View Full Version : Bursic
17-11-2024, 02:06 PM
Only one of the three an error was St Mirren one Murray shooting from close through his legs Motherwell one an unstoppable high shot imo. Defending in the three instances very poor two up at tannadice his fault the guys a dud and if we stick with him we will go down.
17-11-2024, 04:37 PM
two up at tannadice his fault the guys a dud and if we stick with him we will go down.
Not sure the captain getting sent off helped. Certainly his fault the winning goal however the second goal was about 10 players at fault
18-11-2024, 12:57 PM
Out of the myriad of guff signings made by Gordon and/or Mackay, he’s by far and away the worst because he’s:
1) signed as a first choice in a position where there’s most scrutiny on mistakes.
2) He can’t be hidden away either on loan (like Tavares and Kenneh) because he’s a loan signing himself.
3) His deputy has had one game in his place where he was unconvincing, and he has even less recent first-team experience than Bursik had.
I reckon he’s the worst signing that’s been made, but then I suspect the parameters of him and his understudy’s signing is that there was no fee allowed to be paid for a GK, and they had to come here dirt cheap.
You get what you pay for right enough.
You and your relentless attacks on the club yet again.
We’ve spent more money - not necessarily wisely - on new players over the past few years that at any other time in our history. How can you possibly come to the conclusion that the two new keepers “had to come here dirt cheap?” What a load of absolute drivel.
18-11-2024, 12:59 PM
Poppadom fingers must be one of the worst keepers I've seen so Smith must be utterly woeful not to get a game
18-11-2024, 01:18 PM
Poppadom fingers must be one of the worst keepers I've seen so Smith must be utterly woeful not to get a game
There's really no need.
18-11-2024, 01:50 PM
You probably thought that was hilarious in your head but it isn't. Childish name calling.
18-11-2024, 03:13 PM
Only one of the three an error was St Mirren one Murray shooting from close through his legs Motherwell one an unstoppable high shot imo. Defending in the three instances very poor
Yeah my point was with those examples they were not what you might call a glaring error but I thought a goalie would have had a decent chance at all three. 50/50 moments where you need your goalie to make big saves now and again to get you a result and he is not doing it at all.
Anyway don't intend to bash the guy during an international week. It's just a really poor situation we find ourselves in recruitment wise and IMO we cannot go beyond Jan with what we have or we are in trouble.
Hibiza
18-11-2024, 03:27 PM
Scotty Leither
18-11-2024, 05:26 PM
We’ve spent more money - not necessarily wisely - on new players over the past few years that at any other time in our history. How can you possibly come to the conclusion that the two new keepers “had to come here dirt cheap?” What a load of absolute drivel.
Really? How much do you think the back up goalie cost who’s barely played a competitive game in 5 years? I’ll bet he cost absolutely zilch.
Chorley Hibee
18-11-2024, 05:44 PM
I'd say that we were spending a lot of money up until this summer.
Apart from Bowie, this summer's signings were the usual free transfers, over the hill signings and loans that we'd been accustomed to for a long while.
I suspect it's because the finances are ****ed, and we'll see that at the next AGM.
It's no coincidence that our management team where also from the bargain basement bin too.
18-11-2024, 08:17 PM
Really? How much do you think the back up goalie cost who’s barely played a competitive game in 5 years? I’ll bet he cost absolutely zilch.
That doesn’t explain your statement that they “had to come here dirt cheap”.
Criswell
19-11-2024, 02:13 AM
How long can we afford to persist with him in the hope he "comes good" If that ever happens, which I doubt will, Championship football next season is a strong possibility. The goalkeeping position is nearly always problematic for us.
19-11-2024, 05:50 AM
Will Dennis in January is surely a given!
Bursik in the nicest possible way is not good enough, I’d be concerned at him being our sub goalie never mind number 1 until the rest of the season
19-11-2024, 08:09 AM
I don't know what would be worse, that we went with an ultra cheap option for our starting goalie or we paid any half decent amount towards the loan of a very poor one.
19-11-2024, 08:15 AM
Will Dennis in January is surely a given!
Bursik in the nicest possible way is not good enough, I’d be concerned at him being our sub goalie never mind number 1 until the rest of the season
Bournemouth would need to bring in a new keeper before he’d be allowed to leave.
Scotty Leither
19-11-2024, 09:16 AM
Sorry I’m not teasing out every single syllable of anything I post for you. If you think it’s “drivel” kick on, or put me on ignore, I really couldn’t care.
19-11-2024, 10:27 AM
Was prepared to give the laddie the benefit of the doubt after a few terrible clangers but that second goal versus the Saintees was the final straw we need a safe reliable experienced keeper in January or we are in deep merde
Easier said than done no doubt
19-11-2024, 11:23 AM
Was prepared to give the laddie the benefit of the doubt after a few terrible clangers but that second goal versus the Saintees was the final straw we need a safe reliable experienced keeper in January or we are in deep merde
Easier said than done no doubt
Bursic is pretty hopeless and even when he plays "ok" he is unreliable.
The only saving grace is that we didnt buy him.
Surely there must be a sub keeper somewhere (even in the BK group) that is better than him for a January loan?
19-11-2024, 11:45 AM
Bournemouth would need to bring in a new keeper before he’d be allowed to leave.
Or just promote a youth keeper? Surely they have one, they'll end up playing the same amount of games at Bournemouth you'd imagine.
21-11-2024, 08:36 AM
Sure they have seven Keepers in their squad already.
Donegal Hibby
21-11-2024, 09:43 AM
Sure they have seven Keepers in their squad already.
Think Neto joined Arsenal ? Which would leave six if you’re right ( not doubting you btw) .. going on Bournemouths season so far apart from the first two games which Neto started as NO 1 it’s been .. Arrizabalaga six starts and Travers 3 . Travers has been the sub keeper eight times with Dennis sub three times…
Looks very much like Dennis is their third choice , maybe the other keepers are young ones possibly? .
21-11-2024, 10:12 AM
Think Neto joined Arsenal ? Which would leave six if you’re right ( not doubting you btw) .. going on Bournemouths season so far apart from the first two games which Neto started as NO 1 it’s been .. Arrizabalaga six starts and Travers 3 . Travers has been the sub keeper eight times with Dennis sub three times…
Looks very much like Dennis is their third choice , maybe the other keepers are young ones possibly? .
Think their fourth choice is young Callan McKenna who was at Queens Park, only 17 but meant to be absolutely brilliant
Wonder if they’d consider having him as third choice/emergency keeper and send Dennis out?
23-11-2024, 05:48 PM
Saying it now - worst Hibs signing in my lifetime. Maybe longer.
23-11-2024, 05:48 PM
I don't care if Smith has ONE ****ING LEG. GET THIS IMPOSTER OUT OF THE TEAM
23-11-2024, 05:49 PM
1. Bursik
2. Malkowski
Malkowski is currently busy bidding for Bursiks top that the club were trying to hoor even before a baw was kicked
23-11-2024, 05:50 PM
**** the **** off.
23-11-2024, 05:50 PM
In 50 years supporting us he’s the worst keeper I’ve seen for us. Disgusted in the staff for keeping on putting this guy between the sticks. Dreadful dreadful dreadful.
WestCoastHibby
23-11-2024, 05:51 PM
Another total gift of a goal
Worst keeper in a very very long time
Biggest clown we've ever had. He can't play another minute for us again and get him sent packing on January 1st at 12:01am.
Doh Rae Me
The worst ever to wear the jersey
23-11-2024, 05:52 PM
If you needed to have a licence to own goalie gloves his would be taken off him
He’s a danger
23-11-2024, 05:52 PM
Not even close in terms of competition to the second worst option. Legit Sunday pub league level.
23-11-2024, 05:53 PM
Get him binned !!! He's a car crash of a goalie .
To be fair even the average punter saw this in August when the thread was started.
Nearly in December now and he still plays and makes a mistake every week.
We deserve everything we get.
He can't come out this second half, I don't want to see this guy in a Hibs jersey ever again.
delbert
From a club who had Makalamby, Gottskalson and Zibi on the books, that’s quite an accolade ! 👍
TheHibernator
Absolute diddy, a wooden plank would be more use
23-11-2024, 05:54 PM
Bursik, GTF
Bursik Bursik GTF
23-11-2024, 05:54 PM
Got to admit it was a good laugh seeing him trying to blame the defence for his **** up though
mcfly
23-11-2024, 05:55 PM
Worst goalie in the league
Wonder who's responsible for the signing. Has to be up there with one of our worst ever.
Ali Dia probably a better signing.
I’m positive we must have agreed with his parent club that he must play if fit. Absolutely no chance would he have been kept in the team otherwise.
HendoDelivered
23-11-2024, 05:56 PM
Worst keeper in Britain.
I often laugh at hyperbole on here but these "worst signing ever" shouts could genuinely be right.
tonyrougier123
Horrific decision to go with this boy as 1st choice goalie
23-11-2024, 05:58 PM
Starting to feel sorry for the boy. Needs taken out the team
23-11-2024, 05:58 PM
I often laugh at hyperbole on here but these "worst signing ever" shouts could genuinely be right.
He looks like someone who’s won a competition to be in the team, but the person who won the competition was a massive Hearts fan.
TheHibernator
23-11-2024, 05:59 PM
From a club who had Makalamby, Gottskalson and Zibi on the books, that’s quite an accolade ! 👍
Makalambay is prime Buffon compared to this fraud
23-11-2024, 05:59 PM
I watched Joe Lewis play in masters football last Thursday
He is 100% better than Bursik
23-11-2024, 06:00 PM
There’s Shay Given on the telly, we should offer him a million to come out of retirement.
23-11-2024, 06:34 PM
Poor guy needs taking out of the team for his own good. He’s totally devoid of confidence.
23-11-2024, 06:57 PM
Was he ever confident
23-11-2024, 06:57 PM
poor guy needs taking out of the team for his own good. He’s totally devoid of ability and hand eye coordination .
ftfy
23-11-2024, 06:59 PM
I'm convinced nobody scouted this clown, as anyone with eyes can see he's bloody hopeless.
RossScott1991
23-11-2024, 07:01 PM
The worst goalkeeper there’s ever been at Hibs imo. Couldn’t catch a cold
Hibees1973
23-11-2024, 07:02 PM
Another comedy gold performance.
Pay up his contract until it's end (know he's a loan) and get an Uber to send him back to where he came from.
He is only going to damage us more while he is here.
1875M
23-11-2024, 07:02 PM
Build of a teenager and the worst keeper I’ve seen at Hibs in my life and my god, we’ve had some absolute dross. Whoever scouted him should be immediately banned from the club and sacked on the spot without severance pay.
HIBS NUTS
23-11-2024, 07:03 PM
A bad goalie gets you relegated.
Is that the 3rd or 4th time he’s arsed a pass back in 12 games.
He was also on the ground for the 4th goal, before the pass went past him.
I know it’s Rocky’s fault, but just make an attempt man.
Enough is enough. Someone must know who's culpable for signing him.
I'm convinced nobody scouted this clown, as anyone with eyes can see he's bloody hopeless.
As with every signing I searched his name on Twitter
The one comment that kept coming up was he doesn’t save shots
No surprise to me that’s what we’re seeing
The worst goalkeeper there’s ever been at Hibs imo. Couldn’t catch a cold
And that’s no easy title to earn.
23-11-2024, 07:04 PM
Thinks he’s ederson strolling about
****ing ********
HIBS NUTS
23-11-2024, 09:51 PM
A bad goalkeeper gets a poor team relegated.
23-11-2024, 09:54 PM
But somebody in the club decided to sign him.
That person has clearly never watched a decent keeper if they thought he was it.
Bursic is crap, but the person responsible for signing him has done far, far more damage to us.
Blurhibee
23-11-2024, 09:55 PM
And Davie gray keeps picking him, absolutely ridiculous
23-11-2024, 09:55 PM
A bad goalie gets you relegated.
Is that the 3rd or 4th time he’s arsed a pass back in 12 games.
He was also on the ground for the 4th goal, before the pass went past him.
I know it’s Rocky’s fault, but just make an attempt man.
We never learn our lesson. That's the issue about a club without any foundation in its history or people that understand what fans have been through.
If I was building a first XI from scratch a solid keeper would be my priority. We've lost so, so many points over the years, versus a guy like Gordon that has gained so many for Hearts.
And the worst thing is that a steady keeper is really not that hard to find. Clubs in our league seem to manage it season after season.
ionahibby
23-11-2024, 10:06 PM
He has good saves in him, as we seen tonight. I think confidence is the issue plus having that erse samson as coach.
HIBS NUTS
23-11-2024, 10:11 PM
He has good saves in him, as we seen tonight. I think confidence is the issue plus having that erse samson as coach.
I can remember him having 3 good saves all season, rangers Ross county and one today.
apart from the 3 saves, he’s been horrendous, a coach has to tell him not to flop down, before a player shoots,he makes scoring so easy, he also has absolutely no presence.
23-11-2024, 10:14 PM
That touch he took tonight is not coaching, it’s just being *****.
23-11-2024, 10:16 PM
Maybe the problem is that he reads Hibs Net.
😳
Murphys Touch
23-11-2024, 10:17 PM
Makes Rocky look like Buffon
Willis1875
23-11-2024, 10:19 PM
Makes Rocky look like Buffon
Makes Zibi look like Buffon
heid the baw
23-11-2024, 10:21 PM
I can remember him having 3 good saves all season, rangers Ross county and one today.
apart from the 3 saves, he’s been horrendous, a coach has to tell him not to flop down, before a player shoots,he makes scoring so easy, he also has absolutely no presence.
His distribution is also very poor. Like you say, no presence
DarrenSQH
23-11-2024, 10:22 PM
Maybe the problem is that he reads Hibs Net.
😳
During passbacks
23-11-2024, 10:31 PM
What the **** was he going for the fourth? Just watched it back and he dives out the way of it?
If this is all we can come up with we are ****ed.
HIBS NUTS
23-11-2024, 10:37 PM
What the **** was he going for the fourth? Just watched it back and he dives out the way of it?
If this is all we can come up with we are ****ed.
He done the same against st Mirren , sat on the ground before the shot.
WWFTWTG
23-11-2024, 10:38 PM
Not his fault - its the guy who keeps picking him
Mr Grieves
23-11-2024, 10:38 PM
He's never looked like a keeper since he's been here. Whoever signed him and the sub keeper who's even worse needs ****ing sacked
HIBS NUTS
23-11-2024, 10:41 PM
The invisible man smith ,our permanent signing, must have one arm, how can he be worse .
He's here!
He's never looked like a keeper since he's been here. Whoever signed him and the sub keeper who's even worse needs ****ing sacked
Is it an established fact that the back-up is worse? It seems to be the common consensus.
The third goal, in particular, was definitely his fault. My 8 year old has more awareness of what’s around him on a football pitch.
Musselbound
23-11-2024, 10:43 PM
Incredible that he seems to have no competition. I've seen several better looking keepers in the Championship including one we got rid of.
ChuckNor
23-11-2024, 10:51 PM
Said it right at the start, a bad goalkeeper is all you need to get relegated. It’s going to happen if we don’t take action as soon as possible. I refuse to believe Smith or Boruc are worse.
Criswell
23-11-2024, 10:52 PM
A sentence which contains the words Bursic and goalkeeper should never ever be uttered
23-11-2024, 11:20 PM
Said it right at the start, a bad goalkeeper is all you need to get relegated. It’s going to happen if we don’t take action as soon as possible. I refuse to believe Smith or Boruc are worse.
Do you think that part of his loan deal is that he must play if fit?
23-11-2024, 11:29 PM
I think it’s the only logical reason for him not to be dropped.
ChuckNor
23-11-2024, 11:32 PM
I’d be very surprised if it was. Bursic was signed with the thinking we had ourselves an English Championship quality goalkeeper who would slot in at this level no problem. His lack of game time at Brugge and the reasons for it were not really considered. Our recruitment team has been very poor with basic research (there are other examples, some that would be unfair as they’ve nor played enough yet).
It turned out we signed someone who would struggle to get game time in the Scottish championship. A dreadful goalie who will most likely float around as a second choice in League Two living off his time with England Under 21s.
He's here!
23-11-2024, 11:40 PM
I’d be very surprised if it was. Bursic was signed with the thinking we had ourselves an English Championship quality goalkeeper who would slot in at this level no problem. His lack of game time at Brugge and the reasons for it were not really considered. Our recruitment team has been very poor with basic research (there are other examples, some that would be unfair as they’ve nor played enough yet).
It turned out we signed someone who would struggle to get game time in the Scottish championship. A dreadful goalie who will most likely float around as a second choice in League Two living off his time with England Under 21s.
On paper his CV looks perfectly reasonable. Capped regularly for England at every level from U17 to U21 and seemingly decent enough at the numerous clubs he's been at. Somebody signing him on that basis would feel pretty confident he could hack it in Scotland's top flight.
davym7062
23-11-2024, 11:43 PM
hes ***** *** off
ChuckNor
23-11-2024, 11:50 PM
On paper his CV looks perfectly reasonable. Capped regularly for England at every level from U17 to U21 and seemingly decent enough at the numerous clubs he's been at. Somebody signing him on that basis would feel pretty confident he could hack it in Scotland's top flight.
Some basic research would’ve shown he was miles off the level required to be our first choice goalkeeper. Unforgivable signing. To follow it up with Smith was just incredible. We thought we’d cracked it and wouldn’t even need a back up of any quality. Smith is basically a training keeper. He won’t be trusted with the gloves, which is mad.
HarpOnHibee
23-11-2024, 11:59 PM
Football games are not won on paper though, they're won on grass. If the recruitment are relying on CVs to determine whether to recommend a player to management or not, then it's no wonder we end up getting what we get. They should be analyzing the performances of players for their respected clubs and looking through a backlog of footage of previous performances to help them determine whether a player is worth investing in or not. Not simply relying on metrics printed on a sheet of paper.
24-11-2024, 12:00 AM
It’s a crime for him to own a pair of gloves
7Hero
24-11-2024, 12:05 AM
bring back Zibby and Makalamby all is forgiven...
Stanton Spence
24-11-2024, 12:06 AM
Without doubt the worst top flight keeper I’ve seen and I’ve said it before you can avoid relegation with the odd poor or lazy player but poor keepers get you relegated
24-11-2024, 12:16 AM
If we have no intention of playing Boruc, I’d honestly contemplate asking Marshall to come out of retirement.
He was hardly a good goalie for us but I can’t remember seeing a goalie as bad as Bursic. And I’m not just talking about at Hibs.
24-11-2024, 12:19 AM
Saying it now - worst Hibs signing in my lifetime. Maybe longer.
Worst Hibs player ever.
Absolute joke of a footballer.
Fair enough I’m just bitter… about missing the competition where if you collected enough crisp packets you got the chance to play for Hibs.
And funnily enough, I think the existence of Jordan Smith at Hibs pisses me off even more. How can you be a professional footballer with so little self respect that you’re content playing second fiddle to that ****?
Obviously our problems go deeper than that one position but ffs…
24-11-2024, 12:24 AM
Boruc is the best goalkeeper at the club, even players know it.
24-11-2024, 12:27 AM
Boruc is the best goalkeeper at the club, even players know it.
I’ve seen him dive in the right direction of a shot
So on that basis I believe you
24-11-2024, 12:36 AM
What are the consequences of not playing him? A fine? We'd lose a hell of a lot more money if we're relegated.
I don't give a **** what any loan agreement says. Drop him.
24-11-2024, 04:21 AM
He has the shot stopping ability of Oxley along with the calamitous mistakes of zibi and Makalambay. A deadly combination that puts him in the worst ever category.
24-11-2024, 04:56 AM
I refuse to believe Smith or Boruc would do worse than him. There must even be a free agent knocking about that could stroll in and give us a better option than playing Bursik.
24-11-2024, 06:11 AM
A sentence which contains the words Bursic and goalkeeper should never ever be uttered
Joe Bursik is the worst goalkeeper we’ve had in my lifetime.
24-11-2024, 06:16 AM
Why is it always someone elses fault apart from the actual player when they are hopeless?:confused:
24-11-2024, 06:18 AM
He's dreadful. Someone has actually "scouted" this guy. I'm convinced we sign players based on numbers on a screen rather than actually watching anyone before signing them.
I'm not sure he's worse than Zibi though. Maybe that's just cause the majority of his mistakes came against hearts so stung more.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
24-11-2024, 06:44 AM
Bursic has been poor and his confidence looks shot but stick any goalkeeper behind that shambles of a team and they will struggle.
24-11-2024, 06:47 AM
Terrible terrible keeper, when he took the horrendous touch for the goal he actually tried to blame someone else, he needs dropped for Tuesday but think we know it won't happen
24-11-2024, 07:05 AM
hes ***** *** off
Succinct, no words wasted. :greengrin:greengrin
24-11-2024, 07:15 AM
It’s behind you!!! Pantomime season right enough.
Then end the loan and send him back!
If you bought anything else that isn't fit for purpose you'd send it back.
We could maybe employ a "Return One, Get Two Free" policy and try and get rid of more of the spineless turd that blights our squad!
24-11-2024, 07:43 AM
Bursic has been poor and his confidence looks shot but stick any goalkeeper behind that shambles of a team and they will struggle.
Never understood this argument. For a goalie, it’s a chance to really shine if your defence isn’t strong, you can show how good you are at shot stopping and taking crosses and play a part in improving the defenders.
If a team is struggling defensively, or even not, they will always need their keeper to save them occasionally. Apart from Ross county away bursik hasn’t really provided significant contribution.
24-11-2024, 07:56 AM
Ran out of polite ways to say he's not good enough. Gets away with one in the first half that comes off the post wtf was he doing? Even the second for me again shows his lack of any sort of presence. Simply cannot continue to be selected. The third goal he effectively kills the game as a contest for the supporters. Unacceptable.
24-11-2024, 08:05 AM
David Gray has changed every player in the starting eleven apart from this clown.
As much as we still crave gray to turn this round, you must punish a goalie who makes Consistant costly errors. Even if it’s a young laddie as back-up. He simply has to be dropped now.
24-11-2024, 08:19 AM
We know this guy is pish, he's actually costing us goals if not every week, most weeks.
The 2 keepers under him just have to be given a chance, it's not as if they can make things worse than letting in goals any competant keeper should save?
24-11-2024, 08:33 AM
We know this guy is pish, he's actually costing us goals if not every week, most weeks.
The 2 keepers under him just have to be given a chance, it's not as if they can make things worse than letting in goals any competant keeper should save?
Absolutely the only thing to do.
Trinity Hibee
24-11-2024, 08:59 AM
100%
ChuckNor
24-11-2024, 09:08 AM
Needs to happen. But it won’t. Find it totally bizarre.
24-11-2024, 09:15 AM
I can only think there’s some sort of clause in his contract that we’ll have to pay a set amount if he doesn’t start x number of games.
Saying that, Gray has certain players he will play rain or shine despite the consequences. He’s watched the likes of C Cadden, Newell, Campbell get multiple previous managers sacked yet convinced himself it will be different under him by making them mainstays.
24-11-2024, 09:25 AM
We need to change the keeper now.
A keeper lacking confidence spreads throughout the whole team. I'm not saying he is solely to blame for the nervousness in defensive situations but he is a factor.
Keepers like that get teams relegated. The guy Dundee Utd had a couple of seasons ago actually had the highest save percentage in the league for a big chunk of the season but he also had a costly error every other week and was a big reason United went down. We are in the same position with Bursik now. At 2-1 down I doubt we were ever coming back into the game but we were one break or Dundee mistake away from potentially doing so. His error killed any hope whatsoever.
Try Boruc or Smith and try to get through to January still in touch then address the situation. Bournemouth have 2 good keepers on their books in Dennis and McKenna (admittedly the latter is very young but he looked special at Queen's Park). Surely we can get one of them in until the summer, preferably Dennis obviously, to steady the ship. Just cut Bursik's loan short and go with a new loan keeper and the other 2 as back ups until the summer when we can reassess.
24-11-2024, 09:27 AM
He makes the occasional good save, he had one last night, but that nowhere near compensates for the regular mistakes and moments of madness.
It doesn't really matter now how good the back up keeper is we simply have to make a change.
24-11-2024, 09:34 AM
The mistake for the goal just felt so predictable.
Simon Murray is a pest, a nuisance, we all know that. He managed to force Rocky into a mistake that cost us a goal up at County last season, he was a nuisance at Easter Road earlier this season. You’d have thought that Bursik (and all of our defenders tbh) would have been warned to know where he is at all times to know whether or not there is time available to take a touch - that any touch needs to be good and if there isn’t time then just lump it.
24-11-2024, 09:46 AM
He cannot stay in the team. If he does, that’s a sackable offence all on its own.
There is no way either of the other two can be worse.
24-11-2024, 10:02 AM
Has never been good enough. Its baffling how he is still in the team but sadly its seems David Gray is clueless about GKs as well.
He's here!
24-11-2024, 10:05 AM
Football games are not won on paper though, they're won on grass. If the recruitment are relying on CVs to determine whether to recommend a player to management or not, then it's no wonder we end up getting what we get. They should be analyzing the performances of players for their respected clubs and looking through a backlog of footage of previous performances to help them determine whether a player is worth investing in or not. Not simply relying on metrics printed on a sheet of paper.
I agree. I'm just quite taken aback by how bad he is when you look at his CV. He must have shown genuine ability to make the career progress he did.
24-11-2024, 10:09 AM
Could we punt him off to the Edinburgh panto? He would make an excellent Cinderella as he’s always late to the ball.
24-11-2024, 10:12 AM
He makes the occasional good save, he had one last night, but that nowhere near compensates for the regular mistakes and moments of madness.
It doesn't really matter now how good the back up keeper is we simply have to make a change.
That was the first half decent save he’s had tbh, there was one against RC that folk were raving about, if hadn’t made it you’d be asking questions. By far the worst I’ve saw in 5 decades and there’s been some clowns in that time.
24-11-2024, 10:12 AM
If he starts on Tuesday then there simply has to be some kind of clause that he needs to play every game if fit. I refuse to believe that whoever the manager is would actively choose to play a goalkeeper that's clearly miles off it.
1875M
24-11-2024, 10:14 AM
Perhaps Gray thinks it’s the lesser of 2 evils? The other guy might be even worse if he sees him in training every day and is still picking this joker.
24-11-2024, 10:20 AM
Perhaps Gray thinks it’s the lesser of 2 evils? The other guy might be even worse if he sees him in training every day and is still picking this joker.
That's my worry as well. His career is so similar to Bursik. Played about 50 games in the English Championship about a decade ago and has barely featured for any team since.
I'd be playing Boruc, I know he wasn't great out on loan, but the few times he's played for us I think he's looked fine. Much better than Bursik.
HarpOnHibee
24-11-2024, 11:16 AM
I agree. I'm just quite taken aback by how bad he is when you look at his CV. He must have shown genuine ability to make the career progress he did.
Yet, if you dig up comments from fans of the previous clubs he was at, they all say the same things that we're saying about him now. Either he's the worlds greatest con man and performs exceptionally well in job interviews, or we're ran by fools.
The few times I saw Kevin Dąbrowski play he looked OK.
I was surprised when we let him go. Would have been worthwhile developing him.
HIBS NUTS
24-11-2024, 11:25 AM
That's my worry as well. His career is so similar to Bursik. Played about 50 games in the English Championship about a decade ago and has barely featured for any team since.
I'd be playing Boruc, I know he wasn't great out on loan, but the few times he's played for us I think he's looked fine. Much better than Bursik.
I actually seen Boruc play recently for the reserves/ development team against Hamilton he was decent, and was shouting the whole game, gray was watching.
I don’t know why the invisible Smith wasent playing.
Boruc is massive, and appears to me a better option.
24-11-2024, 11:39 AM
Who was in goals when Charlie Adam caught them out with 2 free kicks at Easter road? Must've been around 2007 or 2008
HarpOnHibee
24-11-2024, 11:47 AM
Who was in goals when Charlie Adam caught them out with 2 free kicks at Easter road? Must've been around 2007 or 2008
Simon Brown 2006-07 season.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/6409023.stm
Ribs1875
24-11-2024, 01:09 PM
I actually seen Boruc play recently for the reserves/ development team against Hamilton he was decent, and was shouting the whole game, gray was watching.
I don’t know why the invisible Smith wasent playing.
Boruc is massive, and appears to me a better option.
It was a waste of wages bring Bursik and Smith in. I thought Boruc and Johnson should have been fighting for the gloves.
24-11-2024, 01:27 PM
Some of his positional play was also called out by Stewart, the one that hit off the post and another time.
If the loan rumor is true then seven more league games then we can get rid(unless cup games count)
I've no doubt he will be in goals Tuesday.
HIBS NUTS
24-11-2024, 01:29 PM
It was a waste of wages bring Bursik and Smith in. I thought Boruc and Johnson should have been fighting for the gloves.
I would give Boruc a chance at the moment , in January Mabye get a normal goalkeeper, he doesn’t have to be a superstar, Kevin from raith rovers, would be a good option, as I think we could get him on a pre contract.
He also is a big hibs fan, and stayed at carberry, whitecraig.
He would come in a heartbeat.
24-11-2024, 01:37 PM
Bursik has England under 21 caps. He's played over 80 games in the English leagues. It's hard to believe as he looks like a rookie thrown in.
Ribs1875
24-11-2024, 01:45 PM
I would give Boruc a chance at the moment , in January Mabye get a normal goalkeeper, he doesn’t have to be a superstar, Kevin from raith rovers, would be a good option, as I think we could get him on a pre contract.
He also is a big hibs fan, and stayed at carberry, whitecraig.
He would come in a heartbeat.
He would be a good option for us.
24-11-2024, 02:14 PM
Some of his positional play was also called out by Stewart, the one that hit off the post and another time.
If the loan rumor is true then seven more league games then we can get rid(unless cup games count)
Here is a worse thought…
He’s signed and will stay till end of the season and must play in every game due to the loan agreement.
24-11-2024, 02:15 PM
What's the loan rumour? Guessing he's contracted to play at least 20 games?
24-11-2024, 02:18 PM
Guessing that as well. Or what though? the loan is cancelled, if so get him dropped ASAP.
24-11-2024, 02:18 PM
Here is a worse thought…
He’s signed and will stay till end of the season and must play in every game due to the loan agreement.
If there was such a clause in the loan agreement we would surely just breach it and accept any financial penalty. No way are we going to allow ourselves to be relegated to keep Brugge happy.
mcfly
24-11-2024, 02:20 PM
Here is a worse thought…
Surely not even hibs would sign a guy on loan with a guarantee that he plays every game regardless how bad he is….
24-11-2024, 02:22 PM
Surely not even hibs would sign a guy on loan with a guarantee that he plays every game regardless how bad he is….
Nothing would surprise me with these jokers in charge.
24-11-2024, 02:34 PM
Simon Brown 2006-07 season.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/6409023.stmCan remember raging after that one. Think we rotated with about 3 goalies that season
HIBS NUTS
24-11-2024, 02:36 PM
Let’s have a wee think about this, Brugge would want a player of there's on
loan, who is having a terrible time, who’s making mistake after mistake, and is taking flack from the fans, to play every game, he can.
Im sorry but this loan agreement thing, does sound like an absolute load of nonsense.
Also what would other goalkeepers at the club think.
ChuckNor
24-11-2024, 02:40 PM
Not aware of it as a rumour. Think it was pure speculation as everyone is bemused as to how he continues to start
HarpOnHibee
24-11-2024, 02:41 PM
Can remember raging after that one. Think we rotated with about 3 goalies that season
We had some absolute clangers back then as well. Simon Brown, Zibi Malkowski and Andrew McNeil all had their fair share of absolute howlers. But I always felt that it was too much of a coincidence for them to have all been as poor as they were. Something never seemed right about our training back then either.
24-11-2024, 03:12 PM
Can remember raging after that one. Think we rotated with about 3 goalies that season
Two home games with Rangers that season Charlie Adam scored two free kicks as a result of keeper errors, for a total of four: two from Simon Brown (0-2) and two from Andy McNeil (3-3).
2010-11 was the season when Colin Calderwood rotated our keepers for some reason.
Scotty Leither
24-11-2024, 04:11 PM
Nothing would surprise me with these jokers in charge.
Same here…there’s maybe even a clause with the back-up goalie that he’s going to be a non-playing GK since he doesn’t appear to have played a game in 5 seasons before joining us.
24-11-2024, 04:15 PM
It was mentioned in the "I've had enough" thread with someone posting is it true that his loan deal entails that he has to play 20 games?
I've just went off of that so just to clarify I've not made this rumour/non rumor up.
24-11-2024, 04:23 PM
It was mentioned in the "I've had enough" thread with someone posting is it true that his loan deal entails that he has to play 20 games?
I've just went off of that so just to clarify I've not made this rumour/non rumor up.
That was me. Someone told me he'd heard that was the deal. Might well be Tom Kite.
24-11-2024, 07:59 PM
That was me. Someone told me he'd heard that was the deal. Might well be Tom Kite.
Would hope, like some have said, knowing these clowns then it's probably true.
snedzuk
24-11-2024, 08:52 PM
Same here…there’s maybe even a clause with the back-up goalie that he’s going to be a non-playing GK since he doesn’t appear to have played a game in 5 seasons before joining us.
He played against Kelty (not that that's saying much).
Criswell
25-11-2024, 12:04 AM
We are supposed to be a professional Football Club. This goalkeeping farce would indicate we are anything but.
25-11-2024, 05:13 AM
Whatever penalty there is for breaking this clause wouldn't be anywhere near as bad as having to play him.
25-11-2024, 06:42 AM
Worst goalkeeper I've seen in fifty years following Hibernian FC. He should be sent back to his parent club immediately.
I'm also struggling to understand why we bought Jordan Smith. Surely not as understudy to a kid on loan. Bizarre that our understudy has only played in one league match since the 20/21 season, along with four u21 / u23 matches and six domestic cup matches. He must be rubbish.
25-11-2024, 06:46 AM
Worst goalkeeper I've seen in fifty years following Hibernian FC. He should be sent back to his parent club immediately.
I'm also struggling to understand why we bought Jordan Smith. Surely not as understudy to a kid on loan. Bizarre that our understudy has only played in one league match since the 20/21 season, along with four u21 / u23 matches and six domestic cup matches. He must be rubbish.
He's 24 and has played over 80 games in England. His pedigree is decent, England u21 caps in Euro qualifiers, that what makes his dreadful performances even more baffling.
25-11-2024, 08:53 AM
He's 24 and has played over 80 games in England. His pedigree is decent, England u21 caps in Euro qualifiers, that what makes his dreadful performances even more baffling.
I had a pedigree dog, it still **** all over the kitchen.
WestStandWillie
25-11-2024, 09:14 AM
He's got worse as the season has progressed.
Imagine we had a goalkeeping coach that was actually doing his job instead of acting like a clown shouting over Gray.
Get them both to ****
kentao
25-11-2024, 09:22 AM
Just checked on Transfer Market and Bursik`s contract runs out Summer 2025, hopefully we don't have a pre-agreed deal in place to take him full time at the end of his loan.
25-11-2024, 09:25 AM
Just checked on Transfer Market and Bursik`s contract runs out Summer 2025, hopefully we don't have a pre-agreed deal in place to take him full time at the end of his loan.
Hope we don't have a Rocky style 'play x number of games and we will sign you' deal. That really would be baffling given he isn't getting dropped.
25-11-2024, 09:27 AM
It's getting embarrassing for the lad. I thought Gottskalksson was bad. Why won't Gray drop him?
25-11-2024, 09:28 AM
So will he start against Aberdeen?
St Mirren away - 2nd and 3rd goal at fault
Celtic home - 1st goal at fault
Celtic away cup - 2nd and 3rd goal at fault
Dundee home - 2nd goal at fault
Motherwell home - both well goals he should be doing better
Hearts home - needless fumble of ball for corner then goal not long after
St Mirren home - both goals could have done better - 2nd one a shocker at near post
Dundee Utd away - first goal possibly but 2nd and 3rd goals at fault
Dundee away - 1 complete shocker and 2 out of other 3 possibly could have done better
25-11-2024, 09:29 AM
St Mirren home - both goals could have done better - 2nd one a shocker at near post
Dundee away - 1 complete shocker and 2 out of other 3 possibly could have done better
Don’t forget Dundee United away
25-11-2024, 09:31 AM
Ian Gordon to Brugge: "Can we please please have him I'll put in a clause that we play him every game and pay all his wages and we'll even take him off you for £2M at the end WE CAN'T LOSE OUT ON THIS GUY HE WAS IN MY WORLD CUP WINNING CZECH REPUBLIC TEAM"
25-11-2024, 09:31 AM
That’s just when his loan with us expires, he’s contracted with them until 2027
25-11-2024, 09:33 AM
Don’t forget Dundee United away
Not sure how I forgot that..
25-11-2024, 09:34 AM
Not sure how I forgot that..
It's difficult to keep up to be fair
25-11-2024, 09:36 AM
I’d feel sorry for him if his first reaction wasn’t to look to blame someone else. That’s ****ty, cowardly behaviour and mentality. If you’re a professional footballer without the ability to control a really simple pass then hold your hands up and take responsibility.
Attitudes like that should be nowhere near a professional football team.
25-11-2024, 09:39 AM
If you take away all of his errors directly causing a goal, and assume the backup wouldn't make any basic mistakes, we'd be ELEVEN points better off. We would be FOURTH right now.
WHY IS HE STILL PLAYING???
25-11-2024, 09:42 AM
I’d feel sorry for him if his first reaction wasn’t to look to blame someone else. That’s ****ty, cowardly behaviour and mentality. If you’re a professional footballer without the ability to control a really simple pass then hold your hands up and take responsibility.
That really annoyed me. The third one where he made an erse of the pass back, his first reaction was to blame Iredale for the pass back. The pass back was fine. It was his fault. He let the ball roll across him onto his weaker foot, took a poor touch and didn't have any awareness of where the Dundee player was.
25-11-2024, 09:45 AM
If you take away all of his errors directly causing a goal, and assume the backup wouldn't make any basic mistakes, we'd be ELEVEN points better off. We would be FOURTH right now.
It's bizarre. I can only assume it's written into his loan agreement. There can't be any other reason.
25-11-2024, 09:46 AM
Dundee Utd away - first goal possibly but 2nd and 3rd goals at fault
Can you email that to The Quadrant and the coaching team please
25-11-2024, 09:47 AM
It's bizarre. I can only assume it's written into his loan agreement. There can't be any other reason.
There can, the boy we signed to back him up is even worse in training.
Scotty Leither
25-11-2024, 09:48 AM
He appears to be undroppable, probably because it’ll make certain people at Easter Road look stupid for signing him in the first place, and their egos are a far bigger consideration than a team that’s at the moment looking nailed on for relegation party due to the sub standard GK between the sticks.
25-11-2024, 09:49 AM
There can, the boy we signed to back him up is even worse in training.
Cool. He hasn't cost us 11 points yet so I'd give him a chance anyway.
25-11-2024, 09:51 AM
Cool. He hasn't cost us 11 points yet so I'd give him a chance anyway.
I would as well but we don't see him behind closed doors. There must be serious doubts over his ability to be even as good/bad as Bursik has been.
25-11-2024, 09:54 AM
I would as well but we don't see him behind closed doors. There must be serious doubts over his ability to be even as good/bad as Bursik has been.
I think Smith's signing was all down to Marshall from what Smith said in his Hibs TV interview after he signed. Not a ringing endorsement of him or Mackay insisting he be part of his team.
25-11-2024, 09:59 AM
A good goalkeeper will gain you points over the course of a season. Bad ones will cost you points. We have a bad one. Hearts won a watch with Craig Gordon being a Jambo.
kentao
25-11-2024, 10:30 AM
That’s just when his loan with us expires, he’s contracted with them until 2027
My mistake, Thank F...
snedzuk
25-11-2024, 10:38 AM
Yeah he looked to blame Iredale then he put his head in his hands. I know this cos the bloke behind me shouted 'Puttin yer heid in yer hands!!!! Ye'll probably miss that anaw'
25-11-2024, 10:41 AM
I was interested to see what Paddy Power odds would be on a mirror image reverse of the El Sackio scoreline tomorrow (ie nil 6 this time instead of 6nil)
Turns out its 200/1 but you can only put a maximum of £3.75 on it
snedzuk
25-11-2024, 10:42 AM
Where's Boruc in this fiasco. Surely he must be looking to leave if he can't get ahead of Bursic and Smith.
25-11-2024, 01:35 PM
Think their fourth choice is young Callan McKenna who was at Queens Park, only 17 but meant to be absolutely brilliant
Wonder if they’d consider having him as third choice/emergency keeper and send Dennis out?He was at Hibs as a young player before going to QP...
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
WestStandWillie
25-11-2024, 01:40 PM
Where's Boruc in this fiasco. Surely he must be looking to leave if he can't get ahead of Bursic and Smith.
Hasn't he been frozen out? Sure he was away having a trial at Swindon.
25-11-2024, 01:47 PM
What I find odd is that Boruc plays the development games
Surely let smith play in those so he is match sharp for when he is called upon?
HIBS NUTS
25-11-2024, 05:51 PM
What I find odd is that Boruc plays the development games
Surely let smith play in those so he is match sharp for when he is called upon?
Stated that earlier , I went to Hamilton game and smith was nowere to be seen,.
Boruc played well.
HIBS NUTS
25-11-2024, 06:01 PM
Surely if ANY player constantly costs goals, you have to stop playing them, or what does it say to the rest of the team.
Especially a loan player, send him back, we have at least three goalkeepers on our books that could take over.
Not counting MJ
snedzuk
25-11-2024, 07:32 PM
Hasn't he been frozen out? Sure he was away having a trial at Swindon.
Fairly sure he was in the warm up on Sat (standing talking to Smith in between the goals and the 'warm up' goals).
25-11-2024, 08:01 PM
Fairly sure he was in the warm up on Sat (standing talking to Smith in between the goals and the 'warm up' goals).
Aye he was. Getting his ear flicked by Samson