View Full Version : Newell

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

15-01-2023, 02:56 PM
Sorry. You're right. If Magennis is in the right place and paying attention, his man would go right through him and run away anyway.

Joe should've turned 180 and caught the guy with a 10 yard run on him.

Just say you don't like him and never will. It will be less embarrassing for you.

So funny how not one of you can even debate it and prove me wrong. Just nonsense like "you've clearly never played football". Neither did Arrigo Sacci.

Just admit you don't like Newell and you'll blame him regardless of Magennis, who actually played far worse yesterday, giving him a ****ty situation to deal with.

I'm sitting with my pal who has played at a very decent level, including being managed by former Scotland Internationals and sharing a pitch with the likes of Latapy and Mixu amongst others. I trust his opinion on situations like this and he is a neutral so doesnt have strong views on Hibs so i showed him the footage and asked him his opinion on the goal.

He is 100 percent of the view that Newell is most at fault and that the swapping of players there should be standard in that scenario.

You are accusing people of just blaming Newell because they dont like him. The opposite actually appears true in that you are ignoring Newell's error because you are so desperate to defend him.

15-01-2023, 03:08 PM
I'm sitting with my pal who has played at a very decent level, including being managed by former Scotland Internationals and sharing a pitch with the likes of Latapy and Mixu amongst others. I trust his opinion on situations like this and he is a neutral so doesnt have strong views on Hibs so i showed him the footage and asked him his opinion on the goal.

He is 100 percent of the view that Newell is most at fault and that the swapping of players there should be standard in that scenario.

You are accusing people of just blaming Newell because they dont like him. The opposite actually appears true in that you are ignoring Newell's error because you are so desperate to defend him.

You know we’re all now busy trying to work out who your friend is, right? 😁

15-01-2023, 03:11 PM
You know we’re all now busy trying to work out who your friend is, right? ��

You'll never work it out and I'll never tell.:greengrin To be fair meeting that criteria I mentioned isnt actually as hard as it may appear on first reading:greengrin

NC1875
15-01-2023, 03:16 PM
You'll never work it out and I'll never tell.:greengrin To be fair meeting that criteria I mentioned isnt actually as hard as it may appear on first reading:greengrin

Played for Falkirk and Dundee Utd ?

Or Hibs ?

15-01-2023, 03:18 PM
Played for Falkirk and Dundee Utd ?

Or Hibs ?

Neither but he did play against Hibs on several occasions.

NC1875
15-01-2023, 03:20 PM
Neither but he did play against Hibs on several occasions.

Ah just noticed you said shared a pitch with. Was thinking of someone on the same team as Mixu and Latapy.

15-01-2023, 03:21 PM
Sorry. You're right. If Magennis is in the right place and paying attention, his man would go right through him and run away anyway.

Joe should've turned 180 and caught the guy with a 10 yard run on him.

Just say you don't like him and never will. It will be less embarrassing for you.

You are actually embarrassing yourself here, newell was 100% at fault. But as usual you will be correct and everyone else will be wrong, like every other single post you put on here. And for the record I like newell and would have him playing, doesn't stop me realising when he has made a mistake. And again if this is how you think the game should be played then you must have played at a really low level if even at all

15-01-2023, 03:22 PM
Ah just noticed you said shared a pitch with. Was thinking of someone on the same team as Mixu and Latapy.

I’ve shared a pitch with David Gray, John McGinn and Anthony Stokes, if that’s any use to anyone?

15-01-2023, 03:23 PM

Fair enough. Interesting. Although does he actually think Newell had any chance to catch Djoum who had the clear run on him, because of Magennis? The only thing Newell can actually do is just trip Djoum as he runs past, because I don't think he can turn and catch him.

Magennis was far worse than Newell yesterday. So were McGeady and Youan. Campbell poor, Fish poor, Lewis poor. Newell has the most posts having a go at him after the match. The criticism is not and never has been proportional to his performance.

15-01-2023, 03:25 PM
I’ve shared a pitch with David Gray, John McGinn and Anthony Stokes, if that’s any use to anyone?

😂😂😂

15-01-2023, 03:26 PM
You are actually embarrassing yourself here, newell was 100% at fault. But as usual you will be correct and everyone else will be wrong, like every other single post you put on here. And for the record I like newell and would have him playing, doesn't stop me realising when he has made a mistake. And again if this is how you think the game should be played then you must have played at a really low level if even at all

I'm not embarrassing myself whatsoever. I've said Newell could've reacted quicker. Magennis was, IMO, absolutely dog**** in the situation, though. Lets the man completely, no attempt to stop him, and then luckily for him Newell man also moves. If he doesn't, Magennis leaves Newell 2v1 and totally screwed.

Now, if in that scenario the correct play is to swap, Newell should've done better. But Magennis should surely also be paying some kind of attention to his man to begin with.

Its so ****ing strange people seem to think I always insist I'm right and everyone else is wrong. I actually have no problem admitting I'm wrong when proven so. Plenty of evidence to show that as well.

''but I actually played football'' isn't proving anything. Could be total rubbish.

Mutu
15-01-2023, 03:28 PM

Pretty much my view as well.

I think Newell is decent, and should be playing on balance but he was at fault here clearly. Anyone who's played to any sort of level can and should see that. Newell would be a very very good player if he improved the defensive side of his game which is positionally poor quite a lot of the time.

15-01-2023, 03:31 PM
Fair enough. Interesting. Although does he actually think Newell had any chance to catch Djoum who had the clear run on him, because of Magennis? The only thing Newell can actually do is just trip Djoum as he runs past, because I don't think he can turn and catch him.

Magennis was far worse than Newell yesterday. So were McGeady and Youan. Campbell poor, Fish poor, Lewis poor. Newell has the most posts having a go at him after the match. The criticism is not and never has been proportional to his performance.

Newell's problem was he reacted too slowly to the swap. That is why he doesn't have any chance of matching Djoum. Its clever movement ftom the UTD players to be fair but think JN should be wise to that.

I agree with your last sentence btw.

15-01-2023, 03:32 PM
I'm not embarrassing myself whatsoever. I've said Newell could've reacted quicker. Magennis was, IMO, absolutely dog**** in the situation, though. Lets the man completely, no attempt to stop him, and then luckily for him Newell man also moves. If he doesn't, Magennis leaves Newell 2v1 and totally screwed.

Now, if in that scenario the correct play is to swap, Newell should've done better. But Magennis should surely also be paying some kind of attention to his man to begin with.

Its so ****ing strange people seem to think I always insist I'm right and everyone else is wrong. I actually have no problem admitting I'm wrong when proven so. Plenty of evidence to show that as well.

So almost every single poster and folk I was sat near are saying that newell should have went with the runner but they are all wrong and you are correct? If that's how you think it should have happened then fire in, I'll leave it at that as you won't change your mind

15-01-2023, 03:33 PM

If you have played against them then I think you probably have a good bit of insight into football sceanrios. If you were just a mascot once then its not so clear:greengrin

15-01-2023, 03:33 PM
Pretty much my view as well.

I think Newell is decent, and should be playing on balance but he was at fault here clearly. Anyone who's played to any sort of level can and should see that. Newell would be a very very good player if he improved the defensive side of his game which is positionally poor quite a lot of the time.

Yip it was as clear as day that magennis was pushing on so he should have been taking the runner, he was just far to slow. Very basic stuff, especially at that level.

15-01-2023, 03:36 PM
Newell's problem was he reacted too slowly to the swap. That is why he doesn't have any chance of matching Djoum. Its clever movement ftom the UTD players to be fair but think JN should be wise to that.

I agree with your last sentence btw.

The thing is, despite the failings of both Newell and Magennis, Newell doesn't actually recover that badly, Rocky and him are on Djoum and if he hadn't hit it first time, they would've had him.

The guy who scores is Ryan Porteous man (another fan favorite escaping a word being said) and he's nowhere near him, and Fish allows Fletcher to lay it off. Watch Middleton stroll into the box.

That goal is the failing of at least 4 players, Newell included.

15-01-2023, 03:37 PM
So almost every single poster and folk I was sat near are saying that newell should have went with the runner but they are all wrong and you are correct? If that's how you think it should have happened then fire in, I'll leave it at that as you won't change your mind

Try reading my post before responding.

NC1875
15-01-2023, 03:39 PM

''but I actually played football'' isn't proving anything. Could be total rubbish.

If Newell passes his man on and takes a step right instead of 3 forward, Djoum then has nowhere to go. It was standard practice from Magennis and piss poor from Newell. Not the other way round

15-01-2023, 03:42 PM
Try reading my post before responding.

I did, you were still blaming magennis, no matter how many times you say it, it wasn't his fault

15-01-2023, 03:52 PM
Its absolutely hilarious how folk think he lost his man at the first goal. Watch the highlights. Its clearly our number 7, Mr Kyle Magennis, who lets Djoum just run.

https://www.skysports.com/football/hibernian-vs-dundee-united/465147

Joe is expected to what, turn 180 degrees to follow Kyles man who is already running, on a split seconds notice? Absolutely no chance he can stop that. Magennis putting his hand out is useless. He should've went with his man instead of passing the buck. Newell makes the effort to follow his player as he runs towards Kyle which totally ****s him tracking Djoum.

I actually seen someone even blame Joe for the ****ing second one. There isn't even a Hibs winger in the picture as it goes wide. Disgraceful from our left winger (whomever it was then, they were swapping alot)

His pass for the 2nd is right on Nisbets foot from 50 yards away. Still much to do, but a very good pass.

No one’s really addressed your point, which is a good one.

15-01-2023, 03:58 PM
If you have played against them then I think you probably have a good bit of insight into football sceanrios. If you were just a mascot once then its not so clear:greengrin

I agree, but neither 😁

15-01-2023, 03:58 PM

Aye, having watched it I agree.

Zambernardi1875
15-01-2023, 04:01 PM

Freeze frame it at 20sec. Newell is flat footed not paying attention, square onto the thrower and slow to react to the runner. Magennis is already marking someone.

NC1875
15-01-2023, 04:03 PM
Freeze frame it at 20sec. Newell is flat footed not paying attention, square onto the thrower and slow to react to the runner. Magennis is already marking someone.

You’re wasting your time mate. Some people will never understand when players should be doing certain things and they’ll carry on telling everyone they’re right regardless of numerous people pointing out otherwise.

15-01-2023, 04:04 PM
I agree, but neither 😁

Ah maybe same as me, a pitch invader in May 2016?!

15-01-2023, 04:04 PM

If you’re assessing a passage of play, a freeze frame isn’t telling you much. I think that footage speaks for itself.

15-01-2023, 04:06 PM
You’re wasting your time mate. Some people will never understand when players should be doing certain things and they’ll carry on telling everyone they’re right regardless of numerous people pointing out otherwise.

You’re correct, and that’s probably Newell fault.

NC1875
15-01-2023, 04:07 PM
You’re correct, and that’s probably Newell fault.

And you are a comedian. Well done, hope you had a wee chuckle to yourself.

15-01-2023, 04:09 PM
If you’re assessing a passage of play, a freeze frame isn’t telling you much. I think that footage speaks for itself.

You really think Newell wasnt at fault? The freeze frame shows that Newell is in no man's land as he is nowhere near his original man, and hasn't reacted quickly enough to Djoum coming through.

15-01-2023, 04:13 PM
Ah maybe same as me, a pitch invader in May 2016?!

👍 the good old days

15-01-2023, 04:14 PM
You really think Newell wasnt at fault?

MW is making a good point, read the post. It seems like a few other posters agree. I’m not sure where the barely concealed rage is coming from if you don’t join in the Newell pile on :dunno:

15-01-2023, 04:15 PM
👍 the good old days

Similar pedigree to me, probably why I agree with most of your posts.

NC1875
15-01-2023, 04:16 PM
MW is making a good point, read the post. It seems like a few other posters agree. I’m not sure where the barely concealed rage is coming from if you don’t join in the Newell pile on :dunno:

What’s the good point that he makes ?

15-01-2023, 04:17 PM
What’s the good point that he makes ?

Its not that complicated, read it.

Zambernardi1875
15-01-2023, 04:17 PM

It’s not a good point tho, magennis is already marking someone, djoum is the runner, with newell being the defending mid at that point it’s his job to pick up the runner.

15-01-2023, 04:18 PM

His point has been addressed several times - Newell reacts too slowly with the swapping of players, which should be standard procedure in that situation. Newell has not even tracked his original man as in the end he isn't near either of them.

This isnt about a Newell pile on, its about that specific goal and who is most at fault - I like Newell and have defended him on numerous occasions so no rage from me:greengrin

What good point? Newell was slow in reacting to the runner, it was as clear as could be that magennis was pushing on so newell should pick up the runner, he didn't until the guy was past him. The marking for Middleton was actually even worse than newells slow reaction

This back and forth about who to blame is pointless. Newell’s time with us isn’t going to be defined by one goal against us, it’s defined by four years of mediocrity and underachievement.

NC1875
15-01-2023, 04:20 PM
Its not that complicated, read it.

You’ve lost me. He blames Magennis when numerous people have explained its Newells fault.

I can file you under not got a clue about football along with MW as well. Cheers 👍🏼

NC1875
15-01-2023, 04:20 PM
This back and forth about who to blame is pointless. Newell’s time with us isn’t going to be defined by one goal against us, it’s defined by four years of mediocrity and underachievement.

Spot on. Not good enough. And hopefully emptied in the summer

15-01-2023, 04:21 PM

I would say this messageboard exists to disuss situations just like that, far from pointless.

15-01-2023, 04:22 PM
You’ve lost me. He blames Magennis when numerous people have explained its Newells fault.

I can file you under not got a clue about football along with MW as well. Cheers 👍🏼

That’s a bit rude. You should learn to accept other people have different opinions and keep it respectful. Have a nice evening.

15-01-2023, 04:24 PM
Just watched it again and Newell is just too slow to react to the two Dundee U players, Magennis points to Djoum and goes after the other mid, Newell switches off again.

NC1875
15-01-2023, 04:24 PM
That’s a bit rude. You should learn to accept other people have different opinions and keep it respectful. Have a nice evening.

You have an opinion, numerous people have explained why your opinion is wrong. You can accept that or defend Newell regardless. You chose the latter for some reason.

Have a good night

15-01-2023, 04:26 PM
Similar pedigree to me, probably why I agree with most of your posts.

You must be in the minority with me there (not the invasion part) 😁

15-01-2023, 04:29 PM
You must be in the minority with me there (not the invasion part) 😁

I used to share a pitch with Michael Stewart as a teenager, probably why I slaver so much :greengrin

15-01-2023, 04:33 PM
I used to share a pitch with Michael Stewart as a teenager, probably why I slaver so much :greengrin

To be fair he used to be alright.

Then wasn’t. Then was.

Then wasn’t again. Then was again.

And recently seems to have turned into a right fud.

15-01-2023, 04:35 PM
To be fair he used to be alright.

Then wasn’t. Then was.

Then wasn’t again. Then was again.

And recently seems to have turned into a right fud.

He's due to become alright again sometime soon!

15-01-2023, 05:11 PM

Police Scotland might be interested. Case still open.

Paulie Walnuts
15-01-2023, 06:51 PM

I think it’s clear to most folk that’s exactly how the situation unfolded.

15-01-2023, 07:06 PM
Police Scotland might be interested. Case still open.

At last someone that will be interested in my story 👍

15-01-2023, 07:17 PM
His point has been addressed several times - Newell reacts too slowly with the swapping of players, which should be standard procedure in that situation. Newell has not even tracked his original man as in the end he isn't near either of them.

This isnt about a Newell pile on, its about that specific goal and who is most at fault - I like Newell and have defended him on numerous occasions so no rage from me:greengrin

I actually thought our set-up for marking, involving these two, while defending a throw-in looked strange later in the game without realising what had happened for the first goal.

At the time it looked like Newell was keen to be a spare man but wasn’t standing in front (on the toes as we used to get told) of anyone, ready to then take the thrower, but more staying spare and pointing at others who were picking up men. We then instantly seemed to be on the chase when the ball came in.

I didn’t think too much more of it (could easily have been nothing or above my understanding) but maybe our failure to get picked-up and tight at throw-ins is an issue..

Mutu
15-01-2023, 07:28 PM
Think we've stumbled upon something quite interesting here - more I watch it the more mistakes I see. Rocky should tighter to Stevenson by about 3-4 yards imo and and Porteous is extremely flat footed.

As a defensive unit we're all over the place. Mistakes like that should not be happening at a professional level - throw ins can be drilled in training.

18-01-2023, 12:59 AM
I think if you analyse most goals in football, they are down to defensive lapses/mistakes. Very few are down to the brilliance of the attacking team. This is particularly so if you are viewing the goal from a fan standpoint of the team conceding the goal. Unlike most sports a mistake can be very costly because goals are hard to come by and generally influence the result of the game. Diffuculy in any sport to main concentration and discipline for long periods of time. For example, in tennis great players will make several mistakes during a match yet still win the game because of scoring system. One mistake in football can cost you the match.

18-01-2023, 01:35 AM
I think if you analyse most goals in football, they are down to defensive lapses/mistakes. Very few are down to the brilliance of the attacking team. This is particularly so if you are viewing the goal from a fan standpoint of the team conceding the goal. Unlike most sports a mistake can be very costly because goals are hard to come by and generally influence the result of the game. Diffuculy in any sport to main concentration and discipline for long periods of time. For example, in tennis great players will make several mistakes during a match yet still win the game because of scoring system. One mistake in football can cost you the match.

I remember back in the early 70’s when Man City manager Malcolm Allison who was an early World Cup pundit said
‘The lower the standard of football the more you should attack, because more mistakes will be made, and therefore more goals will be scored as a result.

It was a philosophy I adhered to through my playing/coaching journey.

18-01-2023, 06:02 AM
The thing is, despite the failings of both Newell and Magennis, Newell doesn't actually recover that badly, Rocky and him are on Djoum and if he hadn't hit it first time, they would've had him.

The guy who scores is Ryan Porteous man (another fan favorite escaping a word being said) and he's nowhere near him, and Fish allows Fletcher to lay it off. Watch Middleton stroll into the box.

That goal is the failing of at least 4 players, Newell included.

Agree shambolic goal, Newell should have been more aware of a possible run behind him and body position might have been better however Magennis passed him with no notice at all so equally at fault imo.

18-01-2023, 06:13 AM
Agree shambolic goal, Newell should have been more aware of a possible run behind him and body position might have been better however Magennis passed him with no notice at all so equally at fault imo.

And Rocky should have been out to engage Djoum far quicker aswell. Defenders are so terrified of giving away handballs these days that they often fail to attack the ball and get a block in.

18-01-2023, 06:14 AM
And Rocky should have been out to engage Djoum far quicker aswell. Defenders are so terrified of giving away handballs these days that they often fail to attack the ball and get a block in.

Totally. Text book comical goal.

18-01-2023, 09:47 AM

That was the first thing I was annoyed about when the goal was scored.

I have to say that overall the players seem really confused about how we defend this season which is worrying. I see lots of stuff that really confuses me and one thing is how we almost seem to hang off engaging players when they come in from wider areas - it's like we want to do all our defending in the box.. which we're not good at.

18-01-2023, 10:36 AM

I have to say that overall the players seem really confused about how we defend this season which is worrying. I see lots of stuff that really confuses me and one thing is how we almost seem to hang off engaging players when they come in from wider areas - it's like we want to do all our defending in the box.. which we're not good at.

Maybe Rocky was slightly unsure of his positioning, due to being on the left. Which I don't think helped.

But yeah I agree with you. They are taught not to go to ground, keep hands behind your back etc. Sometimes the basics of go and stop the cross, force the attacker down a certain angle etc are lost. Does my head in - just go and press the opponent with some aggression asap.

18-01-2023, 10:42 AM

Our defending this season.

We seem to attack without much thought behind the ball. Our full backs haven’t had a good season meaning lots of crosses and goals from those areas.

The back line has changed several times and the lack of any holding midfielder has left them exposed.

Overall some absolutely awful goals we have conceded.

18-01-2023, 10:56 AM
Maybe Rocky was slightly unsure of his positioning, due to being on the left. Which I don't think helped.

But yeah I agree with you. They are taught not to go to ground, keep hands behind your back etc. Sometimes the basics of go and stop the cross, force the attacker down a certain angle etc are lost. Does my head in - just go and press the opponent with some aggression asap.

Yip - again football being made complicated by modern coaches forgetting they are dealing with moderately talented players.

I've found it totally alarming when, particularly in games v the Old Firm that when their wide players have the ball that our full-backs are taking up very narrow positions and only engaging around the 18 yard box which has looked like asking for trouble with so much that can go wrong in those areas against better highly skilled players.

18-01-2023, 11:14 AM
Our defending this season.

We seem to attack without much thought behind the ball. Our full backs haven’t had a good season meaning lots of crosses and goals from those areas.

The back line has changed several times and the lack of any holding midfielder has left them exposed.

Overall some absolutely awful goals we have conceded.

Agreed. LJ totally ignores the defensive aspect of the game. Hence why full backs are doubled up on and CBs are left in 1v1s or worse all the time. It won't get magically better by signing new players in those positions.

18-01-2023, 11:28 AM
Agreed. LJ totally ignores the defensive aspect of the game. Hence why full backs are doubled up on and CBs are left in 1v1s or worse all the time. It won't get magically better by signing new players in those positions.

You would think with two full backs in the backroom team we would be well drilled in that area.

28-01-2023, 05:28 PM
That today is what we need to see every week.

No surprise he was good again today with a defensive midfielder in Jeggo next to him

GreenGray
28-01-2023, 05:42 PM
Was class today, some very nice forward passes too, which according to some he can’t do [emoji2371]

Torto7
28-01-2023, 05:46 PM
I never understand why he gets the stick he does. He's the most well rounded midfielder we've got imo. The balance between Jeggo/Newell/Campbell looks really good.

28-01-2023, 05:51 PM
We miss him when he isn't in the team.

loanheadhibby
28-01-2023, 05:58 PM
Excellent performance today. Some of his interplay with McGeady was top drawer.

That pass to McKirdy as well. Great to see

28-01-2023, 06:05 PM
Excellent performance today. Some of his interplay with McGeady was top drawer.

That pass to McKirdy as well. Great to see

Nice to see you acknowledge that. He was superb today. Will be interesting to see how the midfield develops with Jeggo in there now. Good signs from their first outing together 👍

28-01-2023, 06:10 PM
Nice to see you acknowledge that. He was superb today. Will be interesting to see how the midfield develops with Jeggo in there now. Good signs from their first outing together 👍

No sure about Jeggo in possession but he undoubtedly contributed to the other two having more freedom and being able to play further up the park.

Newell started the game with a really good run in to the box that we should have scored from and it was like he realised he had the beating of them from there. Thought he ran all over them thereafter.

28-01-2023, 06:28 PM
Played well today. Should always have a DM behind him, his and Campbell’s best performances earlier in the season came when they played with Kenneh. Hopefully gets himself forward a bit more often now Jeggo is here.

28-01-2023, 06:29 PM
His corners were decent today , Played well

28-01-2023, 06:29 PM
Great to see Newell coming back from waste of space/imposter to key man/superstar

28-01-2023, 06:37 PM
He’s doing something different with his hair. Clearly more lift and movement.

28-01-2023, 08:21 PM
Strong performance today, very well played.

28-01-2023, 08:25 PM
Graeme Shinnie couldn't lace his boots.

MagicSwirlingShip
29-01-2023, 11:58 AM
Got to give Joe his fair dues, excellent yesterday.

CL0762
29-01-2023, 12:02 PM
I’ve been very very critical of Joe so it’s only fair that when he turns in a performance like that he receives the praise he is due.

Jeggo being there made a huge different to Newell’s performance.

loanheadhibby
29-01-2023, 01:57 PM
Graeme Shinnie couldn't lace his boots.

I don't rate him as you know but was very impressed with him yesterday.
Hope he continues this on Tuesday.

Hibees1973
29-01-2023, 02:13 PM
We miss him when he isn't in the team.

100%.

This is a poor Hibs side, no doubt. But every time I watch Hibs Newell never hides. He is always looking to get on the ball.

Know there are some on here who just don't see a player and he gets pelters, but that's their prerogative.

From the players signed by Ron's son in the last couple of years, there is no midfielder better than Newell and this is why he has got to be in the first eleven. He does have his weaknesses, i.e a lack of pace and often gets caught out on the ball. I remember the LC Final against Celtic last season when Rogic ragdolled him in midfield. Most of the time Newell was backtracking trying to tackle Rogic. He is at Hibs for reasons such as this.

However, he does have a bit of quality and when we play well most of it is through Newell.

Would be delighted if he has a good game up in Dingwall on Tuesday. These types of games are the acid test for him. Ross Co have nothing in their side in the same class as Newell, but it's up to him to show it in games such as this. There will be a few on here with their knives sharpened waiting on him failing.

We have far bigger problems to be fixed before Joe Newell.

29-01-2023, 04:33 PM
I’ve been very very critical of Joe so it’s only fair that when he turns in a performance like that he receives the praise he is due.

Jeggo being there made a huge different to Newell’s performance.

The Jeggo point is important. Basically, unless you have genuinely world class ability, a midfield is bigger than the sum of its parts. It’s the chemistry and balance that makes it. We haven’t had the right balance for about 5 years, I don’t really think the debates about Newell and other individuals are worthwhile (although I’ve joined in plenty myself)…It’s the system. Yesterday looked like the best balance between protection and adventure I’ve seen for ages.

29-01-2023, 05:19 PM
Didn’t see the game yesterday but good to hear Newell playing well. His run for the first goal was excellent and a lot of what I’ve been critical of him for only doing once in a while.

I don’t think yesterday proves anything definitively given how poor it sounds like Aberdeen were, but encouraging to hear Jeggo looks like he might help to give the midfield a better balance.

29-01-2023, 05:30 PM
I don't think anyone thinks Newell isn't talented, we just want to see him playing like yesterday more often that's all.

NC1875
29-01-2023, 05:58 PM
Don’t particularly rate him. But part of that is because he has performances like that in his locker but doesn’t do it enough.

Same could be said for a few players, play like that most weeks and I’ll happily say I was wrong. But we need consistency and that’s what’s frustrating.

30-01-2023, 06:13 AM
I don't think anyone thinks Newell isn't talented, we just want to see him playing like yesterday more often that's all.

Exactly that

LeithMike
30-01-2023, 06:52 AM
The Jeggo point is important. Basically, unless you have genuinely world class ability, a midfield is bigger than the sum of its parts. It’s the chemistry and balance that makes it. We haven’t had the right balance for about 5 years, I don’t really think the debates about Newell and other individuals are worthwhile (although I’ve joined in plenty myself)…It’s the system. Yesterday looked like the best balance between protection and adventure I’ve seen for ages.

Here we go again. Same old argument and you are reading a lot into one game. Jeggo is not hugely dissimilar to JDH so it’s not as if JN hasn’t played with a defensive midfielder before.

JN can play well against teams that don’t press and give you time - Aberdeen a prime example of that on Saturday - but he really struggles against quick passing and pressing teams. That’s not going to change.

If you accept that a defensive midfielder won’t have much pace - we really need two mobile players alongside him. JN isn’t that and we are just going to repeat the same argument when better teams come to town.

If Hibs want to be competitive in games against the better teams we need something else in midfield. The occasional good game from JN against the poorer teams doesn’t changes that in my view.

Paulie Walnuts
30-01-2023, 07:17 AM
Here we go again. Same old argument and you are reading a lot into one game. Jeggo is not hugely dissimilar to JDH so it’s not as if JN hasn’t played with a defensive midfielder before.

JN can play well against teams that don’t press and give you time - Aberdeen a prime example of that on Saturday - but he really struggles against quick passing and pressing teams. That’s not going to change.

If you accept that a defensive midfielder won’t have much pace - we really need two mobile players alongside him. JN isn’t that and we are just going to repeat the same argument when better teams come to town.

If Hibs want to be competitive in games against the better teams we need something else in midfield. The occasional good game from JN against the poorer teams doesn’t changes that in my view.

Pretty much where I am. Doesn’t do it nearly often enough for me.

I'm Spartacus
30-01-2023, 07:22 AM
I've said it for a long time now. Joe is the best passer at the club and he gets absolutely destroyed most of the time on here.

30-01-2023, 07:25 AM

If by 'Here we go again, same old argument', you are referring to my contention that you need a balanced midfield in your team, then, aye I stick by that. I barely mentioned Joe, it still baffles me how folk get so triggered by him and adopt a combative tone in posts about him. Again, i think it all comes back to lack of hair.

30-01-2023, 07:45 AM
He was much better on Saturday than he was against United. Hopefully Jeggo coming in is the difference and he can continue playing at that level consistently.