Another performance under townsend blighted by penalties which will cost us the game
Pathetic
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Printable View
Another performance under townsend blighted by penalties which will cost us the game
Pathetic
great penalty 16-10 and lets hope that's not it, duck egg points after 30 mins of the 2nd half just so poor and could suffer for not taking those chances in the 1st half and a Fagerson muck up this half
our lineouts have been decent at least
scotland be ambitious with advantage
i have to say Scotland seldom appear to take advantage of advantages :(
and yet again we've blown a chance, this is not on townsend
our 96th penalty
this half
Townsend can go at the end of the 6 nations.
Game management in the 2nd half has been very very poor, so many penalties and errors, it's a typical Townsend team, all flash but ends up letting you down, we need new ideas.
Three conversion misses. Class.
Booing the kicker... classy
took that far too fast
russell loses the game most likely
now we have to run with it the length of the pitch
only the all blacks can do that
come on scotland do this
a ***** p@sh pass from russell and the wee guy gets lifted up, Russell :grr:
Game lost by Russell. Hard kicks but he’s a pro.
Not long ago a single point defeat at Twickenham would be a creditable result but that's a poor defeat to a pretty feeble England side.
Im fed up with a losing Scotland side. I’ve nothing progressive or insightful to add. Finn can get a rest next 2 games, and Toony can piss off after the France game.
things can't be too bad if we're bitterly disappointed we lost that by a single point at Twickers, so did France
if only we didn't give away so many cheap penalties we would all be sitting here celebrating yet another win against them, and in their own backyard
our game v Ireland is still really the only terribly poor performance so far
England players/fans will all know for sure they got away with one today
Agree x2. And not just re the England try not being grounded. Scotland penalised for several illegal turnovers by England and the penalty for the head clash was an absolute nonsense. Rowe is passive, maybe even going backwards and Chessum charges into him head first, butting Rowe on the side of the head. Should have been a yellow against him!
As for Russell's missed kicks when do you ever see three unconverted tries at this level these days. Mind, you could see from VDM's reaction after dotting it down that he knew he should have tried to get more central.
No doubt the Toony slayers will be out in force again but check these stats from the BBC:
Scotland had 59% of territory and 58% possession.
Outscored England three tries to one
Carried 936m to 474m
Gained 521m to 323m
Mande nine line breaks to two
Beat 35 defenders to 10
Made 247 passes to 99
But of course it was Gregor's fault we lost.
Russell will get the criticism for missing the kicks, especially the first one. I also thought we did a piss poor job of managing phases in England’s 22. How many times did we go through several phases of rucks up to England’s line but never get across for the score? You can’t do that in top level rugby and not come away with multiple scores.
There was a tipping point where the ref gave England a huge favour by giving a penalty in favour of Maro Otodje, who had pinned the ball in a ruck but was lying on the back on another England player, not supporting his own weight at all. From that they kicked to touch, won another penalty from the line out and went ahead from the penalty kick. That’s not to say Scotland still shouldn’t have won the match, but it was a pivotal error by the referee imo.
Can someone explain why englands first try was given? It wasn’t even looked at. Admittedly I’m more used to VAR in football overanalysing everything but surely you have to pick up if it’s a try or not. I thought even in real time it didn’t look grounded
Gave it as a try on the field so needed comprehensive evidence to overturn it. It looked held up to me too, but wasn't clear and definitive enough to overturn it.
Felt like the try vs France we didn't get last year, FWIW, but the on-field decision was the main factor.
I could understand all of that if it wasn’t clear that it wasn’t grounded. To me there wasn’t any doubt that ball wasnt down. The fact it was barely even mentioned maybe shows the difference between rugby and football. Football would be discussing a major decision like that for days.
this is a great game so far HT Italy 17 France 35
interesting Brian O'Driscoll thought the same as i mentioned yesterday in that Finn Russell kick was taken far too quick, i knew it was quick but he said 10 seconds which was just incredible, a hugely important kick with plenty time left for him to steady himself but it just seems like he had a rush of blood to the head
still 7th in the world rankings so Townsend is still doing alright, i really don't know where some think we should be in the rankings, above England maybe but there's some great sides higher than us, we're still above the Aussies
some superb rugby from the French
60 mins 22-54 lovely kick 24-54
64 mins what a try 24-61
75 mins 24-68
79 mins 24-73
FT 97 points in a six nations game yikes
hugely embarrassing for the Italians
Someone told me today that the ref made Russell move 2m closer to the touch-line after he had started getting set for the conversion. Didn't see that on tv. But TV almost missed showing the conversion and it did seem to be taken very quickly. Maybe he lost track of the countdown clock after re-setting? Or did he rush so that in the event that he missed, there was time for the re-start? No shot clock on screen from what I saw.
Can't believe Russell was 0 from 3 kicks yesterday. Takes one of them and the game is won despite it not being a sparkling performance.
That penalty Itoje won was a real kick in the balls but we can look at ourselves and say why were we not quicker to get bodies in there.
My son was born in 2021 and it's the first time he's seen us lose to England. Not that he cares but he's lost his streak.
I'm torn on Townsend, I don't know enough about rugby really but it seems like when it comes to the crunch we just don't have enough in the tank.
The squad is now coming to a point where the best players are getting on a bit - what happens when these guys are finished? Is there talent coming through?
Shocker from the ref...
https://x.com/Jamiehuwroberts/status...58251629092962
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/rugby-un...s/cx2gn3z2l72o
2 photos show the kick position here too
a shame SA player Steven Kitshoff has had to retire at just 33 due to a neck injury
great result for Edinburgh at Munster last night winning 34-28
2nd Top Glasgow getting a bit of a doin in the early stages v 2nd Bottom Ospreys 0-15 they're lucky Ospreys have missed all their con attempts
Glasgow pull one back 7-15
1st half bonus point for Ospreys 12-22
Glasgow Try & con right on HT 19-22
Glasgow try & con to go ahead 31-29 with just seconds remaining, all they had to do was secure the restart and kick it out but they made an absolute erse of it and gave away the penalty FT 31-32 Ospreys first win at Scotstoun for nine years, so amateur
Glasgow were positively Edinburgh-esque yesterday…
first win in twelve for Scotland, FT v Wales 27-12
England 33 Italy 24
Ireland 12 France 22
not many times Ireland have conceded this amount of points, great 2nd 40 from the French FT Ireland 27 France 42, couple of Irish tries in the last few minutes to gain a BP, wonder if that will make a difference next week
Cracking start here, 2 very good tries, need a confident performance after that defeat against England.
Scotland are so slow and timid at the breakdown. Morgan is winning everything.
Spoke to soon, Scotland and their stupid giving away needless penalties has started already.
That’s better. Genius from Russell but the forwards showed far more urgency and fight
can't be bad when disappointed we didn't manage to get that 5th try before HT, wales have hardly had a sniff at this
hopefully rattle up more points in the 2nd half, then thank greetin face Dan Biggar for his pre-match team talk during the week
wonder if Gabby and/or Kenny Logan were at the Hive last night watching their son playing for Scotland, he put in a decent performance
that's a nice gesture playing Delila to help gee up the welsh
great try scotland
play delila again ;) keep this up could be looking at a new record win for us against the welsh
Strange atmosphere. No sound at all.
wales try
could do with us stepping up a gear a bit here now
our lineouts have been bloody terrible
Another Welsh try. Scotland have gone to sleep here
they were poor before he came on, they're even worse now
lots of slackness creeping in now, is this a menatality thing ? like in cardiff when we were so far ahead the players think they have won it so don't need to take a risk of injury
another welsh Try
scotland running along the try line and finally held up, so bloody poor, great they've woken up from their rest period though :)
This is what happens when you think the game is won and you replace all your best players with inferior ones, add in many stupid needless penalties and there you have it.
so disappointing this could/should have been a real mauling but once again the plaudits will go to a side that were getting destroyed
that's a break, thank you ref :greengrin
i can't believe we've bloody knocked on again within 5 metres, another chance though here
and once again held up :rolleyes:
Who's training these guys at lineouts, the hookers have been shockingly bad at throwing the ball in.
Gilchrist knocks on and that's yet another chance &&&&uyd
another try wales
well done wales they take the plaudits again :agree: no professional side should be so far out of sight that they nearly **** up in the end
The worst wales team for years and they get within a score of us. Jeezo
Terrible 2nd half by Scotland, play like that next week and we'll be on the end of a hammering by France. I've said it before but the game management by Townsend has always been one of his major problems, some of his substitutions today were bizarre.
thank goodness for that early converted try in the 2nd half
finn russell saying what we all think, we took the foot of the gas
https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/ace/standar...cd1f6.jpg.webpJohnnie Beattie
Former Scotland back row on BBC Radio 5 Live
Wales did well to come back into the game but there have always been questions over the depth of the pool talent we have.
So when Zander Fagerson and Finn Russell come off, there are changes and we're not as strong.
anyway, sixteen straight defeats for Wales
Which were bizarre? 20pts clear with 25 to go with Wales playing crap when Russell comes off, clearly being protected for next week when we need him on top top form to have any chance. Hardly ever see front row lat 80’ at this level. Graham just back from a nasty concussion.
Criminal from Townsend making all those subs with 20 mins to go. That’s 2 years in a row one come away from a win against wales that’s felt like a loss.
Time for Townsend to go.
It's like watching Hibs being 2-0 up and the manager takes off your striker, creative midfielder and ball winner mid, then putting on sub level players in their place, suddenly the shape of the team is different and we sit a lot deeper, we then walk away at FT with a 2-2 draw feeling really peed off.
If results go as expected, a Scotland win in France would hand England the championship.
What a complete disaster. Luckily, the French will win easily but it’s made the game pretty much unwatchable for me. I can’t fully support Scotland when I know that a win will hand the 6 Nations to those jammy *******s.
‘True Scotland fans’ - I guarantee my Scotland fan credentials will match anyone on this thread. But sure, you speak for the 99% of Scotland fans.
Just remembered you are that annoying happy clapper who loves Townsend and went in the huff when I wasn’t nice about your hero, ‘Mossy’! 😂
Never been called a happy clapper before but I'll not go in the huff at you labelling me so; just smile internally and bow to your superior knowledge and judgement, including you hoping Scotland lose to France so that England can't win the Championship. Wonderful stuff.
I don't understand the rule which denied Wales the try which just might have enabled them to go on an win. What's wrong with evading a tackle?
You’re not wrong per se, the slight difference is at the try line a player is almost always diving forward, whereas jumping over a tackle is usually leading with a boot or a knee.
Both situations do make it difficult/awkward to tackle the player, and as mcbizz has said, it’s illegal to tackle a player in the air, but it’s not applied in the same way in a try scoring situation. You’ll also be unlikely to see a defending player be penalised for tackling a player in the air if he’s diving forward the try line and the defender attempts a tackle.
Yep, you’re only considered in touch if you’re touching the ground. Same with the ball, if someone kicks the ball and it goes over the line and back into play before it touches the ground, it’s still in play, unlike football. It’s actually possible for a player to tap the ball back into play whilst it’s in the air as long as the player also isn’t touching the ground (they need to have taken off from within the lines though), which is why kicks to touch generally are put into the stand, it removes the possibility of the opposition managing to keep it in
Something seriously needs to give over the summer. I know the Lions tour will be a welcome distraction for the SRU, but we cannot go into another Autumn Test/Six Nation cycle with the same setup as this year...that's not to lay blame at any particular door. Like most Scottish sporting institutions, the problems are deeply entrenched and can't be fixed by replacing one guy and his coaching team. Townsend has, in my opinion (which is worth little), taken us as far as he can and in his credit, has us playing some of the best rugby I've seen a Scotland side play in my time. But it feels like we keep coming up against a ceiling, and the current setup (the entire rugby setup in the country) is not equipped to advance us to live with your Ireland's or France's over a sustained competition. Smarter, better paid people than me may have answers as to what's necessary, but frankly I'd take the Irish model of their academy system and replicate it here to get as many young men as possible involved in the sport and bring through a completely new crop of players. I watched their Leinster academy finals highlights on Youtube a few weeks ago and the skills on display were absolutely incredible!
Yesterday wasn't really acceptable (which is strange to say after a BP win). And fair play to Finn for not trying to sugarcoat anything in his reaction. Wales absolutely could not live with us for the opening 40 minutes. Then we switched off thinking 'job done'. Ireland or France don't do that - they keep boot on throat when they're ahead. We lack that ruthlessness. Finn also said we need to be 100% for 80 minutes next week to get something in Paris. Sadly, I fear the worst - even without DuPont, they're a formidable beast just now - just look at their points difference! I couldn't care less who wins the 6N in the end (since it won't be us) and hope we can prove me badly wrong, and we leave Paris with a famous win...
Was another great day out at Murrayfield though, and the atmosphere in town afterwards was very jovial and friendly - I really do love the Welsh fans being in town! We had an added bonus of ending our evening in a hotel where the Scotland team were last night after the game, and we had a great chat with a few of them over the course of the evening. I sadly reckon Jonny Gray's Six Nations might be over though, as he was hobbling pretty badly last night. A real shame as our depth at lock is extremely light!
that French slacking off in the last five mins against Ireland cost them going 3rd in the Rankings, they would have swapped places with them, not that it matters much in the grand scheme of things :)
1. South Africa 92.78
2. New Zealand 90.36
3. Ireland 89.71
4. France 89.51
5. Argentina 84.97
6. England 84.37
7. Scotland 82.36
8. Australia 81.52
9. Fiji 80.07
10.Italy 77.89
Scotland have added Adam Hastings, Jack Mann, Alexander Masibaka and Kyle Steyn to the squad for France
I take it Adam has been brought in as cover for the stand off position. He ain't no full back going by his recent display for the Warriors against the Ospreys. Or maybe I'm being unkind to the guy as that was his first game back after being out for a couple of months with an injury.
u20's 47 seconds on the clock Try France 70, the French have scored an average six tries each game against Scotland for the last several games
5 mins Try Scotland, nice con 7-7, French yellow card
there's been a couple of lovely tries for Scotland, the French know they've been in a game
75 mins 45-37
Wales deny England the grand slam and the championship winning 23-12
FT France 45 Scotland 40, and win the championship, would love to see a game like this tomorrow, bummer for the young men scoring 40 points in France but still losing
Italy competing well here against Ireland but I fear injuries are going to catch up with them. Lamb and Canone already off injured. Negri about to follow…?
FT Italy 17 Ireland 22
HT Wales 7 England 33, biggest HT lead ever over the Welsh
this is hugely embarrassing for the Welsh 7-54
game on :) 14-54
maybe not
14- 61 astonishing
oh my goodness, wales fluff their restart then england go on for yet another try 14-68, shame, just total utter shame FT
17 straight defeats for the Welsh, worst ever for a top tier side in the professional game
France just need the win v Scotland
It's not like the bookies to get it so wrong but, England -10.5, thanks very much
:sauzee:
Holy **** this is the worst FOS I’ve ever heard.
female piper just not in timing with the fans, she was far too fast
we shoulda coulda, i've not heard an explanation from anyone yet whether it was the players thinking 'job done' or the coach telling them to take it a bit easier, i'd love to know why though, England done exactly what we should have, no let up and get the scoreline in the History books, we had the same approach in Cardiff when we were out of sight and ended up just holding on
we really need a man down :(
17 mins camped in
anyways 10-0 we can get out now
for a bit