20-01-2024, 03:29 PM
1-0 Doidge!

Preston and bbc pundits absolutely sick, collective "oh no" from them

JammyDoidger
20-01-2024, 03:29 PM
Get in!!! Mon Hibs.

20-01-2024, 03:30 PM
Didn't even try to hide their dissapointment.

Completely unprofessional eh. Bunch of tossers.

Trinity Hibee
We need one or two more.

A second should finish it

VoltaireHibs
Get in there Doidge! Preston sounded like he'd opened his biscuit tin and found it empty. :boo hoo:

Makes the goal even better. Bunch of clowns.

Trinity Hibee
Get in there Doidge! Preston sounded like he'd opened his biscuit tin and found it empty. :boo hoo:

Delighted for the big man

20-01-2024, 03:31 PM
There's a huge slice of fortune as Marc McCallum fails to claim a free kick and the ball bounces off Christian Doidge's head.

Some.boy Doidgy [emoji1787]

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Sportsound absolutely gutted at our goal haha, pathetic

A second should finish it

Yep another one would

Not sure I do either

Question is how do we manage to keep getting it wrong?

At what point does it cease being just the managers fault?

Even some of the players have seen some success at ER or elsewhere

Where is it going wrong?

Recent transfer focus on buying up youngsters to develop has let us down significantly since we finished 3rd. As has trying to be different with our managerial appointments.

Not appointing McInnes when he was available and had a point to prove will forever be a massive open goal missed.

Hibs should be giving the BBC short shrift.

We have fat Jambo McLaughlin and fat Jambo Preston at this game.

Pathetic

scm70nyd1973

Choked on his fechin Bridie though

20-01-2024, 03:32 PM
Don’t thank god, thank Christ(ian)

s2hart
20-01-2024, 03:32 PM
Keep saying it, stop listening.
They despise us.

First time I've listened to sportsound in years since I'm back in the country for the first time in 6 years, I didn't realise how bad they do despise us, especially when we just scored, the groans was too obvious.

penihibs
20-01-2024, 03:33 PM
Preston absolutely gutted.

Unbelievable the change in his tone when Hibs scored,it really is like Hearts radio.

scm70nyd1973
When we lift the cup no one will say that’s great but how garbage were we against Forfar

Never in doubt.

147lothian
Out of jail, I've always been a fan of Doidge a good solid pro

VoltaireHibs
There's a huge slice of fortune as Marc McCallum fails to claim a free kick and the ball bounces off Christian Doidge's head.

One of the scruffiest strikers we've had, but they all count!

When we lift the cup no one will say that’s great but how garbage were we against Forfar

:)

20-01-2024, 03:34 PM
I don’t think we should underestimate how difficult these teams can make it when you play them away from home. Hearts look easily beat of the rest in our league as it stands and we all saw how lucky they were earlier. Any win will do.
Your right, look at the current scores, Hibs aren't the only team struggling against lower league opposition.

20-01-2024, 03:34 PM

Given the 1st half I'll take a bit of luck if that's what we need to get through today. Sounds like we've been much better since the subs much to chagrin of the fuds on Sportsound.

Cat Stanton
20-01-2024, 03:35 PM
Unless there’s a serious improvement in the second half of the season, I don’t want NM responsible for building a whole squad.

You do realise he hasn't signed any of the current squad (bar one for whom we don't have a work permit for yet)?

Anyway we're winning, cheer up.

20-01-2024, 03:35 PM

Pathetic

Quite simply taking the pee with that. Bbc tried to go over to fat Brian but obviously still crying about the Hibs goal.

20-01-2024, 03:36 PM
HOrrendous listen. Producer needs to get them to cut the awful attempts at comedy. Just comment on the football FFS instead of broadcasting childish attempts at humour choosing each other's Gladiator names and the like.

Broxburn Greens
Biscuits is a fud.

No Hibs oriented pundit on BBC in years, joke of coverage.

The commentary at lunchtime was dreadful as well, fawning all over hearts.

Victor

Straight out of the BBC Sportsjambo text book. What the commentator said today at the Spartans match. (Swapping Spartans with Forfar of course!)

VoltaireHibs

Pathetic

Between those two and John Robertson today, it's really just unprofessional. If there was an ex Hibby there to give it a bit of balance it wouldn't be so bad, but it's fairly relentless these days. Mind you, there's only one guaranteed way to shut them up...

Would give Megwa the last 10 minutes.

Torto7
20-01-2024, 03:37 PM
Delighted for the big man

Preston?

Would give Megwa the last 10 minutes.Mad he's not on the bench to allow Whittaker a rest

Not bbc fault we have brutal to watch again

Obita on for Whittaker.

Just don't listen to the BBC. I haven't done in years as it was a comedy show full of folk who supported their own clubs and got to commentate on them. Also the anti Hibs bias is off the charts.

madsen5
20-01-2024, 03:38 PM
Recent transfer focus on buying up youngsters to develop has let us down significantly since we finished 3rd. As has trying to be different with our managerial appointments.

Not appointing McInnes when he was available and had a point to prove will forever be a massive open goal missed.
Correct.

scm70nyd1973

He’s been on for the last 10 mins

Now got out strongest available team out there. Hopefully get another 1 or 2.

Mad he's not on the bench to allow Whittaker a rest

Cup tied with Airdrie.

You do realise he hasn't signed any of the current squad (bar one for whom we don't have a work permit for yet)?

Anyway we're winning, cheer up.

I do. It’s how he’s utilising (or not) the attacking quality that we have that concerns me. Managers have to earn the right to build teams and squads, and I’m far from convinced that he knows what he’s doing.

Not bbc fault we have brutal to watch againWhat's your point? Lol

leith lynx
20-01-2024, 03:39 PM

Pathetic
Agree, it's beyond a joke, only once in a blue moon we get a proper Hibs point of view with Yogi, Collins, Bartley or Nevin, bring back Craigie Paterson!

Keeping him fresh for the replay.

Torto7

No but it's our tax money the ***** are getting so they could try and be professional.

Considering he doesn't play much Doidge has scored a few goals this season.

Just don't listen to the BBC. I haven't done in years as it was a comedy show full of folk who supported their own clubs and got to commentate on them. Also the anti Hibs bias is off the charts.

Never ever have i listened to it and never ever will , Folk get all het up . Just don't listen to it

20-01-2024, 03:40 PM
Mad he's not on the bench to allow Whittaker a rest

That Monty bloke hasn’t a clue.

Weststandwanab

Exactly. Hearts fans on the radio aren’t going to start being pro-Hibs. Get over it. It’s been ***** for years. Old guys chatting **** about ****.

I think Hollyoaks and Made in Chelsea are ***** so I dinnae watch them. Nae point watching it and then moaning about it online.

Agree, it's beyond a joke, only once in a blue moon we get a proper Hibs point of view with Yogi, Collins, Bartley or Nevin, bring back Craigie Paterson!
Now we're getting favourite stories about Walter Smith!

Never ever have i listened to it and never ever will , Folk get all het up . Just don't listen to it

That’s the answer

"very comfortable for hibs now" Preston

he's so deflated

scm70nyd1973
Straight out of the BBC Sportsjambo text book. What the commentator said today at the Spartans match. (Swapping Spartans with Forfar of course!)

Don’t listen to that garbage but it’s an old phrase that is so true - we were not that flash v DUFC in the 2016 semi - but we got through

20-01-2024, 03:41 PM

Never get to Forfar from Airdrie in time.

Hibees1973

Pathetic

I stopped listening to it when Kenny McIntyre started to present it.

It's like the lowest of the red top tabloids in sound.

No but it's our tax money the ***** are getting so they could try and be professional.

Paying a tv licence doesn’t mean all output has to be to your liking!

Megwa MOM

HOrrendous listen. Producer needs to get them to cut the awful attempts at comedy. Just comment on the football FFS instead of broadcasting childish attempts at humour choosing each other's Gladiator names and the like.

BBC Scotland’s sports radio offering is like a different planet compared to 5 Live. Its amateurish and we all know about the old boy’s network. Really is poor, poor stuff.

he's so deflated

Trying reverse psychology

20-01-2024, 03:42 PM

he's so deflated
Deflated like the big fat maroon balloon that he is.

Tarrahib
20-01-2024, 03:42 PM
Never get to Forfar from Airdrie in time.
Wouldn’t be the first time we played an illegible player.

20-01-2024, 03:43 PM
Deflated like the big fat maroon balloon that he is.

his voice is deflated

the rest is absolutely not :greengrin

20-01-2024, 03:43 PM

However there should be an attempt at balance.

20-01-2024, 03:44 PM

What? An equal amount of fans of all teams? Or just balance for Hibs?

It’s a football show. They talk football. I dinnae like it, so I dinnae watch it.

Moaning about balance is like complaining you dinnae see enough corn on the cob recipes on Saturday Kitchen. Too much fish. There’s nae balance.

his high pitched voice will reach new levels if forfar equalise

That Monty bloke hasn’t a clue.

Should have been on the penalty for a start. Outrageous.

Torto7

Look up impartiality rules and stop making excuses for them.

scm70nyd1973
Megwa MOM

I think you are wrong - it’s now known as the Player of the match - what’s that all about - if it’s a men’s game it will be the man of the match- FFS

But agreed - his performance today was epic

VoltaireHibs
Exactly. Hearts fans on the radio aren’t going to start being pro-Hibs. Get over it. It’s been ***** for years. Old guys chatting **** about ****.

I think Hollyoaks and Made in Chelsea are ***** so I dinnae watch them. Nae point watching it and then moaning about it online.

Normally I'd agree, but today it's the only show in town. Even leaving Hibs stuff aside, it's a shambles of a show, folk shouting over each other, folk at games that take ages to say who and what team has scored. Chick Young rambling on like your jakey uncle about jumpers for goalpost. The whole thing screams, smug, self satisfied parochial tripe.

Weststandwanab
20-01-2024, 03:45 PM

Certainly trying

Bridge hibs
20-01-2024, 03:45 PM

Its Dubais fault isnt it

20-01-2024, 03:46 PM
Its Dubais fault isnt it

When did we sign him??

20-01-2024, 03:46 PM
Look up impartiality rules and stop making excuses for them.

Nah you’re alright, I’ll just no greet about no liking it.

Bridge hibs
20-01-2024, 03:47 PM
When did we sign him??

When we were sunning it up in Dubai

his high pitched voice will reach new levels if forfar equalise
If the pitch got any higher, only dogs would be able to hear him.

What? An equal amount of fans of all teams? Or just balance for Hibs?

No relatively fair analysis of games not guys acting like fans and revelling if their rivals struggle. Bet when Hearts lost to Brora there were no voices on the national broadcaster literally laughing at them. Farcical coverage

Its Dubais fault isnt it

Needs to get used to his new team mates.

20-01-2024, 03:48 PM
Sportsound studio sounds like a Downing St covid party.

Normally I'd agree, but today it's the only show in town. Even leaving Hibs stuff aside, it's a shambles of a show, folk shouting over each other, folk at games that take ages to say who and what team has scored. Chick Young rambling on like your jakey uncle about jumpers for goalpost. The whole thing screams, smug, self satisfied parochial tripe.

The same Chic who retired from the show about 5 years ago 🙄

scm70nyd1973
I’m getting a bit too comfortable about the game now - any updates ?

20-01-2024, 03:49 PM
How many minutes of injury time.

Exuberance1875
20-01-2024, 03:49 PM
Absolutely brilliant to see Bonnyrigg get a last minute winner against Falkirk. Most pleasing

20-01-2024, 03:50 PM
If the pitch got any higher, only dogs would be able to hear him.

whilst i've been slagging preston you should have heard the female announcing a goal at Ayr

near burst my ear drum

No relatively fair analysis of games not guys acting like fans and revelling if their rivals struggle. Bet when Hearts lost to Brora there were no voices on the national broadcaster literally laughing at them. Farcical coverage

Exactly. They would have been talking about it being a shock. But laughing? No.

We should give them the absolute minimum required under the contract.

Credit to all the Hibs fans who went to watch today :top marks

20-01-2024, 03:52 PM
FT 0-1 :flag:

penihibs
whilst i've been slagging preston you should have heard the female announcing a goal at Ayr

near burst my ear drum

Just as well Joey Barton's no tuned in to her!

Silversand
FT 0-1 :flag:[emoji16][emoji106]

Sent from my SM-S911B using Tapatalk

We are in the hat for the next round, that's all that matters

Brutal and not good enough.

But through to the next round which I guess is the most important thing

Phew

scm70nyd1973
Yahodie - a step towards the cup

20-01-2024, 03:53 PM

near burst my ear drum
Orgasmic? :greengrin

GRA
FT 1-0 Win and into next round all that matters 👍

Wonder if Derek Adams will get his books after today?

The Captain....
Stroll on thru to the next round.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

Up-the-slope
Preston - super depressed sounding :greengrin

Let’s hope we’re better the time the next round comes

Job done. Just.

Big Doidge the man

Rumble de Thump
Through to the next round. Good experience for a couple of our youngsters. More minutes for Mckirdy. Megwa and Maolida to be available for the next game.

20-01-2024, 03:54 PM
Doesn't sound great today but we're through.

We've got one signing done. Need another 2-3 to come in.

Let's just remember our neighbours needed a last gasp winner today.

Going to these lower league grounds in winter is rarely easy.

Thank goodness :flag:

scm70nyd1973
Potter’s puss will be a joy to watch this evening 🤭

In the draw for the next round. All that matters in cup games!!

And done. Thank ****. Appreciate we're short on a few players but things need to improve quickly as we've got a tough run of league games starting with Rangers on Wednesday. Onwards!

Job done but that was harder than it should have been. Start with your best side. Get the job done. Then mess around

Stonewall

There is no reason not to provide an objective view of the game in my opinion. BBC coverage has definitely gone downmarket which I think is why Craig Patterson stopped doing it. McCoist shows for the most part that it is perfectly possible to do this.

i have not really noticed an anti Hibs agenda but as I haven’t listened to BBC Scotland radio coverage in the last 3-4 years I should be ignored.

Thank goodness :flag:

Phew!

20-01-2024, 03:55 PM
All of them was. Get in.

Including Tom Anguish. 😂

147lothian
20-01-2024, 03:55 PM
Brian McLauchlin sounded a bit gutted seems like he went to Station Park in the hope that he would be reporting on an upset

20-01-2024, 03:56 PM
Through to the next round. Good experience for a couple of our youngsters. More minutes for Mckirdy. Megwa and Maolida to be available for the next game.

Will Maolida have clearance by then?

Monty keeps the wolves from the door for another week. One day he will get to play a player he has signed.

Think today probably opens his eyes to the scale of the rebuild required.

Absolutely brilliant to see Bonnyrigg get a last minute winner against Falkirk. Most pleasing

Yup, that is stunning; well down the Posies.

Rick Rude
20-01-2024, 03:57 PM
Doesn't seem like any of the premier teams have been that comfortable. Didn't they end up changing the dates years ago when the winter break started cause so many teams were coming back off the break and losing to lower league teams?

Hibees1973
Painful, as usual.

Some other poster got pelters for saying he enjoyed the last 2 Saturdays when we were not playing.

There is a grain of truth in that.

I’m sure I read that ‘as long as we win, the performance doesn’t matter’ on here.

Monty keeps the wolves from the door for another week. One day he will get to play a player he has signed.

Really concerning if it’s took him this long

Your right, look at the current scores, Hibs aren't the only team struggling against lower league opposition.

Let's all laugh at Falkirk 🤣

20-01-2024, 03:58 PM
There is no reason not to provide an objective view of the game in my opinion. BBC coverage has definitely gone downmarket which I think is why Craig Patterson stopped doing it. McCoist shows for the most part that it is perfectly possible to do this.

i have not really noticed an anti Hibs agenda but as I haven’t listened to BBC Scotland radio coverage in the last 3-4 years I should be ignored.

I agree. McCoist is excellent. Natural radio presenter. His genuine enthusiasm shines through.

20-01-2024, 03:59 PM
Any positive performances today?

ChuckNor
20-01-2024, 03:59 PM
Heard Rory Whittaker was poor again. I think he needs to go out on loan. Not ready for us and could hinder his development. Real potential there.

20-01-2024, 04:00 PM

You would think before he applied for the job he had watched us or done his homework before interview how to IMPROVE this team.

Rumble de Thump
20-01-2024, 04:00 PM
Will Maolida have clearance by then?

Montgomery said he expects the clearance to be given before the Sevco game.

20-01-2024, 04:01 PM
I was there. :rolleyes:

Me too.

20-01-2024, 04:01 PM
Any positive performances today?

Megwa was solid apparently

20-01-2024, 04:03 PM
Pah, what about losing 1:2 against Arbroath at Easter Road after scoring first, having escaped with a 0:0
in the first leg. now that was pain.

I was at both of those games. :bitchy:

Through but not convincingly but the next round was imperative, this just shows that better players are a must and as quick as possible.

Heard Rory Whittaker was poor again. I think he needs to go out on loan. Not ready for us and could hinder his development. Real potential there.

He wasn’t. Tired at the end. Team was poor.

Exuberance1875
Let's all laugh at Falkirk 🤣

This. This a thousand times.

scm70nyd1973
20-01-2024, 04:04 PM
Megwa was solid apparently

Top drawer - thank god he wasn’t cup tied

20-01-2024, 04:05 PM
You would think before he applied for the job he had watched us or done his homework before interview how to IMPROVE this team.

I’m not sure there’s a whole lot of improving in this squad short of moving a load on and signing 5 or 6 starters. We’re mid table dross, which is about right IMO.

20-01-2024, 04:07 PM
Doidgerinho to the rescue

20-01-2024, 04:08 PM
Doidgerinho to the rescue

Is that the thing Aborigines blow into??

The Captain....
20-01-2024, 04:09 PM
Job done but that was harder than it should have been. Start with your best side. Get the job done. Then mess aroundAgreed, hopefully lessons learned. A lot of unnecessary mistakes being made.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

Job done but that was harder than it should have been. Start with your best side. Get the job done. Then mess around

Agree was surprised with the starting line up. Levit and Vente would have started for me

Thank goodness we won!

I’m not sure there’s a whole lot of improving in this squad short of moving a load on and signing 5 or 6 starters. We’re mid table dross, which is about right IMO.

It’s pretty much the same squad that came very close to 4th last season. We should be expecting more without a complete overhaul.

scm70nyd1973

Monty probably knows by now who will buy into his style and who he can get to do it for him. Whether or not it’s the bulk who get shipped out or just a few will not be disclosed and will never be disclosed. We need a team - an actual team who work together- and a team of guys who have good mentality.

GreenGray
20-01-2024, 04:10 PM
Sportsound gutted that we scraped that win.

Just know they’d be piling if we had gotten beat but they’ve not said much about their pal Leiven going out to Aridrie.

20-01-2024, 04:10 PM

Vente Obita and Fish if we can keep him are all I think we should be keeping going forward with Foleys cash. I wouldn’t lose sleep if any of the others weren’t at Hibs next season. Hopefully another couple of semi decent signings will see us pick up the form a bit meantime.

147lothian
20-01-2024, 04:12 PM
Falkirk Out on their ear. Rosie go marching on!

20-01-2024, 04:12 PM
We are in the hat for the next round, that's all that matters

Bound to get Airdrie, Megwa with the winner.

20-01-2024, 04:13 PM
Is that the thing Aborigines blow into??

That’s a doidgeridooo

Rumble de Thump
20-01-2024, 04:14 PM
If we can get a reliable penalty taker it would make life a lot easier.

Scotty Leither
20-01-2024, 04:16 PM

Jeggo never passes it forward, partly due to his role, partly due to his lack of ability, and Newell had one of his “quieter” games today.

We are crying out for a creative midfielder that can link things up but we simply will not spend the money required for that type of player.

The penalty aside, to have no shots on target in the first half against that calibre of opposition is not acceptable for a Hibs team.

20-01-2024, 04:16 PM
It’s pretty much the same squad that came very close to 4th last season. We should be expecting more without a complete overhaul.

It’s the same squad that finished 5th, went on losing streaks and lost to every team in the league. It’s currently 6th. It’s generally dire, but so was last season IMO. Our bench is full of kids and our best option is to play the best 11 every week and hope we don’t have to make any subs. We’re about where I expect us to be with this squad IMO. Which is depressing for what the squad cost.

20-01-2024, 04:17 PM
Great result.
Into the next round. Well done all involved.

Moaners will moan.

Bridge hibs
20-01-2024, 04:18 PM
Great result.
Into the next round. Well done all involved.

Moaners will moan.Here here 😀

20-01-2024, 04:18 PM
Mental how many times we see games like this, Hibs are brutal for it, bit is definitely not just us. Hearts scraped by Spartans earlier, and went out to Brora not too long ago, Aberdeen had Darval last season.

The games are clearly not the gimme that they should be but I struggle to accept that we can't be doing much, much better than that today.

Far too many players in our team who take part in games without any real determination to dominate them. It's far too common for these guys to accept that we're just having one of those games when we need them to be saying "it's not happening to us today".

Monty needs to look at what this team are doing under his instruction and figure out how to get them to play like he wants them to or work out what it is about the way he communicate the instructions that isn't landing.

We will get the complaints about the formation, but these players have put these performances in under different managers using different formations.

We need someone in that dressing room setting the bar far, far higher than the players are accepting right now from each other.

Trinity Hibee
20-01-2024, 04:19 PM
Mental how many times we see games like this, Hibs are brutal for it, bit is definitely not just us. Hearts scraped by Spartans earlier, and went out to Brora not too long ago, Aberdeen had Darval last season.

The games are clearly not the gimme that they should be but I struggle to accept that we can't be doing much, much better than that today.

Far too many players in our team who take part in games without any real determination to dominate them. It's far too common for these guys to accept that we're just having one of those games when we need them to be saying "it's not happening to us today".

Monty needs to look at what this team are doing under his instruction and figure out how to get them to play like he wants them to or work out what it is about the way he communicate the instructions that isn't landing.

We will get the complaints about the formation, but these players have put these performances in under different managers using different formations.

We need someone in that dressing room seeing the bar far, far higher than the players are accepting right now from each other.

Agree with all of this

Broxburn Greens
20-01-2024, 04:21 PM

We need someone in that dressing room setting the bar far, far higher than the players are accepting right now from each other.

Top post.

Keyser Sauzee
20-01-2024, 04:21 PM
Is the draw tonight after Rangers game or tomorrow after Celtic game?

20-01-2024, 04:22 PM
It’s the same squad that finished 5th, went on losing streaks and lost to every team in the league. It’s currently 6th. It’s generally dire, but so was last season IMO. Our bench is full of kids and our best option is to play the best 11 every week and hope we don’t have to make any subs. We’re about where I expect us to be with this squad IMO. Which is depressing for what the squad cost.

Our last manager was pretty hopeless but ultimately we finished comfortably in 5th. He was also shorn of the services of Nisbet and Boyle for much of the season, and big Myk was barely fit. Youan took about half a season to settle in as well.

NM arguably has better attacking options available to him this year, the same defensive options, and the same midfield plus Levitt, and he cannot get them going at all.

Heard the same shouts of “once he gets his own players in” when Maloney was here as well. NM has to earn the right to build a squad. That starts with doing better than the last guy, with the same players.

Broxburn Greens

Tomorrow

We need someone in that dressing room seeing the bar far, far higher than the players are accepting right now from each other.
Spot on Matty. A player or two on the park that will not accept that sort of performance as it’s happening is a must THIS WINDOW.

Bridge hibs
20-01-2024, 04:23 PM
The romance of the cup they say, well if this thread is anything to go by then romance is well and truly dead and buried 😄

20-01-2024, 04:24 PM

Hope Megwa gets through Wed ok, it will be a tough one for him,I think.

Broxburn Greens
20-01-2024, 04:24 PM
Monty laying into the team for 1st half but saying better 2nd half.

Saying we prepared for exactly what was happening.

What’s that telling you Monty? Squad just not up to it…..

20-01-2024, 04:25 PM
We lack professionalism. We need players who will keep going when it’s tough and give a consistent effort even when things aren’t going their way. A few on the pitch today though they could turn up and treat it like a training exercise and we also don’t have enough on the bench to replace them which is the worry.

We have less than five players who I’d say are first team quality consistently enough to warrant a place at the club. Thats pitiful.

Rumble de Thump
20-01-2024, 04:25 PM
Our last manager was pretty hopeless but ultimately we finished comfortably in 5th. He was also shorn of the services of Nisbet and Boyle for much of the season, and big Myk was barely fit. Youan took about half a season to settle in as well.

NM arguably has better attacking options available to him this year, the same defensive options, and the same midfield plus Levitt, and he cannot get them going at all.

Heard the same shouts of “once he gets his own players in” when Maloney was here as well. NM has to earn the right to build a squad. That starts with doing better than the last guy, with the same players.

We have players out injured and players away on international duty. For example, we were missing a first choice central defender and had to play our fourth choice right back.

20-01-2024, 04:26 PM

Heard the same shouts of “once he gets his own players in” when Maloney was here as well. NM has to earn the right to build a squad.

That’s fair.

Montgomery might or might be the right man to rebuild the squad. Howeever it is a squad needing Stubbs-esque level of rebuilding IMO. The managers get sacked, but in 2024 we’ve started with the spine of the team from Heckingbottom (Hanlon, Newell, Doidge plus Stevenson), 4 managers ago (plus Monty).

Scotty Leither
Monty laying into the team for 1st half but saying better 2nd half.

Saying we prepared for exactly what was happening.

What’s that telling you Monty? Squad just not up to it…..

Another one that talks a good game. He hasn’t mentioned how many passes we made today yet, has he?

Some people saying the Wolves are at the door for Monty... but I honestly don't think he's anywhere near ready for that level.

20-01-2024, 04:27 PM

I think a 442 with a slow possession based approach just encourages teams like Forfar to get after us and if they work hard they know it will be difficult for us.

Lee Johnson said a lot of nonsense, but in one of his first interviews he said something very true along the lines of I don’t want my goalie or centre half touching the ball more times in a game than Euan Henderson etc.

Monty needs to realise that too.

Get good players on the pitch in a formation that gets the best out of the group, he clearly has his beliefs but it’s staring him in the face.

We were brutal today, we’ll line up more or less the exact same against rangers midweek.

We also need better players, pure and simple.

Lennon, McInness etc all get a bad name and I’m not saying they should be manager. But their teams (overall) work because they’re aggressive and play with intensity, get it in the opposition half and make them defend.

No matter who we play or where, they’ll think they can get after us.

Jeggo never passes it forward, partly due to his role, partly due to his lack of ability, and Newell had one of his “quieter” games today.

We are crying out for a creative midfielder that can link things up but we simply will not spend the money required for that type of player.

The penalty aside, to have no shots on target in the first half against that calibre of opposition is not acceptable for a Hibs team.
Exactly what Montgomery has just said BBC sport

Just watched NMs post match interview on Sportscene. He didn’t sound too happy and rightly so. Curries take on it. He sounded relieved. 😂😂

Exactly what Montgomery has just said BBC sport

Which part?

20-01-2024, 04:28 PM
Some people saying the Wolves are at the door for Monty... but I honestly don't think he's anywhere near ready for that level.

Shouldn't be talking about sacking anyone after a win, imho.

20-01-2024, 04:29 PM
Which part?

First half wasn’t good enough. Didn’t do what they’d worked on over the last few days.

We won today which is good and nobody will judge him on the Rangers game. Needs to be a huge improvement for Kilmarnock and St Mirren. Hopefully another couple of players in before then.

Who’s saying that?

20-01-2024, 04:30 PM
Shouldn't be talking about sacking anyone after a win, imho.

Trinity Hibee
20-01-2024, 04:31 PM

Tomorrow night on sportscene

20-01-2024, 04:31 PM

Aye, these are my thoughts tae.

A baw hair off finishing 4th last season. The squads capable of at least that again, in my opinion. Manager has to do better with the squad he’s got.

The footballs no good enough. The system isn’t good enough.

We’ve been desperate for a creative midfielder for absolutely ages. I do think getting someone in to link the midfield to the attack a bit better would make a huge difference

CL0762
20-01-2024, 04:32 PM
That was awful. Understand it’s all about getting through but to have that level of performance against a side sitting 2 places above bottom in league 2 isn’t good enough IMO.

It cannot be underestimated how big a rebuild we need, someone above said “mid table dross” and that’s exactly what we are.

Chipper1875
20-01-2024, 04:36 PM
That was awful. Understand it’s all about getting through but to have that level of performance against a side sitting 2 places above bottom in league 2 isn’t good enough IMO.

It cannot be underestimated how big a rebuild we need, someone above said “mid table dross” and that’s exactly what we are.

Yes , dreadful and managers tactics and equally poor . Passing side ways and backwards when forwards are making runs . Inverted wingers , which maenads area around the box is packed. No width.

20-01-2024, 04:37 PM
Just watched NMs post match interview on Sportscene. He didn’t sound too happy and rightly so. Curries take on it. He sounded relieved. 😂😂

Yes, first time we’ve seen that side to Monty I think. Up until now he’s protected the players, even when they’ve not deserved it. With the transfer window being open now I wonder if he’ll be a bit different. We saw what happened under Butcher when he took the opposite approach outside the transfer window.

20-01-2024, 04:38 PM
That’s fair.

Montgomery might or might be the right man to rebuild the squad. Howeever it is a squad needing Stubbs-esque level of rebuilding IMO. The managers get sacked, but in 2024 we’ve started with the spine of the team from Heckingbottom (Hanlon, Newell, Doidge plus Stevenson), 4 managers ago (plus Monty).

Also fair points. The amount of money we have wasted on failed projects since Ross finished 3rd, instead of proven first team quality, has seen us miss out on group stage football two years running.

We definitely need more quality in, but I feel that there is undoubted ability in key areas in this squad that is not being well utilised by NM. There are also real doubts as to whether his preferred style and formation will bring us success in the league.

As long as that remains the case, I’ll be reluctant to give him the responsibility of making wholesale changes.

20-01-2024, 04:38 PM
I think a 442 with a slow possession based approach just encourages teams like Forfar to get after us and if they work hard they know it will be difficult for us.

Lee Johnson said a lot of nonsense, but in one of his first interviews he said something very true along the lines of I don’t want my goalie or centre half touching the ball more times in a game than Euan Henderson etc.

Monty needs to realise that too.

Get good players on the pitch in a formation that gets the best out of the group, he clearly has his beliefs but it’s staring him in the face.

We were brutal today, we’ll line up more or less the exact same against rangers midweek.

We also need better players, pure and simple.

Lennon, McInness etc all get a bad name and I’m not saying they should be manager. But their teams (overall) work because they’re aggressive and play with intensity, get it in the opposition half and make them defend.

No matter who we play or where, they’ll think they can get after us.

We didn’t play 442 today. Next.

20-01-2024, 04:39 PM
It’s all about getting through.

Timing of these types of games directly after the break is not grey.

We’re through, onto Wednesday now.

20-01-2024, 04:40 PM

No bother “Brightside”

VoltaireHibs
20-01-2024, 04:42 PM

What formation did we play? Genuine question.

20-01-2024, 04:44 PM
Also fair points. The amount of money we have wasted on failed projects since Ross finished 3rd, instead of proven first team quality, has seen us miss out on group stage football two years running.

We definitely need more quality in, but I feel that there is undoubted ability in key areas in this squad that is not being well utilised by NM. There are also real doubts as to whether his preferred style and formation will bring us success in the league.

As long as that remains the case, I’ll be reluctant to give him the responsibility of making wholesale changes.
Genuine question - where is the ability? We don’t have a striker who appears capable of even ten to fifteen goals in the season, only Jair gives me confidence out wide, only Newell I would trust in centre mid, a sixteen year old at right back who we only have an ageing Lewis Stevenson to replace him, and either an ageing Paul Hanlon or Rocky who cannot concentrate for a full ninety minutes at centre back.

Sooner people realise how bad this squad is the better, and considering we’ve hired so many players in the last couple of seasons is unforgivable.

If it gets to that, sacking a manager won’t change it. Ben Kensell needs to take responsibility for how far the quality we have on the pitch has slipped in the last couple of years. Bad strategy, bad recruitment, and signing a few deals to bring more money into the club doesn’t matter when we’ve been spending it on utter dross.

20-01-2024, 04:45 PM

Was a 4231 but formations don’t matter when players give the ball away.

20-01-2024, 04:46 PM
We have players out injured and players away on international duty. For example, we were missing a first choice central defender and had to play our fourth choice right back.

Johnson faced similar issues last season.

20-01-2024, 04:47 PM

He’ll say 4231 with Rudi playing as the CAM

Realistically it was the same formation and set up as we play every week with Rudi playing the Vente role by coming deep

20-01-2024, 04:47 PM
Folk calling for Monty are so far off it, the delusion in some is quite frankly startling.

He’s been in the building 4 months, signed one player whose work permit is still to come through, inherited a lot of sh*te within the squad that those before him have put together. He will rightly need time to get the right people in to implement his plan and approach.
Yes it’s been par for the course (only just) so far under his tenure and Aye today was awful, and he’s acknowledged that, but to be saying ‘the wolves are at the door’ is an absolute nonsense.

He needs the summer window when there will be a lot of deadwood out the door, and the time/budget to get the players he wants in to play the way he wants us to play.

20-01-2024, 04:48 PM

Irrespective of any shape, we were playing Forfar today. If players, particularly attacking ones, had the ability that is suggested, we’d stroll through. The a lack of ability to do basic things today was frightening.

20-01-2024, 04:48 PM
Genuine question - where is the ability? We don’t have a striker who appears capable of even ten to fifteen goals in the season, only Jair gives me confidence out wide, only Newell I would trust in centre mid, a sixteen year old at right back who we only have an ageing Lewis Stevenson to replace him, and either an ageing Paul Hanlon or Rocky who cannot concentrate for a full ninety minutes at centre back.

Sooner people realise how bad this squad is the better, and considering we’ve hired so many players in the last couple of seasons is unforgivable.

If it gets to that, sacking a manager won’t change it. Ben Kensell needs to take responsibility for how far the quality we have on the pitch has slipped in the last couple of years. Bad strategy, bad recruitment, and signing a few deals to bring more money into the club doesn’t matter when we’ve been spending it on utter dross.Surely that 16 year old right back is 3rd choice behind cadden (inj), Miller (international duty)

We can't carry 4 or 5 right backs imo

Our squad is a bit thin and has been impacted by long term injuries and will naturally be hampered by us losing potentially 3 starters to the Asian cup

I don't really think we need to sign that many players but we need 2 or 3 of high quality

20-01-2024, 04:50 PM
Was a 4231 but formations don’t matter when players give the ball away.

Na, it wasn’t.

20-01-2024, 04:50 PM
Surely that 16 year old right back is 3rd choice behind cadden (inj), Miller (international duty)

We can't carry 4 or 5 right backs imo

Our squad is a bit thin and has been impacted by long term injuries and will naturally be hampered by us losing potentially 3 starters to the Asian cup

I don't really think we need to sign that many players but we need 2 or 3 of high quality

Honestly think we need 7-8 players of first team quality, and as we won’t get them then Ian Gordon and Ben “Swiss Toni” Kensell will end up getting a new manager in to deflect, deflect, deflect.

We knew Cadds was long term out and we knew we had international call ups, and yet here we are mid January, Sevco up next, and the same awful squad to pick from (albeit with a loanee coming in soon).

northern-hibee
20-01-2024, 04:51 PM
We won today which is good and nobody will judge him on the Rangers game. Needs to be a huge improvement for Kilmarnock and St Mirren. Hopefully another couple of players in before then.

Why will no one judge him on the Rangers game? Are home games against Rangers now just dead rubbers and it won’t matter if we get hammered at Easter Road by them. I’ll certainly be judging him if that’s the case

20-01-2024, 04:53 PM
Folk calling for Monty are so far off it, the delusion in some is quite frankly startling.

He’s been in the building 4 months, signed one player whose work permit is still to come through, inherited a lot of sh*te within the squad that those before him have put together. He will rightly need time to get the right people in to implement his plan and approach.
Yes it’s been par for the course (only just) so far under his tenure and Aye today was awful, and he’s acknowledged that, but to be saying ‘the wolves are at the door’ is an absolute nonsense.

He needs the summer window when there will be a lot of deadwood out the door, and the time/budget to get the players he wants in to play the way he wants us to play.

Inherited a load of ***** = taken over a team who qualified for Europe

Stairway 2 7
20-01-2024, 04:54 PM
That was grimm but were through and that's really all that matters in the cup

Rumble de Thump
20-01-2024, 04:56 PM
Honestly think we need 7-8 players of first team quality, and as we won’t get them then Ian Gordon and Ben “Swiss Toni” Kensell will end up getting a new manager in to deflect, deflect, deflect.

We knew Cadds was long term out and we knew we had international call ups, and yet here we are mid January, Sevco up next, and the same awful squad to pick from (albeit with a loanee coming in soon).

What's the Swiss Toni patter about?

20-01-2024, 04:56 PM
Na, it wasn’t.

It was to my eyes and everyone around me. You surely don’t think rudi played up top today.

Saint Hibee
20-01-2024, 04:57 PM

It’s “the way he wants us to play” that gives me the jitters.

20-01-2024, 04:58 PM
What's the Swiss Toni patter about?

Lots of nice words, comes across as a bit of a used car salesman to me.

Blamed Maloney, blamed LJ, now people are blaming Monty not realising the constant behind all three. We need people who know what they’re doing with the football side of things running the club and if we need to change more than just bringing in McDermott, so be it. Just now we’ve regressed so far on the pitch it’s scary.

20-01-2024, 04:59 PM
He’ll say 4231 with Rudi playing as the CAM

Realistically it was the same formation and set up as we play every week with Rudi playing the Vente role by coming deep

They are very similar almost identical though.

20-01-2024, 04:59 PM
Wasn’t there today but I guess it was the same one paced play it out from the back plod. We desperately need someone in the middle of the park that will drive the team on and drag his team mates along with him. More than one or two whilst we’re at it. I don’t mind the way we are trying to play but the glacial pace is excruciating for the most part. We lack desire and pace in the middle of the park and when we are eventually playing it out from the back. If we can’t do it against the bottom of the bottom tier then it really is needing an almost 100% overhaul.

20-01-2024, 05:02 PM

If it gets to that, sacking a manager won’t change it. Ben Kensell needs to take responsibility for how far the quality we have on the pitch has slipped in the last couple of years. Bad strategy, bad recruitment, and signing a few deals to bring more money into the club doesn’t matter when we’ve been spending it on utter dross.

Vente scored five goals with his first five shots, but has barely had a sniff in the last few weeks. Boyle, Youan are obvious quality who can score and create when used correctly.

As for the rest, I’m not repeating all I’ve written in my earlier posts, but our last manager (who was far from great) took pretty much the same squad to 5th place, and extremely close to 4th.

He did that against a backdrop of many injuries to major players, and losing Porteous in January. And none of it was considered to be a particularly strong achievement (which I don’t disagree with).

You’re now giving our current manager and entirely free pass on his and the team’s performance because you think the squad that finished comfortably in 5th place last season is not fit for purpose?

He needs to do better, and soon. I will say that this point last season things didn’t look good for LJ either, but he turned it around. I can’t see NM doing that unless he gets much less rigid in his thinking though.

He's here!
20-01-2024, 05:04 PM
Just glad to have avoided embarrassment. About as much as you can hope for with the current set-up.

VoltaireHibs
20-01-2024, 05:04 PM
Wasn’t there today but I guess it was the same one paced play it out from the back plod. We desperately need someone in the middle of the park that will drive the team on and drag his team mates along with him. More than one or two whilst we’re at it. I don’t mind the way we are trying to play but the glacial pace is excruciating for the most part. We lack desire and pace in the middle of the park and when we are eventually playing it out from the back. If we can’t do it against the bottom of the bottom tier then it really is needing an almost 100% overhaul.

That sort of football only really pays dividends when the opposing team want to play out as well. In the SPL that's about two or three teams, and two of them have players that can do it much better than we can. The phrase 'hiding to nothing' springs to mind.

20-01-2024, 05:05 PM
Won the game, clean sheet, Marshall very much back to his best under Monty, Doidge gets a goal, potential banana skin averted, into the next round. Job done, not a great performance but cup run continues that’s the main thing 👍

20-01-2024, 05:05 PM
They are very similar almost identical though.

Agree to a certain extent, it was more the arsey “next” I didn’t appreciate.

20-01-2024, 05:07 PM
Vente scored five goals with his first five shots, but has barely had a sniff in the last few weeks. Boyle, Youan are obvious quality who can score and create when used correctly.

As for the rest, I’m not repeating all I’ve written in my earlier posts, but our last manager (who was far from great) took pretty much the same squad to 5th place, and extremely close to 4th.

He did that against a backdrop of many injuries to major players, and losing Porteous in January. And none of it was considered to be a particularly strong achievement (which I don’t disagree with).

You’re now giving our current manager and entirely free pass on his and the team’s performance because you think the squad that finished comfortably in 5th place last season is not fit for purpose?

He needs to do better, and soon. I will say that this point last season things didn’t look good for LJ either, but he turned it around. I can’t see NM doing that unless he gets much less rigid in his thinking though.

A lot of fair points however LJ did have a summer window and at this time last year most fans wanted him punted and we only improved on the back of two or three jan signings. Montgomery needs the chance to bring in and let’s see how we do however certainly needs to improve

20-01-2024, 05:08 PM

Fair enough

20-01-2024, 05:09 PM
Irrespective of any shape, we were playing Forfar today. If players, particularly attacking ones, had the ability that is suggested, we’d stroll through. The a lack of ability to do basic things today was frightening.

If we’d had started with our best attacking options today, I would agree completely - but we didnt.

Last year the frustration was that we had much attacking quality that was always hampered by injuries. This year we seem to have a potentially excellent SPL level front three in Boyle, Youan and Vente, who have been fit virtually the whole season, and have never started a game as a front three together (IIRC).

Paulie Walnuts
20-01-2024, 05:10 PM

Agree with all of that.

20-01-2024, 05:15 PM
https://youtu.be/jeGTt08xdWA?feature=shared

20-01-2024, 05:15 PM
A lot of fair points however LJ did have a summer window and at this time last year most fans wanted him punted and we only improved on the back of two or three jan signings. Montgomery needs the chance to bring in and let’s see how we do however certainly needs to improve

That’s fair Jim, though as discussed, it’s hard to argue that LJ was well-served by that summer window (genuinely don’t know how much of that was down to him).

More than happy to see where we are after this window, but had been hoping for more with what he has right now.

Davy Mac
20-01-2024, 05:16 PM

Great post, but sadly I think NM comes across a stubborn sort, which in time might cost him hs job. An old boss of mine once said sometimes morals and values dont pay your mortage.

20-01-2024, 05:22 PM
Per BBC we had 8 shots, 4 on target. That is abysmal against such lowly opposition. Not signing up to the chat that we got through and "that's all that matters".
There is something drastically wrong if that is all we can muster against Forfar. And it's nothing new.
Matches since November:
Hearts 10 and 3.
St Johnstone 3 and 0
Livingston 4 and 2
Celtic 6 and 3
Aberdeen 11 and 3 (Aberdeen were 23 and 6)
Dundee 10 and 3
Killie 9 and 1
ST Mirren 9 and 4
Aberdeen 10 and 2
AVERAGE = 8 and 2.5

Dire.

20-01-2024, 05:30 PM
Per BBC we had 8 shots, 4 on target. That is abysmal against such lowly opposition. Not signing up to the chat that we got through and "that's all that matters".
There is something drastically wrong if that is all we can muster against Forfar. And it's nothing new.
Matches since November:
Hearts 10 and 3.
St Johnstone 3 and 0
Livingston 4 and 2
Celtic 6 and 3
Aberdeen 11 and 3 (Aberdeen were 23 and 6)
Dundee 10 and 3
Killie 9 and 1
ST Mirren 9 and 4
Aberdeen 10 and 2
AVERAGE = 8 and 2.5

Dire.

The fact that we’re through is what matters most.

Criticism of the performance after the event is absolutely fair game imo.

There were some comments during the game about 0-0 at half time being a disgrace - which I’d disagree with. Being 2 or 3 down would be a disgrace. Level pegging having had a poor half but with decent sub options and against a team who would likely tire is certainly frustrating but not a disaster.

I’m not going to say that I think we’re is great shape, I don’t believe we are, but I do think some of the chat is borderline hysterical right now.

Large, expectant Hibs crowds rarely end well and this was one of our less catastrophic outcomes.

20-01-2024, 05:32 PM

It’s the arsey always 442 I don’t appreciate. It’s become such a dull argument when it’s been pointed out we do not play a 442. We were poor due to Newell being miles off it in his role and Jeggo not having the ability to play forward in his role. Our form has zero to do with formations.

TimeForHeroes32
20-01-2024, 05:36 PM
The fact that we’re through is what matters most.

Criticism of the performance after the event is absolutely fair game imo.

There were some comments during the game about being 0-0 at half time being a disgrace - which I’d disagree with. Being 2 or 3 down would be a disgrace. Level pegging having had a poor half but with decent sub options and against a team who would likely tire is certainly frustrating but not a disaster.

I’m not going to say that I think we’re is great shape, I don’t believe we are, but I do think some of the chat is borderline hysterical right now.

There’s no sugar coating it drawing 0-0 against a League 2 team at HT is a disgrace especially when we pull out that performance. Luckily got the goal we didn’t deserve to keep ourselves in the cup. Monty got some real thinking to do if he thinks he is the man to take us forward as we shouldn’t be relying on Marshall keeping us in the game against lower league teams especially a team like Forfar

berwickhibee
20-01-2024, 05:36 PM
Players aren't good enough in any formation.

Need to sign players who go straight into the 11.

Not take chances of cheap options.

That squad today is a sad state.

20-01-2024, 05:37 PM
Players aren't good enough in any formation.

Need to sign players who go straight into the 11.

Not take chances of cheap options.

That squad today is a sad state.

Absolutely this.

20-01-2024, 05:41 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1748770068442267694?t=x5r4nJwIKWogxnNSf5WA1Q&s=19

Crunchie
20-01-2024, 05:50 PM
We didn't play at all, but we're through. He now should have a better idea on who he needs to empty and who to keep.

20-01-2024, 05:52 PM
We didn't play at all, but we're through. He now should have a better idea on who he needs to empty and who to keep.

Agreed. It’s a squad issue.

Crunchie
20-01-2024, 05:55 PM

20-01-2024, 06:05 PM
It’s the arsey always 442 I don’t appreciate. It’s become such a dull argument when it’s been pointed out we do not play a 442. We were poor due to Newell being miles off it in his role and Jeggo not having the ability to play forward in his role. Our form has zero to do with formations.

You should tell Monty then who has on numerous occasions stated we play a 442.

20-01-2024, 06:08 PM

He took us to the league cup semi final where we were robbed.

20-01-2024, 06:09 PM
Agreed. It’s a squad issue.

Definitely. Too many poor players, the legacy of several seasons of poor recruitment.

20-01-2024, 06:13 PM
Who’s saying that?

Megwa said it in his post match interview.

20-01-2024, 06:18 PM
Always been told the manager has the last say on the signings being presented to him but if those managers aren't great at seeing who's good or not, then no matter what the recruitment does, poor players will be signed. We've been chopping and changing managers for too long now and each has their own idea of what type of player they need, the squad is a mish mash of different managers signing which suits no particular system or tactic, I look at Celtic, 433 all day long, Rangers 451/4231, come to us and is it 433/4231/451/442/352 who the hell knows, the players certainly don't seem to know.

20-01-2024, 06:35 PM
Won the game, clean sheet, Marshall very much back to his best under Monty, Doidge gets a goal, potential banana skin averted, into the next round. Job done, not a great performance but cup run continues that’s the main thing 👍

Absolutely nothing else to say :agree:

20-01-2024, 06:41 PM
Monty still has my support 100% but if he does get the boot, all eyes need to be on those running the club.

That'll be a serious run of managerial failures, and despite good money spent for our league, a squad of very average players.

20-01-2024, 06:43 PM
Have to say I really liked Station Park. Tasty bridie too

jakeshibs
20-01-2024, 06:44 PM
That was grimm but were through and that's really all that matters in the cup

onwards and upwards

20-01-2024, 06:44 PM

Completely agree with this. We were better when Levitt came on. And also Obita.

In defence of NM and the forward players they were constantly making runs for a ball over the top or slotted inside full backs but the ball was never played to them. Only ever to feet which against a back 5/9 invariably meant it came back inside and side to side.

zitelli62
20-01-2024, 07:07 PM

Spot on and also best astro pitch I've seen tidy wee ground better than I expected.

20-01-2024, 07:19 PM
He took us to the league cup semi final where we were robbed.

Yes, he won one cup tie, a very good win against an in-form St. Mirren tbf. But I’m not sure how losing to an Aberdeen side, that had played a huge number of games in a short period - and were down to ten men - in the semi, means he has earned the right to rebuild us though.

20-01-2024, 07:25 PM

Ground was good, the mud outside not so much. I take it that route's not usually open and but needed to be used due to segregation?

20-01-2024, 07:27 PM
Those triple sessions in Dubai might well have just been the difference that ensured we are in the hat for the next round.

20-01-2024, 07:27 PM
Really enjoyed the drive up from Ayrshire with my daughter, lovely lunch in Forfar, some good banter with the Forfar subs (poor number 7 took it brilliantly), decent drive home, just having Chinese to polish off the day.

How bad were the 90 mins from a Hibs perspective though. Can’t see there being wider enthusiasm for this style of play much longer.

Mikey_1875
20-01-2024, 07:30 PM

Liked the ground as well. I must have got one from a bad batch though because my bridie was almost as disappointing as the performance!

We need a couple of players in before the window for the spine of the team. Some of the defending from long balls and crosses which should be meat and drink for premiership players was awful today. No creativity or urgency from the centre of the park either. At least the subs that came on had a better impact on the game.

20-01-2024, 07:38 PM
I thought the ground was pish. View from the terracing was decent enough but had to walk through a mud bath to get to it and there was one kiosk and set of toilets to serve 3k folk. Did think the pitch was better than the 3G in the Premiership though.

20-01-2024, 07:49 PM
Yes, he won one cup tie, a very good win against an in-form St. Mirren tbf. But I’m not sure how losing to an Aberdeen side, that had played a huge number of games in a short period - and were down to ten men - in the semi, means he has earned the right to rebuild us though.

Think the performance does in that game thought we were good.

20-01-2024, 07:54 PM
That’s fair Jim, though as discussed, it’s hard to argue that LJ was well-served by that summer window (genuinely don’t know how much of that was down to him).

More than happy to see where we are after this window, but had been hoping for more with what he has right now.

Agree with that.

hibby rae
20-01-2024, 08:03 PM
Ground was good, the mud outside not so much. I take it that route's not usually open and but needed to be used due to segregation?

I went last season for a game against Stirling Albion and you can walk all the way round. Although I imagine a the state of the ground outside was also a bit down to the combination of the biggest away crowd Forfar have had in years arriving just as the ground thawed

hibby rae
20-01-2024, 08:08 PM
Completely agree with this. We were better when Levitt came on. And also Obita.

In defence of NM and the forward players they were constantly making runs for a ball over the top or slotted inside full backs but the ball was never played to them. Only ever to feet which against a back 5/9 invariably meant it came back inside and side to side.

I was standing pretty much in line with Stevenson for much of the first half and he was constantly looking to get down the wing and behind their players but kept having to come back to receive the pass, which usually then only left him the option to play it back inside.

john18722
20-01-2024, 08:16 PM
Yes we are through which is all that matters I suppose but the football is so utterly boring to watch. The sideways passing reminds me of Maloney so much. I really want Monty to do well but I’m struggling to have any enthusiasm for the way the team plays. Yes we have players injured or away but I expected at least some semblance of a performance today and it didn’t happen. It was no surprise when everyone was getting so frustrated.

20-01-2024, 08:20 PM

I’m going to have to bin my shoes, never seen them so caked in mud ever

john18722
20-01-2024, 08:21 PM
I’m going to have to bin my shoes, never seen them so caked in mud ever

It was like being at T in the Park back in the day!

20-01-2024, 08:34 PM
Pretty disappointed that he's only pinpointed the chances we gave up in his critique of the game, rather than our inability to create anything ourselves.