View Full Version : Fenlon has to go (post Malmo)

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

26-07-2013, 01:09 PM
How about balancing that with some of his very good European results?

How about you do that ?

26-07-2013, 01:09 PM
Pat will find it hard to do a press conference today as he's in Ireland for the weekend.

One way ticket?

26-07-2013, 01:11 PM
We've won 7 of our 23 competitive games this year. Three of those wins were in the Scottish Cup.

Indeed

Over the course of the whole season for me simply not good enough, way to many excuses made for him.

The Leith Dutch
26-07-2013, 01:15 PM
It would be negligent in the extreme to get 8/9 games into the season, have had a bad start and then sack him

That's exactly what they did with Calderwood.
Despite having not really had much of a chance it was obvious by the end of the 2010/11 season that Calderwood was neither capable of doing nor committed to the job of being Hibernian manager.

Not sure the Fenlon situation is quite so clear cut - I couldn't honestly offer much defence of his tactics or team selection after last night - but I also wouldn't shed any tears if he did go.

Depressingly I honestly wouldn't expect the situation to change much whoever is the manager.

For the record here's the St Johnstone team from last night:

01 Mannus
02 MacKay
03 Scobbie
05 Wright Booked
06 Anderson (Miller - 78' )
04 Cregg
08 McDonald
10 Wotherspoon
17 May (Fallon - 78' Booked )
09 MacLean
11 Hasselbaink (Edwards - 64' )

Forget their result last night and pretend those guys played for a variety of clubs.

If the board announced today that they'd sacked PF and brought in Tommy Wright and he'd signed the 14 players above can anyone honestly say they'd suddenly be much more upbeat about the upcoming season?

I'm certainly not saying we should keep Fenlon and I'm not defending the players but there's clearly something that runs deeper and is much more serious that's holding us back as a club.

26-07-2013, 01:16 PM
Having had a night to think about it, I'm firmly in the sack him camp.Dull, turgid, negative football that is hopelessly performed any time it matters. Embarrassed time and again when it matters. A genuinely big club in Scottish terms consistently outplayed/outfought/outperformed by much smaller clubs.We have players who can't do basics and a manager who, 2 years down the line, has shown no signs as to what is football philosophy or style actually is.I couldn't be less enthused about the new season. I've got my season ticket but really couldn't care less right now about watching Hibs. It's not football, it's pish.Fenlon is responsible. He should go.

26-07-2013, 01:17 PM
absolute murder!

he should go, but who do we get in, another short term manager that inherits a crap squad and tries to re-build his own crap squad over a season or two till his head gets called for?

It shouldnt take that long at all, IMO a good manager when taking over from CC could have I believe had us doing better than still avoiding relegation after 4/5 months until we beat Dunfermline, a good mangaer would have IMO again been able to have us pushing right up there last term.

None of that can be proved either way but I am not buying into this 18months and 2 seasons until we see results etc.

Eternal Hibbie
26-07-2013, 01:19 PM
Pat will find it hard to do a press conference today as he's in Ireland for the weekend.

Thought I read that he said he would evaluate last night's nonsense when he got back behind his desk this morning.

Always stuck up for him in the past but . . .

26-07-2013, 01:20 PM
PF back in Ireland to "consider his future". The best thing for all is if he stayed there......and Rod ? Perhaps he should consider HIS future also.

26-07-2013, 01:22 PM
I'm certainly not saying we should keep Fenlon and I'm not defending the players but there's clearly something that runs deeper and is much more serious that's holding us back as a club.

That's what I keep saying!

We sign players that would be good signings for any other club in the SPL (bar Celtic). But they're always poor while at Hibs.

There's clearly a problem that runs deeper than all the managers and players we've gone through over the last several years.

The quality of the signings aren't the problem!

26-07-2013, 01:23 PM
PF back in Ireland to "consider his future". The best thing for all is if he stayed there......and Rod ? Perhaps he should consider HIS future also.

Its been established that this is nonsense.

26-07-2013, 01:24 PM

We sign players that would be good signings for any other club in the SPL (bar Celtic). But they're always poor while at Hibs.

There's clearly a problem that runs deeper than all the managers and players we've gone through over the last several years.

So we have good players but aren't getting good results but the manager isn't to blame ? Okay then.

26-07-2013, 01:24 PM

We keep changing managers and team mates on them though and they end up not being able to settle. I don't think we can write off the new guys just yet based on us not having played a league game yet!!

26-07-2013, 01:26 PM

Yet was at training

26-07-2013, 01:27 PM
Yet was at training

They actually train?

26-07-2013, 01:29 PM
The only press conference I want to see is Fenlon announcing his resignation. Last was a disgrace that Petrie can't be held responsible for. It was on the park that we failed last night, not in the boardroom.

26-07-2013, 01:31 PM
Ltyf

26-07-2013, 01:32 PM
The only press conference I want to see is Fenlon announcing his resignation. Last was a disgrace that Petrie can't be held responsible for. It was on the park that we failed last night, not in the boardroom.

He appoints the numpties that managed that shambles and previous ones.

26-07-2013, 01:33 PM
So we have good players but aren't getting good results but the manager isn't to blame ? Okay then.

We do have good players and we aren't getting good results. But it's not 100% down to the manager alone. There's other staff at the club as well that have jobs to do also.

If the fitness coaches aren't doing their jobs properly, then it won't matter how many times we switch managers.

Instead of looking to change things that we keep changing time and time again, we should be looking at things we haven't changed over the last several years.

It's called finding the lowest common denominators.

26-07-2013, 01:33 PM
Yeah 7th is acceptable right enough. Better than 11th so that's ok. 2 cup finals and a European tie. 17 conceded and one scored. No tactics no ability to change a game, pish poor team selection and formations. The gift that keeps giving to other teams.

Good attempt at defending him though.

FENLON OUT.

No attempt at defending him. Your gift that just keeps giving comment was in relation to teams like St Mirren, Killie etc so didnt see the relevance. No doubt his big game record isnt great and in none of the bigger games we have had would I have set the team up in the way he did. To play 442 last night and in the SC Final was a complete mistake IMO given the relative strength of the other teams midfield and how average our defence is.

In saying that the defensive injuries killed us last night along with the formation and the fact we were playing a very good team.

26-07-2013, 01:35 PM
We keep changing managers and team mates on them though and they end up not being able to settle. I don't think we can write off the new guys just yet based on us not having played a league game yet!!

I never buy into the whole settling/gelling in.

Other clubs don't require this. St Johnstone didn't require Wotherspoon or Cregg to be given time to "settle in" and they still managed to perform better than they ever did at Hibs.

26-07-2013, 01:37 PM
We do have good players and we aren't getting good results. But it's not 100% down to the manager alone. There's other staff at the club as well that have jobs to do also.

If the fitness coaches aren't doing their jobs properly, then it won't matter how many times we switch managers.

Instead of looking to change things that we keep changing time and time again, we should be looking at things we haven't changed over the last several years.

If a fitness coach isn't doing their job its up to the manager to take the appropriate action. That goes for all staff on the playing side of things. The buck stops with the manager on issues that affect his ability in putting out a first team.

26-07-2013, 01:39 PM

I don't think anyone could argue against the appointments he had made at the time?

Hughes - ex Hibs player who was doing well at Falkirk.
Calderwood - bags of experience in the EPL as a coach, should have made the step up but didn't
Fenlon - proven in Ireland

26-07-2013, 01:40 PM
No attempt at defending him. Your gift that just keeps giving comment was in relation to teams like St Mirren, Killie etc so didnt see the relevance. No doubt his big game record isnt great and in none of the bigger games we have had would I have set the team up in the way he did. To play 442 last night and in the SC Final was a complete mistake IMO given the relative strength of the other teams midfield and how average our defence is.

In saying that the defensive injuries killed us last night along with the formation and the fact we were playing a very good team.

He played 451 in the cup final mate.
If we had played a 451 last night could you imagine the outcry on here? I reckon we would still have been beaten with that.
His player choice was wrong but his lineup wasn't. We had to go for it. After they scored two it should have been changed of course, but otherwise I think he got the formation right.

Stringer
26-07-2013, 01:41 PM
Listening to the interview, Pat knows it's the beginning of the end.

26-07-2013, 01:43 PM
We've won 7 of our 23 competitive games this year. Three of those wins were in the Scottish Cup.

As the yongsters of today like to say OMG! WTF!

The man is a loser. He's done no better than any randomly picked manager would have done and these statistics bear this out.

Away and GTF Pat.

26-07-2013, 01:44 PM
If a fitness coach isn't doing their job its up to the manager to take the appropriate action. That goes for all staff on the playing side of things. The buck stops with the manager on issues that affect his ability in putting out a first team.

But the manager isn't in charge of the staff held in place. He may have a problem with some of the staff members, but it's not his call to sack them, or get them replaced. That's down to the board members.

He can complain all he wants to the board about particular staff that he feels are inadequate, but it's the board that calls the final shots on who stays and who leaves.

I just find it hard to see how we can have the exact same problem year after year, regardless of how many times we change the manager and squad. There has to be something else going on.

LongshanksED
26-07-2013, 01:44 PM
Yogi Hughes shouldn't have been anywhere near Hibs. When we signed him he narrowly avoided relegation with Falkirk and first thing he does is bring 3 or 4 players who almost got relegated to Hibs with him.

hibsmad
26-07-2013, 01:45 PM

It's the managers job to keep on top of fitness/fitness coaches. If there is a problem there then it is down to him to get it sorted. I know it probably feels like a case of 'let's just blame the manager and no one else'. The truth is though that the position of manager is a high profile role and he gets paid a tidy wage for doing it. This role and salary comes with a lot of responsibility, which includes overseeing a number of aspects such as fitness.

Other than Pat the only people I can really see an argument to blame is the board for their continual poor choice of manager. That's another argument though and still wouldn't take away from the fact that the current manager was another poor choice and should now go.

26-07-2013, 01:46 PM
Having had a night to think about it, I'm firmly in the sack him camp.Dull, turgid, negative football that is hopelessly performed any time it matters. Embarrassed time and again when it matters. A genuinely big club in Scottish terms consistently outplayed/outfought/outperformed by much smaller clubs . We have players who can't do basics and a manager who, 2 years down the line, has shown no signs as to what is football philosophy or style actually is. I couldn't be less enthused about the new season. I've got my season ticket but really couldn't care less right now about watching Hibs. It's not football, it's pish. Fenlon is responsible. He should go.

Given there are 4+ weeks left of the transfer window also, I agree Matty. And the ever culpable Rod Petrie should follow right behind him.

I don't see either happening however. A poor start and a near teary RP will address the AGM about finding Pat's replacement.

26-07-2013, 01:49 PM
It's the managers job to keep on top of fitness/fitness coaches. If there is a problem there then it is down to him to get it sorted. I know it probably feels like a case of 'let's just blame the manager and no one else'. The truth is though that the position of manager is a high profile role and he gets paid a tidy wage for doing it. This role and salary comes with a lot of responsibility, which includes overseeing a number of aspects such as fitness.

Other than Pat the only people I can really see an argument to blame is the board for their continual poor choice of manager. That's another argument though and still wouldn't take away from the fact that the current manager was another poor choice and should now go.

The board don't just hire managers. They hire other staff as well. And those other staff may not be doing their jobs right.

As I said in my last post. The manager can complain to the board about staff that he feels aren't adequate enough for the club. But it's the board that have the final say in the end.

26-07-2013, 01:53 PM
I don't think anyone could argue against the appointments he had made at the time?

Hughes - ex Hibs player who was doing well at Falkirk.
Calderwood - bags of experience in the EPL as a coach, should have made the step up but didn't
Fenlon - proven in Ireland

Hughes - finished 1pt clear of relegated ICT after claiming a win there on last day of season.

Calderwood - Sacked by Nott'm Forest on boxing day 2008 with club in bottom three and four wins from twenty five league games. His last managerial job before Hibs.

Fenlon - Proven in Ireland when possessing biggest budget. Fifth place in season that ended just before joining us. An underwhelming appointment.

hibsmad
26-07-2013, 01:56 PM
The board don't just hire managers. They hire other staff as well. And those other staff may not be doing their jobs right.

As I said in my last post. The manager can complain to the board about staff that he feels aren't adequate enough for the club. But it's the board that have the final say in the end.

If Pat informed the board that a certain role was not being performed properly then the board would act on it. I am 100% certain of that. If they didn't it would be complete incompetence.

Hibiza
26-07-2013, 01:57 PM
Keep your head up , Pat.:flag:

26-07-2013, 01:58 PM
Actions speak louder than words, the time for talking is over!

Totally agree! Whilst I agree that the supporters deserve a massive apology after last nights shambles we had to suffer, we more importantly need to put words into actions and do something to get ourselves out of this mess.

26-07-2013, 01:59 PM
But the manager isn't in charge of the staff held in place. He may have a problem with some of the staff members, but it's not his call to sack them, or get them replaced. That's down to the board members.

He can complain all he wants to the board about particular staff that he feels are inadequate, but it's the board that calls the final shots on who stays and who leaves.

I just find it hard to see how we can have the exact same problem year after year, regardless of how many times we change the manager and squad. There has to be something else going on.

Or we just keep picking inept managers... !!!

Calderwood and Fenlon are inept. The recent others flattered to deceive. Yes, Mixu is the Finland boss but where's Yogi now..?

26-07-2013, 01:59 PM
How about you do that ?

Okay then:

The 2004 season also saw Fenlon lead his squad past Icelandic champions KR Reykjavík and Croatian high-flyers Hajduk Split and into the third (final) qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League, where his Shelbourne side were eventually overturned by Spanish giants Deportivo la Coruña.[9] Following this amazing run, and participation in the First Round of the UEFA Cup against Lille OSC, Fenlon was rewarded with a contract extension.[10] This made him the first manager to reach the third qualifying round of the competition with an Irish club.[2]

Hibiza
26-07-2013, 02:01 PM
kneejerker.

Hibiza
26-07-2013, 02:03 PM
Given there are 4+ weeks left of the transfer window also, I agree Matty. And the ever culpable Rod Petrie should follow right behind him.

I don't see either happening however. A poor start and a near teary RP will address the AGM about finding Pat's replacement.

behave, the "tache" not my cuppa. led us thro some muddy waters thou.

26-07-2013, 02:03 PM
kneejerker.

TBH I think the "Fenlon must go" vibes have been brewing for a while now, but last nights humiliation has been the last straw for a lot of folk.

26-07-2013, 02:05 PM
Having had a night to think about it, I'm firmly in the sack him camp.Dull, turgid, negative football that is hopelessly performed any time it matters. Embarrassed time and again when it matters. A genuinely big club in Scottish terms consistently outplayed/outfought/outperformed by much smaller clubs.We have players who can't do basics and a manager who, 2 years down the line, has shown no signs as to what is football philosophy or style actually is.I couldn't be less enthused about the new season. I've got my season ticket but really couldn't care less right now about watching Hibs. It's not football, it's pish.Fenlon is responsible. He should go.

I wouldn't shed any tears if he was sacked immediately, but I'm prepared to give him till after the Hearts game.

If we lose the first 2 games, then he definitely should go.

If he wins them, then things will look better.

There's not going to be much of a budget left for a new manager to bring new people in, so I don't buy that argument to get rid asap.

Hibiza
TBH I think the "Fenlon must go" vibes have been brewing for a while now, but last nights humiliation has been the last straw for a lot of folk.

have faith.

it was up last night..................up his erse!

Only 74%. I am really surprised, thought it would be much higher.

banarc7062
26-07-2013, 02:08 PM
I do not think Mr Fenlon has what it takes to manage our team to be successful, skilful and entertaining with the odd win thrown in. I do not see any significant improvements since he took control.

26-07-2013, 02:10 PM

26-07-2013, 02:17 PM
Warning Warning. Do not feed the troll.

26-07-2013, 02:21 PM
Warning Warning. Do not feed the troll.

Which one?

26-07-2013, 02:22 PM
warning warning. Do not feed the troll.

ltyf

26-07-2013, 02:25 PM
Okay then:

The 2004 season also saw Fenlon lead his squad past Icelandic champions KR Reykjavík and Croatian high-flyers Hajduk Split and into the third (final) qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League, where his Shelbourne side were eventually overturned by Spanish giants Deportivo la Coruña.[9] Following this amazing run, and participation in the First Round of the UEFA Cup against Lille OSC, Fenlon was rewarded with a contract extension.[10] This made him the first manager to reach the third qualifying round of the competition with an Irish club.[2]

Took your time. I see one excellent result and one good result, Split and KR Reykjavík respectively.

With Shelbourne
2002–03 UCL LOST to Hibernians 1st QR. 2003-04 UEFA cup LOST to Olimpija Ljubljana in preliminary round. 2004-05 as detailed above. 2005-06 BEAT Glentoran in 1st QR of UCL then LOST to Steaua. BEAT Vetra then LOST to Odense in Intertoto cup.

With Bohs
2008 BEAT Rhyl LOST to Riga Intertoto cup.
2009-2010 UCL LOST to Red Bull Salzburg.
2010-2011 UCL LOST to TNS.
2011-2012 Europa league LOST to Olimpija Ljubljana.

His best nights seem to have been nearly a decade ago. His last 10 games in Europe versus various standard of opposition is 2 wins 2 draws and 6 defeats scored 5 and lost 20.

26-07-2013, 02:31 PM
Okay then:

Just to be clear, you've resorted to pulling up a couple of games from nine years ago to defend Fenlon because you couldn't find any suitable ones at a later date.

Leishy1995
26-07-2013, 02:41 PM
I just think he should resign. Compensation free. That's two of the worst games I've been at been under his tactics and tenure.

26-07-2013, 02:42 PM
Just to be clear, you've resorted to pulling up a couple of games from nine years ago to defend Fenlon because you couldn't find any suitable ones at a later date.

Not really, the poster had himself pulled some poor European results out and I was aware he had actually taken one of his teams relatively far in the competition for an Irish team. Irish teams getting results in Europe isn't really a regular thing.

Why is this an issue for you?

26-07-2013, 02:46 PM
Not really, the poster had himself pulled some poor European results out and I was aware he had actually taken one of his teams relatively far in the competition for an Irish team. Irish teams getting results in Europe isn't really a regular thing.

Why is this an issue for you?

Everything's an issue for me today. I'm a right grumpy barsteward. Just be thankful that you're not Mrs Beefster.

26-07-2013, 02:47 PM
behave, the "tache" not my cuppa. led us thro some muddy waters thou.

The Golden Generation and Land Sale done that, who put us in that hole?

26-07-2013, 02:53 PM

Let's be honest, the Hibs Board do not really care about humiliations or performances. They profess to be football men, but the only think that concerns them is money. So, the only reason they will sack a manager is if the fans decide to desert the club in droves. As long as Hibs fans support the team, pay their gate money, the Board are happy.

26-07-2013, 03:01 PM
Let's be honest, the Hibs Board do not really care about humiliations or performances. They profess to be football men, but the only think that concerns them is money. So, the only reason they will sack a manager is if the fans decide to desert the club in droves. As long as Hibs fans support the team, pay their gate money, the Board are happy.

I think they realise that the lack of football success is harming income potential.

I think Paul Hartley will be Hibs manager within 4 weeks.

HibeeHendo
26-07-2013, 03:11 PM
Why the **** is he still playing players out of position!?!?

strathy
26-07-2013, 03:11 PM
Bet victor still offering 4/1 on fenlon next spl manager to leave post. If your new to bet victor they also offer a free bet up to the value of £25.

26-07-2013, 03:12 PM
Why the **** is he still playing players out of position!?!?

Just for the sport I think. Probably nothing to do with injuries, fitness and lack of options. :greengrin

26-07-2013, 03:13 PM
I think they realise that the lack of football success is harming income potential.

Ive felt uneasy about his name being mentioned but the more I think about the better its becoming. Knows to well our shortfalls. No guarantees but I dont think he would take it. Has money and can wait for another chance

Makaveli
26-07-2013, 03:17 PM
Bet victor still offering 4/1 on fenlon next spl manager to leave post. If your new to bet victor they also offer a free bet up to the value of £25.

I took some of that last night. Not confident but it would be rude not to at that price...

26-07-2013, 03:20 PM
I made a comment last week, before the first leg, that I was glad to see new signings but couldn't see that we had what I would call a decent team for the season. What I mean by that is looking at the players we have and seeing how they would gel together.

After nearly two years, I'm still unsure as to what Fenlon's footballing philosophy is, other than punt it up front and cross your fingers. That may have been OK when we had LG, and when he was on form, but I'd hate to think that was all we had to look forward to this season.

Oh and all those that were predicting a rout at Tynecastle, be careful what you wish for.

Yuillsy
26-07-2013, 03:21 PM

The thought of him being our manager gives me the dry boak!!!!

strathy
26-07-2013, 03:22 PM
I took some of that last night. Not confident but it would be rude not to at that price...
I'm not confident either but with the £25 free bet was well worth a punt.

26-07-2013, 03:22 PM
The thought of him being our manager gives me the dry boak!!!!

Me too, don't want that scruffy wee rat anywhere near Easter Road.

GlenrothesHibee
26-07-2013, 03:24 PM
I will probably get shot down in flames for this but i dont think Fenlon should be sacked on the back of lastnight. Yes it was humiliating but the domestic league hasn't even started yet. Lets see how the new lad Collins does etc before we say he must go. In saying this, the first 2 or 3 games could be make or break for Pat. I for one think he will be here for a while

jax67
26-07-2013, 03:24 PM
Get John Collins back.

26-07-2013, 03:26 PM
Get John Collins back.

Yeah, if you think we are on a slide now...I loved JC but in the last few months it was quite horrendous.

26-07-2013, 03:26 PM
Petrie not one for pushing button after a bad result but as with Hughes if its near AGM. Your fired. IMO Fenlon will get till then of Petrie.

26-07-2013, 03:34 PM
Get John Collins back.

The last inspiriring and innovative manager to hold the post at Easter Road IMHO. Those who are shouting for a European coach - that's what we had in Collins. Just a shame so many of the players couldn't appreciate and benefit from it.

26-07-2013, 03:41 PM
Yeah, if you think we are on a slide now...I loved JC but in the last few months it was quite horrendous.

True but certainly he wasn't helped by the players throwing a tantrum and throwing their toys out the pram because god forbid he wanted to push them hard in training. Collins was a good manager but was let down by **** stirrers in the dressing room and dare I say it, Mr Petrie who I feel should have given him a lot more loyalty and support instead of listening to whiney players greeting because they were being made to work harder.

26-07-2013, 03:42 PM
Fenlon must stay, if only to save us all from the "whoever must go" thread starting around January.

It's turning into a vicious circle and I think we need to stop it. I know we all want success but it gets boring. I don't recall any Hibs supporters writing into the Evening News demanding that Turnbull, Ormond or Stanton be sacked because the team were not performing as they should. I know times are different and anti-social media has been embraced by all but I get ****ing bored with it. Some people should just go down the pub and moan to a smaller, and possibly, more interested audience.

26-07-2013, 03:43 PM
True but certainly he wasn't helped by the players throwing a tantrum and throwing their toys out the pram because god forbid he wanted to push them hard in training. Collins was a good manager but was let down by **** stirrers in the dressing room and dare I say it, Mr Petrie who I feel should have given him a lot more loyalty and support instead of listening to whiney players greeting because they were being made to work harder.

During the first half last night I saw Liam Craig attempt to beat a Malmo player to a ball probably ten yards away from both of them. Craig wasn't even at the races. That kind of fitness (or lack of) wouldn't have been tolerated by JC.

jax67
26-07-2013, 03:43 PM

Collins left because Petrie wouldn't back him
in the transfer market. A lack of ambition is the
problem. We should have kicked on under Collins.
That's my opinion, for what it's worth.

jax67
26-07-2013, 03:44 PM
The last inspiriring and innovative manager to hold the post at Easter Road IMHO. Those who are shouting for a European coach - that's what we had in Collins. Just a shame so many of the players couldn't appreciate and benefit from it.

Totally agree with you.

brian6-2
26-07-2013, 03:45 PM
if every one who is genuinley upset at the way the club is going then why dont you arrange a time and date to protest outside easter road and demand answers?

mouthing off on here wont make a blind bit of difference.

jax67
26-07-2013, 03:45 PM
During the first half last night I saw Liam Craig attempt to beat a Malmo player to a ball probably ten yards away from both of them. Craig wasn't even at the races. That kind of fitness (or lack of) wouldn't have been tolerated by JC.

It shouldn't be!

Last Minute
26-07-2013, 03:46 PM
Get John Collins back.

Spot on, best manager we had in years. what a team we would have had now if the board had backed him.

BRING BACK COLLINS

Greendub
26-07-2013, 03:48 PM

Vine too, he and the CB went for the ball and the CB just destroyed him in the pace game

HibeeHendo
26-07-2013, 03:50 PM
Just for the sport I think. Probably nothing to do with injuries, fitness and lack of options. :greengrin

If Mullen was fit enough to come on at the 20 minute mark, I think he probably could have started. Would have saved us playing Stevenson in a position where he always toils. I'm not picking on Stevenson here, I like him, I just think he plays far better on the left side.

jax67
26-07-2013, 03:52 PM
To be fair Malmo had pace all through the team.
Not many sides carry that much pace.

26-07-2013, 03:52 PM

There's more to managing than coaching and fitness. If you can't lead people on the journey then it ain't going to happen.

26-07-2013, 03:53 PM
There's a good article about Fenlon and last nights performance on the BBC Scotland website, this is the heading: Hibernian: Pat Fenlon needs quick fix after Malmo defeat.

26-07-2013, 03:54 PM
Our fitness levels are a disgrace. And it's not just against Swedish teams we toil for pace. We looked the least fit team in the SPL last season.

26-07-2013, 03:55 PM
Our fitness levels are a disgrace. And it's not just against Swedish teams we toil for pace. We looked the least fit team in the SPL last season.

The chronic lack of pace in the team is unforgivable, certainly.

26-07-2013, 03:55 PM

Exactly. Collins wanted a fit team of athletic football players and to achieve that he wanted to push them harder in training instead of pampering them and letting them do what they liked. He was quite right, but unfortunately the players didn't like this idea of working harder and went greeting to Petrie. Petrie should have stood by his manager and told the players to work with the manager and the managers ideas or GTF. Thats the problem, too many players wanting to turn up, do a few laps of the pitch and a kick about then go and play the xbox. East Mains was not built as a fun and leisure complex, it's supposed to be where players can achieve maximum fitness and use the state of the art facilities to achieve a fitness advantage over other SPL club who don't have those luxuries!

jax67
26-07-2013, 03:56 PM
There's more to managing than coaching and fitness. If you can't lead people on the journey then it ain't going to happen.

Collins should have been backed.
Maybe then, he could have led the right type
of players on a journey.

26-07-2013, 03:58 PM
There's a good article about Fenlon and last nights performance on the BBC Scotland website, this is the heading: Hibernian: Pat Fenlon needs quick fix after Malmo defeat.

Should read 'quick players' :agree:

Cold light of day - Arsene Wenger, top manager, humbled 8-2 was it (Old Trafford).......Sir Alex humbled 1-6 against Citeh and 6-3 at The Dell.........results like this can and do happen even to the best of teams and to the best of managers.

But Pat needs to urgently address and perhaps change his target list and playing style. Playing left midfielders at right back and strikers at right midfield has been proven to fail in the most epic way possible. Don't over complicate, play players in their natural position, and sign some width.

26-07-2013, 03:59 PM

Why are you making that up, none of that actually happened?

HibeeHutch
26-07-2013, 04:02 PM
I've been very supportive of Pat up until last night. However, there were a few red flags for me at the end of last season and into pre-season. 1. I can't believe he gave Stevenson a 2 year contract extension. You cannot tell me he is good enough for Hibs, better than Wotherspoon or indeed that we couldn't find a more solid player playing with 'lesser' clubs. 2. Did we really need to spend money on keeping Kevin Thomson? He seems to have a lot of fans but for me he has not stood out and as a player approaching his early 30s we could have earmarked his wages for the striker kitty and played as well or better with the current army of midfielders. 3. Lyle Taylor. I'm presuming he was our first target and within reach until we played hard ball - and then (apparently) spent more money on our (I'm guessing) second choice striker.

jax67
26-07-2013, 04:05 PM
Exactly. Collins wanted a fit team of athletic football players and to achieve that he wanted to push them harder in training instead of pampering them and letting them do what they liked. He was quite right, but unfortunately the players didn't like this idea of working harder and went greeting to Petrie. Petrie should have stood by his manager and told the players to work with the manager and the managers ideas or GTF. Thats the problem, too many players wanting to turn up, do a few laps of the pitch and a kick about then go and play the xbox. East Mains was not built as a fun and leisure complex, it's supposed to be where players can achieve maximum fitness and use the state of the art facilities to achieve a fitness advantage over other SPL club who don't have those luxuries!

If only eh?

26-07-2013, 04:05 PM
of players on a journey.

He showed with the capture of O'Brien, Makalamby, Kerr, Joneleit, Gattheusi and Donaldson that with the right backing he'd have spent wisely right enough.

I think we were on a run of 11 without a win when he decided to go.

Talking about players out of position, Kevin McCann at centre half, Makalmaby in goals...

26-07-2013, 04:07 PM
Fenlon has a major problem with the eam defensively, in his reign we lose around 1.7 goals per game, the same as jim Duffy! His reign has seen us score around 1.25 goals per game, Duffy was 1.19.

So we have a defensive record on a par with Duffy and a goals scored only slightly better. Many of the goals scored in the Fenlon reign was from griffiths who made them himself and some were from finishes that almost all the spl strikers couldn't replicate.

For a team supposedly moving forward and building we haven't improved the defence and have reduced the attack quality.

GodisaHibee
26-07-2013, 04:08 PM
Not just Fenlon.

Something is rotten in the state of Denmark.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

of players on a journey.

When Collins provoked a rebellion then it was game over. You cannot be a leader if you have no followers.

The chronic lack of pace in the team is unforgivable, certainly.

This ... + skill and desire

marleyhib
26-07-2013, 04:10 PM
should have been sacked end of last season, or at half time last night - scoreboard should have said "pack your bags pat" instead of changing to 0-7, must have been a software glitch

AL-Qaholik
26-07-2013, 04:22 PM
Just in from work - GENUINELY expected an announcement on Fenlon being sacked/resigning by the time I'd got home...

HOW THE F¥[K HAS THIS NOT HAPPENED??

26-07-2013, 04:24 PM
Just in from work - GENUINELY expected an announcement on Fenlon being sacked/resigning by the time I'd got home...

Did people really expect this? Didn't ever think there was any danger myself.

26-07-2013, 04:26 PM
It's hard not to get personal when you read stuff like that.
Are you related to Fenlon?
We have some good players at the club but under Fenlon we are garbage. A change is a must.

Why don't you get personal then? I wasn't under the impression we knew each other.

Im sorry my opinion hurts you that much :aok:

26-07-2013, 04:28 PM

I felt he would have resigned myself. Don't think there are too many clubs who accept this result and don't do anything.

Edit: He still might after a bit of soul searching.

FastEddieFelson
26-07-2013, 04:30 PM

agreed - very surprised at the reaction of most on here.

26-07-2013, 04:33 PM
He showed with the capture of O'Brien, Makalamby, Kerr, Joneleit, Gattheusi and Donaldson that with the right backing he'd have spent wisely right enough.

Talking about players out of position, Kevin McCann at centre half, Makalmaby in goals...

Sorry mate but not the point. JC's failings with his signings well documented.

The point is that he tried to introduce a professional sporting culture at Hibs and somehow - somehow - this professional sports team has let that slip. Unforgivable.

Oh, and as for the tedious 'McCann at centre half' line, how about all the times he got the tactics spot on? His Hibs team suffocated opponents to death plenty of times.

jax67
26-07-2013, 04:36 PM

O'brien and Kerr were recommendations of
Tommy Craig. Donaldson should have got more time IMO.
Makalambay came with all the right credentials , but your right,
he was stinking. At the time Collins wanted to bring in Barry Robson,
and Steven Naismith. They both would have been great additions to the team. I still believe that Collins would be good for us. That's my opinion.

26-07-2013, 04:39 PM
Spot on, best manager we had in years. what a team we would have had now if the board had backed him.

BRING BACK COLLINS

Collins was the worst manager I can remember in the transfer market.

Thanks god Petrie didn't back him.

26-07-2013, 04:44 PM
I like all the posters who point out the failings of John Collins but somehow can't see anything that Pat Fenlon is doing wrong. Laughable. :faf:

26-07-2013, 04:49 PM
Collins was the worst manager I can remember in the transfer market.

Thanks god Petrie didn't back him.

Transfer dealing is the one area where a good Director of Football or similar can really help a manager, and let them get on with improving the team on the park.

26-07-2013, 04:51 PM
I like all the posters who point out the failings of John Collins but somehow can't see anything that Pat Fenlon is doing wrong. Laughable. :faf:

It's more a case of others suggesting he replace him and just pointing out that his record wasn't great either.

26-07-2013, 04:52 PM

The point is that he tried to introduce a professional sporting culture at Hibs and somehow - somehow - this professional sports team has let that slip. Unforgivable.

Oh, and as for the tedious 'McCann at centre half' line, how about all the times he got the tactics spot on? His Hibs team suffocated opponents to death plenty of times.

They did, then he brought his own players in.........

OrdHibby
26-07-2013, 04:55 PM
I don't think they do, they perhaps just have other ways of addressing it?

Are you a manager of any sort? If so, if staff have had bad results in one way or another is the only option to sack them or should you try and use a combination of things to improve matters?

I don't acept medicority in my workplace but I've not had to sack anyone yet to turn around a number of bad positions to very positive ones.

Great.

He's not management material therefore shouldn't be in the job. He can't do his job so he has to go. He doesn't have someone like you to look up to to show him the ropes. Time to go.

26-07-2013, 04:57 PM
ONE POUND FISH MAN (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETSl8gWsFZ0)

The real Fishman unmasked http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=76fmcJ-HXuM:greengrin

26-07-2013, 04:58 PM
Transfer dealing is the one area where a good Director of Football or similar can really help a manager, and let them get on with improving the team on the park.

Exactly:agree: Collins would have been a great european style 'coach' here under a DoF. His transfers cant be defended but playing Kevin McCann at centre half once doesnt erase all the good football we played then.

26-07-2013, 04:59 PM
Mrs Beefster reckons that if Fenlon stays, she might finally get that decking done next season seeing as I'll probably be free most Saturdays.

Do the right thing, Paddy. I've managed to put this **** off for years, don't ruin it for me.

coldingham hibs
26-07-2013, 04:59 PM
After watching the Raith Rovers friendly it was clear to me that this was going to be a long, hard season with Fenlon at the helm. Rovers were by far the better team and should have won the game. The Malmo result is just the upshot of what would happen when we played a half decent team. Fortunately there are still a couple of weeks before the start of the league campaign to get something sorted, hopefully the departure of Fenlon, otherwise we could be facing more results like last night.

Jambo's are already looking forward to our meetin and predicting a rout.

26-07-2013, 05:00 PM
That result was for me unexpected. Never thought such a good occasion could have turned into the big mess it has.i like Pat Fenlon. I'm very surprised he hasn't resigned after that though. Where is he tonight? Having a drink in last chance saloon me thinks. Good luck Pat.

26-07-2013, 05:02 PM
Mrs Beefster reckons that if Fenlon stays, she might finally get that decking done next season seeing as I'll probably be free most Saturdays.

Do the right thing, Paddy. I've managed to put this **** off for years, don't ruin it for me.

Just get the ruddy decking done - or pay someone to do it....she puts up with you, so its the least she deserves

26-07-2013, 05:08 PM

While I agree with what you say in principle the fact of the matter is JC had virtually no " Man Management " skills.
My two rellies who were at EM at the time still insist he never was prepared to sit down and chat one to one

Strength to this is highlighted by the fact he has never held down another job in management
A lovely guy to be with and a true gentleman - BUT !!!!!!!!!!!

26-07-2013, 05:18 PM
After watching the Raith Rovers friendly it was clear to me that this was going to be a long, hard season with Fenlon at the helm. Rovers were by far the better team and should have won the game. The Malmo result is just the upshot of what would happen when we played a half decent team. Fortunately there are still a couple of weeks before the start of the league campaign to get something sorted, hopefully the departure of Fenlon, otherwise we could be facing more results like last night.

Jambo's are already looking forward to our meetin and predicting a rout.

some posters on here mention how p@sh we are in friendlies but are quickly shot down and told that we just use friendlies to get match fit, it's odd how other teams(at least the last 4/5 seasons) appear to treat them a little bit more competitively than we do, mind you though we always appear to be in a "Transitional period" for our yearly new squad :greengrin

26-07-2013, 05:24 PM
Just back from my hols in Spain.
Had to email my mum last night and asked her to refund the new home top she was bringing me for my birthday next week. I cant wear anything 'Hibs' anymore.
I will be back w/e of UTD game but will give it a miss.
Until Fenlon is gone, "I'm out"

Hate to turn off from Hibs but too many humiliations under, whilst diddy clubs perform well. He has put me off Scottish football. Being Hibs fans mean experiencing our fair share of defeats (and a disgusting derby record, pinkoids over spending or not), but I cannot stomach the club anymore. Its rotten top to bottom. Fur coat & nae knickers.

Cheers Pat, for all the gutless humiliations. Please go.

26-07-2013, 05:24 PM
While I agree with what you say in principle the fact of the matter is JC had virtually no " Man Management " skills.
My two rellies who were at EM at the time still insist he never was prepared to sit down and chat one to one

Strength to this is highlighted by the fact he has never held down another job in management

I take it PF does have man management skills ? Collins league career as manager is significantly better. Average 10pts better per 38 game season. Small sample sizes and different circumstances but highlights how poor PF has been during his league career with us.

26-07-2013, 05:27 PM
I take it PF does have man management skills ? Collins league career as manager is significantly better. Average 10pts better per 38 game season. Small sample sizes and different circumstances but highlights how poor PF has been during his league career with us.

Only because Collins came off of the back of Mowbray and Fenlon came after Calderwood.

26-07-2013, 05:28 PM
John Collins came to Hibs as manager on the back of having experienced a very different, and wholly professional, culture in France under Tigana. He says it himself, the players trained and ate together and there wasn't a 'train for a couple of hours and play golf' culture. He also looked after himself, trained hard even after his career ended, and even now is supremely fit. He then came back into a Scottish culture of gambling, golf, drinking and players getting caught up in bother. Poles apart and tremendously difficult to change that mentality overnight - I think John wanted it to happen too quickly and his manner may have appeared aloof and arrogant - quite right too though, the man played at the highest level, home and abroad, domestically, European level and as an international.

The man has every right to be proud of his achievements and to encourage any young player (or old) to be professional and strive to succeed. He was/is a modern/forward thinking coach in a very very backward footballing country (Scotland) and it's easy to see why he gets frustrated - he's an excellent pundit and calls it how it is, pulling no punches.

He has every right to feel betrayed by the players - they hadn't earned the right to challenge him. I was lucky to witness his training sessions and they were high tempo and always fiery - the players trained with anger but they were told in no uncertain terms, no slacking will be tolerated. I recall one where Ivan and Boozy had to be separated such was the competitive nature of training. Some signings were indeed poor - but have you ever seen a fitter team, and have you ever seen a team score so many goals in the last portion of games

Must have also been a huge annoyance seeing Brown go for £4 million yet he was expected to replace him with a tiny fraction of that.

The man oozes class full stop - youth players who had occasion to train with him at Livi haven't a bad word to say about him. He speaks his mind, he is stubborn, principled and he doesn't suffer fools - all good managerial traits in football for me.

26-07-2013, 05:28 PM

I'm not disregarding your point, but from memory your two relatives were youth players?

I've not ever been professionally involved in football, but I've been working long enough to hear plenty of moans from junior staff that "the boss doesn't even know my name"

Easy answer to that is: make a name for yourself then!

26-07-2013, 05:31 PM
Having reflected on the utterly disgraceful performance, I've voted in the poll for Pat to stay - for now. I don't like the idea of sacking a manager before the domestic season has started, but he's on thin ice and the situation should be reviewed after half a dozen games to see where we stand. It's do or die time now for the wee man as far as I'm concerned. If we make a bad start, he'll have to go.

Danielyma6
26-07-2013, 05:34 PM
As far as I'm concerned he's got one more strike and he's out . We need to be signing defenders because the ones we've got are either injury prone or bairns.

26-07-2013, 05:52 PM

That was an accusation often directed towards Ned and it definitely was a weakness that prevented both Hibs and himself progressing [IMHO], however, that didn't stop him producing the best Hibs team that I've ever seen and a team that could produce a fantastically high level of quality and performance. Although some members of Turnbull's team didn't get on with him, others worshiped him and his tactical genius.

Obviously ET came to Hibs with a huge reputation already established with his outstanding work at Aberdeen, whether Collins has it in his make up to be a tactical genius, we are unlikely to find out, although his transfer dealing's didn't exactly pan out, but then, early days apart, neither did Ned's.

One thing is for sure is that the pampered superstar's really do and did need a massive kick up the backside, it is an absolute disgrace the way a lot of them conduct themselves and the level of fitness is often disgraceful, as kids playing in the street, we were fitter than a lot of the modern lot who have and do, mascaraed as professional Hibs players.

The one thing I'm certain of is that Rod Petrie should never have entertained the player revolt, Collin's may have been arrogant, [nowhere near as much as the great Brian Clough] as suggested, but he had reason and if more of our players, in recent years, had his level of commitment and desire, we wouldn't have been involved in so many embarrassing events that we have been, over the last few years.

1875hibee
26-07-2013, 06:27 PM
I think he is on his last chance we as fans deserve better than we have had but I also think we should be putting pressure on the board as its these idiots that keep giving us poor managers . It might b time to empty them as well have a fresh start from top to bottom

26-07-2013, 06:38 PM
Only because Collins came off of the back of Mowbray and Fenlon came after Calderwood.

I did mention different circumstances. Over 18 months in the job and I still don't know how PF sets up his team and what he has defined in us. We don't seem to just get beat we get absolutely mullered. What was JCs worst result as Hibs manager. I can give two right away for PF and find plenty more shockers under his tenure.

Skåne Hibs
26-07-2013, 06:38 PM
Malmo are a very good team, top of the Swedish league and in great form. No shame in getting beat from them at all. Reckon they'd give Celtic a very close challenge for the SPL.

Oh and massive congratulations to the Saints. Fantastic result.

I agree Malmö are a good team within the Allsvenskan and as you say in good form, but they are not a great European side that we should be losing 7-0 to. I thought we would always lose to them as they are a much better organised side than us, but not by that scoreline.

I was a big supporter of Pat's actions after the 5-1 game, getting rid of players that cared more about what went up their nose than how they played in a Hibs shirt, but for me, his time has come.

I think he is tactically unaware in the extreme and seems unable to instill a fighting spirit in the side. That may well be because he's too nice a guy. I'm repeating what a lot have said already, very nice guy, but out of his depth. I'd like someone new to use some of the players we've recently signed, add to them and build a new squad with that's able to show some bottle on the pitch.

I agree about Saint Johnstone, well done to them, great effort.

26-07-2013, 06:40 PM
John Collins came to Hibs as manager on the back of having experienced a very different, and wholly professional, culture in France under Tigana. He says it himself, the players trained and ate together and there wasn't a 'train for a couple of hours and play golf' culture. He also looked after himself, trained hard even after his career ended, and even now is supremely fit. He then came back into a Scottish culture of gambling, golf, drinking and players getting caught up in bother. Poles apart and tremendously difficult to change that mentality overnight - I think John wanted it to happen too quickly and his manner may have appeared aloof and arrogant - quite right too though, the man played at the highest level, home and abroad, domestically, European level and as an international.

The man has every right to be proud of his achievements and to encourage any young player (or old) to be professional and strive to succeed. He was/is a modern/forward thinking coach in a very very backward footballing country (Scotland) and it's easy to see why he gets frustrated - he's an excellent pundit and calls it how it is, pulling no punches.

He has every right to feel betrayed by the players - they hadn't earned the right to challenge him. I was lucky to witness his training sessions and they were high tempo and always fiery - the players trained with anger but they were told in no uncertain terms, no slacking will be tolerated. I recall one where Ivan and Boozy had to be separated such was the competitive nature of training. Some signings were indeed poor - but have you ever seen a fitter team, and have you ever seen a team score so many goals in the last portion of games

Must have also been a huge annoyance seeing Brown go for £4 million yet he was expected to replace him with a tiny fraction of that.

The man oozes class full stop - youth players who had occasion to train with him at Livi haven't a bad word to say about him. He speaks his mind, he is stubborn, principled and he doesn't suffer fools - all good managerial traits in football for me.

Agree with this 100%.

In addition, the only Hibs manager in decades to win a trophy.... In style. The only Hibs manager in decades to reach a final and NOT preside over a team who BOTTLE it, embarrassing thousands of fans in the process.

26-07-2013, 06:44 PM

As much chance of that as Petrie apologising to the 16000 paying souls who attended last night or offering us our money back - never gonna happen.

26-07-2013, 06:54 PM

Collins had to replace players worth millions with not a lot of money, Fenlon had to replace dross and for me that is easier. PF has had this CC squad thing as an excuse for to long let me remind you even though CC was p1ss poor and so were some of his players they were still not bottom of league when he left.

I have never disliked a manager more than CC but no way will I let that be an excuse for what PF has done since he took over, the writing was on the wall when he managed 5 SPL wins after taking over, as bad as CC team was a better manager could have kept us up and got us higher.

Mixu, Yogi, CC and JC have all had their own failings but none stick out like 5-1 and 7-0. I can count 2 or 3 memorable scorelines for PF both involving Hearts but I am counting way more troublesome results.

26-07-2013, 07:01 PM
Lost patience with PF at Celtc, last game before split, we had to win, but never mustered a shot on goal.......

For me he just has not got what it takes to turn things around, no plan B, poor tactics, and generally too nice/soft......Sorry Pat you are out of your depth at Hibernian.....

26-07-2013, 07:01 PM
But I thought we were clearly making progress under Fenlon ? And "In Paddy we Trust" ? This is what we were being told by a number of posters on this board after we had beaten them at Tynecastle and managed to finish in 7th place in the league. At the time I got some stick for questioning if we were just to forget results and performances for a good numbers of games from January onwards because we had managed to win our last few games of the season.

Last night was possibly the worst performance I have seen from a Hibs side in the forty plus years since I first attended a game, but it was one game. I'm not for a minute defending Fenlon but one-off results do happen e.g. Man U v Arsenal or Man U v City, but it seems like support for him has disappeared on the back of last night. How can one game change that when we were being told less than 2 months ago that progress was being made ?

26-07-2013, 07:03 PM

I do.

But only if Petrie sticks by the dud manager we have, do you really think the fans will buy another AGM where we sack the manager the night before and then have to listen to STF and RP saying how great the club is and we will do everything to get the right manager in, the fans won't accept this again, that's why RP has to act now and get rid of Fenlon before the season starts.

26-07-2013, 07:04 PM

As LOB found out.

26-07-2013, 07:08 PM

Didn't Petrie do the same to justify keeping Calderwood in a job when it was clear to the fans that his time was up at the club.

davieh
26-07-2013, 07:10 PM
I do.

But only if Petrie sticks by the dud manager we have, do you really think the fans will buy another AGM where we sack the manager the night before and then have to listen to STF and RP saying how great the club is and we will do everything to get the right manager in, the fans won't accept this again, that's why P has to act now and get rid of Fenlon before the season starts.
absolutely. amazed that the poll shows more than a quarter wanting pf to stay.

one more reason for him to go...his use of young players. he signed matt done last january, instead of giving harris the chance he was clearly ready for. didn't pick forster til the end of the season. now, it looks like hes going to burn them out..!

coldingham hibs
26-07-2013, 07:14 PM
Malmo could easily hit double figures last night if they had not taken their foot off the gas.

There is no way any manager should survive a performance that the opposition could, and should have hit double figures, how anyone can justify him retaining his position is either a Yam or on the whacky backy.

Managed Hibs for their worst 2 results ever.

26-07-2013, 07:15 PM
Lost patience with PF at Celtc, last game before split, we had to win, but never mustered a shot on goal.......

For me he just has not got what it takes to turn things around, no plan B, poor tactics, and generally too nice/soft......Sorry Pat you are out of your depth at Hibernian.....

That game went a long way to finishing Fenlon for me as well.

I got called a 'bedwetter' and all the usual pish for slaughtering the team and manager after that game but I think you had to be there to appreciate how bad that performance was.

Showed up a manager who had absolutely no idea what his plan A was never mind anything else.

telfordhibby
26-07-2013, 07:15 PM
BIN HIM..totally clueless tactillay.......

26-07-2013, 07:17 PM
Fenlon must stay, if only to save us all from the "whoever must go" thread starting around January.

It's turning into a vicious circle and I think we need to stop it. I know we all want success but it gets boring. I don't recall any Hibs supporters writing into the Evening News demanding that Turnbull, Ormond or Stanton be sacked because the team were not performing as they should. I know times are different and anti-social media has been embraced by all but I get ****ing bored with it. Some people should just go down the pub and moan to a smaller, and possibly, more interested audience.

I am bored of Fenlons football, i almost fell asleep watching some of the pish that was served up last season, i resorted to playing games on my phone it was that bad, teams like Killie St Johnstone Ross County and Inverness coming to our ground and literally take the piss out of the team that negative Fenlon was playing, i don't want to see that again.

Fenlon out now.

26-07-2013, 07:22 PM
Does anyone have the slightest bit of confidence that if he does leave we will get his replacement right ?

26-07-2013, 07:22 PM
This football manager malarkay is like snakes and ladders.
Pat just landed on a huge snake.

26-07-2013, 07:24 PM
Does anyone have the slightest bit of confidence that if he does leave we will get his replacement right ?

Nope, none whatsoever.

davieh
26-07-2013, 07:28 PM
I do.

But only if Petrie sticks by the dud manager we have, do you really think the fans will buy another AGM where we sack the manager the night before and then have to listen to STF and RP saying how great the club is and we will do everything to get the right manager in, the fans won't accept this again, that's why P has to act now and get rid of Fenlon before the season starts.
absolutely. amazed that the poll shows more than a quarter wanting pf to stay.

one more reason for him to go...his use of young players. he signed matt done last january, instead of giving harris the chance he was clearly ready for. didn't pick forster til the end of the season. now, it looks like hes going to burn them out..!

26-07-2013, 07:31 PM
Does anyone have the slightest bit of confidence that if he does leave we will get his replacement right ?What would be " right " ? Qualifying for Europe like with Yogi and Fenlon ? Starting to win derbies like with Mixu and Fenlon ? Getting to cup finals like with Fenlon ? Winning 5 SPL games in a row like with CC ?

steviej147
26-07-2013, 07:31 PM
There is absolutely no way that Fenlon will stay.

Petrie knows he has to go. I'll be disappointed if its not announced tomorrow.
fenlon asked petrie if he wanted him to leave and petrie said no,go home to dublin for a few days and think what you want to do.fact

26-07-2013, 07:35 PM
fenlon asked petrie if he wanted him to leave and petrie said no,go home to dublin for a few days and think what you want to do.fact

In the same bog:dunno:

26-07-2013, 07:36 PM
I voted stay only on practical grounds. We'll never find a decent replacement before the season starts so I think it would do more harm than good to sack him now. We should start exploring our options and when we find a better one then we should take it.

26-07-2013, 07:37 PM

Fact eh?

Bob Box Fish
I would get rid of him.

Previously people asked me down here who do you support? Hibs, ahh that team that lost 5-1 in the cup final. Now getting pelters about losing 7-0 against an average European team. All Fenlon has brought to this club is embarrassment.

European games are a chance to get a break from the dire of repetitive Scottish football and to lose in such a manor will put a lot of people off going back this season which is a shame given it was the largest Hibs support in the ground since the stadium was rebuilt?

He's brought in so many players but lacks any tactical strategy or flair. Last season it was if you stop Griffiths you stop Hibs.... This year there is no one to stop!

Nope, which is exactly the reason why, if Fenlon is sacked in the coming months having spent less than 2 years in charge, the board should step aside.

26-07-2013, 07:42 PM
I would get rid of him.

Previously people asked me down here who do you support? Hibs, ahh that team that lost 5-1 in the cup final. Now getting pelters about losing 7-0 against an average European team. All Fenlon has brought to this club is embarrassment.

European games are a chance to get a break from the dire of repetitive Scottish football and to lose in such a manor will put a lot of people off going back this season which is a shame given it was the largest Hibs support in the ground since the stadium was rebuilt?

He's brought in so many players but lacks any tactical strategy or flair. Last season it was if you stop Griffiths you stop Hibs.... This year there is no one to stop! Before the 5v1 did you get lots of folk in York telling you how great Hibs were ?

Chump
26-07-2013, 07:42 PM
Absolutely bemused why some fans still defend this guy. The backing he has received at Hibs IMO has been unconditional at times for no real reason and my brain just can't get round that!!

I see people asking what he needs to deliver next season to be safe......can't believe that is a question on some peoples lips!!

Please feel free to give a robust case for this guy for what he has delivered to date ( especially from those fans at ER who sing his name).....I spend hours discussing and debating with my Hibs mates about this and none of us can come up with anything that will sway my mind!!

IMO he is rank rotten as a manager, his naivety is second to none and the longer we stick by him the longer we will remain watching garbage football.

26-07-2013, 07:44 PM
Nope, which is exactly the reason why, if Fenlon is sacked in the coming months having spent less than 2 years in charge, the board should step aside.

But it's not really the board though is it, given that the two members who were supposedly responsible for recruiting Fenlon are no longer there ? Petrie is the one constant in our poor managerial appointments and I don't see him leaving while STF owns the club.

26-07-2013, 07:46 PM
Absolutely bemused why some fans still defend this guy. The backing he has received at Hibs IMO has been unconditional at times for no real reason and my brain just can't get round that!!

I see people asking what he needs to deliver next season to be safe......can't believe that is a question on some peoples lips!!

Please feel free to give a robust case for this guy for what he has delivered to date ( especially from those fans at ER who sing his name).....I spend hours discussing and debating with my Hibs mates about this and none of us can come up with anything that will sway my mind!!

IMO he is rank rotten as a manager, his naivety is second to none and the longer we stick by him the longer we will remain watching garbage football.

He got us to two consecutive cup finals, into Europe, unbeaten against Hearts last season.

He's definately got a lot to prove, especially after last night, but there are positives about his tenure to date.

26-07-2013, 07:49 PM
What would be " right " ? Qualifying for Europe like with Yogi and Fenlon ? Starting to win derbies like with Mixu and Fenlon ? Getting to cup finals like with Fenlon ? Winning 5 SPL games in a row like with CC ?

Not getting absolutely smashed in important games, playing entertaining football, and top 4 would be good.

Bob Box Fish
26-07-2013, 07:50 PM
Before the 5v1 did you get lots of folk in York telling you how great Hibs were ?

That's not the point, the point is we are known by people who have little interest in Scottish football only by the fact that we were humiliated by our rivals in one of the biggest games in our history.

Now we are the laughing stock for losing seven nil at home against an average team in the early rounds of Europe.

26-07-2013, 07:52 PM

Given that story was made up on here earlier today and the poster said he was "thinking out loud", it isn't even close to being fact. Just because it's been regurgitated through Facebook, Twitter and SMS doesn't make it any truer.

Fact.

26-07-2013, 07:56 PM
Some people have noticed that previous changes don`t seem to have helped plus have cost money in compensation , new players etc . Also no guarantee that next manager would be better in terms of results or be a good public image for club . And constant changing of managers becomes known among managers all over Europe . Last night`s result was a disgrace and Fenlon deserves flak and I`m sure he appreciates that but that doesn`t mean a change would be the best for the club in short or long term . My main criticism of him is that we don`t seem to attract as good players as with previous managers - partly down to financial restrictions at club and in Scottish clubs in general but he doesn`t seem to have contacts other managers have in England and despite jokes about signing Irish players has only signed Doyle and recently 2 teenagers from Irish clubs .

26-07-2013, 07:57 PM

Do you really think that making things up helps?

26-07-2013, 07:57 PM
If he was going, he would have gone today.

26-07-2013, 07:59 PM
The run at the start of last season was even better than calderwoods over that winter. No wonder rods backing him.

hibbydog
26-07-2013, 08:03 PM

When the last 5 managers have left the place in a worse state than when they took over, you have to ask questions of him what appoints them.

Petrie is at the core of the problem. Our gradual slide towards last night began when he sided with the players in 2007 when they whined about having to train hard.

Each manager is worst than the last and we keep hitting record new lows. The only low we haven't 'achieved' yet is relegation

26-07-2013, 08:05 PM

I love that everyone quotes the Kevin Mcann tactical switch. Yes it was a shocker, but I could at least understand his logic. The same folk never mention The Murph at DM against Celtic. He was excellent that day and had Brown in his pocket.

Collins struggled to replace the best team we've had in years on a shoestring, and recruitment is definitely something he would need a hand with. However we certainly gained points simply through being the fittest team in the league. He's also the last, and best, manager I have seen from a tactical point of view, particularly in game tactics. E.g. 3 at the back against Aberdeen with Thomson sweeper.

Those that want to learn and progress will do so under Collins. Those looking for an easy ride would be weeded out.

26-07-2013, 08:05 PM
That's not the point, the point is we are known by people who have little interest in Scottish football only by the fact that we were humiliated by our rivals in one of the biggest games in our history.

Now we are the laughing stock for losing seven nil at home against an average team in the early rounds of Europe.So nobody in York mentioned Hibs for getting 4 points from first 2 games with Celtic , being unbeaten in 5 Derbies or reaching successive SC finals for first time in 80 odd years but they were desperate to talk about yesterday`s match ? I`ve worked in various parts of England and generally folk know next to nothing about Scottish football so surprised people in York are so interested in our negative results now . Terrible result last night but criticism of manager while justified carries less weight when it comes from people who were criticising him even before he started at ER .

26-07-2013, 08:08 PM
Massive thrashings are always spotted by fans everywhere. Andy Murray's tweet was retweeted 4500 times and he has 2 million followers. A lot of people are now aware that we are pish.

26-07-2013, 08:08 PM
So nobody in York mentioned Hibs for getting 4 points from first 2 games with Celtic , being unbeaten in 5 Derbies or reaching successive SC finals for first time in 80 odd years but they were desperate to talk about yesterday`s match ? I`ve worked in various parts of England and generally folk know next to nothing about Scottish football so surprised people in York are so interested in our negative results now . Terrible result last night but criticism of manager while justified carries less weight when it comes from people who were criticising him even before he started at ER .

Dear Pat,

Stay in Dublin. Cheers.

26-07-2013, 08:11 PM
I just don't see any hope for the season ahead. Poor defence and midfield with no creativity whatsoever. Pat gone by the AGM in what is petries favourite move.

Chump
26-07-2013, 08:12 PM
He got us to two consecutive cup finals, into Europe, unbeaten against Hearts last season.

He's definately got a lot to prove, especially after last night, but there are positives about his tenure to date.

two cup finals....hardly difficult in this day and age and one ended up being Hibs worst result in History

Europe....by default by losing in a cup final

unbeaten against a club in administration playing kids.....again not difficult

26-07-2013, 08:18 PM
two cup finals....hardly difficult in this day and age and one ended up being Hibs worst result in History

We got to our second Scottish Cup final in a row for the first time in almost 90 years last season and we're currently on our best run in the derby for well over a decade so I wouldn't say either of those are to be sniffed at.

OsloHibs
26-07-2013, 08:23 PM
Even though I've had 'Groundhog day' today, I voted No to sacking Fenlon.

26-07-2013, 08:24 PM

Didn't realise Hearts were in administration last season.

26-07-2013, 08:24 PM
So nobody in York mentioned Hibs for getting 4 points from first 2 games with Celtic , being unbeaten in 5 Derbies or reaching successive SC finals for first time in 80 odd years but they were desperate to talk about yesterday`s match ? I`ve worked in various parts of England and generally folk know next to nothing about Scottish football so surprised people in York are so interested in our negative results now . Terrible result last night but criticism of manager while justified carries less weight when it comes from people who were criticising him even before he started at ER .

It's naive to think that folk all over Europe don't scan the European trophy results for the shockers. I noticed some team got pumped 8-0 by Maccabi so you can guarantee that a lot of folk noticed the Hibs result last night.

We got to our second Scottish Cup final in a row for the first time in almost 90 years last season and we're currently on our best run in the derby for well over a decade so I wouldn't say either of those are to be sniffed at.

Getting to cup finals is great, if you do something once you're there.

26-07-2013, 08:32 PM
It's naive to think that folk all over Europe don't scan the European trophy results for the shockers. I noticed some team got pumped 8-0 by Maccabi so you can guarantee that a lot of folk noticed the Hibs result last night.

Getting to cup finals is great, if you do something once you're there.Agree totally . Last night`s was a terrible and embarrassing defeat but I was commenting that I was surprised that someone ( who has criticised Fenlon here since he became our manager ) in England has had to hear so many negative comments about Hibs but no positive ones . I remember when we were hammered 4v1 by an unknown Swedish team ( Oesters ) when Turnbull was still manager and thinking it was embarrasssing and that was before results were all over the web .

26-07-2013, 08:32 PM
Getting to cup finals is great, if you do something once you're there.

I realise that but I was just making the point that it's hardly something that should be dismissed after the last poster said that getting to two cup finals was "hardly difficult in this day and age".

We were also the first side, outside of Celtic or Sevco, to reach two successive Scottish Cup finals in 25 years.

davieh
26-07-2013, 08:33 PM
fenlon has not been a complete disaster- respect to him for steadying the ship when we were in freefall under cc...but time to move on.

26-07-2013, 08:38 PM
fenlon has not been a complete disaster- respect to him for steadying the ship when we were in freefall under cc...but time to move on.

Steadied the ship that much CC had a better points per game in 2011-2012 than PF. 14pts from 15 games at 0.93 points per game for CC. 19pts from 23 games at 0.83 points per game for PF.

I now feel dirty for having defended Calderclown.

Bob Box Fish

People generally pick up on the big headlines. All good achievements you mention but not comparable to losing 5-1 / 0-7 I'm afraid.

I

Monopolyguy
We didn't even lose 7 against barca in a meaningless friendly a few seasons back. To lose 7 at home in game like this is never acceptable. Fenlon has to go, but i think the problems are more deep rooted than just a bad manager, we have been ***** ever since John Colin's was back stabbed by his players and there's been a ***** attitude hanging around ER ever since.

26-07-2013, 08:39 PM

Maybe it's just me who thinks like this but getting to a cup final means absolutely **** all if you don't actually win the thing. Not only did we fail to do that but we barely showed up in either game and were treated to baffling tactical decisions in both.

Lets look at the defence of Fenlon:

2 cup finals - aye very good, how many trophies in the cabinet?

European qualification - thanks to losing 2nd ofsaid cup finals. How did Europe work out by the way?

Unbeaten against Hearts in 5 - Great, genuinely delighted with that.

'Steady progress' - League position definitely improved but a real push last season was there for the taking. Top 6 shouldn't even be mentioned in a Hibs managers targets because it should be a given. To miss top 6 most years is inexcusable, to miss it with no Rangers and a piss poor Hearts is bordering on unforgivable.

2 years down the line I still can't see how Fenlon wants us to play. Static player passes to static player who passes to static player who hoofs a diagonal ball out the park is not a football philosophy. We are absolutely atrocious to watch and I can't see where the improvemnt comes from.

Fenlons tactical nous can be summed up in the 2 Celtic games at the end of last season imo. The first we had to win to have any chance of making top 6 and he went ultra cautious, it was mind numbingly bad and horrendous to watch, we finally mustered a half chance after about 85 minutes when we were well beat and half the support had dozed off. Then we have the cup final, a game when making sure we stayed in it for the first hour should have been priority and he went 2 up top and watched us get torn apart up the channels before eventually changing it when the game was dead and buried.

I keep saying it but real progress doesn't have to take half as long as the Fenlon defenders want everyone to believe.

26-07-2013, 08:42 PM
Maybe it's just me who thinks like this but getting to a cup final means absolutely **** all if you don't actually win the thing. Not only did we fail to do that but we barely showed up in either game and were treated to baffling tactical decisions in both.

2 cup finals - aye very good, how many trophies in the xabinet?

European qualification - thanks to losing 2nd ofsaid cup finals. How did Europe work out by the way?

'Steady progress' - League position definitely improced hut a real oush last season was there for the taking. Top 6 shouldn't even be mentioned in a Hibs managers targets because it should be a given. To miss top 6 most years in inexcusable, to miss it with no Rangers and a piss poor Hearts is bordering on unforgivable.

2 years down the line I still can't see how Fenlon wants us to play. Static player passes to static player who passes to static player who hoofs a diagonal ball out the park is not a football philosophy. We are absolutely atrocious to watch and I can't see where the improvemntbxomes from.

Fenlons tactical nous can be summed up in the 2 Celtic games at the ned of last season imo. The first we had to win to have any chance of making top 6 and he went ultra cautious, it was mind numbingly bad and horrendous to watch, we finally mustered a half chance after about 85 minutes when we were well beat and half the support had dozed off. Then we have the cup final, a game when making sure we stayed in it for the first hour should have been priority and he went 2 up top and watched us get torn apart up the channels before eventually changing it when the game was dead and buried.

I keep saying it but real progress doesn't have to take half as long as the Fenlon defenders want everyone to believe.

26-07-2013, 08:42 PM

2 cup finals - aye very good, how many trophies in the xabinet?

'Steady progress' - League position definitely improced hut a real oush last season was there for the taking. Top 6 shouldn't even be mentioned in a Hibs managers targets because it should be a given. To miss top 6 most years in inexcusable, to miss it with no Rangers and a piss poor Hearts is bordering on unforgivable.

2 years down the line I still can't see how Fenlon wants us to play. Static player passes to static player who passes to static player who hoofs a diagonal ball out the park is not a football philosophy. We are absolutely atrocious to watch and I can't see where the improvemntbxomes from.

Fenlons tactical nous can be summed up in the 2 Celtic games at the ned of last season imo. The first we had to win to have any chance of making top 6 and he went ultra cautious, it was mind numbingly bad and horrendous to watch, we finally mustered a half chance after about 85 minutes when we were well beat and half the support had dozed off. Then we have the cup final, a game when making sure we stayed in it for the first hour should have been priority and he went 2 up top and watched us get torn apart up the channels before eventually changing it when the game was dead and buried.

Spot on, agree with every word.

26-07-2013, 08:45 PM
2 cup finals pish.... 2 games over with early on. (one the worse loss (until yesterday) in our clubs history) How folks big this up is beyond me.
RP: Pat Fenlon is a winner (on his arrival)

A pathetic clueless manager whose "football" teams are totally painful and murder more like. A complete farce. one humiliation too many under this clown.
I thought we had a proud history? Standards? WTF have we become? ...cup final humpings and a few draws/flukey wins against hearts is acceptable?

We are a joke of a club.

Bob Box Fish
26-07-2013, 08:46 PM

'Steady progress' - League position definitely improved but a real push last season was there for the taking. Top 6 shouldn't even be mentioned in a Hibs managers targets because it should be a given. To miss top 6 most years is inexcusable, to miss it with no Rangers and a piss poor Hearts is bordering on unforgivable.

2 years down the line I still can't see how Fenlon wants us to play. Static player passes to static player who passes to static player who hoofs a diagonal ball out the park is not a football philosophy. We are absolutely atrocious to watch and I can't see where the improvemnt comes from.

Fenlons tactical nous can be summed up in the 2 Celtic games at the end of last season imo. The first we had to win to have any chance of making top 6 and he went ultra cautious, it was mind numbingly bad and horrendous to watch, we finally mustered a half chance after about 85 minutes when we were well beat and half the support had dozed off. Then we have the cup final, a game when making sure we stayed in it for the first hour should have been priority and he went 2 up top and watched us get torn apart up the channels before eventually changing it when the game was dead and buried.

26-07-2013, 08:46 PM
2 cup finals pish.... 2 games over with early on. (one the worse loss (until yesterday) in our clubs history) How folks big this up is beyond me.

A pathetic clueless manager whose "football" teams are totally painful and murder more like. A complete farce. one humiliation too many under this clown.
I thought we had a proud history? Standards? WTF have we become? ...cup final humpings and a few draws/flukey wins against hearts is acceptable?

We are a joke of a club.

26-07-2013, 09:05 PM

Excellent post agree with bold part especially.

26-07-2013, 09:09 PM

For the avoidance of doubt, I'm not saying that he should be given an award because he got us to two cup finals. I only said what I did in response to the person who said that it was "hardly difficult in this day and age", when it clearly is quite difficult to do, considering that only Celtic, Hibs and Sevco have managed to get to two successive cup finals in a quarter of a century.

It was disappointing that we didn't at least get a top six place last season, considering where we were in November last year. I agree with you that finishing in the top six ought to be a given for a club like Hibs and it should not be treated as some sort of success.

I'm willing to give him until the end of 2013. If we're struggling near the bottom of the league by the time we get to November/December then I would say that his time is up. Until then, I'm continuing to support him and I also realise that there's still five weeks left in the transfer window.

Let's see what sort of squad we have at the end of next month. If it's still as poor as it is just now then I might start worrying.

26-07-2013, 09:16 PM
My Dad is pals with someone that works in and around Hibs, cant name names but he told my Dad that when he arrived at EM today he expected Fenlon to have been sacked, but no. He told my Dad that Pat had the players out training and it looked as if they hadn't even played a game, never mind got beat yesterday as all the players looked like nothing had happened. They didnt seem to show any signs of being bothered about yesterdays result.

IMO, this is totally wrong! I may get pelters from a few folk but I am just letting you all know what my Dad was told and passing it on.

K-Zazu
26-07-2013, 09:23 PM

Spot on. Thanks for the win at tynie Pat but last night was a complete disaster. Our defence is absolutely honkin .

26-07-2013, 09:24 PM
My Dad is pals with someone that works in and around Hibs, cant name names but he told my Dad that when he arrived at EM today he expected Fenlon to have been sacked, but no. He told my Dad that Pat had the players out training and it looked as if they hadn't even played a game yesterday as they were all laughing and joking around.

IMO, this is totally wrong! I may get pelters from a few folk but I am just letting you all know what my Dad was told and passing it on.

No offence but I don't believe that.

26-07-2013, 09:28 PM
Just in from work and 24 hours after last night's complete humiliation I am absolutely stunned and astonished that Pat Fenlon and his coaching team remain in charge of our club's first team.

What does it say about those at the helm of our once famous and proud club that they somehow find that kind of result acceptable enough to take no action against those in charge of team affairs.

40 years of watching my team and I have never, ever witnessed anything like that. I mean we got beat 7-0 at home. SEVEN FFS.

Leishy1995
26-07-2013, 09:30 PM
Spoke to a family member of Callum booth today

Apparently he is aware he showed glimpses of talent but made mistakes and fell out of favour, but is really annoyed at pat Fenlon, who had refused to give him a single chance.

Think we can all agree he displayed bags of ability and all, glad he's annoyed he isn't being played too. Should get some chance.

26-07-2013, 09:30 PM
No offence but I don't believe that.

No worries, up to yourself mate. I've edited it.

bookert
26-07-2013, 09:38 PM
Just in from work and 24 hours after last night's complete humiliation I am absolutely stunned and astonished that Pat Fenlon and his coaching team remain in charge of our club's first team.

What does it say about those at the helm of our once famous and proud club that they somehow find that kind of result acceptable enough to take no action against those in charge of team affairs.

40 years of watching my team and I have never, ever witnessed anything like that. I mean we got beat 7-0 at home. SEVEN FFS.

Agree absolutely, mind boggling, been watching Hibs for 50 years and they have been in charge for the two worst results in our history.

26-07-2013, 09:41 PM

Fenlon OUT, Pretty Boy IN

The bit in bold is 100% correct. The football on display last night was dreadful. The lack of pace across the whole team is obvious to all.

I guarantee that any football manager with any football knowledge will say, "set up the team with a solid defence and midfield and Hibs will struggle to break us down, then when we get possesion hit them with pace and we will make chances". That was so obvious to see last season, and it will be worse this season without the LG sniffing goals out of nothing. Think about how many of last night's goals came from us losing possesion in the Malmo half and then they cut through our wafer-thin defence with ease.

26-07-2013, 09:46 PM

My thoughts exactly :top marks

Emerald
26-07-2013, 09:55 PM
The damage these 2 cup finals and Euro ties have done to Hibs will take decades (if ever) to get over. Pat Fenlon was the manager for these games and is responsible for these results. If we had won he would have been held up as the greatest thing ever but what we got was total and utter failure on a massive scale. We’re not talking here about a narrow defeat in a cup final by your arch rivals but an utter tonking. He was totally out thought on the day with tactics, formations, guile, every ****ing thing and even though we had a weaker team to start with.

He survived that, which to me is quite unbelievable considering what previous managers had gone for. So we then have another year of some of the worst team performances I have ever seen in all my years supporting Hibs but somehow manage to get past Hearts and the FFS the semi against Falikrk to another cup final.

Unfortunately we qualified to play in Europe where we have now attained the record of the worst ever team to compete for Scotland. This is the club that pioneered European football for Britain. That is what Mr Pat Fenlon and his part time football have brought to Hibs. Do we want more of this, how is this progress????

26-07-2013, 09:57 PM
We were told by Rod that Fenlon was a winner when he was appointed....don't hold your breath on that one, i had a look on Wiki and Fenlons record is a bit patchy. He walked from Derry City after five months when results did not go his way so he has a bit of history when things don't go well , here's hoping !.

26-07-2013, 09:59 PM
Spoke to a family member of Callum booth today

Apparently he is aware he showed glimpses of talent but made mistakes and fell out of favour, but is really annoyed at pat Fenlon, who had refused to give him a single chance.

Think we can all agree he displayed bags of ability and all, glad he's annoyed he isn't being played too. Should get some chance.

Nah. Poor at Livi and Raith.

They are all coming out now eh?

26-07-2013, 10:00 PM
The damage these 2 cup finals and Euro ties have done to Hibs will take decades (if ever) to get over. Pat Fenlon was the manager for these games and is responsible for these results. If we had won he would have been held up as the greatest thing ever but what we got was total and utter failure on a massive scale. We’re not talking here about a narrow defeat in a cup final by your arch rivals but an utter tonking. He was totally out thought on the day with tactics, formations, guile, every ****ing thing and even though we had a weaker team to start with.

He survived that, which to me is quite unbelievable considering what previous managers had gone for. So we then have another year of some of the worst team performances I have ever seen in all my years supporting Hibs but somehow manage to get past Hearts and the FFS the semi against Falikrk to another cup final.

Unfortunately we qualified to play in Europe where we have now attained the record of the worst ever team to compete for Scotland. This is the club that pioneered European football for Britain. That is what Mr Pat Fenlon and his part time football have brought to Hibs. Do we want more of this, how is this progress????

Yeah. Imagine getting to two cup finals eh?

Mental.

26-07-2013, 10:03 PM

I'm more surprised at the amount of folk on here still backing Fenlon and wanting to stick with him :confused:.

Rambo1875
26-07-2013, 10:04 PM
I barely ever post on here but have a bit of info which I believe people will be interested in.

Pat handed his resignation in last night and RP has told him to go home and think about it over the weekend and come back in to discuss to it on Monday.

Explains why no announcement has been made regarding James Collins signing, even though the player has confirmed..

26-07-2013, 10:08 PM
I barely ever post on here but have a bit of info which I believe people will be interested in.

Pat handed his resignation in last night and RP has told him to go home and think about it over the weekend and come back in to discuss to it on Monday.

Explains why no announcement has been made regarding James Collins signing, even though the player has confirmed..

Yes, we know. Someone else has made that one up too.

26-07-2013, 10:10 PM
Pat Fenlon's words, not mine. Thing is, I'm sure I've heard him say it before :grr:. If he can see it and say it, why can't all the uber fans who are still backing him?

Rambo1875
26-07-2013, 10:10 PM
Yes, we know. Someone else has made that one up too.

Can understand why people don't believe it, but I guess these people will be eating their words if Fenlon comes back on Monday and still wants to leave. I'm just telling you what I know. Another reason why I don't comment on here is replies like that, no wonder forums get such a bad name at times.

OrdHibby
26-07-2013, 10:12 PM

Mental.

Is there any point in reaching cup finals if you don't turn up and compete. QOTS put up a better fight a few years ago than we did. Second division Gretna took the kiddie fiddlers to penalties. So aye keep Fenlon and see crowds drop even further with non-football. Sometimes you have to admit your wrong about someone. You have great difficulty with this.

26-07-2013, 10:13 PM
Can understand why people don't believe it, but I guess these people will be eating their words if Fenlon comes back on Monday and still wants to leave. I'm just telling you what I know. Another reason why I don't comment on here is replies like that, no wonder forums get such a bad name at times.

Och, ye wee lamb.

Fenlon took training today, where does that fit with your story? You could of course have checked that first though eh :wink:

Bearders
My Dad is pals with someone that works in and around Hibs, cant name names but he told my Dad that when he arrived at EM today he expected Fenlon to have been sacked, but no. He told my Dad that Pat had the players out training and it looked as if they hadn't even played a game, never mind got beat yesterday as all the players looked like nothing had happened. They didnt seem to show any signs of being bothered about yesterdays result.

If it was factual then I agree it is totally unacceptable but what your Dad was told is total bollox. Yes they were training but to suggest they showed no signs of being bothered is utter nonsense.

Leishy1995
Nah. Poor at Livi and Raith.

They are all coming out now eh?

Think his confidence has been knocked. Probably can't motivate himself.

26-07-2013, 10:16 PM
Interesting question..... But we've all been discussing that very issue during the last 24 hours. seems a bit strange for you to start another (**** in disguisethread now??)

Rambo1875
26-07-2013, 10:16 PM
Och, ye wee lamb.

Fenlon took training today, where does that fit with your story? You could of course have checked that first though eh :wink:

Chill out wee guy.

im just passing on something I was told. I fully believe the source I got this from so we will see

26-07-2013, 10:18 PM

Mental.

I'd rather it was only one final. Its not nice being pumped sideways, but thats what i think i will remember Fenlon for when he's gone. :boo hoo:

26-07-2013, 10:19 PM
Pat Fenlon's words, not mine. Thing is, I'm sure I've heard him say it before :grr:. If he can see it and say it, why can't all the uber fans who are still backing him?
Why cant all the uber fans not just shut the **** up eh? Probably too embarrassed.

26-07-2013, 10:21 PM
Interesting question..... But we've all been discussing that very issue during the last 24 hours. seems a bit strange for you to start another (**** in disguisethread now??)

Because I wasn't on here last night and I'm still pretty disgusted with it all.

26-07-2013, 10:22 PM
Folk i only really nod to in the club i drink in have been coming up to me and asking if i want a 7 up, or asking me how many dwarfs were in snow white.

My mates have been ripping the piss out me all night, i said it yesterday this is the worst result in my lifetime of supporting Hibs.

GTF Fenlon, you have made my club a laughing stock.

Makaveli
26-07-2013, 10:22 PM
Now evens to go, in from 4/1.

No smoke without fire hopefully.

26-07-2013, 10:23 PM

:pray:

26-07-2013, 10:25 PM

If thats the case I hope Rod put all his and Hibs dosh on it at 4's before doing the deed on Monday. :greengrin

26-07-2013, 10:26 PM
If it was factual then I agree it is totally unacceptable but what your Dad was told is total bollox. Yes they were training but to suggest they showed no signs of being bothered is utter nonsense.

Your opinion, i respect that. But the guy who told my old man doesnt lie about this kind of stuff. At the end of the day you dont believe it, its up to you.

Emerald
26-07-2013, 10:38 PM

Mental.

I admire your faith, I really do. But I honesly think you have dug your heals in so far you wont admit you are wrong, and Andy 74 is NEVER wrong, right :greengrin

26-07-2013, 10:39 PM
Chill out wee guy.

im just passing on something I was told. I fully believe the source I got this from so we will see

Oops! :greengrin

connerg
26-07-2013, 10:44 PM

We are a joke of a club.

Agree. Fenlon's football is dire and just boring. A defensive team that can't defend.

Dunderhall
26-07-2013, 10:44 PM
So we are waiting until what exactly, until a manageress club announce a big (for Scottish football) signing or until a new manager announces the previous one's signing.

Nought to do with the sad passing or the huge negative reaction to last nights debacle. :rolleyes:
Its a good signing for me, announcing it today would have been lost, personally I wouldn't have taken a lift from it though.

26-07-2013, 10:47 PM
Chill out wee guy.

Somebody made it up on here earlier mate - it's spread like wildfire.

26-07-2013, 10:49 PM

I'm not sure how many times this can be made clear but here goes again. It was a made-up scenario posted on here by someone who said they were "thinking out loud". It has subsequently spent the day being repeated all over Facebook, Twitter and text message but is still someone "thinking out loud" and in no way represents reality.

So, irrespective of whether you feel a bit wounded or not, that's why Mikey said it was made up.

PS why the **** does everyone talk about "their source" these days instead of just saying "I totally trust my mate, he doesn't normally talk pish"?

26-07-2013, 10:50 PM
give wee paddy a chance to make up for it

26-07-2013, 10:51 PM
give wee paddy a chance to make up for it

Aw FFS, he's not even made up for the Hearts cup final yet.

26-07-2013, 10:53 PM
Change in odds wont mean anything significant is happening. He'll still be here for a while yet IMO.

26-07-2013, 10:53 PM
Aw FFS, he's not even made up for the Hearts cup final yet.

just one more chance he looked fed up sitting in the dugoot

26-07-2013, 10:54 PM
Change in odds wont mean anything significant is happening. He'll still be here for a while yet IMO.

Change in odds might be related to the made up rumour doing the rounds.

26-07-2013, 10:54 PM

Yup. Just means folk have been taking a punt on him doing the honourable thing.

just one more chance he looked fed up sitting in the dugoot

The new chairs probably aren't as comfy as he was expecting.

Makaveli
26-07-2013, 10:56 PM
That rumour might have started on here, but it takes stronger info for a price to fall like that. Bear in mind it had already come in from 12/1 pre-game to 4/1 last night, so 4/1 to evens is a huge drop.

Stats show <40% of recent "next to leave" bets have been for Fenlon, suggesting the bookies are more confident of it than punters.

26-07-2013, 10:59 PM

sore bum aswell then, think were just going to have to see how we get on in the first ten games, the signs will be early if its not happening

Dunderhall
26-07-2013, 11:00 PM
I don't think anyone backing him would claim to be a uber fan.:confused:

Eternal Hibbie
26-07-2013, 11:02 PM
They'll keep a low profile for a few days to let the gullible support (that's us) anger subside.

Come the middle of next week they'll start again with the "show your support we're the Hibs family" p***.

Just like it never happened.

26-07-2013, 11:09 PM
They'll keep a low profile for a few days to let the gullible support (that's us) anger subside.

Come the middle of next week they'll start again with the "show your support we're the Hibs family" p***.

Just like it never happened.

Would you prefer us happy clappers/Fenlon supporters came out now and said we were right behind Fenlon.

Thursday night was a shambles and a very poor performance. I am in no way whatsoever convinced that will be the status quo for the coming season.

Emerald
26-07-2013, 11:13 PM
Anyway, dont know if I'm allowed to post this but this IS Emerald

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rENy7MQIYJs

26-07-2013, 11:17 PM

Spot on PB.

It ain't working out with Fenlon and Petrie should do the right thing.

Anyone who doesn't think Petrie has decision to make are wrong, Petrie needs to get this one right, if he backs the manager and things don't work out then it just won't be Fenlon will be expected to leave the club, fans will turn on Petrie like they never have before, i still maintain Petrie will get it right and sack him before the weekend.

Que ex players to put the boot in to Fenlon over the next few days in the press, Fenlon is under pressure and the press will be out to get him, there is no way back for Fenlon after last nights embarrassment, he will be gone before the weekend. imo

26-07-2013, 11:20 PM
That rumour might have started on here, but it takes stronger info for a price to fall like that. Bear in mind it had already come in from 12/1 pre-game to 4/1 last night, so 4/1 to evens is a huge drop.

Stats show <40% of recent "next to leave" bets have been for Fenlon, suggesting the bookies are more confident of it than punters.

In actual fact it doesn't take that much money to be placed on that type of market for the price to change dramatically.

It is often difficult to get a decent sized bet on (£100 max often) due to the volatile nature of the market.

That said, wish I'd lumped on as much as I could at 4/1.

26-07-2013, 11:24 PM
Spot on PB.

It ain't working out with Fenlon and Petrie should do the right thing.

Anyone who doesn't think Petrie has decision to make are wrong, Petrie needs to get this one right, if he backs the manager and things don't work out then it just won't be Fenlon will be expected to leave the club, fans will turn on Petrie like they never have before, i still maintain Petrie will get it right and sack him before the weekend.

Que ex players to put the boot in to Fenlon over the next few days in the press, Fenlon is under pressure and the press will be out to get him, there is no way back for Fenlon after last nights embarrassment, he will be gone before the weekend. imo

I would say the opposite is also true.

If he sacks Fenlon and, in doing so, we see our 3rd managerial failure in a row then he has to consider his own position.

I know people will say that Petrie wasn't part of the recruitment process that saw Fenlon come to the club but in any organisation, it's those at the top who need to bear the brunt of responsibility when there is a failure to succeed, even if those individuals were not directly involved.

As Chairman, you can't get much higher up the tree than Petrie.

26-07-2013, 11:25 PM

You are probably correct there, nobody in the dug out looked very comfy last night in there new seats.

skoop
26-07-2013, 11:27 PM
He'll be punted soon.

26-07-2013, 11:35 PM
PAT FENLON is set to be given a chance to save his Hibs career in a crucial August 11 Edinburgh derby with Hearts. Pressure is mounting on the under-fire Easter Road gaffer following the humiliating 7-0 Europa League mauling from Malmo on Thursday night.

Hibs sources last night played down the chances of Fenlon being sacked in the coming days. But almost 75 per cent of supporters polled on a popular fans’ website called on the Easter Road boss to go NOW.
And if the Irishman loses the derby clash with administration-hit Hearts, there will be real fears for his future.
Fenlon has now presided over two of the worst results in Hibs’ history — with the Malmo rout coming a year after the 5-1 Scottish Cup Final loss to Hearts.
The Swedes’ humiliating 9-0 aggregate win was the worst Euro loss in Scottish football history. The 7-0 second-leg collapse was also the club’s biggest home loss in 123 years.
Fenlon — with ten months of his contract to run — apologised for the thumping, calling it an “embarrassment”.
He also pledged to “look at myself” as fans ask serious questions of his reign.
Decent results against Motherwell next Sunday and Hearts WILL buy him more time.
But defeat to the decimated Jambos’ kids could prove impossible to come back from for the beleaguered boss.

Read more: http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/feeds/smartphone/scotland/5036184/Beat-Hearts-keep-your-job.html#ixzz2aCJoPgVo

26-07-2013, 11:38 PM
Talk about stating the obvious!

Brilliant journalism by The Sun as always.

Makaveli
26-07-2013, 11:49 PM
In actual fact it doesn't take that much money to be placed on that type of market for the price to change dramatically.

It is often difficult to get a decent sized bet on (£100 max often) due to the volatile nature of the market.

That said, wish I'd lumped on as much as I could at 4/1.

I get your point. Bookies' word was that Irish money brought Fenlon's price tumbling before he was appointed and it could well be doing the same here.

I suppose the obvious question from there is: why are people making those big bets? Perhaps because managerial appointments/departures is one of the few markets where info can be leveraged for profit. Not suggesting anything untoward, obviously, but word spreads fast.

26-07-2013, 11:52 PM
Just lifted from here and trying make a story out of it.

26-07-2013, 11:54 PM

Who's your source mate?

26-07-2013, 11:55 PM
Even though I've had 'Groundhog day' today, I voted No to sacking Fenlon.

And why would you vote no?