is at fault again here. Doesn't have the conviction or the sense to make the right call at the right time.

Get it wrong next week and we should be looking for another manager.

john18722
His substitution of Robbo for Taiwo said it all - I'm afraid he's a manager that settles for a point rather than goes for a win.

To be fair Robertson was injured

04-08-2013, 02:16 PM
In my 60 years of supporting Hibs I have never called for a manager's head. Today that changes. He set that team up for a 0 0 draw & had no idea how to change things. Players with space in front of them turned back towards goal. My heart went out to Collins & Nelson. Michael O'Neill must have thought, you chose him before me!! He has to go.

He did set the team up for a nil nil draw. Spot on.

I thought they'd score two and am ****ing disappointed I didn't at Least get that out of the game!

Stringer
Pat got the formation right today. Jones broke up their attacks well, they only got through our defense by playing long balls.

Robertson played the CAM role, he played well. Not quite match sharp though.

Collins is a good target man and held up the play. He is a aerial threat unlike Griffiths.

Robertson had to come off, was struggling with cramp.

04-08-2013, 02:17 PM
**** off now you useless twat

Exactly the same as we played last season. 11 behind the ball. Hoof it up to Collins, who I felt very sorry for as every time he held it up well there was no one in attacking areas. Boring, negative and defensive football. Get him punted.

Why the hell have we signed Tudor Jones?!?! What was he thinking about when making that signing!? He's clueless, his tactics are garbage, so so negative.

hibs6270uk
Very concerned at how he set us up today (again). I have a feeling that a defeat next week means he is gone.

04-08-2013, 02:18 PM
Isolating a forward like that is criminal. You'd be as well with Leveins formation

Surely even the most loyal Fenlon defenders must be losing patience?

He has to go asap.

Pat Fenlon needs to go I'm afraid.

Hibsdeb
Negative timid one up front no pressing watch the other team play not ******g good enough

He hasnt got a clue.

Set up not to get beat.. Bin this ****..And bin him now!!

04-08-2013, 02:19 PM

O'Neill in the ground now, hope Petrie has 'a chat' with him before he leaves!

1 man up front at home to Motherwell!!

That decision deserves a sacking in itself.

You could smell the piss from the Hibs changing room as soon as he name his team and worked out his formation!!

04-08-2013, 02:20 PM
He hasnt got a clue.

Set up not to get beat.. Bin this ****..And bin him now!!

100% agree, get the **** out now

We could quite easily have gone 4-4-2

With who else up front, caldwell or handling? No thanks

erskine-hibby
Resign now!!!
No sign of progress at all.
No attacking options, defence poor, plan B???.
Looked scared to do anything of note. We could have played for 3 more hours without scoring.
Please, please for the good of the club do the right thing.

Stringer
04-08-2013, 02:21 PM
Why the hell have we signed Tudor Jones?!?! What was he thinking about when making that signing!? He's clueless, his tactics are garbage, so so negative.

Jones played really well. Made countless tackles and was the foundation of most attacks. He did exactly what a DM should do.

04-08-2013, 02:22 PM
Yup. He has to go. We can't defend, create or break at pace (we have none). We knew Griffiths would be a big loss but we have failed to try and mitigate this with pacey strikers/wingers.

I can't see anything but defeat after defeat with the odd win. He has had 21 months and signed something like 15+ players.

Typical knee jerk reaction

If we finish below them, we are relegated. Probably a distinct possibility.

As much as we all want him out we all know he's here for at least a while longer. It's just so frustrating that it seems to be following the same pattern as CC. Utterly chronic football and clearly heading backwards yet we persist like we owe him something. Lost all respect after he didn't walk after 0-7.

04-08-2013, 02:24 PM
Robertson and Thomson did well. Collins was left isolated and surrounded every time he held it up, felt sorry for him. Harris didnt look himself. Williams looked dodgy. Same high ball over the top of the static, flat defence who got caught out again. Pish.

You cant defend that way of playing, and you cant defend a team thats scared to go forward in case they leave gaps.

Fenlon has instilled this approach at Easter Road over the last 20 months, get him punted Petrie and give us a manager who will give the team and supporters belief.

There's a reason Stephen McManus chose Motherwell over Hibs.

Not good enough.

04-08-2013, 02:25 PM
As much as we all want him out we all know he's here for at least a while longer. It's just so frustrating that it seems to be following the same pattern as CC. Utterly chronic football and clearly heading backwards yet we persist like we owe him something. Lost all respect after he didn't walk after 0-7.

Why is he here a why longer though? I need someone to explain the logic to me? He is *****, he has been *****, he will be *****.

He is making our club a laughing stock

04-08-2013, 02:25 PM
Clueless. Collins did well controlling the ball, then there is absolutely nobody making runs to help him out. Every fan in the ground could see it but nothing changes the whole 90 minutes. Horrible to watch.

04-08-2013, 02:26 PM
Clueless. Collins did well controlling the ball, then there is absolutely nobody making runs to help him out. Every fan in the ground could see it but nothing changes the whole 90 minutes. Horrible to watch.

That's what worries me, others can see the obvious

I'm with you B. Fenlon couldn't change a lightbulb. What would the great man think if his tributes on the park - rubbish. I sympathise with folks fortunate enough to have seen the famous five play. The culture within the club needs to change with greater urgency.

lugz
Has to go, tactically inept!! He settled for the draw with 20 mins to go (if not before the match) and once they scored we had no way back. 5 in midfield but our striker is still isolated.

With a huge game next week I'd be getting shot of him now.

hongkonghibee
04-08-2013, 02:27 PM
Playing for a 0-0 draw at home to Motherwell in the first match of the season is unforgivable . Where is the ambition in that? Why not try to win the game by putting 2 up front Caldwell and Collins (who played well with no service) in second half. Instead PF sat back and waited for Motherwell to take the initiative with their substitutes, It was PF fault for losing that match with his totally negative tactics , not the players who all actually played ok.

04-08-2013, 02:27 PM

It puzzles me why Caldwell hasn't been given his chance lately, he'd have worked better with Collins today than Craig did.

kdhibees1
04-08-2013, 02:28 PM
1 nil saints :greengrin

ArmadaleHibs

Knee jerk reaction? Are you serious. Knee jerk reactions come from one off errors , mistakes and bad performances.

If you think this is knee jerk then you're clearly not watching the same team we are.

ive seen some lack lustre teams play in the green. I've seen some clueless managers run the team. But this manager and team are pitiful.

Fenlon has brought in some very decent players but doesn't know what to do with them.

this ain't no knee jerk reaction. Fenlon needs to go

TBF, there has been progress.

We finished best of the rest last season, albeit in a league without Rangers, with Dundee as sacrificial lambs and a crippled version of Hearts.

Plus we were only beaten by 3 goals in the Cup Final as opposed to 4 the year before.

All hail the progress!!!!!

Pat got the formation right today. Jones broke up their attacks well, they only got through our defense by playing long balls.

Robertson played the CAM role, he played well. Not quite match sharp though.

Collins is a good target man and held up the play. He is a aerial threat unlike Griffiths.

Whats the point in a target man who holds the ball up well if we set up not to support him?

Collins must be wondering what he's let himself in for afterbthat today. So isolated it was unreal.

04-08-2013, 02:29 PM
Knee jerk reaction? Are you serious.

Actually, no, he's not.

brian6-2
04-08-2013, 02:29 PM

Said it before on another thread and was laughed at, Collins is a wonderful player, when given quality service, he's not in the griffiths mould where he can create his own chances and get a goal from nothing, Collins wont be a success at hibs until we can get a midfield player with vision, skill and the ability to pass a football. There isnt a midfielder at hibs at this moment in time that fits that criteria.

we are hopeless.

04-08-2013, 02:30 PM
Said it before on another thread and was laughed at, Collins is a wonderful player, when given quality service, he's not in the griffiths mould where he can create his own chances and get a goal from nothing, Collins wont be a success at hibs until we can get a midfield player with vision, skill and the ability to pass a football. There isnt a midfielder at hibs at this moment in time that fits that criteria.

we are hopeless.
KT?

erskine-hibby
I think BH had his tongue firmly in his cheek.

DanHFC1875
If he is not sacked it is a disgrace. Tell me one reason why this clown should stay. He's made us a laughing stock and I want him out now!

Knee jerk reaction? Are you serious. Knee jerk reactions come from one off errors , mistakes and bad performances.

If you think this is knee jerk then you're clearly not watching the same team we are.

ive seen some lack lustre teams play in the green. I've seen some clueless managers run the team. But this manager and team are pitiful.

Fenlon has brought in some very decent players but doesn't know what to do with them.

this ain't no knee jerk reaction. Fenlon needs to go

Whoosh :)

away to the Garth Inn and have a pint :)

just_joe
04-08-2013, 02:31 PM
Dont know how he can spend 200,000 on a player with a good goal scoring record and play a formation that gives him no service whatsoever.

04-08-2013, 02:31 PM

Deleted my post as I now think you were taking the piss :D

04-08-2013, 02:32 PM
Hearts will use Hibs as their "target to reach".

04-08-2013, 02:32 PM
See yi Pat.

04-08-2013, 02:33 PM
Every team should beat hearts comfortably this season.

If we go there with Fenlon and win itll only buy him another 2-3 weeks.

Stringer
04-08-2013, 02:33 PM

Behave.

neilmartinrocks
04-08-2013, 02:34 PM
miller in disguise.

brian6-2
KT?

Never in a million years, doesnt look fit, ever!! doesnt look interested, he's a shadow of his former self.

Why is he here a why longer though? I need someone to explain the logic to me? He is *****, he has been *****, he will be *****.

He is making our club a laughing stock
I can't explain it my good man. We all KNOW where we are heading with him. IF we beat hearts next week no doubt that will buy him more time. Towards the end off CC I was wanting us to lose so he would get sacked ( how ****ing tragic is that? When you hate something about your club so much you want them to lose to make a change!). Now I'm not there yet under PF but I'm close!

04-08-2013, 02:35 PM
Look it's pretty simple, under 10k for a new season. The fans have gave up on Hibs with him in charge. The style of play is worse than Williamson back when he said "if you want entertained go to the cinema". I think many will be now.

Please Pat step down and PLEASE, stop trying to defend him people, he's simply not any good. Just admit it.

Both edinburgh clubs to get relagated

KT was excellent today I thought. Shame he's pissing against the wind with Fenlon in charge.

To be honest no players were particularly bad - just set up completely in the wrong way.

Stringer
04-08-2013, 02:36 PM

we are hopeless.

A match fit Robertson will be able to provide assists for Collins. Spoony would have been better though.

ArmadaleHibs
Whoosh :)

away to the Garth Inn and have a pint :)

Fair one. Lol

erskine-hibby
Never in a million years, doesnt look fit, ever!! doesnt look interested, he's a shadow of his former self.

Thought he was one of the few who DID look interested today??

you talk *****.:rolleyes:

04-08-2013, 02:37 PM
Every team should beat hearts comfortably this season.

If we go there with Fenlon and win itll only buy him another 2-3 weeks.

Except us.

Eternal Hibbie
You cant defend that way of playing, and you cant defend a team thats scared to go forward in case they leave gaps.

Fenlon has instilled this approach at Easter Road over the last 20 months, get him punted Petrie and give us a manager who will give the team and supporters belief.

Thank you.

We can see this, why can't Fenlon, and why are all our managers crap ?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

KT was excellent today I thought. Shame he's pissing against the wind with Fenlon in charge.

To be honest no players were particularly bad - just set up completely in the wrong way.

Agree with all that, at times we played some good stuff going forward but it's always going to come to nothing when you only have one player in the box.

04-08-2013, 02:38 PM
How he survived the Malmo debacle I'll never know, he will get till next Sunday but if we lose to Hearts there's no way he will survive that.

I thought he played well today, head and shoulders above anything else we had in the midfield.

Look it's pretty simple, under 10k for a new season. The fans have gave up on Hibs with him in charge. The style of play is worse than Williamson back when he said "if you want entertained go to the cinema". I think many will be now.

Please Pat step down and PLEASE, stop trying to defend him people, he's simply not any good. Just admit it.

Spot on. Griffiths saved him last year. We played the same way as last season today except we didnt have him to bang in a free kick or 25 yard wonder goal. Fenlon has turned us into an even more negative and boring outfit than before. No one commits forward. No one takes a man on. Just terrible.

brian6-2
04-08-2013, 02:39 PM
you talk *****.:rolleyes:

so he was the best of a bad bunch today, did he control the game? naw, did he gee up the players? naw,

how many decent chances did he create?

were we at the same game?

Agree with all that, at times we played some good stuff going forward but it's always going to come to nothing when you only have one player in the box.

Or when you have to find that precise ball, I'm not sure with 1 up front we currently have the players to find that ball. Or are at least are trained to find that ball

Bobo
I've lost count of the number of times on this board that I've decried our managers lack of tactical awareness and negativity, he really is clueless. There's been too many games under Fenlon where we've conceded possession to the opposition as he persists with his futile 4-5-1 system!

The standard of football from Hibs has been grim for far too long, it's suffered under Yogi, Mixu, Calderwood and is continuing under Fenlon, I honestly struggle to think of more than a couple of matches where I've left Easter Road having watched a good entertaining Hibs performance.

Continual underachievement in a dire league is far from acceptable so something has to give. Today's crowd was piss poor, for a season opener, highlighting a growing lack of interest in Hibs, things are only going to get worse with Fenlon's unswerving negativity.

I thought he played well today, head and shoulders above anything else we had in the midfield.

This:agree:

erskine-hibby
How he survived the Malmo debacle I'll never know, he will get till next Sunday but if we lose to Hearts there's no way he will survive that.

Why?
Why wait??
Loses a week in finding a new manager.

04-08-2013, 02:40 PM

Really don't know any more. Fenlon has to go and someone has to be brought in who knows the game. However if he wins the Derby it gives him another 4 games in charge - much like Jim Duffy, won a Derby and as a result we got relegated because it kept him in a job for longer. If we get someone in now we can get something out the season, but if he is still in charge at Christmas time we will get nothing out of it.

I can't explain it my good man. We all KNOW where we are heading with him. IF we beat hearts next week no doubt that will buy him more time. Towards the end off CC I was wanting us to lose so he would get sacked ( how ****ing tragic is that? When you hate something about your club so much you want them to lose to make a change!). Now I'm not there yet under PF but I'm close!

I was there after game 6, I feel your pain. BUT others saw something I didn't

Liam Craig isn't even a RM:confused:

I can see real progress under Fenlon.

I'm progressing more and more towards doing something else on a Saturday (or whatever **** day the spfl decide to put games on)

brian6-2
04-08-2013, 02:41 PM

still nowhere near the player he once was for us.

for me he's the guy that should be taking control of the game and getting the players involved, he knows what it means to play for hibs, he knows what it means to the fans. he might have been "ok" today but he has the ability to change a game, or had the ability to change a game, we've yet to see that from him since he came back.

04-08-2013, 02:41 PM
Stadium announcer on departure: "Enjoy the rest of your weekend...."

SERIOUSLY????????!!!!!!!

04-08-2013, 02:42 PM

SERIOUSLY????????!!!!!!!

Stadium announcer must go.

04-08-2013, 02:42 PM

for me he's the guy that should be taking control of the game and getting the players involved, he knows what it means to play for hibs, he knows what it means to the fans. he might have been "ok" today but he has the ability to change a game, or had the ability to change a game, we've yet to see that from him since he came back.

He was the best player on the park today in my opinion. Most of our attacking play came from him. There are things and people to criticise in the hibs team today - KT certainly isn't one of them.

04-08-2013, 02:43 PM
so he was the best of a bad bunch today, did he control the game? naw, did he gee up the players? naw,

Thomson had a good game, and he is definitely a good player. He's no a magician though, it's not going to be easy to create a chance for a striker who is up there on his own against a back 4.

dmc1875
A crowd of less than 10,000 for the first came of a league season. Regardless of the time/being on TV that shows the board all they need to know.

The fans are deserting the team again...

I was there, watching through my fingers as per usual :cb

SERIOUSLY????????!!!!!!!

I'll enjoy the rest of my weekend knowing that's finished

JCHibby

Stay away from the drugs sir, KT was the best player on that pitch by a mile

04-08-2013, 02:44 PM

Who are we talking about here?

Thats the thing, we have the players there to do well in the SPL, Fenlon just cant get anything out of them.

K.Marx
Genuinely think this squad could finish top 4 with a decent man in charge. With Fenlon in charge, bottom 2 is a distinct possibility. Awful tactics, awful football. The only plus point for me today was Robertson, looked a different player from last season. Other than that it was grim viewing once again.

yeezus.
04-08-2013, 02:45 PM
Thomson had a good game, and he is definitely a good player. He's no a magician though, it's not going to be easy to create a chance for a striker who is up there on his own against a back 4.

He was the stand out for me in the first half. Not impressed by Nelson one bit :rolleyes:

04-08-2013, 02:45 PM

Kevin Thomson was the best player on the pitch today.

Very good performance from him.

DanHFC1875
04-08-2013, 02:46 PM
Why even have a stadium with that muppet in charge. Joke

whereswallace?
04-08-2013, 02:46 PM

Duno what game you were watching but KT was easily our best player and the only one who looked like he could make something happen for us and was everywhere today especially the first half so to summarise.... you talk pish.

04-08-2013, 02:47 PM

Were u at the match??? Best player on park by country mile!! Dearie me...

04-08-2013, 02:48 PM
1 nil saints :greengrin

Matters not a jot from Hibs progress (or lack of) perspective.

04-08-2013, 02:49 PM
When a new manager comes to any football club, they all say the usual things like i want to make us harder to beat, instill a better mentality. Perhaps make their ground a fortress, get the fans behind us and win our home games.

They will also say things like how he would like to get a settled shape, and have a certain way to play, but also be able to change this when needed.

Well the club i support appointed Pat Fenlon, he probably said a lot of these things, to be honest i stopped listening a while back to him.

So after 20 months of Pat Fenlon football management at Hibs, all i have seen is someone who plays one way, punt the ****in thing as long as you can.

We also have under his stewardship a team thats frightened to get forward and support the player he's just spent quite a lot of money on to hold the bloody ball up, what's the point Pat?

Progress, don't make me laugh. :rolleyes:

Agreed, a beautiful day yet only a few hundred walk ups today. RP doesn't know footy but he understands money & we lost about £50k today.

You're all being too hasty. These things take times and Pat's only had 21 months. Lets give him another season.

For any waverers, we conceded three at home to Motherwell last season. Progress.

04-08-2013, 02:50 PM
Why?
Why wait??
Loses a week in finding a new manager.

I agree with you, I would rather we punted him now, just can't see it happening until after next Sunday, unfortunately.

I find it funny he is called clueless by the fans, as if we could do any better, fair enough if you want rid of him and think he isn't the right man for Hibs but he is hardly clueless. I also find it amusing how quickly the good things he has done for us have been forgotten, football fans are fickle I suppose.

whereswallace?

I said that when the attendance was announced, dreadful even for a game on tv on a Sunday. Just never had the usual first game of the league season buzz to it at all. You can literally feel the life being sucked out the club. I have gave Fenlon the benefit of the doubt up til now but today was final straw for me. His inability to change, or want to change tactics when its clear its not working is frightening.

Eternal Hibbie
04-08-2013, 02:51 PM
It's only delaying the inevitable, the support has turned against him.

Dwindling crowds = Petrie will get shot of him.

10/10

I find it funny he is called clueless by the fans, as if we could do any better, fair enough if you want rid of him and think he isn't the right man for Hibs but he is hardly clueless. I also find it amusing how quickly the good things he has done for us have been forgotten, football fans are fickle I suppose.

What good things? He got us to two cup finals....

erskine-hibby
04-08-2013, 02:53 PM
I agree with you, I would rather we punted him now, just can't see it happening until after next Sunday, unfortunately.

My problem with this would be that should we gub them he would, inevitably, be given more time. Like someone else said, elsewhere, we could be im a duff Jimmy situation.

04-08-2013, 02:54 PM
I said that when the attendance was announced, dreadful even for a game on tv on a Sunday. Just never had the usual first game of the league season buzz to it at all. You can literally feel the life being sucked out the club. I have gave Fenlon the benefit of the doubt up til now but today was final straw for me. His inability to change, or want to change tactics when its clear its not working is frightening.

I remember countless times the buzz of a new first game of the season match at ER (which Hibs have not often lost) and although I was not there today, the apathy surrounding the whole day was palpable.

The attitude seemed to be.."well I suppose I should go since I purchased a season ticket".

Terrible. I really wish Rod Petrie would go, his time is up.

Yuillsy
04-08-2013, 02:56 PM
I started watching the dugout today. Halfway through the 1st half Nicholl seemed to take over and Fenlon just sat there. It looks like our staff have lost st all faith and belief in him.
Please Pat, admit your time is up.

Anyone hear it? Sounds like he knows he's off.

What did he say?

K.Marx

You must be on the wind up surely? All good he's done is purely down to having Leigh Griffiths in the side. If we hadnt of had Leigh last season Fenlon would have been long gone.

04-08-2013, 02:57 PM

I hope to **** he is

What good things? He got us to two cup finals....Win over Celtic at home, Hearts home and away, signed the best keeper we have had in years, brought through Harris and Forster, got us to two cup finals as you have said and into Europe(although these things didn't end well I certainly would rather have been there than not).

I dunno, maybe he isn't the right man for Hibs but he has certainly been an improvement over Calderwood and Hughes IMO

brian6-2

If swindon town and shrewsbury can manage to then surely we can, thats my point.

he might have had an ok game, but he didnt do what he's meant to. as i said, he was the best of a bad bunch.

Said he's happy for someone to come in if he can't do it.

I'd like Paul Hartley to come in, I could see a real transformation and him leaving for England in 3 years...

That's what success would mean

I actually thought we were better than expected at times but he's just been on the radio saying we should have been talking about the positives of a 0-0

0-0 at Easter Road isn't positive I'm afraid, he played for a draw today

Not good enough really - we need to defend and attack, not one or the other

Terrible to say it but I don't listen to him anymore so no, I never heard it.

We can only hope.

I remember countless times the buzz of a new first game of the season match at ER (which Hibs have not often lost) and although I was not there today, the apathy surrounding the whole day was palpable.

The attitude seemed to be.."well I suppose I should go since I purchased a season ticket".

Terrible. I really wish Rod Petrie would go, his time is up.

Don't think we have even scored a goal in the opening league match for the last 3 seasons.

04-08-2013, 02:58 PM
Said he's happy for someone to come in if he can't do it.

Can anyone have a shot?

Kenny shiels in???? Please noooooo!

Why not?

He may be an arse but he won a cup with a club without a pot to piss in and consistently produced a team playing attacking passing football, despite having the budget cut every year.

We could do worse.

He said if he can't turn it around then he's got no problem with someone else coming in to try and do it.

04-08-2013, 02:59 PM
I'd like Paul Hartley to come in, I could see a real transformation and him leaving for England in 3 years...

That's what success would mean

I actually thought we were better than expected at times but he's just been on the radio saying we should have been talking about the positives of a 0-0

0-0 at Easter Road isn't positive I'm afraid, he played for a draw today

Not good enough really - we need to defend and attack, not one or the other

Paul Hartley managing Hibs........Paul ****ing Hartley? No

You must be on the wind up surely? All good he's done is purely down to having Leigh Griffiths in the side. If we hadnt of had Leigh last season Fenlon would have been long gone.Who resigned him and got goals from him? Some on here didn't even want Leigh back after his first season and his bans but Fenlon brought him back regardless.

'A tot we were unlucky'

hibs6270uk
Hibs boss Pat Fenlon on BBC Radio Scotland
"We defended really well but we got done by one long ball - it's a lack of concentration.

"There were good individual performances and I thought we contributed well to the game.

"I don't feel pressure. I said when I came in that if I can turn this club round, then great. If I can't, then someone else will come in."

Bugger me he is deluded!

04-08-2013, 03:00 PM
He said if he can't turn it around then he's got no problem with someone else coming in to try and do it.

Turn it around? Turn it a ****ing round? Please you test just **** off now you tiresome, clueless ****ing ****

hibee19
We were unlucky, played well. He should have been standing there talking about the positives of a 0-0.

:agree: I'd rather scratch my eyes out than have that wee turd anywhere near Hibs.

Times up. Got my tick for the derby but thats me done with the home games if he carrys on in charge. I can tolerate 4-5-1 if its attacking but the football he has us playing is disgusting.

Pass along the defence then hoof it to an isolated striker every bloody time! Pub team manager so time to go back to the pub league in Ireland Fenlon :bye:

brian6-2
Duno what game you were watching but KT was easily our best player and the only one who looked like he could make something happen for us and was everywhere today especially the first half so to summarise.... you talk pish.

so he COULD have made something happen for us, bit late for that i think. he could have done that against malmo, and in the cup final i suppose but he never.

i talk pish??? if players that COULD have done the damage for us are good enough for you you need to go and have a word with yersel.

as i said, he was the best of a bad bunch but no-where near up to scratch. take your heid out the guys arse ffs. he wasnt good enough.

04-08-2013, 03:01 PM
Don't think we have even scored a goal in the opening league match for the last 3 seasons.

I said at EASTER ROAD and I can go further.... a LOT further back than the last 3 seasons!:rolleyes:

erskine-hibby
Imho that's enough to get rid.
If he had any confidence in his ability he would not come out and say a thing like that.

Why? Because he played for Hearts?

He was hated because he was a good player for them more than anything

Back to back promotions...

OrdHibby
I hope to **** he is

lol
He should have went when he hook Claros in that game

whereswallace?
"We defended really well but we got done by one long ball - it's a lack of concentration.

"There were good individual performances and I thought we contributed well to the game.

"I don't feel pressure. I said when I came in that if I can turn this club round, then great. If I can't, then someone else will come in."

Bugger me he is deluded!

Has Pat accepted his fate?

Soft

Stanton was a strange sub. Would have brought Caldwell on myself and went 2 up top. Thomson was superb today. Craig played well aswell until the 70th minute. Mullen for me shouldn't be an automatic pick. Too slow for a young laddie.

We need a right back, and another striker. Collins looked good but he needs a partner like a Griffiths/McKay/Stevie May type player alongside him. IF Pat's planning on playing him on his own upfront all the time we are ****ed. I reckon we will get beat next week, in which case he has to go really.

04-08-2013, 03:02 PM
:agree: I'd rather scratch my eyes out than have that wee turd anywhere near Hibs.

I'd rather suffer an eternity of alternating between Fenlon and Miller's teams with Williamson getting the odd cameo to provide some entertainment.

04-08-2013, 03:03 PM
We were unlucky, played well. He should have been standing there talking about the positives of a 0-0.

There's nothing unlucky about the manner in which we concede goals.

04-08-2013, 03:03 PM
I'd rather suffer an eternity of alternating between Fenlon and Miller's teams with Williamson getting the odd cameo to provide some entertainment.

If Hibs were winning and playing good football I wouldn't care if it was the ghost of Margaret Thatcher in the dugout

04-08-2013, 03:04 PM

Please tell i'm having a whoosh moment here.

Otherwise I worry how low our expectations have fallen.

'A tot we were unlucky'

No need to mock an accent. We all have one!

whereswallace?
so he COULD have made something happen for us, bit late for that i think. he could have done that against malmo, and in the cup final i suppose but he never.

i talk pish??? if players that COULD have done the damage for us are good enough for you you need to go and have a word with yersel.

as i said, he was the best of a bad bunch but no-where near up to scratch. take your heid out the guys arse ffs. he wasnt good enough.

Oh dear, you literally have me failing to find the words to reply. Enjoy the rest of your day playing with your lego and crayons...

And for your information when we resigned Thomson I declared I would never go back so my heid is hardly up the guys arse.

"I don't feel pressure. I said when I came in that if I can turn this club round, then great. If I can't, then someone else will come in. I've no problem with that."

Pray4Marc
Fenlon is clueless, time to go.

I thought we had good spells in the game with passing in the midfield. But we should be playing 442 at home, Collins and Vine up front could be deadly. Robertson and Thomson where excellent. On another day we would have sneaked that. It's all about next week, get beat of that mob and ill call him the taxi.

04-08-2013, 03:05 PM
Why? Because he played for Hearts?

He was hated because he was a good player for them more than anything

Back to back promotions...

Yes because he played for Hearts and was a loathsome little greasy weegie jambo rodent who epitomised everything horrible about the Romanov "era" at Hearts.

04-08-2013, 03:05 PM
Turn it around? Turn it a ****ing round? Please you test just **** off now you tiresome, clueless ****ing ****

I'm sure the abuse will see him off right enough. :cb

hibee19
04-08-2013, 03:06 PM
Please tell i'm having a whoosh moment here.

Otherwise I worry how low our expectations have fallen.

They're Fenlons words, not mine.