View Full Version : Block 7 (again)
04-08-2024, 09:04 PM
What is a shame is the opportunity and support they are getting from the club should have went to Since 1875 and some of the other groups that popped up over the years. Groups who actually supported the club and did great stuff.
100%
They’ll behave however they want (and I pity anyone who’s moved to the standing section as I suspect they’ll take as much space as they feel like), no doubt with Kensell clapping and cheerleading for them
I doubt anyone else has bought tickets for the standing sections … most likely because of this bunch
04-08-2024, 09:20 PM
****my wee neds who are ruining the reputation of our club. Ban every one of the pricks.
LunasBoots
05-08-2024, 12:52 AM
Just seen the video, how embarrassing, this group should be banned.
skankomcphee
05-08-2024, 04:37 AM
Boycott? :faf:
The very next game they were selling magazines for the club. They seem to have a very cosy arrangement going on.
This, and demanding protection from stewards after the Groningen match: clearly the most Establishment group of Ultras you’ll ever find.
CL0762
05-08-2024, 07:11 AM
At 3-0, the security guy and one of the older B7 guys (not Fagin) were having a cosy chat at the opposite corner from where they were situated. Looked all pally and smiling with each other before the B7 guy returned to clearly relay a message to the Fagin character. Why the **** are club officials entertaining these clowns?
The security boy is hopeless as well.
Stood and watched from the safety behind the horses at the last game of 22/23 season at Tynecastle (Nisbet free kick).
Stands there going “ah know ah know it’s bad” when as the head of security he would’ve had a level of input in how the fans approach the stadium.
Contador
05-08-2024, 07:46 AM
With the dafties they obviously look up to at the other end of the stadium they'll think they've got the best mirror in the world.
Wonder if we should invite their cosy CEO pal to stand with them for key away fixtures? You know, so as there's no excuses. I mean at Pittodrie last season he came up to folk in the rows behind them to apologise in advance for B7 being in the vicinity - but then didn't hang around.
They are the least inclusive incarnation of our various "singing sections" - they have done a spectacular job of alienating an incredibly loyal away support.
Today was the latest chapter.
This is spot on. To the majority of Scottish football fans these 'Ultra's groups/signing section is all a bit cringe and faking other European football cultures. It has however took off at the majority of clubs in the country, but in order to do so you have to gain the support of the wider fanbase. This Block 7 lot haven't grasped that and instead it has gone the other way in that they have alienated themselves to the point its probably unrecoverable.
I don't think we'll see any issues at home games, but its not going to go away away from home. Scenes like yesterday will just put fans off going, particularly those with kids and elderly fans.
05-08-2024, 07:48 AM
We're reaching the inevitable singularity where a large enough group of the rest of the support have had enough of the provocation and we have an in-stand fight on our hands.
05-08-2024, 08:50 AM
We're reaching the inevitable singularity where a large enough group of the rest of the support have had enough of the provocation and we have an in-stand fight on our hands.
It's coming. As others have mentioned, they think they own the new standing section and it's theirs. Get a few guys in there who disagree and watch the fall out.
LewysGot2
05-08-2024, 09:56 AM
It's coming. As others have mentioned, they think they own the new standing section and it's theirs. Get a few guys in there who disagree and watch the fall out.
My bet is on it happening away from home where they are displacing other fans, threatening them and they are likely to trigger someone less passive than of late and it will go Pete tong. Ordinary decent Hibs fans have been saying this for over a year and nothing has changed. It is getting worse.
The waste of money doing up the FFL is going to be shown for what it is. Nobody else wants associated with these kids and their Grandad
Just seen the video, how embarrassing, this group should be banned.
So have I, not a good look got Hibernian FC
05-08-2024, 11:43 AM
After their fight outside the ground, they ran under the bridge to their bus. All with their faces hidden. It was cringy AF. A few fans shouted at them. One of B7 kids shouted back 'welcome to the new generation' :faf: Fagin came up the rear....obviously unable to keep up with his teenage pals.
mcohibs
05-08-2024, 11:52 AM
Amazed it hasn’t happened already.
LewysGot2
05-08-2024, 11:55 AM
After their fight outside the ground, they ran under the bridge to their bus. All with their faces hidden. It was cringy AF. A few fans shouted at them. One of B7 kids shouted back 'welcome to the new generation' :faf: Fagin came up the rear....obviously unable to keep up with his teenage pals.
The Hingers Oan Bus
05-08-2024, 12:01 PM
Whether or not this will affect their Tynecastle allocation that’s put aside for them will remain to be seen.
05-08-2024, 12:02 PM
Whether or not this will affect their Tynecastle allocation that’s put aside for them will remain to be seen.
Will probably be increased
LewysGot2
05-08-2024, 12:02 PM
You mean their Olympic Marseille ultras allocation for Tynecastle surely...
05-08-2024, 12:05 PM
Will probably be increased
You mean their Olympic Marseille ultras allocation for Tynecastle surely...
Of course - *and guests.
Fagin might have to be invited to ER by Ben for tea and scones to smooth things over.
05-08-2024, 12:13 PM
There have been gangs of hooligans attached to Hibs for as long as I can remember and what I thought was great about the "Since 1875" group and the other pre Block 7 groups was how they were all about creating and enhancing the atmosphere and not the slightest bit interested in fighting. These B7 characters are just neds and nothing like their predecessors however much they talk about creating the atmosphere.
Kensells accommodating them and encouraging them is embarrassing. Imagine Tom Hart marching up Leith Walk with the YLT or Dougie Cromb travelling on the train with the CCS! Kensells pathetic behaviour sums up the man for me.
woodythehibee
05-08-2024, 12:18 PM
My bet is on it happening away from home where they are displacing other fans, threatening them and they are likely to trigger someone less passive than of late and it will go Pete tong. Ordinary decent Hibs fans have been saying this for over a year and nothing has changed. It is getting worse.
The waste of money doing up the FFL is going to be shown for what it is. Nobody else wants associated with these kids and their Grandad
It's a joke. We had to find new seats yesterday as others were in our seats due to Block 7 taking over. They were much older guys with walking sticks & we weren't going to ask them to move on to get our seats back.
The Hibs security boy is miles out his depth. Does nothing to stop the behaviour that happens at every away game for the last couple of years. He was actually defending them after the game when walking through the car park speaking to some fans. It's damaging to the club's reputation & pushing fans away from attending games due to the behaviour and trouble they cause inside & outside the stadium. Ban the lot of them. Only a matter of time before "normal" fans unintentionally get caught up in the drama.
Hibiza
05-08-2024, 12:19 PM
We've all been young once
05-08-2024, 12:20 PM
We've not all been twats though
05-08-2024, 12:24 PM
There have been gangs of hooligans attached to Hibs for as long as I can remember and what I thought was great about the "Since 1875" group and the other pre Block 7 groups was how they were all about creating and enhancing the atmosphere and not the slightest bit interested in fighting. These B7 characters are just neds and nothing like their predecessors however much they talk about creating the atmosphere.
Kensells accommodating them and encouraging them is embarrassing. Imagine Tom Hart marching up Leith Walk with the YLT or Dougie Cromb travelling on the train with the CCS! Kensells pathetic behaviour sums up the man for me.
Petrie was and still is the ringleader for the CCS :greengrin
05-08-2024, 12:31 PM
I remember being young once and watching European games on TV and hearing nothing from the crowd but a DUN DUN DUN DUN DUN DUN of some drum and barely audible chants that never changed in intensity regardless of how the game was going, and thinking "thank **** we don't have that here".
Oh well.
05-08-2024, 01:46 PM
Fancy causing trouble at at St Mirren game ffs. Get them so far tae
05-08-2024, 02:36 PM
Kensell was on the lash with them in Blackpool (allegedly).
05-08-2024, 03:31 PM
Kensell was on the lash with them in Blackpool (allegedly).
Was that like when you told everyone he was at the Murrayfield game?
05-08-2024, 03:47 PM
Numptys, used to enjoy them when they first arrived on the scene, and the Hibs class YouTube videos are always a good watch, lost count how many times now over the past few seasons they have caused some sort of incident.
Hibs class has told me he wouldn't be attending as many games, not sure the reason why.
MelbourneHibees
05-08-2024, 03:53 PM
School Holidays have a lot to answer for.
Norrieg
05-08-2024, 03:54 PM
The whole reason for not going to away games any more. Don't need the hassle and agro from them. Absolute ********s.:confused::confused::confused:
TelaStella
05-08-2024, 04:24 PM
Up there for surely being some of the worst “ultras” in the country, which btw for Scotland is a tough acclaim.
Cut and paste symbolism from ultras.com, chored name from another group in Greece and every tifo they’ve ever been behind has been an embarrassment, each one being even less imaginative than the previous and then there’s the ones that have been an outright ****ing disaster like the HFC display against rangers.
Cant seem to chant a normal Hibs song the rest of us have been singing all our lives, some for 50+ plus years. Instead they subject all of us to the sound of a drum, some song only they’ll usually mimicking an occasional allez allez allez you hear at every single other ground up and down the UK and beyond.
Dress like ****ing tramps and that’s before you get to the balaclavas. People all over Scotland see them and think “thats a Hibs fan” f that, what an embarrassment. Seen them run and hide at previous games and heard of many more occasions too. Yet they have the cheek to actually think they’re something special. What a laugh eh. Sooner they’re leathered out of existence the better, by hibees or whoever.
05-08-2024, 04:48 PM
Was that like when you told everyone he was at the Murrayfield game?
No, it was when we sent our reserves down for a kick about. He was at Murrayfield when we played Kelty.
05-08-2024, 05:15 PM
Up there for surely being some of the worst “ultras” in the country, which btw for Scotland is a tough acclaim.
Cut and paste symbolism from ultras.com, chored name from another group in Greece and every tifo they’ve ever been behind has been an embarrassment, each one being even less imaginative than the previous and then there’s the ones that have been an outright ****ing disaster like the HFC display against rangers.
Cant seem to chant a normal Hibs song the rest of us have been singing all our lives, some for 50+ plus years. Instead they subject all of us to the sound of a drum, some song only they’ll usually mimicking an occasional allez allez allez you hear at every single other ground up and down the UK and beyond.
Dress like ****ing tramps and that’s before you get to the balaclavas. People all over Scotland see them and think “thats a Hibs fan” f that, what an embarrassment. Seen them run and hide at previous games and heard of many more occasions too. Yet they have the cheek to actually think they’re something special. What a laugh eh. Sooner they’re leathered out of existence the better, by hibees or whoever.
100% agree with every word. They are utterly embarrassing.
The worst part is their wee generals giving out the orders, standing on the seats with their back to the pitch to start the next dreadful chant.
Straight into the ground and within 30 seconds putting their stickers all over the place.
I'm not saying they are all virgins, but if I was trying to prove I wasn't a virgin, its not the way I personally would go about it.
05-08-2024, 05:19 PM
Top post, agree completely. Cannot stand that ****ing drum.
mcohibs
05-08-2024, 05:24 PM
Aye remember when we were all young and would make stickers mocking stadium disasters. Oh to be young again.
B7 have been a cringefest since day one and need ousted from the club. Where’s their da’s btw? Must be hibbies in their fourties? If they’re coming to games and seeing that sort of behaviour you’d reckon they’d have a word to say grow up son.
MountcastleHibs
05-08-2024, 06:35 PM
So have I, not a good look got Hibernian FC
Exactly what I said to the suited security guy when they were all fighting, or rather running away from fighting. They were chanting about Hibs - I don’t want my club associated with that lot. They’re no supporters of our club.
IFONLY
05-08-2024, 06:46 PM
What a very adult response
05-08-2024, 07:38 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/balaclava-clad-ultras-spark-shocking-33396777
Well done. you bunch of twats.
#bantheultras
05-08-2024, 08:24 PM
That should be enough to seen them have their Sts and Hibs first memberships cancelled.
sauzee1989
05-08-2024, 08:28 PM
And the songs they sing are ***** too! Better atmosphere without them
06-08-2024, 08:02 AM
Exactly what I said to the suited security guy when they were all fighting, or rather running away from fighting. They were chanting about Hibs - I don’t want my club associated with that lot. They’re no supporters of our club.
What was the response from the suited guy?
06-08-2024, 08:15 AM
That should be enough to seen them have their Sts and Hibs first memberships cancelled.
Yup. Ban them before supporters take matters into their own hands.
Can be guaranteed if someone does get into with them, the someone won’t be treated the same way B7 constantly are
06-08-2024, 08:36 AM
Up there for surely being some of the worst “ultras” in the country, which btw for Scotland is a tough acclaim. Cut and paste symbolism from ultras.com, chored name from another group in Greece and every tifo they’ve ever been behind has been an embarrassment, each one being even less imaginative than the previous and then there’s the ones that have been an outright ****ing disaster like the HFC display against rangers. Cant seem to chant a normal Hibs song the rest of us have been singing all our lives, some for 50+ plus years. Instead they subject all of us to the sound of a drum, some song only they’ll usually mimicking an occasional allez allez allez you hear at every single other ground up and down the UK and beyond. Dress like ****ing tramps and that’s before you get to the balaclavas. People all over Scotland see them and think “thats a Hibs fan” f that, what an embarrassment. Seen them run and hide at previous games and heard of many more occasions too. Yet they have the cheek to actually think they’re something special. What a laugh eh. Sooner they’re leathered out of existence the better, by hibees or whoever. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼
MountcastleHibs
06-08-2024, 08:41 AM
What was the response from the suited guy?
He may as well have just shrugged his shoulders. He didn’t say anything in response.
My pal told him we’d been moved out of our seats. His response to that was “that shouldn’t happen. They are all members of that Hibs First.”
06-08-2024, 10:24 AM
He may as well have just shrugged his shoulders. He didn’t say anything in response.My pal told him we’d been moved out of our seats. His response to that was “that shouldn’t happen. They are all members of that Hibs First.”I'm not having that, no danger they are all Hibs first.
MountcastleHibs
06-08-2024, 10:39 AM
I'm not having that, no danger they are all Hibs first.
We didn’t buy it either.
Donnchadh1875
06-08-2024, 10:45 AM
[QUOTE=TelaStella;7730312]Up there for surely being some of the worst “ultras” in the country, which btw for Scotland is a tough acclaim. Cut and paste symbolism from ultras.com, chored name from another group in Greece and every tifo they’ve ever been behind has been an embarrassment, each one being even less imaginative than the previous and then there’s the ones that have been an outright ****ing disaster like the HFC display against rangers. Cant seem to chant a normal Hibs song the rest of us have been singing all our lives, some for 50+ plus years. Instead they subject all of us to the sound of a drum, some song only they’ll usually mimicking an occasional allez allez allez you hear at every single other ground up and down the UK and beyond. Dress like ****ing tramps and that’s before you get to the balaclavas. People all over Scotland see them and think “thats a Hibs fan” f that, what an embarrassment. Seen them run and hide at previous games and heard of many more occasions too. Yet they have the cheek to actually think they’re something special. What a laugh eh. Sooner they’re leathered out of existence the better, by hibees or whoever. I agree. But if we had sold out at that end all the time, in the end we wouldn't be there. The club is just trying to make money. The idea of an "ultra" group isn't a bad idea if they are making a noise and supporting the team. If the banging of a drum is annoying to some people, then maybe a football stadium isn't for you. In my opinion, that's where you want them behind the goals making noise. Hibs are just trying to create an atmosphere.I do agree with you, I find it cringe worthy the way they're dressed. All dressed in black? I don't understand it, but it's not a fashion show, but this behaviour isn't just being displayed at ER. I saw a picture online last season where there were Hearts supporters walking down Montgomery Street all dressed in black hoods, balaclavas with the caption Hearts on the lookout for Hibs. FFS really! They'd most likely start with an old punter on his own and then start pavement dancing with anyone that stood up to them. Have a look online and it's mainly with one little steward in between rival groups or a small fence. It's embarrassing full stop. As long as these guys behave themselves, then there's no problem. It seems you have been asked to move to make way for them and that is a shame if you have been there for a while, but wanting fellow Hibs fans to be "leathered out of existence the better, by hibees or whoever" is a bit much.
06-08-2024, 10:57 AM
He may as well have just shrugged his shoulders. He didn’t say anything in response.
My pal told him we’d been moved out of our seats. His response to that was “that shouldn’t happen. They are all members of that Hibs First.”
I'm not having a go at the guy in question because I'm not sure what his remit is. However I've seen countless people complain to him about being forced out their seats at away games or about other aggressive behaviour and nothing gets done. Likewise I have seen him standing watching the shambolic scenes outside the ground before derbies at Tynecastle and nothing ever seems to change there, the police are as disorganised as ever whenever we go there despite repeated complaints about the uncomfortable kettling that takes place.
Maybe he is just an observer in place in case we need to refute any allegations from the home team or something.
It's a joke. We had to find new seats yesterday as others were in our seats due to Block 7 taking over. They were much older guys with walking sticks & we weren't going to ask them to move on to get our seats back.
The Hibs security boy is miles out his depth. Does nothing to stop the behaviour that happens at every away game for the last couple of years. He was actually defending them after the game when walking through the car park speaking to some fans. It's damaging to the club's reputation & pushing fans away from attending games due to the behaviour and trouble they cause inside & outside the stadium. Ban the lot of them. Only a matter of time before "normal" fans unintentionally get caught up in the drama.
Tbh it’s not the job of the Hibs security or Safety officer to do anything. They are only there to observe. This was an event at St Mirren and therefore it’s their responsibility to deal with any issues.
What I will say is I would like to think that Stephen Hazlett our safety officer and former Police Scotland Superintendent has been in contact (or was there monitoring) will report back the actions of these idiots and take measures to identify and subsequently ban them. I won’t hold my breath.
PHeffernan
09-08-2024, 12:20 AM
Tbh it’s not the job of the Hibs security or Safety officer to do anything. They are only there to observe. This was an event at St Mirren and therefore it’s their responsibility to deal with any issues.
What I will say is I would like to think that Stephen Hazlett our safety officer and former Police Scotland Superintendent has been in contact (or was there monitoring) will report back the actions of these idiots and take measures to identify and subsequently ban them. I won’t hold my breath.
If he is a retired Superintendent the best you can hope for is him organising a meeting about it and then writing a paper about his findings. A desk jockey who won't have done anything about anything real in 20 years. An expert in delegation and looking effective.
Chorley Hibee
09-08-2024, 08:09 AM
Complete silence from Hibs on this matter it seems.
Not a good look.
09-08-2024, 08:33 AM
Complete silence from Hibs on this matter it seems.
Not a good look.
But not a surprise. The club don't give a toss.
SON OF PADDY
09-08-2024, 08:48 AM
This ⬆️ 👏🏻 👏🏻 👏🏻
TrinityHFC
09-08-2024, 09:29 AM
But not a surprise. The club don't give a toss.
What clubs normally comment on stuff outside the ground?
09-08-2024, 09:37 AM
How many CEO’s get involved with fuds like Block 7, publicly sip a bottle of Stella with them and grant privileges not afforded to other fan groups?
Our club hierarchy should be responding to the concerns that are raised by fans every away game.
AngloHibs
09-08-2024, 09:43 AM
To be fair, this is what Hearts said and did a few years ago when their 'young team' was causing problems. Should we be doing similar?
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-match-reports/hearts-young-team-yobs-banned-6801525
MountcastleHibs
09-08-2024, 10:06 AM
To be fair, this is what Hearts said and did a few years ago when their 'young team' was causing problems. Should we be doing similar?
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-match-reports/hearts-young-team-yobs-banned-6801525
The thing is Hearts dealt with their idiots the minute they raised their heads and by and large, it seems to have stopped them from being anything more than a decent backing for their side.
Our hierarchy embraced our lot and the result is what we are seeing.
09-08-2024, 10:56 AM
The thing is Hearts dealt with their idiots the minute they raised their heads and by and large, it seems to have stopped them from being anything more than a decent backing for their side.
Our hierarchy embraced our lot and the result is what we are seeing.We've let it run too long, my friend was at Paisley with his daughter and he is convinced they are at risk of being the cause of some Hibs fans having a right go at other Hibs fans.
The hierarchy do seem to be a bit indulgent of this very small group if all I'm reading here is right.
09-08-2024, 11:53 AM
We've let it run too long, my friend was at Paisley with his daughter and he is convinced they are at risk of being the cause of some Hibs fans having a right go at other Hibs fans.
The hierarchy do seem to be a bit indulgent of this very small group if all I'm reading here is right.
It will eventually kick off between them and normal Hibs fans at an away ground, that is where the problems are arising, wouldn’t surprise me if it kicks off at Tynie
Chorley Hibee
09-08-2024, 12:06 PM
There is a group of fans actively causing trouble, as was seen last Sunday, at most away games.
These fans are known to the club, and the club has the details of all involved, so why aren't they acting upon it?
This group of fans is now turning fellow Hibs fans away from attending games on the road.
Yet, somehow, all they seem to get is a pat on the back and a link to privileges not available to the rest of us.
The club should be commenting upon their behaviour, and more than that, they should be acting upon it.
MountcastleHibs
09-08-2024, 03:35 PM
There is a group of fans actively causing trouble, as was seen last Sunday, at most away games.
These fans are known to the club, and the club has the details of all involved, so why aren't they acting upon it?
This group of fans is now turning fellow Hibs fans away from attending games on the road.
Yet, somehow, all they seem to get is a pat on the back and a link to privileges not available to the rest of us.
The club should be commenting upon their behaviour, and more than that, they should be acting upon it.
From what I saw on Sunday, they were pointing to the St Mirren ultras to “meet” them outside the ground. So in a sense, it was also organised fighting and not just spur of the moment.
Davy Mac
09-08-2024, 11:43 PM
It will eventually kick off between them and normal Hibs fans at an away ground, that is where the problems are arising, wouldn’t surprise me if it kicks off at Tynie
Agreed, we've seen all before in our lifetime silverhibee, it'll sort it itself eventually.
Agreed
It’s manifested itself to the point where it needs addressed and if the club cannot see it they’ll sit up and take notice when it’s splashed all over the media and then it’s too late.
It’s really not that difficult to identify them do Ben and co time to step up.
10-08-2024, 03:55 PM
Has the Block 7 graffiti been on the wall opposite the FF stand been there long?
It’s the Albion Place flats wall.
Just noticed it today.
Bridge hibs
10-08-2024, 04:25 PM
Has the Block 7 graffiti been on the wall opposite the FF stand long ?
Just noticed it today.
Did you take pics ?
10-08-2024, 04:40 PM
Has the Block 7 graffiti been on the wall opposite the FF stand been there long?
It’s the Albion Place flats wall.
Just noticed it today.
On the cemetery wall? 😳
10-08-2024, 04:47 PM
On the cemetery wall? 😳
No the side wall.
10-08-2024, 09:24 PM
10-08-2024, 10:22 PM
Those damn artistic hangers on
11-08-2024, 06:38 AM
Hope Hibs end up with the bill for scrubbing that ***** off the wall
I wonder how the first use of safe standing will work out today. I hope there isn’t a flashpoint or controversial decision at that end of the ground.
However, maybe it will take something like that for hibs to waken up to the damage being caused by these idiots
11-08-2024, 09:26 AM
Hope Hibs end up with the bill for scrubbing that ***** off the wall
Why Hibs? Get their mate Kensell to pay for it.
snedzuk
11-08-2024, 10:51 AM
Is that a *****y.
11-08-2024, 11:18 AM
Hmmm, graffiti is everywhere so not gonna get worked up about that.
For all we know, that could be a Banksy 'artwork'. 😉
11-08-2024, 11:43 AM
The request for large flags not to be flown during game and obscuring view of others has fell on deaf ears.
11-08-2024, 11:43 AM
The request for large flags not to be flown during game and obscuring view of others has fell on deaf ears.
Is one a French team flag?
11-08-2024, 11:45 AM
Does look pretty good behind the goals to be fair. A big improvement on previous years.
11-08-2024, 11:53 AM
Does look pretty good behind the goals to be fair. A big improvement on previous years.
Who's the wee group in the bottom right hand corner?
Should thank them for not being able to watch
Helensburghhibs
11-08-2024, 11:56 AM
Told to put them down directly by club security. Swiftly told him to **** off. Think they run the show and the club has allowed it to happen
11-08-2024, 12:38 PM
Those flags are a pain in the arse. Can't see the goals from the FF upper because of them. Admittedly unlikely to be an issue this half.
And why the **** do we have a Marseille flag? Football hipster bull****.
11-08-2024, 12:51 PM
I think it looks good on TV. Well done block seven.
Helensburghhibs
11-08-2024, 01:17 PM
Those flags are a pain in the arse. Can't see the goals from the FF upper because of them. Admittedly unlikely to be an issue this half.
It's bull**** mate. Hopefully we can all bombard a single email address at the club with complaints. They were told at half time to keep them down and it's been ten times worse
They don’t give a toss, totally enabled by a CEO who’s more interested in being their pal, never mind all the other thousands of fans that B7 piss off
11-08-2024, 01:30 PM
The Marseille link is weird - I know they have gone to visit them etc but not exactly the club that would want to be associated with and their fan history.
11-08-2024, 01:34 PM
Give me the email address/
tonyrougier123
11-08-2024, 01:35 PM
To grow, this lot are really going to need to improve. Absolutely no idea what they are singing most of the time. Marseille can someone explain this?
11-08-2024, 01:41 PM
I think it looks good on TV. Well done block seven.
The flag thing is clearly an issue, but apart from that the FF looked and sounded the best it had for years.
11-08-2024, 01:47 PM
I hope they learn from the green and white army chant. Got the whole ground going. Other than that I haven't clue what they were singing and that doesn't make for a full stadium singing. The long flags do need to go though, I'm in FF upper front row and couldn't see some of the pitch for them
11-08-2024, 01:49 PM
The flag thing is clearly an issue, but apart from that the FF looked and sounded the best it had for years.
I think sitting in the East they looked good and made some decent noise.
Just shame we can’t get more songs that others can join in etc.
Weird to see some fans sitting in the standing sections. It’s like they have just kept their seats and will seat down all season.
Reckon it will be a great atmosphere for the derby.
Also noticed the fancy black seats at the back - anyone know anything about them?
11-08-2024, 01:51 PM
Can we pay for a chartered one way flight for them to Marseille?
11-08-2024, 02:12 PM
Yeah clearly that needs sorted, but agree, best it's looked in years. Will be cracking for the derby.. if only the team on the park was as enthusiastic!
11-08-2024, 02:17 PM
There's things to be ironed out clearly but I don't think anyone can say it didn't look much better and added to the atmosphere. One positive for today.
11-08-2024, 02:22 PM
There's things to be ironed out clearly but I don't think anyone can say it didn't look much better and added to the atmosphere. One positive for today.
I'd imagine a number of fans in the FF Upper would disagree with you.
11-08-2024, 02:25 PM
Yep.
It looked good on TV or from my spot at the other end of the ground seems a bit of a selfish attitude when a sizable number of fans had no view of one set of goals.
11-08-2024, 02:25 PM
First time I have seen them close at hand as I sit in the FFU.
And with all the cheerleading that gets done (arms in the air, link arms etc!), it immediately made me think of a Olivia Newton John exercise video.
11-08-2024, 02:26 PM
Did it look better rather than loads of empty seats? Did it add to the atmosphere? Undoubtedly yes.
As I said, issues to be ironed out ie the flags. But overall it was a positive to the atmosphere in the ground and how the stadium looked which was we all wanted.
11-08-2024, 02:27 PM
Yep.
It looked good on TV or from my spot at the other end of the ground seems a bit of a selfish attitude when a sizable number of fans had no view of one set of goals.
That's easily solvable though. Flags are not permitted and Hibs actually enforce that.
11-08-2024, 02:31 PM
That's easily solvable though. Flags are not permitted and Hibs actually enforce that.
Well they don't enforce it. Anyone who was at the game today can't argue otherwise. That hopped flag was in evidence throughout last season and flags were regularly flown during the trial games in there last season so today wasn't a one off.
No one really believes the club will do anything about it. They will indulge their were pals as they have done for years now.
11-08-2024, 02:31 PM
Did it look better rather than loads of empty seats? Did it add to the atmosphere? Undoubtedly yes.
As I said, issues to be ironed out ie the flags. But overall it was a positive to the atmosphere in the ground and how the stadium looked which was we all wanted.
Agreed, think it could be a real positive when we are shooting "down the slope" in need of a goal.
11-08-2024, 02:32 PM
It’s possible to think it looked good and also to think that any flags obscuring others views should be shortened.
11-08-2024, 02:33 PM
Well they don't enforce it. Anyone who was at the game today can't argue otherwise. That hopped flag was in evidence throughout last season and flags were regularly flown during the trial games in there last season so today wasn't a one off.
No one really believes the club will do anything about it. They will indulge their were pals as they have done for years now.
They simply have to enforce it going forward.
11-08-2024, 02:36 PM
It's one game. I think it's a bit early to say they don't enforce it.
If we are having the same conversation after the next game then the criticism is justified. It seems to me that some folk were always against the idea, and those that hate block 7 ,and can't admit that overall it looked good and noise wise was good.
hibee
11-08-2024, 02:37 PM
Hibs need to ban the huge flags immediately, I missed both goals today which is ok today but if we’re scoring goals at this end I want to be able to see them, it’s just selfish.
I’m just home so hopefully the sound of the drum ringing in my ears will stop after a couple of painkillers!
11-08-2024, 02:39 PM
It's one game. I think it's a bit early to say they don't enforce it.
If we are having the same conversation after the next game then the criticism is justified. It seems to me that some folk were always against the idea, and those that hate block 7 ,and can't admit that overall it looked good and noise wise was good.
It wasn't one game. I literally just gave examples of other games when it happened.
Some folk are clearly just so in favour of it and love Block7 so much that they are unwilling to hear legitimate concerns. Is that how it works?
11-08-2024, 02:39 PM
It wasn't one game. I literally just gave examples of other games when it happened.
It's the first game of the official opening of the new standing section.
11-08-2024, 02:41 PM
It's pretty easy to be honest. Keep the flags down until Hibs score. 2nd half when we were attacking down the right into the box I couldn't see anything of the action for the stripey flag and a blue and white Marseille flag FFS. It was noisy no doubt but as I said earlier not a clue what they were singing which means I'm unlikely to be abke to join in
11-08-2024, 02:42 PM
Flags need to get tae fek. Barely saw Bowies shot off the bar because of them
Mikey_1875
11-08-2024, 03:06 PM
I thought the Marseille flag and Marseille songs were embarrassing. Standing section the right idea as there was a bit more noise but it’s the wrong group in control of it. If large flags are hampering people in the upper tier then that needs immediately resolved as well.
11-08-2024, 03:09 PM
A white and blue Marseille flag prominently getting flown at a Hibs game, gtf with that pretend gimpy wee love in. It’s honestly embarrassing, ‘please be our friends’
Mad when the Palestine flag in the Celtic end was the least pathetic flag nothing to do with a Hibs Celtic game in Scotland that was on show
11-08-2024, 03:16 PM
A white and blue Marseille flag prominently getting flown at a Hibs game, gtf with that pretend gimpy wee love in. It’s honestly embarrassing, ‘please be out friends’
Ooh friends, football friends 😀
CentreForward
11-08-2024, 03:19 PM
Think on tv it would certainly look better if they were one section to the right of where they are now. The camera doesn’t tend to show that whole section as often so if they were slightly further across it would be more visible.
Also what was that siren sound? You could hear it in short bursts a few times, think mainly in second half.
11-08-2024, 03:22 PM
I thought the Marseille flag and Marseille songs were embarrassing. Standing section the right idea as there was a bit more noise but it’s the wrong group in control of it. If large flags are hampering people in the upper tier then that needs immediately resolved as well.
Did they sing in french?
TrinityHFC
11-08-2024, 03:22 PM
Hibs are presumably facilitating the flags etc. They were allowed to park and unload a car at the back of the FF pre match.
11-08-2024, 03:24 PM
A white and blue Marseille flag prominently getting flown at a Hibs game, gtf with that pretend gimpy wee love in. It’s honestly embarrassing, ‘please be our friends’
Mad when the Palestine flag in the Celtic end was the least pathetic flag nothing to do with a Hibs Celtic game in Scotland that was on show
In fairness to Block 7 at least most of them are wee bairns.
I passed a few Green Brigade guys on Easter Road pre match. Average age about 40 and they were all wearing a paramilitary type uniform😅😅😅😅
I just find the whole thing really weird. Grown men on Twitter arguing about the 'rules' of being an ultra.
11-08-2024, 03:26 PM
The Marseille link is weird - I know they have gone to visit them etc but not exactly the club that would want to be associated with and their fan history.
Ive followed OM as a second team for years, and go to the watch them every season. I love the city. They have a fraternity with Livorno IIRC and definitely AEK Athens which they make a big deal of, but none of the six OM ultra groups seem to have a similar link with Hibs that ive heard of. Sounds abit copy cat like to me. They have incredible tifos and flags pre game (im down for the Nice derby next month which always had good ones), but that and the giant flags disappear at kick off.
Fuzzywuzzy
11-08-2024, 03:27 PM
From what I saw, fans had complained about the flags to the stewards. The head security guy came over and spoke to to the old boy (I know folk said he was old, I didn't realise he was that old. Looks like he's drawing his pension!!). He was asked to take the flags down several times. They were ignored. Boy walked away after telling them they were done
Mikey_1875
11-08-2024, 03:27 PM
Did they sing in french?
There were chants of Allez Allez Marseille so I suppose that qualifies.
Fuzzywuzzy
11-08-2024, 03:28 PM
When the siren was going off on the megaphone part of me was hoping the boy was going to shout "scream if you wanna go faster"
11-08-2024, 03:29 PM
When the siren was going off on the megaphone part of me was hoping the boy was going to shout "scream if you wanna go faster"
My daughter asked if there was a ghost train😅
11-08-2024, 03:30 PM
My daughter asked if it was a ghost train😅
Carnival atmosphere
11-08-2024, 03:31 PM
My daughter asked if there was a ghost train😅
:faf::faf::faf:
HFC93
11-08-2024, 03:37 PM
Waving around a blue and white flag in the Hibs end is incredibly odd behaviour.
11-08-2024, 03:57 PM
The big flags during play will need to be addressed, and I'm sure they will be, its an easy fix. Other than that I thought the standing section went very well, that and the reduction in gulls - presumably thanks to the measures put in place - were the two positives of the day.
11-08-2024, 03:59 PM
The big flags during play will need to be addressed, and I'm sure they will be, its an easy fix. Other than that I thought the standing section went very well, that and the reduction in gulls - presumably thanks to the measures put in place - were the two positives of the day.
The fake eagle or whatever it was certainly did the trick with the seagulls.
11-08-2024, 04:00 PM
If big flags are banned, how'd celtic get theirs in as well? Surely you don't just walk through the turnstiles with them.
11-08-2024, 04:01 PM
The fake eagle or whatever it was certainly did the trick with the seagulls.
Watching the fake hawks rise majestically above South & East stand roofs was a pleasure to watch, not sure if FF & West have them too?
11-08-2024, 04:04 PM
I thought the Marseille flag and Marseille songs were embarrassing. Standing section the right idea as there was a bit more noise but it’s the wrong group in control of it. If large flags are hampering people in the upper tier then that needs immediately resolved as well.I was in the upper tier and they didn't hamper me at all?
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Cabbage-Patch
11-08-2024, 04:08 PM
Absolutely cringe as always from B7. I dont have an issue with the concept and the younger lads trying to create a bit of atmosphere but the grown men in amongst them jumping about with face coverings on and signing songs promoting other clubs should have a word with themselves
11-08-2024, 04:09 PM
I was in the upper tier and they didn't hamper me at all?
How far back? I'm in the front row about in line with the penalty box right hand line and I can assure you it blocked a lot of my view of the other side of the penalty box and right wing
Mikey_1875
11-08-2024, 04:12 PM
Posters earlier in the thread have said it caused an issue for them. I’m in the East so can’t say either way but I wouldn’t be too impressed if I was in that position.
Chorley Hibee
11-08-2024, 04:18 PM
If big flags are banned, how'd celtic get theirs in as well? Surely you don't just walk through the turnstiles with them.
Because Celtic and Rangers fans are policed differently to all other fans in Scotland.
They do as they please.
Look at how many of them moved the covering to sit in seats that were supposedly blocked off.
The police/stewards stood there and watched and done absolutely nothing.
Meanwhile, I'm outside having an argument with the police and a steward about my 4 year old daughter's plastic juice cup.
I wasn't slow to point out the two-tiered policing to the copper present either.
11-08-2024, 04:19 PM
Watching the fake hawks rise majestically above South & East stand roofs was a pleasure to watch, not sure if FF & West have them too?
Can these fake hawks play in midfield?
11-08-2024, 04:21 PM
The fake eagle or whatever it was certainly did the trick with the seagulls.All we need is some fake bigger ultras or someone to go as Casper to scare the current occupants away and all we will have to worry about is getting beat too easily.
11-08-2024, 04:33 PM
Difficult to see the goal from where i sit in ff upper. They could wave them when ball in the other half and lower them when ball in half nearest ff
11-08-2024, 04:34 PM
Posters earlier in the thread have said it caused an issue for them. I’m in the East so can’t say either way but I wouldn’t be too impressed if I was in that position.
Was definitely an issue
11-08-2024, 04:49 PM
Are we now complaining that the designated standing area is too loud/visual for people? We must have got beat today!
Helensburghhibs
11-08-2024, 04:49 PM
Helensburghhibs
11-08-2024, 04:51 PM
Are we now complaining that the designated standing area is too loud/visual for people? We must have got beat today!
Visual? What does that even mean? There's a reason they fly huge flags and that's because they are high enough not to impede their own view of the pitch. The last time I checked flags add nothing to the atmosphere and I'd argue people would more likely get involved if they could see the game and weren't pissed off
11-08-2024, 04:54 PM
The most impressive piece of movement today from anyone that cost Hibs money .
11-08-2024, 05:03 PM
I thought it looked better. But it would be a pain in the arse if you were sitting unable to see a pretty important part of the pitch because of the big flags.
11-08-2024, 05:08 PM
I'm complaining because I couldn't see parts of the game. Particularly annoying when Hibs were attacking.
I had no idea what happened when Bowie hit the bar because a big camp pirate was in the way.
hibee
11-08-2024, 05:11 PM
[email protected]
No point complaining to him, he’s one of them.
YETI1875
11-08-2024, 05:14 PM
Can these fake hawks play in midfield?
Can the hawks make block 7 go away
11-08-2024, 05:24 PM
I'm complaining because I couldn't see parts of the game. Particularly annoying when Hibs were attacking.
I had no idea what happened when Bowie hit the bar because a big camp pirate was in the way.
Why is there a blue pirate flag ? Whats the relevance to Hibs ?
11-08-2024, 05:25 PM
Why is there a blue pirate flag ? Whats the relevance to Hibs ?
It's Marseilles obviously. Catch up, duh! What a boomer.🙄🤣
1875M
11-08-2024, 05:25 PM
Thought the Marseille flag was cringe. As was the boy in blue who spent the whole game looking at his wee band of 15 year olds in black t shirts and pretending he was some sort of orchestra composer.
11-08-2024, 05:27 PM
There was next to no real atmosphere in the whole ground, just two gangs of narcissists drowning the place out with their sterile beats.
nickwhibs
11-08-2024, 05:43 PM
Nothing pathetic about the Palestine flag. Good on them for that. Marseille flag a bit cringe yeah.
Back to the point in hand, hopefully they can sort the issue with the flags obstructing people’s views
11-08-2024, 05:46 PM
Nothing pathetic about the Palestine flag. Good on them for that.
Back to the point in hand, hopefully they can sort the issue with the flags obstructing people’s views
It’s pathetic as **** flying it at a football match between Hibs and Celtic in Scotland but who expects any less from that mob of self righteous look at me look at me fannies
1875M
11-08-2024, 05:47 PM
Nothing pathetic about the Palestine flag. Good on them for that. Marseille flag a bit cringe yeah.
It’s a game of football in Scotland, got nothing to do with it.
nickwhibs
11-08-2024, 06:30 PM
It’s pathetic as **** flying it at a football match between Hibs and Celtic in Scotland but who expects any less from that mob of self righteous look at me look at me fannies
You seem a bit touchy about it. Is it political flags in general or just the Palestine flag you object to? As I’ve mentioned when it was brought up previously, football and politics are not mutually exclusive. I’m all for any show of solidarity with an oppressed people, particularly where our own government are heavily complicit, whether on the street or at the football. Football has a large audience, especially when on tv.
11-08-2024, 06:39 PM
Ive followed OM as a second team for years, and go to the watch them every season. I love the city. They have a fraternity with Livorno IIRC and definitely AEK Athens which they make a big deal of, but none of the six OM ultra groups seem to have a similar link with Hibs that ive heard of. Sounds abit copy cat like to me. They have incredible tifos and flags pre game (im down for the Nice derby next month which always had good ones), but that and the giant flags disappear at kick off.
Marseille fans attacking the Lyon team bus recently not a great look plus all the missiles at home games and having to play behind closed doors.
The ultras at Marseille really don’t have a good reputation.
11-08-2024, 06:44 PM
You seem a bit touchy about it. Is it political flags in general or just the Palestine flag you object to? As I’ve mentioned when it was brought up previously, football and politics are not mutually exclusive. I’m all for any show of solidarity with an oppressed people, particularly where our own government are heavily complicit, whether on the street or at the football. Football has a large audience, especially when on tv.
It's pathetic when the majority couldn't point to Palestine on a map. Do you genuinely think they're doing that at football in support of the Palestine cause? Really?
nickwhibs
11-08-2024, 06:54 PM
It's pathetic when the majority couldn't point to Palestine on a map. Do you genuinely think they're doing that at football in support of the Palestine cause? Really?
Ah that old chest nut. Of course they could point to Palestine - it’s in the news almost every day. As I said, our government our complicit so it is relevant to our country. Yes I do think they are doing it to support the worldwide Palestinian cause. It has already been shared by politicians etc on social media.
11-08-2024, 06:55 PM
Marseille fans attacking the Lyon team bus recently not a great look plus all the missiles at home games and having to play behind closed doors.
The ultras at Marseille really don’t have a good reputation.
It depends on what side you’re on, doesnt it? :greengrin
All big ligue 1 french ultra groups have a violence problem, Marseille are no different. The important thing is that ultra culture is real in Marseille, its genuine, it involves tens of thousands of people making an incredible noise in a stadium three times the size of ER and its REAL, and not an attempt to appropriate someone elses football culture.
11-08-2024, 07:00 PM
Ah that old chest nut. Of course they could point to Palestine - it’s in the news almost every day. As I said, our government our complicit so it is relevant to our country. Yes I do think they are doing it to support the worldwide Palestinian cause. It has already been shared by politicians etc on social media.
Aye, normal for most 20-35 year olds to tune in to the daily news these days right enough. Majority of the soap dodgers won't have a ****ing scooby what's going on. Crazy to think otherwise.
11-08-2024, 07:01 PM
Political flags in general at a football match can gtf as far as I’m concerned, absolutely no place for it. That ok with you?
11-08-2024, 07:02 PM
Can anyone take any flag of whatever cause they support? Would people be within their right to take an anti immigration flag/banner for example?
Football is an escape from the real world for 90 minutes a week. One support, of all colours, faiths, sexual orientation etc united in support for the home team. The other supporting the away team. There’s plenty of other ways to support causes outside of the 90 minutes of football every week.
nickwhibs
11-08-2024, 07:02 PM
Aye, normal for most 20-35 year olds to tune in to the daily news these days right enough. Majority of the soap dodgers won't have a ****ing scooby what's going on. Crazy to think otherwise.
It’s all across social media - that’s where the news is these days.
11-08-2024, 07:04 PM
Give it a rest.
11-08-2024, 07:04 PM
There was next to no real atmosphere in the whole ground, just two gangs of narcissists drowning the place out with their sterile beats.
Pretty much. Was a bit surprised and disappointed that the East did not find its voice now that they have moved across but hopefully it develops overs the season.
PHeffernan
11-08-2024, 07:12 PM
Pretty much. Was a bit surprised and disappointed that the East did not find its voice now that they have moved across but hopefully it develops overs the season.
Two quick goals put our gas at a peep
11-08-2024, 07:21 PM
It’s all across social media - that’s where the news is these days.
Without touching on the rights or wrongs of any flag in particular I always find the suggestion that young football fans are just jumping on a bandwagon and can't actually be informed about current events to be bordering on offensive.
Loads of young folk I know are clued up on what is going on the world. They could certainly point to Palestine on a map. If you really wanted to push it you could argue there is a degree of classism at play. 'Aye all that heavy political stuff isn't for young working class lads who go to the fitba. Stick to the birds and lager boys, that's your level'
andrew70
11-08-2024, 07:22 PM
The more the better. Nor should they be mutually exclusive.
Fair play to them.
As you say football has a large audience and should be a vehicle for good.
11-08-2024, 07:23 PM
Without touching on the rights or wrongs of any flag in particular I always find the suggestion that young football fans are just jumping on a bandwagon and can't actually be informed about current events to be bordering on offensive.
Loads of young folk I know are clued up on what is going on the world. They could certainly point to Palestine on a map. If you really wanted to push it you could argue there is a degree of classism at play. 'Aye all that heavy political stuff isn't for young working class lads who go to the fitba. Stick to the birds and lager boys, that's your level'
So you honestly believe they bring a Palestine flag to fly at football because they're clued up about what's going on and it's to support the Palestinian people?
11-08-2024, 07:28 PM
So you honestly believe they bring a Palestine flag to fly at football because they're clued up about what's going on and it's to support the Palestinian people?
Yes. Celtic supporters have done this for a long time and got their club many fines by doing so.
It's kind of hard not to know about it.
11-08-2024, 07:28 PM
I've no idea of their motivation for bringing the flag. I wouldn't dismiss them as 'not having a scooby' based on nothing though.
11-08-2024, 07:29 PM
I think they had a flag that said created by immigrants. Strangest spelling of Hibernian I have ever seen
11-08-2024, 07:30 PM
Any singing was drowned out by the incessant drumming. The drum should be used to start the singing, not drown it out.
11-08-2024, 07:32 PM
Any singing was drowned out by the incessant drumming. The drum should be used to start the singing, not drown it out.
The two sets of ultras could have swapped ends at half time and we wouldn’t have known the difference.
11-08-2024, 07:33 PM
I think they had a flag that said created by immigrants. Strangest spelling of Hibernian I have ever seen
And they were not immigrants. At that time they were British people
Moving from one part of Britain to another. Have we ever talked about, let’s say, Yorkshire immigrants?
11-08-2024, 07:34 PM
Suggest their focus should be on representing and uniting the wider Hibernian support. Otherwise what are they there for.
I'm not sure Celtic fans have any obligation to unite the Hibs support😅
11-08-2024, 07:37 PM
And they were not immigrants. At that time they were British people
Moving from one part of Britain to another. Have we ever talked about, let’s say, Yorkshire immigrants?
Oh dear.
History lesson warning.
Flag debate incoming.
babahibs
11-08-2024, 07:50 PM
Hibs v Celtc games should have Hibs or Celtc flags, anything else is weird
11-08-2024, 08:39 PM
The two sets of ultras could have swapped ends at half time and we wouldn’t have known the difference.
As is the same with every set of “ultras” around.
11-08-2024, 08:41 PM
I thought the ultras created a good atmosphere today, helped by others who want to be part of it. Plus of course the French guys who were over.
Johnny Clash
11-08-2024, 08:43 PM
It’s been like that for a while now. I was a big supporter of the drum over the years but lately it’s just a self indulgent noise. Instead of helping to build an atmosphere it’s actually destroying it.
12-08-2024, 11:26 AM
I did find it amusing that a good number of folk in the standing sections were sitting down.
TrinityHFC
12-08-2024, 11:42 AM
It’s been like that for a while now. I was a big supporter of the drum over the years but lately it’s just a self indulgent noise. Instead of helping to build an atmosphere it’s actually destroying it.
Yep, just noise that has nothing to do with Hibs or what is happening on the pitch. That isn't atmosphere.
percy veer
12-08-2024, 12:10 PM
I did find it amusing that a good number of folk in the standing sections were sitting down.
Tbf we were 2-0 down after 20 mins and the sun sweltering , easily amused I think .
Cuikyhibs
12-08-2024, 12:17 PM
Sitting down until they were getting screamed at to stand up, the siren needs to go too, really annoying
12-08-2024, 12:21 PM
Yep, just noise that has nothing to do with Hibs or what is happening on the pitch. That isn't atmosphere.
I miss being able to hear the “oohs” and other natural crowd reactions. They were far more fun.
12-08-2024, 12:24 PM
The drum does my head in, and the siren can get ****ed as well.
As for the flags, if they’re blocking folks’ view to the point where people are complaining then put them down. You get to impose your drum on the rest of us, have a bit of give and take - folk pay good money to watch the game and should be able to do so.
There’s definitely space for the ultras, fair ****s to fans wanting to create an atmosphere and if they enjoy the Glee Club stuff then good luck to them - but they need to respect everyone else’s right to enjoy the game their way as well and if they did that, these threads disappear and we all get to enjoy the football.
Well, maybe not enjoy it, but you know what I mean.
mcohibs
12-08-2024, 12:27 PM
Definitely. Celtic fans have been highlighting the plight of the Palestinian people for years now. It’s not a bandwagon thing for them.
There’s a very large, knowledgeable and active support in the north of Ireland for Palestine.
12-08-2024, 12:28 PM
I miss being able to hear the “oohs” and other natural crowd reactions. They were far more fun.
The problem is ER for years now we've not heard anything from the stands. Any type of chant/song is better than the silence we've often had.
Give the flags to the ballboys / girls.would mean they could only be waved when hibs scored
j'adorehibs
12-08-2024, 12:40 PM
posted by Keiron Power on the 15/2/24
Originally Posted by Power https://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=7586238#post7586238) We’ll adopt a short pole flag policy. Large pole flags won’t be permitted during the game so supporters in different areas of the Famous Five Stand can see the goalmouth uninterrupted.
This was in response to myself as i considered whether i should stay in the FFL. The next trial game after id bought season tickets to remain the flags were up obstructing our view. I went to ask for them to be put down getting abuse of some teenager which led me to grab the flag and force it down. The Fagan character then nooded to me as if to say sorry . They went up again shortly after. Next day i moved my newly purchased season tickets to the East.
Hibs3-2
12-08-2024, 12:45 PM
I was at 43 and i could rarely hear them bar a constant drum beat. The songs i did valuely hear were ones no one will know because theyre either marseille songs or some new ultra song everyone sings. On “green and white army” song got going but no other classics
12-08-2024, 12:52 PM
The flags would piss me off but what the **** was that siren thing? Was like something you get at a fun fair, so tinpot
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
12-08-2024, 01:00 PM
The flags would piss me off but what the **** was that siren thing? Was like something you get at a fun fair, so tinpot
I couldn’t figure out where it was coming from at first then realised it was them.
12-08-2024, 01:08 PM
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using TapatalkIt was certainly scary watching
12-08-2024, 01:12 PM
I was at 43 and i could rarely hear them bar a constant drum beat. The songs i did valuely hear were ones no one will know because theyre either marseille songs or some new ultra song everyone sings. On “green and white army” song got going but no other classics
Many of the criticisms of the group are valid however it always amuses me that they get a hard time for starting songs that others "don't know". You could start a song that you and others do know and get everyone to join in?:greengrin
Also yesterday they started Glory Glory to the Hibees, a song that every Hibs fan should know. It was good to hear that, although of course may get a louder outing in a game when we are doing well. Once they get rid of the flags, then I'm looking forward to seeing that section in some exiting Hibs home wins.
12-08-2024, 02:36 PM
Reading this thread is more depressing than watching Hibs yesterday. I hope life never sucks the fun out of me.
hibstag
12-08-2024, 02:47 PM
The only visual that those in charge of Hibs should be bothered about is that of the paying customers,
After the media videos of last weeks performance outside the ground at st mirren block 7 should be more concerned about being less ‘visual’ to hibernian supporters and the authorities , get the flags and that hooter ***** to f@&k
LunasBoots
12-08-2024, 02:58 PM
The only visual that those in charge of Hibs should be bothered about is that of the paying customers,
After the media videos of last weeks performance outside the ground at st mirren block 7 should be more concerned about being less ‘visual’ to hibernian supporters and the authorities , get the flags and that hooter ***** to f@&k
Quite funny when you see them walking about ER on the way to the game and the fans activity try to avoid them, wasn't like that with the other group.
12-08-2024, 03:12 PM
Tbf we were 2-0 down after 20 mins and the sun sweltering , easily amused I think .
Nah tbf I pointed out to my son at kick off that both end sections of the standing section were nearly all sitting down. Just seemed a bit weird. Move to a standing section and spend most of it sat down with a metal bar in your eye line.
12-08-2024, 03:16 PM
They've done that for months. All the ultras do it.
12-08-2024, 03:17 PM
They've done that for months. All the ultras do it.Haven't seen a game in ages, didn't know that. Awful.
TrinityHFC
12-08-2024, 03:36 PM
Nah tbf I pointed out to my son at kick off that both end sections of the standing section were nearly all sitting down. Just seemed a bit weird. Move to a standing section and spend most of it sat down with a metal bar in your eye line.
Both end sections? It is just one middle section in full then the back few rows of the other side sections. I didn't see many sitting in the standing bits.
12-08-2024, 03:39 PM
Both end sections? It is just one middle section in full then the back few rows of the other side sections. I didn't see many sitting in the standing bits.
It’s the back half of the other 4 sections.
Middle 3 sections everyone was standing but certainly the outer 2 sections were nearly all sitting from kick off
12-08-2024, 03:41 PM
It’s the back half of the other 4 sections.
Middle 3 sections everyone was standing but certainly the outer 2 sections were nearly all sitting from kick off
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240812/f357c7dced861db78f2c0bf33664462a.jpg
Took this before kick off as was intrigued at the terrace experience. But most of that section remained seated from kick off.
There were plenty free tickets handed out to the boys and girls academies for the game and were situated in the FF lower. Personally we chose to sit especially after going down 1-0 after 2 mins.
12-08-2024, 03:52 PM
Well I thought they drowned out the noise from the away end
Well done all.
12-08-2024, 03:55 PM
I am in full agreement about some of the songs and people have no idea the words, I heard a very short WE ARE HIBERNIAN FC which I assume was started in the East?
Hopefully the east can back to the simple classics.
12-08-2024, 04:08 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240812/f357c7dced861db78f2c0bf33664462a.jpg
Took this before kick off as was intrigued at the terrace experience. But most of that section remained seated from kick off.
Those crush barriers should 100% have been painted white!! Would look good.
hibee
12-08-2024, 04:32 PM
Reading this thread is more depressing than watching Hibs yesterday. I hope life never sucks the fun out of me.
Nothing to do with sucking the fun out of us, I’ve sat in the FF upper with the same group since it was built, we’ve always had a great view and good chat.
Yesterday we couldn’t see any goalmouth action, couldn’t hear each other speak and went home with headaches from the stupid drum.
Yes you could say we’re getting old and some of us are but is it worth ruining the game for the majority just so a couple of hundred people can do what they want? The guys at the front telling them what to do don’t even watch the game, they just shout abuse at the kids if they don’t do what they are told.
CentreForward
12-08-2024, 04:38 PM
Anyone know who that group was in the bottom right wearing red?
12-08-2024, 04:48 PM
I saw them outside the ground, possibly a foreign team?
12-08-2024, 05:07 PM
Block 7 aren't fun mate. The "leaders" shouting at the others to sing louder. Fighting with opposition fans. Throwing things. Singing **** songs and songs about ****ing Marseille? Vandalism. They're utterly weird.
12-08-2024, 05:10 PM
It's probably a lot easier to appreciate their atmosphere from the comfort of your couch. 'It looked great on TV' is everything wrong with modern football.
**** the fans who actually attended the game and had the goalmouth blocked for 98 minutes.
12-08-2024, 05:26 PM
Nothing to do with sucking the fun out of us, I’ve sat in the FF upper with the same group since it was built, we’ve always had a great view and good chat.
Yesterday we couldn’t see any goalmouth action, couldn’t hear each other speak and went home with headaches from the stupid drum.
Yes you could say we’re getting old and some of us are but is it worth ruining the game for the majority just so a couple of hundred people can do what they want? The guys at the front telling them what to do don’t even watch the game, they just shout abuse at the kids if they don’t do what they are told.
No one complained about Sect43 or Since 1875, they were amazing.
12-08-2024, 05:34 PM
Block 7 aren't fun mate. The "leaders" shouting at the others to sing louder. Fighting with opposition fans. Throwing things. Singing **** songs and songs about ****ing Marseille? Vandalism. They're utterly weird.
Add causing grief by forcing fans at away games out of their seats. They’re not a part of the Hibs support. Just “hangers on”.
hibby rae
12-08-2024, 05:36 PM
Can anyone take any flag of whatever cause they support? Would people be within their right to take an anti immigration flag/banner for example?
Football is an escape from the real world for 90 minutes a week. One support, of all colours, faiths, sexual orientation etc united in support for the home team. The other supporting the away team. There’s plenty of other ways to support causes outside of the 90 minutes of football every week.
Yes, because it's free speech however distasteful it is.
Literally done by some Aberdeen 'ultras' at the weekend.
DIXIHIBS
12-08-2024, 05:42 PM
It was a foreign group which seemed to be 2 teams...1 boys 1 girls. Must have been 40/50 of them. Good to see.
12-08-2024, 05:46 PM
I never took into consideration that the view from FF Upper was obscured as well as those located behind the flag waving group.
I did notice the Head Security man coming round to engage with the older leader, and stewards who were sporting different uniforms than the regular stewards in the stadium seemed to be solely there to oversee the group. A police officer was spotted at one point also talking to the same leader guy, and the flags were eventually dropped.
After a while they just stuck them back up, and nothing appeared to be readdressed and the leader didn’t look like he was objecting to his young team ignoring instruction as he was clapping along like a seal to the monotonous drum and indistinguishable chants.
The group have been more than accommodated by the club, and it’s now time to take the other supporters and ST holders into consideration ahead of the next home game, and by that I mean by both Club and Block Seven themselves.
Malonga's Cat
12-08-2024, 06:05 PM
The group have been more than accommodated by the club, and it’s now time to take the other supporters and ST holders into consideration ahead of the next home game, and by that I mean by both Club and Block Seven themselves.
This for me. Behave like carbon copy wee dafties and now have their own section having displaced many fans. Upper FF not happy which I can understand, plus Family section in the East (traditionally where you go if you want to scream and shout / use choice language).
Add in the fact we've had prolonged nonsense from them at away games, the fighting at St Mirren and this weird love in with Marseille.
Madness.
12-08-2024, 06:11 PM
They need to spend time with the self confessed looney, Harry the dog and his Millwall F troop chums for guidance.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ighcTmfAfr4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ighcTmfAfr4)
PHeffernan
12-08-2024, 06:22 PM
This for me. Behave like carbon copy wee dafties and now have their own section having displaced many fans. Upper FF not happy which I can understand, plus Family section in the East (traditionally where you go if you want to scream and shout / use choice language).
Add in the fact we've had prolonged nonsense from them at away games, the fighting at St Mirren and this weird love in with Marseille.
Madness.
The East is very civilised these days and will be even more so now that all the spotty little herberts have moved from there to the FFL.
I was quite underwhelmed by it all. Yes there was a bigger group behind the goals, but the lower FF was far from full and only marginally busier than normal. And that was for Celtic.
I did wonder if the flags would have been an obstruction, turns out they were. Other than the drum and siren I wasn’t aware of extra atmosphere and the only song I can remember was some hibees Marseille thing that has zero relevant.
I was pleased there were no missiles or ‘pyro’ or any pitch invasions.
I think the flags need stopped and they need to think more about how they get the whole support with the,
12-08-2024, 07:21 PM
I was quite underwhelmed by it all. Yes there was a bigger group behind the goals, but the lower FF was far from full and only marginally busier than normal. And that was for Celtic.
I did wonder if the flags would have been an obstruction, turns out they were. Other than the drum and siren I wasn’t aware of extra atmosphere and the only song I can remember was some hibees Marseille thing that has zero relevant.
I was pleased there were no missiles or ‘pyro’ or any pitch invasions.
I think the flags need stopped and they need to think more about how they get the whole support with the,
I doubt they give a **** if the support is with them. If they did then we wouldn’t see the behaviour at away games that we do.
12-08-2024, 08:27 PM
I like the flags but if they are obstructing other folks vire they simply need removed
Wave them at appropriate times but if your interfering with other folks view of the action, gotta go
12-08-2024, 09:49 PM
Surely the flags were only an issue at the FF end penalty box ?
Has the family section moved ?
The free tickets to make it look busier makes sense as the seating plan for Dundee the standing section looks very quiet at the ends.
13-08-2024, 03:28 PM
You only stand when we’re winning 🤣
Helensburghhibs
13-08-2024, 10:01 PM
Surely the flags were only an issue at the FF end penalty box ?
Has the family section moved ?
The free tickets to make it look busier makes sense as the seating plan for Dundee the standing section looks very quiet at the ends.
From my seat the hooped on obscured both goalmouths in the second half. This is due to the length of the pole which funnily enough ensured block 7s View is unrestricted
13-08-2024, 10:04 PM
From my seat the hooped on obscured both goalmouths in the second half. This is due to the length of the pole which funnily enough ensured block 7s View is unrestricted
Which is ironic because they don’t actually watch the game. I wonder if their pre-reserved seats at Parkhead are restricted view .
14-08-2024, 05:18 AM
Which is ironic because they don’t actually watch the game. I wonder if their pre-reserved seats at Parkhead are restricted view .
They are, up towards the back of section 120
How many critics of the efforts of our Famous Five singing Section have taken a look at their HibsClass YouTube channel?
https://youtube.com/@hibsclass?si=0s-CbvUckMBAd81q
There are three main intentions to operating this medium:-
1. To teach would-be joiners the words to the songbook
2. To demonstrate how much carefree enjoyment there is to be had in a singing section
3. To grow the size of the group and encourage more fans to join in
Please click on the link, have a look at the videos and give them some feedback
In a season of rebuild it's a hard slog for these enthusiastic youngsters to singlehandedly try and lift the atmosphere.
Rather than us spending all our time finding fault, could some of us maybe try to offer encouragement instead?
14-08-2024, 08:26 AM
How many critics of the efforts of our Famous Five singing Section have taken a look at their HibsClass YouTube channel?
2. To demonstrate how much carefree enjoyment there is to be had in a singing section
In a season of rebuild it's a hard slog for these enthusiastic youngsters to singlehandedly try and lift the atmosphere.
Rather than us spending all our time finding fault, could some of us maybe try to offer encouragement instead?
Do they give the enthusiastic youngsters guidance on how not to behave like total ***** to other Hibs fans?
14-08-2024, 08:35 AM
Folk just don’t find the constant beating of a drum with some big flags that obscure views particularly atmospheric. The old school ‘Hibees’ chant when the teams came out and the couple of other old songs that started in the East were much better IMO.
14-08-2024, 08:45 AM
Do they give the enthusiastic youngsters guidance on how not to behave like total ***** to other Hibs fans?
And fight with other teams fans
14-08-2024, 09:16 AM
It's hard to offer encouragement to a group that has just forced you out of your seat and ushered their wee pals from Marseille in to take your place. I will try harder next time at Tynie though.
14-08-2024, 09:17 AM
They are, up towards the back of section 120
Quickly checks ticket.
Awwww no. I'll take drum sticks with me.
tonyrougier123
14-08-2024, 12:30 PM
I think our behind the goals now it’s safe standing and has the block 7 folk needs another well funded group to make better tifos and flags and colour. That ain’t going to come from block 7.
Aberdeens behind the goals looked good at weekend,decent tifo decent noise. Let’s be better at this!!
15-08-2024, 03:52 PM
I seem to be in the minority but I thought BTG/Block 7/whoever else was there was one of the few highlights of the game Sunday. I could hear the drum louder than the singing and suspect I'd have had no idea what songs they were singing if I had, but the look of the FF was infinitely better than the usual half empty dead zone we have become accustomed to - so pass marks on the whole from me!
15-08-2024, 04:00 PM
I seem to be in the minority but I thought BTG/Block 7/whoever else was there was one of the few highlights of the game Sunday. I could hear the drum louder than the singing and suspect I'd have had no idea what songs they were singing if I had, but the look of the FF was infinitely better than the usual half empty dead zone we have become accustomed to - so pass marks on the whole from me!
I thought it looked and felt much better. I get why folk would be pissed off at not being able to see because of the big flags though. Need to forget them.
16-08-2024, 04:28 PM
And fight with other teams fans
To be fair to Block 7, we hardly had an unblemished record in this respect in previous generations either :greengrin.
hibee
16-08-2024, 04:46 PM
To be fair to Block 7, we hardly had an unblemished record in this respect in previous generations either :greengrin.
To be fair to previous generations, I always felt safe around them in the knowledge they wouldn’t assault or threaten other Hibs fans.
16-08-2024, 05:00 PM
To be fair to previous generations, I always felt safe around them in the knowledge they wouldn’t assault or threaten other Hibs fans.
The quoted post referenced other teams fans.
hibee
16-08-2024, 05:29 PM
The quoted post referenced other teams fans.
Yes I know that but many people that don’t feel safe around our own ultras didn’t feel threatened by previous generations.
17-08-2024, 12:19 AM
What long standing fans and a small minority group class as “Hibs Songs” are probably two very different things.
17-08-2024, 06:27 AM
Indeed 😄
h185forever
17-08-2024, 06:53 AM
I’m probably in a minority of one …but I hate the fn drum.
The Reid boys could maybe pen them a song or two as the current song book imo is sadly lacking.
what do I know though ….
Posh Swanny
17-08-2024, 07:43 AM
Another drum hater here. They genuinely take something away from the live football experience for me. No spontaneous chants get a look in - just boom, boom, boom, boom, boom, boom all game with very little (audible) singing.
ruthven_raiders
17-08-2024, 07:46 AM
Another drum hater here. They genuinely take something away from the live football experience for me. No spontaneous chants get a look in - just boom, boom, boom, boom, boom, boom all game with very little (audible) singing.
I've got in ear headphones that I use to dampen the drum, sometimes I just use the one on my left ear, makes a heck of a difference as the noise is giving me earache....
17-08-2024, 08:11 AM
Other than that some of them did (not all, was also some good guys) fight and/or threaten other Hibs fans at times.
I've got in ear headphones that I use to dampen the drum, sometimes I just use the one on my left ear, makes a heck of a difference as the noise is giving me earache....
The drum is ****ing awful, although I think sometimes (at least) there’s 2 drums, which is even worse
17-08-2024, 09:33 AM
Other than that some of them did (not all, was also some good guys) fight and/or threaten other Hibs fans at times.
Especially if you fancied a burger from Wimpy and happened to to be wearing decent trainers!
17-08-2024, 09:35 AM
The Reid boys could maybe pen them a song or two as the current song book imo is sadly lacking.
what do I know though ….
****ing hate it too. Kills the atmosphere and also reduces accessibility for the stadium as it may not be good for those who are neurodivergent
Club need to do something and ban drums.