View Full Version : Porteous
cameronw-hfc
21-10-2022, 09:49 PM
He's a very, very good player, but besides the Scotland game, and the 1/2 games after, he's been utter crap this year. I was surprised with his call up as I felt it was his worst start to a season with us in a while, he picked it up for a few after but he's reverted back to how he started the season now.
Honestly don't think he's fully with us mentally atm. Think he's one foot out the door
21-10-2022, 09:52 PM
He certainly has been.
He was poor last season, I’m not sure how that can even be debated given how many red cards and suspensions he had. He started the season poorly, came onto a game for 4 or 5 games and had a horror show tonight.
That’s really poor for a while imo.
Aye yer right, we should just get rid o him, we can replace him with who? what player are you thinking we can replace him with, interested to know.
22-10-2022, 12:55 AM
He certainly has been.
He was poor last season, I’m not sure how that can even be debated given how many red cards and suspensions he had. He started the season poorly, came onto a game for 4 or 5 games and had a horror show tonight.
That can quite easily be described as really poor for a while imo.
That’s a concern then because only David Marshall can claim to challenge him for our best player so far this season.
22-10-2022, 03:39 AM
He's a very, very good player, but besides the Scotland game, and the 1/2 games after, he's been utter crap this year. I was surprised with his call up as I felt it was his worst start to a season with us in a while, he picked it up for a few after but he's reverted back to how he started the season now.
Honestly don't think he's fully with us mentally atm. Think he's one foot out the door
I think he’s had one foot out the door for about 18 months.
No doubting he’s an excellent player when he’s on form but top players don’t do the switching off etc that he does.
The first goal was terrible defending, the second I have a bit of sympathy because his player got to have a good run at attacking the ball.
We’ll miss him when he goes, mainly because we already know what it’s like to be missing him through injury, suspension or basic dereliction of duty.
22-10-2022, 06:25 AM
Aye yer right, we should just get rid o him, we can replace him with who? what player are you thinking we can replace him with, interested to know.
Bushiri is a very capable player.
22-10-2022, 06:34 AM
Bushiri is a very capable player.
Porteous defended very badly last night, in fact he was awful for both goals in my opinion.
Yet saying that, if we relied on Hanlon and Rocky to bring the ball out and start the play, i'd be watching through my fingers.
Although defending from Ryan was poor, and he really should be doing a lot better than he did last night, and he was the main reason we lost those goals, he is our best defender.
Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2022, 08:34 AM
I never said get rid of him?
22-10-2022, 08:38 AM
After goin out ma way tae say the guy would be worth mega millions in the future, the lad has an absolute stinker, responsible imo for both goals and goin doon softly after a push in the back, that led to their goal wont do your Scotland prospects any good. Woeful defending, amateur at best.
Needs to do better:tsk tsk:
22-10-2022, 08:45 AM
Ryan’s the least of our problems ffs.
The stick he takes on here compared to the run of the mill gash we’ve signed in the last 18 months is ridiculous. I’d pick Ryan over every one of them every time.
He’s our star man and we should have been building our team around him.
When he goes, you’ll see an even softer Hibs side.
22-10-2022, 08:47 AM
The stick he takes on here compared to the run of the mill gash we’ve signed in the last 18 months is ridiculous. I’d pick Ryan over every one of them every time.
He wasn’t the least of our problems when he was beaten twice for their goals. For such a hard man he was soft for the goals.
His inconsistency this season would indicate to me he’s half way out the door already. To what level is a mystery at the moment but we will not see Porto in green next season minimum.
Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2022, 08:47 AM
Ryan takes a lot of stick because everyone knows how good he is when he plays well.
I can’t think of many players we’ve had with his level of ability who are as wildly inconsistent as he is though. He’s incredibly frustrating, especially as his ‘bad moments’ are usually horror shows. And over the last year they’ve been far too frequent.
22-10-2022, 08:49 AM
I like Porto but he has these sort of games far too often (St Mirren away he seemed to lose the place totally). I hate to agree with Mikey Stewart but there is some evidence for the ‘needs to work on his concentration’ thing.
22-10-2022, 08:54 AM
Have seen the rerun of goal and he was far too easily knocked of the ball. I say knocked, but looked more like trying to win a free kick rather than focus on the main task in hand which was to win that header. He’s more than a powerful enough presence to be winning those balls robustly. I don’t think my mother would have been knocked over with that “push”.
22-10-2022, 08:55 AM
Ryan takes a lot of stick because everyone knows how good he is when he plays well.
I can’t think of many players we’ve had with his level of ability who are as wildly inconsistent as he is though. He’s incredibly frustrating, especially as his ‘bad moments’ are usually horror shows. And over the last year they’ve been far too frequent.
We shouldn’t be relying on our central defence to get us points against StJ at home.
Up until a few weeks ago, our defence was solid and there were no complaints.
If we had proper strikers, or tried playing the ones we signed, maybe we’d score some goals at home!
Each transfer window for the last 2 years, the majority of the chat has been around getting a midfield and striker in. Absolutely nobody ever suggested, even once, that Porteous should be moved on. That suggests to me that folk were by and large happy with him.
A couple of bad results and he’s the villain?
Not for me. I want to see much much more from Boyle and whoever he’s paired with up front. That’s where our problems are, not the defence.
Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2022, 08:57 AM
We shouldn’t be relying on our central defence to get us points against StJ at home.
Up until a few weeks ago, our defence was solid and there were no complaints.
If we had proper strikers, or tried playing the ones we signed, maybe we’d score some goals at home!
Each transfer window for the last 2 years, the majority of the chat has been around getting a midfield and striker in. Absolutely nobody ever suggested, even once, that Porteous should be moved on. That suggests to me that folk were by and large happy with him.
A couple of bad results and he’s the villain?
Not for me. I want to see much much more from Boyle and whoever he’s paired with up front. That’s where our problems are, not the defence.
Porteous absolutely was a problem last night. The two goals come from absolutely terrible defending from him and it’s cost us 3 points. The whole team contributes to getting the 3 points so the defence should be relied upon just as much as anyone else.
Chorley Hibee
22-10-2022, 09:02 AM
Have seen the rerun of goal and he was far too easily knocked of the ball. I say knocked, but looked more like trying to win a free kick rather than focus on the main task in hand which was to win that header. He’s more than a powerful enough presence to be winning those balls robustly. I don’t think my mother would have been knocked over with that “push”.
Does the throwing himself to the ground act every week and it was only a matter of time before it shot himself, and us, in the foot.
I thought he'd screwed the nut after a dreadful start to the season, reverted back to his earlier season form last night though.
22-10-2022, 09:10 AM
The challenge on the first goal is a clear push in the back imo irrespective of how soft it may be. Watch that sort of decision being given by the same imposters who ignored it last night depending which team it is. He was desperate to give them something last night with the ludicrous number of bookings we got and that goal. Seems like again we are on the arse end of the stick decision wise imo.
22-10-2022, 09:11 AM
Does the throwing himself to the ground act every week and it was only a matter of time before it shot himself, and us, in the foot.
I thought he'd screwed the nut after a dreadful start to the season, reverted back to his earlier season form last night though.
Watch what happens when Goldson does it every week.
22-10-2022, 09:12 AM
I’m not convinced that a back 3 suits Ryan, tends to be better in a 4.
duffers
22-10-2022, 09:18 AM
The challenge on the first goal is a clear push in the back imo irrespective of how soft it may be. Watch that sort of decision being given by the same imposters who ignored it last night depending which team it is. He was desperate to give them something last night with the ludicrous number of bookings we got and that goal. Seems like again we are on the arse end of the stick decision wise imo.
Never a foul in a month of Sunday’s.
22-10-2022, 09:35 AM
Yet again Porteous was more concerned in trying to win a free kick from the ref, rather than defending properly first of all and then worrying about a potential foul afterwards.
Porteous also has a worrying trait of not properly judging the flight of a ball from a defensive position. He's great at reading the flight when attacking the ball going forward, but he regularly misjudges the trajectory of the ball and subsequently positions himself poorly when on the back foot and defending.
Chorley Hibee
22-10-2022, 09:40 AM
Watch what happens when Goldson does it every week.
Of course, but Porteous should be clued up enough to realise that we're not Rangers, and there is a vendetta against him.
Doing his dying Swan act each week is playing into the referee's hands, and last night it cost us dear.
Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2022, 10:09 AM
Absolutely no chance. He’s dived and it’s backfired.
22-10-2022, 10:16 AM
Pushing someone in the back isn't a foul?
22-10-2022, 10:17 AM
Absolutely no chance. He’s dived and it’s backfired.
Course it is a foul
I like Porto but he has these sort of games far too often (St Mirren away he seemed to lose the place totally). I hate to agree with Mikey Stewart but there is some evidence for the ‘needs to work on his concentration’ thing.
He played for a foul at the first goal a gamble that was never on.
22-10-2022, 11:46 AM
Course it is a foul
Reverse it. Imagine that was Kukharevych scoring in that manner in a challenge with Considine going down but the goal was chalked off by VAR for a push by Kuk on Con. This place would be in meltdown.
22-10-2022, 12:09 PM
Wasn’t a foul, he should be looking to win header rather than trying to win a foul
22-10-2022, 02:21 PM
It wasn't a foul but identical to our chopped off goal Vs Dundee Utd. Usual inconsistency amongst Scottish refs as also exemplified by Walsh today. We must have the worst refs in Europe.
22-10-2022, 09:11 PM
Reverse it. Imagine that was Kukharevych scoring in that manner in a challenge with Considine going down but the goal was chalked off by VAR for a push by Kuk on Con. This place would be in meltdown.
Two handed push in the back foul every day of the week.
22-10-2022, 10:10 PM
Porto falls down very easily outside the box most weeks. Its clever as he gets himself between man and ball and waits for any contact then falls down. Most of the time refs give a free kick. You cannot do that in the box. You need to defend your box as if your life depended on it. If he had stayed strong and not flopped to the ground we wouldn't have conceded that goal. Hopefully learns from this.
Sorry it’s not clever it’s called cheating and he embarrasses the club and himself with that behaviour. I know players from other teams do it but in my opinion they are all cheats. I totally agree with your point that to do it inside the box is utterly ridiculous and instead of LJ saying Porto felt two hands on his back he should be telling to defend his box like his life depended on it. He cost us two goals on Friday night and not for the first time this season. He has so much ability it is sad to watch him behave this way.
Musselbound
22-10-2022, 11:37 PM
Generally agree with the posts that say Porteous goes down far too easily whenever he feels contact. Thought the same with the whole Porteous v Goodwin affair but didn't comment on it as I could see both sides. Porteous is a good player but I don't like this aspect of his game and don't think he was ever likely to get a free kick for the first St Johnstone goal last night.
23-10-2022, 09:00 AM
Generally agree with the posts that say Porteous goes down far too easily whenever he feels contact. Thought the same with the whole Porteous v Goodwin affair but didn't comment on it as I could see both sides. Porteous is a good player but I don't like this aspect of his game and don't think he was ever likely to get a free kick for the first St Johnstone goal last night.
It's not Porteous that does that, it's all footballers.
Players throw themselves to the ground for less contact than we get when someone wants past us in the stands.
It's not Porteous that does that, it's all footballers.
Players throw themselves to the ground for less contact than we get when someone wants past us in the stands.
Exactly and unfortunately Porteous does it all too often, he needs to be strong, stand his ground and play to his strengths, referees are now questioning each time Porteous goes to ground because he does it too easily.
23-10-2022, 10:49 AM
Exactly and unfortunately Porteous does it all too often, he needs to be strong, stand his ground and play to his strengths, referees are now questioning each time Porteous goes to ground because he does it too easily.
:agree: And to be honest, watching him do it, you can tell a second or two before it that he's going to do it.
There's a time and place for it, and in your own six yard box it aint.
He's a very good player, he really needs to cut it out if he's to progress to the player i think he could be.
23-10-2022, 11:19 AM
Unfortunately it's become part of the game there were at least 4 or 5 fouls given in the game where players went down with contact that would not floor a 5 year old. The same happened in the Hearts v Celtic game. As a Hearts fan said on kickback that Steven Pressley made a career out of it.
23-10-2022, 11:32 AM
Unfortunately it's become part of the game there were at least 4 or 5 fouls given in the game where players went down with contact that would not floor a 5 year old. The same happened in the Hearts v Celtic game. As a Hearts fan said on kickback that Steven Pressley made a career out of it.
He definitely did but rarely when he had the chance to header it clear in his own penalty box. He mostly did so when the ball was on the deck and got his body between the attackers and the ball
23-10-2022, 11:46 AM
He definitely did but rarely when he had the chance to header it clear in his own penalty box. He mostly did so when the ball was on the deck and got his body between the attackers and the ball
I take it you never saw the 6 2 game. I think it's something that needs to be taken out of the game, players thinking the have the right to go down if contact is made
23-10-2022, 12:10 PM
I take it you never saw the 6 2 game. I think it's something that needs to be taken out of the game, players thinking the have the right to go down if contact is made
Yes I was there mate and did say rarely not never 😉
Key West
23-10-2022, 12:15 PM
Porteous potentially has all the attributes to go far but he is his own worst enemy at times and that tends to become a distraction, I hope he can get rid of the negatives and succeed that needs to be a constant though.
23-10-2022, 12:50 PM
Yes I was there mate and did say rarely not never 😉
I know what you said mate but was only using him as an example. I want that aspect of the game done away with as it it fast becoming a non contact sport.Ryan needs to learn from this. I was only repeating what a Hearts fan said about Pressley.🙂
Mrimbetween
23-10-2022, 12:55 PM
Ryan is a rod for his own back
Such a talent, yet why does he feel he has to fall over to often, sometimestimes holding his head when most can see he's at it, that and chasing the referee
Just stick to what you are good at Ryan, as you are a standout
Criswell
23-10-2022, 11:24 PM
There is a big difference between going down after minimum contact in a challenge (Cheating) and when someone behind you places two hands on your back and pushes into you with some force. Compare that with the goals that were chalked off yesterday under VAR? A total joke. We have appalling referees in Scotland and and it looks like the VAR "referees" are just as bad.
joebakerforever
24-10-2022, 12:26 AM
There is a big difference between going down after minimum contact in a challenge (Cheating) and when someone behind you places two hands on your back and pushes into you with some force. Compare that with the goals that were chalked off yesterday under VAR? A total joke. We have appalling referees in Scotland and and it looks like the VAR "referees" are just as bad.
having watched the tv replays, didn't appear to be much force, just minimal contact between the pair.
Let's be candid, Porteous goes down too easily quite often.
cameronw-hfc
24-10-2022, 04:33 AM
I agree with all of your post, besides the part where you insinuate Porto was fouled. there is a difference, I agree, the refs are a joke, I agree, but as much as I love Porto as a player, he dived. If he was in a full sprint, I'd say yeah, minimum contact could very easily be the reason he went down under less contact, but he was standing still, feet planted. He had his full base underneath him, a very, very small and soft two-handed nudge wouldn't cause him to fall down how he did.
A lot of our fans are very quick to blame other players for any mistake they make, but won't hold their hands up when Ryan does the same, it's as if we need to defend him at all costs, right or wrong. I'll defend him in the media, on socials and elsewhere from the vile treatment he gets from most up here, but that doesn't mean we can't criticise when he does stuff like this, it was stupid, he tried to buy a free kick, something he's usually successful at, but instead the ref realised it was pretty obvious there was almost no force in the push, definitely not enough to make him go down
24-10-2022, 06:32 AM
Totally agree it is a foul up the other end and definitely if against any of the old firm. Two hands in the back is a clear foul. Surprised so many Hibs fans buying into the weegie agenda.
OstKurve Hibs
24-10-2022, 07:12 AM
Totally agree it is a foul up the other end and definitely if against any of the old firm. Two hands in the back is a clear foul. Surprised so many Hibs fans buying into the weegie agenda.
If you've got the chance to clear the ball you clear the ball. No ones buying into any weegie agenda. Most are talking about footballers in general, not just porto.
I'd rather we tried to win games not free kicks in our box when the other team has a goalscoring chance.
24-10-2022, 07:58 AM
If you've got the chance to clear the ball you clear the ball. No ones buying into any weegie agenda. Most are talking about footballers in general, not just porto.
I'd rather we tried to win games not free kicks in our box when the other team has a goalscoring chance.
Agree he should have cleared ball however it still clearly is a foul. Clancy and Collum ffs
24-10-2022, 08:08 AM
The problem is refs aren't going to give the fouls any more. They're going to use VAR as a crutch, and they might be less inclined to chop goals for niggly fouls.
If we get the foul, it's good play because it not only stops the goal, but takes pressure off and gets possession back.
BonnieFitbaTeam
24-10-2022, 08:18 AM
If you're a centre half standing on your own six yard line and a cross comes into the box you should have one thought in your head, and only one.
Hint: it isn't hoping that an opponent will 'touch' you so that you can fall over in theatrical fashion.
snedzuk
24-10-2022, 09:48 AM
If you're a centre half standing on your own six yard line and a cross comes into the box you should have one thought in your head, and only one.
Hint: it isn't hoping that an opponent will 'touch' you so that you can fall over in theatrical fashion.
Imagine Roy Barry doing that - he'd have booted it over the stand - the one at Murrayfield.
sadtom
24-10-2022, 10:50 AM
I think the criticism of Ryan needing to be stronger at the equaliser is harsh. Certainly if your feet are planted on the deck the he should and would (imho) have been ‘stronger’. However if you are about to jump then you have nothing to brace yourself against and it takes very little force to push you over/forward. The StJ player clearly (with the palm of his hands) pushes Ryan a precisely the point when he is about to ‘take off’. For me it’s an obvious foul and should have been picked up by VAR.
If anything, I think RP was more culpable at the winner. He seemed to be caught on his heels when May got a ‘run on’ him (a little bit like big Daz in the final when K Miller equalised for the stickies) though in Ryan’s defence he appeared to be having to cover 2 opponents at the back post which possibly led to his indecision and resulted in him being too slow to react.
24-10-2022, 12:40 PM
Just watched the, ahem, highlights.
Porto should have done better at both goals. He'll be disappointed with his efforts around them. If he wants to play at a higher standard then he'll need to learn how to defend crosses better, they were routine balls into the box. Poor defending cost us points on Friday.
24-10-2022, 02:39 PM
I think the criticism of Ryan needing to be stronger at the equaliser is harsh. Certainly if your feet are planted on the deck the he should and would (imho) have been ‘stronger’. However if you are about to jump then you have nothing to brace yourself against and it takes very little force to push you over/forward. The StJ player clearly (with the palm of his hands) pushes Ryan a precisely the point when he is about to ‘take off’. For me it’s an obvious foul and should have been picked up by VAR.
If anything, I think RP was more culpable at the winner. He seemed to be caught on his heels when May got a ‘run on’ him (a little bit like big Daz in the final when K Miller equalised for the stickies) though in Ryan’s defence he appeared to be having to cover 2 opponents at the back post which possibly led to his indecision and resulted in him being too slow to react.
Agree with that all I was shouting at him from ff upper :greengrin to attack the ball which unfortunately he didnt do.
24-10-2022, 03:16 PM
Just watched the, ahem, highlights.
Porto should have done better at both goals. He'll be disappointed with his efforts around them. If he wants to play at a higher standard then he'll need to learn how to defend crosses better, they were routine balls into the box. Poor defending cost us points on Friday.
Porteous is a very good player, but he was culpable at both goals on Friday - yes, we probably wouldnt have been in the situation if Magennis didnt get a 2nd yellow.............but a solid switched on RP wouldnt have lost either of those headers.
Still want him to sign a new contract though :thumbsup:
Steven1985
24-10-2022, 04:41 PM
:agree: And to be honest, watching him do it, you can tell a second or two before it that he's going to do it.
There's a time and place for it, and in your own six yard box it aint.
He's a very good player, he really needs to cut it out if he's to progress to the player i think he could be. There is and it isn't. If you're right and he does, he'll be gone shortly.
Donegal Hibby
24-10-2022, 10:01 PM
Latest news on Porto
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/ryan-porteous-provides-update-on-hibs-contract-situation-and-whether-targeted-criticism-will-play-a-role-in-final-decision-3892071
24-10-2022, 10:08 PM
Latest news on Porto
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/ryan-porteous-provides-update-on-hibs-contract-situation-and-whether-targeted-criticism-will-play-a-role-in-final-decision-3892071
Don't see what waiting til after the world cup will do?
Think he'll be off for free in the summer. Dragged on forever now and we've apparently made a solid offer, disappointing if he does go for free.
Donegal Hibby
24-10-2022, 10:18 PM
Don't see what waiting til after the world cup will do?
Think he'll be off for free in the summer. Dragged on forever now and we've apparently made a solid offer, disappointing if he does go for free.
I think the same . Did Johnson not say something like that they couldn't wait too long and they would have to apply a bit of pressure for a Answer at some point ? I'm sure he did . Looks to me he's just going to sign a pre contract with someone . Wee question would we still get a fee due to him being 23 ?
1875Sean
24-10-2022, 10:46 PM
I think the same . Did Johnson not say something like that they couldn't wait too long and they would have to apply a bit of pressure for a Answer at some point ? I'm sure he did . Looks to me he's just going to sign a pre contract with someone . Wee question would we still get a fee due to him being 23 ?
He will be 24 come march so when he leaves I am not sure if we will still get a dev fee
Latest news on Porto
He'll be away in January for a minimal fee by the looks of it, why wait till after the World Cup, it names no sense.
25-10-2022, 07:05 AM
He'll be away in January for a minimal fee by the looks of it, why wait till after the World Cup, it names no sense.
Hibs desperately want to keep him, why would they let him go in January? Would be a ridiculous decision consider the possible European money.
25-10-2022, 07:08 AM
I don’t think he’s ever had any intention of staying. He’s a good player when he wants to be and he’s probably going to be better off trying to improve elsewhere that doesn’t bring the constant spotlight and attention.
Hibee Daft
25-10-2022, 07:17 AM
I don’t think he’s ever had any intention of staying. He’s a good player when he wants to be and he’s probably going to be better off trying to improve elsewhere that doesn’t bring the constant spotlight and attention.
Aye i expected him to leave but not on a free contract, surely can get a buyout clause in there if he wants to go in the summer.
Just_Jimmy
25-10-2022, 07:27 AM
File under players who "love hibs" but can't wait to get out the door but don't have the guts to say so. Caldwell got dogs abuse but at least he was honest...and he was never one of us.
No danger he's signing, we've seen it all before.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Being objective for a second. He is right to keep his options open. He is 23, an international player, played loads of top flight games but is hounded in this country.
If I was him I would be moving on.
25-10-2022, 07:44 AM
File under players who "love hibs" but can't wait to get out the door but don't have the guts to say so. Caldwell got dogs abuse but at least he was honest...and he was never one of us.
Away you go. Why wouldn’t he want to do the same job for more money, if he has that option? I’m sure you would in his position.
Id love to sign but if / when he goes, he’ll go with my full blessing.
25-10-2022, 07:47 AM
File under post that can’t disconnect the fact he supports Hibs but also works as a professional footballer ….
SickBoy32
25-10-2022, 07:58 AM
Will be a huge blow when he leaves, and obviously not ideal if on a free - however the club only have themselves to blame IMO.
Instead of throwing a substantial chunk of cash at a raft of unknowns in Jan / summer, this money should've been used to tie down a genuine talent that we knew was worth it
Fingers crossed someone in our squad of 30odd can replace Porto, but I won't be holding my breath...
Mcbizz1998
25-10-2022, 08:00 AM
File under post that can’t disconnect the fact he supports Hibs but also works as a professional footballer ….
Hmm nah.
Martin Boyle loves this club. He wanted a move but he signed a new contract to make sure that when he went, Hibs were rewarded for what they had done for him. That’s exactly what happened.
John McGinn did the same.
If Porteous is such a massive Hibs supporter he would sign a new deal with a release clause, get his head down and wait for a move. As it happens it looks like he just wants to make sure he can jump at the first opportunity without the blocker of a club having to meet Hibs asking price.
SickBoy32
25-10-2022, 08:05 AM
Hmm nah.
Martin Boyle loves this club. He wanted a move but he signed a new contract to make sure that when he went, Hibs were rewarded for what they had done for him. That’s exactly what happened.
If Porteous is such a massive Hibs supporter he would sign a new deal with a release clause, get his head down and wait for a move. As it happens it looks like he just wants to make sure he can jump at the first opportunity without the blocker of a club having to meet Hibs asking price.
Pretty sure SJM only signed one contract with Hibs, no extension.
Club just cashed in on him with 1 year left
25-10-2022, 08:08 AM
Hmm nah.
Tend to agree with this. Where there is a significant difference between the guys you mention and Porto is in the fact that Porto came through the ranks as a youth team player.
He should sign the contract, take the money and then see if anyone is willing to pay a release clause fee for him. Everyone’s a winner.
25-10-2022, 08:08 AM
Yep. Exited in summer of 2018. Contract was up summer 2019
Mcbizz1998
25-10-2022, 08:09 AM
You are correct. I misremembered!
Forget McGinn, and pretend I said Fletcher [emoji28]. He 100% signed a really long contract before moving for several million.
25-10-2022, 08:12 AM
Will be a huge blow when he leaves, and obviously not ideal if on a free - however the club only have themselves to blame IMO.
Instead of throwing a substantial chunk of cash at a raft of unknowns in Jan / summer, this money should've been used to tie down a genuine talent that we knew was worth it
Fingers crossed someone in our squad of 30odd can replace Porto, but I won't be holding my breath...
He's been offered an excellent new contract.
25-10-2022, 08:13 AM
Hmm nah.
As another poster wrote your SJM reference is wrong . Also Boyle didn’t want a move , he was happy at Hibs with his then new deal. It was an extraordinary offer from the Middle East that turned him at the time …so both references are wrong here …
Porto owes Hibs nothing . He’s served us well for years from a boy. Hibs are looking to sign him of a long deal ..making him a key player for the future . It will be a really good offer …If he wants to try somewhere else for his short career, then that’s completely his choice to take the chance on that .
Mcbizz1998
25-10-2022, 08:19 AM
As another poster wrote your SJM reference is wrong . Also Boyle didn’t want a move , he was happy at Hibs with his then new deal. It was an extraordinary offer from the Middle East that turned him at the time …so both references are wrong here …
Porto owes Hibs nothing . He’s served us well for years from a boy. Hibs are looking to sign him of a long deal ..making him a key player for the future . It will be a really good offer …If he wants to try somewhere else for his short career, then that’s completely his choice to take the chance on that .
How on earth do you know what Boyle wanted? He signed a contract and then made a move, so he obviously was open to a move if the circumstances suited him.
I was incorrect about McGinn, fair enough. Steven Fletcher is a better example. He signed a 6 year extension before his move to Burnley.
As for Porto, I would hope he doesn’t believe he owes Hibs nothing. The club that believed in him, developed him and made him into a top player? Of course he can try something else and he is entitled to do that, but don’t pretend you are some massive Hibs supporter when better players than him with no connection to the club previously have signed deals to ensure Hibs get something back.
25-10-2022, 08:27 AM
Boyle's previous contract had a £500k release clause so he was clearly open to a move.
The new contract removed the release clause in return for a much higher salary. I don't doubt that there would have been a gentleman's agreement on future transfers too.
The bid from Saudi arrived, Martin wanted to go, but Hibs weren't going to release him if the offer wasn't increased which it eventually was.
He was happy at Hibs but he was definitely interested in moving if the right offer came in.
Just_Jimmy
25-10-2022, 08:38 AM
Porto owes Hibs nothing . He’s served us well for years from a boy. Hibs are looking to sign him of a long deal ..making him a key player for the future . It will be a really good offer …If he wants to try somewhere else for his short career, then that’s completely his choice to take the chance on that .So have the balls to say it then, instead of leaving the club and fans hanging on the will he, won't he saga.
Let's be clear, I want him to stay but if he signs the hibs contract it'll be because there's no market for him elsewhere with a better offer.
25-10-2022, 09:14 AM
So have the balls to say it then, instead of leaving the club and fans hanging on the will he, won't he saga.
Let's be clear, I want him to stay but if he signs the hibs contract it'll be because there's no market for him elsewhere with a better offer.
He’s made it clear he is waiting to consider his options . The Hibs offer will be as good as we can do - which will be up there with the Martin Boyle contract . He still has that option , he knows that . if he doesn’t get a sense of a better move for him, he could well sign up.
I cant really see any benefit for him coming out and underlining any more than this recent article has outlined.
Tbh, I can understand we as fans are frustrated and would love him to sign on. I’m the same …but there’s nothing wrong with his situation. It’s football. That’s how the industry works.
Donegal Hibby
25-10-2022, 10:33 AM
Away you go. Why wouldn’t he want to do the same job for more money, if he has that option? I’m sure you would in his position.
I like porto as well though I do see were JJ is coming from too .we have had players in the past that's moved and done right by the club as well like Mcginn , Fletcher , Brown , O'Conner and many more , we also have had ones move that's only cared about number 1 which is their prerogative I suppose . We have apparently offered Porto a very good contract which I had hoped he would have signed ,making himself some money while still moving on in the summer with him getting more money and the club making their share as well ,felt this was a win win situation for both parties. When he does go I wish him well though do think it's sad a Hibs fan would take this option to walk away with the club getting nothing.
Just_Jimmy
25-10-2022, 12:10 PM
He'll be shafting Hibs. He'll walk away on a free pocketing all the money for himself. The club who put him where he is, who is supposed to be his club, will get next to nothing.
Even Jambo Cummings signed a deal so Hibs got something.
I'm sure Hibs are offering him top dollar within Hibs range, sign the deal, get a clause added for £1m or 2.5 or whatever is agreeable to both and work hard to earn the move.
But nah, he's got your full blessing to make sure Hibs don't get a penny. No doubt when it goes tits up for him we'll be expected to cough up money to "bring him home".
Just_Jimmy
25-10-2022, 12:11 PM
File under post that can’t disconnect the fact he supports Hibs but also works as a professional footballer ….Nah. Plenty others with no hibs leanings have made the effort to see the club right.
25-10-2022, 12:23 PM
He'll be shafting Hibs. He'll walk away on a free pocketing all the money for himself. The club who put him where he is, who is supposed to be his club, will get next to nothing.
I'm sure Hibs are offering him top dollar within Hibs range, sign the deal, get a clause added for £1m or 2.5 or whatever is agreeable to both and work hard to earn the move.
But nah, he's got your full blessing to make sure Hibs don't get a penny. No doubt when it goes tits up for him we'll be expected to cough up money to "bring him home".
I suppose that’s one way of looking at it.
25-10-2022, 01:20 PM
This is how I see it tbh.
He's perfectly entitled to see his contract out and pocket all the extra cash himself.
We're perfectly entitled to think he's a **** for doing so though, and his legacy will be different to players who chose to do differently (may be different tbf - several players in the past have redeemed themselves with stints of varying success back at the club later in their careers.)
Mcbizz1998
25-10-2022, 01:33 PM
I absolutely agree. And good point on Cummings.
Greenio
25-10-2022, 02:28 PM
This idea that Porto, or any player really, has to 'do right ' by his club to get them some more money when they leave is utter nonsense and just greedy tbh.
25-10-2022, 02:38 PM
Just nonsense this type of take.
He signed a 5 year deal and by the summer, he'll have contributed massively over that 5 years. Honoured his contract and he'll be entitled to move on if he chooses. End of story. He owes us nothing more than that.
25-10-2022, 02:52 PM
I'd love it if Ryan stayed, but he owes us nothing. No player does. They are employees, nothing more.
Skol1972
25-10-2022, 03:06 PM
Hibs could have cashed in on Porteous in January 2021 for a reported £1m from Millwall. Do not know if there would have been a sell on option. They chose not to do so. From what was reported then he would probably have gone given the chance. He didn't put in a transfer request or down tools but continued to give his best efforts for Hibs. We don't know what is in the proposed new contract but could it be possible that he feels that the fee that another club would have to pay to secure a transfer is too high. Meaning that potential buyers may be put off and he does not get a move.
25-10-2022, 03:27 PM
Hibs could have cashed in on Porteous in January 2021 for a reported £1m from Millwall. Do not know if there would have been a sell on option. They chose not to do so. From what was reported then he would probably have gone given the chance. He didn't put in a transfer request or down tools but continued to give his best efforts for Hibs. We don't know what is in the proposed new contract but could it be possible that he feels that the fee that another club would have to pay to secure a transfer is too high. Meaning that potential buyers may be put off and he does not get a move.
I'd rather keep him and lose him for nothing than "cash in" for £1 million.
Just nonsense this type of take.
He signed a 5 year deal and by the summer, he'll have contributed massively over that 5 years. Honoured his contract and he'll be entitled to move on if he chooses. End of story. He owes us nothing more than that.
Completely correct though I have a feeling Ryan will sign a new contract then depart in 2024.
25-10-2022, 03:43 PM
There won't be many after him after last Saturdays display,
Dr What If?
25-10-2022, 03:51 PM
The risk isn't all one way in these things, the cautionary tale of Fraser Fyvie proves that. This boy has a ton of potential and if he were to leave Hibs I would hope it was to a team where the players around him were a few levels up and the players he is up against are more of a challenge......at least that would improve his game for Scotland.
He says it doesn't bother him but the treatment he gets up here from other players, refs, fans and the media must have an impact and who is to say it will not get worse. I'm sure the deal on the table is pretty decent but I'm also sure Hibs will be looking to protect their investment with a long contract. I can imagine the length of the contract is what worries Ryan because if his treatment does get worse he will want a 'get out' card that Hibs can't block by asking for a super high fee.
I'm sure he loves our club but my God, he's had to put up with a hell of a lot!
25-10-2022, 04:08 PM
Presumably Hibs have given him a deadline by which he needs to **** or get off the pot? I wonder when that would be.
Mrimbetween
25-10-2022, 04:19 PM
Sign an improved contract with the understanding if the right money is offered off you go, all happy
Saying that, the player and agents hold all the cards in these situations and can do what they want , worst case scenario having some **** thrown at you till you leave
25-10-2022, 04:30 PM
There won't be many after him after last Saturdays display,
Always laugh at posts like this, as if months of scouting would be void because of a bad 20 minutes.
loanheadhibby
25-10-2022, 04:42 PM
Being objective for a second. He is right to keep his options open. He is 23, an international player, played loads of top flight games but is hounded in this country.
If I was him I would be moving on.
Hounded in this country?
Is that not a touch dramatic?
25-10-2022, 05:09 PM
Presumably Hibs have given him a deadline by which he needs to **** or get off the pot? I wonder when that would be.
What does “get off the pot” involve exactly though?
What do Hibs gain in such a scenario?
25-10-2022, 05:40 PM
This is how I see it tbh.
He's perfectly entitled to see his contract out and pocket all the extra cash himself.
We're perfectly entitled to think he's a **** for doing so though, and his legacy will be different to players who chose to do differently (may be different tbf - several players in the past have redeemed themselves with stints of varying success back at the club later in their careers.)
Legacy? Redeemed themselves?!
That’s a belter.
25-10-2022, 05:44 PM
What does “get off the pot” involve exactly though?
What do Hibs gain in such a scenario?
I don’t really know, my only thoughts would be budgeting and planning for life after Porteous? Bringing another centre half in and being in a position to allocate a significant salary to do so.
25-10-2022, 05:49 PM
Legacy? Redeemed themselves?!
That’s a belter.
I don’t think I understand.
In what way?
Hounded in this country?
Is that not a touch dramatic? No. Pundits, journalists and rival managers making up lies about him - with a keenness among the journalists to establish a fake narrative around him.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk