View Full Version : Porteous

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

13-09-2022, 08:37 AM
Called up for Scotland for the nations league. Well done Ryan!

13-09-2022, 08:41 AM
Not that many CBs in the squad as well, hopefully he'll get some gametime

13-09-2022, 08:43 AM
good to see, congratulations Ryan

Posh Swanny
13-09-2022, 08:43 AM
Picked as a deep-lying midfield playmaker?

EGL2000
13-09-2022, 08:51 AM
Very surprised at this thought a couple of seasons ago he should have been walking in, however think he's been really poor recently.

13-09-2022, 08:52 AM
Hopefully helps him get back to his best.

Feels, at times, that we are struggling defensively but our goals against isn’t actually bad at all so he must have been doing something right.

13-09-2022, 09:09 AM
Well done Ryan, pleased for you

13-09-2022, 09:11 AM
Hopefully this is the boost he needs, well done Ryan. :aok:

HTD1875
13-09-2022, 09:16 AM
Halkett and Souttar injured, Gallagher no longer in contention. Robertson injured so Tierney will be switched to LWB. Massive chance for a cap.

13-09-2022, 09:24 AM
Very surprised at this thought a couple of seasons ago he should have been walking in, however think he's been really poor recently.

Don't get this, he has been a constant in the 2nd best defence in the league, only Celtic conceded less and they have only conceded 1.

Hard enough for the lad with the abuse he gets from other teams and the scottish media.

Maybe the perception that he's been poor is due to not really having a settled centre half partnership. Hes been having to carry Rocky and Hanlon all season.

13-09-2022, 09:26 AM
Deserved. Rough game at st mirren but otherwise good this season.

13-09-2022, 09:37 AM
Hopefully will concentrate him. Not being a big fish in a smaller pond may do him some good as I feel his ego has been a bit OTT this season and being in a changing room of other leaders may improve his own leadership skills.

Hope he gets his cap, has a good showing and comes back the best player and team member he can be.

hibby rae
13-09-2022, 09:58 AM
Halkett and Souttar injured, Gallagher no longer in contention. Robertson injured so Tierney will be switched to LWB. Massive chance for a cap.

I think we'll see Tierney stay where he is and Hickey will be in Robertson's slot.

13-09-2022, 10:07 AM

We’ve seen enough excellent performances from him to suggest he will be back to his best soon. As others have said, maybe this call up will help him get his focus back.

13-09-2022, 10:34 AM
Amazed to be honest. Hopefully gives him a boost though.

13-09-2022, 10:57 AM
Deserved. Rough game at st mirren but otherwise good this season.

Agree thoroughly deserved.

13-09-2022, 10:57 AM
How close is Doig to a cap?

13-09-2022, 11:00 AM
A supprise certainly.

13-09-2022, 11:46 AM
I'm absolutely delighted for him, I always get a buzz seeing a Hibs player's name in these squad lists. :thumbsup:

13-09-2022, 11:57 AM
Think Robertson & Tierney will be ahead of him

13-09-2022, 11:57 AM
Well done Ryan. Good to see a good number of players who are doing well at EPL teams in the squad, that's 11 I count.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FchaVovWIAEmP9q?format=jpg&name=900x900

13-09-2022, 12:10 PM
Think Robertson & Tierney will be ahead of him

Seemingly he’s “playing higher up the park” for Verona, so his chances will be enhanced by not being in competition with some of our highest profile players.

evy
13-09-2022, 12:15 PM

He's behind Hickey in the queue already behind Tierney and Robertson.

13-09-2022, 12:27 PM
I think we'll see Tierney stay where he is and Hickey will be in Robertson's slot.

Or Greg Taylor. He’s been playing really well for Celtic. Think Hickey has predominantly been playing RB for Brentford.

GRA
13-09-2022, 12:59 PM
Don't get this, he has been a constant in the 2nd best defence in the league, only Celtic conceded less and they have only conceded 1.

Hard enough for the lad with the abuse he gets from other teams and the scottish media.

Maybe the perception that he's been poor is due to not really having a settled centre half partnership. Hes been having to carry Rocky and Hanlon all season.

I've been saying to my mates he'll get capped for Scotland one day. Kept getting laughed at. If he gets on will make my prediction all the more sweeter.

Don't think he's been as consistent thus far this season but the quality is still there so deserves it as a reward for his work the last few seasons. No other Scottish defender his age has the experience or talent he does. If he just cuts out the rashness he'll be getting into Scottish squads on a more consistent basis.

hibby rae
13-09-2022, 01:08 PM
Or Greg Taylor. He’s been playing really well for Celtic. Think Hickey has predominantly been playing RB for Brentford.

I think I'd prefer Hickey there, but Clarke does like Taylor (I assumed he was older than he actually is as well!).

I think Hickey and Patterson will compliment each other well in the WB roles whilst Robbo is out.

But I'd definitely be keeping Tierney where he is and not pushing him wide because Robertson out. When Scotland have failed in recent history one of the big reasons has been too much tinkering at the back.

hibby rae
13-09-2022, 01:11 PM
I've been saying to my mates he'll get capped for Scotland one day. Kept getting laughed at. If he gets on will make my prediction all the more sweeter.

Don't think he's been as consistent thus far this season but the quality is still there so deserves it as a reward for his work the last few seasons. No other Scottish defender his age has the experience or talent he does. If he just cuts out the rashness he'll be getting into Scottish squads on a more consistent basis.

He'll inevitably start getting caps at some point. As much as I'll hate to see him go, it would be beneficial for his progression, and Scotland, if he moves away from Scotland.

England seems to be the logical move, but clubs in Italy seem to like Scots at the moment and it seems like the game there would suit him down to the ground, plus he clearly loves a tan.

13-09-2022, 01:13 PM
Hickey is adaptable on both left and right foot, that's why he's a good player to have in the team!

13-09-2022, 01:45 PM
Well done Ryan, on his game he's probably the best defender in the league, a few wee lapses but every player does have that.

EGL2000
13-09-2022, 02:19 PM

Little chance of this with the talent ahead of him in that position. Only way I can see it is playing him at CB. However he's almost playing as a left midfielder now for Verona.

EGL2000
13-09-2022, 02:21 PM
He'll inevitably start getting caps at some point. As much as I'll hate to see him go, it would be beneficial for his progression, and Scotland, if he moves away from Scotland.

England seems to be the logical move, but clubs in Italy seem to like Scots at the moment and it seems like the game there would suit him down to the ground, plus he clearly loves a tan.

Would love to see him go to Italy, feel it's a great move for any Scottish talents right now.

13-09-2022, 03:27 PM
Hickey is adaptable on both left and right foot, that's why he's a good player to have in the team!

I was at the Ukraine game and thought he really struggled on the right. Seems a lot more comfortable on the left but very little chance starting in position given Robertson and Tierney.

cameronw-hfc
13-09-2022, 03:29 PM
Strange timing. He's been left out of squads whilst in much better form before, probably been our worst CB this season and gets a call up.

He's good enough, hopefully this call up helps him settle a bit and get back into form for Hibs.

hibby rae
13-09-2022, 03:44 PM
Strange timing. He's been left out of squads whilst in much better form before, probably been our worst CB this season and gets a call up.

He's good enough, hopefully this call up helps him settle a bit and get back into form for Hibs.

Cooper and Souttar are both injured.

13-09-2022, 03:44 PM
I was at the Ukraine game and thought he really struggled on the right. Seems a lot more comfortable on the left but very little chance starting in position given Robertson and Tierney.

Agree with you. The glut of left backs Scotland has is ridiculous but I don’t think we should be shoe-horning Hickey into the team on the right.

Apparently he played there when younger but it doesn’t look like he’s comfortable on that side of the park.

13-09-2022, 04:24 PM

Yep thought he was a bit like a rabbit in the headlights in that game

cameronw-hfc
13-09-2022, 05:00 PM
Yep thought he was a bit like a rabbit in the headlights in that game

He's naturally right footed and can play on the right just as easy as the left, he looked like a rabbit in the headlights aye, but the rest of the team didn't look any better. His performance in Serie A and PL at RB are enough to convince me. One bad game for the NT when the rest of the team were awful isn't enough to tell me he can't play there.

13-09-2022, 05:19 PM
Good to see him involved again.

13-09-2022, 05:29 PM
A big well done to Ryan. A proud moment especially if he gets a bit if game time. Bit surprised to be honest. How would this be received amongst non Hibs fans?

hibby rae
13-09-2022, 05:44 PM
A big well done to Ryan. A proud moment especially if he gets a bit if game time. Bit surprised to be honest. How would this be received amongst non Hibs fans?

He's the definition of a marmite player to non-Hibs fans.

Some really rate him, others think he's crap.

13-09-2022, 07:14 PM
Looks like Porteous will be competing with Jack Hendry for a place on th right of the back 3. Hendry yet to start a game in Serie A but you’d expect he’ll start alongside Hanley and Tierney.

13-09-2022, 07:37 PM
Agree with you. The glut of left backs Scotland has is ridiculous but I don’t think we should be shoe-horning Hickey into the team on the right.

Apparently he played there when younger but it doesn’t look like he’s comfortable on that side of the park.

Pretty sure he's started every game this season for Brentford at right back, and looked absolutely fine there any time I've seen him.

1875Sean
13-09-2022, 07:52 PM
Looks like Porteous will be competing with Jack Hendry for a place on th right of the back 3. Hendry yet to start a game in Serie A but you’d expect he’ll start alongside Hanley and Tierney.

Your forgetting about McTominay who will prob start there

hibby rae
13-09-2022, 08:14 PM

I'm not so sure about that. I'd say Clarke generally has favoured Tierney, Hanley, and Hendry as his starting 3.

Can never be completely sure where McTominay will start, if he even does.

1875Sean
13-09-2022, 08:24 PM
I'm not so sure about that. I'd say Clarke generally has favoured Tierney, Hanley, and Hendry as his starting 3.

Can never be completely sure where McTominay will start, if he even does.

McTominay has started more games in a back 3 under Clarke than anywhere else, played there in the last game against

hibby rae
13-09-2022, 08:35 PM
McTominay has started more games in a back 3 under Clarke than anywhere else, played there in the last game against

How many of those has he started? He's played 16 times since Clarke came in to Hendry's 14. However, Hendry has only played in the one position whereas McTomiany has played in more than one

1875Sean
13-09-2022, 08:42 PM
How many of those has he started? He's played 16 times since Clarke came in to Hendry's 14. However, Hendry has only played in the one position whereas McTomiany has played in more than one

Since 2020 he‘s played 21 times, 14 of which in a back 3. Guess we will wait and see but I have a feeling Porto won’t get a cap unless there is a injury to Hendry or McTomiany.

13-09-2022, 08:54 PM
Think he could really stand out at international level, certainly when you compare him to the likes of Hendry and Cooper who are getting regular game time.

Agree with the general point though that it's a bit ironic he finally gets a call up when he's probably been playing his worst (or least consistent) football since making his way into the Hibs first team.

13-09-2022, 09:08 PM

You’re right. Might depend if Clarke sticks with Gilmour in midfield as to where McTominay plays.

Albeit there are 3 games and there is usually a bit of rotation

hibby rae
13-09-2022, 09:26 PM
Since 2020 he‘s played 21 times, 14 of which in a back 3. Guess we will wait and see but I have a feeling Porto won’t get a cap unless there is a injury to Hendry or McTomiany.

But since Hendry started coming into the team again it's 15 caps to 14.

Porto won't start anyway. He might get some leg time over the 3 games.

Clarke is pretty good about everyone in the squad getting at least a small opportunity.

13-09-2022, 10:26 PM
Scotland's back 3 is based on having a LCH and RCH who like to support very advanced wingbacks. That's Porteous all over.

13-09-2022, 11:37 PM

Agreed. His worst ever start to a season imo and he gets a call up. Strange times.

sadtom
14-09-2022, 12:37 AM
Well done Ryan.
Kick on.
Scotland Captain in the next 5-7 years.

14-09-2022, 03:41 AM
Pretty sure he's started every game this season for Brentford at right back, and looked absolutely fine there any time I've seen him.

Pretty sure I read on the BBC that he was MOM in two successive games...

14-09-2022, 08:38 AM

Wouldn’t be surprised to see Taylor at LWB … doing very well for the Green bum cheek

rotherhamrob
14-09-2022, 08:40 AM

Lol.
He hasn't carried rocky in the slightest.

20-09-2022, 07:44 AM
Just read Hanley has pulled out with an injury and don't think a replacement has been brought in.

Looks very likely we'll see Porto starting.

20-09-2022, 07:50 AM
But, but how can Porteous be kept in the squad after the current and ongoing media assassination? Steve Clarke has to consider his own position and can’t afford to field this villain of the peace. :rolleyes:

20-09-2022, 07:55 AM
Ryan Porteous Ate My Hamster.

Probably drowns kittens and laughs about it as well.

20-09-2022, 07:57 AM
Just read Hanley has pulled out with an injury and don't think a replacement has been brought in.

He's likely still behind most. Hendry, McKenna, McTominay and Tierney will probably play CB ahead of him. Could see Hickey or Taylor starting at left back now Hanley is out.

I reckon he'll get a cap at some point over the 3 games though.

Paulie Walnuts
20-09-2022, 08:35 AM
He's likely still behind most. Hendry, McKenna, McTominay and Tierney will probably play CB ahead of him. Could see Hickey or Taylor starting at left back now Hanley is out.

I reckon he'll get a cap at some point over the 3 games though.

Yeah, I’d fancy Hickey and Taylor are more likely to be playing than Porteous.

Tierney in the centre of a three with Hendry and McKenna.

20-09-2022, 08:37 AM

Good for him, I say, need more like him in our squad.

20-09-2022, 08:58 AM

We've already got a Starr man.

20-09-2022, 09:05 AM
Richard Gere used a gerbil instead, yeah?

20-09-2022, 09:12 AM
The coverage since the weekend has only convinced me that Porteous won’t be signing a new deal. He’s better off out of this country.

20-09-2022, 09:16 AM
It will be a sore one to swallow if we lose him for nothing.

20-09-2022, 09:29 AM

Doubt it, Clarke will still play Mctominay at CB. Reckon we'll see a back 5 of Patterson, McTominay, Hendry, McKenna, Tierney.

20-09-2022, 09:51 AM
Doubt it, Clarke will still play Mctominay at CB. Reckon we'll see a back 5 of Patterson, McTominay, Hendry, McKenna, Tierney.

I'd be amazed if he plays the same team in all 3 games and I'd be surprised if Porteous didn't start at least one of the games, even if I don't expect him to start the first one and be a regular first pick from now on.

22-09-2022, 09:37 PM
https://twitter.com/optaanalyst/status/1572959688865579008?s=46&t=QKC2G***koTl2Xw1lYnwjQ

Just posted this on another thread, Porteous is the 7th most creative player in the league based on creating chances or ‘secondary chances’

Quite incredible for a centre back

22-09-2022, 09:58 PM

Ah ****** hope no. I doubt there's another human on the planet who thinks McTominay is a center back.

22-09-2022, 10:31 PM
https://twitter.com/optaanalyst/status/1572959688865579008?s=46&t=QKC2G***koTl2Xw1lYnwjQ

Just posted this on another thread, Porteous is the 7th most creative player in the league based on creating chances or ‘secondary chances’

Quite incredible for a centre back

We're gonna be in trouble if he leaves for a nominal fee in January - shows how much of our chance creation comes through him.

Great to see him ahead of Barry Mackay

23-09-2022, 12:06 PM
I think Ryan's passing and creativity is often overlooked by his critics. He definitely has things to improve on with his game but he's been an excellent centre half for a while now and so much of our positive play comes through him.

I see the odd post now and then saying he'll be easy to replace and there's a reason no teams have come in for him etc but imo we'll really struggle going forward without him in the team. Unless we replace him well...

23-09-2022, 01:07 PM
The coverage since the weekend has only convinced me that Porteous won’t be signing a new deal. He’s better off out of this country.

If you believe Charlie Nicholas, he's not as good as what Porto thinks he is. Otherwise, he'd already be playing at a higher level. :rolleyes:

If he moves, I'd like him to go to Italy. They'd love him over there.

23-09-2022, 01:18 PM
It will be a sore one to swallow if we lose him for nothing.

We would assume that after the Gerrard comments,the pub incident and now this clown goodwin,that the club have been very supportive and helping Ryan in any way he feels he needs it .
I said that if goodwin was not dealt with,that might have affected decisions on Ryans part.
Lets hope he now gets these distractions, which must be affecting him, out his mind and signs another contract that is good for all.
He will know how the support regard him,thats for sure.

23-09-2022, 02:47 PM
If you believe Charlie Nicholas, he's not as good as what Porto thinks he is. Otherwise, he'd already be playing at a higher level. :rolleyes:

Yes it would be a fantastic move for the guy, but only after he has signed a wee contract to make sure Hibs get some benefit.

Juice-Terry
23-09-2022, 02:56 PM
Young Scots are clearly in demand Italy.

23-09-2022, 03:27 PM

He would be worshipped in Italy, would be a fantastic move.

25-09-2022, 06:54 PM
Chance Porto will get capped now McKenna has withdrawn

25-09-2022, 07:01 PM

If that bam told me it was raining I'd look out the window to check for myself.

25-09-2022, 07:09 PM
Chance Porto will get capped now McKenna has withdrawn

Not ideal if he has to come in for arguably the toughest game. Albeit there is a chance that Clarke will pick Declan Gallagher instead, that would be a real kick in the teeth….

I could see us going back to a 3 with Kingsley and Porteous either side of Hendry.

25-09-2022, 07:53 PM
Hopefully Porteous starts, would look silly if Gallagher or Kingsley started after not being in the initial squad.

If he does I have 100% confidence in him, when fully concentrated he’s a very good centre half - he’ll be right at it from the start and I honestly think he’ll surprise the country (who don’t support Hibs) at just how good he is

JammyDoidger
25-09-2022, 08:05 PM
Gallagher hendry Kingsley watch this.

25-09-2022, 08:08 PM
If that bam told me it was raining I'd look out the window to check for myself.

Most famous for the comeback he had for Geoff Stelling that sounded like he’d been saving it up since Primary 4.

25-09-2022, 08:58 PM
Both those yam funds that are in are humpty 😆😄

25-09-2022, 09:01 PM
Wouldn't be surprised to see Kingsley start due to him being left sided. Right kick in the nuts for Porteous if Gallagher is preferred though.

25-09-2022, 09:04 PM
Hope Porto gets his first cap this week - I'm sure he'll be itching to ram that slavering twonk Goodwin's words down his throat and show Scotland supporters what a good player he is. Hope even more that he'll sign an extension with Hibs.

25-09-2022, 09:04 PM

Charlie Nicholas struggles to pronounce his own name

25-09-2022, 09:41 PM
Thought he'd get some minutes but since Clarke's gone with 4 at the back now can't see him playing bar a time wasting substitution or an injury, crucial game on Tuesday

Edit: just saw McKenna is out now too. Be very interesting to see if porto starts against Ukraine now

Earlydelivery
26-09-2022, 04:48 AM
For what he gives us he’ll be irreplaceable… somebody going to get the steal of the century if he goes for nothing.

26-09-2022, 06:08 AM
For what he gives us he’ll be irreplaceable… somebody going to get the steal of the century if he goes for nothing.

He's a much better player than some of our support give him credit for.

26-09-2022, 06:27 AM
Wouldn't be surprised to see Kingsley start due to him being left sided. Right kick in the nuts for Porteous if Gallagher is preferred though.

I think Clarke is likely to pick Gallagher as he has used him before and he has never let him down.

I would also prefer if Porteous was being played in his preferred RCH role, rather than crowbarred in to the left. McKenna is a big loss there.

Should also be said that Gallagher has apparently been playing well this season.

Helensburghhibs
26-09-2022, 06:41 AM
I think if he plays gallacher then he has to go with a back 3. Theres no way we can play a high line back 4 like we have been with his lack of pace.
Id prefer to see porto or even kingsley, although i think a back 3 could work with mcgegor sitting in front

DIXIHIBS
26-09-2022, 08:01 AM
Would love to see porto get his chance but what a game to get your debut in. Very high pressure game. Could make or break him. Plays well and people might start to see he actually a good player despite the negative media that surrounds him. Plays badly and the knives would be out even more than usual.

26-09-2022, 08:21 AM
Would love to see porto get his chance but what a game to get your debut in. Very high pressure game. Could make or break him. Plays well and people might start to see he actually a good player despite the negative media that surrounds him. Plays badly and the knives would be out even more than usual.

He’s got the right character to deal with the pressure IMO.

Remember his first league start being at Ibrox in a back three made up of him Ambrose and Stevenson and it didn’t phase him.

Bigger issue is whether we can deal with the quality lost. Looking like 4 full backs missing who play regular in the Premier League. Plus McKenna and McTominay, another two regulars for their teams in that league.

26-09-2022, 08:34 AM

He's a much better player than some of our support give him credit for.

Maybe, but he's not as good as he thinks he is.

Am I doing this right?

26-09-2022, 08:43 AM
Porto seems to excel in bigger / higher pressure games.

If selected tomorrow, he’ll do just fine.

26-09-2022, 09:04 AM
Charlie Nicholas is a wine sodden old gimp. My ersehole speaks more sense than that fud.

DIXIHIBS
26-09-2022, 10:27 AM
He’s got the right character to deal with the pressure IMO.

Remember his first league start being at Ibrox in a back three made up of him Ambrose and Stevenson and it didn’t phase him.

Bigger issue is whether we can deal with the quality lost. Looking like 4 full backs missing who play regular in the Premier League. Plus McKenna and McTominay, another two regulars for their teams in that league.

True. We are missing guys from Liverpool man utd arsepal etc. There experience is invaluable in games like this.

26-09-2022, 10:59 AM
Charlie Nicholas is a wine sodden old gimp. My ersehole speaks more sense than that fud.

Brilliant :greengrin

26-09-2022, 11:33 AM
Maybe, but he's not as good as he thinks he is.

Am I doing this right?

26-09-2022, 09:01 PM
I think he would be better out of it .

JamesHFC
27-09-2022, 11:48 AM
Starting tonight.

27-09-2022, 11:51 AM
Go on Porto.

derekduval
27-09-2022, 12:01 PM

Alternatively, Plays a blinder, maybe even wins a penalty and then what do the media say?

27-09-2022, 12:31 PM
Alternatively, Plays a blinder, maybe even wins a penalty and then what do the media say?

Come on, it's completely unreasonable to expect Stevie Clarke to coach Lee Johnson's despicable cheating out of him in the space of a week.

Stairway 2 7
27-09-2022, 12:35 PM
Yas delighted

27-09-2022, 01:15 PM
Hope we play him on the right

27-09-2022, 01:28 PM
Starting tonight.

Where you seeing this?

27-09-2022, 01:32 PM
Hope he shows everyone that he’s a good player and how much that is lost in amongst all the ***** that is routinely written and spoken about him.

27-09-2022, 01:38 PM
Hope we play him on the right

Think he might play centre of a three Hendry and Kingsley the other two.

If true good luck to him massive opportunity in a huge game.

Prof. Shaggy
27-09-2022, 02:03 PM
Where you seeing this?

I'm wondering the same.

27-09-2022, 02:05 PM
I'm wondering the same.

Think someone's got a wee bit too excited haha, I'd be quite surprised if he's out into a back 4 for his debut in such a huge game

27-09-2022, 02:26 PM
Team will not be released until the usual time. I would assume Clarke would go with Gallagher and Hendry before Porto, I seen someone on Twitter saying Gallagher has more experience than Porto but they are roughly the same for 1st team appearances, maybe they just meant he is older, I think Porto has played 6 more games. What could change that is the rumoured sickness going around the squad right now, with Taylor being another who is meant to be sick, could mean a start for Doig! Really hope Porto finally gets his cap tonight though.

MagicSwirlingShip
27-09-2022, 03:13 PM
Team will not be released until the usual time. I would assume Clarke would go with Gallagher and Hendry before Porto, I seen someone on Twitter saying Gallagher has more experience than Porto but they are roughly the same for 1st team appearances, maybe they just meant he is older, I think Porto has played 6 more games. What could change that is the rumoured sickness going around the squad right now, with Taylor being another who is meant to be sick, could mean a start for Doig! Really hope Porto finally gets his cap tonight though.

Gallagher was brilliant against Mitrovic when we beat them. That kind of experience is what they would be referring to.

Hope Porto plays but I think he will go with Gallagher.

27-09-2022, 03:14 PM
Gallagher was brilliant against Mitrovic when we beat them. That kind of experience is what they would be referring to.

Hope Porto plays but I think he will go with Gallagher.

Mitrovic suited Gallagher not sure the quicker Ukraine forwards will

27-09-2022, 03:15 PM
Think someone's got a wee bit too excited haha, I'd be quite surprised if he's out into a back 4 for his debut in such a huge game

Think will play back 3/5

27-09-2022, 03:20 PM
Where you seeing this?

He just knows 😜

27-09-2022, 03:24 PM

Is it not the same guys who's got the Hibs teams spot on early all season?

27-09-2022, 03:28 PM
Is it not the same guys who's got the Hibs teams spot on early all season?

Ah fair enough, not been on here as much recently

27-09-2022, 05:03 PM
What would be the point of picking Porto for the squad, yet the reserve call ups end up getting game time before him?

I'd be massively pissed if I was him. Has to play.

27-09-2022, 05:06 PM
What would be the point of picking Porto for the squad, yet the reserve call ups end up getting game time before him?

I'd be massively pissed if I was him. Has to play.

Would like to think that he aint there just to make up the numbers, if he plays he will do well.

27-09-2022, 05:21 PM
He’s starting, well done Porto

27-09-2022, 05:21 PM
In the starting line up good luck to him.

27-09-2022, 05:24 PM
The seething already on Twitter is glorious 😂

27-09-2022, 05:26 PM
Twitters raging.

Hope he does well

27-09-2022, 05:27 PM
Twitters raging.

Hope he does well

Hearts fans absolutely raging Kingsley isn’t playing :faf:

27-09-2022, 05:29 PM

How would they even think that was likely? Guy who was in the original sqaud getting the nod over a guy called up as a 5th reserve after about a dozen players dropped out. Hardly a shock Porto got the nod.

27-09-2022, 05:31 PM
Pleased for Ryan, just do the business on the pitch tonight

27-09-2022, 05:34 PM
How would they even think that was likely? Guy who was in the original sqaud getting the nod over a guy called up as a 5th reserve after about a dozen players dropped out. Hardly a shock Porto got the nod.
C,mon it’s not normal fans we’re dealing with here 😆

one day maybe...
27-09-2022, 05:34 PM
Pleased for Ryan, just do the business on the pitch tonight

Correct, play the game, no antics,. Fear he's on a hiding to nothing in this game if it goes the wrong way. Boy needs to play well and get the F out the Scottish game for his own career. Press will continue to hound him, unfortunately :rolleyes:

27-09-2022, 05:38 PM
Twitters raging.

Hope he does well

Who does this Twitters play for, is he another hun?
Good luck to Scotlands future Captain.

27-09-2022, 05:40 PM
Go on Ryan, shut them all up.

Mikey_1875
27-09-2022, 05:40 PM
Brilliant to see one of our own in such a big game. Show them what you can do Ryan and get it right up the doubters.

27-09-2022, 05:44 PM

I hope Doig gets his debut as well, they will be doubly raging!

27-09-2022, 05:46 PM
Who does this Twitters play for, is he another hun?
Good luck to Scotlands future Captain.

It's the twatters that are huns....

ErinGoBraghHFC
27-09-2022, 05:47 PM
Best of luck Porto, ram all the abuse down the papers throats by playing well big man [emoji122]

27-09-2022, 05:48 PM
Absolutely buzzing for Porto! Undoubtedly has the talent to play for Scotland when he's on form. Hope he has a blinder tonight and shuts the doubters/Huns/press up.

27-09-2022, 05:48 PM
I hope Doing gets his debut as well, they will be doubly raging!
Doing his dinger?

27-09-2022, 05:49 PM
Mental how many have bought into the narrative against him created by Gerrard and the Scottish media.

Bunch of morons.

27-09-2022, 05:49 PM
Well done Porteous. Baptism of fire tonight but a great opportunity to show what a good player he is.

DIXIHIBS
27-09-2022, 05:51 PM
Well done Ryan. Good luck tonite. Do what you're good at and you will be fine. So much hatred for him on twitter. They are desperate for him to fail. Unbelievable...or maybe not.

27-09-2022, 05:51 PM

They will now actually want Ukraine to win, just as the Huns were desperate for that in the last game. They have no sense of patriotism and are wrapped up in their own selfish, twisted interests.

27-09-2022, 05:53 PM
Porteous to score and give a massive “shhh” to the camera !

CyberSauzee
27-09-2022, 05:55 PM
Do any stattos know how many players have earned a full Scotland cap while playing for Hibs?

27-09-2022, 05:57 PM
Not all on kickback look at Ryan with maroon tinted specs
One thinks Ryan is the Messiah
He wrote:

Jesus Porteous is in the team :greengrin

27-09-2022, 05:58 PM
Seem to recall that Darren Jackson suffered a ridiculous level of dislike until his dummy played in John McGinley to score for Scotland and he was given warmer welcomes after that because of it. Maybe the same thing coming up for the big chap. Hopefully anyway....

They will now actually want Ukraine to win, just as the Huns were desperate for that in the last game. They have no sense of patriotism and are wrapped up in their own selfish, twisted interests.

There are people now wanting Ukraine to win and clarke to lose his job because of his inclusion. Quite incredible the narrative that’s been created about him

plhibs
Live score has Hickey starting, i thought he was out for this game.

27-09-2022, 05:59 PM
There are people now wanting Ukraine to win and clarke to lose his job because of his inclusion. Quite incredible the narrative that’s been created about him

Who? (Kickback doesn’t count 😀)

27-09-2022, 06:00 PM
Live score has Hickey starting, i thought he was out for this game.

He’s available again and indeed is starting.

I can’t quite work out what the shape is based on the formation. Looking forward to the game though.

Sioux
27-09-2022, 06:06 PM
He’s available again and indeed is starting.

I can’t quite work out what the shape is based on the formation. Looking forward to the game though.

The formation will be the shape.

27-09-2022, 06:06 PM
Really hope he does well do that those waiting to pounce on any mistake have nothing they can use against him It’s ridiculous the stick he gets

27-09-2022, 06:10 PM
Good luck Ryan.

Massive test against quality strikers.

27-09-2022, 06:11 PM
Mental how many have bought into the narrative against him created by Gerrard and the Scottish media.

Bunch of morons.

Sheep the lot of them. Wait till one of their players is targeted. Then watch them bleet. Go on ryan. Shove it down their throats.

27-09-2022, 06:13 PM
Delighted for him. Represent Hibernian FC well lad

27-09-2022, 06:14 PM

27-09-2022, 06:18 PM

I have to say I am massively excited to watch this game.

27-09-2022, 06:18 PM
Of all the scenarios as to how this plays out tonight, he's well capable of playing with a calm head on his shoulders and having a blinder.

Good luck.

one day maybe...
27-09-2022, 06:19 PM
Kris Boyd on Sky Sports news discussing Harry McGuire.. "I've never seen one player take so much flak on nor off the park as this man, just let him play football" Eh Kris its happening north off the border love to hear you say the same thing about Porteous.

Zambernardi1875
27-09-2022, 06:22 PM
Kris Boyd on Sky Sports news discussing Harry McGuire.. "I've never seen one player take so much flak on nor off the park as this man, just let him play football" Eh Kris its happening north off the border love to hear you say the same thing about Porteous.

Wouldn’t be surprised if he reads from a script

ErinGoBraghHFC
27-09-2022, 06:23 PM

Difference is Porto is actually a cracking player for the level he plays at, Maguire is a bomb scare for Man U and England. Porto will be absolutely fine tonight

27-09-2022, 06:23 PM
Wouldn’t be surprised if he reads from a script

I would be surprised he reads.

27-09-2022, 06:26 PM
The formation will be the shape.

Good point. Sorry, the lineup*

Hib-Sean
27-09-2022, 06:28 PM
Considering a young Scottish player is making his debut for his country in a very important match the comments from the so called presenters and pundits about Ryan is shocking but unsurprising. Leanne Crichton was the only one to say anything positive.

ErinGoBraghHFC
27-09-2022, 06:30 PM
Considering a young Scottish player is making his debut for his country in a very important match the comments from the so called presenters and pundits about Ryan is shocking but unsurprising. Leanne Crichton was the only one to say anything positive.

Watching on Premier Sports, Kenny Miller and James McFadden both mentioned how he’s a good player well capable of playing for Scotland.

Halmyre Hibee
27-09-2022, 06:31 PM
Well done Stevie Clarke for ignoring all the negative comments and giving Ryan Porteous his debut. Sadly, some so called fans will be hoping the lad fails. Really hope he does well.

27-09-2022, 06:32 PM
Wish whoever would change the thread title to Ryan Porteous.
I find it a bit off to call someone by their surname.
Just imo.

27-09-2022, 06:32 PM
Don’t think I’ve ever wanted a player to succeed so much. Get it right up these doubters Porto 🙏🏻

DIXIHIBS
27-09-2022, 06:33 PM

Even willie miller who had been defending porto said maybe he will get us a penalty chuckle chuckle. Basically they're saying if we get beat its now to porto. They just piling the pressure on him.

Hibees1973
27-09-2022, 06:34 PM
Tough ask for Porteous tonight.

Clarke should have eased him in before, he's been in several squads after all. Even a few minutes when we were coasting against Ukraine last week.

Overall it's a weak Scotland team compared to the last two games.

Feel the media are waiting to slaughter him even if he puts one foot wrong.

Best of luck to Porteous. He will need it.

Lendo
27-09-2022, 06:43 PM
Wonder if the Aberdeen fans watching will celebrate when Ryan wins us a penalty this evening.

27-09-2022, 06:46 PM
Tough ask for Porteous tonight.

Clarke should have eased him in before, he's been in several squads after all. Even a few minutes when we were coasting against Ukraine last week.

Overall it's a weak Scotland team compared to the last two games.

Feel the media are waiting to slaughter him even if he puts one foot wrong.

Best of luck to Porteous. He will need it.

Clarkes not been able to do this unfortunately
Ryan probably wouldn’t have played if we had a full strength squad. He’s 23 not a kid anymore, and can look after himself
I’m sure he’ll do us proud

leith lynx
27-09-2022, 06:46 PM

Listening on BBC radio Scotland and the negativety and bitterness from Richard Gordon and Willie Miller towards Ryan Porteous is disgraceful, hope Ryan sticks it right up them!

27-09-2022, 06:48 PM
Don't get injured Porto. it's not worth it.

27-09-2022, 06:52 PM
It took Michael Stewart just 3 minutes before having a dig at Porteous

Arch Stanton
27-09-2022, 06:53 PM
With any luck he'll win a penalty.:flag:

27-09-2022, 06:55 PM
Hard to take Michael Stewart seriously these days. After the Sevco mob showed him who pays the piper he's just been a ventriloquists dummy. Gottle of geer, gottle of geer........

27-09-2022, 06:56 PM

I’m sick of hearing from Hibs fans who say ‘he’ll take it in his stride’, ‘he’s a big boy now’ etc. This isn’t normal, he can’t NOT be affected by all this negativity, he’s not a robot. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted a Scotland player to score more.

Michael Stewart can GTF

Paulie Walnuts
Anyone without Premier Sportr, you can watch it on Ukrainian Association of Football YouTube page with a VPN set to Ukraine.

27-09-2022, 06:57 PM
He's also been very complimentary about him, thought I was hearing things there.

Porto doing well so far. His passing out from the back was almost made for international fitbaw. Reading the game not bad either

Started strongly

27-09-2022, 07:00 PM
I’m sick of hearing from Hibs fans who say ‘he’ll take it in his stride’, ‘he’s a big boy now’ etc. This isn’t normal, he can’t NOT be affected by all this negativity, he’s not a robot. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted a Scotland player to score more.[emoji106]

I just wish the club would get on the front foot with the clique of wasters who work for the national broadcaster and are regularly encouraged to break the BBC'S own charter.

I suspect we are a softer target for them simply because of our ability and willingness to absorb all this crap, when Ryan makes his excuses and leaves they'll find another Hibs target, because they can.

27-09-2022, 07:02 PM
Listening on BBC radio Scotland and the negativety and bitterness from Richard Gordon and Willie Miller towards Ryan Porteous is disgraceful, hope Ryan sticks it right up them!

Really.

Just shows you how shallow they actually are.

27-09-2022, 07:02 PM
Michael Stewart can GTF

He’s been complimentary about Ryan

Mcbizz1998
27-09-2022, 07:06 PM
Porto done well so far.

27-09-2022, 07:06 PM

There is always a negative to finish off with, why?

Mrimbetween
27-09-2022, 07:22 PM
Mon Porto got you FGS big guy :agree:

27-09-2022, 07:24 PM
Porto better watch his concentration. It’s been drummed into me for 37 mins.

Stewart with another negative about Ryan after some strong defensive work from him. GTF!!

Some of the comments on Keekback from the maroon mutants are just unbelievable

Everything is Porto's fault and most seem to want Ukraine to win to teach Clarke a lesson for playing him. Absolute wallopers, the lot of them

27-09-2022, 07:25 PM
Is Michael Stewart stuck on a loop about Porteous? Give it a ****ing rest ya fud.

Dmas
27-09-2022, 07:25 PM
Since when has concentration been an issue? Is it because he’s not been sent off in a while they’re having to make an issue up?

27-09-2022, 07:26 PM
Porto better watch his concentration. It’s been drummed into me for 37 mins.

You’d think he cost us a goal a game the way Stewart is going on about ‘his lapses of concentration’

27-09-2022, 07:26 PM
Drinking game. Take a sip of beer whenever Stewart mentions Porto and his concentration. Better get a few kegs in!

27-09-2022, 07:30 PM
Easily Scotlands best player this half

27-09-2022, 07:31 PM

He has. Granted he’s overdone the “concentration” thing but he’s probably given Ryan more praise than anyone else on the pitch.

And I can’t be ****** with MS these days either…

Aye but he needs to keep his concentration.

MagicSwirlingShip

Easily? Hickey has had a good game also

27-09-2022, 07:32 PM
Aye but he needs to keep his concentration.

Aye. He also needs to make sure he stays concentrated.

Easily? Hickey has had a good game also

True. But he’s a hearts **** though 😉

Aye. He also needs to make sure he stays concentrated.

Don't know if anyone has mentioned it yet. But he really needs to make sure he keeps his concentration for the full match.

27-09-2022, 07:33 PM
Stewart lists all Porteous's good points and then always finishes of saying how his concentration lets him dow, he just can't help himself.

I think Porteous has been the standout so far, McLean and Fraser have been very weak on the ball and easily pushed off it losing possession too often.

27-09-2022, 07:33 PM
Don't understand why people are getting uptight about Michael Stewart despite playing for us he is and always will be a Hearts **** end of.

Well done Ryan on a very competent first half on debut :aok:

Sheffhibee
27-09-2022, 07:34 PM
Sportsound commentators Liam Miller and Stephen Thompson been complimentary about Ryan TBF

27-09-2022, 07:35 PM
Very decent first half from Public Enemy Number One :agree:

27-09-2022, 07:35 PM
Solid half. Keep it up Porto 💚

27-09-2022, 07:38 PM
Who’s babysitting Porto at half time? Someone tweet Mikey to ease his worries

If Ryan keeps this up, will he be as good as he thinks he is?

Another half like that, and he's leaving for nothing, and that club will be getting themselves a great player, with many years of that quality player to come. :boo hoo:

Don't understand why people are getting uptight about Michael Stewart despite playing for us he is and always will be a Hearts **** end of.

Well done Ryan on a very competent first half on debut :aok:

He will always be a ginger yam throbber who likes the sound of his own voice.

27-09-2022, 07:39 PM
Stewart lists all Porteous's good points and then always finishes of saying how his concentration lets him dow, he just can't help himself.

I think Porteous has been the standout so far, McLean and Fraser have been very weak on the ball and easily pushed off it losing possession too often.

Typical Stewart …….. starts off with the positives to make you think he’s being fair and objective, then goes on to criticise and demolish…….. Jambo twat!

GRA
27-09-2022, 07:39 PM
Well done Porto. Solid half considering the unnecessary pressure he's been put under from the Scotland social media keyboard warrior 'fans' and being his debut against a tough team. Keep it up!

27-09-2022, 07:41 PM

Another half like that, and he's leaving for nothing, and that club will be getting themselves a great player, with many years of that quality player to come. :boo hoo:

Ryan has all the attributes to be a top top player. We should have tied him down a year or so ago
You have to remember we’ve had 3 Managers in a year at HIbs, doesn’t exactly want you to sign an extension

Mcbizz1998
27-09-2022, 07:42 PM
Stewart seems incapable of praising Porto without caveating it with how he also thinks he is pish.

27-09-2022, 07:47 PM
Ryan has all the attributes to be a top top player. We should have tied him down a year or so ago
You have to remember we’ve had 3 Managers in a year at HIbs, doesn’t exactly want you to sign an extension
If this game goes well for Ryan it could well cement a successful move down south.

27-09-2022, 07:50 PM

Don't see why he can't sign say a two year extension with the caveat that if a team makes a decent offer he is free to speak with them similar to Cummings, McGinn etc.

27-09-2022, 07:56 PM
Ukrainian Colin Nish, the #11 offside again.

27-09-2022, 08:02 PM
Lack of concentration there from McGregor

Mrimbetween
27-09-2022, 08:02 PM
Stewart seems incapable of praising Porto workout caveating it with how he also thinks he is pish.

He did at first now the mask has slipped

Stewart by and large talks *****

JPrinty
27-09-2022, 08:10 PM
The neutral commentators (Not BBC Scotland or Premier Sports) I'm listening to have been saying Porteous has been excellent.

27-09-2022, 08:14 PM
Scotland have been under it a bit at times and Porto has been a huge part of why we're still level.

Easily replaced. 😭

The neutral commentators (Not BBC Scotland or Premier Sports) I'm listening to have been saying Porteous has been excellent.

Heard that too although I have no idea who the commentators are on the stream I'm watching lol

Jack Hendry has been superb as well. Nishchenko hasn’t had a sniff first 70 mins.

27-09-2022, 08:16 PM
He did at first now the mask has slipped

Stewart by and large talks *****

Hes been cowed by the traynor criticsm. Knows you can only berate clubs that are not the rangers. Total coward.

27-09-2022, 08:20 PM
Easily replaced. 😭

I know. :faf:

27-09-2022, 08:22 PM
Jack Hendry has been superb as well. Nishchenko hasn’t had a sniff first 70 mins.

He has like. As have Gordon and Hickey.

27-09-2022, 08:22 PM
That was the first foot Porto’s put wrong all night. Cue howls from the twats in the pub.

27-09-2022, 08:28 PM
Hes been cowed by the traynor criticsm. Knows you can only berate clubs that are not the rangers. Total coward.

Apparently a pay check is more important than his integrity.

27-09-2022, 08:34 PM
What a tackle

27-09-2022, 08:37 PM
From the BBC:

Ukraine 0-0 Scotland

Ryan Porteous, incredible scenes.

The Hibs man, on his debut, makes a heroic last-ditch challenge on Zubkov who looked poised to pull the trigger amid a frantic scramble.

The Hibs man has been a colossus tonight.

27-09-2022, 08:37 PM
What a tackle
Just described as a colossus on BBC 👍

27-09-2022, 08:38 PM
Never in doubt, amazing player who strolled it

27-09-2022, 08:39 PM
Just described as a colossus on BBC 👍

Keep up, lol

H113EE5
27-09-2022, 08:40 PM
What a tackle

CLOSE!
Ukraine 0-0 Scotland
Ryan Porteous, incredible scenes.

The Hibs man, on his debut, makes a heroic last-ditch challenge on Zubkov who looked poised to pull the trigger amid a frantic scramble.

The Hibs man has been a colossus tonight.

From BBC

Hopefully Porteous starts, would look silly if Gallagher or Kingsley started after not being in the initial squad.

If he does I have 100% confidence in him, when fully concentrated he’s a very good centre half - he’ll be right at it from the start and I honestly think he’ll surprise the country (who don’t support Hibs) at just how good he is

Never in doubt.

Excellent tackle at the end too

yonder1875
Absolutely made up for him!!

Dick and Willie will be gutted!

27-09-2022, 08:41 PM
Absolutely chuffed for him!! Amazing debut that. Especially considering all the nonsense that's followed him in the press recently.

Seriously buzzing for him.

Now, get that extension signed!

leith lynx
27-09-2022, 08:43 PM
Richard Gordon actually praising Porto's last ditch tackle, through his bitter tears, WELL DONE RYAN!!

' THE DALKEITH BARESI ' Take a bow Porto says the BBC website :greengrin

Absolutely chuffed for him!! Amazing debut that. Especially considering all the nonsense that's followed him in the press recently.

Seriously buzzing for him.

Now, get that extension signed!

No chance now IMO. 😭

GreenGray
Buzzing for him then you realise that performance probably means he’s living on a free

27-09-2022, 08:44 PM
Delighted for him. He is head and shoulders above any other Scottish centre half playing in Scotland. Him and Hendry looked good together. Well done Scotland and Porto

What a debut and performance by Porto, in such an important game. Absolutely thrilled for him. Well done !

Those ****ing yam clowns calling McGinn a fat arsed cheat for wasting a wee bit time...for Scotland. What ****ing planet are these morons from? Beggars belief at times ☹

Never in doubt.

Excellent tackle at the end too

Exactly. Quality player has quality game shock…

27-09-2022, 08:45 PM
Brilliant for the guy was superb throughout.

s2hart
27-09-2022, 08:45 PM
Pat Nevin on 5 live being very complimentary to Ryan, good to hear. We'll done Ryan, great debut.