View Full Version : Monty
24-02-2024, 04:40 PM
I wouldn’t say we were excellent, but we were definitely better, which is enough for me at this point.
Agree with this.
Baby steps and all that, but at least we're going in the right direction.
24-02-2024, 04:42 PM
Thought Hibs were excellent today and 2-1 flattered Dundee.
We need wins, no getting away from that, and 1 win doesn’t change anything in isolation. However I think it’s mean spirited not to see something building since post the St Mirren/the Celtc game.
Montgomery is still an inexperienced manager learning on the job. It’s fair to think he took too long to work out how to get the best out of what he has. However since he’s managed to get the January signings in the team we look night and day from the squad he inherited.
He was criticised for sticking to 442 (which was fair to a point), he’s changed to 433/4231 now he has some of his own players. He’s added Moriah-Welsh, Amos & Emiliano to the midfield which now looks balanced and can impact games (they’re also dragging Newell up who I thought was very good today). Maolida is excellent and a focal point we’ve not had even when he’s not playing well.
There’s no “shoehorning” of youngsters with Whittaker, Landers etc now able to play at their current level and not be selected out of necessity. Though I hope to see youngsters getting an opportunity as part of the summer planning for next season.
He’s shown he’s not stubborn and isn’t selecting players like Tavares every week unless they merit it. Youan another that was dropped as not doing enough and we looked a better overall team for it IMO.
Some people can’t look past the period in December/January that has left us where we currently are, which is fair enough. I expect us to make the top 6 now. However, as long as performances continue as they have over the last 5 games or so, added to sensible and on point areas targeted in the January window I think Montgomery isn’t far from getting things right consistently going forward from now. The defence will drag us down until the summer, but given what he did to the midfield in January I am happy to let him fix the defence in the summer as the top priority.
Well said.
He's made all the changes in terms of tactics and starting 11 that fans were asking for. He's shown he's flexible and can adapt.
He might still fail but I think we'll start to see a good run of form now.
Hibees1973
24-02-2024, 04:47 PM
We are certainly more compact and organised since Jair & Youan have dropped out the side. Sometimes when they played, they were in their own wee world at times. Basically playing a man down.
I would persist with Youan, but he has so much to learn.
24-02-2024, 05:00 PM
I wouldn’t say we were excellent, but we were definitely better, which is enough for me at this point.
Agree with this. Some of the individual play at times was lovely. Good to finally get a win on the board, especially in an important fixture table wise.
Time to kickstart a run together which hopefully includes beating that lot on Wednesday.
VoltaireHibs
24-02-2024, 05:06 PM
I think dropping Levitt and Youan was a good move. Both have their qualities, but both give the ball away too often in dangerous areas and Youan in particular disrupts us I feel. Sounds like a solid performance, wouldn't change much for Wednesday.
24-02-2024, 05:16 PM
He could really do with winning a derby to give him some more credit in the bank.
As we know Tynecastle derbies on the tight pitch is a different game to playing at ER and the extra space.
Fingers crossed - Hearts will hurting after today 0-5 but feels Hearts being at home will have that expectation to bounce back. Should be a good game hopefully and 3 points would be exactly what Monty needs.
Since the St Mirren game he's hit all the bare minimum objectives.
Better performance v Celtic
Cup win v ICT
Avoided defeat at Pittodrie
Won the must win v Dundee
Slowly but surely getting there. Top 6 is still a must though. If we continue to go in the right direction then I can't ask for more than that.
I thought we were a dodgy handball penalty decision away from winning up there.
24-02-2024, 05:23 PM
I thought we were good, and Monty deserves credit for it. The team post-window is a different beast from the one that limped through the festive period.
There were loads of things to like about the performance today, Hibs could have - and probably should have - won more comfortably than we did but we matched the quality with fight and spirit today, we absolutely need to see that from them.
We had to win for our top six chances, a defeat would have been catastrophic for them but now there is a very real chance that we'll be there at the split and that gives us a chance to see if we can finish higher.
Donegal Hibby
24-02-2024, 05:26 PM
We played very well today and if we had won by 3 or 4 goals it wouldn't have flattered us in the slightest. Definitely cause for optimism in our recent games . Hopefully we have a decent finish to this season and Monty gets a proper transfers window and pre season .
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1761446564390633515?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet
Hibees1973
24-02-2024, 05:28 PM
Well done Montgomery.
Enjoy your evening.
24-02-2024, 05:29 PM
We are certainly more compact and organised since Jair & Youan have dropped out the side. Sometimes when they played, they were in their own wee world at times. Basically playing a man down.
I would persist with Youan, but he has so much to learn.
Since that awful St Mirren game, performances have been a lot better however Youan played against Celtc, came on at half time against ICT and made a difference and played against Aberdeen. Today was the first time in weeks he’s not played a part
24-02-2024, 06:02 PM
I really hope things have turned.
Avoiding defeat on Wednesday is the biggest thing. Real chance to get some momentum. Win was so important today.
24-02-2024, 06:02 PM
Since that awful St Mirren game, performances have been a lot better however Youan played against Celtc, came on at half time against ICT and made a difference and played against Aberdeen. Today was the first time in weeks he’s not played a part
Taking a back seat won’t do him any harm. Back to Monty. I’ve had reservations, but, what I saw today, must give him breathing space and we could, hopefully, press on from here.
24-02-2024, 06:08 PM
He has taken way too long to realise his errors but also the new players have helped immensely. I’m happy we saw a much better performance today but I’m far from convinced with him.
Hugely important getting 3 points today and a much better performance level to what went before the Celtic game, credit where it’s due, and very relieved.
24-02-2024, 06:09 PM
It was completely wrongly downplayed by some but the team up to half the way through the January window was absolutely awful. A sixteen year old at right back as our only option, only one available CB for one game, and a lack of squad depth made Levitt, Youan, Vente, Jair, and others undroppable. They played like they knew that too and have all to varying degrees picked up their games since.
It’s easy talking about square pegs in round holes but it doesn’t matter what formation you played with that team, it was a whole load of square pegs with a bunch of laddies on the bench.
Now we’ve got a half decent squad and options on the bench things are looking up.
24-02-2024, 06:20 PM
He has taken way too long to realise his errors but also the new players have helped immensely. I’m happy we saw a much better performance today but I’m far from convinced with him.
Hugely important getting 3 points today and a much better performance level to what went before the Celtic game, credit where it’s due, and very relieved.
Agreed. If we'd lost, Monty would have been under serious pressure so it's a massive result for him.. Top 6 is bare minimum to keep his job, but looking for signs of much better.
24-02-2024, 06:20 PM
Betters players make it easier.
24-02-2024, 06:28 PM
As it does for any manager in football.
I think our future looks very bright.
24-02-2024, 07:01 PM
As it does for any manager in football.
I think our future looks very bright.
I’m still a bit concerned by the number of important players we have who won’t be with us next season. It’s bordering on a “Stubbs in the Championship” level rebuild and our track record in recent summer transfer windows has not been good.
Once more though, we seem to have done some good business in January, both with loan and permanent signings - something Hibs deserve credit for. More often than not, the January windows get the job done.
Certainly an awful lot to be happy about today and what appears to be the current direction of travel - but I’ll probably fall a bit short of being certain that our future is bright quite yet.
24-02-2024, 07:33 PM
Huge result for the guy and the team. Deserves it after the number of joke decisions he has been on the wrong end of
24-02-2024, 07:37 PM
Identifying and bringing in the correct players to fix the holes in the team and to give competition also help. We had a good window where we upgraded in key areas.
Keepthefaith
24-02-2024, 07:53 PM
I’m still a bit concerned by the number of important players we have who won’t be with us next season. It’s bordering on a “Stubbs in the Championship” level rebuild and our track record in recent summer transfer windows has not been good.
Once more though, we seem to have done some good business in January, both with loan and permanent signings - something Hibs deserve credit for. More often than not, the January windows get the job done.
Certainly an awful lot to be happy about today and what appears to be the current direction of travel - but I’ll probably fall a bit short of being certain that our future is bright quite yet.
There's no point worrying now about next season, and no point comparing it to seasons past when we have new investment about to come in which will put us in unchartered waters
It's also clear that the club are planning, hence comments about bevon coming back and Moriah Welsh being signed long term.
Agree there will likely be a lot of changes but these should bring excitement not worry!
sauzee1989
24-02-2024, 08:06 PM
19 times he said ‘I thought’ in 3 minutes. Thicker than yogi hughes
DIXIHIBS
24-02-2024, 08:09 PM
Classy...
24-02-2024, 08:15 PM
No denying it's appears to have been a good window. But I think the formation change has has a big effect
24-02-2024, 08:17 PM
Why wouldn’t he say “I thought” when he’s there to tell us his thoughts?
sauzee1989
24-02-2024, 08:21 PM
Why wouldn’t he say “I thought” when he’s there to tell us his thoughts?
I don’t disagree why he shouldn’t say I thought! But 19 times shows he’s daft and not hibs class.
24-02-2024, 08:27 PM
There's no point worrying now about next season, and no point comparing it to seasons past when we have new investment about to come in which will put us in unchartered waters
It's also clear that the club are planning, hence comments about bevon coming back and Moriah Welsh being signed long term.
Agree there will likely be a lot of changes but these should bring excitement not worry!
All very fair points.
And I should add - I thoroughly enjoyed today and I’m looking forward to the games coming up over the next few weeks. You can have all sorts of KPIs but ultimately in football all Hibs need to do is to make the fans happy and to make us want to go back. For right now, they’re doing both.
The future will just have to take care of itself.
pundy man
24-02-2024, 08:33 PM
Shocking comment. You will be slagging Yogi’s leith accent next , get a grip
Musselbound
24-02-2024, 08:35 PM
I don’t disagree why he shouldn’t say I thought! But 19 times shows he’s daft and not hibs class.
Oh come on. All players and managers are full of cliches. Does it really matter what words he uses to express himself?
24-02-2024, 08:36 PM
I don’t disagree why he shouldn’t say I thought!
What does that sentence mean?
Sounds daft and not Hibs class.
DIXIHIBS
24-02-2024, 08:43 PM
What does that sentence mean?
Sounds daft and not Hibs class.
Think the poster is talking about himself😜
mcohibs
24-02-2024, 08:44 PM
Not the brightest are you?
24-02-2024, 08:45 PM
Strange take:confused:
Bridge hibs
24-02-2024, 08:47 PM
Eh ? Yet here you are calling Montgomery daft 🤣
sauzee1989
24-02-2024, 09:10 PM
Eh ? Yet here you are calling Montgomery daft 🤣
If it was a hearts manager hibs fans would be taking the piss out of his lack of vocabulary.
w pilton hibby
24-02-2024, 09:14 PM
If it was a hearts manager hibs fans would be taking the piss out of his lack of vocabulary.
I think the daft one is the person who counted how many times NM said I thought 19 times.
Hibeesdaft16
24-02-2024, 09:15 PM
Cleared a massive hurdle today. Credit to him for choosing the team that won a tough game . Please let us kick on from here.
sauzee1989
24-02-2024, 09:18 PM
I think the daft one is the person who counted how many times NM said I thought 19 times.
Considering it happens every single interview it’s not really news is it?
Sioux
24-02-2024, 09:26 PM
Considering it happens every single interview it’s not really news is it?
So why did you bring it up?
Bridge hibs
24-02-2024, 09:27 PM
He is hibs manager though so why are you ripping the pish out of him by calling him daft and not hibs class ?
You posted something further up that didnt make sense and it looked just as daft, are you not getting it ?
Quite pathetic that on the back of a win you come on here and slag off the manager when most are discussing the actual game
24-02-2024, 09:29 PM
Aye cause Naismith is a modern day Shakespeare right enough…
sauzee1989
24-02-2024, 09:32 PM
So why did you bring it up?
Because every week it sounds ridiculous and I would like our manager to come across better. Not really rocket science. To say I thought 19times in 180 Seconds is pathetic.
He probably knows when to use capital letters and full stops.
Donegal Hibby
24-02-2024, 09:55 PM
Because every week it sounds ridiculous and I would like our manager to come across better. Not really rocket science. To say I thought 19times in 180 Seconds is pathetic.
I thought (oops 🤭 ) he spoke quite well and didn't count his thoughts as I was more interested to hear what they were.
Strange thing to get worked up about imo .
Donegal Hibby
25-02-2024, 12:10 AM
Even though Killie are going well , I agree with Warnock in I wouldn't want to be watching Killie every week either.
https://youtu.be/JfQG6-Mp6GU?si=sfnQVP-gURe03c58
25-02-2024, 12:13 AM
He probably knows when to use capital letters and full stops.
Wee Scottie Dug
25-02-2024, 12:49 AM
Even though Killie are going well , I agree with Warnock in I wouldn't want to be watching Killie every week either.
Goes against the grain agreeing with ‘Colin’ :greengrin
ChilliEater
25-02-2024, 12:54 AM
In my opinion, it suggests that he's smart, because he understands that he is being asked for his opinion, and is making it clear that it is his opinion rather than fact, and that, therefore, others may have, and are entitled to, another view.
In my view, it's a clearly a bigger sign of being thick when people state their opinion as fact, like this: "But 19 times shows he’s daft and not hibs class."
25-02-2024, 03:35 AM
I think with the players we have we will do alright till the end of the season so hoping for him to get hoyed may prove fruitless
mcohibs
25-02-2024, 06:28 AM
Warnock’s a fanny who thinks he can come up here and run his mouth after every game. Needs to learn to keep it shut and show a bit of dignity in the pish results he’s getting at Aberdeen. They’re 13 points behind Killie who I’m sure are gutted their sitting in fourth.
25-02-2024, 06:33 AM
I’d be embarrassed if Monty had come out and said that about an opposition team having just been tucked away by them 2-0.
25-02-2024, 06:47 AM
He is hibs manager though so why are you ripping the pish out of him by calling him daft and not hibs class ?
You posted something further up that didnt make sense and it looked just as daft, are you not getting it ?
Quite pathetic that on the back of a win you come on here and slag off the manager when most are discussing the actual game
indeed it’s like : How do you show you’re not a Hibs fan without writing you’re not a Hibs fan…
Crunchie
25-02-2024, 07:16 AM
Delighted for the man, hopefully we can kick on from here.
25-02-2024, 07:36 AM
Find a new team. Calling our manager thick? Disgrace.
Bridge hibs
25-02-2024, 07:36 AM
indeed it’s like : How do you show you’re not a Hibs fan without writing you’re not a Hibs fan…
Strange behaviour, he has actually posted around 5 or 6 previous times on other threads about Montgomery saying “thoughts” and has actually sat and counted them and the “thoughts” range from 12 to 20 times 😁
We have “dot” counters and now we have a “thought” counter 🤣
Caversham Green
25-02-2024, 07:37 AM
:agree: I'd bet neither Monty nor Yogi is so thick as to do that then use it to assess the interviewee's level of intelligence.
Warnock’s a fanny who thinks he can come up here and run his mouth after every game. Needs to learn to keep it shut and show a bit of dignity in the pish results he’s getting at Aberdeen. They’re 13 points behind Killie who I’m sure are gutted their sitting in fourth.
He's got to the age of 75 without learning that - not much chance of it happening now. TBH your first thee words would have sufficed.
25-02-2024, 07:50 AM
When does Aberdeen’s new manager bounce kick in? Is it two defeats, two draws and a cup win over Bonnyrigg Rose for Warnock?
HIBS NUTS
25-02-2024, 07:51 AM
Find a new team. Calling our manager thick? Disgrace.
Hibs played well yesterday, so why any fan would slag the manager off for something non football related, is really poor.
Keepthefaith
25-02-2024, 08:00 AM
In my opinion, it suggests that he's smart, because he understands that he is being asked for his opinion, and is making it clear that it is his opinion rather than fact, and that, therefore, others may have, and are entitled to, another view.
In my view, it's a clearly a bigger sign of being thick when people state their opinion as fact, like this: "But 19 times shows he’s daft and not hibs class."
Excellent retort, I had thought the same thing!
Funny how LJ was slagged for being too polished and too ready with 'technical' speak yet when we have a manager who is down to earth and authentic folk want some media savvy version. I know what I prefer, and it's someone genuine regardless of their ability in front of the camera.
Greensunshine
25-02-2024, 08:07 AM
Great result yesterday but more importantly it was a fine performance and a well deserved victory.
I’m absolutely delighted for Monty, here’s hoping we can carry this form onto Wednesday night.
babahibs
25-02-2024, 08:13 AM
I think this post has outed you pal, cheerio
25-02-2024, 08:14 AM
Great result yesterday but more importantly it was a fine performance and a well deserved victory.
I’m absolutely delighted for Monty, here’s hoping we can carry this form onto Wednesday night.
100%.
Monty gets it tight when we're not winning, and so he should get credit when we produce a fully deserved victory like yesterday.
That someone is waiting in the wings to snipe about how many times he uses a certain word in a post victory interview... seriously how sad is that 🤣
25-02-2024, 08:27 AM
I think this post has outed you pal, cheerio
Maybe happier listening to a nasally talking bawbag?
25-02-2024, 08:32 AM
Pathetic
25-02-2024, 08:35 AM
We need wins, no getting away from that, and 1 win doesn’t change anything in isolation. However I think it’s mean spirited not to see something building since post the St Mirren/the Celtc game.
Montgomery is still an inexperienced manager learning on the job. It’s fair to think he took too long to work out how to get the best out of what he has. However since he’s managed to get the January signings in the team we look night and day from the squad he inherited.
He was criticised for sticking to 442 (which was fair to a point), he’s changed to 433/4231 now he has some of his own players. He’s added Moriah-Welsh, Amos & Emiliano to the midfield which now looks balanced and can impact games (they’re also dragging Newell up who I thought was very good today). Maolida is excellent and a focal point we’ve not had even when he’s not playing well.
There’s no “shoehorning” of youngsters with Whittaker, Landers etc now able to play at their current level and not be selected out of necessity. Though I hope to see youngsters getting an opportunity as part of the summer planning for next season.
He’s shown he’s not stubborn and isn’t selecting players like Tavares every week unless they merit it. Youan another that was dropped as not doing enough and we looked a better overall team for it IMO.
Some people can’t look past the period in December/January that has left us where we currently are, which is fair enough. I expect us to make the top 6 now. However, as long as performances continue as they have over the last 5 games or so, added to sensible and on point areas targeted in the January window I think Montgomery isn’t far from getting things right consistently going forward from now. The defence will drag us down until the summer, but given what he did to the midfield in January I am happy to let him fix the defence in the summer as the top priority.
Totally agree
25-02-2024, 08:36 AM
Maybe happier listening to a nasally talking bawbag?
Undoubtedly
25-02-2024, 09:15 AM
I thought we were a dodgy handball penalty decision away from winning up there.
We were
25-02-2024, 09:16 AM
I don’t disagree why he shouldn’t say I thought! But 19 times shows he’s daft and not hibs class.To be fair you arent exactly showing Hibs class here either with comments like that.
25-02-2024, 09:18 AM
Great post. Yesterday’s team was prob the best we can field. Dropping Youan I think helped. If we can solve the defending crosses problem (second balls on the edge of the box). We can go on a run.
25-02-2024, 10:03 AM
Can’t be bothered finding the relevant thread for hair but because Monty keeps bringing him on this will do
I think the whole zero to hero story has been done, when jair came on yesterday I thought he brought nothing to the team in fact I felt more nervous when he came on
Easily shoved off the ball, wrong decisions
Maybe harsh but I don’t feel he improves us as a team at all