I have a wee 100 pounds if you want to match it that they do not take 9 points off us.
Printable View
Dundee had already applied for membership of the SPL and their resignation was accepted in principle by the SFL on Friday so I wouldn't have thought there's anything further to do there.
I can't see that Dunfermline have anything to appeal against or anyone to appeal to - the SPL is invitation based, and they've invited Dundee. In any case, by a strict interpretation of the SPL rules, Dunfemline were ineligible.
Didnt know they had issued thier resignation just yet, looking at the fixtures list there could be a few changes as there a lot of UTD/club12 games both home & away on the same say..tayside police will have something to say about it
Oh n BTW......BBC hurry up n change the table....dying to see them in the 3rd n mind n call them Sevco :aok:
We still need to know if the new Rangers are the same as the old Rangers and liable for any punishments decreed for the years of cheating.
Don't see THAT happening until the very first day of the season - ScotBeeb Huns are awfy sensitive about the reputation of their team.
In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if they just denied all this had ever happened, stuck their fingers in their ears, and sang "LALALALALALALALALALA..." at the top of their voices for the next three years.
Can we not get Jocky Scott back as manager of Dundee? That would be teckle! :greengrin
Sky have been very quiet in all of this, are they even going to pull out? Or was this pish for Doncaster?
For a tasterAttachment 8443
They've been very quiet... there's only been one quote in the press and that was 3-4 weeks ago where they said they'd continue with the existing contract but hinted that the renewal would not be a simple rubber stamp job.
ICT also mention as part of the output from their board meeting yesterday that they were "given assurances" by Sky etc
Attachment 8444
Forgot the rest. doh.
And now, the end is near,
And so we face the final curtain.
Thank **** thats all over, we can concentrate on the new season,if I was a season ticket holder I would be re-newing, even though without a doubt sellik will win the league, I actually think no-one gives a flying ****. We have just got rid of the buns, and make ABSOLUTELY NO MISTAKE this WAS due to the fans/SFL and not the SPL or shady SFA.
WE HAVE MORE POWER THAN WE GIVE OURSELVES CREDIT FOR.
We need to stay organised and stay in touch with other/all clubs especially SPL and push for the changes that the SPL/SFA were bending over backwards to give the clubs if they let the buns in the back door. There should be a push for Doncaster and Regan to be shown the door,the leagues should be made larger and there should be playoffs.
As Dons fans say "STAND FIRM".
HAIL HAIL THE HUNS R NOT HERE
BREAKING NEWS
Dunfermline chairman John Yorkston: "I am trying to get a board meeting together tonight to see what happens from here. But, in all likelihood, we will be seeking legal advice. I have friends who are high up in the legal profession and advise me that we have a very good case. But kick-off is only two weeks away and the last thing we want is to hold up the start of the season."
From the BBC site. Here we go again.
He's up to something. I don't think the SPL right now has enough money in the bank to offer a parachute payment. Don't think they have enough to hire him a parachute...
I don't think he can just accept the SPL's decision without at least making the right sounds for his supporters. So he consults the board, then the lawyers, says that they have a case but it'll take too long and prevent the season starting which won't be a good thing for anyone, so with a heavy heart, etc, etc, hello Div One.
Longish article here:
http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2012/07/16/a-new-day/
expanding on some of your points.
The very first rule of membership in the SPL rules states:
There are exceptions, but they relate to the suitability of the replacement club re ground size etc. I can't see that Dunfy have a case.Quote:
the Club finishing in last place in the League in the immediately preceding Season shall not be eligible to participate in the League
Have Airdrie & Stranraer been confirmed as promoted yet?
Is administration such a bad thing if everybody goes into it? The huns led the way and would have been quite happy paying creditors a pittance and carrying on regardless. The reason they didn't get away with it is because Queeny was owed the lions share and wasn't playing ball with her butt lickers. Agree a CVA, take the ten point rap and move on. History intact, unlike Sevco. :greengrin
I bought a nuclear fall out shelter from Del Boy, Rodney and Grandad, is it safe to come out yet?
So... Dear I say it?
Is it over?
In terms of who is in what division, pointless Dunfy challenge aside...
I've read somewhere it cost about £4-5million to run Ibrox stadium and £3m to run Murray Park so if you have 40,000 fans buying season tickets at £200 that only you raking them in £8m so there that money gone before you even start paying wages
I see him walking
You're not wrong. I cannot possibly see how "Rangers" are going to survive a minimum of 3 seasons outside of the SPL. Even if they were in the SPL, they'd be struggling to keep up. I think all the tales of Armageddon are actually more about Rangers than anyone else. Most of the other clubs cut their cloth accordingly and have learned to live within lean budgets. Mr Green had better have very deep pockets.
On the other hand, I think the right level of punishment has been reached and it is only right after many seasons of swindling their way to trophies, that they take time to re-group and attempt a comeback to the top league on sporting merit. Anything less would have been ridiculous.
I'm frightented as well, will I drop into the unknown if I step outside my front gate! Hving gone to a Catholic school, I'm afraid my bible knowledge ain't great, but I'm sure Armageddon will involve great weeping and gnashing of teeth. Similar to what's going on in Govan right now I'd imagine.:boo hoo:
Hopefully nobody will be gullible enough to lend Sevco any cash.
They're on their own with this one.
The only punishment Old Hun received was a 10 point penalty for going into admin (which made no difference) and a £160,000 fine which they DIDN'T pay. Old Hun are a football club no more.
Sevco have not been punished in any way infact they have been looked upon favourably and have been invited into the SFL over clubs like Cove Rangers and Spartans.
It really hacks me off when people especially ex Hun apologists go on about how much the Huns are being punished and have been demoted etc.:brickwall
Now that it appears to have been concluded, I will make a suggestion that is controversial, but should be seriously considered.
We have 20k seats which we will realistically never fill until we get a successful side. We have a funding gap to be covered. We need people through the gate.
For Celtic and Hearts games, we should open up part of the west stand to them and give a bigger allocation. OK this means some fans will need to move and it will be harder to police and steward, but it is doable, it used to happen in the old west stand and would enable us to realise more income.
This should start from the derby on 11th August, no point having empty seats. Even if it means 6k+ jambos coming along on the cup final bandwagon.
Discuss....
Seems that Rangers place in Div 3 is at risk according to this report.
Rangers' league place at risk as Scottish FA insist signing ban must stand
Rangers’ prospects of playing in the Third Division remain uncertain because of a stand-off between the Scottish FA and Charles Green over conditions attached to the transfer of the club’s membership.
STV understands Sevco Scotland Limited is currently unwilling to accept the imposition of a 12-month signing embargo, originally placed upon the club by the governing body on May 11. The Scottish FA want Green to accept the punishment as a condition of membership transfer, despite Lord Glennie ruling at a Court of Session hearing on May 29 that they had acted outwith their powers in imposing the ban on the club. An appellate tribunal was told to reconvene to discuss a different sanction from within the rule book. This is currently on hold, with Green having the option to ask for membership to be transferred in exchange for the tribunal meeting again.
The sanctions available to the panel are unlikely to be palatable to the club, as they include the potential suspension or expulsion of the club from the Scottish game, as well as a possible exclusion from the Scottish Cup. Should Green refuse to meet the Scottish FA’s demands, he will be forced to apply for a completely new membership not tied to the former club. However, as Sevco Scotland Limited does not meet the financial requirements set down to join the organisation, they would not be eligible and would not be able to play football in Scotland. If Green accepts for the signing ban to be imposed, Rangers will take up a place as an associate member of the Scottish Football League and will play in the Third Division this season. Clubs must have membership of the national association to play in a league.
Conditions of transfer
The Scottish FA have made clear to Green that they will only transfer Rangers’ membership to his new company if he agrees to the imposition of the registration ban. If he refuses, the governing body will either transfer the membership but allow their appellate tribunal to reconvene, leaving open the possibility of Rangers either being suspended from the game for an indefinite period or being thrown out of the game altogether. Should Green decline those conditions, the Scottish FA will refuse to transfer the membership and, as Sevco Scotland Limited do not meet the necessary requirements, Rangers will not play professional football in Scotland at least for the next year. The Scottish FA also want Green to agree to pay all outstanding football debt as another condition of the membership being transferred. They also want the new company to take responsibility for any sanctions later imposed by the Scottish Premier League following its investigation into alleged non-contractual payments to players. At a meeting on Monday, Green told Ibrox employees there would be a “staffing review” following the decision of the Scottish Football League to place the club in the Third Division for the 2012/13 season.
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/r...an-must-stand/
Im in the West Upper towards the away support and there is no way I would be moving. If Hibs insisted I moved I would personally ram my season card right up Petries council gritter.
It wasn't that long ago we were lambasting Killie for moving their own support to accomodate Rantic.
This isnt about accommodating RANTIC, its about generating revenue, keeping afloat - maybe even enabling us to sign the players that see us reach 2nd place - we need to think bigger picture and longer term rather than have a narrow minded view.
If we start getting every seat filled then granted we can move back.
PS - I used to sit in that very section and loved my seat and view and would have had the same choice had I not moved to the East when it opened.
Rangers' league place at risk as Scottish FA insist signing ban must stand
http://sport.stv.tv/...ban-must-stand/
Will Admins let me use this smile on here? :greengrin
http://i976.photobucket.com/albums/a...th_2v1lwe0.gif
Sky Sports News@SkySportsNewsInterview with Rangers Newco owner Charles Green coming up on SSN
I have to say, even although it's taken 5 months, when rangers announced administration on valentines day, I doubt very many people, myself included, thought that rangers would start this season in the bottom division.
Well done to all clubs for standing firm, and to the fans for forcing it. Justice has been done, and at the end of it, they've been treated like the rest of us would. And it looks like the sfa are concerned about action from FIFA so are pushing on with their sanctions. It would be hilarious if sevco didn't get out of the 3rd this season!
Dungcaster is on Sportsound if you can stand listening to his/their tripe !
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17325775
Quote:
The law says different, you corrupt ****bags.
http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/inde...ic=231690&st=0Quote:
No what. **** Scotland, they don't want us here, let's get tae ****.
I'm a little perplexed when it comes to this to be honest.
How can a new company/club have sanctions imposed as punishment for the behaviour of a separate company?
They scarcely have a squad to compete this forthcoming season as it is (and will be relying mostly on youth players) and will struggle to attract anyone to the third division.
A court of law has already deemed the transfer embargo to be an unfair punishment, so if there is valid reason to impose these sanctions on the Newco, surely a year ban from the Scottish Cup would be sufficient and most suitable?
All we, as fans, asked for, was that they be treated like any other club. That has happened and now the SFA want to impose further punishment for the actions of a club which are no longer in the Scottish Football setup.
Or am I missing something horribly obvious?
Not a chance, he did explain Dundee being promoted through merit and the reason why Dunfermline were not was because of the "Contractural Agreement" between the SPL and the SFL to have the bottem team relegated and the top team promoted... Apparently.
Apart from that he's just doing his usual waffling and dodging questions.
:agree: In amidst all the criticism and mirth levelled at the Scottish game recently, it should be remembered that despite the bullying and scheming by the powers, the FANS and the CLUBS stood up for natural justice, and stood firm in the face of public and private harassment.
It could turn out to be Scottish footballs greatest moment. The forced separation of the old firm and the end of the duopoly and the associated national shame of institutional sectarianism.
Pure magic
SFA stick to yer guns
Seems to be take the sanctions or die completely
Tom Shields in the Herald came up with some brilliant options for the SPL, SFL and SFL to deal with the demise and rebirth of Rangers:
Option One: The Big League
Put all 42 SFL and SPL clubs into a single League playing each other once a season. There would be three cup competitions, the Ramsdens Pornbroker Challenge Cup, the League Cup and the Scottish Cup. Rangers would be guaranteed to play Celtic in all three using a combination of the 'hot ball' and 'cold ball' techniques for draws.
Option Two: The Celtic Reserve Idea
Rangers would play in SFL3 but so would Celtic Reserves to ensure the quota of four old firm matches a year was maintained. Celtic Reserves would not be allowed to enter the League Cup or the Scottish Cup to avoid a Celtic v Celtic final.
Option Three: The Sky League
A supplementary competition - the Sky League - would be set up involing Rangers laying Celtic once a month. A Hampden Park playoff would be ensured by gerrymandering the results.
Option Four: The Bobby Ewing League
The last year has all been a dream. The SPL and the SFL would continue as if nothing had happened with Rangers in the SPL.
Option Five: League Expansion
The SPL would be increased to 16 teams including Newco. They would play each other home and away with three end of season playoffs. The top four would playoff for the Championship and European places. The bottom four would play off to avoid relegation. Ther middle eight would play off for the Liquidation Cup. The winner would have their debts wiped out.
Option Six: Carry On
The season would go ahead with Newco in SFL3. There would be serious consequences as fans would have to watch games in the stadia rather than on TV. Teams may be unusually full of Scottish players.
That would be a good thing IMO.
Perhaps more people will get of their erchies and go to see their local teams play.
Most non-scottish players we have signed over the years have been complete duds. Scottish players have a better understanding of the Scottish game better than any foreign passengers.
[QUOTE=EdinMike;3296976]Dungcaster is on Sportsound if you can stand listening to his/their tripe !
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/1732
Its entirely predictable Donkey his usual bland of blandishments and vacuous statements.Mind you. Richard Gordon is hardly renowned for his hard hitting interviews. For instance the double contracts investigation was simply brushed off as "ongoing". In addition, he's hardly being grilled, about his involvement in the whole sags.
i confidently predict, that as seems to be usual with the Scottish sports media we're none the wiser from their efforts. Instead, their main role seems to be as un-official cheerleaders.
I was seriously just thinking let them in Div 3 with no punishment and get on with things, let them rebuild and then went onto RM for a quick laugh.
Div 3 is not a punishment, said the thread title, I thought that looks like a humble thread, maybe I'm right about Div 3 and not extinction. Then I read it.
http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/inde...owtopic=231701
So losing potentially £15 million pounds worth of players for nothing is not a punishment? Lost these players during transfer to newco and we are in 3rd division due to being a newco
-----------
I'd say we've lost double that. McGregor and Naismith were worth £15m alone. Aluko, Davis and Ness would have gotten us a lot, Lafferty, McCabe etc.
------------------------------------------
Maybe they should have sold them and paid their debt. ****ing ********s!
Rangers Tax-Case@rangerstaxcaseHow clever must the RFFF feel today? Paying for D&P's appeal of the SFA sanctions, and in turn making Sevco's launch much more difficult? :thumbsup:
Trouble with sanctioning Sevco in SFL 3 is it gives them an opportunity to claim they are the same club as oldco and muddies the waters on the history score. I'm not sure a transfer ban would stop them winning SFL3 anyway, they still have 11-12 dudes still on the books that would probably get a game in the SPL and they could still sign kids would be the cream of the 18 y/o's available, likely good enough to win SFL 3 anyway. I'm more concerned with dual contract sanction which should be see oldco trophies stripped.
So it might yet turn out that Regan was correct when he told the yorkshire pudding that there was no way sevco would be playing in div 3 next season :greengrin
What you are missing is they are trying to have Rangers FC (IA) SFA membership transfered...if they didn't they would be a 'new' application and would not have the 3 years accounts required......
They are between a rock and a hard place (with The only effective SFA chair / Vice chair (the others having made themselves scarce) being no other than Mr Hardball RP)
:agree: Arrogant Greene and Coisty clearly thought they had served their time when "relegated" to D3, when actual fact this is what should have happened as a matter of course. What the Huns have done by defrauding HMRC, other clubs, taking the SFA to court, covering up Whyte's past etc etc goes way beyond a club that has simply gone bust. That's why - if they want to keep the good bits and history of the old co - they need to pay the price that goes with it.
If the Huns get hammered by the SFA for these transgressions - or lose many of their titles, cups and even their history - some of the faith I had lost in the authorities will be restored. Get intae them :greengrin
I know this goes against the general feeling on here but... I'd rather the SFA gave them another option, to publicly declare that they are, in fact, a brand new club , with all that entails.
They then have the choice:
- A clean slate with no history or trophies.
- A continuation of the old club, with the trophies they had minus the ones removed for cheating. Accept punishment for double contracts and any other rules that were broken by the old regime
Either of those options would be fine with me.
I'm struggling to understand this.
Regan and co throughout seem to have been working to get Rangers the softest landing possible, keep them in the SPL, get them into SFL1, create an SPL2 for them to play in etc etc etc.
Now that all those plays have failed, the new strategy is to stop the newco, that has like 8 players at most, from signing any players?
Is the strategy them actively doing what they can to bring about the 'social unrest' and 'football armageddon' that was prophesied? It makes no sense.
I think forcing the newco to pay off football debts in exchange for getting the oldcos SFA licence is acceptable, as well as any stripping of titles from the oldco as per the findings of the dual contract investigation. But the signing ban doesn't make a lot of sense, better to have just kept them out for a year in the first place than this no?