View Full Version : Dylan Vente
Hibees1973
28-07-2024, 10:29 AM
Brightside & Coco Bryce you need to get yourselves a room. Having a conflict in the boardroom between parties at Hibs, under performing players and a lack of signings with pedigree, it doesn't half create spats between posters. Due to the ongoing malaise at the club it creates threads which when reading give at least me a laugh at these turbulent times. Hibs.net is gold just now.
28-07-2024, 10:33 AM
Dylan Ven is he going to score some goals-te
Donegal Hibby
28-07-2024, 10:35 AM
We won 4-0 yesterday and what do we go looking for about the result ? The negatives!
Ok , our No 9 didn't score , strikers don't score in every game / go on runs without scoring.
What you want from them then is to work hard and help the team , Vente done that against Peterhead .
He worked tirelessly for the team and got an assist and I thought he had a decent game TBF , really don't get the need to turn on him for not scoring yesterday .
I still think he's a good player that will score us goals....
https://youtu.be/kcrNa0ISqJI?si=XlVp5WtwgWJ2va8s
28-07-2024, 10:37 AM
We won 4-0 yesterday and what do we go looking for about the result ? The negatives!
Ok , our No 9 didn't score , strikers don't score in every game / go on runs without scoring.
What you want from them then is to work hard and help the team , Vente done that against Peterhead .
He worked tirelessly for the team and got an assist and I thought he had a decent game TBF , really don't get the need to turn on him for not scoring yesterday .
I still think he's a good player that will score us goals....
https://youtu.be/kcrNa0ISqJI?si=XlVp5WtwgWJ2va8s
That’s great you think that. Others don't and are posting their equally as valuable opinions.
28-07-2024, 10:39 AM
Come on though - how some people can watch these games and only come away with "Vente didn't score = he's not good enough" is mental.
It's a team game, we scored 4, he contributed heavily and what does it matter who scores as long as we get the win?
Other players missed good chances last week - doesn't mean they're not good enough.
Been a tough few years, finally we're playing some nice football, creating chances & scoring lots of goals are people are still moaning.
Folk aren’t basing their opinion on Vente across one or two games though. It’s over a year.
We had one of the worst results we’ve ever had last week and folk are frustrated about what is going on at the moment, it’s hardly a surprise that people are still having a grumble.
Personally, on Vente, I just don’t think he offers anywhere near enough and I can’t remember a player having so many excuses made for their lack of contribution. Others think there’s a player in there, that’s fine. Dont need any patronising clowns talking about folk with the opposing view not watching games (when they watch every single one).
Donegal Hibby
28-07-2024, 10:43 AM
That’s great you think that. Others don't and are posting their equally as valuable opinions.
Which is their right to do though I don't see any negatives about yesterday a part from O'Hora getting a injury , Vente certainly wasn't one imo .
28-07-2024, 10:49 AM
Which is their right to do though I don't see any negatives about yesterday a part from O'Hora getting a injury , Vente certainly wasn't one imo .
Yesterday is just one game. Folk aren't basing their whole opinion on Vente on yesterday. Its his overall lack of goals which is the worry.
Everyone wants him to come good and start banging the goals in. The longer he goes without a run of games with goals though, the less likely that looks.
28-07-2024, 10:57 AM
Perversely, I think the fee we paid for Vente is working in his favour. Because we paid an almost record fee there’s a correlation that he must be a good player and the route of his underperforming lyes elsewhere. He has been pound for pound amongst our poorest ever signings IMO.
I don’t think he will ever score enough goals to offset the very limited all round game he has.
28-07-2024, 11:01 AM
Perversely, I think the fee we paid for Vente is working in his favour. Because we paid an almost record fee there’s a correlation that he must be a good player and the route of his underperforming lyes elsewhere. He has been pound for pound amongst our poorest ever signings IMO.
I don’t think he will ever score enough goals to offset the very limited all round game he has.
It’s not his fee that dictates he should be a player, he scored plenty goals the 2 seasons before coming to Hibs, and that tells me he’s a goalscorer.
28-07-2024, 11:10 AM
It’s not his fee that dictates he should be a player, he scored plenty goals the 2 seasons before coming to Hibs, and that tells me he’s a goalscorer.
He also briefly looked the part at the start of last season.
Since then though, he’s been largely hopeless.
There was reason for hope that after a break, a new manager and the hat trick in his first game after the summer that he’d kick on but he’s gone back to looking poor again.
I just can’t watch him and see a striker who scores goals in the Scottish Premier League at the rate he’d scored in the Dutch second tier. I just don’t see it.
And carrying a non-scoring central striker in the formation we play heaps the burden on our other attackers to get the goals and the defence to keep the ball out of our own net.
28-07-2024, 11:14 AM
Yesterday is just one game. Folk aren't basing their whole opinion on Vente on yesterday. Its his overall lack of goals which is the worry. Everyone wants him to come good and start banging the goals in. The longer he goes without him a run of games with goals though, the less likely that looks.Agree he got a hat trick in first combative game back That should of given him the confidence to kick on but hasn’t scored since and missed good scoring chances in every game He really should be putting more of these. Chances away As things stand Boyle and Youan if still here will score more than him with less chances Am not sure what the issue is but gray needs to find a way to get him scoring regularly
28-07-2024, 11:15 AM
He also briefly looked the part at the start of last season.
Since then though, he’s been largely hopeless.
There was reason for hope that after a break, a new manager and the hat trick in his first game after the summer that he’d kick on but he’s gone back to looking poor again.
I just can’t watch him and see a striker who scored goals in the Scottish Premier League at the rate he’d scored in the Dutch second tier. I just don’t see it.
When he got the hat trick in the first game, I really hoped he could kick on and batter in the goals in the League Cup to go in to the season full of confidence.
He should easily be sitting on 6 or 7 at this point. When we eventually get round to signing a striker, it’ll be interesting to see if they just come right in for him.
Folk aren’t basing their opinion on Vente across one or two games though. It’s over a year.
We had one of the worst results we’ve ever had last week and folk are frustrated about what is going on at the moment, it’s hardly a surprise that people are still having a grumble.
Personally, on Vente, I just don’t think he offers anywhere near enough and I can’t remember a player having so many excuses made for their lack of contribution. Others think there’s a player in there, that’s fine. Dont need any patronising clowns talking about folk with the opposing view not watching games (when they watch every single one).
But it is okay to call folk with the opposing view patronising clowns. 🤔
28-07-2024, 11:18 AM
But it is okay to call folk with the opposing view patronising clowns. 🤔
In my view, when they want to bounce about threads making snide remarks rather than contribute to the actual topic of discussion, aye it is.
28-07-2024, 11:31 AM
Brightside & Coco Bryce you need to get yourselves a room. Having a conflict in the boardroom between parties at Hibs, under performing players and a lack of signings with pedigree, it doesn't half create spats between posters. Due to the ongoing malaise at the club it creates threads which when reading give at least me a laugh at these turbulent times. Hibs.net is gold just now.
I don’t have spats. All is love and positivity with me.
28-07-2024, 11:33 AM
Honestly think he looks better than last season by quite a bit.
I never bought this monty playing him too deep crap. His control, hold up play and movement were dreadful. Look much improved so far. At least he's missing chances now, rather than going 6 weeks without a touch.
28-07-2024, 11:34 AM
In my view, when they want to bounce about threads making snide remarks rather than contribute to the actual topic of discussion, aye it is.
There is nothing snide about pointing out the positive things Vente brings to our squad. It’s better than the constant negative posting in my view. I don’t see any point in constantly telling people you think a player is poor. It’s been said. Your point is clear.
Donegal Hibby
28-07-2024, 11:44 AM
Yesterday is just one game. Folk aren't basing their whole opinion on Vente on yesterday. Its his overall lack of goals which is the worry.
Everyone wants him to come good and start banging the goals in. The longer he goes without a run of games with goals though, the less likely that looks.
That's true though for a part of last season he was played out of position which folk are probably unfairly basing their opinion on him too . In one of them games he kept McGregor of Celtic as quiet as you'll see btw .
The Kelty game he did miss chances in , though the 3 he had yesterday I didn't think were as easy was some folk are suggesting they were , 1st one he creates abit of space for himself and has to take it on his weaker foot which he didn't really get a good connection with the ball I think.
The 2nd one , he should have done better with in fairness and the 3rd one I think the keepers near on top of him when he gets his shot away .
His overall play though was good and he put in a decent shift and set Miller up for a goal which to his credit he was brave in as he got hit by the Peterhead player in doing so .
We have played 4 competitive games now and he has 3 goals and a couple of assists i think.
I still think with the right striker partner ( target man) and with us being more direct under Gray than we were under Monty , Vente will score goals for us this season . Attitude and workrate is a plus so far too IMO .
28-07-2024, 11:52 AM
Watched the highlights this morning- I'd been at the game and thought although Vente hadn't scored he'd worked very hard, never gave up anything for dead and contributed some good team play - the highlights at least demonstrate he definitely contributed to 2 of the goals.
That price tag weighs heavy on him, unfortunately.
It’s £700k, not £70m.
28-07-2024, 11:55 AM
Hopefully he starts the season next week with a goal and gets a bit of relief off of him, I think he needs a good finish rather than a tap in probably for himself more than anything to prove he can actually do it
Some fans defend him massively which I’m not sure if he will actually fully appreciate just how much some have his back on here.
Compare that to Youan for example who for one reason or another gets a lot more stick when he’s provided significantly more to us, imo.
28-07-2024, 11:56 AM
There is nothing snide about pointing out the positive things Vente brings to our squad. It’s better than the constant negative posting in my view. I don’t see any point in constantly telling people you think a player is poor. It’s been said. Your point is clear.
It’s the calling opposing views daft or speaking about fans not watching games, not the fact you want to point out what you see as positives. Point out the positives all you want and folk who see it the other way will give their views all they want.
Donegal Hibby
28-07-2024, 12:00 PM
Hopefully he starts the season next week with a goal and gets a bit of relief off of him, I think he needs a good finish rather than a tap in probably for himself more than anything to prove he can actually do it
Some fans defend him massively which I’m not sure if he will actually fully appreciate just how much some have his back on here.
Compare that to Youan for example who for one reason or another gets a lot more stick when he’s provided significantly more to us, imo.
I think the fans that defend him see a player there and appreciate like yesterday when he doesn't score , the effort and work rate he gives us .
He's getting into good positions so hopefully the goals will come soon .
28-07-2024, 12:03 PM
Do people defend him “massively” though? At best I’ve seen people say they see a good player in him, but everyone seems to be in consensus that he’s disappointed so far, and nobody is calling him a superstar or our best player.
RMQ1967
28-07-2024, 12:18 PM
Yeah unfortunately Hibs, and I mean the board, the players, the manager, have very little credit in the bank with some fans after the past few seasons. Many only seeing the negatives and none of the positives.
It's becoming very clear that Vente & the rest of the team were being asked to play in a totally ineffective style. Another example, Rocky, looked completely ill at ease, now looks like he understands his role & is looking confident & positive on the ball.
We need to draw a line under the garbage tactics that made an arse of many decent players in the last season or three. We have good players that have been shafted by incompetent managers and it'll take time to put that right. There will be bumps along the way but the style is a dramatic improvement on what we've been watching in recent years.
RMQ1967
28-07-2024, 12:31 PM
It’s the calling opposing views daft or speaking about fans not watching games, not the fact you want to point out what you see as positives. Point out the positives all you want and folk who see it the other way will give their views all they want.
Why shouldn't people be called out for trashing our players?
Let's face it, the majority of opinions on here are absolute nonsense (and don't have any issue with people disagreeing with mine).
It's a new start under a new manager, let's get behind the team and stop all the digs at the club, at least until the season gets underway and we see what's being delivered.
28-07-2024, 12:32 PM
Do people defend him “massively” though? At best I’ve seen people say they see a good player in him, but everyone seems to be in consensus that he’s disappointed so far, and nobody is calling him a superstar or our best player.
Agree. I think the only real defence getting put up about him is he tries hard. He’s not bringing any real quality.
28-07-2024, 12:40 PM
Why shouldn't people be called out for trashing our players?
Let's face it, the majority of opinions on here are absolute nonsense (and don't have any issue with people disagreeing with mine).
It's a new start under a new manager, let's get behind the team and stop all the digs at the club, at least until the season gets underway and we see what's being delivered.
Call out the opposing view by all means. There’s a way to do that though with out resorting to some daft comments that are nothing to do with the topic.
For me, giving a negative view on here doesn’t equate to not getting behind the club. It’s just a view on what we’ve seen. The season has already started and we’ve already cost ourselves a seeded place in the League Cup. It’s a shame because there was actually some signs of optimism building before the Kelty game as well. We need to have a positive start in the league to get people to buy in to things IMO.
28-07-2024, 12:43 PM
I would say certain posters do yeah.
Of course it’s because they see a player in him. They’re looking into the smallest thing he’s done or area he’s moved to credit him with doing well.
When there’s some players - youan, Newell, Campbell etc that wouldn’t get that leeway from certain posters
LunasBoots
28-07-2024, 04:09 PM
Vente at the moment for me is a average player, we need a striker throughout the season to deliver, Gray saying he is looking for a striker is a good thing as we can't just rely on hopefully Vente comes good, in tight games we need a striker who can score goals and not miss the sitters when it comes down to it.
28-07-2024, 06:52 PM
Some good points on this thread, Dylan was brought in to score goals, a great start and then couldn't find the back of the net, he did chip in with a few assists last season also.
Is getting into better advanced spaces and has been created a good few chances, just needs to take them away.
We all want him to come good and needs a good start to the season with a few goals, would like a new one though to push Vente and maybe take his place.
28-07-2024, 07:02 PM
Really not sure now if he is a good player or not, but happy to leave to Dave Gray to decide if this is the way to go for Hibs, for now.I would have liked to keep ALF to play up front with him they had the makings of a good partnership. Although we messed that one up as well.
Mikey_1875
04-08-2024, 06:40 PM
Take a bath on this guy and get rid. He’s not an intelligent footballer. He’s largely anonymous and woefully unfit. Knackered again 10 minutes into the second half.
I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt on his miss as I’m not sure if the ref blew for a foul or an offside. We need so much more though.
04-08-2024, 06:40 PM
If I was a centre half he must be a dream to play against
04-08-2024, 06:42 PM
A horrendous waste of cash. Take whatever we can get and punt him.
04-08-2024, 06:43 PM
I said last week that the first 3-5 games of the season will define his time at Hibs. He was utterly ineffective today. I’d like to see him up top with Myko to play off though - he’s never a lone striker in a million years.
04-08-2024, 06:46 PM
https://thedecisionlab.com/biases/the-sunk-cost-fallacy
supermcginn
04-08-2024, 06:48 PM
Had enough of him now, it hasn't worked out. A very expensive mistake.
1875M
04-08-2024, 06:56 PM
Get rid. Missed another easy opportunity. Watching sportscene and what he offers compared to other strikers in this league is night and day (yes I’m referring to Simon Murray)
04-08-2024, 07:04 PM
Get rid. Missed another easy opportunity. Watching sportscene and what he offers compared to other strikers in this league is night and day (yes I’m referring to Simon Murray)
James Scott looked more of a threat than Vente with a nice assist and played well they also had a few decent recruits the boy Smith scoring two Rooney the hammer of Hibs their goalie on loan from Brentford to name just a few Dundee and Dundee United seem to have recruited well
Gloucester Hibs
04-08-2024, 07:10 PM
He carries zero threat at the moment Sometimes it was almost as if he was acting as extra St Mirren defender. Confidence must be totally shot as his first instinct no longer seems to be get a shot away, would rather pass the buck.
04-08-2024, 07:11 PM
No buying the confidence thing. Some folk say the same about McKirdy 'just needs a goal'. Vente scored a hat-trick and has missed about 10 glorious chances since.
Hibees1973
04-08-2024, 07:14 PM
Another Ian Gordon materclass.
McDermott is on record as saying that Ian Gordon scouted Vente for a long time.
Laughable.
Daydreamer
04-08-2024, 08:38 PM
I have watched Hibs since 1963 and pound for pound he is the poorest player I have seen. He makes Jim Blair look like Marco Van Basten. One last chance to play up front for a run of games with Myko. For ******s sake Gray ditch this 4-2-3-1 NOW!!!!!!
04-08-2024, 08:47 PM
I have watched Hibs since 1963 and pound for pound he is the poorest player I have seen. He makes Jim Blair look like Marco Van Basten. One last chance to play up front for a run of games with Myko. For ******s sake Gray ditch this 4-2-3-1 NOW!!!!!!
The best sides DG played in for Hibs had a front pairing - why he thinks one up top is a threat is beyond me, especially when Vente is so isolated and exposed. Yet another example for me of David being out his depth even this early into his tenure. Vente has been poor but he needs a strike partner and we need to go 4-4-2.
04-08-2024, 08:49 PM
The best sides DG played in for Hibs had a front pairing - why he thinks one up top is a threat is beyond me, especially when Vente is so isolated and exposed. Yet another example for me of David being out his depth even this early into his tenure. Vente has been poor but he needs a strike partner and we need to go 4-4-2.
Oh no, not the 442 patter again.
1 up front is no more or less threatening than 2 or 3 up front. It's entirely about execution.
04-08-2024, 08:52 PM
If I was a centre half he must be a dream to play against
Exactly what I said today. Offers nowt. Total waste of money.
04-08-2024, 08:59 PM
He’s turned out to be a terrible signing and I didn’t think I’d be saying that when he first signed. He could quite easily be sitting on 8 or 9 goals for the season already. Putting aside my thoughts on him his confidence must be absolutely gone given the type of chances he’s been missing over the last few weeks.
Think he’ll find himself on the bench next week and wouldn’t be surprised if he’s back in Holland sooner rather than later.
Malonga's Cat
04-08-2024, 09:04 PM
I've been quite supportive of Vente to date but that was a hard watch today. We needed someone clinical up top today and he just wasn't up to it.
It might be the system but surely as a pro, you have be at least a wee bit adaptable! I really do hope he comes good but I fear we are relying on someone with zero confidence in himself. Now we have to rely on a loan signing... Again.
MagicSwirlingShip
04-08-2024, 09:20 PM
Oh no, not the 442 patter again.
1 up front is no more or less threatening than 2 or 3 up front. It's entirely about execution.
And playing players to their strengths. Some forwards will play better in a 2, others not so much.
04-08-2024, 09:24 PM
Rowan Vine
Hibs version of James Scott - not the one who had 2 assists today.
Agree about the 4-2-3-1 though.
04-08-2024, 09:29 PM
In his defence you can point at the service he’s getting and the lamentable quality of crossing which is making his role that bit harder.
Yes, he’s had chances and he’s not in the best of form, but he’s not getting a lot of help from his teammates.
04-08-2024, 09:31 PM
In his defence you can point at the service he’s getting and the lamentable quality of crossing which is making his role that bit harder.
Yes, he’s had chances and he’s not in the best of form, but he’s not getting a lot of help from his teammates.
His teammates are putting them on a plate for him and he's firing blanks.
That sitter he missed today was a shocker.
ChuckNor
04-08-2024, 09:32 PM
Did you see the game today? In the first half there were several excellent crosses in the box he should’ve been on the end of. The one he missed from three yards out was unforgivable. He is done at Hibs.
MagicSwirlingShip
04-08-2024, 09:35 PM
Shades of the James Collins about the whole situation. In a bad run. In a bad team. What happens next…shudders
Hibs3-2
04-08-2024, 11:28 PM
Because we only had 1 striker until Myko came in.
04-08-2024, 11:33 PM
I said last week that the first 3-5 games of the season will define his time at Hibs. He was utterly ineffective today. I’d like to see him up top with Myko to play off though - he’s never a lone striker in a million years.
This is the million dollar question though about us, we have a soft as ***** midfield that everyone is in fair agreement isn't good enough but yet we want to play less bodies in there because our other soft as ***** centre forward needs a pal to hold his hand.
If a centre forward can't play by himself then he's not good enough.
04-08-2024, 11:47 PM
Yep one striker to choose from and the other ones he could play there was Boyle and Youan.
Youan was injured so he couldn’t play there.
Then Cadden being injured took away who would play the right wing back role
Think we’ll go to a 352 next week against Celtic with Myk and Boyle up top
04-08-2024, 11:52 PM
Which is a terrible indication our recruitment department are failing badly yet again. Another striker should have been brought in and bedded in before the first league game of the season, not waiting last minute. Losing Myziane and then Ellie to injury (nearly 3 weeks ago) should have sped up the process, even allowing for getting Myko in. Shockingly slow recruitment yet again.
heid the baw
05-08-2024, 12:00 AM
Another Ian Gordon materclass.
McDermott is on record as saying that Ian Gordon scouted Vente for a long time.
Laughable.Dutch 2nd division player bought for a ridiculous amount of money
He pretty much sums up Hibs recruitment over the last few years.
They should take whatever they can for him and use the cash to buy a half decent journeyman
05-08-2024, 02:13 AM
Vente's recent run of non-form is perplexing. His scoring record prior to joining us suggested he was perfectly adept at converting simple chances and that seemed to carry over for his first handful of Hibs games. Fast forward 12 months and we have a striker who would struggle to hit a coo's erse with the proverbial 4 stringed instrument.
I thought at times he was unlucky last season but this term - with the exception of one game when he managed a hatrick! - his confidence/focus/mojo just seems to have deserted him and he's been guilty of some very poor finishing, with the sitter missed vs St Mirren taking the absolute biscuit.
He does keep getting in the right positions but his composure has evaporated!
05-08-2024, 04:23 AM
Dutch 2nd division player bought for a ridiculous amount of money
He pretty much sums up Hibs recruitment over the last few years.
They should take whatever they can for him and use the cash to buy a half decent journeyman
We won’t get anything. He’s a terrible footballer. Nobody is paying a fee for him.
05-08-2024, 05:01 AM
You are having a laugh, he's missing sitters, absolute sitters.
How much more help does he need?:confused:
05-08-2024, 05:32 AM
You are having a laugh, he's missing sitters, absolute sitters.
How much more help does he need?:confused:
Used to be he needed a tap in to score but he has now been missing the tap ins lately
We are a professional football club and we need a clinical finisher now as you are only ever going to get one or two realistic chances in our league and he looks incapable of making his own chances out of nothing running in front of defenders being a presence or any threat to the opposition
heid the baw
05-08-2024, 09:50 AM
We won’t get anything. He’s a terrible footballer. Nobody is paying a fee for him.
I agree we won't get much, but even a small fee and a decent freed up wage would be enough to get in someone who will get a better goals return this season.
He is terrible and should never have been signed. The fact that he was tauted as some type of marquee signing is embarrassing for everyone
05-08-2024, 10:03 AM
I agree we won't get much, but even a small fee and a decent freed up wage would be enough to get in someone who will get a better goals return this season.
He is terrible and should never have been signed. The fact that he was tauted as some type of marquee signing is embarrassing for everyone
Whoever sanctioned paying 700k for him, should be birched at ht on Sunday
At least give us something to cheer.
05-08-2024, 11:38 AM
If he’s not scoring goals he offers nothing, awful hold up play, creates very little…..if anything. Either Myko up front or Myko/Boyle as a 2.
05-08-2024, 12:09 PM
Actually just feeling for the boy now.
It’s a complete lack of confidence infront of goal now, it’s like Doidge when he first signed.
He could easily be on about 10 in all competitions already.
Hopefully he starts putting them away.
Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2024, 12:15 PM
To be fair, almost every player we sign is heralded as some sort of marquee signing. You just have to look at the pish spouted when Tavares signed.
05-08-2024, 12:17 PM
Actually just feeling for the boy now.
It’s a complete lack of confidence infront of goal now, it’s like Doidge when he first signed.
He could easily be on about 10 in all competitions already.
Hopefully he starts putting them away.
He got a hat trick in the first game of the season.
Then proceed to fluff his lines and miss sitters in the other three cup games.
Doesnt take confidence to score the chance on Sunday, it takes not being brutal at football.
05-08-2024, 12:25 PM
He got a hat trick in the first game of the season.
Then proceed to fluff his lines and miss sitters in the other three cup games.
Doesnt take confidence to score the chance on Sunday, it takes not being brutal at football.
Trust me I’ve probably given him more stick than most but I’m at the stage now I feel for him.
Disagree about that chance though, I think that’s 100% down to confidence as im sure nearly everyone that’s played football before could score it
Just seen the 1 yard miss. 😡😡😡
Mcbizz1998
05-08-2024, 01:04 PM
He’s scrawny, slow and can’t finish. Get rid.
TrinityHibby
05-08-2024, 01:20 PM
He’s scrawny, slow and can’t finish. Get rid.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/brian-mcdermott-offers-ian-gordon-insight-as-hibs-transfer-revelation-made-over-dylan-vente-4358055
Amazing how things can change so quickly ……I wonder if Brian McD was given the blame for wasting £700k on the Dutch Dud…maybe for Monty too?
05-08-2024, 01:22 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/brian-mcdermott-offers-ian-gordon-insight-as-hibs-transfer-revelation-made-over-dylan-vente-4358055
Amazing how things can change so quickly ……I wonder if Brian McD was given the blame for wasting £700k on the Ditch Dud?
I think he was brought in to be a fireguard for recruitment criticisms. A totally pointless appointment.
et_hibby
05-08-2024, 04:17 PM
it's utterly dreadful. needs gone asap.
05-08-2024, 04:18 PM
He’s missed about four sitters this season already.
05-08-2024, 04:34 PM
He’s missed about four sitters this season already.
The back post header vs Queens Park was pretty astonishing
To put it past the far post when the keeper is already beaten by the cross must have been a 1 in a hundred shot
05-08-2024, 04:40 PM
To be fair, one thing that stuck out to me when I watched it back was how good a bit of play it was from Obita. Made space for the cross and whipped a deadly ball over for Vente.
A striker can't be asking for more than that.
K-Zazu
05-08-2024, 05:19 PM
There must be a reason Vente was playing in the 2nd tier of Dutch football and not in the top league, all the top teams over there would have had a good look at him to see if he was half decent. Ian Gordon scouted him for over a year, watching Vente play he doesn’t get involved can’t hold the ball up not sure about his pace either? That Dutch side and his agent must have thought they had won the lottery when Ian Gordon and McDermott showed up with nearly a million quid. I
05-08-2024, 05:22 PM
There must be a reason Vente was playing in the 2nd tier of Dutch football and not in the top league, all the top teams over there would have had a good look at him to see if he was half decent. Ian Gordon scouted him for over a year, watching Vente play he doesn’t get involved can’t hold the ball up not sure about his pace either? That Dutch side and his agent must have thought they had won the lottery when Ian Gordon and McDermott showed up with nearly a million quid. I
It looks like you're right and he isn't good enough. But he had played 24 league games for Feyenoord before dropping down the leagues.
Just too slow and weak for this league. Shame it hasn't worked out cause every set of fans love a striker that puts the ball in the net.
05-08-2024, 05:27 PM
We can’t play Vente and Campbell in the same team. Two players that when they aren’t scoring are anonymous. Trying to play with 9 men fairly regularly will always see us struggle.
05-08-2024, 06:04 PM
We can’t play Vente and Campbell in the same team. Two players that when they aren’t scoring are anonymous. Trying to play with 9 men fairly regularly will always see us struggle.
Agreed - and whilst every part of the team has come in for criticism since Sunday, I think the majority of the team played well first half. It was only breaking down when it got to the two you mention, who really didn't do well enough when we were arguably on top.
Then it all fell apart and those who had been fine first half struggled.
But yeah, I think having two players who offer little when not scoring is nail on head stuff. Maybe Myk and Levitt deserve a chance?
snedzuk
05-08-2024, 08:24 PM
Whoever sanctioned paying 700k for him, should be birched at ht on Sunday
At least give us something to cheer.
Lends a new meaning to 10 - 9 - 8 etc.
hibeerealist
05-08-2024, 08:35 PM
Agreed - and whilst every part of the team has come in for criticism since Sunday, I think the majority of the team played well first half. It was only breaking down when it got to the two you mention, who really didn't do well enough when we were arguably on top.
Then it all fell apart and those who had been fine first half struggled.
But yeah, I think having two players who offer little when not scoring is nail on head stuff. Maybe Myk and Levitt deserve a chance?
Add Boyle to those two!
Scored in his last 2 games
chippy
16-09-2024, 10:33 AM
Scored in his last 2 games
Good, maybe get most of the fee we paid for him back
16-09-2024, 10:40 AM
Good, maybe get most of the fee we paid for him back
:agree: The more he scores hopefully the bigger the fee if to be sold on.
Up-the-slope
16-09-2024, 10:47 AM
https://x.com/PECZwolle/status/1835592709295235328
no lack of confidence in that finish
Stairway 2 7
16-09-2024, 10:55 AM
Full stadium in a better league, he'll be praying they sign him
16-09-2024, 11:04 AM
He will not be seen in a Hibs shirt again.
K-Zazu
16-09-2024, 11:08 AM
Blimey, what’s going on here? Where’s the Vente that played for us?
16-09-2024, 11:11 AM
Was it us or him?
16-09-2024, 11:14 AM
Hopefully Vente scores a ton and is sold for a couple of million - a striker scoring a decent amount in that league would be worth it
I just don’t think the physicality of the Scottish league is suited to Vente, too physical and the defenders boot anything that comes near them.
We can blame a lot of things but he still missed a load of sitter this season and if he never he’d be on a very good amount of goals already and still be here
Hope he does well.
16-09-2024, 11:16 AM
Was it us or him?
Possibly / probably both - just a poor fit at the time.
Myko looks much more like what we need and Vente's doing well where he is, which is great to see.
I didn't think he was going to turn it around here any time soon so the loan deal was the correct move.
16-09-2024, 11:18 AM
Was it us or him?
Both IMO.
We will be better with Myko playing week in week out because he has more of the attributes you need in this league.
Vente obviously had a good start, be interesting to see if he can keep it going. Hope he does as can only be good for us.
Donegal Hibby
16-09-2024, 11:23 AM
Was it us or him?
I think the Scottish league might not have suited him and he maybe didn’t settle in Scotland. It certainly didn’t help him by putting him in midfield either.
I noticed in two of the games he’s played he’s been subbed both in the 73 and 75 minutes .
I can’t see him coming back so hopefully he keeps scoring and we can get most of what we paid for him back which I wouldn’t mind seeing us using in trying to sign Myko on a permanent deal.
Up-the-slope
16-09-2024, 12:08 PM
Hopefully Vente scores a ton and is sold for a couple of million - a striker scoring a decent amount in that league would be worth it
I just don’t think the physicality of the Scottish league is suited to Vente, too physical and the defenders boot anything that comes near them.
We can blame a lot of things but he still missed a load of sitter this season and if he never he’d be on a very good amount of goals already and still be here
Hope he does well.
Never hid even when things just were not clicking for him, or moaned in games where midfield provided nothing in way of link up. Scoring in that league can only be good for him & Hibs what ever happens beyond that
Musselbound
16-09-2024, 12:51 PM
Hope he does well.
Agree with all that. I think selling him for a significant fee would be the best outcome somewhere down the line.
16-09-2024, 12:54 PM
I think the Scottish league might not have suited him and he maybe didn’t settle in Scotland. It certainly didn’t help him by putting him in midfield either.
I noticed in two of the games he’s played he’s been subbed both in the 73 and 75 minutes .
I can’t see him coming back so hopefully he keeps scoring and we can get most of what we paid for him back which I wouldn’t mind seeing us using in trying to sign Myko on a permanent deal.
So?
With Vente, I always thought he looked like a more than capable footballer, but he clearly wasn't playing well for Hibs. Look at other players though, we've got folk speaking about the guy Gueye at Aberdeen now. Last season he could barely get a game. A few months ago Theo Bair was in demand, yet his career in Scottish football started with 1 goal in 31 games.
Good players don't always hit the ground running, and the team set-up makes a difference.
If Vente can get double figures in league goals while out on loan, which he likely will, then we'll make some money on him at least :aok:
16-09-2024, 01:06 PM
So?
With Vente, I always thought he looked like a more than capable footballer, but he clearly wasn't playing well for Hibs. Look at other players though, we've got folk speaking about the guy Gueye at Aberdeen now. Last season he could barely get a game. A few months ago Theo Bair was in demand, yet his career in Scottish football started with 1 goal in 31 games.
Good players don't always hit the ground running, and the team set-up makes a difference.
If Vente can get double figures in league goals while out on loan, which he likely will, then we'll make some money on him at least :aok:
Vente was always breathing out of his arse here after 60 minutes so he is obviously getting fitter :greengrin
Wish the guy every success hope he continues to rattle them in win win
Vente was always breathing out of his arse here after 60 minutes so he is obviously getting fitter :greengrin
Wish the guy every success hope he continues to rattle them in win win
Wonder why Hibs couldn't get him fit?
16-09-2024, 02:18 PM
A good player who has scored many goals in the past and will score plenty going forward. Why do some players not work at certain teams? Who knows?
Was it confidence, bad luck, Montgomery tactics, formation, ability, personal reasons, poor Hibs team? No idea. Really wanted it to work for him. Just one of those things.
Donegal Hibby
16-09-2024, 02:23 PM
So?
He looked knackered in quite a few games for us after about 60 minutes and I noticed he’s been subbed twice now around the 70 minutes .. maybe just a consequence. Anyhow all good for Hibs if he keeps banging in the goals .
16-09-2024, 02:24 PM
Hope he bangs them in and comes back raring to go. Important to remember Myko isn't ours and age isn't on Gayle's side so I think he still had a big part to play at Hibs. Worst case scenario hope he does well enough to recoup most of the huge fee we spent on him.
16-09-2024, 02:52 PM
Hope he bangs them in and comes back raring to go. Important to remember Myko isn't ours and age isn't on Gayle's side so I think he still had a big part to play at Hibs. Worst case scenario hope he does well enough to recoup most of the huge fee we spent on him.
I hope you're right of course, but I wouldn't be at all surprised if Hibs sell him on.
16-09-2024, 02:53 PM
Wonder why Hibs couldn't get him fit?
Good question maybes one for HTC but in fairness he did run around a lot in his strange in the hole midfield striker role
In 37 starts for us he was hooked 34 times having run his race
He scored 11 goals in 43 appearances but it should really have been more
Got off to a flying start with us but sadly for one reason or another it didn’t work out
He is back home now scoring goals at a higher level so hopefully it can end with a happy ending for all parties
Donegal Hibby
16-09-2024, 02:53 PM
I hope you're right of course, but I wouldn't be at all surprised if Hibs sell him on.
I think Hibs selling him if he does well is the most likely outcome.
16-09-2024, 03:15 PM
I think Hibs selling him if he does well is the most likely outcome.
Ian Gordon alluded to that in his interview. If we can get 1m plus for him we will be winning.
1875Sean
16-09-2024, 03:25 PM
Hope he does well, had a look at the team he is currently at and the most they have ever spend on a player is 765k in euros so they are not big spenders but maybe another Dutch team could come in for him if he scores a few
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/pec-zwolle/transferrekorde/verein/1269
Cabbage-Patch
16-09-2024, 03:49 PM
I watched footage from another angle the defender just let's him saunter past him likes he's not there. Be surprised if most Scottish CBs wouldn't have at least put some sort of challenge or block in. The Dutch league is completely different to ours. You get a lot more time on the ball and there isn't the same level of physicality. Maybe that's why he struggled here, maybe his confidence was shot after Monty. Who knows
I like vente and ideally want him to return firing on all cylinders. If he continues to do well and dosent want to come back then we will be able to sell him for a profit end of the season so either way it's a win win for the club
16-09-2024, 04:21 PM
Just reading Gray talking about Myko and the physical side of things and how important it is in our league. It’s not that the standard is better than where Vente is playing now (although I think it’s better than where he came from) but it is different and Vente just never really competed well enough for me. I just don’t think we considered that when we bought him.
Paulie Walnuts
16-09-2024, 04:23 PM
Was it us or him?
Probably a bit of both, but not having Nick Montgomery as your manager will make a big difference to your ability to do well.
16-09-2024, 05:09 PM
Just reading Gray talking about Myko and the physical side of things and how important it is in our league. It’s not that the standard is better than where Vente is playing now (although I think it’s better than where he came from) but it is different and Vente just never really competed well enough for me. I just don’t think we considered that when we bought him.
Someone made the point that when Vente joined, he described the sort of chance he thrives off and the sort of goal he scores - balls in behind the defence. Even the one in the clip above, he's tussling with the last defender to get in on goal one on one to score.
We didn't and still don't really have the type of player to play that pass and we don't really try it all that much. When he got a chance like that last season at St Johnstone, he put it away.
So for me he just seemed a very odd fit for the way we like to play football, not a bad player by a long shot but not one I'd have expected to be an obvious success for us.
FWIW, Boyle's goal on Saturday it could be said was the sort of chance he's have wanted. Not sure Vente would have had the pace or ability Boyle has to get into that position though?
16-09-2024, 05:31 PM
It's a good point. Pretty much all Grays signings so far are big physical lads. I don't mean that in a bad way as it is important in our league.
16-09-2024, 05:59 PM
Vente looked like someone who’d play well as a front 2 beside a target man. However, rare for teams, certainly over here, to play that formation these days. Hope he has a great season and we manage to recoup some of the transfer fee we paid.
16-09-2024, 06:19 PM
Did look like a great signing and would score a good few goals early on, good chance to put himself in the shop window while on loan.
Cooshed Kid
17-09-2024, 01:17 AM
I really liked him. He reminded me of Jamie Maclaren, only Vente seemed more clinical, less likely to scuff or mi**** a shot. Of course, Maclaren played alongside Kamberi, who was at his peak in 2017/18. And they had Scott Allan to set up openings. Vente and ALF looked just the ticket, but they were seldom paired together. I would have thought he could have done well next to Myko. Anyway, we'll see if Dwight Gayle manages any better if played without Myko. I doubt it, but a lot of success depends on self-confidence and Vente's was low when he left.
Cooshed Kid
17-09-2024, 01:20 AM
I think I needed to type mis-hit in order to avoid the auto-censor. Mea culpa.
17-09-2024, 06:34 AM
I really liked him. He reminded me of Jamie Maclaren, only Vente seemed more clinical, less likely to scuff or mi**** a shot. Of course, Maclaren played alongside Kamberi, who was at his peak in 2017/18. And they had Scott Allan to set up openings. Vente and ALF looked just the ticket, but they were seldom paired together. I would have thought he could have done well next to Myko. Anyway, we'll see if Dwight Gayle manages any better if played without Myko. I doubt it, but a lot of success depends on self-confidence and Vente's was low when he left.
Jamie Mac wouldn’t have missed the amount of sitters chances Vente missed in the box and is often played as a lone striker don’t remember him scuffing anything maybes a penalty at Ibrox that he scored to win the match
Jamie was a sniffer and has made a career out of scoring goals 178:295 and 11:31 for Australia you only have to look at his perfect hat-trick versus The Rangers
Just daft to suggest Vente is more clinical than Jamie Maclaren
If Vente had been more clinical proactive in the box he would be on a more than acceptable 50% strike rate but yes his confidence was shot
Cooshed Kid
17-09-2024, 07:22 AM
Jamie Mac wouldn’t have missed the amount of sitters chances Vente missed in the box don’t remember him scuffing anything maybes a penalty at Ibrox that he scored to win the match
Jamie was a sniffer and has made a career out of scoring goals you only have to look at his perfect hat-trick versus The Rangers
If Vente had been more clinical proactive in the box he would be on a more than acceptable 50% strike rate but yes his confidence was shot
While we may remember Maclaren differently, my point was that he had a degree of freedom Vente didn't have because he generally had the big "target man" alongside him. In the next season, Maclaren struggled and only scored one goal in 15 appearances, although only as a starter in 7. The hat-trick against "Rangers" was a joy to watch but those were 3 out of his total of 8 goals for the club. He scored 5 goals in 29 appearances otherwise. His record's not too different from Vente's but most of the time he played alongside Kamberi and sometimes Oli Shaw.
Personally, I do not like the lone striker concept. Give me Gordon & O'Rourke or even a Doidge & Nisbet any day in preference to wasting a potential goal-scorer because he is marooned and surrounded or constantly back defending.
AugustaHibs
17-09-2024, 07:29 AM
People hoping we sell him for a significant fee will probably be let down slightly.
I’d be highly shocked if there wasn’t an option to buy clause already input in the loan deal, which most likely won’t be a huge fee and will not increase even if he bangs in 30 this year.
17-09-2024, 07:31 AM
While we may remember Maclaren differently, my point was that he had a degree of freedom Vente didn't have because he generally had the big "target man" alongside him. In the next season, Maclaren struggled and only scored one goal in 15 appearances, although only as a starter in 7. The hat-trick against "Rangers" was a joy to watch but those were 3 out of his total of 8 goals for the club. He scored 5 goals in 29 appearances otherwise. His record's not too different from Vente's but most of the time he played alongside Kamberi and sometimes Oli Shaw.
Personally, I do not like the lone striker concept. Give me Gordon & O'Rourke or even a Doidge & Nisbet any day in preference to wasting a potential goal-scorer because he is marooned and surrounded or constantly back defending.
Do not remember Jamie Mac playing up front with a big target man he had Kamberi at the top of his game but playing out wide
Jamie Macs second season is a mystery with a mystery injury compounded by Lennon’s behaviour and Kamberi’s departure from the club
Vente 1:4 goals for Hibs Maclaren 1:3
Give me Jamie Mac every time between the two I do not think Vente was suited to the Scottish game which is fast robust and physical MacLaren proved in his first season how flexible he was and could adapt after all his MO was to score goals and go to the WC with Australia scoring 8:15 in his first season
Gordon and O’Rourke now you are talking my language
Stairway 2 7
17-09-2024, 07:34 AM
People hoping we sell him for a significant fee will probably be let down slightly.
I’d be highly shocked if there wasn’t an option to buy clause already input in the loan deal, which most likely won’t be a huge fee and will not increase even if he bangs in 30 this year.
We bought him for a big fee when he was scoring in the league bellow when where he is now. There is no way hibs even if they added a clause won't have it a decent amount, they know he's a big asset with years on his contract.
17-09-2024, 07:44 AM
According to Ben K there isn't one. I hope that isn't too shocking :greengrin
We're hedging our bets that he will have a good season.
17-09-2024, 08:31 AM
Mind they got 7 figures for Melekersen who had a worse record than Vente and went to a less well off league financially.
Kensell and Gordon have their faults but they've done some good business regarding fees for players who were pretty much write-offs.
17-09-2024, 08:32 AM
Do not remember Jamie Mac playing up front with a big target man he had Kamberi at the top of his game but playing out wide
Jamie Macs second season is a mystery with a mystery injury compounded by Lennon’s behaviour and Kamberi’s departure from the club
Give me Jamie Mac every time between the two I do not think Vente was suited to the Scottish game which is fast robust and physical MacLaren proved in his first season how flexible he was and could adapt after all his MO was to score goals and go to the WC with Australia scoring 8:15 in his first season
I'd have an in form Kamberi over both of them - is that allowed? :greengrin
Cooshed Kid
17-09-2024, 08:32 AM
Gordon and O’Rourke now you are talking my language[/QUOTE]
I couldn't resist watching the YouTube video of the Ne'er Day 1973 0-7 again. Our first goal was O'Rourke's 24th of the season. Our second was Alan Gordon's 28th. On 1st January! Of course, in all competitions including Europe. Changed days. We'll never see anything like that with a solo striker.
It's such a shame there is so little fllm of the Tornadoes or of the likes of Joe Baker and Neil Martin at their peak never mind the Famous Five. At least the Tynie thrashing has survived.
17-09-2024, 08:56 AM
I couldn't resist watching the YouTube video of the Ne'er Day 1973 0-7 again. Our first goal was O'Rourke's 24th of the season. Our second was Alan Gordon's 28th. On 1st January! Of course, in all competitions including Europe. Changed days. We'll never see anything like that with a solo striker.
It's such a shame there is so little fllm of the Tornadoes or of the likes of Joe Baker and Neil Martin at their peak never mind the Famous Five. At least the Tynie thrashing has survived.[/QUOTE]
��
7th goal was sheer poetry
Shades hammers into the Hearts fullback like a train rattling every bone in his body like a xylophone nudging the ball up the wing to Arthur who has a quick look up for the blonde head in the box whose initial header strikes the inside of the upright trickles along the line hits the inside of the back post and rolls into the net
So good that pretty sure I once saw a painting of it
You thought it would be like that every week it wasn’t will Hibs win it was by how many ?
17-09-2024, 10:11 AM
Don’t see that happening personally think he will leave
Mind they got 7 figures for Melekersen who had a worse record than Vente and went to a less well off league financially.
Kensell and Gordon have their faults but they've done some good business regarding fees for players who were pretty much write-offs.
Would be great if we could get a similarly good deal done with Vente. I'm hopeful we could come to some kind of agreement with Swansea for a permanent deal for Myko come the end of the season but know they'd be looking to recoup a decent chunk of what they paid for him, which could be more than we'd be willing to pay.
18-09-2024, 05:34 AM
Norway is better off financially than the SPFL by a mile
Juice-Terry
18-09-2024, 05:40 AM
Norway is better off financially than the SPFL by a mile
I think he was comparing the Norwegian league to the Eredivisie?
18-09-2024, 05:40 AM
Vente played up on his own successfully in Holland and is doing so again.
MacLaren couldn’t do it as he was an incredibly limited footballer. Great poacher, but utterly hopeless outside the box which is why no one from the big leagues ever came in for him.
18-09-2024, 05:41 AM
I think he was comparing the Norwegian league to the Eredivisie?
👍🏻
SickBoy32
18-09-2024, 06:03 AM
Haha we’ll see how much truth there was to that reported Melkersen fee in the next accounts.
He's here!
18-09-2024, 07:05 AM
Maclaren scored 8 goals in that first half season at Hibs. Just one the next season, but did he not pick up an injury? I recall Lennon being delighted we'd managed to bring him back and had high hopes for him.
18-09-2024, 07:09 AM
MacLaren couldn’t do it as he was an incredibly limited footballer. Great poacher, but utterly hopeless outside the box which is why no one from the big leagues ever came in for him.
Maclaren is another who gets better as the years go by. In reality he just wasn't very good. Limited as you say.
18-09-2024, 07:13 AM
Vente was successful in the Dutch second Division which is a slow and ponderous league and was totally unsuited to the hurly burly of the SPFL only scoring 5 goals and 3 assists in 32 SPFL games
The issue was who was the more clinical in the box Vente or Maclaren at doing what they are paid to do sticking the ball in the net
A no brainer as far as I am concerned
Vente was a nice tidy footballer outside the box run about a lot but with no end product easy to mark and no threat to opposition defences usually about six yards behind play at the business end
It might have escaped your notice but we have loads of midfielders
Let’s hope Dylan Vente can repeat his excellent form at Roda 42:70 and hopefully get us most of our money back
18-09-2024, 07:24 AM
Vente was successful in the Dutch second Division which is a slow and ponderous league and was totally unsuited to the hurly burly of the SPFL only scoring 5 goals and 3 assists in 32 SPFL games
The issue was who was the more clinical in the box Vente or Maclaren at doing what they are paid to do sticking the ball in the net
Vente was a nice tidy footballer outside the box run about a lot but with no end product easy to mark and no threat to opposition defences usually about six yards behind play at the business end
Let’s hope Dylan Vente can repeat his excellent form at Roda 42:70 and hopefully get us most of our money back
Vente also developed a habit of missing absolute sitters and let’s not revise history, he wasn’t played as a midfielder. He was asked to drop a little deeper as his total lack of pace or physical strength meant that if he didn’t, you may as well put a training cone on the penalty spot and slap a number 9 on it. He was dreadful. A poor man’s James Collins.
Having a striker that has more physical presence than mist does in big Myko has begun to show what we were missing.
Hopefully dropping back to a slower, less physical league might mean we recoup some of the money we wasted on him.
18-09-2024, 07:38 AM
Vente also developed a habit of missing absolute sitters and let’s not revise history, he wasn’t played as a midfielder. He was asked to drop a little deeper as his total lack of pace or physical strength meant that if he didn’t, you may as well put a training cone on the penalty spot and slap a number 9 on it. He was dreadful. A poor man’s James Collins.
Having a striker that far has more physical presence than mist does in big Myko has begun to show what we were missing.
Hopefully dropping back to a slower, less physical league might mean we recoup some of the money we wasted on him.
Totally agree was trying to be diplomatic
No way was Jamie Mac missing those sitters
In our League you have to make your own chances Maolida for example
I have already mentioned Jamie Macs perfectly executed hat-trick against The Rangers another example would be his goal in the Natural Order game determinedly and tenaciously winning the ball before burying it into the net when surrounded by Hearts defenders
The thing that got me about Vente was he never looked for the ball in the box or ran in front of a man ( Simon Murray ) demanding the ball and dragging the defender out of position
My granny could mark him and run faster
18-09-2024, 08:58 AM
Looked part when he arrived but lost it under Monty maybe couldn't settle here it happens unfortunately
18-09-2024, 12:53 PM
The Dutch 2nd division is streets ahead of the A-League. If you want to see a slow ponderous league, you've clearly never watched the A-League. For someone who is easy to mark and no threat the opposition, I find it remarkable that he managed nearly 50 goals in 2 years in that league.
18-09-2024, 12:53 PM
Looked part when he arrived but lost it under Monty maybe couldn't settle here it happens unfortunately
Yep. Monty'd like every other player we had.
18-09-2024, 12:58 PM
Maclaren scored 8 goals in that first half season at Hibs. Just one the next season, but did he not pick up an injury? I recall Lennon being delighted we'd managed to bring him back and had high hopes for him.
He had a small injury which saw him miss 3 games but the truth was, he wasn't a very good player.. He was fit for nearly all the first half of the season but Lennon had clearly worked him out and didn't pick him and was happy to send him back to Oz.
18-09-2024, 12:58 PM
The Dutch 2nd division is streets ahead of the A-League. If you want to see a slow ponderous league, you've clearly never watched the A-League. For someone who is easy to mark and no threat the opposition, I find it remarkable that he managed nearly 50 goals in 2 years in that league.
Never showed it at Hibs unfortunately which is why he is back where he is
Wasn’t even that good with the ball as you put it
Jamie is the all time record goal scorer at Melbourne City and the winner of various Golden Boots
Come back to me when Vente has scored 11:31 for the Netherlands
In the meantime I wish Vente every success for all our sakes
Edit : I watch the A League every Friday it is fast and open with forwards on top stars go there to retire for the lifestyle and the big money Ross McCormack and Alf to name a few
Have you really watched the Dutch Second Division ?
It is slow predictable amateur hour and a half
18-09-2024, 01:06 PM
Jamie is the all time record goal scorer at Melbourne City and the winner of various Golden Boots
McLaren’s international goals came against:
Bangladesh
Oman
Vietnam
Taiwan
Nepal
Palestine
Vente will never play for the Netherlands and neither would McLaren if he was Dutch.
McLaren got to play in front of McGeough, McGinn and Allan, as soon as they left he was murder.
18-09-2024, 01:18 PM
Bangladesh
Oman
Vietnam
Taiwan
Nepal
Palestine
Vente will never play for the Netherlands and neither would McLaren if he was Dutch.
McLaren got to play in front of McGeough, McGinn and Allan, as soon as they left he was murder.
So how do you explain Dylan Vente’s poor form at Hibs in that case ?
Played with decent players no pace no height no physicality no presence the guy was a dud missing sitter after sitter obviously something was amiss as no one could be that bad probably best where he is starting afresh in his own country
I actually did try to defend him right up until the new season but lost the faith and decided I was defending the indefensible
By the way Scotland would struggle to defeat half of those teams above
18-09-2024, 01:29 PM
He is all time scorer at MC but lets be honest, I'm sure there's plenty on this board that rattle in few in that league.
Unfortunately Vente won't do that for the Netherlands as he plays for Surinam. I doubt however he'll be fortunate enough to play against teams of the might of Chinese Tapai, Bangladesh, Oman, Palastine & Nepal which were the teams Maclaren notched against.
18-09-2024, 01:33 PM
Played with decent players no pace no height no physicality no presence the guy was a dud missing sitter after sitter obviously something was amiss as no one could be that bad probably best where he is starting afresh in his own country
I actually did try to defend him right up until the new season but lost the faith and decided I was defending the indefensible
Fully blame Monty. He looked great at the start. Then Monty swapped his job from goalscoring to swapping positions with our wide players.
MagicSwirlingShip
18-09-2024, 01:37 PM
Bangladesh
Oman
Vietnam
Taiwan
Nepal
Palestine
He was injured when he returned most of the time?
Paulie Walnuts
18-09-2024, 01:38 PM
No one could be as bad as a guy who had 16 goal involvements in 43 games? :faf:
Vente never exactly set the heather alight here but there’s some serious over exaggerations. We had people recently saying he was the worst signing in our history :faf:
18-09-2024, 01:41 PM
He is all time scorer at MC but lets be honest, I'm sure there's plenty on this board that rattle in few in that league.
Unfortunately Vente won't do that for the Netherlands as he plays for Surinam. I doubt however he'll be fortunate enough to play against teams of the might of Chinese Tapai, Bangladesh, Oman, Palastine & Nepal which were the teams Maclaren notched against.
Two late sub appearances against Guyana and Guadalupe one win one defeat no goals but he is hitting the heights
18-09-2024, 01:43 PM
Fully blame Monty. He looked great at the start. Then Monty swapped his job from goalscoring to swapping positions with our wide players.
Agree as I said I kept hoping he would come good there is still time but not here
18-09-2024, 01:57 PM
He was injured when he returned most of the time?
Nope. A Hibs.net myth. He just wasn't picked. He missed 3 games through injury.
18-09-2024, 09:34 PM
Nope. A Hibs.net myth. He just wasn't picked. He missed 3 games through injury.
Picked up a bad back injury and tried to play through the pain but never really got going second time round.
Speaks fondly of his time at hibs and covers his second spell well in a couple of interviews.
For someone who was pish he had a good record. Winner at ibrox, Derby winner at ER, hattrick v huns at ER, scored in a win v celtic. We've had a lot of strikers whose record was nowhere near.
19-09-2024, 06:33 AM
Picked up a bad back injury and tried to play through the pain but never really got going second time round.
Speaks fondly of his time at hibs and covers his second spell well in a couple of interviews.
For someone who was pish he had a good record. Winner at ibrox, Derby winner at ER, hattrick v huns at ER, scored in a win v celtic. We've had a lot of strikers whose record was nowhere near.
Wasting your time mate he just didn’t rate him
All he did was score goals 😀
19-09-2024, 09:15 AM
No one could be as bad as a guy who had 16 goal involvements in 43 games? :faf:
Vente never exactly set the heather alight here but there’s some serious over exaggerations. We had people recently saying he was the worst signing in our history :faf:
At 700k he must be high on the list for money wasted.
19-09-2024, 09:20 AM
Depends what we sell him for really.
Paulie Walnuts
19-09-2024, 10:22 AM
Not really. He had 16 goal involvements in 43 games. There’ll be hundreds of players who have offered less pound for pound than him. Infact there’s numerous in the squad right now.
19-09-2024, 10:50 AM
Not really. He had 16 goal involvements in 43 games. There’ll be hundreds of players who have offered less pound for pound than him. Infact there’s numerous in the squad right now.
Even more remarkable when you consider he was hooked after 60-70 minutes in 34 of his 37 starts
If he had converted all his chances especially against the weaker teams or even played off the shoulder of the opposition defence playing more prominently his goal to games ratio would take him closer to club legends Joe McBride and Joe Harper
Anyways here’s hoping he can bag another at the weekend to keep the pot boiling
19-09-2024, 10:51 AM
There will not be many forwards with as poor a record as him at Hibs, for the money spent. Very few.
Paulie Walnuts
19-09-2024, 11:03 AM
There will not be many forwards with as poor a record as him at Hibs, for the money spent. Very few.
Well that goes without saying, because he’s the most expensive forward we’ve ever signed. So he’ll be in a group of 1.
He cost us £700k. If we even go with a very high estimate of £7k a week wage (which he won’t be), that means he cost us slightly over £1m, or around £66k per goal involvement.
McKirdy, for example, cost us a decent fee, is likely on a decent wage and has never had a goal or assist. He’s infinitely worse. JDH is on a 4 year deal, never fit and when he is he’s pish, has no sell on value and is apparently refusing to leave. Hes worse value for money. Kenneh, again, cost a fee, absolutely brutal and has offered nothing per pound. Amos, again, offered nothing. And this is just the current squad.
The idea someone that offered 16 goals and assists in 43 games and will retain a reasonable sell on value is one of our worst ever signings pound for pound is nonsense.
19-09-2024, 11:11 AM
Well that goes without saying, because he’s the most expensive forward we’ve ever signed. So he’ll be in a group of 1.
He cost us £700k. If we even go with a very high estimate of £7k a week wage (which he won’t be), that means he cost us slightly over £1m, or around £66k per goal involvement.
McKirdy, for example, cost us a decent fee, is likely on a decent wage and has never had a goal or assist. He’s infinitely worse. JDH is on a 4 year deal, never fit and when he is he’s pish, has no sell on value and is apparently refusing to leave. Hes worse value for money. Kenneh, again, cost a fee, absolutely brutal and has offered nothing per pound. Amos, again, offered nothing. And this is just the current squad.
The idea someone that offered 16 goals and assists in 43 games and will retain a reasonable sell on value is one of our worst ever signings pound for pound is nonsense.
11 goals and 3 assists and looked miles off the pace apart from an extremely promising start with I think 5 shots on target 5 goals
The only comparison I can think of is Ulysses De La Cruz signed for 700k 2 goals in 39 games both against Hearts and sold for a tidy profit to Aston Villa which was always the intention
Let’s hope history repeats itself
19-09-2024, 11:12 AM
Depends what we sell him for really.
Yeah, I think we make a call on this one when his Hibs story is over, which it isn't yet.
19-09-2024, 12:23 PM
It’s also all relative. Vente cost £700k but Hibs spending £700k on a striker in 2023 is probably comparable to us spending £200k on James Collins in 2013. Both our budget and the price of players has increased massively over that decade. The Collins fee was pretty much 100% of fees we spent that summer while the Vente fee was less than half of all fees we paid last summer.
Paul1642
19-09-2024, 12:41 PM
Vente was a proven goalscorer for a bottom side in the Dutch division 2. As it stands he’s on track to become a proven goalscorer for a bottom side in the Dutch division 1. Logic says we could sell him for a tidy profit if he keeps it up.
My heart wants him to come back and kick on for us but my head says take the money for a good player who’s maybe just not a good fit for Scottish football, much like Merkelson.
It does baffle me to some degree how certain players who clearly have ability don’t quite cut it in our league yet manage it in better leagues. We then put this done to the way the game is played here yet teams from these leagues have no bother turning over Scottish clubs in Europe.
19-09-2024, 12:43 PM
It’s also all relative. Vente cost £700k but Hibs spending £700k on a striker in 2023 is probably comparable to us spending £200k on James Collins in 2013. Both our budget and the price of players has increased massively over that decade. The Collins fee was pretty much 100% of fees we spent that summer while the Vente fee was less than half of all fees we paid last summer.
Yep, that's probably about right money wise. Mind you, I think even Vente would struggle to be as poor as Collins. Last time I heard of him was when he got knicked for pissing off the balcony at a posh racemeeting.
Paul1642
19-09-2024, 12:47 PM
Yep, that's probably about right money wise. Mind you, I think even Vente would struggle to be as poor as Collins. Last time I heard of him was when he got knicked for pissing off the balcony at a posh racemeeting.
Yet his career wasn’t all that bad both before and after Hibs. 70 odd goals for Luton after Hibs and just signed a 1 year extension to keep him at Derby. Also managed 13 international caps after leaving us.
Falls into the same category as Clayton Donaldson who never done much for us yet went onto score a ton of goals at a good level in England.
Paulie Walnuts
19-09-2024, 01:17 PM
19-09-2024, 02:19 PM
Sorry but this is laughable.
Do any of those nations even have a full 26 man squad of professionals?
19-09-2024, 02:31 PM
Sorry but this is laughable.
Do any of those nations even have a full 26 man squad of professionals?
Obviously I forgot to add the smiley face but in only 2 wins in 15 against the mighty Cyprus and Gibraltar I do not think any of the above wouldn’t fancy their chances against us especially at home
whereswallace?
20-09-2024, 07:36 PM
Another goal tonight. 3 games on the bounce he’s scored, hopefully turn a profit on him in the summer if he continues.
20-09-2024, 08:06 PM
https://x.com/oranjefussball/status/1837213448251600920?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
We’ll sell him for a fortune if he keeps this up
Paulie Walnuts
20-09-2024, 08:10 PM
Not all that much of a surprise. Good player who was absolutely ruined by Montgomery.
andrew70
20-09-2024, 08:19 PM
Not all that much of a surprise. Good player who was absolutely ruined by Montgomery.
Except he wasn’t.
He done a great job for Montgomery when we were really low on numbers.
He is a very clever footballer. Where he was let down was with supply, ammunition to make hay in front of goal.
Will be our Pape Gueye next season though with a more rounded, creative team.
Paulie Walnuts
20-09-2024, 08:22 PM
Except he wasn’t.
He is a very clever footballer. Where he was let down was with supply, ammunition to make hay in front of goal.
He absolutely was.
20-09-2024, 08:24 PM
Except he wasn’t.
He had so many poor games for us. There might have been a number of reasons for it but a lot of the time he was just simply poor and rarely a threat.
I don’t think we’ll see him in a Hibs top again. Sometimes players just don’t suit or don’t fit certain clubs or leagues and he’s the perfect case IMO.
Donegal Hibby
20-09-2024, 08:26 PM
Except he wasn’t.
Your last line I’m not so sure about , have a feeling if we get a similar offer to what we paid for him , he will be away .
20-09-2024, 08:28 PM
Wasn't let down by anyone. Missed chances, couldn't hold the ball up, couldn't create a thing for himself, rarely seen busting his gut to get across his man, and overall was a doddle to play against for most defenders.
Myko already showing how it's done. Big, strong, fights for things, dangerous with both feet and in the air, brings others into game, puts his body on the line.
20-09-2024, 08:31 PM
For all his form dipped and never returned for a long spell I still found him a likeable player and was desperate to see him come good again.
It’s a pity we’ve had to wait for a move to see him return to form but I’m pleased for the guy.
Donegal Hibby
20-09-2024, 08:53 PM
Wasn't let down by anyone. Missed chances, couldn't hold the ball up, couldn't create a thing for himself, rarely seen busting his gut to get across his man, and overall was a doddle to play against for most defenders.
Myko already showing how it's done. Big, strong, fights for things, dangerous with both feet and in the air, brings others into game, puts his body on the line.
Disagree … you put a poacher into midfield then it’s bound to have an effect on him , it didn’t help him in anyway whatsoever so he probably was let down .
20-09-2024, 08:58 PM
Disagree … you put a poacher into midfield then it’s bound to have an effect on him , it didn’t help him in anyway whatsoever so he probably was let down .
We never played Vente in midfield. We played him as a lone target man a lot of the time and asked him to track back into midfield to cover. Two things he isn't good at, being a target man and covering/tackling.
20-09-2024, 09:00 PM
Hes clearly done at Hibs, he won’t want to come back and I don’t think we’ll want him back. Hope he keeps banging them in and we make the money back on the deal.
20-09-2024, 09:05 PM
Id agree, but we didn't put him in midfield once. He played every match for Hibs as a striker.
A decent poacher would score the sitters he missed. Little pace, poor finishing, can't create one iota for himself. Well rid.
Stairway 2 7
20-09-2024, 09:10 PM
He obviously didn't play in midfield but he did have to win the ball far away from the danger zone. It was rare we put through balls through like in the vid above. Vente would have loved Scot Allan. He's Scoring at a good level AZ are top of the league and would walk second in Scotland. If he keeps it up we will make a packet and he'll move to a level above us, win win as Holland is clearly more suited for him
HFC93
20-09-2024, 09:12 PM
We'll sell him for very good money if he keeps this up.
Donegal Hibby
20-09-2024, 09:48 PM
We never played Vente in midfield. We played him as a lone target man a lot of the time and asked him to track back into midfield to cover. Two things he isn't good at, being a target man and covering/tackling.
I think he kept McGregor quiet in a game which doesn’t happen a lot , far to often he was too deep and basically trying to get forward from what looked like midfield .
I don’t think this was the only reason but it certainly contributed to him imo losing confidence/ form etc . I still think maybe Scottish football didn’t suit his game as well.
Rate the guy highly and think he will score a lot of goals in the right team which I don’t think will be us and expect him to be sold if a decent offer comes in as I don’t think he’s a Gray type player either.
20-09-2024, 10:21 PM
If he scores 15-20 in the Eredivisie this season he will go for a relative fortune
Andy Bee
20-09-2024, 11:15 PM
It was like putting David Zitelli in a system which was created for Lyndon Dykes. He put a shift in every time I seen him but it just didn't suit his preferred style of play, it's not his fault. The quality was there obviously given the price we paid but unfortunately we didn't manage to capitalise. Seems his latest club have.
20-09-2024, 11:34 PM
Doesn’t have the physicality to play a conventional no.9 role or the pace/skill to play wide in a 3. I hope he kicks on and we can recoup the transfer fee paid, can’t see him coming back to Scottish football.
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2024, 12:43 AM
It was like putting David Zitelli in a system which was created for Lyndon Dykes. He put a shift in every time I seen him but it just didn't suit his preferred style of play, it's not his fault. The quality was there obviously given the price we paid but unfortunately we didn't manage to capitalise. Seems his latest club have.
Agree , no faulting the guy’s efforts … his previous club seemed to capitalise on his strengths too! . Good player that we didn’t use correctly
21-09-2024, 05:23 AM
Agree , no faulting the guy’s efforts … his previous club seemed to capitalise on his strengths too! . Good player that we didn’t use correctly
Or couldn't use correctly? Id imagine we tried. And there is simply no excuse for some of his misses.
21-09-2024, 06:15 AM
Pleased for the guy hope he continues to bang them in win win
Vente is plenty
21-09-2024, 06:55 AM
Nick Montgomery played him to his weaknesses
21-09-2024, 07:12 AM
Great to see him banging them in, it can only be good for us. Those thinking we'll sell him for a fortune might be disappointed though. We only signed him on a 3 year deal despite paying that big fee, so by the time his loan ends next summer he'll only have 1 year left. We'll still hopefully get a half decent fee, but I doubt it'll be big money.
7Hero
21-09-2024, 07:21 AM
For all his form dipped and never returned for a long spell I still found him a likeable player and was desperate to see him come good again.
It’s a pity we’ve had to wait for a move to see him return to form but I’m pleased for the guy.
Im pleased for the club we could get rid of this guy...
Paulie Walnuts
21-09-2024, 07:41 AM
Great to see him banging them in, it can only be good for us. Those thinking we'll sell him for a fortune might be disappointed though. We only signed him on a 3 year deal despite paying that big fee, so by the time his loan ends next summer he'll only have 1 year left. We'll still hopefully get a half decent fee, but I doubt it'll be big money.
I fully expect we’ll get the fee we paid back and then some. Maybe not a huge profit, but I think we’ll make something.
21-09-2024, 07:50 AM
I fully expect we’ll get the fee we paid back and then some. Maybe not a huge profit, but I think we’ll make something.
I think that's wishful thinking but we shall see. Anyway, hopefully he continues to score as it only strengthens our hand.
21-09-2024, 07:52 AM
I wouldn’t imagine that would be outwith the realms of possibility. Good season at a higher level surely gets us at least 700k back.
Paulie Walnuts
21-09-2024, 07:56 AM
I wouldn’t imagine that would be outwith the realms of possibility. Good season at a higher level surely gets us at least 700k back.
Yup. If he gets into double figures in the Eredvidsie this season, for what will be an unfancied team then he’ll end up with a side in the top half of the league looking at him.
Genuinely wouldn’t be surprised to see him and up at someone like AZ Alkmaar or FC Twente next season.
21-09-2024, 08:01 AM
Yup. If he gets into double figures in the Eredvidsie this season, for what will be an unfancied team then he’ll end up with a side in the top half of the league looking at him.
Genuinely wouldn’t be surprised to see him and up at someone like AZ Alkmaar or FC Twente next season.
We are in a bit of a tricky situation with him though. If he does well he's not going to want to come back and he only has a year left on his deal.
Are we going to want to bring back a player who probably doesn't want to be here and has previously failed in our league, to then let him go on a free 12 months later? I suspect the club will want to get a fee for him and then use that money and what is likely a high wage towards another player.
We might get our money back but I can't see it being more than that if we do.
21-09-2024, 08:02 AM
It's nuts really. He was playing (and not scoring) for a side that came 8th in a poor league and has got a loan move to a team that came 4th in what is probably the 4th or 5th bbest league in Europe. He's getting games and Scoring goals. If he carries on at his current scoring rate, and we see a couple of different teams in for him, we will make an absolute packet. Length of contract doesn't mean diddly Squat if you have two or three clubs with money who all want him.
Paulie Walnuts
21-09-2024, 08:02 AM
We are in a bit of a tricky situation with him though. If he does well he's not going to want to come back and he only has a year left on his deal.
Are we going to want to bring back a player he probably doesn't want to come back, to then let him go on a free 12 months later? I suspect the club will want to get a fee for him and then use that money and what is likely a high wage towards another player.
We might get our money back but I can't see it being more than that if we do.
I think that will be what happens. The club won’t want to gamble on him coming back and struggling.
Paulie Walnuts
21-09-2024, 08:03 AM
It's nuts really. He was playing (and not scoring) for a side that came 8th in a poor league and has got a loan move to a team that came 4th in what is probably the 4th or 5th bbest league in Europe. his team are top of the league, he's getting games and Scoring goals. If he carries on at his current scoring rate, and we see a couple of different teams in for him, we will make an absolute packet. Length of contract doesn't mean diddly Squat if you have two or three clubs with money who all want him.
His team are 15th out of 18.
21-09-2024, 08:12 AM
His team are 15th out of 18.
I just realised that..for some weird reason I had it in my head he was at Alkmaar! My apologies for talking crap ! I still think we will make good money if he carries on scoring though.
Paulie Walnuts
21-09-2024, 08:14 AM
I just realised that..for some weird reason I had it in my head he was at Alkmaar! My apologies for talking crap ! I still think we will make good money if he carries on scoring though.
Definitely. If anything it’s even more impressive if he manages a good return in a good league with a poor team. :agree:
21-09-2024, 09:03 AM
Still early days
https://i.ibb.co/twGwp9Y/Screenshot-20240921-100245.png (https://ibb.co/fVgVdsr)
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2024, 09:10 AM
Or couldn't use correctly? Id imagine we tried. And there is simply no excuse for some of his misses.
We seemed to have started using him correctly when he got 5 goals from 5 touches though that changed when we started to ask him to play much deeper which might have affected his confidence/form or maybe he just didn’t settle in Scotland , who knows.
One thing for sure is he showed before we signed him what a prolific striker he was , as he is beginning to do now again which makes you wonder what went wrong :confused:
21-09-2024, 09:13 AM
The guy is quality, always has been, to not see the technical skills that are way above what we have or had at Easter Road would suggest eyes painted on as they say, or perhaps not even a Hibs supporter.
He plays in a league with a far higher class of technical players compared to the industrialised typical Scottish defenders/players.
He would be daft to come back to Hibs, so perhaps we will make money on him then buy a forward more suited to our league.
21-09-2024, 09:14 AM
We seemed to have started using him correctly when he got 5 goals from 5 touches though that changed when we started to ask him to play much deeper which might have affected his confidence/form or maybe he just didn’t settle in Scotland , who knows.
One thing for sure is he showed before we signed him what a prolific striker he was , as he is beginning to do now again which makes you wonder what went wrong :confused:
5 goals from 5 shots was a total fluke and never going to last. Most traffic cones would've saved the one against Raith for example.
He clearly isn't a bad player, but he was for us.
21-09-2024, 09:16 AM
The guy is quality, always has been, to not see the technical skills that are way above what we have or had at Easter Road would suggest eyes painted on as they say, or perhaps not even a Hibs supporter.
He plays in a league with a far higher class of technical players compared to the industrialised typical Scottish defenders/players.
He would be daft to come back to Hibs, so perhaps we will make money on him then buy a forward more suited to our league.
His technical skills are not way above Bowie and Myko. What were Ventes technical skills?
Into my 21st consecutive year as a season ticket holder, so I'd suggest I'm a Hibs fan.
21-09-2024, 09:17 AM
His technical skills are not way above Bowie and Myko. What were Ventes technical skills?
Into my 21st consecutive year as a season ticket holder, so I'd suggest I'm a Hibs fan.
:fishin:
21-09-2024, 09:31 AM
:fishin:
Embarrassing :faf:
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2024, 09:36 AM
5 goals from 5 shots was a total fluke and never going to last. Most traffic cones would've saved the one against Raith for example.
He clearly isn't a bad player, but he was for us.
Of course it wasn’t going to last though did show how effective the player was when used correctly with decent service.
Your right in he isn’t a bad player in fact I go as far to say he’s a very good player which he’s beginning to prove again now after a short space of time going there .
Maybe the problem with him not doing well is partially down to us too .
21-09-2024, 09:38 AM
C’mon now.
You clearly rate him, but to say some fans have their eyes painted on it just aren’t Hibs fans because they can’t see his quality is nonsense
There’s good reason if some don’t rate him, and that’s because he never showed anywhere near the obvious ability you speak of.
There’s been so many fans defending him as to why he’s not scoring or performing. First it was fitness, then it was Johnson’s tactics, then it was Monty’s tactics and then it was confidence. This season he scored 3 in the first cup game and then proceeded to miss about 5 absolute sitters over the next couple of games until he moved.
Unfortunately it just never seemed to work for him here which is a shame as we can see now he has a habit of scoring goals in the Dutch leagues. Dont know if it’s how the teams over there approach games or how defenders are.
But way above the quality or technical skills we have/had at Easter road? Absolute no chance
21-09-2024, 09:41 AM
Of course it wasn’t going to last though did show how effective the player was when used correctly with decent service.
Your right in he isn’t a bad player in fact I go as far to say he’s a very good player which he’s beginning to prove again now after a short space of time going there .
Maybe the problem with him not doing well is partially down to us too .
The guy had more than decent service in the first 5 games this season. Missed great chances vs Kelty, Queens park and St Mirren. The St Mirren one was literally under the ****ing bar, at 0-0. Vital chance. At no point in his Hibs career did he get better service than the games this season. He ****ed it up for himself and we rightfully binned him.
Maybe it was down to us in part last season. Although he wasn't creating a thing for himself. Look at Shankland at Easter Road. 0-0, 90th minute, he went and made the difference. Didn't need it on a plate.
21-09-2024, 09:42 AM
I recall a conversation not long after he started and we agreed he looked a natural goal scorer. Put the ball in front of him in and around the box and he'll score.
However, that all seemed to change when he seemed to spend much of the time running around in midfield doing next to nothing. He's also had a few bad misses, which I put down to lack of confidence. The one at St Mirren was really bad though and he should have scored it.
I think in the right team, he would be a good goalscorer. Wish him the best.
CentreForward
21-09-2024, 10:12 AM
How long is left on his contract with us? Can certainly see us getting a good fee for him if he keeps scoring but will obviously depend on contract length. Summer ‘26 ?
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2024, 10:14 AM
The guy had more than decent service in the first 5 games this season. Missed great chances vs Kelty, Queens park and St Mirren. The St Mirren one was literally under the ****ing bar, at 0-0. Vital chance. At no point in his Hibs career did he get better service than the games this season. He ****ed it up for himself and we rightfully binned him.
Maybe it was down to us in part last season. Although he wasn't creating a thing for himself. Look at Shankland at Easter Road. 0-0, 90th minute, he went and made the difference. Didn't need it on a plate.
He has had bad misses though how much of that was down to a lack of form / confidence due to us using him incorrectly for months , it could also be that he just didn’t settle in Scotland and there was a host of different reasons behind the player not succeeding though what Monty done with him was like buying a striker only to play him as a goalie.
You mention Shankland who’s not scoring the way he was last season and I’ve been reading quite a few jumbo comments on their forum moaning that he’s playing to deep or has to come deep in order to get the ball .
Maybe another clue that when you play a poacher deep not only is he ineffective but it also ends up effecting the player’s in other ways too .
I have no doubts in my mind that Vente is a quality player and will score goals in the right team . Why he didn’t at us I don’t think was purely down to the player in all honesty.
21-09-2024, 10:22 AM
Scored goals before Hibs, scoring goals while away on loan.
Tells me the guys a goalscorer, but that it just didnae work out here. He’s very clearly not crap. Whether it was the crap manager, the system or a confidence problem… maybe a mix of all of them. It didnae work out for him at Hibs.
21-09-2024, 10:24 AM
He has had bad misses though how much of that was down to a lack of form / confidence due to us using him incorrectly for months , it could also be that he just didn’t settle in Scotland and there was a host of different reasons behind the player not succeeding though what Monty done with him was like buying a striker only to play him as a goalie.
You mention Shankland who’s not scoring the way he was last season and I’ve been reading quite a few jumbo comments on their forum moaning that he’s playing to deep or has to come deep in order to get the ball .
Maybe another clue that when you play a poacher deep not only is he ineffective but it also ends up effecting the player’s in other ways too .
I have no doubts in my mind that Vente is a quality player and will score goals in the right team . Why he didn’t at us I don’t think was purely down to the player in all honesty.
You are quite right with all these things being possible and hurting him.
My point is his lack of goals wasn't down to his teammates service. It was down to him playing poorly for whatever reason. I'm much happier with what we've got now.
21-09-2024, 10:36 AM
If he keeps up form bigger Dutch club will come in for DV was rated at Feyenoord
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2024, 11:43 AM
You are quite right with all these things being possible and hurting him.
My point is his lack of goals wasn't down to his teammates service. It was down to him playing poorly for whatever reason. I'm much happier with what we've got now.
I did think at times the service wasn’t good enough though it was more a combination of things why he ended up playing poorly .
In the right team ,used the right way with chances created he will score a lot of goals. I think Myko is a better all around striker and I’m happy with our strikers even if I am disappointed in not seeing Bowie who was looking like an excellent signing too .
Cabbage-Patch
21-09-2024, 12:23 PM
Dutch league is far superior to ours technically but less physical. Tells me hibs are the problem and not him tbh. Specifically coaching. He's a predator in the box and if he gets half a chance he will score. We saw that in the initial few games he had for us and he seems back to that now. I have no doubt Montgomery playing him out of position killed his confidence together with possibly an elementof home sickness. I doubt he will end up back at Hibs now and despite us probably making a decent profit on him you can't help but feel yet another talented player hasn't clicked at Hibs for whatever reason
21-09-2024, 12:33 PM
Dutch league is far superior to ours technically but less physical. Tells me hibs are the problem and not him tbh. Specifically coaching. He's a predator in the box and if he gets half a chance he will score. We saw that in the initial few games he had for us and he seems back to that now. I have no doubt Montgomery playing him out of position killed his confidence together with possibly an elementof home sickness. I doubt he will end up back at Hibs now and despite us probably making a decent profit on him you can't help but feel yet another talented player hasn't clicked at Hibs for whatever reason
After Elgin, he missed chance after chance in the League Cup and the worst of the lot away at St Mirren. Service wasn’t always the issue it was made out to be. There were loads of things adding up, be it the manager, the tactics, the way the game is played but he was a big part of it as well. Sometimes it just doesn’t work for certain players at certain places.
Be interesting to see if he can keep his form going this year. I hope he does as it will be of benefit to us.
21-09-2024, 12:59 PM
This is completely untrue. He missed a lot of good chances. And he was never once played as anything other than striker.
Cabbage-Patch
21-09-2024, 01:02 PM
This is completely untrue. He missed a lot of good chances. And he was never once played as anything other than striker.
He was played so deep by Montgomery he was ineffectual as a striker. He was a predator when he came and like I say seems to have refound some of that form. He was banging them In before us and is now banging them in a far superior league. That suggests the problem lies with the club/coaching and not entirely on the player
21-09-2024, 01:04 PM
He was played so deep by Montgomery he was ineffectual as a striker. He is was a predator when he came and like I say seems to have refound some of that form. He was banging them In before us and is now banging them in a far superior league. That suggests the problem lies with the club and not entirely on the player
He started well at us then faded badly. Let's see if he can keep his form up where he is now, I'm sceptical to be honest, but I hope for our sake he does.
21-09-2024, 01:08 PM
He was played so deep by Montgomery he was ineffectual as a striker. He was a predator when he came and like I say seems to have refound some of that form. He was banging them In before us and is now banging them in a far superior league. That suggests the problem lies with the club/coaching and not entirely on the player
No. Its not entirely on the player. But he had his chance under a different manager this season, playing right up top, and missed loads of chances.
K-Zazu
21-09-2024, 01:12 PM
Our league is too physical for him, it was exactly the same with Melkersen.
Absolutely spot on, some of the criticism of him on here is laughable.
21-09-2024, 01:51 PM
Whether he was a good player for us or not, it’s brilliant to see he has found his scoring ability again in what is one of Europe’s top leagues.
Either we will get a player back with lots of confidence and quality or we will sell him for a great fee - win-win and well done DV.
Whether he was a good player for us or not, it’s brilliant to see he has found his scoring ability again in what is one of Europe’s top leagues.
Either we will get a player back with lots of confidence and quality or we will sell him for a great fee - win-win and well done DV.
This is where I am. If i was a betting man, assuming he continues to do well he will be sold for a big fee.
Cabbage-Patch
21-09-2024, 01:59 PM
This is where I am. If i was a betting man, assuming he continues to do well he will be sold for a big fee.
Agree and is pretty much where I am but would rather he was banging them In for us and then sold for a great fee but such is life
21-09-2024, 02:11 PM
I just don’t think we were ever going to create the sort of chance he’s best at taking.
Watching that goal last night -I don’t think we even attempt that ball through to him, let alone execute it properly.
Some of the chances he had were very good chances (St Mirren, header against QP) but feeding off crosses maybe just isn’t his thing?
I honestly just don’t think he’ll find himself up against defences who leave enough space for him to get in behind in Scotland and is simply more suited to football elsewhere, even if the defenders he’s up against are technically “better”.
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2024, 02:32 PM
I don’t agree that he was played properly , he done a good job keeping McGregor quiet in a game we played them who's a midfielder and was regularly seen deep in midfield like a 10 , months he was played deep and like all strikers when they aren’t scoring their confidence properly suffers .
21-09-2024, 02:43 PM
I don’t agree that he was played properly , he done a good job keeping McGregor quiet in a game we played them who's a midfielder and was regularly seen deep in midfield like a 10 , months he was played deep and like all strikers when they aren’t scoring their confidence properly suffers .
He wasn't played deep, he was asked to track back. Perfectly normal. He was not scoring regardless. He wasn't creating anything for himself. He wasn't scoring out of nothing. He wasn't testing the keeper. Le Fondre was offering much better performances when he was fit imo.
And again, none of this explains his poor displays this season.
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2024, 02:56 PM
He wasn't played deep, he was asked to track back. Perfectly normal. He was not scoring regardless. He wasn't creating anything for himself. He wasn't scoring out of nothing. He wasn't testing the keeper. Le Fondre was offering much better performances when he was fit imo.
And again, none of this explains his poor displays this season.
That’s what’s happening to Shankland according to their fans as well in he’s dropping to deep which is why he’s not scoring .
Kris Boyd when playing would be ineffective dropping deep too , certain types of strikers like these and Vente become less productive and their form / confidence suffers because of it ….
Doesn’t explain why he was poor for us though it is possible that it was part of why it didn’t work out for him at us and why he’s now banging in the goals again.
21-09-2024, 03:08 PM
That’s what’s happening to Shankland according to their fans as well in he’s dropping to deep which is why he’s not scoring .
Kris Boyd when playing would be ineffective dropping deep too , certain types of strikers like these and Vente become less productive and their form / confidence suffers because of it ….
Doesn’t explain why he was poor for us though it is possible that it was part of why it didn’t work out for him at us and why he’s now banging in the goals again.
Kris Boyd would still create chances, hold the ball up, threaten the goal, battle defenders on his worst day. Vente done none of that.
Shankland has had a poor start. Not a poor season. I'm sure he'll be scoring soon.
I've already said it wasn't entirely his fault. But far too many excuses being made. He was just in poor form for most of his time here, simple as.
Stairway 2 7
21-09-2024, 03:15 PM
Kris Boyd would still create chances, hold the ball up, threaten the goal, battle defenders on his worst day. Vente done none of that.
Shankland has had a poor start. Not a poor season. I'm sure he'll be scoring soon.
I've already said it wasn't entirely his fault. But far too many excuses being made. He was just in poor form for most of his time here, simple as.
Nah too things can be right. He was in poor form but the team being piss poor and him having to collect deep due to no real attacking centre midfielder. From your reading your posts your not down for compromise or nuance. I'll not call your opinion stupid like you do with others but I'd say there is room for give and take of opinion on the subject
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2024, 03:21 PM
Boyd wouldn’t threaten the goal if he was playing as deep as Vente was because it would take him to long to get into the box and even if he did he’d probably be to knackered …
agree his form was poor which could have been due to a number of reasons like not suited to the Scottish game , homesick or maybe partially down to playing him were it didn’t suit or help.
Was their one player that improved greatly under Monty’s short reign? …
21-09-2024, 03:31 PM
Couldn't agree more. 👍
21-09-2024, 03:50 PM
Ive said it before, hes a quality player playing in a complete and utter pi5h team that couldnt supply him the ball, especially when hes an out and out striker,yes he missed a couple of sitters as most forwards do but to be fair to him he probably didnt expect any decent chances from this team, hes a good striker and will go on to better things, we screwed him up,hes not bad.
21-09-2024, 05:25 PM
Nah too things can be right. He was in poor form but the team being piss poor and him having to collect deep due to no real attacking centre midfielder. From your reading your posts your not down for compromise or nuance. I'll not call your opinion stupid like you do with others but I'd say there is room for give and take of opinion on the subject
I've literally said half a dozen times now it wasn't entirely his fault. I strongly recommend reading my posts before responding to them. Will stop you looking so silly.
21-09-2024, 05:28 PM
Boyd wouldn’t threaten the goal if he was playing as deep as Vente was because it would take him to long to get into the box and even if he did he’d probably be to knackered …
agree his form was poor which could have been due to a number of reasons like not suited to the Scottish game , homesick or maybe partially down to playing him were it didn’t suit or help.
Was their one player that improved greatly under Monty’s short reign? …
Oh boyd certainly would. Scored all kinds of goals, even when fat and slow.
Good players still impact a game in slightly different roles. Weeks were going by without Vente doing anything of note.
Stairway 2 7
21-09-2024, 05:51 PM
I've literally said half a dozen times now it wasn't entirely his fault. I strongly recommend reading my posts before responding to them. Will stop you looking so silly.
You've emphasised it being his fault massively in a bizarre manner I'm not sure why you care so much in something quite trivial in the scheme of things. You're constant calling people stupid and silly on here screams insecurity. Treat your fellow hibbys as you would an Arsenal player perhaps
21-09-2024, 05:55 PM
You've emphasised it being his fault massively in a bizarre manner I'm not sure why you care so much in something quite trivial in the scheme of things. You're constant calling people stupid and silly on here screams insecurity. Treat your fellow hibbys as you would an Arsenal player perhaps
Don't know where to start with this rubbish.
It is his fault massively. It's him who was in poor form. It's mostly his fault. Some of the misses were shocking.
Find me 5 instances of me calling people stupid. If it's constant you'll manage that I'd say?
Bizarre comment about Arsenal. Just a weird post. Why have you taken this thread off topic? Time to grow up I think.
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2024, 06:02 PM
Oh boyd certainly would. Scored all kinds of goals, even when fat and slow.
Good players still impact a game in slightly different roles. Weeks were going by without Vente doing anything of note.
Boyd wouldn’t have coming from deep midfield simply because of what your saying in he was fat and slow , exactly the same thing is happening to Shankland at the mo because he’s dropping deep , he hasn’t the pace to play like that .
Weeks are going by without Shankland doing anything of note either , maybe if they played him further up and provided better service he would start scoring again though hopefully his confidence is low like Vente’s probably was too.
It was said a few times on here that Vente wasn’t blessed with speed either which also didn’t suit him playing that sort of role . Some players aren’t suited to certain positions or roles and Vente did mention this after Monty was sacked. Another player who didn’t play well till he was moved and also said he prefers where he is now playing is Triantis .
When you look back on it now there were very few players that improved under Monty including Vente .
Stairway 2 7
21-09-2024, 06:07 PM
Don't know where to start with this rubbish.
It is his fault massively. It's him who was in poor form. It's mostly his fault. Some of the misses were shocking.
Find me 5 instances of me calling people stupid. If it's constant you'll manage that I'd say?
Bizarre comment about Arsenal. Just a weird post. Why have you taken this thread off topic? Time to grow up I think.
I'm not searching through your posts but I laughed at you for calling someone who had a valid opinion stupid just this week, my post made me look silly according to Mr fitba knowledge. That's more in a week than most do in a years, you be in though lad
21-09-2024, 06:53 PM
I'm not searching through your posts but I laughed at you for calling someone who had a valid opinion stupid just this week, my post made me look silly according to Mr fitba knowledge. That's more in a week than most do in a years, you be in though lad
Thought so.