View Full Version : Porteous
30-09-2022, 05:40 AM
It was great hearing the "You're Porteous' song in the pubs of Krakow on Tuesday night. Even my Jambo mates were joining in. I really hope the public perception starts to change after that performance (and a few of our own fans). The guy is a class act and will go on to earn many caps.
What is the You're Porteous song?
30-09-2022, 06:15 AM
What is the You're Porteous song?
Instead of ‘you’re gorgeous’ we sing, ‘you’re Porteous’
cannastar
30-09-2022, 09:01 AM
Great to see Ryan performing well at international level when given his chance. A bit ironic that it was Scott Mkenna he replaced as i have been banging on about how that is the player he should be looking at as an example and following how he conducts himself and has knuckled down and imroved his game. Ryan i believe has as much skill if not more and i believe he will play in the english premiership soon and i repeat if Brendan Rodgers had taken a chance on him Leicester wouldnt be in the position they are in now propping up the premiership table. Like sjm it will be nice to reflect on Ryan playing for us in future days and having that bit of pride watching him perform for Scotland and perhaps himself and mckenna could be a top class partnership in seasons to come.
30-09-2022, 09:17 AM
Great to see Ryan performing well at international level when given his chance. A bit ironic that it was Scott Mkenna he replaced as i have been banging on about how that is the player he should be looking at as an example and following how he conducts himself and has knuckled down and imroved his game. Ryan i believe has as much skill if not more and i believe he will play in the english premiership soon and i repeat if Brendan Rodgers had taken a chance on him Leicester wouldnt be in the position they are in now propping up the premiership table. Like sjm it will be nice to reflect on Ryan playing for us in future days and having that bit of pride watching him perform for Scotland and perhaps himself and mckenna could be a top class partnership in seasons to come.
Scott McKenna was and always will be a poor man's Ryan Porteous
18Craig75
30-09-2022, 10:10 AM
Can’t see any LJ comments on the incident or fall out since the media run yesterday…was he asked?
30-09-2022, 11:23 AM
Can’t see any LJ comments on the incident or fall out since the media run yesterday…was he asked?
He was saying that he would not speak about a player in such a way, also saying that Porto has been undervalued by Hibs and the previous managers, also underpaid, which is good if your a player and your manager speaks out like that, he says the board need to get the cash out for an outstanding talent.
#Good wins a fud
30-09-2022, 11:37 AM
Great player, but he's not starting for Leicester.
30-09-2022, 12:21 PM
Great player, but he's not starting for Leicester.
Same kind of talk that SJM wouldn't get a start for Celtic
30-09-2022, 12:23 PM
Not really comparable given the relative standard of the leagues both clubs play in and by extension the quality of player they'd be playing against.
30-09-2022, 12:33 PM
Not really comparable given the relative standard of the leagues both clubs play in and by extension the quality of player they'd be playing against.
Have seen a number of players with promoted championship clubs adapt to the EPL so comments like he does not start for Leicester does my head in.
30-09-2022, 12:36 PM
Have seen a number of players with promoted championship clubs adapt to the EPL so comments like he does not start for Leicester do my head in.
The Championship is a better league than the Scottish Premiership.
The jump from playing for Hibs to going and starting at centre half for a Premier League team is absolutely monumental, hence why it rarely, if ever, happens.
30-09-2022, 12:45 PM
The jump from playing for Hibs to going and starting at centre half for a Premier League team is absolutely monumental, hence why it rarely, if ever, happens.
That's your opinion of the English championship I don't share that opinion. Don't believe the hype about English football.
30-09-2022, 12:48 PM
Scott McKenna went to Forrest, and was praised by Forrest fans as the best defender in the championship as is now playing in the EPL.
30-09-2022, 12:50 PM
Scott McKenna went to Forrest, and was praised by Forrest fans as the best defender in the championship as is now playing in the EPL.
Sounds like you're agreeing with my point.
30-09-2022, 12:55 PM
Sportsound would have been creaming themselves if Porteous had replicated McKenna's defending that led to Bournemouth's winning goal at the City Ground a couple of weeks ago :grr: A waste of space in a Forest shirt IMO
I'm not sure why you're only talking about Hibs. There's been several players gone from our league to the Premiership, sometimes via the Championship, and succeeded. McGinn, Robertson, Van Dyk, Tierney, Armstrong, Fraser and McKenna are just some current examples. As for the Championship it's hugely overrated IMO, I've seen some awful games and some really dreadful players. Strength and pace are the main attributes rather than skill.
30-09-2022, 01:00 PM
Not even remotely similar.
McGinn had bossed Celtics midfield multiple times and proven himself in Scotland.
Ryan isn't at McGinns level then, never mind the level of guys like Johnny Evans who have been excellent players in the Premier league for years.
30-09-2022, 01:02 PM
Sounds like you're agreeing with my point.
Not really just saying that players from our league go down to the championship and are the best players in that position in the league so contradicts yout argument that the English championship is a better league, Villa fans could not believe how good SJM was when he went to them. I do not think that the English championship is as good as people think. Patterson from Rangers was 2nd choice at The Rangers
but in a recent interview Lampard said he was first choice at Everton, so players do move from Scotland and become starters for EPL clubs.
30-09-2022, 01:09 PM
I would put Porto up against that big lump and under-confident McGuire of Man United, its not just some previous Hibs managers who have under=estimated his talent (imo). Future Scotland Captain and if he signs a new contract could be the most valuable player Hibs, have had up to now.
30-09-2022, 01:13 PM
I'm not sure why you're only talking about Hibs. There's been several players gone from our league to the Premiership, sometimes via the Championship, and succeeded. McGinn, Robertson, Van Dyk, Tierney, Armstrong, Fraser and McKenna are just some current examples. As for the Championship it's hugely overrated IMO, I've seen some awful games and some really dreadful players. Strength and pace are the main attributes rather than skill.
Yes remember the people saying that Van Dyk only looks good because he is playing in the Scottish league.🤔
I bet you there will be English clubs watching Ryan after this week's publicity and his contract situation thinking they will get him on the cheap.
30-09-2022, 01:25 PM
Ryan Porteous could play in the Premier league for a number of clubs. :agree:
Donegal Hibby
30-09-2022, 01:26 PM
Grant Hanley , Jason kerr play in English championship even in the past hearts Berra played in it . I think Porto is every bit as good as as these and would have no problem at all playing in it . I do think English championship over hyped and isn't as good as it's made out to be. Anyhow still hoping I'm Porto might stay.
alhibby
30-09-2022, 01:55 PM
He's on ,A View From The Terrace, tonight, 1030 BBC Scotland
30-09-2022, 02:58 PM
Agree totally
30-09-2022, 05:00 PM
A bid from an EPL side would also make sense for speculating to accumulate. Man City have 16 players out on loan, I think Chelsea have 12. These players are mostly worth a few million now, but they’re hoping they will worth 20 mill or more once they’ve had the experience under their belts in other leagues, or even slip right into the starting lineup the following season. That’s what big clubs do.
Hibee Daft
30-09-2022, 05:12 PM
I hope Ryan signs extension, genuinely think it would do him good and obviously the club.
Just look at Mcginn and Doig as great examples. Both left the right way with clauses that can help us.
John Souttar and Jason Cummings going on the cheap shows the other side. Cummings career stalled when he left ended up on loan and only now getting back on track.
A club getting you on the cheap isnt necessarily going to play you week in weeek out.
Someone that is willing to pay your transfer fee is showing a belief in you and more likely to give game time.
30-09-2022, 05:13 PM
That's your opinion of the English championship I don't share that opinion. Don't believe the hype about English football.
You are entitled to your opinion but there’s no hype about it. The English championship is a tough league with a lot of good players and good teams in it.
This Hibs team would do very well just to stay in it.
30-09-2022, 05:26 PM
I hate comparisons with English football. English football is warped by money. You have tiny clubs like Brentford bringing in billions from Sky. Of course Hibs would struggle in the English Championship right now. If we were given the same coin as Blackburn Rovers for example I'd expect us to be challenging for the SPFL Premiership title every season. As for Porteous, could he hold his own in that league? Absolutely no problem.
30-09-2022, 05:33 PM
You are entitled to your opinion but there’s no hype about it. The English championship is a tough league with a lot of good players and good teams in it.
Of course we would, we’re not getting handed a packet in tv money every season and spending a **** tonne on wages
30-09-2022, 05:47 PM
Depends how you define a “better league”. Our worst teams would clearly struggle to stay in the English championship but then Celtic right now would have a pretty good claim of winning it.
It’s not a great league though. The year Newcastle went back up they were pretty pish, but won it at a canter. A bit like us when we returned under Lennon.
Hibiza
30-09-2022, 05:49 PM
Porto ! Sign a deal that you can get the club that made you a few pounds sur .:flag:
Donegal Hibby
30-09-2022, 06:19 PM
Of course we would, we’re not getting handed a packet in tv money every season and spending a **** tonne on wages
Good be argued that if we had the same finances we would be in the premier League like Bournemouth who are a lot smaller club than ours.
30-09-2022, 07:53 PM
I recall us playing a 2nd string team against a full strength side championship side in a pre season friendly and beating them without breaking sweat. Their manager in an after match interview said they were glad he didn't play our full strength side. He also said that our team would do very well in the championship. By the way we were in the 2nd tier in Scotland at the time.
30-09-2022, 07:58 PM
That has no relevance to the standard of the league as it stands. It would, in the majority of weeks, be a significant step up for Porto playing against teams like Swansea and QPR rather than Kilmarnock, Ross County ect.
That is even before we talk about playing in the Premier League, which is light years ahead of the Championship and Scottish Premiership.
Porteous is a very good player, but it shows a massive lack of understanding of levels if people think he could suddenly start performing at the required level for an English Premier League team.
30-09-2022, 08:02 PM
Depends how you define a “better league”. Our worst teams would clearly struggle to stay in the English championship but then Celtic right now would have a pretty good claim of winning it.
It’s not a great league though. The year Newcastle went back up they were pretty pish, but won it at a canter. A bit like us when we returned under Lennon.
Celtic are a massive outlier to the rest of the standard of the league. They can't be used as some kind of barometer to the overall standard.
30-09-2022, 08:28 PM
That has no relevance to the standard of the league as it stands. It would, in the majority of weeks, be a significant step up for Porto playing against teams like Swansea and QPR rather than Kilmarnock, Ross County ect.
That is even before we talk about playing in the Premier League, which is light years ahead of the Championship and Scottish Premiership.
Porteous is a very good player, but it shows a massive lack of understanding of levels if people think he could suddenly start performing at the required level for an English Premier League team.
It has relevance to the post I replied to though saying we’d be looking at relegation in that league. We certainly wouldn’t if we were making the same cash the teams are in the championship.
30-09-2022, 08:38 PM
That number is 0. Still much to learn. Potential is certainly there, though.
I recall us playing a 2nd string team against a full strength side championship side in a pre season friendly and beating them without breaking sweat. Their manager in an after match interview said they were glad he didn't play our full strength side. He also said that our team would do very well in the championship. By the way we were in the 2nd tier in Scotland at the time.
Yep, I remember. 2 seasons ago James Collins scored 14 Championship goals, that's how good a league it is!
30-09-2022, 08:59 PM
Yep, I remember. 2 seasons ago James Collins scored 14 Championship goals, that's how good a league it is!
I remember Dylan Mcgeouch being unbelievably good for Hibs in the Scottish Premiership and then barely getting a game for Sunderland in League 1, nevermind the Championship.
You need to look past one off examples to the overall standard of the league.
Celtic would most likely win the Championship, Rangers would probably make the play offs. Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen would be doing extremely well to even make the top half, the rest of the league would be relegated IMO. That points to the overall standard.
30-09-2022, 09:46 PM
That number is 0. Still much to learn. Potential is certainly there, though.
30-09-2022, 09:50 PM
I remember Dylan Mcgeouch being unbelievably good for Hibs in the Scottish Premiership and then barely getting a game for Sunderland in League 1, nevermind the Championship.
Celtic would most likely win the Championship, Rangers would probably make the play offs. Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen would be doing extremely well to even make the top half, the rest of the league would be relegated IMO. That points to the overall standard.
I think it's often more about the type of player than ability of the player.
Is Craig Bryson not a bit of a legend at Derby? As ordinary a player as you'll ever see who is fairly fit, fairly strong and good at getting about the park.
McGeouch was skilful but never the most physical so he got a bit lost amidst the physical demands of English football.
One of the reasons I reckon Porteous would be a roaring success there is that he's not just got the ability but the pace and strength to make it there.
Donegal Hibby
30-09-2022, 09:51 PM
Luton's 5th in English championship. stadium capacity smaller than Easter Road .Rotherham's 9th in English championship. stadium capacity smaller than Easter Road<br>
Bournemouth 12th in premier league . stadium capacity smaller than Easter Road .<br>
If we were down in England on the same financial money as these clubs why is it so hard to imagine we would not only compete with them but be better.Dont get all this love for English football while knocking our own game .
30-09-2022, 09:51 PM
We all have our opinions of the leagues in England but we should be talking up our League, remember a team in our league was in a European final last season. There are players playing in the EPL who have been signed from leagues inferior to ours. If we lose Ryan hope he signs for a top club.
30-09-2022, 09:53 PM
Luton's 5th in English championship. stadium capacity smaller than Easter RoadRotherham's 9th in English championship. stadium capacity smaller than Easter Road
Bournemouth 12th in premier league . stadium capacity smaller than Easter Road .
If we were down in England on the same financial money as these clubs why is it so hard to imagine we would not only compete with them but be better.Dont get all this love for English football while knocking our own game .
Luton were a non league side a few years ago.
I love how you tell me to ignore one off examples and then post a one off example! Truth is there's many examples of Scottish failures but English successes and vice versa. I just quoted James Collins to try and stop the English 2nd tier being regarded as way beyond our league, it's really not.
30-09-2022, 09:58 PM
He's on ,A View From The Terrace, tonight, 1030 BBC Scotland
Reminder. He’ll be on sky 115 any minute now. Interesting to hear him tonight.
**unless he’s been on already as I missed the first 15 mins 😁 hope he’s on shortly as Sked and his jambo pal are doing my nut in.
Donegal Hibby
30-09-2022, 10:05 PM
Luton were a non league side a few years ago.
Yeah certainly done really well to get were they are now . Another poster said we would struggle to stay up in English championship .That's my point I don't believe we would struggle at all .The 3 teams I've mentioned are all doing well and if we were on same money as them we would probably do better as we are a much much bigger club.
Fuzzywuzzy
01-10-2022, 06:20 AM
Is Craig Bryson not a bit of a legend at Derby? As ordinary a player as you'll ever see who is fairly fit, fairly strong and good at getting about the park.
McGeouch was skilful but never the most physical so he got a bit lost amidst the physical demands of English football.
One of the reasons I reckon Porteous would be a roaring success there is that he's not just got the ability but the pace and strength to make it there.
McGeoch still without a club. Still only 29. Must be a hard one to take for a player
01-10-2022, 07:29 AM
I think this thread has got sidetracked a little.
I'm not saying Porto wouldn't do well in the Championship, my original point was in response to a claim he could walk straight into a centre half role at a Premier League team. That,IMO, is far too big a jump, he'd be going from playing against Scottish Premiership level forwards to guys like Haaland, Kane, Salah ect. As good as I think Porteous is, he's not at a level to make that immediate jump.
01-10-2022, 05:51 PM
Excellent display today! Nice kiss the badge too after he scored.
How did the BBC Scotland crew summarise his display today? Still looking for negatives! Wonder what Mickey Stewart will make of it.
To be fair on open all mics they spent a fair amount of time talking about Porto especially when he scored. Mainly praise but will usual “he is can just knuckle down”. Jonathan Sutherland was obsessed with the fact that he is out of contract in the summer given the amount of time he mentioned it. It was almost like it was a scoop and the club hadn’t realized. They think he will be moving on to a bigger club and we have no chance in keeping him. It was only Preston who suggested we could sign him on extended deal with clause on acceptance of future bids.
Our match barely got a mention. No interview with LJ or Malky Mackay and no post-match summary. All there was, was a 2 minute snippet from an interview with Porteous recorded a few days ago, mostly about Scotland (the full interview is on tomorrow).
Fuzzywuzzy
01-10-2022, 06:02 PM
In fairness to Preston at least he'll know what he's talking about re. contracts. I take it he's not Porto's agent? I was surprised when he said he was gilmours
01-10-2022, 06:05 PM
To be fair on open all mics they spent a fair amount of time talking about Porto especially when he scored. Mainly praise but will usual “he is can just knuckle down”. Jonathan Sutherland was obsessed with the fact that he is out of contract in the summer given the amount of time he mentioned it. It was almost like it was a scoop and the club hadn’t realized. They think he will be moving on to a bigger club and we have no chance in keeping him. It was only Preston who suggested we could sign him on extended deal with clause on acceptance of future bids.
I thought it was pretty faint praise, grudgingly delivered with all sorts of caveats.
You've just got to call it as you see it with Porteous - when he's pish, when he makes his daft decisions and you know he's in the wrong it's important to call it out.
Equally when he has the sort of fortnight or so he's just had, you need to heap praise on the guy. He was immense against Aberdeen, immense for Scotland and then immense again today, with a goal chucked into the bargain.
It should be a massive, huge "well done" to the lad, there isn't really much need to dig stuff up that was either Goodwin's miles off the mark stuff or other things that happened a long time ago in football terms.
If Porteous keeps doing as well in his next game as he's done in his last 3, he'll have a magnificent career in football.
01-10-2022, 06:15 PM
Our match barely got a mention. No interview with LJ or Malky Mackay and no post-match summary. All there was, was a 2 minute snippet from an interview with Porteous recorded a few days ago, mostly about Scotland (the full interview is on tomorrow).
I noticed this also - Aberdeen score loads etc, st mirren third and united in free fall
Porteous interview more about Scotland cap, recorded Thursday
Anyone that says bbc aren’t anti hibs needs to listen themselves
Aberdeen, hearts complete media darlings
Our match barely got a mention. No interview with LJ or Malky Mackay and no post-match summary. All there was, was a 2 minute snippet from an interview with Porteous recorded a few days ago, mostly about Scotland (the full interview is on tomorrow).Bizarre really.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
GreenGray
01-10-2022, 06:49 PM
I noticed this also - Aberdeen score loads etc, st mirren third and united in free fall
Porteous interview more about Scotland cap, recorded Thursday
Anyone that says bbc aren’t anti hibs needs to listen themselves
Aberdeen, hearts complete media darlings
I noticed the same, they were happy to talk about how well Aberdeen and St Mirren we’re playing, every time St Mirren jumped to 3rd in the league over us they had to mention it.
You’d think they would have liked to talk about how much we’ve improved since last season especially since so many of the pundits were writing us off.
Donegal Hibby
02-10-2022, 04:21 PM
There's Question and Answer short video with Ryan porteous on the BBC if anyone interested?
Donegal Hibby
02-10-2022, 05:05 PM
Only one winner for me about the question on the training ground bust up btw :greengrin
02-10-2022, 05:32 PM
Only one winner for me about the question on the training ground bust up btw :greengrin
He tells us who won the bust up, interesting that the best player he played against (he is still young) is Erling Haaland, who was immense against Hibs scoring 2 goals at age 18 or so.
Also rather Hibs win the Scottish Cup than Scotland qualify for World Cup, the boys a good Hibby, just hope we can get him a good enough deal to sign on with for a wee while longer.
02-10-2022, 06:28 PM
Didn’t like his answer about favourite ground he’s played at !
Donegal Hibby
02-10-2022, 06:33 PM
He tells us who won the bust up, interesting that the best player he played against (he is still young) is Erling Haaland, who was immense against Hibs scoring 2 goals at age 18 or so.
Also rather Hibs win the Scottish Cup than Scotland qualify for World Cup, the boys a good Hibby, just hope we can get him a good enough deal to sign on with for a wee while longer.
Him and Boyle seem good pals .Think we are all hoping he stays for wee while longer .Porto is a class act. :aok:
Donegal Hibby
02-10-2022, 06:53 PM
That was the one that got to me too a bit
02-10-2022, 09:11 PM
That was the one that got to me too a bit
Suspect it was tongue in cheek.
02-10-2022, 09:16 PM
What was it?
shamo9
02-10-2022, 09:18 PM
What was it?
Ibrox
02-10-2022, 09:20 PM
Suspect it was tongue in cheek.
Yup - he wasn’t exactly taking the questions seriously
03-10-2022, 08:17 AM
Tbf, Bryson was excellent at Killie before he went to Derby.
03-10-2022, 01:25 PM
Him and Boyle seem good pals .Think we are all hoping he stays for wee while longer .Porto is a class act. :aok:
Best of pals and I know for a fact that Porto is loving it Boyle is back, on and off the pitch .
03-10-2022, 01:28 PM
Very much sounds like Hibs are putting an improved offer to Ryan to persuade him to extend his contract:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/63086760
03-10-2022, 03:47 PM
Very much sounds like Hibs are putting an improved offer to Ryan to persuade him to extend his contract:
I do think he'll sign, but he will probably be on more money than anyone's been on at Hibs for quite a while. He will definitely be away in the summer if he does sign a new deal.
JamesHFC
03-10-2022, 03:49 PM
Expect things to escalate quickly.
03-10-2022, 04:04 PM
Expect things to escalate quickly.
Positively?
I do think he'll sign, but he will probably be on more money than anyone's been on at Hibs for quite a while. He will definitely be away in the summer if he does sign a new deal.
Not sure how you work that one out. Clubs that would maybe take a (no lose) chance on a free transfer are less likely to stump up a 7 figure fee.
Positively?
It can't really escalate negatively before January can it?
shamo9
03-10-2022, 04:12 PM
If we put in a reasonable release clause then it works for both parties. Porteous gets a big jump in wages and added security if he picks up a bad injury. The club get the guarantee of a few million if someome comes in for him. It also gives him the opportunity to leave the club in the 'right way' with no hard feelings like Boyle, Doig and McGinn. I'm sure that matters to him.
03-10-2022, 11:53 PM
🙏
OsiersHibs
04-10-2022, 10:08 AM
Porteous has played a blinder. He is in such a strong position now. We can only hope that he will sign a new contract that includes a modest release fee so that the club get a good fee for him.
The club shouldn't have let it come to this. The money Lewy and Hanlon are on could have been better spent supporting a deal for Porteous to keep the club moving forward. Now it looks like Porteous will be away in the summer and likely for free.
OsiersHibs
04-10-2022, 10:10 AM
If we put in a reasonable release clause then it works for both parties. Porteous gets a big jump in wages and added security if he picks up a bad injury. The club get the guarantee of a few million if someome comes in for him. It also gives him the opportunity to leave the club in the 'right way' with no hard feelings like Boyle, Doig and McGinn. I'm sure that matters to him.
This is what should happen.
04-10-2022, 10:36 AM
Porteous has played a blinder. He is in such a strong position now. We can only hope that he will sign a new contract that includes a modest release fee so that the club get a good fee for him.
The club shouldn't have let it come to this. The money Lewy and Hanlon are on could have been better spent supporting a deal for Porteous to keep the club moving forward. Now it looks like Porteous will be away in the summer and likely for free.
Cool.
So who would be playing Left CH?
04-10-2022, 10:45 AM
Not sure how you work that one out. Clubs that would maybe take a (no lose) chance on a free transfer are less likely to stump up a 7 figure fee.
Then he stays longer and it's good for us either way?
Clubs will know his quality, at 23 it's no longer a punt on an unproven youngster. See Scott McKenna.
04-10-2022, 11:28 AM
Then he stays longer and it's good for us either way?
Clubs will know his quality, at 23 it's no longer a punt on an unproven youngster. See Scott McKenna.
Just seen that quote from Sir Alex at the foot of your post for the first time. That's cool.
04-10-2022, 12:51 PM
The club shouldn't have let it come to this. The money Lewy and Hanlon are on could have been better spent supporting a deal for Porteous to keep the club moving forward.
What a load of nonsense.
04-10-2022, 01:01 PM
You're off to a good start lol....
04-10-2022, 02:13 PM
Slaver.
04-10-2022, 02:17 PM
If we didn’t have Stevenson or Hanlon on the books do you think their replacements would be playing for nothing?
04-10-2022, 03:26 PM
If he signs a new contract with us and continues to perform like he has in the last few weeks he should leave us for 5 million plus. 23 year old Scotland international with bags of experience already. If the boy McKenna from Aberdeen can leave for big money then Porto will as well (hopefully) Leaving on a free would be a right sickener.
04-10-2022, 03:28 PM
If he signs a new contract with us and continues to perform like he has in the last few weeks he should leave us for 5 million plus. 23 year old Scotland international with bags of experience already. If the boy McKenna from Aberdeen can leave for big money then Porto will as well (hopefully) Leaving on a free would be a right sickener.
If he signs a new contract it will be similar to the Cummings scenario where the buy out clause is relatively small. He's not going to sign a new deal that potentially scrares off suitors.
04-10-2022, 03:43 PM
If he signs a new contract it will be similar to the Cummings scenario where the buy out clause is relatively small. He's not going to sign a new deal that potentially scrares off suitors.
Or it will be like Boyle, with no clause and he still gets a move. We've no idea really.
04-10-2022, 04:09 PM
Or it will be like Boyle, with no clause and he still gets a move. We've no idea really.
Call it an educated guess.
04-10-2022, 04:17 PM
Call it an educated guess.
Are you close to the situation and have heard something? Genuinely, if so, fair enough. If not, pure guesswork.
It was a very different Hibs, in the championship, under much different owners when that Cummings deal was done.
04-10-2022, 04:48 PM
Has he signed yet?
The biggest thing for me is making sure he doesn't go west.
04-10-2022, 06:15 PM
Has he signed yet?
The biggest thing for me is making sure he doesn't go west.
The biggest thing for me is we get maximum return on a very good young player, sign a new contract hopefully both parties make a fortune in a couple of years
JammyDoidger
04-10-2022, 06:23 PM
Porto will sign a new deal, he's hacked off every other club in Scotland can't see him doing it to his boyhood club aswell😂.
04-10-2022, 06:33 PM
Porto will sign a new deal, he's hacked off every other club in Scotland can't see him doing it to his boyhood club aswell😂.
And every other club would still sign him if they could....
04-10-2022, 07:05 PM
Are you close to the situation and have heard something? Genuinely, if so, fair enough. If not, pure guesswork.
It was a very different Hibs, in the championship, under much different owners when that Cummings deal was done.
Porto signing a new deal that sees us get a small sum a la Cummings is absolutely a best case scenario for Hibs as far as I can see.
Why would he sign a deal that significantly reduces his options when it comes to his next move?
He's probably got enough love and respect for Hibs to see to it that we get something but the "boyhood fan" thing is wildly overplayed.
Porteous wants to play at a high level and earn a lot of money, something none of us can really begrudge him. We are where we are regarding his contract and even as a Hibs fan I don't see why he'd want to be too generous to us at cost to himself.
Porto signing a new deal that sees us get a small sum a la Cummings is absolutely a best case scenario for Hibs as far as I can see.
Why would he sign a deal that significantly reduces his options when it comes to his next move?
He's probably got enough love and respect for Hibs to see to it that we get something but the "boyhood fan" thing is wildly overplayed.
Porteous wants to play at a high level and earn a lot of money, something none of us can really begrudge him. We are where we are regarding his contract and even as a Hibs fan I don't see why he'd want to be too generous to us at cost to himself.
No denying all that but a wee 2 year deal with a £1.5m clause(with sell on) will see him and Hibs well looked after.
04-10-2022, 08:58 PM
No denying all that but a wee 2 year deal with a £1.5m clause(with sell on) will see him and Hibs well looked after.
I'm still pretty sure the player would prefer if there was a spare £1.5m kicking about that it was in his pocket rather than ours/ Ron Gordon's.
He won't be getting that kind of money as a signing on fee, £300-500k maybe but not £1.5m, if he does go to say a bottom EPL or top Championship club, his wages will be more than enough to keep him happy.
05-10-2022, 05:32 AM
The best case scenario is he just signs a new deal with no clause that shafts us. Like Boyle did.
Does Ryan even have all these options? He would've been cheap in the summer and wasn't linked seriously with anyone. We'll see.
Cummings career has been a disaster since leaving Hibs. Maybe Ryan stays and makes the right move, rather than the first one. Personally think he still has plenty to learn and improve on at Hibs.
05-10-2022, 05:35 AM
I don't think a fee of around 3-5 million will put anyone off if they really want him.
05-10-2022, 05:42 AM
I don't think a fee of around 3-5 million will put anyone off if they really want him.
Indeed. If a club will pay 3 million for 28 year old Boyle, they pay it for Porteous who has a far higher ceiling.
The best case scenario is he just signs a new deal with no clause that shafts us. Like Boyle did.
Does Ryan even have all these options? He would've been cheap in the summer and wasn't linked seriously with anyone. We'll see.
Cummings career has been a disaster since leaving Hibs. Maybe Ryan stays and makes the right move, rather than the first one. Personally think he still has plenty to learn and improve on at Hibs.
I know he's not kicked on and done as well as he could've but he's got a decent CV which is only improving now in Australia and should he make the World Cup. He scored twice against Liverpool for Shrewsbury, scored against Newcastle for Forest and won League 1 with Luton albeit he didn't play much.
And yeah, I'll be disappointed in Porteous if he leaves for nowt, especially if he does the horror show and goes to Rantic.
patlowe
05-10-2022, 01:21 PM
Indeed. If a club will pay 3 million for 28 year old Boyle, they pay it for Porteous who has a far higher ceiling.
I guess you could argue that guys that make a difference at the top end of the pitch almost always command higher fees, but I think the McKenna comparison is a fair one. All depends on a new deal and who actually wants to buy him.
Paulie Walnuts
05-10-2022, 01:38 PM
I know he's not kicked on and done as well as he could've but he's got a decent CV which is only improving now in Australia and should he make the World Cup. He scored twice against Liverpool for Shrewsbury, scored against Newcastle for Forest and won League 1 with Luton albeit he didn't play much.
And yeah, I'll be disappointed in Porteous if he leaves for nowt, especially if he does the horror show and goes to Rantic.
He also signed for Rangers for a period, which as much as we like to pretend it’s not, is a step up from Hibs level wise.
Cummings career being a disaster since leaving Hibs is vastly overplayed on here. He left Hibs in the Championship and has pretty much always played at a higher level than that since. He’s now on the verge of going to a World Cup.
Torto7
05-10-2022, 02:20 PM
He also signed for Rangers for a period, which as much as we like to pretend it’s not, is a step up from Hibs level wise.
Cummings career being a disaster since leaving Hibs is vastly overplayed on here. He left Hibs in the Championship and has pretty much always played at a higher level than that since. He’s now on the verge of going to a World Cup.
Less than 30 games for Forrest and Der Hun with three goals. The rest of the time Peterborough, Luton, Shrewsbury, Dundee and Central Coast. Most of his career has been at a lower level than the Hibs team he was part of. Good on him going to the World Cup.
Torto7
05-10-2022, 02:22 PM
He would suit going out to Italy like Doig. Then if he performs he gets a much bigger move. 3 mill or so to Seria A with a huge sell on and everyone is happy.
05-10-2022, 03:41 PM
Less than 30 games for Forrest and Der Hun with three goals. The rest of the time Peterborough, Luton, Shrewsbury, Dundee and Central Coast. Most of his career has been at a lower level than the Hibs team he was part of. Good on him going to the World Cup.
According to Wiki it's 35 games in all competitions with ten goals for Forest and the Hun
05-10-2022, 03:43 PM
Not in his case. Cummings played in a Rangers team along side the likes of Jamie Murphy, Jason Holt, Sean Goss. They only finished above Hibs on the final day of the season.
His career has been awful since leaving Hibs. He's not really been a success anywhere and he's now playing in a pub league. Good that he's making a success of it, but the standard is abysmal
05-10-2022, 04:49 PM
He’s not in the World Cup squad yet but I hope it happens for him.
He’s certainly not achieved great things since leaving us so far. This is a guy who we flew out to France to meet Neil Lennon because we were so desperate to extend his contract. He’s not lived up to those expectations.
Paulie Walnuts
05-10-2022, 05:08 PM
Not in his case. Cummings played in a Rangers team along side the likes of Jamie Murphy, Jason Holt, Sean Goss. They only finished above Hibs on the final day of the season.
His career has been awful since leaving Hibs. He's not really been a success anywhere and he's now playing in a pub league. Good that he's making a success of it, but the standard is abysmal
Id suggest 99% of footballers around the world would be delighted to get to a World Cup and see it as the absolute pinnacle. JC stands a real chance of doing that at 27 years old with plenty time left in his career. I’m not sure how his career post Hibs can be described as awful yet he’s scored against some huge clubs down in England, played for one of the big two in Scotland and could be going to a World Cup.
He’s not hit the heights he maybe could have but it’s been far from an awful career imo.
If he goes to the World Cup I think it would be fair to say he’s had a better career than Derek Riordan and nobody would dare suggest his was awful. He’ll also still be 27 at that point and have plenty time to go on to do even more in his career.
06-10-2022, 09:45 AM
Id suggest 99% of footballers around the world would be delighted to get to a World Cup and see it as the absolute pinnacle. JC stands a real chance of doing that at 27 years old with plenty time left in his career. I’m not sure how his career post Hibs can be described as awful yet he’s scored against some huge clubs down in England, played for one of the big two in Scotland and could be going to a World Cup.
He’s not hit the heights he maybe could have but it’s been far from an awful career imo.
If he goes to the World Cup I think it would be fair to say he’s had a better career than Derek Riordan and nobody would dare suggest his was awful. He’ll also still be 27 at that point and have plenty time to go on to do even more in his career.
He's been gone 5 years and the positives can be narrowed down to about 6 games. It has mostly been awful. Should've stayed.
06-10-2022, 02:09 PM
I, just wish I had Jasons "crap career" ffs, man is a legend and a very good goalscorer, hope he does get to a world cup shut some people right up.
Now back to the main subject has the big man signed a new deal yet, or is he waiting to the eve of the next Hun game to do it.
06-10-2022, 02:12 PM
If he signs a new deal on the same day Goodwin gets an 8 game suspension that would be carlsbergian.
06-10-2022, 02:13 PM
If he signs a new deal on the same day Goodwin gets an 8 game suspension that would be carlsbergian.
Yes that would be very good for sure, so what are we waiting on Porto the fud has got a 6 game ban, sign on the dotted. Although thinking about it we would not wish to take the headlines away from the fud would we.
Paulie Walnuts
06-10-2022, 02:41 PM
He's been gone 5 years and the positives can be narrowed down to about 6 games. It has mostly been awful. Should've stayed.
If you’re only talking about career defining moments being positives such as international appearances, goals against huge clubs, international goals etc then you’re right.
If that’s the only things that can be seen as positives though then I’d suggest most players would be lucky to have 6 or so games like that throughout their career. His career hasn’t been a case of 6 positive games and the rest awful. He had a couple of decent moments at Forest but largely struggled, done ok at Peterborough, done ok at Rangers, done ok at Shrewsbury in his first spell, not as well in his second spell, done well at Dundee and is doing well in Aus to the point he’s an international footballer again and potentially heading to the World Cup.
He’s actually scored 12 goals in 36 games since leaving Hibs (a lot of which were as a sub) whilst playing for Scottish Premiership teams, the exact same as Kevin Nisbets record of 1 in 3.
He’s certainly not set the football world alight but awful is miles from the truth.
06-10-2022, 02:43 PM
Anyone heard anything?
MJ hibs
06-10-2022, 03:06 PM
One of the most perfect couple weeks a player can have: winding up the dons manager to the point he gets himself banned, strolling your international debut in an important game and scoring/ clean sheet for your team away from home.
06-10-2022, 03:18 PM
I've been quite, actually, very impressed with Porto's mentality. To be publicly slated and called a cheat by an opposition manager like that and have all the keyboard warriors on social media jumping on the bandwagon then going on to play so well on his Scotland debut in a pressured match and score for Hibs in the very next game is fantastic. Well done him.
06-10-2022, 04:03 PM
A few weeks ago some on here were saying they’d be glad to get rid ‘cause of the way he shouted at a younger player :faf:
How things have changed eh. You’re all back lovin’ him now!
i don’t think I’d describe JC’s career as better than riordans. Different certainly, not sure I’d describe either as better. Deek has been capped for his country, and has scored many more goals in top flight football than JC. He’s also scored over 100 goals for his boyhood team, played for the other arse cheek, and whilst JC is rightly feted as part of the team who finally won the Scottish cup, Deek was an integral part of a much loved team and time at Hibs, and like Boyle, returned as a hero to fans
06-10-2022, 04:12 PM
I think Cummings should have stayed. He was improving year on year with us and had room for further improvement.
I get why he left though. Not a move you can easily turn down.
And I also don’t think he’s done that well since leaving.
I’m delighted his fortunes have picked up in Oz though, because he’s a player and character I’ve got an awful lot of time for.
06-10-2022, 04:59 PM
If you’re only talking about career defining moments being positives such as international appearances, goals against huge clubs, international goals etc then you’re right.
If that’s the only things that can be seen as positives though then I’d suggest most players would be lucky to have 6 or so games like that throughout their career. His career hasn’t been a case of 6 positive games and the rest awful. He had a couple of decent moments at Forest but largely struggled, done ok at Peterborough, done ok at Rangers, done ok at Shrewsbury in his first spell, not as well in his second spell, done well at Dundee and is doing well in Aus to the point he’s an international footballer again and potentially heading to the World Cup.
He’s actually scored 12 goals in 36 games since leaving Hibs (a lot of which were as a sub) whilst playing for Scottish Premiership teams, the exact same as Kevin Nisbets record of 1 in 3.
He’s certainly not set the football world alight but awful is miles from the truth.
Not really no. He has had not 1 consistent season of form since leaving Hibs. He scored more in 3 years at Hibs than in what, 6 seasons since?
The only real positives are from those 5 or 6 games. Here he would scored in 5 or 6 games in a row. I've nothing against the guy, but its clearly been a failure since leaving here.
hibeg
06-10-2022, 05:37 PM
This is a RP thread, not JC, or have I got that wrong 😀
James posted an egg timer about a week or so ago. He is obviously in the know, his track record is very good
I stated then that it was a worrying post.
I had hoped he would sign a contract, being a Hibs fan. I am aware he can make a fortune by not going down that route.
I have resigned myself to RP leaving with Hibs getting nowt, apart from any development fee.
JamesHFC
06-10-2022, 05:41 PM
This is a RP thread, not JC, or have I got that wrong 😀
James posted an egg timer about a week or so ago. He is obviously in the know, his track record is very good
I stated then that it was a worrying post.
I had hoped he would sign a contract, being a Hibs fan. I am aware he can make a fortune by not going down that route.
I have resigned myself to RP leaving with Hibs getting nowt, apart from any development fee.
Nothing to worry about 👍
06-10-2022, 05:41 PM
Nothing to worry about 👍
Fantastic news.
hibeg
06-10-2022, 05:50 PM
Nothing to worry about 👍
Now that is exciting news James. 👍
Paulie Walnuts
06-10-2022, 08:47 PM
Not really no. He has had not 1 consistent season of form since leaving Hibs. He scored more in 3 years at Hibs than in what, 6 seasons since?
The only real positives are from those 5 or 6 games. Here he would scored in 5 or 6 games in a row. I've nothing against the guy, but its clearly been a failure since leaving here.
Yes, really, yes.
Scoring 6 in 18, 8 in 29, 7 in 31, 8 in 18, 6 in 18, 10 in 21, winning League One,, getting included in his leagues team of the year, getting called up to an international squad and having a real chance of going to a World Cup over a 5 season period are not the hallmarks of someone who has had an awful career.
Why are the 35 goals listed above not included in positives? Because it doesn’t fit your argument. 35 goals for a striker disregarded as not being positive :faf:
You say he’s not had 1 consistent season yet he’s scored 16 goals in 21/22. He scored 9 in 18/19. He scored 10 in 17/18.
As I said, your definition of ‘positive’ moments are career defining moments. If that’s the case then Martin Boyle is probably sitting at 3 or 4 positive moments - a double at Tynie, a hatrick at Hampden and an equaliser at ER along with some international games. The idea that he’s only had that many positive moments in his career is of course nonsense, much the same as the idea that JC has only had 5 or 6 is nonsense.
JC has had 5 spells at clubs since he left Hibs where he would have hit double figures had he played a full season worth of games. Earth shattering? No, it’s not. Awful? Absolutely not.
Incase you didn’t realise, he scored goals here in the second tier. Since he left Hibs he’s consistently played at a higher level than he played when he was here. The idea that anything short of scoring the amount of goals he scored here whilst playing against part time teams for about 30% of the season is ‘awful’ is simply laughable.
06-10-2022, 09:01 PM
Yes, really, yes.
Scoring 6 in 18, 8 in 29, 7 in 31, 8 in 18, 6 in 18, 10 in 21, winning League One,, getting included in his leagues team of the year, getting called up to an international squad and having a real chance of going to a World Cup over a 5 season period are not the hallmarks of someone who has had an awful career.
Why are the 35 goals listed above not included in positives? Because it doesn’t fit your argument.
You say he’s not had 1 consistent season yet he’s scored 16 goals in 21/22. He scored 9 in 18/19. He scored 10 in 17/18.
As I said, your definition of ‘positive’ moments are career defining moments. If that’s the case then Martin Boyle is probably sitting at 3 or 4 positive moments - a double at Tynie, a hatrick at Hampden and an equaliser at ER along with some international games. The idea that he’s only had that many positive moments in his career is of course nonsense, much the same as the idea that JC has only had 5 or 6 is nonsense.
JC has had 5 spells at clubs since he left Hibs where he would have hit double figures had he played a full season worth of games. Earth shattering? No, it’s not. Awful? Absolutely not.
Incase you didn’t realise, he scored goals here in the second tier. Since he left Hibs he’s consistently played at a higher level than he played when he was here. The idea that anything short of scoring the amount of goals he scored here is ‘awful’ is simply laughable.
35 goals are positives sure. Over 6 seasons? Not that great. Majority scored in league 1 or Scottish championship which aren't really better than the level he played at here. Chance of making the world cup would be great for him. Otherwise it's been meh at best. Mostly that of a poor journeyman, bouncing around.
Paulie Walnuts
06-10-2022, 09:04 PM
35 goals are positives sure. Over 6 seasons? Not that great. Majority scored in league 1 or Scottish championship which aren't really better than the level he played at here. Chance of making the world cup would be great for him. Otherwise it's been meh at best. Mostly that of a poor journeyman, bouncing around.
League One is a higher level than our Championship, there’s no point in debating that really.
As for his career being a bit meh, that’s probably closer to the mark. That’s a huge difference from awful or a ‘disaster’ as you suggested though.
06-10-2022, 09:32 PM
League One is a higher level than our Championship, there’s no point in debating that really.
As for his career being a bit meh, that’s probably closer to the mark. That’s a huge difference from awful or a ‘disaster’ as you suggested though.
League 1 is without a doubt higher than the Scottish Championship. There's a good few sides in that league that would do fairly well in the Scottish Premiership.
06-10-2022, 10:31 PM
This RP thread is great… for learning about JC’s post-Hibs stats. 🙄
Green Reaper
07-10-2022, 09:02 AM
Nothing to worry about 👍
Anything further you can say on this at the moment James?
JamesHFC
07-10-2022, 01:09 PM
Anything further you can say on this at the moment James?
Got passed on that further talks have taken place over the last week or two which were positive. All comes down to the timing of when Hibs want to announce it now.
07-10-2022, 01:13 PM
Got passed on that further talks have taken place over the last week or two which were positive. All comes down to the timing of when Hibs want to announce it now.
Superb. Fingers crossed it happens.
07-10-2022, 01:37 PM
When Ryan "kissed the badge" at his goal celebration,i thought "Never seen him doing that before"
Might have been a sign to the fans he had signed an extended/new contract!!
07-10-2022, 01:57 PM
When Ryan "kissed the badge" at his goal celebration,i thought "Never seen him doing that before"
Might have been a sign to the fans he had signed an extended/new contract!!
That thought crossed my mind also
hibeg
07-10-2022, 02:42 PM
Best news I’ve heard in ages 👍👍
07-10-2022, 02:44 PM
I'd rather play for that Hibs side in the championship, against Rangers and Hearts than anything in league 1. We won trophies and played in Europe from the Scottish championship. When was the last time and English league 1 side did that?
07-10-2022, 02:49 PM
I'd rather play for that Hibs side in the championship, against Rangers and Hearts than anything in league 1. We won trophies and played in Europe from the Scottish championship. When was the last time and English league 1 side did that?
That's a really daft comparison.
A league 1 team would have to beat sides in the EPL and the Championship to win the FA Cup.
07-10-2022, 03:09 PM
That's a really daft comparison.
A league 1 team would have to beat sides in the EPL and the Championship to win the FA Cup.
Exactly, and how often will you ever find Hibs the gimps and the huns in the 2nd tier of Scottish football at the same time?
07-10-2022, 03:21 PM
Exactly, and how often will you ever find Hibs the gimps and the huns in the 2nd tier of Scottish football at the same time?
Yeah, but thats the point, it did happen.
The average level is no doubt higher than the scottish championship, but at the time Cummings played here, and the Hibs side he played for, was far better.
I'm really not trying to get stuck into Cummings, but it hasn't got better than Hibs for him.
07-10-2022, 03:28 PM
Yeah, but thats the point, it did happen.
The average level is no doubt higher than the scottish championship, but at the time Cummings played here, and the Hibs side he played for, was far better.
I'm really not trying to get stuck into Cummings, but it hasn't got better than Hibs for him.
An there wiz me being daft, thinking this was about Ryan Porteous and if he would sign another contract with hibs, how daft of me ffs.
By the way IMHO I, think you are getting stuck into J.C. for some strange reason.
07-10-2022, 03:30 PM
An there wiz me being daft thinking this was about Ryan Porteous and if he would sign another contract with hibs, how daft of me ffs.
By the way IMHO I, think you are getting stuck into J.C. for some strange reason.:greengrin
Feel free to discuss that mate. Absolutely nothing stopping you.
So is anything short if blowing smoke up a players arse getting stuck into them? Really? What have I said that is so offensive? His career has gone downhill since leaving Hibs. Really not much doubting that.
07-10-2022, 03:34 PM
Feel free to discuss that mate. Absolutely nothing stopping you.
So is anything short if blowing smoke up a players arse getting stuck into them? Really? What have I said that is so offensive? His career has gone downhill since leaving Hibs. Really not much doubting that.
Oh, what I would have done for the same crap career! Give it a rest eh, nothing to do with Porto signing another contract.
07-10-2022, 03:35 PM
Oh, what I would have done for the same crap career! Give it a rest eh, nothing to do with Porto signing another contract.
Great input. Yes, we'd all have killed for his career. Not at all relevant to the conversation, though. I'd have killed for much worse players than Cummings football career. Thats not what is being discussed. At no point did I call his career crap. Very harsh thing of you to say. A Scottish cup winning Hibs hero, no need to call his career crap.
How about you give it a rest. Why haven't you replied to the others talking about Cummings? Just me you have a problem with I assume?
07-10-2022, 03:45 PM
Great input. Yes, we'd all have killed for his career. Not at all relevant to the conversation, though. I'd have killed for much worse players than Cummings football career. Thats not what is being discussed. At no point did I call his career crap. Very harsh thing of you to say. A Scottish cup winning Hibs hero, no need to call his career crap.
How about you give it a rest. Why haven't you replied to the others talking about Cummings? Just me you have a problem with I assume?
Dont, have a problem with anyone all love n peace me is, the crap career was mentioned on here, just quoting thats all, you do seem to have a thing about him though, and the thread is or was about Porto until such as your good self decided it would be better just having a go at one of our legends by saying he had just gone all downhill since leaving Hibs, which is a pretty grand statement for sure, me I would rather discuss one of our present players and hope that he is still with us after New year, so no problemo. As for my input you got it.
Green Reaper
07-10-2022, 04:16 PM
Thanks for the response, much appreciated 👍
mikefadge
08-10-2022, 06:18 PM
Can't believe this thread hasn't been added to since yesterday. Porto absolutely supreme today:hibees Really hope he signs a new deal! I love him!!
08-10-2022, 06:34 PM
Can't believe this thread hasn't been added to since yesterday. Porto absolutely supreme today:hibees Really hope he signs a new deal! I love him!!
Porteous is a difficult one. He obviously loves the club but knows he’s moving on sooner than later. I don’t see him faffing around with a pre contract with another club or an extended contract to ensure we get some cash for him. He’ll give his all till the end of the season and then he’ll be away. I think we should just appreciate him for the rest of the season and wish him well.
yonder1875
08-10-2022, 08:59 PM
The boy is a level above. Seems like the rest of Scottish Fitba are finally catching on too.
08-10-2022, 09:38 PM
Deserved the MOTM today for his goal, forcing the sending off and overall defensive display. Will be a big miss when he eventually goes, just hope a deal can be made so both parties get the best deal possible.
Paulie Walnuts
08-10-2022, 10:15 PM
Was brilliant today :agree:
JamesHFC
09-10-2022, 12:39 AM
Big week ahead.
09-10-2022, 12:41 AM
Big week ahead.
Announced just before the Celtic game to boost morale? 😅
cam75
09-10-2022, 05:06 AM
Thought Porto was reacting Le gods goal today😂
https://youtu.be/Z4z1WLVt-PM
09-10-2022, 08:51 AM
So has he signed or not or does nobody know?
Bridge hibs
09-10-2022, 09:05 AM
So has he signed or not or does nobody know?Nobody knows
09-10-2022, 09:24 AM
Nobody knows.
09-10-2022, 09:24 AM
Thought Porto was reacting Le gods goal today😂
https://youtu.be/Z4z1WLVt-PM
I thought of that goal too - Porto putting his head where it hurts, and scoring, at a game Le God was present for.
09-10-2022, 09:31 AM
We commented at the time we hoped Porteous still had all his teeth.
09-10-2022, 09:33 AM
Nobody knows.
Lee Johnson mentions the situation in his post match comments.
They've had a good conversation. Ryan is putting in commited performances. Joked that they might have to twist his arm if we get to January.
Doesn't sound like a done deal yet.
Hopefully Boyle is in his ear every day at HTC about signing a new deal.
MagicSwirlingShip
09-10-2022, 10:18 AM
How many career appearances is he on now?
09-10-2022, 10:46 AM
I was super critical of him at the start of the session as his attitude seemed to be off to my untrained eye. He’s seriously upped his game recently and might just be the best player in the league right now.
09-10-2022, 11:30 AM
Nobody knows
JamesHFC knows. He knows. He definitely knows. 😁
09-10-2022, 11:38 AM
JamesHFC knows. He knows. He definitely knows. 😁
Could he let Lee Johnson know?
09-10-2022, 12:54 PM
Could he let Lee Johnson know?
Donegal Hibby
09-10-2022, 08:51 PM
Craig Levein gives Porto contract advice of ' not Hibs ' . Guys such a bitter , twisted serial loser
Mcbizz1998
09-10-2022, 09:16 PM
Craig Levein gives Porto contract advice of ' not Hibs ' . Guys such a bitter , twisted serial loser
Where/when did he say this, mate? Absolute loser, he obviously rates Porto though!
Mcbizz1998
09-10-2022, 09:18 PM
I thought of that goal too - Porto putting his head where it hurts, and scoring, at a game Le God was present for.
Yep, exactly what I said to my mate at the game.
Was a bit spooky actually, given the great man was at the game.
OstKurve Hibs
09-10-2022, 09:18 PM
Laughed out loud when I saw that , it's sad watching him try to stay relevant
Another jambo bbc puppet lol
Oh aye, that wasnt them celebrating a last gasp draw away at the mighty killie the day was it lol
Donegal Hibby
09-10-2022, 09:39 PM
Where/when did he say this, mate? Absolute loser, he obviously rates Porto though!
It's in daily record and football Scotland must have said it lately
09-10-2022, 09:47 PM
Joe Newell sticking up for his mate in the press. Well said Joe. Also think the criticism he’s had might just have worked in our favour for him individually and us as a team.
“I don’t want to get too deep into it, but I don’t get what people’s problem is,” he said. “He’s one of Scotland’s best young players, never mind best young defenders.
“Sometimes I hear and read things, and think there’s just a witch-hunt out for him”.
Donegal Hibby
09-10-2022, 09:49 PM
Laughed out loud when I saw that , it's sad watching him try to stay relevant
Another jambo bbc puppet lol
Oh aye, that wasnt them celebrating a last gasp draw away at the mighty killie the day was it lol
He's a sad bitter individual who even his own hearts supporters can't stick either though I suppose that's just Natural order when it comes to Craig Levein. :greengrin
09-10-2022, 10:01 PM
Joe Newell sticking up for his mate in the press. Well said Joe. Also think the criticism he’s had might just have worked in our favour for him individually and us as a team.
“I don’t want to get too deep into it, but I don’t get what people’s problem is,” he said. “He’s one of Scotland’s best young players, never mind best young defenders.
“Sometimes I hear and read things, and think there’s just a witch-hunt out for him”.
Well said Joe and it also puts it out there about a witch-hunt. Don’t think it’s been mentioned as an alternative to the permanently guilty of everything peddled by the msm
10-10-2022, 07:28 AM
All because Porto had a spat with a couple of The Rangers players back in 2020, and had the audacity to respond to Gerrard's jibes :greengrin The OF and their media chums don't take kindly to opposing players standing up for themselves.
13-10-2022, 04:49 PM
Good article today from Lee Johnson
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-defender-ryan-porteous-is-being-targeted-and-could-be-forced-out-of-scottish-football-claims-lee-johnson-3879069
13-10-2022, 04:54 PM
All because Porto had a spat with a couple of The Rangers players back in 2020, and had the audacity to respond to Gerrard's jibes :greengrin The OF and their media chums don't take kindly to opposing players standing up for themselves.
the “do we look happy?” jibe after the semi final a year ago really got under their skin… they’re still prickly about it to this day.
Porto winds them up no end and long may it continue
13-10-2022, 04:58 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-defender-ryan-porteous-is-being-targeted-and-could-be-forced-out-of-scottish-football-claims-lee-johnson-3879069
Great article and he's spot on, could easily be forced out of Scotland because of the ridiculous attention he gets.
13-10-2022, 06:08 PM
Great article and he's spot on, could easily be forced out of Scotland because of the ridiculous attention he gets.
Not before time. Should have been said months ago.
We as a club, must protect our players against the West coast bias press.
13-10-2022, 06:14 PM
That doesn't sound too positive from Johnson on the prospect of Porteous signing a new contract. Almost as if the club are getting us ready for the idea he'll be leaving.
Unfortunately I think he has his sights set on better leagues
Trinity Hibee
13-10-2022, 07:11 PM
So is there no mention of the elbow Porteous took? No retrospective action?
13-10-2022, 07:52 PM
So is there no mention of the elbow Porteous took? No retrospective action?
Mope, looks like what you need to do us take to twitter like that knob from Aberdeen did, or have Sportscene analyse it for hours in order for the compliance officer to look at it. Should 100% be a retrospective red
13-10-2022, 08:34 PM
Mope, looks like what you need to do us take to twitter like that knob from Aberdeen did, or have Sportscene analyse it for hours in order for the compliance officer to look at it. Should 100% be a retrospective red
is there actually any footage of it? Didn’t see it at the game bud plenty seem convinced there was an elbow, not see It in any highlights
13-10-2022, 08:37 PM
is there actually any footage of it? Didn’t see it at the game bud plenty seem convinced there was an elbow, not see It in any highlights
Was shown a number of times on replay on both Hibs TV and DUTV. Can't believe its not been picked up. 100% if the other way round Porto would be looking at a ban
hibee
13-10-2022, 08:41 PM
They showed it on the STV news today.
Donegal Hibby
13-10-2022, 10:12 PM
Another article now " Hibs boss criticises unhelpful comments by ex hearts manager . Scotsman btw also another article about Porto similar to the EEN one in Scotsman too
duffers
14-10-2022, 06:37 AM
https://twitter.com/malky1875/status/1579917714134798336?s=46&t=oQ6HaSoPWtBJDeERur-KMA
Trinity Hibee
14-10-2022, 06:39 AM
So basically the fans are going to have to start a twitter petition for it to be looked at by SPFL. Scandalous really. Makes a mockery of having VAR come in half way through a season
14-10-2022, 06:40 AM
No Sportscene analysis = no compliance officer intervention
14-10-2022, 11:14 AM
Just looking at the article on how much Rangers got for Bassey from Ajax,£19.5m rising to £22.5m. So it's important that we get Ryan on a contract. Is Bassey any better than Ryan? Bassey was not a regular starter for Rangers this time last season.
yerauldda
14-10-2022, 11:15 AM
Just looking at the article on how much Rangers got for Bassey from Ajax,£19.5m rising to £22.5m. So it's important that we get Ryan on a contract. Is Bassey any better than Ryan?
I love Porteous but yes he is.
14-10-2022, 11:24 AM
Just looking at the article on how much Rangers got for Bassey from Ajax,£19.5m rising to £22.5m. So it's important that we get Ryan on a contract. Is Bassey any better than Ryan? Bassey was not a regular starter for Rangers this time last season.
Not, very impressed with him if reports from Holland anything to go by, they cannot believe Ajax paid so much, so I would be looking at Porto being Hibs record high for a player sold, only if he signs a contract unfortunately, but who knows eh!
14-10-2022, 11:26 AM
I love Porteous but yes he is.https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/calvin-bassey-rangers-payday-leaves-28236475
Read this.
Josh has had a better start in a much higher quality league than Bassey.
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
cameronw-hfc
14-10-2022, 11:41 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/calvin-bassey-rangers-payday-leaves-28236475
Read this.
Josh has had a better start in a much higher quality league than Bassey.
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
Apples and oranges. I'm not saying Bassey is better than either, but got to take into account Josh is in a worse team in a situation where they aren't expected to dominate. Ajax are, they have a lot more of the ball and much higher expectations, and Bassey was always an athlete rather than a footballer so it makes sense he's struggling.
Not a great comparison imo
14-10-2022, 11:53 AM
Apples and oranges. I'm not saying Bassey is better than either, but got to take into account Josh is in a worse team in a situation where they aren't expected to dominate. Ajax are, they have a lot more of the ball and much higher expectations, and Bassey was always an athlete rather than a footballer so it makes sense he's struggling.
Not a great comparison imo
The Dutch league is inferior to the Italian league,I could not believe how much The Rangers got for Bassey. I would say that Josh is an athlete as well as a footballer.
https://twitter.com/malky1875/status/1579917714134798336?s=46&t=oQ6HaSoPWtBJDeERur-KMA
Can you imagine the attention this would have received if Ryan had been the aggressor in all this!
Not, very impressed with him if reports from Holland anything to go by, they cannot believe Ajax paid so much, so I would be looking at Porto being Hibs record high for a player sold, only if he signs a contract unfortunately, but who knows eh!
Bassey was IMO the weakest link in The Rangers in the early part of last season. Then he had a couple of outstanding games in Europe and because he plays for them, he was sold for a ridiculous amount of money. Now it's being realised his physical attributes can't compensate for his footballing deficiencies. If Ryan was at The R's they'd be wanting £20m for him.
14-10-2022, 01:14 PM
Bassey was an absolute stand out in the Europa League last season against some very high quality teams.
As much as I like Porteous he's not played anywhere near that level consistently.
Hibees1973
14-10-2022, 01:24 PM
It's got to the point that if Porteous makes any kind of indiscretion, even minor, the media will be all over it.
It's his prerogative to wait on the deal that suits him best and if he leaves he goes with my best wishes.
Only Hibs are to blame for letting his contract wind down to the final year and not improving his terms much earlier.
14-10-2022, 01:31 PM
Bassey was an absolute stand out in the Europa League last season against some very high quality teams.
As much as I like Porteous he's not played anywhere near that level consistently.
I was asking the question I did think that Bassey had a few good games in the Europa League and was probably signed by Ajax on the back of these displays but Bassey was not worth the money Ajax paid for him.
14-10-2022, 01:40 PM
I was asking the question I did think that Bassey had a few good games in the Europa League and was probably signed by Ajax on the back of these displays but Bassey was not worth the money Ajax paid for him.
Don't think you can possibly say that this early, he's only been there a few months.
14-10-2022, 02:15 PM
Maybe we as Hibs fans should be hounding the folk that are hounding Ryan? They wouldn't get away with it in Holland.
Donegal Hibby
18-10-2022, 08:33 PM
Ron Gordan hopeful of keeping Porteous . Story in Daily Record , Scotsman and football Scotland
delbert
18-10-2022, 09:04 PM
Ron Gordan hopeful of keeping Porteous . Story in Daily Record , Scotsman and football Scotland
Just out of interest, why would a top class defender like Porteous want to sign on again for a team who can throw out a gutless, spineless, clueless performance like the one at Parkhead last Saturday ?
gaz1875
18-10-2022, 09:08 PM
Just out of interest, why would a top class defender like Porteous want to sign on again for a team who can throw out a gutless, spineless, clueless performance like the one at Parkhead last Saturday ?
Probably because he was part of the shambles.
Donegal Hibby
18-10-2022, 09:52 PM
He might not sign that's true .why would he sign again though ? maybe cause he's a Hibs fan and we are offering him a very good deal .what is he 23 ? Signs a contract make himself plenty cash and moves in summer making himself more cash and the club he supports cash as well . Win win situation for both . Now bringing up the Celtic match , Yes we had a bad day , tactics maybe , players below par and playing a team that can destroy anyone in the league . Should we have done better definitely but your away wrong calling the team gutless . Awful word to use imo .Game on Friday btw ? Maybe you should look forward rather than back it might change your negative attitude .
18-10-2022, 09:56 PM
I'm quite sure you know why but rip into Hibs instead, that's the spirit.
18-10-2022, 11:08 PM
That's good news. Was told by family 6 weeks ago he was wanting to play in England.
Him and his old man are big Hibs fans though, so I reckon if Hibs offer a decent enough deal he will go for it.
Donegal Hibby
18-10-2022, 11:34 PM
That's good news. Was told by family 6 weeks ago he was wanting to play in England.
Him and his old man are big Hibs fans though, so I reckon if Hibs offer a decent enough deal he will go for it.
I hope he does sign contract and gets his move to England afterwards he deserves it though will be sorry to lose a quality player and a good Hibby too .Guys a class act .
18-10-2022, 11:41 PM
Even if it was a new contract but he leaves in the summer down south would be best for both parties.
hibbie02
19-10-2022, 07:17 AM
Possibly slightly off topic, but...
Many many years ago there was a Teacher at Leith Academy by the name of Porteous. It's not a common name, so wondered if there was a connection?
leith lynx
19-10-2022, 08:11 AM
Many many years ago there was a Teacher at Leith Academy by the name of Porteous. It's not a common name, so wondered if there was a connection?
Vaguely remember him, same era when Mckay was Rector?, used to be a Porteous who played for Aberdeen in the eighties.
With an open door to help him move on for the right deal.
We’ll usually lose our best young players. If you treat them right when they goo it’ll encourage talented young players that Hibs is a good place to come to further their careers and we’ll get a return on the investment
hibbie02
19-10-2022, 10:31 AM
Vaguely remember him, same era when Mckay was Rector?, used to be a Porteous who played for Aberdeen in the eighties.
That's the period. Think he was an English Teacher.
19-10-2022, 11:44 AM
My mates a season ticket holder for Ajax..Thinks Bassey has been rotten for them.
Clarence
19-10-2022, 12:03 PM
There was maths teacher at my school (not Leith) called Porteous. Big guy with a moustache. Quite sound if I remember correctly.
Godsahibby
19-10-2022, 01:55 PM
There was maths teacher at my school (not Leith) called Porteous. Big guy with a moustache. Quite sound if I remember correctly.
Gillespies? also had a brother who was a Spanish teacher at the School.
19-10-2022, 08:43 PM
My P5 teacher in the 90s at Leith Primary was Mr Porteous too. I think he was English so probably not related to Ryan or the Leith Academy rector.
19-10-2022, 10:24 PM
I recon that we are going to have to accept Ryan Porteous leaving in the winter window as it will be our only opportunity to get something for him, hopefully with add on clauses. It’s sickening but realistic to think that his contract running down is going to leave a massive void in our finances.
He has been a good servant to the club and clearly have a strong affection for the club but money talks and somehow we have undervalued him for too long. Both the club and us as supporters generally.
hibbie02
19-10-2022, 10:24 PM
My P5 teacher in the 90s at Leith Primary was Mr Porteous too. I think he was English so probably not related to Ryan or the Leith Academy rector.
No he was in the Secondary School at the end of the 70s. Certainly not related to Hector the Rector. Must have been a large Porteous clan in Leith.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
20-10-2022, 04:43 AM
I recon that we are going to have to accept Ryan Porteous leaving in the winter window as it will be our only opportunity to get something for him, hopefully with add on clauses. It’s sickening but realistic to think that his contract running down is going to leave a massive void in our finances.
He has been a good servant to the club and clearly have a strong affection for the club but money talks and somehow we have undervalued him for too long. Both the club and us as supporters generally.
Significantly more chance he leaves in the summer. We'll get pennies in winter, keeping him will be worth more.
Vaguely remember him, same era when Mckay was Rector?, used to be a Porteous who played for Aberdeen in the eighties.It's a surname with plenty history in the capital.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Porteous_Riots
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
20-10-2022, 07:57 AM
No he was in the Secondary School at the end of the 70s. Certainly not related to Hector the Rector. Must have been a large Porteous clan in Leith.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
There was a PE teacher , rugby player, called Porteous at Leith Academy, late 70s , early 80s …iirc he sadly died quiet a young man
hibbie02
20-10-2022, 11:40 AM
There was a PE teacher , rugby player, called Porteous at Leith Academy, late 70s , early 80s …iirc he sadly died quiet a young man
Now you say that, it was him. Very popular guy too I seem to remember.
20-10-2022, 11:44 AM
@JamesHFC any word?
Was thinking he would have signed by now but seems to have gone very quiet on that front
leith lynx
20-10-2022, 03:39 PM
Remember the late Colin Mcleod as well, popular (chain smoking!)PE teacher, who also played for Leith Accies rugby, my favourite. P.E. teacher though was Beryl Adams😊
20-10-2022, 03:41 PM
Significantly more chance he leaves in the summer. We'll get pennies in winter, keeping him will be worth more.
It’s a fair point. I just feel the pre-contract collapsed resolve route is where this will go. I do agree, a successful season probably brings in more money xx
20-10-2022, 03:52 PM
It’s a fair point. I just feel the pre-contract collapsed resolve route is where this will go. I do agree, a successful season probably brings in more money xx
He'll be at Hibs if Hibs want him. He won't kick off and force a move 5 months early, especially if we're still in the cup and doing well in the league.
James seems to think he'll renew which would be fantastic. Hopefully the case.
20-10-2022, 03:54 PM
Pre match signing of contract extension on the pitch before the game tomorrow night.
20-10-2022, 04:05 PM
I predict Ryan has a massive future ahead of him, if hes not already, will be worth mega millions in the near future.
20-10-2022, 04:21 PM
He'll be at Hibs if Hibs want him. He won't kick off and force a move 5 months early, especially if we're still in the cup and doing well in the league.
James seems to think he'll renew which would be fantastic. Hopefully the case.
James' quote was that it all comes down to the timing of when Hibs want to announce it. In effect that it is a done deal.
I have to say that is too notch info if he is right because the noises since don't point to that being the case.
Paulie Walnuts
20-10-2022, 04:22 PM
James' quote was that it all comes down to the timing of when Hibs want to announce it. In effect that it is a done deal.
I have to say that is too notch info if he is right because the noises since don't point to that being the case.
Not having a go at JamesHFC here but he’s wrong. There’s no way Hibs are coming out with the comments they are if he’s signed.
Have to agree, think he'll be away in the summer, he's been mixing with Scottish International players lately and will know exactly what kind of money he could earn in England or Europe. Good luck to the boy.
20-10-2022, 07:33 PM
They all get something wrong eventually, just hope this isn't his moment
You get told things in good faith, depending on the source it's whether you believe them or not.
21-10-2022, 08:33 PM
Weak for both goals tonight. Gotta be stronger Ryan.
21-10-2022, 08:34 PM
Rotten tonight.
NC1875
21-10-2022, 08:45 PM
Have to agree, think he'll be away in the summer, he's been mixing with Scottish International players lately and will know exactly what kind of money he could earn in England or Europe. Good luck to the boy.
Peanuts based on that performance. Not as good as he thinks he is
21-10-2022, 08:50 PM
Get rid in January 👍
21-10-2022, 09:08 PM
Poor tonight, but tbh I think it's pretty set in his head that he wants to move on and it's showing a wee bit.
If he wanted to stay he would've signed by now.
21-10-2022, 09:08 PM
I predict Ryan has a massive future ahead of him, if hes not already, will be worth mega millions in the near future.
Sady I fear he will be away from Hibs by the time that happens.
He’s my fav Hibs player just now but I just don’t him wanting to stay around. He wants to test himself against the best so needs to move on.
I’ll continue to enjoy him whilst he’s here and wish him all the best in January or June.
Paulie Walnuts
21-10-2022, 09:15 PM
Reverted to type tonight.
He’s been really poor for a while now. Had a few good games for us and a good game for Scotland but that’s the Porteous we’ve been seeing more often than not for a while now.
21-10-2022, 09:42 PM
Sady I fear he will be away from Hibs by the time that happens.
He’s my fav Hibs player just now but I just don’t him wanting to stay around. He wants to test himself against the best so needs to move on.
I’ll continue to enjoy him whilst he’s here and wish him all the best in January or June.
He couldn’t beat Stevie May or Nicky Clark to headers tonight what chance does he have against “the best”.
21-10-2022, 09:46 PM
Reverted to type tonight.
He’s been really poor for a while now. Had a few good games for us and a good game for Scotland but that’s the Porteous we’ve been seeing more often than not for a while now.
Certainly hasnt been really poor for a while.
Paulie Walnuts
21-10-2022, 09:48 PM
Certainly hasnt been really poor for a while.
He certainly has been.
He was poor last season, I’m not sure how that can even be debated given how many red cards and suspensions he had. He started the season poorly, came onto a game for 4 or 5 games and had a horror show tonight.
That can quite easily be described as really poor for a while imo.