View Full Version : Match Updates St Johnstone v Hibs
02-01-2025, 07:10 PM
I don't think we'll be far off 3rd come the end of the season. 9 points is nothing and Dundee United aren't any great shakes.
02-01-2025, 07:14 PM
Just home - it was Baltic and we deserved better.
St Johnstone quite a well drilled defence but we need to be far more incisive.
02-01-2025, 07:14 PM
I don't think we'll be far off 3rd come the end of the season. 9 points is nothing and Dundee United aren't any great shakes.
FFS man, we can't be starting 2025 in a position vein, get yourself a dunces cap and go stand in the corner..... 🤪
NC1875
02-01-2025, 07:16 PM
Depends on January recruitment really.
Recruit poorly and we’ll struggle to beat crap like that today. January is hard and we really need 3-4 players to come in and be the best in the squad.
02-01-2025, 07:46 PM
I think there’s a real danger that our recent purple patch has caused folk to totally lose their perspective.
We have a terrible squad with a half decent first 11 that after underachieving for the first 3 months dramatically over achieved for one month.
We may well finish in the European places but that would only be because everyone around us was utter pish as well.
Personally anything that keeps us well away from the relegation places this season will do me until we get every single out of contract player off the books at the end of this season and some who will remain contracted too and start recruiting proper footballers in a balanced squad.
We have a bench stuffed with players who should be nowhere near our team.
Neither should a good proportion of those currently injured we will require to save our season on their return.
Despite our recent uptick there are substantially less than 6 players I would want to see here next year, although I appreciate that sadly more than that will stay
02-01-2025, 07:52 PM
I think there’s a real danger that our recent purple patch has caused folk to totally lose their perspective.
We have a terrible squad with a half decent first 11 that after underachieving for the first 3 months dramatically over achieved for one month.
We may well finish in the European places but that would only be because everyone around us was utter pish as well.
Personally anything that keeps us well away from the relegation places this season will do me until we get every single out of contract player off the books at the end of this season and some who will remain contracted too and start recruiting proper footballers in a balanced squad.
Neither should a good proportion of those currently injured we will require to save our season on their return.
Despite our recent uptick there are substantially less than 6 players I would want to see here next year, although I appreciate that sadly more than that will stay
The good run definitely had people getting a bit excited, especially as it included a derby win. Suddenly, players were being talked about as being this and that and we should be handing out contracts to such and such. Based on what we’ve seen over the course of the season (and longer) today wasn’t terribly surprising.
I think we’re far from being a good team but I don’t think there are many good teams in the league. We should still be doing better than we are.
Likelihood is that we’ll lose on Sunday and you’re potentially just a few points above the playoff position by Sunday night. Much work still to be done and we need to get a couple of players in quickly who can come in and help us quickly. I’m not suggesting we’ll get relegated, I don’t think we will but today is a reminder of where we are.
Keepthefaith
02-01-2025, 07:55 PM
9 points behind Aberdeen, 7 points off 4th, 2 points off 5th and 6th with superior GD. 4 wins and a draw with 3 away games including Pittodrie and Tynie is a really impressive return.
Were we at our best today? No, we were miles off it. But willing to cut the team some slack as has been an unrelenting run and when I looked to our bench; we really are threadbare just now. Get through the Sevco game and then regroup for a big second half of the season, hopefully buoyed still by our run and with a few new additions to freshen things up plus the likes of Bowie back in the picture. Probably would have taken a point going into today, Perth is always a ranc place to go - never once have I come away thinking it was a good game of football.
I think is it really, regardless of how anyone else is doing, it wasn't that long ago that folk on here were saying relegation was almost certain. we're in a great position points wise since pre Aberdeen at home and with the right recruitment and getting bowie back fit should see us able to compete for 4th. key part of that is getting the right recruitment - this is where the appointment of garvin Stewart will be under scrutiny and see if there is a different profile of player we're able to attract.
like others I think we'll see a couple of key signings but only 2 or 3 and potentially see a couple of the younger players promoted to the4 bench
03-01-2025, 07:42 AM
I have high hopes for the transfer window, I have a sneaky feeling we may be pleasantly surprised and I can only base that on the money we didnae spend for the guy that went tae sellik being available.
03-01-2025, 07:48 AM
:top marks It's easy to forget the position this squad had us in just last month.
Whilst the last few weeks have been great, the season so far has been crap.
I'm also fully expecting a huge turnaround in players in the summer. The chat at the end of last season was that up to 16 players would move on this year. I hope that's still the case.
03-01-2025, 07:55 AM
:top marks It's easy to forget the position this squad had us in just last month.
I'm also fully expecting a huge turnaround in players in the summer. The chat at the end of last season was that up to 16 players would move on this year. I hope that's still the case.
My big worry is we bring in players now that are not good enough to take us forward, i keep hearing good players are not available in this window, i just hope we dont saddle ourselves with more average to poor players while clearing out similar.
I'd settle for safety this season, and full throttle ahead in the summer if it's for the betterment of the club.
03-01-2025, 07:58 AM
2 down, 14 to go.
He's here!
03-01-2025, 08:55 AM
While we're 10 points clear of 12th, the rest of the bottom six remains very congested and things could still go either way. We're certainly not out of the woods (and will most likely lose on Sunday) but the recent run of wins has certainly given us a base to build from provided we recruit a couple of decent players this month.
03-01-2025, 12:08 PM
They were faster than us, some good performances from a team with 10 men, we just did not look like winning this game, bloody freezing cauld as well.
Poor performance all round but a draw is not a disaster.
03-01-2025, 08:44 PM
Top of the form league last five which included wins at Pittodrie and the PBS
3rd could be within our reach especially if we recruit well in January.