View Full Version : Dylan Vente
Paul1642
21-09-2024, 07:39 PM
Our league is too physical for him, it was exactly the same with Melkersen.
Why is our league too physical for individual players from certain leagues yet teams from the Netherlands and Norway frequently turn over Scottish clubs no problem in Europe without physicality being an issue?
Stairway 2 7
21-09-2024, 07:54 PM
Thought so.
You said this one week ago it seems every Saturday you call someone dumb or stupid, I look forward to next Saturdays instalment. Why are you so dismissive you should be enjoying the weekend not trolling. Enjoy your night away to watch Joshua
MWHIBBIES 10:25 AM 14-09-2024
Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7:
It's his opinion it's valid. It would be some place here if everyone just called each opinion including yours dumb
Never said it wasn't his opinion. He posted it, so of course it's his opinion.
Never said it wasn't valid.
I do think it's a bit dumb. Which is my opinion. And it's also valid. It's a few weeks into the season. I really doubt Raith are regretting signing 2 good players
21-09-2024, 07:59 PM
You said this one week ago it seems every Saturday you call someone dumb or stupid, I look forward to next Saturdays instalment. Why are you so dismissive you should be enjoying the weekend not trolling. Enjoy your night away to watch Joshua
MWHIBBIES 10:25 AM 14-09-2024
Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7:
It's his opinion it's valid. It would be some place here if everyone just called each opinion including yours dumb
Never said it wasn't his opinion. He posted it, so of course it's his opinion.
Never said it wasn't valid.
I do think it's a bit dumb. Which is my opinion. And it's also valid. It's a few weeks into the season. I really doubt Raith are regretting signing 2 good players
Well done. You've managed one and taken the thread totally off topic. Excellent work. Hopefully admins along soon to tidy it up. A decent discussion was happening before you.
Your post that started this was totally made up because you hadn't read the full conversation before posting. So yes, you did look silly. You still do, slavering on about me on a thread about Dylan Vente.
21-09-2024, 08:01 PM
😅
21-09-2024, 08:05 PM
Why is our league too physical for individual players from certain leagues yet teams from the Netherlands and Norway frequently turn over Scottish clubs no problem in Europe without physicality being an issue?
With Vente, there is no doubt he struggled physically in his time here for me. He was easy to play against for defenders. The physical element comes in to it because the tactical side is so different. When he’s playing in Holland the ball will hardly be off the deck. You stick him in to a team over here and he’s being asked to do totally different things as an individual.
I have been one of his biggest critics, I still think he could/should have done more at times, but I do think he just wasn’t particularly suited to the game and that is on us.
Stairway 2 7
21-09-2024, 08:11 PM
Well done. You've managed one and taken the thread totally off topic. Excellent work. Hopefully admins along soon to tidy it up. A decent discussion was happening before you.
Your post that started this was totally made up because you hadn't read the full conversation before posting. So yes, you did look silly. You still do, slavering on about me on a thread about Dylan Vente.
Wasn't really a decent conversation was just you arguing with anyone that said Vente had to come to deep so couldn't be abe effective or that our crap team could be to blame, oh well.
Under Monty Boyle looked pony he's scoring and assisting easily this season
21-09-2024, 08:18 PM
Wasn't really a decent conversation was just you arguing with anyone that said Vente had to come to deep so couldn't be abe effective or that our crap team could be to blame, oh well.
Under Monty Boyle looked pony he's scoring and assisting easily this season
Ah right, so you've just taken it upon yourself to go off topic, break the forum rules and ruin the thread? Is that better is it?
Donegal and myself were going back and forward having a football discussion on a football forum. Join in and discuss football or don't. He had no problem with the discussion, why did you?
I said multiple times Vente wasn't totally to blame. I was arguing that he was also rubbish under Gray this season and Gray moved him on after finding 2 new strikers. Blaming Monty is very lazy.
21-09-2024, 08:21 PM
Someone just ban this **** ffs
21-09-2024, 08:26 PM
Very harsh, I don't want to see Stairway banned. Just like threads to stay on topic. The personal mudslinging is embarrassing.
Hibs4185
21-09-2024, 09:42 PM
Seconded, please ban this poster. Sick and tired of reading polarising and negative views again and again.
I raised it last night and a couple of posters have raised it tonight.
SickBoy32
22-09-2024, 07:19 AM
Clearly a decent player technically, and couldn’t fault his effort - confidence just left him and didn’t look like coming back.
Would be interested to hear his honest views on last season. Got off to a flyer then the board struck again - sacking LJ within Aug, and going for a totally different playing style 😂
The circus that Kensell / Gordon have made of our club certainly doesn’t provide an optimal platform for players to perform and progress.
Pleased for the guy that he looks to have his mojo back. I dare say we could end up looking a bit foolish if he keeps this form up - particularly as the replacements we signed are likely to miss a fair few fixtures over the season.
22-09-2024, 11:23 AM
Kris Boyd would still create chances, hold the ball up, threaten the goal, battle defenders on his worst day. Vente done none of that.
Shankland has had a poor start. Not a poor season. I'm sure he'll be scoring soon.
I've already said it wasn't entirely his fault. But far too many excuses being made. He was just in poor form for most of his time here, simple as.
It’s a poor comparison. We never thought we were signing a Boyd type striker.
I think most people agree with you that he was in poor form the majority of the time. What I’m saying is - he’s very obviously not crap. He’s not poor striker. Poor strikers don’t score as many goals as he does. It just didn’t work out for him at Hibs.
22-09-2024, 11:47 AM
I think most people agree with you that he was in poor form the majority of the time. What I’m saying is - he’s very obviously not crap. He’s not poor striker. Poor strikers don’t score as many goals as he does. It just didn’t work out for him at Hibs.
I agree. I never thought he was crap. His record is good. But he was crap for Hibs.
22-09-2024, 12:02 PM
Dylan is our player. Spent a huge chunk of money on him so hope he continues to bang them in over there and comes back ready to go for next season.
Donegal Hibby
22-09-2024, 12:26 PM
Watching the highlights of him on utube I did think we were signing a penalty box striker , poacher.
22-09-2024, 12:48 PM
You've emphasised it being his fault massively in a bizarre manner I'm not sure why you care so much in something quite trivial in the scheme of things. You're constant calling people stupid and silly on here screams insecurity. Treat your fellow hibbys as you would an Arsenal player perhaps
Oh god don't bring Anneka Rice into the discussion 🤣
22-09-2024, 02:00 PM
Some would just argue in an empty room.
22-09-2024, 03:22 PM
Oh god don't bring Anneka Rice into the discussion
She's Ben White.
22-09-2024, 03:24 PM
Trying to work out whether I like this thread of the Doyle Hayes one best
22-09-2024, 03:31 PM
Trying to work out whether I like this thread of the Doyle Hayes one best
Both a sad reflection of things on here.
22-09-2024, 03:40 PM
Aye it's unreal.
My conversation with a fellow Hibbie about Vente went a bit like
"He's doing ok in Holland"
"Aye so I see".
That was it!
22-09-2024, 05:19 PM
Vente's stats in the Eredivison make for an impressive start to the season. Started four out of five games, scored three goals. Played 352 minutes in total. I hope he keeps it up, we may be able to sell him in January and recoup our outlay, or better it.
Silky
22-09-2024, 08:21 PM
Clearly a decent player technically, and couldn’t fault his effort - confidence just left him and didn’t look like coming back.
Would be interested to hear his honest views on last season. Got off to a flyer then the board struck again - sacking LJ within Aug, and going for a totally different playing style 😂
I got the feeling he would hav
The circus that Kensell / Gordon have made of our club certainly doesn’t provide an optimal platform for players to perform and progress.
Pleased for the guy that he looks to have his mojo back. I dare say we could end up looking a bit foolish if he keeps this form up - particularly as the replacements we signed are likely to miss a fair few fixtures over the season.
I got the feeling he would have thrived had LJ not been sacked. For all his faults, I think LJ knew Vente's strengths, as seen in the Luzern game, and would have got a lot out of him. Unfortunately, football doesn't work that way.
22-09-2024, 08:21 PM
No they wouldn't.
😉
Victor
22-09-2024, 08:35 PM
No they wouldn't.
[emoji6]
Do you want the one page, or ten page argument?
23-09-2024, 08:58 AM
Vente's stats in the Eredivison make for an impressive start to the season. Started four out of five games, scored three goals. Played 352 minutes in total. I hope he keeps it up, we may be able to sell him in January and recoup our outlay, or better it.
Or maybe even get him back in the Hibs team if he's proving that he's a good striker?
23-09-2024, 10:05 AM
She's Ben White.
Can she hold the ball up though?
24-09-2024, 12:44 PM
Except he wasn’t.
He done a great job for Montgomery when we were really low on numbers.
He is a very clever footballer. Where he was let down was with supply, ammunition to make hay in front of goal.
Will be our Pape Gueye next season though with a more rounded, creative team.
24-09-2024, 01:22 PM
Vente will have 1 year left on his contract next summer. Regardless of whether we think we could get him scoring regularly over here we’ll be looking to sell him.
24-09-2024, 01:32 PM
Vente will have 1 year left on his contract next summer. Regardless of whether we think we could get him scoring regularly over here we’ll be looking to sell him.
Not many clubs spend money in January, but I wonder if clubs could make a move for him in the January window?
24-09-2024, 07:14 PM
Not many clubs spend money in January, but I wonder if clubs could make a move for him in the January window?
Unless it was the team he's currently on loan to, he won't be able to play for them until next season since he's already played for us and his loan team this season.
So wouldn't really make sense?
1875Sean
24-09-2024, 07:35 PM
He is on loan until the summer so that’s unlikely?
30-10-2024, 05:16 AM
https://x.com/espnnl/status/1851343427998224500?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Another Vente goal taking him to 4 in 10 in all competitions
30-10-2024, 05:26 AM
Good luck to the guy pleased for him
A well taken goal looks to have his confidence back and is enjoying his football once again
Thanks for posting
30-10-2024, 07:17 AM
Good luck to the guy pleased for him
A well taken goal looks to have his confidence back and is enjoying his football once again
Thanks for posting
I don't think he lost any confidence, he was playing in a 5hite team unable to supply him the ball, missed a glaring sitter or two as most players do, other than that he always scored goals.
Paulie Walnuts
30-10-2024, 07:22 AM
I don't think he lost any confidence, he was playing in a 5hite team unable to supply him the ball, missed a glaring sitter or two as most players do, other than that he always scored goals.
16 G/A in 43 games. He wasn’t exactly setting the heather on fire, but it’s been hugely exaggerated how bad he was imo.
30-10-2024, 07:24 AM
Thought his confidence was shot personally you could see it in his body language nothing was coming off for him latterly and the harder he tried the worse it got I think his preferred option was to return home
He scored 3 goals in 6 games for us this season all three coming in his first competitive match versus Elgin City then nothing
Wish him nothing but the best
30-10-2024, 07:27 AM
Sell him in Jan for a cut price deal to get some funds in
Seen enough of him
Slow, not strong in the air, not physical, doesn’t score enough
Another bad signing from an awful recruitment team
Cut our losses and get some cash in asap rather than next to nothing in 12 months time
30-10-2024, 07:32 AM
Pretty impressive considering how bad the team he's playing for seems to be
30-10-2024, 07:33 AM
Seen enough of him
Cut our losses and get some cash in asap rather than next to nothing in 12 months time
If he carries on scoring at the rate he is, we'll not need to cut his price.
30-10-2024, 07:35 AM
Thought his confidence was shot personally you could see it in his body language nothing was coming off for him latterly and the harder he tried the worse it got I think his preferred option was to return home
He scored 3 goals in 6 games this season all three coming in his first competitive match versus Elgin City then nothing
Wish him nothing but the best
I did as well. The way Monty switched his role from goalscorer to chasing swapping places with wide players really to seem to have an affect on him.
30-10-2024, 07:42 AM
There was clearly a footballer/goalscorer in there but the appointment of Monty derailed any momentum he had. Then Monty's use of him compounded the issues. By the time the summer rolled around his confidence was clearly gone and I'd wager he wanted to return home for months prior of it actually happening.
30-10-2024, 07:53 AM
There was clearly a footballer/goalscorer in there but the appointment of Monty derailed any momentum he had. Then Monty's use of him compounded the issues. By the time the summer rolled around his confidence was clearly gone and I'd wager he wanted to return home for months prior of it actually happening.
My main concern is not his ability but the fact the team he's playing for appears to be murder, however if he carries on at this rate, we shouldn't have much difficulty getting our money back.
30-10-2024, 07:55 AM
Seen enough of him
We will make money on him at this rate
30-10-2024, 07:59 AM
If we could get any money back by way of a transfer fee I’d be delighted.
30-10-2024, 08:07 AM
Seen enough of him
If someone scores goals before he signs for us and then scores goals when he moves on, do you not think it points to us maybe being the problem rather than him? Maybe Hibs managers who aren’t able to get the most out of the players they have at their disposal?
30-10-2024, 08:13 AM
If someone scores goals before he signs for us and then scores goals when he moves on, do you not think it points to us maybe being the problem rather than him? Maybe Hibs managers who aren’t able to get the most out of the players they have at their disposal?Vente's problems at us were a combination of piss poor supply and even worse management of the player by Montgomery. Only a question of time before he was played at centre half.
30-10-2024, 08:13 AM
If someone scores goals before he signs for us and then scores goals when he moves on, do you not think it points to us maybe being the problem rather than him? Maybe Hibs managers who aren’t able to get the most out of the players they have at their disposal?
Or it could be that the game is played totally differently over there and he’s just not suited to it here.
30-10-2024, 08:32 AM
Quality player started magic went off boil under Monty if played right will score goals like current team we have quality but not getting a tune just now
30-10-2024, 08:39 AM
Or it could be that the game is played totally differently over there and he’s just not suited to it here.
Potentially aye. I’m inclined to side with Vente given the pish management he had at Hibs.
30-10-2024, 08:40 AM
My main concern is not his ability but the fact the team he's playing for appears to be murder, however if he carries on at this rate, we shouldn't have much difficulty getting our money back.
If anything it's another weird positive for those of us who are unsure what to think about him overall. He's got a good goal return in a dire team at a level that is recognised to be higher than ours (although I do think the likes of Ajax etc do a lot of heavy lifting for the leagues perception).
If he carries on this form and has 10-12 goals in the league for them come next May it wouldn't be outwith the realm of possibility to suggest a team a bit higher up the table wouldn't spend a decent 7 figure fee for a player like that.
30-10-2024, 08:43 AM
If anything it's another weird positive for those of us who are unsure what to think about him overall. He's got a good goal return in a dire team at a level that is recognised to be higher than ours (although I do think the likes of Ajax etc do a lot of heavy lifting for the leagues perception).
If he carries on this form and has 10-12 goals in the league for them come next May it wouldn't be outwith the realm of possibility to suggest a team a bit higher up the table wouldn't spend a decent 7 figure fee for a player like that.
Ajax only came 5th last season, and were closer in points to 8th place than 4th place.
30-10-2024, 08:44 AM
Better players than Vente have struggled to play in our league
30-10-2024, 08:44 AM
Potentially aye. I’m inclined to side with Vente given the pish management he had at Hibs.
It's not pish management or a lack of chances that had him clearing shots off the line against St Mirren, instead of scoring.
Good goal scorer mismanaged in a piss poor team, give him the supply and he'll score.
HFC93
30-10-2024, 08:49 AM
If he continues to score at this rate in one of the poorer teams in the Erdivisie then we'll sell him for good money next summer.
30-10-2024, 08:50 AM
Good goal scorer mismanaged in a piss poor team, give him the supply and he'll score.
Except all those times he got the supply of course.
Good goal scorers don't need it on a plate.
HibsGW
30-10-2024, 08:54 AM
How many goals has he got? Wikipedia says 3 in 9? Fair enough its better than I’d have thought he’d do but I wouldn’t say it means he’s tearing it up and we’re going to get the transfer fee back just yet.
30-10-2024, 08:58 AM
Ajax only came 5th last season, and were closer in points to 8th place than 4th place.
Yeah they were dreadful and a huge outlier considering they were bottom around this time last year, but overall that league is only considered a top league (in the context of Champions League etc) because of the exploits of them Feyenoord, and PSV.
Teams like Zwolle, Almere, RKC, Heracles wouldn't exactly be running away with a european place here for example. Not taking anything away from him but just being realistic in that he's not exactly gone to Serie A or Ligue 1 and started bagging goals.
30-10-2024, 09:15 AM
He's scored 4 goals in both league & cup?
Hardly tearing it up is he :rolleyes:
EGL2000
30-10-2024, 09:46 AM
If we could get any money back by way of a transfer fee I’d be delighted.
Currently get more id imagine. Someone scoring that amount of goals in the Netherlands at a poor team is going for more than 700/800k.
EGL2000
30-10-2024, 09:48 AM
7 goals in 16 games is very decent for a team sitting 16th in their league.
HFC93
30-10-2024, 09:50 AM
4 in 10 is pretty good for one of the poorer teams in a good league. The current top scorer in in our poorer league is on 5 goals.
30-10-2024, 09:56 AM
7 goals in 16 games is very decent for a team sitting 16th in their league.
He’s not scored 7.
3 in 9 league games and 1 in 1 in the cup.
He has obviously started reasonably well for them though.
30-10-2024, 09:57 AM
Vente has scored 3:9 in the League and 1:1 in the Cup so far
More strength to his elbow
30-10-2024, 09:58 AM
He’s not scored 7.
He has obviously started reasonably well for them.
👍
30-10-2024, 10:05 AM
I assume if it was all down to Monty he will be back soon enough and scoring loads for Hibs. Just like our other strikers
30-10-2024, 10:22 AM
I assume if it was all down to Monty he will be back soon enough and scoring loads for Hibs. Just like our other strikers
Well, wouldn't that assumption only make sense if we'd replaced Monty with a good manager?
EGL2000
30-10-2024, 10:25 AM
He’s not scored 7.
He has obviously started reasonably well for them though.
Apologies was getting confused with the 3 he got in the league cup with us!
Donegal Hibby
30-10-2024, 12:36 PM
Except all those times he got the supply of course.
Good goal scorers don't need it on a plate.
Depends on the type of striker ..likes of Kris Boyd I’d say most goals were set up for him
30-10-2024, 01:38 PM
Depends on the type of striker ..likes of Kris Boyd I’d say most goals were set up for him
You'll need to go and watch a video of Kris boyds goals then. Scored many brilliant long range goals, headers, both feet. Yes, got plenty tap ins and penalties but he could create his own goals to a level Vente never even remotely looked like doing.
30-10-2024, 01:50 PM
You'll need to go and watch a video of Kris boyds goals then. Scored many brilliant long range goals, headers, both feet. Yes, got plenty tap ins and penalties but he could create his own goals to a level Vente never even remotely looked like doing.
Could he? He couldn’t run, couldn’t effectively hold the ball up until his twilight years, couldn’t beat a man and his workrate was laughable, which was why he was left out of all the big games against big teams.
Brilliant finisher but his inability to do anything else was why he never succeeded outside of this league.
Donegal Hibby
30-10-2024, 02:04 PM
I’m not denying he scored some outside the box because he did have a decent shot on him though I’d say the vast majority of his goals came in the box where they are set up for him….
Let’s face it he was hardly a speed merchant and in later years looked out of shape , Le Guen once said if he’s not scoring your basically playing with ten men ..
IMO most strikers need good service . If you put a Kris Boyd in his prime into our team under Monty , played out of position and getting deprived of decent service I don’t think he would have scored many either ..
Abit nauseating but if you watch this you’ll see where most of Boyd’s goals come from…
https://youtu.be/h17Fj8Dw0m8?si=UTEewyrNBy43QiOi
30-10-2024, 02:12 PM
Could he? He couldn’t run, couldn’t effectively hold the ball up until his twilight years, couldn’t beat a man and his workrate was laughable, which was why he was left out of all the big games against big teams.
Brilliant finisher but his inability to do anything else was why he never succeeded outside of this league.
He absolutely could, yes. Kris Boyd scored goals from all angles. Quite often against us.
30-10-2024, 02:44 PM
Could we recall him in January?
Depends if it's in the loan contract, might be a full season loan.
30-10-2024, 04:38 PM
He absolutely could, yes. Kris Boyd scored goals from all angles. Quite often against us.
I’m not disputing he was brilliant finisher from any distance but he certainly he certainly wasn’t someone who could create something for himself.
Just_Jimmy
30-10-2024, 04:42 PM
Potentially aye. I’m inclined to side with Vente given the pish management he had at Hibs.And the absolutely pish standard of Scottish football both in quality and refereeing
When Vente first played many said he looked quality. Months later he's absolutely pish...
I suspect Hibs will be a blight on a very decent CV when Vente retires.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
HendoDelivered
03-11-2024, 02:14 PM
Disallowed goal today.
03-11-2024, 02:53 PM
I’m not disputing he was brilliant finisher from any distance but he certainly he certainly wasn’t someone who could create something for himself.
He was imo. Seen him score enough goals from nothing against us. And he could bully a centre back to a ball easily. He could score with a snapshot from outside the box, or play it wide and get into the box. Vente just never looked like doing that. Felt he went weeks without a touch.
04-11-2024, 02:35 PM
He was imo. Seen him score enough goals from nothing against us. And he could bully a centre back to a ball easily. He could score with a snapshot from outside the box, or play it wide and get into the box. Vente just never looked like doing that. Felt he went weeks without a touch.
They were great finishes but i wouldn't class that as 'creating goals for himself'. Creating something for yourself to me would be beating a couple players first, not just shooting the moment he gets it. Boyd couldn't run the length of himself. As for bullying a centre-half, that was never his game. His hold-up play was shocking for a man of his size. It improved later on in his career but for the vast majority of it, it was rotten. In big games the Centre backs used to chuck him about like an empty tracksuit.
King Cosell
01-02-2025, 08:41 PM
Another 2 goals today in a 3-3 draw against 3rd place Utrecht. Can't see him playing for us again, so surely we'll get a decent fee for him. PEC Zwolle are staying up, they'll want keep him, and there'll be other clubs interested.
Paul1642
01-02-2025, 09:05 PM
A poster on the transfer thread suggested that his loan has a 7 figure option to buy included.
I really hope this isn’t the case because his value today is considerably higher than it was when the loan was agreed. I’ve had a look though all the articles from when he left on loan and can’t see a single mention of an option to buy. There was also an article in December where Gray loosely refused to rule out recalling Vente in January. I can’t image a loan with an option to buy had a recall clause 🤞🏻
He might only have year left on his contract come the summer but I can see us selling him for 2 million plus. 9 Eredivisie with plenty games still to go. If he hits 15 in or so on that league Dutch teams will be heavily interested.
Paulie Walnuts
01-02-2025, 09:07 PM
A poster on the transfer thread suggested that his loan has a 7 figure option to buy included.
I really hope this isn’t the case because his value today is considerably higher than it was when the loan was agreed. I’ve had a look though all the articles from when he left on loan and can’t see a single mention of an option to buy. There was also an article in December where Gray loosely refused to rule out recalling Vente in January. I can’t image a loan with an option to buy had a recall clause 🤞🏻
If it has an option to buy AND a recall clause I’d be recalling him. He’s worth a hell of a lot more now than some token fee.
HibeeMackenzie
01-02-2025, 09:09 PM
There certainly wasn’t a buy option reported when he went on loan. These things normally are, melkersen for example we were more than happy to say we’d be getting a 7 figure fee for him
01-02-2025, 09:23 PM
It’s genuinely not outwith the realm of possibility that we could ask for £3/4m for him if he keeps this up.
01-02-2025, 09:26 PM
It’s genuinely not outwith the realm of possibility that we could ask for £3/4m for him if he keeps this up.
If he could get up to 15+ in the league over there then we could get some proper money for him.
Donegal Hibby
01-02-2025, 09:28 PM
Just asking the question as I see a few post about selling him , does this mean nobody can foresee him coming back next season and getting a fresh start ?
01-02-2025, 09:31 PM
Just asking the question as I see a few post about selling him , does this mean nobody can foresee him coming back next season and getting a fresh start ?
He'd be going into his final season at Hibs, so we're playing down his contract, trying to get him to extend his contract or recoup our outlay. I can only see one option tbh.
Paul1642
01-02-2025, 09:33 PM
I would love it but I don’t think it’s the best option. He has one year left on his contract in the summer so the first question would be is he willing to renew? If not then a sale is a no brainier.
Secondly, he simply seems better suited to Dutch football (and potentially other European leagues) than Scottish football, hence why he’s scoring goals in a league considered to be much better than ours, yet couldn’t do it constantly here. His value to a Dutch team is probably much higher than his value to us and without getting carried away, his potential transfer fee could be really high for a club like ours and if invested well is worth much more to us than a player who in theory could return and again fail to produce.
01-02-2025, 09:34 PM
Didn’t work for him here. He’s gone home and flourishing. I can’t see why he would want to come back when he’s going to have suitors in the Netherlands. Again I can’t see any circumstance he will be at Hibs again.
Donegal Hibby
01-02-2025, 09:35 PM
He'd be going into his final season at Hibs, so we're playing down his contract, trying to get him to extend his contract or recoup our outlay. I can only see one option tbh.
I didn’t realise he’d be going into his final season so yeah recouping the money we spent on him or better again making a profit and reinvesting would be the better option alright.
01-02-2025, 09:44 PM
Didn’t work for him here. He’s gone home and flourishing. I can’t see why he would want to come back when he’s going to have suitors in the Netherlands. Again I can’t see any circumstance he will be at Hibs again.
That’s the way I see it. It’s about getting the best money we can for him now.
HFC93
02-02-2025, 12:15 AM
He's now the 4th joint top goal scorer in the Eredivisie. Really pleased for him.
EGL2000
02-02-2025, 12:26 AM
He's now the 4th joint top goal scorer in the Eredivisie. Really pleased for him.
Surely going to command a good fee now.
02-02-2025, 12:31 AM
Surely going to command a good fee now.
Totally. If we were trying to sign him on the back of the season he's had we wouldn't be able to afford him. £1 mil plus easy.
Donegal Hibby
02-02-2025, 12:35 AM
Me too . We should have plenty of interest in him . Took his goals well ….
https://youtu.be/0gqM_8ChdVs?si=QjaTnDlbqEVP4_Le
EGL2000
02-02-2025, 12:44 AM
Totally. If we were trying to sign him on the back of the season he's had we wouldn't be able to afford him. £1 mil plus easy.
Agreed someone with that many goals in the top flight would be well out of our price range.
Trinity Hibee
02-02-2025, 03:20 AM
So frustrating it never clicked here. He was great against Lucerne and his finishes made me think we had a player but missed too many sitters. Paid 500k so anything over £1m I guess is a good return.
Just shows some players don’t fit certain leagues
02-02-2025, 07:02 AM
One goal ahead of him in the charts is Troy Parrot, an Irish forward signed by AZ Alkmaar from Spurs for 4 million euros.
Two goals ahead of him is Ricardo Pepi, an American forward signed by PSV from FS Augsburg for 11 million euros.
On the same number of goals is Luuk de Jong, a 3 million euros signing for PSV from Sevilla.
Going by the above, he could give us a nice return, especially if there is a bidding war.
Chip shop Joe
02-02-2025, 08:29 AM
I do hope that it was not a loan with an option to buy as on current form the sum agreed beforehand would seriously undervalue him but who was to know that he would do so well.
02-02-2025, 10:16 AM
Plenty Feyenoord fans on twitter suggesting they get him back. Who knows we might get a bid for him before this window shuts.
02-02-2025, 10:20 AM
Plenty Feyenoord fans on twitter suggesting they get him back. Who knows we might get a bid for him before this window shuts.
Obviously he can be registered with another club this window but he can't play for another club this season. At least I think that's the case.
02-02-2025, 10:29 AM
I do hope that it was not a loan with an option to buy as on current form the sum agreed beforehand would seriously undervalue him but who was to know that he would do so well.
Would be such a shame. I'd like to think we'd either be getting one of the Eredivisies top scores back or selling him for a pretty penny.
02-02-2025, 10:43 AM
Obviously he can be registered with another club this window but he can't play for another club this season. At least I think that's the case.
Never thought of that.
02-02-2025, 10:44 AM
That’s right. He can only play for Zwolle or Hibs this season now.
Paul1642
02-02-2025, 11:18 AM
Would be such a shame. I'd like to think we'd either be getting one of the Eredivisies top scores back or selling him for a pretty penny.
As mentioned, other than one poster saying so I can’t see any suggestion of an option to buy included in the loan.
On the chance that there is one, it might not even end up being relevant.
Hypothetically if Zwolle and Feyenoord wanted Vente and the player naturally wanted to go to Feyenoord, then the option to buy might hamstring our negotiating position a little but not completely.
02-02-2025, 12:03 PM
Guy is a quality player with great technical skill. A blind person could have seen that.
We will get a fair bit of clear profit when time to sell.
Chip shop Joe
02-02-2025, 02:04 PM
Guy is a quality player with great technical skill. A blind person could have seen that.
We will get a fair bit of clear profit when time to sell.
Aye but the point is we probably would have been happy to get our money back when we loaned him out.
I very much doubt when we loaned him that we thought we would make a profit given that other than initially looking very sharp he did very little.
Paul1642
02-02-2025, 02:08 PM
Aye but the point is we probably would have been happy to get our money back when we loaned him out.
I very much doubt when we loaned him that we thought we would make a profit given that other than initially looking very sharp he did very little.
It doesn’t mean there’s an option to buy included in the loan. There isn’t more one often than there is one.
02-02-2025, 02:10 PM
Wasn’t there mention of a recall option being included in the loan? Think that was talked about at the start of the window. If there was an option to buy I’m sure we would’ve heard about it by now. Could be wrong though.
Chip shop Joe
02-02-2025, 02:15 PM
It doesn’t mean there’s an option to buy included in the loan. There isn’t more one often than there is one.
Where did I say that there was one?? I said I hope there was not one?
Chip shop Joe
02-02-2025, 02:17 PM
Wasn’t there mention of a recall option being included in the loan? Think that was talked about at the start of the window. If there was an option to buy I’m sure we would’ve heard about it by now. Could be wrong though.
I can’t actually remember anything being said about the loan. Hopefully a straightforward 1 season loan and he keeps doing what he is doing and either comes back or sold for a great profit.
02-02-2025, 03:00 PM
I think he'd have still been here if Lee Johnson hasn't been punted purely because he was a more attack minded manager than Montgomery. Really didn't suit his style. Quite unusual to see such an expensive signing go out on loan. To be fair to him he's doing well.
02-02-2025, 05:53 PM
That’s right. He can only play for Zwolle or Hibs this season now.
Did he play for us this season? If not you can be registered with 3 clubs but can only play for two of them.
02-02-2025, 05:53 PM
Did he play for us this season? If not you can be registered with 3 clubs but can only play for two of them.
Yes, he missed a sitter at St Mirren 😡
02-02-2025, 07:23 PM
Another thing to consider is that when we signed him, a number of English clubs were interested but he wasn’t eligible for a work permit which opened the door for us. Come this summer he will be eligible for a work permit to play in England so it’s possible there will be interest from there again too.
02-02-2025, 07:34 PM
So frustrating it never clicked here. He was great against Lucerne and his finishes made me think we had a player but missed too many sitters. Paid 500k so anything over £1m I guess is a good return.
Just shows some players don’t fit certain leagues
It never clicked here for one reason only. Nick Montgomery.
04-02-2025, 02:19 PM
Yes, he missed a sitter at St Mirren
Open goal that will be Montgomery's fault also. :greengrin
04-02-2025, 02:36 PM
Other than the Elgin game, why was he appalling under SDG too?
FWIW, I don’t blame him. Hes too slow and he’s not very physical so he’ll never make it in Scotland. He’s gone back to a slower, more technical league and is doing better.
It was a complete waste of money to bring him here.
04-02-2025, 02:37 PM
Yes, he missed a sitter at St Mirren 😡
And the League Cup games
Paulie Walnuts
04-02-2025, 02:45 PM
The huddiest of huddy managers.
PHeffernan
04-02-2025, 03:15 PM
Another thing to consider is that when we signed him, a number of English clubs were interested but he wasn’t eligible for a work permit which opened the door for us. Come this summer he will be eligible for a work permit to play in England so it’s possible there will be interest from there again too.
Good point.
Hibees1973
04-02-2025, 03:34 PM
I like Vente.
Would like to see him come back and score goals for us, but my instinct says we won't see the best of him in a Hibs shirt. Not sure if it's the SPFL, the way we play or it's just some transfers don't work out.
Looking at transfermkt the highest fee paid by Zwolle is £600k. Not really sure if this a fact. On what he has done for them, you would think Zwolle would want him permanently in the summer.
Think he has 1 year on his contract. If Zwolle or anyone else offered anything above £600k we would have to take it, with a percentage on any subsequent transfer. If he had 2 years or more we could play longer game and hope for more.
04-02-2025, 08:02 PM
I like Vente.
Would like to see him come back and score goals for us, but my instinct says we won't see the best of him in a Hibs shirt. Not sure if it's the SPFL, the way we play or it's just some transfers don't work out.
Looking at transfermkt the highest fee paid by Zwolle is £600k. Not really sure if this a fact. On what he has done for them, you would think Zwolle would want him permanently in the summer.
Think he has 1 year on his contract. If Zwolle or anyone else offered anything above £600k we would have to take it, with a percentage on any subsequent transfer. If he had 2 years or more we could play longer game and hope for more.
Obviously a decent striker. That it didn't happen for him here is no cause for celebration as he'll obviously go on to have a decent career. It would be interesting to see how he performed in a more confident, organised Hibs side, playing a role that's suited to him. I'd take that, or a decent fee.
04-02-2025, 08:24 PM
I like Vente.
I’d be disappointed to take £600k.
We paid for him as a guy who had a record of scoring goals at Dutch second division level. He’s now shown he’s capable of doing that in the top flight. We should be looking for more.
05-02-2025, 10:28 AM
We paid for him as a guy who had a record of scoring goals at Dutch second division level. He’s now shown he’s capable of doing that in the top flight. We should be looking for more.
If he finishes the season as one of the top scorers in the Eredivisie then we should be asking for millions. Would be hard to make a case against it.
KazaHibs
05-02-2025, 11:33 AM
Other than the Elgin game, why was he appalling under SDG too?
FWIW, I don’t blame him. Hes too slow and he’s not very physical so he’ll never make it in Scotland. He’s gone back to a slower, more technical league and is doing better.
It was a complete waste of money to bring him here.
I'd argue it was down to the system we were playing at the start of the season. One up front might not suit him. Maybe this 352 we are playing might help him?
05-02-2025, 11:40 AM
I'd argue it was down to the system we were playing at the start of the season. One up front might not suit him. Maybe this 352 we are playing might help him?
He was mince in a 4-4-2 for us as well.
He doesn’t suit this league. He was a massive waste of money and has set him back a season in his career.
It’s a perfect example of how nobody wins when recruitment aren’t up to scratch.
For our benefit and for his, he needs to move on in the summer.
05-02-2025, 11:43 AM
His new team clearly make chances for him in and around the box, something we failed to do on too many occasions, that's when he got to actually play in the box, good luck to him, I really like him and feel bad form and bad tactics meant we didn't get the best out of him
We should also be asking why a guy who can score in the Dutch top flight found it so difficult in the Scottish top flight, which is arguably of a lesser standard.
05-02-2025, 12:00 PM
I’d 100% be keeping him, at least for a look over the summer and into the start of next season. He’s proved he’s quite clearly no mince, and with him only having a year left on his deal come then plus I presume his former team being due a cut of any fee I don’t think we’d make millions selling him anyway
05-02-2025, 12:05 PM
We should also be asking why a guy who can score in the Dutch top flight found it so difficult in the Scottish top flight, which is arguably of a lesser standard.
I think there's more to it than just standards, his physical profile, and style of football in the league etc. When he first showed up he couldn't stop burying any chance that came his way. But after Montgomery came the guy couldn't get near a chance because as we've all seen and accept he decided to use him differently to everyones detriment.
Malky Mackay mentioned in his post window interview that Vente and his family have had a tough time since signing, it honestly could just be a combination of external bad luck and a change to a system that doesn't get the best out of you combining to make you feel low/unconfident and perhaps even regretful of making the move here. Life can get in the way of football sometimes and you just have to hold your hands up to it and work around it as best you can.
I think there's more to it than just standards, his physical profile, and style of football in the league etc. When he first showed up he couldn't stop burying any chance that came his way. But after Montgomery came the guy couldn't get near a chance because as we've all seen and accept he decided to use him differently to everyones detriment.
Malky Mackay mentioned in his post window interview that Vente and his family have had a tough time since signing, it honestly could just be a combination of external bad luck and a change to a system that doesn't get the best out of you combining to make you feel low/unconfident and perhaps even regretful of making the move here. Life can get in the way of football sometimes and you just have to hold your hands up to it and work around it as best you can.
Agree with with you, but it kind of leads onto the whole recruitment process and perhaps the club has to look at the wider aspect of moving to a new environment, not just the football but family integration, children's education etc.
In my employment I moved a number of times from Scotland to England as a single man, no one to consider but myself, once married, with children different ball game, for instance I turned down a very good opportunity in Hong Kong because in the end my family were more important and they were convinced of the move.
05-02-2025, 12:29 PM
If he finishes the season as one of the top scorers in the Eredivisie then we should be asking for millions. Would be hard to make a case against it.
100%
05-02-2025, 01:02 PM
Before Montgomery came in, Vente had scored 2 goals. He’d only had 2 shots on goal in his 7 appearances. It’s not as if he was getting chance after chance then they all dried up when Montgomery came in.
There’s no doubt that we didn’t get the best of him but I just don’t think he was suited to it. There was a whole combination of things that went in to it.
Montgomery was an issue, he didn’t get the best out of the team full stop, but I do think Vente’s struggles went beyond him as well.
05-02-2025, 01:16 PM
Before Montgomery came in, Vente had scored 2 goals. He’d only had 2 shots on goal in his 7 appearances. It’s not as if he was getting chance after chance then they all dried up when Montgomery came in.
There’s no doubt that we didn’t get the best of him but I just don’t think he was suited to it. There was a whole combination of things that went in to it.
Montgomery was an issue, he didn’t get the best out of the team full stop, but I do think Vente’s struggles went beyond him as well.
I may be being unfair to Montgomery here but I feel like when Vente came in he did well with converting what actually were limited chances in his game time he had. I vaguely remember a run of him having 1 shot 1 goal per game for a while in that spell.
He scored against Luzern, Raith, Kilmarnock, St Johnstone and St Mirren early on in his time here. And while the last three of those games were admittedly under NM they were also his first three in the job, and once he had settled into his system and style it just seemed to dry up for Vente and he didn't score again for 2 months as a result.
I think you are right that there was struggled that went beyond Montgomery but at the crux of it can probably be traced back to Montgomery in my opinion.
05-02-2025, 01:22 PM
I may be being unfair to Montgomery here but I feel like when Vente came in he did well with converting what actually were limited chances in his game time he had. I vaguely remember a run of him having 1 shot 1 goal per game for a while in that spell.
He scored against Luzern, Raith, Kilmarnock, St Johnstone and St Mirren early on in his time here. And while the last three of those games were admittedly under NM they were also his first three in the job, and once he had settled into his system and style it just seemed to dry up for Vente and he didn't score again for 2 months as a result.
I think you are right that there was struggled that went beyond Montgomery but at the crux of it can probably be traced back to Montgomery in my opinion.
He was undoubtedly doing well to have a 100% conversion rate from his first 5 shots. It was seen as a positive at the time but also remember people commenting that, looking at it the other way, it was also a concern how little he was getting a shot or chance. I just think, in that regard, it’s not as if he was doing loads of things differently.
05-02-2025, 01:29 PM
He was undoubtedly doing well to have a 100% conversion rate from his first 5 shots. It was seen as a positive at the time but also remember people commenting that, looking at it the other way, it was also a concern how little he was getting a shot or chance. I just think, in that regard, it’s not as if he was doing loads of things differently.
I don't really believe he was playing the same way though after a while into Mongomery's reign. He began needing to work out in the wider areas more and dropping into number 10 to help build up play or support the system, which was the total opposite of what I think we can all agree were his strengths. If memory serves me right we ended up playing Boyle as the more advanced forward for a spell as well.
There's definitely question marks over him and whether he could continue his 1 shot 1 goal return, but the things Montgomery did impeded that for him in my opinion instead of Vente failing off his own accord.
Paulie Walnuts
05-02-2025, 01:32 PM
I don't really believe he was playing the same way though after a while into Mongomery's reign. He began needing to work out in the wider areas more and dropping into number 10 to help build up play or support the system, which was the total opposite of what I think we can all agree were his strengths. If memory serves me right we ended up playing Boyle as the more advanced forward for a spell as well.
There's definitely question marks over him and whether he could continue his 1 shot 1 goal return, but the things Montgomery did impeded that for him in my opinion instead of Vente failing off his own accord.
Agree with all of this.
05-02-2025, 01:37 PM
Montgomery absolutely hindered him, as he did everybody really. I just don’t think the failing was entirely on him as some others (not you) do.
05-02-2025, 08:50 PM
I'd love to see what he could do in the current team but we spent too much on him to let his contract run down and lose him for nothing so it's not happening now. Best hope is he has a great end to the season and we sell him for 1 million plus.
Realistically it should be far higher if he finishes up near the top of the Eredivisie scorer charts but the length of his contact weakens our position.
06-02-2025, 05:01 AM
I'd love to see what he could do in the current team but we spent too much on him to let his contract run down and lose him for nothing so it's not happening now. Best hope is he has a great end to the season and we sell him for 1 million plus.
Realistically it should be far higher if he finishes up near the top of the Eredivisie scorer charts but the length of his contact weakens our position.
:agree: I always thought giving him the short contract was a little strange. :confused:
Ribs1875
06-02-2025, 07:16 AM
Its the same situation with Youan. Both of them understandably will want to step it up a level. I have no issues with us selling them both in the summer, as it is better than losing them at the end of next season for nothing.
Paulie Walnuts
06-02-2025, 07:23 AM
:agree: I always thought giving him the short contract was a little strange. :confused:
Likewise. Suppose it may have been his decision, but it was always going to leave us with either a very short window to enjoy him, or a very short window to sell him for a decent fee. As it turns out we’ve likely missed both.
06-02-2025, 09:29 AM
Likewise. Suppose it may have been his decision, but it was always going to leave us with either a very short window to enjoy him, or a very short window to sell him for a decent fee. As it turns out we’ve likely missed both.
I imagine it's just something we have to accept may happen if you're trying to attract players over who would otherwise not have considered a move here. You'll likely have to make concessions you wouldn't normally like to but if you come out with some sort of net positive for their time here then it's worth it in the end.
06-02-2025, 02:01 PM
He’s on 10 from 18 games at the moment I think. If he ends up with 20 goals we could see several clubs come in for him. £3million could be more than possible… it just takes a wee bidding war.
06-02-2025, 02:08 PM
He’s on 10 from 18 games at the moment I think. If he ends up with 20 goals we could see several clubs come in for him. £3million could be more than possible… it just takes a wee bidding war.
If he ends up with 15 or more and around a 50 percent goal to game ratio you have to imagine someone is going to want to take him. People are paying way over the odds for far less successful strikers.
06-02-2025, 02:09 PM
Its the same situation with Youan. Both of them understandably will want to step it up a level. I have no issues with us selling them both in the summer, as it is better than losing them at the end of next season for nothing.
I said on the other thread, Youan loves Hibs so much he fakes an injury every transfer window to avoid a move. Lifetime contract extension is what he's looking for, not a move.
We even got new corner flags for him.
06-02-2025, 02:43 PM
Unless his loan has an option to buy at a certain amount?
16-02-2025, 07:22 PM
Another goal today
10 in 22 league games now
Ribs1875
17-02-2025, 07:09 AM
Another goal today
10 in 22 league games now
Cha ching
17-02-2025, 07:15 AM
£7.2 million. Nothing less.
17-02-2025, 07:22 AM
Cash in asap.
17-02-2025, 10:07 AM
Cash in asap.
is that the sequel to Cash in The Attic ?
EGL2000
17-02-2025, 03:16 PM
Rangers got 3mil plus for Lammers who scored 10 goals in the league while on loan (at a better team). At his current rate Vente will be on 15+ and is younger than Lammers. Should be looking for at least 3mil in my opinion. I would imagine Roda have a decent seller on fee as well.
17-02-2025, 05:06 PM
Rangers got 3mil plus for Lammers who scored 10 goals in the league while on loan (at a better team). At his current rate Vente will be on 15+ and is younger than Lammers. Should be looking for at least 3mil in my opinion. I would imagine Roda have a decent seller on fee as well.
No chance we'll get over 3 million. Players at bigger clubs command bigger fees, not saying it's right but that's generally the case.
If we got 1.5 million for him, bearing in mind he'll have 1 year left on his deal, that will double our money on him I'd reckon we'd take it.
That might push to 2 million but is better pretty surprised if it's north of that.
No chance we'll get over 3 million. Players at bigger clubs command bigger fees, not saying it's right but that's generally the case.
If we got 1.5 million for him, bearing in mind he'll have 1 year left on his deal, that will double our money on him I'd reckon we'd take it.
That might push to 2 million but is better pretty surprised if it's north of that.
I think that's because a players' current wages will be a factor and Lammers most likely was on a reasonably bigger wage than Vente.
17-02-2025, 05:25 PM
I can’t be bothered trawling through old posts but I’ll wager that some posters who are now expecting us to get millions for Vente are among the many who didn’t rate him when he was here and were happy to see the back of him.
17-02-2025, 05:36 PM
I can’t be bothered trawling through old posts but I’ll wager that some posters who are now expecting us to get millions for Vente are among the many who didn’t rate him when he was here and were happy to see the back of him.
What would be the problem with that?
17-02-2025, 05:41 PM
A player for whatever reason we weren't getting the best out of, I can see why some people would be happy to have him of the wage bill, the fact he's doing fantastic back home means folk would be happy to get our money back minimum. I can't see the issue. I just want him playing somewhere he's happy and we don't loose out.
17-02-2025, 05:48 PM
People are allowed to change their opinions. And players are capable of making people do so.
17-02-2025, 05:52 PM
I think this is the crux of the matter. We'd be self-defeating fools not to have him back in an environment where there is no reason why he couldn't shine. Certainly Vente, getting on the edge on Nicky Caddens crosses and playing off Bowie in a winning organised team would, I imagine, be a highly different prospect to the guy we saw in a struggling shambles of a Hibs side.
We must be unique in having one of the top strikers in Europe on our books and our fanbase being desperate to get rid of him. He certainly didn't shine under Monty, but I'm trying to remember who did...
17-02-2025, 05:53 PM
https://youtu.be/BH7j0cl-3BI?si=fBqdpmBBJSCd9XVl
17-02-2025, 05:56 PM
People are allowed to change their opinions. And players are capable of making people do so.
Your second excellent post on the one thread.
I couldn't give a toss if I, or anyone else on here, was 'proved wrong'. It's ludicrous thinking and nobody gives a toss other than the poster's own ego. It's a performance and results based endeavour. Vente wasn't cutting it, get rid. Vente is killing it, bring back. It really is that straightforward.
17-02-2025, 06:10 PM
https://youtu.be/BH7j0cl-3BI?si=fBqdpmBBJSCd9XVl
Have the Eredivisie chucked VAR as well? Looks clearly offside!
17-02-2025, 06:10 PM
I'd like to think he'll fetch millions because of how he has done in the Eredivise.
I still think he'd fail if he came back because he needs way too much space and time on the ball. Lammers is doing numbers, Rangers fans had him on a par with Sebo. You really need to be game to play up top in Scotland.
EGL2000
17-02-2025, 06:33 PM
In my opinion anything less than 3 mill would be poor from Hibs he's the 4th top scorer in a league that's higher quality than ours and he's also playing at a bottom half team which makes his record even more impressive.
17-02-2025, 06:42 PM
In my opinion anything less than 3 mill would be poor from Hibs he's the 4th top scorer in a league that's higher quality than ours and he's also playing at a bottom half team which makes his record even more impressive.
Don't disagree, but there's no chance we're getting £3 mil for a player who could sign a pre-contract with anyone in 6 months time from the summer for free.
17-02-2025, 06:47 PM
His movement for the last goal is brilliant. Regardless of what happens it is clear he is a very decent player. Whether it is Scottish football or the style we played it didn't work out at Hibs. He is however now looking leaner and fitter and most weeks playing teh full 90. He was not doing that at Hibs so it may be conditioning or just a player who is confident. The average distance covered in Holland is more than in Scotland during a game but there is physicality and how many sprints etc that will make the results hard to compare
17-02-2025, 06:52 PM
Its self-evident that some players just fit some clubs and some systems, and some just stink up the place and do well elsewhere.I still don’t particularly want Vente back because the last time he was here he didnt look like he knew what he was doing. Im delighted for him though and positively salivating at the possible fee.
Hibees1973
17-02-2025, 07:05 PM
The ironic thing is, if we wanted to buy him now we wouldn't be able to afford him. Yet on the whole he failed in a Hibs jersey.
As with all players nowadays, Vente holds all the cards and as he has only one year left on his contract it leaves us in a vulnerable position. I just can't see him coming back to us, playing well then extending his contract so we get a big fee for him later. Clearly he is more suited and happier at home in the Eredivisie.
Maybe there will be a bidding war for him, but if we want over £1m it's unlikely Zwolle will be in the running as the highest fee they appear to have paid out is £700k.
You would hope he will be in demand, but if any move is not to Vente's liking he may want to go out on loan again, see out his contract and we get nowt for him in 2026.
Could play out a number of ways, but Hibs can't be too greedy in the fee they demand.
17-02-2025, 07:09 PM
Its self-evident that some players just fit some clubs and some systems, and some just stink up the place and do well elsewhere.I still don’t particularly want Vente back because the last time he was here he didnt look like he knew what he was doing. Im delighted for him though and positively salivating at the possible fee.
I think the style is just so different to what he’s used to. In Holland, the ball is never off the deck. Over here you have games like yesterday and, to a lesser extent, the previous weeks against Ayr, Aberdeen and Ross County where he’d offer very, very little. I still think the best solution is that he keeps scoring and we get a good fee in the summer. I’m not convinced he’ll be overly fussed about coming back either.
17-02-2025, 07:19 PM
I think the style is just so different to what he’s used to. In Holland, the ball is never off the deck. Over here you have games like yesterday and, to a lesser extent, the previous weeks against Ayr, Aberdeen and Ross County where he’d offer very, very little. I still think the best solution is that he keeps scoring and we get a good fee in the summer. I’m not convinced he’ll be overly fussed about coming back either.
This. Not quite sure about the quality of the league he plays in outside the first 3 or 4, Zwolle are a below average team in that league, but as you say if he keeps on scoring goals we should get something back for him.
Paulie Walnuts
17-02-2025, 07:40 PM
The Nick Montgomery effect.
17-02-2025, 08:26 PM
Don't disagree, but there's no chance we're getting £3 mil for a player who could sign a pre-contract with anyone in 6 months time from the summer for free.
If there are enough teams making offers, no one’s going to give a toss whether he’s got 5 years or 1.
17-02-2025, 08:27 PM
The Nick Montgomery effect.
Donegal Hibby
17-02-2025, 08:31 PM
Seen a few of Vente’s goals now for PEC Zwolle and what I think is surprising is the amount of space he has had . I doubt playing Killie , St Mirren , Ross County etc he’d get the same luxury.
17-02-2025, 08:33 PM
Seen a few of Vente’s goals now for PEC Zwolle and what I think is surprising is the amount of space he has had . I doubt playing Killie , St Mirren , Ross County etc he’d get the same luxury.
I’ve seen a few where he’s had next to none, like his brace a couple of weeks back. 2 belters
cameronw-hfc
17-02-2025, 08:54 PM
A good striker with confidence finds space where there isn't any. His was shot to bits by the time he left us imo.
I think he's a good player that lost his way and needed the loan to get his confidence back, whether it works at us or not is another discussion. I think it could, but his contract situation makes that tricky for us.
Donegal Hibby
17-02-2025, 09:02 PM
I’ve seen a few where he’s had next to none, like his brace a couple of weeks back. 2 belters
Fair enough , i’ve only seen a few tbh where I thought the defending was really poor .
17-02-2025, 09:24 PM
If there are enough teams making offers, no one’s going to give a toss whether he’s got 5 years or 1.
Just doesn't work like that though.
Donegal Hibby
17-02-2025, 09:27 PM
A good striker with confidence finds space where there isn't any. His was shot to bits by the time he left us imo.
I think he's a good player that lost his way and needed the loan to get his confidence back, whether it works at us or not is another discussion. I think it could, but his contract situation makes that tricky for us.
I liked him and still think he’s a good striker, started off well but whatever happened to him after that is a mystery, personally I think it could be a combination of things like the style of our league, playing in midfield and possibly not settling in Scotland.
Totally agree he looked a player whose confidence was shot to bits when he left us .
With his contract situation I think we will be open to moving him on and if we get a decent offer for him somewhere between 1.5mil and 2mil it could mean we have the money to sign another two good players seeing us come out of this even stronger.
PHeffernan
18-02-2025, 01:21 AM
I'd like to think he'll fetch millions because of how he has done in the Eredivise.
I still think he'd fail if he came back because he needs way too much space and time on the ball. Lammers is doing numbers, Rangers fans had him on a par with Sebo. You really need to be game to play up top in Scotland.
Lammers is a class player.
Rangers fans are only happy if they are beating Celtic and if they're not they declare their manager and players are all rubbish and want them all gone and replaced.
Vente is more meat and tatties but is doing very well. 14 goals this season and 7 in his last 7 games in a low scoring team.
If we can get 3 million for Youan and Vente i'll be happy. Currently less than 16 months left on their contracts so they must be sold this summer.
Donegal Hibby
18-02-2025, 04:24 AM
Lammers is a class player.
Thought he looked ***** TBH , opinions , eh ? .:greengrin
18-02-2025, 06:38 AM
We really need one of the bigger Dutch clubs to want him then we may get nearer to 2 million
18-02-2025, 06:48 AM
I liked him and still think he’s a good striker, started off well but whatever happened to him after that is a mystery, personally I think it could be a combination of things like the style of our league, playing in midfield and possibly not settling in Scotland.
Totally agree he looked a player whose confidence was shot to bits when he left us .
With his contract situation I think we will be open to moving him on and if we get a decent offer for him somewhere between 1.5mil and 2mil it could mean we have the money to sign another two good players seeing us come out of this even stronger.
After the first few games, I recall commenting that he seems a good goalscorer when the ball is played in front of him and he can run onto it and hit it first time. Not all strikers have that ability, but I thought Vente was that type of player.
However, I felt he suffered by playing a team with little creativity from midfield. If only we had a Scott Allan type player to pass forward to the strikers. The dropping off into midfield just didn't work, similar to what I recall of seeing Shankland in his Dundee United days when they came to Easter Road. Then by the end of his time, it was obvious his confidence was shot and the miss at St Mirren was hard to defend.
Like you, I feel he's a good striker. There must be many clubs looking at his situation and thinking they can pick up the current 4th top goalscorer in the Dutch leagues for not a lot of money. I fully expect to see some try and bid early for Vente hoping for a quick deal. If there is interest and teams are desperate to get him, I expect that the value will be a lot higher than £2m.
If he's still a Hibs player in August, I'd be very surprised, unless we want him for our Europa League campaign. :greengrin
18-02-2025, 07:25 AM
I think a few are getting carried away with the possible fee we'll get. He flopped in the Scottish league, he'll be 26 by the summer and he'll have just 1 year left on his contract. If he had 2 years we'd be laughing, but we won't be in a strong position come the summer and every club will know that.
The fact he's contracted to Hibernian in Scotland on a relatively low wage will also affect the fee clubs will offer. I think we'll be doing well to get north of £1m for him. I just hope it doesn't go to into the black hole that Kensell created.
18-02-2025, 07:49 AM
Malky Mackay mentioned him and his family have had a rough time so it was good to see him back scoring and doing well. It could be his confidence and overall headspace was completely shot to pieces for whatever reason that is.
There is clearly a good player in there, you don't score the goals he has in Eredivisie and be a poor one. I still don't think we hired the right manager to play to his strengths personally but there is always the chance he'd have struggled anyway due to things like the difference in style over here versus Holland.
Would I take Vente back? Of course I would, if you offered Hibs a striker that was scoring 15 goals the previous season in most cases you'd take it, let alone if the league was deemed 'better' than ours.
I think though with his contract situation it does make sense to move him on if the offers are good enough. Anything north of £2m is probably a near automatic take it and run. Under that you can make a case for saying "well lets see if we can get him to bang them in for us and get us a trophy/europe". But I suspect that he'll never see a Hibs jersey again and we'll make something back on his initial fee regardless of what it is.
Paulie Walnuts
18-02-2025, 07:59 AM
It’s safe to say he’s not finding space because the defenders, of a higher calibre, in a better league, are just allowing him to have it. Hes finding the space.
18-02-2025, 08:11 AM
I think a few are getting carried away with the possible fee we'll get. He flopped in the Scottish league, he'll be 26 by the summer and he'll have just 1 year left on his contract. If he had 2 years we'd be laughing, but we won't be in a strong position come the summer and every club will know that.
The fact he's contracted to Hibernian in Scotland on a relatively low wage will also affect the fee clubs will offer. I think we'll be doing well to get north of £1m for him. I just hope it doesn't go to into the black hole that Kensell created.
Part of the black hole was created by signing players like Vente. Even if we break even on him and clog up a bit of that void then it's probably a step in the right direction. It was looking like money down the drain last summer so I don't think we should be getting too greedy, for the reasons you mention.
I don't think we should be shelling out the fees we did for him then only giving them 3 years in future - limits your ability to get either a decent stint out of the player or a respectable financial return.
Even though he's doing well in Holland I still can't see this turning out to be anything other than a daft signing.
18-02-2025, 08:39 AM
Part of the black hole was created by signing players like Vente. Even if we break even on him and clog up a bit of that void then it's probably a step in the right direction. It was looking like money down the drain last summer so I don't think we should be getting too greedy, for the reasons you mention.
I don't think we should be shelling out the fees we did for him then only giving them 3 years in future - limits your ability to get either a decent stint out of the player or a respectable financial return.
Even though he's doing well in Holland I still can't see this turning out to be anything other than a daft signing.
I do agree with this on the surface. But I don't think it's as easy as that if you're wanting to attract players that otherwise wouldn't maybe consider coming to Hibs as they've got their sights set on getting to say England quickly, if you offered us Lennon Miller for example for £1m (would never happen just hypothetical) I wouldn't let a 3 year contract versus a 4 be the stumbling block in making it happen.
Worst case scenario is if he was a Jair and we ended up saddled with him for 4 of wages that no one wants to take off us.
Each deal is going to be different and what is the best scenario will change depending on the player really.
18-02-2025, 09:09 AM
I do agree with this on the surface. But I don't think it's as easy as that if you're wanting to attract players that otherwise wouldn't maybe consider coming to Hibs as they've got their sights set on getting to say England quickly, if you offered us Lennon Miller for example for £1m (would never happen just hypothetical) I wouldn't let a 3 year contract versus a 4 be the stumbling block in making it happen.
Worst case scenario is if he was a Jair and we ended up saddled with him for 4 of wages that no one wants to take off us.
Each deal is going to be different and what is the best scenario will change depending on the player really.
I accept that, but I think the shorter contract drastically increases the risk profile of the transfer. That's fine if the Gordons are willing to underwrite the ones that don't pay off but you don't get to take many of these punts if you're to be run in a sustainable fashion.
Neither Vente nor Jair were situations that were difficult to foresee happening, for different reasons. Jair had never really played football at any level (bar some games for Benfica B in the Portuguese second tier) so it was always going to be a risk that he's adapt to adult football in Scotland quickly. Vente at least had experience but it wasn't to be known how he might adapt to Scotland. 3 years doesn't really allow a player time to have a shaky start or to find their feet before they're potentially offski again.
Easier said than done (and if we have a respectable season this season it will, tbf, be easier with the bones of an acceptable squad still being in place) but sometimes you need to let these tempting transfers pass you by, or maybe just take the odd punt, and stick to ones that make more sense. McKirdy feels like another one we felt we couldn't pass up on at a time of desperation and predictably turned out to be a disaster.
18-02-2025, 09:24 AM
I accept that, but I think the shorter contract drastically increases the risk profile of the transfer. That's fine if the Gordons are willing to underwrite the ones that don't pay off but you don't get to take many of these punts if you're to be run in a sustainable fashion.
Neither Vente nor Jair were situations that were difficult to foresee happening, for different reasons. Jair had never really played football at any level (bar some games for Benfica B in the Portuguese second tier) so it was always going to be a risk that he's adapt to adult football in Scotland quickly. Vente at least had experience but it wasn't to be known how he might adapt to Scotland. 3 years doesn't really allow a player time to have a shaky start or to find their feet before they're potentially offski again.
Easier said than done (and if we have a respectable season this season it will, tbf, be easier with the bones of an acceptable squad still being in place) but sometimes you need to let these tempting transfers pass you by, or maybe just take the odd punt, and stick to ones that make more sense. McKirdy feels like another one we felt we couldn't pass up on at a time of desperation and predictably turned out to be a disaster.
I know what you mean and do agree. 3 years really only leaves 2 full seasons to get them up to speed, perform, and ultimately sell them on and doesn't really take into account the possibility of them getting a season ending injury at any point chewing into the timeline.
I can imagine to some nationalities Scotland could be a reasonably difficult sell to players who have interest either in their own country or neighbouring ones, many of the ones that do want to swap say Holland, Norway, and Portugal for Scotland probably want to get to England asap which doesn't maybe help our case for trying to tie them down to a 4 year deal if they're a proven player that can come improve us straight away. It's perhaps something that can be mitigated against with certain clauses like "in year 4 of your deal your release clause drops to £1m" or something daft that leaves the possibility of an exit easier to come by for them.
Some players will lap up the 4 year deal though, Jair will probably never in a million years get the level of money and length of deal from anyone else that he's gotten here. Melkersen got 4 and a half probably because he was so young and raw and everyone knew it would take time to get him ready. Elie has a 3 year deal but his loan could be argued makes it a 4 year stay I guess.
It's all a bit contextual I suppose. Hopefully under the new recruitment structure it's something we find the better balance of going forward so we see less Jairs and more successes such as Elie.
I'd be considering re-integrating him into the team next season given our financial situation. Vente in this team is a completely different proposition to last year's disaster.
18-02-2025, 09:12 PM
I'd be considering re-integrating him into the team next season given our financial situation. Vente in this team is a completely different proposition to last year's disaster.
He’s got a year left at the end of the season. Without question, he’ll be getting sold.
19-02-2025, 09:12 AM
Surely our 'financial situation' would suggest he's sold and not allowed to leave for free next summer?
19-02-2025, 09:14 AM
I have a strong suspicion he'll be back at Feyenoord next season. Banging in goals for a small club will catch their eye.
19-02-2025, 09:16 AM
I have a strong suspicion he'll be back at Feyenoord next season. Banging in goals for an average side will catch their eye.
Would be incredibly Hibs if I have to watch him bang a handful of goals in the Champions League next season when the boy next to me at a pub was adamant he was hopeless.
Ribs1875
19-02-2025, 09:35 AM
Would be incredibly Hibs if I have to watch him bang a handful of goals in the Champions League next season when the boy next to me at a pub was adamant he was hopeless.
It would be like Alen Orman, but 20 years later.
19-02-2025, 09:59 AM
I have a strong suspicion he'll be back at Feyenoord next season. Banging in goals for a small club will catch their eye.
Noticed several Feyenoord fans on twitter suggest they go for him. He is from Rotterdam so a local lad.
Paulie Walnuts
19-02-2025, 10:09 AM
Think he scored against Feyenoord as well. Realise that’s not a huge thing, but could be another thing that tempts them into going for him.
It’s a real shame he was here at the same time as the utterly woeful Nick Montgomery. He could have been an excellent player for us.
19-02-2025, 10:16 AM
I'm not so sure. Can't doubt our defensive resilience and spirit and know how to get results on this run.
But we are not a team creating masses of chances for strikers. You'd still be asking Vente to do the hard yards up there and create for himself.
That's not intending to be negative at all - DG is currently implementing his style and getting close to the maximum we can from this group IMO. No doubt the service from wide is far better. I just wouldn't be rubbing my hands thinking the service into the strikers from midfield is wildly improved that we would expect to see a totally different player.
19-02-2025, 10:26 AM
I'm not so sure. Can't doubt our defensive resilience and spirit and know how to get results on this run.
But we are not a team creating masses of chances for strikers. You'd still be asking Vente to do the hard yards up there and create for himself.
That's not intending to be negative at all - DG is currently implementing his style and getting close to the maximum we can from this group IMO. No doubt the service from wide is far better. I just wouldn't be rubbing my hands thinking the service into the strikers from midfield is wildly improved that we would expect to see a totally different player.
Agree with this. We still lack creativity centrally. Crosses in to the box and goals from set pieces are a big reliance. It’s a lot of battling and scrapping for second balls, trying to get on the end of things. The way he’s playing back in Holland will be completely different.
19-02-2025, 12:34 PM
This. Myko and Gayle will be away at the end of the season only leaving Bowie up top - we'd be crazy to sell him unless it was for stupid money.
19-02-2025, 01:12 PM
This. Myko and Gayle will be away at the end of the season only leaving Bowie up top - we'd be crazy to sell him unless it was for stupid money.
I think it would be crazy to keep him. He's proved he's not good enough for us.
Paulie Walnuts
19-02-2025, 01:13 PM
I’d suggest this season has proven he’s more than good enough for us. Arguably his goals return this season suggests he’s actually above our level. We just need to avoid having a dud like Nick Montgomery utilising him.
PHeffernan
19-02-2025, 01:26 PM
Nah he has to go otherwise he will be costing us circa 25,000 quid a game given he would leave for nothing at the end of May 2026.
19-02-2025, 01:34 PM
I’d suggest this season has proven he’s more than good enough for us. Arguably his goals return this season suggests he’s actually above our level. We just need to avoid having a dud like Nick Montgomery utilising him.
Other than against Elgin, he missed sitter after sitter under SDG.
And just to debunk the repeating arguments put forward on here: the Scottish league may be a lower technical standard but it’s far too physical and high paced for him here, no he wasn’t played in midfield, and the manager of your choice didn’t let him down, he let them down by being Captain Invisible most of the time here.
There is zero evidence that he will ever be a success here. Even his goals were almost exclusively put on a plate for him.
Plus he’s supposedly a professional athlete but was repeatedly subbed off appearing to be blowing out of his arse.
Best of luck to him, he appears to be making a fresh start elsewhere and doing so well but let’s not kid ourselves. Hideous signing for us.
19-02-2025, 01:35 PM
Only choice I see the club having is to sell him due to there only being a year left on his contract. We’ll get the fee we paid back and probably a good bit more if he keeps his good form going.
He’s failed to make his mark here before so I don’t see the club risking potentially a good fee in the hope he comes back and makes it work, no chance he signs a new deal either given the options he’s likely to have available to him.
Paulie Walnuts
19-02-2025, 01:56 PM
Other than against Elgin, he missed sitter after sitter under SDG.
And just to debunk the repeating arguments put forward on here: the Scottish league may be a lower technical standard but it’s far too physical and high paced for him here, no he wasn’t played in midfield, and the manager of your choice didn’t let him down, he let them down by being Captain Invisible most of the time here.
There is zero evidence that he will ever be a success here. Even his goals were almost exclusively put on a plate for him.
Plus he’s supposedly a professional athlete but was repeatedly subbed off appearing to be blowing out of his arse.
Best of luck to him, he appears to be making a fresh start elsewhere and doing so well but let’s not kid ourselves. Hideous signing for us.
Absolute nonsense imo.
If being big and physical and playing at a high pace is all it takes to snuff out good forwards then why are Scottish teams ****ing awful in Europe?
He scored a double against FC Utrecht the other week. Both their centre half’s were 6ft3. Are we genuinely to believe it’s because they’re not as physical as centre half’s in Scotland?
Nick Montgomery had him playing an absolutely ridiculous role. He absolutely let him down.
19-02-2025, 02:16 PM
Absolute nonsense imo.
If being big and physical and playing at a high pace is all it takes to snuff out good forwards then why are Scottish teams ****ing awful in Europe?
He scored a double against FC Utrecht the other week. Both their centre half’s were 6ft3. Are we genuinely to believe it’s because they’re not as physical as centre half’s in Scotland?
Nick Montgomery had him playing an absolutely ridiculous role. He absolutely let him down.
He was playing a striker under him and couldn’t hack it here. He was playing as a striker under SDG and couldn’t hit a barn door with a banjo.
As I say, good luck to him. The Dutch league seems to suit him. He was hopeless here. Why would we even consider taking him back if we can recoup his fee?
19-02-2025, 02:20 PM
Vente and Melkerson were both complete duds for Hibs - irrespective of the reasons.
Vente needs to go asap and we should be thankful he's managed to put himself in the shop window. Getting our money back was unthinkable a few months ago. To actually turn a profit would be a huge bonus to the club. His wages we'll just have to write off.
19-02-2025, 02:25 PM
Vente will not be back at Hibs. He'll be sold to a club in Holland.
Zero chance he comes back here. He won't want to , and the club will want to get a decent transfer fee for him given he's only get a year left.
He'll no be seen in a Hibs top again IMO.
19-02-2025, 02:30 PM
Think he scored against Feyenoord as well. Realise that’s not a huge thing, but could be another thing that tempts them into going for him.
It’s a real shame he was here at the same time as the utterly woeful Nick Montgomery. He could have been an excellent player for us.
THIS - Vente's form fell off a cliff and Monte was the main reason for me. I think there were other factors such as new league and a loss of confidence but the main reason for that lack of confidence was being played ineffectually by a debutant manager out of his depth IMO.
Loaning him back to the Eriedivisi was a great move as he has found his feet again in his home country - but the downside is it's doubtful in the extreme that he'll want to come back again if top level Dutch sides become interested. And maybe that will be just as well for Hibs as long as we can make a small profit
19-02-2025, 02:58 PM
THIS - Vente's form fell off a cliff and Monte was the main reason for me. I think there were other factors such as new league and a loss of confidence but the main reason for that lack of confidence was being played ineffectually by a debutant manager out of his depth IMO.
Loaning him back to the Eriedivisi was a great move as he has found his feet again in his home country - but the downside is it's doubtful in the extreme that he'll want to come back again if top level Dutch sides become interested. And maybe that will be just as well for Hibs as long as we can make a small profit
Bidding war this summer is the best case scenario imo.
No point in him coming back to play for a year and leave on a free and I think a contract extension would be risky for someone who may have done well in Holland but hasn't shown enough so far to suggest he's going to be a hit in Scotland.
Getting a fee for him and losing his wage will be a fair part of our summer rebuild. Hopefully it happens early enough in the summer that we're not pissing about waiting for his fee to see if we can sign anyone later.
I think he's playing in a better league and scoring, I wouldn't rush to get rid of him.
19-02-2025, 04:50 PM
He was honking for us, that's all I need to know. Sell.
19-02-2025, 04:57 PM
I think he's playing in a better league and scoring, I wouldn't rush to get rid of him.
He’s playing well in a different type of team, quite probably playing a different system, in a league with a completely different style of football.
I look at the way we play, the way it is in our league and what his strengths are and still think it would be a struggle for him. You look at our recent games and I just don’t see that he’d be contributing the way he is back home.
Still think getting a good price and him moving on is best for all.
Donegal Hibby
19-02-2025, 05:15 PM
Problem with this idea for me is if we go to do that we probably have to give him a new contract beforehand as he will be in his last year, a bit of a gamble IMO especially if he doesn’t click in our league again.
I think recuperating the money we spent on him or better still making a tidy profit from him would possibly be more beneficial now given his contract situation.
cubehindthegoal
19-02-2025, 05:32 PM
He’s playing well in a different type of team, quite probably playing a different system, in a league with a completely different style of football.
I look at the way we play, the way it is in our league and what his strengths are and still think it would be a struggle for him. You look at our recent games and I just don’t see that he’d be contributing the way he is back home.
Still think getting a good price and him moving on is best for all.
Agree. I’d rather we sell in the summer, hopefully take a decent fee, and allocate the fee and wages to another Bowie. Simples! I wish..
19-02-2025, 05:45 PM
Maybe an English championship club will take a punt in the summer🙏
Minor news today but he's scored again.
02-03-2025, 05:34 PM
Minor news today but he's scored again.
💷💷💷
02-03-2025, 05:36 PM
💷💷💷
Go on Dylan!
grammyb111
05-03-2025, 02:32 PM
Put this on the loan thread too, but seems like Zwolle don't have an option to buy in the summer: https://www.fanvanpeczwolle.nl/artikel/de-kans-lijkt-klein-dat-dylan-vente-na-de-zomer-nog-in-zwolle-speelt
The chance seems small that Dylan Vente will still play in Zwolle after the summer
At PEC Zwolle they would like striker Dylan Vente to play in Zwolle after the summer, but that chance is small because they expect the loaned out player back in Scotland. The now 25-year-old striker is in very good shape and has already hit the bull's eye six times after the winter break. At the moment, the total count is already at ten hits.
In the program De Voetbal****ine of ESPN, Vente said: The chance of a longer stay in Zwolle is small anyway. "I am on loan to PEC for one year, so it is the intention that I return to Hibernian".
Vente's contract in Scotland runs until mid-2026. He is not very happy with that, because the kick and rush that Scottish football is known for does not necessarily suit his game. "You know in advance that this is how it will be played. I thought I could have made the difference with runs and cleverness, but then the quality of the ball has to be good."
For Vente, however, there is no other option than to return to Hibernian after this season. "Before I came, I thought that PEC had put a clause in my rental contract, but I don't think that's in it."
05-03-2025, 02:33 PM
Don't think we'll see him again, a couple of million to a Dutch team and he'll be away.
Paulie Walnuts
Sounds like he wants out. Not a surprise.
Paul1642
Put this on the loan thread too, but seems like Zwolle don't have an option to buy in the summer: https://www.fanvanpeczwolle.nl/artikel/de-kans-lijkt-klein-dat-dylan-vente-na-de-zomer-nog-in-zwolle-speelt
The chance seems small that Dylan Vente will still play in Zwolle after the summer
At PEC Zwolle they would like striker Dylan Vente to play in Zwolle after the summer, but that chance is small because they expect the loaned out player back in Scotland. The now 25-year-old striker is in very good shape and has already hit the bull's eye six times after the winter break. At the moment, the total count is already at ten hits.
In the program De Voetbal****ine of ESPN, Vente said: The chance of a longer stay in Zwolle is small anyway. "I am on loan to PEC for one year, so it is the intention that I return to Hibernian".
Vente's contract in Scotland runs until mid-2026. He is not very happy with that, because the kick and rush that Scottish football is known for does not necessarily suit his game. "You know in advance that this is how it will be played. I thought I could have made the difference with runs and cleverness, but then the quality of the ball has to be good."
For Vente, however, there is no other option than to return to Hibernian after this season. "Before I came, I thought that PEC had put a clause in my rental contract, but I don't think that's in it."
Good news for us, although doesn’t sound like he wants to come back.
I’d imagine a few Dutch teams will want him and we will get good money for him.
grammyb111
05-03-2025, 02:35 PM
Right now probably our most saleable asset and everyone agrees that we want rid (myself included), quite an odd situation
18Craig75
05-03-2025, 02:36 PM
Hardly a glowing reference on his team mates.
Paul1642
05-03-2025, 02:36 PM
Worth considering things can be lost in translation.
05-03-2025, 03:01 PM
I'm assuming Zwolle have been putting their crosses on a different part of the foot to the part that Jordan Obita put his pinpoint cross on vs St Mirren, when Vente made a staggering tit of himself with his attempt at finishing from inches out?
05-03-2025, 03:06 PM
Good news for us, although doesn’t sound like he wants to come back.
I’d imagine a few Dutch teams will want him and we will get good money for him.
I’d have been amazed if he wanted to come back.
We’ve obviously had to chop and change a fair bit due to injuries but I still think what we currently have is more effective in this league than he would be.
Best scenario is still that he keeps scoring and his value goes up.
05-03-2025, 03:32 PM
I'm assuming Zwolle have been putting their crosses on a different part of the foot to the part that Jordan Obita put his pinpoint cross on vs St Mirren, when Vente made a staggering tit of himself with his attempt at finishing from inches out?
Every top class striker from Kenny Dalglish to Messi have missed sitters but that aside he won't be back in Scotland. It's pretty clear he was disheartened with the technical side of the game in Scotland (or lack of it) generally speaking and he won't want to return and we quite rightly won't want an unhappy player.
05-03-2025, 03:50 PM
Every top class striker from Kenny Dalglish to Messi have missed sitters but that aside he won't be back in Scotland. It's pretty clear he was disheartened with the technical side of the game in Scotland (or lack of it) generally speaking and he won't want to return and we quite rightly won't want an unhappy player.
Of course.
And an argument could be made that last season the supply to him wasn't good.
But I don't think coming out in the press and criticising his supply is smart on his part, when he didn't show all that much in a Hibs jersey to suggest he could do much with decent supply.
It's great that he's having a good season and hopefully we'll manage to cut our losses on him this summer, or maybe even a bit better.
PHeffernan
05-03-2025, 03:50 PM
Bottom line is he now has less than 15 months left on his contract so, from a business aspect, Hibs need to sell him this summer.
His name is bound to be coming up on a lot of clubs analytic feeds after scoring regularly in the Dutch top tier and if an English Championship club is interested we could get ourselves a good fee which would help feed our future recruitment.
05-03-2025, 04:07 PM
Would be interesting to see how he got on now that we arenup and flying.
Stairway 2 7
05-03-2025, 07:35 PM
All of our players Boyle, NMW, Rocky etc looked half the players they have been recently when playing last season and the start of this. Mayenda has Premiership suiters apparently also
I'm sure Gray would do well for him and playing further up, with Bowie and the Caddens supplying him.
All parties will probably not want the risk and we'll get good money and he'll go to a bigger club that hibs probably so win win
Amazing what someone will pay after a good loan. 😁
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cvgwnnr2xwwo
HibsGW
06-03-2025, 12:51 PM
Always find this type of stuff funny, if you’re that good and you’re playing in an inferior league, you’d be brilliant at that level. Just say the style of play didn’t suit you.
06-03-2025, 08:06 PM
Think Vente will end up back at Feyenoord
Mcbizz1998
06-03-2025, 08:13 PM
I wouldn’t be against bringing him back. If David Gray can make me a Rocky fan (which he absolutely has) then who knows what he could do with Vente.
PHeffernan
06-03-2025, 08:17 PM
Think Vente will end up back at Feyenoord
Feyenoord are a very big club. I don't think Vente is good enough for that level.
I was thinking more Preston North End.
Paul1642
06-03-2025, 08:26 PM
I wouldn’t be against bringing him back. If David Gray can make me a Rocky fan (which he absolutely has) then who knows what he could do with Vente.
I’m still torn on the matter but swaying towards sell.
To start with, unless he was signing a new contract bringing him back with 1 year left makes little sense. Unless he was absolutely prolific, enough so to play a big part in a cup win or 3rd place finish, then we’d be much better taking the money.
If he was willing to sign a new contract then it becomes debatable because he is clearly a footballer with more talent than most in the SPL.
The problem however is that he doesn’t perform at his best in Scottish football. I completely buy into the concept that certain players suit certain leagues and although Scottish football isn’t necessarily a good league, it seems to be a difficult one to adapt to for some.
We’ve seen glimpses of what you can buy for around £700k in Kieron Bowie, who despite not necessarily being a better footballer than Vente (not looking to start an argument here), is from what we’ve seen of both players so far, a better fit for Hibs and the SPL.
If the fee for Vente was £2 million or more, which is don’t think is unrealistic for someone who might just finish as the Eredivisie’s 2nd or 3rd top scorer at 26 year old, then we probably need to take that and invest in someone more effective in our league.
Vente will probably go on to play a good amount of European or even Champions league football in his career.
Bridge hibs
06-03-2025, 08:39 PM
Amazing what someone will pay after a good loan. 😁
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cvgwnnr2xwwo
Im sure I read a tweet a while back that Motherwell tried to get Parrot on loan, they failed and ended up with Sparrow instead.
PHeffernan
06-03-2025, 08:42 PM
Im sure I read a tweet a while back that Motherwell tried to get Parrot on loan, they failed and ended up with Sparrow instead.
You deserve the bird :faf:
West lower
06-03-2025, 08:46 PM
Good job they didn’t have to go for their third choice Thrush.
06-03-2025, 09:38 PM
He's the only good player they have, the rest are Red Kite.
Bridge hibs
07-03-2025, 11:15 AM
You deserve the bird :faf:
Sorry 🤣