Boyle can’t go past a man with pace now a days
We’re never scoring today
No creativity and just crosses going in out of hope to small strikers
skyehibee
02-01-2025, 03:38 PM
This is a reality check for everyone. We are still pish
yerauldda
02-01-2025, 03:39 PM
desperately missing our strikers. no focal point whatsoever.
02-01-2025, 03:40 PM
Rocky did well there.
We’re out of ideas and just shooting from distance now.
This is honestly dreadful. We’re never scoring
We will get one Patience required
OtleyHibs
02-01-2025, 03:41 PM
Tame shot from Triantis saved
Need much better than that
Feels like we created more first half.
Always felt first goal today was important.
Mcbizz1998
Right I’m turning this off. We aren’t getting anything from this.
Back down to earth with a massive bump.
It would have been good if our recruitment team were primed to have a player or two ready to sign at the start of the window. It’s not as if they weren’t aware it was coming up. Instead we are still hoping guys like Levitt and McKirdy are suddenly going to offer something.
Yass! Goal Hibs
Goal!
It's just not the group of players to quickly work two or three quick passes on the edge of the area.
Remember a Jack Ross team that really needed a win, 1-0 down against 10 men and they got two really well worked goals. Just doesn't look likely here.
Don't think we're pish, but you'd be hard pushed to say we're a 'win five on the bounce' team.
Hopefully today is the final nail in the coffin for all of those out of contract in terms of renewals.
Paul1642
Nice timing :)
02-01-2025, 03:42 PM
Our best players are all out.
This isn’t unexpected.
Our squad isn’t good enough anyway, let alone being without it’s best 4 or 5 players right down the spine.
And if we don’t get anything out this game it won’t be because we should have put Dylan f’ing Levitt on at half time. The bench is absolutely brutal.
We have known since day one that the squad is not good enough and today just underlines it. Should still be able to avoid defeat against a 20 man St Johnstone.
[emoji2389]-[emoji2389]?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Oops!
Yeews ,Gayle
Might be tight to offside
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
badabing67
Yea Gayle
Thank goodness
Hibs still pish?
WRONG, MOTHER****ERS
Gayle. Cool as ****!
Gayle is a genius. Maybe offside though?
What a finish Gayle
AdidasHibernian
Mon Hibs.... Let's nick this now 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
OtleyHibs
Ya beauty!!!
Kick on and win it now
game on
now come on
Go on Gayle. Great finish, fingers crossed it is on
et_hibby
Hibs still pish?
WRONG, MOTHER****ERS
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
badabing67
Hurry up Harry your chance to be the hero
Phewwww
God, miles onside 😂
Not scoring eh? :greengrin
02-01-2025, 03:43 PM
Goal Gayle - what a finish -
No where near offside
Lovely finish
Miles onside. Not even close.
Hopefully today is the final nail in the coffin for all of those out of contract in terms of renewals.
You would think so!
Hurry up Harry your chance to be the hero
C’mon
pollution
Yeehah
HendoDelivered
Mckirdy winner cmon!!
That's a brilliant finish
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
The moaners might even see a win now.
blow them away, Gayle
02-01-2025, 03:44 PM
I cannot stand this habit we have seen this year where the refs stop the game and chat to someone when nothing has happened
Slowing the game down constantly
Gayle is absolute quality.
babahibs
Weird
Ready to retire my arse , Gayles still got it
McKirdy winner. Its happening
1-1
Nice timing :)
#Pray for Mcbizz
02-01-2025, 03:45 PM
The best sort of post you ever get on here.
8 mins + whatever
One goal here and we're 5th. C'mon do it
Miles onside. Not even close.
He's a guy I'd try and persuade to sign another year's contract.
Ready to retire my arse , Gayles still got itSee where you're coming from but so long as the rest of your body has a few years left your arse will probably just tag along.[emoji6]
Mckirdy winner cmon!!
Been saying this for like 2 and a half years, just never going to happen 😂
Paulie Walnuts
Can see why Gayle is retiring. Looks like the tin man walking around!
How the **** did we not. Score there?:confused:
How's McKirdy not scored?!
02-01-2025, 03:46 PM
awww man i thought that was in :(
Gonna try that gain mcbizz and see if we get a second. :flag:
Trinity Hibee
He's a guy I'd try and persuade to sign another year's contract.
If he doesn’t stay we need someone of a similar ilk. An experienced striker can do wonders in this league
What a goal saving tackle that is from sanders
McKirdy has to score
AdidasHibernian
We nick this we can go 5th...mon Hibs
One goal here and we're 5th. C'mon do it
I was about to post the same thing !
:giruy2:
Got to be 6 or 7 minutes injury time , Timewasting is brutal
What a goal saving tackle that is from sanders
Outrageous defending!
6,287 i think cliff said
02-01-2025, 03:47 PM
See where you're coming from but so long as the rest of your body has a few years left your arse will probably just tag along.[emoji6]
McKirdy will never score for us. It's not happening lads. In fact, I'm going to log off and turn off my phone I'm so confident. Do not score, McKirdy, and prove me wrong. I'm warning you
OtleyHibs
We nick this we can go 5th...mon Hibs
Crazy given our position at the end of November
Get it done Hibs!
Mckirdy unlucky there. Just top defending unfortunately
Nearly a McKirdy winner - studs away from 2-1
That's great defending nothing McKirdy could have done unless he was a foot taller
02-01-2025, 03:48 PM
Dreadful time to put a poor corner into teh Keeper's arms
Well Nick it now. C’mon Hibs
St J are our bogey team
Has been several stoppages, should be at least 6 minutes extra time but will there.....
AdidasHibernian
02-01-2025, 03:49 PM
Campbell unlucky
02-01-2025, 03:49 PM
Off the bar.
02-01-2025, 03:50 PM
Nearly Campbell header off bar
OtleyHibs
Hit the bar, throwing everything at them
Rudi on for Campbell
Cmon Rudi lets get a goal to celebrate the new deal
Gotta be at least 5 mins added
02-01-2025, 03:51 PM
Would’ve kept Campbell on always likely to grab a goal
02-01-2025, 03:51 PM
Cross it Triantis
02-01-2025, 03:53 PM
6 mins added
02-01-2025, 03:53 PM
Corner Hibs
02-01-2025, 03:54 PM
6 minutes added
silly boyle
anyway 6 mins added
6 minutes added
02-01-2025, 03:56 PM
Why are we not putting it in the box
02-01-2025, 03:56 PM
St J are our bogey team
Really are. Can't stand them because of it
02-01-2025, 03:57 PM
This ref is a clown why not play advantage
02-01-2025, 03:57 PM
Why are we not putting it in the box
My exact thoughts.
02-01-2025, 03:58 PM
Thought once we’d score it would be constant crosses
Not happened
Hardly put them under any pressure since we scored
Bar Gayle bench has offered heehaw. Hardly a surprise.
02-01-2025, 03:59 PM
FT
Meh! A draw today
That is so ****ing disappointing.
**** performance and **** result.
Mcbizz1998
Massively frustrating.
Poor. St.Johnstone are honking and we simply haven't turned up.
Ball boys have stopped throwing the ball to players.
ah well
we gave those 10 gladiators are a right good game of it
02-01-2025, 04:00 PM
Annoying a win would have put us joint 5th
Exuberance1875
Brutal
AdidasHibernian
Need to get a decent striker in and some quality going forward.
That ref is ****ing unbelievable
1 min a go at goal kicks and he stops the game 1 second after 6 mins
I bet he never gets a Celtic rangers game that's for sure
I hate how backwards we are in Scotland with stuff like this
Does highlight we still lack quality though which hopefully Bowie on the mend and January additions will help
Cannae even beat 10 men 🙄
Embarrassing but at least we stay unbeaten in five
babahibs
Robbed once again by an outrageous penalty decision, how many times?
OtleyHibs
Disappointing, thought they defended really well at times but we should have been able to create a lot more
Disappointing result today. Not good enough against 10 men for half a game.
Not a disaster but that was a golden opportunity to climb the table. Stupid mistake from Rocky and to me we created more 11v11
Poor since the goal but we would have lost that earlier in the season.
Frustrating.
02-01-2025, 04:01 PM
Embarrassing but at least we stay unbeaten in five
It would have been embarrassing to lose, they defender their box for the whole half.
OtleyHibs
Still think we should have had a penalty second half and would like another look at the disallowed goal
Disappointing we could take advantage of the extra man, 1 point is always better than 0.
Onto the next game we go.
Based on what I watched a draw was about all Hibs deserved, no quality safe predictable passes and no threat up top.
Robbed once again by an outrageous penalty decision, how many times?
Surely you don't think it was wrong to award them the pen, was 100% a penalty
Ah well. 2 points dropped but can’t be too disappointed with recent results and performances.
Robbed once again by an outrageous penalty decision, how many times? The one we never got or the one Saints did. The foul on Miller was a far clearer penalty imo but I think both were pens
02-01-2025, 04:02 PM
No contract extensions this summer please.
02-01-2025, 04:02 PM
What a missed opportunity given other results
Stuarty1875
02-01-2025, 04:03 PM
Poor today. Don’t do enough to win the game.
Highlighted lack of depth in our squad.
At home to Huns who just spanked Celtic 3-0Great - I was hoping to avoid that score and watch it later
Cheers [emoji3]
Brutal, had enough chances the first half to win the game. We were too slow and thats some rank rotten bench we have. Ah well, huns next.
None of them are good enough if we want to be best of the rest.
I’d put money on Cadden getting a new deal.
The Wireless
Groundhog Day
Massively frustrating.
Maybe remind the Board that this lot cannot be trusted, and too many flatter to deceive. We need to spend spend spend on quality. Get shot to the dross (how the Hell is McKirdy still getting a game for Hibs ?) and star a rebuild using folk who know what they're doing.
Unlucky not to get the 3 points I thought,much better second half 👍💚
Will take the point, should’ve been 3
A reminder to everyone at hibs that some quality additions are needed this month
Not a disaster but that was a golden opportunity to climb the table. Stupid mistake from Rocky and to me we created more 11v11
They had to come out more at 11v11 where as with 10 they just sat everyone behind the ball.
Just not enough quality. They are never scoring a goal today either without a pen.
02-01-2025, 04:04 PM
Great - I was hoping to avoid that score and watch it later
Cheers [emoji3]
Deleted. Sorry
I will take 13 points out of 15.
Shame Rangers have finally found form right before they play us.
Take the point and move on - thankfully games are thick and fast..
Newall and Youan to return on Sunday
Rangers to suffer an OF hangover
Couple of rumours to keep us hoping
GonzoReturns
A tired performance lack of depth.
They'll be coming to ER full of confidence :confused:
We missed Joe Newell today - all in all with the injuries we’ve had it’s a decent point gained.
I’d put money on Cadden getting a new deal.
Lessons still not being learnt if that’s the case.
02-01-2025, 04:05 PM
Wow, a bit OTT with the meltdown?
Frustrating, especially with other results today. 2 games on the bounce we’ve struggled against 10-men. Unbeaten run continues and no goals conceded from open play.
Just proved how thin the squad is....
Beyond frustrating. Writing was on the wall when you’re bringing on a striker who’s not scored a league goal when he’s been fit his whole spell with us.
We missed Joe Newell today - all in all with the injuries we’ve had it’s a decent point gained.
They have players out injured as well and were down to 10 men for the majority of the game.
Really disappointing result.
I’d put money on Cadden getting a new deal.Would be ridiculous. He's not good enough. Poor crosser and cannot defend. All he has is an engine to get up and down. We need better quality
Mcbizz1998
02-01-2025, 04:06 PM
Annoying a win would have put us joint 5th
No joint about it, we would have been 5th if we won.
I’ve seen it mentioned a couple of times. What difference would Newell have made today? We lacked quality and creativity in the final 3rd IMO, that’s not Newell.
MacGruber
Gray got that all wrong from the first whistle. St J are bottom and poor we should have had an attacking team on from the off. Then changes were needed at half time. Absolute pointless wasting another 15 to 20 mins until the obvious changes. Levitt and Gaye with another 15 mins might have won it. Hopefully get some bodies back soon because this Boyle and Hoilett combo isn't the answer.
Saying that and frustrating as it is, Gray has credit in the bank after the brilliant run so just put it down to one of those days
babahibs
Still think we should have had a penalty second half and would like another look at the disallowed goal
Absolutely,
Our disallowed goal, Hoilett's off but I'm not sure he touches the ball.
Miller getting clattered looks a pen to me.
Their pen? Don't make me laugh. Never in a million years.
Robbed again by incompetent/ corrupt official, it's never ending
I’m hoping that display from Kwon limits any time as a starter for us
He’s so poor
02-01-2025, 04:07 PM
Slow play, looked tired. No impact players other than relying on gayle sums our squad up.
Back gray
They have players out injured as well and were down to 10 men for the majority of the game.
Really disappointing result.
Yip that was a crap result today no matter how it's dressed up, worst team in the league playing with 10 men for 45 mins
No joint about it, we would have been 5th if we won.
You’re right, goal difference and all that 🤣
02-01-2025, 04:08 PM
Considering how this game has gone at least we got a point out of it which keeps an unbeaten run going. But ye gods from following this thread two things are pretty clear. A) we are a better team with Joe Newell in it ..... B) any thought that we can see out the season without adding some quality in this transfer window has well and truly been knocked on the head.
I suppose it's better to be ***** on the day and draw than to be ***** on the day and lose. A big game coming up and if we don't get Youan and Newell back and the likes of Iredale, Boyle and N Cadden firing on all cylinders it'll be a long afternoon
Gordy M
9 points of 3rd at the start of the year....all to play for.
Absolutely,
Our disallowed goal, Hoilett's off but I'm not sure he touches the ball.
Miller getting clattered looks a pen to me.
Their pen? Don't make me laugh. Never in a million years.
Robbed again by incompetent/ corrupt official, it's never ending
See if we created enough good chances, you wouldn’t have to come on and moan about the ref.
Squad being really shown up today. Lack of quality in the key moments cost us
DIXIHIBS
02-01-2025, 04:09 PM
Disappointing and a missed opportunity but 13 points from 15 over a difficult period is what we needed. Shows up the lack of depth today when a few injuries kick in so hopefully strengthen during the window. Bring on the Huns.
Hopefully that will be the last we see of that wee dynamo Mckirdy
02-01-2025, 04:10 PM
Disappointed with that. Some good chances created in both halves.
A tale of two penalties in many ways, a non penalty given against us and a less soft penalty not given for us.
Dreadful lack of depth in the squad highlighted by the subs we brought on. FWIW McKirdy didn’t do anything wrong, but he also didn’t really do anything.
If Newell is still unavailable for Sunday I hope Levitt gets a chance ahead of Kwon.
Just_Jimmy
02-01-2025, 04:11 PM
See if we created enough good chances, you wouldn’t have to come on and moan about the ref.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIf Scottish football wasn't bent, he wouldn't need to either
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
02-01-2025, 04:11 PM
1 point better than 0.
Frustrating day but Saints fighting to stay up - crap pitch and crap ref.
Only positive is that the board maybe realise we are still need much better to push on and a creative player is key.
02-01-2025, 04:12 PM
If Newell is still unavailable for Sunday I hope Levitt gets a chance ahead of Kwon.
What did Levitt offer today?
andrew_dundee
02-01-2025, 04:12 PM
I listened to the game and it sounds like we were alright but also that we need to add some depth to the team in this window.
Hopefully with some players on the way out, and with some wages freed up, we'll he in a position to bring people in.
02-01-2025, 04:13 PM
1 point better than 0.
Frustrating day but Saints fighting to stay up - crap pitch and crap ref.
Only positive is that the board maybe realise we are still need much better to push on and a creative player is key.
Against 10 men for the majority of the game and they're bottom of the league. 1 point is terrible.
Levitt was just as poor as Kwon today.
I’m hoping that display from Kwon limits any time as a starter for us
He’s so poor
I'd be sending him and bursik back if possible
NC1875
02-01-2025, 04:14 PM
What did Levitt offer today?
He was miles better than Kwon. Absolutely miles better
02-01-2025, 04:14 PM
Both did **** all to be fair.
02-01-2025, 04:15 PM
That's how poor Kwon is, Levitt done hee haw.
02-01-2025, 04:15 PM
Hopefully that will be the last we see of that wee dynamo Mckirdy
Literally all he does is run about falling over, diving and committing fouls
02-01-2025, 04:16 PM
Both did **** all to be fair.
Spot on
The Captain....
02-01-2025, 04:16 PM
Weirdly take a point out of today, it just wasn't happening for various reasons.
Gray has found a bit of consistency with a fairly reliable system and 11 but the familiar failings are apparent as soon as a few players missing.
I'd love to just see us make 2 really quality signigs in this window ( tricky i know) rather than try to plug 4 or 5 gaps tho.
Sent from my SM-S926B using Tapatalk
Newall needing a groin op according to some on twitter
NC1875
02-01-2025, 04:17 PM
At least Levitt had a bit urgency about him.
Kwon/Triantis are half asleep
Green-Hibee-7
02-01-2025, 04:17 PM
As has been the way over the past couple years, conceding at stupid times (just before half time with a man advantage to a daft penalty), is what has killed us. They are terrible. 0-0 into the second half and we win that.
Take the point and move on, but it does highlight that we are still lacking in quality and depth.
02-01-2025, 04:18 PM
Against 10 men for the majority of the game and they're bottom of the league. 1 point is terrible.
It’s been a mental few days with games and injuries etc.
Away to Motherwell / Celtic - Aberdeen and Hearts then Saints on a crappy pitch.
Plus Ross County and Killie wins chucked in.
I’m not happy with the point - especially against 10 but we could easily have done away with 0 points today which would be a total disaster.
We need more - better players and more depth. I hope the board sort that as we should be putting these teams away 11v11.
AdidasHibernian
02-01-2025, 04:18 PM
That pitch was honking.
Hopefully Levitt plays ahead of Kwon at weekend.
Huns got a good result today so reckon they will be up for weekend now with some momentum.
Green-Hibee-7
02-01-2025, 04:19 PM
Levitt came on to recycle the ball and keep it moving. He done that well. I can’t recall a missed placed pass. He was fine.
Crazyhorse
I agree. We should be up to 5th.
Thank **** for Gayle. He might be running on empty this season but he is scoring some absolutely vital goals, I just wish some of the rest of the team had his composure.
Gray got that all wrong from the first whistle. St J are bottom and poor we should have had an attacking team on from the off. Then changes were needed at half time. Absolute pointless wasting another 15 to 20 mins until the obvious changes. Levitt and Gaye with another 15 mins might have won it. Hopefully get some bodies back soon because this Boyle and Hoilett combo isn't the answer.
Saying that and frustrating as it is, Gray has credit in the bank after the brilliant run so just put it down to one of those days
You can’t rip up a structure that has been working for the last 6 or 7 games. He can only piss with the cock he’s got and right now we have a depleted squad.
rodhibs55
Point is better than none.
As many have said, today showed the lack of strength in depth with the squad. I reckon 5 of the named subs today will be away this window.
02-01-2025, 04:20 PM
It’s been a mental few days with games and injuries etc.
Away to Motherwell / Celtic - Aberdeen and Hearts then Saints on a crappy pitch.
Plus Ross County and Killie wins chucked in.
I’m not happy with the point - especially against 10 but we could easily have done away with 0 points today which would be a total disaster.
We need more - better players and more depth. I hope the board sort that as we should be putting these teams away 11v11.
Points total for the past month or so and form has been class. No one can deny that. But everyone's played the same amount of games over this period nah?
02-01-2025, 04:22 PM
Levitt came on to recycle the ball and keep it moving. He done that well. I can’t recall a missed placed pass. He was fine.
He had his one a game where he just fires it into space without looking and gives it away in a dangerous area. Does it every single time he plays.
02-01-2025, 04:25 PM
Newall needing a groin op according to some on twitter
Hope not, he’ll be a huge miss.
02-01-2025, 04:28 PM
Four points from two average performances. Not a disaster, but that was so frustrating
02-01-2025, 04:31 PM
Surely Amos if he’s been fit would’ve been a far better option than Kwon recently
Hibees1973
02-01-2025, 04:32 PM
Hoped that Triantis would step up today but overall the team was poor.
Joe always looks to be the out ball and making himself available. Just thought we lacked his creativity today.
When you replace Joe with Kwon it's clear we have a lack of depth in the squad.
Shame that Joe may be out for most of the month.
scotiaf
02-01-2025, 04:33 PM
Surely Amos if he’s been fit would’ve been a far better option than Kwon recently
Not sure on that, he’s never really been trusted and assume that’s a reason.
Exuberance1875
02-01-2025, 04:33 PM
Or NMW
scotiaf
02-01-2025, 04:35 PM
Poor performance but can’t be harsh on the points returns in the recent 7 games. Gayle might be getting old and sore but still a player worth 30 mins every game as a different level up top.
02-01-2025, 04:36 PM
Rockys been solid overall but that’s an own goal at tynie then giving away a penalty today.
He’s still making stupid mistakes that are costing goals, even if it’s one a game.
And it’s annoying because we definitely look more solid in general with him in there
MacGruber
02-01-2025, 04:36 PM
You can’t rip up a structure that has been working for the last 6 or 7 games. He can only piss with the cock he’s got and right now we have a depleted squad.
Can't agree and nobody talking about ripping up structures either. We did however need to be a bit more creative and go to Perth to win the game. Boyle and Hoilett up top meant we weren't carrying much of a threat from the off.
Then regardless, St J are down to 10, we are a goal down - roll the dice at half time. Absolutely no need to wait another 15, 20 minutes.
02-01-2025, 04:37 PM
Aberdeen have absolutely shat the bed , Decent recruitment in the window and 3rd is absolutely achievable
Cabbage-Patch
02-01-2025, 04:41 PM
I like Rocky and have no doubt he gives his all everytime he plays and loves the club etc but he's just no very good sadly. Another moment of madness has cost us today.
We also can't keep relying on Gayle to save us.
We desperately need a CB, a Centre Mid and an out and out 9 in January
02-01-2025, 04:44 PM
Aberdeen have absolutely shat the bed , Decent recruitment in the window and 3rd is absolutely achievable
Would’ve only been 7 points away had we taken the chance today
02-01-2025, 04:46 PM
Annoyingly games like today we need to win if we were serious about higher up.
If we had won today it would have been 7 points behind Dons (they have a game in hand).
02-01-2025, 04:47 PM
I like Rocky and have no doubt he gives his all everytime he plays and loves the club etc but he's just no very good sadly. Another moment of madness has cost us today.
We desperately need a CB, a Centre Mid and an out and out 9 in JanuaryWhat do you mean Gayle to save us? He's part of the squad as a striker to score goals
02-01-2025, 04:49 PM
We desperately need a CB, a Centre Mid and an out and out 9 in January
Think that’s fair - as a player you need to avoid these situations wi the better positioning / reading of the game / game management etc.
If Hibs are to progress we need fewer mistakes as a team. All season players have made key errors.
02-01-2025, 04:51 PM
today showed we lack some quality and good squad depth, if we have Mckirdy and NMW on our bench then we don't have enough of either. We fought hard for the point but just lacked creativity in the final third to get all three.
02-01-2025, 04:52 PM
Would’ve only been 7 points away had we taken the chance today
Annoyingly games like today we need to win if we were serious about higher up.
If we had won today it would have been 7 points behind Dons (they have a game in hand).
I think we have clawed back 15 points on Aberdeen in the last 6 weeks ? Something like that
3rd is defo up for grabs , Whether we actually do it is another thing but it should be a target
02-01-2025, 04:54 PM
It’s really not. If 3rd was realistic, we’d have comfortably beat ten men.
The recruitment would need to be exceptional for even a chance of 4th. Top six is the best we can hope this season. And that’s still a massive improvement from a few weeks ago.
02-01-2025, 04:54 PM
The recruitment would need to be exceptional for even a chance of 4th. Top six is the best we can hope this season. And that’s still a massive improvement from a few weeks ago.
I did say decent recruitment , So it really is
Coach Jon
02-01-2025, 04:55 PM
At least Levitt had a bit urgency about him.
Kwon/Triantis are half asleep
Urgency? Are you kidding?
Plenty opportunities to play a quick forward pass which was needed at the stage of the game but continued to pass sideways and backwards, pedestrian garbage. Played with absolutely zero drive whatsoever.
02-01-2025, 04:57 PM
Unbeaten in five , one defeat in our last 8 games ( away to the champions) and 13 points out of 18… every single one of us would have jumped for joy at the thought of that 38 days ago, as we headed in to an away match against Abedeeh after a 4-1 thumping from Dundee..
Happy to celebrate a point and look forward to some outgoings and incomings that will make us stronger.
:flag::flag:
Cabbage-Patch
02-01-2025, 04:58 PM
What do you mean Gayle to save us? He's part of the squad as a striker to score goals
He's a 35 year striker who has come off the bench to win us points at Hearts and today.... We need a 9 who can do that from the kick off which we don't have at the moment. Myko has been rotten and the lad Bowie will take a while to get back up and running and we can't push him back to quickly. Definitely need another 9 in January. Hopefully get rid of McKirdy and get someone else in
Cabbage-Patch
02-01-2025, 05:00 PM
No chance we get 3rd this time around. Our start to the season had put that to bed. Our aim now needs to just be comfortable top 6 and get through to the summer for a full rebuild.
02-01-2025, 05:01 PM
Unbeaten in five , one defeat in our last 8 games ( away to the champions) and 13 points out of 18… every single one of us would have jumped for joy at the thought of that 38 days ago, as we headed in to an away match against Abedeeh after a 4-1 thumping from Dundee..
Happy to celebrate a point and look forward to some outgoings and incomings that will make us stronger.
:flag::flag:
Away to the champions who's goaly was MOTM by the way , Hibs if it wasn't for very VERY poor finishing would have came away with at least 3 goals
Dundee 4-1 we were in cruise control and should have been 2 or 3 up till Obita got sent off at 1-0
We can defo finish higher than where we are
NC1875
02-01-2025, 05:04 PM
Urgency? Are you kidding?
Plenty opportunities to play a quick forward pass which was needed at the stage of the game but continued to pass sideways and backwards, pedestrian garbage. Played with absolutely zero drive whatsoever.
You must be kidding.
Levitt done everything quicker than Kwon when he came on. He’ll also play a pass out wide in one. Whereas Kwon/Triantis will play a shorter pass and then that player plays the ball out wide, 2 passes when 1 would do. So yes, more urgency.
He’s not the answer but to say he wasn’t more urgent in everything he done today compared with Kwon is nonsense.
HibeeDaz6270
02-01-2025, 05:05 PM
A missed opportunity today to go joint 5th place but at least it continues our unbeaten run. Youan is a big miss currently .
Junior Hoilett has been poor in the last two games. Other than one good through ball in the first half he contributed very little & thought he was poor in the Kilmarnock game
Fingers crossed Youan is not away & he is available for a hard game at Easter Road on Sunday.
02-01-2025, 05:07 PM
You must be kidding.
Levitt done everything quicker than Kwon when he came on. He’ll also play a pass out wide in one. Whereas Kwon/Triantis will play a shorter pass and then that player plays the ball out wide, 2 passes when 1 would do. So yes, more urgency.
He’s not the answer but to say he wasn’t more urgent in everything he done today compared with Kwon is nonsense.
Triantis is constantly missing a player out and getting it out wide. It's exactly how we scored the winner in the derby.
Levitt came one and played safe passes. He got on the ball more than Kwon, undoubtedly. But he never really did anything with it.
02-01-2025, 05:11 PM
Triantis is constantly missing a player out and getting it out wide. It's exactly how we scored the winner in the derby.
Levitt came one and played safe passes. He got on the ball more than Kwon, undoubtedly. But he never really did anything with it.
Pretty much how I saw Levitt today. Wasn’t bad was just a bit meh. It’s frustrating as he does have the ability to pick a pass.
02-01-2025, 05:21 PM
Levitt was a major upgrade on Kwon today to be fair
02-01-2025, 05:21 PM
Spot on. Levitt has had plenty chances and I hope we get shot of him.
02-01-2025, 05:22 PM
I'm happy with a draw.
Onward and upward!
02-01-2025, 05:43 PM
I'm happy with a draw.
Onward and upward!
Why would you be happy with a draw against the team at the bottom of the league who were down to 10 men for over half the game? 🤔
02-01-2025, 05:52 PM
Why would you be happy with a draw against the team at the bottom of the league who were down to 10 men for over half the game? 🤔
Because in the grand scene of things, we don’t have the depth to rotate the squad, we were down some key players at a venue that is traditionally difficult, and in the last seven games we’ve had four wins, two draws, and one loss against Celtic. Despite having knackered team.
02-01-2025, 05:55 PM
Because in the grand scene of things, we don’t have the depth to rotate the squad, we were down some key players at a venue that is traditionally difficult, and in the last seven games we’ve had four wins, two draws, and one loss against Celtic. Despite having knackered team.
I could almost accept that prior to kick off but, not after they went down to 10 men.
02-01-2025, 05:59 PM
You’re right that St Johnstone arent very good. But look at the options we had available. Gray was relying on two players that have been failures for a long period now (Levitt and McKirdy) and Rudi, who is promising but mostly untested, to change the game from the bench. Personally i wanted the wn but an away point isnt a disaster and we are still on a good run of form when we get some of our regular starters back and new signings in.
DIXIHIBS
02-01-2025, 06:00 PM
Table tightened again today with hertz Killie and RC all beating top 6 opposition. All to play for. Crazy considering our first 14 games but top 4/5 not unachievable.
02-01-2025, 06:01 PM
Disappointing and a missed opportunity but 13 points from 15 over a difficult period is what we needed. Shows up the lack of depth today when a few injuries kick in so hopefully strengthen during the window. Bring on the Huns.
Spot on - this performance shows up starkly the lack of quality in depth in our squad and hope something is done to address that in coming weeks. Reading through this thread though, I was dumbstruck by some of the gratuitously defeatist comments at 1-0 down - we are never scoring, relentless player bashing etc.... gie it a break lads - oh yee of little faith!
A different challenge altogether on Sunday vs the Huns - hope we get some of our more reliable performers back for that one and get back to winning ways!
02-01-2025, 06:02 PM
Only thing I would say is today might have been a great opportunity for one of the Academy strikers ahead of McKirdy. When you’re relying on him to score you know the game’s a bogey.
Relentless schedule, injuries etc, the last 5 games have delivered a great return to be honest, at tricky venues too.
02-01-2025, 06:04 PM
9 points behind Aberdeen, 7 points off 4th, 2 points off 5th and 6th with superior GD. 4 wins and a draw with 3 away games including Pittodrie and Tynie is a really impressive return.
Were we at our best today? No, we were miles off it. But willing to cut the team some slack as has been an unrelenting run and when I looked to our bench; we really are threadbare just now. Get through the Sevco game and then regroup for a big second half of the season, hopefully buoyed still by our run and with a few new additions to freshen things up plus the likes of Bowie back in the picture. Probably would have taken a point going into today, Perth is always a ranc place to go - never once have I come away thinking it was a good game of football.
02-01-2025, 06:05 PM
Spot on - this performance shows up starkly the lack of quality in depth in our squad and hope something is done to address that in coming weeks. Reading through this thread though, I was dumbstruck by some of the gratuitously defeatist comments at 1-0 down - we are never scoring, relentless player bashing etc.... gie it a break lads - oh yee of little faith!
A different challenge altogether on Sunday vs the Huns - hope we get some of our more reliable performers back for that one and get back to winning ways!
:agree: Although if you are surprised you arent often on the match threads! Its absolutely relentless negativity until we score. Sometimes ive glanced at my phone during a VAR delay or whatever and its like im at a different game.
02-01-2025, 06:05 PM
Today was what I feared it would be. The drop off with Youan and Newell being replaced by Hoilett and Kwon is big.
But we played for an hour against 10 men, we had to find a way to win. Rocky doing what Rocky does and costing us though.
When we brought McKirdy in near the end and you’re looking up the spine of the team containing Rocky, Levitt (who has played about and hour all season), Campbell and McKirdy it explains a bit as to why we still are where we are. A bit of a reminder for a few folk IMO.
I'm happy with a draw.
Onward and upward!
Easy pleased🙄
jakedance
02-01-2025, 06:25 PM
Today really exposed the weaknesses in our squad. We should have had enough to win but coming back to get a point and another week where we’ve not lost a late goal are positives to take.
I can’t comment on the penalty because I was in the queue for pies but though Rocky played well from what I saw. Also thought Levitt wasn’t great but definitely improved us. Kwon doesn’t win the ball back nearly enough, and when he does his passing is poor. I’m not a fan of Newell but we missed him. I don’t really see the point of McKirdy getting on.
02-01-2025, 06:30 PM
That was pretty dire and just shows the limit of resources Gray has to work with. We've been on a great wee run of late but with key players missing and little depth of quality in the squad, it was always going to be a struggle to get a result today. I'll take the point but if we don't significantly strengthen in this window, then we're mid-table quality at best. The manager is not the problem here.
02-01-2025, 06:35 PM
Easy pleased🙄
Find that reply rather strange as you posted several times before the match that you thought we would struggle today.
02-01-2025, 06:35 PM
:agree: Although if you are surprised you arent often on the match threads! Its absolutely relentless negativity until we score. Sometimes ive glanced at my phone during a VAR delay or whatever and its like im at a different game.
I'm a regular reader of the match day threads - especially on days like today when I wasn't at the match - and you're right that near relentless negativity is the norm if we're not at least a goal up. It's just that after 4 wins on the bounce with the last one a thoroughly deserved win at Tynie I struggle to understand where these depths of almost suicidal gloom come from. :confused:
02-01-2025, 06:36 PM
I'm a regular reader of the match day threads - especially on days like today when I wasn't at the match - and you're right that near relentless negativity is the norm if we're not at least a goal up. It's just that after 4 wins on the bounce with the last one a thoroughly deserved win at Tynie I struggle to understand where these depths of almost suicidal gloom come from. :confused:
Couldn’t agree more
02-01-2025, 06:38 PM
Find that reply rather strange as you posted several times before the match that you thought we would struggle today.
I don’t think that’s strange at all. I had the same feeling on my way up. We were pretty poor on Sunday and managed to battle through. The starting lineup was further weakened from that as well. Today wasn’t a huge surprise IMO. The games were catching up with a thin squad.
02-01-2025, 06:45 PM
I know. Its a wider topic but i do feel like post Covid there is more anxiety, impatience and grumpiness with life in general. And folk that I talk to at games seem to be generally happier, or at least understanding , with what they are seeing than the impression you get from reading this site, maybe reflecting increased intolerance online as well.
02-01-2025, 06:45 PM
I don’t think that’s strange at all. I had the same feeling on my way up. We were pretty poor on Sunday and managed to battle through. The starting lineup was further weakened from that as well. Today wasn’t a huge surprise IMO. The games were catching up with a thin squad.
Agree, I wasn't expecting much today with no strikers other than Gayle who can only play for half an hour and there were a few warning signs on Sunday.
Two things that puzzled me - why was Campbell played so deep when he's far more effective further forward. And why he didn't change it at half time. Iredale looked shot after half an hour for some reason and Miller was never going to contribute much when we were pressing forward against 10 men. And Kwon is just not good enough.
Didn't tell us anything we didn't know - Rocky and Miller can't be trusted and there is very little creativity in midfield.
02-01-2025, 06:46 PM
Agree, I wasn't expecting much today with no strikers other than Gayle who can only play for half an hour and there were a few warning signs on Sunday.
Two things that puzzled me - why was Campbell played so deep when he's far more effective further forward. And why he didn't change it at half time. Iredale looked shot after half an hour for some reason and Miller was never going to contribute much when we were pressing forward against 10 men. And Kwon is just not good enough.
Didn't tell us anything we didn't know - Rocky and Miller can't be trusted and there is very little creativity in midfield.
Miller was motm in last game
02-01-2025, 06:48 PM
My point was I found it strange that Lago had a pop at someone for being happy with a point when he/she wasn't remotely confident before the game.
02-01-2025, 06:50 PM
That’s been the story of Miller’s time though. Good game then reverts to what we see more often than not. Him dithering on the ball and giving it away cheaply is something we’ve been seeing for two and a half years now.
02-01-2025, 06:51 PM
My point was I found it strange that Lago had a pop at someone for being happy with a point when he/she wasn't remotely confident before the game.
Circumstances change when you play against 10 men for an hour.
02-01-2025, 06:52 PM
He defends pretty well when we're under the cosh but he hesitated at a vital moment and it cost us. Happens time and time again. He gives the ball away far too much.
Crazyhorse
02-01-2025, 06:57 PM
No chance we get 3rd this time around. Our start to the season had put that to bed. Our aim now needs to just be comfortable top 6 and get through to the summer for a full rebuild.
Agree. And TBH a month ago I would have been amazed and delighted to be in with a chance to get top six this season.