View Full Version : Bursic
Chorley Hibee
27-10-2024, 02:25 PM
FFS how can you not just accept that it was shocking goalkeeping? (Again).
It was both, they're all culpable.
27-10-2024, 02:25 PM
They didn’t score from the corner though. Defending was brutal for the long throw and that is what cost us the goal.
Could also point to Triantis chance he hit straight at Gordon which would have made it 2-0
No you can't because Triantis was offside. It would never have counted.
The defending cost us the goal but so did the keeper. How anyone can say different is beyond me.
27-10-2024, 02:26 PM
As I say I don’t rate him but how far back to we go to blame someone for a goal? A corner and a long throw after and we are still blaming the keeper
When it's such an obvious error that increased the pressure on the team then the blame is clear IMO.
If he takes the ball we can move up the park and get a break from the pressure, the fact he couldn't even do that lead then to getting a comer and scoring about 60 seconds later.
H
27-10-2024, 02:26 PM
It was both, they're all culpable.
Exactly, Ive already had a go at the defence! People admonishing the keeper have lost it though.
27-10-2024, 02:28 PM
They didn’t score from the corner tho. Of course he has to just catch the ball before that but to blame him for the goal is mental imo
They scored 60 seconds later because our keeper put the team under unneccessary pressure! How are people defending him here?!!!
27-10-2024, 02:29 PM
They scored 60 seconds later because our keeper put the team under unneccessary pressure! How are people defending him here?!!!
There’s no defending him from me as he should have done better but I’m also not blaming him for the goal that came 2 phases of play after his mistake
Bridge hibs
27-10-2024, 02:30 PM
They scored 60 seconds later because our defenders couldnt defend
27-10-2024, 02:31 PM
The reason they had the chance to get the ball into that position in the first place was due to the keeper.
27-10-2024, 02:31 PM
There’s no defending him from me as he should have done better but I’m also not blaming him for the goal that came 2 phases of play after his mistake
Anyone with a modicum of common sense has to accept that there is blame attributed to him (along with others) for Hearts equalising and us dropping points.
27-10-2024, 02:32 PM
Anyone with a modicum of common sense has to accept that there is blame attributed to him (along with others) for Hearts equalising and us dropping points.
Ok. You win. Goalies fault
ruthven_raiders
27-10-2024, 02:32 PM
Everyone is to blame, but Bursik is culpable for putting the team under pressure...
Trinity Hibee
27-10-2024, 02:33 PM
The reason they had the chance to get the ball into that position in the first place was due to the keeper.
And the reason the keeper had to make a save was because of **** defending. We can keep going back and back during the game but let’s not. It’s not going to change anything now.
The keeper is **** though and needs replaced
The team only had to defend because the keeper made an absolute **** of things.
The guy is ****in awful, he should never have played for us after the Celtic game.
Very true, but a decent keeper would have saved the ball rather than spill it out for a corner, then waste the next 45 second before launching it forward therefore giving them only 15 seconds to score if we are timing things?
Bridge hibs
He wasnt at fault for the goal though, the pish defence were
one day maybe...
It’s was terrible goalkeeping that led to the first corner for the equaliser
Aye but what about Millers poor pass 5 mins before that which gave the ball away and led to Bursic no catching the ball? How far do you want to go back?
Trinity Hibee
27-10-2024, 02:34 PM
Aye but what about Millers poor pass 5 mins before that which gave the ball away and led to Bursic no catching the ball? How far do you want to go back?
Exactly let’s just agree collectively it was **** defending and call it there
Bridge hibs
27-10-2024, 02:35 PM
****ing hell, a few on here would have you go back to kick off 🤣
27-10-2024, 02:37 PM
It’s cos we didn’t take centre at the start of the game. ****ing Martin Boyle going for heads instead of tails. Boyle out
Point that out on the Miller thread then. This a thread about the keeper and there are unbelievably people claiming he had nothing to do with the Hearts goal today when he played a huge part in it.
A decent goalie gathers both situations before their goal. He's **** and invited pressure.
No you can't because Triantis was offside. It would never have counted.
The defending cost us the goal but so did the keeper. How anyone can say different is beyond me.That's some game analysis you have therr seeing as Triantis was clearly on
Strange.
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Trinity Hibee
27-10-2024, 02:38 PM
That's some game analysis you have therr seeing as Triantis was clearly on
Strange.
Thought that myself and I think they referred back to it later in the game basically saying it would have counted if he’d scored. Lets not let that get in the way though
27-10-2024, 02:39 PM
Strange.
Yip I sit right in line with where they were lined up and he was onside, was a really bad miss
Mcbizz1998
He’s properly *****.
It’s cos we didn’t take centre at the start of the game. ****ing Martin Boyle going for heads instead of tails. Boyle out
You two are not real. Rather than just admit the keeper has again cost us you are bizarrely coming out with utter nonsense like this.
Trinity Hibee
Strange.
But we’ll be told we can only discuss that on the Triantis thread as you can’t mention other players on the bursic thread apparently
You're right.
Bursic not collecting a simple cross that Lowland League keepers would easily collect leading to a corner and then the next phase of play conceding didn't contribute to the goal.
He wasn't at fault at all for the goal.
Strange.
The flag was up for offside.
Trinity Hibee
27-10-2024, 02:40 PM
Ye and if he’d scored it would have counted as replays showed he was onside
You're right.
Bursic not collecting a simple cross that Lowland League keepers would easily collect leading to a corner and then the next phase of play conceding didn't contribute to the goal.
He wasn't at fault at all for the goal.
Got there in the end
Trinity Hibee
Got there in the end
😂👍🏼
27-10-2024, 02:41 PM
BTW, its wild that you can laugh at our keeper giving away a corner that ultimately cost us a huge and vital win today.
The fact you didnt even notice it at the time shows how bad your game analysis is.It didn't cost us, poor defending / good attacking play cost us at a long throw
I've said it multiple times, I was at the game it it was at the other end for me so couldn't see it clearly live - either way it's multiple phases before we conceded so blaming him is pretty harsh imo
Bridge hibs
27-10-2024, 02:41 PM
So it was the Linesmans fault ? 😁
27-10-2024, 02:42 PM
Got there in the end
Indeed, I did. You just haven't realised it.
27-10-2024, 02:42 PM
The flag was up for offside.That's your in game analysis?
Poor, it has to be said
27-10-2024, 02:44 PM
It didn't cost us, poor defending / good attacking play cost us at a long throw
I've said it multiple times, I was at the game it it was at the other end for me so couldn't see it clearly live - either way it's multiple phases before we conceded so blaming him is pretty harsh imo
You can say it as many times as you like, but claiming the keeper doesnt contribute to Hearts scoring is an absolutely wild take, IMO.
27-10-2024, 02:45 PM
That's your in game analysis?
Poor, it has to be said
Well no its accurate because the flag was put up for offside.
27-10-2024, 02:46 PM
Any time Alan Forrest, all 163 cms of him, wins a flick on, questions must be asked, and not of the goalie
27-10-2024, 02:47 PM
Well no its accurate because the flag was put up for offside.That's not your analysis, that's lazy and thinking the linesman must be right
He wasn't. He was well onside obviously
We could go all the way back and blame Triantis for missing this chance to kill the game for the hearts goal imo.
27-10-2024, 02:47 PM
Ye and if he’d scored it would have counted as replays showed he was onside
I was at the game so didnt see any replays.
When you are one nil up though you dont need to score again to win, you just have to not concede. The defenders and the keeper have cost us.
Trinity Hibee
27-10-2024, 02:48 PM
That's not your analysis, that's lazy and thinking the linesman must be right
We could go all the way back and blame Triantis for missing this chance to kill the game for the hearts goal imo.
I’d just stop engaging mate. Guy is doubling down with inaccuracies rather than backing down
27-10-2024, 02:50 PM
That's not your analysis, that's lazy and thinking the linesman must be right
Its not lazy its a fact the linesman put his flag up for offside. It was a tlght decison if he was wrong then fair enough.
You didnt even notice Bursic making a blatant howler. Mad.
27-10-2024, 02:51 PM
I’d just stop engaging mate. Guy is doubling down with inaccuracies rather than backing down
Hows it innaccurate to say the linesman put his flag up for offside?!:hilarious
27-10-2024, 02:52 PM
Its not lazy its a fact the linesman put his flag up for offside. It was a tlght decison if he was wrong then fair enough.
You didnt even notice Bursic making a blatant howler. Mad.I noticed him letting the ball bounce off him but it's 100 yards away
I did notice Alan Forest winning a flick on though and a 17 year getting a run of Lewis Miller
Which were much more relevant to the goal
27-10-2024, 02:53 PM
Hows it innaccurate to say the linesman put his flag up for offside?!:hilarious
I'd just leave it. If people can't understand the game and how it plays out not point engaging with them.
Let them sit in their delusion.
27-10-2024, 02:53 PM
I noticed him letting the ball bounce off him but it's 100 yards away
I did notice Alan Forest winning a flick on though and a 17 year getting a run of Lewis Miller
Which were much more relevant to the goal
Of course, but they are only relevant moments because of Bursik's error.
27-10-2024, 02:54 PM
I'd just leave it. If people can't understand the game and how it plays out not point engaging with them.
Let them sit in their delusion.
It's unbelievable. How can people not just give the keeper valid criticism?!
27-10-2024, 02:55 PM
Let them sit in their delusion.[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji106]
TelaStella
27-10-2024, 02:58 PM
He should catch it. He doesn’t, corner them , throw in them, goal them. Probably not the first time this season too. He’s murder.
27-10-2024, 02:58 PM
It's unbelievable. How can people not just give the keeper valid criticism?!Valid criticism would be saying he could have done better at that instance
Blaming him for a goal 2 phases of play later after an error imo isnnt valid
27-10-2024, 02:59 PM
He should catch it. He doesn’t, corner them , throw in them, goal them. Probably not the first time this season too. He’s murder.
Pretty well summed up.
27-10-2024, 02:59 PM
Valid criticism would be saying he could have done better at that instance
I know what you’re saying Callum and it seems harsh but he’s made such a **** of what was effectively a pass. If he gathers it the corners doesn’t happen and the throw doesn’t happen after it.
Such a basic gather prevents it, 2 phases of play prior or not.
27-10-2024, 03:02 PM
Valid criticism would be saying he could have done better at that instance
You asked the question earlier if you had missed something major. Probably be for the best if you just owned up to doing so.
27-10-2024, 03:07 PM
That's exactly what we said at the game.
We had a great view of the shambolic handling at the corner. It's embarrassing, especially as he had done ok for the previous 80 mins or so.
27-10-2024, 03:09 PM
My mate was talking to Marvin Bartley this week, according to Marv the players all think Bursik is extremely arrogant and doesn't listen to any advice. Absoulutely shocking we have this guy as our number one.
27-10-2024, 03:09 PM
Something that irks me with criticism at goals is there seems to be room for only one person to get it. I agree that directly blaming Bursic for the goal somewhat a long reach because of the phases between his poor piece of keeping to the goal itself, but if we're to be better than the utter dross team we are at the moment we need to start looking at the whole picture. He's a keeper that puts us under pressure constantly because of his mistakes and once again today he invited two phases of pressure on our already shocking defence.
I've said before Miller was probably the culprit at the goal itself, but Bursic hasn't bailed out his defence by claiming a simple ball and killing the Hearts momentum. I can guarantee you if you had a competent goalie he'd have claimed it and killed the game a bit for us. It's just another blackmark in what is already a terrible record as a Hibs goalie.
27-10-2024, 03:10 PM
Something that irks me with criticism at goals is there seems to be room for only one person to get it. I agree that directly blaming Bursic for the goal somewhat a long reach because of the phases between his poor piece of keeping to the goal itself, but if we're to be better than the utter dross team we are at the moment we need to start looking at the whole picture. He's a keeper that puts us under pressure constantly because of his mistakes and once again today he invited two phases of pressure on our already shocking defence.
I've said before Miller was probably the culprit at the goal itself, but Bursic hasn't bailed out his defence by claiming a simple ball and killing the Hearts momentum. I can guarantee you if you had a competent goalie he'd have claimed it and killed the game a bit for us. It's just another blackmark in what is already a terrible record as a Hibs goalie.
Good post.
ChuckNor
27-10-2024, 03:12 PM
This is the post. The goalkeeper never takes the pressure off and only ever creates pressure. The nerves the defense must feel with him behind them…
GonzoReturns
27-10-2024, 03:16 PM
Sums it up. Yes we need to defend better a lot better but difference today was ultimately down to goalkeepers. Will ours get us points theirs does.
27-10-2024, 03:17 PM
Worst Hibs keepers I've seen:
1. Malkowski
2. Bursik
27-10-2024, 03:18 PM
Just look at the saves that Gordon makes look routine for them, and contrast with Bursic.
I'm not suggesting we go out and sign a quality international keeper, but if Hearts had Bursic today we might have had 3 goals.
Keeper is a vital position and we have placed a total diddy in as our No1.
Add into that mix that Miller is utterly hopeless at RB, and it's no surprise we are bleeding goals.
Just more shambolic recruitment frankly.
27-10-2024, 03:44 PM
FFS, he didnt grab the ball but he saved it and that lot got a corner, they didnt score from that corner did they ? Fast forward then our defence are ****ing handing the heres yer goal tickets out which that lot gladly accepted
That is a basic take that most u13 goalies would take. It’s bloody awful goalkeeping. It should have been safely in his hands.
Hard defend him for that.
27-10-2024, 03:48 PM
Awful goalkeeper
If Marshall is fit put him in until January
27-10-2024, 04:35 PM
Just look at the saves that Gordon makes look routine for them, and contrast with Bursic.
I'm not suggesting we go out and sign a quality international keeper, but if Hearts had Bursic today we might have had 3 goals.
Keeper is a vital position and we have placed a total diddy in as our No1.
Add into that mix that Miller is utterly hopeless at RB, and it's no surprise we are bleeding goals.
Just more shambolic recruitment frankly.
Switch the keepers today and Hibs win.
The fumble wasn’t directly for the goal but he holds it. We move up the pitch and 2 phases later we aren’t defending a long throw / goal etc.
I genuinely believe a better keeper and the back line improves.
I will be fair and say it wasn’t his worst game but every game a goal seems to be linked to him.
27-10-2024, 05:04 PM
It must be in his loan that he Starts personally would give young Boruc a chance
27-10-2024, 05:13 PM
This is the post. The goalkeeper never takes the pressure off and only ever creates pressure. The nerves the defense must feel with him behind them…He took pressure off plenty times today with taking crosses - which he has done pretty well since he came in imo
27-10-2024, 06:22 PM
He took pressure off plenty times today with taking crosses - which he has done pretty well since he came in imo
Nah, you’re having a giraffe mate
27-10-2024, 06:24 PM
Keeper is crap. Gayles misses and Triantis miss also cost us. Sheer lack of quality across the board.
Mantis Toboggan
27-10-2024, 06:26 PM
Gordon was crap today as well. Triantis pass back helped him a lot
27-10-2024, 06:31 PM
Gordon was crap today as well. Triantis pass back helped him a lot
🤣🤣🤣
27-10-2024, 06:35 PM
He took pressure off plenty times today with taking crosses - which he has done pretty well since he came in imo
It's funny but it's the one thing he does really well. I say this as we've had much MUCH better shot stoppers but even Rocky wasn't great at taking the ball out the air.
However coming out to punch the ball as often as he does when he doesn't need to causes carnage when it's not needed.
Mantis Toboggan
27-10-2024, 06:39 PM
🤣🤣🤣
Username makes sense
27-10-2024, 06:42 PM
Oxley was a better keeper. Sad but true.
27-10-2024, 06:44 PM
It's funny but it's the one thing he does really well. I say this as we've had much MUCH better shot stoppers but even Rocky wasn't great at taking the ball out the air.
However coming out to punch the ball as often as he does when he doesn't need to causes carnage when it's not needed.It's probably been his strongest part of his game but seems to have gone a bit unsure of himself since his bad mistake last week
Up until then it was the area of his game I'd been most comfortable with
Ginger Gehagan
27-10-2024, 06:45 PM
That's exactly what we said at the game.
We had a great view of the shambolic handling at the corner. It's embarrassing, especially as he had done ok for the previous 80 mins or so.
This 100%,he's f######g awful and his mistake directly led to the equaliser.
27-10-2024, 06:48 PM
Username makes sense
Aye, ok chief! That **** was ***** because a shot was a pass back to him?
**** me , there’s some steamers on here
Hibees1973
27-10-2024, 06:49 PM
There is a very good chance he will **** up on Wednesday night.
Shaky, unreliable and exactly the kind of goalkeeper that gets you relegated.
If Gray continues to select him and Miller there is a good chance we will.
StevieHendo
27-10-2024, 06:50 PM
Username makes sense
Why? his comment makes sense. to suggest Gordon was crap today shows a complete and literal stupidity. his kickings ridiculously bad but he made difficult saves today look easy.
HIBS NUTS
27-10-2024, 06:51 PM
A goalkeeper makes a huge difference, I don’t believe he’s good, and more importantly I don’t think the hibs team believes he’s good enough
hfc-1875
27-10-2024, 07:01 PM
What is it with us and ****ing ***** keepers? I’m 30 year old and could easily count 6 or 7 that wouldn’t get a game at porty pits
Mantis Toboggan
27-10-2024, 07:01 PM
Aye, ok chief! That **** was ***** because a shot was a pass back to him?
**** me , there’s some steamers on here
When's the last time we had a clean sheet?
The goalie is absolutely awful.
Gordon is not what he was and Triantis should have buried it.
Anything else?
K-Zazu
27-10-2024, 07:29 PM
Can we at least change the thread title so it’s spells his name correctly? It’s really annoying.
27-10-2024, 07:49 PM
What about his save from Shankland in the first half? A fairly routine save that he almost palmed up and over his head and into the net
Never been so relieved to see it bounce the other side of the post
27-10-2024, 07:54 PM
What about his save from Shankland in the first half? A fairly routine save that he almost palmed up and over his head and into the net
Never been so relieved to see it bounce the other side of the post
Up the other end Gordon would have just stood still and caught that.
27-10-2024, 08:01 PM
1. Malkowski
2. Bursik
Simon Brown's been on the phone.
ChuckNor
27-10-2024, 08:11 PM
Would that include when he wiped out Jordon Obita and failed to catch one in the first half? He got away with it again. He is so far off the standard it’s insane. Can’t believe anyone would defend him.
28-10-2024, 05:30 AM
When's the last time we had a clean sheet?
The goalie is absolutely awful.
Gordon is not what he was and Triantis should have buried it.
Anything else?
Just contradicting yourself?
28-10-2024, 05:44 AM
Oxley was a better keeper. Sad but true.
Of course he was. Miles better. Oxley was average. Okay. Done the basics.
DJ HIBBY
28-10-2024, 05:52 AM
On top of generally being one of the worst goalies I’ve seen at Hibs (along with Zibi etc) did anyone else notice that twice yesterday he tried to roll the ball out at a goal kick with his hands. The ref caught him the second time and made him kick it.
WellingtonHibby
28-10-2024, 06:01 AM
1. Malkowski
2. Bursik
Simon Brown is turning in his Grave
28-10-2024, 06:12 AM
On top of generally being one of the worst goalies I’ve seen at Hibs (along with Zibi etc) did anyone else notice that twice yesterday he tried to roll the ball out at a goal kick with his hands. The ref caught him the second time and made him kick it.
He was just delaying the restart
28-10-2024, 06:19 AM
Simon Brown is turning in his Grave
He can get #3.
DJ HIBBY
28-10-2024, 06:21 AM
[QUOTE=JimBHibees;7799717]He was just delaying the restart[/QUOTE
In the first and second half? Just looks nervous wreck and looked like he forgot what was going on to be honest
28-10-2024, 06:44 AM
He was just delaying the restart[/QUOTE
In the first and second half? Just looks nervous wreck and looked like he forgot what was going on to be honest
Would hope that wasn't the case :greengrin
30-10-2024, 09:19 PM
Well done tonight son. Credit where it’s due. Done what he had to do :aok:
30-10-2024, 09:22 PM
Yes a good nights work for him getting a good clean sheet :agree:
one day maybe...
30-10-2024, 09:32 PM
Game saving save in the second half thought it was in from where I was standing
30-10-2024, 09:35 PM
Game saving save in the second half thought it was in from where I was standing
:agree: Brilliant save to keep us 0-0. He’s deserved the stick he’s had recently but today he done well imo.
30-10-2024, 09:38 PM
Watched him as best I could. Had a very decent game tonight. One outstanding save.
30-10-2024, 09:40 PM
Good night’s work from him.
Credit where it is due.
Whole defence looked solid over the piece tbh.
Our problems lie further forward. Strange, because on paper we probably all thought our attacking options were adequate.
30-10-2024, 09:42 PM
A great save from the lad.
I really thought it was going in.
Good confidence boost for him.
30-10-2024, 09:43 PM
Got us a point the night.
Good starting point.
30-10-2024, 09:43 PM
Motm tonight because of that save and general decent distribution?
Thought he did really well and can’t think of anyone else who did anything better.
Donegal Hibby
30-10-2024, 09:44 PM
Great save and good performance … well done Bursik 👏
RMQ1967
30-10-2024, 09:46 PM
Solid tonight & although he's had a few shaky moments I don't think he's been the disaster some people make out.
His general handling & distribution are fairly solid & hopefully learning fast from the few erratic decisions he's made in recent weeks.
30-10-2024, 09:49 PM
Thought he did really well and can’t think of anyone else who did anything better.
Decent shout.
I thought Ekpiteta was also good, centre halves were fine.
But in terms of players who made the biggest difference to the result - Bursik’s excellent save probably had the biggest impact, therefore motm for him is justified imo.
30-10-2024, 09:53 PM
Much better tonight. Love it or hate it he's going to be our keeper until at least January so we need him to take the confidence from tonight and build on it Sunday.
Might be wrong but I feel like he didn't really come for anything tonight, which is probably a good thing going by recent performances. If you're unsure, let your defenders deal with it. Don't throw yourself into the chaos as well.
31-10-2024, 05:56 AM
Agree with that though he didn’t have much competition Marvin apart who think is coming onto a solid game for Hibs
31-10-2024, 05:57 AM
Worldie of a save and thought he was generally solid, his distribution has improved as well I think.
31-10-2024, 06:35 AM
Whole team did fine defensively last night other than that one header and even then the keeper was there to bail his mates out.
It's a decent foundation for the defence to build on and, in my eyes, the defending is nowhere near the biggest issue this team has.
31-10-2024, 07:40 AM
Whole team did fine defensively last night other than that one header and even then the keeper was there to bail his mates out.
It's a decent foundation for the defence to build on and, in my eyes, the defending is nowhere near the biggest issue this team has.
That’s how I saw it last night. Ekpiteta had his best game for us. Gray looks like he is trying to make us hard to beat and we mostly looked pretty well organised defensively.
31-10-2024, 07:52 AM
Agree with this, it's middle to front we can't get the balance right in. Too passive without the ball and too indecisive with it.
31-10-2024, 09:28 AM
The defence still has issues though, one 0-0 draw doesn't take away from how bad we are at defending a lead or being under any real pressure.
31-10-2024, 09:35 AM
The defence still has issues though, one 0-0 draw doesn't take away from how bad we are at defending a lead or being under any real pressure.
Of course it does but if we were scoring our fair share of goals we would be nowhere near the bottom.
31-10-2024, 09:49 AM
Of course it does but if we were scoring our fair share of goals we would be nowhere near the bottom.
I hear what you're saying. But we've already surrendered 9 points this season from winning positions (back of the fag packet maths apologies if I'm out by one or two). So even when we are scoring goals there's something hindering us to hold onto it. Even if we managed to hold onto just 6 of those 9 we'd be sitting top five currently. It's unrealistic to expect us, especially this team, to score 2 or 3 goals each game in order to win.
There's still so much work to be done at both ends of the park and we need to start putting it together in the same game and not have one or the other.
31-10-2024, 11:46 AM
At the time I thought it was a brilliant save
Seeing it back it’s a routine save, pretty central and one he should make.
Thats not a dig at him, thought he played well last night with good handling etc albeit without having to do a huge amount
One heart in mouth moment in the first half when there was a ball in behind and he slightly hesitated, was convinced he was going to give away a pen but dealt with it well
itslegaltender
31-10-2024, 06:53 PM
after seeing it described as a 'worldie', was a bit non plussed when seeing the save. almost middle of the goals, good save but one you would expect a professional keeper to save.
31-10-2024, 07:05 PM
I think we have conceded something like the 6th or 7th most goals in the league, so not really that bad considering we are 11th.
We have scored the least goals though, and for me that stems from the middle of the park being so poor. I think we have enough attacking talent who will score if provided service, but the middle of the park is absolutely woeful.
31-10-2024, 07:13 PM
I think we have conceded something like the 6th or 7th most goals in the league, so not really that bad considering we are 11th.
We have scored the least goals though, and for me that stems from the middle of the park being so poor. I think we have enough attacking talent who will score if provided service, but the middle of the park is absolutely woeful.
Agree with the second paragraph. We’re so slow moving the ball up to the park that we never get the chance to properly use the pace that we have. And, in the main, anyone playing upfront is trying to get on the end of hopeful crosses on to the box. Was really apparent last night.
TrinityHFC
31-10-2024, 07:35 PM
At the time I thought it was a brilliant save
Seeing it back it’s a routine save, pretty central and one he should make.
Thats not a dig at him, thought he played well last night with good handling etc albeit without having to do a huge amount
One heart in mouth moment in the first half when there was a ball in behind and he slightly hesitated, was convinced he was going to give away a pen but dealt with it well
If his role in every goal we concede is going to be scrutinised to find a reason to blame him then I think he deserves credit for what was a good save.
Paul1642
09-11-2024, 02:37 PM
A goalkeeper who can’t save anything a league 1 keeper wouldn’t save.
09-11-2024, 02:43 PM
A goalkeeper who can’t save anything a league 1 keeper wouldn’t save.
He wouldn’t get a game in the East of Scotland league. Absolute charlatan.
09-11-2024, 02:47 PM
He's absolute *****
kentao
09-11-2024, 02:52 PM
Angles were wrong for the goal had too much of the near post covered and still couldn't save it
09-11-2024, 02:54 PM
An awful goalkeeper greatly heightens the chances of relegation.
Happyhibee2003
09-11-2024, 02:57 PM
our number 1 goalkeeper is on loan, that really says it all about the club
09-11-2024, 03:28 PM
It doesn't really. Marciano was on loan at first.
Paul1642
09-11-2024, 03:31 PM
If he’s still our number 1 come mid January then that says a lot more.
09-11-2024, 03:33 PM
Changed my mind, he’s a ****ing huddy.
Chorley Hibee
09-11-2024, 03:35 PM
It doesn't really. Marciano was on loan at first.
Perhaps not one position, but it's ridiculous that 2/3 of the spine of our team are loans.
09-11-2024, 03:38 PM
He does not even look like a keeper, his stance makes him smaller and his positioning at times is all over the shop, and dont talk about him coming for corners?:faf:
09-11-2024, 03:38 PM
Perhaps not one position, but it's ridiculous that 2/3 of the spine of our team are loans.
09-11-2024, 03:45 PM
That average punter could see from day 1 he was useless.
Amazing the qualified staff still can’t see it. Idiots.
expresso
09-11-2024, 04:06 PM
That average punter could see from day 1 he was useless.
Amazing the qualified staff still can’t see it. Idiots.
The average punter could see that Gray would fail
Stokesy's on fire
09-11-2024, 04:11 PM
Stuns me to realise keepers like Ross Laidlaw would be a huge upgrade on Bursic and at the time we felt laidlaw wasn't good enough but I would have him over this neep all day long.
09-11-2024, 04:12 PM
Honestly that attempt for the second goal is one of the most bizarre bits of goalkeeping I’ve seen. O’Hora gets hooked for making an error but this clown gets a game every single week
Awful keeper, probably the worst in the league
Paulie Walnuts
Dreadful
09-11-2024, 04:14 PM
He’s absolutely pony
chasitup
Awful keeper, probably the worst in the league
There's no probably about it.
ChuckNor
Whoever signed this man should walk. Dreadful.
I started this thread as I knew what was coming with him in goals as our first choice. No where close to good enough. He’ll be lucky to play out the rest of his career in League Two. There are people at the club who feel that Wollacott was better.
I’ve seen some awful goalkeepers at Hibs, but he’s up there as the worst.
09-11-2024, 04:16 PM
One of Grays biggest mistakes is continuing to play him
He is absolutely shocking
He cannot save a shot, it was apparent after the first game we played in the league
09-11-2024, 04:17 PM
Thought he was ok today. Far bigger issues in the team elsewhere.
09-11-2024, 04:17 PM
Thought he was ok today. Far bigger issues in the team elsewhere.
Did you miss the second goal?
He could have controlled it with his feet let alone save it
He dived out the way
09-11-2024, 04:18 PM
Stuns me to realise keepers like Ross Laidlaw would be a huge upgrade on Bursic and at the time we felt laidlaw wasn't good enough but I would have him over this neep all day long.
There's loads of players we let go who you could say same about, Dabrowski is another keeper better than the current incumbent, aside from GKs, Paul McGinn, Gogic and even Stevenson & Hanlon would all be better than the dross that replaced them.
09-11-2024, 04:30 PM
Did you miss the second goal?
He could have controlled it with his feet let alone save it
He dived out the way
Not seen it back, just know O'Hora made an arse of it. If keeper could have done better, fair enough, but defence left him exposed.
He was fine most of the game, good distribution and great save in second half.
Stokesy's on fire
09-11-2024, 04:32 PM
There's loads of players we let go who you could say same about, Dabrowski is another keeper better than the current incumbent, aside from GKs, Paul McGinn, Gogic and even Stevenson & Hanlon would all be better than the dross that replaced them.
The decision to let Hanlon leave was madness. He should have been retained until his replacement was sourced and proven.
09-11-2024, 04:34 PM
Not seen it back, just know O'Hora made an arse of it. If keeper could have done better, fair enough, but defence left him exposed.
He was fine most of the game, good distribution and great save in second half.
O’Hora was shocking for it agreed
I think Marv thought there was no way the boy would score from the angle he was at
A howler from Bursik
09-11-2024, 04:44 PM
O’Hora was shocking for it agreed
I think Marv thought there was no way the boy would score from the angle he was at
A howler from Bursik
It wasn’t a wild angle from what I remember, Marv was horrendous for it too.
Hibiza
09-11-2024, 04:56 PM
Goalie : another joke.
09-11-2024, 05:01 PM
An absolute joker. You’d be better getting a bairn from the academy or the lassie that plays in goals for the Hibs women’s team than persevere any longer with him. Rotten for their second and got away with two in the second half, their corner when Gogic missed from about two yards he was nowhere to be seen, and then when he came rushing out in two minds about what to do and then decided to flap himself back
09-11-2024, 05:08 PM
Literally the worst first choice keeper I can remember us having. He's horrendous.
09-11-2024, 05:08 PM
This guy is the worst hibs goalkeeper i have seen in my life and believe me i have seen some absolute drivel in my time , Not his fault he wanted to sign for a big club but absolute ****ing shame on the guy that scouted him and then signed him
A complete fraud.
09-11-2024, 05:17 PM
Total imposter. We could sign any Scottish Championship keeper and I really don't think they'd be any worse. In fact, I think a few of them would be an upgrade.
To go into the season with him as number 1, with no back up of note is ridiculous.
Having watched the first couple of league games, everyone knew how this would play out.
09-11-2024, 05:19 PM
Christ! How bad must Smith be is Bursic is keeping him out of the team.
And we've a former goalie seemingly as Gray's 2nd in command AND another as Performance Director or whatever made up job Marshal got.
We are in serious bother 😭
09-11-2024, 05:42 PM
Aberdeen and Hibs both needed a new goalkeeper in the summer. Aberdeen acted like a proper football club and brought in an experienced goalie proven in our league playing first team football. Gray brought in this joker for us.[emoji35]
09-11-2024, 05:45 PM
Very poor keeper, that 2nd goal today was really bad, o'hora took a horrendous touch yes but the keeper was terrible, needs dropped asap
supermcginn
09-11-2024, 05:45 PM
He makes Zibi look like Buffon in his prime, an absolutely honking goalkeeper.
09-11-2024, 05:47 PM
Right up there with Oli, Zibi and fat boy Brown. Who signed this guy? I refuse to believe it was either McKay or Gray.
WestStandWillie
09-11-2024, 05:48 PM
O’Hora’s mistake but you expect your goalie to tidy that up instead of having wrists like a box of broken biscuits
Silky
09-11-2024, 05:50 PM
Literally the worst first choice keeper I can remember us having. He's horrendous.
Yip. I've seen Zibby, Brown et al, but Bursic I think, is worse. Don't know why we didn't even go with Boruc and Johnson as the keeper's.
09-11-2024, 05:51 PM
Yip. I've seen Zibby, Brown et al, but Bursic I think, is worse. Don't know why we didn't even go with Boruc and Johnson as the keeper's.
Oxley the worst of them all. This guy matching him though.
09-11-2024, 05:51 PM
O’Hora’s mistake but you expect your goalie to tidy that up instead of having wrists like a box of broken biscuits
Although I fully agree re bursik, I can’t believe how timid O’Hora was inn the challenge
The touch was a mistake, the decision not to go 100% in to win the ball was a shocker imo
Chorley Hibee
09-11-2024, 05:52 PM
Total imposter. We could sign any Scottish Championship keeper and I really don't think they'd be any worse. In fact, I think a few of them would be an upgrade.
To go into the season with him as number 1, with no back up of note is ridiculous.
Having watched the first couple of league games, everyone knew how this would play out.
Dabrowski for one.
The Tubs
09-11-2024, 05:53 PM
Although I fully agree re bursik, I can’t believe how timid O’Hora was inn the challenge
The touch was a mistake, the decision not to go 100% in to win the ball was a shocker imo
Aye. It seems like he was trying to be too smart. it should have gone to the roof of the stand.
09-11-2024, 06:17 PM
Everyone who was involved in scouting and signing our two keepers should be sacked. He's woeful and is up there with the worst I've seen and I've seen a few. O'Hora was shocking as well. He's a right sided centre half being played on the left but he's made a number of mistakes this season. Another glorious failure in our recruitment was not signing a left sided CH.
09-11-2024, 06:20 PM
Everyone who was involved in scouting and signing our two keepers should be sacked. He's woeful and is up there with the worst I've seen and I've seen a few. O'Hora was shocking as well. He's a right sided centre half being played on the left but he's made a number of mistakes this season. Another glorious failure in our recruitment was not signing a left sided CH.
O’Hora wasn’t bad on Star Trek TBF. Great defence
09-11-2024, 06:21 PM
Bursic should never play for Hibs again.
Posted this above on the 18th August when it became abundantly clear that he was an absolute liability. Yet he has played every game since. Can't believe we have signed a backup keeper that isnt even deemed good enough to get a chance ahead of him.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BqmM5QkCEAAG75G.jpg:large
09-11-2024, 06:21 PM
Just how ****ing bad must Jordan Smith be for him not to see a single minute at this point.
Absolutely horrendous goalkeeping situation and one that will see us relegated if not rectified asap. Some of us could see pretty quickly this guy was totally *****, whoever was paid to scout him should be dragged out of East Mains kicking and screaming.
Hibees1973
09-11-2024, 06:22 PM
One of the first ingredients of relegation is an incompetent goalkeeper.
Step up Bursik.
09-11-2024, 06:38 PM
People are absolutely bang on in saying that one of the key ingredients to a relegated team is frequently a piss poor goalkeeper.
There is a lot about this team which makes it relegation material but the GK is right up there, not to mention the fact our 2nd keeper is here to pick up a wage and stay quiet.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
09-11-2024, 06:54 PM
Nice of him to let the kids score a few tbf
09-11-2024, 07:04 PM
That second goal today was as poor a goal as you’ll ever see.
O’Hora not being comfortable enough to pass the ball with his left foot. Ekpiteta not reacting to get across. The goalie diving out the way.
09-11-2024, 07:07 PM
Get Boruc in. Sod it.
He’s an absolute roaster in there.
Fell down like a pack of cards for that second goal.
A goalie who doesn’t want to get hit.
Get rid of- cancel loan. Awful player
09-11-2024, 07:07 PM
Said weeks ago, Boruc is currently the best keeper at the club - which in itself is embarrassing.
We’d be better playing a coat-stand in goal; at least it would get in the way of the occasional shot.
Steve Austin
09-11-2024, 07:15 PM
Said weeks ago, Boruc is currently the best keeper at the club - which in itself is embarrassing.
As a goalkeeper myself Bursik has really bad decision making and very erratic?
going for things he’s never getting?,he looks nervous 😟
You cannot tell me there wasn’t an experienced keeper we could have got in?proven etc.
worrying how he’s coached too and how faith is kept in him ,he’s not improving at all.
needs go back to Brugge in January!
It’s harsh to put the entire blame on bursik for the goal
Ohoras touch was brutal, as was his inability to get a toe on the ball. Ekpiteta had a choice and got it wrong. Ohora had a chance again and gave the lad space.
Bursik knew that both a near post shot and a pass to the other guy were both dangers and he unfortunately made the wrong choice. With the benefit of hindsight and playing percentages, he should have covered the near post and left the far post to ekpiteta. If he had done though and the ball was squared, he would have been blamed.
Paul1642
09-11-2024, 08:13 PM
Ohoras touch was brutal, as was his inability to get a toe on the ball. Ekpiteta had a choice and got it wrong. Ohora had a chance again and gave the lad space.
Bursik knew that both a near post shot and a pass to the other guy were both dangers and he unfortunately made the wrong choice. With the benefit of hindsight and playing percentages, he should have covered the near post and left the far post to ekpiteta. If he had done though and the ball was squared, he would have been blamed.
O’Hora hasn’t gotten away without blame and was also hooked at HT as a result however it was two individual errors that caused the goal.
O’Hora should never have caused the opportunity but if Bursic makes what wasn’t a hard save then it’s a bit embarrassing for O’Hora rather than the complete disaster it was.
O’Hora hasn’t gotten away without blame and was also hooked at HT as a result however it was two individual errors that caused the goal.
O’Hora should never have caused the opportunity but if Bursic makes what wasn’t a hard save then it’s a bit embarrassing for O’Hora rather than the complete disaster it was.
Bursik was left with a choice, he made the wrong one. Two others take a bigger blame for the goal.
09-11-2024, 08:29 PM
Bursik was left with a choice, he made the wrong one. Two others take a bigger blame for the goal.What choice was he given?
It was a fairly tame shot he let bounce over his leg
It's shocking goalkeeping
OHora obviously made the first 2 mistakes but by Christ you can't have a goalie like that chucking them in
09-11-2024, 08:34 PM
Bursik never had a choice, it was quite simple to just react like most keepers would and save a tame shot. How many keepers in our league get beat by that shot in that manner? Very few
O’Hora had a decision to make, stay on his feet or make the tackle. He was far too timid when he should have been aggressive. Big mistake.
Ekpiteta had a much harder decision. He was with their striker who was drifting centrally, if Ekpiteta goes over too early it’s a simple pass and the striker and a one on one or tap in. He tried to narrow it as much as he could whilst cutting off the pass imo.
09-11-2024, 08:53 PM
He’s not a great keeper but on another day the ball hits his foot and goes wide for a corner and he is praised for a good save. Unfortunately when you are in a rut like we are it doesn’t happen. O’Hora is totally to blame for what was absolutely criminal defending.
Paul1642
09-11-2024, 08:57 PM
Bursik was left with a choice, he made the wrong one. Two others take a bigger blame for the goal.
I assume you are meaning Ekpiteta as second of those two and I disagree with that. He was dammed whatever he chose to do. Whilst the correct decision would have been to go to the player with the ball, it’s then a simple sideway pass and an open goal to the player he would have left unmarked.
Bursic should have saved that shot, there’s no two ways about it. He doesn’t seem to save anything that isn’t routine.
Steve Austin
09-11-2024, 09:02 PM
I assume you are meaning Ekpiteta as second of those two and I disagree with that. He was dammed whatever he chose to do. Whilst the correct decision would have been to go to the player with the ball, it’s then a simple sideway pass and an open goal to the player he would have left unmarked.
Bursic should have saved that shot, there’s no two ways about it. He doesn’t seem to save anything that isn’t routine.
Bursik is making too many errors,basic goalkeeper ones like …
For a club who wants to be in Europe etc top four minimum..
we are shopping far too down the leagues ie Mk dons ,Blackpool and such like no disrespect to them as clubs ..
What is happening at HIBS I’m confused and something is seriously wrong top to bottom.
I am not saying bursik is blameless. The goal was primarily down to ohora, and ekpiteta could have helped the recovery, but I agree might have opened another option.
Bursik was put in a very difficult position
09-11-2024, 09:07 PM
I am not saying bursik is blameless. The goal was primarily down to ohora, and ekpiteta could have helped the recovery, but I agree might have opened another option.
Bursik was put in a very difficult position
Unfortunately goalkeeper is a difficult position for Bursik.
Harsh
09-11-2024, 09:09 PM
1. Malkowski
2. Bursik
Might change the order of this soon
09-11-2024, 09:10 PM
Harsh
but true:boo hoo:
Paul1642
09-11-2024, 09:24 PM
1. Malkowski
2. Bursik
Zibi was a disaster because all his calamity’s seemed to come in Derby’s. In hindsight I think there was something fishy going on there.
He was however a much more capable goalkeeper than Bursik who IMO competes with Simon Brown for the worst of the 21st century at Hibs.
09-11-2024, 09:29 PM
Zibi was a disaster because all his calamity’s seemed to come in Derby’s. In hindsight I think there was something fishy going on there.
He was however a much more capable goalkeeper than Bursik who IMO competes with Simon Brown for the worst of the 21st century at Hibs.
:agree: I've been banging about this for years without much pick up on the point - but in my mind Zibby was clearly taking bribes from Romanov. Seven high profile and laughable errors in a Hibs jersey and all against Hearts? Come on. I will keep repeating this until it becomes accepted.
Criswell
09-11-2024, 09:40 PM
I’ve seen some awful goalkeepers at Hibs, but he’s up there as the worst.
Surely you mean down there!
09-11-2024, 09:51 PM
If I had to rank blame I’d say
O’Hora
Bursic
Marv
09-11-2024, 10:16 PM
He genuinely looks like an outfield player forced to go in goals because of an injury/red card to the normal goalie.
I’d be playing Boruc.
09-11-2024, 10:23 PM
It’s incredible how inept he looks as a goalie. I can’t remember one who looks so incapable of saving a shot. Bad goalies tend to be bad decision makers. They all have a basic ability to save shots. He doesn’t.
TrinityHFC
09-11-2024, 10:42 PM
Bursik is making too many errors,basic goalkeeper ones like …
For a club who wants to be in Europe etc top four minimum..
we are shopping far too down the leagues ie Mk dons ,Blackpool and such like no disrespect to them as clubs ..
What is happening at HIBS I’m confused and something is seriously wrong top to bottom.
Not really much to do with where you shop, it is identifying the right players from those leagues then getting them working as a team. We are losing to teams who shop lower than we do generally.
Mitov for example who many thought we should have been going for came from Cambridge Utd before St Johnstone.
The guy that scored twice today was from Glentoran.
Criswell
09-11-2024, 10:55 PM
Seriously, is it possible that Marshall could be re-registered temporarily as a player? If ever there was an emergency it is here now!
09-11-2024, 10:57 PM
I've not seen either goal back but was he honestly that bad? Don't remember thinking he was to blame for either at the game.
09-11-2024, 11:02 PM
I've not seen either goal back but was he honestly that bad? Don't remember thinking he was to blame for either at the game.
I would watch the second one again mate (if you can bring yourself to).
09-11-2024, 11:03 PM
It's incredible that we've signed two new goalkeepers in the summer and Burisk is considered the better of the two. Quite remarkable really.
09-11-2024, 11:04 PM
I will eventually, it's my usual Sunday morning punishment. Probably still too gobsmacked at whatever happened with O'Hora to notice Bursik at the game.
Scotty Leither
09-11-2024, 11:10 PM
It's incredible that we've signed two new goalkeepers in the summer and Burisk is considered the better of the two. Quite remarkable really.
He can’t be dropped though, because the guy at second choice cannot presumably be trusted because he’s not played first-team football for 5 years and has been given a TWO-YEAR DEAL.
He’s had one game for us at Kelty and he was garbage. We’re having the piss taken out us by a Board of self-protectionists who are hanging a rookie manager out to dry.
Scotty Leither
09-11-2024, 11:41 PM
He’s not a great keeper but on another day the ball hits his foot and goes wide for a corner and he is praised for a good save. Unfortunately when you are in a rut like we are it doesn’t happen. O’Hora is totally to blame for what was absolutely criminal defending.
He’s crap.
10-11-2024, 02:14 AM
He makes Zibi look like Buffon in his prime, an absolutely honking goalkeeper.
That’s an affront on Zibi even mentioning this idiot in the same breath as him. Zibi, derbies aside where there was clearly some sort of corruption going on, was actually a semi-competent goalkeeper. Bursik is the worst keeper I’ve seen play for us. Only Oli comes close.
10-11-2024, 05:29 AM
I'd be pretty surprised if we don't get a BK loan in the goalkeeping dept in January
I've stuck up for Bursik on occasion but the 2nd yesterday was another howler
We can't keep conceding goals like that
10-11-2024, 05:35 AM
My five year old grand daughter could have got a foot to a ball kicked straight at her and kicked it away for a corner at the second goal
School boy stuff
O’Hora’s recovery speed after losing possession soo one paced no surprise he was hooked for Rocky at half time
FastEddieFelson
10-11-2024, 07:20 AM
If I had to rank blame I’d say
O’Hora
Bursic
Marv
I agree with this order of blame
WestStandWillie
10-11-2024, 07:26 AM
O’Hora’s went from looking good in the early part of the season to now looking scared. He just shells the ball up the park or into the stands.
Maybe he’s having sleepless nights since becoming a dad.
10-11-2024, 07:29 AM
He did cover the near post just couldn’t keep out a very poor finish.
10-11-2024, 07:37 AM
He did cover the near post just couldn’t keep out a very poor finish.
Yep. His positioning was spot on and he's in the position to make the save. The issue is he doesn't make the save which he really should have. It's a poor finish straight at him. From the situation we were in you couldn't really have asked for the guy to make it any more likely for us to escape without conceding but the keepers feeble attempt to keep it out has let him off the hook.
10-11-2024, 08:03 AM
We simply must bring in a replacement in January. He's a goalie that doesn't make saves. Never bails us out of any situation.
We need someone in there that is experienced and commanding.
hibeejeebies
10-11-2024, 08:03 AM
My five year old grand daughter could have got a foot to a ball kicked straight at her and kicked it away for a corner at the second goal
School boy stuff
O’Hora’s recovery speed after losing possession soo one paced no surprise he was hooked for Rocky at half time
Now tbf Billy, he was towing a caravan.
10-11-2024, 09:30 AM
Holy **** 😂 it’s bad.
10-11-2024, 09:49 AM
We simply must bring in a replacement in January. He's a goalie that doesn't make saves. Never bails us out of any situation.
If Will Dennis isn't here on loan come January we should be telling the BK to ram it. What's the point in having a tie in with Bournemouth if we can't get a keeper to save us.
10-11-2024, 11:21 AM
After several viewings of the second goal I would be changing keeper for the next match.
I don't care how poor the back ups might be actions need to have consequences.
ChuckNor
11-11-2024, 10:42 AM
Just watched the second goal back and really wish I didn’t. There is no way the lad should’ve scored with that shot with the keeper in that position.
11-11-2024, 10:43 AM
I said very early on he’s the sort of keeper that gets you relegated, you only need to look at United a couple of years ago
He’s hopeless
11-11-2024, 10:44 AM
After several viewings of the second goal I would be changing keeper for the next match.
Exactly. O’Hora had a howler and was hooked immediately. Bursik has cost us several times now but plays regardless, it’s baffling.
11-11-2024, 10:46 AM
Exactly. O’Hora had a howler and was hooked immediately. Bursik has cost us several times now but plays regardless, it’s baffling.
He's playing because his deputy is a total dud as well. Although I refuse to believe he is as bad as Bursik. Ridiculous position for us to be in, even by Hibs standards.
11-11-2024, 10:52 AM
He's playing because his deputy is a total dud as well. Although I refuse to believe he is as bad as Bursik. Ridiculous position for us to be in, even by Hibs standards.
You look at the derby and the keeper had next to nothing to do. Despite that, he dropped a simple ball and gives them a corner and minutes later they score. That comes after gifting Dundee Utd 2 goals the prior game
Even a bang average replacement could have done the job in the derby to keep a clean sheet, or save that 2nd goal on Saturday.
Yet another reason that it's difficult to defend Gray.
11-11-2024, 10:54 AM
If Will Dennis isn't here on loan come January we should be telling the BK to ram it. What's the point in having a tie in with Bournemouth if we can't get a keeper to save us.
I'm glad we aren't fan owned...
No Will Dennis, ram it Bill.
11-11-2024, 10:57 AM
The good news there is 51 days till the January window opens and we can find a new number 1.
The bad news is...we still have a number 2 we don't seem to trust and is here for 2 years..plus we have 8 games (24 worth of points to play for) before Jan 1st..
I also wouldn't trust the club to find a proper replacement unless some new guy comes in and is ruthless.
chippy
11-11-2024, 11:26 AM
Why wait till January if there are good ins on free transfers ?
TrinityHFC
11-11-2024, 11:26 AM
I'm glad we aren't fan owned...
No Will Dennis, ram it Bill.
Worth remembering Will Dennis hadn’t played at any decent level and had a very shaky start at Killie. He publicly thanked the fans later for sticking by him.
HIBS NUTS
11-11-2024, 12:57 PM
He gives the illusion that he isn’t that bad , as he is good at catching the ball with, no pressure on him, his general decision making is horrendous, and he just doesn’t save enough shots, he also panics and dives down to early.
The goal against st Mirren, wasent entirely his fault , but what a feeble effort by any profession goalie keeper to save the shot.
whiskas
11-11-2024, 07:53 PM
Having watched the 2 goals back now I think David Marshall saves them and his powers were waning.
He doesn't appear to have an aura or a confidence about him. At least he's relatively tidy with the ball at his feet I suppose.
It seems to be modern goalkeeping way- 'distribution' over the ability/drive/desire to keep the ball our the net at all costs.
Mark Oxley Mk2?
Ironically he'd done a rare piece of good goalkeeping just before the farcical penalty decision vs Dundee Utd.
14-11-2024, 03:20 PM
https://x.com/hibsobserver_/status/1857092870299074832?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Hopefully they someone at Hibs reads this
Proves the eye test is matching up with the stats
HIBS NUTS
14-11-2024, 06:43 PM
https://x.com/hibsobserver_/status/1857092870299074832?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Hopefully they someone at Hibs reads this
Proves the eye test is matching up with the stats
Do you need to be a subscriber ?
what’s does it basically say
14-11-2024, 06:51 PM
Give Marshall a contract until January is all I can think of unless we can recall the lad from Airdrie
expresso
15-11-2024, 07:18 AM
Do you need to be a subscriber ?
what’s does it basically say
Basically the stats back up our overall perception of him as a keeper…….he’s awful.
Edinburgh Green
15-11-2024, 07:45 AM
He gives the illusion that he isn’t that bad , as he is good at catching the ball with, no pressure on him, his general decision making is horrendous, and he just doesn’t save enough shots, he also panics and dives down to early.
The goal against st Mirren, wasent entirely his fault , but what a feeble effort by any profession goalie keeper to save the shot.
He reminds me of Chris Maxwell, never has any major clangers but just doesn't seem to save anything. He's genuinely one of the worst I've seen.
GreenPJ
15-11-2024, 08:04 AM
He reminds me of Chris Maxwell, never has any major clangers but just doesn't seem to save anything. He's genuinely one of the worst I've seen.
We have conceded less than the 6 teams immediately above us. Its not that he doesn't save anything but there is likely an error in a game (from him or the defence). I hadn't realised he is 24 (thought he was older) and he has played so little in last 4 years (if Wiki is accurate). Unfortunately we aren't in a position whereby our No 1 is still on a steep development curve and due to lack of experience its a challenge for him how to manage the slump he/the team is in.
It does call into question why he was initially brought in or brought in as No 1 by the management team.
I think and hope for him he goes on to have a good career but we need to bring in another No 1 in Jan and if not then we go with Boric and Johnston.
15-11-2024, 08:08 AM
I saw Tony Caig and Simon Brown so there's always the need for perspective.
He's not the worst we have had but he is far from the best.
Edinburgh Green
15-11-2024, 08:24 AM
We have conceded less than the 6 teams immediately above us. Its not that he doesn't save anything but there is likely an error in a game (from him or the defence). I hadn't realised he is 24 (thought he was older) and he has played so little in last 4 years (if Wiki is accurate). Unfortunately we aren't in a position whereby our No 1 is still on a steep development curve and due to lack of experience its a challenge for him how to manage the slump he/the team is in.
It does call into question why he was initially brought in or brought in as No 1 by the management team.
I think and hope for him he goes on to have a good career but we need to bring in another No 1 in Jan and if not then we go with Boric and Johnston.
I'd like to see a table that shows goals conceded v shots on target as we've all seen that most games so far teams seem to score with the majority of shots on target. Motherwell game prime example.
Hibeesforever
15-11-2024, 08:39 AM
Marshall should be brought out of retirement...simplest option and in the building....
15-11-2024, 08:48 AM
But he does have major clangers. Parkhead and 2 at Tannadice immediately spring to mind. Then add in the fact that he doesn't seem to save anything and it's no surprise we find ourselves where we are.
HIBS NUTS
15-11-2024, 08:51 AM
Marshall should be brought out of retirement...simplest option and in the building....
I agree he needs changed, but if me and friends are anything to go by, if we were asked to go back to work, when we retired, it would be a diaster, you just coudnt be arsed with it. 😃
15-11-2024, 09:00 AM
I'd like to see a table that shows goals conceded v shots on target as we've all seen that most games so far teams seem to score with the majority of shots on target. Motherwell game prime example.
https://fbref.com/en/comps/40/keepers/Scottish-Premiership-Stats
So not the worst at shot saving ratio but still in the bottom half. Then add in the clangers - would say at least 3 have contributed to goals - then its not good.
15-11-2024, 10:07 AM
But he does have major clangers. Parkhead and 2 at Tannadice immediately spring to mind. Then add in the fact that he doesn't seem to save anything and it's no surprise we find ourselves where we are.
Simon Murray equaliser ball down the side beat at the nearpost. Motherwell ball down the side at ER beaten nearpost. St Mirren 2nd at ER beat by the effort into the nearpost. All examples of the sort of opportunities where in my opinion you are entitled to expect a decent goalkeeper to have a decent chance of making a save that gets you out of jail and gets you a result. He just isn't making them.
He is not saving us any points.
15-11-2024, 02:41 PM
Simon Murray equaliser ball down the side beat at the nearpost. Motherwell ball down the side at ER beaten nearpost. St Mirren 2nd at ER beat by the effort into the nearpost. All examples of the sort of opportunities where in my opinion you are entitled to expect a decent goalkeeper to have a decent chance of making a save that gets you out of jail and gets you a result. He just isn't making them.
I reckon he's made only two saves that would be ones that would get you up off your feet to applaud him in 16 games - saves from headers away at Ibrox and away at Ross County. The Ross County one is probably one you'd expect a keeper to make.
Marciano sometimes had 3 or 4 saves worthy of applause in one game.
ChuckNor
15-11-2024, 02:58 PM
I have doubts he will be here after January. Will Dennis should end up joining us given Garvan Stewart’s appointment.
15-11-2024, 03:00 PM
Would love for Marciano to come back in January
Scotty Leither
15-11-2024, 03:53 PM
I reckon he's made only two saves that would be ones that would get you up off your feet to applaud him in 16 games - saves from headers away at Ibrox and away at Ross County. The Ross County one is probably one you'd expect a keeper to make.
Marciano sometimes had 3 or 4 saves worthy of applause in one game.
Out of the myriad of guff signings made by Gordon and/or Mackay, he’s by far and away the worst because he’s:
1) signed as a first choice in a position where there’s most scrutiny on mistakes.
2) He can’t be hidden away either on loan (like Tavares and Kenneh) because he’s a loan signing himself.
3) His deputy has had one game in his place where he was unconvincing, and he has even less recent first-team experience than Bursik had.
I reckon he’s the worst signing that’s been made, but then I suspect the parameters of him and his understudy’s signing is that there was no fee allowed to be paid for a GK, and they had to come here dirt cheap.
You get what you pay for right enough.
17-11-2024, 08:09 AM
I saw Tony Caig and Simon Brown so there's always the need for perspective.
He's not the worst we have had but he is far from the best.
Pretty much this. I like how he comes for and takes crosses however seems to lack a bit in terms of presence and decision making. Still young and still potential to raise his levels and gain a bit of much needed confidence
17-11-2024, 08:14 AM
Only one of the three an error was St Mirren one Murray shooting from close through his legs Motherwell one an unstoppable high shot imo. Defending in the three instances very poor
Jdawg
17-11-2024, 08:24 AM
I watch led the recent Open Goal and one of them said he shouldn’t be allowed to own gloves 😂