View Full Version : Don’t sack Lee

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

03-01-2023, 04:35 PM
That summer was bizarre.

Ross openly called out the recruitment after our European exit saying he wanted a CB, the club had failed to find him one and he was forced to play McGregor who was sent off. Yet we still had people across the board (fans, club officials, players) insisting it had been a successful window. The truth became clear not so long after when one person lost their job and there was a fair bit of revisionism and scapegoating of him. The windows since suggest the problem runs quite a bit deeper than that one person. Johnson's interview last night was in the same vein as Ross a couple of years ago. I was convinced Ross had his card marked from that point on and it was when not if he was going to be sacked.

For Nathan Wood see Will Fish. Same problem, different manager and a different year. The system is broken. Sacking Johnson might solve part of the problem but without significant changes elsewhere we will be having the same conversation sometime in the next year.

Agree with all of this.

RG must see it too. That summer could be put down to a rookie mistake. But to follow it up this year in the same manner was ridiculous.

Hopefully RGs been searching for a new Chief Exec or director of football the last fews months. He can't genuinely think this is going to work itself out and it's not as if making the change will come as a surprise.

I think the article in the Sun calls it right. Two more league games, then the Cup, then he'll be gone. New DoF / Head of Recruitment will then be announced along with the new manager. It'll be too late though, cause the window will be shut.

I wouldn't let LJ sign any more players under any circumstances.

03-01-2023, 04:37 PM
Only two players from yesterday’s starting line up were signed by Ross.

Didn’t sign them but gave long term contract extensions to both Campbell and Newell so instead of them being moved on last summer we’re stuck with them for another 2 years.

03-01-2023, 04:40 PM
Only two players from yesterday’s starting line up were signed by Ross.

How many held down starting positions for him?

03-01-2023, 04:42 PM
Agree with all of this.

RG must see it too. That summer could be put down to a rookie mistake. But to follow it up this year in the same manner was ridiculous.

Hopefully RGs been searching for a new Chief Exec or director of football the last fews months. He can't genuinely think this is going to work itself out and it's not as if making the change will come as a surprise.

I think the article in the Sun calls it right. Two more league games, then the Cup, then he'll be gone. New DoF / Head of Recruitment will then be announced along with the new manager. It'll be too late though, cause the window will be shut.

I wouldn't let LJ sign any more players under any circumstances.

Any structural changes, a DoF etc would be too late in the day to have any proper impact on this window anyway. I think it’s also fairly clear that there isn’t going to be much happening on the transfer front which is why I think we need to change the manager. I think we need a short term fix to keep us up, someone that is going to get more out of what we have because LJ currently looks incapable of that.

On a DoF that’s longer term and rather than coming in alongside a manager we need to get them in to be involved in recruiting a manager IMO.

03-01-2023, 04:45 PM
Any structural changes, a DoF etc would be too late in the day to have any proper impact on this window anyway. I think it’s also fairly clear that there isn’t going to be much happening on the transfer front which is why I think we need to change the manager. I think we need a short term fix to keep us up, someone that is going to get more out of what we have because LJ currently looks incapable of that.

On a DoF that’s longer term and rather than coming in alongside a manager we need to get them in to be involved in recruiting a manager IMO.

What happens if the DoF is garbage? Same people recruiting the DoF that recruited Johnson surely, no?

Steven79
03-01-2023, 04:47 PM
Didn’t sign them but gave long term contract extensions to both Campbell and Newell so instead of them being moved on last summer we’re stuck with them for another 2 years.What was the rush to get Joe tied down as it's not as if other clubs would be looking to sign him?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

03-01-2023, 04:50 PM
What happens if the DoF is garbage? Same people recruiting the DoF that recruited Johnson surely, no?

If we all agree that we need a DoF (or similar) then who else can appoint them other than the current board though?

03-01-2023, 04:51 PM
If we all agree that we need a DoF (or similar) then who else can appoint them other than the current board though?

No idea but surely that diminishes the hope that the DoF will fix our woes. New managers haven't helped us who have been recruited by the same people.

03-01-2023, 04:54 PM
What was the rush to get Joe tied down as it's not as if other clubs would be looking to sign him?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

No idea. Galling to think he’s on a bigger wage than we were paying the likes of McGeouch and McGinn.

03-01-2023, 05:00 PM
No idea but surely that diminishes the hope that the DoF will fix our woes. New managers haven't helped us who have been recruited by the same people.

Then we’d just basically be saying that we’re doomed for as long as they’re ever in charge. They’ve made an arse of things so far, doesn’t need to be forever if they recognise the need for change.

For me, we’re in an identical position to Hearts before they were relegated. Someone running the show who doesn’t know what they’re doing, players coming and going some of whom you’ll never remember and so on. A couple of sensible appointments and they’re probably looking at consecutive 3rd place finishes, consecutive European group stage and so on.

03-01-2023, 05:05 PM
Then we’d just basically be saying that we’re doomed for as long as they’re ever in charge. They’ve made an arse of things so far, doesn’t need to be forever if they recognise the need for change.

For me, we’re in an identical position to Hearts before they were relegated. Someone running the show who doesn’t know what they’re doing, players coming and going some of whom you’ll never remember and so on. A couple of sensible appointments and they’re probably looking at consecutive 3rd place finishes, consecutive European group stage and so on.

Did Budge not use consultants to help her? Football consultancy seems to be a big thing these days which maybe we've either over/incorrectly utilised. Certainly if Ron Gordon hasn't been using some football people to advise DoF and manager appointments he needs to start.

Scotty Leither
03-01-2023, 05:10 PM
The next announcement from Hibs will be next up Motherwell get your tickets blah blah blah.

Yup. The comms folk have a job to do, but this is what’s pissing me off at the moment, the team are crap, yet all we here from the club is basically “any chance you can give us more money?” as all the emails are loaded with adverts.

Gonnae just gie us a decent team any time soon?

03-01-2023, 05:10 PM
Jim McIntyre sacked by Cove Rangers following their 6-1 defeat by Caley Thistle.

03-01-2023, 05:12 PM
Did Budge not use consultants to help her? Football consultancy seems to be a big thing these days which maybe we've either over/incorrectly utilised. Certainly if Ron Gordon hasn't been using some football people to advise DoF and manager appointments he needs to start.

We have used consultants in other non-football areas of the club so wouldn’t be surprised if he has. Somebody mentioned the club were speaking with Jeremy Steele who who works for a football consultancy which focuses on recruitment advisory.

03-01-2023, 05:14 PM
Yup. The comms folk have a job to do, but this is what’s pissing me off at the moment, the team are crap, yet all we here from the club is basically “any chance you can give us more money?” as all the emails are loaded with adverts.

Gonnae just gie us a decent team any time soon?

I know it’s basically what we are but I’ve never felt more like a customer than a supporter than I do now with Hibs.

From the minute I set foot into Easter road I’m just being bombarded with flashing adverts constantly until I leave.

03-01-2023, 05:20 PM

I don’t know but it’s you could even take that back a step and say ‘what if they don’t appoint the right consultant’.

Ultimately they’re going to need to make a correct decision somewhere along the line for things to change.

03-01-2023, 06:00 PM
I don’t know but it’s you could even take that back a step and say ‘what if they don’t appoint the right consultant’.

Ultimately they’re going to need to make a correct decision somewhere along the line for things to change.

Very true. Unfortunately this can be applied to managers as well. Ultimately it is the chairman and board that are to blame. Regardless of whether they seek consultancy advice or not. They get it wrong.

We sack another manager I have zero faith in this improving. Club would have to improve other areas first and the improvements would have to be visible.

Can't believe we're under new ownership and the poor signings and hire to sack manager trend has continued. Can't be bad luck surely...we have to be doing something wrong consistently. Is it board members? Are they constants across the ownerships?

03-01-2023, 06:03 PM

At least if they’re speaking with consultants it means they acknowledge they need to change what they’re doing.

I hope RG comes out and explains what changes are being made and why.

03-01-2023, 06:48 PM
Very true. Unfortunately this can be applied to managers as well. Ultimately it is the chairman and board that are to blame. Regardless of whether they seek consultancy advice or not. They get it wrong.

We sack another manager I have zero faith in this improving. Club would have to improve other areas first and the improvements would have to be visible.

Can't believe we're under new ownership and the poor signings and hire to sack manager trend has continued. Can't be bad luck surely...we have to be doing something wrong consistently. Is it board members? Are they constants across the ownerships?

I totally believe that our problems go way beyond the manager. But the manager has still made some decisions lately that you just can’t legislate for.

Said it somewhere else that I don’t think any manager is going to have consistent, long term success with the current setup and support. But I do think a different manager could have us in better form than we currently find ourselves in. Looks like he’s going to survive yesterday but my concern is that it’s now just a matter of when he goes and I just hope we don’t waste too many games and find ourselves in real trouble by the time someone else comes in.

03-01-2023, 10:04 PM
Not sure if this has been posted in many of the other Threads but taken from the EEN

'Meanwhile, Hibs chiefs are plotting an organisational shake-up behind the scenes in a bid to get the club back on an even keel. The finer details are still being ironed out but the Evening News understands the club is considering a return to a structure similar to the one in place during Leeann Dempster’s tenure as chief executive.

Steve88
03-01-2023, 10:12 PM
Not sure if this has been posted in many of the other Threads but taken from the EEN

'Meanwhile, Hibs chiefs are plotting an organisational shake-up behind the scenes in a bid to get the club back on an even keel. The finer details are still being ironed out but the Evening News understands the club is considering a return to a structure similar to the one in place during Leeann Dempster’s tenure as chief executive.

Whoever on here is at the next AGM best hammer the board on this.

If the bike isn't broke, why fix it...

Ironic that RG is returning to a structure which had already secured cup wins + European football, which is exactly what RG stated he wanted - YOU ALREADY HAD THE STRUCTURE IN PLACE!!

03-01-2023, 10:13 PM
Sun reporting Lee didn’t bother going into the dressing room after the Derby.

03-01-2023, 10:22 PM
Sun reporting Lee didn’t bother going into the dressing room after the Derby.

Not a big deal if true. It is the rag though so truth isn't likely.

03-01-2023, 10:30 PM

To be fair they’re usually relatively accurate where Hibs are concerned IMO.

Although I don’t think the article is terribly enlightening to be fair. There have been folk on here saying for a while that the players aren’t exactly big fans of Johnson. And anyone with half a brain knows that his comments to the press afterwards weren’t going to go down well with the players (even if accurate).

03-01-2023, 10:44 PM
Whoever on here is at the next AGM best hammer the board on this.

If the bike isn't broke, why fix it...

Ironic that RG is returning to a structure which had already secured cup wins + European football, which is exactly what RG stated he wanted - YOU ALREADY HAD THE STRUCTURE IN PLACE!!

To be fair to RG on this, we lost two semi-final's and a final in calendar 20/21 season and a lot of us were happy at the time to hear we were going to do different things to try and get over the line and win those games more consistently and push the club onwards.

Sacking Jack Ross wasn't an alien thought to many of us when it happened, if you were at Livi that night you'll remember the boos and sacked in the morning shouts from our own fans.

The same goes for Mathie in the recruitment, he clearly done a good job for years with us but there was murmurs about him failing to get good enough signings in through the door and secure significant sales out in the January and summer windows in 2021.

I think we can agree that nearly every decision structurally has backfired from a footballing sense. Recognising that and going back to what worked before is the right step imo.

03-01-2023, 10:54 PM
To be fair to RG on this, we lost two semi-final's and a final in calendar 20/21 season and a lot of us were happy at the time to hear we were going to do different things to try and get over the line and win those games more consistently and push the club onwards.

Sacking Jack Ross wasn't an alien thought to many of us when it happened, if you were at Livi that night you'll remember the boos and sacked in the morning shouts from our own fans.

The same goes for Mathie in the recruitment, he clearly done a good job for years with us but there was murmurs about him failing to get good enough signings in through the door and secure significant sales out in the January and summer windows in 2021.

I think we can agree that nearly every decision structurally has backfired from a footballing sense. Recognising that and going back to what worked before is the right step imo.

Mathie failed to sign the st. Mirren midfielder that Jack Ross wanted in his last window. Ross was furious and Mathie paid the price first before Ross did as well.

03-01-2023, 10:56 PM
With all these stories hitting the press, they don’t come from nowhere. The club have obviously decided to try and back Johnson but planting stories in the press will only buy a bit of time. There needs to be actual action. New signings need to start arriving.

03-01-2023, 10:57 PM
Mathie failed to sign the st. Mirren midfielder that Jack Ross wanted in his last window. Ross was furious and Mathie paid the price first before Ross did as well.

We were also desperate for a third striker to compliment/add to Doidge and Nisbet and we ended up with an unfit James Scott, when Doidge got injured it meant Nisbet had to play 90 minutes at a time through terrible form and got slaughtered throughout most of it.

03-01-2023, 10:58 PM

It’s not a big deal that the manager didn’t go in to tell his players how disappointing their performance was?

Is that not part of his job?

03-01-2023, 11:01 PM

He didn’t. Then sat on the coach leaving the ground and said F all.

03-01-2023, 11:03 PM
It’s not a big deal that the manager didn’t go in to tell his players how disappointing their performance was?

Is that not part of his job?

The players not know already?

03-01-2023, 11:04 PM

This is why I can’t see how he can go on.

With the comments alone, added to the other stuff starting to come out, there is going to be nothing other than a complete breakdown in any relationship he has with the players.

03-01-2023, 11:07 PM
The players not know already?

It shouldn’t matter. The manager should either be going through HIS players or try give them a bit encouragement after that.

His behaviours been ****ing bizarre recently.

03-01-2023, 11:08 PM

Possibly quiet reflection for them all?

Did he break wind?

Had enough siding with players over the manager. If we are getting rid of the manager I want a plan in place to properly cull this squad. Enough of them have now seen more than 2-3 managers sacked at Hibs alone.

03-01-2023, 11:35 PM
Possibly quiet reflection for them all?

Did he break wind?

Had enough siding with players over the manager. If we are getting rid of the manager I want a plan in place to properly cull this squad. Enough of them have now seen more than 2-3 managers sacked at Hibs alone.

Not for me, if he’s quick enough to slaughter them to the press have the balls to do it to their faces as well.

Didn’t hear anything about his bowel movements.

Certainly not siding with the players but I have zero time for him. Wasn’t that long ago we weren’t far away from where we wanted to be - his words not mine. Now the players just aren’t good enough. If that is the case that isn’t their fault though, they didn’t sign themselves, nor do I believe they aren’t trying a leg. Hating the manager certainly won’t help their performances.

04-01-2023, 12:04 AM
Not for me, if he’s quick enough to slaughter them to the press have the balls to do it to their faces as well.

Didn’t hear anything about his bowel movements.

Certainly not siding with the players but I have zero time for him. Wasn’t that long ago we weren’t far away from where we wanted to be - his words not mine. Now the players just aren’t good enough. If that is the case that isn’t their fault though, they didn’t sign themselves, nor do I believe they aren’t trying a leg. Hating the manager certainly won’t help their performances.

Maybe he’s tried saying it to their faces and tried various approaches and nothings working so felt it beat his assistant have a go, personally I have no issue with that what do ever sure Lennon done the same when with us at a point

CL0762
04-01-2023, 12:18 AM

It was the failure to sign McCart from St Johnstone, not a midfielder from St Mirren

04-01-2023, 12:19 AM
Maybe he’s tried saying it to their faces and tried various approaches and nothings working so felt it beat his assistant have a go, personally I have no issue with that what do ever sure Lennon done the same when with us at a point

As I said though we’ve gone from being not far away to the players not being good enough in the space of a few weeks. Which is it ? Have they suddenly stopped doing things previously they were ? Or is it that his tactics and selections are wrong ?

I listened to his interviews. I’m not sure what he’s told them that they aren’t doing, more than likely we don’t have a balance and enough good players to make the difference, but at the risk of repeating myself I don’t see how we weren’t far away. More pish from him.

And slaughtering players in public rarely works and won’t improve matters when they already cannot stand him.

04-01-2023, 12:21 AM
It was the failure to sign McCart from St Johnstone, not a midfielder from St Mirren

Disagree. We weren’t prepared to pay the money St Johnstone wanted for McCart. The deal with McGrath was agreed, Mathie carried the can for it not been done in time before the window closed.

CL0762
04-01-2023, 12:26 AM
Disagree. We weren’t prepared to pay the money St Johnstone wanted for McCart. The deal with McGrath was agreed, Mathie carried the can for it not been done in time before the window closed.

Ross wanted McCart all summer, Ian Gordon said no to him. That’s what pissed off JR.

04-01-2023, 12:43 AM
He didn’t. Then sat on the coach leaving the ground and said F all.Maybe he was on the blower trying to get a reservation at Elios ASAP

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Trinity Hibee
04-01-2023, 07:14 AM

I can see why we wouldn’t be held to ransom over mccart. An average player at best and no better than what we had at the time

04-01-2023, 07:33 AM

To be fair he probably thought he was about to get sacked.

Not sure I would want to talk to them either under these circumstances.

McGruber
04-01-2023, 07:35 AM
Given where we are now Johnson looks to be getting the sack unless he wins the next three on the spin. The odds on that after 9 defeats in 11 must be pretty long.
He's under so much pressure he has to win the next game. Then can't lose at home v United, doubt he would survive that and then can't lose another derby in quick succession.

04-01-2023, 07:38 AM
Given where we are now Johnson looks to be getting the sack unless he wins the next three on the spin. The odds on that after 9 defeats in 11 must be pretty long.
He's under so much pressure he has to win the next game. Then can't lose at home v United, doubt he would survive that and then can't lose another derby in quick succession.

I reckon we need 4 points minimum from the next 2 games which gives us momentum going into the Cup game.

Auckland Hibs
04-01-2023, 07:46 AM
If we lose at Motherwell then he's gone - after the recent comments he's made about the players in the press do you think they'll bother their *****? 🤔

04-01-2023, 09:01 AM
If we lose at Motherwell then he's gone - after the recent comments he's made about the players in the press do you think they'll bother their *****? 🤔

As I have said before how will we know the difference?

May21/05/216
04-01-2023, 09:24 AM
The board won't want sack him but Johnson is angling to get out with all the things he's saying so here's my humble opinion if put him on gardening leave
Then I would bring maloney out off gardening leave

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

04-01-2023, 09:30 AM
The board won't want sack him but Johnson is angling to get out with all the things he's saying so here's my humble opinion if put him on gardening leave
Then I would bring maloney out off gardening leave

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Just say No to drugs [emoji1787]

Up-the-slope
04-01-2023, 09:30 AM
the board won't want sack him but johnson is angling to get out with all the things he's saying so here's my humble opinion if put him on gardening leave
then i would bring maloney out off gardening leave

sent from my sm-a908b using tapatalk

nurse!!!!!

04-01-2023, 09:38 AM
Johnson is definitely wanting out, I think the recent comments are pretty much saying that.

He is also a slaver though and talks some amount of guff so who knows.

CabbageBoy
04-01-2023, 10:13 AM
Johnson is definitely wanting out, I think the recent comments are pretty much saying that.

He is also a slaver though and talks some amount of guff so who knows.

How many points has LJ gained against teams with 11 players on the park? The number of sendings off against us in Autumn is the only reason we are not adrift at the bottom of the league.

04-01-2023, 10:15 AM

Another manager sacked after Motherwell away, that would be a record surely? How many managers have we binned after a Motherwell game.

Gloucester Hibs
04-01-2023, 10:19 AM
Another manager sacked after Motherwell away, that would be a record surely? How many managers have we binned after a Motherwell game.

Lennon's final game was Motherwell away I think, who else? Maloney's was Hearts after the cup semi and JR's was Livi away?

04-01-2023, 10:21 AM

It’s usually St Mirren away when we have a caretaker team in place, think we play then in Paisley on the 4th Feb

GreenGray
04-01-2023, 10:21 AM
To be fair he probably thought he was about to get sacked.

Not sure I would want to talk to them either under these circumstances.

I think it’s clear he thought he was going to get sacked, hence his comments, which by even his standards were bizzare.

Do we really want a manager who knows the writing is on the wall and who has publicly slated the players so many times?

CabbageBoy
04-01-2023, 10:28 AM
How many points has LJ gained against teams with 11 players on the park? The number of sendings off against us in Autumn is the only reason we are not adrift at the bottom of the league.

To answer my own question:

Against 10 men

P5, W 5

Against 9 men

P1, D1

Against 11

P14, W 2, D1, L 11

04-01-2023, 10:29 AM
Lennon's final game was Motherwell away I think, who else? Maloney's was Hearts after the cup semi and JR's was Livi away?

Wasn’t Yogi binned after 6-6?

04-01-2023, 10:30 AM

I don't think he was but he should have been.

04-01-2023, 10:32 AM

No. Wasn't even that season he was binned.

04-01-2023, 10:34 AM

I still maintain our keeper had some sort of bet on that day.

04-01-2023, 10:35 AM
No. Wasn't even that season he was binned.

Well he should’ve been 😂

04-01-2023, 10:36 AM

So do I though bizarrely he saved a pen also

04-01-2023, 10:38 AM
So do I though bizarrely he saved a pen also

Must have been part of the bet.:greengrin

ChilliEater
04-01-2023, 10:40 AM
Think Duffy went after a 6-2 defeat at Motherwell - managed by Alex McLeish, who replaced him.

Greenworld
04-01-2023, 11:00 AM
Still in the lee will be sacked I'm just surprised it's not happened yet . The team he put out against Hearts in the first half has to be the most baffling decission ever. BK can only be waiting on instruction for Gordon to proceed.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

04-01-2023, 11:05 AM
Think Duffy went after a 6-2 defeat at Motherwell - managed by Alex McLeish, who replaced him.

After being 2-0 up

04-01-2023, 11:13 AM
Still in the lee will be sacked I'm just surprised it's not happened yet . The team he put out against Hearts in the first half has to be the most baffling decission ever. BK can only be waiting on instruction for Gordon to proceed.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

The longer it goes on the more it appears he’s going to get the Motherwell game at least. Players were off yesterday and back in today, I don’t think it’s out of the question it could come to a head today as they’re going to be pissed off at him ranting and raving after the game too.

04-01-2023, 11:17 AM
The longer it goes on the more it appears he’s going to get the Motherwell game at least. Players were off yesterday and back in today, I don’t think it’s out of the question it could come to a head today as they’re going to be pissed off at him ranting and raving after the game too.

You could cure global warming with the amount of frost there will be at East Mains today.

04-01-2023, 11:41 AM

Fully expect him to still be there on Sunday but it now just has that horrible feeling of inevitability about it. I just can’t see how things turn after Monday.

04-01-2023, 11:43 AM
Fully expect him to still be there on Sunday but it now just has that horrible feeling of inevitability about it. I just can’t see how things turn after Monday.

If he’s still there on Sunday and Motherwell score first we could probably just call it a day there and then, shake hands and get down to the business of sacking him.

04-01-2023, 11:44 AM
It’s usually St Mirren away when we have a caretaker team in place, think we play then in Paisley on the 4th Feb

Sounds about right. Wait till window closes and sack manager.

I'm Spartacus
04-01-2023, 11:45 AM
One thing I would love is to hear the absolute fact as to how we go about signing players, there's so much uncertainty and that's not right, if this shambles of a squad is the work of the manager then we have a clear indication of who is responsible for the mess, if it's the board then we know LJ needs our backing.

04-01-2023, 11:45 AM

Its looking that way mate, he he can’t be more than one or two defeats away from getting the sack and managers rarely recover from that.

04-01-2023, 11:51 AM

I’m the same, don’t know if it was all the false rumours or what but it now just seems inevitable he’s going.

- Out night before derby
- Post match interviews
- Not going in changing room after defeat

All probably don’t help the matter however

04-01-2023, 11:54 AM
Its looking that way mate, he he can’t be more than one or two defeats away from getting the sack and managers rarely recover from that.

That’s my thoughts. The only thing that could get him a bit more time is that the league is so tight. Six, probably even four, points in the next couple of games has him sitting in the top six and possibly even a European place. For me it just has that feeling that anything in the next few weeks would just be a wee sticking plaster though. Although, in fairness, that’s all we can hope for from anyone coming in between now and the end of the season. With what has happened, I just think someone else has a better chance of picking up those results now.

There’s also going to be other things coming in to the boards thinking soon when nobody is turning up. They won’t give a toss about it this weekend because it’s an away game (away support been superb this year but will be vastly reduced on Sunday) but if they take a look at ticket sales for the cup game that might give them an idea of peoples thoughts.

Zambernardi1875
04-01-2023, 11:55 AM

If the players are in the huff at what he said after the game then they can ram it.

04-01-2023, 11:58 AM
I’m the same, don’t know if it was all the false rumours or what but it now just seems inevitable he’s going.

- Out night before derby
- Post match interviews
- Not going in changing room after defeat

All probably don’t help the matter however

It’s all the other things around the game that have pushed me to thinking he needs to go. Had all that been a bit more normal I’d possibly still edge towards keeping him. I don’t think he’s blameless in where we are but, equally, there are a lot of other things at play. The game itself delivered exactly what I expected but there are too many other things going on around it that I’m not sure we overcome with him still there.

04-01-2023, 12:04 PM
That’s my thoughts. The only thing that could get him a bit more time is that the league is so tight. Six, probably even four, points in the next couple of games has him sitting in the top six and possibly even a European place. For me it just has that feeling that anything in the next few weeks would just be a wee sticking plaster though. Although, in fairness, that’s all we can hope for from anyone coming in between now and the end of the season. With what has happened, I just think someone else has a better chance of picking up those results now.

There’s also going to be other things coming in to the boards thinking soon when nobody is turning up. They won’t give a toss about it this weekend because it’s an away game (away support been superb this year but will be vastly reduced on Sunday) but if they take a look at ticket sales for the cup game that might give them an idea of peoples thoughts.

Exactly how I see it. Even if he does win a few games the next bad run and the same concerns will rise to the surface again. IF he gets that far the cup game is huge for him. Win that and it will give him some breathing space but another defeat and poor performance he surely can’t survive. But as others have said it doesn’t give a replacement much time to turn things round.

04-01-2023, 12:17 PM
If the players are in the huff at what he said after the game then they can ram it.

Totally agree. I can’t believe some are pissed off he didn’t go into the changing room as well. Some of these players have seen off Hecky, Ross and Maloney. Christ, two have even seen off Lennon, Butcher, Fenlon, Calderwood, Hughes and Mixu.

Mikey_1875
04-01-2023, 12:23 PM
I can’t quite believe he hasn’t been emptied yet after that display. The only thing I can think is that the board are buying time until they can get their ideas finalised for our new strategy with a DOF. It would beg the question why not just put a caretaker in though?

I suppose things might not be as bad internally with the staff/players as it appears from the outside but I think it would be nothing short of a miracle for him to turn this around. Especially with this current crop of players and no new signings.

04-01-2023, 12:23 PM

He was a heavy gambler, remember the stories about Stokes owning money to players, our goalie was just as bad looking for lends as well.

NC1875
04-01-2023, 12:25 PM

Exactly my thoughts as well, they’re the ones on the pitch being horsed every week. Too many sensitive souls that don’t like to hear the truth.

They’re more to blame than LJ imo.

04-01-2023, 12:26 PM
If he’s still there on Sunday and Motherwell score first we could probably just call it a day there and then, shake hands and get down to the business of sacking him.

Or just send him a text saying he is sacked and don’t bother coming out for the 2nd half, David is now in charge. :greengrin

04-01-2023, 12:27 PM
Or just send him a text saying he is sacked and don’t bother coming out for the 2nd half, David is now in charge. :greengrin

Was good enough for Kevin Harper 😜

You’re assuming Johnson makes it to the changing room at half time of course. Might just no bother.

04-01-2023, 12:28 PM
Totally agree. I can’t believe some are pissed off he didn’t go into the changing room as well. Some of these players have seen off Hecky, Ross and Maloney. Christ, two have even seen off Lennon, Butcher, Fenlon, Calderwood, Hughes and Mixu.

He’s culpable for the selection and formation. Entirely down to him.

The rest of your post to me boils down to whether you think the players aren’t trying/unwilling to follow instructions or simply aren’t good enough.

This isn’t a direct go at you but I find continued criticism of Lewis Stevenson a bit of a disgrace. Whether anyone questions his ability he’s been selected by every single manager he’s worked under, been everything you could ever ask of a player in terms of commitment and professionalism and been a solid 6-8/10 in the majority of his games for us. He’s almost 35, it’s no surprise he’s not the same player he once was, but he’s not picking himself.

Steven79
04-01-2023, 12:32 PM
He’s culpable for the selection and formation. Entirely down to him.

The rest of your post to me boils down to whether you think the players aren’t trying/unwilling to follow instructions or simply aren’t good enough.

This isn’t a direct go at you but I find continued criticism of Lewis Stevenson a bit of a disgrace. Whether anyone questions his ability he’s been selected by every single manager he’s worked under, been everything you could ever ask of a player in terms of commitment and professionalism and been a solid 6-8/10 in the majority of his games for us. He’s almost 35, it’s no surprise he’s not the same player he once was, but he’s not picking himself.

Exactly.

Him & Paul should be nowhere near first team regulars at the minute but that's down to the managers and those in charge of signing new players.

I feel sorry for them as apart from retiring (And leaving us in a position without any first team defenders) what can they do.

But the longer it goes on that they are in the team the worse it's going to get.

I'm Spartacus
04-01-2023, 12:33 PM

DG will inevitably be caretaker at some point, he will take a few games while we recruit, there's going to be a day he's given the gig, my fear is the damage being done over a lengthy period then makes life harder for DG than what any of them have had to work with before, and Ron & Co will just hide behind David and his status at the club.

GreenGray
04-01-2023, 12:36 PM
It’ll be interesting to see how the team perform after Lee’s comments after the game. If there’s a bit of fight you could maybe argue his case for staying, however if it’s the opposite surely he’s “lost the dressing room” as they say you surely couldn’t justify keeping him.

It’s impossible to have a full squad reset in a January window.

04-01-2023, 12:37 PM
The stuff that’s came out after the game about Cadden being drugged up to play the game and then obviously needing to manage Magennis minutes along with McGeady makes a lot more sense to me now about the team we played.

Fish at right back so he’s more protected by his fellow defenders and Cadden ahead of him.

McKirdy to replace Magennis.

On paper they’re not the worst ideas, personally not the changes I would have made but I imagine he wanted to bring an attacking threat to the game aswell which on paper again he did.

I probably would have stuck Cabraja left back and moves Stevenson to midfield or started Kenneh midfield.

Fish showed in his sub and friendly appearances that he looked fine, his defending for the goal is not something you’d expect of any player at this level and something I don’t think you can blame Johnson for. Same with the penalty and even the third goal.

They’re all horrendous goals to concede.

04-01-2023, 12:40 PM
It’ll be interesting to see how the team perform after Lee’s comments after the game. If there’s a bit of fight you could maybe argue his case for staying, however if it’s the opposite surely he’s “lost the dressing room” as they say you surely couldn’t justify keeping him.

It’s impossible to have a full squad reset in a January window.

I don’t think the players will have a major issue, certainly not those that get games.

It will be the ones not getting games like Mitchell that will be sulking.

He’s said a couple of times he’s not lost belief in the ones he believes in -I think it will be obvious to the players which ones are wanted

I also think part of the players will like the fact he’s saying some aren’t of the standard and they need more quality in

04-01-2023, 12:41 PM
I can’t quite believe he hasn’t been emptied yet after that display. The only thing I can think is that the board are buying time until they can get their ideas finalised for our new strategy with a DOF. It would beg the question why not just put a caretaker in though?

I suppose things might not be as bad internally with the staff/players as it appears from the outside but I think it would be nothing short of a miracle for him to turn this around. Especially with this current crop of players and no new signings.

Why should it take one loss to trigger the Board into action ? Everyone has watched this car crash for the last few weeks, with an almost inevitable outcome. Unless the opposition go down to 10, we're beat. The Board have sacked previous managers without a clue what to do next. Cannot afford for them to be asleep at the wheel again.

A 3rd manager sacking by Ron in 18 months will leave them exposed to media calls of incompetence - and rightly so. Maybe they're planning other changes as well to appease the vultures ?

04-01-2023, 12:44 PM
Our only hope is to appoint Martin Boyle as next manager, and as CEO, and Owner. He's single-handedly propped this club up for months.

04-01-2023, 12:52 PM
Lees certainly made me Wanting lennon back for the drama to bed

He won't do the aeroplane but could we see him pull out the helicopter on Sunday?

[emoji23][emoji576]

04-01-2023, 12:59 PM
Our only hope is to appoint Martin Boyle as next manager, and as CEO, and Owner. He's single-handedly propped this club up for months.

He's done nothing since his return. As bad as the rest of the squad.

04-01-2023, 01:01 PM

5 goals in 12 games is not bad going considering he wasn't even fit when he returned

Trinity Hibee
04-01-2023, 01:02 PM
5 goals in 12 games is not bad going considering he wasn't even fit when he returned

Is he our top scorer then?

04-01-2023, 01:10 PM
Is he our top scorer then?

Think so, Campbell is on 4 league goals I think

04-01-2023, 01:15 PM
DG will inevitably be caretaker at some point, he will take a few games while we recruit, there's going to be a day he's given the gig, my fear is the damage being done over a lengthy period then makes life harder for DG than what any of them have had to work with before, and Ron & Co will just hide behind David and his status at the club.

Maybe he's playing a part in us being rubbish? lets be honest, our record since he's been coaching is poor. Good coaches like Doolan and Taff made a big difference before.

04-01-2023, 01:24 PM

You’re actually being serious with this eh?

loanheadhibby
04-01-2023, 01:34 PM

He sure did.
We were 2 up after 6 mins.

04-01-2023, 01:35 PM
He sure did.
We were 2 up after 6 mins.My dad turned to me at that point and said 'it's game over!'

3-2 down at HT i believe [emoji23]

04-01-2023, 02:05 PM
I don’t think the players will have a major issue, certainly not those that get games.

It will be the ones not getting games like Mitchell that will be sulking.

He’s said a couple of times he’s not lost belief in the ones he believes in -I think it will be obvious to the players which ones are wanted

I also think part of the players will like the fact he’s saying some aren’t of the standard and they need more quality in

His comments after the game on Monday were clearly referring to the players in the team. The guys he isn’t selecting obviously had zero impact on the result.

I'm Spartacus
04-01-2023, 02:15 PM
Maybe he's playing a part in us being rubbish? lets be honest, our record since he's been coaching is poor. Good coaches like Doolan and Taff made a big difference before.

Nah as far as I'm aware his role is supporting and the direction comes from his boss, the manager.

04-01-2023, 02:18 PM
His comments after the game on Monday were clearly referring to the players in the team. The guys he isn’t selecting obviously had zero impact on the result.

The bit about being mediocre and not enough quality is, but I think those starting would accept that and maybe give them the boot they need.

The ones not playing and being called average etc will sulk and rightly be moved on

04-01-2023, 02:22 PM
The bit about being mediocre and not enough quality is, but I think those starting would accept that and maybe give them the boot they need.

The ones not playing and being called average etc will sulk and rightly be moved on

If he’s faith in these players then he should have chosen his words more carefully in my opinion. They are better than they are showing, they are making mistakes they shouldn’t be etc. When you call out players for being mediocre and not having enough quality it doesn’t strike me as him rating them and is poor management.

04-01-2023, 02:26 PM

Moving them on is easier said than done.

04-01-2023, 02:28 PM
If he’s faith in these players then he should have chosen his words more carefully in my opinion. They are better than they are showing, they are making mistakes they shouldn’t be etc. When you call out players for being mediocre and not having enough quality it doesn’t strike me as him rating them and is poor management.

In fairness to him, I think he’s tried that.

Maybe a bit of tough love will work.

Let’s face it everything else has failed as the results show, I’m fine with him changing things up.

Hibs feels a bit too easy for players at the moment

Just watched him on sky. Lots of flannel little passion or substance. If he’s like that in the dressing room it’s no wonder players don’t have a clue what they’re doing. Guys full of it.

Very true.

Hopefully we can get some away.

04-01-2023, 02:34 PM
Just watched him on sky. Lots of flannel little passion or substance. If he’s like that in the dressing room it’s no wonder players don’t have a clue what they’re doing. Guys full of it.

I'm sure he mentioned a couple of important players returning for the Motherwell game, porteous and cookie?

04-01-2023, 02:35 PM

We should be introducing Macintyre, Laidlaw, O,’Connor and Blaney before now - if I was a youth player, a successful one at that, and not getting a chance in a side losing 10 in 12, and a rank rotten Maloney side last season, I’d be off in a shot.

04-01-2023, 02:36 PM
You’re actually being serious with this eh?

Ok, maybe a slight exaggeration on my part but he's nowhere near the player that he was previously.

He's been a huge let down since his return but I appreciate others will think differently.

04-01-2023, 02:36 PM
In fairness to him, I think he’s tried that.

Maybe a bit of tough love will work.

Let’s face it everything else has failed as the results show, I’m fine with him changing things up.

Hibs feels a bit too easy for players at the moment

I’ll repeat what I’ve said in other posts though. While I’ve no doubt there are some in the squad who don’t give a F I genuinely don’t believe the majority aren’t trying in every game. If they are not good enough though no amount of talking to from the manager is going to change that.

The bigger issue for me is there are too many in the team who are automatic picks regardless of their performances in previous games. We aren’t going to bring enough players in this window to be able to change that to any great extent.

04-01-2023, 02:38 PM

Was that a new interview?

04-01-2023, 02:39 PM
I'm sure he mentioned a couple of important players returning for the Motherwell game, porteous and cookie?

Porto the defender or Porto the midfielder, the latter being another bizarre decision by Johnson that hasn’t worked.

04-01-2023, 02:40 PM
Porto the defender or Porto the midfielder, the latter being another bizarre decision by Johnson that hasn’t worked.

Even if it had worked(hasn't been that bad) you dislike the manager that much you probably wouldn't give him credit

04-01-2023, 02:40 PM

Nothing personal but it's all getting a bit ridiculous now.

He just talks that way and always has. It doesn't point to some huge character flaw or lack of passion necessarily.

Once people make their mind up about anything these days it's seen as weakness to change their opinion so even if a manager does start to make things a bit better they are almost always doomed anyway.

I don't particularly want him to stay but we don't have go in heavily on our own people these days.

04-01-2023, 02:46 PM
Even if it had worked(hasn't been that bad) you dislike the manager that much you probably wouldn't give him credit

I can see past my dislike for him to give him credit if I believe it’s merited. In the main I think Josh Campbell has improved under Johnson.

Playing our best defender out of position where bar a few decent passes clearly hasn’t worked, so no I won’t give him credit for that.

04-01-2023, 02:49 PM
I can see past my dislike for him to give him credit if I believe it’s merited. In the main I think Josh Campbell has improved under Johnson.

Playing our best defender out of position where bar a few decent passes clearly hasn’t worked, so no I won’t give him credit for that.
My biggest gripe with it was it takes our best defender out of a creaking back 4.

04-01-2023, 02:55 PM
My biggest gripe with it was it takes our best defender out of a creaking back 4.

Totally agree. Plus it’s only a stop gap as he knows Porto is likely leaving during this window and unless we sign a new holding/defensive midfielder we are back to square one.

04-01-2023, 02:55 PM
Nothing personal but it's all getting a bit ridiculous now.

He just talks that way and always has. It doesn't point to some huge character flaw or lack of passion necessarily.

Once people make their mind up about anything these days it's seen as weakness to change their opinion so even if a manager does start to make things a bit better they are almost always doomed anyway.

I don't particularly want him to stay but we don't have go in heavily on our own people these days.
confirmed not in the dressing room after the game on Monday and let the players get on with the immediate post mortem. Dressing that up as a management tactic IMO. Where’s his leadership qualities? As a fan and someone who’s been around football dressing rooms that and his demeanour it’s not exactly inspiring. He should be getting more out these players than he is. He’s had plenty time. Free flowing football?Pressing game? I can’t remember one game where I’ve seen this. There has been the occasional spell in games but as soon as the opposition suss it out and change he takes an eternity to react.
He will survive because we are days into a transfer window but it got disaster written all over it. Hope I’m wrong but if we don’t get more than 3 points in January we are in real trouble. Can you see a reversal in fortunes? I’m worried. I really hope I’m wrong and I’ll be first in the queue to give him praise.

04-01-2023, 03:00 PM
confirmed not in the dressing room after the game on Monday and let the players get on with the immediate post mortem. Dressing that up as a management tactic IMO. Where’s his leadership qualities? As a fan and someone who’s been around football dressing rooms that and his demeanour it’s not exactly inspiring. He should be getting more out these players than he is. He’s had plenty time. Free flowing football?Pressing game? I can’t remember one game where I’ve seen this. There has been the occasional spell in games but as soon as the opposition suss it out and change he takes an eternity to react.
He will survive because we are days into a transfer window but it got disaster written all over it. Hope I’m wrong but if we don’t get more than 3 points in January we are in real trouble. Can you see a reversal in fortunes? I’m worried. I really hope I’m wrong and I’ll be first in the queue to give him praise.

No worries. I don't disagree with most of your post.

04-01-2023, 03:03 PM

👍

SQHib
04-01-2023, 03:12 PM

Agree with you there and what I was most disappointed about was almost no regret or hurt in his voice and demeanour post the result ... I know we are more emotionally involved than the staff or players but I'm still raging and hurting from Monday ... I'm not advocating he should be foaming at the mouth but again get the feeling ( maybe I'm oveer reacting ) that its all a bit - just another three points lost no biggie even though its the derby , well make up for it on Sunday type chatter .... I know it's been done to death but to me sums up the difference - again- between us and hearts - Neilson would still be raging and making it known .. anyway .......

Just_Jimmy
04-01-2023, 03:56 PM
Just caught him slavering on SSN.

"Trust the process"
"Keep the faith"
"Can be successful"
"Short term, this season and longer term next 2 or 3"
"Short time scale so far..."

I'd ask him, based on what? What have the club or LJ shown us so far to justify any of that?

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

04-01-2023, 04:07 PM
Just caught him slavering on SSN.

"Trust the process"
"Keep the faith"
"Can be successful"
"Short term, this season and longer term next 2 or 3"
"Short time scale so far..."

I'd ask him, based on what? What have the club or LJ shown us so far to justify any of that?

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Just seen it and just can’t help shaking my head at what I was listening to. Walter Mitty if ever there was one. :rolleyes:

04-01-2023, 04:13 PM
Just seen it and just can’t help shaking my head at what I was listening to. Walter Mitty if ever there was one. :rolleyes:

Not to mention basically referring to himself as a top manager.

04-01-2023, 04:19 PM
Not to mention basically referring to himself as a top manager.Did he?

Its obvious that your flag is firmly nailed to the mast in pretty much despising Johnson

I dont see much wrong with any of that interview personally

I'm sure he'd rather not be doing any media right now he will know he will have all manner of folk jumping on his every word or perceived facial expression

04-01-2023, 04:25 PM
Did he?

Its obvious that your flag is firming nailed to the mast in pretty much despising Johnson

I'm sure he'd rather not be doing any media right now he will know he will have all manner of folk jumping on his every word or perceived facial expression

Don’t think Jeffers has ever hid his thoughts on LJ.

In terms of that interview though….

Not speaking to the players after the game may be a legitimate managerial tactic if he didn’t run to the media to tell them he thinks their pish and wants to bin 10 of them.

Trust the process? He just said he thinks we’ve got the recruitment strategy all wrong, so he doesn’t trust the process but wants us to trust him ripping it up and starting again midway through the season when he’s just lost 9 out of 11 games and we’ve no money to buy new players?

04-01-2023, 04:35 PM
Don’t think Jeffers has ever hid his thoughts on LJ.

In terms of that interview though….

Not speaking to the players after the game may be a legitimate managerial tactic if he didn’t run to the media to tell them he thinks their pish and wants to bin 10 of them.

Trust the process? He just said he thinks we’ve got the recruitment strategy all wrong, so he doesn’t trust the process but wants us to trust him ripping it up and starting again midway through the season when he’s just lost 9 out of 11 games and we’ve no money to buy new players?It seems like we will be getting the exact changes most have been calling for on the recruitment front

He's repeatedly said mistakes have been made and maybe part of the process is fixing that?

Ofcourse what happens on the training field is seperate from the recruitment piece

04-01-2023, 04:38 PM
It seems like we will be getting the exact changes most have been calling for on the recruitment front

He's repeatedly said mistakes have been made and maybe part of the process is fixing that?

Ofcourse what happens on the training field is seperate from the recruitment piece

Which changes have been announced?

04-01-2023, 04:42 PM
Which changes have been announced?

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkNothing officially from hibs yet but based on what I've read elsewhere big changes in the football structure are on the way

04-01-2023, 04:58 PM
Did he?

Its obvious that your flag is firmly nailed to the mast in pretty much despising Johnson

He was asked about being under pressure and he referred to top managers having to cope with that or words to that effect. My take on it was he was including himself in that category - others may interpret it differently.

Absolutely I do. My view on him was tainted after reading the views of fans of other clubs he’d managed then watching a video of one of his training sessions abroad. His first interview with us I thought he was full of it. In saying that I didn’t want Alan Stubbs as our manager, I’m not so blinkered in my opinion that if I see something positive I won’t change my way of thinking and believe me coming on a message board telling people, the vast majority of, I don’t know, that I have never liked him doesn’t give me any satisfaction. However what I’ve heard and what I’ve seen with my own eyes I admit it, I cannot stand the guy. I think he’s an utter snake and if he was chocolate he’d eat himself.

Regarding his interview today has he said anything he hasn’t more or less said before or anything that gives you confidence he’ll turn it round ?

04-01-2023, 05:03 PM
Interview here

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11095/12779874/lee-johnson-exclusive-hibernian-manager-says-he-is-taking-fan-pressure-in-his-stride-after-edinburgh-derby-defeat

04-01-2023, 05:05 PM
Not to mention basically referring to himself as a top manager.
To cut him a bit slack Jeffers he could be saying if he wants to be a top manager he needs to deal with it like they do.

04-01-2023, 05:12 PM
He was asked about being under pressure and he referred to top managers having to cope with that or words to that effect. My take on it was he was including himself in that category - others may interpret it differently.

Absolutely I do. My view on him was tainted after reading the views of fans of other clubs he’d managed then watching a video of one of his training sessions abroad. His first interview with us I thought he was full of it. In saying that I didn’t want Alan Stubbs as our manager, I’m not so blinkered in my opinion that if I see something positive I won’t change my way of thinking and believe me coming on a message board telling people, the vast majority of, I don’t know, that I have never liked him doesn’t give me any satisfaction. However what I’ve heard and what I’ve seen with my own eyes I admit it, I cannot stand the guy. I think he’s an utter snake and if he was chocolate he’d eat himself.

Regarding his interview today has he said anything he hasn’t more or less said before or anything that gives you confidence he’ll turn it round ?

You are reading that top manager thing into that interview! Clearly you detest the guy for whatever reasons you have and aren't willing to give him the benefit of any doubt.

04-01-2023, 05:13 PM
To cut him a bit slack Jeffers he could be saying if he wants to be a top manager he needs to deal with it like they do.

I heard it as “I’ve got a big job , it comes with the territory “. Don’t think he was making any point around his capabilities …

04-01-2023, 05:18 PM

Yeah he could. Like I said it was my interpretation, others could well disagree. But I believe he has a high opinion of himself so I went with him including himself as a top manager.

04-01-2023, 05:20 PM
You are reading that top manager thing into that interview! Clearly you detest the guy for whatever reasons you have and aren't willing to give him the benefit of any doubt.

I think I’ve given my reasons for detesting him. Yeah you are probably right, I’m not willing to give him the benefit of the doubt.

04-01-2023, 05:29 PM
That’s an awful interview. Five minutes of nothing.

Keep the faith, we’ll be successful in 2 or 3 years, we send the players out to win every week, 3 points off 4th……….:blah:

Watch the last 2 seconds. Tells you everything you need to know about how he feels about us.

Anyways, sounds like it’s win against Motherwell or he’s gone. I’d take the defeat right now to end this misery. Total fraud.

Basildon Hibs
04-01-2023, 05:29 PM

👍👍

04-01-2023, 05:31 PM
I think I’ve given my reasons for detesting him. Yeah you are probably right, I’m not willing to give him the benefit of the doubt.

Weird, how can you detest him? Fair enough your no keen and would prefer someone else but can’t say he’s anywhere near the detesting category for me. Boy backs himself, working hard, not getting it right he will pay with his job. He’s also been open and said exactly what many have for a while about the club which I applaud, time will tell if me makes a go of it or not but detest is a strong view on someone no even been here a year

HFC93
04-01-2023, 05:36 PM
In his defence, no matter what he says right now he is going to get slaughtered by Hibs fans. What are people expecting him to say?

04-01-2023, 05:37 PM

Keep the faith, we’ll be successful in 2 or 3 years, we send the players out to win every week, 3 points off 4th……….:blah:

Watch the last 2 seconds. Tells you everything you need to know about how he feels about us.

Anyways, sounds like it’s win against Motherwell or he’s gone. I’d take the defeat right now to end this misery. Total fraud.We need to do a hell of a lot more than just sack LJ to end this misery! If the Gordon's don't change the structure behind the scenes then it doesn't matter who our manager is

04-01-2023, 05:41 PM

Detest ? He’s a football manager,that’s all, not a war criminal

chippy
04-01-2023, 05:46 PM
Totally agree. Plus it’s only a stop gap as he knows Porto is likely leaving during this window and unless we sign a new holding/defensive midfielder we are back to square one.
Playing Porto in midfield seems like a strategy to force him out the door in January. He won’t want to risk playing the rest of the season there

04-01-2023, 05:46 PM
Weird, how can you detest him? Fair enough your no keen and would prefer someone else but can’t say he’s anywhere near the detesting category for me. Boy backs himself, working hard, not getting it right he will pay with his job. He’s also been open and said exactly what many have for a while about the club which I applaud, time will tell if me makes a go of it or not but detest is a strong view on someone no even been here a year

Totally get where you are coming from. Typically I form my opinions on people based on my first hand experiences. I’ll admit in this instance I have not. My comments on him are based on what I’ve seen from him in interviews but more so the feedback I’ve had from people who know him/have met him and who I trust completely. I won’t betray their confidence by going into the specifics.

I stand by my thoughts on him. I don’t wish the guy any harm but I want him gone from Hibs.

04-01-2023, 05:47 PM
In his defence, no matter what he says right now he is going to get slaughtered by Hibs fans. What are people expecting him to say?

At the start, he talks about the staff at ER and HTC being down and that it’s his job to lift everyone.

Wtf? Do you really believe that the commercial staff need LJ to come along and motivate them??

Far more likely that they’re thinking he’s making their jobs a lot damn harder.

It was waffle. It means nothing.

Then look at the way he’s saying it. How can he possibly inspire anyone to anything with such a defeatist demeanour?

You could go through the interview line by line, not one bit of it makes any sense….

We’ve to trust the process that 2 days ago he said wasn’t fit for purpose? He thinks we can be successful this season? We’re living through the season right now and it’s one of our worst in years.

He wants the fans to enjoy what we’re seeing? Well we’re not, we haven’t been for ages, and he’s done nothing to change it.

All he’s done in interviews recently is beg for his job. He doesn’t deserve it, or our backing, or cut some slack, or anything else. He needs to go now.

04-01-2023, 05:47 PM
I don’t detest him i just think he is a slaver, he has had how long to even show a hint of any progress from the previous manager ? Maloney was in his first job and got it wrong on many fronts but this guy is worse and he is an experienced manager! Got to go.

pollution
04-01-2023, 05:54 PM
After slagging the team in such a public way it is only a matter of when he goes. He has no come back to save him.

My worry is that how can we attract a genuinely ambitious manager with the reputation we now have in retaining managers ? A new man would inherit what we have at the

moment, only delaying recruitment yet again.

I don't see a way out of this in the short term: that's what really worries me.

04-01-2023, 05:55 PM

Anyways, sounds like it’s win against Motherwell or he’s gone. I’d take the defeat right now to end this misery. Total fraud.

Surely you'd want him to win and continue winning? If you want Hibs to lose, it's not Lee Johnson who is the fraud.

04-01-2023, 05:57 PM
He talks too much.

Key West
04-01-2023, 05:58 PM
I would definitely stick with the current manager and give him the time to do the job. It would be foolish to make predictions as you never know when another injury is around the corner but the return of players will surely help our case.

Skol
04-01-2023, 06:11 PM
We have been moaning about the team for ages and about the manager for supporting them. When the manager moans about the team we want him out.

04-01-2023, 06:14 PM
He talks too much.

And Ron and Private Walker don't talk enough, seems we are never happy 😁

Dmas
04-01-2023, 06:15 PM
After slagging the team in such a public way it is only a matter of when he goes. He has no come back to save him.

My worry is that how can we attract a genuinely ambitious manager with the reputation we now have in retaining managers ? A new man would inherit what we have at the

First of all I genuinely hope LJ turns it around and starts to get results, I don’t mind the road he’s going down now letting them have it they’ve got 2 men the sack and going about getting a 3rd the same so it’s going to take some tough decisions and home truths at some stage it may as well start now, If he does end up getting the sack the only short term fix we can go for is to give it to Steve Kean until end of the season imo he’ll have a fair idea which of the young guys can come in and offer us something even if it is just a bit of hunger and he will also be able to resume his current role away from the first team once a new guy is found which will free him up to snitch on the players who he believes aren’t up to it or just not bothering.

04-01-2023, 06:41 PM
We have been moaning about the team for ages and about the manager for supporting them. When the manager moans about the team we want him out.

Can you really not see the difference?

04-01-2023, 06:58 PM
Playing Porto in midfield seems like a strategy to force him out the door in January. He won’t want to risk playing the rest of the season there

Don't think he realised how good a player Ryan was to make a decent fist of that.

04-01-2023, 07:01 PM

A defeat and he'll be fired Monday, there will be no coming back from that. Then Hibs take 4 weeks to find a new manager, and save £££ avoiding new players - everyone's happy.

Fergos
04-01-2023, 07:13 PM
He talks too much.

Agreed. He looks best there.

loanheadhibby
04-01-2023, 07:19 PM

To be fair, he was only saying what a lot of us have been saying. Players have not been good enough and neither has recruitment. No issue with that all.

It’s about time a manager was honest rather than constant sound bites.

I agree however, time for talking is over. Lose to Motherwell and he has to be a goner.

04-01-2023, 07:27 PM
Totally get where you are coming from. Typically I form my opinions on people based on my first hand experiences. I’ll admit in this instance I have not. My comments on him are based on what I’ve seen from him in interviews but more so the feedback I’ve had from people who know him/have met him and who I trust completely. I won’t betray their confidence by going into the specifics.

I stand by my thoughts on him. I don’t wish the guy any harm but I want him gone from Hibs.

That’s fair enough mate and your fully entitled to have your view as much as the next person 👍

04-01-2023, 07:36 PM
That’s fair enough mate and your fully entitled to have your view as much as the next person 👍

Cheers SMAXXA.

04-01-2023, 07:49 PM
Surely you'd want him to win and continue winning? If you want Hibs to lose, it's not Lee Johnson who is the fraud.

It's like bursting a plook - worth the short-term pain.

04-01-2023, 07:50 PM
A defeat and he'll be fired Monday, there will be no coming back from that. Then Hibs take 4 weeks to find a new manager, and save £££ avoiding new players - everyone's happy.

It's funny 'cause it's true!!

Simkin911
04-01-2023, 07:50 PM
Looking forward to heading through to Motherwell on Sunday to cheer on the team. That’s despite me having no confidence in the manager. I’ve stopped listening to his comments. Talk is cheap, it’s his job to get the results on the pitch.

paddy1875
04-01-2023, 07:55 PM
Surprised he’s still here giving interviews.

Chucked everyone under the bus on Monday 5pm and he’s back with more sound bites today.

Recruitment hasn’t been upto scratch for a while now and god knows how that department works. We heard at the start of the season he’s been involved in the process to get these players in then said it’s not been good enough. Maybe he was actually blaming himself on Monday?

He needs to carry a lot of the blame for his first half team selection against hearts. The 2 changes made at half time should’ve been the starting line up and we were all scratching our heads as to why it wasn’t before kick off.

His team selections all season are just a bit all over the shop. I remember him bringing Stevenson back into left back at Parkhead after the team was 4 wins on the bounce and saying it was to do with a language barrier? Then he starts cabraja at ibrox a while later?

We’ve not been great with luck this season with injury’s but he’s so far out his depth at times it’s scary. I thought he had something about him after making a double change in the first half against rangers at Easter road but it’s been brutal.

04-01-2023, 08:01 PM
If he is staying then it needs to be less talk more action. He needs to get busy in the transfer market sharpish.

04-01-2023, 08:03 PM
If he is staying then it needs to be less talk more action. He needs to get busy in the transfer market sharpish.

Whether he stays or someone else comes in, I think it’s pretty clear that we’re not going to be busy in the transfer market this month.

CabbageBoy
04-01-2023, 08:57 PM

A manager that can only win against 10 men is not worth keeping.

04-01-2023, 09:07 PM
It's like bursting a plook - worth the short-term pain.

No, its not. Its actively wanting your team to lose because you dislike the manager. Have to disagree with that. I want Hibs to win and him to turn it around and be amazing for us. I will with any manager.

Donegal Hibby
04-01-2023, 09:09 PM
No, its not. Its actively wanting your team to lose because you dislike the manager. Have to disagree with that. I want Hibs to win and him to turn it around and be amazing for us. I will with any manager.
:agree:. :top marks

04-01-2023, 09:23 PM

It’s nothing to do with liking him or disliking him, and I’ve made my thoughts on him clear. It’s about believing that he’s not the right man to take us forward and if losing a game forces those in charge to get rid of him then so be it. I’ve seen us lose a number of games already this season, one more won’t make a huge difference. The concern is he stumbles on a bit longer and we sack him later into the window making the job of his replacement even harder.

04-01-2023, 09:32 PM
are there people really believing that he is trying to get himself sacked? :confused:

04-01-2023, 09:35 PM
It’s mad wanting Hibs to get beat. I’ve never wanted that. Even in a friendly match. I want us to win against Well. Then win against united, Hearts and Aberdeen.

I want the team to get a little bit of luck, rather than everything going against them. Whether I think the guy is good or not, I want LJ to get some football success and give us some breathing space. Can’t get my head around why any fan wouldn’t want the manager and team to turn it around.

04-01-2023, 09:41 PM
It’s mad wanting Hibs to get beat. I’ve never wanted that. Even in a friendly match. I want us to win against Well. Then win against united, Hearts and Aberdeen.

I want the team to get a little bit of luck, rather than everything going against them. Whether I think the guy is good or not, I want LJ to get some football success and give us some breathing space. Can’t get my head around why any fan wouldn’t want the manager and team to turn it around.

Well said couldn’t agree more

04-01-2023, 09:44 PM
It’s nothing to do with liking him or disliking him, and I’ve made my thoughts on him clear. It’s about believing that he’s not the right man to take us forward and if losing a game forces those in charge to get rid of him then so be it. I’ve seen us lose a number of games already this season, one more won’t make a huge difference. The concern is he stumbles on a bit longer and we sack him later into the window making the job of his replacement even harder.

So your dislike of Lee Johnson is stronger than your like for Hibs? Basically, you'd rather he failed than Hibs succeed?

Surely you'd still want him to turn it around and us to win matches?

04-01-2023, 09:45 PM

Everyone wants him to turn it around, it’s just some don’t think he will so we would be better with some short term pain to help us in the long run.

FWIW I’m not there with LJ yet but I have been in the past. The logic of it is pretty straight forward, even if you don’t agree with it.

04-01-2023, 09:46 PM

Will never want Hibs to lose a game.

From where he is now I don’t have any confidence Johnson will turn things round, but it doesn’t mean I don’t want him to. Best thing that could happen is that we win on Sunday and then continue to win with regularity for the rest of the season. I’m not convinced that’s how it will play out but will be at Motherwell on Sunday hoping we get a result.

Apart from anything else, I’m no convinced people will get their wish even with a defeat to Motherwell.

04-01-2023, 09:53 PM
Everyone wants him to turn it around, it’s just some don’t think he will so we would be better with some short term pain to help us in the long run.

FWIW I’m not there with LJ yet but I have been in the past. The logic of it is pretty straight forward, even if you don’t agree with it.

I think there are posters on here who don’t want him to turn it around ..their dislike for him has surpassed the turning point.

Ps. People focussing on their dislike of the manager, rather than the results of the team, is flawed for me. Surely Plan A must still be - win some games and get us out of this mess ?

04-01-2023, 10:05 PM

Its an example that’s been used before. When we pulled back two goals at Tynecastle to draw 2-2 under Duffy I’m sure most fans that day were delighted. Had we lost though chances are he’d have been gone, McLeish would have come in earlier and we could have avoided relegation that season.

I will never like Johnson but the suggestion that I’d accept us losing a game because of that makes little sense to me. What exactly do I gain from that ? I’ll repeat myself. I’ll accept a defeat because I don’t think he’s the man for us, don’t believe he deserves any more games and don’t believe he can turn things round.

04-01-2023, 10:10 PM
Its an example that’s been used before. When we pulled back two goals at Tynecastle to draw 2-2 under Duffy I’m sure most fans that day were delighted. Had we lost though chances are he’d have been gone, McLeish would have come in earlier and we could have avoided relegation that season.

I will never like Johnson but the suggestion that I’d accept us losing a game because of that makes little sense to me. What exactly do I gain from that ? I’ll repeat myself. I’ll accept a defeat because I don’t think he’s the man for us, don’t believe he deserves any more games and don’t believe he can turn things round.

I support the team, not the manager. I want them to win every game. You’ve made endless posts about your dislike for johnson recently. I can’t recall, did you want Maloney gone ? Did you want Jack Ross sacked ? If you did, How has that gone ?

04-01-2023, 10:15 PM
So your dislike of Lee Johnson is stronger than your like for Hibs? Basically, you'd rather he failed than Hibs succeed?

You're being a tad melodramatic here!! Nobody is 'actively' doing anything. We're only chatting on a forum.

Taking a leaf out of your book, why stop with wanting him to be amazing?

I want him to lead us to the title and on to Champs League glory. GGTTH
:hibees:nlgwa:hibees:nlgwa:flag::flag::flag:

04-01-2023, 10:24 PM
I support the team, not the manager. I want them to win every game. You’ve made endless posts about your dislike for Maloney recently. I can’t recall, did you want Maloney gone ? Did you want Jack Ross sacked ? If you did, How has that gone ?

I support the team too. It’s why I want a manager I don’t rate gone.

I assume you mean Johnson I’ve made endless posts about not liking him as opposed to Maloney ? At the time I thought the Maloney appointment hadn’t worked and getting rid of him was for the best. Now I look at what Johnson has had at his disposal compared to Maloney, is doing worse yet there is a clamour from some to give him more time. To me now there is more of an argument that Maloney should have been given longer. I wanted Ross gone after the Cup Final loss to Saints.

The argument that we shouldn’t get rid of an underperforming manager in case we end up appointing someone worse never stands up to scrutiny for me, but it’s one that I keep reading as a reason for keeping Johnson. Again I’ll repeat myself, we sack managers ‘cos they aren’t good enough. Only Heckingbottom has gone on to better things but even then it doesn’t mean we were wrong to sack him.

04-01-2023, 10:29 PM

Your reply reads as if you just quoted my post without actually taking any consideration to what I had actually written.

04-01-2023, 10:34 PM
The only 2 managers I’ve ever wanted Hibs to punt are Miller and Maloney.

There are others I have accepted after the event that it was right for them to go but I certainly wasn’t actively campaigning for it.

I’m of the opinion that managers are generally a very handy scapegoat for systemic failures elsewhere. I can be quite critical of managers and the decisions they make but very rarely do I want them to lose their jobs, I normally just want them to do their job a bit better.

On paper the team on Saturday looked not to be our strongest one but as was pointed out elsewhere, you only need to take into consideration a few plausible mitigating factors before coming up with it - Cadden being less than 100%, McGeady returning from injury and Magennis needing to “manage his minutes”.

04-01-2023, 10:36 PM

How do you not understand? The way you interpret what people post is strange sometimes!

If Motherwell win on Saturday, I won't be any more angry or upset than i have been after every other defeat we've endured. I will take solace from the my belief that LJ will then be sacked.

I also firmly believe that the next manager we get will manage to get better results from the same squad of players.

So, without having to spell all this out, which is blindingly obvious to everyone else, I made a shorter post making the same point.

LJ going = greater potential success for Hibs.

So, I'm supporting Hibs. You appear to still be backing a serial loser who is doing huge damage to our club?

Surely you want him to leave so that we can turn things around?

04-01-2023, 10:42 PM
How do you not understand? The way you interpret what people post is strange sometimes!

If Motherwell win on Saturday, I won't be any more angry or upset than i have been after every other defeat we've endured. I will take solace from the my belief that LJ will then be sacked.

I also firmly believe that the next manager we get will manage to get better results from the same squad of players.

So, without having to spell all this out, which is blindingly obvious to everyone else, I made a shorter post making the same point.

So, I'm supporting Hibs. You appear to still be backing a serial loser who is doing huge damage to our club?

Is he a serial loser?

Basildon Hibs
04-01-2023, 10:53 PM
Is he a serial loser?

Pretty much so, by the looks of things...😉

04-01-2023, 10:56 PM

You're the only loser I see here.

I actually support Hibs. The best thing for Hibs is to win on Sunday.

04-01-2023, 11:12 PM

paddy1875
04-01-2023, 11:37 PM
You're the only loser I see here.

I actually support Hibs. The best thing for Hibs is to win on Sunday.

Cmon man.

People are making decent points here and all you’re on about is supporting hibs.

We all support hibs. A lot of us believe that the sooner this guy is gone the better it will be in the long run.

Fingers crossed it’s a turning point for Lee Johnson on Sunday and we win every game until the end of the season. But the smart money is on it’ll only prolong the suffering and our fate could be a lot worse the longer he’s still in the dugout.

He gives me no inspiration whatsoever now, I bet more of the playing staff feel the same.

Donegal Hibby
05-01-2023, 12:01 AM
Pretty much so, by the looks of things...😉
Not at oldham , Barnsley, Bristol city or Sunderland he wasn't though!

05-01-2023, 06:50 AM

Perhaps not, but we're not interested in any of those clubs, unless I have mistakenly wandered into the wrong message board.

His record with Hibs is definitely in the "sackable offence" realm.

I still side with people that want to see Hibs win, regardless of who is at the helm, but we're going nowhere good longer term under LJ IMO

Paulie Walnuts
05-01-2023, 07:31 AM

The argument is quite clearly that the poster feels losing on Sunday will be better for us over the rest of the season as we’ll then replace LJ than a win that means he will remain in post which they don’t believe he’ll be able to back up with lots of subsequent wins leading to a poorer remainder of the season.

05-01-2023, 07:46 AM

Exactly which would suggest the serial loser comment above isn’t the case. I genuinely hope he gets the results and turns the corner, do I think he will I’m not sure. It can happen, look at Arsenal for example Arteta had a nightmare start and folk were wanting him sacked due to doing badly and look at them now. Stick by him and we will be top of premiership this time in a year or 2 haha 😝

05-01-2023, 07:59 AM
Is he a serial loser?

Performing a series of similar acts over a period of time

I would say 9 defeats in 11 is pretty similar.

05-01-2023, 08:09 AM
Performing a series of similar acts over a period of time

I would say 9 defeats in 11 is pretty similar.

I’d disagree when you’ve managed over 500 games or so

05-01-2023, 08:25 AM

Not really interested in his record outside Hibs. Time and again managers can succeed at smaller sides or outwith scottish football but struggle in Scotland.

His record at hibs over the last 10 or so games is horrific, which I would class as serial. Not often I agree with Kris Boyd but he mentioned on Sky the other day, its almost impossible to lose 9 in 11 in Scottish football, yet here we are.

Trinity Hibee
05-01-2023, 09:11 AM
This isn’t aimed at just LJ but the amount of managers/players who have come up to Scotland over the years and thought it would be a breeze just shows the complete lack of knowledge of the game up here. In LJ’s case I’d point to the league cup debacle.

They serious underestimate the expectations at many of these clubs.

05-01-2023, 09:19 AM
This isn’t aimed at just LJ but the amount of managers/players who have come up to Scotland over the years and thought it would be a breeze just shows the complete lack of knowledge of the game up here. In LJ’s case I’d point to the league cup debacle.

They serious underestimate the expectations at many of these clubs.

How do we know he thought that as he certainly didn't say it?

05-01-2023, 09:22 AM

The teams he picked for the games against Bonnyrig and Falkirk told me he underestimated the leagues then.

Got them completely wrong.

05-01-2023, 09:24 AM

Maybe not expectations but he was told of the importance of the LC to us, ignored that as he thought he knew best and we all saw what happened.

Trinity Hibee
05-01-2023, 09:27 AM

I’d point to his (or maybe not his?) signings. So a club who were struggling last year sign players like Tavares (who he said he’d watched) that has barely played (suggests not good enough/not ready), Bojang, Lewis Miller, Kenneh, Cabraja.

For the league cup, I’d suggest the way we did not attack teams who were much poorer than us. Morton we knew we had to beat yet thought If we passed the ball side to side we’d get a goal. The whole approach in those games suggested we just needed to turn up and it would happen

05-01-2023, 09:33 AM
I generally stick up for the club but i'm now at the stage where i'm scunnered at the poor recruitment. I don't think it would make a huge amount of difference who the manager was. It started in the summer when Ross got us to Europe and it's been utterly depressing since. I actually feel a bit guilty at being so critical of Maloney now. Was it his fault? Probably not. LJ is now in a similar position to the one Maloney was in. Fighting for his job. Hearts needed a striker and a midfielder and went out and signed Shankland and Snodgrass and deservedly won the derby and are comfortably in 3rd again. That's proper recruitment. File the likes of Tavarez and Bojang alongside Jasper and Melkersen or Nathan Wood and Chris Mueller. Doesn't matter who the manager is when we're bringing in players of that standard. JL is probably better walking and salvaging some of his reputation before we ruin it.

05-01-2023, 09:36 AM
The question you have to ask yourself is, IF we go on a run of wins, and you are harbouring this quiet resentment about it, and thinking it’s better if we lose for the long term good of the club because LH is a ****ing donkey and it’s just prolonging the inevitable, how long does that feeling last? 3 wins? 5 wins? What about if he got 4 wins 3 draws and a loss over the next 6 weeks or whatever and stabilised the ship? At what point does this dislike of the manager become INGRAINED so you can’t mentally click the switch to being 100% happy about us winning again?

That’s the mental trap of thinking like that, I’d never do it personally.

As a side point,The manager who I hated watching us under was Mixu. I hated that style of play without a functioning midfield. We had some decent players then but personally I couldn’t stand the way we played. I think he got us quite a high finish too. And most Hibs fans wouldn’t have him in a list of worst 3 managers in the last few years. Just goes to show we all have our favourites.

05-01-2023, 09:50 AM
The teams he picked for the games against Bonnyrig and Falkirk told me he underestimated the leagues then.

Got them completely wrong.

We hammered Bonnyrigg and should have beaten Falkirk regardless of team selection.
No matter what people think of our recent managers it's the players who let us down time and time again.

05-01-2023, 09:56 AM
The question you have to ask yourself is, IF we go on a run of wins, and you are harbouring this quiet resentment about it, and thinking it’s better if we lose for the long term good of the club because LH is a ****ing donkey and it’s just prolonging the inevitable, how long does that feeling last? 3 wins? 5 wins? What about if he got 4 wins 3 draws and a loss over the next 6 weeks or whatever and stabilised the ship? At what point does this dislike of the manager become INGRAINED so you can’t mentally click the switch to being 100% happy about us winning again?

As a side point,The manager who I hated watching us under was Mixu. I hated that style of play without a functioning midfield. We had some decent players then but personally I couldn’t stand the way we played. I think he got us quite a high finish too. And most Hibs fans wouldn’t have him in a list of worst 3 managers in the last few years. Just goes to show we all have our favourites.

would all depend on how we won or drew those games. If we started playing well and dominating matches and being tight at the back I think that would change peoples opinion of LJ. Team selections that are consistent and not scatter gun, tactics against teams of knowing when to attack and when not to. Right now its the game plan, team selections and general play thats way off. Even the games we have won this season have question marks due to the sending off. Granted playing against 10 men can be harder at times but its just another question mark.

paddy1875
05-01-2023, 09:57 AM

Well that’s it, it’s all ifs and buts isn’t it. What IF we go on another 4-5 game losing streak?

Your trying to predict the future while Iv watched his management for the past 20 league fixtures and the league cup at the start of the season.
I do not think he has what it takes to cut it at hibs.

05-01-2023, 09:58 AM
We hammered Bonnyrigg and should have beaten Falkirk regardless of team selection.
No matter what people think of our recent managers it's the players who let us down time and time again.
He played a reserve side at Falkirk, 8 players who are nowhere near the 1st team now, and a stronger team at Bonnyrig.

05-01-2023, 10:03 AM
He played a reserve side at Falkirk, 8 players who are nowhere near the 1st team now, and a stronger team at Bonnyrig.

I know but we still dominated long spells at Falkirk and missed several chances.
I think he got it wrong too but we still should have won that game.

05-01-2023, 10:08 AM

I think you are flipping things a bit tbh. I want him gone, but the idea that I’m unhappy with us winning ? Nope, though tbf I’ve not seen much of that this season and the only game I remember as really enjoying was the home win v Aberdeen. When we did go on our wee run of wins I wasn’t thinking oh this is **** I’d rather we lose ‘cos I don’t like Johnson. I was hoping it was the start of what he’s been promising us since he was appointed. What I am saying is if losing on Sunday is the loss that forces him out then so be it. It will only be one more loss to add to the many we’ve suffered this season. I’ll cope.

If he goes on the type of run you are talking about, gets into the league position that we are aiming for then he will have turned things round and proved me wrong. I won’t ever like him, but then I was never that mad on Ross or Lennon but when the latter had us playing some of the most enjoyable football I’ve watched in all my time as a Hibs fan my thoughts on him didn’t matter in the slightest. Johnson turns things round and I’ll come on here and give him credit for doing so.

05-01-2023, 10:19 AM
Well that’s it, it’s all ifs and buts isn’t it. What IF we go on another 4-5 game losing streak?

Your trying to predict the future while Iv watched his management for the past 20 league fixtures and the league cup at the start of the season.
I do not think he has what it takes to cut it at hibs.

Of course I’m ‘trying to predict the future’, that’s the premise of the question :dunno:

paddy1875
05-01-2023, 10:28 AM
Right ok.

If he managed to win 3-5 games on the bounce it would maybe slow down my opinion of him. But I would probably still not be convinced by him deep down.

What if we bottles the next 3-5 games with no wins? Would you still back him?

DIXIHIBS
05-01-2023, 10:37 AM
Not really interested in his record outside Hibs. Time and again managers can succeed at smaller sides or outwith scottish football but struggle in Scotland.

His record at hibs over the last 10 or so games is horrific, which I would class as serial. Not often I agree with Kris Boyd but he mentioned on Sky the other day, its almost impossible to lose 9 in 11 in Scottish football, yet here we are.

Thats actually a fair point by Boyd ( i know). The general standard in the league and the fact that most of the teams are much the same to actually lose 9 in 11 must be quite rare. What makes it worse is no draws. Only 1 point to hibs but depriving other team of 3.

05-01-2023, 10:38 AM
would all depend on how we won or drew those games. If we started playing well and dominating matches and being tight at the back I think that would change peoples opinion of LJ. Team selections that are consistent and not scatter gun, tactics against teams of knowing when to attack and when not to. Right now its the game plan, team selections and general play thats way off. Even the games we have won this season have question marks due to the sending off. Granted playing against 10 men can be harder at times but its just another question mark.

That’s interesting, style of play trumps results for me as well, if I could see a continuation of how we looked in the Livingston game in terms of shape and attacking intent then I’d take the occasional loss. I honestly think though he would take months to win most of his doubters over without an improvement in style AND wins.

05-01-2023, 10:39 AM
It looks like he's staying then, at least for now, which is not what I expected.

05-01-2023, 10:41 AM
That’s interesting, style of play trumps results for me as well, if I could see a continuation of how we looked in the Livingston game in terms of shape and attacking intent then I’d take the occasional loss. I honestly think though he would take months to win most of his doubters over without an improvement in style AND wins.

I think short term he’s basically our manager on a game to game basis. If we beat Motherwell, he’ll be under pressure and possibly sacked if we lose to Dundee Utd and so on.

I don’t know how many wins it would take to change that but if he’s still here for the next derby, the result in that game will either buy him that wee bit leeway he will need longer term or be the final straw. The fact it gets played to a finish will mean we will probably get our answer in the aftermath of that game at the latest.

05-01-2023, 10:42 AM

Don’t disagree with any of that, but there is a big difference between still having doubts about him and harbouring resentment that we are winning games purely because I don’t like the manager.

Donegal Hibby
05-01-2023, 10:43 AM
Perhaps not, but we're not interested in any of those clubs, unless I have mistakenly wandered into the wrong message board.

His record with Hibs is definitely in the "sackable offence" realm.

I still side with people that want to see Hibs win, regardless of who is at the helm, but we're going nowhere good longer term under LJ IMO
You should be interested in how a Hibs manager has done at previous clubs as it's a indication of his career so far and imo he has done well at other clubs but not ours , why is this ? Take in Ross and Maloney as well and it all points to the structure of our club and people running it not being right . No your on the right forum alright.That's fair enough that his record is in the " stackable offences " realm , I can understand that , what I can't understand is some of the names being spouted to replace him none that are any better and it still leaves us with the same major problems . You say your siding with the people that want Hibs to win regardless who's at the helm ? You not think it's important who is at the helm then? Some on here are running a campaign against LJ basically because of his poor record ( fair enough) but also because they want Neil Lennon back ( bonkers idea ) . I was told today ( not sure if true) that when he left us the last time we were 8th in the league and he had won 3 out of 15 matches , hardly a massive upgrade from LJ imo.

Right ok.

If he managed to win 3-5 games on the bounce it would maybe slow down my opinion of him. But I would probably still not be convinced by him deep down.

You’re misunderstanding my position, I’m not ‘backing him’ really, he’s shown himself to be a poor manager up to now. I quite like what he says his style is, and I think he’s only achieved that occasionally. I’m just questioning the premise that thinks a turnaround in our results wouldnt be a good thing in the long run, which is the implication several posters have made, it’s wrong to pretend they haven’t.

To answer your question,
If we lost the next three, no I’d say enough is definitely enough.

Hibee Daft
I think he will be gone unless we beat hearts in the cup and win the next few league games

05-01-2023, 10:53 AM
You’re misunderstanding my position, I’m not ‘backing him’ really, he’s shown himself to be a poor manager up to now. I quite like what he says his style is, and I think he’s only achieved that occasionally. I’m just questioning the premise that thinks a turnaround in our results wouldnt be a good thing in the long run, which is the implication several posters have made, it’s wrong to pretend they haven’t.

To answer your question,

Again I disagree with what you are saying. I don’t think anyone is implying a prolonged turnaround in our results wouldn’t be a good thing.

05-01-2023, 10:56 AM
When was the last time we appointed a manager who got almost universal approval from fans from the word go? I'm struggling to remember. Butcher maybe? Yogi? There was always loud noises against Lennon, Ross, Maloney, LJ etc. Hecky was the same. If the manager isn't liked or isn't who certain fans wanted to start with then they are only a few defeats from being slaughtered. Personally i hope we give LJ more time as i have seen glimpses of things i like, and as i said in a previous post, i don't think the blame is lying with the managers. We'll be doing this all over again in 12 months time unless the recruitment improves.

Trinity Hibee
05-01-2023, 10:58 AM
When was the last time we appointed a manager who got almost universal approval from fans from the word go? I'm struggling to remember. Butcher maybe? Yogi? There was always loud noises against Lennon, Ross, Maloney, LJ etc. Hecky was the same. If the manager isn't liked or isn't who certain fans wanted to start with then they are only a few defeats from being slaughtered. Personally i hope we give LJ more time as i have seen glimpses of things i like, and as i said in a previous post, i don't think the blame is lying with the managers. We'd be doing this all over again in 12 months time unless the recruitment improves.

Was there noises about Lennon? I thought he was almost universally accepted. After the cup win I thought he was exactly what we needed to raise the profile of the club and attract good players.

Butcher felt like a good appointment at the time too.

paddy1875
05-01-2023, 10:59 AM

To answer your question,

Yeh that’s the premise Iv suggested. Just my own opinion tho.

I just think it’s at the point now where his next defeat regardless of wins will see backlash. You’ve said it yourself he’s shown himself to be a poor manager up until now. I have no faith that he’ll turn it round. It he does tho, then good for us.

I don’t trust him in managing hibs. He’s had enough chances for me.

05-01-2023, 11:02 AM
When was the last time we appointed a manager who got almost universal approval from fans from the word go? I'm struggling to remember. Butcher maybe? Yogi? There was always loud noises against Lennon, Ross, Maloney, LJ etc. Hecky was the same. If the manager isn't liked or isn't who certain fans wanted to start with then they are only a few defeats from being slaughtered. Personally i hope we give LJ more time as i have seen glimpses of things i like, and as i said in a previous post, i don't think the blame is lying with the managers. We'd be doing this all over again in 12 months time unless the recruitment improves.

Do you really think the manager shouldn’t have any short term accountability?

He says he was involved in the recruitment process and signed off on all signings, he even went as far as claiming the credit for some of them saying he had a vast network of scouts he’s built up in his time as manager. He wanted to take the credit for the recruitment at the start of the season when he thought we’d done well and now he’s absolved of any blame?! I just don’t get that.

There clearly are other issues at the club, I just don’t understand why he would have no responsibility for the things he should be doing better, like managing the team he currently has.

Donegal Hibby
05-01-2023, 11:07 AM
Lee Johnson has managed something like 473 games and is unbeaten in 311 , with a win rate of 40 % and when you consider the clubs he's been at it's a good record , when he was appointed Oldham manager they were in relegation trouble and he steered them clear and had them in top ten , Barnsley were in 17th place again he left them in a better position , Bristol city were in relegation trouble when he took over missing out on the play-offs ,he took over at Sunderland when they were 8th and was dismissed with them 3rd ,2 points of the top having won a trophy, he also got Barnsley to a cup final though left before Heckingbottom went on to win it . Every club Johnson has been at he's left them in a better position than they were in before he took over , serial loser ? Nah

05-01-2023, 11:10 AM
Again I disagree with what you are saying. I don’t think anyone is implying a prolonged turnaround in our results wouldn’t be a good thing.

Paddy just did, confirmed below. It’s a valid point of view, he’s not a leper for saying it or anything :greengrin: I’ve just explained why I disagree, that’s all.

Basildon Hibs
05-01-2023, 11:11 AM
Do you really think the manager shouldn’t have any short term accountability?

He says he was involved in the recruitment process and signed off on all signings, he even went as far as claiming the credit for some of them saying he had a vast network of scouts he’s built up in his time as manager. He wanted to take the credit for the recruitment at the start of the season when he thought we’d done well and now he’s absolved of any blame?! I just don’t get that.

There clearly are other issues at the club, I just don’t understand why he would have no responsibility for the things he should be doing better, like managing the team he currently has.
👍👍

05-01-2023, 12:15 PM
Does it look bad on the CV of Ben if they sack another manager so soon? Basically admitting they got it wrong again?

Maybe that’s at the back of his mind plus obviously any compensation and the hit that would have on budgets.

Key West
05-01-2023, 12:24 PM
Lee Johnson has managed something like 473 games and is unbeaten in 311 , with a win rate of 40 % and when you consider the clubs he's been at it's a good record , when he was appointed Oldham manager they were in relegation trouble and he steered them clear and had them in top ten , Barnsley were in 17th place again he left them in a better position , Bristol city were in relegation trouble when he took over missing out on the play-offs ,he took over at Sunderland when they were 8th and was dismissed with them 3rd ,2 points of the top having won a trophy, he also got Barnsley to a cup final though left before Heckingbottom went on to win it . Every club Johnson has been at he's left them in a better position than they were in before he took over , serial loser ? Nah

Unfortunately a lot of people don't want to acknowledge what you are saying,he needs time and backing to improve the standard. When you apply logic people don't want to know, there has to be a balance when being critical.

05-01-2023, 12:33 PM
Unfortunately a lot of people don't want to acknowledge what you are saying,he needs time and backing to improve the standard. When you apply logic people don't want to know, there has to be a balance when being critical.

I couldn’t care less what a manager has done at another club, whether that be good, bad or indifferent. I apply the same to players we sign. It’s what they do when they are Hibs that matters. Ross overall did a good job with us, should United have kept him because of that ? Should we have kept Butcher ‘cos he did an excellent job at ICT ?

05-01-2023, 12:34 PM

You have to look at the here and now, especially when moving to Scotland. Many managers have succeeded in other countries and struggled with Scottish football. Lee Johnson, in my opinion is an example of that. His record in the last 10 or so games is shocking. His tactics and team selection baffles most and would suggest he is really struggling to get the best out of what he has got, which out with 2 or 3 teams in Scotland is what you have to do. His time with hibs could easily be viewed as a serial loser. Remember this current run isnt without a win in 10 or so games, its 9 defeats in 11 games. I would agree that he isnt a serial loser if we only had 2 wins in 11 with some draws in there, its the defeats that is making people think the way they are. All in my opinion of course.

05-01-2023, 12:35 PM
Does it look bad on the CV of Ben if they sack another manager so soon? Basically admitting they got it wrong again?

Maybe that’s at the back of his mind plus obviously any compensation and the hit that would have on budgets.

I believe that will be part of it.

Sacking our 3rd manager in just over a year when this latest appointment was made following what Ron Gordon described as "an incredibly thorough and vigorous" process is really not going to be a good look for the club's hierarchy.

I look at Gordon's comments about the justification behind Shaun Maloney's sacking and how badly another sacking would look on the board and the need to prevent such a bad image is the only logical conclusion I can come to as to why Lee Johnson is still in post.

There is absolutely no improvement in this Hibs side compared to 9 or 10 months ago under Maloney, if anything it's worse.

05-01-2023, 12:38 PM
I couldn’t care less what a manager has done at another club, whether that be good, bad or indifferent. I apply the same to players we sign. It’s what they do when they are Hibs that matters. Ross overall did a good job with us, should United have kept him because of that ? Should we have kept Butcher ‘cos he did an excellent job at ICT ?

It can give you a bit of context if you're questioning whether or not they're a decent manager or a pish one that needs punted pronto though.

We've got someone who has improved every club he's been at (he's also been punted by at least one of those clubs when they were in danger of not achieving their goals). If he joins a new club where there's talk of him being sacked after a few months but also where the football department has been an absolute shambles for the year prior to the new manager joining, I think it's reasonable to give some thought to how that manager has got on elsewhere when you're trying to figure out whether to axe the manager or totally overhaul the wider football department.

05-01-2023, 12:40 PM
I believe that will be part of it.

Sacking our 3rd manager in just over a year when this latest appointment was made following what Ron Gordon described as "an incredibly thorough and vigorous" process is really not going to be a good look for the club's hierarchy.

I look at Gordon's comments about the justification behind Shaun Maloney's sacking and how badly another sacking would look on the board and the need to prevent such a bad image is the only logical conclusion I can come to as to why Lee Johnson is still in post.

There is absolutely no improvement in this Hibs side compared to 9 or 10 months ago under Maloney, if anything it's worse.

Ron Gordon never hid from that point in his interview with Spiers though.

They want to and need to give him time but by the same token he’s in a results industry and if he’s not getting them then the club would take action.

paddy1875
05-01-2023, 12:41 PM

I’m sorry but his managerial career still doesn’t fill me with any confidence.

Oldham? Barnsley? Bristol city? Came in and steered clubs clear of relegation. Sunderland in league one and he was drawing far to many games and proved he was streaky enough to not be trusted to get them up.

Listen English league one is brutal. Anything down from the championship is grim viewing.

I cannot see why people want to give him anymore time to try improve the standard. He had a full summer to recruit and the team is full of dross. In the summer he said he was involved in the transfers so going by his own words it’s his own fault. True or not he can’t say one thing then come out and say it’s mediocre post match Monday.

Nutmegged
05-01-2023, 12:43 PM
I don't mind not winning a lot of games in the short term if I can see a genuine footballing identity being installed, a long term vision with a credible plan to go with it, I would rather we won games but I'd be alright with baby steps as long as it was clear we're going in the right direction in terms of style of play and recruitment.

This is why I want Johnson gone, we have no footballing identity and no sign of one either, recruitment has been a shambles and I don't see it improving anytime soon, there's been no chink of light at all for me that gives me hope for a better future.

I wouldn't necessarily lay the blame solely at Lee Johnson's door, there's been many things wrong with Hibs, we've been a shambles for the best part of the last 12 years outwith the first two years under Lennon, it's incredible to think that we've managed to get to four Scottish Cup Finals in that time, who knows what the last decade would've looked like if we'd been run competently.

05-01-2023, 12:48 PM
It can give you a bit of context if you're questioning whether or not they're a decent manager or a pish one that needs punted pronto though.

We've got someone who has improved every club he's been at (he's also been punted by at least one of those clubs when they were in danger of not achieving their goals). If he joins a new club where there's talk of him being punted after a few months but also where the football department has been an absolute shambles for the year prior to the new manager joining, I think it's reasonable to give some thought to how that manager has got on elsewhere when you're trying to figure out whether to axe the manager or totally overhaul the wider football department.

I think if theres a bit uncertainty about whether to act or not then it’s fair to give him the benefit of the doubt based on previous records. There does still have to come a point though where you say it’s simply not happening and cut your losses. I think we are pretty close to being at that point now, if not there already.

I also think from his perspective, he must be at the point where he wants tk call it a day with us. He’s presumably gone to the board and said I need X, Y and Z to be successful this season, if they can’t provide that now then he needs tk decide if he’s the right man for the job or not as he clearly doesn’t rate the current side good enough.

05-01-2023, 12:50 PM
Right ok.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkCa

But realistically with the squad as is ,that's not going to happen .

The Motherwell game is a must win game ,as thier home form is so poor .If we can’t manage thst it’s not looking good ,as a win fir them puts them only a point behind us .
But given it looks like he is staying in the short term ,am prepared to take it one game at a time over next few weeks
The worry of course is he doesn’t win another league game in January ,and Hearts pump us agsin in the Cup
He couldn’t survive that , and it’s then too late for any new manager to bring in new players

So if the Board are backing him ,get a few players he has identified in now ,and give him a fighting chance .But not players Ian Gordon wants to speculate on ,and not players with potential ,that’s not what’s needed in this window.

05-01-2023, 12:51 PM

We've got someone who has improved every club he's been at (he's also been punted by at least one of those clubs when they were in danger of not achieving their goals). If he joins a new club where there's talk of him being sacked after a few months but also where the football department has been an absolute shambles for the year prior to the new manager joining, I think it's reasonable to give some thought to how that manager has got on elsewhere when you're trying to figure out whether to axe the manager or totally overhaul the wider football department.

You make some good points. But I’d have expected if that manager had improved his previous clubs we’d have seen at least some signs of that by now ? He’s made us worse than the rookie manager he replaced and now the pressure is on the players he was praising in the summer as great signings all of sudden weren’t down to him.

05-01-2023, 01:00 PM
You make some good points. But I’d have expected if that manager had improved his previous clubs we’d have seen at least some signs of that by now ? He’s made us worse than the rookie manager he replaced and now the pressure is on the players he was praising in the summer as great signings all of sudden weren’t down to him.

It takes quite something to lose 9 out of 11 of your most recent games. I'm completely nonplussed as to what the owners, he and others think is going to change significantly over the next 11 games let alone the next three.

05-01-2023, 01:02 PM
It takes quite something to lose 9 out of 11 of your most recent games. I'm completely nonplussed as to what the owners, he and others think is going to change significantly over the next 11 games let alone the next three.

The fact we pretty much only beat teams with 10 men and have such a poor record against 11 men I can’t be ignored as well.

I actually argued against that point earlier in the season as I felt it was our good play that got people sent off. Over a longer period of time though it’s clear there is more to it than that and it’s something that has alarm bells ringing even more.

05-01-2023, 01:03 PM

I’m also interested in the thoughts of the posters on here who are saying stick with him. For how long if things continue as they have been ?

McGruber
05-01-2023, 01:06 PM
Nothing to do with the merits of it but see Neil Lennon throwing his oar in.

Financial package agreed for severance with Cypriot team, is available, sees Scotland as home, would like to manage in Premier again.

Might be good, might be bad, wouldn't be boring.

05-01-2023, 01:07 PM

I'd say I'm about 50/50 on him and in all honesty, he's hard to defend.

He looks to me like someone whose main problem is that his players simply aren't good enough. The team selections are bizarre, but that's because he's grasping for a solution that doesn't exist with players who aren't good enough to be part of it. When we as a club have had stronger squads than this one, the team tends to pick itself - and earlier in the season when we were winning he kept a fairly settled side and let it gain those results.

I think he talks too much and he talks himself into trouble. He talked loosely earlier in the season when talking about Porteous winning the penalty against Aberdeen and by talking too much about having a say in transfers and backing our current players over the summer he's made a rod for his own back. I don't disagree with much of what he's said over the past few days but I question the need to say it and whether it makes his job any safer, any fans any happier, Hibs prospects any better or the Hibs players (who will still be expected to play for him/us and get results) any easier.

As a rule, I'm against sacking managers and I accept that I've often been wiser after the event has happened with some that I didn't want to go at the time.

05-01-2023, 01:08 PM
Ca

But realistically with the squad as is ,that's not going to happen .

The Motherwell game is a must win game ,as thier home form is so poor .If we can’t manage thst it’s not looking good ,as a win fir them puts them only a point behind us .
But given it looks like he is staying in the short term ,am prepared to take it one game at a time over next few weeks
The worry of course is he doesn’t win another league game in January ,and Hearts pump us agsin in the Cup
He couldn’t survive that , and it’s then too late for any new manager to bring in new players

So if the Board are backing him ,get a few players he has identified in now ,and give him a fighting chance .But not players Ian Gordon wants to speculate on ,and not players with potential ,that’s not what’s needed in this window.

I think this approach is further evidence of the same cluelessness on the footballing side that we've seen from the top of the club to date. It's not simply his recent loss rate of 9 in 11 - it's also the fact that the playing style has largely been either woeful or baffling AND the signings that he made, or at the very least assented to, have by and large been pitiful failures. Never mind the very strong likelihood that he's already lost the dressing room.

So what's the secret sauce they believe he has but has managed to keep hidden so far that makes them think giving him another chance makes sense? If it doesn't work we are absolutely up the transfer window creek without a paddle.

05-01-2023, 01:25 PM

All well and dandy but I’m clearly referring to his time with us.

If losing 9 out of 11 isn’t a text book definition of a serial loser, I’m not sure what is.

I don’t think too many Hibs fans are all that bothered about that we did before he got here.