View Full Version : Match Updates Round 2 - The best of the rest v Hibernian
08-11-2023, 07:53 PM
Var check for a St Mirren penalty
Saints goalie did well after a Gogic howler.
Campbell had to score. Very poor first touch
Great goalkeeping to be fair.
This will be a pen
Jesus Christ
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
If its a var check against us we all know how that ends
ffs - VAR again
Ref going to the tv, he'll give the penalty now
For ****s sakes. Moronic from Obita.
08-11-2023, 07:54 PM
Masters of our own downfall. ****ing stupid.
oh oh Var
looks like penalty :rolleyes:
Pen St.Mirren
ffs
Just about had enough of VAR
What an idiot you really are Obita
Classic VAR
Pen
Obita :rolleyes:
Should be two up then that happens. **** sake.
Penalty to St Mirren.
Obita booked.
It was coming
As per, can’t take our chances when we’re on top and we pay the price.
For as good as our attack supposedly is, we couldn’t finish our dinner
Foul on Marshall before the foul by Obita
Stairway 2 7
Obitas fault
Paul1642
Had the game not kicked off again?
08-11-2023, 07:55 PM
Marshall is due us a save
Pathetically soft.
It's as much a foul on marshall than it is Obita btw
Plus the ball is no where near the player
It's one we will see another 10 times during this game with zero action
1-1
Paul1642
Crap 1-1
What an idiot you really are Obita
:agree: Cost us on Saturday and now this, horrendous.
What the hell is this penalty about? **** VAR.
what a gift from Obita
Cliff stop talking sheite.
That is a ****in joke of a penalty.
Marshall is due us a save
Aye right
JammyDoidger
What an absolute clown, why grab someone's shirt when there's VAR. honest to god man.
Games ****ed.
1-1
Only one winner now I think
08-11-2023, 07:56 PM
Marshall was being fouled long before Obita, that’s ridiculous
ErinGoBraghHFC
Stupid from Obita, but it’s a foul on Marshall before the foul by Obita is committed. Ridiculous ffs.
Torto7
Every shirt pull is now a pen in the box. Lets see if there's consistency.
I can't be bothered with this any more. **** VAR, seriously. Picks and chooses what it wants to see and somehow always seems to be whatever will **** us.
Utterly ridiculous. If you look at one foul in the box you have to look at all that is going on. Marshall is fouled more than anyone. Looking at Vente's pen it is now even crazier that wasn't given
AZhibee
BS penalty, clear foul on Marshall, and a shirt tug,
It's as much a foul on marshall than it is Obita btw
Plus the ball is no where near the player
It's one we will see another 10 times during this game with zero action
Ball doesn't need to be near the player for a pen to be given
Saints player goes down like a sniper's shot him, hardly any contact even if it was stupid by Obita
Anyone asking for Obita to be subbed then?
EastStandGates
I don't have any complaints for that one. Blatant pull on the shirt as seen on St Mirren TV, as seen on the VAR screen.
Obita's a daft ......
Penalty all day but how that merited a check when Vente didn't on Saturday is beyond me.
Helensburghhibs
In england,, probability of getting the ball is considered. I assume thats not the case up here. Stupid by obita
Brutal man I get he’s pulled him he’s absolutely no where near the area the balls going why does it matter
What a joke of a pen and my stream has been a joke since HT.
ChicoM1875
08-11-2023, 07:57 PM
VAR is hoachin'
nickwhibs
**** VAR. that’s another disgraceful decision
Incredible.
Manxhibs
Honestly Scottish football is knackered, basics aren’t understood by officials.
If you think that's a penalty, then god help the game.
VAR has ruined the game. Said it would be terrible for Football, but my god it's been even worse than I imagined.
Moronic from Obita. Just given them an option to give a pen.
I don't have any complaints for that one.
Obita's a daft ......
I do. The guys fell forward. If he was impeded he would have gone back. Ridiculous decision.
Foul on Marshall before the foul by Obita
Marshall didn't fling himself to the ground though.
Marshall was being fouled long before Obita, that’s ridiculous
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkPrecisely and the ball is far closer to marshal than the st Mirren player
It's just pish to be honest - it's a shirt pull but we will see the same again multiple times the game with no action
It's selective what the pick up and what they ignore
Torto7
I don't have any complaints for that one.
Obita's a daft ......
I do shirt pulling happens at corners all the time and they do nothing.
08-11-2023, 07:58 PM
Hibs in danger of winning a game? VAR check!
Pull a shirt = legs give way.
Should be a yellow for diving.
Plus the foul on Marshall.
We need to show a bit of character here.
Daft from Obita but another VAR call that highlights the inconsistency of officiating. If that's a penalty then dozens of other incidents every weekend are as well.
Of course JO shouldn't give them a decision to make. Not much the manager can do when a player makes a decision like that.
Stop blaming var. he pulled his shirt. Don’t do that and they don’t get a pen.
Helensburghhibs
Ball doesn't need to be near the player for a pen to be given
In england it definitely is a guideline in similar circumstances
Which came first? Fouls against Marshall or the pen incident. ****ing sick of this ****
Hearts got a penalty against them last week for exactly the same thing. You just cant pull someone's shirt in the box.
Paul1642
Not a Pen for me. We really are on a a rotten run of refereeing decisions, especially VAR ones.
Soft as anything, shouldn't have even come to that though we should have been two up just before but for Shan finishing
hfcok
WTF is Obita doing though ?, be goal side and that would never be an issue
St Mirren attacker wrestling with keeper.
Every shirt pull is now a pen in the box. Lets see if there's consistency.
You would think that would be the case but I wouldn’t bet on it.
skyehibee
08-11-2023, 07:59 PM
St Mirren look much better this half
LunasBoots
Its just funny now, multiple fouls in the box but somehow its a pen for someone just fallilng over.
Hearts got a penalty against them last week for exactly the same thing. You just cant pull someone's shirt in the box.
And had a penalty awarded against the at ibrox for the same thing
08-11-2023, 08:00 PM
Precisely and the ball is far closer to marshal than the st Mirren player
It's just pish to be honest - it's a shirt pull but we will see the same again multiple times the game with no action
It's selective what the pick up and what they ignore
100%, how do they decide which duels to check and which ones they don’t? Marshall is more involved in play than the boy that fell over.
Stupid move from Obita
Cardinal G
Moronic from Obita. Just given them an option to give a pen.
He's cost us there, VAR misses nothing(unless it's for us) at a loss why any player pulls a shirt in the box nowadays
If you think that's a penalty, then god help the game.
VAR has ruined the game. Said it would be terrible for Football, but my god it's been even worse than I imagined.
:agree: Unbelievable it’s killing the game completely
Regardless of what the final result is going to be, the quality of some of our passing is absolutely dreadful. Professional fitba players my erchie.
I’m just about done with Scottish football and VAR we just don’t get anything it’s really pissing me off.
Stop blaming var. he pulled his shirt. Don’t do that and they don’t get a pen.Var will go onto ignore lots of fouls between now and 90, particularly in the box miles away from the ball
Like they did for marshall being fouled seconds before they have a penalty
Josh Campbell missing a sitter really biting us in the arse there.
Helensburghhibs
08-11-2023, 08:01 PM
I assume they cant look at the foul on marshall due to rules on what var can look at. The whole thing is a sham. Get it scrapped and use the cash for full time refs
Stanton Spence
08-11-2023, 08:01 PM
And here we are VAR the main talking point again and it was supposed to make the game better???
badabing67
08-11-2023, 08:02 PM
Thats better
Very good effort from Youan, well saved
Josh Campbell missing a sitter really biting us in the arse there.
Our misses always do. We’re not clinical enough
FC1875
Stop blaming var. he pulled his shirt. Don’t do that and they don’t get a pen.
Exactly.
I assume they cant look at the foul on marshall due to rules on what var can look at. The whole thing is a sham. Get it scrapped and use the cash for full time refs
If that’s the case then it’s ducking ridiculous. Look at everything or scrap it, it’s the only possible way it makes it fair.
Campbell touched on the back there. Should be a penalty surely.
Torto7
They'll just be full time **** from Glasgow and the surrounding area then rather than semi pro ones.
08-11-2023, 08:03 PM
When did we last have a VAR check in our favour?
08-11-2023, 08:03 PM
I’m just about done with Scottish football and VAR we just don’t get anything it’s really pissing me off.
I genuinely didn't think anything would kill my enthusiasm for the game but this just might do it.
08-11-2023, 08:04 PM
Not a Pen for me. We really are on a a rotten run of refereeing decisions, especially VAR ones. For the last 50 years at least, some run
Not arguing about scraping VAR but making our current crop of referees full time won't magically make them better. The whole refereeing empire in Glasgow and Lanarkshire needs to be taken down and rebuilt properly.
Paul1642
I’d imagine the English Premiership pays the highest wages to refs worldwide and they are also terrible at the moment.
I don’t really know what the solution is.
Mark05
That pen is a joke,I'm really get fed up with football. Var is ruining the game
No time for short corners.
Get them in the Box and dive.
VARs absolutely ruined the enjoyment of football now. Especially when your at the match
Campbell touched on the back there. Should be a penalty surely.
He's got to hit the deck as if shot by a sniper though.
ChicoM1875
08-11-2023, 08:05 PM
I genuinely didn't think anything would kill my enthusiasm for the game but this just might do it.
This is how I'm feeling about it now. I though VAR would come in and make it a bit more fair.
Torto7
08-11-2023, 08:05 PM
Vente was just pulled back in the box there you go. VAR?
08-11-2023, 08:06 PM
He's got to hit the deck as if shot by a sniper though. Unless you are Miller in a semi final. Far too may inconsistencies
Hibstrooper
That was some creative editing from VAR, rather than showing the full play they take a tiny wee 2 second snippet from one angle, totally missing the grappling from both players in the immediate build up before. Edited to only be one outcome
Paul1642
Let’s not forget that we seemed to suffer plenty bad decisions before VAR.
The outcome is still the same, just the method which has changed.
Excellent dribbling and a dangerous cross from Jair, nobody able to meet it.
This is how I'm feeling about it now. I though VAR would come in and make it a bit more fair.
I thought that too, how wrong can you be, just beyond belief
08-11-2023, 08:07 PM
I know some will say it's biased to say this but I swear this is now the 2nd season in a row where we have been absolutely shafted by VAR. We get almost nothing off it, and anything we do get is when we're already winning comfortably and is meaningless.
We had some absolute shockers given against us last year, then take into account the vente pen that was not given last week, with the bawhair offside in the same game.
Have said it since before it was introduced but it's ruining the game for me.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
VARs absolutely ruined the enjoyment of football now. Especially when your at the match
Every corner should be chucked into the box and anyone not within range should be taking a tumble
JammyDoidger
08-11-2023, 08:07 PM
You could literally give a penalty every single corner, it sees what it wants to see, any contact you should just go down and throw your arms about.
Torto7
08-11-2023, 08:08 PM
I know some will say it's biased to say this but I swear this is now the 2nd season in a row where we have been absolutely shafted by VAR. We get almost nothing off it, and anything we do get is when we're already winning comfortably and is meaningless.
We had some absolute shockers given against us last year, then take into account the vente pen that was not given last week, with the bawhair offside in the same game.
Have said it since before it was introduced but it's ruining the game for me.
It's not biased at all mate it's blatantly obvious.
HendoDelivered
Jair leaving their fullback for dead and put in a great low ball.
You could literally give a penalty every single corner, it sees what it wants to see, any contact you should just go down and throw your arms about.That alone should have added 500k to the Porteous fee
NC1875
Another ball across the face of goal and no one near it.
Torto7
08-11-2023, 08:09 PM
Goods shift from wee Rory.
Not got a good feeling about this game now
Come on hibs, surprise me
That was some creative editing from VAR, rather than showing the full play they take a tiny wee 2 second snippet from one angle, totally missing the grappling from both players in the immediate build up before. Edited to only be one outcome
They should show the full passage of play to make sure there were no other incidents in the lead up ie offside or a handball or a foul on the keeper.
miller for whittaker
08-11-2023, 08:10 PM
St Mirren have done bugger this half too
Frustrating to say the least
The lack of communication for decisions is one issue.
The inconsistency of decisions is another.
Our refs are useless - give them sub standard technology and with zero accountability and we get all these **** decisions.
HendoDelivered
Good sub
Torto7
:flag::flag:
Hope hibs call var and crap refs out.
Yaaas
Joe Newell
Goods shift from wee Rory. Done well enough barring the 10 minutes before half time where he let far too many crosses in. Doing well at that age though is very, very good
08-11-2023, 08:11 PM
Yassssssssssssssss
Super Joe Newell :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
VAR bound to say offside
badabing67
Yas Joey Newell
what a team :flag::flag::greengrin
Joe, Joe Super Joe
VAR bound to say offsideBut, it's tight [emoji1787]
Yaaaasssss! **** VAR, and the snivelling little ***** working on it.
Disallow that I ****ING DARE YOU
It's not a goal until var has checked to see if there is any way to chop it off
That may well be off
VAR check. Of course.
Aw ****ing get in
Thank you for surprising me Hibernian of Leith
Yaaaasssss! **** VAR, and the snivelling little ***** working on it.
Plenty time for them to find something else.
08-11-2023, 08:12 PM
Let’s not forget that we seemed to suffer plenty bad decisions before VAR.
The outcome is still the same, just the method which has changed.I find it difficult to agree with that argument. Before VAR the flow of the game wasn't ruined to check stuff, before VAR we didn't make decisions based on fingernails and slow motion views of stuff. There used to be more of a "feel" about stuff, i.e. referees see something in real time and if it's not obvious then that's that.
VAR is for armchair tourist fans, it's not the solution to the problem we all have with poor referees, because we still have the same poor referees operating it!
But, it's tight [emoji1787]
And the camera in line with the players is broken.
Seriously get var to ****
Waiting for VAR to rule it out.
This is ridiculous
Team selection again makes me question the manager. He changes for the sake of it.
I’m going to vomit
Gooooal
Mon the var
percy veer
Every corner should be chucked into the box and anyone not within range should be taking a tumble
100 % we need to start playing the game and i think everyone should just take a dive at every corner we might actually then get something from var
Yessss
Hooray. Can still shove VAR fully up your arse though.
VARs really improved football in Scotland like
08-11-2023, 08:13 PM
Hope hibs call var and crap refs out.
All of the clubs barring the manky Glesga w*****s need to call it out. I'm sick to death of this "we discussed it by phone" s***e, take it into the public realm and let them justify themselves.
I find it difficult to agree with that argument. Before VAR the flow of the game wasn't ruined to check stuff, before VAR we didn't make decisions based on fingernails and slow motion views of stuff. There used to be more of a "feel" about stuff, i.e. referees see something in real time and if it's not obvious then that's that.
VAR is for armchair tourist fans, it's not the solution to the problem we all have with poor referees, because we still have the same poor referees operating it!
Sent from my Pixel 7 using TapatalkHibs got stuffed by officials before VAR.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
poor VAR :greengrin
Good goal that, well worked.
At last one doesn't go against us
Given. Mustn't have been able to find the curved line the day. :wink:
USA_Hibee
This team needs at least another 2 goals without conceding before I can feel confident on the win.
Elie Youan that was utterly sexual for the goal btw
If we win this with the team we have had to field tonight then it's a fantastic result, the kind of result you might be tempted to call a turning point.
Even a draw would be a good point albeit we shouldn't be thinking about that now.
What a great turn from Youan for the goal. :top marks
08-11-2023, 08:14 PM
there's no way st mirren are scoring two here so at least a point
That's a foul on Newell. Would've been a penalty if it was in the box.
Right that’s our lot, 295749202 decisions to against us until we get the next one.
08-11-2023, 08:15 PM
That's a foul on Newell. Would've been a penalty if it was in the box.Penalty to sevco
That’s a brilliant goal by the way
Hibees1973
This is TORTURE.
ElginHibbie
VARs really improved football in Scotland like
Torto7
Elie Youan that was utterly sexual for the goal btw
:agree: He's better on the right imo.
Torto7
08-11-2023, 08:16 PM
Two assists for Dylan.
there's no way st mirren are scoring two here so at least a point
Famous last words!
Paulie Walnuts
Edging closer and closer to a much needed victory 🙏🏻
Suprised VAR didn't rule that goal out for offside.
badabing67
08-11-2023, 08:17 PM
Campbell was fouled off the ball there
Another goal puts us above hearts.
08-11-2023, 08:18 PM
When do we bring a centre half off?
Another couple of goals and we could see this one out.:greengrin
5 mins yet.
Less of a goal threat though
08-11-2023, 08:19 PM
Two assists for Dylan.
Which is great, but we need to get our set up back so he's a goal scorer.
Yellow about right for that
e2los
So is Boyle.
leith lynx
Hopefully Monty's learnt his lesson on that.
Campbell should be subbed.
Rocky has been superb tonight.
Quality shouts as ever from The Saints fans.
08-11-2023, 08:20 PM
If it’s an elbow it’s a red is it no?
Campbell was fouled off the ball there
Yup, ignored by VAR.
He’s put a shift in tonight.
He's been chasing shadows for a while now. Looks spent.
08-11-2023, 08:21 PM
Jair has been superb
08-11-2023, 08:21 PM
What a cross in that was btw
Could've easily been 2-2
Torto7
08-11-2023, 08:22 PM
Jair has been superb
Yeah again. He's learned to scrap for the ball and his natural technique is shining now.
Honestly, Jair would be one of my first picks at the moment. So happy for him, what a turnaround.
badabing67
Unlucky Miller
e2los
Can we please not give this away?
Not enjoying watching this tbh.
08-11-2023, 08:23 PM
Jair has been superb Looks a threat and works very hard. He has got better every game since given a chance
DinkyTwo
Sounds like Jair has had another great game
Seems more and more bizarre each game his freezing out by LJ
leith lynx
Yeah again. He's learned to scrap for the ball and his natural technique is shining now.
This sounds too good to be true.
Please don't chuck this one.
Campbells ran his race tonight by looks of it could do with getting fresh legs on for him
Torto7
Could've easily been 2-2
My arse tightened severely then great cross.
Jair has been superb
Yip, getting more praise even from the ginger one!
That will upset some of the "experts" on here
ElginHibbie
Jair has been superb
His turn around has been a great story, still feel we are only scratching the surface with his talent as well
Baw hair wide of conceding an equaliser there
Grieve very unlucky there too
Living a bit dangerously here
Honestly, Jair would be one of my first picks at the moment. So happy for him, what a turnaround.
And Rocky.
It’s a funny old game.
OR
Nowt as queer as folk.
e2los
08-11-2023, 08:24 PM
Could've easily been 2-2
We were very lucky there.
Jeggo on for Levitt and Boyle for Campbell for me
Really happy to hear Jair playing well again
Jeggo for Levitt
HendoDelivered
08-11-2023, 08:25 PM
Another warning short from saints there yet again
08-11-2023, 08:25 PM
Jeggomeister on for Levitt
08-11-2023, 08:26 PM
Unlucky. Close from Newell. Decent run and quick one two.
How'd he not score there?
08-11-2023, 08:26 PM
Ahhhh so close to a Newelll double. He’s been superb tonight.
e2los
08-11-2023, 08:27 PM
Jeggomeister on for Levitt
Hoping that can make this less stressful.
Vente off for Landers
How'd he not score there?
Very good defending to be fair.
Landers on for Vente.
08-11-2023, 08:28 PM
Landers for Vente
radio dude right in saying we should have used both as subs earlier thus leaving another sub if needed
Very good defending to be fair.
Landers on for Vente.
Could be wrong but I think he took a touch when he could have hit it 1st time.
08-11-2023, 08:29 PM
Landers for Vente
radio dude right in saying we should have used both as subs earlier thus leaving another sub if needed
The Whittaker Miller sub should have been halftime.
alhibby
08-11-2023, 08:29 PM
Vente off for Landers
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkHas Vente played for 90 minutes so far this season, ? Can't recall if he has
Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk
08-11-2023, 08:30 PM
Landers for Vente
Have we any players left?!
et_hibby
How long to go, guys?
2+ whatever added by VAR
We've only had 3 subs.
This'll be about 7 minutes injury time.
leith lynx
08-11-2023, 08:31 PM
2+ whatever added by VAR
5mins
Has Vente played for 90 minutes so far this season, ? Can't recall if he has
Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk
Once I think.
The Whittaker Miller sub should have been halftime.
fair point :greengrin
Landers looks nippy. Was pulled back preventing him from burning past Gogic and another Saints defender. No foul.
badabing67
08-11-2023, 08:32 PM
+5
We've only had 3 subs. 3 single subs so no more allowed. Not very good game management.
We've only had 3 subs.
I know mate - was a less than humorous remark on our plight with injuries etc just now.
Landers looks nippy. Was pulled back preventing him from burning past Gogic and another Saints defender. No foul.Seems fair
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
5mins
only one more than i expected for all subs
Landers looks nippy. Was pulled back preventing him from burning past Gogic and another Saints defender. No foul.
Wiser player would have gone down.
08-11-2023, 08:33 PM
2-2
08-11-2023, 08:33 PM
ffs
08-11-2023, 08:34 PM
2-2
08-11-2023, 08:34 PM