View Full Version : Newell

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

03-01-2023, 10:02 AM
I’m just trying to make a point about people saying you cant compare him and newell man for man.

Snodgrass is light years ahead of newell. It’s easy to see. Can’t believe we were never interested in the summer.

Who say's we weren't interested in Snodgrass. Maybe it was a money issue or maybe he didn't want to come to us full stop. It's all speculation tbh.

03-01-2023, 10:03 AM
He can’t pass toward if there is nothing ahead of him.

I’m a fan of newell, although it’s beginning to wear thin a little, but there is so often so little options in that retaining the ball is the best move unfortunately unfortunately.

the team needs overhauled, badly. we need creative players who find space and actually have movement further up the pitch. i’m sure with players like that ahead of him, newell would have a part to play. that said, im at the point where i couldn’t care if the majority of the team was binned and replaced.

Some fair points. However it’s the lack of drive and intensity that infuriates me. He did it once in the first half yesterday, got the ball and drove to the edge of the box. I don’t think anything came of it but I remember it clearly as it was such a rarity for Newell, and our midfielders. That’s one of the basic fundamentals badly missing in Newell and our midfield IMO.

I get that there’s a small chance Newell might have instructions that stop him from driving forward with the ball. Even if that was the case there’s multiple times in a game where that situation presents itself and you need to do it to positively affect a game.

CL0762
03-01-2023, 10:06 AM
Ah but his long throws are fantastic.

Got to be the worst corner taker I’ve ever seen.

Floaty lofted pish that is absolute heaven for defenders.

03-01-2023, 10:06 AM
One of his best efforts being a “shot” that was accidental rather than meant sums him up really.

He’s OK. But we have far too many average players, and a position which he commands requires someone of far greater stature to enable the drive for a good team.

Strong individuals in the key positions can carry along lesser players, and let’s face it, Joe’s never going to be that player.

03-01-2023, 10:08 AM
Some fair points. However it’s the lack of drive and intensity that infuriates me. He did it once in the first half yesterday, got the ball and drove to the edge of the box. I don’t think anything came of it but I remember it clearly as it was such a rarity for Newell, and our midfielders. That’s one of the basic fundamentals badly missing in Newell and our midfield IMO.

I get that there’s a small chance Newell might have instructions that stop him from driving forward with the ball. Even if that was the case there’s multiple times in a game where that situation presents itself and you need to do it to positively affect a game.

i agree man and this is where my patience with newell is wearing thin. i think there is so much more to his game but we aren’t seeing it nearly enough. he has the ability to making forward runs and drive the ball but it’s not happening enough.

hibeerealist
03-01-2023, 05:05 PM
He can’t pass toward if there is nothing ahead of him.

I’m a fan of newell, although it’s beginning to wear thin a little, but there is so often so little options in that retaining the ball is the best move unfortunately unfortunately.

the team needs overhauled, badly. we need creative players who find space and actually have movement further up the pitch. i’m sure with players like that ahead of him, newell would have a part to play. that said, im at the point where i couldn’t care if the majority of the team was binned and replaced.

The forward options close down due to the time he takes to move the ball on, easy option is then sideways or backwards.

Your next post indicates you would like him to make more forward runs, well when faced with the above (forward options closed down) any reasonable midfielder would make such a run and see if any options open up. JN just rolls it sideways or backwards - is it lack of confidence or simply that its easier?

Either way it clearly shows he is not good enough for Hibs, certainly in the role is playing.

03-01-2023, 05:08 PM
Incredible that Joe Newall attracts page after page of invective whilst others, some of whom are far worse, get off scot free.

He is neither as good as his most fervent supporters think nor as bad as his most fervent critics think.

03-01-2023, 05:16 PM
The original show pony. Get rid.

03-01-2023, 05:20 PM
The original show pony. Get rid.

Of all the criticisms of Newall, this is, by miles, the least accurate. There is little showy about Newall, outside his magnificent hair. He does little to no flicks or showy actions…he is largely functional…short passes, fouls, closes down etc…it’s just a term that’s been used and adopted about him. He has a number of deficiencies, but this is a completely false description.

03-01-2023, 05:22 PM
Incredible that Joe Newall attracts page after page of invective whilst others, some of whom are far worse, get off scot free.

He is neither as good as his most fervent supporters think nor as bad as his most fervent critics think.

He’s an ever present top earner in the most important position on the pitch. He’s going to get more attention than McKirdy.

03-01-2023, 05:33 PM
He’s an ever present top earner in the most important position on the pitch. He’s going to get more attention than McKirdy.

Can you tell us how much each of them are paid?

Skol
03-01-2023, 05:35 PM
If we stopped picking newell without any new options to select from we would be a poorer side.

Newell is not the worst player at hibs and whilst at times he can be good, he should be a lot better. However look at the alternatives from the current crop and that’s why newell is a first pick.

03-01-2023, 05:44 PM

Maybe because he’s our highest earning, most experienced and supposed leader in central midfield. It’s not his fault, he’s just not good enough to be the main man in midfield.

03-01-2023, 05:49 PM
If we stopped picking newell without any new options to select from we would be a poorer side.

Newell is not the worst player at hibs and whilst at times he can be good, he should be a lot better. However look at the alternatives from the current crop and that’s why newell is a first pick.

We need to free up space in the budget to bring in better players, getting rid of the likes of Campbell’s wage isn’t going to allow us bring in quality players. Joe Newell is paid more than we paid McGeouch or McGinn, do you feel we are getting value for money?

GreenGray
03-01-2023, 05:50 PM
Maybe because he’s our highest earning, most experienced and supposed leader in central midfield. It’s not his fault, he’s just not good enough to be the main man in midfield.

It’s also not his fault he’s surrounded by ***** in midfield. Newell is a good player who has been picked by almost every hibs manager he’s played under, it’s not a coincidence.

In a good team he’d flourish, he’s just not good enough to drag this particular dross team out the **** (p.s there isn’t a player we could sign who is)

cameronw-hfc
03-01-2023, 05:57 PM
Newell consistently outruns pretty much our whole squad, he's the tidiest on the ball we have and one of the few that will get stuck in, yet after quite literally EVERY loss the exact same people will post pages worth of content about him being crap, when he's almost never the worst on the park, and the rest get away almost completely unscathed.

The narrative that's been developed by a section of our support is baffling. Josh Campbell can refuse the pass and go backwards 20 times a game, make consistently shocking decisions and Newell will be the one at fault. There's a reason 3 managers in a row have had him as a main stay in this team, and before anyone says 3 crap managers, he was a mainstay in the team that finished 3rd and got to hampden multiple times. He was one of the best that season.

He's about the only CM at the club I'm actually happy with.

LeithMike
03-01-2023, 06:02 PM
It’s also not his fault he’s surrounded by ***** in midfield. Newell is a good player who has been picked by almost every hibs manager he’s played under, it’s not a coincidence.

In a good team he’d flourish, he’s just not good enough to drag this particular dross team out the **** (p.s there isn’t a player we could sign who is)

Disagree. Newell has shown he’s not got the attributes as a defensive midfielder - he’s not a great tackler, doesn’t read the game that well and doesn’t really like marking - also not great at showing for the ball from defence.

He’s never in a month of Sundays a box to box player (or no. 8) as he has no real pace and mobility and just gets left for dead in transition.

He’s not a no.10 as he can’t really finish and just doesn’t have that extra skill or pace to readily beat men.

He’s certainly got a good touch and very good passer but you need more than that in a successful midfield.

If he plays as an 8 or 10 and we also play a defensive midfielder then we end up with two players who can’t really run in the midfield as has been the case for the past few years

Skol
03-01-2023, 06:03 PM
We need to free up space in the budget to bring in better players, getting rid of the likes of Campbell’s wage isn’t going to allow us bring in quality players. Joe Newell is paid more than we paid McGeouch or McGinn, do you feel we are getting value for money?

Nope, but nothing that could be done about that until sunday at the earliest.

03-01-2023, 06:03 PM
Newell consistently outruns pretty much our whole squad, he's the tidiest on the ball we have and one of the few that will get stuck in, yet after quite literally EVERY loss the exact same people will post pages worth of content about him being crap, when he's almost never the worst on the park, and the rest get away almost completely unscathed.

The narrative that's been developed by a section of our support is baffling. Josh Campbell can refuse the pass and go backwards 20 times a game, make consistently shocking decisions and Newell will be the one at fault. There's a reason 3 managers in a row have had him as a main stay in this team, and before anyone says 3 crap managers, he was a mainstay in the team that finished 3rd and got to hampden multiple times. He was one of the best that season.

3 managers in a row that are all likely to get the sack. Maybe they should have got 2 better CMs and dropped Newell and Campbell. One of those 3 managers gave Campbell a 4 year contract. If anything shows how bad the last 3 managers have been.

03-01-2023, 06:16 PM

and he’s close to seeing the 4th of those managers sacked, I suppose that is just a coincidence though?

GreenGray
03-01-2023, 06:38 PM
and he’s close to seeing the 4th of those managers sacked, I suppose that is just a coincidence though?

So you’ve been expecting Newell to carry all these ***** teams on his own? I can name a few players who have seen off just as many managers if not more.

GreenGray
03-01-2023, 06:40 PM
Disagree. Newell has shown he’s not got the attributes as a defensive midfielder - he’s not a great tackler, doesn’t read the game that well and doesn’t really like marking - also not great at showing for the ball from defence.

He’s never in a month of Sundays a box to box player (or no. 8) as he has no real pace and mobility and just gets left for dead in transition.

He’s not a no.10 as he can’t really finish and just doesn’t have that extra skill or pace to readily beat men.

He’s certainly got a good touch and very good passer but you need more than that in a successful midfield.

If he plays as an 8 or 10 and we also play a defensive midfielder then we end up with two players who can’t really run in the midfield as has been the case for the past few years

I personally think he can play in a midfield three with a defensive midfielder behind him. His passing ability is very good and can win the ball high up the park. He’s one of the least of our worries and it always surprises me to see the flack he gets.

03-01-2023, 06:43 PM

I agree with your last sentence but think he would be good enough with the right players beside him.

03-01-2023, 06:50 PM
I personally think he can play in a midfield three with a defensive midfielder behind him. His passing ability is very good and can win the ball high up the park. He’s one of the least of our worries and it always surprises me to see the flack he gets.

Even allowing for our profligate attackers, he simply doesn’t score or create goals. His whole time here shows that. Which is why he can’t play with a defensive midfielder as it relies in the 3rd midfielder to carry the drive and creativity for the midfield on their own, IMO.

He’s a nice football but falls through the cracks in terms of the midfield roles. Can’t dictate a game from deep as McGeough could, but probably the role he is closest to suited to, not a box to box midfielder and not a creative midfielder.

03-01-2023, 06:58 PM
So you’ve been expecting Newell to carry all these ***** teams on his own? I can name a few players who have seen off just as many managers if not more.

The last 2 seasons before this one we had the tighest defence in the league outwith the old firm and had internationally capped players in attack. Our main problem before this season has been in central midfield. No creativity, no drive, nobody willing to move the ball forward with pace. One paced football from one paced players in central midfield.

Even the season we came 3rd, our record if we went 1-0 down was awful as we were terrible at breaking teams down. As soon as St Johnstone went 1-0 ahead in the cup final most people knew that was game over, they’d seen the same script in the previous 2 meetings just a few weeks before.

GreenGray
03-01-2023, 07:01 PM
The last 2 seasons before this one we had the tighest defence in the league outwith the old firm and had internationally capped players in attack. Our main problem before this season has been in central midfield. No creativity, no drive, nobody willing to move the ball forward with pace. One paced football from one paced players in central midfield.

I’d argue our main issue has been scoring goals, not being clinical enough in the final third.

But I do agree our midfield is lacking, I just don’t think Newell is the one who should take the flick for that. Other than his goal scoring patch Campbell has been very poor, and Kenneh clearly isn’t trusted. Newell is one of our only midfielders who actually has the ability to play passes in behind, just doesn’t get the time or chance to do it very often as we usually lose the midfield battle.

03-01-2023, 07:03 PM

He's our most experienced. Everything else is just rumor and opinion. Why is he any more of a leader than Magennis? Or on more money?

03-01-2023, 07:06 PM
I’d argue our main issue has been scoring goals, not being clinical enough in the final third.

But I do agree our midfield is lacking, I just don’t think Newell is the one who should take the flick for that. Other than his goal scoring patch Campbell has been very poor, and Kenneh clearly isn’t trusted. Newell is one of our only midfielders who actually has the ability to play passes in behind, just doesn’t get the time or chance to do it very often as we usually lose the midfield battle.

You do understand the role the misfield plays in attacking build ups?

Newell has one assist from open play in the league in the last 17 months.

03-01-2023, 07:07 PM
You do understand the role the misfield plays in attacking build ups?

Newell has one assist from open play in the league in the last 17 months.

You understand that there is more to the midfields role in the buildup than the final pass?

03-01-2023, 07:12 PM

It’s not a narrative, it’s just what folk see. He’s a constant in a constantly under achieving team.

I actually thought he was the best of our midfield yesterday, once he joined in when the game was done. How many times have you come away from a game this season and genuinely thought we dominated the middle of the park with Newell dictating things?

03-01-2023, 07:12 PM
He's our most experienced. Everything else is just rumor and opinion. Why is he any more of a leader than Magennis? Or on more money?

It’s what we were continually told by the club was part of the the reasoning he was given an extended contract.

“Alongside this, he’s become a leader on the pitch for Shaun Maloney’s side and takes an active role in helping the younger players.

It’s not just on the pitch where the 29-year-old plays an influential role, he’s a huge character off it with his jovial personality.

On Joe Newell’s contract, Shaun Maloney commented: “I’m really pleased that Joe has committed to the Club for what I believe will be peak years in his career.

“In terms of what we are trying to build here for the long-term, Joe is an integral and really influential player. Not only has he demonstrated a consistent high level of technical performance on the pitch, he plays a very important leadership role within the squad.”

If Magennis becomes a regular starter then maybe he could be considered the leader in central midfield. However his last few games for us have been starting on the wing or on the bench.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2023, 07:16 PM

Do the others play 90 minutes every single week?

03-01-2023, 07:21 PM
It’s what we were continually told by the club was part of the the reasoning he was given an extended contract.

“Alongside this, he’s become a leader on the pitch for Shaun Maloney’s side and takes an active role in helping the younger players.

It’s not just on the pitch where the 29-year-old plays an influential role, he’s a huge character off it with his jovial personality.

On Joe Newell’s contract, Shaun Maloney commented: “I’m really pleased that Joe has committed to the Club for what I believe will be peak years in his career.

“In terms of what we are trying to build here for the long-term, Joe is an integral and really influential player. Not only has he demonstrated a consistent high level of technical performance on the pitch, he plays a very important leadership role within the squad.”

If Magennis becomes a regular starter then maybe he could be considered the leader in central midfield. However his last few games for us have been starting on the wing or on the bench.

Nothing about Newells wages there. Also, ai don’t know why people think a centre midfielder has more call to be ‘influential’ or have higher expectations placed on him than a wide midfielder. For every Zidane or Modric there’s a Messi or a Ronaldo. I have expectations for Magennis being a dominating midfielder whichever spot he ends up playing.

Mutu
03-01-2023, 07:35 PM
This thread is becoming pathetic.

loanheadhibby
03-01-2023, 07:37 PM

Tell me you are joking?
He is by no means the only culprit but guys like him have got rid of Ross and Maloney and very possibly LJ.
He is a complete luxury and we'll never progress with him as your main midfielder.

Key West
03-01-2023, 07:38 PM
A lot of Hibs fans love to be negative about everything.

loanheadhibby
03-01-2023, 07:48 PM
A lot of Hibs fans love to be negative about everything.

Jeez what positives are their at the moment.
You do realise we have lost 9 out of 11 league games and put in a shambolic display against our city rivals on Monday.
Add something to the conversation rather than having a go at realistic fans.

LunasBoots
03-01-2023, 07:53 PM
Maybe decent playing just in front of the defence, for me I don't like him playing in Central midfield it just doesn't work consistently enough and has been a problem area that needs urgently addressed, the link up from that area is abysmal.

03-01-2023, 07:56 PM
Nothing about Newells wages there. Also, ai don’t know why people think a centre midfielder has more call to be ‘influential’ or have higher expectations placed on him than a wide midfielder. For every Zidane or Modric there’s a Messi or a Ronaldo. I have expectations for Magennis being a dominating midfielder whichever spot he ends up playing.

I have high hopes for Magennis. We were contending at the top of the league last season before he got his injury - he looks to have that special something extra that can make ordinary players around him look much, much better. Magennis combined with JDH and Newell really looked the part together and I don't see why we shouldn't be able to make a similarly effective combination once more.

Keeping him fit enough to play a full game every week will, as ever, be the challenge.

GreenGray
03-01-2023, 08:13 PM
You understand that there is more to the midfields role in the buildup than the final pass?

How condescending. Of course I do.

Key West
03-01-2023, 09:28 PM
Jeez what positives are their at the moment.
You do realise we have lost 9 out of 11 league games and put in a shambolic display against our city rivals on Monday.
Add something to the conversation rather than having a go at realistic fans.

Players on the way back might be a start.

14-01-2023, 04:30 PM
An absolute joker. How this guy continually plays week after week is a mystery.

14-01-2023, 04:32 PM
An absolute joker. How this guy continually plays week after week is a mystery.

It's really not. The mystery is why he's always blamed. He was nothing like our worst today. Youan, mcgeady and magennis were dreadful.

HendoDelivered
14-01-2023, 04:32 PM
It's really not. The mystery is why he's always blamed. He was nothing like our worst today. Youan, mcgeady and magennis were dreadful.

This. Scapegoat central.

14-01-2023, 04:34 PM

He was rank rotten. Lost his man for the first goal. Continually lost the ball. Never actually does anything of note. Dreadful.

14-01-2023, 04:35 PM

That might be true, but there’s never any positive defence of Newell put forward. His best defence nowadays seems to be that there are others who were worse than him.

His time is long up IMO.

GreenGray
14-01-2023, 04:35 PM
He was rank rotten. Lost his man for the first goal. Continually lost the ball. Never actually does anything of note. Dreadful.

If your first thought after that is to blame Newell you must have been watching with your eyes painted on. Presume you didn’t see Campbell, McGeady or Youan?

14-01-2023, 04:36 PM
That might be true, but there’s never any positive defence of Newell put forward. His best defence nowadays seems to be that there are others who were worse than him.

His time is long up IMO.

He had a good 2nd half, won it back plenty of times and helped us push forward.

He was dreadful first half like everyone else.

14-01-2023, 04:37 PM
Sick to the back teeth of this imposter playing EVERY week, we obviously have a really sheite midfield when this joker is undroppable.

Watch his half arsed attempt at following his runner at the first goal.

14-01-2023, 04:37 PM

Forgot to mention he jogged back and didn't really give Stevenson any support for the 2nd either.

He's not the only problem but doesn't stop him being not good enough.

Zambernardi1875
14-01-2023, 04:38 PM

Mon tae **** 😂

14-01-2023, 04:40 PM
Sick to the back teeth of this imposter playing EVERY week, we obviously have a really sheite midfield when this joker is undroppable.

Watch his half arsed atempt at following his runner at the first goal.

Was it his man? Thought it was Magennis who just let the guy run. The guy ran in behind Newell.

14-01-2023, 04:41 PM
Forgot to mention he jogged back and didn't really give Stevenson any support for the 2nd either.

Lmao. Yeah, our central midfielder should be tracking their full back. It's our wingers who consistently failed to defend today.

EGL2000
14-01-2023, 04:42 PM
Lost his midfield runner at both goals.

MagicSwirlingShip
14-01-2023, 04:43 PM
The standard defence always seems to be “there were worse players out there”

He’s consistently below average. And seemingly undroppable.

14-01-2023, 04:44 PM

He’s meant to be the main man in that midfield and continually puts in performances like he did today. So far off being good enough.

14-01-2023, 04:45 PM
He was awful today but still managed an assist :greengrin

14-01-2023, 04:45 PM
He was rank rotten. Lost his man for the first goal. Continually lost the ball. Never actually does anything of note. Dreadful.I note he had an assist today?

Don't get me wrong I thought he was very poor 1st half - although I could label that at the whole team

He was ok 2nd half

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

14-01-2023, 04:47 PM

Correct

GreenGray
14-01-2023, 04:52 PM
He’s meant to be the main man in that midfield and continually puts in performances like he did today. So far off being good enough.

Who says he’s meant to be the main man In that midfield? You?

Sounds similar to the sort of fans who blame Newell for every time we’ve lost a “big” game.

gaz1875
14-01-2023, 04:57 PM

Sounds similar to the sort of fans who blame Newell for every time we’ve lost a “big” game.

Who is the main midfielder?

I’d say Lee Johnson seems to think he’s the main man considering he plays every single minute of every game despite being utterly ***** the majority of the time.

GreenGray
Who is the main midfielder?

I never said there was one? I’d say all midfielders are as important as each other.

Paulie Walnuts
14-01-2023, 05:00 PM

He starts every game and plays 90 minutes every time.

If you’re going to try and argue he’s not supposed to be our main midfielder then you’re clearly just arguing for arguings sake.

I’m glad he’s out next week. It’s the only way he’ll ever get taken out the team.

GreenGray
14-01-2023, 05:01 PM
He starts every game and plays 90 minutes every time.

If you’re going to try and argue he’s not supposed to be our main midfielder than you’re clearly just arguing for arguings sake.

I think if Magennis was fit he would have played every game and played 90 minutes every time and I would argue he would be our “main” midfielder, if that’s even a thing.

gaz1875
14-01-2023, 05:03 PM
I never said there was one? I’d say all midfielders are as important as each other.

I thought your response was questioning someone else suggesting it was, so I thought you could maybe advise who is. Campbell, Magennis or Newell?

GreenGray
14-01-2023, 05:04 PM
I thought your response was questioning someone else suggesting it was, so I thought you could maybe advise who is. Campbell, Magennis or Newell?

I don’t think we have a “main” midfielder

Paulie Walnuts
I think if Magennis was fit he would have played every game and played 90 minutes every time and I would argue he would be our “main” midfielder, if that’s even a thing.

Of course it’s a thing.

Doesn’t matter who the main man is, fact is we lose the midfield battle in almost every single game. Something has to change soon.
No comment on Newell today though from me as I didn’t see the game.

LeithMike
14-01-2023, 05:06 PM

That would assume that he actually marks a man. He never does. Just trots about aimlessly in the midfield. Complete liability in the most important area of the pitch.

14-01-2023, 05:06 PM

He's blamed because he's an ever present for years in a Hibs team that's constantly underperformed.

Every week the defence of him seems to be he wasn't the worst player...

Not that he played well, just that he wasn't the worst 😂😂😂

Helensburghhibs
14-01-2023, 05:07 PM
I thought he was brutal today. He's a centre midfielder who's statistics probably look good because he constantly plays 5 yard passes to the cbs with no penetration. For anyone defending him watch him off the ball. He is always closer to his opposite number when we have the ball than when we do. He is a hider and nowhere near good enough. Finishing with a midfield of jdh,him and josh was just a reminder of how little progress we have made

14-01-2023, 05:11 PM

The first half was possibly the most pathetic 45 minutes I’ve ever seen from a Hibs midfielder. He’s a hugely important player and if he wins his personal battle then we’ve got every chance of putting a decent team performance together.

In fairness to him - he bucked his ideas up big time and did have a much improved 2nd half.

I don’t think we can afford to carry someone capable of playing as badly as he did during the first half.

He’s not answering any of his critics, in fact he’s giving them more ammunition as well as turning those who have previously supported him away.

Newell is more part of the problem than part of the solution imo.

gaz1875
14-01-2023, 05:12 PM

I wouldn't be putting any money on that happening judging his performances since his return. We need a whole new midfield and have done for two seasons now. Campbell, Newell, JDH and Magennis are not the answer for a club trying to get 3rd spot.

14-01-2023, 05:37 PM
My tuppence worth guys

I thought Newell was just Newell

Lewis Stevenson had a stinker today

McGeady should have been hooked 20 minutes before he actually was

What was Youan doing back to trying to beat man after man impossible bicycle kicks and running the ball out for a goal kick without trying to win a corner

Kevin Nisbet is quality

We are lucky to have him

We need to beat Hearts

Must win

Hibs4185
14-01-2023, 05:42 PM

Watch his half arsed attempt at following his runner at the first goal.

I’ve said numerous times. He’s now seen 4 managers, and midfield has constantly been our problem. He’s the common denominator

14-01-2023, 05:49 PM
He's not even a central midfielder. Sure he was a winger at Rotherham or at the very least a left sideded wide player. We've shoehorned him in to that central position. It's not natural for him and it shows sometimes.

CL0762
14-01-2023, 05:59 PM
Hes ****ing hopeless. I don’t care who was worse than him, or who needs blamed more.

Joe Newell week after week is absolutely pish.

Hector Mudflap
14-01-2023, 06:03 PM
I’d say Lee Johnson seems to think he’s the main man considering he plays every single minute of every game despite being utterly ***** the majority of the time.

Yep makes sense. The boss seems to make him out to be the main guy.
And for most of each game he is (IMHO) mince.

I thought we were better when JDH came on but we will see next week with Newell finally not getting to play.

Hector Mudflap
14-01-2023, 06:03 PM
Hes ****ing hopeless. I don’t care who was worse than him, or who needs blamed more.

This board needs a like button.

14-01-2023, 06:04 PM

It would be good if every now and again the players who were worse than him were on the other team.

14-01-2023, 06:08 PM
Very poor today.

Have to say though Magennis has been disappointing since returning. Starting the 2nd half with those 2 plus McGeady centrally…. Abysmal stuff

14-01-2023, 06:15 PM
Brutal today. Worst I've seen him in a long time

Frustrating as he played good and contributed greatly to our first goal at well last week.

I don't think the constant formation changes during matches help him, or the team though

Cat Stanton
14-01-2023, 06:32 PM
Brutal today. Worst I've seen him in a long time

Frustrating as he played good and contributed greatly to our first goal at well last week.

I don't think the constant formation changes during matches help him, or the team though

Hibs have multiple problems. As discussed all over this forum. But one of them is that Joe Newell is our main midfield playmaker. Enough said.

NC1875
14-01-2023, 06:37 PM
People only defend him because our team is so bad. Just because he isn’t the worst doesn’t mean he’s good enough.

Terrible player

14-01-2023, 06:40 PM
Your weekly reminder that we pay Newell more than we paid either John McGinn or Dylan McGeouch.

Enjoy him while you can, he’s only contracted for another 2.5 years.

14-01-2023, 06:42 PM
Your weekly reminder that we pay Newell more than we paid either John McGinn or Dylan McGeouch.

We pay him more than we paid Stanton and Baker tae.

No that it means anything.

14-01-2023, 06:43 PM

You don’t get much for your money these days.

14-01-2023, 06:43 PM
I’ve never thought Newell is great, today was no different. But I wouldn’t single him out in what was a stale performance all round. Nisbet’s moments of quality (what a difference having a real striker like him makes) and Rocky were two of the non-awful takeaways for me. Youan doesn’t deserve as much stick as he seems to be getting on this thread either, it’s a shame he couldn’t add the composure and end-product of Nisbet now and then though.

Not going to get involved in the old back and forth over Newell’s ability/performance, but what I do think is peculiar is that he was originally a winger (is that right?) as pace/beating a man really aren’t strong parts of his game, and hardly puts a mean ball in either.

Porto alongside him isn’t the answer either.

14-01-2023, 06:45 PM
Hibs have multiple problems. As discussed all over this forum. But one of them is that Joe Newell is our main midfield playmaker. Enough said.

He’s not a play maker though that’s the problem. He’s ultra safe, ultra conservative and makes no impact on a game over 90 minutes. Never changes a game, languid, poor tackler, no leadership skills, and as a central midfielder has no influence in games. It’s not that he’s not got technical skill, he has - what he needs next to him is a Scott Brown type that’s always in his ear, pushing him, driving him, and never giving him peace. But a professional footballer shouldn’t require someone else to spark that, it has to come from within yourself - and Newell just doesn’t have it. It’s not laziness, it’s just disinterest and wanting others to grasp the nettle. He’s a coward in footballing terms - needs a really strong character next to him if he’s to stay. He’s coasting through his Hibs career and he’s the first on my transfer list unless he pulls his finger out.

14-01-2023, 06:46 PM
The first half was possibly the most pathetic 45 minutes I’ve ever seen from a Hibs midfielder. He’s a hugely important player and if he wins his personal battle then we’ve got every chance of putting a decent team performance together.

In fairness to him - he bucked his ideas up big time and did have a much improved 2nd half.

I don’t think we can afford to carry someone capable of playing as badly as he did during the first half.

He’s not answering any of his critics, in fact he’s giving them more ammunition as well as turning those who have previously supported him away.

Newell is more part of the problem than part of the solution imo.

Absolutely pathetic week after week. Attitude stinks and not the only one. Has played every minute in the league apparently which kind of sums up where some of our problems are

14-01-2023, 06:48 PM
Mr Comfort Zone. Pitiful first half.

14-01-2023, 06:52 PM
Very poor today.

Have to say though Magennis has been disappointing since returning. Starting the 2nd half with those 2 plus McGeady centrally…. Abysmal stuff

Yep, Magennis was as disappointing as anyone today.

Not sure Johnson knows how to get the best from him, unlike Ross did. He’s wasted a bit playing deeper whereas he’s a very effective number 10 / second striker where he can join up the midfield and attack, something we often lack.

14-01-2023, 06:56 PM

Not sure Johnson knows how to get the best from him, unlike Ross did. He’s wasted a bit playing deeper whereas he’s a very effective number 20 / second striker where he can join up the midfield and attack, something we often lack.

Cracking effort off the bar, but also had to collect his now seemingly regular stupid booking.

14-01-2023, 06:57 PM
Very poor today.

Not sure Johnson knows how to get the best from him, unlike Ross did. He’s wasted a bit playing deeper whereas he’s a very effective number 20 / second striker where he can join up the midfield and attack, something we often lack.

Magennis wasnt great, and he always seems to have a booking in him. His shot off the bar was brilliant though ( Think the keeper saved it as well maybe?). He is the type of player that can get us a goal and he is a must start next week.

14-01-2023, 06:58 PM
Absolutely pathetic week after week. Attitude stinks and not the only one. Has played every minute in the league apparently which kind of sums up where some of our problems are

It’s not really week after week. He’s had good performances and not so good ones. Motherwell and Livingston recently. Pile on, défend, pile on, défend is how this thread has gone.

I’d say he is a mixed bag, but it’s hard to judge him as an individual in the midfield because it’s not balanced and settled. Magennis came back looking great and has 3 or 4 poor games now, and we all know we need a quality signing to boost the midfield generally.

14-01-2023, 07:00 PM
Going gets tough and he’s mr anonymous again.

Any team that have a go, newell goes missing. ****ing beyond boring now.

Gordy M
14-01-2023, 07:01 PM
Great ball to Nisbet, straight to his feet to set up the equaliser. Thought it was him at the game but just saw it again on Sportscene.

14-01-2023, 07:06 PM
It’s not really week after week. He’s had good performances and not so good ones. Motherwell and Livingston recently. Pile on, défend, pile on, défend is how this thread has gone.

I’d say he is a mixed bag, but it’s hard to judge him as an individual in the midfield because it’s not balanced and settled. Magennis came back looking great and has 3 or 4 poor games now, and we all know we need a quality signing to boost the midfield generally.

Some fair points, however Newell also plays every week and is rarely, if ever subbed. He also never gets shunted around like Maggenis or Campbell having to fill in at right wing and right back.

He is the foundation of our midfield, which is the fundamental reason why the midfield has been so poor for so long IMO. He has some positive attributes, but few of them translate into affecting a game in the middle of the park IMO. His limitations are also some of the key elements required in the most important part of the pitch IMO.

ulises_trotter
14-01-2023, 07:15 PM

He plays every game for every manager last 2 years, and tries all game, plays the ball forward more often than any other player and one of the only men in the team.
Far bigger issues than Joe Newell,

14-01-2023, 07:18 PM
Some fair points, however Newell also plays every week and is rarely, if ever subbed. He also never gets shunted around like Maggenis or Campbell having to fill in at right wing and right back.

He is the foundation of our midfield, which is the fundamental reason why the midfield has been so poor for so long IMO. He has some positive attributes, but few of them translate into affecting a game in the middle of the park IMO. His limitations are also some of the key elements required in the most important part of the pitch IMO.

The first half was like that - he was the first one to actually get stuck in which led to Magennis hitting the car, then was clattering into tackles in front of the East. Got things going a bit.

He's a mainstay of the team in a key position, and that sort of thing really needs to happen more than once or twice a game. By now, is role is too important just to return a performance that is rarely more than semi effective and safe ball carrier.

I do like him because he's my sort of player - retains the ball well and has a good technique. He just doesn't offer enough for the length of time he spends on a pitch, and just because he might not plumb the depths that others often do doesn't mean we can't be asking a hell of it lot more of him.

14-01-2023, 07:22 PM
Magennis wasnt great, and he always seems to have a booking in him. His shot off the bar was brilliant though ( Think the keeper saved it as well maybe?). He is the type of player that can get us a goal and he is a must start next week.

Yeah I would still play him every week, I just think he needs to impose himself in the play much more. Should be involved much more going both ways

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 07:23 PM
Big defender of Newell, thought he was poor today, but the comments about him being lazy or questioning his work ethic are strange. Even on his bad days he's one of the hardest workers in the team. Was one of the few players to actually get stuck in today, second half especially.

random sub
14-01-2023, 07:38 PM
Agree that Newell got stuck in second half. Not a great game for him but others in the midfield poor also- McGeady and Mcgennis both anonymous. Thought JD improved things when he came on.

14-01-2023, 07:56 PM
Going gets tough and he’s mr anonymous again.

Any team that have a go, newell goes missing. ****ing beyond boring now.Thank god he didn't hide on 92 minutes tho [emoji106]

I always think Joe is the one showing for the ball no matter what is happening

Maybe just me

14-01-2023, 08:00 PM
Yeah I would still play him every week, I just think he needs to impose himself in the play much more. Should be involved much more going both ways

Agreed:aok:

14-01-2023, 08:03 PM
Thank god he didn't hide on 92 minutes tho [emoji106]

Maybe just me

Why wait until the 92nd minute ? He should be doing it consistently throughout the game 👍 he doesn’t 👍

He’s got ability, but he’s lazy full stop - needs to be creative for the whole game if that’s his role.

14-01-2023, 08:08 PM
Thought he had a good game today and rightly one of the first on the team sheet

14-01-2023, 08:15 PM
Thank god he didn't hide on 92 minutes tho [emoji106]

Maybe just me

Aye it was a decent punt forward, Nisbet done the hard part to fashion a chance from it though.

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 09:15 PM
Why wait until the 92nd minute ? He should be doing it consistently throughout the game 👍 he doesn’t 👍

He’s got ability, but he’s lazy full stop - needs to be creative for the whole game if that’s his role.

He's a lot of things but lazy is definitely not one. Always right up the top of our running stats, tackles made etc.

14-01-2023, 09:28 PM
He's a lot of things but lazy is definitely not one. Always right up the top of our running stats, tackles made etc.

Show me the stats ? The important ones mine, the ones where he’s made a creative difference and penetrated defences - not pass stats, as that’s irrelevant- he safely passes to a team mate 70% of the time.

Statistics mean nothing - he doesn’t change a game - that’s the most meaningful stat in my eyes (and with my own eyes)

LunasBoots
14-01-2023, 09:30 PM
Show me the stats ? The important ones mine, the ones where he’s made a creative difference and penetrated defences - not pass stats, as that’s irrelevant- he safely passes to a team mate 70% of the time.

Statistics mean nothing - he doesn’t change a game - that’s the most meaningful stat in my eyes (and with my own eyes)

He reminds me of the boy winks from Tottenham, looks like he should be a better player but just lacks the ability.

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 09:39 PM

For passes, 2.14 key passes per 90- 94 percentile,
Successful crosses per 90- 1.57- 95 percentile,
Tackles- 2.24 per 90- 82 percentile, cant find the distance ran stat but Hibs put it up a while back and he was right up there if not at the top of our players👍

So in the top 6% of key passers in the league at least(I think it's world but will say league as not 100% sure). Top 5% tacklers, and top 18% for interceptions. Definitely doesn't look like a lazy player to me.

14-01-2023, 09:48 PM
Tackles- 2.24 per 90- 82 percentile, cant find the distance ran stat but Hibs put it up a while back and he was right up there if not at the top of our players👍

Sounds like a complete midfielder with stats like those. We better enjoy him while still we can.

I’m being facetious of course, but stats are probably part of our problem. Statistically we probably have a good midfield, the reality is very different though.

14-01-2023, 09:48 PM

Joe Newell isn’t lazy and certainly wasn’t today. That’s a very lazy and inaccurate accusation from you.

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 09:50 PM
Sounds like a complete midfielder with stats like those. We better enjoy him while still we can.

I’m being facetious of course, but stats are probably part of our problem. Statistically we probably have a good midfield, the reality is very different though.

He's not perfect, but to claim he's lazy is just false. He's one of, if not the hardest workers in our midfield. Should he do more on the ball? Aye, maybe, but to claim he doesn't try is just a lazy dig because whoever is saying it doesn't rate him

14-01-2023, 09:59 PM
He’s not lazy but just not very good at tracking runners which as a midfielder is a pretty important thing to do.

I would say he’s also very comfortable at the club - probably won’t earn as much in his next contract whatever club he goes to. Compare to SJM which may be extreme but he ran through walls as he wanted to progress his career.

Newell is comfortable on the ball in tight situations but if we are to push forward as a club we need a better midfield - been said for last few years or basically since SJM and co left we haven’t come close to finding an effective midfield to boss a game.

LunasBoots
14-01-2023, 10:01 PM
Need a midfield that compliments each other, too many similar playing styles which doesn't help.

14-01-2023, 10:01 PM
Joe Newell isn’t lazy and certainly wasn’t today. That’s a very lazy and inaccurate accusation from you.

He is lazy - game is 90 minutes plus and throughout a game he’s lazy - watch him - ultra safe passing, rarely drives forward, if you think showing for a pass absolves responsibility for actually doing something with the ball that’s meaningful then okay, I’m inaccurate - much like Joe’s contribution in games. He’s not a good midfielder when you factor in his ‘importance’ to the side. He’s lazy in his overall contribution to games.

14-01-2023, 10:04 PM
Why wait until the 92nd minute ? He should be doing it consistently throughout the game [emoji106] he doesn’t [emoji106]

He’s got ability, but he’s lazy full stop - needs to be creative for the whole game if that’s his role.He's no Lionel Messi

He's Joe Newell of the spl

Even the much lauded Scott Allan wasn't creative for the whole game every game

Newell isn't perfect but this a prime example of just disregarding what he does to label him as Garbage

His assist is now a 'punt forward'..... We'd have 50 post of how amazing that was if it was Scott Allan of last year [emoji23]

14-01-2023, 10:05 PM
Need a midfield that compliments each other, too many similar playing styles which doesn't help.Exactky this

The Mcginn, Mcgeough, Allan trio was just sublime

Joe fits onto a midfield three as he has calmness on the ball, but our overall balance in midfield is lacking

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 10:06 PM
He is lazy - game is 90 minutes plus and throughout a game he’s lazy - watch him - ultra safe passing, rarely drives forward, if you think showing for a pass absolves responsibility for actually doing something with the ball that’s meaningful then okay, I’m inaccurate - much like Joe’s contribution in games. He’s not a good midfielder when you factor in his ‘importance’ to the side. He’s lazy in his overall contribution to games.

He's in the top 6% for key passes, he's nowhere near as innefective as you say but again, and someone ranking that well for key passes can't be picking the easy pass all the time, but again that doesn't fit the agenda.

And you're calling him lazy then backing it up by saying he plays the safe pass, that's nothing to do with being lazy. Does he run a lot? Doin es he get stuck it? Then he's not lazy. I'm not disputing all of your shouts, but you're adamant to claim he's lazy when that's just factually wrong. We all have our opinion on if he's a good enough player, but he isn't lazy

14-01-2023, 10:08 PM
He's in the top 6% for key passes, he's nowhere near as innefeftive as you say but again, that doesn't fit the agenda.

And you're calling him lazy then backing it up by saying he plays the safe pass, that's nothing to do with being lazy. Does he run a lot? Does he get stuck it? Then he's not lazy. I'm not disputing all of your shouts, but you're adamant to claim he's lazy when that's just factually wrong. We all have our opinion on if he's a good enough player, but he isn't lazy

Do you realise those key pass stats include set pieces which he has a near monopoly over? It’s misleading to present them as evidence of his creativity from open play.

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 10:10 PM
Exactky this

The Mcginn, McGeough, Allan trio was just sublime

Joe fits onto a midfield three as he has calmness on the ball, but our overall balance in midfield is lacking

Agree here entirely. Joe would be great in a similar role to what Dylan played for us. Not the prime creator, but the calm head that can keep ahold of the ball in difficult situations. People expecting him to be Scott Allan when its just not his style of play is the problem here, as well as JDH also being a similar player, and Magennis being more of a goal scoring #10. We don't have a creative player in that midfield and it leaves it down to Joe, as he's the best footballer in there despite it just not being his game.

14-01-2023, 10:12 PM
Nonsense. I’d rather he makes a safe pass allowing us to retain possession than attempting Hollywood passes when nothing is on. He had an assist today. Is that not meaningful in your book?

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 10:12 PM
Do you realise those key pass stats include set pieces that he has a near monopoly over? It’s misleading to present them as evidence of his creativity from open play.

Not really misleading, I was asked earlier for the stats, I presented them. Nobody asked for non-set piece stats. The point is that he's one of our more creative passers despite that not being his game. He's more of a ball retention player than a creative player, and even then he's doing alright at key passes. It would be misleading if he was Stevie Mallan who was a wizard at set pieces, but Joe isn't exactly the best at them so it's not like they're overly padded with set pieces.

Silky
14-01-2023, 10:13 PM
He's no Lionel Messi

Newell isn't perfect but this a prime example of just disregarding what he does to label him as Garbage

His assist is now a 'punt forward'..... We'd have 50 post of how amazing that was if it was Scott Allan of last year [emoji23]

Yet Scotty was one of the laziest bassas around and Couldn't tackle to save himself.

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 10:15 PM
Yet Scotty was one of the laziest bassas around and Couldn't tackle to save himself.

Scott could be crap for 89 minutes and play one pass that cuts a defence open and he's Motm. Pretty funny how different people judge players. Newell "crap" for 90 minutes, gets an assist and it was a punt forward. Anything to dismiss him

14-01-2023, 10:18 PM
Agree here entirely. Joe would be great in a similar role to what Dylan played for us. Not the prime creator, but the calm head that can keep ahold of the ball in difficult situations. People expecting him to be Scott Allan when its just not his style of play is the problem here, as well as JDH also being a similar player, and Magennis being more of a goal scoring #10. We don't have a creative player in that midfield and it leaves it down to Joe, as he's the best footballer in there despite it just not being his game.

It’s a good CDM we are missing. Kenneth / Porto - we need someone who turns the ball over and can start attacks.

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 10:20 PM
It’s a good CDM we are missing. Kenneth / Porto - we need someone who turns the ball over and can start attacks.

Think we could do with both imo.

14-01-2023, 10:30 PM
Sunday will be the first time this season Newell hasn’t started.

Will be interesting to see how the midfield play.

Zambernardi1875
14-01-2023, 10:49 PM
Scott could be crap for 89 minutes and play one pass that cuts a defence open and he's Motm. Pretty funny how different people judge players. Newell "crap" for 90 minutes, gets an assist and it was a punt forward. Anything to dismiss him

scott allan was one of the best players to play for hibs in youre lifetime, wash youre mouth with soap boy

14-01-2023, 10:51 PM

He didn’t start against Clyde and we scored 5 goals before half time 😉

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 10:52 PM
scott allan was one of the best players to play for hibs in youre lifetime, wash youre mouth with soap boy

Never said he wasn't. Keep your demeaning comments to yourself, boy👍

MagicSwirlingShip
14-01-2023, 11:02 PM
Hope Joe Newells agent has all these stats, might get him a move

davym7062
14-01-2023, 11:08 PM

cant be any worse

14-01-2023, 11:17 PM
Agree that Newell got stuck in second half. Not a great game for him but others in the midfield poor also- McGeady and Mcgennis both anonymous. Thought JD improved things when he came on.

Got stuck in 2nd half? You have to be joking. Did you watch it on TV? He hid from 30 minutes onwards, a complete waste of a shirt.

14-01-2023, 11:19 PM
Got stuck in 2nd half? You have to be joking. Did you watch it on TV? He hid from 30 minutes onwards, a complete waste of a shirt.He never hid at all 2nd half, he was probably our most active midfielder in wanting the ball

Which lead to our equaliser

duffers
14-01-2023, 11:21 PM
Mental that folk wouldn’t have him in our current starting 11. Feel sorry for the amount of unwarranted abuse he gets, best midfielder at the club by a country mile.

14-01-2023, 11:22 PM
He never hid at all 2nd half, he was probably our most active midfielder in wanting the ball

Which lead to our equaliser

Bollocxs mate, he was hiding, he's a show pony....get rid. He's part of the reason why we are in this mess.

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 11:25 PM
Mental that folk wouldn’t have him in our current starting 11. Feel sorry for the amount of unwarranted abuse he gets, best midfielder at the club by a country mile.

The abuse is mental. It's not even criticisms, some of it is just straight-up abuse.

Daniel 1875
14-01-2023, 11:28 PM
It’s not Joe Newell’s fault he’s playing in a poor midfield. He’s our best midfielder by a distance, and was again today. Some fans appear to think he needs to do the job of three players. Where was Campbell today? Kyle Magennis is supposed to be our creative midfielder, yet Newell creates more than him on a regular basis.

14-01-2023, 11:28 PM
He's no Lionel Messi

Utterly bizarre comment. You could never hide your dislike for Scott Allan.

Oh by the way Scott Allan had 5 assists for Hibs by early December last year despite relatively limited game time. Joe Newell has 2 for Hibs this season so far.

Watching Sportscene, Newell was pathetic for their first goal. Wasn't the only time in the first half he left a runner. Good ball to Nisbet for the 2nd equaliser though realistically it was all about Nisbet that goal.

14-01-2023, 11:33 PM
The abuse is mental. It's not even criticisms, some of it is just straight-up abuse.

Unbelievable...you are either 10 years old or you you don't go to games (probably true). Lazy show ponies like Newell is the main reason we lose so many goals, he's guff.

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 11:38 PM
Unbelievable...you are either 10 years old or you you don't go to games (probably true). Lazy show ponies like Newell is the main reason we lose so many goals, he's guff.

Ah, so because I don't agree with abuse I'm a child or never go to games? FYI, besides this season and some of last where I can't afford it, I've been to the vast majority of home games in my lifetime, sold programmes for the club for 8 years and you know every time sunshine was on the park between 2012-2018? Aye, wonder who that was. Add in the Christmas parties, and more volunteering than most could even imagine.

You've clearly taken my comment personally if you're going to come out with that crap, can't believe it's controversial on here to not abuse a Hibs player.

14-01-2023, 11:38 PM
Lmao. Yeah, our central midfielder should be tracking their full back. It's our wingers who consistently failed to defend today.

Yes, I expect Newell to cover Stevenson there. Can't use another player's ineptitude as an excuse for his own defensive ineptitude. That's possibly the problem at Hibs, nobody pushing standards and helping teammates when it's not their "job". Newell knew he was the closest player to help Stevenson and he didn't try hard enough.

Most players in this squad are garbage. That doesn't excuse Newell. He's one of them. He's on his way to seeing 4th manager sacked at Hibs.

14-01-2023, 11:43 PM
Ah, so because I don't agree with abuse I'm a child or never go to games? FYI, besides this season and some of last where I can't afford it, I've been to the vast majority of home games in my lifetime, sold programmes for the club for 8 years and you know every time sunshine was on the park between 2012-2018? Aye, wonder who that was.

You've clearly taken my comment personally if you're going to come out with that crap, can't believe it's controversial on here to not abuse a Hibs player.

So you weren't at the game. Pipe down you absolute slaver.

MagicSwirlingShip
14-01-2023, 11:48 PM
Ah, so because I don't agree with abuse I'm a child or never go to games? FYI, besides this season and some of last where I can't afford it, I've been to the vast majority of home games in my lifetime, sold programmes for the club for 8 years and you know every time sunshine was on the park between 2012-2018? Aye, wonder who that was. Add in the Christmas parties, and more volunteering than most could even imagine.

You should probably take the Sunshine mask off, it’s not 2018 anymore and it’s much easier to spot a good footballer without it on

14-01-2023, 11:49 PM

fellas - “time gentlemen please”!

sheeety times atm but we all want the same thing - success on the park.

its not easy being Green for sure.

14-01-2023, 11:52 PM
Where was Campbell today?.

Em, not in the middle of the park?

14-01-2023, 11:55 PM
Utterly bizarre comment. You could never hide your dislike for Scott Allan.

Oh by the way Scott Allan had 5 assists for Hibs by early December last year despite relatively limited game time. Joe Newell has 2 for Hibs this season so far.

Watching Sportscene, Newell was pathetic for their first goal. Wasn't the only time in the first half he left a runner. Good ball to Nisbet for the 2nd equaliser though realistically it was all about Nisbet that goal.

Rubbish

I loved Scott Allan

I just got over the dewy eyed nostalgia quicker than most and actually pointed out I thought something wasn't right with him before it become known he had a medical issue - I said numerous times he looked to have lost alot of his agility

Its a real shame what happened to Scott but I did say Id be surpised if he played on the top league anywhere this season - it looks like that is unfortunately for Scott coming true - I havnt followed arbroath this year but how is he doing there?

Newell and Allan arnt the same type of player either, but the double standards we have is weird

Newell got an assist today and its a 'punt'

No way did Joe Newell hide today either - I'm not having that for a second. Hes consistently the midfielder who keeps wanting the ball no matter what is happening around him

Again, that helped us get the equaliser and played a part in lasts weeks win too

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 11:57 PM

Jesus Christ. So because I wasn't there today I'm not allowed an opinion on it? Some absolute mental shouts on the thread. I still watched the game, being there or not due to my own financial situation has literally no bearing on my opinions of the team. I said the abuse is a bit much, you've now resorted to giving me it. How about be civil and not throw shade at other hibs fans for their opinions? All I said was some of the abuse is shocking, and it is. Regardless of your opinion, it's a game of bloody football, there's absolutely no need for some of the comments thrown at Newell.

Think the way you've gone from slating Newell to calling me a slaver all because I said the abuse is a bit much says more about you than anything else. If you have to resort to name callings, well, I won't even go there, and I'm the supposed child👍.

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 11:59 PM
You should probably take the Sunshine mask off, it’s not 2018 anymore and it’s much easier to spot a good footballer without it on

Again, all I said was critique is fine, I'll debate that all night long and try keep it civil, but abuse is too far. And FYI, the sunshine mask was on for as little time as possible as it absolutely stinks and is the same one they've had for 10+ years 😂.

15-01-2023, 12:00 AM
Rubbish

I loved Scott Allan

I just got over the dewy eyed nostalgia quicker than most and actually pointed out I thought something wasn't right with him before it become known he had a medical issue - I said numerous times he looked to have lost alot of his agility

Its a real shame what happened to Scott but I did say Id be surpised if he played on the top league anywhere this season - it looks like that is unfortunately for Scott coming true - I havnt followed arbroath this year but how is he doing there?

Newell and Allan arnt the same type of player either, but the double standards we have is weird

No way did Joe Newell hide today either - I'm not having that for a second. Hes consistently the midfielder who keeps wanting the ball no matter what is happening around him

Again, that helped us get the equaliser and played a part in lasts weeks win too

Newell can play,no doubt about that

But he can also give away needless fouls on a regular basis.

Just wish he’d cut that out of his repertoire.

cameronw-hfc
fellas - “time gentlemen please”!

sheeety times atm but we all want the same thing - success on the park.

its not easy being Green for sure.

I've not resorted to abuse, players or fans. Still won't, mental I'm now getting it for saying the abuse is a bit much.

It’s not Joe Newell’s fault he’s playing in a poor midfield. He’s our best midfielder by a distance, and was again today. Some fans appear to think he needs to do the job of three players. Where was Campbell today? Kyle Magennis is supposed to be our creative midfielder, yet Newell creates more than him on a regular basis.

Watch him for the 2nd goal. Just jogs back, makes no attempt to help Lewis who is one on one. Gets to within a few feet of the attacker and still doesn't stick a foot in. Shocking.

15-01-2023, 12:02 AM
Newell can play,no doubt about that

But he can also give away needless fouls on a regular basis.

Just wish he’d cut that out of his repertoire.That does bug me too - too many times he needlessly barges into folk

Daniel 1875
15-01-2023, 12:35 AM
Watch him for the 2nd goal. Just jogs back, makes no attempt to help Lewis who is one on one. Gets to within a few feet of the attacker and still doesn't stick a foot in. Shocking.

Wild to suggest Newell is even involved in that second goal. Stevenson gets turned inside out and Harkes sticks it in the top corner.

CL0762
15-01-2023, 12:48 AM
You’d think that with all these key metrics. Forward passes, tackling percentage, ball recoveries etc we’d be toiling to keep a hold of him as there would be a host of clubs wanting to do all they could to take him away from us.

Makes you wonder.

Also, to suggest that Newell is ‘by far’ the best central midfielder at the club is the weirdest flex I’ve ever seen given his central midfield teammates are *checks notes* Josh Campbell & Jake Doyle Hayes.

Daniel 1875
15-01-2023, 12:55 AM
You’d think that with all these key metrics. Forward passes, tackling percentage, ball recoveries etc we’d be toiling to keep a hold of him as there would be a host of clubs wanting to do all they could to take him away from us.

Makes you wonder.

Also, to suggest that Newell is ‘by far’ the best central midfielder at the club is the weirdest flex I’ve ever seen given his central midfield teammates are *checks notes* Josh Campbell & Jake Doyle Hayes.

Where are the threads on Campbell or Magennis then? What type of ‘flex’ is that?

CL0762
15-01-2023, 01:04 AM
Where are the threads on Campbell or Magennis then? What type of ‘flex’ is that?

Did you miss the second half of last season when there was threads and multiple posts across various threads about Campbell being absolutely nowhere near the standard to play for Hibs?

Magennis is not long back from a severe knee injury and isn’t primarily a central midfielder maybe?

I honestly don’t get what people see in Newell.

There’s folk on here adamant he doesn’t hide, I saw it with my own eyes various times yesterday. One time in particular he deliberately followed the run of a Dundee United player to avoid showing for the ball. That is hiding.

With all the talent he has, or supposedly has he should be demanding the ball all the ****ing time and trying to do something with it. Not actively running into areas where he cannot receive the ball.

WestStandWillie
15-01-2023, 07:19 AM
Proof of the pudding will be on Sunday. If that midfield wins the battle in the middle of the park against Hearts, it’s cheerio Joe as far as i’m concerned.

I don’t rate him at all. Consistently the weakest link in the middle of the park and i’m fed up to the back teeth of him constantly losing possession and then fouling his opponent.

15-01-2023, 07:28 AM
Proof of the pudding will be on Sunday. If that midfield wins the battle in the middle of the park against Hearts, it’s cheerio Joe as far as i’m concerned.

I don’t rate him at all. Consistently the weakest link in the middle of the park and i’m fed up to the back teeth of him constantly losing possession and then fouling his opponent.

I doubt we win the midfield v hearts even without Newell. We don’t have the back up players either.

15-01-2023, 07:50 AM
Did you miss the second half of last season when there was threads and multiple posts across various threads about Campbell being absolutely nowhere near the standard to play for Hibs?

Magennis is not long back from a severe knee injury and isn’t primarily a central midfielder maybe?

I honestly don’t get what people see in Newell.

There’s folk on here adamant he doesn’t hide, I saw it with my own eyes various times yesterday. One time in particular he deliberately followed the run of a Dundee United player to avoid showing for the ball. That is hiding.

With all the talent he has, or supposedly has he should be demanding the ball all the ****ing time and trying to do something with it. Not actively running into areas where he cannot receive the ball.

would be one of the few times he’s managed that

GreenGray
15-01-2023, 08:06 AM

Again, why does he always get the blame?

Here we have someone almost blaming him for a game that hasn’t even happened yet.

WestStandWillie
15-01-2023, 08:13 AM

Here we have someone almost blaming him for a game that hasn’t even happened yet.

Because he’s a coward and a chancer.

We went from having a brilliant midfield in Allan/McGinn/McGeouch to Joe “heidless chicken” Newell.

LeithMike
15-01-2023, 08:16 AM
Tackles- 2.24 per 90- 82 percentile, cant find the distance ran stat but Hibs put it up a while back and he was right up there if not at the top of our players[emoji106]

So in the top 6% of key passers in the league at least(I think it's world but will say league as not 100% sure). Top 5% tacklers, and top 18% for interceptions. Definitely doesn't look like a lazy player to me.

Starting to remind me of John Rankine in a way. I remember watching John closely and he ran the most in the team and I’m sure he could point that out in the stats. But he was always running into crowded areas and didn’t want the ball. To the untrained eye he looked full of effort but was just going through the motions. Newell is a nice footballer but he’s not a midfielder in a million years. He doesn’t track runners and when he closes a man down it looks aimless with no purpose and he lunges rather than tackles. He’s just not got the attributes for midfield (albeit he is a good passer) and it looks to me like he knows that himself and is trying to look busy. Hibs are going nowhere until this is sorted.

GreenGray

We went from having a brilliant midfield in Allan/McGinn/McGeouch to Joe “heidless chicken” Newell.

What about the other midfielders? Why should he be blamed for our poor recruitment and inability to replace those players?

He gets more stick than most ‘cos he’s our most experienced midfielder, on his game arguably our best, he’s on a **** load of money, he never gets dropped, yet far too often he puts in performances like he did yesterday/the first half yesterday(depending on your view.)

15-01-2023, 08:22 AM

A ‘chancer’ :faf:

What a load of horse manure we’ve had to wade through on this thread. Do folk even know what words mean?? One minute he hides,next minute he’s a ‘show pony’ next minute he’s lazy. Or a heidless chicken. He’s an amalgam of every sort of crap cliche then? It’s not even possible to be rubbish in this many different ways. In fact, if you look at a definition of what a ‘chancer ’ is, it pretty much describes ‘good footballer’, so **** knows what you’re getting at.

‘someone who takes chances and often does improper things to get an advantage over other people’.

GreenGray
15-01-2023, 08:27 AM
He gets more stick than most ‘cos he’s our most experienced midfielder, on his game arguably our best, he’s on a **** load of money, he never gets dropped, yet far too often he puts in performances like he did yesterday/the first half yesterday(depending on your view.)

I don’t think Newell is a world beater but it just always baffles me that he gets the blame every single time. He’s better than most in that team, and I’m convinced if he had better players round him he’d do even better.

15-01-2023, 08:28 AM
The strange thing is I feel we have almost always played him out of position.
I think the only position he would be fine in is behind the strikers as he has an eye for a pass and can actually finish quite calmly.
This would also mean he wouldn't be tracking runs all the time which he is utterly hopeless at.
This won't happen but I am convinced if he had played a lot more further forward we would have had a far better player.

WestStandWillie
15-01-2023, 08:36 AM
A ‘chancer’ :faf:

What a load of horse manure we’ve had to wade through on this thread. Do folk even know what words mean?? One minute he hides,next minute he’s a ‘show pony’ next minute he’s lazy. Or a heidless chicken. He’s an amalgam of every sort of crap cliche then? It’s not even possible to be rubbish in this many different ways. In fact, if you look at a definition of what a ‘chancer ’ is, it pretty much describes ‘good footballer’, so **** knows what you’re getting at.

‘someone who takes chances and often does improper things to get an advantage over other people’.

So he’s not even good at being that then. He’s *****. If you’re happy watching him in the middle of the park, you’ve got a screw loose. Boy is absolutely pap and has been stealing a wage for too long now. Get him out.

NC1875
15-01-2023, 08:39 AM
Clearly not much football IQ on here with the amount of people defending Joe Newell. Terrible player and one of our biggest problems. Plays 90 minutes every week, doesn’t assist, doesn’t score, terrible tackler.

15-01-2023, 08:39 AM
Clearly not much football IQ on here with the amount of people defending Joe Newell. Terrible player and one of our biggest problems. Plays 90 minutes every week, doesn’t assist, doesn’t score, terrible tackler.

He got an assist yesterday

15-01-2023, 08:42 AM

Shhhhh

We all have to be really really angry while providing no actual analysis that makes any sense.

15-01-2023, 08:45 AM
No idea why Newall is getting particular focus on here . He was useless in the first half for sure , but others were every bit as bad as him .

The reality is , from about 50 mins onwards he was right at it . Always available, lots of possession and lots of decent passes..including one that led to the equaliser .

It wasn’t a good performance , but his effort and accountability in the second half was there for anyone to see .

I’d say McGeady was much worse yesterday. Magennis too (although I’m guessing he was playing with a niggle?)

He’s clearly not liked by a decent chunk of the support . Fair enough , yet after being very poor in the first half anyone with an objective view would recognise he stepped up his contribution in the second half .

15-01-2023, 08:47 AM

Only his 2nd league assist from open play in 17 months and his 3rd in over 25 months.

GreenGray
15-01-2023, 08:48 AM
Only his 2nd league assist from open play in 17 months and his 3rd in over 25 months.

Lucky stats don’t tell the full story then.

NC1875
15-01-2023, 08:48 AM

A 30 yard punt into the box. Aye I’ll give you that one 😂

Assist machine that he is.

15-01-2023, 08:53 AM
Newell being out next week has given Johnson a massive problem, I think. I’m not even sure HE knows who he’s going to bring in to replace him yet.

Unlikely we will sign someone fit and match ready to go straight in and the other options all have limitations. Wouldn’t surprise me if he comes up with somethng completely out of leftfied.

With every game seeming like he is walking over a trapdoor it will be interesting to see what he comes up with. I hope he can pull it off.

15-01-2023, 08:53 AM
Bit out calling him a coward

15-01-2023, 08:55 AM
No idea why Newall is getting particular focus on here . He was useless in the first half for sure , but others were every bit as bad as him .

The reality is , from about 50 mins onwards he was right at it . Always available, lots of possession and lots of decent passes..including one that led to the equaliser .

It wasn’t a good performance , but his effort and accountability in the second half was there for anyone to see .

I’d say McGeady was much worse yesterday. Magennis too (although I’m guessing he was playing with a niggle?)

He’s clearly not liked by a decent chunk of the support . Fair enough , yet after being very poor in the first half anyone with an objective view would recognise he stepped up his contribution in the second half .

Are you not answering your own question? A midfielder who plays well for 40 minutes, and awful for 50 minutes in a draw at home to the team second bottom of the league. If that’s what we’re getting from our only midfielder who plays every minute and who is also never asked to play out of position like his other midfielders partners are. That goes a long way to explaining why we have been so poor for so long and a matter of when not if our 4th manager is sacked.

15-01-2023, 08:58 AM
Newell being out next week has given Johnson a massive problem, I think. I’m not even sure HE knows who he’s going to bring in to replace him yet.

Unlikely we will sign someone fit and match ready to go straight in and the other options all have limitations. Wouldn’t surprise me if he comes up with somethng completely out of leftfied.

With every game seeming like he is walking over a trapdoor it will be interesting to see what he comes up with. I hope he can pull it off.

The only option is more ‘creative thinking’ from the manager. Porteous Doyle Hayes Campbell would be my guess but I also think that midfield would be destroyed in the derby. Does he go 541 retaining Fish at CB and Miller at RB and ask Henderson /McKirdy/Youan to play wide midfield and just have Nisbet upon his own?

If he gets a win he’ll deserve credit, although I doubt he’ll get any.

15-01-2023, 09:09 AM
A 30 yard punt into the box. Aye I’ll give you that one [emoji23]

Assist machine that he is.

To be fair, he set it up on a plate for Nisbet. Could hardly miss from there.

15-01-2023, 09:17 AM
People having a go at the manager for having Hibs playing long and continually up the wing...

Newell isn't our biggest problem but he is certainly a contributor to one of our biggest problem areas.

Our midfield have zero drive with the ball at their feet and don't generate space for themselves by moving with pace off the ball. There were many times in the 2nd half where our midfielders were in no position to receive the ball. No option but to go long or up the wing.

On that note, there was roughly a 10min spell where Newell was essentially doing laps of a 40 yard stretch of the pitch without getting the ball or winning the ball.

Jack Ross had a similar problem with skip the midfield.

15-01-2023, 09:18 AM

He showed for the ball and tried to make something happen tbf, which does away with much of the suggestion he hides or is a coward. It's not quite what I have in mind when I think of an 'assist', right enough.

15-01-2023, 09:19 AM
Are you not answering your own question? A midfielder who plays well for 40 minutes, and awful for 50 minutes in a draw at home to the team second bottom of the league. If that’s what we’re getting from our only midfielder who plays every minute and who is also never asked to play out of position like his other midfielders partners are. That goes a long way to explaining why we have been so poor for so long and a matter of when not if our 4th manager is sacked.

Newall plays multi positions in a single game …so not sure where you draw that conclusion from

my point was , he was nowhere near the worst yesterday ..yet he’s under attack from many again .

15-01-2023, 09:24 AM
Newall plays multi positions in a single game …so not sure where you draw that conclusion from

my point was , he was nowhere near the worst yesterday ..yet he’s under attack from many again .

I’d say someone like Josh Campbell plays different positions within games. Don’t think it applies to Newell.

15-01-2023, 09:30 AM

You can’t win with this argument. At the end of the day folk will see what they want to see. Personally I have an irrational dislike of Henderson now that verges on the obsessive and that puts the Newell haters to shame. If I saw him in the street I’d take out a hedge trimmer and take off his toes one by one with it. And park in his space at east mains. The only reason I haven’t started abusing him on the Henderson thread is that there isn’t one.

15-01-2023, 09:36 AM

Agree I was overly harsh with week after week however he has talent but doesnt show it enough and is a huge issue defensively for team as he constantly drops runners such as yesterday which is very lazy imo.

ManchesterGreen
15-01-2023, 10:41 AM
Resumed the role of the invisible man again today. Totally ineffective and horrendous tracking Djoum for the first goal.

Baffling how he still gets a game every week.

15-01-2023, 11:16 AM
Rubbish

I loved Scott Allan

Cmon though, some of Scott Allan's assists last season were laying goals on a plate for people. It was right they were being raved about. Newell yesterday played a ball into Nisbet with his back to goal and three players to outwit. It's not an assist in the same category.

I will agree with you though, don't think Newell hides at all. He's not as bad as some people are making out, but I can see why people expect more from him some weeks.

15-01-2023, 11:31 AM
Resumed the role of the invisible man again today. Totally ineffective and horrendous tracking Djoum for the first goal.

Baffling how he still gets a game every week.

Its absolutely hilarious how folk think he lost his man at the first goal. Watch the highlights. Its clearly our number 7, Mr Kyle Magennis, who lets Djoum just run.

https://www.skysports.com/football/hibernian-vs-dundee-united/465147

Joe is expected to what, turn 180 degrees to follow Kyles man who is already running, on a split seconds notice? Absolutely no chance he can stop that. Magennis putting his hand out is useless. He should've went with his man instead of passing the buck. Newell makes the effort to follow his player as he runs towards Kyle which totally ****s him tracking Djoum.

I actually seen someone even blame Joe for the ****ing second one. There isn't even a Hibs winger in the picture as it goes wide. Disgraceful from our left winger (whomever it was then, they were swapping alot)

His pass for the 2nd is right on Nisbets foot from 50 yards away. Still much to do, but a very good pass.

15-01-2023, 11:34 AM
Its absolutely hilarious how folk think he lost his man at the first goal. Watch the highlights. Its clearly our number 7, Mr Kyle Magennis, who lets Djoum just run.

Joe is expected to what, turn 180 degrees to follow Kyles man who is already running, on a split seconds notice? Absolutely no chance he can stop that. Magennis putting his hand out is useless. He should've went with his man instead of passing the buck. Newell makes the effort to follow his player as he runs towards Kyle which totally ****s him tracking Djoum.

I actually seen someone even blame Joe for the ****ing second one. There isn't even a Hibs winger in the picture as it goes wide. Disgraceful from our left winger (whomever it was then, they were swapping alot)

His pass for the 2nd is right on Nisbets foot from 50 yards away. Still much to do, but a very good pass.

Newell lost his runner all game and is absolutely honking defensively.

15-01-2023, 11:37 AM

What’s Fish doing for the first goal, he doesn’t even attempt to make a challenge, he’s right there and pulls out!

15-01-2023, 11:38 AM

I'm sure you'll have no problem providing evidence of this then. Really don't remember him losing Sibbald often.

15-01-2023, 11:47 AM
I'm sure you'll have no problem providing evidence of this then. Really don't remember him losing Sibbald often.

Did we win the midfield battle yesterday? Would you say that we were the more dominant team in midfield?

15-01-2023, 11:51 AM
Did we win the midfield battle yesterday? Would you say that we were the more dominant team in midfield?

That’s a different argument entirely

15-01-2023, 11:53 AM

Totally unrelated.

Newells biggest defenders on here seem to be folk who don’t go to the games

h1bs4life

Yup the man Newell was originally marking ran away from him towards McGennis .
McGennis picked up Newell’s man and passed on Doumb? Newell as usual not alert and lost him.
Newell to me is everything wrong with us, throwing contract after contract to him he must have a good agent.
Can’t tackle a lot of his challenges are either shirt pulls or trip ups , sending off last years semi final was criminal.
Scott Allan as well as setting up goals chipped in with a few and was wanted by other clubs .
Newell is on easy street with the club throwing contracts at him.

15-01-2023, 11:54 AM

Joe Newell was dribbled past more than any other player on the pitch yesterday according to Opta

Do they?

Joe Newell was dribbled past more than any other player on the pitch yesterday according to Opta

Where can I see those stats?

15-01-2023, 11:55 AM
Where can I see those stats?

whoscored.com

15-01-2023, 11:55 AM
Yup the man Newell was originally marking ran away from him towards McGennis .
McGennis picked up Newell’s man and passed on Doumb? Newell as usual not alert and lost him.
Newell to me is everything wrong with us, throwing contract after contract to him he must have a good agent.
Can’t tackle a lot of his challenges are either shirt pulls or trip ups , sending off last years semi final was criminal.
Scott Allan as well as setting up goals chipped in with a few and was wanted by other clubs .
Newell is on easy street with the club throwing contracts at him.

15-01-2023, 11:57 AM

Why would a winger be in the frame to defend the 2nd? Almost all our players were out of position if remember correctly. Newell was close enough to Stevenson to help, he didn't. Our entire team got dragged across to their left back that was about to launch it. Look at our midfield positioning (not just Newell), we have no centre-midfield presence. No one protecting the middle and most jogging back even after Rocky lost the header and the overlap on Stevenson's side was clear for all to see.

Also, back on to the first. Newell and Magennis should have traded men as the 2 Dundee United players were doing opposing runs. Can't tell what was shouted between them but Magennis clearly has hit arm out towards Djoum as he makes his run which suggests he was passing him onto Newell. The fact Newell does eventually follow Djoum backs this up. Djoum had become his man and he was too slow to react. He didn't follow Sibbald and he didn't follow Djoum. Magennis made the move to Sibbald. Newell ended up marking nobody.

This might seem silly but JDH is probably our best midfielder. I think it shows as Newell, Magennis and Campbell have been pretty much mainstays in the team recently and we've still been largely rotten. Wing play, deep crosses and long punts is what we do. We can't play through the middle.

15-01-2023, 12:01 PM
whoscored.com

Thanks

15-01-2023, 12:04 PM
whoscored.com

Those stats say Newell was our second best player…

15-01-2023, 12:11 PM
Those stats say Newell was our second best player…

Our second best player was also the most dribbled past. I think all it proves is stats don’t really prove a conclusive picture either way.

15-01-2023, 12:11 PM
Personally, I think the issue with Newell is he’s supposed to be our ‘main man’ the ‘play maker’ the best midfielder we have. He probably is and that’s the issue.

Perhaps if we sign better midfielders and we are not so heavily reliant on Newell and we play him with better around him, he’d be good imo.

ManchesterGreen
15-01-2023, 12:16 PM

McGennis gives Newell the shout and gestures to him to pick him. Newell doesn’t and the end result is the goal. Newell lazy again when it comes to tracking. Lack of effort.

quicker he’s out the club the better.

15-01-2023, 12:35 PM
McGennis gives Newell the shout and gestures to him to pick him. Newell doesn’t and the end result is the goal. Newell lazy again when it comes to tracking. Lack of effort.

Yip 100% newell should have been tracking him better, he is about 5ft away from him at the throw in, magennis clearly points at him for newell to track him and he is so slow at closing him down(doesn't even do that)

h1bs4life
15-01-2023, 12:46 PM

Brilliant response must have took a while to think of that.
Whatever next from you probably we should recall Doidge as he is great centre forward

15-01-2023, 12:47 PM

So if you can't be arsed tracking your man, you just point and it's that persons problem aye?

Magennis passed the buck because he let his man run off him. Infact, Magennis was in a woeful position to begin with.

15-01-2023, 12:50 PM
Yip 100% newell should have been tracking him better, he is about 5ft away from him at the throw in, magennis clearly points at him for newell to track him and he is so slow at closing him down(doesn't even do that)

Correct, Its football basics that Newell and Magennis just swap men there. Newell doesnt realise in time and thats how Djoum gets in behind him.

15-01-2023, 12:50 PM
He's basically Liam Craig mk 2.

15-01-2023, 12:51 PM
So if you can't be arsed tracking your man, you just point and it's that persons problem aye?

Magennis passed the buck because he let his man run off him. Infact, Magennis was in a woeful position to begin with.

To be fair, passing players on is what good teams do. It looks like a communication breakdown. Difficult for fans to blame either party in that situation because the shout won’t have been heard by the crowd.
Fair to say they both look bad.

15-01-2023, 12:57 PM

If this is your thoughts on how the game should be played(or not played) I'm glad I was never in the same midfield as you

15-01-2023, 12:59 PM
He's basically Liam Craig mk 2.

He’s not.

15-01-2023, 01:01 PM
If this is your thoughts on how the game should be played(or not played) I'm glad I was never in the same midfield as you

In this scenario, Joe Newell has no chance. He's already moved to track his man (that he was actually on the right side of to begin with) and cannot catch Djoum.

Magennis, wrong side, let's his man run and tries to pass him off. If Kyle is on the right side, goal side, Djoum cannot run into that area. It's absolutely woeful by Magennis and even if Joe reacts quicker he's up against it.

15-01-2023, 01:03 PM
In this scenario, Joe Newell has no chance. He's already moved to track his man (that he was actually on the right side of to begin with) and cannot catch Djoum.

Magennis, wrong side, let's his man run and tries to pass him off. If Kyle is on the right side, goal side, Djoum cannot run into that area. It's absolutely woeful by Magennis and even if Joe reacts quicker he's up against it.

If that's what you think then I'll bow out as you are clearly blinkered and can't see the obvious

NC1875
15-01-2023, 01:06 PM
Personally, I think the issue with Newell is he’s supposed to be our ‘main man’ the ‘play maker’ the best midfielder we have. He probably is and that’s the issue.

Perhaps if we sign better midfielders and we are not so heavily reliant on Newell and we play him with better around him, he’d be good imo.

Being our best midfielder doesn’t make him a good player though, as some people keep telling us on here he is. Largely ineffective and if we had any other half decent midfielders he wouldn’t play. More an indictment on how bad the squad is, rather than Newell actually being any good.

15-01-2023, 01:07 PM
He’s not.

You’re right, he’s Liam Craig but without the goals and assists.

h1bs4life
15-01-2023, 01:09 PM

NC1875

You’ve clearly never played football at any level yet come on here defending the garbage that we have to put up with each week.

2 Center midfielders, and you’re saying they shouldn’t be passing on players. Aye let’s just pick a man at the start of the game, you mark him no matter what.
Just run about like a headless chicken. Oh wait…

Or the bouncy ginger hair.

15-01-2023, 01:16 PM

Are we not counting his assist yesterday?

15-01-2023, 01:18 PM

😂😂

15-01-2023, 01:22 PM
You’ve clearly never played football at any level yet come on here defending the garbage that we have to put up with each week.

2 Center midfielders, and you’re saying they shouldn’t be passing on players. Aye let’s just pick a man at the start of the game, you mark him no matter what.

So funny how not one of you can even debate it and prove me wrong. Just nonsense like "you've clearly never played football". Neither did Arrigo Sacci.

Just admit you don't like Newell and you'll blame him regardless of Magennis, who actually played far worse yesterday, giving him a ****ty situation to deal with.

GreenGray
15-01-2023, 01:24 PM

Have a season ticket and I defend him, strange comment.

15-01-2023, 01:24 PM
If that's what you think then I'll bow out as you are clearly blinkered and can't see the obvious

Sorry. You're right. If Magennis is in the right place and paying attention, his man would go right through him and run away anyway.

Joe should've turned 180 and caught the guy with a 10 yard run on him.

Just say you don't like him and never will. It will be less embarrassing for you.

NC1875
15-01-2023, 01:29 PM
So funny how not one of you can even debate it and prove me wrong. Just nonsense like "you've clearly never played football". Neither did Arrigo Sacci.

Just admit you don't like Newell and you'll blame him regardless of Magennis, who actually played far worse yesterday, giving him a ****ty situation to deal with.

Prove you wrong about what ? I said he doesn’t get enough assists and goals and can’t tackle. He’s had twice as many bookings as assists or goals in his time at Hibs. Great from your main man in midfield who plays 90 minutes most weeks. 👍🏼

15-01-2023, 01:31 PM
Prove you wrong about what ? I said he doesn’t get enough assists and goals and can’t tackle. He’s had twice as many bookings as assists or goals in his time at Hibs. Great from your main man in midfield who plays 90 minutes most weeks. 👍🏼

Tackles just fine.

Maybe not enough assists or goals, but not entirely his job. How many do you expect him to get?

NC1875
15-01-2023, 01:34 PM
Tackles just fine.

Maybe not enough assists or goals, but not entirely his job. How many do you expect him to get?

More than 2 league goals in 4 seasons from a centre midfielder. Don’t think that’s asking too much. Like I said, if we had any semi decent midfielders, he wouldn’t play. Because he’s just not very good at anything.

15-01-2023, 01:36 PM

I’m counting it and Liam Craig was significantly more prolific in goalscoring and assisting.

15-01-2023, 01:39 PM
More than 2 league goals in 4 seasons from a centre midfielder. Don’t think that’s asking too much. Like I said, if we had any semi decent midfielders, he wouldn’t play. Because he’s just not very good at anything.

Wait till you find out how many Dylan McGeouch got in 4 years...

Goals aren't the problem with Newell. He needs to be consistently better, and be more aggressive in his play at times for sure, but goals aren't his problem.

15-01-2023, 01:43 PM
Some folk will be gutted that they can’t moan about his performance next Sunday.

NC1875
15-01-2023, 01:44 PM
Wait till you find out how many Dylan McGeouch got in 4 years...

Goals aren't the problem with Newell. He needs to be consistently better, and be more aggressive in his play at times for sure, but goals aren't his problem.

If Joe newell was half the player Dylan was I wouldn’t care about his goals. The. Problem is he can’t dictate the play and keep the ball moving like Dylan, he doesn’t assist and he doesn’t score. So what is it that he does that makes you think he’s a player ?

Is he just a ***** Dylan Mcgeough then ?

15-01-2023, 01:46 PM

Haven't watched the goal again so I don't which of you I agree with but the poster you replied to didn't say that. He was just talking about this specific instance. The equivalent would be suggesting you've said midfielders should always pass players on in any given situation, no matter what.

15-01-2023, 01:49 PM
Tackles just fine.

Do you think he does enough when we don’t have possession?

NC1875
15-01-2023, 01:54 PM
Haven't watched the goal again so I don't which of you I agree with but the poster you replied to didn't say that. He was just talking about this specific instance. The equivalent would be suggesting you've said midfielders should always pass players on in any given situation, no matter what.

I’ve watched it again, his man runs away from the ball to create space for Djoum to run into. Newell runs after him like a schoolboy instead of passing him to Magennis and tracking Djoums run.

Magennis is pointing telling him. He’s taking Newells man so newell has to match the run. He doesn’t.

It’s not my complaint about him anyway. I think we can and should have better playing, some people disagree.

15-01-2023, 01:59 PM

it was a good pass, but it wasn’t on a plate. Nisbet had to control it, and then beat 2 players (the man marking him and another) before he shot through a crowded box

15-01-2023, 02:08 PM
I’ve watched it again, his man runs away from the ball to create space for Djoum to run into. Newell runs after him like a schoolboy instead of passing him to Magennis and tracking Djoums run.

Magennis is pointing telling him. He’s taking Newells man so newell has to match the run. He doesn’t.

It’s not my complaint about him anyway. I think we can and should have better playing, some people disagree.

Kyle completely loses his man, no debate there. Totally left in the dust. Joe could've reacted to this quicker maybe, but if his man stays still, he can flick it round the corner into Djoum easily and were equally ****ed.

Honestly the metal gymnastics being used here to blame Newell and avoid blaming Kyle are laughable.

NC1875
15-01-2023, 02:11 PM
Kyle completely loses his man, no debate there. Totally left in the dust. Joe could've reacted to this quicker maybe, but if his man stays still, he can flick it round the corner into Djoum easily and were equally ****ed.

Honestly the metal gymnastics being used here to blame Newell and avoid blaming Kyle are laughable.

Opinions eh. The goal yesterday isn’t what I’m debating though. It’s just Joe Newell in general. And you’ve provided nothing to justify why he should be playing. He’s good at nothing.

15-01-2023, 02:15 PM
I’d say someone like Josh Campbell plays different positions within games. Don’t think it applies to Newell.

he’s often moved from one CM role to another, or to a more defensive midfield role …sometimes more forward ….not to right back I’d agree ..more nuanced perhaps. But still multi roles …

15-01-2023, 02:15 PM
You can’t win with this argument. At the end of the day folk will see what they want to see. Personally I have an irrational dislike of Henderson now that verges on the obsessive and that puts the Newell haters to shame. If I saw him in the street I’d take out a hedge trimmer and take off his toes one by one with it. And park in his space at east mains. The only reason I haven’t started abusing him on the Henderson thread is that there isn’t one.

[emoji1787][emoji1787]

15-01-2023, 02:16 PM
Opinions eh. The goal yesterday isn’t what I’m debating though. It’s just Joe Newell in general. And you’ve provided nothing to justify why he should be playing. He’s good at nothing.

I don't have to prove anything, though, do I. I think he should be starting. He is starting. Prove why he shouldn't be?

NC1875
15-01-2023, 02:19 PM
I don't have to prove anything, though, do I. I think he should be starting. He is starting. Prove why he shouldn't be?

Part of a terrible midfield for how long
Has seen 3, only a matter of time before it’s 4, managers sacked
Doesn’t score enough
Doesn’t assist enough
Doesn’t do enough off the ball
Doesn’t do very much on it either.

But according to you, he’s not the problem. Or not even part of it. Aye ok then 👍🏼

We’ll agree to disagree.