View Full Version : Dylan Vente

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Donegal Hibby
15-07-2024, 02:38 PM
I think some folk won't agree with me which is absolutely fine though from the minute we signed Vente after watching footage I was convinced we had a good goal scoring poacher on our hands ..

His goals early on didn't change my mind on this and I still think even though it hasn't exactly went to plan that we have a good striker .

I find this article encouraging in I think if we play him in the right position and supply decent service , he will score goals for us which I don't think we did do and the guys confidence has probably taken a hit by it too ...

Hopefully his hat trick is just the boost he's needed to start scoring regularly again....

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/vente-happy-to-be-playing-as-a-real-striker-under-david-gray-after-bagging-hat-trick-in-elgin-4701929

tonyrougier123
15-07-2024, 02:45 PM
He does have a knack in the box but we have to be good enough we can afford him to be in there. We need options up front don’t think he’s a strong enough option to depend on,and if we are going to have a foil for him needs to be the right type.
If the game isn’t going our way and Vente is dropping deep we will find our chances limited. No one in the box to collect crosses etc. the amount of times we put a ball in and let opposition get away with it is something we really need to fix.

Donegal Hibby
15-07-2024, 04:08 PM
He does have a knack in the box but we have to be good enough we can afford him to be in there. We need options up front don’t think he’s a strong enough option to depend on,and if we are going to have a foil for him needs to be the right type.
If the game isn’t going our way and Vente is dropping deep we will find our chances limited. No one in the box to collect crosses etc. the amount of times we put a ball in and let opposition get away with it is something we really need to fix.

He's a penalty box striker , I agree we need to be good enough to afford him in there , in we need to create chances for him .

Another Striker must be one of the priorities now . Hopefully one different than Vente ( maybe a target man) that will give us another option but works well with Vente too .

I doubt Gray will have Vente dropping deep in games and think maybe compared to the way we were playing in a slow build up from the back we will be more direct at times now Gray is manager which will suit Vente too .

Boyles goal being an example in I think there was only 4 passes in the whole move .

TrinityHFC
15-07-2024, 04:11 PM
I think some folk won't agree with me which is absolutely fine though from the minute we signed Vente after watching footage I was convinced we had a good goal scoring poacher on our hands ..

His goals early on didn't change my mind on this and I still think even though it hasn't exactly went to plan that we have a good striker .

I find this article encouraging in I think if we play him in the right position and supply decent service , he will score goals for us which I don't think we did do and the guys confidence has probably taken a hit by it too ...

Hopefully his hat trick is just the boost he's needed to start scoring regularly again....

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/vente-happy-to-be-playing-as-a-real-striker-under-david-gray-after-bagging-hat-trick-in-elgin-4701929

Montgomery leaving was exactly what he needed. Very clear he wasn’t being used in the right way. Same goes for most of our better players.

lugz
15-07-2024, 04:22 PM
Was honestly amazed at the amount of people writing him off, I’m not going to get carried away by a hatty in the league cup but it shows exactly where he needs to play. Get him between the posts and he’ll score goals.

kentao
15-07-2024, 04:59 PM
When the rumour first broke that we were looking at Vente and his highlight reel was posted on here, I thought we had absolutely no chance of signing him as he was so composed and deadly in front of goals with both feet and scored a couple of decent headers. I was delighted when he signed but it hasn't really worked out so far.

I wouldn't be writing him off just yet and hopefully a couple more goals during the group games will really boost his confidence before the league gets underway.

15-07-2024, 05:01 PM
Play him properly as box striker, he'll score plenty

15-07-2024, 05:27 PM
Play him properly as box striker, he'll score plenty

Lone strikers very rarely play as box strikers in modern football. As they are played up top by themselves they need to over more contribution to build up play otherwise they'd be massively isolated.

I think he'd thrive if he had someone playing just off him but that's not a system I think we'll play much.

15-07-2024, 06:21 PM
Out and out goalscorer in and around the box, still to prove it at SPFL level?

C'mon Hibs let's not use him the way Monty thought was a good idea before we rule him out..........

Donegal Hibby
15-07-2024, 07:53 PM
There's been lots of good of good striking partnerships over the years with a clinical striker playing of a big striker .. McCoist & Hately, Quinn & Philips , Crouch & Defoe etc ...

https://www.888sport.com/blog/remembering-the-little-and-large-strike-partnerships#:~:text=Little%2Dand%2Dlarge%20strike %20partnerships,plundered%2034%20goals%20in%20a

15-07-2024, 08:21 PM
There's been lots of good of good striking partnerships over the years with a clinical striker playing of a big striker .. McCoist & Hately, Quinn & Philips , Crouch & Defoe etc ...

https://www.888sport.com/blog/remembering-the-little-and-large-strike-partnerships#:~:text=Little%2Dand%2Dlarge%20strike %20partnerships,plundered%2034%20goals%20in%20a

Celtic front line under Martin O'Neill too, it just works well in Scottish football.

16-07-2024, 09:08 AM
If getting the best out of Vente means having to get more balls into the box then it’s something I’d be happy to live with.

Donegal Hibby
16-07-2024, 09:20 AM
Celtic front line under Martin O'Neill too, it just works well in Scottish football.

Your right , forgot about Celtics under Martin O'Neill. It was another front line that worked to great effect too. A good target man that's mobile I think would be an ideal partner for Vente .

Mcbizz1998
16-07-2024, 09:26 AM
With the rumour of Nisbet coming back on loan, how do we think he would link up with Vente? Nisbet is 100% a better all round player so could work nicely with Vente as a fox in the box type?

sauzee1989
16-07-2024, 09:28 AM
With the rumour of Nisbet coming back on loan, how do we think he would link up with Vente? Nisbet is 100% a better all round player so could work nicely with Vente as a fox in the box type?

Don’t want Nisbet back. Wanted out of hibs as soon as he arrived.

16-07-2024, 09:29 AM
Don’t want Nisbet back. Wanted out of hibs as soon as he arrived.

Correct.

Mcbizz1998
16-07-2024, 09:31 AM
Don’t want Nisbet back. Wanted out of hibs as soon as he arrived.Ok. I didn't ask whether you wanted him back though. I asked, given the rumour, how he might link up with Vente? I presume from your response you don't think it would work?

Donegal Hibby
16-07-2024, 09:34 AM

I think him and Vente would work well together as Nisbet would do the graft . Nisbet would certainly create space for Vente as defenders would have to go and cover him . Let's not kid ourselves Nisbet a quality striker.

Trinity Hibee
16-07-2024, 09:36 AM
I think Nisbet would work well with Vente . I doubt there's anything in him coming back tbh , he's a quality Striker who I take back in a heartbeat if there was a chance though.

Have to agree with that. For our league he’s a very good striker

16-07-2024, 09:42 AM

There's no doubt that 2 players with the ability they've got should be able to link up well and cause teams problems. Nisbet played well in a 2 with Doidge although this would be a different role in a partnership.

My issue would be the rest of the team if they were both playing - how would we set up a team to get 2 out and out strikers into it that didn't leave us overly weak in either midfield or defence?

Therefore if it was an either or situation I'd probably rather stick with the player we've got - who has got something to prove and got a hat-trick at the weekend - over someone who is undoubtedly a good player but who has fitness and possible attitude issues a lot of the time.

Donegal Hibby
16-07-2024, 09:43 AM
Have to agree with that. For our league he’s a very good striker

Vente , Nisbet up front would be a fantastic striker force in this league.

20-07-2024, 03:25 PM
Not good enough

20-07-2024, 03:34 PM
He didn’t score midweek and missed a sitter today If he doesn’t go on to score then you have to question what’s up with him Hecis suppossed to be our top scorer and our No 9 The opposition aren’t great so he should of been looking to build on his hatrick in first cup game

20-07-2024, 03:36 PM
Outworked by McKirdy and shown less threat than him. Needs to learn from that.

20-07-2024, 03:55 PM
Gave him some leeway during the week for missing his chances but that was abysmal today.

20-07-2024, 03:57 PM
I’m not even going to speak about the misses.

But that is just a typical Dylan Vente performance. He offers absolutely nothing and I’m sure defenders love playing against him. He has no physical presence, doesn’t beat men, no threat in behind, doesn’t hold it in particularly well and just hardly touches the ball.

We need a lot better.

I’m sure someone will come along and say his movement is really good.

TheHibernator
20-07-2024, 03:59 PM
He’s absolutely brutal. No stand out attributes whatsoever

20-07-2024, 04:02 PM
Slow, lethargic, not physical

Worrying

gramskiwood
20-07-2024, 04:07 PM
Just not good enough. We're going to struggle this season if we are relying on him as our main goal threat.

ChuckNor
20-07-2024, 04:10 PM
Anyone still rather him over Nisbet? The guy is utterly hopeless and will never cut it at this club.

20-07-2024, 04:10 PM
IMO has been shown a lot of leeway by the support, perhaps because he wasn't played as an out and out striker last season. But on Tuesday he was anonymous in a team with piles of possession in the final third and today he was a passenger, who couldn't hit a coos erse with a banjo when he did get a chance. We need far better than him and we need to get whoever he / they are in the door yesterday.

Archie70
20-07-2024, 04:20 PM

But that is just a typical Dylan Vente performance. He offers absolutely nothing and I’m sure defenders love playing against him. He has no physical presence, doesn’t beat men, no threat in behind, doesn’t hold it in particularly well and just hardly touches the ball.

We need a lot better.

Absolutely spot on.

20-07-2024, 04:23 PM

We need a lot better.

20-07-2024, 04:29 PM
Jamie McClaren said he would move back to Hibs in a heartbeat, he would have sunk a few of them chances today.

20-07-2024, 04:30 PM

We need a lot better.

Nail on head.

I can forgive/understand misses but his general play is atrocious, none of the basic qualities you need to perform as a decent No.9, especially when playing the system employed recently.

20-07-2024, 04:31 PM
Elgin City is his level. Sadly his wages and transfer fee don’t reflect that.

thebausburst
20-07-2024, 04:33 PM
Absolutely spot on.

💯 Vente is anonymous and offers nothing, needs about 4 sitters to get 1 goal.

20-07-2024, 05:00 PM
Back to his usual after a promising start last week.

Can’t play with a striker who offers so little throughout a game.

20-07-2024, 05:22 PM
Sell him now so we can get a striker who knows the Scottish game asap

20-07-2024, 05:23 PM
Sell him now so we can get a striker who knows the Scottish game asap

Knowing the Scottish game means nothing imo. Just get a better striker in. Maolida knew nothing about the Scottish game

20-07-2024, 07:55 PM
Jamie McClaren said he would move back to Hibs in a heartbeat, he would have sunk a few of them chances today.Where has he said this? I’d take him 100%

20-07-2024, 07:58 PM
He’s just not very good - the chances he missed midweek proved that.

20-07-2024, 08:00 PM
I have been patient with him but it’s wearing thin. He offers very little. Two terrible misses today to add to the two in Tuesday. Just not good enough. Every club in the league have a more potent striker including Ross county who have lost a few (Jordan White remains and is better than Vente)

et_hibby
20-07-2024, 08:24 PM
Time’s up for me with him too.

K-Zazu
20-07-2024, 08:30 PM
Another Ian Gordon special.

20-07-2024, 08:57 PM
Don't think he wants to be here started off well but don't think he is suited to scottish football

20-07-2024, 09:34 PM
It’s not just the misses, it’s the overall lack of presence up front. He’s just not very good. We need a lot better. He’s a squad player at best, only used if we have an injury crisis.

20-07-2024, 09:54 PM
Vente was particularly poor today. He had zero influence on the game.

20-07-2024, 09:57 PM
Sell him now so we can get a striker who knows the Scottish game asapVentes been here a year - he now knows the Scottish game

Being quality is far more important

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

20-07-2024, 10:01 PM
Hate to say it but Vente compared to Shankland… it’s not even close.

We spent hard again (Melkerson) and we messed up…

20-07-2024, 10:01 PM
Vente was particularly poor today. He had zero influence on the game.

He’s one of the least threatening centre forwards we’ve had. Too many excuses and I think he’d bought them himself. Hat-trick against Elgin and he’s talking about the difference in being played right. It was the fact that it was Elgin rather than him doing anything massively different.

Pound for pound, he’s been a terrible signing. So disappointing.

20-07-2024, 10:06 PM
He’s one of the least threatening centre forwards we’ve had. Too many excuses and I think he’d bought them himself. Hat-trick against Elgin and he’s talking about the difference in being played right. It was the fact that it was Elgin rather than him doing anything massively different.

Pound for pound, he’s been a terrible signing. So disappointing.

He needs moved on. About as effective as Euan Henderson. Total lightweight of a player.

20-07-2024, 10:24 PM
FAO David Gray.

Welcome to your first massive, huge, potentially career defining decision.

20-07-2024, 10:34 PM
Rarely seen a player given so much leeway by Hibs supporters to explain away poor performances but at some point (which looks like now) Vente’s going to have to start delivering consistently or go elsewhere to play.

We need a striker that we can rely on to score when they get chances. I hope that’s Vente but there’s minimal evidence to back that up at the moment.

We don’t need to sign a striker to support him, we need one to replace him.

ChuckNor
20-07-2024, 10:37 PM
Rarely seen a player given so much leeway by Hibs supporters to explain away poor performances but at some point (which looks like now) Vente’s going to have to start delivering consistently or go elsewhere to play.

We need a striker that we can rely on to score when they get chances. I hope that’s Vente but there’s minimal evidence to back that up at the moment.

Agreed. He has had the kind of patience other players would’ve loved to have from the support. That patience has ended after that today. A shocking display from a man who was supposed to be a natural finisher. He has looked the complete opposite for some time now. Doesn’t look like he knows where the goals are.

20-07-2024, 10:53 PM

Honestly, I can’t believe the amount of excuses that have been made for him. It’s always someone else’s fault.

There will be no defender that fear playing against him. He offers so little.

20-07-2024, 11:05 PM
Thank you, Ian Gordon. The couple of Talent ID seminars you attended have really paid off. Fud.

21-07-2024, 05:29 AM
I’m not even going to speak about the misses. But that is just a typical Dylan Vente performance. He offers absolutely nothing and I’m sure defenders love playing against him. He has no physical presence, doesn’t beat men, no threat in behind, doesn’t hold it in particularly well and just hardly touches the ball. We need a lot better. I’m sure someone will come along and say his movement is really good.The guy is a dud time to ship him out Never ever looks like scoring adopting the positions or getting in front of defenders or holding the ball up Not the tallest or most physical I lost count of how often the ball just sailed over his head yesterday and Tuesday Must be a dream to mark We need a couple at least of proven natural goalscoring finishers like yesterday

21-07-2024, 06:06 AM
We have given several players too many chances.

He’s one of them.

He needs to quickly be replaced by someone better, as do most of the squad.

21-07-2024, 06:34 AM
I sometimes try to imagine one or two of our players playing for our competitors in the same league doing the same things.

My question is if Dylan Vente was playing for a st Mirren and offering the same assists, goals, movement etc would I want Hibs to sign him.

The answer currently is 100% no.

He may improve when we get some other forwards in but just now he doesn’t offer enough.

Posted earlier, very slow, won’t run in behind, fails to get a lot of tap in goals, fox in the box type. Not a massive target man.

I really don’t get what his number one style of play is and how we benefit from it. 700k we paid for this laddie, if we can get anything close to our money back I’d bite your hand off.

Mcbizz1998
21-07-2024, 06:37 AM
Why is he so small and weak looking? It’s no wonder he can’t impose himself on games he has the build of a 14 year old. Needs to put some time in the gym.

21-07-2024, 06:53 AM
Honestly, I can’t believe the amount of excuses that have been made for him. It’s always someone else’s fault.

There will be no defender that fear playing against him. He offers so little.

Monty will probably still be taking the blame for “ruining him” this season. It’s bizarre.

21-07-2024, 07:10 AM
Has he scored a goal that’s not been put on a plate for him? Something not the result of a lovely ball across the goal that’s the fruit of the work from someone else’s skill or endeavour, where he’s had to work his arse off and show something to fashion a chance out of nothing?

We need a striker who can do that. Even if he was a decent finisher what he offers wouldn’t be enough, we need so much more.

21-07-2024, 07:16 AM
It’s not the missing chances and lack of goals that’s my issue with Vente. It’s his lack of all round game, he has less to his game than Oli Shaw did when he broke through. Did we actually spend £700k on him?

21-07-2024, 07:26 AM
It’s not the missing chances and lack of goals that’s my issue with Vente. It’s his lack of all round game, he has less to his game than Oli Shaw did when he broke through. Did we actually spend £700k on him?

Been saying this for ages. It’s almost impossible to play with a striker who offers nothing else to the team. I get that strikers miss chances but we’ve been told for ages that Vente just needs to be between the posts and he’ll score goals. That’s two games on the trot where he’s missed really good chances from between the posts. As much as that happens, if he’s not scoring he’s not doing anything and that’s, obviously, not good enough.

We have to get a striker in this week.

21-07-2024, 09:48 AM
Swap for Van Veen if possible

et_hibby
21-07-2024, 10:13 AM
Swap for Van Veen if possible
Be lucky to swap him with Van Morisson.

21-07-2024, 10:21 AM
Swap for Van Veen if possibleAbsolutely not

VV should not be a target

21-07-2024, 11:02 AM
Hate to say it but Vente compared to Shankland… it’s not even close.

We spent hard again (Melkerson) and we messed up…

Their first seasons in the Scottish top flight were pretty similar

21-07-2024, 11:04 AM
Their first seasons in the Scottish top flight were pretty similar

But Vente has missed chances and Shankland never misses ever so Vente must be crap. Hibs.net FACT

21-07-2024, 11:06 AM
But Vente has missed chances and Shankland never misses ever so Vente must be crap. Hibs.net FACT

It’s nothing to do with the comparison to Shankland that makes folk think Vente is crap. It’s just watching Vente himself.

21-07-2024, 11:09 AM
Sympathy and patience is wearing thin, he needs some big performances and to put the ****ing ball in the net to win over the support.

He did it 3 times last week so he CAN finish, and yesterday we could have played for hours and still not scored.

Regardless of that we desperately need to sign a couple of strikers who can come in and score, Kamberi style.

21-07-2024, 11:15 AM
Absolutely not

VV should not be a target

Agree, terrible attitude.

When Vente was banging in the goals I didn't think much of him as a footballer but he looked a natural finisher. Whether Monty sucked that out of him is up for debate but he looks way short of confidence now and time is running out

21-07-2024, 11:22 AM
Agree, terrible attitude.

When Vente was banging in the goals I didn't think much of him as a footballer but he looked a natural finisher. Whether Monty sucked that out of him is up for debate but he looks way short of confidence now and time is running out

He has 5 league goals in 29 games. When exactly was he banging them in?

Velma Dinkley
21-07-2024, 11:23 AM
Agree, terrible attitude.When Vente was banging in the goals I didn't think much of him as a footballer but he looked a natural finisher. Whether Monty sucked that out of him is up for debate but he looks way short of confidence now and time is running outHe scored a hat-trick a week ago.

21-07-2024, 11:24 AM
He scored a hat-trick a week ago.

Against Elgin City.

21-07-2024, 11:25 AM
He has 5 league goals in 29 games. When exactly was he banging them in?

Beginning of last season if you count Europe. What I really meant was every goal attempt he had was going in.

21-07-2024, 11:25 AM
He scored a hat-trick a week ago.

Didn't exactly boost his confidence did it?

Velma Dinkley
21-07-2024, 11:40 AM
Against Elgin City.Correct. It was in the League Cup.

Hibees1973
21-07-2024, 11:46 AM
I've defended him throughout the time he has been here. Mainly due to the farce of the constant change in managers and him being played out of position. Yesterday though he was culpable and one of the worst on show. If he is our main striker for the season ahead he has got to get stronger and take more of his chances. If not, it will be a bottom six place again next season.

21-07-2024, 11:51 AM
Beginning of last season if you count Europe. What I really meant was every goal attempt he had was going in.

That was the biggest issue for me. It was never sustainable. He scored 5 goals from his first 5 shots, over 10 games or so.

He’s missed good chances in the last couple of games so at least he’s in positions to score. But he’s not going to get that number of chances when the league starts. He has to score or he’s offering nothing.

CentreForward
21-07-2024, 11:52 AM
Somehow still hold out hope that he can come good but certainly not looking likely so far. As things stand Murray would have been a far better option up front, but anyway no point in going in about that now he has sadly gone elsewhere!

JammyDoidger
21-07-2024, 11:54 AM
He's not strong enough, not fast enough, just not very good tbh, doesn't create enough for himself or others. Chances literally need to be put on a plate in the 6 yard box for him, that's not a good forward.

LNHibs
22-07-2024, 07:51 PM
Strange one because he scored goals at a decent level (Dutch second Div can’t be that far off bottom end of spl) but he looks completely miles off it for us. I’ve been one to give him chance after chance but getting to the point where he isn’t good enough. Can see why he was brought in but just not worked. Be lucky to get 250k for him

22-07-2024, 10:00 PM
Should be on more than 3 for the season, I'm still hoping he can come good but can understand fans frustrations with his overall play.

WestStandWillie
23-07-2024, 08:05 AM
Sell him now so we can get a striker who knows the Scottish game asapSo by that logic we should sign Curtis Main then

23-07-2024, 08:11 AM
Needs 20 league goals this season minimum. That still averages at only 12.5 league goals per season if he achieves that which for the money isn’t good enough.

23-07-2024, 08:12 AM
So by that logic we should sign Curtis Main then

Knows the Scottish game is the most idiotic of statements. We need to sign good players wherever they are from. There is no demand for Scottish Strikers right now because they are poor quality.

23-07-2024, 08:13 AM
Needs 20 league goals this season minimum. That still averages at only 12.5 league goals per season if he achieves that which for the money isn’t good enough.

So if he scores 20 goals this season it’s not good enough due to how he done last year? Strange way of looking at it

23-07-2024, 08:14 AM
So if he scores 20 goals this season it’s not good enough due to how he done last year? Strange way of looking at it

He won’t, let’s face it. We could make ourselves more mobile and more physical up front by placing a training cone on the penalty spot and hoping for a lucky ricochet.

25-30 goals this season would take his overall tally to a reasonable number for the outlay.

23-07-2024, 08:15 AM
He won’t, let’s face it.

Vente is Scottish Championship level, let’s face it.

23-07-2024, 08:16 AM
He won’t, let’s face it. We could make ourselves more mobile and more physical up front by placing a training cone on the penalty spot and hoping for a lucky ricochet.

He might, but not at Hibs and not at this level.

23-07-2024, 08:17 AM
Vente is Scottish Championship level, let’s face it.

The Queens Park game suggests he isn’t.

23-07-2024, 08:54 AM
He started off brilliant but for some reason he has went off the boil definitely got something but unfortunately not happening hopefully it will happen for Dylan maybe he wants to go back to Holland ?

23-07-2024, 09:14 AM
The Queens Park game suggests he isn’t.

I didn’t say he wouldn’t do ok at that level.

23-07-2024, 01:36 PM
The extremely depressing thing is that I would absolutely be starting McKirdy up front if we can’t get a new striker in for the next game.

And that’s not because my opinion of McKirdy has improved after writing him off in his debut season, it’s he at least looks like he wants to make something happen.

23-07-2024, 01:58 PM
The extremely depressing thing is that I would absolutely be starting McKirdy up front if we can’t get a new striker in for the next game.

And that’s not because my opinion of McKirdy has improved after writing him off in his debut season, it’s he at least looks like he wants to make something happen.

McKirdy & Vente in a 3-5-2. Might just work.

23-07-2024, 02:00 PM

Against an u14 girls team?[emoji2369]

23-07-2024, 02:04 PM

The problem we have is we are getting increasingly creative in the suggestions that might just make Vente work. The reality is increasingly looking like he just isn't good enough.

I liked the "stay between the width of the posts and up front suggestion" but he should have had a goal against QP and his finishing arguably cost us the Kelty game. One good game in 3 against pish opposition, including a costly howler - is it really good enough? Does anyone really believe he gets enough goals or contributes enough to our team in order for it to be successful this season?

The Elgin game was quite encouraging but the 2 since then have been brutal from him. Again. And that's just never going to be good enough over the piece if we're serious about even being moderately successful this season.

Sunken cost fallacy is the only reason Vente is still leading the line for Hibernian, that or problems sourcing a suitable replacement.

23-07-2024, 02:05 PM
Against an u14 girls team?[emoji2369]

Outstanding patter

23-07-2024, 02:07 PM
The problem we have is we are getting increasingly creative in the suggestions that might just make Vente work. The reality is increasingly looking like he just isn't good enough.

I liked the "stay between the width of the posts and up front suggestion" but he should have had a goal against QP and his finishing arguably cost us the Kelty game. One good game in 3 against pish opposition, including a costly howler - is it really good enough? Does anyone really believe he gets enough goals or contributes enough to our team in order for it to be successful this season?

The Elgin game was quite encouraging but the 2 since then have been brutal from him. Again. And that's just never going to be good enough over the piece if we're serious about even being moderately successful this season.

Sunken cost fallacy is the only reason Vente is still leading the line for Hibernian, that or problems sourcing a suitable replacement.

Yeah you're right, Smartie. Finding myself clinging at straws at the moment. It was actually something Matty discussed on Longbangers that got me thinking.

I think he's too expensive to offload and we're going to have to run with him this season again tbh.

23-07-2024, 02:07 PM

The problem is that we would likely have to play Rocky and I think we look better with Marv and O’Hora in a back four.

23-07-2024, 02:09 PM
The problem is that we would likely have to play Rocky and I think we look better with Marv and O’Hora in a back four.

I've liked Miller in the back 3, but it just hows how short of options we are currently.

Mcbizz1998
23-07-2024, 02:09 PM
Outstanding patterHe’s not wrong. The 2 of them have the build of teenaged girls. No wonder they struggle.

23-07-2024, 02:13 PM

Under no circumstances can Hibs start a league match with this as our front two. Vente looks like it’s too physical for him in Scotland and he’s not that good a football player and McKirdy has done nothing to show that he’s good enough. If we could recoup our money I’d sell the two of them. It’s going to be hard enough season without that being our front two. They could not score against a league 1 side!

23-07-2024, 02:14 PM
He’s not wrong. The 2 of them have the build of teenaged girls. No wonder they struggle.

I'll give you McKirdy, but Vente? Really?

23-07-2024, 02:44 PM
This thread is maybe the best reason for saying we should not tinker with our starting midfield in any more games this League Cup / preseason. Vente has played more games with Dylan Levitt behind him than not, since he signed for Hibs. But with our slow midfield build up he got 5 goals in all of last season's league campaign. This season, v Elgin & QP, he could/should have had 5 in two games, primarily because the midfield and defence are shifting it forward more quickly, we are getting crosses in quicker, and there's a poacher's chance in the box more often. The Kelty game killed all that with the likes of Bushiri (7 touches, all unnecessary, before a slow pass) and Amos & Levitt (slow ponderous build-up, so easy to defend against). Our starting XI suits Vente more, but we cannot expect any goals when the likes of Amos and Levitt play behind him

23-07-2024, 02:47 PM
Needs 20 league goals this season minimum. That still averages at only 12.5 league goals per season if he achieves that which for the money isn’t good enough.Simon Murray averages 8 league goals over the past 2 seasons

23-07-2024, 03:05 PM

Agree with that he was excused poor performances by people wanting to have a pop at the previous manager. Was very poor most of last season appreciating he had injuries. Thought he would be flying this season. Personally would sell which think will happen

23-07-2024, 03:45 PM
This thread is maybe the best reason for saying we should not tinker with our starting midfield in any more games this League Cup / preseason. Vente has played more games with Dylan Levitt behind him than not, since he signed for Hibs. But with our slow midfield build up he got 5 goals in all of last season's league campaign. This season, v Elgin & QP, he could/should have had 5 in two games, primarily because the midfield and defence are shifting it forward more quickly, we are getting crosses in quicker, and there's a poacher's chance in the box more often. The Kelty game killed all that with the likes of Bushiri (7 touches, all unnecessary, before a slow pass) and Amos & Levitt (slow ponderous build-up, so easy to defend against). Our starting XI suits Vente more, but we cannot expect any goals when the likes of Amos and Levitt play behind him

Vente had a couple of very good chances against Kelty. I’d have expected at least one of them to go in.

23-07-2024, 03:48 PM
Vente had a couple of very good chances against Kelty. I’d have expected at least one of them to go in.

That's my worry now. I was always of the opinion that if he gets chances he’ll score. But in the past two games he’s had about four glorious chances and didn't score one of them.

Starting to think he's just not very good. Obviously hope I'm wrong.

Hibiza
23-07-2024, 03:55 PM
C'mon Dylan!! You can do it.

DIXIHIBS
23-07-2024, 03:58 PM
He's got a good song so must been given more time...

23-07-2024, 04:01 PM
You know what actually, if he could work on his heading he'd be fine. Think three of the four chances I mentioned above were headers.

Donegal Hibby
23-07-2024, 04:03 PM
Vente will score on Saturday against Peterhead 🇳🇬

23-07-2024, 05:09 PM
Vente will score on Saturday against Peterhead 🇳🇬

He won't be playing anyway.

Our new striker will.

24-07-2024, 07:04 AM
He won't be playing anyway. Our new striker will.Ooooh. New info or hunch/wishful thinking?

24-07-2024, 10:25 AM
He won't be playing anyway.

Our new striker will.

Really hope thats true because we badly need more help up top.

24-07-2024, 02:37 PM
Really hope thats true because we badly need more help up top.

Gareth Evans starting tonight 😁

SunshineOn1875
24-07-2024, 02:47 PM
He’s not wrong. The 2 of them have the build of teenaged girls. No wonder they struggle.What's Kyogo's excuse then? Built like the side of a 5er and scored about 50 goals in 3 years.

24-07-2024, 02:49 PM
What's Kyogo's excuse then? Built like the side of a 5er and scored about 50 goals in 3 years.

Build not an issue when combined with pace and skill, unfortunately Vente is limited in both of these attributes.

24-07-2024, 03:00 PM
Plenty of good players have struggled in their first season in Scotland then came onto a good game. I'm definitely not writing him off yet, but I will be if he has another season like last year. In 20/21, Shankland's first season in the prem since leaving Aberdeen he got a goal every 340 minutes - Vente last season got a goal every 308 minutes. I don't think its completely out of the question that Vente will improve this season now he is fully settled, especially if our general play gets better as well.

24-07-2024, 03:03 PM
Plenty of good players have struggled in their first season in Scotland then came onto a good game. I'm definitely not writing him off yet, but I will be if he has another season like last year. In 20/21, Shankland's first season in the prem since leaving Aberdeen he got a goal every 340 minutes - Vente last season got a goal every 308 minutes. I don't think its completely out of the question that Vente will improve this season now he is fully settled, especially if our general play gets better as well.

He needs to be part of our general play getting better though. At the moment, he contributes nowhere near enough in games. He doesn’t link anything particularly well, he doesn’t give defenders a particularly hard time and get us up the park. If we keep playing with a centre forward who doesn’t take part in the game enough, it’ll be a struggle for us.

24-07-2024, 08:52 PM
Time to give McKirdy a chance while the options are him or Vente IMO.

In hindsight it looks far less like Monty ruined Vente. It now looks like he probably deserved a little bit more slack. Certainly in terms of inheriting Vente as his main striker and then, seemingly, being told not to play the backup striker in ALF until he removed an extension clause.

24-07-2024, 08:57 PM
Two moments that summed him and McKirdy up:

Molitnikov puts a lovely ball into the box that just needed a connection. Boyle instinctively makes a run to the near post. It goes to the back post, but Vente is flat footed and nowhere useful.

Levitt underhits a ball over the top. McKirdy gambles on it and intercepts a poor header back and gets the goal.

McKirdy looks as if he could fashion a chance for himself if needed, Vente needs it absolutely out on a plate and still might not hit the target even if it is.

McKirdy - somewhat incredibly - has to be first choice striker until a new signing comes in.

24-07-2024, 09:06 PM
Agree 100% with the above post.

24-07-2024, 09:14 PM
Both would be laughed out Easter road when the McLeish and Mowbray era were at their peak

These strikers won’t see us make top 5

We need a major goal threat

K-Zazu
24-07-2024, 09:27 PM
Both would be laughed out Easter road when the McLeish and Mowbray era were at their peak

These strikers won’t see us make top 5

We need a major goal threat

And Lennon.

Up-the-slope
24-07-2024, 09:33 PM
I think Vente will prove a fantastic scorer with enough time. Remember when we sold / swapped Alex Harris - who had be a great hope - for a scrawny wee player called Boyle. He was hopeless and looked lost for a long time... fast yes but headless chicken. Many felt we had been duped and got the poor end of the deal . Look how that turned out. Whoever made that decision was vindicated once he (Boyle) was given time to settle and played to his strengths

24-07-2024, 09:36 PM
I think Vente will prove a fantastic scorer with enough time. Remember when we sold / swapped Alex Harris - who had be a great hope - for a scrawny wee player called Boyle. He was hopeless and looked lost for a long time... fast yes but headless chicken. Many felt we had been duped and got the poor end of the deal . Look how that turned out. Whoever made that decision was vindicated once he (Boyle) was given time to settle and played to his strengths

Problem is 700k is a big investment for our club

How much time do we realistically give a player who is 1/3 of the way through his contract.

Up-the-slope
24-07-2024, 10:15 PM
Problem is 700k is a big investment for our clubHow much time do we realistically give a player who is 1/3 of the way through his contract.Yes it is. Probably between now and Jan realistically to give time while also accepting that better contribution needs to be seen

24-07-2024, 10:19 PM
I think Vente would do well in a front 2 with a big physical striker or striker that’s really busy, drifts wide and occupy defenders.

There he would be able to do for us what MacLaren done when he was with Kamberi.

Unfortunately that means we would need to play a 352. I think with gray if we play a 352 Boyle will be one of the strikers

24-07-2024, 10:22 PM
I think Vente would do well in a front 2 with a big physical striker or striker that’s really busy, drifts wide and occupy defenders.

There he would be able to do for us what MacLaren done when he was with Kamberi.

Unfortunately that means we would need to play a 352. I think with gray if we play a 352 Boyle will be one of the strikers

Always a good sign a player isn’t up to it when people start saying they just need this or that type of player playing alongside them. It never happens and they are moved on sharpish.

24-07-2024, 10:56 PM
Always a good sign a player isn’t up to it when people start saying they just need this or that type of player playing alongside them. It never happens and they are moved on sharpish.

Trust me I think I’ve probably been more vocal about him than most in a negative way re Vente and I think to think I try and be positive about players 🤣

24-07-2024, 11:08 PM
Problem is 700k is a big investment for our club

How much time do we realistically give a player who is 1/3 of the way through his contract.

It’s an awful lot of money, for us. Clearly not Vente’s fault he cost that much, but it’s an example of the money that can be wasted when someone’s determined to be the decision maker at a club.

Donegal Hibby
24-07-2024, 11:22 PM
It’s an awful lot of money, for us. Clearly not Vente’s fault he cost that much, but it’s an example of the money that can be wasted when someone’s determined to be the decision maker at a club.

Going to shot myself in the foot here probably 😂 and I know he did miss some good chances against Kelty though how many did he actually have against Watford ?

24-07-2024, 11:39 PM
Going to shot myself in the foot here probably 😂 and I know he did miss some good chances against Kelty though how many did he actually have against Watford ?

Not enough, should have scored one though!

25-07-2024, 05:47 AM
Another game where Vente has made zero impact. On the other hand I thought McKirdy played well when he came on.

25-07-2024, 06:00 AM
I remember some posters, myself included , worrying that the length of contract at 3 years might not give us the security we need and longer would have been better for the club.

Looks like we dodged a bullet on that one, although my hunch is that was put in place by Vente's representatives and not the club.

25-07-2024, 06:14 AM
Whole recruitment team needs wiped out at hibs

Back to basics

John Park chief scout would do

I just see hibs going through football manager databases trying to find more bojangs of this world

25-07-2024, 06:49 AM
Yes it is. Probably between now and Jan realistically to give time while also accepting that better contribution needs to be seen

Our squad isn’t good enough.

Players who have been struggling are unlikely to suddenly come good.

We need replacements or we could be struggling in 8th or 9th place come January and looking over our shoulder.

25-07-2024, 07:12 AM
Whole recruitment team needs wiped out at hibs Back to basics John Park chief scout would do I just see hibs going through football manager databases trying to find more bojangs of this world And how do you think John Park would do things?

25-07-2024, 07:13 AM
And how do you think John Park would do things?

Not putting forward as much ***** simply

25-07-2024, 07:17 AM
One good thing that might come out of a tighter transfer window is it means we just have to get our recruitment back to basics and just spending sensible money on sensible players. I was laughed at for saying I was uneasy on us spending big money on Vente when our recruitment round that time had been so erratic and we’d be better bringing in a boring but tested striker with Scottish Premiership experience (I can’t remember the example I used, it wasn’t Simon Murray but basically someone along those lines).

It would allowed us to have done a proper root and branch review and overhaul of our recruitment process before throwing more big money at someone who we may not be in an optimal position to assess if he’s suited to the club and the league.

Thats what we still need to do, because if we get the staffing and process right for recruitment the rest becomes much less risky.

25-07-2024, 07:20 AM
And how do you think John Park would do things?

Maybe we got a bit lazy and rely on the same old agents to put names forward?

Maybe spread the net.

The thought that there are no players out there who could improve the squad is, well, ludicrous

EGL2000
25-07-2024, 08:03 AM
Another game where Vente has made zero impact. On the other hand I thought McKirdy played well when he came on.

Needs to do better I agree. However, he did have an impact he was a key part of the first goal.

25-07-2024, 08:07 AM

Mckirdy couldn’t run after 10 mins. Did zero pressing. Scored a well taken goal. Vente ran himself into the ground and was basically the only person on the press in the first half. He’s need to be given the opportunity to play next to the new number 9 that’s coming in before we get more judgement on him

25-07-2024, 08:37 AM
One good thing that might come out of a tighter transfer window is it means we just have to get our recruitment back to basics and just spending sensible money on sensible players. I was laughed at for saying I was uneasy on us spending big money on Vente when our recruitment round that time had been so erratic and we’d be better bringing in a boring but tested striker with Scottish Premiership experience (I can’t remember the example I used, it wasn’t Simon Murray but basically someone along those lines).

It would allowed us to have done a proper root and branch review and overhaul of our recruitment process before throwing more big money at someone who we may not be in an optimal position to assess if he’s suited to the club and the league.

Thats what we still need to do, because if we get the staffing and process right for recruitment the rest becomes much less risky.

Yeah I said last summer we should have signed Bruce Anderson from Livi. We could have had him this summer for free.

He has a good conversion rate when you create chances and if nothing else, would have been a good squad option. We've missed a few too many obvious signings in the last 2-3 years and Hearts have done a bit better there with the likes of Spittal, Dhanda and now the lad that was with Dundee last season.

25-07-2024, 08:40 AM
Mckirdy couldn’t run after 10 mins. Did zero pressing. Scored a well taken goal. Vente ran himself into the ground and was basically the only person on the press in the first half. He’s need to be given the opportunity to play next to the new number 9 that’s coming in before we get more judgement on him

Can't really agree with your assessment of last night there and the pressing.

But on Vente playing with a partner, I could see the merits in us having 2 up, with Boyle wide on his own. Bit like the set up Jack Ross often used where you have a back 4 and then a narrow left midfielder ala Jackson Irvine.

It seems like a case of writing Vente off as a lone number 9, or try him with a partner as a last throw of the dice.

25-07-2024, 08:52 AM
Agree 100% with the above post.

I think it's one of the craziest things ive read on here tbh. The guy cannot run for more than 20 mins without being totally cooked. He's not even close to being a start for any professional football team. If we ever go back to soccer sixes id sign him just for that.

25-07-2024, 08:53 AM
Can't really agree with your assessment of last night there and the pressing.

But on Vente playing with a partner, I could see the merits in us having 2 up, with Boyle wide on his own. Bit like the set up Jack Ross often used where you have a back 4 and then a narrow left midfielder ala Jackson Irvine.

It seems like a case of writing Vente off as a lone number 9, or try him with a partner as a last throw of the dice.

Mckirdy didn't press. SDG was screaming at him to get himself involved in the game. He's just never going to be fit enough to play in any system for us.

25-07-2024, 08:57 AM
Mckirdy didn't press. SDG was screaming at him to get himself involved in the game. He's just never going to be fit enough to play in any system for us.

They are both terrible footballers. We are a shambles up front.

25-07-2024, 09:57 AM

Was more the Vente running himself into the ground part.

25-07-2024, 10:16 AM

McKirdy looks livelier, even without full fitness, than vente. Vente also had a full season to prove himself playing every week.

If McKirdy is fit enough to start and he don’t have a new striker, then he should start Saturday or we should try to accommodate them both

SunshineOn1875
25-07-2024, 10:18 AM
Build not an issue when combined with pace and skill, unfortunately Vente is limited in both of these attributes.The comment was made about build, obviously the players we recruit are not going to have the same level of skill as someone Celtic will buy so?

25-07-2024, 10:42 AM
Was more the Vente running himself into the ground part.

Thats all I saw first half tbh. And he did look a bit disheartened by it. We started with most of the front 4 pressing in sequence but one we lost a goal that went and Boyle and Rudi stayed wide and JC hardly pressed at all. He needs help up there for sure.

25-07-2024, 10:43 AM
McKirdy looks livelier, even without full fitness, than vente. Vente also had a full season to prove himself playing every week.

If McKirdy is fit enough to start and he don’t have a new striker, then he should start Saturday or we should try to accommodate them both

Mckirdy isn't fit enough to mow my grass, and I know he has health issue but he can't last more than 30 mins.

25-07-2024, 10:50 AM
Mckirdy isn't fit enough to mow my grass, and I know he has health issue but he can't last more than 30 mins.

What do you think the fitness issue is? Stamina, can't keep it going? Is it something that is likely to improve with work and time? Scott Allan certainly never seemed to recover to a level where he could contribute enough after his heart related problems. David Gray has mentioned that he is behind other players in terms of fitness and he also mentioned that is also coming back from an additional minor injury setback.

I can't say I was particularly paying attention to notice him struggling but I certainly thought he looked quick, mobile and interested for at least the first 20 minutes after he went on and didn't notice a drop off from him. May just have been me though - and I was watching on YouTube.

It's just that I've quite liked what I've seen of him this season and would quite like to think that he can get more of a chance.

25-07-2024, 12:02 PM
Vente looked tremendous at the start of last season. He looked sharp, movement was great, touch, finishing, could play with his back to goal. Then that clown Monty came and changed his focus to swapping places with our wide midfielders. His confidence collapsed and he's never been the same since.

25-07-2024, 12:24 PM
Vente looked tremendous at the start of last season. He looked sharp, movement was great, touch, finishing, could play with his back to goal. Then that clown Monty came and changed his focus to swapping places with our wide midfielders. His confidence collapsed and he's never been the same since.

Seconded

25-07-2024, 12:28 PM

Agree with this, the caveat being he needs to re-discover that level he was at soon.

A player doesn't just lose that ability, theres more to it than "he's ****", because he wasn't at the start of last season.

The goals he has scored were good quality goals and he played parts in numerous others. His lay-off for Newall against Lucerne was a real show of footballing intelligence, that doesn't just disappear.

27-07-2024, 03:01 PM
Need this guy to start looking like he lives for scoring goals

Would rather have Simon Murray at this rate

27-07-2024, 03:02 PM
There would surely be a Dutch team that would want him

He just doesn’t do enough

I’m desperate for him to come good but every game he hardly effects it

27-07-2024, 03:04 PM
Does it go to goal difference or head to head?

Hibees1973
27-07-2024, 03:06 PM
Need this guy to start looking like he lives for scoring goalsWould rather have Simon Murray at this rateWould rather have Judy Murray at this rate. McDermott said that Ian Gordon scouted him and followed Vente for a long time so he must be good.

supermcginn
27-07-2024, 03:07 PM
Need this guy to start looking like he lives for scoring goals

Would rather have Simon Murray at this rate

Murray is streets ahead of Vente.

1875M
27-07-2024, 03:07 PM
Getting zero change out of this Shan Peterhead part time team. We really need a new #9.

27-07-2024, 03:09 PM
Didn’t see a Miller double coming today

27-07-2024, 03:12 PM
Assists midweek and again today

27-07-2024, 03:56 PM
He looks completely void of any confidence, which is bizarre when he scored a hat trick the other week.

But that’s 3 big chances today along with the ones in previous games that he missed but should score

8 games in pre season/cup that he’s now played in (at least 45 minutes in each) and only scored in one. The opposition has been poor to say the least

Edinburgh City
Duisburg
PAOK
Elgin
Queens Park
Kelty Hearts
Watford
Peterhead

I want him to come good, I really do, but it just doesn’t look likely

27-07-2024, 04:01 PM
He looks completely void of any confidence, which is bizarre when he scored a hat trick the other week.

But that’s 3 big chances today along with the ones in previous games that he missed but should score

8 games in pre season/cup that he’s now played in (at least 45 minutes in each) and only scored in one. The opposition has been poor to say the least

Edinburgh City
Duisburg
PAOK
Elgin
Queens Park
Kelty Hearts
Watford
Peterhead

I want him to come good, I really do, but it just doesn’t look likely

It’s not just the chances he is missing. I had hoped with a pre season he would work on his all round game. He still doesn’t worry defenders, nor create anything for himself or for others (I know he got an assist but the ball ricocheted to him and he stabbed it 2 yards to Miller. All assist count but doesn’t disprove anything about his performance IMO)

Donegal Hibby
27-07-2024, 04:01 PM
I thought he had a decent game today in fairness.

27-07-2024, 04:02 PM

We don't need him to be decent.

We need him to score goals.

27-07-2024, 04:04 PM

Genuinely?

If that’s a decent striker performance for Vente against Peterhead then that’s concerning for me

27-07-2024, 04:05 PM
No idea how's he only on 3 goals for the season, assists are nice, need more goals from our number 9.

Donegal Hibby
27-07-2024, 04:07 PM
Genuinely?

If that’s a decent striker performance for Vente against Peterhead then that’s concerning for me

Didn't score right enough though thought he put in a shift , got an assist .

Donegal Hibby
27-07-2024, 04:10 PM
We don't need him to be decent.

We need him to score goals.

True , but if a striker isn't scoring at least it's good to see him put in a shift for the team . Which I thought he did .

27-07-2024, 04:10 PM
A good striker should not be missing the 3 big chances he had today. Wasn’t really fussed about Simon Murray signing but he would’ve scored at least one of them.

27-07-2024, 04:14 PM
Vente won’t come good. This is his ceiling. He’s just not good enough for the SPFL.

27-07-2024, 04:21 PM
Vente won’t come good. This is his ceiling. He’s just not good enough for the SPFL.

Looking more like it.

It's all Monty's fault though.

TrinityHFC
27-07-2024, 04:30 PM
Looking more like it.

It's all Monty's fault though.

He’s at least getting in the right positions now. I’m hopeful he will get his rhythm back once he gets one or two.

27-07-2024, 04:32 PM
A good striker should not be missing the 3 big chances he had today. Wasn’t really fussed about Simon Murray signing but he would’ve scored at least one of them.

Are we still doing the goal count thing between Vente and Murray or is that just not funny anymore?

Good result today, Vente certainly works hard but we need a goalscorer in pronto.

27-07-2024, 04:33 PM
He’s at least getting in the right positions now. I’m hopeful he will get his rhythm back once he gets one or two.

He scored a hat trick a couple of weeks ago and hasn’t looked like scoring since

TrinityHFC
27-07-2024, 04:40 PM
He scored a hat trick a couple of weeks ago and hasn’t looked like scoring since

None of them were finishes he had to think about though. He needs to get a one on one or a decent shot away I think. Like the 3 he missed today!

Gloucester Hibs
27-07-2024, 04:52 PM
None of them were finishes he had to think about though. He needs to get a one on one or a decent shot away I think. Like the 3 he missed today!

He’s missed like 10 clear cut chances since his last goal for us. Nowhere near good enough at the moment. If we only sign one more player before the league begins (optimistic, I know) I really hope it’s a striker.

HIBS NUTS
27-07-2024, 04:55 PM
I hope I’m wrong, but the standard of player that he has played against in the league group games, has been extremely poor.He has not looked very good.

27-07-2024, 04:55 PM
Work rate great again and we scored 4.

Cabbage-Patch
27-07-2024, 04:58 PM
Should have had at least a brace today. Looks like he can't buy a goal at the moment. We need another number in asap 9 probably two

27-07-2024, 04:59 PM
He’s missed like 10 clear cut chances since his last goal for us. Nowhere near good enough at the moment. If we only sign one more player before the league begins (optimistic, I know) I really hope it’s a striker.

No he hasn’t.

27-07-2024, 04:59 PM
It’s getting harder to defend him but I still think he’s potentially a very good player for us.

If he does move on I reckon he’ll go score goals somewhere else. James Collins-esque. It’s just not working for him at Hibs.

27-07-2024, 05:00 PM
Another insipid performance from Vente, he doesn't even look like scoring the clear cut chances he's getting.

Gloucester Hibs
27-07-2024, 05:01 PM
No he hasn’t.

Aye he has

27-07-2024, 05:04 PM
No he hasn’t.

3 today, 3 at Kelty, 2 against Queens.

So you’re right, it’s not 10, but it’s not good. You’re not talking about half chances that he’s been missing.

We’ve heard a lot that he just needed chances and he’s score. He looks anything but a clinical striker and contributes very little else.

27-07-2024, 05:06 PM
Looks like a striker low on confidence and nothing came off for him today or the game before or the game before that in fact his confidence looks shot

SDG interviewed post match said he is aware of the need for new recruits especially the need to increase competition at the top end of the park and is hopeful of getting something done in the next few days

Weir07
27-07-2024, 05:12 PM
Now totally lost faith that Vente will come good, got sucked into the Monty ruined him chat and was hopeful that he'd have a decent season under Gray but just can't see it. Offers little to nothing up front, not a focal point, not a poacher, not a striker to ruffle defenders or create goals for others. Time to cut our losses, added to the long list of sub standard buys under Ian Gordon's watch. What a **** show this club has become under their stewardship!

Donnchadh1875
27-07-2024, 05:15 PM
Regardless of Vente missing a couple of really good chances we need to buy a striker or 2 anyway

Malonga's Cat
27-07-2024, 05:30 PM
He isn't a bad player and he works hard. He just looks completely shot of confidence. Missed some chances today against a very poor side. If we had signed a bit of competition up front it might take the pressure off the lad too (or add a bit of an edge so that he has to find his confidence).

27-07-2024, 05:35 PM
3 today, 3 at Kelty, 2 against Queens.

So you’re right, it’s not 10, but it’s not good. You’re not talking about half chances that he’s been missing.

We’ve heard a lot that he just needed chances and he’s score. He looks anything but a clinical striker and contributes very little else.

What were the 3 clear cut chances today.

27-07-2024, 05:36 PM

One in the first half when he beat the defender and had the goalie to beat. One just after the fourth goal when cut back to him and he passed back to the goalie. One right at the end.

27-07-2024, 05:37 PM

First half - One where Newell or Campbell played him through he cut back and then cut again on to his left before hitting a very weak shot straight at the goalie

Second half - ball fell to him in the box, on the deck with no real pace on it and he hit it weakly at the keeper first time

Second half - near the end Campbell played a brilliant through to him and again the keeper saved it

At least one of them needs to go in

Donegal Hibby
27-07-2024, 05:40 PM
First half - One where Newell or Campbell played him through he cut back and then cut again on to his left before hitting a very weak shot straight at the goalie

Second half - ball fell to him in the box, on the deck with no real pace on it and he hit it weakly at the keeper first time

Second half - near the end Campbell played a brilliant through to him and again the keeper saved it

At least one of them needs to go in

The last one I thought the keeper was right on top of him when he went to shoot .

27-07-2024, 05:51 PM
The last one I thought the keeper was right on top of him when he went to shoot .

Correct. We will need a 5m player to score what some fans think are clear cut. He got into positions. His movement created space for other players to score.

27-07-2024, 05:53 PM
Correct. We will need a 5m player to score what some fans think are clear cut. He got into positions. His movement created space for other players to score.

What goal did we score due to his movement?

27-07-2024, 05:55 PM

Aw c’mon

A 5 million pound player to score any one of those chances?! Or the ones against Kelty and Queens Park 🤣🤣

I’m glad his movement apparently created the chances for others to score. Pencil in an assist for him every time we score a goal.

27-07-2024, 05:56 PM

I doubt we’ll need to spend £5m to get an upgrade on Vente’s 5 league goals last season.

supermcginn
27-07-2024, 05:56 PM
Think it's better for both parties he moves on. The Dutch second tier is obviously very poor.

27-07-2024, 06:10 PM

You don’t think any of the chances he had today were clear cut?

27-07-2024, 06:11 PM

Or a Simon Murray.

27-07-2024, 06:36 PM
Thought he played well today. The first chance was created by him chopping feet and ended up on his left, third chance was difficult and narrow angle, middle chance was the best chance to score.

Never stopped for the whole 90 and again contributed.

TrinityHFC
27-07-2024, 06:39 PM
Or a Simon Murray.

I like Murray a lot but let’s not pretend he’s a goal machine who doesn’t have games where he misses chances.

27-07-2024, 06:40 PM
I really wanted Vente to come good. When he got the hattrick against Elgin I really wanted him to go and bang in the goals in the League Cup ti get the confidence up. He’s had the chances, he really should be sitting with 6 or 7.

He’s not going to get chances with the same frequency in the league. I really don’t have any confidence in him doing a job for us now.

27-07-2024, 06:42 PM
I like Murray a lot but let’s not pretend he’s a goal machine who doesn’t have games where he misses chances.

If he misses chances, which all strikers do, he still contributes a lot of other things. Defenders know they’ve been in a game. I doubt many come off thinking that with Vente.

27-07-2024, 06:46 PM
If he misses chances, which all strikers do, he still contributes a lot of other things. Defenders know they’ve been in a game. I doubt many come off thinking that with Vente.

Vente does contribute. Today for example he pressed at every opportunity, I’d be surprised if he didn’t put the most on of running in today.

Also provided an assist and his movement created space for others to score goals.

27-07-2024, 06:48 PM
Vente does contribute. Today for example he pressed at every opportunity, I’d be surprised if he didn’t put the most on of running in today.

Also provided an assist and his movement created space for others to score goals.

I think he works hard but I think the levels of the work rate are exaggerated on here because of his lack of goals.

Campbell, Boyle, NMW, Rudi, Obita and Miller cover a huge amount of ground in a game.

27-07-2024, 06:48 PM

The whole point is that conflating transfer value with ability doesn’t always work.

27-07-2024, 06:50 PM

What goal did he assist? Ball bounced about a bit before Miller hit it for the second, so I maybe missed a touch somewhere along the line. That’s all I can think of.

If we’re at the point where we’re talking about his movement creating space for others to score, then we really are toiling to come up with positives IMO. I just don’t see it with him.

27-07-2024, 06:51 PM
If he's missing chances I think that's a good sign that he's still got a decent chance of coming good.

Like doidge at the start, if he's getting into the right positions to miss clear chances then it will come.

Other than freaks like haaland and Ronaldo, conversation rates of similar xG chances don't particularly vary much across professional footballers at a similar level. If we can keep setting him up he should revert to the mean and start scoring soon

27-07-2024, 06:53 PM
I think he works hard but I think the levels of the work rate are exaggerated on here because of his lack of goals.

Campbell, Boyle, NMW, Rudi, Obita and Miller cover a huge amount of ground in a game.

Agree with this. Work rate is not an issue but we need to be looking for so much more than that from one of our record signings.

27-07-2024, 07:03 PM
What goal did he assist? Ball bounced about a bit before Miller hit it for the second, so I maybe missed a touch somewhere along the line. That’s all I can think of.

If we’re at the point where we’re talking about his movement creating space for others to score, then we really are toiling to come up with positives IMO. I just don’t see it with him.

Don’t get me wrong, his job is bang the goals in and he needs to start doing it. He can’t be carried for another, what, half a season? He showed quality when he first came here, as I’ve said earlier in the thread you don’t lose that.

27-07-2024, 07:03 PM
If he's missing chances I think that's a good sign that he's still got a decent chance of coming good.

Like doidge at the start, if he's getting into the right positions to miss clear chances then it will come.

Other than freaks like haaland and Ronaldo, conversation rates of similar xG chances don't particularly vary much across professional footballers at a similar level. If we can keep setting him up he should revert to the mean and start scoring soon

He’s only really missed chances in these last three games. He’s never really had them regularly whether missing or scoring them. The standard of opposition has to be accounted for, he’s had a few good chances in every game. If he gets 4, 5 or 6 chances over the next couple of games then I’d agree that something has positively changed in terms of him getting in to scoring positions.

27-07-2024, 07:09 PM
He will come good.

Up-the-slope
27-07-2024, 07:28 PM
Again today he made run after run looking for ball to be slipped through (Campbell as well) and even with all the pressure rarely did it come with ball mostly being slowed and then out wide.When Levitt came on he played 5 balls in as many minutes through the lines and 2 of those were part of passages that lead to goals

27-07-2024, 11:19 PM

He doesn't press though does he. He runs in a bit then slows down. He's easy to play against, very easy.

Donegal Hibby
28-07-2024, 01:11 AM
He doesn't press though does he. He runs in a bit then slows down. He's easy to play against, very easy.

I think he does , also works hard for the team too .

Wins the ball back 3:50 in ...Movements good and again abit unlucky in my opinion of course 👍.....

https://youtu.be/zwWObkmf470?si=FiP9pWkJG0QwYLy1

ChuckNor
28-07-2024, 08:01 AM
What I find crazy are the people lining up to defend the “unseen” work Vente provides, like running. His job is to score goals. He had three one on one chances today and missed all of them. If McKirdy, who was signed for less, missed those there would be a meltdown on here with very few to defend him.

Vente must be the most disappointing signing still being protected from criticism by a surprisingly high number of fans. He simply isn’t cutting it.

28-07-2024, 08:05 AM
What I find crazy are the people lining up to defend the “unseen” work Vente provides, like running. His job is to score goals. He had three one on one chances today and missed all of them. If McKirdy, who was signed for less, missed those there would be a meltdown on here with very few to defend him.

Vente must be the most disappointing signing still being protected from criticism by a surprisingly high number of fans. He simply isn’t cutting it.

I mean, he needs to work hard and provide good link up play too. It's not either or.

ChuckNor
28-07-2024, 08:17 AM
I mean, he needs to work hard and provide good link up play too. It's not either or.

I never said it was. Just highlighted a striker should be scoring goals and he is missing incredibly easy chances. He’s not scoring goals and he appears to be incredibly easy to play against. That’s not much use.

28-07-2024, 08:33 AM
Was yesterday the first game he's gone the full 96/97 minutes?

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

28-07-2024, 08:44 AM
We have to sign a new striker, a good one.

If we don't, we're hanging David Gray out to dry.

Vente looks like he's going to be a million miles of being the required quality to make a solid impact in the Premier League to me. He's a poacher who can't finish, has little else to his game and has folk making excuses for him because he's running around a lot - a fairly minimal expectation.

The only realistic alternative is McKirdy - who has serious question marks over his fitness. That's before you get on to the fact that he's also unproven at best at our level.

We can't give Gray these options then make any sort of ultimatum about him getting his jotters if we don't get top 6, in fact we're accepting we're having a pish season before a ball is kicked imo.

It's a key position and we need much, much better.

The rest of the team, our first choice team, is actually shaping up quite nicely imo.

28-07-2024, 08:51 AM
I never said it was. Just highlighted a striker should be scoring goals and he is missing incredibly easy chances. He’s not scoring goals and he appears to be incredibly easy to play against. That’s not much use.Correct after scoring a hattrick at the start of group games his confidence should have been shy high, he's back to being a striker who doesn't strike.

28-07-2024, 08:51 AM
He will come good.

Yes. Definitely. Probably not at Hibs however.

RMQ1967
28-07-2024, 08:58 AM

Some utter nonsense on here. I knew some people would be lining up to slaughter him and thankfully many can see his contribution to the win.

The fact that the style of play now gets him into those positions is a massive bonus compared to last year. When he gets into those positions he's hitting the target and I didn't think he done too much wrong with the shots - crisp, clean digs when under pressure that were blocked by the keeper and on another day would have found their way into the net.

Anyone who can't see what he brings to the team can't be watching the game.

He'll be banging them in this year - no doubt about it.

28-07-2024, 09:02 AM
I think his first 5 games of this league season will define where he ends up with us.

I think there is a clever striker in there with great movement and has shown previous ability to find the net consistently, but really needs his confidence/mojo back. We are a team that looks like it will create a lot of chances and we really need to be more clinical - lack of it killed us last season.

I’m going to say he’s going to have a great season, starting with a double in a weeks time.

28-07-2024, 09:08 AM
Some utter nonsense on here. I knew some people would be lining up to slaughter him and thankfully many can see his contribution to the win.

The fact that the style of play now gets him into those positions is a massive bonus compared to last year. When he gets into those positions he's hitting the target and I didn't think he done too much wrong with the shots - crisp, clean digs when under pressure that were blocked by the keeper and on another day would have found their way into the net.

He’s not going to get the level of chance against Premiership defences that he has had consistently in the League Cup, especially against the League Two sides. I certainly wouldn’t have classed his first two efforts as crisp, clean digs yesterday. The third was a more difficult chance.

I don’t know how anyone who has watched him over his time here can come to the conclusion that there is no doubt he’ll be banging them in this year. He might end up doing so but there is definitely a lot of doubt about that at present.

RMQ1967
28-07-2024, 09:11 AM
What goal did we score due to his movement?

2nd goal, he layed a little ball back to Miller - put it on a plate.

4th goal he took 2 players with him with a front post run - left a big space for NMW to volley home.

Unfortunate that some fans can't see or refuse to recognise his contribution.

28-07-2024, 09:14 AM
Vente is clearly a good, intelligent player, but he is a striker and we need him scoring goals, especially as we have no other striker apart from mckirdy. Fingers crossed his goalscoring form improves from next weekend

LewysGot2
28-07-2024, 09:17 AM

4th goal he took 2 players with him with a front post run - left a big space for NMW to volley home.

Watched the highlights this morning- I'd been at the game and thought although Vente hadn't scored he'd worked very hard, never gave up anything for dead and contributed some good team play - the highlights at least demonstrate he definitely contributed to 2 of the goals.
That price tag weighs heavy on him, unfortunately.

28-07-2024, 09:19 AM

He wasn't hitting the target against QP and Kelty when getting them put on a plate and yesterday he was constantly hitting the goalkeeper when 1 on 1. I'm expecting much much more from a Hibs number 9.

28-07-2024, 09:30 AM
Was yesterday the first game he's gone the full 96/97 minutes?

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Since he did it last weekend Vs Kelty? Yes.

28-07-2024, 09:31 AM

That’s just daft. If he wasn’t contributing he’d have been off the pitch.

28-07-2024, 09:32 AM
That’s just daft. If he wasn’t contributing he’d have been off the pitch.

For who?

28-07-2024, 09:32 AM

Some fans really don’t watch football.

28-07-2024, 09:33 AM

Good job we’ve got educated folk like you to keep us educated then.

28-07-2024, 09:44 AM

Some fans think you are a patronising slaver.

28-07-2024, 10:00 AM
Some fans think you are a patronising slaver.

All part of the process towards enlightenment

RMQ1967
28-07-2024, 10:08 AM
Good job we’ve got educated folk like you to keep us educated then.

Come on though - how some people can watch these games and only come away with "Vente didn't score = he's not good enough" is mental.

It's a team game, we scored 4, he contributed heavily and what does it matter who scores as long as we get the win?

Other players missed good chances last week - doesn't mean they're not good enough.

Been a tough few years, finally we're playing some nice football, creating chances & scoring lots of goals are people are still moaning.

28-07-2024, 10:09 AM
All part of the process towards enlightenment

Try harder.

As unfortunately you just come across as patronising and condescending.

Not a good look.

28-07-2024, 10:11 AM
Try harder.

As unfortunately you just come across as patronising and condescending.

Not a good look.

You really shouldn’t take words on a message board to heart. Be more zen. Namaste.

28-07-2024, 10:12 AM
Vente’s issue is that he’s pretty average at most things and there’s nothing he quite excels at. Not strong enough to get the right side of your average strong Scottish Premiership defender, not quick enough to get in behind, not clinical enough to be a fox in the box. He might work hard but if that’s not going to lead to anything then he may as well not be hard working.

I found out recently that someone who has become a friend of mine played alongside Martin Boyle at Montrose. I asked him what he was like to play alongside and his response was “incredibly average, even at that level, but he was so quick he could always make something happen”. As we’ve seen through his career, that pace alone was enough to keep him as a useful player to have in a squad to use that pace when needed, and he’s been clever enough to work on the rest of his game to make himself more well rounded.

Much in the same way Simon Murray’s extreme stamina and energy has kept him in squads scoring goals through his career, we even see the likes of Ikpeazu who is an awful footballer but his extreme strength means he’s played for some decent clubs and is back in the Scottish Premiership this season, Boyle has a physical attribute in his pace that was useful as a weapon.

I don’t know what Vente’s weapon is. I fear that this is the finished all round article for Vente and we’re not getting much better than we’re already seeing.

28-07-2024, 10:16 AM
He was bought to score goals, up to now he's failed.