View Full Version : Hibernian v Celtic
07-02-2024, 08:39 PM
well done newell
MikeyS
07-02-2024, 08:39 PM
Monty needs to take Moriah Welsh off before it’s too late
The risk is chucking someone in who may not keep the shape as well as we've been doing
07-02-2024, 08:40 PM
Excellent tracking back from Newell.
We’re too deep now. Looked good with a higher line but inviting them on now
HendoDelivered
Newell excellent
I think Newell is a sweeper
Celtic putting some pressure on now, had a few good chances.
Book that ****. ****ing wasn't going too until everyone went tonto. Prick.
Joe Newell again getting back really well
Great effort by Newell tonight
OtleyHibs
Walsh reluctantly books celtic player after foul 327
1875Sean
07-02-2024, 08:41 PM
Joe newell mom
MikeyS
We’re too deep now. Looked good with a higher line but inviting them on now
Aye starting to look tired! Going to be a long 15 mins or so
Will Fish has played very well this evening!
Certainly has worked his socks off.
Monty needs to take Moriah Welsh off before it’s too late
Monty would be getting pelters if we ended up losing, its a no win for NM
07-02-2024, 08:42 PM
Joe newell mom
Hes our best player.
07-02-2024, 08:43 PM
Noooooooo got to score.
That's a huge chance after a wonderful ball by Newell
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
USA_Hibee
What a ball. Jesus.
You have to score that!
OtleyHibs
So close! What a ball Joe!!
Replay looked like Harts toe touched it
Just_Jimmy
That's a phenomenal baw
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
That was the chance.
aw man miller puts it past the far post
Got to score
What a ball
jakedance
We are so so much better when we play with urgency. Please, NM, put the tiki taka pish in the bin.
jamie_1875
07-02-2024, 08:44 PM
Has to score that.
What a miss from Miller, that was the chance.
HendoDelivered
Thats the chanve
MikeyS
Newell has been on here at half time reading his reviews!
I'm not his biggest fan but he's like a man possessed this second half!
VoltaireHibs
Hes our best player.
And playing where I suggested. 😁 Also, having Moriah-Welsh in there is taking a lot of pressure off him.
Let’s see if this goes in row Z from Youan…
Bakerman
07-02-2024, 08:45 PM
Should have won it there for us Miller. Played well tonight, but dearie me.
This free kick will go top corner or over the stand
OtleyHibs
Let’s see if this goes in row Z from Youan…
Only worth a go from there when they have Boruc in goal 😁
cubehindthegoal
We are so so much better when we play with urgency. Please, NM, put the tiki taka pish in the bin.
You don’t think they’re maybe doing now what Monty has been coaching them to do … he cannae win eh 🙄
07-02-2024, 08:46 PM
Newell has been brilliant tonight
07-02-2024, 08:46 PM
This free kick will go top corner or over the stand
Or hit the wall :greengrin
Newell sounds like he's leading by example here, they're there for the taking and the 2nd half sounds just what was needed after Saturday.
USA_Hibee
07-02-2024, 08:47 PM
Miscommunication there.
Greenfly
07-02-2024, 08:48 PM
Newell has been brilliant tonight
Chased down everything and some brilliant passing.
MikeyS
He took that right of Boyles toe!
OtleyHibs
Getting in each others road there, close from Fish in the end
There's a winner in this
07-02-2024, 08:49 PM
St mirren beating Dundee, hibs up to 6th at the moment
07-02-2024, 08:50 PM
Lets just not concede
07-02-2024, 08:51 PM
Youan has been much improved in this second half and I say that as his biggest critic.
****ing **** it Youan. Lucky.
MikeyS
Youan **** it there!
**** off you see that all the time and no foul
That might be a penalty.
jakedance
07-02-2024, 08:52 PM
You don’t think they’re maybe doing now what Monty has been coaching them to do … he cannae win eh 🙄
I didn’t say he hadn’t, but either way that’s how we’ve been playing.
USA_Hibee
Of course they'll give that. Hope I am wrong.
Looked on the line.
MikeyS
I'd be wanting that for us!
newell quite lucky to get away with this
NC1875
That’s not a penalty
Oh ffs
Just_Jimmy
Sutton is begging for it.
They'll give it nay doubt.
Always going to give it. Scandalous
07-02-2024, 08:53 PM
Is that even in the box
VoltaireHibs
Here we go.
It’s a foul, not sure if it’s in the box
penalty?, oh dear joe newell
absolutely gutting for the whole team
gutting
Rumble de Thump
Refs desperate to gift Celtic a win.
Newell plays the ball btw, it's why there spin on it as marshall saves it
MikeyS
Always going to give it. Scandalous
It's definitely a foul, whether it's in box or not is the real question
I ****ing hate VAR. **** off
Torto7
07-02-2024, 08:54 PM
Only hibs would get screwed like that
My old man
Corrupt VAR
OtleyHibs
Always going one way when VAR looks at us
Come on Marshall!
Well you can blame Youan for ****ting it out of yet another challenge.
USA_Hibee
Penalty.
That is sickening.
This will be a pen. So so undeserved.
Jeezo, not again!
Turned over by var every game. Utter crap
HendoDelivered
Old firm get literally every decision
Is on the line a penalty.
**** this
Just **** off.
MikeyS
Correct!!!!!
Hibee Daft
Joe Newell rash challenges
Torto7
penalty?, oh dear joe newell
absolutely gutting for the whole team
gutting
Oh dear what he's been immense tonight
cubehindthegoal
07-02-2024, 08:55 PM
I didn’t say he hadn’t, but either way that’s how we’ve been playing.
He’s taken all the stick for our play when we aren’t happy with it … but when we play well he isn’t responsible ?
VoltaireHibs
Be screaming for it if it was us. Not Sur if it was in box though
Paul1642
So ****ing typical
USA_Hibee
We have been so unlucky.
They don't deserve the win.
**** right off
Andymac85
Scottish football can just get in the bin.
What’s the yellow for? He got the shot away!!!!
NC1875
All comes from Youan being an absolute bottle merchant
We wouldn’t get that at the other end though
Give it a rest.
Get var to ****
declan macmanus
That’s a disgrace. F var
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
07-02-2024, 08:56 PM
Be screaming for it if it was us. Not Sur if it was in box thoughWed never get that at the other end , no chance
It would be waved a as got his shot off
cubehindthegoal
Tough like …
Nae luck Hibs.
We don’t get that. It doesn’t even get looked at if that’s us.
He’s taken all the stick for our play when we aren’t happy with it … but when we play well he isn’t responsible ?
Didn’t deserve that
That is 100% down to Youan ****ting the challenge
It’s the hope that kills you
Torto7
Absolute bollicks. Can I get a replay of the knee to Boyle in the box Sky you utter fuds.
jamie_1875
Story of my life. Seen this happen so many times.
VoltaireHibs
07-02-2024, 08:57 PM
Irrespective of result this has been a very decent performance. Five minutes to go, get after them!!
Rumble de Thump
Be screaming for it if it was us. Not Sur if it was in box though
And we wouldn't get it.
Never in a million years is that a pen.
Old firm yet again having different rules from everyone else.
You see that every single game where the shot is away and there's some contact afterwards from a challenge trying to block it, and it's never given.
Ridiculous decision that has ruined the game. We deserved to win tonight
Sickener that.
Andymac85
07-02-2024, 08:58 PM
We don’t get that. It doesn’t even get looked at if that’s us.
I genuinely think that is true. No chance that’s getting reviewed at the other end.
Bakerman
A celtic player elbows miller in the head without a by your leave, yet celtic get two penalties to gift them the win. The games just unreal. Well done Walsh.
MikeyS
Give it a rest.
He's absolutely right though, Youan was a coward and pulled out the tackle which lead to the attack.
Joe Newell rash challenges
He wasn’t rash, he had to try and make a challenge. It’s just unlucky.
It can be a cruel old game at times. 😥
Scottish football, who's like us 😕
Wasn't in the box and we would never even get that looked at.
Scottish football is the most corrupt league in the world.
Fuzzywuzzy
07-02-2024, 08:59 PM
Didn’t deserve that
That is 100% down to Youan ****ting the challenge
Absolutely bottled it
Give it a rest.
Give what a rest? Youan's have arsed attempt at a tackle led to that passage of play.
He's absolutely right though, Youan was a coward and pulled out the tackle which lead to the attack.
Yup. He's not giving us anywhere near enough going forward for how shocking he is defensively.
ErinGoBraghHFC
Sickener but Celtic needed two penalties to beat us tonight, performance in the second half was encouraging imo. Need to play like that every week for 90 minutes, we wouldn’t be in the mess we are if we did that.
percy veer
every game with walsh or mclean , getting a joke now
ED Hibee
07-02-2024, 09:00 PM
Scottish football so so predictable. No wonder the fans stay away for games like this. 2 decisions that you can guarantee would not have gone our way if they’d happened in Glasgow
We didn’t deserve to lose that second half
dastardly8
Shot is away then contact pathetic cheating as per usual
Paul1642
We didn’t deserve to lose that second half
We didn’t deserve to loose full stop. This one hurts.
jakedance
07-02-2024, 09:01 PM
I didn’t say that either.
Wasn't in the box and we would never even get that looked at.
Scottish football is the most corrupt league in the world.
If on the line counts as in the box then it was a pen, if not we were robbed.
Walsh, a former ST holder at Parkhead too. Nothing to see here!
Shocking decision.
And this lot complain about the number of penalties awarded to Rangers!
cubehindthegoal
Got to take something positive from this surely … anyone ?
**** off Celtic.
OtleyHibs
07-02-2024, 09:02 PM
First half we showed some improvement.
Second half I thought we were the better team and deserved to win it
Gutted with that decision at the end but overall the most I've enjoyed watching Hibs for a while
That's a performance we can build on, particularly second half
I can’t keep spending money on Scottish football like.
Torto7
Take that second half into the weekend please Hibs. **** VAR and god bless Dylan Levitt.
they played their get out of jail free card tonight
Paul1642
There are countless positives. We were good tonight which is even harder to take than our recent losses
Corrupt to the friggin core.
USA_Hibee
Full time.
We deserved something out of that game.
NC1875
We wouldn’t get any of the penalties at the other end tonight. Scottish football is a joke.
07-02-2024, 09:03 PM
Hope Walsh enjoys the signed match jersey he’ll pick up tonight. VAR determined to get a good title challenge this season.
Nobody bar Celtic or Sevco are getting that second penalty looked at. ****ing nobody.
If on the line counts as in the box then it was a pen, if not we were robbed.
It does unfortunately.
MikeyS
Walsh, a former ST holder at Parkhead too. Nothing to see here!
Shocking decision.
I thought the chat was he was a former Huns youth coach
Play like that the rest of the season we’ll be good to watch and hard to beat
Sickner - complete guess by the ref, VAR not helping.
Crutch
Credit where due - second half performance tonight was excellent. No complaints with either penalties for me, some might disagree with the first which is fair. Not our night, and pretty typical of where we are right now.
The real acid test for the manager now is whether we’re able to reproduce that sort of attacking energy in the ‘lesser’ games. He’s atleast given us more to be optimistic about tonight, so fair play.
The advantage from a foul was the shot. Not sure that’s ever even looked out 99/100. Thought we played very well second half and glad we’ve finally decided to play with a midfield.
Rumble de Thump
07-02-2024, 09:04 PM
VAR has just made it so much easier for the match officials to award/deny fouls to particular teams, and that was always going to be the case. The bias and corruption hasn't been stamped out. It's just been given a technological helping hand. Hibs have suffered massively from clearly dodgy officiating this season.
Just_Jimmy
Who's debating how bent scottish football is?
Sutton was begging for it. We'd never get that.
If monty can get us playing like that going forward, we'll win more than our fair share. Newell was excellent.
I thought the chat was he was a former Huns youth coach
100% used to be a ST holder at Parkhead. Work beside one of his best mates.
cubehindthegoal
There are countless positives. We were good tonight which is even harder to take than our recent losses
I’m just glad those wanting monty out will maybe get the chance to see him build on that performance .. that celtic team were playing very well tonight … we matched it second half.
ElginHibbie
07-02-2024, 09:05 PM
Got a reaction from weekend, with players coming back and new ones settling in if we can continue to build on that we might be alright... or we could revert back, lose on Saturday and write off the season
Thought I'd add the balance!
Undeserved loss, sounded like a far better performance so that in itself is a bonus.
Absolutely devastated for the players and monty
What an effort. Deserved, at MINIMUM a draw. Gutted
What was all the booing for at end of game. ?
Absolute sickener to lose that, miles better in the second half and deserved to take at least one point. Neither penalty a stone wallet by any means. Newell superb, Moriah-Welsh impressive, Miller an improvement on our other options, and Youan much better.
Sick as a parrot we lost that. Much much better application and energy tonight. Great second half inparticular. No points tonight but lots of positives and a good responce to saturday.
Shot is away then contact pathetic cheating as per usual
Yeah, looks like you can have it both ways....normally it would be viewed as he got the shot off....but they get another option....funny old game
07-02-2024, 09:06 PM
I’m just glad those wanting monty out will maybe get the chance to see him build on that performance .. that celtic team were playing very well tonight … we matched it second half.
Wont say Celtic are particularly good at the moment though
cubehindthegoal
Got a reaction from weekend, with players coming back and new ones settling in if we can continue to build on that we might be alright... or we could revert back, lose on Saturday and write off the season
Thought I'd add the balance!
lol … like it needs it here 😉
Bakerman
Get var to ****
It was advertised as the footballing equivalent of levelling the playing field. Instead it has afforded the refereeing fraternity yet another level of bias and cheating. I've no other words for what happened tonight. Just unbelievable. We would never have had that checked, let alone awarded.
tonyrougier123
We had them on the ropes tonight! Var does my tits in!😡😡
Joe newell was unreal tonight,words into action,more than something to cling to from that performance.
Deserved to get beat at the weekend. Didn't tonight. Can't argue with either penalty though. Play like that going forward and we'll find our way out of this sticky patch. Who knew playing 3 across the middle would give us half a chance... Hopefully we stick to that formation and see how we get on.
We were good tonight but that was not a good Celtic team performance.
Pissed off at the end but much, much better.
Monty needs to be given a bit more time imo. New signings are still settling it and it looks like the manager is more flexible formation wise than many thought.
EGL2000
Gutted we didn't get anything out of that, brilliant in the second half.
Maguire
07-02-2024, 09:07 PM
Corrupt to the *** core. We deserved to win that.
It would be for the officials.
We were good tonight but that was not a good Celtic team performance.Isn't that to do with us in part though?
Hibeesdaft16
Much improved performance, should have at least gotten a point. We seem a massively confidence team, that really needs addressing and if we can get over it we should see improvements from here on in.
Probably the ref leaving the field with his head still on his shoulders
07-02-2024, 09:08 PM
Yeah, looks like you can have it both ways....normally it would be viewed as he got the shot off....but they get another option....funny old game
The OF only get it both ways.
Neither of those are given against Celtic or Sevco.
cubehindthegoal
We were good tonight but that was not a good Celtic team performance.
jeez this place is hard work … they had some fast flowing football, players moving into space all over the shot, hard to track down … and second half we begun to believe and do similar
Hibees1973
Can't complain. 2 stonewall penalties.
There is cause for optimism after that display. But I would temper that in that was a very open and weak Celtic team and our performance will have no bearing on Saturday. Away at Inverness in the cup will be very difficult.
The one thing I will take from tonight is that Celtic team ain't going to win the league this year.
NC1875
That’s the best I’ve seen us in a long time in the 2nd half. But to say Celtic were playing well is a slight exaggeration on your part.
Anyway, lots of positives to take from tonight. Now he needs to get them playing like that for 90mins every week.
cubehindthegoal
Isn't that to do with us in part though?
That’s be giving Hibs players and Monty credit … hmm
Just saw the Boyle "dive" clear contact as Boyle cuts across him.
Pen for me and there's been far less given as fouls for other teams this season, and there's been far worse against us and not given. People will say he goes to ground but if tries to stay up he loses possession. Other people say you have to go to ground to get the pen, and I agree as it happens every weekend and is barely discussed.
Club has to say something as this sh*t is happening in every game now, at important times and with game changing circumstances.
Pick 5 incidents (won't be hard) go to the rags, take the flack and the fine as am sick of Hibs tacit approval of these blarts pretending to be match officials.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
07-02-2024, 09:10 PM
Definitely, especially after our goal.
They were very sloppy tonight.
Sounds like Celtic are poor just now given they couldn’t beat Aberdeen
Greenwich_Hibby
Great improvement after Vente went off.
cubehindthegoal
07-02-2024, 09:11 PM
That’s the best I’ve seen us in a long time in the 2nd half. But to say Celtic were playing well is a slight exaggeration on your part.
Anyway, lots of positives to take from tonight. Now he needs to get them playing like that for 90mins every week.
I disagree .. I saw a celtic play some sharp football … their movement off the ball is the difference between a team that can win the league, and the rest of us outside the top two … we had some players showing they can match it … they will pull the others up I believe .. eg look at Newell tonight …
07-02-2024, 09:12 PM
Hope Walsh enjoys the signed match jersey he’ll pick up tonight. VAR determined to get a good title challenge this season.
Nobody bar Celtic or Sevco are getting that second penalty looked at. ****ing nobody.
Would like to see Boyles so called dive, looked like he was clipped slightly but Sky only showing one replay, elbow in Millers face should have been looked at as well, if it’s on the line then is it a penalty or does the player need to have a foot in the box, Walsh seemed to only look at it once on the monitor and his mind was made up, ******g joke.
cubehindthegoal
Wont say Celtic are particularly good at the moment though
Omg … seriously can we be any more negative about some superb football we played that half
Didnt deserve to lose that game, if we'd taked the 2 chances we should have scored we'd have won it, but as usual we didnt.
The 2nd half we were very good, Newell was superb in that 2nd period after playing centre half in the first.
Why cant he do it every week?
We were good tonight but that was not a good Celtic team performance.Who cares?
jeez this place is hard work … they had some fast flowing football, players moving into space all over the shot, hard to track down … and second half we begun to believe and do similar
We set up really well in the first half. Great defensive performance.
Second half we took the game to them and showed brilliant bravery and quality.
I still don’t think that was a good Celtic performance.
Hibeesdaft16
07-02-2024, 09:13 PM
I disagree .. I saw a celtic play some sharp football … their movement off the ball is the difference between a team that can win the league, and the rest of us outside the top two … we had some players showing they can match it … they will pull the others up I believe .. eg look at Newell tonight …
They never got out of second gear until around 70 mins. Rangers are much better than them.
LunasBoots
Played really well, if we did that every week we wouldn't be where we are, hopefully that's a turning point.
On another note Celtic won't win the league.
The replay from the FF on Celtics 2nd penalty clearly shows how partly blocking the ball
I thought it was spinning when marshall saved it
Absolutely no mention of that and it's one we would never ever get at the other end
07-02-2024, 09:14 PM
Who cares?
I was responding to a post, why do you care?
AL-Qaholik
Corruption as always.
Hibs will bend over and take it, like we always do, though.
Nothing changes until it gets called out consistently.
Time to grow a spine.
percy veer
VAR has just made it so much easier for the match officials to award/deny fouls to particular teams, and that was always going to be the case. The bias and corruption hasn't been stamped out. It's just been given a technological helping hand. Hibs have suffered massively from clearly dodgy officiating this season.
getting pens against us that never get given any other time, people saying the second was a stonewaller ref never gave a foul in the game actually think newell pulled out at the end.
Corruption as always.
Hibs will bend over and take it, like we always do, though.
Nothing changes until it gets called out consistently.
Time to grow a spine.
Call what out?
Silky
07-02-2024, 09:15 PM
Would like to see Boyles so called dive, looked like he was clipped slightly but Sky only showing one replay, elbow in Millers face should have been looked at as well, if it’s on the line then is it a penalty or does the player need to have a foot in the box, Walsh seemed to only look at it once on the monitor and his mind was made up, ******g joke.
I thought he was clipped. There was contact. Just like there was contact for Celtic's one at the end. The contact took Boyle down. That's a penalty.
Hibeesdaft16
07-02-2024, 09:15 PM
Omg … seriously can we be any more negative about some superb football we played that half
It's not being negative to point out Celtic are poor. Stop being so much of a drama queen man.
We played very well the second half and a lot to build on that showing going forward irrespective of how our opponents played. You have them as prime Barca though.
07-02-2024, 09:16 PM
Call what out?
I think he wants us to release slavering statements every time things go against us, like Rangers.
AL-Qaholik
07-02-2024, 09:17 PM
Call what out?
It’s literally the first word in my post.
The 2 penalties that were penalties you mean?
I thought he was clipped. There was contact. Just like there was contact for Celtic's one at the end. The contact took Boyle down. That's a penalty.
I’m pretty certain Boyle plants his feet and then goes down, throws his behind in the air.
He’s just not great at diving, he makes it too obvious and now he’s got a reputation.
Agreed. Boyle plays for Hibs and his card is marked though. So he has to get beheaded for a penalty to be given.
Greenworld
Can't complain. 2 stonewall penalties.
There is cause for optimism after that display. But I would temper that in that was a very open and weak Celtic team and our performance will have no bearing on Saturday. Away at Inverness in the cup will be very difficult.
The one thing I will take from tonight is that Celtic team ain't going to win the league this year.No chance second one shot is away then the foul it's yellow that's all
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
07-02-2024, 09:18 PM
I think he wants us to release slavering statements every time things go against us, like Rangers.
Gotcha, I’d love that, they aren’t cringey nonsense at all.
jakedance
07-02-2024, 09:18 PM
I’ve never really understood the rules for that penalty. Anywhere else on the pitch a late tackle is a foul, no complaints, but sometimes you see players wiped out after a putting in a cross or a shot and nothing given.
I didn’t expect much from tonight so very encouraged by the performance. Great effort and lovely to see the ball being moved around at speed. Hopefully a lot more to see of Moriah-Welsh.
I was responding to a post, why do you care?Yeah I can follow a thread, cheers.
No matter how Celtic played Hibs showed no little grit and spirit at a difficult time. There's no caveating those two improved aspects by saying Celtic weren't very good.
Sorry, don't mean to seem heated, bud.
Let's take Hibs' positives rather than assess those tramps.
AL-Qaholik
07-02-2024, 09:19 PM
VAR is clearly being utilised in, at best, an unbalanced fashion.
I firmly believe it’s corruption, not incompetence.
Either way, highlighting the inconsistencies in VAR decisions is the least the rest of the teams should be doing.
Rumble de Thump
It's not being negative to point out Celtic are poor. Stop being so much of a drama queen man.
We played very well the second half and a lot to build on that showing going forward irrespective of how our opponents played. You have them as prime Barca though.
So poor that they're top of the league. And they still needed help from the ref.
Ref id think.
ED Hibee
Any reason why the Ralston hand ball wasn’t even replayed? Hands were up in an unnatural position and it clearly hit his arm
aberhibsfc
07-02-2024, 09:20 PM
Two penalties for one of the ugly sisters, how convenient!
07-02-2024, 09:20 PM
Great goal from Levitt but his passing completion tonight was 52%. He was poor overall.
Hopefully he can kick on. This formation is so much better for all our players
Mantis Toboggan
07-02-2024, 09:21 PM
Referee obvs
cubehindthegoal
07-02-2024, 09:22 PM
They never got out of second gear until around 70 mins. Rangers are much better than them.
I think the rangers have a better manager than celtic … might be the difference … hopefully one day we can say the same about ours if he is given the chance …
Rick Rude
The 2 penalties that were penalties you mean?
Cause even if they were, they don't get looked at at the other end. Two teams get refereed differently cause refs and the SFA are scared of them.
OH HOW CONVENIENT.
Sky not even looking at Boyles dIvE.
Oh they are now, and laughing about it. So that’s nice.
Great goal from Levitt but his passing completion tonight was 52%. He was poor overall.
Hopefully he can kick on. This formation is so much better for all our players
He was, but hopefully that goal can be a turning point for him. Shows what he’s got in the locker. I’d still be starting Amos or Marcondes ahead of him next time out, though.
MikeyS
07-02-2024, 09:23 PM
Either way, highlighting the inconsistencies in VAR decisions is the least the rest of the teams should be doing.
The debate should be around whether its in, out or on the line. Its clearly a foul so I can't see the corruption you are claiming.
07-02-2024, 09:23 PM
Cause even if they were, they don't get looked at at the other end. Two teams get refereed differently cause refs and the SFA are scared of them.
Well they’ve ignore Boyles penalty that was a penalty, but those two were penalties.
cubehindthegoal
07-02-2024, 09:24 PM
Any reason why the Ralston hand ball wasn’t even replayed? Hands were up in an unnatural position and it clearly hit his arm
I wonder why … reverse it, and it’d have been 3 pens for celtic … call me a cynic but seen it time and again thru the years … and also heard some
stories over those years that would back it up if they could be proven … but they can’t be … they’re too sly with it, trust me
MikeyS
07-02-2024, 09:24 PM
Well they’ve ignore Boyles penalty that was a penalty, but those two were penalties.
Just shown it again and I don't think that's a pen for us. Used to be given pre var but not these days.
OH HOW CONVENIENT.
Sky not even looking at Boyles dIvE.https://twitter.com/MBS1872__/status/1755350125138899372?t=toGzIEC2zlP8QICinZSO0Q&s=19
Catches him round thigh with his knee. Rangers get two pens for that.
Just shown it again and I don't think that's a pen for us. Used to be given pre var but not these days.Why is it not a penalty?
Berwickhibby
07-02-2024, 09:26 PM
Lennon still a Celtic puppet….”Nick Walsh had a great game” GTF Lennon
VoltaireHibs
I don't want to agree with that manager across the city, the one with a face like a herniated testicle, but he called this out perfectly, Walsh referees the old firm differently from the rest of the league. His first thought with non OF teams is to penalise, his first thought with OF teams is to excuse. He's an arrogant wee d+#k that always looks like he's doing us a favour refereeing the game.
Just shown it again and I don't think that's a pen for us. Used to be given pre var but not these days.Or if you rangers player at Livingston
Why is it not a penalty?
Come on! There is the merest of contact, Boyle has his feet on the ground and he chooses to dive
It’s not a pen
07-02-2024, 09:27 PM
Just shown it again and I don't think that's a pen for us. Used to be given pre var but not these days.
I disagree. It’s a stick on for me.
If it’s not a pen it’s certainly not a dive.
heidtheba
07-02-2024, 09:27 PM
How delighted are the SKY team with Boyle's dive and Miller's miss?
jakedance
07-02-2024, 09:28 PM
I don’t think the Boyle incident is a penalty. He’s dived, and badly at that. Whether it’s a penalty at the other end is another story.
07-02-2024, 09:28 PM
OH HOW CONVENIENT.
Sky not even looking at Boyles dIvE.
Oh they are now, and laughing about it. So that’s nice.
They did just then. Boyd said he’s seen them given and the other two laughed at him.
You were right, there was contact. I think the late, silly dive probably put paid to any sniff of a penalty.. and I could get them saying it doesn’t fall under clear and obvious if Walsh has seen the contact and Boyle’s ‘fall’.
That’s not to say that I don’t agree that certain teams wouldn’t have got it against us mind you…
MikeyS
07-02-2024, 09:29 PM
Why is it not a penalty?
It was the slightest of touches from the defender and Martin folded! It certainly wasn't a tackle more of a coming together.
We'd be raging had that went against us!
MikeyS
07-02-2024, 09:30 PM
I disagree. It’s a stick on for me.
If it’s not a pen it’s certainly not a dive.
Martin chose to throw himself to the ground, again unfortunately
Gordy M
Thats 100% a pen on Boyle, and he was quite right to go down. We have seen from other teams and from us last week, if you stay up, nothing gets given, or reviewed.
Martin chose to throw himself to the ground, again unfortunately
It shouldn’t have mattered. The contact was enough to merit the penalty.
07-02-2024, 09:31 PM
You’ll struggle to find someone that wishes they’d bin VAR completely/never brought it in, in the first place, more than me. But I don’t think it was in the wrong tonight.
I’ve come away from plenty games against that pair feeling like we’d been done out of the game by ‘poor’ officiating. Tonight wasn’t one of them.
I understand others feeling differently though.
07-02-2024, 09:33 PM
Celtic or Sevco would get that. Every. Single. Time.
MikeyS
07-02-2024, 09:33 PM
It shouldn’t have mattered. The contact was enough to merit the penalty.
It's a contact sport! Not all instances of contact in the box are pens.
There may have been a legitimate pen shout for us when one of the ginger centre halfs appeared to handle it but it's not been mentioned at all!
Just to rub it in they give mom to the penalty taker, a joke.
Come on! There is the merest of contact, Boyle has his feet on the ground and he chooses to dive
It’s not a pen
Bollards.
MikeyS
07-02-2024, 09:34 PM
Celtic or Sevco would get that. Every. Single. Time.
Probably. That doesn't make ours a pen though
07-02-2024, 09:35 PM
There may have been a legitimate pen shout for us when one of the ginger centre halfs appeared to handle it but it's not been mentioned at all!
It’s a contact sport, and when contact is made in the box that denies a player a chance at a shot at goal it’s a penalty?
07-02-2024, 09:35 PM
Just to rub it in they give mom to the penalty taker, a joke.
I missed that, mental. The boy kicked the ball twice.
07-02-2024, 09:36 PM
How delighted are the SKY team with Boyle's dive and Miller's miss?
Sutton is a Celtic fan with a mic wanting every decision Lenny is so pro Celtic he has never really left
The only one I heard speaking up for Hibs was Faddy who thought Joe Newell was totally outstanding
For a wee bit balance bring in Archie Lovell or Big Marv
07-02-2024, 09:37 PM
Probably. That doesn't make ours a pen though
It does if the rules are the same for everyone. If they aren't then the game is rotten.
MikeyS
It’s a contact sport, and when contact is made in the box that denies a player a chance at a shot at goal it’s a penalty?
We can go round and round all night mate but Boyles feet were still on the deck and he could've got a shot away but chose to take a tumble after feeling the contact. Fair play to him for taking that gamble cos on another night you and I wouldn't be having this discussion cos we'd be celebrating a Hibs win!
https://twitter.com/MBS1872__/status/1755350125138899372?t=toGzIEC2zlP8QICinZSO0Q&s=19
Catches him round thigh with his knee. Rangers get two pens for that.
That is a penalty btw. Glasgow Football Association strikes again.
Yeah but that didn’t happen. The contact didn’t cause him to break stride, he plants his feet and chucks himself up. Nothing natural about it.
He's impeded. If he stays on his feet he still loses half a yard, it's a foul.
It was the slightest of touches from the defender and Martin folded! It certainly wasn't a tackle more of a coming together.
We'd be raging had that went against us!
Is it the slightest of touches. You can see the contact moving the defenders leg.
No it isn't a tackle. It's a movement towards Boyle and pretending to get out the way.
Boyle goes to ground but happens in every league in the world regularly. A dive is when there's no contact, going to ground because there has been contact happens all the time and fouls are given.
Chorley Hibee
07-02-2024, 09:38 PM
Is tonight the night that Hibs finally grow a pair and call out both the two tiered refereeing of Scottish football, and the two tiered policing of Scottish football?
If not, then they're complicit in the whole sham.
07-02-2024, 09:39 PM
One consolation is it’s a little better to be debating a few big decisions and turning points in the game, rather than being pissed off at a poor performance and sifting through several posts of thinly veiled glee from a few recent regulars who are absent tonight.
Yeah but that didn’t happen. The contact didn’t cause him to break stride, he plants his feet and chucks himself up. Nothing natural about it.
Didn’t happen either though did it?
https://twitter.com/NaeBull/status/1755342899854622886/mediaViewer?currentTweet=1755342899854622886¤tTweetUser=NaeBull
Absolutely sickening tonight.
There was loads of good things but an inability to properly defend crosses cost us again at the start of the game.
Not seen anything back yet but as soon as the challenge went in I knew VAR would get involved. Looked a foul I thought.
07-02-2024, 09:40 PM
And if he doesn’t go down it will never be given. Look at last week against St Mirren, shirt being pulled off Myziane’s back but he stays on his feet and it doesn’t even get looked at.
07-02-2024, 09:40 PM
Also Youan shot that was blocked, he screamed for hand ball but no replay shown, and only one replay for Boyles dive, Celtc we’re getting replays for throw ins.
07-02-2024, 09:41 PM
I missed that, mental. The boy kicked the ball twice.
Thrice. Missed a great chance in second half too 😁
Thats 100% a pen on Boyle, and he was quite right to go down. We have seen from other teams and from us last week, if you stay up, nothing gets given, or reviewed.Exactly mate. The Celtic player has no momentum and could choose to get out the players way as he's certainly not attempting to win the ball. As it is there's contact player goes to ground, foul. Given all the time.
MikeyS
07-02-2024, 09:42 PM
Also Youan shot that was blocked, he screamed for hand ball but no replay shown, and only one replay for Boyles dive, Celtc we’re getting replays for throw ins.
The Youan shot was definitely a penalty for me. Just seen it again on Twitter.