View Full Version : Porteous

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

27-09-2022, 08:45 PM
Just described as a colossus on BBC ��

Freeking bbc now calling him the Dalkeith Baresi, freeking brilliant and he may walk away from Hibs for sweet F.a. get him signed up even if its just to sell him on.

Those ****ing yam clowns calling McGinn a fat arsed cheat for wasting a wee bit time...for Scotland. What ****ing planet are these morons from? Beggars belief at times ☹

Who actually gives a monkey's?

Stairway 2 7
Unbelievable performance. Also well done Michael Stewart who said on 93 minutes that Ryan has to concentrate. Absolute tit who could only dream of having a fraction of the ability and concentration of Ryan.

Some performance

27-09-2022, 08:46 PM
Porto superb tonight,and Gordon was immense 👍

Brilliant performance from Porto and all the key board ********s on social media have been made to look like the fools that they are.

Rumble de Thump
He's better than he thinks he is.

27-09-2022, 08:48 PM
https://i.ibb.co/tP8Xjyz/F6461017-BA36-47-ED-8-F4-F-629-FA1-F18401.jpg (https://ibb.co/XkS80mD)

27-09-2022, 08:49 PM
As delighted as I am for him it’s awful news for Hibs

Doubt there’s any chance he signs a new contract after that as he now has a taste of playing at a higher level plus I imagine a lot of clubs who had doubts about him will now be willing to take a chance. He’s proved in big games, big pressure and against good opposition. He’s more than good enough.

Young and out of contract next year, will be a no brainer and cheap punt for alot of teams.

Only 23 and played just shy of 130 games for Hibs in the top flight and Europe. Now got a scotland cap.

Deserves a move.

Hibees1973
27-09-2022, 08:50 PM
Very proud of him tonight.

Proved he can play at the top level.

27-09-2022, 08:51 PM
Actually think he'll sign an extension now.

Knows he can play for his country at Hibs. We'll offer him a good wage and put in a smallish release clause and he'll leave for a fee next summer.

27-09-2022, 08:51 PM

Doubt there’s any chance he signs a new contract after that as he now has a taste of playing at a higher level plus I imagine a lot of clubs who had doubts about him will now be willing to take a chance. He’s proved in big games, big pressure and against good opposition. He’s more than good enough.

Young and out of contract next year, will be a no brainer and cheap punt for alot of teams.

Deserves a move.

Just thought the same. He was tremendous and didn’t look out of place. He’ll get a move off the back of it.

27-09-2022, 08:52 PM

Knows he can play for his country at Hibs. We'll offer him a good wage and put in a smallish release clause and he'll leave for a fee next summer.

Would be a boost if he signs as even if he leaves we get something rather than nothing !!

27-09-2022, 08:53 PM

Deserves a move.

Why should he not sign a wee 2 year extension and give Hibs a better deal if he moves, he's meant to be Hibs through and through, then he can do that by signing a deal that gives us good money and he still gets his move if there's a release clause in it.

27-09-2022, 08:55 PM
Wonder what all the Twitterers and Twatters are saying now, phanneys that they is, Porto for Scotland, no bother.

Only 23 and played just shy of 130 games for Hibs in the top flight and Europe. Now got a scotland cap.

Deserves a move.

If we want a fee for ryan will have to be january but i doubt he will want to go then. Lets just enjoy him while hes here and start looking for his replacement now.

I can only imagine how many items Jim Goodwin has thrown at his tele in anger 😅

27-09-2022, 08:56 PM

Me too .

27-09-2022, 08:57 PM
Unbelievable performance. Also well done Michael Stewart who said on 93 minutes that Ryan has to concentrate. Absolute tit who could only dream of having a fraction of the ability and concentration of Ryan.

Some performance

Steady. I was thinking exactly the same thing. He also spent the entire game waxing lyrical about him.

DIXIHIBS
27-09-2022, 08:57 PM
' THE DALKEITH BARESI ' Take a bow Porto says the BBC website :greengrin

Just saw that on BBC. That should shut a few up. Well done Ryan...true professional performance.

JamesHFC
27-09-2022, 08:58 PM
Fantastic debut. Well done Ryan.

Why should he not sign a wee 2 year extension and give Hibs a better deal if he moves, he's meant to be Hibs through and through, then he can do that by signing a deal that gives us good money and he still gets his move if there's a release clause in it.

Aw I’d be delighted if he did.

I just think the stick he gets in this country he’ll be thinking he can’t take the risk and that the calibre of club interested in him/willing to give him a chance might be higher if he’s a free agent.

We’d surely get a lot in compensation for him too?

Steady. I was thinking exactly the same thing. He also spent the entire game waxing lyrical about him.

He always finished with a negative about, he can GTF.

Up-the-slope
27-09-2022, 08:59 PM
will be a few clubs scrambling to find Ryan's agents number after that :rolleyes:.

He will be remembered well if he signs an extension with a nice juicy buyout clause :greengrin

27-09-2022, 09:01 PM
He always finished with a negative about, he can GTF.

He really didn’t. He spent the game highlighting him and hickey, which was entirely correct to do.

27-09-2022, 09:03 PM
He really didn’t. He spent the game highlighting him and hickey, which was entirely correct to do.

He really did.

Stairway 2 7

I don't think he did not a fraction compared to the main commentator. It was always bookended with his lack of concentration

GRA
Could not be happier for him. To perform like that in such a high pressure game on his debut in a depleted squad given all the OTT flak that has come his way is something else.

A coming of age for him. Let's see the keyboard warriors and bluenose rags find criticism for that performance!

27-09-2022, 09:04 PM

Deserves a move.

Will only be affirmation to the clubs already tracking him. It’s been obvious for some time Ryan was a top player so I doubt any Scout who has been watching him will be in any way surprised by tonight.

And let’s be honest it’s been highly unlikely he was going to sign a new contract anyway so that simply remains as is!

27-09-2022, 09:04 PM
What a great player he is when just focused on the game

Well played Porto

27-09-2022, 09:06 PM
Brilliant performance from Porteous.

He’s going to be so difficult to replace when he goes at the end of this season.

allmodcons
27-09-2022, 09:06 PM
BBC still pushing the same old (hun created) narrative around Ryan.

Absolutely abysmal. Willie Miller now giving it 'the no disrespect to Hibs' line.

27-09-2022, 09:08 PM
I think he's found his level. :na na:

Rumble de Thump
27-09-2022, 09:08 PM
BBC still pushing the same old (hun created) narrative around Ryan.

Absolutely abysmal. Willie Miller now giving it 'the no disrespect to Hibs' line.

They don't seem to be able to acknowledge all the really good things he does without desperately trying to find (or imagine) negatives. They don't do this with other players.

Trinity Hibee
27-09-2022, 09:10 PM
Superb tonight. Hopefully tonight brings him on at Hibs and we see that week in week out

27-09-2022, 09:11 PM
Will only be affirmation to the clubs already tracking him. It’s been obvious for some time Ryan was a top player so I doubt any Scout who has been watching him will be in any way surprised by tonight.

And let’s be honest it’s been highly unlikely he was going to sign a new contract anyway so that simply remains as is!

I’m not sure surprised, but more happy that when all the nonsense is taken away he can concentrate for a full 90 against top opposition and be one of the best players on the pitch.

allmodcons
27-09-2022, 09:12 PM
They don't seem to be able to acknowledge all the really good things he does without desperately trying to find (or imagine) negative. They don't do this with other players.

It's absolutely disgraceful. As I said, they've bought the hun narrative and are happy to peddle it.

27-09-2022, 09:12 PM
I think he's found his level. :na na:

😁😁👍

27-09-2022, 09:13 PM

Always a “but” on the end when it came to Porteous

27-09-2022, 09:13 PM
Rarely been so happy for someone. Made up for him. Well done son.

Helensburghhibs
27-09-2022, 09:14 PM
Sportsound are spewing. Dick gordon still peddling a myth that ryan was rolling around after a challenge. Five lives twitter is waxing lyrical about porto. Pity our own countries media cant bring themselves to do it

27-09-2022, 09:16 PM
I can only imagine how many items Jim Goodwin has thrown at his tele in anger 😅

loanheadhibby
27-09-2022, 09:20 PM
They don't seem to be able to acknowledge all the really good things he does without desperately trying to find (or imagine) negatives. They don't do this with other players.

Why are you so bothered about Stewart, Miller and Gordon.
Ryan was excellent tonight and that's all that matters.

Willis1875
27-09-2022, 09:22 PM
Miller and McFadden in the premier sports studio could barely bring themselves to utter his name.
A first cap probably brings a lot of pressure on its own but a first cap while a section of scotlands fan base are willing you to make a mistake so they can say ‘I told you so’ would bring incredible pressure to a person,He handled it brilliantly tonight and I’m delighted for him.
The system Clarke asked his back line to play tonight could have easily brought about a defensive error if somebody had a lapse and didn’t step up in time etc

leith lynx
27-09-2022, 09:23 PM
Sportsound are spewing. Dick gordon still peddling a myth that ryan was rolling around after a challenge. Five lives twitter is waxing lyrical about porto. Pity our own countries media cant bring themselves to do it

Totally agree, it's an absolute disgrace the treatment Ryan gets from that lot. If Porto played for Aberdeen/Rangers they would be fawning over him.

GreenGray
27-09-2022, 09:26 PM

I’m not listening, is this for real? I mean the country’s just got a great result and they’re talking about that? They don’t even try to hide it do they Jesus

27-09-2022, 09:26 PM
As Steve Clarke said OUTSTANDING and shows he learns and listens

27-09-2022, 09:27 PM
BBC 5Live Twitter account bigging up Porto big time

https://twitter.com/5liveSport/status/1574867685002854400

27-09-2022, 09:28 PM

Are you serious? Even after tonight?

27-09-2022, 09:29 PM
As Steve Clarke said OUTSTANDING and shows he learns and listens

That Steve Clarke chose to give Porteous his first cap in a game of such importance speaks volumes about what Clarke thinks about Porteous

Rumble de Thump
27-09-2022, 09:30 PM
Why are you so bothered about Stewart, Miller and Gordon.
Ryan was excellent tonight and that's all that matters.

So bothered that I acknowledged it?

27-09-2022, 09:31 PM

they said he played well then listed his mistakes in the game and laughed what the reaction on Twitter would be if he got man of the match. It’s a disgrace. Not one player has had any errors talked about post game. RP a man of the match candidate on his debut critiqued.

Mcbizz1998
27-09-2022, 09:32 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220927/0c4f1b6b40aba635880436ada7c4a307.jpg

Helensburghhibs
27-09-2022, 09:34 PM
Are you serious? Even after tonight?

And i quote "i mean there was one occasion where he rolled around like a trapese artist after one challenge" richard gordon

leith lynx
27-09-2022, 09:35 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220927/0c4f1b6b40aba635880436ada7c4a307.jpg

Back of the net!

27-09-2022, 09:36 PM
Dick Gordon thinks that goading and bringing down Scottish football/players is what his job is, but it's his employers who are the problem - either they agree with him and push that narrative or they don't care enough to tell him to shut up and actually try and promote our game.

27-09-2022, 09:39 PM
And i quote "i mean there was one occasion where he rolled around like a trapese artist after one challenge" richard gordon
Heard that some of these so called presenters and pundits can't help themselves. SJM does it they say that he played for the foul. The stats for the game speak for themselves Ryan top in most of them.

27-09-2022, 09:41 PM
The big man was outstanding! An absolutely fantastic performance.

27-09-2022, 09:41 PM
Dick Gordon thinks that goading and bringing down Scottish football/players is what his job is, but it's his employers who are the problem - either they agree with him and push that narrative or they don't care enough to tell him to shut up and actually try and promote our game.

Small minded, negative viewpoint where they can't see past their own agenda, hardly balanced journalism and makes no sense given the performance and result!

leith lynx
27-09-2022, 09:42 PM

One of many bitter comments, couldn't even call Ryan by his first name before the game

27-09-2022, 09:47 PM

Even if he did, a wee bit awareness of what was going on there wouldn’t go a miss.

It was Ukraines best player, already on a booking and he committed a foul trying tk stop a clear counter attack. RP would have been an idiot not to ‘make the most’ of the clear foul.

The guy should have been booked and sent off for the incident, I suspect if the ball didn’t stay in play so long after the foul, he might have been sent off.

27-09-2022, 10:00 PM
So pleased for Ryan. Well done Scotland

27-09-2022, 10:06 PM
Something seriously wrong with our media…

Listened to Sportsound after match review and the bitterness towards RP is just on another level. Kept saying while he had a good game, he was still caught out of position. And shouldnt expect to be back in the team when others fit. Richard Gordon said “if he does get MOM then twitter will be on fire considering some do the stuff earlier” without any sense of criticism for the abuse he is getting.

BBC Five Live on the other hand have his as MOM and praising him big time.

27-09-2022, 10:09 PM
An excellent performance, he's a quality centre half and this will be the first cap of many I'd guess.

27-09-2022, 10:10 PM
Anyone hear Steve Clarke’s interview.

27-09-2022, 10:11 PM

Listened to Sportsound after match review and the bitterness towards RP is just on another level. Kept saying while he had a good game, he was still caught out of position. And shouldnt expect to be back in the team when others fit. Richard Gordon said “if he does get MOM then twitter will be on fire considering some do the stuff earlier” without any sense of criticism for the abuse he is getting.

There was a nice through ball on Porto’s side first half when the striker got n his side, Gordon made a smart save, but in those situations you don’t know if hes expecting help from the wide left player. That was his only positional ‘mistake’ and will happen to all defenders. He was immense tonight overall.

ElginHibbie
27-09-2022, 10:13 PM
Porto interview on Sportscene there, just want to give him a hug can see how much it means to him

Don't think he started season well going by his standards but he's been getting back to his best and tonight was him at his best, showing up a good few people as well

davym7062
27-09-2022, 10:14 PM

and thats the folk who are meant to be scotland fans??? thought ryan was great toinite as were hickey and gordon

27-09-2022, 10:15 PM
Excellent performance from Ryan.

Capt Mainwaring
27-09-2022, 10:23 PM
Outstanding debut from Ryan.

The haters don’t know whether to smile or cry!!

Across social media it’s clear that opinions change when people actually see Porteous play rather than listen to biased patter merchants who don’t!?!?

JPrinty
27-09-2022, 10:27 PM
At least he was getting some decent praise on Sportscene tonight!

SonOfDavidFrancey
27-09-2022, 10:28 PM
Delighted for the player, though worried he has put himself firmly in the shop window…

27-09-2022, 10:30 PM
At least he was getting some decent praise on Sportscene tonight!

Maloney was very gushing about him and even that fud McCann was positive!

Mr Grieves
27-09-2022, 10:31 PM
Absolutely delighted for him, he was brilliant.

27-09-2022, 10:35 PM
The BBC Sports team, to a man, are trash. They have an unstated agenda and will not veer from it. Even when events suggest otherwise, they will twist the facts to ‘justify’ their case.

27-09-2022, 10:38 PM
Can anyone confirm if he got man of the match of not?

Absolutely outstanding with last minute goal saving challenge perfection.

27-09-2022, 10:40 PM
Bonkers when they said it would be good for him to have had such a great performance after the difficult week he’d had.

Aye, a difficult week caused by you ******!

Honestly, just amateur hour with the lot of them. Ending with them filling in for Tom English being off writing his report and having predicted the game entirely wrong after apparently slamming the lineup.

Replace the lot of them with folk able to form opinions beyond who their mates are.

27-09-2022, 10:53 PM
The BBC Sports team, to a man, are trash. They have an unstated agenda and will not veer from it. Even when events suggest otherwise, they will twist the facts to ‘justify’ their case.

Sportscene duo Maloney & McCann were effusive in their praise of Porto. The live text on the BBC website was referring to the ‘Dalkeith Baresi’.
It’s only the bitter Richard Gordon on the radio coverage that almost no one is listening to who seems to have a problem.

27-09-2022, 11:02 PM
Gordon is a sheep ****ging ********. Well done Ryan and Scotland. Fair play to Clarke for ignoring the weegia and the Scottish football establishment.

27-09-2022, 11:20 PM
A quite magnificent performance, well done son.

MJ hibs
27-09-2022, 11:26 PM
So pleased for him. He's had to put with some pretty deranged takes from ex pros and from social media. Less likely to hold on to him now though :(

hibeez1875
27-09-2022, 11:33 PM
As happy as I am for Scotland, I’m even more delighted Ryan played such a blinder.
He’s done an unbelievable job of shutting out all the unfair bull he’s had to deal with, and to turn in that performance in such a massive game and on his international debut was incredible. Absolute class act.

Donegal Hibby
27-09-2022, 11:50 PM
The BBC have a story it's called "The Blantent cheat , Who became a Scottish lion . Well worth a look .

27-09-2022, 11:54 PM
The BBC have a story it's called "The Blantent cheat , Who became a Scottish lion . Well worth a look .

That’s so sad that they run with the “Cheat” line it’s crap and easy journalism…

Donegal Hibby
28-09-2022, 12:00 AM
That’s so sad that they run with the “Cheat” line it’s crap and easy journalism…
Totally agree though if you can do read it mate.

28-09-2022, 12:46 AM
Congratulations to Ryan on an outstanding Scotland debut. He looked assured throughout in what was quite a baptism of fire. He put in 90 mins he can be proud of - contributing to a solid Scotland performance that actually meant something! I think that will be the first of many - hopefully a good number more in a Hibs shirt (Sign the contract Porto :cb)

28-09-2022, 12:49 AM
don't see why he can't sign say a two year extension with the caveat that if a team makes a decent offer he is free to speak with them similar to cummings, mcginn etc.

this

Donegal Hibby
28-09-2022, 01:25 AM
this
I have my doubts on this . I think he's leaving myself . I very much imagine our club have been trying there hardest for awhile now to get him to sign a new deal yet there doesn't seem to be any word at all . With all the abuse he's got I wouldn't blame him . I'm really delighted for him tonight btw .cracking good player and a good Hibby too. :not worth

Green_one
28-09-2022, 03:02 AM
I have my doubts on this . I think he's leaving myself . I very much imagine our club have been trying there hardest for awhile now to get him to sign a new deal yet there doesn't seem to be any word at all . With all the abuse he's got I wouldn't blame him . I'm really delighted for him tonight btw .cracking good player and a good Hibby too. :not worth

I think you are probably correct, I would love him to stay but in truth it’s probably better for him he leaves Scotland Never get a fair call here. Great debate though. Take that, BBC pundits!

28-09-2022, 05:20 AM
Probably shut up one or two on here aswell. Well done Ryan, well done Scotland.

28-09-2022, 05:28 AM

Apart from the bits in the press over the last few weeks saying talks have been ‘positive’ and quotes from the manager.

Ardenttwo
28-09-2022, 05:41 AM
I think you are probably correct, I would love him to stay but in truth it’s probably better for him he leaves Scotland Never get a fair call here. Great debate though. Take that, BBC pundits!

Though really pleased to see that performance from Ryan last night I fear it has just put him in the spotlight for a move away from our club. He will have been chatting to some of the players this last week and if he didn’t already know he will now on the wages they are on. The abuse he gets here especially from that bellend Goodwin or is it Badlose has been totally uncalled for so perhaps is better for the lad to move on. Just a pity he could not sign a short time contract then we could get a substantial fee for him

Broxburn Greens
28-09-2022, 05:50 AM
Delighted for the lad, pilloried from all quarters of the Scottish media as a cheat (without justification) he returns to Scotland today a hero for his faultless display last night.

28-09-2022, 05:57 AM
Though really pleased to see that performance from Ryan last night I fear it has just put him in the spotlight for a move away from our club. He will have been chatting to some of the players this last week and if he didn’t already know he will now on the wages they are on. The abuse he gets here especially from that bellend Goodwin or is it Badlose has been totally uncalled for so perhaps is better for the lad to move on. Just a pity he could not sign a short time contract then we could get a substantial fee for him

‘Real fitba’ folk that ken what’s gaunoan’ like Steve Clark, pick him for games like this without hesitation because they don’t read the papers or listen to what Tom English says, they watch him in games and pay another people to analyze everything he does. I don’t think last night will make these folk suddenly notice him, but it just adds to his CV and will put a bit more onto his valuation.

I have to be honest about it, after his performance away at St Mirren I would have been happy for him to leave for nothing. It still baffles me how he can be capable of both.

28-09-2022, 06:03 AM

Its an excellent article, and the fact they put the phrase "blatent cheat" in inverted commas makes it obvious that isnt the theme.

Whats amusing is that all it tells us Hibs fans is what we see every week, its people who dont normally watch him who comment negatively!

28-09-2022, 06:06 AM

Thought Dick had retired. Like a bad penny that lot with him and Chic Young on an endless contract. It is like a committee at a bowling club only leave when they die ffs

Trinity Hibee
28-09-2022, 06:08 AM
Thought Dick had retired. Like a bad penny that lot with him and Chic Young on an endless contract. It is like a committee at a bowling club only leave when they die ffs

You’d think every 5-10 years they could update their pundits. Listening to Preston,miller, Ferguson etc who have been out of the game for 20-30 years is crap

28-09-2022, 06:09 AM
You’d think every 5-10 years they could update their pundits. Listening to Preston,miller, Ferguson etc who have been out of the game for 20-30 years is crap

Pat Bonner Levein as well

28-09-2022, 06:16 AM
Porto “outstanding debut” according to Euan Murrray in the Guardian. And the BTL comments as well are hugely complimentary. BBC Scotland pundits know nothing about fitbaw and are fast becoming a parody of themselves - like an episode of Only an Excuse every week

28-09-2022, 06:20 AM
Can anyone confirm if he got man of the match of not?

Absolutely outstanding with last minute goal saving challenge perfection.

I’m not sure about the premier sports coverage but the BBC gave MotM to Hickey who was also excellent.

28-09-2022, 06:22 AM

Lee Johnson needs to call this lot “media” out in his presser this week. It’s a coordinated campaign by individuals with ulterior motives (supporting our rivals) to drive a highly talented youngster out his team. Not to mention the psychological pressure they are putting a young man under.

28-09-2022, 06:28 AM
Its an excellent article, and the fact they put the phrase "blatent cheat" in inverted commas makes it obvious that isnt the theme.

Whats amusing is that all it tells us Hibs fans is what we see every week, its people who dont normally watch him who comment negatively!

Guarateed tomorrow media hacks who hate him will have him linked with Celtic and Huns, completing Porto's "redemption". Hibs are the problem, not the player.

28-09-2022, 06:29 AM
Guarateed tomorrow media hacks who hate him will have him linked with Celtic and Huns, completing Porto's "redemption". Hibs are the problem, not the player.

Absolutely this will happen.

28-09-2022, 06:30 AM
Listening to Nevin on five live now, he was the first player he mentioned as top performers and added ‘Of Hibernian’ of course, good old Pat :aok:

h1bs4life
28-09-2022, 06:38 AM
Excellent debut , never in doubt that he could play at international level.
The witch hunt against him by some is embarrassing well done Ryan .
No doubt his performance will have caught the eye of some who will no doubt be aware he is out of contract at the end of the season.
Hopefully we can manage to get him to sign a new contract and get some payback but he is destined to play at higher level and I will be delighted for him

28-09-2022, 06:44 AM

tbh I’m not sure. No need to even have cheat in the headline inverted commas or not. The knuckle draggers won’t even pick up on that. Most of the positive quotes they use from pundits are the ones caveated with he’s not done this wrong, or done this yet etc.

28-09-2022, 06:49 AM
Delighted for him, proved what we all know, when he focuses he’s a top player. We will struggle to replace him.

Hibiza
28-09-2022, 06:58 AM
Well done Porto :top marks:flag:

Renfrew_Hibby
28-09-2022, 06:59 AM
It was obvious from the post match interview that all the recent comments and hype HAVE affected Ryan personally.
All this 'he'll brush it off, laugh about it' chat is a load of guff.
A lot of emotion was there just under the surface, he was visibly trying to keep a lid on it.

Goodwin needs to be hammered and the media need to take a look at themselves.

hibbyboy1
28-09-2022, 07:01 AM
I’m not sure about the premier sports coverage but the BBC gave MotM to Hickey who was also excellent.sky definitely gave him MOTM

28-09-2022, 07:06 AM
Delighted for him - great debut ..some deserved recognition for him .

28-09-2022, 07:15 AM
tbh I’m not sure. No need to even have cheat in the headline inverted commas or not. The knuckle draggers won’t even pick up on that. Most of the positive quotes they use from pundits are the ones caveated with he’s not done this wrong, or done this yet etc.

Agree totally. Wouldn't dare use that headline for players of certain other teams who do blatantly cheat but never called out

28-09-2022, 07:16 AM
Delighted for Ryan. The back four last night were superb, although caught out a few times they stuck at it and put their bodies on the line. Looking forward to building up to Germany 2024, and the Hampden sell outs.

The media can ram it.

28-09-2022, 07:17 AM
Instead of waxing lyrical about a players outstanding debut for the National team Dick and co continue their onslaught of the player and ‘nit pick’ their way through his performance.

Their comments about Twitter confirm they knew exactly what they were doing last night and it’s utterly disgraceful and shameful that a Scottish National Sports programme treats a player like that!

Is it getting to the stage where the Chairman has to step in and start telling them they are not welcome at ER?? Yes I know it’s a bit Sevco but this onslaught of our player cannnot continue!

As for Ryan outstanding and deserved all the praise he gets!

28-09-2022, 07:19 AM
Best quote I seen about him last night was 'The Dalkeith Baresi ' absolutely brilliant.😁

28-09-2022, 07:20 AM
It was obvious from the post match interview that all the recent comments and hype HAVE affected Ryan personally.
A lot of emotion was there just under the surface, he was visibly trying to keep a lid on it.

:agree: Mental health issues also affect ‘hard men’. Very problematic to suggest otherwise.

28-09-2022, 07:35 AM
Delighted for the player, though worried he has put himself firmly in the shop window…

That's the way it goes.

Greenworld
28-09-2022, 08:08 AM
Apart from the bits in the press over the last few weeks saying talks have been ‘positive’ and quotes from the manager.He has been offered a deal which is i understand financially on a par if not better than Boyles. Way higher than hibs used to pay.
It's quite sad if he leaves for nothing but that's modern football.
As u say progress was made so fingers crossed [emoji1696]

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

28-09-2022, 08:21 AM
He has been offered a deal which is i understand financially on a par if not better than Boyles. Way higher than hibs used to pay.
It's quite sad if he leaves for nothing but that's modern football.
As u say progress was made so fingers crossed [emoji1696]

Given both the recent and continued witch hunt by certain members of the media in Scotland I wouldn’t be surprised to see him move down south!

I really want him to stay but would clearly understand why he round choose to move out of Scotland!

28-09-2022, 08:23 AM

Could work the other way and now that he has been capped as a Hibs player, he signs the new deal knowing that he has an international future playing for his boy hood team 🤞

28-09-2022, 08:26 AM
It would be nice if he signed a new contract to ensure Hibs got a good deal for him. I care about Hibs more than Porteous. Is what it is though.

cameronw-hfc
28-09-2022, 08:41 AM
Agree totally. Wouldn't dare use that headline for players of certain other teams who do blatantly cheat but never called out

Called it out on my twitter, tagged the loser that wrote it and he's gone private. Typical.

28-09-2022, 08:50 AM
Best quote I seen about him last night was 'The Dalkeith Baresi ' absolutely brilliant.😁

Baresi was the Travagliato Porteous.

28-09-2022, 08:53 AM

On bbc Scotland radio sport news at 8:30. In amongst all the praise for a great defensive performance from the team. The Times journalist chimes in with “if RP had played badly the knives would have been out for Clarke”

this is the RP who’s been in one of the best performing CBS in Scotland for two years.

28-09-2022, 08:58 AM
That tackle!

Delighted for him, an excellent performance.

patlowe
28-09-2022, 09:12 AM
Watched the game live and thought Porteous was outstanding. He was pulled out of position a couple of times, but every other central defender in recent years for Scotland has been guilty of that and far worse at times. It's not like he's going into a previously impregnable defence.

As for the TV coverage, overall I thought it was very positive about Ryan and his performance, bar Mikey Stewart's obsession with his concentration levels. Then I listened back to the BBC podcast and thought I must have watched a different game - unnecessarily negative in general and every compliment for Porteous caveated, perhaps to save face based on previous scepticism?

I'm biased but I thought he was MOM - folk are rightly praising Hickey (he's excellent) but because his media narrative is in a different place the two or three times he gave away possession in dangerous areas were brushed under the carpet.

28-09-2022, 09:23 AM

It's tough for bitter people to look in a mirror!

Rumble de Thump
28-09-2022, 09:28 AM
Leanne Crichton said: "I think we forget that Porteous is a talented footballer. There's no need to be a pantomime villain - he can go out and show how good he is." No acknowledgement that it's her and her pundit pals who have been trying to manufacture a pantomime villain image for him. Maybe if they weren't obsessed with doing that they would be able to remember he's a very good player. This is the dire level of commentary we're subjected to by BBC Radio Scotland.

28-09-2022, 09:31 AM
I was more happy for Ryan than I was for Scotland and I was happier for Scotland than at any time since 1978! Let's be honest though, it wasn't just the media and our rivals calling RP out, there were plenty on here doing likewise. That's despite Ryan having the best stats of any player in the SPFL for this and last season. Let's get fully behind Ryan now, I've no doubt we will on Saturday, and give him the support he fully deserves.

28-09-2022, 09:33 AM
So it was more than just a few that booed Ryan at the game the other night if the players have picked up on it. Shameful behaviour and most likely all from bitter Huns/Sheep.

https://twitter.com/stvsport/status/1575052324812296192?s=46&t=2ZPUiDpt6pRYBmO0tS56JQ

28-09-2022, 09:38 AM
RP was Excellent 👌 great to see

SonOfDavidFrancey
28-09-2022, 09:39 AM
That tackle!

Delighted for him, an excellent performance.

Fine margins though. If he had got that wrong by one second it would have been a penalty and it would be the ‘rash’ narrative again.

28-09-2022, 09:42 AM
Fine margins though. If he had got that wrong by one second it would have been a penalty and it would be the ‘rash’ narrative again.

But he didn't, he timed it to perfection! You could get a job with BBC Scotland with that attitude 🙄

28-09-2022, 09:59 AM
The big thing for me last night was Ryan played his own game within the instructions given to hold the line etc. There are very few centre halves in Scotland that can bring the ball out and pass as well as Ryan. For all the talk about concentration was ridiculous it is one of the things I feel that isn't as strong as his many other attributes. I wouldn't blame him for that though as he is battling a tide of criticism from the media and most times he has done very little wrong. It must be hard for a young person when they are getting lambasted on TV etc to completely put that out there mind when they get over the line. In the last month though he has looked like he has found a way to do that and he has played really well. That performance much make Clarke think that he may be worthy of more game time. Well done Ryan and hopefully he sees that Hibs is very much the correct team at this stage of his career and he can think about the next level in a couple of years, much like SJM did. They are very similar in many ways imo.

28-09-2022, 09:59 AM
If he signs an extension he will make hibs a small fortune , 5 mil starting bid

28-09-2022, 10:01 AM
If he signs an extension he will make hibs a small fortune , 5 mil starting bid

Personally think if he signs an extension we'll put in quite a modest release fee so we don't price him out of a move. 1.5-2 million range.

28-09-2022, 10:04 AM

It’s international football..big moments in games often come down to fine margins - he gets hammered enough - let’s celebrate an outstanding intervention from him at a top level of football ….

28-09-2022, 10:06 AM
Was asked by an Aberdeen fan about what I thought of McKenna and said he was a poor man's Ryan Porteous. No player has ever been put under as much scrutiny as Ryan. Have seen McKenna put in tackles which if Ryan had made those it would be headlines and scrutinised to the nth degree by Sportscene. McKenna is a good player and I am using him as example.
It is becoming tiring the media obsession with Ryan,and generally the poor quality of the pundits and their over analysing of everything he does. Was listening to the game last night on Radio Scotland and half time they made comments on how Ryan was caught out of position a few times. No comments were made about Ryan Jack passing to the opposition on at least four occasions.
Turned over to Radio 5 what a difference in the quality of the commentator and analysis of the game.

28-09-2022, 10:07 AM
Personally think if he signs an extension we'll put in quite a modest release fee so we don't price him out of a move. 1.5-2 million range.

I think you may be right but wherever he's going next will be able to afford 2m easily

28-09-2022, 10:07 AM
I thought Gordon, Hickey, Taylor, Hendry and Porteous were all very good last night.

Those 4 defenders were thrown together. At aged 20, 23, 24 and 27 with 1, 7, 10 and 20 caps respectively (including last night). To go into a game of that magnitude, perform admirably and walk away with a clean sheet is quite simply phenomenal.

I think the challenge for Clarke now is to find a replacement for Gordon. I reckon he will hang about until the 2024 qualifying campaign and hopefully the finals is out the way but there is no obvious successor. The other 2 keepers in the squad last night don't have a cap between them. I'm not sure what we have lined up in the way of friendlies in the next couple of years but for me Gordon shouldn't play in any of them. We know what he offers, we aren't going to elarn anything knew about him at this stage. It's time to see what McRorie, Clark, Kelly et al offer.

Specifically on Porteous. I'm delighted for him. He didn't look at all out of place and his willingness to act as a leader was notable. I'm certain some of the stuff aimed at him has and does impact him but he didn't let it show last night. He was mentally spot on and I don't doubt there was a desire to shut a few people up in that performance. I'm not all that bothered by the BBC 'Blatant cheat' headline. I think it is trying to empahsise how quickly opinion can change in football and is as much a defence of the player as an attack on him. We all know what we have in Porteous, even those of us who have criticised him at times have never really doubted his ability. I do wonder if there is elements of Steven Fletcher about him in that he now needs a move to a higher level to really kick on again. No one want to see players leave Hibs but at the same time I recognise where we are in the football pecking order and I don't grudge players their chance to test themselves at the next level and to make a lot of money in the process. His performance last night and the way he handled it mentally will have made a lot of clubs sit up and take notice.

28-09-2022, 10:10 AM
Even Ewan Murray, the Guardian’s torn-faced Jambo, described Ryan’s debut as ‘outstanding’.

So pleased for him. He will no doubt be revelling in all the coverage this morning.

Scotland genuinely look to have a good team, a good manager and some young talent coming through.

All we need now is an international class striker and we'd be qualifying regularly for the next decade.

But he didn’t though. Why see the negative side when it was positive.

Why not just say it was a superbly time tackle.

No ifs no buts it was a brilliant challenge!

Easy to say a player got this wrong etc but what about all the things he did very very well last night.

Folk really need to get a grip!

28-09-2022, 10:13 AM
Was asked by an Aberdeen fan about what I thought of McKenna and said he was a poor man's Ryan Porteous. No player has ever been put under as much scrutiny as Ryan. Have seen McKenna put in tackles which if Ryan had made those it would be headlines and scrutinised to the nth degree by Sportscene. McKenna is a good player and I am using him as example.
It is becoming tiring the media obsession with Ryan,and generally the poor quality of the pundits and their over analysing of everything he does. Was listening to the game last night on Radio Scotland and half time they made comments on how Ryan was caught out of position a few times. No comments were made about Ryan Jack passing to the opposition on at least four occasions.
Turned over to Radio 5 what a difference in the quality of the commentator and analysis of the game.Agree with that, seen McKenna a few times last year as I have a good friend who follows Forest.

McKenna is a vastly better player than he was at Aberdeen according to a few I talk to. Cooper at Forest is credited with bringing him on.

Ryan's performance last night was him being the player we know he can be. Shame on the throwback who are permanent members of that radio clique.

28-09-2022, 10:23 AM
I thought Gordon, Hickey, Taylor, Hendry and Porteous were all very good last night.

Those 4 defenders were thrown together. At aged 20, 23, 24 and 27 with 1, 7, 10 and 20 caps respectively (including last night). To go into a game of that magnitude, perform admirably and walk away with a clean sheet is quite simply phenomenal.

I think the challenge for Clarke now is to find a replacement for Gordon. I reckon he will hang about until the 2024 qualifying campaign and hopefully the finals is out the way but there is no obvious successor. The other 2 keepers in the squad last night don't have a cap between them. I'm not sure what we have lined up in the way of friendlies in the next couple of years but for me Gordon shouldn't play in any of them. We know what he offers, we aren't going to elarn anything knew about him at this stage. It's time to see what McRorie, Clark, Kelly et al offer.

Specifically on Porteous. I'm delighted for him. He didn't look at all out of place and his willingness to act as a leader was notable. I'm certain some of the stuff aimed at him has and does impact him but he didn't let it show last night. He was mentally spot on and I don't doubt there was a desire to shut a few people up in that performance. I'm not all that bothered by the BBC 'Blatant cheat' headline. I think it is trying to empahsise how quickly opinion can change in football and is as much a defence of the player as an attack on him. We all know what we have in Porteous, even those of us who have criticised him at times have never really doubted his ability. I do wonder if there is elements of Steven Fletcher about him in that he now needs a move to a higher level to really kick on again. No one want to see players leave Hibs but at the same time I recognise where we are in the football pecking order and I don't grudge players their chance to test themselves at the next level and to make a lot of money in the process. His performance last night and the way he handled it mentally will have made a lot of clubs sit up and take notice.

I don’t think any of the “next batch” of keepers look anywhere near good enough.

We need someone to come through out of nowhere really. I think Liam Kelly is a decent keeper, but for the national team we need better than decent.

Maybe I’m being harsh and McCrorie is the real deal, it’s hard to form a real opinion when he’s 24 year old, hasn’t had a game in over a year, and has 20ish games at SPL level in his entire career though.

28-09-2022, 10:33 AM

Brilliant post PB

Agree with all of it

I was especially impressed with the performance of young Hickey

Been said before but it was like Michael Stewart was expecting Porto to f#ck up

Even with 30 seconds to go he was saying things like ‘let’s hope Porto can keep his concentration ‘

My memory is he wasn’t that brilliant at Easter Road himself

28-09-2022, 10:33 AM
I don’t think any of the “next batch” of keepers look anywhere near good enough.

We need someone to come through out of nowhere really. I think Liam Kelly is a decent keeper, but for the national team we need better than decent.

Maybe I’m being harsh and McCrorie is the real deal, it’s hard to form a real opinion when he’s 24 year old, hasn’t had a game in over a year, and has 20ish games at SPL level in his entire career though.

I think that will be the biggest issue. The younger keepers aren’t playing regularly. Gordon was from a fairly young age. From what I remember even McGregor wasn’t playing much at a young age, though he did have some loans at a decent level I think.

28-09-2022, 10:34 AM

There was a bit chat recently about having another go at getting Angus Gunn to commit to Scotland but not sure if that's still a goer. Tbh I've never been overly impressed with him either. In his mid 20s, had a lot of money spent on him but never really established himself as a number 1. Craig MacGillivray was talked about as well when he was at Portsmouth, now at Charlton, but an English League One keeper isn't likely to get the pulse racing.

I think McRorie is the one we will look to but he needs to decide if he wants to actually play or be a piece of furniture at Rangers forever.

There's probably an argument we have just been spoiled with keepers for so long that we are now entering a period of realism. Rough, Leighton, Goram, Leighton again then a couple of wilderness years with the likes of Sullivan and Douglas before the emergence of Gordon, Marshall and McGreggor.

Crunchie
28-09-2022, 10:34 AM
‘Real fitba’ folk that ken what’s gaunoan’ like Steve Clark, pick him for games like this without hesitation because they don’t read the papers or listen to what Tom English says, they watch him in games and pay another people to analyze everything he does. I don’t think last night will make these folk suddenly notice him, but it just adds to his CV and will put a bit more onto his valuation.

I have to be honest about it, after his performance away at St Mirren I would have been happy for him to leave for nothing. It still baffles me how he can be capable of both.
I don't know why it would baffle you, anyone that's ever watched or played football knows the greatest players in the world are capable of playing stinkers, Ryan is no different.

Well done big man on a superb debut last night :top marks

28-09-2022, 10:37 AM
I think that will be the biggest issue. The younger keepers aren’t playing regularly. Gordon was from a fairly young age. From what I remember even McGregor wasn’t playing much at a young age, though he did have some loans at a decent level I think.

McGreggor played a few games at Rangers at 20. He then played 20 odd games for St Johnstone in the then 1st division at 22 and 30+ for Dunfermilne in the Premier Legaue at 23. He was a regular for Rangers the season after that. He started off behind a French keeper who's name escapes me but quickly established himself as the number 1.

Tommy75
28-09-2022, 10:44 AM
Scotland genuinely look to have a good team, a good manager and some young talent coming through.

All we need now is an international class striker and we'd be qualifying regularly for the next decade.

Agreed. I have said it before but I do find it odd that Scotland hasn't produced a genuine world class attacking (or any sort of game changing) player in the last 20+ years.

28-09-2022, 10:49 AM
There was a bit chat recently about having another go at getting Angus Gunn to commit to Scotland but not sure if that's still a goer. Tbh I've never been overly impressed with him either. In his mid 20s, had a lot of money spent on him but never really established himself as a number 1. Craig MacGillivray was talked about as well when he was at Portsmouth, now at Charlton, but an English League One keeper isn't likely to get the pulse racing.

I think McRorie is the one we will look to but he needs to decide if he wants to actually play or be a piece of furniture at Rangers forever.

There's probably an argument we have just been spoiled with keepers for so long that we are now entering a period of realism. Rough, Leighton, Goram, Leighton again then a couple of wilderness years with the likes of Sullivan and Douglas before the emergence of Gordon, Marshall and McGreggor.

Personally think McLaughlin is the best we have though he has been pretty shaky this season previously he has looked good. Don't think Kelly or Mcrorie are anywhere near the decent international standard.

RossScott1991
28-09-2022, 10:52 AM
Any news on Porteous contract?

If he leaves for £0 then it will be a travesty

28-09-2022, 10:59 AM
Behave. If he hadn’t tackled and they scored it could have been a goal.

28-09-2022, 11:00 AM
I don't know why it would baffle you, anyone that's ever watched or played football knows the greatest players in the world are capable of playing stinkers, Ryan is no different.

Well done big man on a superb debut last night :top marks

It wasn’t just baffling performance wise, he looked like he was either mucking about or just wasn’t giving his full attention to what he was doing that day in Paisley.

28-09-2022, 11:11 AM

Isn’t near enough every great tackle in the box fine margins? One of the things that makes top players so good.

Fine margins when David Gray scored the winner. If that goes wide of the post then we’re heading to extra time.

Greenworld
28-09-2022, 11:11 AM
Personally think if he signs an extension we'll put in quite a modest release fee so we don't price him out of a move. 1.5-2 million range.This is what really annoys me how about him signing cause he want to be at hibs and hibs want him to build a team around .
If he signs then he will be a very wealthy young man if he keeps improving then he will get his move remember no one made an offer in the summer just past

28-09-2022, 11:16 AM
Didn't watch the game due to work but going off here and even the BBC it sounds like Ryan was superb.

Happy with him as its been a rough time for him on and off the pitch and now has a chance to keep it up and stay in the Scotland squad.

A new contract would be nice 👍 will be interesting come January if he ain't signed one come then.

GRA
28-09-2022, 12:02 PM
The agenda against him has been ludicrous. Our bluenose media have a lot to answer for that, whipping up any anti-Ryan hysteria rather than basing it objectively on solid facts all because he had a Gerrard dig. Even Scottish supporters were desperate for him to fail before a ball had even been kicked.

Glad he's silenced them with a performance we all know he's capable of. Hoping this can be a turning point where we can leave all the noise behind.

28-09-2022, 12:10 PM
I wonder if this is a simple case of his agency advisors having something potentially lined up at £xxx salary we couldn’t remotely compete with.

28-09-2022, 12:24 PM
McGreggor played a few games at Rangers at 20. He then played 20 odd games for St Johnstone in the then 1st division at 22 and 30+ for Dunfermilne in the Premier Legaue at 23. He was a regular for Rangers the season after that. He started off behind a French keeper who's name escapes me but quickly established himself as the number 1.

Charbonnier?

beensaidbefore
28-09-2022, 12:26 PM
But he didn’t though. Why see the negative side when it was positive.

Why not just say it was a superbly time tackle.

No ifs no buts it was a brilliant challenge!

Easy to say a player got this wrong etc but what about all the things he did very very well last night.

Folk really need to get a grip!

Exactly.

We should be focusing in what he did do right. By the looks of the stats from last night, he was arguably our best player.

JamesHFC
28-09-2022, 12:41 PM

28-09-2022, 12:54 PM
So it was more than just a few that booed Ryan at the game the other night if the players have picked up on it. Shameful behaviour and most likely all from bitter Huns/Sheep.

https://twitter.com/stvsport/status/1575052324812296192?s=46&t=2ZPUiDpt6pRYBmO0tS56JQ

Shameful! These fudley know-nothing imbeciles don't deserve success if all they can do is listen to attention seeking gobsheights like Stewart & that shower idiots off the radio . Tell them to GTF and support Ingerlund.

28-09-2022, 01:02 PM

If he picked the ball up from Gordon, danced through the midfield and pinged one in the top corner, he'd be hailed as the new Alan Hansen.

Is this how it works?

Stonewall
28-09-2022, 01:05 PM
Brilliant post PB

Agree with all of it

I was especially impressed with the performance of young Hickey

Been said before but it was like Michael Stewart was expecting Porto to f#ck up

Even with 30 seconds to go he was saying things like ‘let’s hope Porto can keep his concentration ‘

My memory is he wasn’t that brilliant at Easter Road himself

i think your being a bit unfair to Stewart. To me it came across that he was willing Ryan to maintain his concentration (repeatedly).

Mcbizz1998
28-09-2022, 01:10 PM

Ridiculous.

I do however remember booing Paul Hartley at Hampden when he played for Scotland [emoji23]

I was about 17 and got an earful from those around me.

28-09-2022, 01:19 PM
i think your being a bit unfair to Stewart. To me it came across that he was willing Ryan to maintain his concentration (repeatedly).

Can’t disagree with that obvious from kick off

Donegal Hibby
28-09-2022, 01:31 PM

Willie miller says Ryan porteous playing at a level below the rest . Daily Record.

28-09-2022, 01:36 PM
The BBC have an article -

"The "Blatant Cheat" who became Scotlands lion " on main sports page - bit of a crazy headline :confused:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/63054105

28-09-2022, 01:47 PM
The BBC have an article -

"The "Blatant Cheat" who became Scotlands lion " on main sports page - bit of a crazy headline :confused:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport

From a journalistic perspective, Goodwin gave them permission to write that headline because it’s not an opinion piece but direct, recent quote from someone in the game.

Hope Goodwin gets a severe sanction for defaming Scotland’s new hero.

28-09-2022, 01:48 PM

Not sure what this means but I don't take it as good news!

28-09-2022, 01:51 PM

I take it as the opposite and he's meaning news of Porto signing an extension is incoming!

Could obviously be wrong though haha.

28-09-2022, 01:54 PM
I take it as the opposite and he's meaning news of Porto signing an extension is incoming!

Could obviously be wrong though haha.

I think he's bragging about boiling an egg.

Clarence

It’s an hour glass / egg timer. Generally depicting the fact that time is running out.

I take it as he's about to sign a new deal / already has signed a new deal and it will be announced very shortly! :greengrin

Usually his sources are :top marks

He's here!
28-09-2022, 02:01 PM
Good to hear Porto played well. He's never struck me as short of confidence but it should hopefully have him buzzing for the main business of playing for Hibs.

Does his contract expire this season? Be great if he could follow Boyle's example and sign an extension so we can benefit from his eventual transfer.

28-09-2022, 02:11 PM
Willie miller says Ryan porteous playing at a level below the rest . Daily Record.

Yep heard that last night. What about Gordon Kingsley McGregor Jack Taylor? Sheep of course have no one in the squad. Listened to the after match discussion and was absolutely torture Gordon Miller Thompson and Crichton not exactly the brains trust.

28-09-2022, 02:26 PM
Yep heard that last night. What about Gordon Kingsley McGregor Jack Taylor? Sheep of course have no one in the squad. Listened to the after match discussion and was absolutely torture Gordon Miller Thompson and Crichton not exactly the brains trust.
Bravo on stating that so diplomatically :greengrin

Donegal Hibby
28-09-2022, 02:38 PM
I think he's bragging about boiling an egg.
:faf:. :top marksThat cracked me up .

Donegal Hibby
28-09-2022, 02:43 PM
Maybe someone should ask him does that mean the sheep are a level below us then?:greengrin

28-09-2022, 02:52 PM
Willie miller says Ryan porteous playing at a level below the rest . Daily Record.Willie Miller is clearly commentating and doing punditry at a level slightly below a goldfish.

Even Talksport were praising Ryan highly.

hibeg
28-09-2022, 03:01 PM

James, I realise that you are obviously ITK, and thanks for some of the info you have previously shared.
Your timer running out is a red flag to me.
I take it that means he is just going to run down his contract. :boo hoo:
Sincerely hope I’m wrong
Like others have said, I would hope he would sign an extension with a release clause
He’s a Hibee after all

mcohibs
28-09-2022, 03:04 PM
Willie Miller is clearly commentating and doing punditry at a level slightly below a goldfish.

He wasn’t saying he played poorly, just saying that compared to most of the starting lineup, he’s playing at a lower level week in week out. Which is actually correct when you think that even the Celtic and Rangers players are playing Champions League. Nothing to take offence to really with what Miller has said.

28-09-2022, 03:08 PM
Willie Miller is clearly commentating and doing punditry at a level slightly below a goldfish.

Miller should have been pensioned off ages ago.

28-09-2022, 03:39 PM
James, I realise that you are obviously ITK, and thanks for some of the info you have previously shared.
Your timer running out is a red flag to me.
I take it that means he is just going to run down his contract. :boo hoo:
Sincerely hope I’m wrong
Like others have said, I would hope he would sign an extension with a release clause
He’s a Hibee after all
I think he made his mind up some time ago and we should appreciate him for the time he has left at Hibs, obviously has ambition and that means playing at a higher level that Scottish football. Last nights performance will no doubt have alerted a few more clubs.

Greenio
28-09-2022, 03:44 PM
Quality player. Wasn't so long ago many on here we're saying he should pack his bags...

28-09-2022, 04:02 PM
Quality player. Wasn't so long ago many on here we're saying he should pack his bags...

Not so many I think. But certainly a noisy minority who don’t seem to appreciate him.

I don’t understand distinguishing between ‘on here’ and Hibs fans though. I’ve never been able to discern a meaningful difference between the spread of opinions on Hibs.net compared to Easter Road.

28-09-2022, 04:29 PM
He wasn’t saying he played poorly, just saying that compared to most of the starting lineup, he’s playing at a lower level week in week out. Which is actually correct when you think that even the Celtic and Rangers players are playing Champions League. Nothing to take offence to really with what Miller has said.

Ryan played really well, his game stats were excellent against a top European side 👍

Willie shows clear bias in his punditry but I balance that against the fact he was a top top quality defender and sweeper who in todays game would be worth a fortune. For those that watched him regularly in the 80’s in particular he was one of the finest players we had. My uncle knew him really well and he turned down the chance to go to England and follow Fergie to Man Utd. One of the best readers of the game I’ve seen in my lifetime. Moany git though 😂 made of granite too.

Think Ryan needed that game to prove any doubters wrong. Richard Gordon was spewing which is always nice, he’s an idiot that knows hee haw about the game. Sooner he’s off the air the better. Just a journo with an agenda, much like Tom English now.

28-09-2022, 04:38 PM

Correct. I've heard Miller talk pish about us or our players at times but on Porteous he's been the one pundit that's talked sense. Including at the time and right after the match v Aberdeen. The bit about his comments about the level is due to the Daily Record trying to twist the narrative into him having a dig, which he wasn't.

28-09-2022, 04:42 PM

I’m taking this as times running out.

If he goes in January for a fee or signs a pre-contract with someone, he’ll go with my best wishes.

28-09-2022, 04:43 PM
Correct. I've heard Miller talk pish about us or our players at times but on Porteous he's been the one pundit that's talked sense. Including at the time and right after the match v Aberdeen. The bit about his comments about the level is due to the Daily Record trying to twist the narrative into him having a dig, which he wasn't.

I heard it live and it struck me as an odd thing to say given quite a few starters play in the same league. I think it was fair enough though as those other players have mostly played quite a few internationals or Champions League etc. Barring that I think Miller's comments were pretty good

28-09-2022, 05:08 PM
Absolutely, Miller has been only pundit to talk any sense about the whole incident. I'm not at all influenced by fact his comments echo an earlier post of mine, namely if Goodwin was so concerned about RP diving then why did he instruct Scales to deliberately block and manhandle Ryan? And probably more pertinently why why didn't he try to change things after Scales was booked? Total deflection from an inadequate manager!

28-09-2022, 05:12 PM
Miller should have been pensioned off ages ago.

He’ll be in no rush to step away himself. Get paid to cover most of Aberdeens games at licence payers expense, and all that is asked in return is to drone on in a manner that sounds like he’s overdosing on Mogadon and not having to contribute any punditry that can be considered interesting or thought provoking.

It’s great work if you can get it, as Packy Bonner will testify.

hibeg
28-09-2022, 05:21 PM
I’m taking this as times running out.

If he goes in January for a fee or signs a pre-contract with someone, he’ll go with my best wishes.

Hopefully James will expand a bit on his emoji.
I realise it is a short career but if he signs a contract now, Hibs will get a fair whack more when negotiating a fee with a potential buyer
Obviously I realise he may want all the signing on fee for himself !
How much would Hibs get as a development fee ?

28-09-2022, 05:28 PM
One thing I haven't seen mentioned about Porto's performance yesterday was the quality of his passing
Although passing it along the back 4 seems simple, Porto got pace and accuracy spot on each time. That's hugely important to allow other players more time on the ball without pressure. It's so easy to put your fellow defender in trouble, anyone remember Livi's 1st goal? We should also remember that the new boy Porto was the guy to accept the responsibility of playing out of position on the left side.
PS, well done Steve Clarke!

Stonewall
28-09-2022, 05:32 PM
Ryan played really well, his game stats were excellent against a top European side 👍

Willie shows clear bias in his punditry but I balance that against the fact he was a top top quality defender and sweeper who in todays game would be worth a fortune. For those that watched him regularly in the 80’s in particular he was one of the finest players we had. My uncle knew him really well and he turned down the chance to go to England and follow Fergie to Man Utd. One of the best readers of the game I’ve seen in my lifetime. Moany git though 😂 made of granite too.

Think Ryan needed that game to prove any doubters wrong. Richard Gordon was spewing which is always nice, he’s an idiot that knows hee haw about the game. Sooner he’s off the air the better. Just a journo with an agenda, much like Tom English now.

He was also the finest referee of his generation.

ClermistonGreen
28-09-2022, 05:41 PM
and passed on his wisdom to quite a few of his colleagues ! :thumbsup:

28-09-2022, 05:44 PM
The press will very soon be saying that the improvement is all down to Stephen Gerrard.

This will be followed by him going to The Rangers /Celtic and let's be realistic if they can get him on a free it will be a fantastic bit of business.

Hope he takes SJM's lead.

28-09-2022, 06:01 PM
He wasn’t saying he played poorly, just saying that compared to most of the starting lineup, he’s playing at a lower level week in week out. Which is actually correct when you think that even the Celtic and Rangers players are playing Champions League. Nothing to take offence to really with what Miller has said.Yeah, I hear you but I am generalizing about a guy who is a member of a broadcasting team which isn't shy about putting the boot into all things Hibs.

Peanut Shaz
28-09-2022, 06:08 PM
Ryan was in the studio today filming for A View from the Terrace. Not sure when it will be going out on air.

28-09-2022, 06:10 PM
SJM will be recommending Porto to his boss to replace minging Mings😁I am sure Villa looked at Ryan before Slippy took over

Hibees1973
28-09-2022, 06:12 PM
Guess it's too much to ask our media to tone down sensationalist headlines regarding Porteous. In particular, it's deeply disappointing for the BBC to title one as 'Blatant Cheat'.

The BBC should really be better than this, but based on recent articles published by them it's not surprising. Sadly, even our own dear old BBC have regressed down to a low level tabloid in recent years.

It's an obvious ploy by the BBC to put the inverted commas, (Goodwins' quote), around their headline to protect themselves from any legal action or slander accusations. Hope Goodwin gets a massive fine and a ban for his disgraceful comments. Much as Porteous has let himself down in the past I feel most of the credit given to him reported in the press today have been grudged.

Goodwin has provided a golden headline for the media which some have taken the opportunity to use.

I'm not one of the guys ITK on here regarding Porteous contract situation at Hibs. But I truly hope he has a successful career and makes himself financially secure in whatever or wherever he plays next.

28-09-2022, 06:14 PM
He was also the finest referee of his generation.His index finger was a whistle. He'd point it at the pitch and they magically got a foul. Farcical at times.

Maybe it was one of those whistles that only dogs and Scottish refereeing officials could hear. [emoji848]

28-09-2022, 06:18 PM
Ryan was in the studio today filming for A View from the Terrace. Not sure when it will be going out on air.

Thanks for the heads up. It will be the episode which goes out on Friday at midnight.

28-09-2022, 06:29 PM
His index finger was a whistle. He'd point it at the pitch and they magically got a foul. Farcical at times.

Maybe it was one of those whistles that only dogs and Scottish refereeing officials could hear. [emoji848]
Got away with murder too. Remember him absolutely cleaning out Brian Rice in the first few minutes of a game at Pittodrie with not even a word from the referee.

28-09-2022, 06:35 PM
Got away with murder too. Remember him absolutely cleaning out Brian Rice in the first few minutes of a game at Pittodrie with not even a word from the referee....and he wasn't the worst of them for that. He was good enough to make clean, and sometimes brilliant, tackles the vast majority of the time.

They had some absolute animals in the 80's.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

28-09-2022, 06:41 PM
...and he wasn't the worst of them for that. He was good enough to make clean, and sometimes brilliant, tackles the vast majority of the time.

They had some absolute animals in the 80's.

Agree with what you are saying but the tackle on Rice wasn't mistimed - he was taking Rice out of the game early on and he did. I often wondered if he was instructed to do that or he just did it himself....

Mrimbetween
28-09-2022, 07:50 PM
Aberdeen in those days got away with more than the two cheeks back then and thats saying something

Renfrew_Hibby
28-09-2022, 08:04 PM
Interview comming up on 'The Nine' BBC Scotland the now.

inglisavhibs
28-09-2022, 08:24 PM
Guess it's too much to ask our media to tone down sensationalist headlines regarding Porteous. In particular, it's deeply disappointing for the BBC to title one as 'Blatant Cheat'.

The BBC should really be better than this, but based on recent articles published by them it's not surprising. Sadly, even our own dear old BBC have regressed down to a low level tabloid in recent years.

It's an obvious ploy by the BBC to put the inverted commas, (Goodwins' quote), around their headline to protect themselves from any legal action or slander accusations. Hope Goodwin gets a massive fine and a ban for his disgraceful comments. Much as Porteous has let himself down in the past I feel most of the credit given to him reported in the press today have been grudged.

Goodwin has provided a golden headline for the media which some have taken the opportunity to use.

I'm not one of the guys ITK on here regarding Porteous contract situation at Hibs. But I truly hope he has a successful career and makes himself financially secure in whatever or wherever he plays next.
That headline was a disgrace, cheap shot as usual. Although once you opened the article it explains Godwin’s claim. Still a ridiculous headline especially as they know Ryan did absolutely nothing wrong. As an aside I think this Saturday game at Dingwall is a very difficult one for Ryan coming after the euphoria of Scotland’s result and the praise heaped on him. In many ways this game will be tougher for him.

28-09-2022, 08:44 PM
Interview comming up on 'The Nine' BBC Scotland the now.

Interesting he mentioned his main goal is to play for scotland and get as many caps as possible, not many players who want to prioritise international football

28-09-2022, 08:50 PM
Agree with what you are saying but the tackle on Rice wasn't mistimed - he was taking Rice out of the game early on and he did. I often wondered if he was instructed to do that or he just did it himself....Agree he was more than capable of sh*thousery.

28-09-2022, 09:25 PM
Fully expect Hibs to come out all guns blazing tomorrow. Some of the things said and written about a young footballer player has been well over the top. Hibs need to call out the ridiculous comments by some of the so-called experts and the negative comments posted online.

28-09-2022, 09:49 PM
Fully expect Hibs to come out all guns blazing tomorrow. Some of the things said and written about a young footballer player has been well over the top. Hibs need to call out the ridiculous comments by some of the so-called experts and the negative comments posted online.

LJ is bound to be asked about at his pre-match press conference, as well as the accusation that he encourages his players to cheat. I don't think he'll have all guns blazing though, it will be a measured, considered response with a bit of David Brent-esque philosophy thrown in for good measure.

28-09-2022, 11:37 PM
I don’t understand distinguishing between ‘on here’ and Hibs fans though. I’ve never been able to discern a meaningful difference between the spread of opinions on Hibs.net compared to Easter Road.

Really?

The crowd at ER includes a fair sprinkling of females and youngsters, two groups not well known for using messageboards. I always assume that Hibs.Net is a home for old Victor Meldrews.

Donegal Hibby
28-09-2022, 11:54 PM
Really?

The crowd at ER includes a fair sprinkling of females and youngsters, two groups not well known for using messageboards. I always assume that Hibs.Net is a home for old Victor Meldrews.
I Don't believe it. :greengrin

29-09-2022, 01:31 AM
Really?

And Waldorf and Statler as admins.....

29-09-2022, 06:00 AM

Perhaps, but can you imagine Miller making the same comment about an Aberdeen player in same position ? Nope, wouldn't dare, wouldn't happen. Pundits should be talking the game up in Scotland, instead of reinforcing the usual "Old Form or nothing" message that's been spouted by the media for years.

29-09-2022, 06:08 AM
Agree with what you are saying but the tackle on Rice wasn't mistimed - he was taking Rice out of the game early on and he did. I often wondered if he was instructed to do that or he just did it himself....

Yep was at that game meant to do Rice and did.

29-09-2022, 07:08 AM
Aberdeen in those days got away with more than the two cheeks back then and thats saying something

Something loads have forgotten. The arabs too were in that bracket for a few years too. Dave narey getting offside every time he raised his arm.

29-09-2022, 07:29 AM

Just another day at the Office in the 1980’s

https://youtu.be/1zlbrNoRrkU

29-09-2022, 07:38 AM

The BBC only sets out to appeal to a very narrow sliver of society in Scotland
It's the most agenda-riven organisation in Scotland and I for one will not miss it when it goes

29-09-2022, 07:46 AM
Really?

I don't believe it ! :greengrin

Steve Clarke has been a great defender of Ryan at a time we might assume Ryan needed support from peers and coaches.
The malice from some in the game towards Ryan has been nothing short of a disgrace.

I tip Ryan to one day captain Scotland.
I also commend Steve Clarke in selecting Ryan,despite all that has went on against Ryan since Gerrard put a target on Ryan's back.
Ryan paid Steve, and us who know his ability, back,with a great performance.

dalkeith stu
29-09-2022, 08:00 AM
Interesting he mentioned his main goal is to play for scotland and get as many caps as possible, not many players who want to prioritise international football

Strange take tbh!! To get more caps for Scotland he invariably needs to be playing well for his club, hopefully us!!!

29-09-2022, 08:52 AM
SJM will be recommending Porto to his boss to replace minging Mings��I am sure Villa looked at Ryan before Slippy took over

I heard that as soon as SJM went to Villa he was asked and identified Ryan as the outstanding young talent in Scotland. Unlike many others Ryan also has the physical attributes to make it in Engerlund!

Greenworld
29-09-2022, 08:58 AM
One thing I haven't seen mentioned about Porto's performance yesterday was the quality of his passing
Although passing it along the back 4 seems simple, Porto got pace and accuracy spot on each time. That's hugely important to allow other players more time on the ball without pressure. It's so easy to put your fellow defender in trouble, anyone remember Livi's 1st goal? We should also remember that the new boy Porto was the guy to accept the responsibility of playing out of position on the left side.
PS, well done Steve Clarke!His passing quality is and has been a massive part of his game for some time . I've often thought he could be a superb defensive midfielder.

Greenworld
29-09-2022, 09:15 AM
I heard that as soon as SJM went to Villa he was asked and identified Ryan as the outstanding young talent in Scotland. Unlike many others Ryan also has the physical attributes to make it in Engerlund!I understand that a contract of around 9k a week has been put forward to Ryan's agent. The last hibs spoke on the situation progress had been made I just hope the feel good factor of making his debut and some kind of loyalty to make sure Hibs are rewarded means that it will be signed soon .

29-09-2022, 09:15 AM
Just another day at the Office in the 1980’s

https://youtu.be/1zlbrNoRrkU
Remember a game against Aberdeen at Easter Road when Miller almost kicked Bobby Thomson into the North Stand one of the worst tackles I have seen in watching football. Ref went to book him only to be surrounded by the whole Aberdeen side as per Fergie's instructions.

29-09-2022, 09:31 AM

I think most footballers would quote it as the “biggest honour” in football and would want as many international caps as they can.

29-09-2022, 09:44 AM
I think most footballers would quote it as the “biggest honour” in football and would want as many international caps as they can.

I really don't think it's most players priority though, players often skip international duty with a bruised pinky

Plus it's the clubs paying the bulk of their wages

29-09-2022, 09:47 AM
Really?

Appreciate the point about kids. There are definitely, ahem, females on here - or women, as most people other than coppers would say.

My point though was that although the demographics may differ, I don’t see a big gap between opinion here and at ER.

The match day thread can often be a hysterical mess, but then so can ER when we are losing 😉

29-09-2022, 10:18 AM
Appreciate the point about kids. There are definitely, ahem, females on here - or women, as most people other than coppers would say.

My point though was that although the demographics may differ, I don’t see a big gap between opinion here and at ER.

The match day thread can often be a hysterical mess, but then so can ER when we are losing 😉

I think the biggest difference is you make a comment at the match or in the pub after and that's it. You make a comment on here and it's here for posterity to be analysed, ripped apart etc. Its also much easier to misunderstand or misinterpret the written word.

29-09-2022, 10:20 AM
I understand that a contract of around 9k a week has been put forward to Ryan's agent. The last hibs spoke on the situation progress had been made I just hope the feel good factor of making his debut and some kind of loyalty to make sure Hibs are rewarded means that it will be signed soon .

Everything crossed!

29-09-2022, 11:28 AM
I would hope that a Boyle type deal would be signed by Ryan sooner rather than later, gives him financial security, shows some loyalty to the club that has developed him. If his form continues he’ll get his move, does he want to be taking the risk of running down his contract at his age, anything can happen in football🤷🏼

29-09-2022, 11:35 AM
I understand that a contract of around 9k a week has been put forward to Ryan's agent. The last hibs spoke on the situation progress had been made I just hope the feel good factor of making his debut and some kind of loyalty to make sure Hibs are rewarded means that it will be signed soon .

Unfortunately after a week in the Scottish International camp, surrounded by EPL players all on vastly more money than Hibs can ever pay, I think he way well have ambitions out with ER. Hope not.

29-09-2022, 11:35 AM
I would hope that a Boyle type deal would be signed by Ryan sooner rather than later, gives him financial security, shows some loyalty to the club that has developed him. If his form continues he’ll get his move, does he want to be taking the risk of running down his contract at his age, anything can happen in football🤷🏼

Correct, god forbid he gets a long term injury with no contract signed with Hibs or whoever in January. For me, I’d be signing the hibs deal with the understanding he could with everyone’s blessing when an agreed fee is met.

29-09-2022, 11:45 AM
Unfortunately after a week in the Scottish International camp, surrounded by EPL players all on vastly more money than Hibs can ever pay, I think he way well have ambitions out with ER. Hope not.

Likely that he has had ambitions outwith ER before playing for Scotland this week. If and when he does go, we need to sell that story much the same way as with SJM in that players can come into our team with potential and leave as internationalists.

29-09-2022, 12:17 PM
I don't believe it ! :greengrin

Steve Clarke has been a great defender of Ryan at a time we might assume Ryan needed support from peers and coaches.
The malice from some in the game towards Ryan has been nothing short of a disgrace.

I tip Ryan to one day captain Scotland.
I also commend Steve Clarke in selecting Ryan,despite all that has went on against Ryan since Gerrard put a target on Ryan's back.
Ryan paid Steve, and us who know his ability, back,with a great performance.

Great point Steve Clarke needs to be hugely commended backing Ryan at a time he needed it both in terms of press comments and playing him in a very important game

29-09-2022, 02:40 PM
I think the biggest difference is you make a comment at the match or in the pub after and that's it. You make a comment on here and it's here for posterity to be analysed, ripped apart etc. Its also much easier to misunderstand or misinterpret the written word.

Well that’s the nature of the medium.

Mind you, I was once vocal in my support for Ma-Kalamby and people about me in the East stand were still laughing at me 10 mins later!

29-09-2022, 02:43 PM
Well that’s the nature of the medium.

Mind you, I was once vocal in my support for Ma-Kalamby and people about me in the East stand were still laughing at me 10 mins later!

🤣 only ten mins? You got off lightly then 🫣

29-09-2022, 02:49 PM
🤣 only ten mins? You got off lightly then 🫣

Yeah you are probably right.

29-09-2022, 02:58 PM
Craig Gordon has been very generous in his praise of Ryan in an article in the EEN today.

'...described his Scotland colleague as “brilliant… what a debut”..

"...I thought he was excellent. We’ve all known he’s a good player and he’s been coming through with the squad for a while." '

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts-captains-praise-for-hibs-star-ryan-porteous-and-his-david-marshall-chat-3860800

Juice-Terry
29-09-2022, 03:06 PM
Ryan is red hot at the moment. He'll get a big move whether he signs a new contract or not. On the other hand, the wages he would be offered by suitors will not substantially depend on whether he signs a new contract at Hibs or not. So, essentially, given that Ryan is a proper Hibby he should sign a new contract simply to do Hibs a favour - which I think he will. Porto for President! GGTTH!

29-09-2022, 03:07 PM
Craig Gordon has been very generous in his praise of Ryan in an article in the EEN today.

'...described his Scotland colleague as “brilliant… what a debut”..

"...I thought he was excellent. We’ve all known he’s a good player and he’s been coming through with the squad for a while." '

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts-captains-praise-for-hibs-star-ryan-porteous-and-his-david-marshall-chat-3860800That is actually very generous and will spoken by that plooky t**t.

29-09-2022, 03:14 PM
It was great hearing the "You're Porteous' song in the pubs of Krakow on Tuesday night. Even my Jambo mates were joining in. I really hope the public perception starts to change after that performance (and a few of our own fans). The guy is a class act and will go on to earn many caps.

29-09-2022, 03:21 PM
It was great hearing the "You're Porteous' song in the pubs of Krakow on Tuesday night. Even my Jambo mates were joining in. I really hope the public perception starts to change after that performance (and a few of our own fans). The guy is a class act and will go on to earn many caps.
It's a bit like when we won the Scottish Cup and the Hearts songbook went up in flames. Kn**heads like Richard Gordon and and his weegie cheerleaders will look even more stupid and clueless than they normally do when they start questioning his positioning etc....

hibeg
29-09-2022, 05:48 PM

Correctomundo. Just sign Ryan.
We all know he will leave, it would be great if he helped the team that developed him, and he supports.
He will go far in the game.
Future Scotland Captain iMO

29-09-2022, 06:37 PM

That’s brilliant to hear

29-09-2022, 06:58 PM

Cracking Tweet from Radio 5 in there.

29-09-2022, 11:29 PM
Get the deal signed and get ya head down for the rest of the season and play the game as good as you know you can.

Really key player for us when he's on his game.