View Full Version : Match Updates Inter Club v Hibernian
27-07-2023, 04:58 PM
its no disgrace. Inter are from Andorra's capital after all. They are not some hickville outfit.Plus the pitch and the heat btw
Don't forget that
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
MelbourneHibees
Inter commentator guy talking about how historic this victory was for Andorra and the team.
Steven79
its no disgrace. Inter are from Andorra's capital after all. They are not some hickville outfit.[emoji1787]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Woeful. Absolutely woeful
Don’t progress next week and LJ can pack the **** out his bags
Atrocious performance and result. Even if we win 5-0 next week that is simply not good enough.
DIXIHIBS
Well that was fun...
27-07-2023, 04:59 PM
Can think of at least 7 changes required for next week
Marshall
Bushiri
Stevenson
Doyle Hayes
Campbell
Melkerson
Le Fondre
Frustrating afternoon.
Bring on Blackpool
hfcok
Marshall is finished I’m afraid 😳, maybe that’s why they brought in a couple of keepers, as management know it as well.
Boooooooo! Lucky to still be in with a chance. Newell made a difference and Youan never gives up. Rest can get tae and that’s surely the last game for Marshall.
Embarrassing. We were all laughing at Motherwell this time last year and we’ve just done the same. If not worse.
Horrific result and horrendous performance.
Yes we’ve got a goal back but that does nothing to cloud the over riding rage at that performance
bringbackbenny
I think we'll do them in the 2nd leg😁.
Huge wake up call, such a poor and lackadaisical performance
tell Raith rovers we made a mistake by letting kevin dabrowski go and if they could maybe see fit in returning him, thanks
There is no point in striving to qualify for Europe and then not being properly prepared. We should have had all our ducks in line for the season starting, which was today. LJ said he wasn’t concerned about the first 3 or 4 games. Shows how much he knows as it was glaringly obvious we haven’t the personnel in place to start the season. Very unprofessional.
I’m glad that we have basic threats like the long throw to trouble teams as they are useful, but to have that as the only means of troubling that level of opposition is awful.
27-07-2023, 05:00 PM
Atrocious performance and result. Even if we win 5-0 next week that is simply not good enough.Why isn't going through good enough?
Matters not a jot if we have a 1 off nightmare
Of course, go out next week....
2 man team. Worst result in our history. Aye we'll turn them over in the 2nd leg but this should not happen.
Has he been sacked yet? :I'm waiti
Chorley Hibee
Hope the Hibs support there give it tight to the lot of them as they leave the pitch.
Shows why we need a striker
Get Kukharevych in now please.
Marshall
Bushiri
Stevenson
Doyle Hayes
Campbell
Melkerson
Le Fondre
Agree with every one of these
Well should at least see an increased crowd next week at ER now with all to play for
Marshall
Bushiri
Stevenson
Doyle Hayes
Campbell
Melkerson
Le Fondre
Based on tonight I'd change the whole defence but it won't happen
Never been happier to turn a tv off, brutal watch, I wonder what the slaver will say about that performance.
Disgraceful but we will still go through.
Too much ***** there and need our new players on the pitch.
Hopefully LJ rinses through these eejits.
Has he been sacked yet? :I'm waiti4 times I heard
HFC93
We will definitely progress but this has been utterly woeful.
We badly need more signings; we need at least a striker, an attacking midfielder and a winger.
I admire your confidence.
Basildon Hibs
27-07-2023, 05:01 PM
At last, someone else who can see the bleeding obvious !
Oi !! I've said that for ages too. 😁
NC1875
As usual, too many imposters in the team.
Johnson's excuses bingo card:
1) It's only half time in the tie
2) We're still getting minutes in the players' legs - it was another good work out to get us ready for the SPFL kick off.
3) Errr - that's it.
Oh aye:
4) Marsh is too good a keeper to let one mistake bother him.
Need a win against Blackpool now to have any hope of getting out the group
shamo9
27-07-2023, 05:02 PM
tell Raith rovers we made a mistake by letting kevin dabrowski go and if they could maybe see fit in returning him, thanks
Why? We've got three goalkeepers in the squad, give one of the two new guys a chance first. Marshall needs dropped.
Agree with every one of these
Miller isn’t the answer at right back either, we need a proper experienced right back.
At last, someone else who can see the bleeding obvious !
Nah, there's a lot of us on here think that way.
Just need the folks at the Club to realise it.
Chorley Hibee
Hopefully he's already been sacked.
Newell just saved LJs job
…….. only for the immediate future. He’s only one bad result away from getting the boot. Unless results and performances improve, the clock has to be ticking for him. Either way, I don’t see him being around after Christmas.
Torto7
27-07-2023, 05:03 PM
Folk shouldn't over react. Ferencvaros took a pumping from a team from the Faeroes. These early ties are tricky. Moving to the front 4 helped with youan on the right. We'll pump them at home imo.
Based on tonight I'd change the whole defence but it won't happen
Fish will be there. Maybe the lesser spotted Obita will put in an appearance, one can hope.
Because of the small pitch we should expect to see the Andorrans passing fail to reach their intended target when they play at Easter Road.
They’ll not be able to cope with us at home.
There is no easy game in Europe I don’t care who you’re playing. Ask the Swedish champions who got just got away with a 0-0 in the Faroes last night
We just got beaten by a team that plays at a caravan site.
Mirror mirror on the wall who us the pishest of them all? 😂
27-07-2023, 05:04 PM
Wollacott
Miller
Fish
Hanlon
Obita (injury allowing)
Jeggo
Newell
Levitt (in an attacking mid role)
Boyle
Vente
Youan
That's what's needed next week on that showing
27-07-2023, 05:05 PM
I hope he learns from this and see how important Jeggo is in that midfield. Levitt isn't a deep lying midfielder
scm70nyd1973
I actually think LJ instructed the players to take it easy and was playing for a draw or 1-0 either way coz he thought that they are a bunch of cloggers and cheats (so we would avoid any injuries) - and that we’d scoosh it in the next leg - if so then it is totally ferkin shameful and it would be an absolute disgrace (which it was anyway) 🤬
Atrocious performance and result. Even if we win 5-0 next week that is simply not good enough.
Yet it will be instantly forgotten as total irrelevant if we cruise through 5-2 on agg…
Sure we were crap but boy oh boy we have a rather mega over reaction on here.
I’m 100% relaxed that today’s performance will not be replicated next week nor does it in any way inform how our season is going to go.
27-07-2023, 05:06 PM
That has to be the worst result ever for us. Andorra. I can't even get angry just now.
27-07-2023, 05:06 PM
Disgraceful but we will still go through.
Too much ***** there and need our new players on the pitch.
I dont know how you can havé the confidence that we will go through after todays performance!
27-07-2023, 05:07 PM
Get Kukharevych in now please.
I worry about why on earth he'd want to. I'm not hyping him up to be something he's not, but must be scores of other teams who look infinitely more enjoyable to play for.
Too many players in that team have very little no proven record of being able to make good attacking contributions to a winning team. Of the ones that do, Doidge is coming back from being well out of favour, Youan needs patience to go with the good, Campbell's not far off being as likely to be bad as he is good...
It's just a team that could be nothing above occasionally decent but inconsistent, and often dross.
shamo9
27-07-2023, 05:07 PM
Wollacott
Miller
Fish
Hanlon
Obita (injury allowing)
Jeggo
Newell
Boyle
Vente
Youan
Getting ahead of yourself a bit there:greengrin
27-07-2023, 05:08 PM
Yet it will be instantly forgotten as total irrelevant if we cruise through 5-2 on agg…
I’m 100% relaxed that today’s performance will not be replicated next week nor does it in any way inform how our season is going to go.
Over-reaction? Really?
yeah, chances are we will end up getting through to the next round but come on, it’s a hideous result, hugely embarrassing
27-07-2023, 05:08 PM
Wollacott
Miller
Fish
Hanlon
Obita (injury allowing)
Jeggo
Newell
Boyle
Vente
Youan
In fairness I’m pretty sure Obita could’ve made a more positive contribution playing with one leg today.
27-07-2023, 05:09 PM
I actually think LJ instructed the players to take it easy and was playing for a draw or 1-0 either way coz he thought that they are a bunch of cloggers and cheats (so we would avoid any injuries) - and that we’d scoosh it in the next leg - if so then it is totally ferkin shameful and it would be an absolute disgrace (which it was anyway) [emoji2959]
Yeah 100 percent agree
Total disgrace
Im ragin.
HFC93
27-07-2023, 05:10 PM
Lee Johnson loves a cup game eh.
1-0 Djurgardens after 4 mins for anyone optimistic enough after that to be booking
ALF and Doidge did nothing to tell us they are the answer. :wtf:
We were garbage but will still get through.
Getting ahead of yourself a bit there:greengrin
Even if he signs he wouldn't be eligible for next week.
27-07-2023, 05:11 PM
That was totally inept. Out footballed by a team from Andorra and had to resort to a quite ineffective long ball game. If Doidge and Le Fondre are the answer i dont know what the question is. Marshall Hanlon and Stevenson all a couple of seasons past it.
Only Ellie and Newell came out of that with any credit. Cant wait to hear LJs post match excuse guff.
Very disappointing. Will take plenty of stick and we deserve it.
Hibees1973
27-07-2023, 05:11 PM
What an illustrious history we have.
Today's result is one of the worst in our history.
Some will say, we may still go through. Yes, we probably will.
But anyone who has supported Hibs or has an affection for the club should never accept what we all saw this afternoon.
Johnson and anyone with a modicum of responsibility for recruiting some of these players and handing out contracts at Hibs must be sacked immediately.
This is not hyperbole. That was not the standard Hibernian Football Club should be.
27-07-2023, 05:12 PM
Lee Johnson loves a cup game eh.
I'm hoping Newell (playing from the start), Fish & Boyle will make the difference next week.
I'm normally one of those happy-clappers but can't excuse that performance. The two goals we gave away were laughable. We looked so slow and sluggish, kept hoofing the ball out the park.
27-07-2023, 05:12 PM
Well should at least see an increased crowd next week at ER now with all to play for��
Same thing crossed my mind actually! Could work either way for some people.
Should turn things round okay next week but that was painful and worrying viewing.
ChuckNor
27-07-2023, 05:13 PM
Easily the worst result in the club’s history. David Marshall also one of the worst goalkeepers in the club’s history.
But anyone who has supported Hibs or has an affection for the club should never accept what we all saw this afternoon.
Johnson and anyone with a modicum of responsibility for recruiting some of these players and handing out contracts at Hibs must be sacked immediately.
This is not hyperbole. That was not the standard Hibernian Football Club should be.
Sadly i doubt the club will sack any of them!
We were garbage but will still get through.
Aye, we'll go through (surely?) but what's the point? An Andorran side can turn us over. Any half decent side will give us a hiding.
ChuckNor
Learned a lot today though. Levitt isn’t half as good as we thought he was. Melkersen shouldn’t be playing for Hibs. Lewis Miller works hard but isn’t ready to be our first choice right back. We don’t have a striker.
27-07-2023, 05:14 PM
This is not hyperbole. That was not the standard Hibernian Football Club should be.Ok, so Kensell, Dof, Johnson, his assistant, coaching staff and the whole recruitment team sacked with immediate effect
To quote a favored phrase - what happens then?
Your second last paragraph does contain some hyperbole.
dmc1875
I'm hoping Newell (playing from the start), Fish & Boyle will make the difference next week.
I'm normally one of those happy-clappers but can't excuse that performance. The two goals we gave away were laughable. We looked so slow and sluggish, kept hoofing the ball out the park.
The way that team are I doubt Boyle will be risked
tonyrougier123
We will pump them second leg no doubt. Still a shocker.
And the squad needs a quality injection and leadership. Johnson needs to stamp his brand on this team,it’s his now no excuses.
Hope McDermott has “irons in the fire”
27-07-2023, 05:15 PM
Joe Newell doing the business when the going is tough. As usual.
Greenio
27-07-2023, 05:15 PM
It could have been the angle but any time we had the ball there didn't look like there were any passes on at all, like we had half a team out there. Add to that the overhit long balls, the straight up running into their players, the lack of any runs or through balls...aye, a poor poor performance regardless of anything
Still, that could well be Newalls most important goal for Hibs ever.
I'm confident we'll go through but jees it was pish
27-07-2023, 05:16 PM
Every cloud an that
Saint Hibee
On the plus side, losing the first leg takes away the fear of losing the first leg.
Easily the worst result in the club’s history. David Marshall also one of the worst goalkeepers in the club’s history.
There's a fair bit of competition for that title.
Should be captain.
27-07-2023, 05:17 PM
There's a fair bit of competition for that title.
Which one? 🙈😁
Basildon Hibs
27-07-2023, 05:18 PM
And the squad needs a quality injection and leadership. Johnson needs to stamp his brand on this team,it’s his now no excuses.
Johnson is a major part of the problems...
27-07-2023, 05:18 PM
Well that was truly abysmal.
Never saw the first half but going by reports it's worrying and disappointing that 1) Marshall fluffed his lines again and 2) that neither ALF or Melks seemed able to impose themselves on what is a bunch of frickin amatuers!
We should certainly turn it round at ER next week but this does not bode well for the season ahead. The urgency of our search for a standout number 9 just got ratcheted up by at least eleven notches!
27-07-2023, 05:19 PM
Keeper, centre mid and number 9 all needed. Starters too.
Not cheap positions to fill.
27-07-2023, 05:23 PM
ALF and Doidge did nothing to tell us they are the answer. :wtf:
That horrific result for the club is not the most depressing thing from today. It's watching the same old deadbeats in Hibs shirts being presented as somehow more credible for the year to come because it's now "Johnson's team". That midfield makes me boak.
Hibees1973
27-07-2023, 05:23 PM
Ok, so Kensell, Dof, Johnson, his assistant, coaching staff and the whole recruitment team sacked with immediate effect
To quote a favored phrase - what happens then?
Fair enough.
A lot of these guys have only been here a couple of years, so can be replaced just as easily.
i just feel that the last few years has been a complete mess. To have been given the budget they have had from the Gordon family and they come up with that this afternoon. The Gordon's have been very generous in delivering money and better facilities at the club. But the standard of players brought in has been woeful.
They have delivered one of or if not the worst result in the clubs history.
Do you really want Johnson to remain in charge?
27-07-2023, 05:25 PM
Fair enough.
A lot of these guys have only been here a couple of years, so can be replaced just as easily.
i just feel that the last few years has been a complete mess. To have been given the budget they have had from the Gordon family and they come up with that this afternoon. The Gordon's have been very generous in delivering money and better facilities at the club. But the standard of players brought in has been woeful.
They have delivered one of or if not the worst result in the clubs history.
Do you really want Johnson to remain in charge?If we go through next week I've no issue with it
27-07-2023, 05:25 PM
Post match reaction...Johnson telling the travelling fans to "calm down".
He should be apologising for that **** he put on the park.
27-07-2023, 05:26 PM
Is Obita going to get himself on the park for next week? Stevenson looked so far off it today. Miller not much better on the other side.
hfcok
27-07-2023, 05:26 PM
Marshall is finished I’m afraid 😳, maybe that’s why they brought in a couple of keepers, as management know it as well.
27-07-2023, 05:27 PM
Post match reaction...Johnson telling the travelling fans to "calm down".
He should be apologising for that **** he put on the park.
Christ, I’d be ****ing raging if I’d travelled all that way to get beat then the manager deciding to come out with that
27-07-2023, 05:29 PM
Keeper, centre mid and number 9 all needed. Starters too.
Not cheap positions to fill.
Surely Wollacot will get his chance to establish himself as the no 1 pick for goalie?
Luzern just scored. 1-1.
7Hero
Originally Posted by tonyrougier123
Johnson needs to stamp his brand on this team,it’s his now no excuses.
He has stamped his brand all over it for a year now, its absolutely honking, he is the worst issue we have right now, shortly followed by the useless CEO who is scared to sack him and has overseen a total shambles on the park since he was employed.
Then why play him?
7Hero
27-07-2023, 05:30 PM
If he's finished then why play him ??
sean04
Marshall, Stevenson and bushiri is a nightmare
Wonder if somethings kicked off between Rocky & LJ v our fans at the game
27-07-2023, 05:31 PM
Christ, I’d be ****ing raging if I’d travelled all that way to get beat then the manager deciding to come out with that
No doubt he delivered it in his usual smug way.
What the hell does he do in pre-season?
27-07-2023, 05:32 PM
No doubt he delivered it in his usual smug way.
What the hell does he do in pre-season?
Supposedly his answer to the travelling away fans was
“Calm down its preseason.”
27-07-2023, 05:33 PM
This must be the WORST European result of all time for Hibs.
We have to score at least one goal before next week.
And we did terrible result but still fancy us to progress and we eventually forget about todays result.
27-07-2023, 05:33 PM
Then why play him?
you’d need to ask idiot Johnson that question
He's here!
27-07-2023, 05:34 PM
Luzern just scored. 1-1.
Hard to imagine we wouldn't lose to either team, assuming we manage to overcome Inter.
27-07-2023, 05:35 PM
Taking the emotion out of the result, he is right. I fully expect us to progress to the next round.
That said, football is an emotional game and saying that to fans who have paid their hard earned to get there is not a great look.
Hibees1973
27-07-2023, 05:43 PM
If we go through next week I've no issue with it
OK.
Will just agree to differ.
ChuckNor
27-07-2023, 05:45 PM
Any comment from Johnson yet? (Other than what he said to the fans)
Also hearing Rocky gave the fans a mouthful
27-07-2023, 05:45 PM
Hard to imagine we wouldn't lose to either team, assuming we manage to overcome Inter.
Every game comes in its own merit. Just because we lost tonight doesn’t mean the season will be a disaster, despite what it feels like just now.
It’s difficult but level heads and let’s do them next week and look forward.
27-07-2023, 05:46 PM
Rocky should get himself to ****. Absolute woeful footballer
Fish would have to have been registered before the 1st game to play next week.
27-07-2023, 05:50 PM
He’s named in the European squad
JamesHFC
27-07-2023, 05:51 PM
Hopefully its the kick up the arse we need but that was unacceptable tonight, serious conversations need to be had on the back of it. I'm struggling to see what we have improved on from last season, I take pre season games with a pinch of salt but I'm struggling to find any positives so far.
27-07-2023, 05:51 PM
Every game comes in its own merit. Just because we lost tonight doesn’t mean the season will be a disaster, despite what it feels like just now.
It’s difficult but level heads and let’s do them next week and look forward.
TBH, we should be able to put out our reserve team and get a result against this Andorran team. It's worrying how many players just didn't seem up for a European tie, acting like they were playing in a pre season match to get fitness up.
27-07-2023, 05:52 PM
No he is registered. We must have got the paperwork done in time.
27-07-2023, 05:53 PM
Hopefully its the kick up the arse we need but that was unacceptable tonight, serious conversations need to be had on the back of it. I'm struggling to see what we have improved on from last season, I take pre season games with a pinch of salt but I'm struggling to find any positives so far.
This wasn't a pre season game, although the approach of the management and players suggests they believed otherwise. It was a European tie - we should have been match ready and the players up for the game, imposing themselves on Inter.
He’s named in the European squad
How can he be in the European squad before he was signed? he only signed today.
27-07-2023, 05:54 PM
He’s on the list on the uefa website
27-07-2023, 05:55 PM
Paperwork must have been done. It was well known before he came back that Hibs and Man U had agreed on another loan.
27-07-2023, 05:55 PM
He was only announced today. Hibs tweeted earlier:
“Before travelling out to Manchester United's training camp in the USA, Will stopped off at the Hibernian Training Centre to complete his medical, sign, and of course, meet the Club's photographers”
No he is registered. We must have got the paperwork done in time.
Ah! Probably signed earlier but announced today then, :aok:
JamesHFC
27-07-2023, 05:56 PM
This wasn't a pre season game, although the approach of the management and players suggests they believed otherwise. It was a European tie - we should have been match ready and the players up for the game, imposing themselves on Inter.
Just makes the week in Marbella seem completely pointless.
27-07-2023, 05:57 PM
Anyway will our new Dutch 900k signing be available for Thursday?
27-07-2023, 05:58 PM
Don't think he will, think he needed to be signed before the first leg.
27-07-2023, 05:59 PM
That was a freak result. Won't happen again.
Feel free to quote me on this.
27-07-2023, 05:59 PM
Rocky can give the fans a mouthful after he learns to pass a,size 5 regulation football, to a right back team mate, under no pressure.
Today is not that day Rocky boy
He kept knocking it out for throws when attempting simple passes
He is nowhere near Hibs class
27-07-2023, 06:00 PM
That was a freak result. Won't happen again.
Feel free to quote me on this.
My thoughts entirely. By October we won’t even remember this game.
Chorley Hibee
27-07-2023, 06:04 PM
Falkirk, Morton, Inter d'Escaldes...
Of course it won't happen again. 🫣
27-07-2023, 06:05 PM
Rocky should get himself to ****. Absolute woeful footballer
Agree. Whilst we can have a go at the vast majority of the players tonight, he simply will never be good enough
27-07-2023, 06:05 PM
There is no point in striving to qualify for Europe and then not being properly prepared. We should have had all our ducks in line for the season starting, which was today. LJ said he wasn’t concerned about the first 3 or 4 games. Shows how much he knows as it was glaringly obvious we haven’t the personnel in place to start the season. Very unprofessional.
This, totally.
HibbyDave
27-07-2023, 06:06 PM
Ok I’m getting rid of Google. My wife knows everything. She told me not to waste money travelling to Andorra.
#2 Double Tap
true, just the same as exiting the league cup last season about the same time, as long as the nutters keep handing over their cash and the happy clappers keep clapping, i suppose all is barry.
:cb
do you think these guys will forget it so easy
https://twitter.com/fezstewart/status/1684618028137193472?s=46&t=NVgkYWakLLu1u8ZhZvnhkA
Is that because there is worse to come or because we will improve. We were dreadful in pretty much every aspect of the game. It will all be forgotten about if we get through next week but that is by no means a certainty
Don’t get me wrong it would be a very exciting signing but we could have a £200m striker that would do nothing relying on that shambles of a midfield for service.
27-07-2023, 06:10 PM
Can’t believe how bad both those goals were.
Hanlon and Stevenson for the first goal were brutal and then Marshall and Stevenson brutal for the second
churchie16
27-07-2023, 06:13 PM
Hanlon and Stevenson for the first goal were brutal and then Marshall and Stevenson brutal for the second
Careful what you say about lord Stevenson, been poor for years and guess what will be poor again this year, this aw it’s another one Stevenson sees off just an easy deflection of the dross that has been brought in by the club to replace him not a case of the guy being absolutely brilliant
27-07-2023, 06:14 PM
We’ll sit back and laugh at this result some day. Maybe.
I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 06:14 PM
He’s being played out of position.
He needs played out of Scotland.
27-07-2023, 06:15 PM
Just watching some of the clips of our ‘fans’ in the ground after the game. Asking player for a square go, some of the verbal abuse and aggression is quite frankly criminality.
If I’m the Dutch lad seeing that tonight I’m straight on the phone to my agent to see what my other options are.
27-07-2023, 06:15 PM
Stevenson had an absolute shocker tonight. In between the two goals he must have kicked the ball out the park about 15 times.
Obita has to be given a shot at LB when fit.
Trinity Hibee
27-07-2023, 06:16 PM
Just watching some of the clips of our ‘fans’ in the ground after the game. Asking player for a square go, some of the verbal abuse and aggression is quite frankly criminality.
If I’m the Dutch lad seeing that tonight I’m straight on the phone to my agent to see what my other options are.
After watching that performance from our team he’ll be on his way home.
Fans are pissed off and rightly so. Travelling all of that way and paying that money to see what they witnessed is disgraceful.
These players don’t give a flying one.
27-07-2023, 06:16 PM
That’s a fraction of what a Dutch team would get if they lost in that manner to that opposition.
Fans over here are pretty restrained in comparison to them in Europe really.
It’s no the fans that will have him heading home if he watched that.
Paul1642
27-07-2023, 06:17 PM
Careful what you say about lord Stevenson, been poor for years and guess what will be poor again this year, this aw it’s another one Stevenson sees off just an easy deflection of the dross that has been brought in by the club to replace him not a case of the guy being absolutely brilliant
If our club signed two players of Hanlon / Stevenson’s age and ability this window from outwith the club who played as poorly as they sometimes do they wouldn’t be near our first team and fans would would slate them.
27-07-2023, 06:18 PM
Be happy never to see Marshall, Rocky, Stevenson and Melkerson in a Hibs team again.
27-07-2023, 06:20 PM
I thought Stevenson along with Rocky were absolutely horrendous.
The entire team looked disinterested and certainly not up for the game. Unforgivable.
27-07-2023, 06:20 PM
Be happy never to see Marshall, Rocky, Stevenson and Melkerson in a Hibs team again.
I'd add Doyle Hayes and Doidge there too.
Bad Habits
27-07-2023, 06:21 PM
Not too worried, we should be beating this lot but they know how to play the game Infront of them!
Closed the spaces in an already tiny pitch and made their physicality count.
I'm more worried about Johnson after this, the signs were there after last season's disaster start. These teams are going to do this all day, we should have played them at their own game, stronger players like Newell and Doidge who will dish out a few shoulder barges should have been on from the start. Levitt, Melkersen & AlF do not have the physicality to create space in these tight games.
Chorley Hibee
27-07-2023, 06:25 PM
If our club signed two players of Hanlon / Stevenson’s age and ability this window from outwith the club who played as poorly as they sometimes do they wouldn’t be near our first team and fans would would slate them.
Neither are good enough, and it's long been the case.
Far too much sentimentality with them both.
Greenworld
27-07-2023, 06:30 PM
I thought Stevenson along with Rocky were absolutely horrendous.
The entire team looked disinterested and certainly not up for the game. Unforgivable.The players are not happy with LJ and its showing on the pitch . Albiet like him or not they need to be more proffesional
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
27-07-2023, 06:30 PM
I'd add Doyle Hayes and Doidge there too.
Thought doidge was better than ALF when he came on, not that he was great by any margin
Stokesy's on fire
27-07-2023, 06:31 PM
Well should at least see an increased crowd next week at ER now with all to play for��
Na we will just hear more excuses as to why fans wont go.
27-07-2023, 06:32 PM
Thought doidge was better than ALF when he came on, not that he was great by any margin
Being better than ALF isn't hard though at this stage of his career. Especially playing through the middle on his own.
27-07-2023, 06:35 PM
That’s a bit like saying one jobby is a bit less smelly than an other one. It’s still smelly. 😂
27-07-2023, 06:36 PM
The players are not happy with LJ and its showing on the pitch . Albiet like him or not they need to be more proffesional
Why are they not happy with him?
27-07-2023, 06:37 PM
The players are not happy with LJ and its showing on the pitch . Albiet like him or not they need to be more proffesional
Here we go
Chorley Hibee
27-07-2023, 06:41 PM
To compound matters, my booking for Sweden looks a waste of time now.
Djurgarden losing 2-1 at home.
27-07-2023, 06:43 PM
Have a wee break and enjoy a Hibs “free time”
Heard the Abba museum is worth a visit
I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 06:45 PM
How long have you been supporting Hibs? I'm guessing 7 days and you have yet to realise how we manage to make situations terrible for ourselves.
Obviously I hope it works out for you, but my goodness that's a brave booking.
27-07-2023, 06:48 PM
Wee trip to Stockholm for a couple days isn't bad :greengrin
27-07-2023, 06:49 PM
We'll probably go through but, that was disgusting.
27-07-2023, 06:50 PM
Wee trip to Stockholm for a couple days isn't bad :greengrin
It’s all Money money money.
Widhibs
27-07-2023, 06:50 PM
Oh No
27-07-2023, 06:51 PM
What possible advantage were you hoping to gain? £50 tops?
Big gamble for fifty quid.
This is Hibs we are talking about. The kings of the coupon busters. Us and Spurs should be nowhere near an Acca.
27-07-2023, 06:52 PM
Yeah not a great day
Having watched some of the 2nd half though, they seem to be 2 evenly matched teams. Wouldn’t bet against it going the distance in the second leg.
I just have it in my head that I really fancy Stockholm and a trip to Zurich doesn’t appeal so much
27-07-2023, 06:52 PM
Why isn't going through good enough?
Matters not a jot if we have a 1 off nightmare
Of course, go out next week....
1 off, lol.
27-07-2023, 06:53 PM
Yeah not a great day
Having watched some of the 2nd half though, they seem to be 2 evenly matched teams. Wouldn’t bet against it going the distance in the second leg.
I just have it in my head that I really fancy Stockholm and a trip to Zurich doesn’t appeal so much
Stockholm is lovely, that said Zurich is great also. Both pricy as ****.
27-07-2023, 06:54 PM
1 off, lol.No idea what's funny
Getting through the European tie is all that matters
We could quite easily win the tie 6-2 so who cares?
As I said go out next week and it's another conversation
27-07-2023, 06:56 PM
Stockholm is lovely, that said Zurich is great also. Both pricy as ****.
I was speaking to someone today who was in Stockholm last week, she said it wasn’t much more pricy than Edinburgh
27-07-2023, 06:56 PM
Instantly forgotten, seriously?
27-07-2023, 06:57 PM
No idea what's funny
The Andorrans will struggle with the low altitude next week. :greengrin
27-07-2023, 06:57 PM
The Andorrans will struggle with the low altitude next week. :greengrinHopefully they have too much breath [emoji1787]
27-07-2023, 06:59 PM
Instantly forgotten, seriously?For me.it would be as we look forward to the Sweden or Switzerland trip
Why would we be wallowing in a now meaningless result?
I don't even think Aberdeen think and being knocked out by Darvel already
Peanut Shaz
27-07-2023, 07:04 PM
I was speaking to someone today who was in Stockholm last week, she said it wasn’t much more pricy than Edinburgh
I'm not long back from Malmo and Copenhagen. I didn't find either as expensive as I was lead to believe. Like anywhere if you're prepared to eat and drink slightly out of the touristy areas its no more expensive than London/Edinburgh. IMHO
27-07-2023, 07:09 PM
No idea what's funny
Don’t think it’s quite as straight forward as that. I still expect us to get through the tie but what I saw tonight absolutely concerns me.
GreenGray
27-07-2023, 07:11 PM
No idea what's funny
Who cares? Deary me, it’s our first competitive game of the season against an Andorran team who aren’t the best in their tiny country.
Doesn’t matter if there’s a second tie doesn’t change how embarrassing that result is.
27-07-2023, 07:17 PM
Who cares? Deary me, it’s our first competitive game of the season against an Andorran team who aren’t the best in their tiny country.
Doesn’t matter if there’s a second tie doesn’t change how embarrassing that result is.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIts poor but go through the tie and will anyone actually care?
Will you be thinking back to losing 2-1 in Andorra when we are off to Switzerland?
I wouldn't but maybe that's just me
27-07-2023, 07:19 PM
Don’t think it’s quite as straight forward as that. I still expect us to get through the tie but what I saw tonight absolutely concerns me.
If you take into account the heat, the long journey, the very narrow pitch, match day -1 arrival, the long journey, Levitt being way behind fitness and finally the altitude where we couldn’t get a breath then it’s not really that concerning. If we travel a day early next time, stay at Sherpa Tenzings base camp and practice more at Tynecastle with the heaters on we’ll be fine. Plus maybe play them on a day when their good players are at work.
Trinity Hibee
27-07-2023, 07:20 PM
Its poor but go through the tie and will anyone actually care?
Will you be thinking back to losing 2-1 in Andorra when we are off to Switzerland?
That result and performance today is far more alarming than just one game. These players are way below the standard required for Hibs. The manager doesn’t seem to get the importance of league cup groups/first European game.
Alarm bells are ringing
27-07-2023, 07:20 PM
If you take into account the heat, the long journey, the very narrow pitch, match day -1 arrival, the long journey, Levitt being way behind fitness and finally the altitude where we couldn’t get a breath then it’s not really that concerning. If we travel a day early next time, stay at Sherpa Tenzings base camp and practice more at Tynecastle with the heaters on we’ll be fine. Plus maybe play them on a day when their good players are at work.
:faf::top marks
BeansOnToast
27-07-2023, 07:32 PM
May have already been mentioned above in the thread but according to a social media post, Johnson walked over to the hibs fans there at half time and told them to calm down as it was only pre season.
27-07-2023, 07:35 PM
May have already been mentioned above in the thread but according to a social media post, Johnson walked over to the hibs fans there at half time and told them to calm down as it was only pre season.Heard he was applying HiSmile at the same time
Shocking [emoji54]
He did seem to do a brief calm down motion at full time - quite rightly given how moronic that section of support was being
27-07-2023, 07:38 PM
I’m not going to defend Stevenson’s performance tonight, it was woeful.
But if there’s one man who’s got credit in the bank, it’s him. He still keeps the jersey and gets the opportunity to make amends. He’ll know that he won’t be allowed many of those before he loses his place though.
Marshall, Rocky, ALF, Melkersen, Doidge, Levitt - we need much, much more than that.
27-07-2023, 07:38 PM
The only pre season bit is made up
27-07-2023, 07:40 PM
The only pre season bit is made up
Bound to be pretty pathetic
Crunchie
27-07-2023, 07:43 PM
Its poor but go through the tie and will anyone actually care?
It's not just you, you're correct in everything you say. I doubt very much any jambo even remembers going out at tiny to the mighty Maltesers.
27-07-2023, 07:44 PM
Heard he was applying HiSmile at the same time
Shocking [emoji54]
He did seem to do a brief calm down motion at full time - quite rightly given how moronic that section of support was being
Telling fans - most of whom will have been on the bevvy for a while - to calm down after watching that crap is a terrible thing to do. He should have ignored it but he no doubt made a bad situation worse.
27-07-2023, 07:45 PM
Telling fans - most of whom will have been on the bevvy for a while - to calm down after watching that crap is a terrible thing to do. He should have ignored it but he no doubt made a bad situation worse.It didnt seem to inflame anything if it's the same clip
As said it was a brief hand gesture I seen
Problem is the muppets in that section IMO. Ridiculous behavior
27-07-2023, 07:47 PM
It didnt seem to inflame anything if it's the same clip
As said it was a brief hand gesture I seen
Problem is the muppets in that section IMO. Ridiculous behavior
Did the clip cover the whole event? I can't think him shushing the support will have helped at all.
27-07-2023, 07:48 PM
Yeah not a great day
The Swiss team would batter us no problem, as for the city of Luzern, one of the best parts of Europe with a nice wee football stadium as can be seen from wikie,
Swissporarena is a multi-use stadium in Lucerne, Switzerland, completed in 2011. It is used mostly for football matches and hosts the home matches of FC Luzern of the Swiss Super League. The stadium has a capacity of 16,800 spectators, including an away fans' section fitted with 390 rail seats for safe standing.
The Swedish team would knock the hell out of us as well, I know where I would rather go, but Sweden is nice as well, beer is ***** but the girls are something else.
27-07-2023, 07:53 PM
It's not just you, you're correct in everything you say. I doubt very much any jambo even remembers going out at tiny to the mighty Maltesers.
There are a few who I've reminded about that tonight!!! We lost the first leg, they got papped oot!! Big difference. We will go through and will have a very good chance of beating the Swedes or the Swiss
Crunchie
27-07-2023, 08:22 PM
There are a few who I've reminded about that tonight!!! We lost the first leg, they got papped oot!! Big difference. We will go through and will have a very good chance of beating the Swedes or the Swiss
Exactemundo :agree:
I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 09:33 PM
A laugh and a half on a depressing night, thank you!
"No excuses but..." :shocked:
Pickle
27-07-2023, 09:44 PM
Currently sitting in my garden at La Finca 🇪🇸, and secretly glad I never committed to a 16hr return journey and 44 euro a head (x4) to attend. Whilst it was clear we were miles off the pace I thought second half we showed more threat. Clearly need an out and out striker but the introduction of newell and soon to be Boyle and Fish will raise the overall quality. Marshall is done, Obita we are hoping can add more to the left hand side. Confident we’ll progress and after a few more weeks gelling not ruling out the potential of getting to last qualifying stage.
We are clearly backing the manager and if rumoured reports of breaking our transfer fee since de La Cruz for a prolific striker I don’t think we’re far away. 💚🇳🇬
Currently sitting in my garden at La Finca 🇪🇸, and secretly glad I never committed to a 16hr return journey and 44 euro a head (x4) to attend. Whilst it was clear we were miles off the pace I thought second half we showed more threat. Clearly need an out and out striker but the introduction of newell and soon to be Boyle and Fish will raise the overall quality. Marshall is done, Obita we are hoping can add more to the left hand side. Confident we’ll progress and after a few more weeks gelling not ruling out the potential of getting to last qualifying stage.
We are clearly backing the manager and if rumoured reports of breaking our transfer fee since de La Cruz for a prolific striker I don’t think we’re far away. 💚🇳🇬
👍
Here's hoping this time next week we're through and can put tonight's game behind us.
27-07-2023, 09:58 PM
Ah the haizy thoughts of someone relaxing in a balmy Spanish finca. Everything doesn’t seem far away when you’re there. 😂😂🥂 ☀️
Steven79
27-07-2023, 10:16 PM
May have already been mentioned above in the thread but according to a social media post, Johnson walked over to the hibs fans there at half time and told them to calm down as it was only pre season.Just like Falkirk last season...
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 10:28 PM
May have already been mentioned above in the thread but according to a social media post, Johnson walked over to the hibs fans there at half time and told them to calm down as it was only pre season.
The 'pre-season' bit is fake news, but the 'calm down' part is true.
LJ has clearly never told his Mrs to calm down during a time she's getting on her high horse because he would have known how that would have been received.
27-07-2023, 11:01 PM
What makes you think we'll have a very good chance on the back of that pish?
Hibs3-2
27-07-2023, 11:25 PM
Poor performance/result in first leg but ultimately we’ll progress. Take the slander from opposing fans for being behind after first leg (basically at HT) and move on
Fish to come in. A striker we all wanted and need to also come in. Panic button doesnt need pressed as yet
miljo
28-07-2023, 01:17 AM
I know its no excuse, but did anyone from the club check that the pitch meets the minimum width requirements? Uefa pitches must be 64m/70 yards wide at an absolute minimum. Using the measuring tools on Google maps/earth, which are very accurate, the pitch was at least a metre and a half less than the required minimum. Given the complaints about the width in the post match interview, should it not have been flagged to uefa?
Just_Jimmy
28-07-2023, 03:35 AM
I know its no excuse, but did anyone from the club check that the pitch meets the minimum width requirements? Uefa pitches must be 64m/70 yards wide at an absolute minimum. Using the measuring tools on Google maps/earth, which are very accurate, the pitch was at least a metre and a half less than the required minimum. Given the complaints about the width in the post match interview, should it not have been flagged to uefa?How very Hearts.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Tinnitus
28-07-2023, 04:45 AM
I know its no excuse, but did anyone from the club check that the pitch meets the minimum width requirements? Uefa pitches must be 64m/70 yards wide at an absolute minimum. Using the measuring tools on Google maps/earth, which are very accurate, the pitch was at least a metre and a half less than the required minimum. Given the complaints about the width in the post match interview, should it not have been flagged to uefa?
Given that the stadium is owned by the federation and all matches in Andorra are played there (and at one other location) I'd imagine it was all compliant.
28-07-2023, 05:33 AM
Just got to work and I'm still f,n ragin at that display, laughing stock that's what we have turned into under LJ and Im not f,n impressed. We should have been ready for that team, it has last seasons beginnings all over it, LJ doesn't realise these are the games we live for. That team we put out last nite was woeful, Rocky-brutal, Melkerson get him tae F, Miller cannae beat a man, Lewis-could have done a bit better, Youan- stop trying to beat everyone when a pass is on, Marshal yir numbers up focus on training future goalkeepers.
Newell was our best player last nite, it was like this team had never played together before, brutal.
I fully expect us to put 5 past them in the return game.
If they do by a miracle beat us then LJ has to go. No ifs or buts.
Just as a wee side note, I watched the game on twitch tv, the Spanish boy was excellent, just how excited he got when the first went in, he couldnae believe it, when the second went in it was brilliant to watch, almost lost for words. He just couldnae believe his team were winning against us.
28-07-2023, 05:52 AM
Calmed down bit now and looking forward to the second leg. We can do this. We will do this.
28-07-2023, 05:59 AM
Calmed down bit now and looking forward to the second leg. We can do this. We will do this.
:agree: 2 goals for us in the first half then they'll have to open up, it'll be a one horse race from then on in.
28-07-2023, 06:07 AM
:agree: Goal for us in the first half then they'll have to open up, it'll be a one horse race from then on in.
They won't though. We could score from kick off and they won't open up. They'd happily just sit in and try and play on the counter.
Could get really hostile if we don't score first half in Thursday.
28-07-2023, 06:09 AM
Pretty sure we will but it doesnt take away the discord and embarrassment of yesterdays result and "performance".
We're in this state because Johnson has put his stamp on the team.
He's been sadly lacking from day 1 and is too arrogant or pig headed to learn from any of his many failings from last season.
HIBS NUTS
28-07-2023, 07:10 AM
They won't though. We could score from kick off and they won't open up. They'd happily just sit in and try and play on the counter.
Could get really hostile if we don't score first half in Thursday.
It amazes me, that fans think being hostile to their own players, might make them play better.
Frustratiion can build, and in the past i have shouted out randomly at games, out of frustration.
However the level of abuse directed at the hibs players, after this game, was way over the top.
They are people like us, they are at work.
None of us would accept or expect that level of abuse after work.
They played ****, they couldnt pass, control the ball all these things.
But for the most part, they were trying to win a football match, and it’s half way through a tie.
I would much rather we talked about creating an atmosphere, that helps win the match than, how long it takes to create a hostile atmosphere
This won’t be a popular post,but someone has to say it.
28-07-2023, 07:34 AM
Brilliant :greengrin
Dublin07
28-07-2023, 07:57 AM
Have slept on it before giving my thoughts. We were brutal all over the pitch but some of the reaction is way over the top as usual.
Marshall should never play for us again completely finished. Stevenson had a nightmare. Rocky first half was horrendous. JDH was going to get sent off and offered nothing. Melkersen sadly is never making it - just awful. ALF is finished. Youan once they tired got some joy. Lewis miller tried his best and never gave up. Played with urgency when allowed to do so.
It was hotter than expected. The pitch was really small, bouncy and fast. Their team are well drilled on that pitch and know how to play the darker arts to perfection. The ref also helped them slow the game down.
Newell was our best player and is vital to us this season. Levitt was disappointing but was not the worst of the 3 in midfield.
Bring in wallacott , obita, fish, newell, boyle and a number 9 and we will easily beat them at home. They were exhausted last 10 mins on that small pitch so will tire at Easter road. Might have to be patient as they won’t be easy to break down.
As for the abuse aimed at the players. Some of it was justified but some of it was due to alcohol and sunshine. It is a long long way to come for a ***** game of football.
28-07-2023, 08:18 AM
Have slept on it before giving my thoughts. We were brutal all over the pitch but some of the reaction is way over the top as usual.
Marshall should never play for us again completely finished. Stevenson had a nightmare. Rocky first half was horrendous. JDH was going to get sent off and offered nothing. Melkersen sadly is never making it - just awful. ALF is finished. Youan once they tired got some joy. Lewis miller tried his best and never gave up. Played with urgency when allowed to do so.
It was hotter than expected. The pitch was really small, bouncy and fast. Their team are well drilled on that pitch and know how to play the darker arts to perfection. The ref also helped them slow the game down.
Newell was our best player and is vital to us this season. Levitt was disappointing but was not the worst of the 3 in midfield.
Bring in wallacott , obita, fish, newell, boyle and a number 9 and we will easily beat them at home. They were exhausted last 10 mins on that small pitch so will tire at Easter road. Might have to be patient as they won’t be easy to break down.
As for the abuse aimed at the players. Some of it was justified but some of it was due to alcohol and sunshine. It is a long long way to come for a ***** game of football.
If ALF is finished as you suggest - and he’s a player we’ve just signed - then it’s hard to see how anything much fans are saying at the moment can be over the top.
Paulie Walnuts
28-07-2023, 08:19 AM
If ALF is finished as you suggest - and he’s a player we’ve just signed - then it’s hard to see how anything much fans are saying at the moment can be over the top.
ALF was a concerning signing for me from the get go.
37 in a few months, good record recently but in an awful league. 5 or 6 years ago he appeared to be on the slide in the Championship/League One in England.
I can’t see him offering much at all this season.
28-07-2023, 08:27 AM
ALF was a concerning signing for me from the get go.
37 in a few months, good record recently but in an awful league. 5 or 6 years ago he appeared to be on the slide in the Championship/League One in England.
I can’t see him offering much at all this season.I'd imagine he's one that will come in and out the team when we have our number 9
He certainly will have composure to finish any chances we do make
I won't write him off after 1 competitive game in which we were shan all over
He did put it a beautiful ball that doidge should've scored from (imo)
If we can get Vente (and possibly Myko) then Alf will be the 3rd striker
ionahibby
28-07-2023, 10:24 AM
Just watched that video online of the abuse the players and manager got at full time. Disgusting to be honest, result aside we shouldn’t be abusing human beings like that regardless of what you think. Would you expect that at your work place? I think not. Some folk need to get a grip. Bullying is what it is.
HIBS NUTS
28-07-2023, 10:35 AM
Just watched that video online of the abuse the players and manager got at full time. Disgusting to be honest, result aside we shouldn’t be abusing human beings like that regardless of what you think. Would you expect that at your work place? I think not. Some folk need to get a grip. Bullying is what it is.
Agree any other line of work that’s bullying.
28-07-2023, 10:37 AM
Just watched that video online of the abuse the players and manager got at full time. Disgusting to be honest, result aside we shouldn’t be abusing human beings like that regardless of what you think. Would you expect that at your work place? I think not. Some folk need to get a grip. Bullying is what it is.Your forgetting that they voluntarily decided to take time off work and spend money to travel there
That makes all abuse hunky dory
28-07-2023, 10:38 AM
I would normally agree and never been one for even booing a Hibs player. I didn't even boo McKirdy last season and my views on him weren't a secret. However, people must have spent a fortune to go over to Andorra to watch, in all honesty, a pathetic performance against a junior level team. The players need to know that isn't acceptable. The reaction from the fans was justified IMO and if the players didn't like it then they need to try harder or get out of our club.
28-07-2023, 10:39 AM
Thought it looked a little embarrassing (on a night of embarrassments) more than anything else. Like a small group of laddies competing to look the most angry. “****ing boooo” 🙈
It happens though. I took pleasure in seeing jambos doing something similar at the bottom of the south when they last visited us.
Trinity Hibee
28-07-2023, 10:40 AM
Your forgetting that they voluntarily decided to take time off work and spend money to travel there
That makes all abuse hunky dory
Look forward to you telling those you sit next to at ER they aren’t entitled to vent their frustrations just because they’ve bought a ticket.
DinkyTwo
28-07-2023, 10:40 AM
Just watched that video online of the abuse the players and manager got at full time. Disgusting to be honest, result aside we shouldn’t be abusing human beings like that regardless of what you think. Would you expect that at your work place? I think not. Some folk need to get a grip. Bullying is what it is.Agreed.
Anyone involved in shouting like that should be absolutely mortified.
Screaming obscenities over and over again as the players walked past is an even bigger embarrassment than the performance.
Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
28-07-2023, 10:41 AM
I'm not into booing players when the game is on going (and I hate booing subs on / off etc) but I think that when the whistle blows for half time or full time then I think it's fair game to let them know what you think.
FWIW Johnson seemed to suggest the same and didn't have a problem with folk venting at the end, although he wants the supporters to get behind the team during the game.
28-07-2023, 10:41 AM
Look forward to you telling those you sit next to at ER they aren’t entitled to vent their frustrations just because they’ve bought a ticket.Surely there's levels though?
The folk in the videos I seen were embarrassing themselves
Like I said just because you travel or buy a ticket shouldnt give you carte blanche to shout what you like
Trinity Hibee
28-07-2023, 10:43 AM
Surely there's levels though?
Like I said just because you travel or buy a ticket should give you carte blanche to shout what you like
Unless it’s racist, homophobic abuse then I don’t know what you expect those who watched that to react like? This happens every week but for some reason what happened yesterday has offended some.
DinkyTwo
28-07-2023, 10:44 AM
Surely there's levels though?
Like I said just because you travel or buy a ticket should give you carte blanche to shout what you like
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkThat's my view too.
Shouting "Oh **** off Hibs, that's *****" or booing as the players leave the pitch gets the message across just fine.
Running up to the fence, crowding round, screaming over and over again as the players walk past is moronic behaviour.
Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
HIBS NUTS
28-07-2023, 10:44 AM
I would normally agree and never been one for even booing a Hibs player. I didn't even boo McKirdy last season and my views on him weren't a secret. However, people must have spent a fortune to go over to Andorra to watch, in all honesty, a pathetic performance against a junior level team. The players need to know that isn't acceptable. The reaction from the fans was justified IMO and if the players didn't like it then they need to try harder or get out of our club.
We as supporters, need to get behind the players next thursday, if the fans think being as hostile and negative as possible, works, they are better watching the game on tv.
It doesn’t work, it creates a negative attitude and plays into the oppositions hands.
I would imagine the first thing, the andorran manager will say next week, is keep it tight for 20 minutes, and the fans will turn on the team.
Donegal Hibby
28-07-2023, 10:49 AM
Look forward to you telling those you sit next to at ER they aren’t entitled to vent their frustrations just because they’ve bought a ticket.
If folk want to boo the team that's fine even though what went on at the end of the game was abuse and it doesn't matter what the reasons are , it's wrong and unacceptable and the fans doing it were a disgrace.
Trinity Hibee
28-07-2023, 10:51 AM
If folk want to boo the team that's fine even though what went on at the end of the game was abuse and it doesn't matter what the reasons are , it's wrong and unacceptable and the fans doing it were a disgrace.
So how is that different to any other week at the football and it’s never been an issue until yesterday?
I’m not one for booing or screaming at players myself but I can understand why some do it. Think we all know they do it because the club is in their bloods. Maybe care too much
HIBS NUTS
28-07-2023, 11:04 AM
So how is that different to any other week at the football and it’s never been an issue until yesterday?
I’m not one for booing or screaming at players myself but I can understand why some do it. Think we all know they do it because the club is in their bloods. Maybe care too much
So to show you a bigger hibs fan, you have to shout louder and abuse the players more than other hibs fans.
Random shouts at players, out of frustration is different, from a sustained swearing, and abuse at all the players and manager, over long period whilst the game is finished.
Why is Newell getting abused.
We quite rightly tell any anybody who will listen, we have fantastic fans, and in my opinion the best football Anthem.
What do think the new centreforward would think if he sees this online.
Personally i would be thinking, i don’t fancy going to them.
Trinity Hibee
28-07-2023, 11:08 AM
So to show you a bigger hibs fan, you have to shout louder and abuse the players more than other hibs fans.
Random shouts at players, out of frustration is different, from a sustained swearing, and abuse at all the players and manager, over long period whilst the game is finished.
Why is Newell getting abused.
We quite rightly tell any anybody who will listen, we have fantastic fans, and in my opinion the best football Anthem.
What do think the new centreforward would think if he sees this online.
Personally i would be thinking, i don’t fancy going to them.
The new forward will have seen yesterdays result and thought I’m not playing for them.
Donegal Hibby
28-07-2023, 11:30 AM
I can understand as well why some boo the team at the end of a match in letting them know there are unhappy with a bad result and poor performance . Personally I'd just rather leave myself though what happened at the end of the game yesterday crossed the line imo and was nothing other than abuse which imo is unacceptable.
28-07-2023, 11:31 AM
They'd have been on the lash all day having been looking forward to the game since they booked up.
Happy to cut them a bit of slack for their over-exuberance at the end.
28-07-2023, 11:34 AM
Oh aye... there definitely seems to be a breed of fan (the ones who don't accept mediocrity etc etc) who genuinely think that showering the players and anyone else connected with the club with abuse is the way to show you're a real supporter.
Absolute nonsense. People who abuse others are just a-holes.
vahibbie
28-07-2023, 11:36 AM
However the level of abuse directed at the hibs players, after this game, was way over the top.
They are people like us, they are at work.
None of us would accept or expect that level of abuse after work.
If you hired a plumber to put in a new sink and he fitted it upside down you’d have to question his justification in calling himself a plumber. I’d probably have a few stern words with the guy and unceremoniously show him the door.
Hibs last night were posing as football players. The managers been posing for a good while now.
28-07-2023, 11:41 AM
Joe Newell says the stick from the fans was deserved and apologised for the result and performance.
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1684882757091008513?s=46&t=bdJsB3RQwSUdEBTbKsgiuQ
Bridge hibs
28-07-2023, 11:41 AM
If you hired a plumber to put in a new sink and he fitted it upside down you’d have to question his justification in calling himself a plumber. I’d probably have a few stern words with the guy and unceremoniously show him the door.
Hibs last night were posing as football players. The managers been posing for a good while now.Oh ffs, yeah of course thats a great comparison to how ***** we played last night 🤣
Even Stevie ****ing Wonder wouldnae fit a sink upside down
Trinity Hibee
28-07-2023, 11:46 AM
Oh ffs, yeah of course thats a great comparison to how ***** we played last night 🤣
Even Stevie ****ing Wonder wouldnae fit a sink upside down
😂 last bit made me laugh
28-07-2023, 11:47 AM
Joe Newell says the stick from the fans was deserved and apologised for the result and performance.
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1684882757091008513?s=46&t=bdJsB3RQwSUdEBTbKsgiuQ
The abuse from the dans was a bit embarrassing tbh but i can also see why they are angry having paid so ouch to go and watch that.
Good to see Joe acknowledge that and apologise on behalf of the team.
Would really liked to have seen him appointed our captain.
28-07-2023, 11:47 AM
Hibs last night were posing as football players. The managers been posing for a good while now.
Hopefully a decent human being would manage to deal with the plumber who's performed this amazing feat without resorting to vile personal abuse.
Really meaningful comparison though.
28-07-2023, 11:48 AM
Good interview from Joe, hopefully that puts to bed the idea that the players don't care.
His comment about games "falling in to funny ways" (I think that was the phrase he used) its an interesting one, bad day at the office kinda thing.
28-07-2023, 11:51 AM
Good, honest assessment from him
28-07-2023, 11:53 AM
You wouldn't call the plumber a ****** though would you?
I'd love to see the fans raging if there wasn't a fence there.
28-07-2023, 11:56 AM
The abuse from the dans was a bit embarrassing tbh but i can also see why they are angry having paid so ouch to go and watch that.
Good to see Joe acknowledge that and apologise on behalf of the team.
Would really liked to have seen him appointed our captain.
Good on Joe Newell for fronting up and being so honest. I don’t agree with some of what was said by the fans at the end of the game but can’t argue with the sentiment of it. It’s obvious that Joe Newell recognised that. He’s a player that frustrates me at times but he clearly cares.
28-07-2023, 11:58 AM
Good on Joe Newell for fronting up and being so honest. I don’t agree with some of what was said by the fans at the end of the game but can’t argue with the sentiment of it. It’s obvious that Joe Newell recognised that. He’s a player that frustrates me at times but he clearly cares.
Hanlon should've done that interview IMO.
Always felt Newell was Club Captain material.
HFC93
28-07-2023, 11:59 AM
Joe should be our captain.
Donegal Hibby
28-07-2023, 12:03 PM
Oh aye... there definitely seems to be a breed of fan (the ones who don't accept mediocrity etc etc) who genuinely think that showering the players and anyone else connected with the club with abuse is the way to show you're a real supporter.
Absolute nonsense. People who abuse others are just a-holes.
Bridge hibs
28-07-2023, 12:09 PM
Hanlon should've done that interview IMO.
Always felt Newell was Club Captain material.
What would Hanlon have said differently to what Newell said ? Newell was probably the only one with the balls to come out and talk
28-07-2023, 12:13 PM
What would Hanlon have said differently to what Newell said ? Newell was probably the only one with the balls to come out and talk
Think you've missed my point then agreed with it all in a oner :greengrin
Bridge hibs
28-07-2023, 12:18 PM
Think you've missed my point then agreed with it all in a oner :greengrin
Oops, been a long morning 🤣
28-07-2023, 12:19 PM
On the other hand, I wonder if those criticising the booers, calling them morons etc would say that to their faces? People were coming close to blows at full time in just such situations. Incidentally I didn't boo, just quietly collected the flag & buggered off in disbelief.
Bridge hibs
28-07-2023, 12:27 PM
On the other hand, I wonder if those criticising the booers, calling them morons etc would say that to their faces? People were coming close to blows at full time in just such situations. Incidentally I didn't boo, just quietly collected the flag & buggered off in disbelief.So they who shouted abuse should be immune to criticism and why would they need to say it to their faces, perhaps they would, also remember those giving it the finger and rage faces were safely tucked behind a fence ?
Looking and listening to those at the end of the game it appears to me a few of them need to change sport to something less stressful, is tiddlywinks a sport ?
Bridge hibs
28-07-2023, 12:32 PM
Ah but where theres muck theres brass, we are appealing the result, due to Plumber error
In an attempt to overturn Thursdays defeat Hibs have lodged an appeal with UEFA claiming that two part-time Inter Descales players, the goalie and the centre-half, both of whom are Plumbers, were not CORGI registered.
28-07-2023, 12:38 PM
On the other hand, I wonder if those criticising the booers, calling them morons etc would say that to their faces? People were coming close to blows at full time in just such situations. Incidentally I didn't boo, just quietly collected the flag & buggered off in disbelief.
Fair play to you for making the trip.
I no longer confront fellow Hibs fans for being (mostly coked up) morons after numerous incidents, one of which involved a bamboo flag pole hitting a young laddie in the back of the head at Hampden.
I didn't call them morons in this context, I do think the fence adds 1000 bravado points to anyone shouting abuse from behind one.
Tinnitus
28-07-2023, 12:41 PM
They'd have been on the lash all day having been looking forward to the game since they booked up.
Happy to cut them a bit of slack for their over-exuberance at the end.
Yip. At least they didn't go out on the lash all day and end up playing as our GK.
28-07-2023, 12:46 PM
Yip. At least they didn't go out on the lash all day and end up playing as our GK.
Would anyone have noticed if they had? :whistle: